View Full Version : Welcome to the Bulldogs: Bailey Smith

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15]

15-10-2024, 11:14 AM
Not sure the Bulldogs Shop will get too many takers for these...

https://i.postimg.cc/bJjLrv3x/bs.png (https://postimages.org/)

Stick it to the indside of the toilet bowel so you can aim at it when you're taking a piss.

15-10-2024, 11:23 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GZ5Ad4Tb0AEmDOs?format=jpg&name=360x360

15-10-2024, 11:23 AM
Good time to test the badges for flammability.

Put it in the microwave with a friendly Bomber fan's membership card.

15-10-2024, 11:36 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GZ5Ad4Tb0AEmDOs?format=jpg&name=360x360

Old one or new?

15-10-2024, 11:44 AM
Old one or new?
Old - 2022

15-10-2024, 12:20 PM
On AFL site:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GZ5L2-xbMAA0e4n?format=jpg&name=900x900

15-10-2024, 12:25 PM
Oh no not the black mark.

If you’re not making trades with a club because they were mean to you one time three years ago then you’re a mark alright.

15-10-2024, 12:33 PM
On AFL site:

What about the black mark against Geelong for being completely unreasonable? For luring a guy in contract and then refusing to pay market value?

Liam Baker, out of contract, 26yo, no high b&f finishes... Pick 14

There's the market rate you tax rorting pricks.

15-10-2024, 12:37 PM
On AFL site:

I like this. I think it shows Cats & Connor and Smith are a bit worried we?re serious.

15-10-2024, 12:45 PM
I like this. I think it shows Cats & Connor and Smith are a bit worried we?re serious.

Yep. That’s he won’t get to Pick 20-21 so don’t do it please. Or we’ll be super upset.

At the end of the day, Geelong can (and will) secure him tomorrow if that’s what they want to do. If not, let’s just see what happens.

(They’ll trade him)

15-10-2024, 12:59 PM
Geelong are the worst.

They actually won the shittest town in Victoria award this week narrowly edging out Frankston. They are undoubtedly also the shittest club in the AFEL.

15-10-2024, 01:00 PM
Geelong are the worst.

They actually won the shittest town in Victoria award this week narrowly edging out Frankston. They are undoubtedly also the shittest club in the AFEL.
It's a total shit hole.

15-10-2024, 01:01 PM
Oh no not the black mark.

If you?re not making trades with a club because they were mean to you one time three years ago then you?re a mark alright.
Imagine if this was part of some sort of... I don't know... COMPETITION !

15-10-2024, 02:27 PM
Cats have replaced Plastics & Bummers on my most despised club list.

15-10-2024, 02:51 PM
Cats using all of their media leverage to get us to fold. Hope it just steels our resolve. **** them!!!

15-10-2024, 03:12 PM
Cats using all of their media leverage to get us to fold. Hope it just steels our resolve. **** them!!!

They're very good at getting the media to promote their agenda. We could learn from that.

15-10-2024, 03:19 PM
If we get 25 for Caleb, something for Macrae...

Do we try for something like Baz and 25 for 17 and F1? So an 8 pick downgrade for them, plus another 1st rounder (with us gambling that it is better than 17).
Effectively the F2 for F1 swap which BT has suggested, but using a current 2nd rather than future 2nd...

15-10-2024, 03:33 PM
If we get 25 for Caleb, something for Macrae...

Do we try for something like Baz and 25 for 17 and F1? So an 8 pick downgrade for them, plus another 1st rounder (with us gambling that it is better than 17).
Effectively the F2 for F1 swap which BT has suggested, but using a current 2nd rather than future 2nd...

Nice switch up of the Future swaps. If we can extract 32 from the Saints, or our 35, then I’m completely down with that while keeping 25. 25 for me is too generous, but I wouldn’t say no just yet. But hope it’s as low as Power could get it.

Their 38 & at worst our 35 is more than enough to get 27 off Brisbane along with a little something else. While securing Smith is not a bad result for them or us.

This is what I’m talking about with the lack of imagination with the media. If Geelong want to secure Smith and still not pay a huge price there’s ways for them to do it with us that with pick swaps get them back into the top 30 this year too.

The fact the clubs are still talking makes me think this lateral thinking leads to a result where all sides walk away claiming a win.

15-10-2024, 03:52 PM
What about the black mark on Geelong for being low balling, salary cap rorting flogs?

15-10-2024, 03:56 PM
Up the AFEL to investigate them…

If we can get two firsts, giving back a middling second then we take it. In the end, we get rid of BS which is worth something too and continue our rebuild. Maybe look at trading that F1 into the first round this year too. Gives us some options.

If Geelong want him locked away tomorrow.

15-10-2024, 06:24 PM
What about the black mark on Geelong for being low balling, salary cap rorting flogs?

Don’t think you’ll read about that mate.

15-10-2024, 10:43 PM
Am at the point where as much as I would like to send BS to the draft, pragmatism kicks in and we should do the deal at 17. Yes we get screwed, but it allows the circus that is Bailey Smith to move on.

All I'd ask the AFL to do is verify what incentives Cotton ON are paying for their ambassador and whether thee are reasonable.

From the footy gods I ask that BS tests positive to a banned substance and re-does his knee.

15-10-2024, 10:57 PM
Am at the point where as much as I would like to send BS to the draft, pragmatism kicks in and we should do the deal at 17. Yes we get screwed, but it allows the circus that is Bailey Smith to move on.

All I'd ask the AFL to do is verify what incentives Cotton ON are paying for their ambassador and whether thee are reasonable.

From the footy gods I ask that BS tests positive to a banned substance and re-does his knee.

I agree with being pragmatic and asking to the AFL to do a thorough review with Cotton On but Frederick you're on your own with the last couple of requests. That's all sorts of messed up.

15-10-2024, 11:48 PM
Just get what we can for him around pick 17 and a bit coming our way, and then mercilessly bash the **** out of him and sledge him every time he plays us.

Bailey knows what he's doing, to me that makes him fair game - within the rules.

It's fine to pull the mental illness card, but without evidence of trying not to be a narcissist that card's invalid. I'm sick of the excuse.

16-10-2024, 12:04 AM
I agree with being pragmatic and asking to the AFL to do a thorough review with Cotton On but Frederick you're on your own with the last couple of requests. That's all sorts of messed up.

Call me Dexter (you know, the serial killer who’s mainly good but has a dark side). Having been a Bailey sympathiser until his recent unforgivable antics I’ve had a brief moment or two thinking the karma bus might run over Bailey (not mental health or drugs, but yeah-an injury that sidelines him, say during yet another Cats’ finals tilt).

So FrediKanoute (or is it Freddy Krueger) you are not alone with your dark passenger.

16-10-2024, 12:11 AM
Cats have replaced Plastics & Bummers on my most despised club list.

Welcome to the club! They have owned us for decades now have always been my number one....

16-10-2024, 01:54 AM

Gonna be honest, I am not going to shed a tear when the karma bus slams in to BS. There is a right way and a wrong way to go about things.

16-10-2024, 06:26 AM
There’s nothing wrong with his mental health. He’s just a dickhead.

Connors and his management team are smart people, they have a great history of managing stars and ensuring that their client is well looked after, but there is a real breakdown here; either they didn’t have a strategy or the client has not listened. I know where my money goes.

It is a hard list to top; brown, Dunkley but now at least to me we have a new Judas. - please rename the thread.

16-10-2024, 08:08 AM
Happy Bailey day everyone!

16-10-2024, 08:23 AM
Happy Bailey day everyone!

The last day I have to remotely care about anything to do with him.

We are not going back.

16-10-2024, 08:28 AM
I wonder if any senior folk at the club woke up today with a strong resolve???? We’ll see soon enough.

16-10-2024, 09:25 AM
I hereby name him Judas $niff.

16-10-2024, 09:25 AM
I hereby name him Judas Sniff.

Change the S to a $ and you've nailed it.

16-10-2024, 09:28 AM
Change the S to a $ and you've nailed it.

Your wish is my command!

16-10-2024, 12:34 PM
I am thinking BS playing in a North Melbourne, St. Kilda or Richmond jumper is the ideal outcome.

Yes, I know we get nothing out of it, but sometimes satisfaction is its own reward.

16-10-2024, 12:38 PM
I feel that emotion as well but we can't cut off our nose to spite our face we're a business and have to make a good business decision. We do need to get the best return we can on our investment but we simply need a return. The pick is valuable moving forward but we do need to be more cautious about the type of characters we decide to draft in the future.

16-10-2024, 12:47 PM
We'll crack in the end and accept whatever is offered. I'm cool with that as we can't be burning ok picks atm.

16-10-2024, 01:49 PM
I feel that emotion as well but we can't cut off our nose to spite our face we're a business and have to make a good business decision. We do need to get the best return we can on our investment but we simply need a return. The pick is valuable moving forward but we do need to be more cautious about the type of characters we decide to draft in the future.

Agree with all of this and this has been my viewpoint since he announced he wanted out.

16-10-2024, 02:05 PM
There’s nothing wrong with his mental health. He’s just a dickhead.
Surely you're not insinuating that Smith uses mental health as a badge of convenience to justify his behavioural flaws?

Next thing you'll be telling me that Loinchop didn't really have depression after he was caught rooting Billy's missus.

16-10-2024, 02:08 PM
I hereby name him Judas $niff.

Baggie-lenka?

16-10-2024, 03:14 PM
We'll crack in the end and accept whatever is offered. I'm cool with that as we can't be burning ok picks atm.

I think it will be 17 and some pretty minor upgrade or additional pick. I think getting SOMETHING else out of the pricks will be a win, and really just shows the horrible bargaining position that the current trade system (of players nominating a single club) puts clubs in.

16-10-2024, 03:17 PM
If we let BS walk to the draft would the Wobbles being a big club grab him before Geelong and not worry about bullying and idle threats?

16-10-2024, 03:20 PM
Baggie-lenka?

Mates and I have referred to him as Baglenka in the past.

16-10-2024, 03:28 PM
If we let BS walk to the draft would the Wobbles being a big club grab him before Geelong and not worry about bullying and idle threats?

They don't have a pick until the 50s.

16-10-2024, 03:32 PM
I think it will be 17 and some pretty minor upgrade or additional pick. I think getting SOMETHING else out of the pricks will be a win, and really just shows the horrible bargaining position that the current trade system (of players nominating a single club) puts clubs in.
This is the bit I don't quite get. Are clubs that worried about their members that they never want to appear to lose?

We take 17 early doors maybe we could've worked it into another deal.

Now we just can't do anything. Although live trading of picks happen in the draft.

16-10-2024, 03:54 PM
This is the bit I don't quite get. Are clubs that worried about their members that they never want to appear to lose?

Now we just can't do anything. Although live trading of picks happen in the draft.

Draft picks can still be traded at any time up to and during the draft, not just on the nights.

16-10-2024, 03:54 PM
I am thinking BS playing in a North Melbourne, St. Kilda or Richmond jumper is the ideal outcome.

Yes, I know we get nothing out of it, but sometimes satisfaction is its own reward.

Agree with sentiment however pick 17 could be a very good player & I trust our recruitment team. It?s a really difficult/ shit sandwich sorta bind we are in. Hoping something good transpires (apart from saying adieu to look at moi, look at moi mullet boy). We probably won?t know for a year or two though.

16-10-2024, 04:08 PM

Notice Geelong have done nothing to get a decent pick better than 17 to satisfy us.

16-10-2024, 04:13 PM
Draft picks can still be traded at any time up to and during the draft, not just on the nights.
It's interesting hearing the clubs talk about the two economies they're working in as the index points change next year.
Future picks worth less, so they all prefer this year.

16-10-2024, 04:30 PM
Notice Geelong have done nothing to get a decent pick better than 17 to satisfy us.
Coz they know we will fold in the last 5 mins and just accept 17.

16-10-2024, 04:59 PM
Let Bailey go to the draft! The threat of we'll take him with pick 17 in the draft, good luck with that! The tigers have quite a few picks before Geelong. If I'm Richmond I take him, no hesitation. Geelongs midfield will suck more than ours next year, so they're the losers if he doesn't get there.

16-10-2024, 05:12 PM
Let Bailey go to the draft! The threat of we'll take him with pick 17 in the draft, good luck with that! The tigers have quite a few picks before Geelong. If I'm Richmond I take him, no hesitation. Geelongs midfield will suck more than ours next year, so they're the losers if he doesn't get there.

It might still suck, even if he gets there

16-10-2024, 05:32 PM
Barret and Cornes urging Dogs to take the deal as it would be bad for Smith's mental health if he had to wait another month to be drafted :D

Barrett getting stuck in saying so many variables with ACL, etc etc. - **** him

16-10-2024, 05:37 PM
Barret and Cornes urging Dogs to take the deal as it would be bad for Smith's mental health if he had to wait another month to be drafted :D

If he's that damaged why are the Cats interested? It's because he can play
They're just mouthpieces for the entitled.

16-10-2024, 06:13 PM

Where was your support yesterday when I said Power is as stubborn and potentially costs us further deals?

16-10-2024, 06:16 PM

Power doesn't listen to Barrett. We good.

16-10-2024, 06:17 PM
The more wines I'm having listening to trade radio the more I'm open to sending Smith to the draft.

16-10-2024, 06:22 PM
I’m not listening 1ED, but sounds like I’d be right there with you.

16-10-2024, 06:49 PM

It's like they're publicly falling over themselves to suck on my balls.

Plums
16-10-2024, 06:53 PM
The way Geelong have handled this has been a disgrace, they poach him, he refuses to go anywhere else, then they won't pay up. Send him to the draft, play hard ball and show the competition we won't take their shit.

16-10-2024, 06:56 PM
The way Geelong have handled this has been a disgrace, they poach him, he refuses to go anywhere else, then they won't pay up. Send him to the draft, play hard ball and show the competition we won't take their shit.

It’s not surprising though. Mackie is an asshole.
We will accept 17.

16-10-2024, 07:01 PM
It’s not surprising though. Mackie is an asshole.
We will accept 17.
It's a dick move to turn a head then say we won't pay for him.

Hope it backfires on them.

Plums
16-10-2024, 07:04 PM
It's a dick move to turn a head then say we won't pay for him.

Hope it backfires on them.

Hopefully he can't crack their best 22 if he gets there.

16-10-2024, 07:19 PM
Waiting to be disapointed

Plums
16-10-2024, 07:19 PM
Twomey says movement but not elaborating on what.

16-10-2024, 07:20 PM
Waiting to be disapointed

It can't end any other way. Cats hold the whip hand and we can't do anything about it.

16-10-2024, 07:22 PM
It looks like a deal has been completed

16-10-2024, 07:22 PM
Can we have a new thread which details all the time we bend over at the trade table

Plums
16-10-2024, 07:23 PM
Can we have a new thread which details all the time we bend over at the trade table

Would be every trade period in memory.

16-10-2024, 07:24 PM

Dear Bulldogs Members

We’ve again agreed to a terrible deal reluctantly because we’re scared of player managers and the AFL, so we need to be nice and do what they tell us. We’re sorry.

Love Dogs

Plums
Pick 17 and a pick slide. Joke.

17 and pick upgrade?

16-10-2024, 07:25 PM

What are the examples and what could the club have done differently?

We are getting bent over by our players and the shithouse system.

16-10-2024, 07:25 PM
Pick 17 and a pick slide. Joke.

Pathetic.

Wonder how we spin this.

16-10-2024, 07:26 PM

Refuse to deal.

Walk them.

Get another club interested and pursuing the player so it’s a two horse race.

We’ve been a sitting duck a few times recently.

Agree the system is no good, but we talk a good game and then blink first every time.

16-10-2024, 07:26 PM
Pathetic.

Wonder how we spin this.

Same way we spin every other one.

"Really happy to bring in an extra pick, think there is quite good depth in this draft"

Plums
16-10-2024, 07:28 PM
Refuse to deal.

Walk them.

Agree the system is no good, but we talk a good game and then blink first every time.

Problem is we need player consent to go to another club. He's being paid under table from cotton on so won't go anywhere else.

16-10-2024, 07:28 PM

The club can refuse to deal and walk the player. Teams know we are soft so they just offer us nothing different for 10 days.

Geelong didn't even attempt to improve pick 17 which was very easy this year.

The system sucks so we need to rebel against it at times

16-10-2024, 07:29 PM
Refuse to deal.

Walk them.

No other clubs get involved because the players manager sit them out and refuse to meet with other clubs. The whole thing stinks.

It's all well and good to walk them but it leaves us with nothing and the other club with the player and their pick. Then clubs will just expect us to walk players to the draft and know they'll get the player anyway.

16-10-2024, 07:31 PM
F**k off Bailey. You are dead to this club. You are the biggest wanker to ever wear the jumper.

F**k you.

16-10-2024, 07:34 PM
Let's do this all again when Essendon or whoever does the same with Jamarra when his deal expires
They'll start whispering sweet nothing's 18 months out and he'll call off contract talks, speak about just "focussing on his footy and let the contract stuff sort itself out".
Then he announces he's off and we get to go through all the tortuous media about how it's our fault and we just have to take what's on offer.
Good riddance to Smith, and stuff the AFLPA that drives this contrived and rigged system.

16-10-2024, 07:41 PM
I'm not going to miss him, he's a fundamentally bad kick of the ball that I don't think can be fixed and I don't think he'll thrive under more pressure with more midfield minutes.

16-10-2024, 07:42 PM
No other clubs get involved because the players manager sit them out and refuse to meet with other clubs. The whole thing stinks.

It's all well and good to walk them but it leaves us with nothing and the other club with the player and their pick. Then clubs will just expect us to walk players to the draft and know they'll get the player anyway.

Agree. Power’s is a smart cookie. He would have talked to other clubs & thought of every possible scenario to leverage. Let’s see what pick 17 lands us & discuss this in a year or two’s time. I trust our recruiting team. I think it will make us very aware of trusting top line players & their managers when they refuse to sign an extension though. Hopefully lesson has well & truly been learnt on that front.

Plums
16-10-2024, 07:45 PM
I'm not going to miss him, he's a fundamentally bad kick of the ball that I don't think can be fixed and I don't think he'll thrive under more pressure with more midfield minutes.

Not to mention the cultural issues he would have brought to the club. Good Riddance.

16-10-2024, 07:45 PM

I hope so, but I suspect he will reach his full potential and then some.
This is a woeful situation and outcome for us both in personnel lost and in terms of the trade value we got
I don't blame Power for having to take a deal, but I am livid our club once again, after the Dunkley fiasco have let this get to this point.

16-10-2024, 07:47 PM
https://media.tenor.com/xqhdJQl5X2sAAAAe/worst-trade-deal.png
It's back

16-10-2024, 07:47 PM
Never have to think of him again. Winning.

16-10-2024, 07:49 PM
I hope so, but I suspect he will reach his full potential and then some.
This is a woeful situation and outcome for us both in personnel lost and in terms of the trade value we got
I don't blame Power for having to take a deal, but I am livid our club once again, after the Dunkley fiasco have let this get to this point.

Yeah I think at this point if there's pretty clear vibes that a player is going at the end of their contract and they've gotten a good offer the year before then take it when they're at max value.

16-10-2024, 07:50 PM

He's proven to be hard work. Glad we held our nerve and made him sweat a bit.
Good luck to Baz but he got away with a lot.

16-10-2024, 07:51 PM
17 and pick upgrade?

17 & 38, and we gave pick 38 to Blues for Kennedy I believe. Ooops & we give 45 (from Saints for Macrae) to Geelong too (yuk).

16-10-2024, 07:51 PM
He's proven to be hard work. Glad we held our nerve and made him sweat a bit.
Good luck to Baz but he got away with a lot.

I don’t wish him well at all.

16-10-2024, 07:54 PM
17 & 38, and we gave pick 38 to Blues for Kennedy I believe.
Yep Give BS and receive 17 and Kennedy. The best we could have done

16-10-2024, 07:56 PM
17 & 38, and we gave pick 38 to Blues for Kennedy I believe. Ooops & we give 45 (from Saints for Macrae) to Geelong too (yuk).

Yep, got a 7 pick upgrade.

16-10-2024, 07:59 PM
Never have to think of him again. Winning.

Yeah I'm just glad it's done. We were never going to get better than 17 so no point lamenting that. Just another ex player now.

16-10-2024, 08:04 PM
The system is broken, broken badly.

Smith just acted like a free agent, but he has not earned the right yet to be a free agent.

The players deserve to have choice and get to where they want when they have earned the right as a free agent.

The players at the moment. Let their contract expire and then dictate terms. Even when they do an ACL. They have way too much power.

The system is rigged to suit the bigger clubs. Crazy.

16-10-2024, 08:07 PM
We helped the dick with his rehab and then he just holds us over a barrel. What a narcissistict douche.

16-10-2024, 08:12 PM
I was talking to a Saints mate today and said that the Saints, North and Dogs need to work together better during the trade period because if the Saints had come out and said we would consider drafting Smith at either the National Draft or PSD then we would have gotten pick 17 and a F2 from Geelong early in the piece.
The smaller clubs should try and pull something back from the bigger clubs by just saying the right things.

16-10-2024, 08:13 PM
Probably the best we were ever going to finish up with, i understand the narrative around sending him through the draft, but that doesn't help the club what so ever which is all i care about and couldn't care less if Richmond, North or he get's to Geelong, that has no relevance to our draft hand which is now good in a strong draft.

kickit2Koly
16-10-2024, 08:17 PM
Thank god that’s over. Good player but a bit of a Diva and an absolute distraction. I get the feeling the club and his teammates are happy to see the back of him.

16-10-2024, 08:18 PM
Thank god that’s over. Good player but a bit of a Diva and an absolute distraction. I get the feeling the club and his teammates are happy to see the back of him.

Forwards will be stoked not to be leading at him!

16-10-2024, 08:28 PM
We didn't want Smith I think it's pretty clear, I'm not sure what else Power could have done?

I reckon Macca and Daniel are collateral damage of the three headed monster, fingers crossed we can make it work. I really do wish those boys the best of luck, premiership players and bloody consistent with their time at the kennel. Bevo always loved CD and I know he didn't play him as much this year but he would be feeling it tonight no doubt.

Kennedy can seriously tackle thats a massive plus for this group but lets hope we have a role for him because you can see him competing with Sanders, Harmes, Gracia and Gags and lets be honest we don't need more players playing out of position as we all know how it ends up.

Talking about out of position I wouldn't be surprised if he becomes a lock down defender is pretty good overhead and has a team first mentality. I spoke to a few blues supporters today and both said a fan fav gives absolutely everything.

16-10-2024, 08:54 PM
Smith gonna set an in-season record for missed targets inside-50 or drop the most fire psych-pop album of 2025, not sure which.

https://i.ibb.co/zHWvC4y/Screen-Shot-2024-10-16-at-11-48-34-am.png (https://ibb.co/JFWJ8sf)

16-10-2024, 09:18 PM
Looking forward to Kennedy laying a tackle on mullet boy when we play them. Can almost guarantee it will be in first few rounds as AFEL love a grudge match. Let’s hope it’s our home match first time we play them next year (pretty sure we’ll play them twice, as we normally do), and not gather round or their horrible dung heap.

16-10-2024, 09:30 PM
Smith gonna set an in-season record for missed targets inside-50 or drop the most fire psych-pop album of 2025, not sure which.

https://i.ibb.co/zHWvC4y/Screen-Shot-2024-10-16-at-11-48-34-am.png (https://ibb.co/JFWJ8sf)

Let’s just hope they didn’t give him a new ACL that runs offensively and defensively.

Boots
16-10-2024, 09:34 PM
What a prick.

Not much else to say.

16-10-2024, 09:41 PM
Let’s just hope they didn’t give him a new ACL that runs offensively and defensively.

That should read Bailey Smith is officially a ****.

16-10-2024, 10:11 PM
I don?t like wishing injury on any player but if I was that way inclined?which I?m not?I can imagine I wouldn?t be too disappointed if Floglenka did another ACL in the first quarter of round 1 next year. But of course, I?d never hope for anything like that.

16-10-2024, 10:13 PM
I don?t like wishing injury on any player but if I was that way inclined?which I?m not?I can imagine I wouldn?t be too disappointed if Floglenka did another ACL in the first quarter of round 1 next year. But of course, I?d never hope for anything like that.

Preseason.

17-10-2024, 02:11 AM
Speaking to one of our players privately about this situation, what I can reveal is, culture wise, our club will be vastly better off for this move, even if we did get shafted by Geelong.

Smith burnt pretty much every bridge on his way out the door.

Onwards and upwards, lets hope we turn his pick into someone who isn't the AFL's number one narcissist.

17-10-2024, 07:21 AM
The media narrative on Smith is a massive contradiction.
Prior to the trade period it focused on his mental health challenges and his knee injury and how pick 17 was fair.
After the trade it's now about how he can add so much to the Cats midfield.
They're really good at pushing their preferred clubs agendas

17-10-2024, 07:41 AM
Speaking to one of our players privately about this situation, what I can reveal is, culture wise, our club will be vastly better off for this move, even if we did get shafted by Geelong.

Smith burnt pretty much every bridge on his way out the door.

Onwards and upwards, lets hope we turn his pick into someone who isn't the AFL's number one narcissist. Credit to the club and players for keeping their thoughts in house during the season. Very professional. I think there would have been a few last night saying thank f*** he is gone. I liked the way they told him not to bother attempting to play again once they found early in the year he was definitely gone.

17-10-2024, 08:29 AM
Prior to the trade period it focused on his mental health challenges and his knee injury and how pick 17 was fair.
It's become more conspicuous for some reason how they're all about the clicks.

We all knew it but I feel it's just out there now.

Dogs will never get a reasonable go, the clickarrati only want to read about the car crash that is the dogs. Good news re us doesn't sell ace gutters.

Bailey is a troubled guy, tbh the Cats is probably the right place for him and I hope he can find some balance.

17-10-2024, 09:44 AM

Stupid Bulldogs let him go for nothing! He’s a gun with no issues whatsoever and had clearly outgrown the club and been poorly coached by Bevo. Rinse and repeat. Yawn.

17-10-2024, 09:49 AM

Just so damn predictable it'd be like this. I knew in all the reviews they'd pan us for accepting pick 17 yet prior to the trade we were being unreasonable for wanting more.

We can't win. The media are the AFELs biggest cheerleaders for unequalisation.

17-10-2024, 09:58 AM
The thing now is we won't get to boo him in person next season. We'll still play the cotton ons twice but it'll be once down at their $hithole and then again at our 2nd home ground in Adelaide.

Can Bar
17-10-2024, 11:03 AM
Footy pundits also have managers and agents, they will never cross the line and turn against these people, you only hear praise and support for such folk. Imagine Kano having a crack at player managers, wouldn't think his manager would approve.
Will never buy any Kitten on Apparel. Could we somehow arrange for Mission foods to provide Harley Reid with a nice sponsorship arrangement. food for thought. I reckon he loves Tacos?

Plums
17-10-2024, 01:05 PM
Footy pundits also have managers and agents, they will never cross the line and turn against these people, you only hear praise and support for such folk. Imagine Kano having a crack at player managers, wouldn't think his manager would approve.
Will never buy any Kitten on Apparel. Could we somehow arrange for Mission foods to provide Harley Reid with a nice sponsorship arrangement. food for thought. I reckon he loves Tacos?

Only one club can get away with such a criminal action, and it's not the boutique bulldogs.

Can Bar
17-10-2024, 01:57 PM
if we worked closer with Paul Connors, I'm sure he knows how to make it happen, Afterall No one will say anything negative about him. he'd have a vested interest making 20% off the deal?

17-10-2024, 03:50 PM
It seems that all of us are happy to see Smith gone, but few of us are happy with the trade deal struck with Geelong.

Fair enough, but driving around today I thought of an interesting thought experiment.

In this experiment, Smith is the same player and person that he is, past recent ACL, poor disposal, former high draft pick, quick, and whatever you know or think of him off field (narcissism, self promotion etc), which would appear to be not a positive.

In this experiment, Smith is playing for another Victorian team, out of contract. Smith nominates that he wants to come over to the Bulldogs.

In this experiment, the Bulldogs are interested, and they have pick 17 and their second round pick this year, and all their draft picks in 2025.

So here it goes: what trade deal would you have done, knowing what you know about Smith, for him to come to the Bulldogs under this thought experiment?

Assume that the trade will go through, rather than just posting that you wouldn't trade for him.

I'm interested in what deal you come up with.

17-10-2024, 04:25 PM
It seems that all of us are happy to see Smith gone, but few of us are happy with the trade deal struck with Geelong.

Fair enough, but driving around today I thought of an interesting thought experiment.

In this experiment, Smith is the same player and person that he is, past recent ACL, poor disposal, former high draft pick, quick, and whatever you know or think of him off field (narcissism, self promotion etc), which would appear to be not a positive.

In this experiment, Smith is playing for another Victorian team, out of contract. Smith nominates that he wants to come over to the Bulldogs.

In this experiment, the Bulldogs are interested, and they have pick 17 and their second round pick this year, and all their draft picks in 2025.

So here it goes: what trade deal would you have done, knowing what you know about Smith, for him to come to the Bulldogs under this thought experiment?

Assume that the trade will go through, rather than just posting that you wouldn't trade for him.

I'm interested in what deal you come up with.

Ha I actually thought of this same scenario last night.

Honestly I wouldn't even want him knowing the type of person he is. But if we were interested, yeah pick 17 is all I'd offer. No way would I want us offering two 1sts for him.

But it's really hard to say given I don't want anything to do with him. Not because he asked out. But because I've never thought he was Bulldog fabric. He's an anti-Bulldog. Would never fit at our club. I can't get passed that.

17-10-2024, 05:04 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GaEcAljb0AE1VNF?format=jpg&name=large

17-10-2024, 05:07 PM
Clean-up on aisle Baz.

Paul Connors working his ass off for that 20% commission.

17-10-2024, 05:37 PM
Actions speak louder than words even if it is from a player manager. The guy was nothing but a disrespectful jackass as soon as the season finished, don't buy the BS from BS.

17-10-2024, 05:59 PM
Pack your bag (lol) and don?t let the door hit your arse, Floglenka.

17-10-2024, 06:06 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/jqW4xgRb/IMG-20241017-180017-904.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Hjgy3tJZ)

17-10-2024, 06:07 PM
I have actually been praying for his downfall so fair enough post tbh.

17-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Last 2 paragraphs kinda negate or at minimum divert from the intended thanks. It’s a yeah but nah message. Pity his advisors couldn’t keep him on message (again). Considering the way he left us, it makes his statement “to do us proud” fall like a lead balloon.

17-10-2024, 07:05 PM
My nan said he deserved his knee injury for not going to Geelong last year so I guess I'll pass it on

Uninformed
17-10-2024, 07:13 PM
Taking up Dry Rot's challenge, I couldn't bid without knowing what we could get in the draft for 17.

17-10-2024, 08:06 PM
There's always a line of narcissism with him, even when he's trying to be grateful.

Time we just all move on.

17-10-2024, 08:11 PM
Chat gpt can give some flowery scribing very heart felt. Thanks BS

17-10-2024, 08:25 PM
Kinda fitting that the photo he used for this message is of him wearing the Thor jumper - nice touch that adds to the complete lack of authenticy.

Warrnambulldog
17-10-2024, 08:26 PM
Best off without him. Calling it early, Cats will miss the 8 next year. More sad about Macrae and Daniel but it?s the right call. Can?t wait for the draft

17-10-2024, 08:42 PM
"gonna put my head down and do what I do best - get to work"

Is that posting topless selfies, selling alcopops to underage girls, shilling sweatshop merch for a $300k brown paper bag, or football?

17-10-2024, 09:00 PM
"gonna put my head down and do what I do best - get to work"

Is that posting topless selfies, selling alcopops to underage girls, shilling sweatshop merch for a $300k brown paper bag, or football?

No sounds more to me like doing lines.

17-10-2024, 09:02 PM
Kinda fitting that the photo he used for this message is of him wearing the Thor jumper - nice touch that adds to the complete lack of authenticy.

I thought he mightve done it as it looks most like Geelong colours.

18-10-2024, 07:54 AM
I keep seeing comments from others akin to him suggesting he was mistreated at the Dogs. What on Earth could he be on about?

18-10-2024, 09:15 AM
Actions speak louder than words even if it is from a player manager. The guy was nothing but a disrespectful jackass as soon as the season finished, don't buy the BS from BS.

Fairly sure he was disrespectful during the 2024 season also.

18-10-2024, 09:25 AM
I keep seeing comments from others akin to him suggesting he was mistreated at the Dogs. What on Earth could he be on about?

Probably told him his alcopops taste like shit.

18-10-2024, 09:33 AM

A supporter asked him to 'hit me on the tit'

Baz then booted the ball 50m away when the supporter was 15m in front of him.

The supporter said 'that wasn't a great kick' and Barry has been offended by that ever since

18-10-2024, 09:34 AM
He really needs to stop reading comments.
But, I think he needs to for some compelling reason.

18-10-2024, 11:44 AM
he really needs to stop reading comments.
But, i think he needs to for some compelling reason.

Bailey Smith?!?! SIRS! Cats in trouble! (10)

18-10-2024, 02:15 PM
An article on the trade:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/what-went-wrong-for-high-profile-dog-bailey-smith-to-become-a-cat-20241015-p5kidt.html

What went wrong for high-profile Dog Bailey Smith to become a Cat?

According to Smith and the people who know him well, the reason for him wanting to leave should not be over-thought, for it was primarily a simple footballing decision: he wanted to play on the ball, and saw his path to playing in the centre square at the Bulldogs would continue to be blocked.

With a starting midfield of Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore, Adam Treloar and Jackson Macrae in 2023, Smith largely played a high half-forward and wing role but was seldom a starting onballer.

And a nice little bit of maligning of Beveridge, even using incorrect recollections of history to justify it!

There’s a narrative that Luke Beveridge, as Bulldogs coach, has favourites and falls in and out of love with some of his players. This could probably be said of any coach, but the perception strengthened at the Dogs when All-Australians Bailey Dale and Caleb Daniel were puddling around in the VFL in the early part of the season, while battlers got games ahead of them – although Dale did admit at the end of the season that there was a more obvious reason he was playing in the VFL: he was playing badly.

All the dickhead (Michael Gleeson) had to do was check games played to avoid embarrassing himself. It's your one job dickhead (I know you're reading).

18-10-2024, 02:56 PM
All the dickhead (Michael Gleeson) had to do was check games played to avoid embarrassing himself. It's your one job dickhead (I know you're reading).

Poor Dale must have been knackered playing those VFL games on the same weekends he was playing AFL.

18-10-2024, 09:20 PM
They've updated the paragraph about Beveridge and his maligning of players:

There’s a narrative that Luke Beveridge, as Bulldogs coach, has favourites and falls in and out of love with some of his players. This could probably be said of any coach, but the perception strengthened at the Dogs when Caleb Daniel was puddling around in the VFL, and his fellow All-Australian Bailey Dale was pushed to the fringes as the sub in the early part of the season, while battlers got games ahead of them.

So, while there might be truth in this narrative about Beveridge, it is not accurate regarding Smith. Both those close to Smith and those within the club say the pair had a good relationship.

Odd The Age and its credible journalists didn't print an acknowledgement of the inaccuracy via a retraction, or my comment pointing it out. Reads pretty differently, doesn't it!

19-10-2024, 10:29 AM
They've updated the paragraph about Beveridge and his maligning of players:

There’s a narrative that Luke Beveridge, as Bulldogs coach, has favourites and falls in and out of love with some of his players. This could probably be said of any coach, but the perception strengthened at the Dogs when Caleb Daniel was puddling around in the VFL, and his fellow All-Australian Bailey Dale was pushed to the fringes as the sub in the early part of the season, while battlers got games ahead of them.

So, while there might be truth in this narrative about Beveridge, it is not accurate regarding Smith. Both those close to Smith and those within the club say the pair had a good relationship.

Odd The Age and its credible journalists didn't print an acknowledgement of the inaccuracy via a retraction, or my comment pointing it out. Reads pretty differently, doesn't it!

I'd like to know who the author thinks are the said battlers?

And the retraction just proves the fact that they regularly just make shit up and when called out by us internet nuffies hit the reverse button real fast! (I called out on X a HSun article about our AFLW game with Essendon where it was said that the shitty game by ''traditional'' rivals was bad for the code, which it was... when I pointed out that it was infact the first AFLW game b/w WB & Ess it was quickly changed to ''local'' rivals)

23-10-2024, 10:13 AM
I say we lock this thread and only post Floglenka content in the Ex?s thread moving forward. Makes me angry just seeing his name.

Raels_d
23-10-2024, 09:31 PM
I say we lock this thread and only post Floglenka content in the Ex?s thread moving forward. Makes me angry just seeing his name.
I?d like to change it to ?Your now unwelcome at the Bulldogs: Bailey Smith

24-10-2024, 10:32 AM
I?d like to change it to ?Your now unwelcome at the Bulldogs: Bailey Smith
Move the thread to AFEL board and rename it "Piss off Turd"?

I'd fully understand if some people thought my re-naming suggestion isn't blunt enough - I'm always holding out the olive branch and trying to be polite.

24-10-2024, 08:28 PM
Never heard of him?

Let’s lock the thread.

28-10-2024, 10:55 AM
Courtney Act kicks off Halloween dressed as AFL star Bailey Smith
(https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-photos/courtney-act-kicks-off-halloween-dressed-as-afl-star-bailey-smith/news-story/c975d13e757bd7f51251ebc3dfaae82e)

Courtney Act has well and truly kicked off Halloween week.

The beloved Aussie drag queen ditched the feathers for the football to transform into AFL star Bailey Smith ? and the resemblance is uncanny.

?Can?t kick a goal, but I can serve a look,? Act captioned a series of photos on Instagram. ?Career pivot alert! No, not to AFL?I?m a drag king now and I?m bringing Bailey Smith realness!?

In the photos, the 42-year-old dresses up as Geelong?s newest recruit in his former Western Bulldogs gear. Act even has the popular midfielder?s pose down pat with her arms folded across her chest as she pouts into the distance.

If you?re not familiar with @bazlenka - you?re welcome. He?s every gay man?s favourite AFL player (he?s also the only AFL player gay men know),? Act added in her caption while also ticking Smith?s ?Iconique Mullet. Moustache. Bulldogs kit? off her list.

Smith was traded to the Geelong Cats last month.

https://i.postimg.cc/qqWQhNcc/baz1.jpg (https://postimg.cc/fSjY1Trk)

https://i.postimg.cc/FF6Tn6tf/baz2.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Rqc1WXZ9)

28-10-2024, 12:09 PM
Thanks for my daily laughter dose Axe Man.