View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 23, 2018 - Richmond V Western Bulldogs at the MCG

24-08-2018, 10:50 AM
Our last game home and away season game for 2018

Predictions: Margin, First goal, Best on ground

Margin: Bulldogs by 2 points

First Goal: Gowers

Best On Ground: McLean

Go Bulldogs!!

24-08-2018, 10:53 AM
Richmond by a lazy 40
First goal Dunkley
BOG Johannisen

24-08-2018, 10:55 AM
http://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2018-08-24/four-things-to-watch-tigers-v-dogs

Four things to watch: Richmond v Western Bulldogs
Troy Daniel
24 August 2018 9:04 AM

If it bleeds…

Something feels a little bit familiar about this week.

Here we are, about to run into a juggernaut who’ve strung together 20 straight at the MCG, late in the season. And probably not given much of a chance by most. You know where this is going…

Round 21, 2001. The Chris Grant game, the super-flood, whatever you want to call it. The underdogs roll the seemingly unbeatable Bombers.

Can we do it again? As the Beach Boys once sang (yes, the one on the Cadbury ad for the younger set), wouldn’t it be nice?

Into the fury

In the for column, the Dogs have had a decent run against the Tigers in recent times.

In fact, a Luke Beveridge coached Bulldogs team has never lost to Richmond, and you’d have to go all the way back to 2013 when the Tiges last saluted, a 10-goal pantsing of the Dogs at Etihad Stadium.

The Dogs have also won four of five at the MCG for what it’s worth.

But all of that said, the premiership favourites will be out for blood as they gear up for another September run, and you’d expect Damien Hardwick will pick his team accordingly.

So, the challenge is set and our boys will be ready.

Looks like a job for..

Who knows exactly where the magnets will be placed at 2:10 on Saturday, but one of the talking points during match committee this week will be what to do with Jack Riewoldt

The former Killers singer has reasonable history against the Dogs, kicking 25 goals in his last seven outings. But that’s not all, in a throwback to the glory days of the flying full forward, he torched the Suns for 10 a fortnight ago.

As he said on Fox Footy this week, he will also will have the Coleman in his sights, so he’ll be on. If Aaron Naughton is to finally snag a well-deserved Rising Star nomination…

Derailing the Tiger train

As Bob Murphy wrote here, the Tigers v Dogs clashes are a little bit of a forgotten rivalry. We only need to cast out mind back to the Liberatore v Knights bout of 2001 when the Libba Snr earned himself a five week holiday for whacking the former Richmond skipper, and on top of that there’s also been a bit of movement between the clubs over the years as well.

On the back of that the boys on the Freedom in a Cage podcast have named the clash the Leon Cameron/Nathan Brown/Terry Wallace/Ben Harrison Cup.

But how much does a history, if it’s not recent, leak into a today’s game? Hard to say. But one thing that will need to be addressed is the Tiger defence. The Rance-Grimes set up is the second stingiest in the comp, so if the Dogs are going to derail the Richmond train, penetrating that wall will be at the top of the list.

Is it Saturday yet?

24-08-2018, 11:09 AM
Dogs by 1 point in an upset

First Goal: Greene
BOG: The Bont

24-08-2018, 11:45 AM
Dogs by 56.
FG: young Billy Gowers
BOG: Jordan Roughead

24-08-2018, 06:49 PM
I am making the last minute dash over. Does anyone know roughly what bay the dogs cheer squad is in?

24-08-2018, 08:16 PM
It's nice we've strung together a trio of wins. This'll promptly put things back into much sharper perspective.

Them easily, by ooh, I dunno, 50 points. More if they can stay interested for longer.

It'll sting more too because they're merrily doing what we couldn't. Back up.

24-08-2018, 10:55 PM
Hey folks,

Looking for some advice. I can't seem to find which sections will be GA for the game. Is it easy enough to get a good GA seat, or should I be looking to upgrade my membership to a reserved seat?

It looks as though the only sections on Level 1 I can upgrade to are either side of the Richmond cheersquad or in the city end pocket.

24-08-2018, 10:57 PM
Hey folks,

Looking for some advice. I can't seem to find which sections will be GA for the game. Is it easy enough to get a good GA seat, or should I be looking to upgrade my membership to a reserved seat?

It looks as theought the only sections on Level 1 I can upgrade to are either side of the Richmond cheersquad or in the city end pocket.

Not sure myself, I was just going to rock up, but knowing Richmond supporters and good weather, could be a good crowd.

25-08-2018, 01:51 AM
Not sure myself, I was just going to rock up, but knowing Richmond supporters and good weather, could be a good crowd.

Will be a big crowd as the Richmond supporters send them into the finals. The MCG is plenty big enough not to need a reserved seat though

25-08-2018, 08:25 AM
There's a fair chance that this could be our biggest ever home and away crowd, today.
And 80% of them will be Richmond fans!

25-08-2018, 08:28 AM
68,447, Rd 11, 1974 vs Collingwood is our record.

I reckon that'll be surpassed today.

25-08-2018, 09:04 AM
Well, it's a good day to enjoy a beer in the sun...

Richmond by plenty
First goal Sausage Schache
BOG Jacko Macrae

25-08-2018, 01:41 PM
Tiges by 23
First goal Dunkley
BOG The Bont.

Looking for a good 4 quarter contest to show the comp that next year it's beware of the Dogs.

25-08-2018, 01:55 PM
How the world has changed since we both went 5-2 after we knocked them off early on in 2017. We were the reigning champs and they were a team a little under the pump. They’re now a bit of juggernaut and almost unbackable to go back to back and we are largely irrelevant.. once again.

Be nice to finish a shit year on a decent note, but struggling to see how we kick a score... they might play a little bruise free, but still them by plenty.

25-08-2018, 01:59 PM
Dogs by 1point
First goal Dickson
BOG: Macrae

25-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Looks like being a big crowd, hoping for a win but like Mantis, I'm not sure we can kick a big enough score. We need the likes of Dickson and Schache to be prominent up forward

25-08-2018, 02:06 PM
Looks like being a big crowd, hoping for a win but like Mantis, I'm not sure we can kick a big enough score. We need the likes of Dickson and Schache to be prominent up forward

Dickson not playing

25-08-2018, 02:09 PM
Dickson not playing

Ahh yes, It's going to have to be the Bont then.

25-08-2018, 03:34 PM
Cracking game so far, goal kicking accuracy has been good for both sides

25-08-2018, 03:35 PM
We will need to tighten up on Jack Graham

25-08-2018, 03:36 PM
Gee Jackson is a bloody good footballer bright start.

25-08-2018, 03:37 PM
Gee Jackson is a bloody good footballer bright start. Missed tackles hurting us on the rebound Lippa needs to be more competitive in the contest.

25-08-2018, 03:42 PM
Strewth. Who's this mob running around in the tricolours?

Not sure I've seen them before this year.

Loving the dare. Great quarter.

25-08-2018, 03:44 PM
Good start, but just need to tighten up the field kicks a bit. Lynch and smith have started ok and macrae in everything. Lips needs to hit the gym..missed 2 tackles on Rioli ffs :(

You know tigers will go deep into fwd line. Rarely kick goals from 40+

25-08-2018, 03:44 PM
Lynch gets himself an upgrade :D

two great goals

free kicks 9 to tigers 1

25-08-2018, 03:46 PM
Lynch gets himself an upgrade :D

two great goals

free kicks 9 to tigers 1

It could easily be the decision maker for him in the eyes of the club.

Good to see my concerns about our goal kicking abilities today have been answered. :)

25-08-2018, 03:53 PM
Great signs early , we look like we have some good team ethnics and on the way up.
No matter what happens from now on we can see a signs.

25-08-2018, 03:55 PM
Smith is a potato

25-08-2018, 03:59 PM
Two rubbish frees in front of goal

25-08-2018, 04:00 PM
Terrible umpiring hope it doesn’t kill us off , we had a run going.

25-08-2018, 04:12 PM
We will have some work to do in the 2nd half but there has been some good footy played by us in the first half.
This is a very good Tigers side we are playing.

Just need to get another goal to finish off this quarter

25-08-2018, 04:14 PM
Our turnovers are costing us. We’ve laid some good tackles but I’d love to see the stat on how many missed tackles we’ve had.

25-08-2018, 04:16 PM
Roughead very poor with 2 touches

25-08-2018, 04:16 PM
Great half. I hope we can keep it going. But if Smith plays any more than two more quarters for the club I'll spew.

25-08-2018, 04:17 PM
The 2016 Caleb Daniel has been found he is at the MCG today. Well done to the coaching to staff for finding him a role and then giving him an opportunity to find his feet.

Smith is a potato
Agree not good enough

Roughead very poor with 2 touches

He's going via free agency. I don't want him near any chance of an injury. Best let him show up to his medicals as healthy as possible... :D

The 2016 Caleb Daniel has been found he is at the MCG today. Well done to the coaching to staff for finding him a role and then giving him an opportunity to find his feet.

He's had a good few weeks and yes he seems to be back to his best.

25-08-2018, 04:18 PM
I thought we found him a few weeks ago

25-08-2018, 04:19 PM
A few of these young kids need to build their core strength then watch out

25-08-2018, 04:20 PM
I thought we found him a few weeks ago

Yep great to see he has put together a good month of footy. Thats how you know the wheel is starting to turn again at the kennel.

25-08-2018, 04:21 PM
Smith is a potato

Peter Dutton potato? Or Scott Morrison Potato?

25-08-2018, 04:28 PM
How was that sidestep by Fergus in the second?

25-08-2018, 04:28 PM
Peter Dutton potato? Or Scott Morrison Potato?

Love it.

25-08-2018, 04:30 PM
How was that sidestep by Fergus in the second?

Amazing hands to set up Dunk's first as well. There's a bit to like about the kid.

25-08-2018, 04:32 PM
Let’s hope we don’t go back to one half footy, if not we could be a chance.

25-08-2018, 04:48 PM
Can’t question our effort .
We might lose but with one or two of our injured players playing might have been a little more dangerous

25-08-2018, 04:56 PM
They just get too many loose players, and if our kicks are slightly errant, look out.

25-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Can’t question our effort .
We might lose but with one or two of our injured players playing might have been a little more dangerous
Certainly a few players lucky to be out there.

Richmond are last quarter specialists so let’s hope we can be competitive

25-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Fairly satisfied with what I've seen today given Richmond aren't entirely phoning it in.

Another half an hour and Bontempelli can rest. He looks shagged.

25-08-2018, 05:07 PM
Riewoldt with 600 career goals.

It's days like today I wonder what Andrejs Everitt is doing.

25-08-2018, 05:08 PM
Really hope we can keep up the effort and application for this last quarter. Its going to be tough to hold the tiges unless we get our dispossl efficiency up though.

25-08-2018, 05:09 PM
McLean doesn’t look right today

25-08-2018, 05:13 PM
Why is Crozier taking Riewoldt? Where is Naughton or Wood or Morris to help out?

25-08-2018, 05:14 PM
We have a good set up we just fumble a mark or miss a hand ball and we pay for it.
I can see where we are at , about one second off being a very good side.

25-08-2018, 05:16 PM
Geez. Lipinski was poor there.

25-08-2018, 05:17 PM
That one mistake and we got caught out the back again , why are we letting reiwoldt do whatever he wants ?

Geez lipinski has had a shocker...slow, can’t lay a tackle and that kick was laughable

Just a few turn overs away from a win. Real shame some of the miss kicks.

25-08-2018, 05:18 PM
Geez. Lipinski was poor there.

That’s what kills us , exactly what I’m talking about, turn that around and we become very good very quickly.

25-08-2018, 05:18 PM
That one mistake and we got caught out the back again , why are we letting reiwoldt do whatever he wants ?

We should’ve been inside our 50. Those turnovers always get you.

25-08-2018, 05:20 PM
Lippa has had a day to forget poor bugger

25-08-2018, 05:21 PM
A turn over will kill us every time by the way we set up. Once the opposition get to the wing it’s pretty much a scoring opportunity for them with an open fwd 50.

25-08-2018, 05:26 PM
Why can’t we fill the hole reiwoldt gets all the time ?

25-08-2018, 05:28 PM
Bont has to fix his kicking for goal he has had the yips ever since the first final against the crows in 15

25-08-2018, 05:28 PM

It is very frustrating to watch

25-08-2018, 05:29 PM
Let’s just hope it doesn’t blow out in the last few minutes we don’t deserve to be beaten by more than 3 goals

25-08-2018, 05:30 PM
Bont has to fix his kicking for goal he has had the yips ever since the first final against the crows in 15

I forgive him the last few weeks he hasn’t been playing free of injury.

We can, but we fill it with Caleb Daniel.

As much as Naughton has a lot of good traits, he's also got some work to do in some facets.

25-08-2018, 05:31 PM
Good to see Lippa walking after that big hit.

25-08-2018, 05:33 PM
C'mon boys!

25-08-2018, 05:41 PM
*!*!*!*!. *!*!*!*!. *!*!*!*!.

Jeez.. we should've won that.
Says so much about where we are, how close we are to being a good team, but unless we fix the glaring weaknesses we will be destined to frustrate for years to come.

great effort , proud of the boys, great to see we didn’t throw in the towel at any stage.

25-08-2018, 05:43 PM
Bont missed an absolute must kick goal, and 3 posters in the last quarter.

Should have won:

Lippa has had a day to forget poor bugger

Well, looks like he's going to.

Great effort to stick in there and play a brand that was exciting (and sometimes frustrating) to watch. We should’ve won that with 3 posters, but a great effort by lynch on that last kick.

We need a big pre season in the weights dept for the under 22’s and gotta get some elite kicks into the starting 22.

25-08-2018, 05:44 PM
Three posters in the last 15 minutes was the difference between the teams. So frustrating to get so close. I'm gutted.

25-08-2018, 05:46 PM
I wanted that one as bad as any win I've wanted since 2016.

*!*!*!*!.

25-08-2018, 05:52 PM
One thing I loved was Lynch wanted that shot. He took his time and was confident he could kick it. Not many of ournplayers would want that opportunity.

25-08-2018, 05:52 PM
We expect to win against top sides and are dissapointed when we don't. Great effort boys.

25-08-2018, 05:53 PM
Three posters in the last 15 minutes was the difference between the teams. So frustrating to get so close. I'm gutted.

I would have been gutted if we got smashed and would have taken this scoreline if it was offered at the start of the game.
Great stuff from a side depleted by injury all year and using its rookies most of the year in which one won our goal kicking.

25-08-2018, 05:54 PM
We missed our chances no doubt but while I hate losing there were some great signs today.

25-08-2018, 06:03 PM
One thing I loved was Lynch wanted that shot. He took his time and was confident he could kick it. Not many of ournplayers would want that opportunity.

We can't be critical of players that stand up to be counted when the pressure is on. I think the performance of Lynch was good today.

25-08-2018, 06:04 PM
10 players under 50 games, and Tigers just 3. Exciting future with some of these kids.

Tiger fans continually whinged about the free kick count but they got two dubious ones in front of goal for holding the ball, which to me was just rubbish.

25-08-2018, 06:16 PM

Good point, G. And I agree. Wasn't overwhelmed by the moment.

25-08-2018, 06:20 PM
I think we were extremely well coached today and may have given other sides a blue print on how to limit the Tigers game plan. Without turnover goals they struggle to score from stoppages and if you can hold your nerve and play through them you're a chance. Caleb was absolutely superb today.

25-08-2018, 06:21 PM
A win would have been nice for momentum but hopefully that close loss burns all offseason similar to the one against the crows in 2015

25-08-2018, 06:29 PM
I think we were extremely well coached today and may have given other sides a blue print on how to limit the Tigers game plan. Without turnover goals they struggle to score from stoppages and if you can hold your nerve and play through them you're a chance. Caleb was absolutely superb today.

We got a lot of things right today, well done to Bevo and the coaches

25-08-2018, 06:32 PM
A win would have been nice for momentum but hopefully that close loss burns all offseason similar to the one against the crows in 2015
Yes we should have won V Crows that day and who knows what we could have done that finals season. I could feel it in my blood.
Bring on a good rest and a dynamic preseason, which no doubt will be a closed shop as the club would have it. Go Dogs!

25-08-2018, 06:35 PM
This reminds me how we ended 96. A narrow loss which showed us where we could be, something to remind us how much ch more fun it is to be playing finals in front of big crowds. Despite appearances we are not far off. We surely can’t have such a rotten luck with injuries again - and no stone must be left unturned in finding out which of those injuries were preventable.

25-08-2018, 06:53 PM
Even though we lost, it was a good day at the footy, we out coached Richmond easily, only our immaturity in execution cost us. From a few different angles; goal kicking, turnovers etc. Richmond hardly turned it over at all.

I was really impressed as to how we kept the ball away from rance most of the time too.

If crozier isn’t one of our most important players I’ll go he. His leap and amazing leg cannon are a sight to behold. It frees up JJ or himself, they can’t tag both.

As for smith. I’ve been on the fence with him, but he lost me today, clearly a spud. I’m thinking the red ones that make for good roasting.

25-08-2018, 07:43 PM
Even though we lost, it was a good day at the footy, we out coached Richmond easily, only our immaturity in execution cost us. From a few different angles; goal kicking, turnovers etc. Richmond hardly turned it over at all.

I was really impressed as to how we kept the ball away from rance most of the time too.

If crozier isn’t one of our most important players I’ll go he. His leap and amazing leg cannon are a sight to behold. It frees up JJ or himself, they can’t tag both.

As for smith. I’ve been on the fence with him, but he lost me today, clearly a spud. I’m thinking the red ones that make for good roasting.

Desiree I think.

25-08-2018, 08:04 PM
Enjoyed the footy today even though we lost by a few. Great performance from our team today.

Go Bulldogs!!

25-08-2018, 08:48 PM
Aaron Naughton. What a great first season. Great stuff! Fantastic mark.

25-08-2018, 08:56 PM
Desiree I think.

Money don't make my world go round. I'm reaching out to a higher ground.

25-08-2018, 09:12 PM
What agame from Macrae

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dlb-pAWU8AAuJ5m.jpg

25-08-2018, 10:25 PM
Money don't make my world go round. I'm reaching out to a higher ground.

I'm more of a Divine fan...

25-08-2018, 10:28 PM
I'm more of a Divine fan...

I think BT was channeling David Brent.

25-08-2018, 10:29 PM

Philosophy.

25-08-2018, 10:33 PM
Got a bit more out of the game than I thought leading up which made for a good day at the footy.

Went in with a plan, executed it well for most of the day, but just didn't quite get the result... A few too many goals from turn-overs and we didn't get much from our bottom 5 or 6, but some good signs for the future.

Huge off-season (both playing list wise and off-field staff) and then pre-season coming up, we should be pretty pissed off that we've missed the finals 2 years in a row so hopefully we rise back up the ladder next year.

25-08-2018, 10:35 PM

He's not man enough to satisfy me.

25-08-2018, 10:35 PM
What agame from Macrae

Sutton Medalist I reckon this year.

25-08-2018, 10:38 PM
What agame from Macrae

That's a decent black eye he's got developing there. I wonder what game that photo is from?

25-08-2018, 10:40 PM
Good performance and a disappointing result. Frustrating even, given the scoreline after half time and 3 posters in the last.

We finished the season off well, setting up an important off season for the footy dept and squad members who will be here next season. Today should offer enough belief that if they do the work, make the right decisions, then big games at the G are back on the agenda. I think this group, with some good fortune and a little bit of pace has a flag in it.

25-08-2018, 11:03 PM
That's a decent black eye he's got developing there. I wonder what game that photo is from?

Good chance it was today. He had a shiner come up after the 50m penalty didn’t he?

26-08-2018, 12:37 AM
Good chance it was today. He had a shiner come up after the 50m penalty didn’t he?

How was Riewoldt faking he got a smack in the face , should be charged for that.

26-08-2018, 03:44 AM
Riewoldt with 600 career goals.

It's days like today I wonder what Andrejs Everitt is doing.

Another Clayton athletic special!

26-08-2018, 07:07 AM

Yep. I could see the red mark even on the vision played on the big screen. I did miss the replay though, was it worth a report?

26-08-2018, 12:31 PM

When Vlastuin whacked him in the side of the head in the 2nd quarter. 50m every day of the week.

28-08-2018, 10:47 AM
Yep. I could see the red mark even on the vision played on the big screen. I did miss the replay though, was it worth a report?

No. Just a run of the mill 50. Was arguably light on for a 50, as the Richmond player was already in the air. But the attempted spoil got him in the face - so its fair enough.

30-08-2018, 12:09 PM
When Vlastuin whacked him in the side of the head in the 2nd quarter. 50m every day of the week.

I've long been a Nick Vlaustin fan. He's got a brilliant nasty streak and I couldn't care whether he touched the footy or not just so long as every opponent knew he was in the vicinity. But he intercept marks and sets off that Richmond slingshot too. He's my favourite non bulldog.