https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DuvpAhLVsAAmWie.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DuvpAiPVYAETfcH.jpg

19-12-2018, 05:28 PM
Libba looking pretty cut. Great to see

19-12-2018, 06:33 PM
Libba looking pretty cut. Great to see

Perhaps it's just me but there's a faint whiff of Carl Spackler about Libba in the first pic ...

19-12-2018, 06:38 PM
I hope Lib has a good season and gets offered a solid 2/3 year contract halfway through

19-12-2018, 06:45 PM
Perhaps it's just me but there's a faint whiff of Carl Spackler about Libba in the first pic ...

:) I thought there was something familiar about him

20-12-2018, 06:14 PM
Great photo of the captain giving one of his chargers some encouragement. The boys are all looking super fit this year.

20-12-2018, 10:23 PM
Wally doesn't look very happy losing. Moz looks very happy to be on the winning team.

Wally won, just fell back after they pulled the other team over their line and they released the rope

20-12-2018, 10:42 PM
Wally won, just fell back after they pulled the other team over their line and they released the rope

You're right too. Is the cable attached to his waste?

21-12-2018, 03:56 PM

Ew. I hope not.

08-01-2019, 03:29 PM

Ew. I hope not.

Ha, when a spelling mistake can result in an entirely different meaning!

On training - apparently the boys are back on Friday.

09-01-2019, 04:14 PM
Great to hear

Early start for Libba as he aims for JLT return (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-01-09/early-start-for-libba-as-he-aims-for-jlt-return)

WESTERN Bulldogs midfielder Tom Liberatore has taken further steps in his return from a knee reconstruction, returning to training ahead of teammates this week.

Liberatore was among several teammates at the Dogs' Whitten Oval headquarters on Wednesday, with the full squad set to come back on Friday.

The 2016 premiership Bulldog took part in a running program, with some light skills also involved in the session.

Among the other players on the track were emerging defender Aaron Naughton and fellow backman Fletcher Roberts.

Liberatore is back in full training after suffering an anterior cruciate ligament injury in round one last season that saw him miss the rest of the year.

It was the second ACL injury the 26-year-old has suffered in his 117-game career with the club, having missed the whole 2015 season.

He will be aiming for a return in the Dogs' JLT Community Series clashes, before they open their home and away season against Sydney at Marvel Stadium on Saturday, March 23.

Liberatore's future at the Dogs was in question throughout last season as he remained out of contract until signing a new deal late in October last year following the trade and free agency period.

09-01-2019, 04:25 PM
A few of the boys seem to have had pre-pre-seasons which is a positive.

09-01-2019, 04:44 PM
Great to hear

Early start for Libba as he aims for JLT return (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-01-09/early-start-for-libba-as-he-aims-for-jlt-return)

WESTERN Bulldogs midfielder Tom Liberatore has taken further steps in his return from a knee reconstruction, returning to training ahead of teammates this week.

Liberatore was among several teammates at the Dogs' Whitten Oval headquarters on Wednesday, with the full squad set to come back on Friday.

The 2016 premiership Bulldog took part in a running program, with some light skills also involved in the session.

Among the other players on the track were emerging defender Aaron Naughton and fellow backman Fletcher Roberts.

Liberatore is back in full training after suffering an anterior cruciate ligament injury in round one last season that saw him miss the rest of the year.

It was the second ACL injury the 26-year-old has suffered in his 117-game career with the club, having missed the whole 2015 season.

He will be aiming for a return in the Dogs' JLT Community Series clashes, before they open their home and away season against Sydney at Marvel Stadium on Saturday, March 23.

Liberatore's future at the Dogs was in question throughout last season as he remained out of contract until signing a new deal late in October last year following the trade and free agency period.

I'd be happier if he quit the darts. Im amazed professional athletes do this to their bodies.

10-01-2019, 12:22 PM
I'd be happier if he quit the darts. Im amazed professional athletes do this to their bodies.

He needs patches. It's been 139 days for me so far! I am an ex-smoker.

10-01-2019, 06:06 PM
Good for you TD, it still amazes me with all the information and advertising out there that young people still take it up.

10-01-2019, 06:33 PM
Good for you TD, it still amazes me with all the information and advertising out there that young people still take it up.

Now that I haven't for a while I wonder why I did it in the first place. I can taste food again.

11-01-2019, 01:29 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DwmIDjZUwAE4Hx5.jpg:large

11-01-2019, 01:34 PM
Dunks has clearly stepped up to another level and Lynch is no longer the skinny kid that arrived at the club

Thanks for posting BAD

11-01-2019, 01:47 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DwmMNZ3V4AAyj0H.jpg

11-01-2019, 01:48 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DwmMo69VAAAvj6T.jpghttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/DwmM_ASVsAIzoJD.jpg

11-01-2019, 01:48 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DwmNM2GUcAAqCbb.jpg

11-01-2019, 01:50 PM
Wrapt that Lynch with his skills but lack of top level experience was given a chance last season and took it. He needs to keep backing himself and taking the game on as well as developing his defensive skills. His increased bulk will help. The season is on the line now, with preseason training.

11-01-2019, 02:39 PM
Great work bad

11-01-2019, 02:42 PM
Great work bad

I can't take the credit - copied from twitter

11-01-2019, 03:28 PM
Dunks has clearly stepped up to another level and Lynch is no longer the skinny kid that arrived at the club

Thanks for posting BAD

Dunkley is fast turning into our version of Josh Kennedy. He looks in absolutely ripping condition and based off his late season form, 2019 could well be a massive year for him.

I'm also quietly excited by Patty Lipinski. He has clearly added good size to his frame and IMO he has shown plenty as a young player. It could be a big step forward for him in 2019.

11-01-2019, 04:55 PM
That rig on Dunks is ridiculous! If his game can improve with his physique this offseason I agree he is in for a ripper. If he turned into a JPK clone I’d be absolutely delighted

11-01-2019, 06:09 PM
I can't take the credit - copied from twitter

Ok then, thanks social media

11-01-2019, 07:07 PM

Thanks for posting BAD

A few of the boys look like they are in ripping condition.

11-01-2019, 09:17 PM

Thanks for posting BAD

Dunkley just seems to love hard work. He also was with Bontempelli during the off season and when they went to Nike headquarters and did a weeks or so training whilst there.

11-01-2019, 09:42 PM
Dunkley is fast turning into our version of Josh Kennedy. He looks in absolutely ripping condition and based off his late season form, 2019 could well be a massive year for him.

I'm also quietly excited by Patty Lipinski. He has clearly added good size to his frame and IMO he has shown plenty as a young player. It could be a big step forward for him in 2019.

Agree on both. Dunks lacks a little polish so if he can become an inside bull who works hard forward he's able to carve out a very successful AFL career. He's well on his way, but 5+ clearances, 10+ contested possession, 5+ tackles and a goal is a realistic output.

I don't know what the ceiling is for Lippa yet, he's got a lot of talent and seems a very well rounded athlete. It's a tantalising package and he could develop into anything.

dukedog
12-01-2019, 10:36 AM
Dunks looks ripped as hell.

12-01-2019, 11:13 AM
As a club we've appeared to have had some issues with injury management in recent years but I don't think we can question the physical development of so many of our younger playing group. We've also tackled the issue of focus and attitude of the playing group.

I'm certainly expdctjng improvement this year as we build towards another tilt at the flag.

12-01-2019, 01:10 PM
It would be a bonus if Sweet has a good year

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/49844992_10156860877177487_2074406776618352640_o.jpg?_nc_cat =109&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=a93c91f15d20f95b1f022729a59d6d3b&oe=5CC4F88F

12-01-2019, 09:39 PM
Sweet is looking slimmer than I thought he was during the SANFL finals.

I'm not confident, but it'd create a dilemma for us (the good kind) if he can progress.

14-01-2019, 07:01 PM
Are you expecting finals GVGjr?

14-01-2019, 07:12 PM
Are you expecting finals GVGjr?

It would be a bonus. Improved effort and players development is what im hoping for and who knows where this could take us.

14-01-2019, 09:56 PM

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/49844992_10156860877177487_2074406776618352640_o.jpg?_nc_cat =109&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=a93c91f15d20f95b1f022729a59d6d3b&oe=5CC4F88F

That picture of Sweet reminds me of Ilija Grigic.

14-01-2019, 10:28 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DwmNM2GUcAAqCbb.jpg

Dumb question - who is this guy?

14-01-2019, 10:29 PM
That picture of Sweet reminds me of Ilija Grigic.

Yeah, I know what you mean.

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQVKFZ-Nz6mWSOxH76L8M4l5CDF2hq1NSVz5KYc3RQs-J5O9mHNxA

14-01-2019, 10:29 PM

Lippa

14-01-2019, 10:30 PM

By all accounts, Sweet does not see himself at the Dogs just making up the numbers in the VFL. And he likes to crack heads.

I look forward to his debut. And a few opposition cracked heads....

15-01-2019, 09:07 AM
By all accounts, Sweet does not see himself at the Dogs just making up the numbers in the VFL. And he likes to crack heads.

I look forward to his debut. And a few opposition cracked heads....
He has natural aggression which covers up a lot of other flaws as a ruckman. Huddo made a career of it.

15-01-2019, 05:20 PM

Here he is today:

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/50314434_10156870096852487_7437289520078258176_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=84a9cfa5f5dff1e745f3af6753459d95&oe=5CD29302

15-01-2019, 05:21 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/50012327_10156870097102487_8975190607240626176_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=8e4ce84d916430136a8d8a485da8c7b5&oe=5CD3F976

15-01-2019, 05:21 PM
Mitch looking strong

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/50053237_10156870096952487_1674576691801882624_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=3fb40f7dd6b5ff2b53b27a5a580685a6&oe=5CB8504B

15-01-2019, 05:42 PM
Thanks for the photos BAD. I know they are from Bulldogs twitter but still appreciate you posting them up.

15-01-2019, 06:51 PM
Second that Eastdog

15-01-2019, 10:35 PM
Thanks for the photos BAD. I know they are from Bulldogs twitter but still appreciate you posting them up.

Short of any actual reports, at least we can see how the players are shaping up. Lippa looking good and seems to have worked hard on his body and strength.

15-01-2019, 10:56 PM
Lippa looks like his really put on some muscle.
Trengrove practicing rucking also fills me with confidence. Bring on 2019

15-01-2019, 11:39 PM
Here he is today:

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/50314434_10156870096852487_7437289520078258176_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=84a9cfa5f5dff1e745f3af6753459d95&oe=5CD29302

Helpful answer.

16-01-2019, 04:57 AM
Helpful answer.

You do realise it was answered earlier? Its Lipinski

16-01-2019, 01:04 PM
You do realise it was answered earlier? Its Lipinski

Thanks.

Didn't recognise him because of his build. He's really beefed up.

16-01-2019, 01:32 PM
Trengrove practicing rucking also fills me with confidence. Bring on 2019
Instragram comments like 'remember the shin pads' to Trengoive indicate he's been rucking the entire pre-season.

Did Power mention Trengove as a KPD post draft interview last year? If so I worry he and Bevo aren't on the same page. Trengove is our no 1 ruck right now.

16-01-2019, 06:14 PM
Instragram comments like 'remember the shin pads' to Trengoive indicate he's been rucking the entire pre-season.

Did Power mention Trengove as a KPD post draft interview last year? If so I worry he and Bevo aren't on the same page. Trengove is our no 1 ruck right now.
Its a club effort to confuse the opposition. It also confuses the supporters but thats in the name of confusing the opposition.

16-01-2019, 07:18 PM
Ryan Davidson on Twitter reporting that skills and goal kicking (THANK THE LORD) seem to be a focus

Bevo said kicking skills would be a focus when he first arrived at the club which I haven't seen enough of to suggest it was a success.
I guess it depends on what skills we are actually focysing on.

17-01-2019, 09:12 AM
Bevo said kicking skills would be a focus when he first arrived at the club which I haven't seen enough of to suggest it was a success.
I guess it depends on what skills we are actually focysing on.
Bevo was very disappointed at the first training session as coach (which was a continuation of the B-Mac method).
Thought it was largely ill-thought out, pointless and there was little connection between one drill and the next.

I remember our ball movement improved dramatically from the end of 2014 to the start of 2015 but can't say for certain whether that was just kicking skills or (more likely) having a plan and method to move the ball.

17-01-2019, 11:45 AM
The more I see the ongoing physical development of our younger players the more confident I am with 2019 being a good season for us. Round one can't come soon enough for me

17-01-2019, 11:51 AM
Bevo was very disappointed at the first training session as coach (which was a continuation of the B-Mac method).
Thought it was largely ill-thought out, pointless and there was little connection between one drill and the nextMy rec our ball movement improved dramatically from the end of 2014 to the start of 2015 but can't say for certain whether that was just kicking skills or (more likely) having a plan and method to move the ball.

My recollection is a bit different. Bevo wanted the ball to be moved a lot quicker in transition and kept encouraging the guys to keep it moving. Every session had this as a focus and I can recall seeing a noticeable change in the training sessions.
He was disappointed with our kicking skill levels especially with the opposite foot but particularly pleased with the defensive set-up and zoning aptitude of the players. That was a quick adjustment but the improvement in the kicking I don't think has materialised.

Still, the distractions since the flag should be long gone now. I think improvement will flow this year

18-01-2019, 05:05 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/49950010_10156876280537487_2606972095573262336_o.jpg?_nc_cat =104&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=ec8cdf897b19ec072184a1f1a56e7f03&oe=5CC999D0

18-01-2019, 05:06 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/50411568_10156876280077487_3023364330197352448_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=11c3425b91fc0d084c7b7cdf159633be&oe=5CFE25C1

18-01-2019, 05:07 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/49840992_10156876289447487_1380906477576781824_o.jpg?_nc_cat =109&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=9f0525446c94baad4d1efda6a4116c66&oe=5CB6A0EA

18-01-2019, 05:07 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/49344699_10156876280317487_4358121461488025600_o.jpg?_nc_cat =104&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=86e79d0809f134f79070ee158d587275&oe=5CBA3EAF

18-01-2019, 05:14 PM
Thanks again BAD. Good to see the boys in the wetter conditions and to see West tackling the great man in Morris.

Can someone please enlighten me on who is rucking against English?

Would it be Sweet?

18-01-2019, 11:43 PM
Thanks again BAD. Good to see the boys in the wetter conditions and to see West tackling the great man in Morris.

Can someone please enlighten me on who is rucking against English?

Would it be Sweet?

Pretty sure it is Sweet.

19-01-2019, 08:43 AM
I wonder across the clubs is there any vast differences in training sessions between them?
Some might have a bigger focus on weights and strength training and for others it might more about endurance but I doubt it's vastly different,

Building confidence, skill levels and developing tactics would be just as important I would have thought.

19-01-2019, 09:12 AM
I wonder across the clubs is there any vast differences in training sessions between them?
Some might have a bigger focus on weights and strength training and for others it might more about endurance but I doubt it's vastly different,

Building confidence, skill levels and developing tactics would be just as important I would have thought.

I think it might have been Nathan Brown who commented that the Terry Wallace he knew at Richmond was a vastly different beast to the Terry Wallace he played under at The Bulldogs was a lot less forgiving of players mucking about and missing sessions but at the same time didn't drive his players as hard as he did when he was at the Bulldogs and the Richmond players weren't as fit as his teammates at the Bulldogs. Browny reckoned Plough version 1 was a lot better to play and work under but Browny was a lazy bastard and it doesn't surprise me that he would think that at all.

20-01-2019, 07:06 AM
Reading some of the reports online is interesting to see what other clubs are doing. The Power did a couple of 2 x halves match simulation at an open session and then worked on a few different scenarios for releasing the ball from contested situations and moving it, along with a lot of running. GC have seemingly taken their running program up a few notches, but haven't read much else. Presumably most clubs are focused on this by now, but with what seems a reduction in open sessions across the competition it's hard to know.

21-01-2019, 08:02 AM

They can be quite different according to people I know.
North have far less emphasis on weights than other clubs and are almost entirely functional movement based.

I think on the other hand Melbourne still whipped out the old 100x100 a couple of years ago. And Adelaide had some stupid camp last year.

A friend of mine mentioned he saw training at one club (Carlton) and there were players just doing repeat quarter-ground sprints with minimal rest which seems the current in vogue method, repeat max efforts with limited recovery time to match the way football is now played.

I tried one of the Swans running drills from a few years ago and was close to vomiting about halfway through. It's probably changed now though.

22-01-2019, 06:31 PM
For anyone on the Sunshine Coast this weekend:
https://i.postimg.cc/Dw44KxXg/50603781-10156885428577487-5866636129008091136-n.jpg (https://postimg.cc/YvkC6f8G)

Sunshine Coast open training session (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2019-01-22/sunshine-coast-open-training-session)

Bulldogs fans on the Sunshine Coast will get a chance to see the players up close this Sunday, during the Club’s pre-season camp.

The Club will hold an open training session from 9.30am on Sunday, January 27 at Maroochydore Sports Complex, with an opportunity to get photos and autographs from the players after the session*.

A great selection of the 2019 Western Bulldogs official summer merchandise will be available to purchase on site.

Western Bulldogs Sunshine Coast open training session

9.30am, Sunday January 27, 2018
Maroochydore Sports Complex
Fisherman's Road, Maroochydore, QLD
*Not all players are guaranteed to be available for autographs

22-01-2019, 07:36 PM
Good opportunities for woofers who are going up there for a holiday and for woofers based up there. Look forward to the reports.

22-01-2019, 09:25 PM
A friend of mine mentioned he saw training at one club (Carlton) and there were players just doing repeat quarter-ground sprints with minimal rest which seems the current in vogue method, repeat max efforts with limited recovery time to match the way football is now played.

They'll be doing this:

https://www.scienceforsport.com/maximal-aerobic-speed-mas/

They'll ALL be doing it unless there is a particularly left field head of performance out there...

23-01-2019, 08:54 AM
They'll be doing this:

https://www.scienceforsport.com/maximal-aerobic-speed-mas/

They'll ALL be doing it unless there is a particularly left field head of performance out there...
Thanks - I think Tory Dickson mentioned this in a print interview a year or two ago when he had something like a 40 minute running session that had 13 minutes of running in it (or some similar odd number) at close to, but not quite, max effort.

25-01-2019, 06:19 PM
Would love the mic'd up video on the clubs website to go a little longer from the sunshine coast. Its interesting stuff indeed, something we haven't seen much of in the past. Schache looks like he has put on some size lets hope he improve his contested work this year hard not to like how he as attacked his first 2 years at the club.

26-01-2019, 09:24 AM
Schache has only been at the club one year.

26-01-2019, 05:39 PM
Schache has only been at the club one year.

Two preseasons

26-01-2019, 09:14 PM
Two preseasons

Ah yeah of course. Fair point.

30-01-2019, 12:17 AM
Delete if not allowed.

Here is a link to a bigfooty post. A poster named DogDays has photos with a brief description of how the boys went in a scratch match up on the sunshine coast. Not sure if DogDays is a poster here on WOOF, either way thanks mate.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2019-preseason.1208586/page-26

30-01-2019, 02:00 AM
Thanks for bringing that over ratsmac. Dog Days did a fantastic job with the photos and a little write up. You wouldn’t believe it I live in Brisbane and had to go away for work the week the boys were here. I have missed them every year they have been up. It’s a cruel world out there. I must admit I am getting a bit excited for the season ahead.

Big big thank you to all the posters on here. Living in QLD we don’t get much at all. This site is by far the best footy info around. Much appreciated

30-01-2019, 08:43 AM
Delete if not allowed.

Here is a link to a bigfooty post. A poster named DogDays has photos with a brief description of how the boys went in a scratch match up on the sunshine coast. Not sure if DogDays is a poster here on WOOF, either way thanks mate.

Mate that's fantastic, thanks for showing us.

Brilliant to see that Bailey Smith is up and about.

If his eye is accurate there's a hell of a lot be excited about.

It's particularly heart-warming to see that Tom Boyd seems in good spirits.

30-01-2019, 11:38 AM
Delete if not allowed.

Warms the heart to read that. Hopefully all that huge amount of untapped potential across the squad is getting realised in 2019. Thanks for the link.

30-01-2019, 03:56 PM
Great stuff from DogDays from bigfooty and thanks ratsmac for posting it up. Will have to have a read of that report. We have great forum here and it’s particular great for all our interstate and overseas Bulldog supporters. Cheers.

30-01-2019, 06:33 PM
I've never heard of this Bigfooty! :cool:

06-02-2019, 04:41 PM
Asked the club today when will be the next open training session and they advised:
our next open session won't be until next week so we will have an update when we find out more!

06-02-2019, 08:12 PM
Asked the club today when will be the next open training session and they advised:
our next open session won't be until next week so we will have an update when we find out more!

Look forward some reports if any woofers attend.

06-02-2019, 09:16 PM
I must admit, I miss the days when there was an "open" session 2-3 times a week where you could just rock up, sit in the stands and watch whenever you had some free time over summer. The club seems to be much more diligent about stopping people from watching but given the layout of the ground, if someone was trying to pick up game plans etc, there's little you can really do to stop them.

Seems like now the only open sessions are the ones with basic running and skills work, which is a little disappointing, although understandable.

06-02-2019, 09:54 PM
I have been asked to move on from watching out on the street. If it’s a closed session they will try to keep it that way.

08-02-2019, 02:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dy2cDnAVYAAkYfr.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dy2cDnJVAAA23bz.jpg

08-02-2019, 02:12 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dy2cDnEVYAAiXGX.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dy2cDnBVsAEeN5S.jpg

08-02-2019, 04:38 PM
Hows the physique on Bailey Smith in the background of the first pick. I wonder what we have here....

08-02-2019, 07:12 PM
Heard via social media JJ’s hurt his ankle and is having scans
Fingers crossed .
Be nice if we could have a season of luck with injuries for a bloody change

08-02-2019, 07:16 PM
Not sure if it’s a great idea but the Essendon social media for pre season is the exact opposite to ours. Amazing access. Worth a look.

dukedog
08-02-2019, 07:19 PM
I do see merits in physique. But our best and fairest looks weak as a wet towel. Still back him in all day.... Footy smarts.

08-02-2019, 08:03 PM
Not sure if it’s a great idea but the Essendon social media for pre season is the exact opposite to ours. Amazing access. Worth a look.

They need not have bothered as the herald sun does a great job in its daily fluff piece on them

08-02-2019, 08:03 PM
I do see merits in physique. But our best and fairest looks weak as a wet towel. Still back him in all day.... Footy smarts.

Hunter technically was our B&F

09-02-2019, 09:49 AM
Stevo on SEN says JJ has that high ankle sprain ( not going to bother trying to spell it)
4 to 6 weeks

09-02-2019, 10:50 AM
They need not have bothered as the herald sun does a great job in its daily fluff piece on them

I'd argue that their social media presence is a large part of the reason why they get so much space in papers like the HS since the paper's job is basically done for them.

09-02-2019, 01:57 PM
I'd argue that their social media presence is a large part of the reason why they get so much space in papers like the HS since the paper's job is basically done for them.

Plus Robbo probably pushes all the Essendon stories through

09-02-2019, 02:01 PM
Plus Robbo probably pushes all the Essendon stories through

He's not even subtle about it. I guess Stevo had a similar reputation with us as well.

09-02-2019, 02:18 PM
Hows the physique on Bailey Smith in the background of the first pick. I wonder what we have here....

But to be fair Kruder, i said the same thing when i first laid eyes on Will Minson...

09-02-2019, 02:33 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/51861001_10156924853327487_4775080726284468224_o.jpg?_nc_cat =104&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=e4520c6645e7964f30b2cba35ef15e4e&oe=5CB7052D

09-02-2019, 02:34 PM
Good matchup in the match simulation

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/51496073_10156924853297487_6581658187047370752_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=c8525575ec2222d8371bd33c33880460&oe=5CFB9239

dukedog
09-02-2019, 06:20 PM
Hunter technically was our B&F

I know he was, i was saying he looked like a wet towel, was making the point that physique aint everything...sorry probably didnt supply enough info in my post.

10-02-2019, 12:03 PM
I know he was, i was saying he looked like a wet towel, was making the point that physique aint everything...sorry probably didnt supply enough info in my post.

Can’t say I see Lachie’s physique resembling that of a wet towel, to the contrary.

10-02-2019, 12:04 PM
Can’t say I see Lachie’s physique resembling that of a wet towel, to the contrary.

Same here, he appears to be a strongly built player.

10-02-2019, 12:41 PM
Same here, he appears to be a strongly built player.

On a side note, how’s the definition in Aaron Naughton’s left arm in the Cavarra picture above? He’s going to soon become our new specimen.

10-02-2019, 12:49 PM
On a side note, how’s the definition in Aaron Naughton’s left arm in the Cavarra picture above? He’s going to soon become our new specimen.

At the family day someone mentioned to me that Naughton had really had a good preseason and it looks like that is right on the money.

10-02-2019, 03:19 PM
Good matchup in the match simulation

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/51496073_10156924853297487_6581658187047370752_o.jpg?_nc_cat =102&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=c8525575ec2222d8371bd33c33880460&oe=5CFB9239

No more 'skins v tshirts' or 'proddos v catholics'. Nowadays it's 'tatts v cleanskins'

10-02-2019, 05:23 PM

Cavarra looks pretty strong too

10-02-2019, 08:41 PM
Wonder if anything can be gleened from what colour top a player is wearing from a best 22 perspective?

Oh yeah on a side note I really really like the new training tops.

10-02-2019, 08:45 PM
Wonder if anything can be gleened from what colour top a player is wearing from a best 22 perspective?

You might be on to something there.

11-02-2019, 09:54 AM

Interesting. From the photos I can identify the following:

Black: Bont, Dunkley, Cordy, Gowers, Lipinski, Naughton, Daniel, Hunter, Macrae

White: Williams, Sweet, B Smith, Vandermeer, R Smith, Lynch, Roberts, Jong, Cavarra, Richards, Hayes, Libba

Most of the Black team in the photos are likely best 22 and most of the white are not. A couple of surprises though, particularly Ed Richards & Bailey Williams who most would have playing round 1, also Libba to a lesser extent. Lipinski must be having a good pre-season.

11-02-2019, 09:57 AM

White: Williams, Sweet, B Smith, Vandermeer, R Smith, Lynch, Roberts, Jong, Cavarra, Richards, Hayes, Libba

Most of the Black team in the photos are likely best 22 and most of the white are not. A couple of surprises though, particularly Ed Richards & Bailey Williams who most would have playing round 1, also Libba to a lesser extent. Lipinski must be having a good pre-season.

I think it's the classic Possible's vs Probable's match simulation. You might have missed Crozier and one or two others.

Like you, I think Williams and Richards are in the wrong jumpers although it might be to balance things out.

11-02-2019, 12:29 PM

I have been sitting here eating lunch and thinking "I can't think of a player we have who's surname is White. Maybe I missed a player we drafted?" God I can be an idiot sometimes. Oh well it filled in a bit of my day I guess!

11-02-2019, 12:52 PM
I have been sitting here eating lunch and thinking "I can't think of a player we have who's surname is White. Maybe I missed a player we drafted?" God I can be an idiot sometimes. Oh well it filled in a bit of my day I guess!

Yet you didn't wonder who Black was?

11-02-2019, 03:49 PM
Like you, I think Williams and Richards are in the wrong jumpers although it might be to balance things out.

Its probably a good for their development for those two to be thrown central roles and told to basically lead a midfield against the senior players

12-02-2019, 08:49 AM
Yet you didn't wonder who Black was?

Heath Black, obviously! He'd gotten a tattoo and being 10% tougher now he turned up looking for Shaggy and in the confusion somebody handed him a training jumper.

13-02-2019, 10:32 AM
Open Training this Saturday!

Head to VU Whitten Oval this Saturday to see the Western Bulldogs hit the training track!

There’s less than a month to go until our two JLT Community Series matches against the Gold Coast Suns (Mackay) and St Kilda (Ballarat), and six weeks until our AFL campaign gets underway against Sydney at Marvel Stadium on March 23.

Saturday’s session will run from 8.45am to 10.30am and is FREE to attend.
You will be able to get autographs from your favourite players, while there will be activities for kids to be involved in.

Barkers Café will be open from 8.30am, and the Bulldogs Shop is stocked full of the new 2019 official ASICS range – with members receiving a 10 per cent discount.

And if you’re not onboard as a member already for 2019, you can renew or join on the day.

13-02-2019, 10:30 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2019-02-13/the-boys-hit-it-out-on-the-track

15-02-2019, 08:02 PM
Look forward to the training reports from tomorrow from any woofers that attend.

16-02-2019, 08:38 AM
Looks like its going to be a great turnout today. There is already a nice crowd here. Players will on the ground in about 10 minutes

16-02-2019, 08:45 AM
Players out early. Smith and Naughton wearing blue vests the others in white. A small seem to be walking laps
Good to see Webb with the main group

16-02-2019, 08:48 AM
Wood, Dunkley and Wallus the pace setters in the running warm up

16-02-2019, 08:58 AM
Wests is a small but powerful player. He and Lipinski were paired up in a kicking drill

16-02-2019, 09:11 AM
Cavarra is a neat kick off both feet and Vandermeer is an enthusiastic player. Greene just floats ariund with his easy running style

16-02-2019, 09:23 AM
keep it coming :)

16-02-2019, 10:08 AM
Had a closer look at the training drills. Rohan Smith looked after a couple of them and is very vocal but in a positive way.
The first one I looked at was designed to pressure the ball receiver into making good decisions and test their skills. Trengove, McLean, Macrae and Cavarra stood out with Westy not far behind.
The next one was again skills related but more designed to test their decision making. Wood made a few errors but Crozier was the stand out with both Lewis and Lachlan Young prominent as well. I think we have pinched a bolter in Lachlan Young.

Granted it's only a training session but I remain optimistic on how we can perform this year.

English was moving well and I had a closer look at his kicking skills and there appears to be some improvement there.
McLean looks primed for a big season. It's a shame Smith and Naughton and a few others didn't train with the main group

16-02-2019, 10:48 AM
Great stuff, thanks GVGjr.

What kind of player can Lachie Young end up being? Does he have scope to develop into a midfielder?

16-02-2019, 11:07 AM

What kind of player can Lachie Young end up being? Does he have scope to develop into a midfielder?

I'm also curious. How does he move? I remember thinking he looked like Bailey Williams in kicking style and technique when we picked him up. Does he have scope to be that kind of player?

16-02-2019, 11:16 AM

I think he could play in a variety of flanker type positions and perhaps cover 3rd tall opposition players as a defender. It might be a little while before he could go into the middle. He seems to read the play very well and his skills level is quite high. During some defensive drill's he often spoiled his opponents efforts to mark because he read the flight of the ball a bit better.
On top of that his goal kicking looked sharp.
Obviously he has a long way to go but he caught the eye a few times.

16-02-2019, 11:18 AM
Had a closer look at the training drills. Rohan Smith looked after a couple of them and is very vocal but in a positive way.
The first one I looked at was designed to pressure the ball receiver into making good decisions and test their skills. Trengove, McLean, Macrae and Cavarra stood out with Westy not far behind.
The next one was again skills related but more designed to test their decision making. Wood made a few errors but Crozier was the stand out with both Lewis and Lachlan Young prominent as well. I think we have pinched a bolter in Lachlan Young.

Granted it's only a training session but I remain optimistic on how we can perform this year.

English was moving well and I had a closer look at his kicking skills and there appears to be some improvement there.
McLean looks primed for a big season. It's a shame Smith and Naughton and a few others didn't train with the main group

Mate - your posts today are exactly why this forum is so valuable and appreciated by dogs fans. For us diehards that cant make it to things like today, its the only place we can hear - and discuss - the finer details about our list and get proper updates.

Thank you!

In other news - Im delighted to read Cavarra is shaping up as a good kick on both sides with quality decision making. I feel from our latest draft crop he is the player that can make the most impact the fastest. He sounds like the might be a Puopolo mould?

16-02-2019, 11:52 AM
Thanks GVG.

Will watch out on Young with interest.

Have been hearing good things about Cav, think he might be a solid pickup.

16-02-2019, 12:30 PM
Sounds like good reviews for The Youngs & Jacksons. Hopefully we can keep them fit. Why can't the footy season start proper now, I'm sick of waiting already.

16-02-2019, 01:01 PM
Some photos to go with Gary's report. Sorry guys but I didn't have much time this year to prepare and these are all the quick snaps I got from this morning session.

https://flic.kr/s/aHskRYtR3E

16-02-2019, 01:04 PM
Wood, Dunkley and Wallus the pace setters in the running warm up

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7861/47107810441_96117a9773_k.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2eLKQQi)WB_Training2019-41 (https://flic.kr/p/2eLKQQi) by Xuan Truong (https://www.flickr.com/photos/129251531@N06/), on Flickr

16-02-2019, 01:04 PM
Some photos to go with Gary's report. Sorry guys but I didn't have much time this year to prepare and these are all the quick snaps I got from this morning session.

Choconmientay, thank you so much for doing this for the site.
Some photo's you say, 126 of them exceeds the 'some' part of your efforts ;)

Thanks again

16-02-2019, 01:05 PM
Stevo on SEN says JJ has that high ankle sprain ( not going to bother trying to spell it)
4 to 6 weeks

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7909/47055723962_6394c03644_z.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2eG9Tky)WB_Training2019-10 (https://flic.kr/p/2eG9Tky) by Xuan Truong (https://www.flickr.com/photos/129251531@N06/), on Flickr

16-02-2019, 01:19 PM
I think the following players didn't really train today, JJ, Boyd, Buku, Jong, Sweet, Bont, Schache, Morris, Lloyd, Gowers, Suckling, Naughton and Smith

16-02-2019, 02:27 PM
Thanks for the report GVGjr and the photos Choc. Much appreciated. WOOF is fantastic for this kind of stuff where most of us can’t get to those pre season training sessions. Go Dogs!

16-02-2019, 02:41 PM
Thanks to all for the reports and photos.

On a side note, I was reading in an English paper that a soccer coach from one club was accused of cheating for 'spying' on a rival's training session?? I was under the impression that was pretty much the norm in AFL? Can anyone enlighten me?

16-02-2019, 02:55 PM
Fist bump to GVGjr and Choconmientay for the good oil.

There's something both wrong and oddly comforting seeing photographic evidence that Dale's biceps are bigger than Zaine's thighs.

16-02-2019, 05:05 PM
Just a couple of thoughts from today's training run (which is all it was in the end - was hoping for just a bit of match sim :cool:).

Noticed Caleb Daniel training with the backs in a drill that was specific to the defensive role, so looks like he may be that half back distributor in 2019.

Was watching the skillsets of all the newcomers (Smith didn't train) and all will add something to the mix whether that be kicking for goal (Cavarro) or run and carry (Vandermeer) and as has been noted already, defensive cover (Lachlan Young).

I was a bit surprised by the largish number of players that sat out training. Gary has mentioned most of them above but missed on Bailey Dale. Duyrea was also just running sprints at one stage. Didn't spot Tom Boyd at the ground at all.

Hopefully ALL of this group were just managing training loads.

16-02-2019, 05:53 PM
I was a bit surprised by the largish number of players that sat out training. Gary has mentioned most of them above but missed on Bailey Dale. Duyrea was also just running sprints at one stage. Didn't spot Tom Boyd at the ground at all.

Hopefully ALL of this group were just managing training loads.

Good pick up Smads, thanks

16-02-2019, 07:27 PM

Fantastic Xuan. Thanks for going to the trouble. Motivated me to sign up to Flickr to view them more easily.

Shame that Tom Boyd was missing. This continues to be of concern and particularly given our large investment. Of course Tom’s well-being is a priority but the situation is a significant impost.

Great to see the lads in high spirits and with Libba with a spring in his step.

16-02-2019, 08:26 PM
I think the following players didn't really train today, JJ, Boyd, Buku, Jong, Sweet, Bont, Schache, Morris, Lloyd, Gowers, Suckling, Naughton and Smith

from the pics it did appear some of the boys werent wearing footy boots. Weird Green was wearing a different top to the others

16-02-2019, 10:43 PM
I'm also curious. How does he move? I remember thinking he looked like Bailey Williams in kicking style and technique when we picked him up. Does he have scope to be that kind of player?

That's an interesting comparison. He's a good mover, quick but not like JJ or Vandermeer but he appears to be able to get to the contests alright. He's athletic enough and his kicking looked sharp today even when lining up for goals but I think his best attribute might be how he reads the play. It's hard to tell at a training session but he might have that intercept marking potential.

I think Williams might have a more penetrating kick but lets see how Young develops over the next 2 years. You might be onto something there.

16-02-2019, 10:43 PM
Thank you for all the reports and photos.

Buku was wearing a weird thing on his leg, hope his injury isn't worse than is expected.

16-02-2019, 10:49 PM
from the pics it did appear some of the boys werent wearing footy boots. Weird Green was wearing a different top to the others

Was his top different? I've had a look and it seems like the others

17-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Great write ups and pics. Thanks.

Dunkely looks like a beast.

Sweet is huge and looked angry. Good.

18-02-2019, 09:09 PM
Interesting to see that a number of clubs have organised games against each other this weekend.

Carlton are playing the Hawks, Geelong play North Melbourne, Melbourne play Collingwood, and GC play Brisbane.

I wonder what the reason was that we didn't look to tee up a game and whether AFLX listed players will be involved for their respective clubs.

18-02-2019, 09:42 PM
We probably didn't want to risk injury due our good record in that department.:p

18-02-2019, 11:37 PM
https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1097378679976415232

We've been developing a new to improve our goal kicking.

19-02-2019, 08:02 PM
https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1097378679976415232

We've been developing a new to improve our goal kicking.

As long as they go through the big stick's who are we to complain :cool:

19-02-2019, 09:17 PM
Fantastic Xuan. Thanks for going to the trouble. Motivated me to sign up to Flickr to view them more easily.

Agree thanks Xuan for the photos.

Couple of observations:

- Has Bailey Williams grown? Looks to be taller than his 1.87m - in comparison to Cordy and Trengove

- Libba looks like he has bulked up - his guns are huge (the 2nd last pic)

- Ed Richards has put on some size as well - both upper and lower body

- Young looks like he is on the phone in one of the photos :) - he isn't but i had to do a double take to make sure.

- didn't recognise Toby

20-02-2019, 04:32 PM
Match simulation this morning, with one team close to best 22.

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/52363118_10156953851297487_2908271245457883136_o.jpg?_nc_cat =111&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=d99c4e6f4d615f682591f61e655ed79d&oe=5CEED97B

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/52606093_10156953851557487_2597032729501499392_o.jpg?_nc_cat =105&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=9da1c85143c375f8c8d9f91ff13a0330&oe=5D2913A9

https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/51760988_10156953851462487_3456508543593611264_o.jpg?_nc_cat =100&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=613934847bcf70100002fcd7a2eb82e5&oe=5D20C383

20-02-2019, 04:33 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/52702719_10156953851427487_6148208833404600320_o.jpg?_nc_cat =101&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=2fd1076f2f5304adcde91b1c91d8ee1c&oe=5D2234BE

20-02-2019, 04:34 PM
God Bailey is going to be a beast. I can see why were we so interested in him so many months out from the draft.

20-02-2019, 04:36 PM
Bailey Smith, in game sim, giving a shout out to all the rappers on the West Coast.

Respect.

20-02-2019, 04:40 PM
God Bailey is going to be a beast. I can see why were we so interested in him so many months out from the draft.

He sure has the physic for such a young man.

20-02-2019, 07:58 PM

I'm on board with you. When you have natural talent like he has combined with elite professionalism its a deadly combination.

22-02-2019, 12:46 PM
I'm on board with you. When you have natural talent like he has combined with elite professionalism its a deadly combination.
"Burst speed". Now look at his quads.

He's incredible. I think his ceiling is higher than Walsh who I thought was the best player I saw at the champs. Just has the extra speed and is a better kick, Walsh finds the ball easier but you draft for ceiling not production (e.g. the Bont)

25-02-2019, 10:32 PM
Gold Coast did well in a practice game vs Lions.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-02-23/rankine-and-his-special-gifts-make-case-for-r1-debut

What do we expect this Sunday?

26-02-2019, 09:43 AM
Gold Coast did well in a practice game vs Lions.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-02-23/rankine-and-his-special-gifts-make-case-for-r1-debut

What do we expect this Sunday?
Brissie were missing a few of their first choice mids.
In the absence of JJ I'm wondering who takes the 'second' quick opposition small forward. I expect Doc takes one, does Wood have the agility? Perhaps Crozier who will dominate in the air.

15-03-2019, 04:21 PM
https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Articles/Matches%202017/1_TR160219DT0002.JPG?timestamp=1552611925436

PRE-SEASON OPEN TRAINING SESSION

Tuesday 19th March
3.45pm
VU Whitten Oval
Free Entry

Join us at our last open training session before the start of the 2019 AFL Premiership Season!

Come along to VU Whitten Oval and watch the players run through a series of drills and training exercises as they prepare for Round 1 against Sydney.

Plus, there will be plenty more to enjoy including:

- Opportunity to get autographs from your favourite players
- Football inflatables where you can test your football skills
- Arts & crafts station
- Mascot appearances
- Giveaways

Visit the Bulldogs Shop, stocked with the new 2019 official Asics range and don’t forget members receive 10% discount.
Barkers Café will be open so sit back and enjoy a coffee while watching the team train.

If you are yet to become a 2019 Bulldogs member, our membership team will be on hand to speak to about joining or renewing your membership. Memberships start from just $60!

*Players may be available to sign any items at the conclusion of their training session. Signing will be dependent on individual training schedules and not all players may be available.

17-03-2019, 10:36 AM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/52702719_10156953851427487_6148208833404600320_o.jpg?_nc_cat =101&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=2fd1076f2f5304adcde91b1c91d8ee1c&oe=5D2234BE

Thanks for these photos.

17-03-2019, 01:19 PM
"Burst speed". Now look at his quads.

He's incredible. I think his ceiling is higher than Walsh who I thought was the best player I saw at the champs. Just has the extra speed and is a better kick, Walsh finds the ball easier but you draft for ceiling not production (e.g. the Bont)

I thought his kicking had been shaky in the two preseason games so far?

17-03-2019, 02:36 PM
I thought his kicking had been shaky in the two preseason games so far?

There were a couple of bad kicks clearly due to pressure (partly perceived) causing him to rush. Against St.Kilda he had a beautiful kick that landed onto a forwards chest which is hopefully more indicative of his actual skill level and what we can expect in the future when he adjusts.

19-03-2019, 07:54 PM
Anyone go to training today?

19-03-2019, 08:40 PM
I was there Easty. Some observations: Bonti, Schache and Zaine ran laps, the following numbers were absent: 1, 6, 17, 21, 23, 24, 25, 28, 31, 38, 39, 42, 44. I seen English in the car park as I was leaving - looked like he had been at the local pool for a swim (as had towel draped around mid-drift).
Naughton trained with a fwd group and practiced goal kicking at one stage with other potential fwds including Richards and Maclean..
I’m going out on a limb and selecting Roberts to play if Buddy is fit.
Dickson looked in good shape (does he replace Gowers?)

20-03-2019, 01:12 AM
Does engine else think Bailey Smith in some photos looks a little like Johnno (not body wise, rather his face?). Hope he is as good a player as The Smiling Assasin.