View Full Version : Stringer Trade Worth

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

02-10-2017, 10:58 AM
I'm not prepared to write off a top 15 pick for Stringer just yet. Clubs will do what they think will benefit their team and Stringer will make a club stronger once he regains his focus.

I also believe we will keep him unless a good offer comes forward. Early days

If he regains focus and that's a big if.

02-10-2017, 11:03 AM
Could the club got one of the players close to Abbey to spill the beans.
Meaning the club doesn't want to get rid of him but just to give him a big kick up the backside.
They said he's on the table and want a good offer or he will stay.
Rumors go out about his professionalism.
Down to two clubs may be willing to take a chance.
One drops off and they his ex drops a bombshell.
Offers dropped off to minimal and the package is only a matchbox.
In steps Bevo and tells him to pull his finger out because the football world doesn't want you.
Stays on the list with a new attitude and wins a Brownlow in a complete turn around.

02-10-2017, 11:12 AM
If he regains focus and that's a big if.

He will regain it, it's just how quickly that happens clubs need to consider

02-10-2017, 11:18 AM
I don't think the Abby Gilmore article impacts the trade worth. The football industry largely knew about this anyway.

02-10-2017, 11:21 AM
Interestingly that Scott Clayton assessed Stringers value as mid first round but after the news over the last couple of weeks it might have pulled back a bit. When asked if he thought it was early in the 2nd round he dismissed it and said not that far back.

Based on Clayton's assessment that means probably somewhere between 12 and 17 and I think that makes some sense to me.

02-10-2017, 11:25 AM
Interestingly that Scott Clayton assessed Stringers value as mid first round but after the news over the last couple of weeks it might have pulled back a bit. When asked if he thought it was early in the 2nd round he dismissed it and said not that far back.

Based on Clayton's assessment that means probably somewhere between 12 and 17 and I think that makes some sense to me.

There's obviously a few factors at play, such as Stringer's headspace and our playing list's opinion on him, but hypothetically if we got offered a pick in the 11-20 range would you take it?

02-10-2017, 11:28 AM
There's obviously a few factors at play, such as Stringer's headspace and our playing list's opinion on him, but hypothetically if we got offered a pick in the 11-20 range would you take it?

I'd certainly consider anything inside of 15 positively but beyond that I'm not so sure. I'd also exhaust every chance to keep Stringer at the club between now and Friday but he would need to be very convincing that he wanted to be there and that he was switched on.

02-10-2017, 11:31 AM
Sorry to side track things, wasn't Jake/Connors already meant to have publicly picked a club on their timetable?

02-10-2017, 11:33 AM
Sorry to side track things, wasn't Jake/Connors already meant to have publicly picked a club on their timetable?

It was reportedly supposed to happen last Friday. Once Stringers ex went public I think it wrecked the timing of it. It needs to happen before Friday.

02-10-2017, 11:34 AM
Yea I thought they said he would by the GF but that was said before the article. It might of complicated things.

02-10-2017, 12:04 PM
I don't think the Abby Gilmore article impacts the trade worth. The football industry largely knew about this anyway.

The public didn't though. Can't really ignore that his recruitment would be a nightmare for PR.

02-10-2017, 12:15 PM
It was reportedly supposed to happen last Friday. Once Stringers ex went public I think it wrecked the timing of it. It needs to happen before Friday.

I thought so. But I also think the silence may indicate things going on in the background, either by us, or by he & Connors. Like we've said, we don't want Essendon distracting us from our strategy in the trade period. But if Connors knows nothing is likely to happen because his value is below our expectation, he and his people might not want to spend days worth of time on a trade that won't happen. Perhaps, we all now know that all this time being taken up in a time sensitive window isn't worth it. It might be best for everyone to see if there's a way he can stay, and what he needs to do and if he will do it. Assuming we can see that working.

02-10-2017, 12:17 PM
The public didn't though. Can't really ignore that his recruitment would be a nightmare for PR.

Especially clubs with AFLW teams. It's a problem of ours that we've had to mange, but voluntarily bringing that in to a club narrative of respect for women doesn't easily come together.

02-10-2017, 12:21 PM
Especially clubs with AFLW teams. It's a problem of ours that we've had to mange, but voluntarily bringing that in to a club narrative of respect for women doesn't easily come together.

If I know anything about AFL or its clubs, it's that they will happily move along from pretending to respect women in order to add benefit to their mens' sides.

It's purely a judgement of how much will he help the side vs how many back page bullets can we take.

02-10-2017, 12:29 PM
If I know anything about AFL or its clubs, it's that they will happily move along from pretending to respect women in order to add benefit to their mens' sides.

It's purely a judgement of how much will he help the side vs how many back page bullets can we take.

Are we talking the old "its just a massage" type respect for women? (ie No respect at all)

02-10-2017, 12:34 PM
Are we talking the old "its just a massage" type respect for women? (ie No respect at all)

How CLASSIC and HILARIOUS was that giant crowd of people on Swan St singing about letting Dustin Martin "shag their wives" last night (like it's their call).

The AFL can #brand themselves whatever way they like but the greater public are sexist luddites. There's still a long, long way to go.

02-10-2017, 01:05 PM
How CLASSIC and HILARIOUS was that giant crowd of people on Swan St singing about letting Dustin Martin "shag their wives" last night (like it's their call).

The AFL can #brand themselves whatever way they like but the greater public are sexist luddites. There's still a long, long way to go.

I may have been guilty of a crass remark about a certain young footballer from Bendigo when he kicked his fifth in a quarter against Adelaide a few years ago. It too was predicated on the assumption that it was somehow my call. To be fair it seems like I was a lot closer to the truth than any of us realised at the time.

02-10-2017, 02:01 PM
Robbo chiming in for his Essendon masters:

AFL clubs are beginning to desert under-pressure Bulldog Jake Stringer.

Herald Sun chief football writer Mark Robinson said

“I spoke to a coach on Friday and he said ‘no, we’re out of Jake Stringer, we’ve done our homework, we’re out’,” Robinson said on the SuperFooty Podcast.

Robbo said the fallout of his former partner Abby Gilmore tell-all Herald Sun interview has damaged his trade currency, but he believed the talented Dog would find another club.

“It decreases his value, there’s no doubt it does, but it’s not going to stop clubs trying to recruit him,” he said.

“Essendon are pretty keen. He’ll go"

02-10-2017, 02:04 PM
I may have been guilty of a crass remark about a certain young footballer from Bendigo when he kicked his fifth in a quarter against Adelaide a few years ago. It too was predicated on the assumption that it was somehow my call. To be fair it seems like I was a lot closer to the truth than any of us realised at the time.

Probably a godsend in the end.
Like abbeys letter might be to Jake for all involved.
I look back at my split, it hurt at the time but I'm happy now.

02-10-2017, 04:18 PM
I'm not prepared to write off a top 15 pick for Stringer just yet. Clubs will do what they think will benefit their team and Stringer will make a club stronger once he regains his focus.

I also believe we will keep him unless a good offer comes forward. Early days

That is how I feel too. I keep remembering Bevo's words that if we don't get what the Club believes Stringer is worth he will play for us next year. I don't believe Bevo just says things for the sake of it. I have no reason to disbelieve him. If that is the case Stringer will have to turn his life around or play in the twos. Simple equation.

02-10-2017, 04:59 PM
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/10/01/abby-gilmore-bombshell-no-impact-on-stringer-trade-sheahan/

Mike Sheehan seems to support the view that Stringer's value will not be diminished by his ex-wife's revelations.

Dale Morris ""If a deal wasn't done & he was at the club next year we would embrace him & hold him in tight because... he's still one of us."
Spoken like a true champ.

02-10-2017, 06:10 PM
I'm leaning more and more to the scenario of Jake having a cry this week and Bevo giving him a big cuddle because I think Jake needs to and I think Bevo is the right kind of shoulder to do it on.

02-10-2017, 08:10 PM
Will Jake be at the BnF this Weds - I’m totally in the dark on what will be the case.

02-10-2017, 08:14 PM
Will Jake be at the BnF this Weds - I’m totally in the dark on what will be the case.

This question opens up a lot of humorous answers.

I'd think he would be as a current player.

02-10-2017, 08:17 PM
A further question re BnF - with all the public interest in Stringer, will PG or Bevo make reference to the elephant in the room on the night?

02-10-2017, 08:38 PM

Funny, my wife and I were just questioning how solid our parenting is to give our 19 year old daughter the green light to chaperone my father to the BnF on Wednesday. Our plea to her is to stay well clear of Jake and his merry men.

02-10-2017, 09:26 PM

I'd expect him not to be in attendance

02-10-2017, 09:36 PM
I'd expect him not to be in attendance

I'd prefer he go, not have non attendance be the front page story the next day. Conversation like this?

"But String, what if you win wouldn't it be weird?" Why? So you guys can just lie to get me here?
So you can sit me here next to Marcus B. Shit, Stew Crameri better switch me chairs.

02-10-2017, 09:54 PM
I'd prefer he go, not have non attendance be the front page story the next day. Conversation like this?

"But String, what if you win wouldn't it be weird?" Why? So you guys can just lie to get me here?
So you can sit me here next to Marcus B. Shit, Stew Crameri better switch me chairs.

I'd like him to go and I'd like him to throw himself at the mercy of the club but I'm not going to hold my breath on this one

02-10-2017, 10:01 PM
I'd like him to go and I'd like him to throw himself at the mercy of the club but I'm not going to hold my breath on this one

If I was a betting man I'd be with you. I just really want him to, because not turning up is oxygen into the fire. But that's more my preference than him actually doing it.

03-10-2017, 09:47 AM
Cooney referenced the Crameri trade and wanting to get one back on the Dogs, accordingly pick 29 is what they'll offer. He's again talking about pick 20 and Stanley as the Cats offer.

Didn't they interview Scotty Clayton yesterday who said he was still worth a top 15 pick?

03-10-2017, 10:36 AM
Cooney referenced the Crameri trade and wanting to get one back on the Dogs, accordingly pick 29 is what they'll offer. He's again talking about pick 20 and Stanley as the Cats offer.

Didn't they interview Scotty Clayton yesterday who said he was still worth a top 15 pick?

Cooney is one of the biggest flogs we've ever had the displeasure of having at the club.

How is he even on radio? Has NFI and wouldn't entertain a three year old.

03-10-2017, 10:44 AM
Cooney referenced the Crameri trade and wanting to get one back on the Dogs, accordingly pick 29 is what they'll offer.

They want to get back at us for paying overs?

03-10-2017, 10:57 AM
If that's EFC's sentiment then we shouldn't deal with them. No negotiations are productive with emotional motives driving them.

03-10-2017, 10:57 AM

To be fair Coons probably wasn't listening to the interview with Scotty Clayton. A dog with a fluffy tail may have walked past the studio and distracted him or somebody may have challenged him to a esky lid derby. It's all go in Adam world.

Cooney is one of the biggest flogs we've ever had the displeasure of having at the club.

I can guarantee that 3 yos find Cooney very entertaining.:)

03-10-2017, 11:09 AM

Since when has having NFI ever been an impediment to having a footy media career ;)

03-10-2017, 11:10 AM
http://i64.tinypic.com/2dwcgtk.png

With no actual trade activity this week, this falls under the category of cruel and unusual punishment.

03-10-2017, 12:09 PM
I think it's quite interesting that he still hasn't nominated, that tells me that neither Geelong or Essendon have been able to convince his management that they are willing to offer anything of good enough value to us. It also tells me that he will be at the BnF (providing it doesn't happen before then) so at this stage I'm leaning towards him staying.

If he nominates then I don't want him at our club regardless of what's offered. That will be it for me once you say you want to be at another club then I'm done with you. But until that happens then the door is still open.

03-10-2017, 12:12 PM
Essendon has tabled a slightly better financial offer than Geelong for Western Bulldogs forward Stringer, according to The Age.

The Bombers are moving towards a deal with the talented forward two weeks after he met with the Cats.

Stringer reportedly met with Cats coach Chris Scott, skipper Joel Selwood and Brownlow medallist Patrick Dangerfield as part of a presentation during preliminary final week.

Link (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-10-03/trade-winds-dons-blues-circle-speedy-sun)

03-10-2017, 12:17 PM

With no actual trade activity this week, this falls under the category of cruel and unusual punishment.

If only there was someone on this board with real photoshop skills that could make this awesome. Honestly, it's like an open invite.

03-10-2017, 12:30 PM

I think that's a bit harsh. He has definitely been a bit of a flog since he has left and with him supposed to be closer to Jake than most I guess he feels he can lift his name in the media because of it.

But when he was with us before his injury he was an incredible player that put bums on seats and we would've won the flag in 09 if it hadn't of happened. He won a Brownlow ahead of Ablett Jnr and don't forget he hardly ever had a full preseason. Incredible talent.

Sorry if I derailed the thread.

03-10-2017, 12:37 PM
If only there was someone on this board with real photoshop skills that could make this awesome. Honestly, it's like an open invite.

Oh the temptation is great. It really is! But it's pretty perfect as is.

"So Adam, back to Gary Ablett ..." *Cooney returns from daydreaming while listenership lapses into a coma*

---

It's fun if you look at the above while imagining them reading, post-by-excruciating-post, each team's 'trade' thread from Big Footy.

03-10-2017, 02:07 PM
Essendon has tabled a slightly better financial offer than Geelong for Western Bulldogs forward Stringer, according to The Age.

The Bombers are moving towards a deal with the talented forward two weeks after he met with the Cats.

Stringer reportedly met with Cats coach Chris Scott, skipper Joel Selwood and Brownlow medallist Patrick Dangerfield as part of a presentation during preliminary final week.

Link (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-10-03/trade-winds-dons-blues-circle-speedy-sun)

See this is where it all falls down they have to deal with the Western Bulldogs not Stringer, they can offer him as much as they want, it all boils down to what they offer us.

03-10-2017, 02:22 PM
Oh the temptation is great. It really is! But it's pretty perfect as is.

"So Adam, back to Gary Ablett ..." *Cooney returns from daydreaming while listenership lapses into a coma*

---

It's fun if you look at the above while imagining them reading, post-by-excruciating-post, each team's 'trade' thread from Big Footy.

Please tell me they really do that.

03-10-2017, 03:41 PM

They look like they've been put in matching oversized shirts to hide the fact they've put on a couple of kilos.

It also really drives home the fact that I have a weird personal hatred of block colour shirts without ties.

03-10-2017, 03:46 PM
They look like they've been put in matching oversized shirts to hide the fact they've put on a couple of kilos.

It also really drives home the fact that I have a weird personal hatred of block colour shirts without ties.

I share your distaste Daughter o' the west. Cooney's still has the crease below the chest. Straight out of the box haha

"Connors admitted Stringer had not been enjoying the process of looking for a new club."
None of us are enjoying it either Jake.

03-10-2017, 04:14 PM
I share your distaste Daughter o' the west. Cooney's still has the crease below the chest. Straight out of the box haha

"Connors admitted Stringer had not been enjoying the process of looking for a new club."
None of us are enjoying it either Jake.

Still an option to be a man about it Jake. Come back and not enjoy the process of redemption. It will be better at the end for all.

03-10-2017, 04:22 PM

It's an improvement on yesterday's effort. Dwayne was rocking a black hoodie fished straight out of the laundry basket.

I assumed they needed a warm body and told him the gig was his if he could report within the hour...and pick Cooney up on the way.

03-10-2017, 09:47 PM
I wonder if a leaked report saying we were softening our position with Jake would get the Bombers focusing on a reasonable deal?
I really do hope there is a lot of dialogue between the player, his manager and the club. There might still be a departure but it doesn't have to be a nasty one.

03-10-2017, 11:01 PM
I wonder if a leaked report saying we were softening our position with Jake would get the Bombers focusing on a reasonable deal?
I really do hope there is a lot of dialogue between the player, his manager and the club. There might still be a departure but it doesn't have to be a nasty one.

The business end of a pick axe wouldn't get Essendon focusing on a reasonable deal. Their whole focus revolves around being unreasonable and impossible to deal with on the assumption the other party will make a stupid deal out of frustration with them panic with the trade deadline looming. They feed on desperation.

Our only contact should be to tell them what we consider to be a fair deal and that the ball is in their court to deliver it by such and such a date. We don't want to hear from them with any other lower offers. Our opening offer is not an ambit claim and is not open to negotiation.

04-10-2017, 12:30 PM
"We've got some structures in place to keep Jake on the straight and narrow and you'll see a much better Jake Stringer next year".

Robbie d'Orazio from Connors Sports Management.

Also indicating they "know which way Jake is leaning" and that they're going to nominate a club "sooner rather than later".

04-10-2017, 12:53 PM
"We've got some structures in place to keep Jake on the straight and narrow and you'll see a much better Jake Stringer next year".

Also indicating they "know which way Jake is leaning" and that they're going to nominate a club "sooner rather than later".

They have had 2 years to get him on the straight and narrow.
It's a statement they have to make to be honest.

04-10-2017, 01:06 PM

Oh no. The boys have got his back.

For. Gods. Sake. Take him to see a doctor.

04-10-2017, 06:46 PM
I spoke to Tristan Tweedie today, he's received an invite to the B&F. He is almost certain that Stringer will be playing at the Bulldogs next year. He still talks to a lot of players of which none of them think we will get a first rounder, so we will keep him. A number of players at the club have already made contact with him (Stringer) recently.

I thought that was interesting.

04-10-2017, 06:50 PM
It would be a great news story if we can keep Stringer and get him back on track

04-10-2017, 06:53 PM
Good news 1ED, hope you're right.

04-10-2017, 07:20 PM
I spoke to Tristan Tweedie today, he's received an invite to the B&F. He is almost certain that Stringer will be playing at the Bulldogs next year. He still talks to a lot of players of which none of them think we will get a first rounder, so we will keep him. A number of players at the club have already made contact with him (Stringer) recently.

Nice.

04-10-2017, 07:25 PM
It would be a great news story if we can keep Stringer and get him back on track

Eh, I'll still struggle to care about him and the goals he kicks will mean less to me than those by other players. Can't really see him the same way anymore

04-10-2017, 07:27 PM
Roughy said Stringer would be welcomed back too on channel 7 tonight

04-10-2017, 07:29 PM
Some quotes from JMAC here that sound promising.

Western Bulldogs will hold onto Jake Stringer if suitable trade can’t be agreed
JAY CLARK, Herald Sun
an hour ago
Subscriber only

WESTERN Bulldogs will keep Jake Stringer at the club next season if they cannot secure a satisfactory trade deal for the star goalkicker.

The Bulldogs are targeting a top-10 pick for the All-Australian forward and remain adamant he will not be moved on for a discounted rate, despite some recent personal issues.

Stringer, 23, was sensationally likened to Gary Ablett Sr for his marking power and freakish goal kicking as he helped steer the Dogs to a stunning premiership last year.

But his trade worth has been questioned over the past fortnight amid explosive allegations from his former partner, Abby Gilmore, in the Herald Sun about some personal problems.

Stringer has vowed to address the on and off-field shortcomings which contributed to his inconsistent form this year.

The 192cm excitement machine is expected to decide between Essendon (pick No.11 and No.28) and Geelong (pick No.20 and No.33) as his preferred new home for next season.

But premiership list chief Jason McCartney said Stringer was going nowhere unless the Dogs received adequate compensation for a player of his immense talent and age.

Greater Western Sydney kept key forward Cameron McCarthy against his wishes for one season in 2016 before trading him to Fremantle in a swap for pick No.3 late last year.

“We have said we are happy to explore any options that Jake may have but if we cannot achieve a satisfactory agreement with another club he will remain with the Western Bulldogs for another year,” McCartney said.

“We are very clear on that. Jake is contracted for next season and we would look forward to him playing with us in 2018 if a deal doesn’t work out over the next few weeks.”

The Dogs are eager to jump back into the finals next season and want to claim versatile Port Adelaide ruckman Jackson Trengove when the free agency period begins on Friday.

They are also eyeing speedy Power ball-winner Jarman Impey and Fremantle high-flyer Hayden Crozier to help cover Stringer’s potential departure.

The Bendigo product, who was taken with pick No.5 in the 2012 national draft, is expected to sign a four-year deal at a new club in the vicinity of $2.2 million.

Stringer, who has booted 160 goals in 89 senior matches, toured Essendon’s Tullamarine headquarters for a second time on Wednesday.

Manager Robbie D’Orazio, from Connors Sports, said Stringer had learned from his mistakes this season.

“He had a few injuries along the way and he was getting multiple injections to play week in week out in the premiership year,” D’Orazio told the AFL website.

“I think the body and mindset do work hand-in-hand.

“The professionalism he probably let himself down in aspects of his game, just through time management and a few things he could have done off-field to make himself better.

“But he will learn from that and he will comeback bigger and better.”

The Dogs have a preference to secure a deal for Stringer in the early part of the trade period, which officially kicks off on Monday.
Jake Stringer is set to decide between Essendon and Geelong as his preferred club.

But talks could drag on into the second week if Essendon refuses to hand over its first pick in exchange for Stringer.

Geelong’s efforts to nab Stringer and significantly bolster its attacking set-up also hinge on the Cats’ bid to claim Gary Ablett.

The Suns want a replacement player and as much as $300,000 to part with Ablett who, like Stringer, is still contracted for next season.

Stringer said he was initially “shocked and upset” to be put on the trade table and wants a fresh start at a new club next season.

He has already begun boxing in the off-season and wants to play an expanded midfield role.

“There’s still a lot of ways to go in where I end up playing footy next year but I’m really confident that I can get back to somewhere where my best footy is,” Stringer said.

04-10-2017, 07:31 PM
Roughy said Stringer would be welcomed back too on channel 7 tonight

Dale Morris recently too. I think everyone is starting to realise this thing is headed towards him staying and working things out with everyone at the club. Or quit the game.

04-10-2017, 07:52 PM
If Stringer stays, do we still get Crozier?

04-10-2017, 08:08 PM

And another feather in Bevo's cap.

Of all eventualities, really hoping this is where we end up.

04-10-2017, 08:12 PM

If he stays I think it means we can bring in just 2 players from other sides and that will be Trengove and one other

04-10-2017, 08:14 PM

It's not going to be easy. He won't improve and get better in a linear fashion. It will probably be a couple of steps forward followed by a relapse of the problem behaviours. It takes years to tame those demons and they are tricky. I'm a smart guy and they ran rings around me.

We need as many players who can kick properly as possible. If you can kick we've got a spot for you.

I really hope Stringer stays and turns it around. I'd love to see that happen.

04-10-2017, 08:17 PM

If we can move someone like Clay Smith on.

04-10-2017, 08:19 PM
If we can move someone like Clay Smith on.

Kind of ironic if we bring in Crozier and trade out Clay Smith.

04-10-2017, 08:19 PM
Did Stringer turn up tonight?

04-10-2017, 08:20 PM

Not sure. Can’t blame him if he doesn’t though.

04-10-2017, 08:20 PM
Kind of ironic if we bring in Crozier and trade out Clay Smith.

Heh!

04-10-2017, 08:22 PM

I don't believe so.

04-10-2017, 08:25 PM
I don't believe so.

I can understand why he wouldn't. Reciprocally, he can understand why lots of people will say he should of.

04-10-2017, 09:17 PM
Seems simple to me.

We say we want a top 10 pick. Essendon offer 11 for Stringer and 26. We refuse. Essendon offer pick 11 and we accept.

I'd love to see him stay and turn it around but it won't happen. Essendon will cough up 11.

04-10-2017, 09:48 PM
Seems simple to me.

We say we want a top 10 pick. Essendon offer 11 for Stringer and 26. We refuse. Essendon offer pick 11 and we accept.

I'd love to see him stay and turn it around but it won't happen. Essendon will cough up 11.

You're probably about right. I'd love to see Stringer stay and realise his real ability with us but it ain't gonna happen.

04-10-2017, 09:51 PM
At least we're saying the right things publicly in order to maximise his trade value. Whether Essendon takes the bait is another matter.

04-10-2017, 09:53 PM
There's still a fair bit to play out but regardless of whether he is with us or not Stringer needed some of this stuff out in the open

Having it public knowledge gives him a chance of facing it instead of living in denial

I hope he can sort it out with us but life will go on if he can't

04-10-2017, 10:28 PM

Didn't show up to the B&f, but hopefully we can get him back on track.

05-10-2017, 06:53 AM
Eh, I'll still struggle to care about him and the goals he kicks will mean less to me than those by other players. Can't really see him the same way anymore

Yeah im the same. From the strories im hearing hes pretty much a dead man in my household with my wife and daughters.

But its all fluff from us in the paper just trying to get as much as we can for the creep.

05-10-2017, 09:04 AM
Interesting article popped up in my Facebook feed this morning, J-Mac quotes and he wasn't so much leaving the door ajar as pulling it wide open for Jake to stay at the Bulldogs in 2018.

I'm thinking Jake stays.

05-10-2017, 09:07 AM
Just goes to prove you never say never in the AFL
I wonder why it's looking that way? Hopefully there has been some good discussions

05-10-2017, 09:38 AM
Interesting article popped up in my Facebook feed this morning, J-Mac quotes and he wasn't so much leaving the door ajar as pulling it wide open for Jake to stay at the Bulldogs in 2018.

I'm thinking Jake stays.

What were the quotes?

05-10-2017, 09:38 AM

I'm thinking Jake stays.

Not sure there, not sure how much has been talked about yet between potential parties but I took it as pay up or shut up.

Stringer not at the B+F last night is usually not a good sign for a player staying.

We'll see.

05-10-2017, 09:53 AM

I'm thinking Jake stays.

What were the quotes?

The article was posted a couple of pages back on this thread.

05-10-2017, 10:00 AM
Cooney thinks it Essendon for pick 29 will get the deal done late the trade period.
Dwayne doesn't think Stringer is worth pick 11

05-10-2017, 10:11 AM
Cooney thinks it Essendon for pick 29 will get the deal done late the trade period.

They also mentioned it's likely Jake will nominate Essendon today ahead of Geelong.

If that's how it plays out, likely he'll be in our colours next season.

05-10-2017, 10:14 AM

Both were dropped on their heads as new borns.

05-10-2017, 10:29 AM

And trained monkeys can work on radio.

05-10-2017, 10:40 AM

And of course they both would have the same knowledge of what's going on as us.
Cooney might be talking to Jake but how would he know we would be happy with pick 29 ?
If it was 29 I would say another player would be involved or another draft pick the next year.

05-10-2017, 10:43 AM
And of course they both would have the same knowledge of what's going on as us.
Cooney might be talking to Jake but how would he know we would be happy with pick 29 ?
If it was 29 I would say another player would be involved or another draft pick the next year.

He talked just a bit about his experience being traded in the last hour of the trade period. This might be me reading it wrong but he gave the impression it was a real haggle over picks and that we eventually buckled.

05-10-2017, 10:47 AM
He talked just a bit about his experience being traded in the last hour of the trade period. This might be me reading it wrong but he gave the impression it was a real haggle over picks and that we eventually buckled.

If that's true, then Dedoro will think he can do it again, again. We need to mix it up either through your 'time clock' or my 'we are taking him off the table now' strategies. We just can't have valuable time in the trade window tied up with them.

05-10-2017, 10:52 AM

Similar set of circumstances but I were Cooney the last thing I would be saying is "the Bulldogs couldn't wait to get me off the list and the moment they did they won a flag" You won a Brownlow Coons, not the Nobel prize for literature. We all know you could play footy but none of us were under the impression you were the brain of Britain mate.

05-10-2017, 11:00 AM
Devon Smith nominating bombers. How does that impact a trade with Stringer?

05-10-2017, 11:02 AM
Devon Smith nominating bombers. How does that impact a trade with Stringer?

I imagine them offering 29 and stuffing us around more, or offering 11 and demanding 26 back, now they've a back up plan.

05-10-2017, 11:02 AM
‘BAD BLOOD’ TO DELAY STRINGER DEAL

Former Brownlow Medallist Adam Cooney believes ‘bad blood’ from previous trades between Essendon and the Western Bulldogs will delay the Jake Stringer deal.

Cooney has strong knowledge of the trading styles of both clubs, having been traded from the Bulldogs to the Bombers late in his career.

He had to wait until the final hour of the trade period for his deal to get done because the Bombers were arguing over a draft pick.

With Essendon believed to be the front runners to land Stringer, Cooney expects the negotiations to be drawn out.

“I believe that Essendon will get Jake Stringer but there is still a bit of water to go under the bridge in terms of what pick they will give up,” Cooney said on AFL Trade Radio.

“They are being really stubborn on that first round pick.

“(Essendon’s) pick 11 is not on the table at the moment. They are still in negotiations for that second round pick for Jake Stringer which they (Essendon) believe is fair given everything that has happened.

“It is not a smooth process at the moment. There is a little bit of bad blood from previous trades with Essendon and the Western Bulldogs. I expect it to go really late.”

Cooney said he believes that ultimately the Bombers will give up pick 29 for Stringer.

05-10-2017, 11:04 AM
‘BAD BLOOD’ TO DELAY STRINGER DEAL

Former Brownlow Medallist Adam Cooney believes ‘bad blood’ from previous trades between Essendon and the Western Bulldogs will delay the Jake Stringer deal.

Cooney has strong knowledge of the trading styles of both clubs, having been traded from the Bulldogs to the Bombers late in his career.

He had to wait until the final hour of the trade period for his deal to get done because the Bombers were arguing over a draft pick.

With Essendon believed to be the front runners to land Stringer, Cooney expects the negotiations to be drawn out.

“I believe that Essendon will get Jake Stringer but there is still a bit of water to go under the bridge in terms of what pick they will give up,” Cooney said on AFL Trade Radio.

“They are being really stubborn on that first round pick.

“(Essendon’s) pick 11 is not on the table at the moment. They are still in negotiations for that second round pick for Jake Stringer which they (Essendon) believe is fair given everything that has happened.

“It is not a smooth process at the moment. There is a little bit of bad blood from previous trades with Essendon and the Western Bulldogs. I expect it to go really late.”

Cooney said he believes that ultimately the Bombers will give up pick 29 for Stringer.

Take him off the table now.

05-10-2017, 11:07 AM
Don't think the cheats understand he is still contracted. Take him off the table and shut the door on them.

05-10-2017, 11:18 AM
If that's true, then Dedoro will think he can do it again, again. We need to mix it up either through your 'time clock' or my 'we are taking him off the table now' strategies. We just can't have valuable time in the trade window tied up with them.

Agreed however, this is where Paul Connors can step in and place some pressure back on them. We know Stringer has some challenges at the moment but we can't get away from the facts that:

Stinger is a contracted player and has AA and premiership honors
Stringer will be a highly paid player so pick 28 doesn't measure up

Essendon need to get creative or they will miss out. It could be Stringer and our pick 38 for pick 11 or it could be that Essendon trade pick 11 for something else and the offer back pick 14 or so but the onus is on them to be reasonable.

I think Paul Connors will get that Essendon can't be that inflexible.

05-10-2017, 11:21 AM
As others have pointed out. The solution is set a deadline early in trade week and leave it clearly in Essendon's court to demonstrate their level of commitment to Jake. If their motivation to 'even some trade score vendetta' outweighs their level of commitment to Jake that should speak volumes to Jake alone and may make him more amenable to work with other clubs to find a new home.

05-10-2017, 11:24 AM
Agreed however, this is where Paul Connors can step in and place some pressure back on them. We know Stringer has some challenges at the moment but we can't get away from the facts that:

Stinger is a contracted player and has AA and premiership honors
Stringer will be a highly paid player so pick 28 doesn't measure up

Essendon need to get creative or they will miss out. It could be Stringer and our pick 38 for pick 11 or it could be that Essendon trade pick 11 for something else and the offer back pick 14 or so but the onus is on them to be reasonable.

I think Paul Connors will get that Essendon can't be that inflexible.

That involves a hell of a lot of time though. Apparently the Hawks offer for Impey is better. If we want him, I'd rather JMac be working on that rather than listening to Dedoro vomit bullshit. Same with Crozier or anyone else that comes up. The closer it gets the firm I am that the strategy should be "he's off the table unless pick 11 or better in a straight trade, we have other things to do so only come to us with pick 11 or better and the paperwork for same" ("we don't negotiate with terrorists").

05-10-2017, 11:25 AM
What were the quotes?
Basically if we don't get a first round pick we won't trade Stringer, and J-Mac would look forward to working with Jake and his issues at the Bulldogs in 2018.

We may have just played this brilliantly - Geelong can't give us what we want, Essendon won't give us what we want. Abby's got her message out and Jake gets a huge public wake up call as to his place in the AFL world and a year of intense on-field scrutiny.

05-10-2017, 11:40 AM
Basically if we don't get a first round pick we won't trade Stringer, and J-Mac would look forward to working with Jake and his issues at the Bulldogs in 2018.

We may have just played this brilliantly - Geelong can't give us what we want, Essendon won't give us what we want. Abby's got her message out and Jake gets a huge public wake up call as to his place in the AFL world and a year of intense on-field scrutiny.

I think rather than opening up the option of Jake staying, i think things are positioning for either the club of Jake's choice to pony up a respectable offer, early on. If not that would tell Jake alot about the level of commitment his 'preferred choice' has in him. I think that would result in making Jake and his management open to other Melbourne based clubs.
I think its almost impossible Jake stays. The only way that happens is if no clubs in Melbourne make a realistic offer.

05-10-2017, 11:44 AM
I don't see how Stringer stays at all.

05-10-2017, 12:11 PM
I don't see how Stringer stays at all.

I am of the opposite view. If I believe what Bevo and JMac have said....and I do. Stringer will be at the bulldogs next season unless we get a satisfactory trade. A trade in the 20's won't cut it

05-10-2017, 12:11 PM
Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/western-bulldogs-will-hold-onto-jake-stringer-if-suitable-trade-cant-be-agreed/news-story/ff504f0a8e2af9e5fcb1eb662dc7b756)

EXILED Western Bulldogs forward Jake Stringer is poised to nominate Essendon as his preferred new home.

In a major coup for the Bombers, Stringer is believed to be in the final stages of negotiations for contract terms to play in red and black in 2018 and beyond.

GWS jet Devon Smith has also chosen the Bombers, bolstering hopes of a second consecutive finals appearance next season.

Stringer is believed to be happy with the terms on offer at Essendon and has chosen John Worsfold’s men over Geelong.

However the Bulldogs and Bombers are set for a fortnight of tense trade negotiontions with the two clubs refusing to back down from their positions with the exchange period set to kick off on Monday.

Stringer’s manager Robbie D’Orazio is continuing talks with the Bombers today about a potential four-year deal.

05-10-2017, 12:15 PM
That's a nice theory or fantasy. Reality though ain't that easy.

05-10-2017, 12:47 PM
Do you offer blokes big $ for 4 years if they aren't worth a first rounder?

4 years is a long time.

05-10-2017, 01:04 PM
Trade Radio is saying that Stringer has nominated Essendon. It's early days but we have to go head to head with Essendon on this.

The Cats won't be out of the mix

05-10-2017, 01:25 PM
Do you offer blokes big $ for 4 years if they aren't worth a first rounder?

4 years is a long time.

It's a good question - particularly as we are about to do it with Trengove - but that is a bit different given we don't trade a pick for him

If they are a best 22 player then it's not unreasonable - look at Freo and Hamling - great deal for them - gave up pick 30 and get a key defender for 3-8 years

05-10-2017, 01:28 PM
11 or no deal. It's not complicated.

05-10-2017, 01:34 PM
11 or no deal. It's not complicated.

It's as straight forward as that - I don't mind if jake plays vfl footy all year and works on his issues - I'd prefer it over accepting a poor pick from the dons

05-10-2017, 01:37 PM
It's as straight forward as that - I don't mind if jake plays vfl footy all year and works on his issues - I'd prefer it over accepting a poor pick from the dons

Precisely. Then say he wants out next year, I reckon we'd get a pick no worse than 29 either. In a better draft, and when we need draft points. There's good reasons to not negotiate. 11 or nothing.

05-10-2017, 01:46 PM
If 11 is off the table since we might not have many live picks this year how about their first next year and a second rounder of some sort this or next year? See if they back themselves.

Or keep him. I'm almost hoping we keep him and make him play VFL all year at this point.

05-10-2017, 01:51 PM
Just heard a punter call in on SEN, asking the questions:

1. With Devon Smith also nominating Essendon, how do they get both Jake and Smith done?
2. How do Essendon afford all of these guys?
3. Surely something's up with their compo payouts not being included in the cap?

The SEN expert hosed it all down... "They'll find a way to get it done & everyone will walk away happy.." ( I nearly choked!)
To question two, he said "Sure, they've had to pay extras to hold onto (listed 5-6 players!), and then on question 3, said "Yeah, maybe, interesting one.."

There's always been a gap at Essendon between belief and reality... They've overstepped it once again..! Ga-ga land!!

05-10-2017, 01:53 PM
Essendon's interest is rooted in a player whose demonstrated best is explosive and match-winning, coupled with the logic that suggests Jake has enormous untapped improvement.

Any interest at all suggests they've considered their ability to get that out of him, and are confident in that ability.

They'll cough up 11. This is all tedious groundwork to make it seem like a compromise on their part when they do.

05-10-2017, 01:58 PM
Oh and additionally, Dodoro's (predictably) offered pick 28.

Jake has discovered he's worth pick bugger all. He's also being offered less $$ than he's on with us. He's had a reality check. A straighten up. A penny drop. A foot up the arse. Public scorn and humiliation.

That means objective achieved. Arm around him from the club and he stays. Sorry Bombers. Sorry Cats.

That then leaves G Ablett. Cats can't and won't get him. Suns can't keep him. He's moving home, regardless and moving to the Greater Geelong area.

Is there a club located 45 mins from Geelong that is perched in Geelong Road??
Finally, if (a now wiser, enlightened, arse-kicked!) Jake stays, who would be better than Ablett for him to be told to watch' learn from, chat to etc..?
Just a thought..

05-10-2017, 02:02 PM
What will GWS want for Smith? Impacts the Stringer trade.

05-10-2017, 02:10 PM
The consensus in the media is that he now can't stay with us. Our position is he is ours unless a club is willing to pay a fair market value. The challenge now is to determine that value.
On ability to turn or win a game his value is of course a top 8 pick which is diminished somewhat by the challenges he faces. This however can be bridged by his management group. Either club won't be on their own.
Essendon have pick 11 but think 28 is more around the mark simply because they are trying to exploit the situation. Stringers manager needs to read the warning signs here.

I'd ask Dodoro to reflect back to when he was trading a perhaps more challenged player in Jake Carlisle from Essendon and have a look at what the Saints coughed up for him. Now when you look at Stringer and what he can bring the club in terms of excitement and game winning abilities pick 11 is looking right on the money.

We stand firm and and don't blink.

05-10-2017, 02:13 PM
The consensus in the media is that he now can't stay with us. Our position is he is ours unless a club is willing to pay a fair market value. The challenge now is to determine that value.
On ability to turn or win a game his value is of course a top 8 pick which is diminished somewhat by the challenges he faces. This however can be bridged by his management group. Either club won't be on their own.
Essendon have pick 11 but think 28 is more around the mark simply because they are trying to exploit the situation. Stringers manager needs to read the warning signs here.

I'd ask Dodoro to reflect back to when he was trading a perhaps more challenged player in Jake Carlisle from Essendon and have a look at what the Saints coughed up for him. Now when you look at Stringer and what he can bring the club in terms of excitement and game winning abilities pick 11 is looking right on the money.

We stand firm and and don't blink.

No horse trading, this isn't a negotiation - we have our position and you either meet us there or you don't.

05-10-2017, 02:23 PM
And now Saad apparently nominating essendon. How can they get them all in?

05-10-2017, 02:24 PM
They can spin this too. Get him for pick 11 on day 1.

Then their media people front Jake in their polo, and Dodoro screams we were prepared to add a pick/player if negotiations continued. When he heard a non top 10 pick it is now the 'Steal of the Century'. Which Robbo will put on the back page. Then Smith signs with them so they roll momentum through the period. They email their membership database with videos and links to increase their membership level and get friends and family to sign.

Dragging it does nothing in real terms. Things for them are broader than the detail of the trade.

We then have to send out an email to our members saying that we have a discount on jumper numbers for anyone unlucky enough to have 9 on their back.

05-10-2017, 02:24 PM

It can only be salary cap cheating. It's not possible.

05-10-2017, 02:30 PM

Or the media making it up.

05-10-2017, 02:34 PM
Jobe was on massive dollars, and the cap's just increased.

05-10-2017, 02:35 PM

Saad & 19 for 11 and change to GCS - 29 for Dev Smith and change

Their Offer then Pick 19 for Stringer. They then say take it or leave it. We leave it or demand a player to be added (Begley, Ridley?), effectively two second rounders.

05-10-2017, 03:10 PM

Their Offer then Pick 19 for Stringer. They then say take it or leave it. We leave it or demand a player to be added (Begley, Ridley?), effectively two second rounders.

I can see the Bombers making this play although neither option should be acceptable to GCS or us.

I'm concerned that in an endeavour to make the impossible work of negotiating in a reasonable and timely fashion with Essendon that it will very quickly become nothing more than a distraction for us from being creative with other opportunities / needs in the trade period.

If there is indeed bad blood between our two Clubs, as reported, and with Jake's value arguably now at it lowest for us, we can have another 12 months to work with him or another 12 months to find a more friendly Club to deal with.

We are talking about pretty exceptional circumstances that Jake's dealt with in the past 18 months and a past season where so many of his teammates performances were well off. He will turn this around with the right attitude and support, and I'm confident that with the water that has now gone under the bridge that it will be next year. If we are who we say we are, I say that we wrap our arms around Jake and guide him through it, that we all just have a bit more perseverance and dare I say it, empathy.

Jake can nominate Essendon all he likes but if his Club of choice don't know yet whether they're prepared to put 11 on the table at a minimum for him I'd be happy to shut the door on them in the next 72 hours.

And as for all this current media rubbish that we've forced him out, that it's irreversible, and that he's no where near worth a top 10 pick, as soon as the NAB Cup comes around and he slots 5 goals alongside Joey Daniher the whole talk will very soon shift to how Essendon's culture turned him around and how much of a steal Essendon got in the deal.

Personally the idea of Essendon getting Jake from us regardless of the trade value is making my skin crawl.

I would sit comfortably with JMac coming out in the next 72 hours and state that we won't deal with Essendon on Jake from this point on.

05-10-2017, 03:11 PM

GC would be getting ripped off there. That values Saad at about 400 points or about pick 40 and GC really does need players but would probably be tempted by early picks. They would need more than that

05-10-2017, 03:20 PM
GC would be getting ripped off there. That values Saad at about 400 points or about pick 40 and GC really does need players but would probably be tempted by early picks. They would need more than that

The ‘and change’ is shorthand for and something or someone else.

My view is Dodoro would back us into folding at 19 plus a player. While they plunder the trade period.

This is why Ive been saying for a week take him off the table. Our focus needs to be on other things.

05-10-2017, 03:23 PM

My view is Dodoro would back us into folding at 19 plus a player. While they plunder the trade period.

This is why Ive been saying for a week take him off the table. Our focus needs to be on other things.

If it was me, I'd be more than happy to open up a couple of spots on the list and chase Saad myself.

For another thread on another day but I'm over seeing the ball kicked backwards in back line and want us moving the ball forward quickly at every chance and Saad would help us a lot in that regard

05-10-2017, 03:30 PM
If it was me, I'd be more than happy to open up a couple of spots on the list and chase Saad myself.

For another thread on another day but I'm over seeing the ball kicked backwards in back line and want us moving the ball forward quickly at every chance and Saad would help us a lot in that regard

Surely Crammers would love it up there...

05-10-2017, 03:43 PM
That involves a hell of a lot of time though. Apparently the Hawks offer for Impey is better. If we want him, I'd rather JMac be working on that rather than listening to Dedoro vomit bullshit. Same with Crozier or anyone else that comes up. The closer it gets the firm I am that the strategy should be "he's off the table unless pick 11 or better in a straight trade, we have other things to do so only come to us with pick 11 or better and the paperwork for same" ("we don't negotiate with terrorists").

Yep. Pick 11 is our price, take it or leave it. We have to be prepared to walk away though.

Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/western-bulldogs-will-hold-onto-jake-stringer-if-suitable-trade-cant-be-agreed/news-story/ff504f0a8e2af9e5fcb1eb662dc7b756)

EXILED Western Bulldogs forward Jake Stringer is poised to nominate Essendon as his preferred new home.

In a major coup for the Bombers, Stringer is believed to be in the final stages of negotiations for contract terms to play in red and black in 2018 and beyond.

GWS jet Devon Smith has also chosen the Bombers, bolstering hopes of a second consecutive finals appearance next season.

Stringer is believed to be happy with the terms on offer at Essendon and has chosen John Worsfold’s men over Geelong.

However the Bulldogs and Bombers are set for a fortnight of tense trade negotiontions with the two clubs refusing to back down from their positions with the exchange period set to kick off on Monday.

Stringer’s manager Robbie D’Orazio is continuing talks with the Bombers today about a potential four-year deal.

Just heard a punter call in on SEN, asking the questions:

1. With Devon Smith also nominating Essendon, how do they get both Jake and Smith done?
2. How do Essendon afford all of these guys?
3. Surely something's up with their compo payouts not being included in the cap?

The SEN expert hosed it all down... "They'll find a way to get it done & everyone will walk away happy.." ( I nearly choked!)
To question two, he said "Sure, they've had to pay extras to hold onto (listed 5-6 players!), and then on question 3, said "Yeah, maybe, interesting one.."

There's always been a gap at Essendon between belief and reality... They've overstepped it once again..! Ga-ga land!!

I've been saying it since they re-signed Hurley with the Monopoly money they seem to have at Essendon. How are they signing and resigning and improving offers to players already on their list?

Oh and additionally, Dodoro's (predictably) offered pick 28.

Jake has discovered he's worth pick bugger all. He's also being offered less $$ than he's on with us. He's had a reality check. A straighten up. A penny drop. A foot up the arse. Public scorn and humiliation.

That means objective achieved. Arm around him from the club and he stays. Sorry Bombers. Sorry Cats.

That then leaves G Ablett. Cats can't and won't get him. Suns can't keep him. He's moving home, regardless and moving to the Greater Geelong area.

Is there a club located 45 mins from Geelong that is perched in Geelong Road??
Finally, if (a now wiser, enlightened, arse-kicked!) Jake stays, who would be better than Ablett for him to be told to watch' learn from, chat to etc..?
Just a thought..

I love your work Webby.

05-10-2017, 03:45 PM
Someone just text into Sen saying they just chatted to Jake and no way is he coming back to the dogs, anonymous but was pretty solid about it.
Just after both commentators said they thought he would stay.

05-10-2017, 03:46 PM
Someone just text into Sen saying they just chatted to Jake and no way is he coming back to the dogs, anonymous but was pretty solid about it.

‘Gap year’

05-10-2017, 03:50 PM

Anonymous = Dedoro?

The thing is it's not his choice. Is he really going to sit out of footy for a year if we don't deal? He would be even stupider than I thought if he does that.

‘Gap year’

and good way of stopping the tap for his alleged gambling addiction.

Wrong thread possibly - but is anyone else annoyed that Essendon appear to be a "destination club" with the likes of Saad, Smith and Stringer wanting to be traded there whilst we couldn't attract anyone after a Premiership last year and still seem to be struggling this season?

Annoyed that we haven't been after Saad and will be annoyed if Hawthorn win Impey's services over us.

What are we doing and why can't we attract talent without overpaying? The odd few like Trengove excluded.

05-10-2017, 03:52 PM

Plough just proposed something similar to yours. He's obviously reading the works of the real list manager ;)
He suggested that Essendon trade picks 11 and 28 to GC for picks 19, 22 and Saad.
Essendon would then ship off picks 19 for Stringer and 22 for Smith.

I think Essendon would need to send a player like Francis to GC to make it work though

05-10-2017, 03:54 PM
Wrong thread possibly - but is anyone else annoyed that Essendon appear to be a "destination club" with the likes of Saad, Smith and Stringer wanting to be traded there whilst we couldn't attract anyone after a Premiership last year and still seem to be struggling this season?

Annoyed that we haven't been after Saad and will be annoyed if Hawthorn win Impey's services over us.

What are we doing and why can't we attract talent without overpaying? The odd few like Trengove excluded.

It's perplexing. Something doesn't add up

05-10-2017, 03:58 PM

Might it suggest something about our playing group and cliques therein?

Who the hell wouldn't want to play for Bevo and alongside the Bont?

05-10-2017, 03:59 PM

None of Saad, Smith or Stringer would be on huge money. I doubt it would be too big an issue. I don't think any Essendon players are on mega-money. They even secured Daniher for around $700K.

05-10-2017, 04:05 PM

Money talks. Essendon probably has a large amount of uncommitted cash to splash. It may have as much as three quarters of the collective bargaining agreement Cap increase not tied up in automatic contract increases (so say $1.5M) plus Watson's salary (reported to be a $900k final year of a back ended contract) giving them a war chest of $2.4M. They can't spend all of it on new players, as they will have some current players whose 2018 will be more than their 2017 but there could easily be $1.5M or more uncommitted money there.

05-10-2017, 04:11 PM

I take callers in to SEN, especially anonymous ones, with the biggest grain of salt I can find.

05-10-2017, 04:15 PM
Money talks. Essendon probably has a large amount of uncommitted cash to splash. It may have as much as three quarters of the collective bargaining agreement Cap increase not tied up in automatic contract increases (so say $1.5M) plus Watson's salary (reported to be a $900k final year of a back ended contract) giving them a war chest of $2.4M. They can't spend all of it on new players, as they will have some current players whose 2018 will be more than their 2017 but there could easily be $1.5M or more uncommitted money there.

We should have plenty of money ourselves given the retirements of Boyd and Murphy, the money 'leftover' from trying to attain Hurley (800K?) plus Stringer's salary, but we haven't even been in the conversation for a player like Saad who is exactly the type of player that we need.

This is a crucial trade/draft period for us. We didn't capitalise on last year's success in any capacity and appear to be falling behind others at an alarming rate. If we buckle to Essendon and accept anything less than Pick 11, then I want questions to be asked and jobs to be challenged.

05-10-2017, 05:02 PM
We should have plenty of money ourselves given the retirements of Boyd and Murphy, the money 'leftover' from trying to attain Hurley (800K?) plus Stringer's salary, but we haven't even been in the conversation for a player like Saad who is exactly the type of player that we need.

This is a crucial trade/draft period for us. We didn't capitalise on last year's success in any capacity and appear to be falling behind others at an alarming rate. If we buckle to Essendon and accept anything less than Pick 11, then I want questions to be asked and jobs to be challenged.

I think we're overly bullish about our list, the development it has in front of it and what it can achieve. Such a mindset would result in us not pursuing opportunities with the zeal others might. On the one hand we won a premiership largely with what we have (now minus Hamling and Boyd), on the other we're seeing teams around us develop while we've regressed. We are seemingly taking steps to resolve the loss of Hamling - a year too late - and it will be interesting to see what else we do given we've probably got Boyd covered.

It's a massive roll of the dice play, if it backfires we'll look pretty silly.

I agree with you that anything less than pick 11 for Stringer should be rejected. Sure, everything's negotiable, but with a second rounder tabled we'd want to get an exceptionally good sweetener to accompany it. I'm not sure EFC have anything we would consider.

05-10-2017, 05:10 PM
Plough just proposed something similar to yours. He's obviously reading the works of the real list manager ;)
He suggested that Essendon trade picks 11 and 28 to GC for picks 19, 22 and Saad.
Essendon would then ship off picks 19 for Stringer and 22 for Smith.

I think Essendon would need to send a player like Francis to GC to make it work though

Wait doesn't that value Saad at nothing at all?

05-10-2017, 05:10 PM
I think we're overly bullish about our list, the development it has in front of it and what it can achieve. Such a mindset would result in us not pursuing opportunities with the zeal others might. On the one hand we won a premiership largely with what we have (now minus Hamling and Boyd), on the other we're seeing teams around us develop while we've regressed. We are seemingly taking steps to resolve the loss of Hamling - a year too late - and it will be interesting to see what else we do given we've probably got Boyd covered.

It's a massive roll of the dice play, if it backfires we'll look pretty silly.

I agree with you that anything less than pick 11 for Stringer should be rejected. Sure, everything's negotiable, but with a second rounder tabled we'd want to get an exceptionally good sweetener to accompany it. I'm not sure EFC have anything we would consider.

I checked out last years second rounders on their list (talented, possibly gettable, fans wouldn’t miss as didn’t see much of them), Ridley was taken just after English. Then Begley later on in the second round. Would come down to Dalrymples assessment of either. The sweetener would want to be sweet to consider less than 11.

05-10-2017, 05:16 PM
Wait doesn't that value Saad at nothing at all?

Essendon would be giving up 2006 points, GC 1893 valuing Saad at 113 points. Despite the sensitivities of getting him back to Victoria he is a contracted player so there needs to be a bit of a premium paid. Essendon need to give a player to GC perhaps Francis

05-10-2017, 05:54 PM
Essendon would be giving up 2006 points, GC 1893 valuing Saad at 113 points. Despite the sensitivities of getting him back to Victoria he is a contracted player so there needs to be a bit of a premium paid. Essendon need to give a player to GC perhaps Francis

Yep which is equal to pick 62. Would want to be one heck of a sweetener, Francis wouldn't be enough IMO

05-10-2017, 06:09 PM
Yep which is equal to pick 62. Would want to be one heck of a sweetener, Francis wouldn't be enough IMO

The way I look at it is Francis might play 8 senior games with Essendon but Saad would play 20 for Essendon. Francis would probably play 12 to 15 games for GC. I think you're right but in the scheme of proposed trades at least GC aren't getting ripped that much in this scenario

05-10-2017, 06:25 PM
Might it suggest something about our playing group and cliques therein?

Who the hell wouldn't want to play for Bevo and alongside the Bont?
I think it says more about most players wanting g to go to big clubs and play in front of big crowds.

05-10-2017, 07:29 PM
Plus all the player wages not actually in the cap and instead in the 'players compensation' column ;)

05-10-2017, 07:41 PM
Plus all the player wages not actually in the cap and instead in the 'players compensation' column ;)

I had/have a thread on this two years ago. If they settle with players that may be outside the cap in theory, perhaps not actually though. Take Hurley, Heppell etc could officially be on $800,000, but conceivably 50% or more factoring into this. If Daniher made a different claim, on stress etc and settled, then he might not really be on $700,000. I'm telling ya, if the ATO checked taxes and declared income from players against club wages and scrutinised settlement agreements I don't believe the salary cap would be actually met in spirit and/or in law. I raised it here two years ago where media folk lurk and no one ever talked about it in the media, so I guess no one in the media wants to talk about it.

As I said in that thread, if this is how business is now, I want all our long term injury players to sue the club, and coincidentally take a lower contract. At the rate we have LTIs, we can then throw massive cash around at trade time.

06-10-2017, 09:18 AM
Just listening to Paul Connors and he appears to be leaning towards that Stringer will be at another club next year. He did say because he has a contract you can't rule it out but he does appear to have accepted that Stringer is going

06-10-2017, 09:20 AM
Just listening to Paul Connors and he appears to be leaning towards that Stringer will be at another club next year. He did say because he has a contract you can't rule it out but he does appear to have accepted that Stringer is going

Best he help get Dodoro to offer up 11 quick.

06-10-2017, 09:50 AM

I think that's the easy way out for Jake.

It would take a man of significant character to admit he's at fault... which I don't think is in Jake's kit-bag, easier to walk away than swallow your pride.

06-10-2017, 09:53 AM

It would take a man of significant character to admit he's at fault... which I don't think is in Jake's kit-bag, easier to walk away than swallow your pride.

Agreed. Anyone can *!*!*!*! up. It takes a real man to admit your mistake and fix your life instead of trying to outrun your demons. They always catch up in the end.

06-10-2017, 10:00 AM

bl
I think Jake says he is at fault but doesn't get it. He is the type of guy who apologises just to make 'being in trouble' stop but has no idea what he is apologising for, hence the apparent 'shock' when a relationship is broken.

He is a man-child.

06-10-2017, 10:20 AM
Cats haven't given up on Stringer
Reports suggest Jake Stringer is set to join Devon Smith and Adam Saad in nominating Essendon as his preferred landing spot, but Geelong remains in the race for the 2015 All Australian.

The Cats' back-to-back best and fairest winner Patrick Dangerfield confirmed on Thursday night that he and captain Joel Selwood had met with Stringer this week.

"It wasn't so much a sell," Dangerfield said.

"It was just seeing where Jake was at and speaking about what we, as a club, could offer him and he's got a decision to make where he heads in his football.

"We're a bit in the dark, as a few clubs are, about where he's headed. But whether he chooses us, I'm not sure."

Afl.com.au

06-10-2017, 12:17 PM
IMHO Geelong need Stringer more than Essendon do

06-10-2017, 12:24 PM
IMHO Geelong need Stringer more than Essendon do

Geelong's strategy is odd.

Lose Motlop and Menzel who are in their prime, recruit Ablett who has 1 year left.

What are they trying to do? It's neither here nor there in terms of a rebuild/refresh or topping up.

06-10-2017, 12:30 PM

Lose Motlop and Menzel who are in their prime, recruit Ablett who has 1 year left.

What are they trying to do? It's neither here nor there in terms of a rebuild/refresh or topping up.

I agree and they have a 23 year old gun (admittedly has issues ) that has 10 years ahead of him they could get.

06-10-2017, 12:41 PM

Menzel gave far more to Geelong than Stringer did to us. I reckon there's someone pulling Scott's strings re. the Ablett acquisition. Geelong just can't help themselves when it comes to that name.

06-10-2017, 01:29 PM
This continues to be a rollercoaster ride, one day I want him gone the next I want him to stay. I hope that clubs undersell his real value so a deal can't be done and gives us the chance to show him we value him and want to work with him to sort all this out. But it would appear that it isn't just a coaching and list management choice but the players need to be on board to keep him in the fold.

06-10-2017, 05:21 PM
I just tweeted this because it's been annoying me seeing the criticism of the club for the way they've handled this whole thing:

- the initial 'leak' from flog Barrett clearly did not come from the club, not least because nobody from the club would talk to Barrett. As far as I'm concerned that was Stringer or Connors. The club would clearly have preferred that conversation to remain private.
- Bevo clarified the club's position that a parting of the ways could be best for both parties, but the position was not and is not irretrievable. He did not elaborate on reasons or any details, but let's not forget how many people were calling for the club to clarify our position at the time.
- Connors putting him in front of the media at Trade Radio launch was a poorly conceived plan for a poor media performer, which highlighted how little awareness Jake actually has.
- Abby's article had nothing to do with the club, and as far as I'm concerned his adulterous behaviour should have no impact on his trade value. The gambling issues and refusal to accept help, different story.

I'm very glad to see that the Dogs are standing firm on their position of an early first round or he stays. Our position has not wavered and our message regarding Stringer has not wavered. All negative information about him has come from himself, his manager or his ex-partner.

Seeing "they devalued him when the coach went public" and "they kicked him out so they can't get anything good" etc is ridiculous. He's contracted and I don't think we're bluffing...its Essendons pick 11 or he stays.

06-10-2017, 05:46 PM
I agree and they have a 23 year old gun (admittedly has issues ) that has 10 years ahead of him they could get.

Unfortunately they have no trade assets to bargain with and they are committing those limited trade assets to procure the prodigal son.

08-10-2017, 10:55 PM
Have you achieved some kind of celebrity status if Adam Cooney calls you a dickhead on Twitter?

08-10-2017, 10:57 PM
Have you achieved some kind of celebrity status if Adam Cooney calls you a dickhead on Twitter?

I think so, he had a crack at Bornadog today

08-10-2017, 11:01 PM

I just saw that, very funny.

08-10-2017, 11:10 PM

He took it well you calling him a dickhead :)

09-10-2017, 02:24 AM
He took it well you calling him a dickhead :)

It was more the media guys who follow Essendon. Cooney acts like he never played for us but only played for Essendon.

09-10-2017, 07:39 AM
It was more the media guys who follow Essendon. Cooney acts like he never played for us but only played for Essendon.

It's pretty widely known that Mrs Cooney has an unusually strong influence over Mr Cooney. She wears the pants and is employed by the Essendon Footy Club. Mrs Cooney is said to harbour a decent grudge against WBFC. Secondly, the Cooneys have a strong big brother/ big sister influence over the Stringers, so it's unsurprising that firstly, Jake has developed a distinct lack of commitment towards the club. It's equally unsurprising that Essendon are squarely in the frame.

09-10-2017, 07:48 AM
Matthew Lloyd has just put a proposed trade forward

Essendon send pick 11 to GC for Saad and pick 19
Essendon send Pick 19 to the Dogs for Stringer
Essendon send pick 28 to GWS for Smith

09-10-2017, 08:15 AM

So if they go with that Jake will still be a Bulldog next year.
They need to sweeten the pot if they are only pick 19.

09-10-2017, 08:27 AM

Nice of him to share his opinion, but a big fat NO from me, and hopefully the club.

I wouldn't trade Stringer for 11 so not a *!*!*!*!ing chance for 19!

09-10-2017, 08:47 AM
Chad Cornes in conversation with Lloyd, "Bulldogs have to take what they can get", while the pair of them equate Stringer's worth to be roughly equivalent to but certainly no better than Schache or Francis.

Uhuh.

09-10-2017, 08:49 AM
Chad Cornes in conversation with Lloyd, "Bulldogs have to take what they can get", while the pair of them equate Stringer's worth to be roughly equivalent to but certainly no better than Schache or Francis.

Uhuh.

I've had a few bites on Twitter about how Essnedon can value the unfit Francis the same as Stringer who has won a flag, AA and has kick 50 plus goals in a season

09-10-2017, 08:56 AM
Alright it's D day. It's time for us to stay strong on our word and say top 10 pick or he stays a bulldog.

09-10-2017, 09:00 AM
Alright it's D day. It's time for us to stay strong on our word and say top 10 pick or he stays a bulldog.
The club is in a difficult position but now must stand up and meet the expectations they have set.

09-10-2017, 09:05 AM
The club is in a difficult position but now must stand up and meet the expectations they have set.

I don' agree G that we are in a difficult position. We hold the whip hand. Bevo and JMac have both said that unless we obtain a very good draft pick Jake will play for us next year. He is a contracted player. Simple

09-10-2017, 09:14 AM
I don' agree G that we are in a difficult position. We hold the whip hand. Bevo and JMac have both said that unless we obtain a very good draft pick Jake will play for us next year. He is a contracted player. Simple

Given the expectations set we now can't buckle to inferior offers. My gut feel is that we want him to go but we now have some limits to what is acceptable.

09-10-2017, 09:15 AM

Our position is fairly simple, we know what we want and until someone offers us it we keep saying no and Jake plays for us next year. There is nothing difficult or complicated about that.

09-10-2017, 09:17 AM

That's what I'm referring to.

I agree with you about his behaviour, btw. Maybe he feels more connected to Essendon because they gave him another couple of years making a lot of money when he was finished?

09-10-2017, 09:20 AM
Given the expectations set we now can't buckle to inferior offers. My gut feel is that we want him to go but we now have some limits to what is acceptable.

Yes we just have to hold fast.

09-10-2017, 09:45 AM
So long as we continue to remind ourselves that this is Essendon that are trying to get Jake over to them for nicks. They are widely understood to be the worst at dealing reasonably. Don't let them waste our time at all on this. Pick 11 is the bare minimum otherwise just put a block on Dodoro's number.

Other Club's will come, particularly after other deals close out.

09-10-2017, 09:49 AM
Has Connors finally come out and nominated Essendon?

09-10-2017, 10:00 AM
If Essendon give us pick 11 for Stringer which is speculation with all that has happened I think we take it and move on.

09-10-2017, 10:18 AM
Has Connors finally come out and nominated Essendon?

Not yet BT.

09-10-2017, 10:20 AM
He still hasn't Come out yet and said who he wants to go to .. Personally I think he wants to stay but is embarrassed about it all and just doesn't know what's going on.
Basically it's still the clubs choice and I don't think he wants to burn his bridges anymore.

09-10-2017, 10:25 AM
Side note - What's going to happen when his kids are old enough to google him?

After they read the stuff from their mum, what's the next story? That's the question he needs to consider. Did he run away with his problems, or stay and maturely deal with them and be a 'life' role model for his kids and many others?

09-10-2017, 11:05 AM
Stringers manager has just walked into docklands will it get done early? Interesting times

09-10-2017, 11:16 AM
Side note - What's going to happen when his kids get are old enough to google him?

After they read the stuff from their mum, what's the next story? That's the question he needs to consider. Did he run away with his problems, or stay and maturely deal with them and be a 'life' role model for his kids and many others?

I was wondering this too, definitely the most disappointing and sad part of the whole mess.

09-10-2017, 11:22 AM
Stringer's agent has "officially" nominated Essendon, shocking nobody.

Now let's see how fair dinkum they are. The last thing we need is for any standoff due to Dodoro's BS to interfere with other objectives this trade period.

mitch0418
09-10-2017, 11:32 AM
Surely Matthew Lloyd is joking in regards to the Bombers plan to get Jake for pick 19? I hope the Dogs stick to their word and don't accept anything below a top 10 pick (pick 11 at worst). I'd rather Jake suck it up in the VFL or clean toilets at the club than let Essendon dictate the terms. Didn't the Saints give the Bombers pick 5 or something for Carlisle? But a premiership player and AA is only worth pick 19?? They need to get their hand off it.

09-10-2017, 11:33 AM
Stringer's agent has "officially" nominated Essendon, shocking nobody.

Now let's see how fair dinkum they are. The last thing we need is for any standoff due to Dodoro's BS to interfere with other objectives this trade period.

Yeah give him a deadline to come up with a decent trade or we pull Jake off the trade table

09-10-2017, 11:35 AM
Surely Matthew Lloyd is joking in regards to the Bombers plan to get Jake for pick 19? I hope the Dogs stick to their word and don't accept anything below a top 10 pick (pick 11 at worst). I'd rather Jake suck it up in the VFL or clean toilets at the club than let Essendon dictate the terms. Didn't the Saints give the Bombers pick 5 or something for Carlisle? But a premiership player and AA is only worth pick 19?? They need to get their hand off it.

I think some of the former Bomber players in the media they actually believe if things work our best for Essendon it's best for the AFL.

To make matters worse on Trade Radio Lloyd is valuing Francis who isn't fit roughly the same as Stringer. They try to be subtle but really they don't fool many.

09-10-2017, 11:41 AM
I think some of the former Bomber players in the media they actually believe if things work our best for Essendon it's best for the AFL.

To make matters worse on Trade Radio Lloyd is valuing Francis who isn't fit roughly the same as Stringer. They try to be subtle but really they don't fool many.

Wow if it wasn't enough to hate essendon for being essendon, then on top of it they cheat, then on top of that they receive the number 1 draft pick for said cheating, now all their have-been players are coming out dictating with extreme bias what value players going to and from the club should be. If only the AFL shut the club down when they had the chance.

Also if Stringer is having Cooney as a mentor then he is even dumber than i gave him credit for. I will not listen to trade radio anymore for the simple fact they are employing Cooney. The guy is an imbecile.

09-10-2017, 11:42 AM
Carlisle was the equivalent of pick 14 on points - Saints got a bit back.

09-10-2017, 11:43 AM
Apparently Cooney said Francis is worth Pick 10.

I can't stand this flog - that he even has a job is baffling.

09-10-2017, 11:51 AM
Apparently Cooney said Francis is worth Pick 10.

I can't stand this flog - that he even has a job is baffling.

That's awesome that means Jake is worth at least two number 1s , Essendon better end up last the next two years if they want him then.

09-10-2017, 12:01 PM
Trade radio tweet saying talking Essendon begun. Kerr from Essendon saying pick 11 may need to be used to land Stringer. Confident that a deal will be reached now.

And SA clubs no real interest in Francis.

09-10-2017, 12:04 PM
Trade radio tweet saying talking Essendon begun. Kerr from Essendon saying pick 11 may need to be used to land Stringer. Confident that a deal will be reached now.

So long as we don't give anything back in return for just 11. I don't want to be sending them 26 back

09-10-2017, 12:08 PM
So long as we don't give anything back in return for just 11. I don't want to be sending them 26 back

Yep, that's still a poor result being a 15 pick upgrade.

09-10-2017, 12:16 PM
Surely Matthew Lloyd is joking in regards to the Bombers plan to get Jake for pick 19?

Puts the hilarity in perspective when with the same breath he suggests Saad is worth pick 11 to facilitate his little fantasy.

09-10-2017, 12:17 PM
Scratch that. Kerr talked about a Stringer trade over the course of 10 days.

This is the threat. Other deals get knocked around, and our attention distracted.

09-10-2017, 12:20 PM
Puts the hilarity in perspective when with the same breath he suggests Saad is worth pick 11 to facilitate his little fantasy.

They've already put an offer to the Suns, as their first domino to fall. My guess 11 for Saad and 19. If Scott Clayton gives them that, then the best they can offer is pick 19 & a player or pick 19 & future pick for Stringer.

We will soon see if we are bluffing on Stringer or ice cold negotiators.

09-10-2017, 12:20 PM
If we give up 26 then I want Dal and McCartney gone. That would be so pathetic of us.

09-10-2017, 12:22 PM

So francis is worth pick 10 according to Coons but clubs aren't interested.. I think that says it all.

09-10-2017, 12:24 PM
So francis is worth pick 10 according to Coons but clubs aren't interested.. I think that says it all.

I usually start a thread each year 'dumbest trade rumours'. Probably easier to assume they're all from Cooney and save me the effort of starting a thread.

mitch0418
09-10-2017, 12:30 PM
Carlisle was the equivalent of pick 14 on points - Saints got a bit back.

In the deal:
- Essendon receives Bird and pick No.5, gives up Carlisle and pick No.44, and exchanges pick No.23 for pick No.24;
- St Kilda receives Carlisle and pick No.14 and gives up pick No.5 and pick No.24;
- Sydney Swans receive picks No.23 and pick No.44, and gives up pick No.14 and Bird.

My point is that the Saints gave up pick 5 to Essendon for Carlisle. If Carlisle was worth pick 5 then Jake is worth just as much so we stick to our guns or he stays.

09-10-2017, 12:41 PM
They've already put an offer to the Suns, as their first domino to fall. My guess 11 for Saad and 19. If Scott Clayton gives them that, then the best they can offer is pick 19 & a player or pick 19 & future pick for Stringer.

We will soon see if we are bluffing on Stringer or ice cold negotiators.

I just dont see why GC do that trade. It makes no sense at all.

09-10-2017, 01:32 PM

I heard it a bit different, he said pick 11 would be used in an effort to acquire the 3 players they are after. He said the deals would be independent of Francis

09-10-2017, 01:34 PM
If we give up 26 then I want Dal and McCartney gone. That would be so pathetic of us.

It won't be Dalrymples fault or decision. There is a committee used to oversee these deals.

09-10-2017, 01:34 PM
I usually start a thread each year 'dumbest trade rumours'. Probably easier to assume they're all from Cooney and save me the effort of starting a thread.

You could name it the Cooney files!

Cooney=TWAT

09-10-2017, 02:02 PM
If Essendon give us pick 11 for Stringer which is speculation with all that has happened I think we take it and move on.
I want more from Essendon.

Pick 11 and next years essendon second round pick(I hope they will slide), we can exchange our 3rd round pick of this year or next year.

09-10-2017, 02:06 PM
This is Gary Buckenara's view on dealing with Essendon

Who are the worst clubs to deal with and why?

Essendon. You could never really get a straight answer out of the Bombers, particularly when Kevin Sheedy was coach.

He was a great coach but he treated the trade period like a game – he’d talk in riddles and change his mind. A lot of clubs actually didn’t want to do deals with Essendon or get involved in any deals that they were involved in because they’d fall over at the last minute after Sheedy changed his mind or they changed their mind as a club.

That used to occur a fair bit a while back. I don’t think clubs appreciated that and while they’re better now, there was definitely a period where clubs avoided them and it affected the Bombers on the field because they couldn’t get involved in the trade period.

Even when they were serious about a deal no club took them seriously. It was like the Boy Who Cried Wolf.[/U]

09-10-2017, 02:09 PM
I want more from Essendon.

Pick 11 and next years essendon second round pick(I hope they will slide), we can exchange our 3rd round pick of this year or next year.

I like your optimism Macca.

Assuming that Jake staying is now irretrievable, reading the tea leaves, unfortunately we will have done well to get it done with Essendon's pick 11, unless we take the path of a 3 way trade deal.

By accounts at TradeDay, we have asked for Essendon's pick 11 to get it done.

09-10-2017, 02:10 PM
What about next year's first round pick from Essendon? They obviously think they'll improve on this year and we bank a pick for a stronger draft.

09-10-2017, 02:44 PM
It won't be Dalrymples fault or decision. There is a committee used to oversee these deals.

True. I'm very, very angry over this and the whole thing is giving me a migraine.

09-10-2017, 03:13 PM
True. I'm very, very angry over this and the whole thing is giving me a migraine.

Why? You have no control over the situation so no point stressing about it. Well not too much anyway.

The things I actually control in life give me enough bother without taking other people's responsibilities onboard as well.

09-10-2017, 03:15 PM
There will be alot of angry supporters if Stringer is given away for less than a top ten pick. - This is big for future membership (it shouldn't be)

09-10-2017, 03:34 PM
Did anyone pick up that woof's favourite ex Dog Mr.Cooney in his article this morning mentioned that after he had spoken with people at the Bulldogs, he had a better understanding of the issues, including Stringer being dishonest with Bevo. I thought that was quite an interesting revelation as I know Bevo backs the players to the hilt, so he would find this very hard to swallow (apologies I know Cooney isn't the greatest source of information). It's becoming quite clear that he's had a fair amount of support and chances and I'm backing the club on this one.

This is the section

"Coach Luke Beveridge publicly declared Jake was on the trade table after a clear coach/player relationship breakdown.

This public admission has clearly affected his trade value. I was critical of Beveridge for not speaking directly to Jake about being traded and instead airing it publicly. But upon reflection and speaking to a number of people at the Bulldogs, the coach cares deeply about his players and empathy is one of his strongest assets.

Jake had clearly lost the trust of the coach. This is due to numerous occasions where he felt he had been dishonest with him and refused to change his habits."

09-10-2017, 03:38 PM
There will be alot of angry supporters if Stringer is given away for less than a top ten pick. - This is big for future membership (it shouldn't be)

Unfortunately there will probably be lots of the “not renewing my membership now” types in both the ‘trade him’ and ‘don’t trade him’ camps. What we have here folks is a good old fashioned lose/lose scenario.

09-10-2017, 04:06 PM

Surely pick 11 vs pick 10 won't bother ppl

09-10-2017, 04:10 PM
Surely pick 11 vs pick 10 won't bother ppl

Even pick 12 shouldn't. We have to be pragmatic. It's almost impossible to get exact values in trades for players or picks.

09-10-2017, 04:30 PM
Even pick 12 shouldn't. We have to be pragmatic. It's almost impossible to get exact values in trades for players or picks.

We take their first round pick under the proviso that they don't trade it down thru another trade.

09-10-2017, 04:59 PM

TBH it may hurt membership more not to trade him.

Its shit that i got to this stage, but pick 11 isnt a bad deal if we get it.

09-10-2017, 05:06 PM
Pick 11 is fair for both sides. If he gets himself together, Essendon win by loads, if he doesn't, they probably lose by loads. Upside and downside aren't miles off. He could be a gun. He should be a gun. They have the advantage of him having nowhere to hide his "indiscretions" now. Surely makes it more likely he'll turn it around if he's traded.

09-10-2017, 06:19 PM

I just don't get that BAD

I accept There will be supporters disappointed we couldn't work it out with stringer - I'm among them

But I don't accept that members will not renew over Stringer

We have a lot of other players to get behind and the former #9 will be just be a former player - and not worthy of my thinking (nor anyones) about bulldog domination

09-10-2017, 06:43 PM
Mark Stevens reporting that Stringer will most likely stay at the dogs.

09-10-2017, 06:43 PM
Stevo tweeting Stringer staying is most likely, Dodo must be offering a third rounder for him.

09-10-2017, 07:06 PM
Mark Stevens reporting that Stringer will most likely stay at the dogs.

Essendon / Dodoro wasting everyone's time again. They should be banned from Trade Week like they were banned for being drug cheats. What a shit Club.

09-10-2017, 07:11 PM
Essendon / Dodoro wasting everyone's time again. They should be banned from Trade Week like they were banned for being drug cheats. What a shit Club.

They were hardly banned. I'd say almost rewarded. They got a year off to refresh knowing full well they got a free look at any rookie in the country whilst knowing they'd be rewarded with the no 1 pick. Absolute disgrace from the league to give them the no 1 pick. They finished last because their players cheated and were rubbed out for a year. Not because they were bad. They then got the no 1 pick plus had all their top players return. Still annoys me that was allowed to happen. And the Essendon media campaigners were the leading choir boys making everyone feel sorry for the club. Disgraceful. I lost a lot of respect/support for the AFL with that terrible decision

09-10-2017, 07:22 PM
Cool, time for a game of thrones 'shame' march into the WO.

09-10-2017, 07:24 PM
Could we look at something like:

Trade with Brisbane

Pick 9 to Birsbane for Schache and 18

Separate trade with GC and Ess

Pick 18 (ours) to Gold Coast
Pick 28 (Ess) to Gold Coast
Pick 11 (Ess) to Dogs
Pick 24 (GC) to Dogs
Pick 35 (GC) to Dogs - we can negotiate on this one.

Stringer to Ess
Saad to Ess

End result:
Dogs lose Stringer, pick 9
Dogs receive Schache, picks 11, 24, 35 (we also hold pick 26' so have 4 picks in the top 35/40 once bidding and FA compo hits)

Gold Coast lose Saad, pick 24
GC receive picks 18, 28

Ess receive Stringer, Saad
Ess lose picks 11, 28

Ive had a long day, but would we be happy with that?

Essendon and GWS then need to look at say a future first round for Smith.

09-10-2017, 07:25 PM
And while I was typing that some news has broken, so maybe ignore me.... :)

09-10-2017, 07:38 PM

If clubs want things to change then they just ignore Dodoro and make it know that if he is there they won't be.

09-10-2017, 07:53 PM
And while I was typing that some news has broken, so maybe ignore me.... :)

The general consensus is that Stevo is doing for us what Lloyd, Cooney and Watson do for Essendon by trying to show we won't budge
He's copping a belting on Twitter ;)

09-10-2017, 07:56 PM
This is the same Dodoro who threw Bigg's DVD in the bin. Thanks for that Dodo.

09-10-2017, 07:59 PM

Uhuh.

Why should we? Cornes can get stuffed. We refuse to deal, he wears the tricolours for us next year. He doesn't pull his finger out, Bevo will have him VFL side week in week out. Good on you dogs, be proud.

09-10-2017, 08:32 PM
They were hardly banned. I'd say almost rewarded. They got a year off to refresh knowing full well they got a free look at any rookie in the country whilst knowing they'd be rewarded with the no 1 pick. Absolute disgrace from the league to give them the no 1 pick. They finished last because their players cheated and were rubbed out for a year. Not because they were bad. They then got the no 1 pick plus had all their top players return. Still annoys me that was allowed to happen. And the Essendon media campaigners were the leading choir boys making everyone feel sorry for the club. Disgraceful. I lost a lot of respect/support for the AFL with that terrible decision

Great summation.

09-10-2017, 09:14 PM
Concerning that we are willing to deal with Essendon and be a bit flexible about giving them something back

This from Fox Sports site

"The Bulldogs, meanwhile, are the third club dealing with Essendon and they, too, have requested that Pick 11 form part of any trade for Jake Stringer.

The Dogs have said that Pick 11 has to be part of any trade for Stringer, rather than a later choice and they have indicated a willingness to give something — presumably a later draft pick — back to the Dons.

The Bulldogs say they are willing to retain Stringer, who is contracted for next year, if they do not receive significant compensation"

09-10-2017, 09:17 PM
It's official Jakes staying, just spotted him at Chemart.
If he was off to Essendon he would have been given a gift bag on arrival.

09-10-2017, 09:23 PM
Concerning that we are willing to deal with Essendon and be a bit flexible about giving them something back

"The Bulldogs, meanwhile, are the third club dealing with Essendon and they, too, have requested that Pick 11 form part of any trade for Jake Stringer.

The Dogs have said that Pick 11 has to be part of any trade for Stringer, rather than a later choice and they have indicated a willingness to give something — presumably a later draft pick — back to the Dons.

The Bulldogs say they are willing to retain Stringer, who is contracted for next year, if they do not receive significant compensation"

That's a disappointing posture to take on Day 1. If accurate, we've blinked, sending
a message to Dodoro that we are desperate to get him out, and kind of
diminishes the strong stance of it's an early first rounder or we'll keep him.
Dodoro will be all over us with this signal.

09-10-2017, 09:35 PM
That's a disappointing posture to take on Day 1. If accurate, we've blinked, sending
a message to Dodoro that we are desperate to get him out, and kind of
diminishes the strong stance of it's an early first rounder or we'll keep him.
Dodoro will be all over us with this signal.

Not really, if we weren't going to use it it's fine.

09-10-2017, 09:36 PM

Very concerning. We just enable Essendon to act like they do.
They are super keen..or at least they must've sold Jake they are with their contract offer.
Simple..pick 11 by Wednesday or else he stays or we try to talk him into some other Victorian potential suitors if staying is not an option.

09-10-2017, 09:40 PM
They are super keen..or at least they must've sold Jake they are with their contract offer.
Simple..pick 11 by Wednesday or else he stays or we try to talk him into some other Victorian potential suitors if staying is not an option.

Perhaps we know EFC's the highest offer we're likely to get from any VIC club, meaning dealing with them is our best option. It's clear we don't want him anymore, we may not have the leverage we think we do.

09-10-2017, 09:54 PM

Thinking the same thing

09-10-2017, 09:58 PM

We have 26, 41 & 80 after pick 11. 41 is probably for Crozier. Genuine question. So what do you guess we are adding, either pick 26 or pick 80 to make the deal acceptable to them?

09-10-2017, 10:02 PM
We have 26, 41 & 80 after pick 11. 41 is probably for Crozier. Genuine question. So what do you guess we are adding, either pick 26 or pick 80 to make the deal acceptable to them?

80, or whatever we earn from trading out another player. We can also use a future pick.

09-10-2017, 10:14 PM
Will reserve judgment on our ability to hold firm until this is all over, but I have little faith we’ll hold our ground here

09-10-2017, 10:15 PM

It might be something to the tune of swapping 2nd round picks (26 and 28) or it could be something later than that.
Lets wait to see what the compromise might be.