View Full Version : The Moving/Rolling Trading & Delisting Thread 2018
Pages :
[
6]
13-09-2018, 11:11 PM
https://youtu.be/gajvORAhhjc
Even more reasons to get him.
I’m starting to sort out the locker room too: move Ed Richards up to number 6, Rhylee can have his Dad’s old number 14, and then 20 for Chad.
And none of this stops us going for Stengle at Richmond for a bit more defensive pressure too. This is definitely our Burgoyne moment.
13-09-2018, 11:15 PM
Let's get it done.
We will still have a good first rounder equivalent in West, plus Dahl compo. I think pick7 and something back as well
We won’t have West AND Dahl compo
13-09-2018, 11:21 PM
Let's get it done. We will still have a good first rounder equivalent in West, plus Dahl compo. I think pick7 and something back as well
well if ever we are going to have some leverage in dealing with a SA team it's this year. Our 1st rounder will land them one of their local hotshots in the draft and they will be salivating over that proposition. Add in the fact that Wingard can walk free in 12 months the temptation for them to deal would be higher than normal for a contracted player. We also have Adelaide keen to jump the queue and can use that as firepower in any negotiation. Finally we can walk away from any discussions if the deal doesn't satisfy us knowing we are in the box seat for a dead set gun regardless.
I would certainly ask for some extras as that is always the starting point in any negotiation. They will ask for more than our 1st pick for the same reason. I would refuse that very strongly. They won't get a better offer than our 1st pick is my view.
13-09-2018, 11:45 PM
Does our first round pick get the deal done or will it need something else?
Part of me wants us to consider trading for a ready made player but given how far we have slipped back should we focus more on rebuilding from the draft rather than the trade table?
Also, if Lachie Neale is available would he be a better fit for us than Wingard?
Adams and our first pick gets that deal done and Fremantle would then have the chips to make a strong play for Hogan
Is Neale really a good fit for us? Looking at his stats, he handballs a lot more than he kicks and doesn't hit the scoreboard a lot.
I think we need a player that can deliver the ball inside 50 with precision and hit the scoreboard. Wingard seems to fit the bill.
13-09-2018, 11:46 PM
well if ever we are going to have some leverage in dealing with a SA team it's this year. Our 1st rounder will land them one of their local hotshots in the draft and they will be salivating over that proposition. Add in the fact that Wingard can walk free in 12 months the temptation for them to deal would be higher than normal for a contracted player. We also have Adelaide keen to jump the queue and can use that as firepower in any negotiation. Finally we can walk away from any discussions if the deal doesn't satisfy us knowing we are in the box seat for a dead set gun regardless.
I would certainly ask for some extras as that is always the starting point in any negotiation. They will ask for more than our 1st pick for the same reason. I would refuse that very strongly. They won't get a better offer than our 1st pick is my view.
Agree it's the right time.
This is what I love about AFL style negotiation. So much time and effort spent posturing, when it's not necessary. They'd want our first round, we'd be prepared to give it up, early disclosure of that just helps get the deal done quicker so everyone can get on with their trade week. Sure if some sprinkles need to be added to any deal they can be, everyone has something not worth much to them that can be worth something to the other party.
But it never happens. TV style negotiation kicks in and a shit tonne of time is always wasted.
If we can get a straight swap we should do it in a heart beat and move on.
14-09-2018, 12:26 AM
Yeah we have to do this. He's a seriously good player who is so exceptional that by virtue of not being a freak 100% of the time he gets criticised as inconsistent when actually merely only playing very well. He played some outstanding footy after the bye while the rest of his team crumbled around him, and really showed up some of his highly rated teammates (WINESWINESWINES) when he moved into the middle.
I don't like trading top 10 picks but this is a clear exception.
14-09-2018, 02:42 AM
His best is as good as almost anybody's and his worst is nowhere near as bad as has been made out. I am a massive fan of his talent - it simply doesn't exist in many footballers.
Talent wise I agree he is right up there but I genuinely don't know why his form decline over the last two years appears to be happening?
The fact that it sort of mirrors our decline over the same time frame just rings the bell for me. I'd also like to know why he does want out of Port and why he might want to come to us because if it's just about a better contract then we need to look deeper at that.
As I mentioned, I have no issue with trading an early pick for a ready made player providing they have the right work ethic because we don't need another talented laconic player who hasn't got the hunger to chase a flag.
14-09-2018, 02:44 AM
Is Neale really a good fit for us? Looking at his stats, he handballs a lot more than he kicks and doesn't hit the scoreboard a lot.
I think we need a player that can deliver the ball inside 50 with precision and hit the scoreboard. Wingard seems to fit the bill.
So Wingard is a midfielder more than a forward who plays in the midfield?
14-09-2018, 05:46 AM
Neale is basically Hunter that takes centre square rotations. An accumulator, a good one, but we need polish and hurt factor more than just an accumulator, especially considering how well Macrae can find the ball and Dunkley posted some 30+ games.
14-09-2018, 05:49 AM
So Wingard is a midfielder more than a forward who plays in the midfield?
From round 12 this year he played mostly midfield and his numbers were outstanding.
The outside/polished midfielder we need who can provide spark up forward late in the game when we need some magic. Bont/Wingard swapping mid/forward would mean opposition teams need to have a purely defensive mid at the stoppages at all times, it could be a magic pairing. I'm a fan - on natural talent and class I'm not sure there are many players in the competition who are at Wingard's level.
14-09-2018, 06:23 AM
Wingard is a Stringer on the footy field. Flashes of absolute brilliance that can turn a match but comes across as laconic and and at times indifferent. He will frustrate us and amaze I hope he's what we need because we only get one shot.
After the disappointment of the last few years he would be a positive injection for the club. I'm not sure he's the right man though.
14-09-2018, 07:22 AM
From round 12 this year he played mostly midfield and his numbers were outstanding.
The outside/polished midfielder we need who can provide spark up forward late in the game when we need some magic. Bont/Wingard swapping mid/forward would mean opposition teams need to have a purely defensive mid at the stoppages at all times, it could be a magic pairing. I'm a fan - on natural talent and class I'm not sure there are many players in the competition who are at Wingard's level.
Why do you think he is keen to move? Is it more midfield opportunities or could money be the motivator? I would imagine Port are tight for their salary cap.
14-09-2018, 07:25 AM
Wingard is a Stringer on the footy field. Flashes of absolute brilliance that can turn a match but comes across as laconic and and at times indifferent. He will frustrate us and amaze I hope he's what we need because we only get one shot.
After the disappointment of the last few years he would be a positive injection for the club. I'm not sure he's the right man though.
I know he is a brilliant footballer but perhaps I'm a bit gun shy with players who thrill and delight given our drop off over the last 2 years. I've always been one who prefers the players who come to the club and roll up their sleeves week after week but I do acknowledge you need a balance of the hard worker and the more brilliant types.
14-09-2018, 08:07 AM
Performs far far far more often than Stringer
14-09-2018, 08:13 AM
Yep, and his quiet games he's still noticed on the field. And Wingard can actually play midfield, not two minutes and blow up. Wingard's effort can not be questioned like Stringer's nearly whole career.
If Shiel is getting $1.3, Hannerbery and Parker elsewhere. Kelly not happening. Then there's a choice between Gaff & Wingard. Either player makes us a much better team in 2019 and beyond.
14-09-2018, 08:20 AM
Yep, and his quiet games he's still noticed on the field. And Wingard can actually play midfield, not two minutes and blow up. Wingard's effort can not be questioned like Stringer's nearly whole career.
If Shiel is getting $1.3, Hannerbery and Parker elsewhere. Kelly not happening. Then there's a choice between Gaff & Wingard. Either player makes us a much better team in 2019 and beyond.
What's the bet Gaff ends up at the Swans.
14-09-2018, 08:21 AM
That’s exactly what I’ve been thinking.
14-09-2018, 08:47 AM
Add Wingard & pick up Stengle for cheap and we've added depth and talent in areas we sorely need it.
Big yes to the Chad, for me.
14-09-2018, 08:59 AM
Odds on now. Which leaves the biggest name midfield player available to us as Wingard. I think our Round 1, 2019 team is much stronger with Wingard in it. So I'm for it.
Then there's can we try to get in on May, using Adams and picks, and talk of a cheap Richmond forward to boost the forwardline. I like that Power is prepared to get busy and take informed risks. A first year list manager might start a bit conservative, but Power looks like he's been busy. I like it.
14-09-2018, 09:12 AM
Then there's can we try to get in on May, using Adams and picks, and talk of a cheap Richmond forward to boost the forwardline. I like that Power is prepared to get busy and take informed risks. A first year list manager might start a bit conservative, but Power looks like he's been busy. I like it.
It's painfully obvious to all where our deficiencies lie so regardless of the length of time Sam has had his feet under the desk his job is to improve the list so he needs to hit the ground running.
From the players being mentioned Wingard adds some class going forward, Stengle offers goal sense & defensive pressure.. not sure what Lloyd adds so hopefully there is little truth to the rumuors around our interest in him.
14-09-2018, 09:24 AM
Why do you think he is keen to move? Is it more midfield opportunities or could money be the motivator? I would imagine Port are tight for their salary cap.
It seems to me that the Port Adelaide ship might be a bit shaky.
Hinkley under pressure as coach and a president who interferes could create instability in the playing group.
Big players last year and a result that was disappointing doesn't help their cause.
14-09-2018, 09:28 AM
Maybe he just wants out of Adelaide and to move to Melbourne?
14-09-2018, 09:37 AM
It's painfully obvious to all where our deficiencies lie so regardless of the length of time Sam has had his feet under the desk his job is to improve the list so he needs to hit the ground running.
From the players being mentioned Wingard adds some class going forward, Stengle offers goal sense & defensive pressure.. not sure what Lloyd adds so hopefully there is little truth to the rumuors around our interest in him.
I don't really understand the Lloyd rumour, especially after re-signing Dicko. Stengle, as you say, makes a lot more sense.
14-09-2018, 09:57 AM
Isn't Stengle on the rookie list?
Lloyd might be viewed as a potential replacement for Honeychurch if he doesn't get a contract. He's a goalkicker and we need them don't we?
14-09-2018, 10:01 AM
Talent wise I agree he is right up there but I genuinely don't know why his form decline over the last two years appears to be happening?
The fact that it sort of mirrors our decline over the same time frame just rings the bell for me. I'd also like to know why he does want out of Port and why he might want to come to us because if it's just about a better contract then we need to look deeper at that.
As I mentioned, I have no issue with trading an early pick for a ready made player providing they have the right work ethic because we don't need another talented laconic player who hasn't got the hunger to chase a flag.
Adelaide is an incredibly intense fishbowl - perhaps he feels the needs to get out of that stifling environment to get the most out of his career moving forward? Or maybe the Port game plan is too defensive, slow moving and structured under Hinkley? Don't think it would be solely about money because he is already well remunerated at Port.
I don't see a lazy and laconic footballer when I see Wingard running around. Playing half forward at Port can be difficult when ball movement is so slow into F50 - Gray sometimes goes missing in games as well.
It seems to me that the Port Adelaide ship might be a bit shaky.
Hinkley under pressure as coach and a president who interferes could create instability in the playing group.
Big players last year and a result that was disappointing doesn't help their cause.
If Port loses Wingard, then Ken is losing one of the 5 players he actually talks to.
14-09-2018, 10:08 AM
Lloyd might be viewed as a potential replacement for Honeychurch if he doesn't get a contract. He's a goalkicker and we need them don't we?
Has kicked 11 in 15 games the last 2 years (in a dominant side) and will be 29 come rd1 next year... didn't realise he was that old.
A big pass from me.
14-09-2018, 10:43 AM
Has kicked 11 in 15 games the last 2 years (in a dominant side) and will be 29 come rd1 next year... didn't realise he was that old.
A big pass from me.
But has kicked 69 goals in 57 games overall.
I don't mind the idea. Won't cost much more than a late pick and offer some competition for a place in the team. I think he offers more than Honey or Dale as a forward.
14-09-2018, 10:57 AM
But has kicked 69 goals in 57 games overall.
I don't mind the idea. Won't cost much more than a late pick and offer some competition for a place in the team. I think he offers more than Honey or Dale as a forward.
Dale or Dahl?
Bailey Dale could prove to be a 40+ goal a season player when Boyd and Schache become the targets we recruited them for.
We all know that the emergence of English as a genuine ruck option changes the dynamic of our side dramatically allowing Boyd to spend more time forward. What it also does is create match-up issues for the opposition when there are four genuine marking options when you add Gowers and Dale, not too mention The Bont when he goes forward.
Lloyd as a defensive forward may work as long as he has enough in the tank to pinch hit in the midfield when required. If we don't land him, and it wouldn't worry me if we didn't, I reckon Wally could adapt to that role if required.
14-09-2018, 11:01 AM
Depends what Wingard will cost in terms of $$ and as part of a trade. If he doesn't impact our ability to re-sign our young guns and we cough up Pick 7, I am all in.
Wingard is the type of player we are hoping to recruit with Pick 7. Outside silk who can also impact up forward.
I would caution optimism about him as a pure forward though. I think he does his best work as a mid running off the back of the contest. Watch that PF v Hawthorn from a few years ago and he was dynamite late in the game.
As with most half forwards in the league, he gets stale when left there - particularly considering how congested the forward half of the ground is these days.
For me I would want him 60 mid/40 forward.
14-09-2018, 11:20 AM
Depends what Wingard will cost in terms of $$ and as part of a trade. If he doesn't impact our ability to re-sign our young guns and we cough up Pick 7, I am all in.
Wingard is the type of player we are hoping to recruit with Pick 7. Outside silk who can also impact up forward.
I would caution optimism about him as a pure forward though. I think he does his best work as a mid running off the back of the contest. Watch that PF v Hawthorn from a few years ago and he was dynamite late in the game.
As with most half forwards in the league, he gets stale when left there - particularly considering how congested the forward half of the ground is these days.
For me I would want him 60 mid/40 forward.
I'd like him to split his time too - allows us to have the Bont spend a bit more time forward, might even be able to rest McLean there too as I rate his forward nous but he was needed in the middle a lot more this season.
14-09-2018, 01:12 PM
I like Lloyd as a replacement for Wallis. I think he'd have a similar impact in the midfield (that is to say, not a big influence on the game) and would be equally dangerous up forward. I'd probably still be ok with getting him should we keep Wallis, just because we lack natural forwards and those we do have are either super injury prone (Dickson) or very green (Greene).
On Wallis, I am hoping we let him go but by the sounds of it he is staying.
Bailey Dale could prove to be a 40+ goal a season player when Boyd and Schache become the targets we recruited them for.
He averages (well) less than 1 goal per game...and now he is going to kick 2/game? Those are Luke Breust type numbers...His average in the AFL is (as is typical for most players when it comes to goals) pretty much EXACTLY THE SAME as his average when he played TAC cup when he kicked 14 goals in 20 games
If he became a 20 goal per year player, THAT would be a massive effort...40 goals per year? It is not going to happen.
14-09-2018, 01:27 PM
He's a 20 disposal 1 goal a game player he's not an extra 500k in front of Stringer. Disposal efficiency this year was 63% so he's effectively a 12 disposal a game player. Happy to pay the mill? We need to not get caught up with the 'can be' very good player coming to us for once and ensure it's the right move. We will be giving up a lot. If he came for 850k I would be happier but I assume that's there abouts with the Port offer.
14-09-2018, 01:38 PM
Dale or Dahl?
We all know that the emergence of English as a genuine ruck option changes the dynamic of our side dramatically allowing Boyd to spend more time forward. What it also does is create match-up issues for the opposition when there are four genuine marking options when you add Gowers and Dale, not too mention The Bont when he goes forward.
Lloyd as a defensive forward may work as long as he has enough in the tank to pinch hit in the midfield when required. If we don't land him, and it wouldn't worry me if we didn't, I reckon Wally could adapt to that role if required.
Boyd a genuine marking target?
14-09-2018, 01:43 PM
Talk of us getting Tigers rookie small forward Stengle.
Why would the Tigers trade a rookie?
14-09-2018, 01:47 PM
Talk of us getting Tigers rookie small forward Stengle.
Why would the Tigers trade a rookie?
Didn't we trade for Biggs who was on the rookie list at the time.
14-09-2018, 02:48 PM
Didn't we trade for Biggs who was on the rookie list at the time.
Richmond might get a slight upgrade somewhere, or fit within a package or three club deal like Biggs.
14-09-2018, 04:21 PM
What's the bet Gaff ends up at the Swans.Don't be surprised if Dylan Shiel ends up at the Swans
14-09-2018, 04:52 PM
Don't be surprised if Dylan Shiel ends up at the Swans
Well you can bet yourself someone good will end up at the swans..the AFL will make sure of it...they want them to play finals.
14-09-2018, 06:04 PM
Don't be surprised if Dylan Shiel ends up at the Swans
You might be right but GWS ideally wouldn't want to trade him to a competitive team from the same state unless they are under immense salary cap pressure.
14-09-2018, 06:38 PM
You might be right but GWS ideally wouldn't want to trade him to a competitive team from the same state unless they are under immense salary cap pressure. It seems these days it doesn't matter what the club thinks the player seems to have right of way contracted or not.
15-09-2018, 08:50 AM
Ammo's stars big season sees recruiters lurking (afel.com.au)
TWO AFL clubs have expressed interest in former VFL midfielder Anthony Scott after a stellar season with Old Trinity in the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA).
AFL.com.au understands Western Bulldogs and St Kilda have enquired about the mature-aged left-footer.
The 23-year-old is set to meet the Bulldogs next week, while his management has been in talks with the Saints' newly appointed list manager James Gallagher.
Scott played eight games in the TAC Cup for Oakleigh Chargers in 2013, before earning the VAFA Rising Star award the following year and a position on Richmond's VFL list ahead of 2015.
So far, it has been a case of poor timing for Scott.
His three seasons in the VFL system coincided with Richmond's tilt towards its prized 2017 flag, and was compounded by an enviously small Tigers' injury list.
Scott was forced to play out of position and was given minimal opportunities to showcase his class in the midfield.
His decision to return to the VAFA has kept alive Scott's hopes of an AFL career.
Melbourne forward Mitch Hannan has gone from a VAFA grand final best-on-ground performance in 2015 to become an integral part of the Dees' forward 50 – and played against Hawthorn in Friday night's semi-final.
Ben Ronke, Mitch Brown (Essendon) and Rupert Wills have also earned themselves spots on AFL lists after standout VAFA seasons.
Scott represented the VAFA's 'Big V' side and was judged best afield (31 disposals) in the VAFA vs SAAFL (South Australia equivalent) representative game on June 11, and he was invited by Greater Western Sydney to travel north and play a game for the Giants' NEAFL side on June 23.
While he wasn't a standout, Scott's silky foot skills and decision-making were on display during the 40-goal shootout against Brisbane.
On Wednesday night, Scott capped off his prolific season with Old Trinity by finishing runner-up in the 2018 Woodrow Medal – awarded to the best and fairest player in the VAFA's premier division – four votes behind former Western Bulldogs utility Ayce Cordy.
15-09-2018, 09:10 AM
So maybe calling HC an Ammos player wasn't such a diss after all?
15-09-2018, 11:22 PM
So maybe calling HC an Ammos player wasn't such a diss after all?
Calling him lucky to be was though.
16-09-2018, 12:55 AM
HC is so far above Ammos it’s not funny. He has been on the edge of playing AFL go a fair few years. Sure he didn’t quite make it but one thing that kept him on the edge was his endeavour. If half the team attacked the ball like he did we would be very hard to beat. The reason we won the premiership is we had a whole team going with manic pressure like he bought. HC should be lauded for playing AFL and playing as much as he did. To say that he is amateur grade is a ridiculous insult. Anyone that has played the game at a decent level knows that is just silly. Give the man a break FFS he had a red hot go at it.
17-09-2018, 08:05 AM
I like Lloyd as a replacement for Wallis. I think he'd have a similar impact in the midfield (that is to say, not a big influence on the game) and would be equally dangerous up forward. I'd probably still be ok with getting him should we keep Wallis, just because we lack natural forwards and those we do have are either super injury prone (Dickson) or very green (Greene).
On Wallis, I am hoping we let him go but by the sounds of it he is staying.
read yesterday Brisbane have upped the offer to Wally. He’s weighing things up now.
17-09-2018, 11:13 AM
Kane Cornes in the Adelaide Advertiser:
2. Trengove lure
IT appears former Port Adelaide player Jackson Trengove is doing his best to try and convince good mate Chad Wingard to join him at the Western Bulldogs. The Power certainly haven’t made Wingard feel overly wanted since the season finished. Watch this space.
Link (https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/expert-opinion/kane-cornes/kane-cornes-why-power-should-be-chasing-a-hall-pass-to-fix-its-need-for-speed/news-story/7a37d7652fac024f6eab8835d9a84dd4)
17-09-2018, 11:21 AM
That'a boy Jackson.
17-09-2018, 11:50 AM
Are Port feeling the salary cap pinch after those over priced recruits from last year; Rockliff, Watts, Motlop et al. Maybe they can't meet Wingard's market price? If so will our friend Barrett have a field day about that?
17-09-2018, 11:56 AM
read yesterday Brisbane have upped the offer to Wally. He’s weighing things up now.
Hopefully we can still keep him, please Steve make him stay.
17-09-2018, 04:53 PM
We need some kid with 20 cents to give away
17-09-2018, 05:03 PM
yeh I want him to stay too, he was our 3rd highest goal scorer and didn’t play the whole year. I think it might come down to where he wants to play - he has publicly called out he loves the middle, but I can see us playing him up forward even more next year if Libba comes back and fires up. He also has a cap, so hope we don’t get held over a barrel
17-09-2018, 06:50 PM
Are Port feeling the salary cap pinch after those over priced recruits from last year; Rockliff, Watts, Motlop et al. Maybe they can't meet Wingard's market price? If so will our friend Barrett will have a field day about that?
They've had salary cap problems for years - guys like Hartlett and Lobbe got 4-5 year contracts off a small sample size of good form. That largesse continued last year with their off-season recruiting spree.
17-09-2018, 07:12 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-09-17/redpath-calls-time
Redpath has announced his retirement.
17-09-2018, 07:16 PM
Bloody knees have been a curse on our hard nosed players .
Loved Jack and what Bevo said was true , we never got to see the best of him.
17-09-2018, 07:19 PM
Ricky Nixon on twitter :D
@rickynixontoot
Follow Follow @rickynixontoot
More
Chad Wingard contemplating a $850K a year 6 year deal at Doggies....now thats a enough to make you go woof woof woof
1:00 AM - 17 Sep 2018
https://twitter.com/rickynixontoot/status/1041597757872496640
Also stating Loyd to the dogs for a late pick
17-09-2018, 07:35 PM
Good on him. Always tried his hardest for us and was a lovely straight kick.
17-09-2018, 07:36 PM
Could of been a contender if he had two good knees. Thanks for the fight Jack.
17-09-2018, 07:42 PM
Ricky Nixon on twitter :D
@rickynixontoot
Follow Follow @rickynixontoot
More
Chad Wingard contemplating a $850K a year 6 year deal at Doggies....now thats a enough to make you go woof woof woof
1:00 AM - 17 Sep 2018
Wow this is actually happening. Is this a big name player coming to the Bulldogs or am I am imagining things?
Just watch the saints or bombers chime in and try *!*!*!*! things up for us.
This is all well and good but Port might turn around a say nah your under contract your staying, we still need you.
17-09-2018, 07:46 PM
Wow this is actually happening. Is this a big name player coming to the Bulldogs or am I am imagining things?
It won't happen unless he's in it for the money and they offer a shit load more than we do. Then they also have to satisfy Port with a trade. If he wants to play for us then we are in the box seat.
17-09-2018, 07:48 PM
This is all well and good but Port might turn around a say nah your under contract your staying, we still need you.
In which case we can pocket the SA hotshot with our first pick they are so keen on getting and then snap up Wingard when he becomes a free agent next year for nix. Up to them!
17-09-2018, 07:57 PM
In which case we can pocket the SA hotshot with our first pick they are so keen on getting and then snap up Wingard when he becomes a free agent next year for nix. Up to them!
Yes indeed. It sounds better when you look at it from that angle.
You're right, the key is getting him to ask for a trade to us for sure.
17-09-2018, 08:05 PM
This is why our last month of the season was so important. The wheel started to turn again at the WO and it can be the difference come trade time when selling your list to potential players. Exciting times.
17-09-2018, 08:07 PM
This is why our last month of the season was so important. The wheel started to turn again at the WO and it can be the difference come trade time when selling your list to potential players. Exciting times.
Yeah it is not the thing nowadays to bottom out. Even when you are going well you need to find ways to make improvements refinements to the list each year. No longer priority picks anymore.
17-09-2018, 08:19 PM
Yeah it is not the thing nowadays to bottom out. Even when you are going well you need to find ways to make improvements refinements to the list each year. No longer priority picks anymore.
Personally I think we did bottom out but as in a recent article by a good studying journalist we “ over performed “ this year with our age demographic we should have won the spoon.
17-09-2018, 09:01 PM
Six years ? That's buddy like. Not sure about the length but I get you have to pay overs. I'm a big Wingard fan.
17-09-2018, 09:51 PM
Yes please on Wingard. Exciting forward who can also play midfield. Also the type of player who will put bums on seats. Hope we go hard.
17-09-2018, 09:52 PM
It won't happen unless he's in it for the money and they offer a shit load more than we do. Then they also have to satisfy Port with a trade. If he wants to play for us then we are in the box seat.
Chad’s missing his best mates.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/k1599t60l2xvxxw/Photo%2017-9-18%2C%209%2043%2009%20pm.jpg?raw=1
17-09-2018, 09:57 PM
Just on Wingard, at 850k a season as Ricky Nixon is reporting would we be playing him on his ability or on his results?
To me his last 2 seasons don't warrant that type of investment
17-09-2018, 10:42 PM
Just on Wingard, at 850k a season as Ricky Nixon is reporting would we be playing him on his ability or on his results?
Nixon does big note a little- I guess we will see.
18-09-2018, 06:40 AM
I think that's too much tbh. 700k is about right for someone who can be a match winner when in form. We must be confident that Bevo and his team can get him back to his best if we are willing to cough up that sort of coin. And also we would be paying overs just to pry him out of Port Adelaide.
I just hope we have done our homework and are investing wisely for the right player and right fit for our team.
18-09-2018, 08:17 AM
In honesty I’d prefer this. I’m not 100% sold on wingard yet - he just isn’t consistent enough for that coin imo. Absolute star when up and about but a spectator when his head drops. We aren’t going to win it next year, so him finishing out his contract and getting another year to see how much he really invests in his footy wouldn’t be a bad thing. Can’t see the salary cap being an issue next year. Whatever happens - it’s a straight swap for 7 - none of this pick + player BS for this years draft
18-09-2018, 08:18 AM
I think that's too much tbh. 700k is about right for someone who can be a match winner when in form. We must be confident that Bevo and his team can get him back to his best if we are willing to cough up that sort of coin. And also we would be paying overs just to pry him out of Port Adelaide.
I just hope we have done our homework and are investing wisely for the right player and right fit for our team. Six years is a long time on good coin for someone who has been ordinary over the past two years considering his reputation. We didn't offer Dal any more than 2 years due to his form over the last 2 years. Not sure on this one. Would prefer Scully if he was available.
18-09-2018, 08:21 AM
that coin is for previous form and potential - definitely not current form.
18-09-2018, 08:55 AM
Unfortunately you have to pay overs to pry talent like Wingard out of their clubs. I'm ok with the money component not sure about the years if true. Four seems more sensible.
18-09-2018, 08:57 AM
Waiting another year for Wingard is effectively passing on him. It's now or never. Simple as that.
18-09-2018, 09:13 AM
Waiting another year for Wingard is effectively passing on him. It's now or never. Simple as that.
Yep. No club in its right mind is going to spend a year running a player into good form just so he can walk as a FA at the end if the year. A club like Port would be far more likely to play him in the SANFL all year.
Expecting to pick him up in the next trade period is just fantasy land stuff.
18-09-2018, 10:26 AM
The Australian reporting Wingard is set to leave to one of 3 clubs: Hawks, Dogs, Saints. Fair to say he will be a hawk next year in that case
18-09-2018, 10:27 AM
From the Australian (I can't access the article as behind a paywall):
https://i.postimg.cc/TYbcJTtf/Capture.png (https://postimages.org/)
18-09-2018, 10:29 AM
The Australian reporting Wingard is set to leave to one of 3 clubs: Hawks, Dogs, Saints. Fair to say he will be a hawk next year in that case
Beat me to it! Might depend it the Hawks have another target in mind like Shiel or May?
18-09-2018, 10:39 AM
I just hope we have done our homework and are investing wisely for the right player and right fit for our team.
850k in today's salary cap isn't the same as 850k three years ago. I've got no problem with the deal - if you want a sought-after player in 2018, you're paying good money.
Not to mention Chad is a 25 year old two-time All Australian.
18-09-2018, 10:40 AM
Would be pretty classic Dogs to get it out there and well known that we're into a top-tier talent only to watch them go elsewhere
18-09-2018, 10:41 AM
Media (The Australian) reporting that Wingard is likely to move to one of three Victorian teams: Bulldogs, Saints or Hawks.
18-09-2018, 10:47 AM
Media (The Australian) reporting that Wingard is likely to move to one of three Victorian teams: Bulldogs, Saints or Hawks.
Interested to see the Saints mentioned given that Billings should be that player for them already.
18-09-2018, 10:50 AM
Interested to see the Saints mentioned given that Billings should be that player for them already.
Then they've also got Gresham. I think they're just throwing some sort of stuff at the wall and hoping some of it sticks. They've pretty much been linked to everyone. They're actually worse than north in that regard.
18-09-2018, 11:21 AM
Following the socials, looks like Wingard is on holidays with Trengove & Impey. Which mate is the better salesman?
18-09-2018, 11:28 AM
Would be pretty classic Dogs to get it out there and well known that we're into a top-tier talent only to watch them go elsewhere
Feels like I’ve seen that movie before.
I don’t covet Wingard....unless he goes to Hawthorn
18-09-2018, 11:30 AM
Following the socials, looks like Wingard is on holidays with Trengove & Impey. Which mate is the better salesman?
Are you sure that's current? Impey was playing at the MCG on Friday night, seems quick to have jetted off.
18-09-2018, 11:30 AM
Well considering where Impey ended up.....
18-09-2018, 11:36 AM
Are you sure that's current? Impey was playing at the MCG on Friday night, seems quick to have jetted off.
Lol, yeah it's an old pic.
18-09-2018, 11:41 AM
St Kilda have to cough up their first for Hannerbery. I'm not sure they have the goods to be competitive on Wingard. We have a big draft pick advantage over Hawthorn, so surely Port want to deal with us. Plus Hawks are chasing Shiel & May to complicate their salary cap. We must be prepared to put pick 6 on the table to be in the race. So early on, we seem to be pretty well positioned. We need to convert this deal while we are holding a strong hand.
18-09-2018, 11:51 AM
St Kilda have to cough up their first for Hannerbery. I'm not sure they have the goods to be competitive on Wingard. We have a big draft pick advantage over Hawthorn, so surely Port want to deal with us. Plus Hawks are chasing Shiel & May to complicate their salary cap. We must be prepared to put pick 6 on the table to be in the race. So early on, we seem to be pretty well positioned. We need to convert this deal while we are holding a strong hand.
Ultimately it's upto Chad Wingard.
If he picks Hawthorn, he's not coming here.
Players go where they want to go regardless of which club has the better hand at the trade table. We need to convince Wingard we're a better option than Hawthorn.
18-09-2018, 12:03 PM
Players go where they want to go regardless of which club has the better hand at the trade table. We need to convince Wingard we're a better option than Hawthorn.
To paraphrase Princess Leia Organa:
Help us, Jackson Trengove. You're our only hope.
18-09-2018, 12:06 PM
True. But having the superior position leaves us better with Port and more realistic for his manager, and hopefully easier helps us a bit. Trengove becomes the most important cog in this potential deal.
18-09-2018, 12:08 PM
Beat me to it! Might depend it the Hawks have another target in mind like Shiel or May?
The Hawks will need to add a player to their first draft pick.
I'd say we are still in with a good chance
18-09-2018, 12:09 PM
I'm fairly sure that pick is more than 12 months ago.
Wingard has a lot more tattoo's now
18-09-2018, 12:16 PM
I'm fairly sure that pick is more than 12 months ago.
Wingard has a lot more tattoo's now
Yep, have already established that.
18-09-2018, 01:10 PM
Reports are that it will be for a future pick, possibly even a 2nd rounder.
Do you think that's a hard sell? I don't.
18-09-2018, 01:25 PM
Ultimately it's upto Chad Wingard. We need to convince Wingard we're a better option than Hawthorn.
A good starting point might be we've won our last 4 finals and Hawthorn have lost their last 4 finals. We've also won a premiership more recently!
18-09-2018, 01:37 PM
Maybe Saints would do a deal with their pick #4 with one of the SA clubs. They have picks 7 & probable Dees 15 (Crows) OR 8 & 9 (Port).
Saints might be hoping to get a reasonable pick they can use for Hannerbury, instead of pick 4.
18-09-2018, 01:40 PM
Logically looking at our respective lists, no - their young talent is mediocre outside of a couple whilst they've got a number of older heads on the edge.
Having said that, they clearly can 'sell' their club well looking back on history.
They also have a close connection to the Indigenous community.
I would hope we can sell a brighter future and I would think we would pay Wingard more.
A good starting point might be we've won our last 4 finals and Hawthorn have lost their last 4 finals. We've also won a premiership more recently!
They have to be the worst side to finish top 4 in the modern era.
18-09-2018, 02:15 PM
The only thing the Hawks might be able to offer greater than us is the financial side of things or if there was a player Port rated thrown into the mix. We should more than satisfy Ports needs for an early pick and if we have put forward the financial offer around the mark of what Nixon thinks we have offered that's about as good as it gets from us.
If Wingard picks the Hawks over us then he probably is moving for the wrong reasons. If he picks the Saints he must be focused more on money than his football opportunities.
18-09-2018, 02:50 PM
We should be topping him up with marketing too. Losing Stringer, now Dahlhaus Clubhouse, we need someone for the kids to get behind. The marketing manager should be working on replacing the DC with a pitch to Wingard, maybe something like the 'Gard Dogs.
Wingard gets years, gets money, but also gets iconic status with the kids and fans. We should make clear that the whole club wants him, especially marketing and any budget we can shovel him.
18-09-2018, 03:20 PM
I don't like to reference BF here but a reliable poster indicating Wingard to the dogs is as good as done.
18-09-2018, 03:24 PM
I don't like to reference BF here but a reliable poster indicating Wingard to the dogs is as good as done.
We had Hurley as well. When I see Wingard doing a photo shoot with a Bulldogs jumper I'll believe it. :)
Even a sceptic like me will admit the story is starting to grow wings.
18-09-2018, 03:30 PM
We had Hurley as well. When I see Wingard doing a photo shoot with a Bulldogs jumper I'll believe it. :)
Even a sceptic like me will admit the story is starting to grow wings.
Yeah the whole Hurley thing was akin to the 97 prelim for me. After 97 i became extremely pessimistic that we'd ever hold on to any sort of lead. Hurley made me a pessimist of ever landing a big name. Lever last year didn't help. Especially when he chose Melbourne. But hey, we got Naughton instead who looks awesome. Perhaps if the Chad doesn't come, we draft Rozee who is also awesome in a similar way.
18-09-2018, 04:10 PM
We're geographically closer to Adelaide.
18-09-2018, 04:18 PM
We're geographically closer to Adelaide.
And have objectively better jumpers.
18-09-2018, 05:49 PM
Yep. No club in its right mind is going to spend a year running a player into good form just so he can walk as a FA at the end if the year. A club like Port would be far more likely to play him in the SANFL all year.
Expecting to pick him up in the next trade period is just fantasy land stuff.
no chance. They are still an AFL team and would be looking to field the best players every week. They may not preserve his fitness by resting him more and they might play him out of his preferred position more but they’d still put games through him. In honesty if a deal doesn’t get done this year, likely we’ll only need to pay more next year if he has a good year.
18-09-2018, 06:31 PM
From AFEL.com.au
Dogs' secret weapon in the chase for Chad
Mitch Cleary
Sep 18, 2018 5:36PM
THE WESTERN Bulldogs have made Chad Wingard their No.1 trade target and have enlisted the star's former Port Adelaide teammate Jackson Trengove to get the deal over the line.
AFL.com.au understands Trengove has been in communication with close friend Wingard over a potential move to Whitten Oval on a long-term multi-million dollar deal as soon as this season.
Wingard and Trengove remain close friends with the pair playing at Alberton together before Trengove departed for the Dogs as a free agent at the end of 2017.
After seeing Trengove head east last year, Wingard provided a potential hint for the future.
"Going to miss you brother @Jacksontrengove wish you the best and who knows one day we might kick the leather together again soon," Wingard tweeted.
The 25-year-old South Australian is understood to be happy at Port Adelaide, however a trade could be beneficial for the Power in a year before he becomes a free agent.
Speculation on Wingard's future continues a growing trend of players being targeted 12 months before becoming free agents.
Similar to Fremantle's Lachie Neale, Gold Coast's Steven May and Greater Western Sydney's Dylan Shiel, a move for Wingard would allow the Power the upper hand in negotiations in 2018.
Any move in 2019 would leave them with AFL determined compensation, most likely a single first-round pick given Wingard could command more than $800,000 a season.
The Power haven't shied away from what will be an aggressive NAB AFL Trade Period starting in 17 days, chasing West Coast free agent Scott Lycett with a four-year deal and set to release Jared Polec to North Melbourne.
While insisting the contracted Wingard is a required player for 2019, Port Adelaide president David Koch last month said, "no one is off the trade table as far as we're concerned."
Already holding picks nine, 21 and 27 in this year's NAB AFL Draft, the Power are also likely to demand North Melbourne's pick 10 in any trade for Polec.
Any trade for Wingard would likely need to involve at least the Dogs' first pick (currently No.6), meaning the Power would have three picks inside the first dozen and at least five picks inside the top 30.
The expected departures of free agents Luke Dahlhaus and Jordan Roughead, following retirements of Jack Redpath, Shane Biggs and Clay Smith, will give the Dogs room to move in the 2019 salary cap.
Restricted free agent Mitch Wallis is yet to put pen to paper on an extension and is being chased by a number of clubs with Brisbane leading the race.
Hawthorn, the club considered the Dogs' biggest rivals for Wingard should the Power choose to release him, could lean on 2017 recruit Jarman Impey to play a similar role to Trengove in their efforts to lure him away from Alberton.
Impey, Trengove and Wingard were described as inseparable in their time together at Port.
Impey's coach Alastair Clarkson is also a big fan of Wingard's, admitting in 2014 he would be No.1 player from a rival club he'd like to recruit if given the chance.
The pair then spent time together during the 2014 International Rules Series with Clarkson as coach and Wingard starring as Australia beat Ireland in Perth.
18-09-2018, 06:43 PM
We should be topping him up with marketing too. Losing Stringer, now Dahlhaus Clubhouse, we need someone for the kids to get behind. The marketing manager should be working on replacing the DC with a pitch to Wingard, maybe something like the 'Gard Dogs.
Wingard gets years, gets money, but also gets iconic status with the kids and fans. We should make clear that the whole club wants him, especially marketing and any budget we can shovel him.
We'd be better off going with a variation on the 'Win' part of his name.
no chance. They are still an AFL team and would be looking to field the best players every week. They may not preserve his fitness by resting him more and they might play him out of his preferred position more but they’d still put games through him. In honesty if a deal doesn’t get done this year, likely we’ll only need to pay more next year if he has a good year.
They played Trengove in the SANFL for the last few weeks of their season last year. Even in the final when they had no other tall defenders they refused to play him. I reckon they are spiteful enough to do it.
They were the first club to let a star player walk to the PSD rather than trade him with Nick Stevens. They aren't like normal football clubs.
18-09-2018, 06:50 PM
They played Trengove in the SANFL for the last few weeks of their season last year. Even in the final when they had no other tall defenders they refused to play him. I reckon they are spiteful enough to do it.
They were the first club to let a star player walk to the PSD rather than trade him with Nick Stevens. They aren't like normal football clubs.
Except that's not true. They played Dougal Howard over Trengove. It was a somewhat surprising move at the time but Howard was good this year and it explains why they were willing to let Trengove go, they already had his replacement. I don't think there is any evidence of spite towards Trengove from Port, he was well respected and liked and went with their best wishes.
18-09-2018, 06:51 PM
We'd be better off going with a variation on the 'Win' part of his name.
Probably on my own here but i respect them for that
18-09-2018, 06:51 PM
Bring on the Chad.
18-09-2018, 06:55 PM
Probably on my own here but i respect them for that
Welcome back DB.
18-09-2018, 07:22 PM
They were the first club to let a star player walk to the PSD rather than trade him with Nick Stevens. They aren't like normal football clubs.[/QUOTE]
I see your point, but personally I dont think the last few weeks for Trengove who had lost form and had very little impact on games for them and Wingard over a full season are comparable. Particularly if port are winning games. I’d agree they (both port and wingard) would both be keen to get it done if he does want to leave to avoid a year of headlines about him leaving.
18-09-2018, 07:52 PM
From AFEL.com.au
Dogs' secret weapon in the chase for Chad
Mitch Cleary
Sep 18, 2018 5:36PM
THE WESTERN Bulldogs have made Chad Wingard their No.1 trade target and have enlisted the star's former Port Adelaide teammate Jackson Trengove to get the deal over the line.
AFL.com.au understands Trengove has been in communication with close friend Wingard over a potential move to Whitten Oval on a long-term multi-million dollar deal as soon as this season.
Wingard and Trengove remain close friends with the pair playing at Alberton together before Trengove departed for the Dogs as a free agent at the end of 2017.
After seeing Trengove head east last year, Wingard provided a potential hint for the future.
"Going to miss you brother @Jacksontrengove wish you the best and who knows one day we might kick the leather together again soon," Wingard tweeted.
The 25-year-old South Australian is understood to be happy at Port Adelaide, however a trade could be beneficial for the Power in a year before he becomes a free agent.
Speculation on Wingard's future continues a growing trend of players being targeted 12 months before becoming free agents.
Similar to Fremantle's Lachie Neale, Gold Coast's Steven May and Greater Western Sydney's Dylan Shiel, a move for Wingard would allow the Power the upper hand in negotiations in 2018.
Any move in 2019 would leave them with AFL determined compensation, most likely a single first-round pick given Wingard could command more than $800,000 a season.
The Power haven't shied away from what will be an aggressive NAB AFL Trade Period starting in 17 days, chasing West Coast free agent Scott Lycett with a four-year deal and set to release Jared Polec to North Melbourne.
While insisting the contracted Wingard is a required player for 2019, Port Adelaide president David Koch last month said, "no one is off the trade table as far as we're concerned."
Already holding picks nine, 21 and 27 in this year's NAB AFL Draft, the Power are also likely to demand North Melbourne's pick 10 in any trade for Polec.
Any trade for Wingard would likely need to involve at least the Dogs' first pick (currently No.6), meaning the Power would have three picks inside the first dozen and at least five picks inside the top 30.
The expected departures of free agents Luke Dahlhaus and Jordan Roughead, following retirements of Jack Redpath, Shane Biggs and Clay Smith, will give the Dogs room to move in the 2019 salary cap.
Restricted free agent Mitch Wallis is yet to put pen to paper on an extension and is being chased by a number of clubs with Brisbane leading the race.
Hawthorn, the club considered the Dogs' biggest rivals for Wingard should the Power choose to release him, could lean on 2017 recruit Jarman Impey to play a similar role to Trengove in their efforts to lure him away from Alberton.
Impey, Trengove and Wingard were described as inseparable in their time together at Port.
Impey's coach Alastair Clarkson is also a big fan of Wingard's, admitting in 2014 he would be No.1 player from a rival club he'd like to recruit if given the chance.
The pair then spent time together during the 2014 International Rules Series with Clarkson as coach and Wingard starring as Australia beat Ireland in Perth.
Clearly Cleary has been reading this forum
18-09-2018, 08:35 PM
That was my first thought. Then hoping he's actually plugged into someone from either club or Chad.
18-09-2018, 09:42 PM
They also have a close connection to the Indigenous community.
This was the reason Impey chose the Hawks.
18-09-2018, 10:29 PM
Fake
18-09-2018, 10:37 PM
Wingard would be awesome for our group and club. The experience he brings to training and football culture, the skill and football nous on field would have an big impact on our young group and Bont wouldn't have to feel he's the only one to get us across the line in the close ones.
It can hurt to hope, especially after the Hurley deal was all but across the line but I so hope it happens.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DnW8uDnUYAASJof.jpg
Pics not showing up for me bad.
18-09-2018, 11:42 PM
Chad sure has been posting up a lot of Dogs stuff. He's either across the line with us and doesnt care about it getting out or he is a vindictive son of a bitch. Hopefully the former.
18-09-2018, 11:59 PM
That image has been photoshopped FYI
19-09-2018, 12:38 AM
Pics not showing up for me bad.
It's the woof woof comment that is probably the most interesting part
19-09-2018, 12:44 AM
Wingard would be awesome for our group and club. The experience he brings to training and football culture, the skill and football nous on field would have an big impact on our young group and Bont wouldn't have to feel he's the only one to get us across the line in the close ones.
It can hurt to hope, especially after the Hurley deal was all but across the line but I so hope it happens.
I'd love Wingard. Am a huge fan, as long as we don't have to pay a ridiculous amount to get him. Him and Bont working together would be sublime.
19-09-2018, 12:54 AM
we are not going to win the war with money, there is half a dozen other clubs out there who have way more room in the cap, so we realistically need to be befriending him from all angles.
I'm surprised the Blues are not throwing 1+million a year at him.
19-09-2018, 03:05 AM
With exception to understanding FA compensation and the low relevance of future contracts to compensation.
19-09-2018, 08:27 AM
That image has been photoshopped FYI
Yeah that woof woof image is a fake
19-09-2018, 10:30 AM
I'd love Wingard. Am a huge fan, as long as we don't have to pay a ridiculous amount to get him. Him and Bont working together would be sublime.
Leftie power! We'll end up with more lefties than righties, sinistra v dextra, anti -clockwisers v clockwisers.
19-09-2018, 11:14 AM
Yeah that woof woof image is a fake
Whoever it is I hope they cut it out quick. They are on the same level as the needles in strawberries genius.
19-09-2018, 12:16 PM
Get the latest AFL trade news on Dylan Shiel, Chad Wingard, Steven May and plenty more (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/get-the-latest-afl-trade-news-on-dylan-shiel-chad-wingard-steven-may-and-plenty-more/news-story/e92d3a1bf95ce39478116848021d8ca7)
Port Adelaide’s dual All Australian Wingard (2013, 2015) will not be offered huge sums to sign a contract extension at the Power given his mediocre form this year.
Last year he finished eighth in the best-and-fairest after missing the top 10 in 2016 and could easily be outside the top 10 again this year.
The Power have told him he can assess his options at Melbourne clubs which would pay him as much as $1 million a year on deals of up to five years.
When he has assessed those deals he will come to Port Adelaide where the two parties will discuss what they are prepared to offer him or what a trade looks like.
The Bulldogs, where close mate Jackson Trengove plays, have pick six and could potentially offer that selection up for the 25-year-old.
Hawthorn, where Wingard’s former teammate Jarman Impey plays, have long courted the mercurial forward, who would go some way to filling the void left by the retired Cyril Rioli.
Port Adelaide are aware of Wingard’s brilliant talents, but are determined not to pay overs for a player who hasn’t kicked 40 goals in a year since 2015 (53 goals).
This year he kicked an average 22.21 after 24.25 last year playing a blend of forward and midfield.
CHAD WINGARD
It’s on.
Port Adelaide has told him to go and assess his options at Melbourne clubs given he is asking for up to $1 million a year over five years, with only one season left on his deal before free agency.
To be frank, the Power don’t think his current form warrants that kind of cash.
Hawthorn have been sniffing for some time, but the Hawks will struggle to compete with the Western Bulldogs, who could throw pick No.6 up for a 25-year-old dual All-Australian.
The Power, having finished 10th, are aware they need some kind of shake-up, and while they have cash (they had the second-smallest payroll this year) they won’t overpay for Wingard.
Crazy that Port had the second smallest payroll this year whilst the Suns apparently are near the limit. Shows how little we actually know about clubs salary cap situations.
LUKE DAHLHAUS
Gets to Geelong on a four-year deal worth just over $500,000.
The Dogs offered three years on less money, but Dahlhaus wanted a change and loved the on and off-field support the Cats pledged. Played 56 per cent forward and 44 per cent midfield this year, but he and Gary Rohan playing mostly as pressure forwards would clearly help the Cats’ game.
MARCUS ADAMS
Wants a fresh start away from the Dogs given his horror luck. Not unhappy with his treatment, but feeling a change of environment might hand him better luck.
That move won’t be back to Perth, with Melbourne clubs needing key defenders already offering deals. Would that be the Saints or Hawthorn? They are the logical suitors.
JORDAN ROUGHEAD
The restricted free agent has toured West Coast’s facilities, but remains in a holding pattern with Eagles big man Scott Lycett yet to play his hand. Roughead has also been linked with St Kilda, but that won’t be happening.
MITCH WALLIS
Reports that he will stay at the Dogs, but unsure exactly what that deal looks like.
19-09-2018, 01:24 PM
Whoever it is I hope they cut it out quick. They are on the same level as the needles in strawberries genius.
BREAKING ...
https://preview.ibb.co/cbc4cK/woof_woof.jpg (https://ibb.co/fCf1Pz)
19-09-2018, 01:50 PM
BREAKING ...
https://preview.ibb.co/cbc4cK/woof_woof.jpg (https://ibb.co/fCf1Pz)
A photo says 1000 words.
Or in this case 1002 words
19-09-2018, 02:19 PM
We've even dug up poor old Sid from his eternal resting place to attend the press conference. We must be serious!
19-09-2018, 03:37 PM
We've even dug up poor old Sid from his eternal resting place to attend the press conference. We must be serious!
Old Sid still looks dead!
19-09-2018, 05:50 PM
Old Sid still looks dead!
Didn't you now we stuffed him. :D
19-09-2018, 06:04 PM
Reece Conca and Sam Lloyd have also attracted interest, but are likely to stay at Punt Rd.
“Colin Young (Conca’s manager) said today there’s clearly interest from Fremantle, but he spoke to Blair Hartley, the Richmond list manager, and said once this is all finishes — and hopefully he (Conca) has won a flag by then — I’d like to get something done,” Ralph said on today’s episode of Trade TV.
“I think Colin is doing what all good managers should do, and that’s assess the options out there, but I would think that Reece would want to stay at the footy club, it’s just a matter of what kind of cash.”
He said the Bulldogs were sniffing around Lloyd, but “someone told me he’d be happy to stay at the club next year, not on massive coin, he just loves them.”
CHAD WINGARD
Ralph: “Port Adelaide has basically said your form has been average ... if you think you’re worth a certain amount you go out and assess the market, and if you come back and the money’s not there then we might work out a deal. The speculation is he’s looking for between $800,000 and $1 million a year over five years.”
Edmund: “Would the Bulldogs pay that?”
Ralph: “Yes, I think they’d pay that ... I would think he’s an extremely good chance to be playing in Victoria next year, distant odds to be at Port Adelaide.”
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/richmond/trade-tv-updates-on-dylan-shiel-chad-wingard-alex-fasolo-reece-conca-and-more/news-story/bb51d6518040c943fa5c08b1cd707509
19-09-2018, 06:23 PM
No Lloyd. Maybe/likely Wingard.
Good news all round in that post!!
19-09-2018, 07:20 PM
Wingard just liked a Mitch Wallis re signing video on the on the Bulldogs page on insta he also liked the Redpath video the other day. Taking everything into account I'd say lock it in Wingard in at the Bulldogs in 19. Hawks the only danger. Just show him the semi final in 16 ;)
19-09-2018, 07:26 PM
No Lloyd. Maybe/likely Wingard.
Good news all round in that post!!
Hopefully the Stengle rumours are true. I still like Townsend from the Tigers too.
19-09-2018, 07:31 PM
Wingard just liked a Mitch Wallis re signing video on the on the Bulldogs page on insta he also liked the Redpath video the other day. Taking everything into account I'd say lock it in Wingard in at the Bulldogs in 19. Hawks the only danger. Just show him the semi final in 16 ;)
I think he’s hedging his bets. He follows Hawthorn FC on Twitter (no other Club), Liked their Box Hill Hawks win on the weekend.
19-09-2018, 07:42 PM
I think he’s hedging his bets. He follows Hawthorn FC on Twitter (no other Club), Liked their Box Hill Hawks win on the weekend.
Apparently the Hawks met his management today, for mine it feels like when the Pies were trying to change Lynch's mind mid year however the deal had already been done. Its just a little due diligence thats all in case the number 1 seed aka the Bulldogs fail to get a deal done.
19-09-2018, 08:07 PM
Hopefully the Stengle rumours are true. I still like Townsend from the Tigers too.
Townsend and Suckling worked out at a gym together the other day. So maybe Townsend to the dogs or Suckers to punt road?
19-09-2018, 09:15 PM
With Dickson signed for a year, Wallis signed and potentially getting Wingard I hope we don’t bother with Lloyd.
Still really keen on Stengle and Townsend like you Mof.
19-09-2018, 11:07 PM
Maybe we were able to settle the Wallis deal in light of the Chad agreeing to terms with us. Once we knew what the latter would settle for we were able to lock in Wallis. Let's see how we go with Libba, if it's nailed very quickly from here then we're a good chance to have landed Wingard.
20-09-2018, 08:10 AM
Maybe we were able to settle the Wallis deal in light of the Chad agreeing to terms with us. Once we knew what the latter would settle for we were able to lock in Wallis. Let's see how we go with Libba, if it's nailed very quickly from here then we're a good chance to have landed Wingard.
There’s also Bonts deal
20-09-2018, 03:19 PM
What's happening with Webb?
20-09-2018, 03:25 PM
Nothing I would imagine as he's contracted for 2019 and his trade currency would be little to none.
20-09-2018, 03:31 PM
Was that a question re: Webb looking for more senior opportunities or re: neck issue potentially career threatening DR?
20-09-2018, 03:39 PM
His manager was interviewed this time last year and readily volunteered Webb was close to requesting a trade at that point for greater opportunities but chose to stick it out, work on his game and work his way into regular selection.
Neck issue aside, I wonder where things sit now.
20-09-2018, 03:51 PM
AFEL.com.au
Saying they have the exclusive story that Roughy and his manager have a formal sit down tomorrow. The day before their prelim. Maybe he's staying to watch them in their new stadium and crazy fans and a likely win, to woo him into signing with them.
20-09-2018, 03:57 PM
Quite a few rumours around that he may be forced to retire and never play football again at any level due to his neck. Still in a brace on social media.
20-09-2018, 04:03 PM
Quite a few rumours around that he may be forced to retire and never play football again at any level due to his neck. Still in a brace on social media.
oh wow thats awful
20-09-2018, 04:06 PM
AFEL.com.au
Saying they have the exclusive story that Roughy and his manager have a formal sit down tomorrow. The day before their prelim. Maybe he's staying to watch them in their new stadium and crazy fans and a likely win, to woo him into signing with them.
Are you refering to this story? EXCLUSIVE: Roughead to meet with Eagles (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-08-31/exclusive-roughead-to-meet-with-eagles) It's 3 weeks old.
Latest is Eagles are also looking at Tom Hickey: EXCLUSIVE: Big Saint has medical with Eagles (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-09-20/exclusive-big-saint-hickey-has-medical-with-eagles)
20-09-2018, 04:10 PM
Hopefully that's one rumour that isn't true. 3 players retiring before their time in one year is shocking and that's not even including Picken who could also have pulled the pin.
20-09-2018, 04:31 PM
Are you refering to this story? EXCLUSIVE: Roughead to meet with Eagles (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-08-31/exclusive-roughead-to-meet-with-eagles) It's 3 weeks old.
Latest is Eagles are also looking at Tom Hickey: EXCLUSIVE: Big Saint has medical with Eagles (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-09-20/exclusive-big-saint-hickey-has-medical-with-eagles)
Whatever the top story on that website was an hour ago.
20-09-2018, 04:39 PM
Whatever the top story on that website was an hour ago.
Might have been a screw up, the old Roughead story is attached to the new Hickey story.
20-09-2018, 04:41 PM
Might have been a screw up, the old Roughead story is attached to the new Hickey story.
AFEL. Screw up?
Never! :D
20-09-2018, 06:52 PM
Thanks for the Webb replies. Hope his neck is OK.
20-09-2018, 06:53 PM
Shouldn't we also be talking to May?
20-09-2018, 07:10 PM
Shouldn't we also be talking to May?
Yep, Adams & 2019 first rounder for May. Do the deal and move on.
20-09-2018, 07:54 PM
BT, how does Buku Khamis drafting work? Do we have to use points to match if another team picks him?
20-09-2018, 11:01 PM
BT, how does Buku Khamis drafting work? Do we have to use points to match if another team picks him?
I think it would be just like academy and f/s pick. We have to match and have a discount most likely?
Going to be a challenge to get West and Khamis, as well as make a play for Wingard.
Really hope we don't give up our first pick, but I can't see us holding on to it and getting the guys above.
20-09-2018, 11:12 PM
Just match the bid like a FS, if we want to, getting a 20% discount on points. If Roughy gets us a 3rd rounder, Dahl 2nd, I anticipate West & Khamis probably suck up the remainder of our picks with points. Then 7 on a gun kid or preferably Wingard. Leaves us with three late picks likely (5 but two rookie upgrades).
21-09-2018, 10:32 AM
Crows are after Stengle so that might be a losing battle for us given he’s from SA
21-09-2018, 10:42 AM
Crows are after Stengle so that might be a losing battle for us given he’s from SA
Yeah think we're well and truly out of the race if the Crows have thrown their hat into the ring.
21-09-2018, 12:15 PM
Yeah not like the Crows have done anything in the last 12 months to actively deter Indigenous players (or all players for that matter) from going to their club
21-09-2018, 10:11 PM
Does anyone have an idea of what is the realistic compensation we will get for Dahlhaus is likely to be?
21-09-2018, 10:17 PM
Does anyone have an idea of what is the realistic compensation we will get for Dahlhaus is likely to be?
If numbers guide the metrics for determining compensation then has to be end of 1st round, based on similarity to Motlop's deal. But I think end 2nd round is what we'll get.
21-09-2018, 10:18 PM
It's clear from media commentary of Ameet Bains and others, we expect end of first round compo. If there's three priorities and Lynch and Gaff compo, it's pick 24. If it's at second round it's pick 30. A difference of about 160 draft points.
The priority picks and potentially two first round fa compos are going to hurt. Hopefully when they AFEL pulls pick the compo out their arse they factor in maybe end of first round compo is the fairest situation in rewarding clubs with priority picks for incompetency.
21-09-2018, 10:34 PM
If numbers guide the metrics for determining compensation then has to be end of 1st round, based on similarity to Motlop's deal. But I think end 2nd round is what we'll get.
It's clear from media commentary of Ameet Bains and others, we expect end of first round compo. If there's three priorities and Lynch and Gaff compo, it's pick 24. If it's at second round it's pick 30. A difference of about 160 draft points.
The priority picks and potentially two first round fa compos are going to hurt. Hopefully when they AFEL pulls pick the compo out their arse they factor in maybe end of first round compo is the fairest situation in rewarding clubs with priority picks for incompetency.
Thanks, So that would be pick 37 as it is now moving down to somewhere in the 40's?
21-09-2018, 11:11 PM
Thanks, So that would be pick 37 as it is now moving down to somewhere in the 40's?
I factored it in already.
End 1st - Pick 24 (if three PPs awarded & 2 FA compos paid out)
At 2nd - Pick 30 (A/A)
We could do better if the afel don’t dish out 3 PPs & if WCE/GCS trade their players.
21-09-2018, 11:15 PM
End of 2nd would be 40+
21-09-2018, 11:24 PM
End of 2nd would be 40+
So do you think it will be around 30 or 40+?
Just wanting to get an idea of the options we might have
21-09-2018, 11:28 PM
I factored it in already.
End 1st - Pick 24 (if three PPs awarded & 2 FA compos paid out)
At 2nd - Pick 30 (A/A)
We could do better if the afel don’t dish out 3 PPs & if WCE/GCS trade their players.
PPs are a joke. All they do is reward incompetence and punish the rest of the competition. I really hope none are given out.
Also the club receiving the free agent, should be forced to give up their pick, so if Dahl is a first rounder, we should get Geelong's first round pick, etc etc.
22-09-2018, 12:07 AM
So do you think it will be around 30 or 40+?
Just wanting to get an idea of the options we might have
The optimist in me thinks end of first round, considering the shuffles, considering Bains says we expect it, so pick 19 down to 24 after shuffling.
The realist in me thinks that perhaps at our second round might be something to bank on. So pick 30 after shuffling.
My thoughts are a range of 24-30 if there's three priority picks, and two high free agency compos (Gaff & Lynch). If there's less, then our draft points tally rises a bit.
22-09-2018, 06:18 PM
feels like a compensation for a lost player under FA should come ahead of an end of 1st round priority pick...
22-09-2018, 07:01 PM
feels like a compensation for a lost player under FA should come ahead of an end of 1st round priority pick...
Yep. Especially in the age of draft points.
23-09-2018, 10:06 AM
Will Hayes getting talked up a fair bit:
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-09-23/son-of-the-scray-looms-as-draft-smokey
23-09-2018, 10:08 AM
Goes alright Will, hard at the ball, strong hands, kicks goals, height might be his only downside.
23-09-2018, 10:11 AM
I'd like to give him a shot but I think he'll be like Hannan or Long and taken earlier than what we're prepared to use on them.
23-09-2018, 10:33 AM
Interestingly in the Collingwood change rooms after the game Friday night.
23-09-2018, 10:54 AM
We all have friends at other clubs. Dogs didn’t make finals so probably gone to see a mate who did.
People like reading into things and mostly it’s just innocent stuff.
23-09-2018, 11:32 AM
probably gone to see a mate who did.
People like reading into things and mostly it’s just innocent stuff.
What makes your assumption any more accurate than any other?
23-09-2018, 01:33 PM
What makes your assumption any more accurate than any other?
Nothing just think people ( especially the press ) love trying to make a story out of nothing.
It’s not a big deal. He might get picked up by anyone it’s a draft , he doesn’t get to choose. So it doesn’t matter who he hangs out with in the end.
23-09-2018, 05:15 PM
I like him and wouldn't mind adding him to the list, but if the Club hasn't drafted him by now, I'm not sure we will.
We've had a real good look at him and I don't think he's changed much as a player over the past 3 seasons.
23-09-2018, 05:23 PM
I like him and wouldn't mind adding him to the list, but if the Club hasn't drafted him by now, I'm not sure we will.
We've had a real good look at him and I don't think he's changed much as a player over the past 3 seasons.
I wonder if a new recruiting team or philosophy might change things?
25-09-2018, 06:41 PM
Things look like being interesting on the Roughead front. After being strongly linked to WCE after touring their facilities and meeting their key people, today it's reported WCE will talk with Rory Lobb about a trade from GWS. Now if that goes through, I'm not sure what value Roughy has for them, unless they want to bring in Lobb & Roughy for Lycett which seems a little overkill. Plus if Roughy wants more opportunities he's fighting with Vardy to play second fiddle to Lobb.
So the other club mentioned in the press was St Kilda who are still good for ruck depth. So anyone care to guess where Roughy might end up? Is he good mates with Jason McCartney?
25-09-2018, 06:53 PM
Good to see Ghosty get signed.
25-09-2018, 07:19 PM
Roughead (exploring his options openly, all but gone)
Libba (reports will sign on)
Honeychurch (media reported him into GCS, media then reported GCS not into him)
Campbell (most likely going to dominate the shit out of the VFL, maybe Willy or Port Melbourne might try to grab him)
The only 4 that remain without a contract.
The Pedge
25-09-2018, 08:45 PM
So how many list spots do we need? Sign Libba and the rest free to go?
25-09-2018, 08:50 PM
So how many list spots do we need? Sign Libba and the rest free to go?
Our spots are good. I agree sign Libba, let Roughy go and delist the others.
Current Outs: Dahl, Redpath, Clay Smith, Biggs, Collins, Roughy, Honey, Campbell (8) - less - upgrading Lynch & Gowers (wording seems like Rorake staying on the RL) = 6 spots/current national draft picks (& 3 rookie list vacancies with NMM delisted)
25-09-2018, 09:07 PM
Things look like being interesting on the Roughead front. After being strongly linked to WCE after touring their facilities and meeting their key people, today it's reported WCE will talk with Rory Lobb about a trade from GWS. Now if that goes through, I'm not sure what value Roughy has for them, unless they want to bring in Lobb & Roughy for Lycett which seems a little overkill. Plus if Roughy wants more opportunities he's fighting with Vardy to play second fiddle to Lobb.
So the other club mentioned in the press was St Kilda who are still good for ruck depth. So anyone care to guess where Roughy might end up? Is he good mates with Jason McCartney?
Reckon they are into Lobb as a key forward - JK isn't getting any younger.
26-09-2018, 08:00 AM
Cal Twomey’s updated phantom draft - I find 60% of the time, he’s right every time. Regardless, had Rhylee West at 14 a month ago, now it looks like he isn’t in the top 18.
dont mind the sound of Bailey Smith from the little I’ve seen, but really want some elite disposal by foot and fast outside running in either a forward or midfielder. This also doesn’t account for GC’s compo pick for Lynch - and potentially May - which could push us to 8!
from monday:
Pick 1 (Carlton): Sam Walsh
“The best midfielder to come through the draft since Josh Kelly in 2013 so he’s someone you can bank on to play 200 games,” Twomey told Future Stars.
Pick 2 (Gold Coast) Jack Lukosius
“Lukosius a key forward from South Australia. I think Walsh has just gone ahead of him.”
Pick 3 (St Kilda): Max King
“King’s been doing a lot of knee reconstruction rehab at the Saints throughout the season, he’s worked really closely with them. I think he’s slightly ahead of his brother, he’s got that star power and probably a little bit better in the air.”
Pick 4 (Brisbane): Izak Rankine
“Rankine offers some genuine pace and real zip to what the Lions have and we’ve seen what he’s done throughout the year, he’s got some star quality.”
Pick 5 (Fremantle): Ben King
“Freo finally get a big key position player with a top five pick in the draft.”
Pick 6 (Western Bulldogs): Bailey Smith
“Bailey Smith’s a perfect fit the Dogs. Inside and outside powerful midfielder with pace.”
Pick 7 (Adelaide): Connor Rozee
“Rozee, who we’ve loved in the second half of the season, played some great SANFL footy. The Crows get a local boy there.”
Pick 8 (Sydney – matching Essendon’s bid): Nick Blakey
“Nick Blakey, they match Essendon’s bid there. The Swans come up and get him.”
Pick 9 (Essendon): Jye Caldwell
“A midfielder from the Bendigo Pioneers, a really good season for him towards the end of the season.”
Pick 10 (North Melbourne – matching Port Adelaide’s bid): Tarryn Thomas
“I still think he goes around that mark for the Roos, matching Port Adelaide’s bid.”
Pick 11 (Port Adelaide): Jackson Hately
Pick 12 (Collingwood – matching Geelong’s bid): Isaac Quaynor
Pick 13 (Geelong): Jordan Clark
Pick 14 (GWS): Curtis Taylor
Pick 15 (Hawthorn): Ian Hill
Pick 16 (Adelaide): Zak Butters
Pick 17 (Richmond): Liam Stocker
Pick 18 (Gold Coast): Riley Collier-Dawkins
26-09-2018, 08:14 AM
With the similarities to Motlop. I’d want end of first round for a 26yo, four years & $500,000+. The AFEL know we will chew threw it on Rhylee West, so just give us the extra 7 or so spots worth of draft points. Which will in part compensate us for losing draft points when they throw priority picks around like confetti.
Good for you Dahl, thanks for your service, but I have no wishes for Geelong to win any finals.
A tough call, but the right call for the list manager.
1,000,000% agree w this BT! For once can the AFL give us a chop out with compensation picks! It’s for an FS selection so won’t affect any other club.
in other news - anyone heard Bailey Williams is homesick? Read this morning a (unsubstantiated and aourceless) rumour that he might get. Uncles in a deal to sport for Wingard. Anyone heard anything?
26-09-2018, 08:45 AM
Not sure I would want to lose Williams for Wingard , the other croweater is Young and for some reason he didn’t get a look in this year, could he be in a deal to get Wingard ?
26-09-2018, 08:46 AM
1,000,000% agree w this BT! For once can the AFL give us a chop out with compensation picks! It’s for an FS selection so won’t affect any other club.
in other news - anyone heard Bailey Williams is homesick? Read this morning a (unsubstantiated and aourceless) rumour that he might get. Uncles in a deal to sport for Wingard. Anyone heard anything?
Made up rumour from the ever reliable trade guru
26-09-2018, 08:46 AM
Not sure I would want to lose Williams for Wingard , the other croweater is Young and for some reason he didn’t get a look in this year, could he be in a deal to get Wingard ?
Young and pick 7 for Wingard I’d do.
Williams and 7 I would NOT do. Williams will be a gun
26-09-2018, 09:07 AM
Young and pick 7 for Wingard I’d do.
Williams and 7 I would NOT do. Williams will be a gun
Young has the potential to be one as well. Either trade could bite us on the arse.
26-09-2018, 09:31 AM
dont mind the sound of Bailey Smith from the little I’ve seen, but really want some elite disposal by foot and fast outside running in either a forward or midfielder. This also doesn’t account for GC’s compo pick for Lynch - and potentially May - which could push us to 8!
May's contract runs out next year doesn't it? I don't think they can tear up his contract and get compensation so unless I'm missing something I don't see how that one can affect us
26-09-2018, 09:32 AM
Cal Twomey’s updated phantom draft - I find 60% of the time, he’s right every time. Regardless, had Rhylee West at 14 a month ago, now it looks like he isn’t in the top 18.
]
May isn't a free agent, there will be no compensation if he leaves, just whatever they get in a trade. Our pick is pretty much certain to be 7 now (unless GC force a trade for Lynch which seems unlikely).
26-09-2018, 09:33 AM
May's contract runs out next year doesn't it? I don't think they can tear up his contract and get compensation so unless I'm missing something I don't see how that one can affect us
Correct, the AFL ruled out that possibility.
26-09-2018, 09:49 AM
Young has the potential to be one as well. Either trade could bite us on the arse.
I'm still unconvinced with Young. He showed some promise as an intercepting defender in his first few games but i still have big question marks on his strength, 1-1 ability and his disposal and decision making.
I agree he has promise but would you do it if it's the difference between getting Wingard and not getting him? I would. Williams i wouldnt
I think Young is miles off it at the moment - but I have to keep reminding myself that he was one of the youngest players (if not the youngest) in the competition in the 2017 season. So he is still just a very raw pup.
26-09-2018, 10:18 AM
Interesting on the unlikely rumour that Williams is homesick.
It could have some substance. Injured pretty much for the 2nd half of the season which would be tough. He was played in the last game V Richmond which at the time I thought why risk him? Maybe they figured he’s homesick let’s remind him when he’s playing things are better and looking up.
Through & Through what have you heard?
26-09-2018, 11:22 AM
I'm still unconvinced with Young. He showed some promise as an intercepting defender in his first few games but i still have big question marks on his strength, 1-1 ability and his disposal and decision making.
I agree he has promise but would you do it if it's the difference between getting Wingard and not getting him? I would. Williams i wouldnt
Thats a lot to give up for Wingard though. I want him but giving up that much is a dangerous game to play
The Pedge
26-09-2018, 12:29 PM
Jury is still out on Young for me. Very young, obviously reads it well and a lot of upside to him yet. Straight swap for Wingard would be my hope. Hang on to Williams at all costs!
26-09-2018, 01:08 PM
Jury is still out on Young for me. Very young, obviously reads it well and a lot of upside to him yet. Straight swap for Wingard would be my hope. Hang on to Williams at all costs!
Young for Wingard? That sounds..... Optimistic.
26-09-2018, 01:13 PM
Throw in Honeychurch as well to even it up. Maybe add Rourke Smith if they play hardball.
26-09-2018, 02:56 PM
Still only 19 years old, we can give him some time.
dukedog
26-09-2018, 05:49 PM
Throw in Honeychurch as well to even it up. Maybe add Rourke Smith if they play hardball.
Hahahahahaha. You guys can be our list management. I love one eyed supporters some times.
26-09-2018, 06:08 PM
Hahahahahaha. You guys can be our list management. I love one eyed supporters some times.
Don’t you mean They should be the opposition list managers and do those kind of deals when dealing with us.
dukedog
26-09-2018, 07:33 PM
Something like this.
26-09-2018, 08:39 PM
I think Young is miles off it at the moment - but I have to keep reminding myself that he was one of the youngest players (if not the youngest) in the competition in the 2017 season. So he is still just a very raw pup.
Excellent debut but hasn't kicked on very much. Still very young.
26-09-2018, 09:02 PM
I mean... I was joking.
The Pedge
27-09-2018, 06:36 AM
Whoops! Straight swap for our first pick was what I meant.
27-09-2018, 08:47 AM
Excellent debut but hasn't kicked on very much. Still very young.
I have a feeling he'll always be young.
27-09-2018, 09:00 AM
Surprised that took 12 hours
27-09-2018, 12:00 PM
I would do first pick for Wingard no worries but Williams is a going to be great player. Young was awesome in his first lot of games a bit like Naughton has been. Has suffered second season blues a bit but I like the idea of him at CHB and Naughton FB for the next ten years.
The Pedge
27-09-2018, 01:19 PM
Would people be happy with this years first round pick and next years second round pick for Wingard? Listening to SEN this morning, it seems likely Port will ask for two first rounders as a starting point...
27-09-2018, 01:28 PM
Would people be happy with this years first round pick and next years second round pick for Wingard? Listening to SEN this morning, it seems likely Port will ask for two first rounders as a starting point...
If Port thinks he's worth 2 1st rounders then why don't they offer him a contract that reflects that?
The Pedge
27-09-2018, 02:04 PM
If Port thinks he's worth 2 1st rounders then why don't they offer him a contract that reflects that?
Standard negotiating tact I would suggest. Whether they end up with that is another question. Although Lever and Gibbs both went for two first rounders.
27-09-2018, 03:31 PM
A player is only worth what another club will pay as we found out with Stringer
27-09-2018, 06:26 PM
A player is only worth what another club will pay as we found out with Stringer
If there is only one club Interested it drops the value a lot.
27-09-2018, 08:06 PM
Standard negotiating tact I would suggest. Whether they end up with that is another question. Although Lever and Gibbs both went for two first rounders.
Carlton and Adelaide didn't want those players to leave
27-09-2018, 09:07 PM
Carlton and Adelaide didn't want those players to leave
True. They had to pry them out with 2 first rounders
28-09-2018, 12:09 AM
Changing surnames could be a SA defender thing, Brian Harris changed to Brian Lake.
28-09-2018, 12:54 PM
Haven’t been on for a while so just giving my 2 bobs
Stoked we’re chasing Wingard , but wouldn’t be giving up two first rounders
I think it’s a win win as pick 7 should be quality .
28-09-2018, 12:56 PM
I would do first pick for Wingard no worries but Williams is a going to be great player. Young was awesome in his first lot of games a bit like Naughton has been. Has suffered second season blues a bit but I like the idea of him at CHB and Naughton FB for the next ten years.
There is absolutely no way known in a million years we’d consider it
28-09-2018, 01:16 PM
Haven’t been on for a while so just giving my 2 bobs
Stoked we’re chasing Wingard , but wouldn’t be giving up two first rounders
I think it’s a win win as pick 7 should be quality .
I hope you had a good reason. You didn't leave us a note and we've been up all night worried about if anything happened to you. What do you have to say for yourself young man? :D
28-09-2018, 02:57 PM
Wingard if we do get him must play forward. Bont much better in the midfield who can drift forward and do some damage. JJ and Wood are much better at the back than forward. No more experimenting with positions - play players in their best positions.
28-09-2018, 04:26 PM
I hope you had a good reason. You didn't leave us a note and we've been up all night worried about if anything happened to you. What do you have to say for yourself young man? :D
I’ve got a doctors certicate
I’m certifiably insane , nothing minor .
Someone compared us on here to 1996 and it tipped me over the edge
28-09-2018, 04:28 PM
I’m so overjoyed Richmond got booted out and I think we put the skids under them
28-09-2018, 05:11 PM
Wingard if we do get him must play forward. Bont much better in the midfield who can drift forward and do some damage. JJ and Wood are much better at the back than forward. No more experimenting with positions - play players in their best positions.
Have you met Bevo? I have it on good authority he mentions versatility every now and then. There's no doubt in my mind both Wingard and Bont would be playing in the middle and up forward.
Personally I'd be happy to have Wingard soak up Gowers time in the middle.
28-09-2018, 05:13 PM
Have you met Bevo? I have it on good authority he mentions versatility every now and then. There's no doubt in my mind both Wingard and Bont would be playing in the middle and up forward.
Haven't personally met Bevo but would love to one day.
dukedog
28-09-2018, 05:31 PM
You don't hand over ya number 2 Guernsey the year after your captain retires. Then ship him the very next year. Ain't happening.
28-09-2018, 05:42 PM
Gowers only became any good once he started getting that time in the middle. Wouldn't be looking to take that away.
28-09-2018, 05:47 PM
Gowers only became any good once he started getting that time in the middle. Wouldn't be looking to take that away.
It certainly added another string to his bow, I think he played a bit better in the midfield but I suspect if we were to land Wingard then he probably plays a bit more forward
28-09-2018, 05:54 PM
It certainly added another string to his bow, I think he played a bit better in the midfield but I suspect if we were to land Wingard then he probably plays a bit more forward
It's not so much about his output in the centre, but more that it forced him to work harder and in more space. His early rounds as a pure forward bared some terribly lazy footy and isn't something I'd return to.
What would make Wingard's role any different to the one occupied by Dahl for most of the year?
28-09-2018, 05:57 PM
It's not so much about his output in the centre, but more that it forced him to work harder and in more space. His early rounds as a pure forward bared some terribly lazy footy and isn't something I'd return to.
What would make Wingard's role any different to the one occupied by Dahl for most of the year?
Hopefully more than one goal every ten games....
28-09-2018, 05:59 PM
He'd play the role better and kick goals from 40m out and the occasional set shot. He takes that role and we are instantly a much better side for it. Pick 6 and anything else goes out, pick 19/25 comes in. Only $250,000 to $300,000 more than Geelong paying Dahl. That's a wonderful outcome if we can convince him to come our way.
28-09-2018, 06:21 PM
Hopefully more than one goal every ten games....
Guess it depends how motovated (sic) Chad is
28-09-2018, 07:16 PM
Guess it depends how motovated (sic) Chad is
Lol.
29-09-2018, 12:18 AM
The “2 first rounders” call is silly. It makes it sound like picks 17 & 18 are worth as much as picks 5&6 just cause they’re first rounders.
Our first pick is an acceptable deal for both teams.
29-09-2018, 05:23 PM
So the footy is over, now it's all about the trading season.
Outs or question marks:
Roughead - courted by the 2018 premiers
Libba - yet to sign
Adams - wants a fresh start, but under contract
Campbell & Honeychurch - the trade version of hard rubbish collection. Free to anyone walking on by before council pick up day.
Links to us:
Wingard (in contest with Hawthorn)
29-09-2018, 05:59 PM
Outs or question marks:
Libba - yet to sign
Campbell & Honeychurch - the trade version of hard rubbish collection. Free to anyone walking on by before council pick up day.
Links to us:
I think we're going to pull off a coup and land May and Wingard.
29-09-2018, 06:00 PM
I think we're going to pull off a coup and land May and Wingard.
Wow...I hope so, but I’m not hopeful of either.
29-09-2018, 06:04 PM
Outs or question marks:
Libba - yet to sign
Links to us:
Roughead to end up at eagles or saints
Libba 50/50 to sign possibly 1-2 years
Adams hopefully an early 2nd rounder or player swap, if he doesn’t want to be at our club
Honey and Campbell to be delisted (surely)
Getting another teams fwd hack in the likes of Lloyd or Rose wouldn’t surprise me
Wingard to stay at Port or go to hawks.