View Full Version : Pre-season Training 2018

Pages : 1 [2]

16-01-2018, 05:06 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DTo9YHVUQAA1ElR.jpg

16-01-2018, 05:22 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3OYnIAC6Q0

JJ tearing it up. Hoping he has a great 2018.

Thanks for the photos BAD.

Insufficient Intent
16-01-2018, 05:55 PM
Thanks for all the snaps, BAD; you can almost smell the season around the corner!
Jongy looks agile; if anyone deserves an injury-free, successful year, it's him.

16-01-2018, 05:58 PM
Thanks for all the snaps, BAD; you can almost smell the season around the corner!
Jongy looks agile; if anyone deserves an injury-free, successful year, it's him.

Yep played very well Jongy before that injury. Needs a full season.

16-01-2018, 06:59 PM
The ground looks in very good condition after much speculation late last year.

16-01-2018, 08:01 PM
JJ tearing it up. Hoping he has a great 2018.

Thanks for the photos BAD.

Made Biggsy look downright silly. Torched him

16-01-2018, 08:08 PM
Made Biggsy look downright silly. Torched him

You mean Wally don't you? The thing I noticed in the clip was how JJ slowed before kicking. I think there is a skill to be learned at being able to kick the ball at full tilt.

17-01-2018, 09:13 AM
Tom Liberatore impressing at Western Bulldogs pre-season training, says Marcus Bontempelli (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/tom-liberatore-impressing-at-western-bulldogs-preseason-training-says-marcus-bontempelli/news-story/42b75748a505c59d3e655e2a7744c5c9)

https://cdn.newsapi.com.au/image/v1/39ca5b9feadfd44d0464ac5f02adb1b9?width=700
Tom Liberatore has been impressing for the Western Bulldogs. Picture: Michael Klein

January 16, 2018 3:26pm
by MICHAEL THOMPSON
Source: FOX SPORTS

WESTERN Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli believes fellow midfielder Tom Liberatore has shown signs this pre-season that he could return to his best form in 2018.

Liberatore, a premiership Bulldog, averaging a career-low 17.2 disposals from 18 games through his patchy 2017 campaign, which saw him dropped to the VFL midway through the season.

But Bontempelli said he had been impressed by his teammate’s determination on the track this pre-season and was confident he could recapture his brilliance of 2016.

“Tom’s going well, responded quite well to some of the criticism that he faced last year,” Bontempelli told SEN Breakfast.

“It’s a tough challenge of consistently performing at the top level, that’s how the competition is. Sometimes you might not always get it right.

“Based on what I’ve seen throughout the pre-season, Tom’s training really well and we can’t really ask much more else from him at this point. It’s great to see Tom back at the level we know he can play and train at.”

Liberatore wasn’t the only Bulldog last season that struggled to back up from a fairytale 2016 as the club failed to make the finals.

But Bontempelli said he is confident the Dogs could return to their flag-winning form this year.

“One thing definitely will be to continue to find new ways to definitely challenge and improve your style of footy,” he said.

“I don’t think we relaxed, but we definitely weren’t as strong in some of our key areas. As we saw teams around us got better and improved and started doing things better than what we did.

“That’s the challenge of probably being how we renew our strengths and how you continue to find new ways to improve.”

Bontempelli said a key to his side’s return to form would be its power around the footy.

“It’s quite an intense style of footy and we like to move the ball quite rapidly. It’s probably for us just getting back to what we know we are good at and that’s our best brand and style of footy,” he said.

“There’s nothing yet that’s going to be too out of the ordinary, just hopefully better again on what we’ve done in the past.”

17-01-2018, 09:21 AM
Cheers Choc. Very positive feeling around the club from the sound of it. Really determined to make amends this year.

17-01-2018, 10:39 AM
You mean Wally don't you? The thing I noticed in the clip was how JJ slowed before kicking. I think there is a skill to be learned at being able to kick the ball at full tilt.

I would much prefer players steady and hit the target most of the time and occasionally get run down as a result to continually panicking and spraying the pill all over the place.

17-01-2018, 12:55 PM
I try not to get swept up in pre-season and reports of how players are going....

...but gee Libba is looking really good.

18-01-2018, 10:15 AM
I try not to get swept up in pre-season and reports of how players are going....

...but gee Libba is looking really good.

How good would it be to have an angry in form Libba running around this year. He's a bit of a... what did they used to call Mitch Hahn, a barometer? when he was playing well the team was playing well. Is Libba our "barometer"?

18-01-2018, 10:23 AM
How good would it be to have an angry in form Libba running around this year. He's a bit of a... what did they used to call Mitch Hahn, a barometer? when he was playing well the team was playing well. Is Libba our "barometer"?

Arguably he is our most important player.

18-01-2018, 07:37 PM
I'm looking forward to Libba recapturing his best.

18-01-2018, 09:47 PM
I am willing to call Libba 'our barometer' ratsmac

19-01-2018, 12:00 PM
More Libba love plus a few others given a wrap by Hansen

Western Bulldogs coach Ashley Hansen says Tom Liberatore primed to return to his best (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/western-bulldogs-coach-ashley-hansen-says-tom-liberatore-primed-to-return-to-his-best/news-story/a464c2dc820abc22bf66a8cdb7fee887)

WESTERN Bulldogs midfielder Tom Liberatore is making good on a pre-season pledge his club hopes can see him return to his best football.

Liberatore, a free agent at the end of 2018, has been among the eye catchers over the summer at Whitten Oval after an indifferent 2017.

Liberatore returned to pre-season early after being among a number of high-profile Bulldogs to endure form woes last year, the 25-year-old dumped mid-season as his club looked for ways to turn around their year.

But Bulldogs assistant Ashley Hansen said the pre-season signs pointed to the tackling machine rebounding from his last year’s up-and-down season.

“He’s been fantastic, working really hard,” Hansen told the AFL website.

“We’ve started to really see what he’s capable of on a consistent basis, week to week, which is exciting.

“It is an important time of the year, and certainly Tom’s put in the work so far to set himself up for a strong season in 2018.”

After a slow start last season, Liberatore was dropped after his team’s Round 8 loss to West Coast after having just one kick among eight touches.

He returned in Round 13, enjoying one of his best games of the season, but his form mirrored his team as the Dogs battled to regain their premiership-winning mojo.

Liberatore’s manager, Tom Williams, ruled out a potential move post-season as ‘Libba’ returned to training early in a bid to prepare for 2018.

Hansen said there was a hunger among the Bulldogs, with Liberatore and fellow free agent Luke Dahlhaus not the only ones impressing.

“Certainly the way the players have presented themselves and the way they’re training at the moment, we couldn’t be happier,” he said.

“And we were expecting a response because they’re all really proud footballers, highly competitive, and they want to turn it around as much as anyone.

“Our younger guys, that middle bracket of Bailey Dale, Toby McLean and Caleb Daniel are starting to take their training to a new level which has been really exciting.”

Hansen, in charge of the forwards under Luke Beveridge, said there’d be no armchair ride for new recruit and former no.2 draft pick Josh Schache.

“If he’s in our best six (forwards) come Round 1, he’ll play,” Hansen said.

“We’re still in the process of trying to find the best combination, and that’ll change throughout the course of the year and could change over that fortnight of the JLT (Series).”

20-01-2018, 12:10 PM
I would much prefer players steady and hit the target most of the time and occasionally get run down as a result to continually panicking and spraying the pill all over the place.

Most players but I think GVG is right there is a skill to passing the ball by foot running at full tilt. If you can pull it off the ball fairly flies with just a tap from the foot. I can remember practising them as a kid, the ball goes low and straight to where you want it to go.

20-01-2018, 10:15 PM
Aker was an outstanding exponent of the full tilt, stay in stride kick.

21-01-2018, 08:12 AM
Aker was an outstanding exponent of the full tilt, stay in stride kick.

He could shoot at goal and somehow bring the ball across his body from an angle running at top pace too. I've never seen another player do it so consistantly.

21-01-2018, 08:19 AM
Most players but I think GVG is right there is a skill to passing the ball by foot running at full tilt. If you can pull it off the ball fairly flies with just a tap from the foot. I can remember practising them as a kid, the ball goes low and straight to where you want it to go.

Slowing down to get the kick off does allow the opposition the chance to tackle you. If no one is around you then it's a smart move but I think most of the better players can kick well at full stride. If you are kicking it to a leading forward they don't have to second guess the timing of their leads.

Years ago players would jump in the air slightly to accept a handball and in the process lose a bit of momentum. I think West Coast were the first ones to make sure their players stopped it and they looked so much quicker than other sides.

If it can be taught to kick the ball well at near full pace it would certainly be an advantage.

23-01-2018, 10:24 AM
Slowing down to get the kick off does allow the opposition the chance to tackle you. If no one is around you then it's a smart move but I think most of the better players can kick well at full stride. If you are kicking it to a leading forward they don't have to second guess the timing of their leads.

Years ago players would jump in the air slightly to accept a handball and in the process lose a bit of momentum. I think West Coast were the first ones to make sure their players stopped it and they looked so much quicker than other sides.

If it can be taught to kick the ball well at near full pace it would certainly be an advantage.

I can remember as a kid watching Gary Dempsey palming the ball to Geoff Jennings and Ted Whitten Jr who would run into it it at top speed. As soon as they got the ball Templeton would start leading and the half forwards would start moving back and forth and sideways to take opponents out of his way and to make space. Then they would kick the ball into the space the other players had created so Templeton could mark it.

Guys like Whitten and Jennings were great kicks at top speed.

23-01-2018, 10:29 AM
I can remember as a kid watching Gary Dempsey palming the ball to Geoff Jennings and Ted Whitten Jr who would run into it it at top speed. As soon as they got the ball Templeton would start leading and the half forwards would start moving back and forth and sideways to take opponents out of his way and to make space. Then they would kick the ball into the space the other players had created so Templeton could mark it.

Guys like Whitten and Jennings were great kicks at top speed.

Jennings could kick the ball a mile when he was running at full speed, yet his normal kicking distance was average. Choco Royal was the same.

23-01-2018, 02:26 PM
Opening Training

The Western Bulldogs will host an open training session on Sunday 28 January 2018 on the Sunshine Coast, giving you the opportunity to meet the 2018 AFL team in your home state and watch them in action during their pre-season training camp.

The training session will be held at the Maroochydore Sports Complex (Fisherman's Road, Maroochydore, QLD) commencing at 9.30am.
The Bulldogs Shop team will also be making the trip north, with a great selection of the 2018 Western Bulldogs official summer merchandise range available on site to purchase.
After the session, you’ll be able to get photos and autographs from the players*, so we encourage you to wear your Bulldog colours and have your pen at the ready.
The Club would once again like to thank you for your ongoing support, and look forward to seeing you on the Sunshine Coast.
Western Bulldogs Sunshine Coast Open Training Session
9.30am, Sunday 28 January 2018
Maroochydore Sports Complex
Fisherman's Road, Maroochydore, QLD
*Not all players are guaranteed to be available for autographs

23-01-2018, 09:56 PM
Those 1 minute preseason clips really show a lot :rolleyes: Is there any point? What are peoples thoughts of our online content?

24-01-2018, 10:58 PM
Western Bulldogs have arrived in Mooloolaba to begin their 2018 training camp, as preparation shift a gear ahead of the upcoming season.
Take a look at the best snaps from the side's sweltering first session on the training track.
Jack Redpath
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Redpath.jpg
Luke Dahlhaus
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Dahlhaus.jpg
Tom Campbell
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Campbell.jpg
Lachie Hunter
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Hunter.jpg
Billy Gowers
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Gowers.jpg
Clay Smith
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Smith.jpg
Jason Johannisen
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/JJ.jpg
Jack Macrae
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Macrae.jpg
Mitch Wallis
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/Wallis.jpg

Kieran Collins
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Images/COllins.jpg

28-01-2018, 01:42 PM
Apparently a good turnout for Open training this morning.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUlkMwOVQAAOs21.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUl7KmxVQAQiTmT.jpg

28-01-2018, 01:44 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUmCK4HU0AAVf9v.jpg

28-01-2018, 01:45 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUmCK4hV4AA0jxf.jpg

28-01-2018, 01:46 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUlvRqLVQAAe0Eu.jpg

28-01-2018, 01:46 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUlsSs-VAAEDse0.jpg

28-01-2018, 02:08 PM
Anyone know who's in the rehab group?

28-01-2018, 06:32 PM
Cheers BAD. There was a bit on the sport news tonight about us up on the Sunshine Coast.

28-01-2018, 07:29 PM
Anyone know who's in the rehab group?

I think Jong might be the only one not ready for round one in an article from Matt Suckling.

28-01-2018, 08:02 PM
I’d be interested in hearing from anyone who attended today’s training if they noticed which players we’re training with squads they might not have been expected to train with eg Adams and/or Young training with forward group

28-01-2018, 08:10 PM
I’d be interested in hearing from anyone who attended today’s training if they noticed which players we’re training with squads they might not have been expected to train with eg Adams and/or Young training with forward group

Boydogs, YHF, HD60 and MM are up in QLD but a bit of a distance from the Sunshine Coast I think.

28-01-2018, 09:04 PM
Boydogs, YHF, HD60 and MM are up in QLD but a bit of a distance from the Sunshine Coast I think.

I'm back in Melbourne now Easty. Think we have someone on the Sunshine Coast but not sure who

28-01-2018, 09:06 PM
I'm back in Melbourne now Easty. Think we have someone on the Sunshine Coast but not sure who

Mighty_west was another who is up in QLD I believe but don't think he is on the Sunshine Coast. Hasn't been on WOOF for a while.

28-01-2018, 09:12 PM

You must be looking forward to getting to more Doggies games in 2018 being back down in VIC.

28-01-2018, 09:56 PM
You must be looking forward to getting to more Doggies games in 2018 being back down in VIC.

Yeah mate, timed it right with the Cairns game stopping now

28-01-2018, 11:31 PM
Didn't get there unfortunately.

29-01-2018, 06:52 AM
Yeah mate, timed it right with the Cairns game stopping now

I think we are about as close to the Sunshine Coast as Cairns is. I know when we flew there and stopped in Brisbane and we were only about halfway there.

29-01-2018, 11:24 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DUqWBYZU0AI-Sk5.jpg

29-01-2018, 12:21 PM

Ed Richards is a stand out.

29-01-2018, 12:48 PM

What is Richards and Bailey Dale looking at?

29-01-2018, 04:57 PM

Shades of both 'ST Peppers' cover and 'Full Metal Jacket'.
Yet this shot is surely set up to introduce us to the star qualities of Ed Richards. Lou sent down a beam of sunlight on his rich red hair.

29-01-2018, 07:46 PM
Marcus Adams gave Ed Richards a rap already, fingers crossed we need another classy player on our list thats for sure.

Just looking at pics and very short vids Suckling looks as fit as I've seen him. He is experienced player in what is a very young group he has been just OK,we need more from him this year with a couple of legends retiring.

One thing I can't wait for is JJ and Dale burning up the wings/forward flanks they should cause plenty of headaches this year both look in great condition.

29-01-2018, 08:48 PM
Why is Lukas Webb giving the two fingers?

29-01-2018, 10:23 PM
Why is Lukas Webb giving the two fingers?

He's a big Lewis Young fan.

I must admit that I wondered that myself. There's not even anyone close enough for him to be doing rabbit ears on someone.

29-01-2018, 10:48 PM
Can't see Tom Boyd?

30-01-2018, 07:02 AM
Can't see Tom Boyd?

There's a few missing including the 2 Tom's and Dunks and a couple more.. only counted about 35 in the pic.

30-01-2018, 08:35 AM
There's a few missing including the 2 Tom's and Dunks and a couple more.. only counted about 35 in the pic.

Isn't Dunks in the second row from the top, next to Redpath?

30-01-2018, 09:24 AM

Isn't that Libba in front of the Bont.

30-01-2018, 09:27 AM
Isn't that Libba in front of the Bont.

Pretty sure that is Zaine.

30-01-2018, 09:47 AM
Pretty sure that is Zaine.

It probably is. I'm shocking at picking players without numbers. All young males look alike to me. Not alike but not very different. There are only 3 or 4 faces that I can distinguish from each other.

30-01-2018, 10:39 AM
Isn't Dunks in the second row from the top, next to Redpath?

Yeah he's to our right of redpath, zaine on the left.

30-01-2018, 11:02 AM
It probably is. I'm shocking at picking players without numbers. All young males look alike to me. Not alike but not very different. There are only 3 or 4 faces that I can distinguish from each other.

Sounds like you have face blindness like Dr Karl!

30-01-2018, 12:04 PM
Sounds like you have face blindness like Dr Karl!

In all seriousness I wouldn't be at all suprised if I did. My daughter does.

And my name IRL is Carl and I am supersmart...

And there is a crazy lady who lives near my mum who is convinced I'm a doctor.

30-01-2018, 02:13 PM
You can take a face blindness test here:
http://www.bbk.ac.uk/psychology/psychologyexperiments/experiments/facememorytest/startup.php

I did better than I expected!

01-02-2018, 12:15 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DU6TZQxVMAA1l3R.jpg

01-02-2018, 12:26 PM
Libba looking the best he has ever looked - look out

01-02-2018, 01:35 PM

Has there ever been a F/S Brownlow combination? I reckon there is nothing more certain than Libba winning the Brownlow this year. Get on now and make yourself a monty mate. Get on now and get on again next week and the week after that. Every cent you can find invest it on Tom.

Currently paying $201 on Sportsbet.

01-02-2018, 02:41 PM
Has there ever been a F/S Brownlow combination? I reckon there is nothing more certain than Libba winning the Brownlow this year. Get on now and make yourself a monty mate. Get on now and get on again next week and the week after that. Every cent you can find invest it on Tom.

Didn't do it with Cooney when I meant to. May as well give Libba a shot. I can live with losing $10 if it doesn't happen

01-02-2018, 02:51 PM
Didn't do it with Cooney when I meant to. May as well give Libba a shot. I can live with losing $10 if it doesn't happen

Turn that ten into 2 grand or nothing. Put the bet on and then try to remember where that bloody ticket is when Tom salutes. :confused:

01-02-2018, 02:55 PM

Would be biggest surprise Brownlow winner since his old man. Has polled only 20 votes in 116 games so would need to more than double his existing tally to win. Most of those votes came in 2013 with 14 and has only received 1 vote since coming back from his knee:
2011 16 games 0 votes
2012 17 0
2013 22 14
2014 22 5
2016 21 1
2017 18 0

01-02-2018, 04:35 PM
Looks in fearsome nick.

A newsflash it ain't, but we're so much more formidable with Libba contributing at his peak.

2018 Barometer! If he grinds his way to a Brownlow we'll be in fine stead.

01-02-2018, 04:39 PM
Would be biggest surprise Brownlow winner since his old man. Has polled only 20 votes in 116 games so would need to more than double his existing tally to win. Most of those votes came in 2013 with 14 and has only received 1 vote since coming back from his knee:
2011 16 games 0 votes
2012 17 0
2013 22 14
2014 22 5
2016 21 1
2017 18 0

Have you got Tony's breakdown? He wouldn't have scored many after 1994/95 I reckon. I'd be interested to see his tallys from outside his winning year.

01-02-2018, 06:49 PM
Have you got Tony's breakdown? He wouldn't have scored many after 1994/95 I reckon. I'd be interested to see his tallys from outside his winning year.

After his Brownlow Tony still polled pretty well in quite a few seasons:
1986 4 Games 0 Votes
1987 12 4
1988 1 0
1989 1 0
1990 19 18
1991 22 2
1992 25 12
1993 20 4
1994 24 16
1995 23 14
1996 22 7
1997 24 10
1998 9 0
1999 21 8
2000 23 14
2001 17 3
2002 16 0

01-02-2018, 07:34 PM

Wood looking great too, lets hope he gets back to his intercepting best.

01-02-2018, 07:34 PM
After his Brownlow Tony still polled pretty well in quite a few seasons:
1986 4 Games 0 Votes
1987 12 4
1988 1 0
1989 1 0
1990 19 18
1991 22 2
1992 25 12
1993 20 4
1994 24 16
1995 23 14
1996 22 7
1997 24 10
1998 9 0
1999 21 8
2000 23 14
2001 17 3
2002 16 0

Thanks Axey.

Geez, even as late as 2000 Tony got 14 votes. Umpires read the same papers as the rest of us and I would have thought they had Libba down as a negating type who scratched and bashed his way into the team.

01-02-2018, 10:16 PM
Thanks Axey.

Geez, even as late as 2000 Tony got 14 votes. Umpires read the same papers as the rest of us and I would have thought they had Libba down as a negating type who scratched and bashed his way into the team.

what a champ

01-02-2018, 10:59 PM
What an incredible record . Completely underrated career as well .
Sadly remembered for selfless game at the end of his career . He overstepped the mark on occasions, but he had a great career .

10-02-2018, 01:46 PM
I'm sure a lot of Woofers have seen the latest (albeit it the briefest yet), highlights from pre-season training which included a great pack mark by English up against Toyd, Roberts and Adams.
Just as encouraging was Roughy's effort at the end against Trengove and Biggs. Took the ball quite high and confidently....(a la 2016 - just saying...)

24-02-2018, 09:24 AM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-02-24/morris-sidelined-with-knee-injury

Western Bulldogs defender Dale Morris has suffered a knee injury and will spend an extended period of time on the sidelines.

Morris suffered a small tear to his anterior cruciate ligament at the Bulldogs’ training session on Thursday at VU Whitten Oval.

He will be managed conservatively, and his rehabilitation will involve a targeted strength and rehabilitation program.

“This strategy will maximise the chance of Dale being able to play a meaningful part in the 2018 season,” said Bulldogs’ Medical Services Manager Chris Bell.

“While this is not a common injury, there have been other similar cases in the AFL where surgery was not required for the healing process.

“Given the type of injury this is, and the unknown nature of the recovery time, we will work with Dale over the coming 8-12 weeks to more accurately determine when he is able to return to the field.”

Big blow for Morris and us as a team.

24-02-2018, 09:43 AM
Shocking news.

24-02-2018, 09:45 AM
Sheeeaaat.

Still it opens up a place for a tall defender and we have a few of those.

24-02-2018, 09:49 AM
TBH hes a very lucky boy. That was almost career ending. Hopefully he'll still play a fair part in what is probably his fairwell season.

24-02-2018, 10:05 AM
Incredibly disappointing for Dale, hopefully it's not a season ending injury and turns out to be a blessing as he enters the back end of the season fresh.

Certainly opens up some interesting discussion around who'll play in our backline early in the season.

24-02-2018, 10:08 AM
Makes the move by the Club to get Jackson Trengove an even more astute decision.

24-02-2018, 10:31 AM
Key defence is one area where we have some decent coverage. Let's hope someone takes this opportunity to fill some very large boots.

24-02-2018, 10:59 AM
Gia has a similar injury in his second last year, played the majority of the season. Although the sub-rule would have helped his ability to get back.

24-02-2018, 11:20 AM
Key defence is one area where we have some decent coverage. Let's hope someone takes this opportunity to fill some very large boots.

While Cordy seems the logical choice Naughton could be the player to take up the 3rd tall defenders spot but it depends on where the likes of Trengove and Adams play.

24-02-2018, 11:40 AM
I'm pretty sure one of the skiers at the Olympics competed with either a partially or completely torn ACL. The amount of muscular control and stability you need around your knee to ski without an ACL is insane, not to mention the mental strength to know your knee is literally hanging by a thread.

I'm not surprised that Dale is choosing to go down that route and I hope we get a quality half of a farewell season from him, for him.

24-02-2018, 12:00 PM
Did anyone make it to the scratch match today?

24-02-2018, 12:06 PM
Did anyone make it to the scratch match today? I had a look this morning will post a rough report tomorrow. It was difficult to distinguish some players with no numbers on backs. JJ (as a forward), Macrae, English and Adams among the stand outs I thought.

24-02-2018, 12:27 PM
I'm pretty sure one of the skiers at the Olympics competed with either a partially or completely torn ACL. The amount of muscular control and stability you need around your knee to ski without an ACL is insane, not to mention the mental strength to know your knee is literally hanging by a thread.

I'm not surprised that Dale is choosing to go down that route and I hope we get a quality half of a farewell season from him, for him.

Tess Coady was it? Pretty brave, I love how we call players who don't enjoy popping their head over the ball just to get it knocked off again "downhill skiers" as if downhill skiers were cowards.

24-02-2018, 01:27 PM
Libba gets back to best in Dogs' intraclub hit-out

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/Samples/568731-tlslargeportrait.jpg

TOM Liberatore has given the strongest sign yet he could be returning to his brilliant best with a starring performance in the Western Bulldogs' match simulation session at Whitten Oval on Saturday morning.

In hot and blustery conditions, the 25-year-old started with a flurry of possessions in the opening period, with his renowned hands in close complemented by attacking run and carry.

The 2014 club best and fairest continued to find the footy and goal throughout the two-hour session, giving the sparse crowd of Bulldog faithful hope his indifferent form of 2017 is behind him.

Midfield counterpart Jack Macrae said he was delighted to see Liberatore back in fine form.

"'Libba" has been amazing all pre-season, he's such a weapon when he's hard at the footy, and we all know how capable he is when he's at his best" Macrae said.

"He's so good inside, and you don't want to nit-pick too much at him, but when (he adds spread from the contest), he going to be a pretty special player.

"We're really looking forward to seeing the best of 'Libba' this season."

Jason Johannisen could be set for more time forward this season, with the Norm Smith medallist kicking three goals and several points in an eye-catching performance.

Superstar midfielder Marcus Bontempelli cruised around in characteristic fashion, collecting plenty of the ball and finishing with two classy goals.

With Dale Morris to be sidelined with a knee injury for an indefinite period, draftee Aaron Naughton looks ready to debut after competing well against more seasoned teammates.

Key defender Marcus Adams looked solid in his return from two serious foot injuries in the past two seasons, moving well and setting up several forays forward with booming kicks.

Young key forwards Tom Boyd and Josh Schache were quiet in attack in difficult conditions for big men but were competitive when thrown into the ruck.

Toby McLean looks set for midfield time in 2018, with the former forward impressing with his energy around the contest and ball use when on the spread.

Mitch Honeychurch was carried from the field with a knee complaint, but after being assessed by medical staff, the defensive playmaker was cleared of injury.

Tory Dickson, Mitch Wallis, Jackson Trengove, Tom Campbell and Clay Smith were all managed and didn't take part in the hit-out but will be considered for next weekend's JLT Community Series match against Hawthorn in Ballarat.

Third-year key defender Kieran Collins and rookie recruit Billy Gowers also sat out the session.

LINK (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-02-24/libba-gets-back-to-best-in-dogs-intraclub-hitout)

24-02-2018, 02:07 PM
That is a classic Libba photo.

24-02-2018, 02:34 PM
I was at the game with binoculars so was able to distinguish players fortunately.

The article posted by HotDog60 reflects some of my thoughts around the better players.

I would have had Macrae as my number one with his tackling a standout (as usual). Libba did have a fine game but I would've had Daniel and Maclean before him.

I thought Roughy was the dominant ruck with Boyd, English and Schache all having a turn in the middle and around the ground. Thought Toyd's ruck work better than his time as a forward, however the style of game played in fairly windy conditions, seen a lot of goals out the back.

Not only did JJ play well and forward in the hit out, but so did Easton Wood. Not sure if this was just to ensure suitable match ups around the ground as there were a few VFL players also running around (i.e. Monfries, Hayes, T-B, Greenwood, Dalgleish, Panayi, Bruhn (what a beautiful kick this guy is), Josh Wallis and I think a tall in Patullo NB no sign of Prudden). The article lists all the players who didn't partake but failed to mention Callum Porter as an absentee.

As I was following the actual play with the binoculars, I am not able to comment on any noticeable change in game plan/structures. I'll let others comment on what they might have seen.

Another player who impressed and possibly gaining confidence from his increased responsibilities, was Redpath who consistently presented as a hit up option. Some of his delivery let him down, but he wasn't the only 'senior' player to turn the ball over from time to time (pre-season rustiness?)

The Baileys enjoyed a good game (falling in love with Bailey Dale's game....) and I thought our two higher draft picks in Naughton and (Red) Richards showed they were not out of their depth - really liked Richards ability to get out of trouble (whereas it has been a criticism of Bailey Williams in the past who plays the same position/role).

Hunter enjoyed a lot of the ball early and got himself in wide positions to help out the BLUE team. Jong was impressive in the first half after his ACL, but I thought faded in the second half. Dalhaus would be really happy with his game - ran up and down the ground all day.

Dunks worked hard in the middle (they even ran Redpath thru there at some stages), and the centre square match ups were great competitions to watch after each goal. The Bont was real class in these situations, Macrae and Maclean hard as nails and Libba just scrapped and kept pushing the ball forward for his team (WHITES). Picken was mainly played forward and showed an improved impact versus 2017.

Crozier took a while to get into the game, but he, Biggs and Suckling all showed a bit (Biggs impressive with his run off half back while I thought Suckling worked harder than I have seen him before). Cordy was steady in defence.

Webb (midfield) had a much better game versus his AFLX showing as did Young across half back.

Honeychurch (I actually thought he did his ACL when he went down in the 3rd qtr - good to see he is ok per the article), NMM, Roarke and Fergus Greene all showed they could be handy after a few games in the VFL.

I liked Fletcher Roberts and Marcus Adams games as key defensive options for their respective teams with Roberts kicking out of defence a feature.

And a final word....gee it was good to see our men's team running around in the red, white and blue again after a 'quiet' off season!

24-02-2018, 03:37 PM
http://i63.tinypic.com/2ntd5wo.jpg

24-02-2018, 03:52 PM
Thanks for the report Smads57. I came into Whitten Oval after 10am I think. Could make out players but was a bit difficult obviously no numbers. Good to see them have a hit out now onto our first JLT series game next Saturday.

Good train ride in. From Flinders steet pretty much when I got there the Watergardens train to West Footscray was there so didn't wait too long.

24-02-2018, 04:25 PM
A few photos I took from the practice game/family day at Whitten Oval.

https://s10.postimg.org/jthuxpg5h/IMG_1614.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/jthuxpg5h/)

https://s10.postimg.org/t1a3ef2n9/IMG_1615.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/t1a3ef2n9/)

https://s10.postimg.org/k6993x8px/IMG_1636.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/k6993x8px/)

https://s10.postimg.org/7rmh3l9hx/IMG_1637.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/7rmh3l9hx/)

https://s10.postimg.org/480jdrrcl/IMG_1638.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/480jdrrcl/)

https://s10.postimg.org/96o1sb2v9/IMG_1639.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/96o1sb2v9/)

24-02-2018, 04:52 PM
Hi Easty, I can see myself in your last shot standing on the wing looking thru my binoculars at the game. Clearly your pics must be of the last qtr action (as I was sitting in the first three qtrs).

24-02-2018, 07:31 PM
Hi Easty, I can see myself in your last shot standing on the wing looking thru my binoculars at the game. Clearly your pics must be of the last qtr action (as I was sitting in the first three qtrs).

Yes I think I came in after 10am as I left home with the train at around 9:15am.

24-02-2018, 07:42 PM
https://s10.postimg.org/6i71761fp/IMG_1625.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/6i71761fp/)

https://s10.postimg.org/wqi5wjt91/IMG_1626.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/wqi5wjt91/)

https://s10.postimg.org/7x8lvxkj9/IMG_1632.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/7x8lvxkj9/)

https://s10.postimg.org/uyp71nx1h/IMG_1633.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/uyp71nx1h/)

25-02-2018, 09:28 AM
With senior spots up for grabs a week before things are ramped up a bit more at our JLT game in Ballarat against the Hawks, yesterdays intra club match was an important step forward for the playing group.

The club did the supporters no favor by not having numbers on the players and a team list provided for the fans (perhaps to make it harder for any outside watchers) but we had the classic White tops vs Blue tops encounter in blustery and difficulty conditions.

Just some random notes:

Johannisen is an eye catching player with all that hair and his move to the forward line was a real spark. 3 goals and at least 3 points but he also did a lot of quality defensive work as well

Bontempelli looks to be the fittest I've seen him and looks to be benefiting from an injury free pre-season. There were a couple of highlights including some work in the forward pocket that was eye catching plus he kicked a long goal from a set shot.

Liberatore is back with that hunger for the footy and a contest.

Boyd was far better in the ruck than up forward but the conditions didn't suit him and the delivery into the forward line was often average. Still we would be hoping that his marking improves. He looks very fit and strong

McLean was a quality performer yesterday, he is more of a genuine midfielder now and seems to have improved his endurance.

Jong was prominent early, plenty of run and I think he got a goal. It will be interesting to see during the JLT how fit he is.

English looked a alot better this week and kicked a goal

Dale showed some signs last year and based on yesterday he looks to be one of the bigger improvers.

Naughton and Richardsshould be in the mix for senior selection. Both impressed. Richards has a lot of poise with his kicking and Naughton is very good in a contest both in the air on on the ground.

I think Trengove missed yesterday due to some parental duties (that's what I was told but I'm not sure) Dickson was a runner. Collins and Clay Smith also missed, Campbell has a knee injury and Wallis was 'managed'

25-02-2018, 10:19 AM
The feedback on Boyd’s marking is a real concern. If he hasn’t learnt to consistently mark the pill by now, he never will.

Combining with one of English/Roughy to form a versatile ruck duo is the only way I can see him fitting in the team.

25-02-2018, 10:42 AM
One of the knocks on English was that fact he had a poor leap and didn't quite use his hight advantage in the ruck. Loved that clip on the club website yesterday when he jumped over Rough and easily won the hit out, it should be deadly combo when adding the likes Libba Bont and Macrae at his feet.

25-02-2018, 03:34 PM
I had a look this morning will post a rough report tomorrow. It was difficult to distinguish some players with no numbers on backs. JJ (as a forward), Macrae, English and Adams among the stand outs I thought. My take on the performance of some players yesterday and a few other things

Macrae- thought he was the best mid on the ground. Worked really hard and it was very noticeable that he spent more time forward. Bevo obviously looking to get some versatility into his game.

Naughton- Reads poor kicks quicker than most. Took several marks off these types of kicks yesterday. Been a bit said about his kicking but it didn't appear to be a massive issue on what I saw yesterday. The position he is playing he gets many of his touches intercepting as part of our press. Most of the time when he gets it he only has to kick side ways to change direction to an unmarked player behind the footy so his kicking isn't a massive issue in that situation. Played on key forwards and smalls at times.

English- I listed his as one of the better players which was probably pushing it a bit but I was very impressed. There was a period in the second qtr where it looked like we were making a conscious effort to use him in transition. He got maybe 5-6 touches in 10 minutes on the spread. He was just running to space and taking uncontested marks. This could potentially be a massive weapon for us in years to come. He didn't take many big marks but he was just about the only tall on the ground actually jumping at the ball in marking situations. Needs to work on his hands as he got both hands to 3-4 contested marks that he dropped. The rucks rotated very heavily so he actually didn't get a huge amount of ground time.

Adams- took lots of intercept marks and looked good. Over used the footy a few times but looks ready to go.

JJ- Played mainly as a forward with a few spurts on the wing and down back. I think we will move him around a lot to make it hard for sides to sit on him. Must have had 6-7 shots on goal but he was burnt by poor disposal at least 5 times. He was getting out the fat side and in behind the press in the clear constantly we just butchered the ball or didn't see him. He was very frustrated when we didn't get the ball to him and his body language was not great. Will be a big weapon when he is played forward. The problem we have is that we still need him down back. Really wish we had of picked up a Saad or someone like that to help out with some run from behind the footy.

Wood- One of the better players. Looked to be back to linking up through the middle a bit more.

Schache- Didn't set the world on fire but I wasn't expecting him to. Just needs to play a role when he gets a chance and slowly buil on it. Gets buffeted a bit in contested marking situations. Often looks like he is winding up to jump at the ball then the pack or an opponent will take his body and his attempt kind of loses momentum. He did look tired at times but I think everyone did. He looks quite sharp when he had the ball had a little passage of play where he baulked a player to give himself some time on the wing. Took a few hit up marks inside 50 just needs to find some different ways of finding the footy. Wasn't hopeless in the ruck and has a decent jump in the centre bounces.

Redpath- Looked the most dangerous tall forward on the ground.

Boyd- struggled as a forward but was much better in the ruck. Looks in good shape.

McLean- Lock for a near permanent midfield role. Was in everything.

Dale- Looked very classy at times. I wish he would stop trying to kick the air out of the ball every time he gets it but he did appear to have more time than most on the ground.

Dahl- Ran himself ragged. Nearly crawled to the bench every time he came off. Get the feeling he is a player that doesn't enjoy intra clubs too much. Few times I thought if it was a match against opposition he would have been going a bit harder.

Jong- Stood out at times because he is one of our few players with break away pace. Could be a major in for us this year with his marking ability and pace. Still added a few trademark errors after doing something great.

Richards- Just ok I thought but early days. Hard to judge his type at times as they will always accumulate touches. Nice to have a left footer out there.

Bont- Didn't spend much time forward which I found interesting. Clean footy around traffic noticeable as always.

Biggs- Looked good. Probably the most vocal organiser on the ground. With Morris down and Boyd/Murphy gone I was looking to see who was organising. A constantly underrated player in my view.

Hunter- One of the best players on the ground.

Dunkley- Wouldn't be surprised if he kicks 20-30 goals this year given a clear run. Much more clever a player than many realise probably because he looks ungainly. Uses his reach really well and a very sneaky player who always generates shots at goal. Kicked a really nice goal in the last quarter, tapped the ball clear using his height then gathered and snapped from about 40-45.

Williams- Solid without starring. Really need him to take a big step this year. Looks like an AFL player now with some added size.

Webb- Showed some very clean ball handling a few times and while it isn't his natural game you can tell he has worked hard on his inside game. One of thiose kicks that looks better than he actually is. Just let himself down with a few kicks but overall I thought he played well.

Suckling- Despite his weaknesses will continue getting games. In a team with very few real weapons anyone that can kick and carry the ball is going to be needed.

Other Stuff

Rucks- going to be very interesting to see what we do here. Boyd (a ruck IMO) is a lock to play round 1 I would think. We had all of Redpath, Schache, English and Roughy spending time in there during the game. We still have Trengrove and Campbell to add to the mix. I haven't budged on this from the start but I think we have way too many talls. Adelaide do it but their guys are in a different class to most of ours. I will be very interested to see how we line up with all of these guys. As a side note Roughy got hurt at one stage (possibly winded).

Mids- Potentially where we can make some ground this year given our relatively fit playing list. With Jong and Dunkley available, a fit Libba/Wallis and another year into Mclean we have massive depth through the midfield. It just gives us a bit more flexibility with some of our guys.

Our skills were shocking at times but with both teams pressing extremely high, blustery conditions and some lesser players in the mix it is probably to be expected.The nature of intra clubs means you will have players 30-50 (including vfl) on your list involved. You are going to have some variations in skills.

Our coach is incredibly relaxed. It does annoy me how little we get in terms on training and intra club access but when we do get let in he is incredible with the fans. Took time out at qtr time to get a photo with a kid and just generally looked very relaxed.

The game seemed to lack a vocal edge to it. Hoping this was just that I was keeping an eye on it but must call it as I see it. Just seemed a bit of a hole there in leadership and organisation at times. It is something to watch with no Morris and Boyd. I may be reading too much into it and I am an unashamed fan of professional war horses but there just didn't seem to be that fanatical, instructive yelling edge to the game.

Clay Smith looks leaner than he has been for a long time.

Didn't think our hands were as clean as they have been. Thought early on we were using lots and lots of short kicks but it faded a bit as the game went on.

We looked a bit scrappy going inside 50 when the opposition had time to get numbers back or when we had locked it in. We scored quite easily out the back when we got through the press but in situations where all the numbers were in the front half it was hard work. We need Dickson up and firing badly. We seemed to kick long and deep quite a bit which as much as anything I think is designed to allow us repeat entries. Anyone thinking we will play a wildly different brand is dreaming IMO. We pressed high and looked to win the territory battle. Any changes will be in execution not in method from what I have seen.

If anything else comes to mind I will post later on.

25-02-2018, 04:45 PM
Some great reports with thorough detail. Much appreciated.

Pleasing to hear we look fit and strong - particularly the likes of Bont, Boyd, Libba, Clay, Wallis, Dale, McLean, Jong, Adams etc. who for varying reasons were injured or under developed last year.

We'll never be the most skilled team but I felt like our effort never reached 2016 heights last year. Quietly confident we will be primed to go again in 2018.

I think our back half and our mids will be OK. We have plenty of depth in both areas and some weapons in each. The concern is the forward half - which explains why we are playing JJ there. I agree with the move, but it also makes me wonder why we didn't target Saad to play half back - was very disappointed we didn't enquire.

Dickson is a real key and given his age and injury history that's a worry. Schache isn't ready yet and Boyd (sadly) looks like a ruckman who can rest forward, not the other way around. I think Dunkley could be a goal scorer given his ability to generate 2-3 shots per game but he isn't a great finisher.

Will be interesting to see what we do with our forward structures and personnel.

25-02-2018, 06:20 PM
. The concern is the forward half - which explains why we are playing JJ there. I agree with the move, but it also makes me wonder why we didn't target Saad to play half back - was very disappointed we didn't enquire.

What I have seen - the issue with Saad is he doesn't have a defensive bone in his body.

25-02-2018, 06:38 PM
What I have seen - the issue with Saad is he doesn't have a defensive bone in his body.

I can point to the tibia and fibia but nobody ever told me where the defensive bone is. :cool:

25-02-2018, 09:21 PM
I think Trengove missed yesterday due to some parental duties (that's what I was told but I'm not sure) Dickson was a runner. Collins and Clay Smith also missed, Campbell has a knee injury and Wallis was 'managed'

Trengoves partner had the twins today.

Congrats to Jackson

25-02-2018, 10:00 PM
Trengoves partner had the twins today.

Congrats to Jackson

That's great. No sleep for Jackson for the next 18 months then.

25-02-2018, 10:38 PM
The feedback on Boyd’s marking is a real concern. If he hasn’t learnt to consistently mark the pill by now, he never will.

Combining with one of English/Roughy to form a versatile ruck duo is the only way I can see him fitting in the team.

Not sure intraclub one, in swirly conditions (of which the mention of was as prevalent as his marking issues) is enough to warrant concern of any significance.

26-02-2018, 10:50 AM
Not sure intraclub one, in swirly conditions (of which the mention of was as prevalent as his marking issues) is enough to warrant concern of any significance.

He has had marking technique issues since he entered the league.

26-02-2018, 11:15 AM
He has had marking technique issues since he entered the league.

Honestly I think he is one of the worst marks I've ever seen. Luckily he is huge and is competent in other areas, but pound for pound it's hard to think of a worse mark in our side (and possibly list) technique wise. It's as if he's trying to catch a bar of soap with just his fingertips.

26-02-2018, 11:55 AM
I can point to the tibia and fibia but nobody ever told me where the defensive bone is. :cool:

And where exactly is this bone?

26-02-2018, 12:08 PM
Honestly I think he is one of the worst marks I've ever seen. Luckily he is huge and is competent in other areas, but pound for pound it's hard to think of a worse mark in our side (and possibly list) technique wise. It's as if he's trying to catch a bar of soap with just his fingertips.

Lucky he managed to get it together in the one game that really mattered but in general I agree with you.

26-02-2018, 12:14 PM
And where exactly is this bone?

No idea but you can back it in that Tom Williams has fractured it at some stage. I'm sure he's broken bones that have yet to be discovered.

26-02-2018, 10:11 PM
A question for the TAC Cup watchers. What were Boyd's hands like at that level. Surely he couldn't have been identified as the undisputed number 1 draft pick if he couldn't hold his marks. Is it all between the ears?

26-02-2018, 10:21 PM
No idea but you can back it in that Tom Williams has fractured it at some stage. I'm sure he's broken bones that have yet to be discovered.

This will help you Twodogs.

https://www.getbodysmart.com/lower-limb-bones/tibia-fibula-introduction

26-02-2018, 10:37 PM
A question for the TAC Cup watchers. What were Boyd's hands like at that level. Surely he couldn't have been identified as the undisputed number 1 draft pick if he couldn't hold his marks. Is it all between the ears?

I think he is just well down on confidence. Hogan was a better contested mark as a junior but Boyd was good as well.
I haven't written him off as a key forward, not by a long shot.

26-02-2018, 11:56 PM

He can hold marks, unfortunately bad habits persist and he lets himself down too often.

28-02-2018, 10:44 AM
I could not find a thread specific to this week's JLT game against Hawthorn so thought I'd post here the team I'd predict is selected based on last week's intraclub game and assuming the players unavailable in that hit out, are still being 'rested'.

B Crozier, Roberts, Wood
HB Biggs, Adams, Suckling
C Hunter, Macrae, Dale
HF Daniel, Redpath, McLean
F Dahlhaus, Boyd, JJ
R Roughead, Bonti, Libba
I/C Dunkley, Cordy, Williams, Picken, Webb, Young (assumes an extended bench for JLT, otherwise the first 4 named)

28-02-2018, 10:56 AM
I could not find a thread specific to this week's JLT game against Hawthorn so thought I'd post here the team I'd predict is selected based on last week's intraclub game and assuming the players unavailable in that hit out, are still being 'rested'.

B Crozier, Roberts, Wood
HB Biggs, Adams, Suckling
C Hunter, Macrae, Dale
HF Daniel, Redpath, McLean
F Dahlhaus, Boyd, JJ
R Roughead, Bonti, Libba
I/C Dunkley, Cordy, Williams, Picken, Webb, Young (assumes an extended bench for JLT, otherwise the first 4 named)

They can have up to 8 on the bench.

28-02-2018, 10:11 PM
They can have up to 8 on the bench.

We often play a couple of players short in the JLC.

01-03-2018, 01:54 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXKUmn-VQAAUdj6.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXKUmoCU8AAAqir.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXKUmoCU0AABxdA.jpg

01-03-2018, 01:55 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXKUmoAVAAA1RQ2.jpg

01-03-2018, 02:54 PM
Thank goodness Bailey got rid of that mullet.

02-03-2018, 12:09 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXPkmuxVoAA9scF.jpg

02-03-2018, 12:10 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXPkmuuV4AAyKmR.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXPkmvDU0AAKiTg.jpg

02-03-2018, 12:10 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXPkmuwUQAAws5a.jpghttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXPgdhvV4AAAVhs.jpg

02-03-2018, 05:11 PM
Sign them up while they are young:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DXQR4HyVAAEJiR6.jpg:large