23-06-2024, 08:47 PM
I see. And where am I in all this?

Sorry, firies..........

:)

23-06-2024, 09:31 PM
Nets.

Ambos versus SDA special edition.

SDA is the stupidest union ever . Didn?t they do an eba a few years ago where the members actually got less ?
We have the SDA trying to get into our workplace and they have no members here but doing eba talks with the company . I think that says a lot.
We are all in another union.

23-06-2024, 10:04 PM
Apparently not deeply offended. Big of you.

I am a generous god

24-06-2024, 02:49 AM
Take it with a grain of salt, but, my partner works in real-estate, heard from a colleague in their Geelong office that Baz had looked at a few of their properties down that way before he went on his overseas vacation.

Would suspect it's a pretty easy deal if it is Geelong, their first (Somewhere around 9-11) for him.

I actually don't want to lose him, his best is incredibly good, just needs to clean up his disposals. If he keeps his speed post ACL we could really use it bursting from stoppages.

24-06-2024, 08:42 AM
Take it with a grain of salt, but, my partner works in real-estate, heard from a colleague in their Geelong office that Baz had looked at a few of their properties down that way before he went on his overseas vacation.

Would suspect it's a pretty easy deal if it is Geelong, their first (Somewhere around 9-11) for him.

I actually don't want to lose him, his best is incredibly good, just needs to clean up his disposals. If he keeps his speed post ACL we could really use it bursting from stoppages.

Actually if he moves to Geelong he could still stay it’s only down the road. I don’t think that confirms anything except he likes the beach.

24-06-2024, 09:36 AM
Actually if he moves to Geelong he could still stay it’s only down the road. I don’t think that confirms anything except he likes the beach.

Says absolutely no-one who regularly does that commute.

I guess he would be traveling against the traffic most of the way, but balls to doing that trip.

24-06-2024, 10:00 AM
Actually if he moves to Geelong he could still stay it?s only down the road. I don?t think that confirms anything except he likes the beach.

The guy is gone. Out of contract, not playing this season and it's nearly July and he hasn't signed. He may as well be doing his rehab at whichever club it is he wants to go to.

Hopefully it is Geelong or hawks as they've got better trade assets than the pies.

And as if we needed even more reason to hope for geelongs downfall.

24-06-2024, 10:19 AM
SDA is the stupidest union ever . Didn?t they do an eba a few years ago where the members actually got less ?
We have the SDA trying to get into our workplace and they have no members here but doing eba talks with the company . I think that says a lot.
We are all in another union.

The Retail and Fast Food Workers Union is a better bet than SDA imo. Some years ago SDA had a Coles EBA approved which was later thrown out by a Full Bench because it failed the "better off overall" test.

24-06-2024, 10:30 AM
The guy is gone. Out of contract, not playing this season and it's nearly July and he hasn't signed. He may as well be doing his rehab at whichever club it is he wants to go to.

Hopefully it is Geelong or hawks as they've got better trade assets than the pies.

And as if we needed even more reason to hope for geelongs downfall.

My point is moving to Geelong is not a problem if he stayed, whether he is gone or not fact is Geelong is just down the road.
The problem with moving to Geelong now means he has already presumed we will let him go to Geelong. Say we end up doing a trade he ends up on the GC ?
So if he is buying in Geelong have us and the cats already cut a deal ?
Wouldn’t you wait until you 100% know unless he is staying.

24-06-2024, 10:44 AM
My point is moving to Geelong is not a problem if he stayed, whether he is gone or not fact is Geelong is just down the road.
The problem with moving to Geelong now means he has already presumed we will let him go to Geelong. Say we end up doing a trade he ends up on the GC ?
So if he is buying in Geelong have us and the cats already cut a deal ?
Wouldn?t you wait until you 100% know unless he is staying.
With any sort of traffic at all that blows out to 1.5hrs+ commute each way to Whitten oval. He'd be better off staying in his leafy eastern suburban environment if he wanted to stay at WO.

Not that many (any?) Cats players live in Geelong anyway. They're all on the coast or a few are on farms a little inland.

24-06-2024, 10:47 AM

To be fair, I think that's pretty decent compensation. Coming off an ACL, hasn't played his best footy in a long time, there seems to be a bit of noise and turbulence that follows him around - if Geelong came with that offer, I'm shaking hands.

This is what a pick in that region has landed the last four years:
2023 - Read, Caddy, O'Sullivan
2022 - Gibney, Phillipou, Hollands
2021 - Gibcus, Earsmus, Wanganeen-Milera
2020 - Perkins, Reid, Pedlar

I also think he's absolutely no chance of staying, so his choosing Hawthorn or Geelong is far more encouraging than Collingwood.

24-06-2024, 10:53 AM
To be fair, I think that's pretty decent compensation. Coming off an ACL, hasn't played his best footy in a long time, there seems to be a bit of noise and turbulence that follows him around - if Geelong came with that offer, I'm shaking hands.

I also think he's absolutely no chance of staying, so his choosing Hawthorn or Geelong is far more encouraging than Collingwood.

What about player trade ? Is that still a thing ?

24-06-2024, 03:09 PM
Says absolutely no-one who regularly does that commute.

I guess he would be traveling against the traffic most of the way, but balls to doing that trip.

It's so far that Ollie Henry got homesick and had to request a trade.

24-06-2024, 03:18 PM

I also think he's absolutely no chance of staying, so his choosing Hawthorn or Geelong is far more encouraging than Collingwood. The mail is still Collingwood. The deal may not be as good as Cats/Hawks but by all accounts the marketing side has been more convincing and his brand will benefit more being at Collingwood. Up to us not to blink and get a deal done.

25-06-2024, 08:28 PM
Interesting time to head to Geelong, end of an era finally? Will Scott be there by the end of next year? I'm not saying he will be sacked just a good time to move on.

25-06-2024, 08:34 PM
Interesting time to head to Geelong, end of an era finally? Will Scott be there by the end of next year? I'm not saying he will be sacked just a good time to move on.

He doesn't want to be a Bulldog.

Unfortunately I have known this for a very very long time, no I won't say how...

The only thing that matters is we get a pick that balances what we did with Sanders.

I honestly believe that move was with the knowledge Bailey was moving to Geelong.

26-06-2024, 09:02 AM

Unfortunately I have known this for a very very long time, no I won't say how...

The only thing that matters is we get a pick that balances what we did with Sanders.

I honestly believe that move was with the knowledge Bailey was moving to Geelong.

Why does he want to move on? What is his motivation? Was is he unhappy?

26-06-2024, 09:25 AM

Money and a higher profile club. Make hay while the sun shines.

26-06-2024, 09:40 AM

We would be a much better team with him in it, but if he wants to go, then what can we do, the trick is to get the absolute maximum out of those inbreds in Geelong. Id love a top 10 and R2 pick.

26-06-2024, 09:47 AM

Off field stuff is my understanding.

My info is second hand and from a while ago, but from a very good source (I'd rate as A grade).

Who knows - he might change his mind everyday so it might be not relevant now.

PLEASE STAY BAILEY PLEASE! :(

26-06-2024, 10:01 AM
Off field stuff is my understanding.

My info is second hand and from a while ago, but from a very good source (I'd rate as A grade).

Who knows - he might change his mind everyday so it might be not relevant now.

PLEASE STAY BAILEY PLEASE! :(

That could be a million things.

Dunkley off field stuff or Brand Baz off field stuff?

26-06-2024, 10:33 AM
Baz. Latest social media post. Riding as a passenger on a vespa/motorbike with no helmet and no top. Genius level type behaviour.

26-06-2024, 10:36 AM
Baz. Latest social media post. Riding as a passenger on a vespa/motorbike with no helmet and no top. Genius level type behaviour.

Can't show off his 8 pack with a top on now can he! And the mighty mullet can't be hidden by a helmet!

26-06-2024, 10:40 AM
Kind of always had the feeling he wasn't a match for the dogs the moment we drafted him. He wants the limelight.

26-06-2024, 11:13 AM
That could be a million things.

Dunkley off field stuff or Brand Baz off field stuff?

Oh sorry - Brand Baz opportunities not anything bad.

This from John Ralph seems pretty accurate to me :

“We wrote a couple of months back that the Dogs were really heavily into Tom Barrass,” Ralph told Midweek Tackle.

“I think they (the Bulldogs) absolutely knew that Bailey was going, so that’s why they gave up (picks) 10, 17 and that future first for Ryley Sanders, who’s coming along nicely — he’s the inside midfielder that Bailey potentially wasn’t in the last couple of years.
“They get (for example) pick 6 from Hawthorn, or they get a future first or whatever it is (in a Smith trade) — you trade that for Tom Barrass, who’s turning 29, and I think he’s open to at least considering it.
“So, you’ve got Liam Jones, you’ve got Tom Barrass, you’ve got an elite midfield ... It’s the perfect time for them to give up a first rounder for a bloke who might have four or five years left.”

26-06-2024, 11:17 AM
I don’t necessarily want him to leave but pick 6 would be a great result.

26-06-2024, 12:07 PM
Smith for Barrass you just have to make happen. Different age profiles sure but Barrass is exactly what we're missing.

26-06-2024, 12:07 PM
I don’t necessarily want him to leave but pick 6 would be a great result.

We just have to make sure he doesn't go to Collingwood.

Guido
26-06-2024, 01:14 PM
Smith for Barrass you just have to make happen. Different age profiles sure but Barrass is exactly what we're missing.
At his first finals campaign with us, he'd be a week away from 30. And there's a bit of talk about a debilitating back injury...

The potential opportunity cost in getting Barrass with the Bailey Smith compo isn't Bailey himself, it's an 18 year old version of Bailey Smith/Sanders/Selwood.

26-06-2024, 01:19 PM
At his first finals campaign with us, he'd be a week away from 30. And there's a bit of talk about a debilitating back injury...

The potential opportunity cost in getting Barrass with the Bailey Smith compo isn't Bailey himself, it's an 18 year old version of Bailey Smith/Sanders/Selwood.

To be slightly more accurate it's the chance we pick an 18 year old Selwood (and not 18 year old A.Everitt)

26-06-2024, 01:49 PM

Yeah that's absolutely the opportunity cost and I get it. But are we trying to win a flag in the next 1 or 2 seasons or not? Cos if we are, we need to swing for the fences. Our defensive stocks are near empty. If we lose Jones due to injury or form, our chances at a flag are cooked.

Guido
26-06-2024, 02:41 PM
Yeah that's absolutely the opportunity cost and I get it. But are we trying to win a flag in the next 1 or 2 seasons or not? Cos if we are, we need to swing for the fences. Our defensive stocks are near empty. If we lose Jones due to injury or form, our chances at a flag are cooked.
That's always the risk.

I am not against chasing Barrass, but not with a top 10 pick. Barrass taking, say, $900k a year, and being in and out with a back injury for the best part of the next 4/5 seasons could also cost premierships.

At the time, most would have swapped the Bailey Smith draft pick for Chad Windgard, because he was "exactly what we needed".

If Buss was "definitely leaving" to West Coast, that would probably be the primary trade currency/player swap I'd be more comfortable with, despite the age difference.

Guido
26-06-2024, 03:03 PM
To be slightly more accurate it's the chance we pick an 18 year old Selwood (and not 18 year old A.Everitt)
Or Jarrad Grant!

People were threatening to not renew their memberships if we swapped that pick for Jack Kennedy and Pick 20. :)

There's always a risk of a bust, no matter the player or how they're recruited.

I am biased, if it's an elite 29/30 year old vs an elite (top 10) rated 18 year old in a solid draft, the best outcome tends to skew towards the kid, purely on account of the additional 12 years they can contribute. There's dozens of failed top 10 picks that can make me look silly, but there's also dozens of players who looked top class at 29 and fell off a cliff by 31. You would want to be bloody sure those two-three years are worth it.

Guido
26-06-2024, 03:08 PM
Has the edit button possibly been lost for some people? I meant West Coast's Josh Kennedy...

26-06-2024, 03:11 PM
That's always the risk.

I am not against chasing Barrass, but not with a top 10 pick. Barrass taking, say, $900k a year, and being in and out with a back injury for the best part of the next 4/5 seasons could also cost premierships.

At the time, most would have swapped the Bailey Smith draft pick for Chad Windgard, because he was "exactly what we needed".

If Buss was "definitely leaving" to West Coast, that would probably be the primary trade currency/player swap I'd be more comfortable with, despite the age difference.

I'm of the same opinion. Let's draft another midfielder.

There's a bunch in the top 10 prospects.

https://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/39916961/afl-draft-2024-april-power-rankings-josh-smillie-sid-draper-camporeale-twins-levi-ashcroft

26-06-2024, 03:42 PM
Trade buzz: Why Bailey Smith might not end up at Collingwood as new suitor sits at the front of the queue (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-buzz-why-bailey-smith-might-not-end-up-at-collingwood-as-new-suitor-sits-at-the-front-of-the-queue/news-story/7b40d3939d59cb3a2a822a7381c5e004)

Bailey Smith looks likely to leave the Western Bulldogs. Collingwood wants Bailey Smith. However, there?s another suitor who might already have the star midfielder?s signature.

Western Bulldogs midfielder Bailey Smith flies back into Melbourne this weekend after a brief European summer sojourn with Collingwood?s draft hand putting it behind the eight ball in securing him.

Industry sources still believe Geelong has the desire to add a pacy, mature-aged mid and the Surf Coast lifestyle that could attract a player who has spoken about dealing with the intense Melbourne football bubble.

Smith already has a strong connection with the Cotton On brand, which is why cheeky rivals say a move down Princes Highway is almost a done deal.

But any additional services agreement funding at Geelong would be heavily scrutinised by the AFL and would have to stack up from a commercial point of view.

The Magpies? only selection in the first two rounds of this year?s draft is Hawthorn?s second rounder, which could end up drifting into the 40s.

They could give up a future first-rounder but the Pies are known to be keen on key talls including Victoria?s Whitlock twins in the draft.

Hawthorn remains in the mix and could satisfy the Bulldogs? desire for a first-round pick, which is currently No. 6.

While the Bulldogs would prefer to keep the 23-year-old next year and beyond, their confidence levels have plummeted the longer the season has rolled on.

The Cats are considered the clubhouse leader, given their need for a midfielder refresh, though he is not the engine-room bull that coach Chris Scott has been craving.

The Dogs continue to chase West Coast intercept marker Tom Barrass, which the Herald Sun revealed in April, with their chase for another key back continuing.

Any first round selection they secure for Smith would be critical given they gave up their 2024 first-rounder to bring in Tasmanian first round pick Ryley Sanders last November

While Barrass knocked back offers from clubs such as Sydney last year, it is believed that he is open to considering what a fresh start would look like.

The Dogs have effectively begun planning for life after Smith, with Ed Richards moving into the midfield while others such as Harvey Gallagher have spent some time in there alongside the likes of Marcus Bontempelli and Tom Liberatore.

26-06-2024, 03:44 PM
Has the edit button possibly been lost for some people? I meant West Coast's Josh Kennedy...

Let me have a look for you.

26-06-2024, 06:48 PM
For what it’s worth the mural on the side of Cornershop has been painted over.

26-06-2024, 07:45 PM

Let me have a look for you.

Given Guido's just smashed his yearly posting average throw all the resources you have at it G!

Good to see you back Guido.

26-06-2024, 07:49 PM
Trade buzz: Why Bailey Smith might not end up at Collingwood as new suitor sits at the front of the queue (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/trade-buzz-why-bailey-smith-might-not-end-up-at-collingwood-as-new-suitor-sits-at-the-front-of-the-queue/news-story/7b40d3939d59cb3a2a822a7381c5e004)

While the Bulldogs would prefer to keep the 23-year-old next year and beyond, their confidence levels have plummeted the longer the season has rolled on.

How far could our hopes have actually plummeted? That assumes anyone was confident he'd be staying at some point in the last six months.

26-06-2024, 07:56 PM
How far could our hopes have actually plummeted? That assumes anyone was confident he'd be staying at some point in the last six months.

And a new suitor? They were the original club rumoured…

26-06-2024, 08:04 PM
And a new suitor? They were the original club rumoured…

Outa the woodwork they've come they 'ave.

26-06-2024, 08:09 PM
Outa the woodwork they've come they 'ave.

… pretty sure they would’ve reported last year about Dangerfield saying they’d love Baz at Geelong…

It’s creating an angle on a story that’s a straight line. Why an angle when there isn’t one. The guy obviously leaving going to the obvious choice that we’re chasing him last year and share a sponsor. honestly.

26-06-2024, 11:02 PM
So on midweek tackle they said Smith was seen looking at real estate out Geelong way .. obviously we have a reporter reading woof .
Ok time to come out, which one of you is it ?

26-06-2024, 11:35 PM
So on midweek tackle they said Smith was seen looking at real estate out Geelong way .. obviously we have a reporter reading woof .
Ok time to come out, which one of you is it ?

BAD is Damian Barrett.

26-06-2024, 11:39 PM
BAD is Damian Barrett.

If you put the last name in front of the first, keep the first letter of the second, and discount all other letters except the second from the first and put them in sequence it's pretty obvious.

27-06-2024, 09:24 AM
BAD is Damian Barrett.

If you put the last name in front of the first, keep the first letter of the second, and discount all other letters except the second from the first and put them in sequence it's pretty obvious.

I have been caught:D Took you 17 years :D

27-06-2024, 09:28 AM

So that’s why you keep pushing Bevo to be sacked. Still salty about the bathroom incident with Bevo I see.

27-06-2024, 09:42 AM
BAD is Damian Barrett.

IF BAD is in fact Damian Barrett

THEN Has there ever been a bigger case of CATFISHING?

27-06-2024, 10:16 AM

stealing my If and thens :D

27-06-2024, 12:45 PM
For what it?s worth the mural on the side of Cornershop has been painted over.

yes..I noticed this a couple of weeks back

27-06-2024, 01:05 PM

The Josh Bruce fatshaming was prime Barrett. We should have known.

01-07-2024, 09:33 PM
From state media:

“as revealed on Gettable last month, (Hawks) are in a two-horse race for Western Bulldogs midfielder Bailey Smith with Geelong.”

So Collingwood out? What would you take? Say either club first is around Pick 9-11. Is that enough for a distracted guy off an ACL? Or something on top?

01-07-2024, 09:46 PM
From state media:

“as revealed on Gettable last month, (Hawks) are in a two-horse race for Western Bulldogs midfielder Bailey Smith with Geelong.”

So Collingwood out? What would you take? Say either club first is around Pick 9-11. Is that enough for a distracted guy off an ACL? Or something on top?

I wonder if we would use it to get a player out of another team or take a kid ?

01-07-2024, 10:14 PM
From state media:

Max King (same draft) is being mentioned that a club like Gold Coast would need to cough up 2 x 1st rounders to get him.
For Smith I'd want something in the top 10 for this year or failing that a later 1st and a 2nd rounder.
That would give us a lot of flexibility to either draft a player early or trade for an established player.

01-07-2024, 10:25 PM
Wasn't he a certainty to go to Collingwood, so much so that Collingwood players were told by the club to hose it all down?

01-07-2024, 10:48 PM
From state media:

I think it's enough frankly.

03-07-2024, 09:55 AM
Can you ever remember a player from so far out, freezing out his current club?

Its been quite remarkable to see the Smith camp not even put up the facade that he is considering staying.

03-07-2024, 09:55 AM
I think it's enough frankly.

Would be an amazing result for us to get a top 10 (or 11) pick for Bailey.

03-07-2024, 10:02 AM

Its been quite remarkable to see the Smith camp not even put up the facade that he is considering staying.

It's really quite disappointing and even depressing TBH ...

03-07-2024, 10:15 AM

Nathan Brown says hello

03-07-2024, 12:06 PM
Nathan Brown says hello

Have we forgotten Ryan Griffin?

03-07-2024, 12:07 PM

Who?

03-07-2024, 12:08 PM

Griffen was contracted and his trade request came out of nowhere, nothing like the Smith situation.

I can't remember how the Brown trade played out during that season.

03-07-2024, 12:34 PM
One of the Lake contracts was signed very late, though they were always ‘confident’

No such sentiment expressed by the club here

03-07-2024, 12:36 PM
Griffen was contracted and his trade request came out of nowhere, nothing like the Smith situation.

Whenever he was on the footy show they'd throw Richmond scarves at him, it was pretty obvious where he was heading.

03-07-2024, 12:38 PM

Would love to know why he wasn?t traded last year.

03-07-2024, 12:42 PM
Yes we have to get this in club land. In the world game they never let contracts end. Different system as they get 0 when they become free agents however trading under contract needs to happen.

03-07-2024, 03:34 PM

I remember taking my daughter to a "train with the players" during school holidays, and all the little ones (up to 12 years old) were saying where is Brownie, where is Brownie. I also went to a Golf day with the players, and Brown didn't show up, so he was already gone.

03-07-2024, 03:53 PM
I remember taking my daughter to a "train with the players" during school holidays, and all the little ones (up to 12 years old) were saying where is Brownie, where is Brownie. I also went to a Golf day with the players, and Brown didn't show up, so he was already gone.

Bown told a story on Triple M a few weeks ago. He rang a few teamates to tell him he was signing with Richmond. Most took it OK. Luke Darcy gave him some harsh words and then doughnuts. Shut him out and then bascially disowned him. Ha.

03-07-2024, 03:58 PM
Bown told a story on Triple M a few weeks ago. He rang a few teamates to tell him he was signing with Richmond. Most took it OK. Luke Darcy gave him some harsh words and then doughnuts. Shut him out and then bascially disowned him. Ha.

After the golf, we had dinner with the players and they were talking about Brown and that he had checked out.

BTW: My mate and I played with Bob Murphy and Mark Stevens. We had a riot, it was very funny, Murp had us in stiches. Murph had Fox Footy following us for his segment on Club Corner. (this was the old Fox Footy)

03-07-2024, 04:37 PM
I have a slightly different view of Baz than many dog?s members & fans. It does appear to all intents & purposes he is gone. But really he has simply not re-signed with us. Everything else is media beat up & fan anger & frenzy.

If we go deep into September and he plays again this year it could be a fairytale ending for both him and us, or as Claude Rains, or mighta been Bogey, said in Casablanca ?this is the (re)start of a beautiful friendship?. And if he doesn?t play again for us either this year or ever we should obtain a top draft pick in return if the latest gossip of Hawks or Cats is true (let?s keep barracking they both lose - it adds extra spice).

This is nowhere near Gryphon or Judas Brown level of betrayal (at present, will revisit this if he chooses Pies and we end up being screwed though). Or for that matter Hot Pocket Show me the Money Dunks (my hatred levels are off the scale for him).

As long as we obtain fair compensation I?m not gonna hate Baz. In fact I will have a soft spot for him except when he plays us.

03-07-2024, 04:45 PM
I have a slightly different view of Baz than many dog?s members & fans. It does appear to all intents & purposes he is gone. But really he has simply not re-signed with us. Everything else is media beat up & fan anger & frenzy.

If we go deep into September and he plays again this year it could be a fairytale ending for both him and us, or as Claude Rains, or mighta been Bogey, said in Casablanca ?this is the (re)start of a beautiful friendship?. And if he doesn?t play again for us either this year or ever we should obtain a top draft pick in return if the latest gossip of Hawks or Cats is true (let?s keep barracking they both lose - it adds extra spice).

This is nowhere near Gryphon or Judas Brown level of betrayal (at present, will revisit this if he chooses Pies and we end up being screwed though). Or for that matter Hot Pocket Show me the Money Dunks (my hatred levels are off the scale for him).

As long as we obtain fair compensation I?m not gonna hate Baz. In fact I will have a soft spot for him except when he plays us.

Great Post Josie. I also refuse to concede he is leaving, until I hear it from him.

D Mitchell
03-07-2024, 05:15 PM
Great Post Josie. I also refuse to concede he is leaving, until I hear it from him.
I agree. He has it in him to become a positive role model. When he first joined, he quietly volunteered to my unruly mate that he was a weekly churchgoer. Captain of the 1st XVIII. The son of a mate of mine was in his class at school and said that it didn't seem to go to his head. From reports, he's a disciplined and conscientious trainer. It's hard for boys who acquire fame and fortune so young not to be affected. As he matures, there's a good chance those leadership qualities will re emerge.

04-07-2024, 11:59 AM

Has anyone considered that it could it have been that other clubs didn't want to overpay for a pre-agent knowing that the purchase price would be less once Baz is actually out of contract. Another issue for us would have been that a lot of what we would have got for losing Baz last season would have been chewed up in obtaining Jordan Croft as a father son which is why we traded with GC to ensure we got Sandars AND Croft knowing that the future first we traded out would come back to us when Baz eventually breaks up with us.

04-07-2024, 12:10 PM
Has anyone considered that it could it have been that other clubs didn't want to overpay for a pre-agent knowing that the purchase price would be less once Baz is actually out of contract. Another issue for us would have been that a lot of what we would have got for losing Baz last season would have been chewed up in obtaining Jordan Croft as a father son which is why we traded with GC to ensure we got Sandars AND Croft knowing that the future first we traded out would come back to us when Baz eventually breaks up with us.

Yep really good points Mitcha.

21-07-2024, 08:23 AM
I think he’s gone. Just a gut feel. But on the chance he stays, just thinking of that amazing last quarter, who would we have dropped to fit Baz in? Looking at the list, if he stayed fit, what would we want to do with Daniel, Macrae & Garcia?

Would be an interesting problem to have next year as there’s no suggestion he could be back this year.

21-07-2024, 09:35 AM
If he wants to play finals Geelong may not be the side to go to I feel they will be in transition for the next few years before they will challenge again.
Hawthorn would be his best bet to play finals if he is leaving us but if he stays he just may get a GF with us.
I feel football is just a means to an end and it's more about Bailey Smith so Geelong may suit his needs better.

25-07-2024, 06:04 PM
Bailey Smith not expected to return possible Bulldogs finals charge (Jay Clark - July 25)

Western Bulldogs? jet ball-winner Bailey Smith is unlikely to make a return to playing this season even if the club makes a deep run into September.

The man who appears headed for a trade to Geelong at season?s end is almost eight months into his recovery from a heartbreaking ACL tear suffered in mid-December last year.

While Collingwood?s Dan McStay has made his comeback to AFL level off only one VFL game, Smith is not physically recovered enough to step back onto the field.

ACL victims are typically ready after nine months out of the game, but even if the Bulldogs continued their hot form in September, Smith is unlikely to be risked as he prepares to change clubs.

Smith would command a long and lucrative contract at Geelong and would help provide a quality injection into a midfield brigade which needs to be strengthened.

But the club looks unlikely to risk a key trade asset in the run home and instead bank on its current senior playmakers to lead its push into the eight and finals if they make it.

Instead, Smith, who went overseas on a short break last month, could set himself for a major training block in the off-season in preparation for a fresh start after six years at the kennel.

Smith, 24, would command a first-round draft pick from Geelong (currently pick No. 13) which the Bulldogs could then on-trade to West Coast if they are successful for Eagles? defender Tom Barrass.

At his peak in the 2021 finals series when he kicked eight goals in three games Smith was considered one of the best game breaking midfielders in the competition.

Barrass, 28, is weighing up interest from Hawthorn and Western Bulldogs and would also net the Eagles a first-round pick to help accelerate the club?s rebuild under a new coach.

Ruckman Tim English is considering interest from West Coast but the Bulldogs have held firm on their contract offer and do not want to give up overs to keep him.

Best and fairest winner Caleb Daniel could also consider a move at season?s end following talks with coach Luke Beveridge about his prospects for next year.

The Bulldogs would be unlikely to keep Daniel, 28, and Jack Macrae next year if they remain locked in the VFL team on decent salaries.

There is interest from multiple clubs in Daniel who was All-Australian in 2020.

He is one of the most skilled players in the team however the Bulldogs have ramped up their leg speed for this season as the club attempts to crash into the eight.

The Dogs face their toughest test of the season against Sydney Swans at the SCG on Sunday.

25-07-2024, 06:05 PM
Does Jay just go out on a limb and make this stuff up (about him being in cotton wool as he is definitley being traded) or does he have a source?

25-07-2024, 06:08 PM
Does Jay just go out on a limb and make this stuff up (about him being in cotton wool as he is definitley being traded) or does he have a source?

Clarke is not on his own though, is he? All the media have him gone.

25-07-2024, 06:09 PM
Clarke is not on his own though, is he? All the media have him gone.

Yes. But the stuff about the club putting him cotton wool?

25-07-2024, 06:10 PM
I hope we don’t play him either for this reason. If he did another knee or serious injury he’d be worth stuff all in a trade. He is clearly going so it’s the smart play.

25-07-2024, 06:12 PM
If all of what he is talking about is seriously at play, then we're going to have a very big off-season. Possibly the biggest we've seen in the last 30 years in terms of player movement. B Smith, English, Daniel, Macrae not to mention other mentions of Garcia as well.

That type of movement would throw up a lot of potential options for Power and Co to look work through.

25-07-2024, 07:19 PM
If all of what he is talking about is seriously at play, then we're going to have a very big off-season. Possibly the biggest we've seen in the last 30 years in terms of player movement. B Smith, English, Daniel, Macrae not to mention other mentions of Garcia as well.

That type of movement would throw up a lot of potential options for Power and Co to look work through.

I'm glad you didn't mention them.

25-07-2024, 07:50 PM
Barrass is a fine player and more than capable of being a good contributor for us over the next 4 or 5 years but at the moment I still don't like a trade where we effectively lose Bailey Smith for him.
I guess whatever we were to do with the pick there will temptation will be to compare it to Smith.

25-07-2024, 08:12 PM
Same.

Barrass is old. He's at the end of his career that is injury riddled.

If his own club won't offer him a long term deal why are we do desperate?

And he ain't that amazing a player either.

25-07-2024, 09:11 PM
Same.

Losing a 23 year old mid is going to hurt. I will be so pissed if he leaves

25-07-2024, 09:29 PM
Same.

Is there another KPD player other than Barass available ? I just don't like the idea of paying up big to get him , a player heading towards the end of his career if an injury strikes.

We get Gardner back from injury. I believe he was good enough to play in the GF, but the MC opted with Zaine Cordy.

Someone like a Tom Dodee ? He looks like he is making a decent contribution to the Lions now that he is back on the park.
What about Noble ?

25-07-2024, 09:34 PM
Is there another KPD player other than Barass available ? I just don't like the idea of paying up big to get him , a player heading towards the end of his career if an injury strikes.

We get Gardner back from injury. I believe he was good enough to play in the GF, but the MC opted with Zaine Cordy.

Someone like a Jackson Paine? He looks like he is making a decent contribution to the Lions now that he is back on the park.
What about Noble ?

Not a fan of Noble, he is a turnover king.

25-07-2024, 09:42 PM

Someone like a Jackson Paine? He looks like he is making a decent contribution to the Lions now that he is back on the park.
What about Noble ?

I think you need at least one absolute gun and Barrass at his age replaces Jones in that role. If it turns out Lobb or JOD or Buss can turn into something similar then that's just cream.

To me if we can for the first time in my forty odd years of watching the Dogs can say we've got rolled gold bookends at the club then I need to see us go for it.

01-08-2024, 09:16 PM
Bulldogs Hall of Famer Brad Johnson calls for Bailey Smith to make a decision about his future

Bulldogs legend Brad Johnson has called for young out-of-contract midfielder Bailey Smith to make a decision about his playing future at the Bulldogs.

Smith was drafted at pick No. 7 by the Western Bulldogs in a stacked 2018 draft. Since then, Smith has played 103 games for the Dogs and has been a key force on the wing and in the Bulldogs stellar midfield.

Bulldogs legend Johnson spoke on the uncertainty surrounding Smith and his future at the Kennel.

?I think it?s a question that needs to be answered now, so that it?s either yes there?s hope, or no, forget about it everyone, it?s not happening,? Johnson told SEN's Sportsday.

?If it?s never, that?s fine; let us know that it?s never because the hope to see a Bailey Smith in September is pretty exciting from that point of view as well.?

The 23-year-old averaged 23.5 disposals, 3.5 tackles, and 3.5 clearances in 2023 and has already put together some great performances in September.

At the beginning of December last year, the star midfielder tore his ACL at training and hasn?t returned to the playing field since.

Gerard Healy also added his thoughts surrounding Smith and how he believes he has checked out at The Kennel.

?As far as your average timeline is concerned, he probably should be on the track ready to roll, (Dan) McStay has come in about the same timeline,? he said.

The out-of-contract Bulldog is being pursued by rival clubs like Geelong and Hawthorn and has appeared to have checked out at Whitten Oval.

?To be completely honest, I didn't see him when I was (at the club) last week, and I made a couple calls today and haven?t had a response,? Johnson added.

Smith has a massive call to make on his future, as his current Bulldogs side is flying at the moment and looks to make yet another September run.

01-08-2024, 09:25 PM
Couldn't agree more with Johnno on Smith and you can throw in Tim as well. I hate all this bullshit during the season.

Smith not showing up for training is just crap. He is still contracted till the end of season, so should fulfill his obligations.

I did see a LinkedIn video with smith promoting an end of season coaching event at the club.

https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:7223954510451200002/

01-08-2024, 09:26 PM
Goneski!

01-08-2024, 09:28 PM
No one really thinks Smith is staying, surely.

01-08-2024, 09:33 PM
Interesting that Geelong are on the way down and we are on the way up.
Just goes to show it’s not about a possible flag . It definitely wouldn’t be money, it would be lifestyle.

01-08-2024, 09:44 PM
The less we see and hear from Baz until our season ends, the better. Let him do whatever he's doing in the shadows and then make the announcement when we're no longer in the mix.

01-08-2024, 09:49 PM
The less we see and hear from Baz until our season ends, the better. Let him do whatever he's doing in the shadows and then make the announcement when we're no longer in the mix.

Yep. We don’t need his brand of distraction.

01-08-2024, 10:28 PM
Just goes to show it’s not about a possible flag . It definitely wouldn’t be money, it would be lifestyle.

Do you think a 23 year old with a high profile Social media following, would want to live in Geelong?

01-08-2024, 10:55 PM
Geelong are never on the way down.

01-08-2024, 10:57 PM
Bulldogs Hall of Famer Brad Johnson calls for Bailey Smith to make a decision about his future

Bulldogs legend Brad Johnson has called for young out-of-contract midfielder Bailey Smith to make a decision about his playing future at the Bulldogs.

Smith was drafted at pick No. 7 by the Western Bulldogs in a stacked 2018 draft. Since then, Smith has played 103 games for the Dogs and has been a key force on the wing and in the Bulldogs stellar midfield.

Bulldogs legend Johnson spoke on the uncertainty surrounding Smith and his future at the Kennel.

?I think it?s a question that needs to be answered now, so that it?s either yes there?s hope, or no, forget about it everyone, it?s not happening,? Johnson told SEN's Sportsday.

?If it?s never, that?s fine; let us know that it?s never because the hope to see a Bailey Smith in September is pretty exciting from that point of view as well.?

The 23-year-old averaged 23.5 disposals, 3.5 tackles, and 3.5 clearances in 2023 and has already put together some great performances in September.

At the beginning of December last year, the star midfielder tore his ACL at training and hasn?t returned to the playing field since.

Gerard Healy also added his thoughts surrounding Smith and how he believes he has checked out at The Kennel.

?As far as your average timeline is concerned, he probably should be on the track ready to roll, (Dan) McStay has come in about the same timeline,? he said.

The out-of-contract Bulldog is being pursued by rival clubs like Geelong and Hawthorn and has appeared to have checked out at Whitten Oval.

?To be completely honest, I didn't see him when I was (at the club) last week, and I made a couple calls today and haven?t had a response,? Johnson added.

Smith has a massive call to make on his future, as his current Bulldogs side is flying at the moment and looks to make yet another September run.

So he's not at work, and Johnno calls him and he ignores the call!
Wtf.
I sometimes wonder if he might pull the pin early on his career.

02-08-2024, 01:08 AM
I hope the AFL look very closely at this move and the contract that Geelong are offering him, more specifically, his ambassador deal with Cotton On.

This whole thing stinks.

02-08-2024, 03:56 AM
So he's not at work, and Johnno calls him and he ignores the call!
Wtf.
I sometimes wonder if he might pull the pin early on his career.

I can't believe he didn't answer Johnno's call! As if he hasn't been sitting around waiting for it like the rest of us do all day.......

It's not looking great. I'm going to rip into him mercilessly if and when he goes.

02-08-2024, 07:46 AM
He almost has to go now right? If he gets to take a month long mid season holiday and then gets to turn up to training when he feels like it only to stay then I have to wonder how bought into footy he is generally, no matter how many pairs of footy boots get tagged with “miss this xo” on IG.

02-08-2024, 08:09 AM
The less we see and hear from Baz until our season ends, the better. Let him do whatever he's doing in the shadows and then make the announcement when we're no longer in the mix. Bite the bullet and pay him out as he taking the pi** now. I'm sure the players don't have too much respect for him.

What professional sportsman doesn't try and play finals.

02-08-2024, 08:18 AM
He almost has to go now right? If he gets to take a month long mid season holiday and then gets to turn up to training when he feels like it only to stay then I have to wonder how bought into footy he is generally, no matter how many pairs of footy boots get tagged with “miss this xo” on IG.

I think so, I've been mentioning on the training reports that we haven't seen him on the track in weeks except for one where where he did a fair bit of running. I believe we were flexible with him by allowing him to occasionally train away from the club knowing that he would do the work required but he seems to have stretched that out a bit further.
If he chooses to leave which looks to be a given it won't be because the club has been too strict with him.

02-08-2024, 08:24 AM
The club uses Johnno as a semi detached message deliverer.

That interview was massive in the context of where Bailey and the club are at.

Seems like the relationship is at a very low ebb.

02-08-2024, 08:28 AM
I can't believe he didn't answer Johnno's call! As if he hasn't been sitting around waiting for it like the rest of us do all day.......

It's not looking great. I'm going to rip into him mercilessly if and when he goes.
Even if he is going who just doesn't rock up?
He's at a point where he actually should be doing full training / getting prepared to play.

I've not heard of something like this before.

02-08-2024, 09:00 AM
Even if he is going who just doesn't rock up?
He's at a point where he actually should be doing full training / getting prepared to play.

I've not heard of something like this before.

Could quite honestly be a mutual thing?

Maybe the club doesn?t want to risk the trade deal if he hurts himself at training. And the playing group may prefer to be without a guy that is committed elsewhere.

02-08-2024, 09:09 AM

Maybe the club doesn?t want to risk the trade deal if he hurts himself at training. And the playing group may prefer to be without a guy that is committed elsewhere. There is never an issue in other sports like NRL/EPL when clubs know a player is leaving. If he is training by himself there is still the chance he can get injured. Inconvenience him so he has to come into the club to earn his coin.

Something not quite right with this arrangement.

02-08-2024, 09:33 AM

Maybe the club doesn?t want to risk the trade deal if he hurts himself at training. And the playing group may prefer to be without a guy that is committed elsewhere.

Quite possible that it's best for all concerned but surely Johnson would be aware of it if that was the case.

02-08-2024, 09:38 AM

I think reading between the lines the club actually doesn't know what he is doing. Which I guess is Bailey's right to do however it's clear they are getting frustrated.

I think they would want him to play finals if available, or at least be prepared and ready with some VFL behind him.

02-08-2024, 09:59 AM
I think reading between the lines the club actually doesn't know what he is doing. Which I guess is Bailey's right to do however it's clear they are getting frustrated.

I think they would want him to play finals if available, or at least be prepared and ready with some VFL behind him.

I don't agree GG. He is employed by the club and should adhere to club rules - I don't care if he is leaving or not. He needs to show up and do his recovery per the Footy Department rules. Who the **** does this bloke think he is.

02-08-2024, 10:53 AM
I don't agree GG. He is employed by the club and should adhere to club rules - I don't care if he is leaving or not. He needs to show up and do his recovery per the Footy Department rules. Who the **** does this bloke think he is.

Oh - I meant regarding his contract renewal. I agree absolutely regarding your point.

02-08-2024, 11:06 AM
So what do we get? If he signs with Geelong or Hawthorn what compensation (if any) do we get? Does it have to be a trade? If so, what does a player of his ilk command in a trade?

02-08-2024, 11:17 AM
Bite the bullet and pay him out as he taking the pi** now. I'm sure the players don't have too much respect for him.

What professional sportsman doesn't try and play finals.

Great point. The fact is tho he has some value, he should also see this himself. We should have him doing the medical room updates every week and feinting the media on game day. All Bevo needs to say is, it?s up to Bailey what he does. We put a contract in front of him and he has yet to commit either way.

Everyone knows he is gone and maybe he being a little uncomfortable and some shit sticking to his manager would be a nice change.

02-08-2024, 11:53 AM
There's no suggestion he's not been turning up if the club asks him right?

02-08-2024, 11:59 AM
Is he even going to meetings? He certainly wasn't in any of the footage from the Doug Reynolds 54 premiership player meeting.

It's crap from him, and crap from the club for letting it happen with seemingly no punishment.

The only way it is acceptable is if the club had a conversation with him and he confirmed he was leaving, so we said we don't want you to risk your rehab and reduce your value. But I doubt that conversation has happened.

02-08-2024, 12:25 PM
So what do we get? If he signs with Geelong or Hawthorn what compensation (if any) do we get? Does it have to be a trade? If so, what does a player of his ilk command in a trade?

To me if all things were equal then we should get a top 10 pick or if that can't be achieved a first and second rounder and we would probably add a 3rd rounder to that negotiation.
Most likely will just get a first rounder.

02-08-2024, 12:56 PM
Oh - I meant regarding his contract renewal. I agree absolutely regarding your point.

Sorry GG, I misunderstood

02-08-2024, 01:02 PM
Not that he cares but I've lost respect for him to the point where I'd rather he goes. He's coming across as pretty selfish and self-absorbed, which to be fair, we've kinda known all along.

Not being part of training and special sessions (i.e. Ad's 250th) reflects very poorly on him.

But hey, how 'bout another new flavour of vodka and some more IG snaps about how much he misses footy rite!?

I hope we give him a genuine bake once the trade is done publicly.

02-08-2024, 01:08 PM
Great point. The fact is tho he has some value, he should also see this himself. We should have him doing the medical room updates every week and feinting the media on game day.

...you can't do that though. The amount of time players can be used in these roles is controlled by the PA.

Now - you would think if Bailey was 'All In' he would have gone to the club and said:

"Hey - since I can't play I'm happy to waive that clause and do the following tasks for you each week...", but he either hasn't done that or he has and the response was "Nah mate - you're all good. Focus on your rehab...".

Angak
02-08-2024, 01:46 PM
What type of trade compensation are we looking at if we trade Baz to Geelong?

Geelong's first pick is likely to be in-between 12-18. One mid first-round pick is nowhere near enough. Tim Taranto fetched 2 x first rounders. Jacob Hopper was similar. Someone like Dan Houston who is 27 and plays a halfback role would require 2 firsts for Melbourne to prize him away from Port.

If we only get one mid-first-rounder for a 23 year old explosive midfielder who covers the ground at an elite level it would be akin to daylight robbery.

02-08-2024, 03:51 PM

Geelong's first pick is likely to be in-between 12-18. One mid first-round pick is nowhere near enough. Tim Taranto fetched 2 x first rounders. Jacob Hopper was similar. Someone like Dan Houston who is 27 and plays a halfback role would require 2 firsts for Melbourne to prize him away from Port.

If we only get one mid-first-rounder for a 23 year old explosive midfielder who covers the ground at an elite level it would be akin to daylight robbery.

Yeh I think we should be looking for equivalent to a top 8 pick. He was pick 6, has shown he was absolutely worth pick 6, and the examples you gave have set the market value imo.

So it's either a high pick, or two later firsts with significant value.

Without knowing anything about the draft forecast, I'd love for us to get two picks and bring in two young mids.

Can Bar
02-08-2024, 04:11 PM
If Baz Goes to the Cats, we need to some how sprinkle fairy dust on what we receive and try to get Zac Butters. Over to you Sammy

02-08-2024, 04:15 PM
If Baz Goes to the Cats, we need to some how sprinkle fairy dust on what we receive and try to get Zac Butters. Over to you Sammy

I can't believe you haven't already heard the good news....

02-08-2024, 10:40 PM

I think their first and swapping their F1 for our F2 is where it probably lands. His ACL takes some value off anything way higher I think.

02-08-2024, 11:57 PM
Bailey wants to leave this team? Best facilities in the league? A squad that looks like it can challenge for number of years?

Why?

03-08-2024, 12:47 AM
Brand Bailey.

03-08-2024, 01:34 AM
Has anyone thought about possibility if Smith does turn up at WO it might end up a media circus, detracting from newsworthy events like Adz 250th? I know he is very likely gone but geez we’re quick to dump on players sometimes.

Aware of Brad Johnson publicly saying he has tried to call Smith with no response. I love Johnno but I’m not sure that’s a great tactic if we want him to stay. If Garcia and Smith both leave that’s not good, so hope we keep one and preferably both.

Whenever I’ve seen him at training he has been great with fans, especially kids.

I’m so excited with how team is performing I cannot be bothered trying to second guess Smith’s reasons for not being more visible. Up until reasonably recently he was supporting team at games, including at some VFL games.

If he is going elsewhere let’s hope we obtain a good pick for him and I’d rather him not play for us this year if is going or hasn’t decided yet as another serious injury is horrible for both him and our club.

03-08-2024, 01:39 AM
To me if all things were equal then we should get a top 10 pick or if that can't be achieved a first and second rounder and we would probably add a 3rd rounder to that negotiation.
Most likely will just get a first rounder.

Thanks G

03-08-2024, 09:28 AM
If Smith was right to go come finals would you play him? Despite putting the miles in the legs he would match fit underdone and who do you kick out as I think the current players in his position are playing their roles very well.
So whether he stays or goes I don't think he would get a game at this stage.

03-08-2024, 10:00 AM
If Smith was right to go come finals would you play him? Despite putting the miles in the legs he would match fit underdone and who do you kick out as I think the current players in his position are playing their roles very well.
So whether he stays or goes I don't think he would get a game at this stage.

Agree, although if he miraculously re-signed within next week or two & medicos gave him all clear and he played some blinders in VFL….lots of ifs & close to 100% unlikely. Plus the increased media attention might be a club distraction (although I think we’d cope ok).

Pleather Sole
03-08-2024, 11:51 AM
Has anyone thought about possibility if Smith does turn up at WO it might end up a media circus, detracting from newsworthy events like Adz 250th? I know he is very likely gone but geez we’re quick to dump on players sometimes.

Aware of Brad Johnson publicly saying he has tried to call Smith with no response. I love Johnno but I’m not sure that’s a great tactic if we want him to stay. If Garcia and Smith both leave that’s not good, so hope we keep one and preferably both.

Whenever I’ve seen him at training he has been great with fans, especially kids.

I’m so excited with how team is performing I cannot be bothered trying to second guess Smith’s reasons for not being more visible. Up until reasonably recently he was supporting team at games, including at some VFL games.

If he is going elsewhere let’s hope we obtain a good pick for him and I’d rather him not play for us this year if is going or hasn’t decided yet as another serious injury is horrible for both him and our club.

This where Brad Johnson's conflict of interest is bold. Is he calling Baz as a goalkicking 'consultant' or a media pundit? It seems like both and its Johnno using his trusted position for a story. Baz has good reason not to answer Johnno's calls if they're going to be used as fodder. The breach of ethics is obvious. Are all the other Dogs players gonna be wary of Johnno's calls? Probably no because they're not in Smith's position but it might make some of them 2nd guess Brad's intentions.

I think the club needs to issue a 'please explain' to Johnno, make sure the rules around his privileged access are clear.

03-08-2024, 11:58 AM
Brad Johnson didn?t say he called Bailey Smith and his call to Baz went unanswered. He made a reference to making some calls (in the context of Smith?s contract) and he hasn?t had a response yet. I took it as he tried to get some info via his contacts at the club.

03-08-2024, 12:05 PM
Brad Johnson didn?t say he called Bailey Smith and his call to Baz went unanswered. He made a reference to making some calls (in the context of Smith?s contract) and he hasn?t had a response yet. I took it as he tried to get some info via his contacts at the club.

Yep. Seems fairly clear to me that is the chain of events.

Pleather Sole
03-08-2024, 12:28 PM

That wasn't how it came across to me as I watched it, but I'm happy to watch it again to suss out what was actually said.
Johnno reporting on Bulldogs stuff is gonna be fuzzy. He needs to not misuse his position and trust.

Perhaps he didn't on this occasion but I'd like to know what the ground rules are for someone in a position of trust and privacy who is also a footy commentator.

03-08-2024, 02:45 PM
I’m getting unreasonably annoyed at this and am taking it personally that Baz would want to leave the club just when it’s turning fun again. Can’t figure out what I’m missing.

03-08-2024, 02:55 PM
I?m getting unreasonably annoyed at this and am taking it personally that Baz would want to leave the club just when it?s turning fun again. Can?t figure out what I?m missing.

Is it to do with being played out of position at various times last year, aka the reason we were given for Dunks leaving? (though obviously that had a lot to do with $$ as well) and instead of copping it graciously, cracking the sads?

03-08-2024, 03:05 PM
Has anyone been unlucky enough to see the last Bailey Smith product advert?

Some lynx equivalent deodorant spray - it is a tv add and he stars in it front and centre.

03-08-2024, 03:16 PM
Has anyone been unlucky enough to see the last Bailey Smith product advert?

Some lynx equivalent deodorant spray - it is a tv add and he stars in it front and centre.

Just saw it… He’s not far off following David Brent.

03-08-2024, 03:18 PM
Just saw it… He’s not far off following David Brent.

By years end he would’ve overtaken David Brent.

03-08-2024, 03:27 PM
By years end he would’ve overtaken David Brent.

I think these constant shitty ads and shopping centre visits (GP attendance with the brother of Margot Robbie!) are quickly showing his appeal is going to quickly fall away. He’s just taking cheques and good luck to him, but his brand ain’t what he thinks it is. If the move is about expanding his brand, I’ve got some bad news for him. Beyond the ad he’s now starring in.

03-08-2024, 09:58 PM
I think these constant shitty ads and shopping centre visits (GP attendance with the brother of Margot Robbie!) are quickly showing his appeal is going to quickly fall away. He’s just taking cheques and good luck to him, but his brand ain’t what he thinks it is. If the move is about expanding his brand, I’ve got some bad news for him. Beyond the ad he’s now starring in.

Great point on over saturation. The products are becoming more and more tacky.

04-08-2024, 07:56 AM
Great point on over saturation. The products are becoming more and more tacky.

I think he will end up a more financially secure (because of the pay this generation), but far less entertaining version of Warwick Capper. Doing voicemail records for $100 and leaking porn tapes for attention in retirement. But without the hit music either.

(I only take what’s mine)

04-08-2024, 09:35 AM
Took my boy out to WO after his soccer game yesterday, rehab group had a decent session on the ground…..no Baz

Then saw Baz doing almost the same drills by himself somewhere random on insta.

He’s gone

Oh, and WO is amazing, can’t believe it’s the same place as the clogged toilets at the Geelong Rd end of my youth

04-08-2024, 04:08 PM
Bailey is one of us until he's not. And without sounding brutal he's not relevant to our on field fortunes in 2024, which TBH is all I'm focused on right now.

04-08-2024, 04:18 PM
Bailey is one of us until he's not. And without sounding brutal he's not relevant to our on field fortunes in 2024, which TBH is all I'm focused on right now.

I agree but it’s kinda at that point now where it’s so weird that I need it explained to me for my own sanity. My man is out here getting his nipples twisted by an NRL player on national television ffs.

04-08-2024, 04:20 PM

I hate these distractions with players not signing and not saying anything

04-08-2024, 08:04 PM
Wouldn?t it be sweet at the end of September, Baz is kicking himself for not putting the effort in to get kit and back into the side and being part of our 2024 premiership. Then he goes to Geelong and the next 6 years he watched the Bont take the team to back to back flags. Bont becomes the greatest Bulldog ever, Bevo the coaching messiah and he missed it all.

That?s how you get clicks and chicks Baz

Uninformed
04-08-2024, 08:20 PM
Baz connecting with the players, coaches and club and not just going for the best commercial offer, then he stays. If not he goes.

Nature of the game. If he is not that connected then better to move on. The club will find a way to improve given recent past performance.

05-08-2024, 11:13 AM
By years end he would?ve overtaken David Brent.
Live fast, die old

05-08-2024, 11:15 AM
I agree but it?s kinda at that point now where it?s so weird that I need it explained to me for my own sanity. My man is out here getting his nipples twisted by an NRL player on national television ffs.
Yeah I totally get the curiosity. Maybe he and his management are waiting to see how the season plays out, as things on-field appear to be changing rapidly in real time.

06-08-2024, 11:57 AM
Yeah I totally get the curiosity. Maybe he and his management are waiting to see how the season plays out, as things on-field appear to be changing rapidly in real time. If he had any intention of staying he would be going all out to play finals. He would have signed the 2 year deal and rolling the dice. 9 months is the max these days with ACL's (See McStay/Ashcroft). Both those guys couldn't get back quick enough. Our man though makes a guest appearence at the club every so often.

06-08-2024, 12:01 PM
If he had any intention of staying he would be going all out to play finals. He would have signed the 2 year deal and rolling the dice. 9 months is the max these days with ACL's (See McStay/Ashcroft). Both those guys couldn't get back quick enough. Our man though makes a guest appearence at the club every so often.

He did the ACL in December, so I guess his 9 months almost up

06-08-2024, 12:02 PM
When Ryan Griffin left the world was ending, it didn't and it won't now. Smith is gone and the Dogs move on and up.

06-08-2024, 01:10 PM
If i'm Bailey Smith even if i'm wanting out, considering the team is flying i'm getting myself ready to play ASAP and see if i can snag a flag to help the team but also for himself.

07-08-2024, 05:21 AM
If i'm Bailey Smith even if i'm wanting out, considering the team is flying i'm getting myself ready to play ASAP and see if i can snag a flag to help the team but also for himself.

Few posts on other forums claiming the club has outright told him he isn't playing this year.

Makes sense, if he came back and got injured his value would be nil, and honestly doubt he could build up his fitness base in time to really have an impact anyway.

If he was signed I'd feel different but at this point, protect the trade asset at all costs.

07-08-2024, 06:07 AM
Few posts on other forums claiming the club has outright told him he isn't playing this year.

Makes sense, if he came back and got injured his value would be nil, and honestly doubt he could build up his fitness base in time to really have an impact anyway.

If he was signed I'd feel different but at this point, protect the trade asset at all costs.

Couldn’t agree more.

07-08-2024, 09:38 AM

There was an article 2 weeks ago suggesting this:

Bailey Smith not expected to return for possible Bulldogs finals charge (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/bailey-smith-not-expected-to-return-possible-bulldogs-finals-charge/news-story/018393ec609e3bcf5aecf4bbbee3c4e2)

Western Bulldogs? jet ball-winner Bailey Smith is unlikely to make a return to playing this season even if the club makes a deep run into September.

The man who appears headed for a trade to Geelong at season?s end is almost eight months into his recovery from a heartbreaking ACL tear suffered in mid-December last year.

While Collingwood?s Dan McStay has made his comeback to AFL level off only one VFL game, Smith is not physically recovered enough to step back onto the field.

ACL victims are typically ready after nine months out of the game, but even if the Bulldogs continued their hot form in September, Smith is unlikely to be risked as he prepares to change clubs.

Smith would command a long and lucrative contract at Geelong and would help provide a quality injection into a midfield brigade which needs to be strengthened.

But the club looks unlikely to risk a key trade asset in the run home and instead bank on its current senior playmakers to lead its push into the eight and finals if they make it.

Instead, Smith, who went overseas on a short break last month, could set himself for a major training block in the off-season in preparation for a fresh start after six years at the kennel.

Smith, 24, would command a first-round draft pick from Geelong (currently pick No. 13) which the Bulldogs could then on-trade to West Coast if they are successful for Eagles? defender Tom Barrass.

07-08-2024, 01:34 PM

Yeah i was seeing it from Baz's perspective, but i can understand the club taking that stance given the circumstances around getting a deal done, which in itself basically say's he is 100000% gone which i guess most of us probably realize anyway.

As far as fitness goes, if there was one player though it would be Baz imo, he's never had an issue with staying fit and could only need a couple of VFL games.

07-08-2024, 02:16 PM
Yeah i was seeing it from Baz's perspective, but i can understand the club taking that stance given the circumstances around getting a deal done, which in itself basically say's he is 100000% gone which i guess most of us probably realize anyway.

As far as fitness goes, if there was one player though it would be Baz imo, he's never had an issue with staying fit and could only need a couple of VFL games.

He is employed by us, and if he is ready and in form, he should play. End of story.

07-08-2024, 02:36 PM
He is employed by us, and if he is ready and in form, he should play. End of story.

OK everyone. No more discussion on it.

07-08-2024, 02:55 PM
OK everyone. No more discussion on it.

No, this is only my opinion

07-08-2024, 03:21 PM

Where would he play and who would he replace?

I'm not sure there's a clear answer to those questions, and that he's that much better than whoever you choose right now. So, not sure that there's real upside in risking re-injury and tanking any trade value.

He's employed by us and is of value to us. I want him to stay, but if he's not committed yet, he probably isn't staying - so why essentially risk a first round pick (which is what we'll get for him) to get a couple of matches out of him this season? I can't seem him being the difference maker in a big final (and yes, I do remember 2021).

07-08-2024, 03:40 PM
If he came back this year there is no way he would be at his best and i wouldn't replace anyone with him.
If he does his knee again we get nothing for him, he's as good as worthless.

Instead his value right now is based on the myth that he's a good player from years passed.

Let's trade him for first round pick, if Geelong want to play hard ball, then there is Hawthorn as well, so they will have to.

07-08-2024, 04:01 PM
Where would he play and who would he replace?.

Garcia

not sure that there's real upside in risking re-injury

I don't get people talking about risking injury? He should only play if he is passed fit and in form with a couple of games? There is risk in playing any players and should not be a consideration.

I can't seem him being the difference maker in a big final (and yes, I do remember 2021).

If we can get a Premiership, why not - he is another mid we can use

07-08-2024, 07:34 PM
Unless he is a horribly toxic influence (which I'm not discounting), and even accepting that he will definitely not be playing, he should be completing training with the rest of the playing group/rehab group.

He posted a video of him doing ball work, change of direction/agility, high speed activities. It's f***ing ridiculous that he's not doing that with his teammates when he's still getting paid.

07-08-2024, 09:21 PM
Unless he is a horribly toxic influence (which I'm not discounting), and even accepting that he will definitely not be playing, he should be completing training with the rest of the playing group/rehab group.

He posted a video of him doing ball work, change of direction/agility, high speed activities. It's f***ing ridiculous that he's not doing that with his teammates when he's still getting paid.
agree

08-08-2024, 06:46 AM
I don't get people talking about risking injury? He should only play if he is passed fit and in form with a couple of games? There is risk in playing any players and should not be a consideration.

No other players are coming off a knee and wanting to be traded (and worth a good pick). The downside is big with him.

16-08-2024, 09:43 AM
Bevo on Bailey Smith.

"When a player has not told you that they are staying, as time goes on your confidence levels begin to wane"

"I have got a great relationship with Bailey, it is a not concern of mine that I need to fix something that isn't an issue. But there is always some levers you can pull, the intentions and what the possibilities are for the player, they can never be black and white for the club they are playing at as we are not privy to the conversations that are going on".

Sounded like he has not completely given up that he will leave, but is resigned to the fact that it will most likely happen.

16-08-2024, 10:02 AM
Bevo on Bailey Smith.

"When a player has not told you that they are staying, as time goes on your confidence levels begin to wane"

"I have got a great relationship with Bailey, it is a not concern of mine that I need to fix something that isn't an issue. But there is always some levers you can pull, the intentions and what the possibilities are for the player, they can never be black and white for the club they are playing at as we are not privy to the conversations that are going on".

Sounded like he has not completely given up that he will leave, but is resigned to the fact that it will most likely happen.

Its farcical to think he isnt.

Any kind of contract negotiation (non football included) if you table a contract and the other party says "we will get back to you in a year" means they are not signing it. There is ZERO reason for bailey smith to not be negotiating and signing if he has any intention of staying.

I think he's mad to not sign and be a part of what our list looks like.

16-08-2024, 10:04 AM
Bevo on Bailey Smith.

Previously Bevo has said he doesn't interfere with negotiations and leaves it up to Power. Maybe if he wants Smith to stay, he should meet him for a coffee.

16-08-2024, 10:09 AM
Bro it’s round 23 our season is on the line every week and he’s on the damn Gold Coast. He’s gone and he’s a terrible teammate.

16-08-2024, 10:26 AM
I don't think there's even 1% of Bailey that wants to stay.

It's been said Liam Jones is a true Bulldog. Well, Bailey Smith is the exact opposite. He just never was a fit for our club.

Of the 4 major contract signings, Bailey was always at the bottom of the pecking order for me. He was the one I was happy to let go. Power has done a great job. Now it's time to convert the Smith capital into something more valuable to US.

16-08-2024, 10:42 AM
Bro it’s round 23 our season is on the line every week and he’s on the damn Gold Coast. He’s gone and he’s a terrible teammate.

It?s a horrible look that he?s pretty much deserted his teammates.

It?s all about brand Bailey.

16-08-2024, 10:42 AM
I don't think there's even 1% of Bailey that wants to stay.

It's been said Liam Jones is a true Bulldog. Well, Bailey Smith is the exact opposite. He just never was a fit for our club.

Of the 4 major contract signings, Bailey was always at the bottom of the pecking order for me. He was the one I was happy to let go. Power has done a great job. Now it's time to convert the Smith capital into something more valuable to US.
If you made up a name for a bulldog player it would be Bailey Smith. Now it’s Riley Williams

16-08-2024, 10:47 AM
It's a sad situation with Bailey.

If you were Geelong, would you be thinking this guy may not be a great fit for our team? I mean he's not exactly an endearing type unless you're a teenager.

Interesting that Bevo commented at all, that says a lot to me about the frustration levels internally.

16-08-2024, 10:49 AM
It's a sad situation with Bailey.

If you were Geelong, would you be thinking this guy may not be a great fit for our team? I mean he's not exactly an endearing type unless you're a teenager.

Interesting that Bevo commented at all, that says a lot to me about the frustration levels internally.

He was asked a question on Bailey in the press Conference this morning and felt obliged to answer

16-08-2024, 10:53 AM
Do we think his year out has had any influence in his decision to leave?

I.e. would it be different if he was playing?

16-08-2024, 10:54 AM

Good question and hard to answer. He seems like a person that is hard to gauge what he wants.

16-08-2024, 10:57 AM
He was asked a question on Bailey in the press Conference this morning and felt obliged to answer

Yes but he's been around long enough to bat those away easily. By answering it, he wanted to get a message across.

16-08-2024, 10:57 AM

I don't think so.

16-08-2024, 11:20 AM
From the outside looking in we've been very supportive of Bailey so for him to jump and potentially leave is pretty poor form if you ask me.

16-08-2024, 12:50 PM
From what I've been told by an eye witness to this, Bailey was at the VFL game Footscray vs Carlton on 13th July. Quite a few of our senior players were there as they took the opportunity to sit in the new facilities before they were fully open. Bevo took Bailey aside in the rooms and they were deep in one on one for considerable time.

To my knowledge, Bailey hasn't made any significant return visit to the club since then.

My take is that everyone knows what's going on and no-one wants it as a distraction. Double down that he (and we) don't want an additional injury that will impact his current value, he's best to keep his distance.

16-08-2024, 02:06 PM
From what I've been told by an eye witness to this, Bailey was at the VFL game Footscray vs Carlton on 13th July. Quite a few of our senior players were there as they took the opportunity to sit in the new facilities before they were fully open. Bevo took Bailey aside in the rooms and they were deep in one on one for considerable time.

To my knowledge, Bailey hasn't made any significant return visit to the club since then.

My take is that everyone knows what's going on and no-one wants it as a distraction. Double down that he (and we) don't want an additional injury that will impact his current value, he's best to keep his distance.

I know his 99.9% leaving but he really cannot win can he? If he says his going he’ll be lambasted. If he says nothing media just keeps running with it and all kinds of nonsense is thrown at him. Personally I think he has been an exciting player with us and I’m sorry to see him go. He was definitely supporting vfl & likely afl team earlier this year and for whatever reason (media circus, Bevo having a word, manager advice etc) he has wisely kept his distance.

He is making hay while sun shines with his promos - again good luck to him as footy injuries could cruel and shorten his career further and his using his looks, popularity whilst he can. I don’t begrudge him that.

He was always giving of his time to fans and kids and quite approachable at sessions, so he seems like a good bloke.

Good luck to Bailey except when he plays us.

16-08-2024, 07:41 PM
I know his 99.9% leaving but he really cannot win can he? If he says his going he?ll be lambasted. If he says nothing media just keeps running with it and all kinds of nonsense is thrown at him. Personally I think he has been an exciting player with us and I?m sorry to see him go. He was definitely supporting vfl & likely afl team earlier this year and for whatever reason (media circus, Bevo having a word, manager advice etc) he has wisely kept his distance.

He is making hay while sun shines with his promos - again good luck to him as footy injuries could cruel and shorten his career further and his using his looks, popularity whilst he can. I don?t begrudge him that.

He was always giving of his time to fans and kids and quite approachable at sessions, so he seems like a good bloke.

Good luck to Bailey except when he plays us. He made absolutely no attempt to play this year as per his management request at the risk of harming his new contract. If he was staying he would have signed a 2 year deal and have tried every thing to get himself right for Finals. Nine months is maximum to return. He should be up and about this week. I think it is a crap act - do your rehab and get paid for it and then leave. Don't wish him much success at all.

16-08-2024, 09:15 PM
He made absolutely no attempt to play this year as per his management request at the risk of harming his new contract. If he was staying he would have signed a 2 year deal and have tried every thing to get himself right for Finals. Nine months is maximum to return. He should be up and about this week. I think it is a crap act - do your rehab and get paid for it and then leave. Don't wish him much success at all.

Agree the marketing machine could have had him front and centre and really used him for membership, promos, photo shoots and even team moral. But no stuff it. Baileys gone and couldn?t careless about anyone but himself

16-08-2024, 11:08 PM
I hope he goes to Essendon.

16-08-2024, 11:11 PM
I know his 99.9% leaving but he really cannot win can he? If he says his going he’ll be lambasted. If he says nothing media just keeps running with it and all kinds of nonsense is thrown at him. Personally I think he has been an exciting player with us and I’m sorry to see him go. He was definitely supporting vfl & likely afl team earlier this year and for whatever reason (media circus, Bevo having a word, manager advice etc) he has wisely kept his distance.

He is making hay while sun shines with his promos - again good luck to him as footy injuries could cruel and shorten his career further and his using his looks, popularity whilst he can. I don’t begrudge him that.

Good luck to Bailey except when he plays us.

All the things you say and all the things others are saying are most likely true, by varying degrees at different times. People are complex.

16-08-2024, 11:14 PM
It may be that he considers his football career (with anyone) as small potatoes compared with the potential of his social media future. He might fancy ending up the Oz version of the Kardashians.

16-08-2024, 11:18 PM
It may be that he considers his football career (with anyone) as small potatoes compared with the potential of his social media future. He might fancy ending up the Oz version of the Kardashians.

He's our very own Hawk Tuah Girl. It's just the US churns through its social media stars a lot quicker than we do.

17-08-2024, 09:23 AM

Without Footy, I think he will be a no body

17-08-2024, 10:07 AM

It still shits me more than it reasonably should that we've been deprived of the schadenfreude of granting Dunkley his original wish.

17-08-2024, 10:25 AM
Without Footy, I think he will be a no body

While his footy profile has opened doors for him I think he's also got an exciting future away from football at least for a few years.

17-08-2024, 02:11 PM
I actually think St Kilda should throw the kitchen sink at him.
Gets all the midfield minutes he wants, gets more cash (St Kilda have loads of space and are desperate for marketability) and St Kilda have the pick(s) to get a deal done pretty easily.

17-08-2024, 02:30 PM
Gets all the midfield minutes he wants, gets more cash (St Kilda have loads of space and are desperate for marketability) and St Kilda have the pick(s) to get a deal done pretty easily.

Yeah, but can you seriously see Smith at St.Kilda?

17-08-2024, 02:37 PM
I think we want Bailey to stay as much as he wants to stay. From all reports we only offered a 2 year contract which this day and age isn't screaming that we are desperate for him to stay.

We don't have a first round pick this year and he is our ticket back into the first round. It was either English or Smith that get us a first round pick.

Personally I am gutted that we will more than likely lose yet another good player. He has attributes that we could use. With our aging midfield he'd be handy to have around. With the reports that that we didn't overpay for English to stay, I'd be happy if we upped our offer. But in saying that I don't see him wearing the RWB next year.

17-08-2024, 03:13 PM
I hope Smith goes to St Kilda because they’ll overpay for him at the trade table and if their talent scouts have ID’d him it means that he’ll suck.

18-08-2024, 02:25 PM
Yeah, but can you seriously see Smith at St.Kilda?
I can see him wherever the dollars say he'll be

19-08-2024, 01:56 PM
FWIW Smith is rumoured to have had a medical with the Suns.

19-08-2024, 01:57 PM
He would also be the natural heir to Trevor Barker and Pretty Boy Roberts as the King of the Saints Social Club Disco

19-08-2024, 02:00 PM

Yeah, Gold Coast would suit him

19-08-2024, 02:07 PM
That would be perfect yeah go there Bailey

19-08-2024, 02:10 PM
That would be perfect yeah go there Bailey

Two first rounders and he is theirs

19-08-2024, 02:14 PM
Two first rounders and he is theirs

Straight swap for Rowell (who must have a family reason to come back to Melbourne Surely):cool:

19-08-2024, 02:25 PM
Bailey on the Gold Coast.

Career ending move.

19-08-2024, 02:28 PM
Oh that would be very good we could get our pick back.

Career ending move.
May as well do the full Tony Montana and go out in a blaze of glory

Career ending move.
Players look out.

19-08-2024, 02:34 PM
Where's BT? We need sensible trade scenarios. All I can come up with is Rowell plus 3 firsts because Bailey is so awesome and I think it's fair.

Don't the suns have a few more highly touted academy players this year? They'll need points for them.

19-08-2024, 02:48 PM
If this all ends with us getting our first back then consider me whelmed.

19-08-2024, 02:52 PM
If this all ends with us getting our first back then consider me whelmed.
Like Jemaine and Bret from Flight of the Conchords being 'vincible'

19-08-2024, 02:54 PM
Like Jemaine and Bret from Flight of the Conchords being 'vincible'
The scene when he wakes up with the Aussie girl. One of the great shows.

19-08-2024, 03:05 PM

I'd be very surprised but it would be a bit interesting if we got our first round pick back off them for a Baz to GC trade. Perhaps we could also get a 3rd rounder off them but I suspect they're chasing points this year. They will want to get ahead of when the bids come for Leonardo Lombard and Lachlan Gulbin. There might be another one in the mix as well.

I think it's very unlikely that he moves interstate.

GCS have Daniel Rioli on their radar as well. I think this rumour isn't accurate.

19-08-2024, 03:08 PM
The scene when he wakes up with the Aussie girl. One of the great shows.
https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2o4mfe

For the unitiated.

19-08-2024, 03:17 PM
Where's BT? We need sensible trade scenarios. All I can come up with is Rowell plus 3 firsts because Bailey is so awesome and I think it's fair.

Don't the suns have a few more highly touted academy players this year? They'll need points for them.

Well they need to trade out (by the looks of their academy kid) our pick and the end of First Round (tied to North). So they’d part with them happily.

I’d say that’s not enough. That could wind up being maybe say 15 & 23.

If they added in their first which could shuffle to 8. I’d give them our F1 & our third (tied to them) after trying to hand them our second and third this year.

Then it’s say 8, 15 & 23 (after shuffling in the order) for Smith, 45 & F1.

Dogs: 8, 15, 23 - for - F1, 45 & Smith
Suns: Smith, Lombard (Academy) in Top 10 and two Firsts next year - For 8, 15 & 23

Dogs Draft Pick Hand: 8, 15, 23 & 33

Yes, the Suns are paying absolutely top dollar. But if the want to attract a big name and the AFEL want his brand up there. Then they pay it, with the AFEL giving him ambassador cash to help the Suns cap out.

19-08-2024, 03:19 PM
It would be a bit interesting if we got our first round pick back off them for a Baz to GC trade. Perhaps we could also get a 3rd rounder off them.

They need to potentially trade their firsts out for Lombard if the phantoms are right. Add in our F1 and some points for them this year and I think it balances out.

Ironically, it’s almost a mirror of our trade with them last year. A pick 6 midfielder for three first rounders with points/picks going back.

19-08-2024, 03:23 PM
A simpler way of saying it:

(1) Our first next year, to get our first back this year.
(2) Pick 8 and upgrade from pick 45 into pick 23 for Smith.

19-08-2024, 03:33 PM
Oh that would be very good we could get our pick back.

https://youtu.be/QT1Tl6npLic?si=xZXGHeOiUGbN5E30

19-08-2024, 03:35 PM
A simpler way of saying it:

(1) Our first next year, to get our first back this year.
(2) Pick 8 and upgrade from pick 45 into pick 23 for Smith.

In simple terms for me - Smith was a pick 6 as I recall. I want at minimum -pick 6 back and another first rounder.

19-08-2024, 03:45 PM
In simple terms for me - Smith was a pick 6 as I recall. I want at minimum -pick 6 back and another first rounder.

That’s exactly/pretty much what that deal is their pick 6 which will slide/shuffle into 8 (& pick 23 is the North end of first round pick). We hand them a third rounder as part of getting back our first for our F1.

19-08-2024, 03:46 PM
That’s exactly/pretty much what that deal is their pick 6 which will slide/shuffle into 8 (& pick 23 is the North end of first round pick). We hand them a third rounder as part of getting back our first for our F1.

Thanks BT, I get confused with all this sometimes. Lucky you are around to explain it.

19-08-2024, 04:17 PM
https://youtu.be/QT1Tl6npLic?si=xZXGHeOiUGbN5E30

Ha -who's our David Putney?

Alex Sexton god damn it.

19-08-2024, 04:21 PM

No chance that happens.

If we get pick 6 we walk away with a massive smile.

Depends on who we trade with unfortunately.

If he chooses GC then he's probably done us a massive favour.

19-08-2024, 04:24 PM

Career ending move.
Nah - he'd get an extra "ambassador payment" from the AFL and become the first ever $2m player in the competition's history.

Between Witts/Moyle and Miller, Rowell, Anderson & Flanders have (on paper) the best midfield in the comp. No idea if they'd actually do any damage with it though

19-08-2024, 04:25 PM
No chance that happens.

He is worth more than that based on other players traded over the years.

19-08-2024, 04:25 PM
No chance that happens.

Gold Coast would be a dead set dream. It makes a lot of sense for many reasons, if winning at footy isn’t a big priority for Baz. Not sure I believe it just yet.

19-08-2024, 04:26 PM

Like Dunkley the best and fairest v a guy with an ACL? :) :cool:

19-08-2024, 04:36 PM
Gold Coast will try and get a pick in before Lombard though, who should get a bid around the pick 10 mark.
I'd imagine their current pick 10 (11 after an Ashcroft bid) forms their first offer and we ask for picks to add to that.

If Rioli nominates Gold Coast as well, that makes things tough

19-08-2024, 04:54 PM
Since Warrick Capper there has not been a more Gold Coast player in looks than Bailey Smith.

19-08-2024, 04:55 PM
Since Warrick Capper there has not been a more Gold Coast player in looks than Bailey Smith.
I actually thought Jeremy Sharp was the official club mascot before he got a hair cut and was traded to Freo.

19-08-2024, 04:56 PM
I actually thought Jeremy Sharp was the official club mascot before he got a hair cut and was traded to Freo.

I forgot about Jeremy Sharp, Brandon Ellis also sprung to mind.

19-08-2024, 05:03 PM
Gold Coast will try and get a pick in before Lombard though, who should get a bid around the pick 10 mark.
I'd imagine their current pick 10 (11 after an Ashcroft bid) forms their first offer and we ask for picks to add to that.

If Rioli nominates Gold Coast as well, that makes things tough

They can manage that with their picks. They have 4 first rounders and can take Lombard on points. Say:

Smith, Picks 33 & 45: GCS & North compo 1sts 2024, Pick 30
Rioli, 30 & 39: 2024 Dogs & GCS F1, Pick 25

Pick 33, 34 & 39 used to buy Lombard. 45 & 46 to Draft. (Or live trade around)

That?s Smith, Rioli & Lombard. At least two 3rd round picks this year. All but their first next year. Who knows, maybe they get an F1 if they move a talented player on.

Us: Say Pick 8, 20 & 30 - for - Smith, 33 & 45

The math is harder for GCS, if god forbid, they get two big fish on the hook. But they can do it, they just need to pay up.

19-08-2024, 05:57 PM
There has been some talk of Lukosius returning to Adelaide that could play a part.

19-08-2024, 06:07 PM
There has been some talk of Lukosius returning to Adelaide that could play a part.

Houston leaving for the asking price of two firsts to a Vic team could give them more than enough currency if they want him.

You think Baz wants the cash and media attention on the GC over winning flag/s at virtually other club? This part I struggle with. I know it’s about Brand Baz and cash with him, but surely he wouldn’t mind winning too?

19-08-2024, 06:11 PM
Oh yeah that's happening. He's in the twos atm.

Crows are all over it.

19-08-2024, 06:13 PM

Lachie Weller says Hi.

19-08-2024, 06:15 PM
Lachie Weller says Hi.
Oh pick 2?

Oh. God it's Brayshaw.

19-08-2024, 07:21 PM

Where is this rumour from? It would be a much better result for us but everything I have read is that he's 99% locked to the Cats.

19-08-2024, 08:23 PM
Where is this rumour from? It would be a much better result for us but everything I have read is that he's 99% locked to the Cats.

Looking through BigFooty (as I figured DR might have seen it there first) the person who wrote it there first said

Bailey Smith has apparently had a medical at the Suns.

Don't have a source I can credit.

No idea if the poster is credible nor if the people who later 'confirmed' with their 'usual sources' are credible.

Would be good for us as Geelong will nickle and dime us trying to get him for a second rounder or something.

19-08-2024, 08:25 PM
Looking through BigFooty (as I figured DR might have seen it there first) the person who wrote it there first said

No idea if the poster is credible nor if the people who later 'confirmed' with their 'usual sources' are credible.

Would be good for us as Geelong will nickle and dime us trying to get him for a second rounder or something.
Sounds like it's made up.

19-08-2024, 08:32 PM
Sounds like it's made up.

The feedback I've had regarding Smith leaving us all indicates that he won't be moving interstate. One of his player sponsors is adamant that he will stay in Victoria.

19-08-2024, 08:34 PM
Ok, now for the million-dollar questions.

Would woofers like to keep Baz at Western Oval, and what would you give money wise to keep him?

19-08-2024, 08:38 PM

Would woofers like to keep Baz at Western Oval, and what would you give money wise to keep him?

Until recently I would have preferred that Smith would stay with us but given his heart isn't in it we should facilitate a trade and try and get a good deal.

19-08-2024, 08:40 PM

I would like him gone already.

19-08-2024, 08:44 PM
The feedback I've had regarding Smith leaving us all indicates that he won't be moving interstate. One of his player sponsors is adamant that he will stay in Victoria.
I've got a close source and it's always been Geelong.

19-08-2024, 08:47 PM

He's been out the door for a long time.

He's always thought he's better than a western suburbs team and sooking it up about playing HF showed his heart wasn't in it.
Shame he had such a promising start.

But now it's buh bye and let's hope we get something resembling parity for him.
A top ten pick would be ideal.

Very unlikely, but it depends on who he picks.
A first has to be involved.

19-08-2024, 09:05 PM
It sounds like Baz is as good as going to Geelong as Barrass is to the Hawks, and unfortunately we don't hold many cards with a trade due to the fact he's coming off the ACL (even though most players recover fine after doing one) and that he'll most likely only choose Geelong, as much as Sam Power can be a hard nut to negotiate with i can't really see us playing the walking him through to the PSD card, we just aren't that club.

From the outside it sounds like we want him out as much as he wants out, so i think our best bet is working closely with the Cats in some kind of deal involving a few clubs to satisfy all parties, whether it being swaps of picks or another player involved somehow.

19-08-2024, 09:07 PM
I've got a close source and it's always been Geelong.

Are you telling me that all those Hawks in the know posters on BF saying 'Smith asked for a trade to the Hawks in private and he's coming to the Hawks so it's either now or end of 24' were all talking shit? I can't believe that so you must be lying.

He's always thought he's better than a western suburbs team and sooking it up about playing HF showed his heart wasn't in it.
Shame he had such a promising start.

Pfft, not even in the same realm as Bont.