View Full Version : Welcome to the Bulldogs: Bailey Smith

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Stevo
14-12-2023, 08:51 AM
Just terrible news. He was primed for a big year.

We have some depth in the midfield but we are underestimating how much of a loss this will be much like we did with Dunkley

Critter
14-12-2023, 09:09 AM
Doedee just left after an ACL but that was after the Crows reduced the offer that was already on the table. I would hope that we tell Bailey he is welcome to sign whatever contract we would have been offering regardless of the injury.

Amen to that Axeman

Palace03
14-12-2023, 06:20 PM
ACL's are just shit, feel terrible for Baz. His situation was giving me Dunkley vibes, he seemed primed for a big year in a contract year while saying all the right things without committing.

Clubs will still come for him and try to low ball us using the ACL but I doubt any long term 6-8 year offers come off the back of an ACL. The play probably looks like a 2 year extension with us to take him to FA, as long as the Dogs dont lowball him and hes not overly unhappy.

15-12-2023, 01:47 PM
ACL's are just shit, feel terrible for Baz. His situation was giving me Dunkley vibes, he seemed primed for a big year in a contract year while saying all the right things without committing.

Clubs will still come for him and try to low ball us using the ACL but I doubt any long term 6-8 year offers come off the back of an ACL. The play probably looks like a 2 year extension with us to take him to FA, as long as the Dogs dont lowball him and hes not overly unhappy. It will be interesting to see what he decides. If he goes he will have the pressure on him to perform due to the nature of the contract he will be on. Does he want that type of pressure after a year out of the game.

16-12-2023, 10:26 AM
I think Baz Smith will sign for a couple of years to take him to free agency. Be done and dusted by mid season.

Having his outside business interests can only be a positive.

It will keep his mind busy in between his rehab sessions.

19-12-2023, 09:12 AM
Quick interview by 7 News - here (https://twitter.com/7NewsMelbourne/status/1736655511230287916)

Edit:

SEN has posted transcript

Western Bulldogs star Bailey Smith has spoken publicly for the first time since tearing his ACL, pledging his full support for his teammates over the next 12 months.

The star midfielder comes out of contract at the end of 2024 and has a big decision to make, telling 7 News that he will begin pondering it once he has had knee surgery and finds himself in a strong headspace.

“It’s obviously frustrating, but there’s problems and then there’s real world problems, so you put it into perspective as well as you can and get on with things,” Smith said.

“Once I get training and stuff, that’s when we’ll start to properly put the mind to it (my contract).

“Right now I’m just going through the motions with the knee and just trying to get in a good headspace and a good space.”

Smith hopes to spend 2024 inspiring his teammates by working hard in the rehab group and setting standards at training.

“As long as I still train, I don’t mind. Hopefully I can inspire a few of the boys when they see me in a full sweat each day, hopefully that can spur them on a bit, that’s sort of my motivation, is to try and have a positive impact on others,” he said.

“It’s only a small part not being able to run out on weekends so as much support as I can be for the group is sort of the goal.”

And Smith promises to be on his best behaviour over the holiday break to maximise his recovery post surgery.

“Do my rehab as well as I can and do all the right things and be good on new years, no drinking etc ... just be a good boy and look after it, because I’m really motivated to come back bigger and better,” Smith said.

The Bulldogs enter 2024 under pressure to go deep into September, following two seasons fighting for eighth.

21-12-2023, 07:06 PM
What's the general feeling around Smith at the moment?

Will he stay on?

21-12-2023, 07:14 PM
What's the general feeling around Smith at the moment?

Will he stay on?

No one really knows. No reliable whispers. All just personal vibes based on how the person perceives him

20-01-2024, 06:03 PM
‘We’ve been trying!’: Josh Daicos reveals cheeky trade wish to have Bailey Smith at the Pies

He’s one of the biggest stars off-contract at season’s end – and Western Bulldogs on-baller Bailey Smith might have Collingwood best and fairest winner Josh Daicos in his ear this year about a cheeky cross-town move.

Smith is out of contract at the end of the 2024 season – a season in which he won’t play any games due to an ACL rupture at training last month.

The 23-year-old, who was squeezed out of the Bulldogs’ midfield at times in 2023, has already been central to trade reports, linked to both Geelong and Hawthorn late last year.
But you sense if Daicos – Smith’s business partner and close mate – had his way, Smith will be wearing black and white in 2025.

Asked on Tuesday night if he had any pulling power in luring Smith to Collingwood, Daicos told TV reporters with a laugh: “We’ve been trying!

“But I think as players it’s just natural to do that. Obviously he’s such a skilful and gun player.
https://content.api.news/v3/images/bin/009a0043f6b34d6e777d7fc845a2c38a?width=768

“Wherever he goes, we’ll be trying our best to get him over to the Pies.”

Smith and Daicos linked up over the off-season in New York, with some using the burgeoning partnership as fodder in talks surrounding the former’s future.

While Smith’s immediate focus is on rehabbing his knee injury, he said last month he was aware a big decision over his footy future loomed.

“Once I get training and stuff, that’s when we’ll start to properly put the mind to it (contract call),” Smith told 7 News Melbourne in December.

“Right now I’m just going through the motions with the knee and just trying to get in a good headspace and a good space.”
LINK (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/department-of-trade/afl-trade-news-rumours-whispers-2024-bailey-smith-collingwood-josh-daicos-would-love-western-bulldogs-star-at-magpies/news-story/51b41ec16c2f2afe1f76cd39612dba8f)

20-01-2024, 06:05 PM
I remember when poaching was frowned upon. Daicos must be getting in his ear one would have to think.

20-01-2024, 06:06 PM
What a scoop!

20-01-2024, 06:09 PM
The circus continues.

20-01-2024, 06:11 PM
The circus continues.

This is just the Flying Fruit Fly Circus, wait until the big boys in Silvers and Circus Oz roll into town......

20-01-2024, 07:02 PM
A bullshit article. Daicos was asked if he is getting into his ear, and he answered that way

20-01-2024, 08:30 PM
"wherever he goes"

That's not an entirely surprising revelation, however ultimately dissapointing as we have a very weak hand.

23-01-2024, 08:45 AM
I reckon he is gone, and personally I?d happily drive to him to his new training facility for a top 5 pick. It?s so frustrating that we have to endure 12 months of media hype. Fingers crossed it boosts his value - an inability to kick but 250k non paying 16 yo female members must have some draw to it.

23-01-2024, 09:37 AM
I reckon he is gone, and personally I?d happily drive to him to his new training facility for a top 5 pick. It?s so frustrating that we have to endure 12 months of media hype. Fingers crossed it boosts his value - an inability to kick but 250k non paying 16 yo female members must have some draw to it.

I can't see a lot of teams coughing up a lot to trade for him given his injury. Sure there might be some clubs prepared to pay him a very good salary but we have to agree to a trade and it's optimistic to think we would get something like a top 5 pick.
The smart play would be for Smith to sign a 2 year deal with us and then test free agency.

23-01-2024, 09:51 AM
What did Smith do exactly to make us all hate him so much? Be merely pretty good at footy? Be too hot? I find comments like “I’d drive him to his new team” pretty weird.

23-01-2024, 09:53 AM
What did Smith do exactly to make us all hate him so much? Be merely pretty good at footy? Be too hot? I find comments like “I’d drive him to his new team” pretty weird.

I don't get it either. All what we are reading about him wanting a trade etc is just pure speculation without anything of substance to support it.

23-01-2024, 10:07 AM

I think the lower output on the footy field combined with the off field attention and a perceived lack of loyalty (perceived because at this stage it's assumed he'll leave no matter what) all creates a pretty unlikable persona to a lot of people (even if it's not reflective of Smith himself)

23-01-2024, 10:09 AM
I don't get it either. All what we are reading about him wanting a trade etc is just pure speculation without anything of substance to support it.

Like my mother says. "This is why we can't have nice things"

If this is how we are reacting to mere speculation the best part of12 months out then it's going to get interesting

23-01-2024, 10:11 AM

The media are very good at making people look bad or good and people fall for it.
He has always been very friendly to fans and just got on with playing footy . Yes he had an indiscretion of being a young person and doing drugs of some sort . Part of learning to mature. We all make mistakes.
It also doesn’t help when the media take photos of him having fun with mates who happen to play for another club. Insinuating he is leaving.
All players have mates who play for other teams.
He has issues of being too hard on himself as well but he has actually been very good for us with the cotton on stuff he does by lifting the look of the club.
I like him and would be sad to see him go.

23-01-2024, 11:08 AM
I can't see a lot of teams coughing up a lot to trade for him given his injury. Sure there might be some clubs prepared to pay him a very good salary but we have to agree to a trade and it's optimistic to think we would get something like a top 5 pick.
The smart play would be for Smith to sign a 2 year deal with us and then test free agency.
For us. That's the issue. If he wanted to do that he would have by now.

23-01-2024, 11:10 AM
I think the lower output on the footy field combined with the off field attention and a perceived lack of loyalty (perceived because at this stage it's assumed he'll leave no matter what) all creates a pretty unlikable persona to a lot of people (even if it's not reflective of Smith himself)
I think the admittance he didn't handle not playing in his pet position well last year turned some off him. It was clear he was an unhappy kid.
Personally I really like Bailey he's always very generous with his time and I hope we keep him.

I also believe he will leave and we will get a poor return.

23-01-2024, 11:51 AM
I think the admittance he didn't handle not playing in his pet position well last year turned some off him. It was clear he was an unhappy kid.
Personally I really like Bailey he's always very generous with his time and I hope we keep him.

I also believe he will leave and we will get a poor return.

What do ypu believe is a poor return for him? Late first rounder?

23-01-2024, 12:42 PM
What did Smith do exactly to make us all hate him so much? Be merely pretty good at footy? Be too hot? I find comments like ?I?d drive him to his new team? pretty weird.

We don't hate him do we? I thought we all thought he was great and were happy/lucky to have him. I certainly do.

I guess there's a perception that "he thinks he's better than that" - 'that' being the hybrid mid-fwd role he's been playing - but he's still just a kid and he wants the ball/wants to be the best player.

Smith is awesome - hard working, diligent, great role model for his team-mates with regards his preparation AND his willingness to spend time with supporters. Could he kick it a bit better? Of course...but we should be working VERY hard to re-sign him. Aside from all of that, he is a massive media presence (maybe something else people don't like??) and that is GOOD for the club and our sponsors.

23-01-2024, 12:48 PM
What do ypu believe is a poor return for him? Late first rounder?
Don't make me back up my thoughtless statements ;)

Having thought about it :

0-5 : Dreamland absolute perfect scenario.
5-10 : I'll take it!
10-15 : ok now I'm getting annoyed
15 + : I hate bailey Smith.

weltschmerz
23-01-2024, 12:57 PM
Johannisen also commended Bailey Smith for his involvement around the Club, despite suffering an ACL injury before the Christmas break.

“He’s also been unbelievable – he’s probably entitled to have some time off, but he’s been in the Club pretty much every time we are, just doing as much as he can,” Johannisen said of Smith.

“He’s been doing a lot of upper body circuits, and I think he’s starting to do some bike riding as well.

“To have him around just shows how much he cares about the playing group, and just wants to be part of it all.”

I like to hear this. Baz isn’t sooking it up and acting like he’s one foot out the door.

23-01-2024, 01:34 PM
What did Smith do exactly to make us all hate him so much? Be merely pretty good at footy? Be too hot? I find comments like ?I?d drive him to his new team? pretty weird.

I don't hate him. I think he can run really fast and kick it a long way. I think he's capable of extremely good things, but inconsistently.

I think he's as good as he's going to get and will be unfulfilled potential. We did the right thing getting rid of Stringer and I think it's sound club management to look at moving him on for someone that actually makes us better.

ShibbyUp
23-01-2024, 01:49 PM
He is 23, there's basically zero chance he has peaked as a footballer. I'm sick of Pies fans talking about him like he's going there for a packet of chips. He was on the doorstep of greatness after his 21 finals series and start to 22. I'd hope the Dogs show a bit of faith in him and he shows faith in the club and they sign for 2 years to get through to free agency after his year off.

I will be extremely disappointed if he leaves this year because the Dogs definitely won't get full value for him.

doggies ftw
23-01-2024, 02:10 PM
I don't hate him. I think he can run really fast and kick it a long way. I think he's capable of extremely good things, but inconsistently.

I think he's as good as he's going to get and will be unfulfilled potential. We did the right thing getting rid of Stringer and I think it's sound club management to look at moving him on for someone that actually makes us better.

Why would he not have improvement in him as a player at 22yo? What were Petracca, De Goey, Danger, Neale etc like at 22? Certainly not the players they are today?

Stringer was unfulfilled potential because he?s a fat lazy **** who doesn?t put in any effort off field, literally the complete opposite to Baz so that?s not a great comparison to be honest

23-01-2024, 03:27 PM

I like him and wouldn't want to lose such a young talent - they don't grow on trees

23-01-2024, 04:05 PM
He is 23, there's basically zero chance he has peaked as a footballer. I'm sick of Pies fans talking about him like he's going there for a packet of chips. He was on the doorstep of greatness after his 21 finals series and start to 22. I'd hope the Dogs show a bit of faith in him and he shows faith in the club and they sign for 2 years to get through to free agency after his year off.

I will be extremely disappointed if he leaves this year because the Dogs definitely won't get full value for him.

It's just wishful thinking for the Pies fans. I like our chances of keeping him and I would be very disappointed if he goes.

23-01-2024, 05:06 PM

Honestly - I find it astounding that anyone would be keen to keep him.

He had an abysmal year last year, outside one or two rounds - awful. He lacks the ability to defend and had close to zero composure with football in hand and his disposal by foot is dreadful. Personally I thought he made the team worse when he played and went public with his frustration putting himself above the team.

I would have welcomed a trade for him last year.

I find it hilarious that the word ?hate? is being used. I don?t hate him, don?t know him. He has good attributes, and has shown glimpses of incredible footy over his short career. I just don?t think he fits with the bulldogs and we won?t see the best of him again.

I?m also sick of his contract in the news but granted it?s a slow footy news time.

So I?d love a good trade though agree his currency is lower now w the ACL.

23-01-2024, 05:14 PM
From memory (different reasons obviously), Dusty was one foot out the door at round the same age as Bailey is now, and amazingly it was the lack of interest from other clubs that meant he ended up staying at Tigerland and the rest is history.

Bailey has shown his elite level in 2021 finals series and 2022 and I would be loathe to sell low right now after a down year and an ACL. Progress is not linear in life - I would absolutely back him in to recapture his best (which is very high). I hope he remains at the club beyond this year.

23-01-2024, 05:36 PM
Why would he not have improvement in him as a player at 22yo? What were Petracca, De Goey, Danger, Neale etc like at 22? Certainly not the players they are today?

Stringer was unfulfilled potential because he?s a fat lazy **** who doesn?t put in any effort off field, literally the complete opposite to Baz so that?s not a great comparison to be honest

Fair question. My issue is he can't hit a target and that's notoriously difficult to improve on.

Actually I think Stringer is a perfectly cromulent comparison. The issue isn't the areas they're good at, it's that I don't think they'll reach their potential.

23-01-2024, 05:40 PM
Fair question. My issue is he can't hit a target and that's notoriously difficult to improve on.

Actually I think Stringer is a perfectly cromulent comparison. The issue isn't the areas they're good at, it's that I don't think they'll reach their potential.

Bailey says hello

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDSId9K9S_Y&ab_channel=InfusedProtential

23-01-2024, 05:42 PM
Bailey says hello

I think thats the issue, hes done FA since that finals series.

23-01-2024, 05:44 PM

Not an issue to me, just turned 23 years old

ShibbyUp
23-01-2024, 05:47 PM

He started '22 very well. Went to shizen after he headbutted Tuhoy and got caught with the whiz fizz and he's been pretty average since then.

23-01-2024, 05:55 PM
He started '22 very well. Went to shizen after he headbutted Tuhoy and got caught with the whiz fizz and he's been pretty average since then.

He did get position changed as well which didn’t help.

23-01-2024, 06:20 PM
Not an issue to me, just turned 23 years old

Fair enough, i think its a huge issue pretty soon for us.

If you could keep only 2 of JUH, English and Smith who would you pick?

23-01-2024, 06:26 PM

JUH and Smith. We'd get the best return for English and he's the simplest to replace. Ideally we will keep all three though.

doggies ftw
23-01-2024, 06:34 PM
Yeah this gets forgotten a lot, he was one of our best players in the first half of ?22. Hasn?t been the same since but he?ll get back to his best.

He?d be a massive loss, and selling at his absolute lowest value is not good business

23-01-2024, 06:39 PM
JUH and Smith. We'd get the best return for English and he's the simplest to replace. Ideally we will keep all three though.

Yeah i dunno, English is a bit of a unicorn imo. Who would you replace him with?

23-01-2024, 06:41 PM

Marra twice.

23-01-2024, 07:02 PM
Yeah i dunno, English is a bit of a unicorn imo. Who would you replace him with?
Not sour but.......!

23-01-2024, 07:03 PM

A solid tap ruckman who can get from contest to contest. I agree that Tim is a unicorn but Marra is a generational talent and Smith at his best is exactly what we need, a mid who breaks the lines, kicks goals and is box office gold (Jerry, gold!)

It's not an easy choice but it's something I thought about a while ago and made a decision then.

23-01-2024, 07:34 PM

GG hates him.

23-01-2024, 07:37 PM

1. Marra
2. Month of Sundays
3. Smith
4. English
English

23-01-2024, 08:05 PM
We had to recruit Lachlan Smith, if Bailey leaves we still have a Smith. We lost two Smiths recently in Roarke and Rohan, we can now afford to lose another.
I believe the club always needs a back up Smith.
Two birds in one stone .. a Smith and a back up ruckman if English decided to leave or Bailey does.

weltschmerz
23-01-2024, 08:17 PM
We had to recruit Lachlan Smith, if Bailey leaves we still have a Smith. We lost two Smiths recently in Roarke and Rohan, we can now afford to lose another.
I believe the club always needs a back up Smith.
Two birds in one stone .. a Smith and a back up ruckman if English decided to leave or Bailey does.

Locksmith also upped our Lachie stocks, every team needs a couple of Lachies.

23-01-2024, 08:29 PM
GG hates him.
Haaa.

Nice

Actually I wouldn't mind rubbing lotion into his six pack and being his best friend in all honesty.

I'd even comb his hair in a not weird staring way also.

23-01-2024, 08:55 PM

I forgot about that, a point well made.

23-01-2024, 09:44 PM
Bailey says hello

Now show me Bailey hitting a leading forward laces out.

23-01-2024, 10:21 PM
Bailey says hello

One of the greatest games i've ever been to, the silence and disbelief from all Lions supporters that night was gold.

23-01-2024, 10:39 PM
I don't get all the negativity towards Bailey either, most of it is certainty media driven in fact i really am not a fan of how the media make stories out of nothing these days just to stay relevant basing things on speculation, opinion and assumption (Cornes and Caro i'm looking at you), and until players re-sign these days, they are looking around at other clubs for a trade.

He is a gun who has been off the boil for a little while but still quite young (we've all seen this before with many other high quality players) yet supporters are so fast to just want to dish players off, it's a very reactionary mindset imo, we know how well he can play, we have all seen it and i think the main issues for him have been around positioning and maybe he's that person who just over thinks everything, and in a funny way i believe having a year off might be the making of him without sounding too glass full, spending time in the coaches box, seeing things from a different perspective.

Want to lose him? absolutely not!

24-01-2024, 06:24 AM
+2 to take him to FA

24-01-2024, 07:39 AM
I don't get all the negativity towards Bailey either, most of it is certainty media driven in fact i really am not a fan of how the media make stories out of nothing these days just to stay relevant basing things on speculation, opinion and assumption (Cornes and Caro i'm looking at you), and until players re-sign these days, they are looking around at other clubs for a trade.

He is a gun who has been off the boil for a little while but still quite young (we've all seen this before with many other high quality players) yet supporters are so fast to just want to dish players off, it's a very reactionary mindset imo, we know how well he can play, we have all seen it and i think the main issues for him have been around positioning and maybe he's that person who just over thinks everything, and in a funny way i believe having a year off might be the making of him without sounding too glass full, spending time in the coaches box, seeing things from a different perspective.

Want to lose him? absolutely not!

The media are a disgrace not just football , everything, trading is a good example they just look up the list of players coming out of contract in a year, look at clubs that have a dificiency in that kind of player, then write they are going there.
The shock jock is all about clicks and getting paid , Caro and Cornes are the big ones.
They don’t care if it’s true or not then use the excuse it’s opinion or ignore they were wrong and move on to more rubbish.
I feel sorry for clubs they now are expected to do more press but the AFL need to make the journos more accountable.

24-01-2024, 08:29 AM

Easy :

https://i.postimg.cc/3RJt74jS/OIG-KHNJIe2b-Ys-TPr-XNoj73-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Ff8yVKB3)

24-01-2024, 08:47 AM
I like to hear this. Baz isn?t sooking it up and acting like he?s one foot out the door.
True, but his preparation and commitment has never been questioned has it? If anything he had to learn to relax a little more (he mentioned Easton Wood taught him this).

His workrate on and off the field has been first-rate since he walked into the club.

24-01-2024, 08:47 AM
Easy :

https://i.postimg.cc/3RJt74jS/OIG-KHNJIe2b-Ys-TPr-XNoj73-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Ff8yVKB3)
Why did you photoshop my shirt off?

24-01-2024, 08:54 AM
Baz is a great part of the team, and important to the club.

Is he in our best 5 players? Prob not at this point. No reason to wish him gone though. He’s capable of great footy and will hopefully be a dog for life!

24-01-2024, 09:22 AM
Easy :

The buttons on the nipples are a nice touch.

24-01-2024, 09:31 AM

There are a few in here:

https://youtu.be/2uyuqt4YY-Y?si=he_qgU47etsEN5nh

24-01-2024, 09:50 AM
The buttons on the nipples are a nice touch.

Ha didn't notice that xD

24-01-2024, 09:50 AM
Why did you photoshop my shirt off?

You're Chris Hansen?

weltschmerz
24-01-2024, 09:57 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkSKJp2hrew

for me, this is what Dogs footy should be. English putting Gawn on his arse, Baz bursting out and hitting up Garcia?s lead, Garcia threading the goal.

24-01-2024, 10:26 AM

for me, this is what Dogs footy should be. English putting Gawn on his arse, Baz bursting out and hitting up Garcia?s lead, Garcia threading the goal.
Dunkley with the clearance .... wait.

24-01-2024, 10:27 AM

That was brilliant stuff

24-01-2024, 10:30 AM
Good work by Robbie in the middle to lay a block

24-01-2024, 11:31 AM
There are a few in here:

There's two kicks to the top of the square that Bont and Naughton ran onto. There's one regulation kick to Cody Weightman as he's standing there wide open. There's one that goes to Marra that's arguable whether he was going to Marra or putting it into the area, but I'm prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt and say there's one kick to a leading forward in that package.

I wanna see ten, deliberately placed, on the tit kicks in a highlights package like this before I'd agree that he can do it.

He can't.

weltschmerz
24-01-2024, 12:04 PM
Dunkley with the clearance .... wait.

Shame we have nobody left who can win a clearance, hey?

24-01-2024, 04:24 PM
There's two kicks to the top of the square that Bont and Naughton ran onto. There's one regulation kick to Cody Weightman as he's standing there wide open. There's one that goes to Marra that's arguable whether he was going to Marra or putting it into the area, but I'm prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt and say there's one kick to a leading forward in that package.

I wanna see ten, deliberately placed, on the tit kicks in a highlights package like this before I'd agree that he can do it.

He can't.

Man, you really don't like him do you?

weltschmerz
24-01-2024, 04:44 PM

I mean, he goes about his training in a professional manner, has an on-field weakness, and has off-field friends and interests. How can you not dislike him? Unforgivable.

24-01-2024, 05:22 PM

What do you mean?

My criticism is that he can't hit a lead up forward laces out. The highlights package showed him maybe doing it once. Maybe. It's not a strong case.

There's lots I do like about him, I don't want to make it seem like I'm totally against him because I am not at all. If he's such an elite trainer and meticulous and blah blah blah then why is this glaring flaw in his game still a glaring flaw in his game?

24-01-2024, 05:25 PM
I mean, he goes about his training in a professional manner, has an on-field weakness, and has off-field friends and interests. How can you not dislike him? Unforgivable.

I've never mentioned his off field interests. He can do whatever he likes. I don't care for your comment as directed at me. This can only be resolved by a nets session.

If his on field weakness was anything other than what I regard as a KPI for a guy that plays that position, then it'd be more easy to let go.

But I really want my gun midfielder to be able to hit up a forward. I don't see what's controversial about that.

24-01-2024, 05:27 PM
What do you mean?

My criticism is that he can't hit a lead up forward laces out. The highlights package showed him maybe doing it once. Maybe. It's not a strong case.

There's lots I do like about him, I don't want to make it seem like I'm totally against him because I am not at all. If he's such an elite trainer and meticulous and blah blah blah then why is this glaring flaw in his game still a glaring flaw in his game?

Sounds like Dangerfield who must be the worst kick in the history of football when streaming out of the middle and having a shot at goal. Never seen a bloke put it out on the full so consistently.

24-01-2024, 05:34 PM
Thanks for sharing this. Very timely. "lest we forget"
There are a few in here:

24-01-2024, 06:11 PM
What do you mean?

Has GG taken over your account?

24-01-2024, 07:11 PM
Has GG taken over your account?

Sometimes it's hard to know, there's a lot of voices in my head.

24-01-2024, 07:14 PM
Honestly - I find it astounding that anyone would be keen to keep him.

He had an abysmal year last year, outside one or two rounds - awful. He lacks the ability to defend and had close to zero composure with football in hand and his disposal by foot is dreadful. Personally I thought he made the team worse when he played and went public with his frustration putting himself above the team.

I would have welcomed a trade for him last year.

I find it hilarious that the word ?hate? is being used. I don?t hate him, don?t know him. He has good attributes, and has shown glimpses of incredible footy over his short career. I just don?t think he fits with the bulldogs and we won?t see the best of him again.

I?m also sick of his contract in the news but granted it?s a slow footy news time.

So I?d love a good trade though agree his currency is lower now w the ACL.

I will concede that Bailey was below par in 2023, but if we trade out every player who goes backward for a year we won't have much left.

His effort in the finals in Brisbane and Adelaide in 2021 show he has what it takes.

Our challenge should be to harness his ability and use it for the betterment of the team.

With the ACL Bailey would be well advised to sign a reasonable contract for 2 years and concentrate on his rehab.

He then needs to get on the park and prove he has what it takes. He could then command a significant Free Agency contract.

24-01-2024, 07:24 PM
I've never mentioned his off field interests. He can do whatever he likes. I don't care for your comment as directed at me. This can only be resolved by a nets session.

If his on field weakness was anything other than what I regard as a KPI for a guy that plays that position, then it'd be more easy to let go.

But I really want my gun midfielder to be able to hit up a forward. I don't see what's controversial about that.

I see it a little differently.

The forward needs to initiate a lead that allows the player upfield to put it to his advantage. One of the issues is that our forwards do not lead enough.

24-01-2024, 07:51 PM
I see it a little differently.

The forward needs to initiate a lead that allows the player upfield to put it to his advantage. One of the issues is that our forwards do not lead enough.

You don't see it that it's his job to put it in front of them?

There might be some merit in what you said about our forwards, maybe with the exception of Marra. I think he leads a lot and gets it put over his head.

24-01-2024, 09:14 PM
You don't see it that it's his job to put it in front of them?

There might be some merit in what you said about our forwards, maybe with the exception of Marra. I think he leads a lot and gets it put over his head.
Gaz jnr was the best I've ever seen at hitting a forward.
He somehow could run full tilt and chip the ball into space as well without drilling it.

24-01-2024, 09:46 PM
A great midfielder will kick it to a space that will make the forward run into it , in effect making the forward run to the ball.
In saying that the forward must make sure the space is there.
A lot of Hawkins marks and leads are from the midfielder eg Ablett jnr kicking it in front of him to make him run to it, it looks like he lead but in truth he was made to run to the ball. The old saying put “put it in front”
From what I’m reading I think Sanders is the guy who can do it.
I think Bailey Smiths problem is 1 we haven’t got it right yet and our forwards block up each others space and 2 it’s extremely hard to hit them on the chest when the forwards aren’t moving in different directions.

25-01-2024, 11:39 AM
Sometimes it's hard to know, there's a lot of voices in my head.

I can see a RKO happening at the nets.

25-01-2024, 04:40 PM
I want to know how many 22 year olds have highlights packages as good as Smith's that also contain ten examples of hitting forwards who are leading at them on the tit.

25-01-2024, 05:17 PM
I want to know how many 22 year olds have highlights packages as good as Smith's that also contain ten examples of hitting forwards who are leading at them on the tit.

But they aren't the same thing are they?

Bailey does the hard things well, but the bread & butter bits like kicking the ball to your team-mate is something he struggles with... and to become a more effective player he needs to improve in that area.

25-01-2024, 05:43 PM
But they aren't the same thing are they?

Bailey does the hard things well, but the bread & butter bits like kicking the ball to your team-mate is something he struggles with... and to become a more effective player he needs to improve in that area.

He needs to bring some more composure to his execution, though prior to the last couple of years I didn't think he was too bad. He's lapsed but I don't think it's terminal.

doggies ftw
25-01-2024, 06:57 PM
He needs to bring some more composure to his execution, though prior to the last couple of years I didn't think he wasn't too bad. He's lapsed but I don't think it's terminal.
Yeah spot on, it wasn?t really too big an issue before last year it?s just fresh in everyone?s mind. I?d love to know how many people had even raised it as an issue prior to last year. I bet it wasn?t many

Technically he?s as sound as can be, doesn?t miss a target from a standing start after a mark etc (nor should he) but it?s his composure on the run which is letting him down, he?s not alone there across the league and I think he?ll sort it out to a reasonable extent

25-01-2024, 09:40 PM

https://i.postimg.cc/d3GcQ3hZ/images-32.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Sam
26-01-2024, 08:34 PM
Can’t afford to lose a guy with his ability and age bracket.
All other teams have worked with the bit harder to handle players and benefited from it, Dusty Martin and Jordan Degoey to name a few. Its about time our club grew up a little and learnt how to manage these situations.
People quickly forget how good this kid was early days.

29-01-2024, 07:59 AM
I will concede that Bailey was below par in 2023, but if we trade out every player who goes backward for a year we won't have much left.

His effort in the finals in Brisbane and Adelaide in 2021 show he has what it takes.

Our challenge should be to harness his ability and use it for the betterment of the team.

With the ACL Bailey would be well advised to sign a reasonable contract for 2 years and concentrate on his rehab.

He then needs to get on the park and prove he has what it takes. He could then command a significant Free Agency contract.

He was outstanding in the 2021 semi and prelim finals. Outstanding. That goal in the final quarter against the lions was a beacon of hope in stage 4 lockdown. The clouds parted and he had a halo whilst he did his ice in the veins celebration. Side note - the feral lions fans in the crowd behind him made it so much sweeter.

Since about round 8 2022, or whenever he head butted Thouey, he has been abysmal. Agree - you don?t turn your back on young guns w form slump but to me he looks like he has zero heart and resilience. I think he has reached his ceiling - he was an intense teenager and when drafted i thought he?d lift w AFL training but quickly plateau.

I get the feeling he has so many interests in life that footy is a mid level priority - and for a guy in that form, with that potential I want to see more grit and fight to get back.

He played lacklustre, unmotivated football for 18 months with very little acknowledgement or increased intensity in training. In fact he came out and complained in the media he wasn?t getting the role he wanted on the field - whilst launching a vodka brand and being an ambassador for a fashion label.

He is a super successful young man and I wish him no ill, but I?ve had enough of him on our list. I don?t see us re signing him - more so, I don?t see him re signing with us.

29-01-2024, 08:06 AM

6/7 of the top 15 from his draft year

D Mitchell
29-01-2024, 08:10 AM
He was outstanding in the 2021 semi and prelim finals. Outstanding. That goal in the final quarter against the lions was a beacon of hope in stage 4 lockdown. The clouds parted and he had a halo whilst he did his ice in the veins celebration. Side note - the feral lions fans in the crowd behind him made it so much sweeter.

Since about round 8 2022, or whenever he head butted Thouey, he has been abysmal. Agree - you don?t turn your back on young guns w form slump but to me he looks like he has zero heart and resilience. I think he has reached his ceiling - he was an intense teenager and when drafted i thought he?d lift w AFL training but quickly plateau.

I get the feeling he has so many interests in life that footy is a mid level priority - and for a guy in that form, with that potential I want to see more grit and fight to get back.

He played lacklustre, unmotivated football for 18 months with very little acknowledgement or increased intensity in training. In fact he came out and complained in the media he wasn?t getting the role he wanted on the field - whilst launching a vodka brand and being an ambassador for a fashion label.

He is a super successful young man and I wish him no ill, but I?ve had enough of him on our list. I don?t see us re signing him - more so, I don?t see him re signing with us.

A fair analysis. Anyone wanting to play midfield can't afford less than maximum intensity on the training track. He now has a year to work out his priorities.

29-01-2024, 11:41 AM
I've gone back and forth on Smith but ultimately it is up to him.

If he is committed, and I mean genuinely committed to being a leader and the best player he can be at OUR footy club, it's a no brainer. Sign him.

My concern over the last 2 years is that footy, and the team, haven't been the priority. When he comes out and complains about his role last year, as much as I 'get it' - he wants to be a mid - it's just another sign he's in it for himself.

I hope he commits and re-signs and realises his potential, but anything short of that and I'm entertaining offers.

29-01-2024, 12:39 PM
Why do people suggest he isn't committed? I mean, sure he has outside interests but surely players can walk and chew gum at the same time? He won our time trial didn't he?

29-01-2024, 01:32 PM
Why do people suggest he isn't committed? I mean, sure he has outside interests but surely players can walk and chew gum at the same time? He won our time trial didn't he?

I don't get that POV either. Sure he's got a couple of other interests but that can be a good thing as well.
I'd like to see him tidy up and improve his foot skills but I don't question his attitude to training and playing.
I still maintain that he was one of the most impressive first year players I have seen at the club and he's still got some great football in front of him.

29-01-2024, 01:39 PM

3rd actually. He beat the other runners on the day he ran but there were another two from the previous week with better times. Bedendo won our time trial

29-01-2024, 01:49 PM
3rd actually. He beat the other runners on the day he ran but there were another two from the previous week with better times. Bedendo won our time trial
You sure it wasn't Ed Barlow?

29-01-2024, 01:51 PM
You sure it wasn't Ed Barlow?

Maybe that's who I'm forgetting who came second

doggies ftw
29-01-2024, 01:57 PM
Yeah a young player saying he wants to play midfield isn?t complaining, I reckon 95% of young midfielders have made that quote once in their career before they permanently moved into the midfield. I?d be more concerned if he didn?t want to play midfield.

He also literally said in the same interview ?whatever?s thrown at me I?ll attack it as well I can, I just want to win?

Where?s the ?complaining? about his role?

29-01-2024, 02:01 PM
So where did he complain about not getting enough midfield time?

I remember him saying he needed to accept the role given to him, basically acknowledging it's up to him to do what is asked of him.

Is calling out that he himself needs and attitude adjustment a bad thing? It's not like he's the first player to get shitty in this area, and we could probably agree that we didn't rotate enough people through the midfield proper as it was.

29-01-2024, 02:02 PM
2nd place is just the first loser - not even Crossy could compete with the perfection of Cheesy.

29-01-2024, 03:39 PM

Daniel Bandy

06-02-2024, 12:21 PM
Dangerfield on SEN hoping Bailey Smith goes to Geelong.
If Baz has to go anywhere, Geelong at least have a record of just getting their 'big' deals done (Ottens, Dangerfield, Cameron).

06-02-2024, 12:27 PM
If Baz has to go anywhere, Geelong at least have a record of just getting their 'big' deals done (Ottens, Dangerfield, Cameron).

That was probably more to do with the way Wells approached trades etc. Mackie hasn't exactly set a standard for being fair minded.
The Cats will need to be prepared to put up something reasonable though and I rate Powers ability to stand his ground

06-02-2024, 12:33 PM
It kind of makes sense with the cotton on thing, however could he live down in that place? He seems like a guy who likes the bright lights.

I still can't see the attraction with Geelong. I mean there's a far better place called Melbourne close by!

06-02-2024, 02:08 PM
Sick of the Media discussion on Smith.

06-02-2024, 02:20 PM

I'm more sick of opposition players commenting. Hopefully he signs in the next month or so.

06-02-2024, 02:22 PM
I'm more sick of opposition players commenting. Hopefully he signs in the next month or so.

Yeah that is even worse

06-02-2024, 02:41 PM
It's probably clear to most he's leaving and they're using their influence to try and persuade him to come to them.

I'd say there's very little chance he's a Dog again.

06-02-2024, 03:06 PM

Its only just begun...

06-02-2024, 03:26 PM

It's easy bait though isn't it.

Reporter: Would you like to have Bailey at your club?

Player: Yes of course, any team would be better with him in it.

Headline: Player says he wants Bailey Smith to request a trade to his club!

You can't exactly 'no comment' a question like that

06-02-2024, 03:28 PM
I'm more sick of Dangerfield.
Edited for accuracy.

06-02-2024, 03:48 PM

"Bailey's contract situation is between him and the Bulldogs, nobody cares what I think about it"

06-02-2024, 04:12 PM

It's a good point but if senior players just said it's not right to be commenting on contracted players from other clubs it would shut this nonsense down.

06-02-2024, 04:30 PM
It's probably clear to most he's leaving and they're using their influence to try and persuade him to come to them.

Why is it clear he's leaving?

Outside of him being out of contract - and don't most players leave it until their last year to re-sign? Didn't Bont do that? - then what impression has he ever given that he doesn't want to be at the Dogs and win the next 3 flags?

06-02-2024, 04:32 PM
If he’s leaving, then replace him with a MSD pick before the cut off. Maybe he should declare his intention before the MSD cut off. Denying us a MSD pick and then walking would be a selfish act. Or re-sign and try to get back with us trying to make finals.

06-02-2024, 04:39 PM
If he’s leaving, then replace him with a MSD pick before the cut off. Maybe he should declare his intention before the MSD cut off. Denying us a MSD pick and then walking would be a selfish act. Or re-sign and try to get back with us trying to make finals.

We can have a MSD draft pick anyway if we want by placing him on the long term injury list.

06-02-2024, 04:46 PM
We can have a MSD draft pick anyway if we want by placing him on the long term injury list.

True. But that might force him out if he isn’t agreeable to the change. If he wants to stay, stay. If he wants to go or seriously look at going, then tell the club he has no issues with vacating his spot essentially.

06-02-2024, 04:48 PM
Why is it clear he's leaving?

Outside of him being out of contract - and don't most players leave it until their last year to re-sign? Didn't Bont do that? - then what impression has he ever given that he doesn't want to be at the Dogs and win the next 3 flags?

Mabo.

Flip that around and what makes you think he will stay?

I really hope he does, however he doesn't seem that happy and with the knee compounding it (will be a long winter for him) I feel he's on the way out.

I don't have any proof of this no ;)

If we hear nothing by mid season probably goneski.

Re Bont he signed his contract in November 2018 when he was about Bailey's age.

06-02-2024, 05:01 PM
I might be one of the odd ones out on this but I think he stays. Whether he signs a long term deal or just pens a deal long enough to get him to free agency is real question. Clubs will be wary of him coming back from the knee injury and they can't really get access too him before the end of the season where we will know exactly how his attitude and the progress of his recovery.

06-02-2024, 05:05 PM
"Bailey's contract situation is between him and the Bulldogs, nobody cares what I think about it"

Yep that's a great stance for a guy who has no intentions of ever working in the media. For players that do. or just are even a fraction authentic. they'll respond like a normal person.

06-02-2024, 05:20 PM
Mabo.

Cause most players do? So yeah... not exactly a compelling argument either! Ha!

06-02-2024, 05:20 PM
Yep that's a great stance for a guy who has no intentions of ever working in the media. For players that do. or just are even a fraction authentic. they'll respond like a normal person.
I reckon if Danger says I'll speculate on player contracts after I retire it doesn't affect his potential to be in the media.
I would think the PA would be trying to keep the pressure off players as much as possible; speculation isn't doing that for mine. He's the president right?

06-02-2024, 05:21 PM
Cause most players do? So yeah... not exactly a compelling argument either! Ha!

Ha. You've swayed me xD

doggies ftw
06-02-2024, 07:20 PM
Mabo.

I really hope he does, however he doesn't seem that happy and with the knee compounding it (will be a long winter for him) I feel he's on the way out.

I don't have any proof of this no ;)

If we hear nothing by mid season probably goneski.

Re Bont he signed his contract in November 2018 when he was about Bailey's age.
Innocent until proven guilty, all he?s ever said is how much he loves the club and his teammates. Personally I?m going to take that at face value until he does anything that makes me think otherwise

06-02-2024, 07:33 PM
Innocent until proven guilty, all he?s ever said is how much he loves the club and his teammates. Personally I?m going to take that at face value until he does anything that makes me think otherwise

Devil's advocate, what else would you expect him to say?

06-02-2024, 07:52 PM
I reckon if Danger says I'll speculate on player contracts after I retire it doesn't affect his potential to be in the media.
I would think the PA would be trying to keep the pressure off players as much as possible; speculation isn't doing that for mine. He's the president right?

I might be mistaken, but I don't get the feeling the PA President position is one taken out of benevolence, nor does the association necessarily have the interests of the majority of players as it's main focus.

06-02-2024, 07:56 PM
I might be mistaken, but I don't get the feeling the PA President position is one taken out of benevolence, nor does the association necessarily have the interests of the majority of players as it's main focus.
Ha, fair observation.

06-02-2024, 08:12 PM
Here's what I could find relating to what Dangerfield said.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2024/02/05/the-rival-club-that-makes-sense-for-bailey-smith-over-any-other-team-in/

?Bailey Smith, I think is one any club would love to have, and the mullet would surely look beautiful in the hoops,? Dangerfield told Channel 7.

?He looks good in a Dogs jumper, but he'd look good in the hoops as well.?

If he's gone harder than that then I reckon it would be in the article.

Siiiiiiiiiiick content though. Edgy.

06-02-2024, 10:56 PM

I am in this camp. We have 3 left to do. We will throw money at both JUH and English. Smith will get leftovers.

I think he will look for a fresh start. That may well work for us too.

07-02-2024, 12:12 AM
If I had to guess, I’d go with Bailey doesn’t pull in the jumper for us again.

07-02-2024, 01:00 AM
What would the betting markets say about whether he is staying or going?

07-02-2024, 01:01 AM
Surely Josh Jenkins is here?

07-02-2024, 07:37 AM

$1.25 - going
$4 - staying

07-02-2024, 11:04 AM
Reading the full quote and listening to Danger actually speak, what he said is fine.

The media extracting what they want from that and click bait is another subject altogether.

07-02-2024, 11:14 AM
Reading the full quote and listening to Danger actually speak, what he said is fine.

The media extracting what they want from that and click bait is another subject altogether.

Or he could speak like a weird PR robot so we don't get upset here by the clickbaiting

07-02-2024, 01:19 PM
I might be one of the odd ones out on this but I think he stays. Whether he signs a long term deal or just pens a deal long enough to get him to free agency is real question. Clubs will be wary of him coming back from the knee injury and they can't really get access too him before the end of the season where we will know exactly how his attitude and the progress of his recovery.

Im with you. I think that he will sign up until he is eligible for FA.

07-02-2024, 01:57 PM

So my question to that is: why would there be a delay?

07-02-2024, 02:10 PM
So my question that that is: why would there be a delay?

Only so much cake to go around, and we've not offered him 2 pieces before we find out how many pieces it takes to land Marra and English. And he's not content with the one piece we offered him. And although it had icing on it, he didn't want icing cause #instagram. So... he's waiting.

07-02-2024, 02:15 PM
Only so much cake to go around, and we've not offered him 2 pieces before we find out how many pieces it takes to land Marra and English. And he's not content with the one piece we offered him. And although it had icing on it, he didn't want icing cause #instagram. So... he's waiting.
Or....

07-02-2024, 07:06 PM

I think this will happen...only if he doesn't get the godfather offer he was expecting, as a result of his ACL/year out of the game.

Based on nothing but my own speculation, I think he would be hoping for a 5+ year deal at 5+ million to leave. Otherwise he will back himself to produce two good years at the Dogs and cash in when it comes to free agency.

07-02-2024, 07:23 PM

Is there a delay? I don't really see one, he's signed until the end of this year

But for argument's sake let's say there is one. The reasons could be manifold. The club could be waiting to see how his rehab is going. The list management team might be on holiday. We might be waiting to see how much Marra and English take out of the salary cap before we negotiate with Smith.

08-02-2024, 06:29 AM

So are you equally worried about English or Marra "delays"?

08-02-2024, 07:42 AM
So are you equally worried about English or Marra "delays"?

Marra no, English yes.

08-02-2024, 08:42 AM
I'm worried about any good player who is coming out of contract! Historically we're more likely to lose a star player coming out of contract, than we are to gain one the other way...
We usually have to draft our greats, and I always get nervous when they don't get deals done to extend early.

I'd love for all 3 to be signed in the front half of the year, but I doubt it will happen.

08-02-2024, 08:49 AM
I'm worried about any good player who is coming out of contract! Historically we're more likely to lose a star player coming out of contract, than we are to gain one the other way...
We usually have to draft our greats, and I always get nervous when they don't get deals done to extend early.

I'd love for all 3 to be signed in the front half of the year, but I doubt it will happen.

Agree YHF, we are a draft and develop club and I don't expect to ever attract A grade talent in their prime from other clubs. It's always the fear of the opposite.

English, the lure of the big Perth club on mega coin would be very inticing I'm sure.

Baz, imagine his insta followers at the Pies. He likes the limelight.

Marra, it would have to be a real head turner for him to leave. Sydney are a big worry. Godfather deal and who could blame him for leaving to be the new face of the game up there.

If I had to guess percentage chance of leaving :

Smith : 90 percent.
English : 50.
Marra 10 : have to be a buddy deal.

12-02-2024, 03:48 PM
How badly do you think Smith missing the year is going to affect our season?

12-02-2024, 04:00 PM

Going on his output the last couple of years, not much.

Sanders will fill the gap.

12-02-2024, 04:26 PM

We will notice it no doubt but as Chef said it looks like Sanders will fill that void

12-02-2024, 04:33 PM

Hes never been a "main man".

Really more style than substance at this point.

54Bulldog16
12-02-2024, 04:48 PM
Looking at the AFL site article on players over $1m on 2023, GWS with 3, Melbourne with 2, Richmond with 2. Dogs with 1?. We?ll add Naughty to that, but have to be room for a third.

Critter
13-02-2024, 07:12 PM
When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time.

13-02-2024, 11:05 PM
Looking at the AFL site article on players over $1m on 2023, GWS with 3, Melbourne with 2, Richmond with 2. Dogs with 1?. We?ll add Naughty to that, but have to be room for a third.

I don't think his on 1m+, still reckon his hovering around the 850-950k a year mark.

14-02-2024, 07:03 AM
When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time.

In this instance what has Bailey shown us that he is?

14-02-2024, 12:26 PM
In this instance what has Bailey shown us that he is?
Hard worker on and off the field?
I don't think even his biggest detractors could possibly fault his workrate

Pottz
01-03-2024, 07:30 AM
Probably means nothing in the scheme of things but I walked behind Bailey (in a completely normal, not-at-all-stalker-like-way) in Sydney CBD yesterday. He was by himself and just wandering around, hard to miss with that hair but most people up here wouldn’t know an AFL player if they were punched directly in the face by one. It was 40 degrees so maybe he was up here for a surf!

01-03-2024, 08:32 AM
Probably means nothing in the scheme of things but I walked behind Bailey (in a completely normal, not-at-all-stalker-like-way) in Sydney CBD yesterday. He was by himself and just wandering around, hard to miss with that hair but most people up here wouldn’t know an AFL player if they were punched directly in the face by one. It was 40 degrees so maybe he was up here for a surf!

It is funny how people see a footballer somewhere and straight away come to the conclusion they are changing clubs ( not saying you are ) to that area .
I liked the Bailey Smith is going to Colllingwood because he was with Daicos in America.
My response to that was stop twisting things it’s obviously the other way around and Daicos is coming to the dogs.

01-03-2024, 11:36 AM

Should've gone in for the selfie.

Pottz
01-03-2024, 02:06 PM
Should've gone in for the selfie.

I thought about that all afternoon and eventually came down on the side of “don’t meet your heroes”.

Pottz
01-03-2024, 02:10 PM
It is funny how people see a footballer somewhere and straight away come to the conclusion they are changing clubs ( not saying you are ) to that area .
I liked the Bailey Smith is going to Colllingwood because he was with Daicos in America.
My response to that was stop twisting things it’s obviously the other way around and Daicos is coming to the dogs.
Very true, I would have written a different post if I’d seen him huddled in the back corner of a cafe with some Swans officials. Poor bloke is looking at a year of no football, who can blame him for wanting to keep things interesting with the odd Sydney trip?

01-03-2024, 02:38 PM
Very true, I would have written a different post if I’d seen him huddled in the back corner of a cafe with some Swans officials. Poor bloke is looking at a year of no football, who can blame him for wanting to keep things interesting with the odd Sydney trip?

Last time I approached a footballer was the summer after we won the premiership. Couldn't help myself at the Coles in Swans St Richmond, coming across Jordan Roughead. I apologised for interfering in his personal life, but thanked him for the Premiership :D

Generally I am like you, I don't like to approach them.

01-03-2024, 04:27 PM
Last time I approached a footballer was the summer after we won the premiership. Couldn't help myself at the Coles in Swans St Richmond, coming across Jordan Roughead. I apologised for interfering in his personal life, but thanked him for the Premiership :D.

Ok but why weren't you wearing any pants?

01-03-2024, 04:38 PM

Very funny :D:D

Pottz
01-03-2024, 04:46 PM
I?m afraid I can?t comment on an ongoing police investigation.

01-03-2024, 05:26 PM

Not cool, you know the store is notorious for shoplifters and that BAD was in the express lane.
Being extra careful BAD had keistered his credit card and had just scanned his purchases and with Coles playing their the 'Down Down' ads in the store BAD may have taken things too literally.

I thought it was rude of Roughy to apparently say something like 'I didn't think it was that cold'

25-03-2024, 05:47 PM
Jon Ralph

On Sunday, Bailey Smith attended the Grand Prix in Melbourne, instead of watching his teammates in Ballarat. He was one of the “squad” spruiking Ralph Lauren fragrances alongside Peter Bol, Isaac Humphries and Margot Robbie’s brother, actor Cameron.

The Dogs could require Smith to dutifully sit in the stands in Ballarat, but allowed him to live his life – while diligently rehabilitating his knee injury. It seems a very smart play for a club keen to re-sign its midfield star.

25-03-2024, 05:49 PM
Maybe I'm too old fashioned, but seriously bad look from Baz not only being at the Grand Prix rather than watch his teamates but also self promoting all day on Social Media too. No shame.

My son broke his arm and missed 10 weeks last season. He still went to every training session and every game. If he can do that in the under 17s junior footy, surely Baz can do it as a full time paid professional footballer.

25-03-2024, 06:01 PM
Yeah, it reads a bit 'checked out, leaving anyway'. Dare I say, unprofessional? Maybe I'm being too old school footy about it

25-03-2024, 06:11 PM
Sounds like everyone is completely on board about where the club wants to get to…

#TeamFirst

25-03-2024, 06:12 PM
Yeah i dunno, kind of a who cares story imo.

25-03-2024, 06:13 PM
He is #teambailey

25-03-2024, 06:19 PM

At least he spun it as us being really cool

25-03-2024, 06:19 PM
Agree - i moved on from Bailey long ago :cool:

25-03-2024, 06:21 PM
At least he spun it as us being really cool

True, sadly Baz is going to be a circus and clickbait until he signs or leaves.

25-03-2024, 06:22 PM

Yeah, I don't think he needs to go to every single game all season. So long as he's fully committed to his rehab and is still around his teammates at training during the week I don't think it matters too much. We know he is always going to be into his side hustles no matter what club he's at.

25-03-2024, 06:59 PM
Yeah, I don't think he needs to go to every single game all season. So long as he's fully committed to his rehab and is still around his teammates at training during the week I don't think it matters too much. We know he is always going to be into his side hustles no matter what club he's at.

And maybe if he gets enough ego stroking outside of the club he will stay.

The lure of a big crowd at the G though is my guess (pies).

25-03-2024, 07:17 PM
Jon Ralph

On Sunday, Bailey Smith attended the Grand Prix in Melbourne, instead of watching his teammates in Ballarat. He was one of the ?squad? spruiking Ralph Lauren fragrances alongside Peter Bol, Isaac Humphries and Margot Robbie?s brother, actor Cameron.

The Dogs could require Smith to dutifully sit in the stands in Ballarat, but allowed him to live his life ? while diligently rehabilitating his knee injury. It seems a very smart play for a club keen to re-sign its midfield star.

So this is the state of football journalism.

25-03-2024, 07:55 PM
So this is the state of football journalism.You knew that already

25-03-2024, 08:09 PM
Maybe not having Bailey in a car for a three and a half to four hour round trip on was the right thing for his rehab......I wouldn't have flown him to Sydney, for instance.

25-03-2024, 08:31 PM
He would have got the okay from the club as they are also supposed to make sure they have work after footy.
Whether it’s going to uni and studying or other pursuits.
Bailey has quite a brand going which also comes back to us in a way .
People buy our jumper with his number on it, membership etc
Him being at the Grand Prix would be a plus for us more than him sitting in a seat in Ballarat.
Maybe he is gone maybe he isn’t but you still need to support him in his other pursuits. If we said no it would alienate him more.

25-03-2024, 08:32 PM
Maybe not having Bailey in a car for a three and a half to four hour round trip on was the right thing for his rehab......I wouldn't have flown him to Sydney, for instance.

That's cause you're soft Jee, and these Gen Alphas and gonna alpha all over you if you don't change your ways. They'll loudquit you to cancel town.

25-03-2024, 09:03 PM
How could you deny him the chance to hang out with Margot Robbie’s brother?

25-03-2024, 09:59 PM
He was texting with Cody from what I can see on Insta. That’s more or less a signature on a contract.

PS: Do all injured players go to all matches? Did Croft go to Ballarat?

25-03-2024, 10:34 PM
He was texting with Cody from what I can see on Insta. That’s more or less a signature on a contract.

He better have *shakes fist at cloud*

25-03-2024, 10:49 PM

Croft was probably at VFL match

26-03-2024, 10:26 AM
Croft was probably at VFL match

Big difference to being a kid who looks to play in the next few weeks to one who is out for the year.

26-03-2024, 12:08 PM
That's cause you're soft Jee, and these Gen Alphas and gonna alpha all over you if you don't change your ways. They'll loudquit you to cancel town.

I don't want to be unpenised either......

26-03-2024, 04:21 PM

What in the boomer is happening here?

27-03-2024, 06:56 PM
Some intelligent lucid and thought provoking posts here :)

27-03-2024, 07:54 PM

If it's in the team's interest for you to be unpenised* then you'll just have to take one for the team.

'*I don't know what unpenised means

27-03-2024, 07:58 PM
I’m still in the camp of I want Smith to stay.

But my guess if he does leave is he is still Sydney bound - which has been my view since 2022.

04-04-2024, 08:08 AM
Let’s say Sanders is an A grader.

Let’s say Gallagher & Garcia could make the grade as mids, maybe West too.

Let’s say we keep Marra & Tim.

Is Smith then a ‘must keep’ or a trade option if the word is true that he’s rejected our two year offer?

04-04-2024, 08:53 AM

Is Smith then a ‘must keep’ or a trade option if the word is true that he’s rejected our two year offer?

Strongly disagree with you on this BT. We should be doing everything to keep Smith.

We are still short a midfielder who can burst away from the stoppage. Sanders and Smith would be a brilliant YIN and YANG.

The game has headed that way. If you cannot burst, you bust.

The other concern is Gallagher and Garcia have missed more games through injury than they've played.

04-04-2024, 09:34 AM
Strongly disagree with you on this BT. We should be doing everything to keep Smith.

We are still short a midfielder who can burst away from the stoppage. Sanders and Smith would be a brilliant YIN and YANG.

The game has headed that way. If you cannot burst, you bust.

The other concern is Gallagher and Garcia have missed more games through injury than they've played.

So we give him more years and money?

04-04-2024, 09:36 AM
So we give him more years and money?

I for one would like to keep him. He is only 23 years old and has showed us he can play. Not sure the ideal length of time, or dollars, but we need to sign him up.

04-04-2024, 09:39 AM

Smith is a better player than Garcia, West and Gags.
And he’s a marketing dream for a small club.

Keep him.

I think the balance on what we pay him is tricky. We don’t want to lose blokes like Ed Richards etc when they’re up for contract cause we don’t have the $. I think we can afford the “stars” but don’t want to lose the next rungs

04-04-2024, 10:33 AM
Smith is a better player than Garcia, West and Gags.
And he’s a marketing dream for a small club.

Keep him.

I think the balance on what we pay him is tricky. We don’t want to lose blokes like Ed Richards etc when they’re up for contract cause we don’t have the $. I think we can afford the “stars” but don’t want to lose the next rungs

I'd rather we keep Richards than Smith.

04-04-2024, 10:41 AM
I'd rather we keep Richards than Smith.

Players like Richards are ridiculously underrated in footy IMO. Idk if it's a lack of analytics. He is awesome in his role. Maybe just me but I'd have Ed a lot of many highly rated Bulldogs.

04-04-2024, 10:45 AM
Players like Richards are ridiculously underrated in footy IMO. Idk if it's a lack of analytics. He is awesome in his role. Maybe just me but I'd have Ed a lot of many highly rated Bulldogs.

Ed's top 5 at the moment when you take into account role, age etc...

Bont is untouchable.
Naughton, Jones and Jamarra are next.
Richards and Weightman are next.

English is the tricky one...rucks are valued as you have to have one but a lot of clubs prefer a contested player in that role vs a running player.

You can argue the case for Liber but unfortunately there is not really a market for 30+ players. I know Jones is 30+ but key defenders are in desperate need and he is critical to us.

04-04-2024, 11:34 AM
So we have moved from Jamarra to English. Rightfully so as Bailey isn’t playing and we can deal with him last when we know exactly what we can afford.

04-04-2024, 11:38 AM
So we have moved from Jamarra to English. Rightfully so as Bailey isn’t playing and we can deal with him last when we know exactly what we can afford.

It's been widely reported we've offered Smith a 2 year deal. There's a rumour he's rejected it but I don't really buy that.

I'm sure Sam Power can handle multiple contract negotiations concurrently.

04-04-2024, 11:48 AM
It's been widely reported we've offered Smith a 2 year deal. There's a rumour he's rejected it but I don't really buy that.

I'm sure Sam Power can handle multiple contract negotiations concurrently.

Depends on who it is , how important they are rated , we certainly did Naughton first.
And I would imagine you would put forward minimum contract you think they would take, then work one at a time as you need to know what movement you can get to to sign the next big name.
To a certain extent you are dealing with a few at a time but when it gets to the nitty gritty, salary cap etc you would do one at a time.

04-04-2024, 11:59 AM
Depends on who it is , how important they are rated , we certainly did Naughton first.
And I would imagine you would put forward minimum contract you think they would take, then work one at a time as you need to know what movement you can get to to sign the next big name.
To a certain extent you are dealing with a few at a time but when it gets to the nitty gritty, salary cap etc you would do one at a time.

Naughton signed first. I doubt that means we were not at least trying to negotiate with other players. Smith's management might choose to wait but if they came to us now and said we want to talk terms on a 2 year deal Sam wouldn't say 'well right now I'm focusing on Tim English's deal so I'll get back to you in a week'.

Of course the status of these different deals probably have some impact on the stances and positions of the other players and club but right now I'd think the priority is to try and sign all 3 big name uncontracted players

18-04-2024, 05:21 PM
‘Clear frontrunner’ for Dogs star Bailey Smith revealed as Magpies place ‘photo ban’ on trade target

Collingwood is “the clear frontrunner” to land Western Bulldogs midfielder Bailey Smith in the 2024 trade period, with Pies players copping a “photo ban” with the star.

The 23-year-old, who will miss the entire 2024 season due to an off-season ACL tear, has long been suspected as a trade target as he comes out of contract.

His enormous profile somewhat outstrips his on-field achievements but Smith is set to be a hot property with Geelong often viewed as the early top candidate for his future services.

But the No.7 pick in the 2018 draft is moving closer to pulling a reverse Adam Treloar and joining the Magpies, reports the Herald Sun’s Sam Landsberger, with firm links to the Daicos brothers - to the extent that the club has reportedly had to tell its players to stop posting so many photos with Smith.

“I think Collingwood has emerged as the clear frontrunner to secure Bailey Smith’s services next year,” Landsberger told Fox Footy’s Midweek Tackle on Wednesday night.

“We’ve all been thinking Geelong for probably 12 months, they share that sponsorship with Cotton On, we know Hawthorn would love him in their midfield as well.

“But I think it’s the Magpies who lead the race for Bailey, who we all accept has one foot out the door at Whitten Oval.

“The thought has been that the lifestyle down at Geelong is big for him - he’s a marquee man, he loves the big smoke. You know he spent the off-season in New York with all the Collingwood boys? Lots of happy snaps, he’s business partners with Nick and Josh Daicos.

“I can tell you tonight that Collingwood has told their players, no more photos with Bailey. This is getting out of hand. They sent the message out to players, no more publicity with Bailey Smith.”

Fellow reporter Scott Gullan quipped: “They’re going to the next level, they have got serious, progressed and now it’s like ‘boys, just don’t give too much away!’”

He argued Smith’s work with the clothing brand Cotton On, which has strong connections with Geelong - both the city and the football club - was a clear tie to a Cats move.

“He (Smith) travels down there a couple of times a week. He’s got a clothing range. Very close to him down there,” Gullan said.

“They’re (Cotton On) heavy hitters down there. They’re heavy hitters at that football club.”

But a move for Smith, who is about to enter his AFL prime with the 2025 season to be his seventh in the system, would fit the Magpies’ plans to trade aggressively in an attempt to remain at the top of the ladder without rebuilding.

“I spoke to Jeff Browne, the president, about where this club is heading,” Landsberger said. “And they want to defy gravity like Geelong and Sydney and stay at the top of the ladder for a very long time to come.

“And to do that, they’re going to be very aggressive in the marketplace. I think Glenn McFarlane told this show last week in coming years they could clear up around $5 million in cap space (via retirements and exits).

“Browne told me, successful clubs, they don’t drop down to the bottom of the ladder, the draft doesn’t work for them. We have to trade to improve our side ... and surely Bailey Smith is the No.1 target.

Collingwood doesn’t have its 2024 first-round pick due to the Lachie Schultz trade, and it’s thought their future first round pick would be unders as a straight swap for Smith.

“He’s done his knee, and he’s been inconsistent since that (2021) finals series,” the Herald Sun’s Jay Clark pointed out.

Landsberger suggested a future first and second could be enough to land Smith.

LINK (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/collingwood-magpies/afl-trade-news-2024-collingwood-frontrunners-for-western-bulldogs-star-bailey-smith-as-magpies-put-photo-ban-on-top-trade-target/news-story/2bdab46059f874f50de816bf47864fcc)

18-04-2024, 05:26 PM
So much wild speculation. It?s ridiculous. How much did they get completely wrong last year?

This speculation on all trade targets, 52 weeks of the year and especially through the middle of the season is utterly ridiculous and I care exactly zero about it.

There are way too many not very talented footy journos covering the game.

Let?s worry about it when the trade window is about to open.

18-04-2024, 05:31 PM
I knew this season would be hell if we weren't performing. 3 stars out of contract was always going to create a lot of noise.

Shit it's only April and we're hearing about what picks will get a deal done.

I can barely tolerate this league anymore.

18-04-2024, 05:34 PM
No first round pick? Of course Bailey will select them.

18-04-2024, 05:55 PM
No first round pick? Of course Bailey will select them.

Yeh it's Dunkley all over again.

All currency ripped away from clubs who develop players.

18-04-2024, 06:31 PM
Yeh it's Dunkley all over again.

All currency ripped away from clubs who develop players.

The nomination bullshit.....

18-04-2024, 06:35 PM
So much wild speculation. It?s ridiculous. How much did they get completely wrong last year?

This speculation on all trade targets, 52 weeks of the year and especially through the middle of the season is utterly ridiculous and I care exactly zero about it.

There are way too many not very talented footy journos covering the game.

Let?s worry about it when the trade window is about to open.

Imagine getting to sit around a table with microphones and just jerk off all day. That's basically what these guys do for a living.

18-04-2024, 06:35 PM
It's disheartening to read this even though I kind of don't blame him. Who wouldn't want to play for Collingwood in front of 60k every week and live in the limelight...

... But FFS I'm sick of losing players on their terms.

18-04-2024, 06:41 PM
Imagine getting to sit around a table with microphones and just jerk off all day. That's basically what these guys do for a living.

Jerking Each other over who can come up with the biggest bullshit and get the most clicks.
Naughton was gone at one stage according to them.
Gulden was out also.
Imagine getting so much wrong and still keeping your job . I want to be employed by their bosses.

18-04-2024, 06:59 PM
The nomination bullshit.....

Complete horse shit.

18-04-2024, 07:10 PM
What a little **** you'd have to be to do a full year's rehab with a team and then stitch them up by nominating a club that doesn't have any trading capital to secure you.

I still feel we overpay for Smith for two years and he stays. If he does decide to screw us over in that way after all of the support we've given him then I hope he's treated poorly on his way out and every time we play against him.

18-04-2024, 07:13 PM
What a little **** you'd have to be to do a full year's rehab with a team and then stitch them up by nominating a club that doesn't have any trading capital to secure you.

I still feel we overpay for Smith for two years and he stays. If he does decide to screw us over in that way after all of the support we've given him then I hope he's treated poorly on his way out and every time we play against him.

Chances of him staying are remote.

18-04-2024, 11:06 PM
He’s the most gone I’ve ever seen someone be.

18-04-2024, 11:06 PM
He’s the most gone I’ve ever seen someone be.

What about greystache?

18-04-2024, 11:07 PM
To lose the likes of Dunkley, Hunter and Smith for well unders makes it hard to compete at the top end.

18-04-2024, 11:34 PM
To lose the likes of Dunkley, Hunter and Smith for well unders makes it hard to compete at the top end.

Not sure about Hunter.
Picking up JUH , Darcy , Sanders and Croft is a fair replacement.

18-04-2024, 11:37 PM
What about greystache?

This tickled me, completely unexpected.

19-04-2024, 07:23 AM
I’d put him in the PSD. Unless we get a good offer, he can build his brand at North or move to West Coast. He gets nothing from me if he burns us.

19-04-2024, 07:26 AM
What does every one think he?s worth in a trade?

Is a future first and 2nd not enough?

19-04-2024, 07:31 AM
What does every one think he?s worth in a trade?

Is a future first and 2nd not enough?

I think that?s probably fair, but the first rounder needs to be in the 6-10 range.

19-04-2024, 07:36 AM
I’d put him in the PSD. Unless we get a good offer, he can build his brand at North or move to West Coast. He gets nothing from me if he burns us.

Collingwood don't have a first rounder this year so leaving him for the PSD should be considered unless they pony up.

19-04-2024, 08:01 AM
What Bailey is forgetting we are closer to a premiership than Collingwood.

19-04-2024, 08:06 AM
He was posting "Go Dogs" last night. Is there any world where he stays until free agency?

19-04-2024, 08:09 AM
He was posting "Go Dogs" last night. Is there any world where he stays until free agency?

Honestly I’d be really surprised if he did not sign with us for two more years.

19-04-2024, 08:09 AM

I can't see one.

19-04-2024, 08:10 AM
What Bailey is forgetting we are closer to a premiership than Collingwood.

I don't think it's about money or flags for Baz, playing for the biggest club in Melbourne with the opportunities that will open in a marketing sense might be the overriding consideration.

19-04-2024, 08:10 AM
Honestly I’d be really surprised if he did not sign with us for two more years.

Why wouldn't this have already happened is always my question. Not like he can improve his form.

19-04-2024, 08:11 AM
I don't think it's about money or flags for Baz, playing for the biggest club in Melbourne with the opportunities that will open in a marketing sense might be the overriding consideration.

That’s why the PSD is a really effective stick. He won’t be growing his brand at North.

19-04-2024, 08:11 AM

I am in this camp too.
And it's not one for bravado.. It's happened too often with us, a player nominates a club, and we get shafted.

Stringer to Bombers was one... and I know we brought on the fire sale, by putting him up for sale... but at the time when we secured Schache in the trade period, I thought that trade smelled like desperation from the club to try and put a positive spin on losing Stringer for chips.... I recall at the time the club spruiking how great it was to add a former pick 2.... as if that means anything a couple of years into the system.

And the Dunkley scenario....

Nope if Smith burns us,, as BT has said, let him build his brand at North or West Coast.

19-04-2024, 08:13 AM
Why wouldn't this have already happened is always my question. Not like he can improve his form.

Only reason would be haggling over dollars.

19-04-2024, 08:14 AM
I am in this camp too.
And it's not one for bravado.. It's happened too often with us, a player nominates a club, and we get shafted.

Stringer to Bombers was one... and I know we brought on the fire sale, by putting him up for sale... but at the time when we secured Schache in the trade period, I thought that trade smelled like desperation from the club to try and put a positive spin on losing Stringer for chips.... I recall at the time the club spruiking how great it was to add a former pick 2.... as if that means anything a couple of years into the system.

Nope if Smith burns us,, as BT has said, let him build his brand at North or West Coast.
My q to that Yhf is : if we had done that to Dunkley, would that have changed Smith's situation?

I don't think so. It sounds nice, but we have to take what we can.

Why do they want to go is the issue.

19-04-2024, 08:16 AM
I am in this camp too.

The club desperately needs to draw a line to our players managers who are dealing with clubs and agreeing in principle knowing we are getting screwed. We are not a feeder club to develop talent and get chips back. If a club wants to pay a fair trade for Smith fine. Take it and move on. Otherwise, if we keep doing this it’s going to keep happening. I think Smith facing North or moving to Perth might pressure his new club to make it happen quickly somehow.

19-04-2024, 08:20 AM
Only reason would be haggling over dollars.

Yeah maybe, or it's in the queue of deals we have to get done.
I'm not confident with Baz.

19-04-2024, 09:38 AM
I am in this camp too.

Stringer done us over , only one club wanted him so we had no bargaining power except to keep him and that wasn’t going to happen as we kicked him out.
Dunkley wanted out and you can’t stop that if they are out of contract, it’s a matter of who he wants to go to, who is competing for him and you can only get what’s on offer or nothing.
Smith is much in the Dunkley scenario if he decides to leave.
If he wants out it would be interesting to see who he names and what’s on offer.
Power is a great negotiator we will be fine.

19-04-2024, 09:56 AM
We absolutely have to get the hawks involved. They've got the pick we want.

If we lose Bailey for similar value to Schulz it'll be disappointing

19-04-2024, 10:00 AM
Stringer done us over , only one club wanted him so we had no bargaining power except to keep him and that wasn’t going to happen as we kicked him out.
Dunkley wanted out and you can’t stop that if they are out of contract, it’s a matter of who he wants to go to, who is competing for him and you can only get what’s on offer or nothing.
Smith is much in the Dunkley scenario if he decides to leave.
If he wants out it would be interesting to see who he names and what’s on offer.
Power is a great negotiator we will be fine.

Beveridge did us over with the Stringer trade. He publicly said we do not want him.

19-04-2024, 10:06 AM
If we don’t do the Schache part we win the Stringer trade.

19-04-2024, 10:07 AM
Beveridge did us over with the Stringer trade. He publicly said we do not want him.
It was worth it

19-04-2024, 10:10 AM

Stringer did himself over, it was common knowledge within all clubs that’s why only one club put up . Long may Dodoro stay at the bombers.

19-04-2024, 10:11 AM
If we don’t do the Schache part we win the Stringer trade.

Absolutely. That last minute Chris Grant brain fart hurt. As I’ve said history says on the actual draft picks taken it was:

Schache & Richards - for - Sam Taylor, De Koning (Carl), Balta & delisted WCE player.

Stringer was not too bad all things considered. But Schache was a disaster.

19-04-2024, 10:24 AM

We paid a bit of a price for it but learned a lesson.

my plums
19-04-2024, 11:03 AM
I think Baz will re-sign. Don't know anything, but just what I reckon.

19-04-2024, 11:05 AM
I think Baz will re-sign. Don't know anything, but just what I reckon.

I would love that even if just to stick it up the media.