View Full Version : The unofficial "Where is T&T?" who to root for thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

12-09-2020, 10:34 PM
GWS v Dees going down to the wire.

12-09-2020, 11:26 PM
Almost perfect. Just needed that last goal by Daniels not to be kicked and we would have jumped ahead of GWS on the ladder tonight.

13-09-2020, 11:31 AM
Well it’s game day for us. We’ve had it go our way. Now it’s time to do our job.....

13-09-2020, 11:36 AM
Well it’s game day for us. We’ve had it go our way. Now it’s time to do our job.....

The most important root of all

13-09-2020, 11:45 AM

Wouldn't it have been better if GWS won last night. Now we have to win both and things still have to go our way or is it win both and we're in? Either way it's in our hands now.

13-09-2020, 12:09 PM
Wouldn't it have been better if GWS won last night. Now we have to win both and things still have to go our way or is it win both and we're in? Either way it's in our hands now.

Win both and we are in.

13-09-2020, 12:11 PM

We go a game clear of GWS and Melbourne with a win today, and a game clear inside the 8. Some percentage would be nice as we are about 6 percent behind Demons if it comes to that.

13-09-2020, 12:25 PM
We go a game clear of GWS and Melbourne with a win today, and a game clear inside the 8. Some percentage would be nice as we are about 6 percent behind Demons if it comes to that.

I’ve got a gut feel it will be close today

13-09-2020, 12:32 PM
I’ve got a gut feel it will be close today

If we want to be a player in finals we have to win this by 5 goals. Thats about par for me. Only unknown is Adelaide but we did OK v Port there.

13-09-2020, 12:38 PM

I'm backing us in. Don't want 8th spot and have to play the 5th team in a first final(richmond/geelong whoever). A gws loss will dent their confidence as will melbourne's losses previously. Yes, we could lose today. Too many permutations.

13-09-2020, 12:51 PM
I'm backing us in. Don't want 8th spot and have to play the 5th team in a first final(richmond/geelong whoever). A gws loss will dent their confidence as will melbourne's losses previously. Yes, we could lose today. Too many permutations.

5th is most likely going to be eagles. If we make finals odds on we get the saints

13-09-2020, 01:33 PM
5th is most likely going to be eagles. If we make finals odds on we get the saints

Assuming we win the next two, Collingwood lose next week to Port, and Saints beat GWS, then we will play Saints. If GWS beat Saints, we play Collingwood

13-09-2020, 01:59 PM
The most important root of all

Yes some are more important than others especially when you "love" the doggies.

13-09-2020, 08:34 PM
We just need to win next week and we are in. If not then some serious rooting will need to happen.

13-09-2020, 08:40 PM
We just need to win next week and we are in. If not then some serious rooting will need to happen.

The rooting needs to occur beforehand Eastie. The key games are played before ours!

13-09-2020, 08:41 PM
The rooting needs to occur beforehand Eastie. The key games are played before ours!

Yep absolutely Aza. Majority of the games that will affect us played before Sunday evening.

14-09-2020, 11:31 AM
My brother did a analaysis of the key games to watch next weekend. He is a Pies supporter, My Mum is a Demons supporter. So it is a 3 way family battle at my house next weekend on who gets in. Go Bulldogs!

If Collingwood defeats Gold Coast, they will be the sixth team to secure a finals spot. If they lose, the spots remain open.

3 out of 5 teams who can make the finals but haven't secured a spot yet will make it. Two will miss out.

Games to watch:
• Collingwood vs Gold Coast (if Collingwood loses it opens up, but if they win they're in.

• St Kilda vs GWS (If St Kilda wins, and they're through. If GWS wins, it opens up)

• Essendon vs Melbourne (Melbourne must win to have any chance to play finals. If they lose, they're out).

• Fremantle vs Western Bulldogs (Bulldogs win, and they're through. If they lose, it opens up for Melbourne and GWS depending on their results).

• Collingwood vs Port Adelaide (only relevant if Gold Coast won tomorrow night).

Bulldogs can finish 6th provided they beat Fremantle, GWS beats St Kilda and Collingwood only wins 1 of their final two.

14-09-2020, 11:45 AM
Well Saturday we may well have a root that won’t be enjoyable at all, won’t come natural and won’t at all be easy on the eyes. Yes I’m talking about rooting for Essendon. To help the mood, I’d recommend getting out your 2016 GF DVDs and playing it in the background.

14-09-2020, 11:55 AM
On a side note, for Melbourne to make it over the saints, in running the ladder predictor, they'd need to defeat essendon by at most 45pts assuming the saints lose by the bearest of margins to the giants. If the saints lose by more than a point, then obviously the winning margin required by the dees reduces. Melbourne v Essendon could be a fascinating game if the saints lose to the giants.

14-09-2020, 11:58 AM
On a side note, for Melbourne to make it over the saints, in running the ladder predictor, they'd need to defeat essendon by at most 45pts assuming the saints lose by the bearest of margins to the giants. If the saints lose by more than a point, then obviously the winning margin required by the dees reduces. Melbourne v Essendon could be a fascinating game if the saints lose to the giants.

It's amazing Saints could miss the finals after being in the 8 the whole season.

14-09-2020, 12:05 PM
It's amazing Saints could miss the finals after being in the 8 the whole season.

If Collingwood, Bulldogs and Melbourne all win their remaining matches, they could all play finals provided GWS beat St Kilda.

Melbourne would need to win by a big enough margin to surpass St Kilda in those circumstances.

14-09-2020, 05:19 PM
Do we give the Gold Coast any chance tonight? Would be very handy (and funny)

14-09-2020, 05:56 PM

I do but just a little bit. Pies are not playing the best at the moment but GC are GC

14-09-2020, 06:13 PM

Oh I'd laugh. That would make my year.

14-09-2020, 07:28 PM

We can only hope.

14-09-2020, 07:31 PM
Oh I'd laugh. That would make my year.

Yeah would be funny and make it interesting.

14-09-2020, 08:29 PM
Good start to GC

14-09-2020, 08:36 PM
Good start to GC

Come on boys you can do it

14-09-2020, 10:19 PM
That's the game

14-09-2020, 10:42 PM
Pies secure a spot in the finals. 2 spots remain between saints, us, dees and giants.

14-09-2020, 10:47 PM
Pies secure a spot in the finals. 2 spots remain between saints, us, dees and giants.

Yep 2 will go through and 2 will miss out from the 4. Hopefully will be one of the 2 that goes through.

14-09-2020, 11:03 PM
Yep 2 will go through and 2 will miss out from the 4. Hopefully will be one of the 2 that goes through.

The equation remains the same for us. Win and we are in.

15-09-2020, 12:04 AM

Exactly. Key games next week are Saints v Giants and Dees v Dons.

Basically if the Giants and Dees win we have to win/draw to make it.
If the Dees and Saints win The again a win/draw will see us in.
If Giants win and Dees lose then the Giants will sneak in ahead of us unless we win/draw
If Giants lose and Dees lose then we will sneak in even if we lose (provided se don't get SMASHED!).

So support the Saints/Essendon and us!

15-09-2020, 02:57 PM

Yep we win and it is done and dusted and we are there.

15-09-2020, 08:53 PM

exactly and in honesty if we dont win we dont deserve to play finals

15-09-2020, 11:36 PM
We'll win. You've got to get pumped about it. Stir up the cockles. We've got ourselves in a position to have a crack at it. This is a time to rejoice. It's a positive.

16-09-2020, 08:04 PM
The battle in my house now - my brother’s team Collingwood is through so down to me (Bulldogs) and Mum and Grandma (Demons). Dad not a big footy follower.

Cmon Bulldogs lets get the job done on Sunday.

16-09-2020, 08:06 PM
The only rooting left is - GO DOGS!!

16-09-2020, 08:07 PM
The only rooting left is - GO DOGS!!

Yep GO DOGS!!

16-09-2020, 08:36 PM
The battle in my house now - my brother’s team Collingwood is through so down to me (Bulldogs) and Mum and Grandma (Demons). Dad not a big footy follower.

Remember when your brother wore his Collingwood jumper in the Social Club?

Big gonads.

I once wore my dogs beanie and scarf in the Tiger Pit. The old bay 13 at the G. Wild. Man I got some stares that day. Lucky they were playing Carlton.

18-09-2020, 07:46 PM

If it all goes pear shaped on Sunday night Easty, i think you know what you have to do first thing Monday morning.. yep, get the locksmith around.

18-09-2020, 07:48 PM
So is it Saints or Giants for tonight?
I'm hoping for a small Giants win.

18-09-2020, 08:29 PM

That’s a good question. I am of the same opinion. Either way it probably doesn’t matter but if the pies beat port I suppose it is better for us if the Giants win so that we don’t face the west coast in Perth.

18-09-2020, 08:37 PM
Who are we rooting tonight?

18-09-2020, 08:49 PM
I'll be personally rooting for Jeremy Cameron to be invisible in yet another game with stakes that matter.

18-09-2020, 08:49 PM

Never ever will I barrack for the Giants. If I ever do I will be requesting someone to contact a doctor because I must be ill.

18-09-2020, 09:08 PM
Who are we rooting tonight?

Hate the Giants but in a perverse way would be so happy for Saints to miss out after being in the 8 all year.

18-09-2020, 09:16 PM
Eagles to beat Kangaroos
St Kilda to beat GWS
Essendon to beat Dees
Crows to beat Tigers
Swans to beat the Cats
Dogs to beat Dockers
Port to beat Pies

even if we lose, with the above results we can still sneak in.

18-09-2020, 09:17 PM
Draw would be ideal tonight. Helps us, doesn't help either team and I hate them both

18-09-2020, 09:17 PM
Draw would be ideal tonight. Helps us, doesn't help either team and I hate them both

I can get behind this

18-09-2020, 09:23 PM
I'll be personally rooting for Jeremy Cameron to be invisible in yet another game with stakes that matter.

A promising start for Jezza who managed a solitary kick but had to sneak deep into the backline in the final thirty seconds to snag it.

Go you good thing.

18-09-2020, 09:58 PM
Jez will spend half-time being tested for leather poisoning, racking up five kicks that quarter including a bread and butter set shot steered wide from directly in front but crucially, contributed two sets of high-fives for teammates more au fait with where the big sticks are hiding.

Somebody stop him.

And me while you're at it.

18-09-2020, 10:03 PM
Jez will spend half-time being tested for leather poisoning, racking up five kicks that quarter including a bread and butter set shot steered wide from directly in front but crucially, contributed two sets of high-fives for teammates more au fait with where the big sticks are hiding.

Somebody stop him.

And me while you're at it.

No. I actually think you should’ve started a dedicated thread weeks ago.

18-09-2020, 10:59 PM
Updated:
Essendon to beat Melbourne (or draw)
Dogs to beat Freo
Port to beat the Filth

That gets us a final in SE QLD against the Saints.

18-09-2020, 11:13 PM
Well there's a big, big sound from the West of the town.

It's the sound of Leon giving Jeremy a bake.

18-09-2020, 11:14 PM
Well there's a big, big sound from the West of the town.

It's the sound of Leon giving Jeremy a bake.

It's the sound of the Ferrari crashing

18-09-2020, 11:15 PM
It's the sound of the Ferrari crashing

still can’t believe they resigned him for another two years, talk about setting fire to your gold class list.

18-09-2020, 11:56 PM
The extra good news is that Freo sit one behind GWS with better percentage. A win means they jump them and give up a draft position. Hopefully that fact is not lost on them and puts out a little of the fire in the clubs belly.

19-09-2020, 09:30 AM
C'mon the Bummers. Do it for Johnny W. You know you want to.

19-09-2020, 11:12 AM

They are nearly as broken as Adelaide were this time last season, I’ll watch with hope but expect nothing.

19-09-2020, 11:52 AM

How did I get a mention in this ?
But yeah I’m backing the bombers , only time I ever will probably.

19-09-2020, 02:30 PM
Go bombers. But i suspect the demons will do them by about 38 pts.

19-09-2020, 03:34 PM
One qtr down and it’s good news for us so far......cmon Essendon

19-09-2020, 03:34 PM
Jakey kicking goals for the Dogs right on quarter time. Good.

19-09-2020, 03:35 PM
Some out the back bread n butter for Jakeyyyy.

Lord Esserdon are putrid but Melbourne don't look remotely inclined to capitalise.

19-09-2020, 03:38 PM
Some out the back bread n butter for Jakeyyyy.

Lord Esserdon are putrid but Melbourne don't look remotely inclined to capitalise.

Hopefully poor kicking for goal will cost the demons. They should be 5.0

19-09-2020, 03:41 PM
As much as I don't think we deserve to play finals if we can't beat Freo, it would actually be hilarious if Melbourne found a way to lose to a side that has won 1 game in about 9 weeks.

19-09-2020, 03:47 PM
Dons are cooked. Can we start our game now?

19-09-2020, 03:51 PM
Essendon have given up....oh well.

19-09-2020, 03:52 PM
Nice while it lasted. Essington will lose this by 50+

19-09-2020, 03:56 PM
Can’t see Freo having the same mindset as Essendon unfortunately

19-09-2020, 03:57 PM
I think if Essington can scrap two goals back they have a chance.

But seeing as they won’t, they are going to lose by 100. Floodgates are heavily creaking.

19-09-2020, 03:58 PM
Yep we have to win. This one's done and dusted.

19-09-2020, 03:59 PM
Washington Generals don't look like making it.

We'll just have to beat Freo

19-09-2020, 04:00 PM
What odds Essendon for the spoon in 2021?

19-09-2020, 04:03 PM
Must win tomorrow. Cmon Dogs!!

19-09-2020, 04:15 PM
We shouldn't be hoping the Dees lose anyway. If we're good enough we'll play finals if we're not we won't. I honestly have my doubts on how good we are.

19-09-2020, 04:21 PM
We shouldn't be hoping the Dees lose anyway. If we're good enough we'll play finals if we're not we won't. I honestly have my doubts on how good we are.

I agree, and that’s why I’ve picked Freo.
Time will tell.

19-09-2020, 04:25 PM
What odds Essendon for the spoon in 2021?
Surely Norf for spoon, but Ess for bottom 2

19-09-2020, 04:42 PM
Gee whiz. The Bombers are so bad. No effort. Play stupid football. Deplorable skills. How the once mighty have fallen. They have just been making up the numbers for 15+ years. Love it.

19-09-2020, 04:43 PM
Dons are cooked. Can we start our game now?

The next 26 odd hours will take forever.....

19-09-2020, 04:46 PM
We should enquire about Tippa again.

19-09-2020, 04:48 PM

But I was hoping to not have the stress :cool:
How Melbourne have made the finals is beyond me. Even in this game, Essendon are asking them to win by 15 goals and they can't .

19-09-2020, 04:50 PM
Is there a better remunerated floater in the comp than Shiel?

If the Bombres had Norf's gumption they'd 'Pittard' him by this time tomorrow.

19-09-2020, 04:51 PM
Bombres really are terrible which gladdens my heart. So little pride and skills are diabolical. And Jake Stringer is going to continue to squander his talent, such a waste. Bomber Blitz can at least entertain us while we count down the nervous hours.

19-09-2020, 04:52 PM
We should enquire about Tippa again.

Surely anyone inclined to stick it out there has acute Stockholm syndrome.

19-09-2020, 04:53 PM
Essendon kick a goal on three quarter time to pull it back to 28 points. It would be enjoyable to see Melbourne blow it (in scenes that echo the Jeff White free kick) but I don’t think I like the idea of Essendon getting any kind of victory or positivity.

Draw?

19-09-2020, 04:57 PM
Throwing your trading chip into the ruck in the last quarter of a meaningless game might not be the masterstroke you think it is, Truck.

19-09-2020, 05:05 PM
Melbourne are lucky Essendon are inept going forward because they are currently getting a bath.

Just as I type it an arm chop spoils an Essington mark and they get out the back to finish the job.

19-09-2020, 05:06 PM
If Melb were playing anyone else, they’d be behind.

19-09-2020, 05:06 PM
Oh look, Devon Smith's playing.

19-09-2020, 05:08 PM
Oh Jakey.

19-09-2020, 05:10 PM
Stringer has been putrid.

19-09-2020, 05:11 PM
Dees have just stopped, can't believe what I'm seeing

Haha, back to 13.

Hahaa. Here they come.

Over to you Deeeees.

We are still a chance to make it today :)

Another Bomber goal would make it interesting here.

19-09-2020, 05:12 PM
Demons had the rub of the green from umps all day.

19-09-2020, 05:13 PM
Cmon Bombers!!!!!

19-09-2020, 05:14 PM
We could be there soon.

19-09-2020, 05:16 PM
That Petracca HTB ??

How many of those soft coast to coast goals have they conceded today. Madness. So soft. Trac was holding the ball there BTW.

That looks it. We know what we need to do tomorrow.

19-09-2020, 05:17 PM
How in holy f**k was that not holding the ball on Petracca out of the centre square?

Just, HOW?

19-09-2020, 05:18 PM
Umpiring all day has had a feel that the AFL want the last few games to count.

19-09-2020, 05:19 PM
How in holy f**k was that not holding the ball on Petracca out of the centre square?

Just, HOW?

That terrible decision probably saved the game and saved Melbourne as a club completely imploding. Can you imagine the fallout if they didn’t win this?

19-09-2020, 05:20 PM
Is Tippa really any good? Just asking because the limited vision I've seen he just does things in small bursts and not much else.

19-09-2020, 05:21 PM
Have not watched the Bombers too much this year. Stringer today is a massive liability. How far is he from his 2015 form? What a complete waste of natural talent. So sad to see. Could have been anything with the right mindset.

19-09-2020, 05:23 PM
Is Tippa really any good? Just asking because the limited vision I've seen he just does things in small bursts and not much else.

Quick, clever, courageous and loves running blokes down?

Put me down for as many as you've got.

Suspect he'd be much more influential without a train wreck around him too.

19-09-2020, 05:24 PM

Just, HOW?
Said it before and I'll say it again, prior opportunity has ruined the modern game. It creates nothing but congestion, repeat stoppages and low scoring.

It was bullshit to change the HTB rule because of a Clarko whinge (even though it is absolutely the right way to go) but it was worse, after a couple of weeks, to revert back to the garbage of prior opp that sees that Petracca non-call happen.

19-09-2020, 05:24 PM

His small bursts can change a game. I’d have him in a heartbeat and he’d be an automatic selection in our 22.

19-09-2020, 05:33 PM
Reckon old mate Jesse Hogan might want to see his old club miss finals?

Maybe they don’t want to jump GWS on the ladder?

What else?

19-09-2020, 05:43 PM
If rest of Bummers team played with as much heart as a Tippa they’d probably make the 8. I like him a lot. Not sure we want to trade with Dodo though. It will be 2 first round picks or something equally ridiculous.

19-09-2020, 09:20 PM

Honestly it's hard to tell at times, especially while playing for the bombers.

The talents he does have though are some of our weaknesses, quick and absolutely can chase a bloke down. Knows where the goals are too

19-09-2020, 10:31 PM
That terrible decision probably saved the game and saved Melbourne as a club completely imploding. Can you imagine the fallout if they didn’t win this?

That was staggeringly bad. Never was there a clearer holding tHe ball.

Melbourne are a very brittle team. If that free had been paid they could easily have lost a must win game against a team that was a rabble most of the match. They were very very lucky today, and let’s hope they’re feeling very unlucky tomorrow night.

19-09-2020, 10:34 PM
Said it before and I'll say it again, prior opportunity has ruined the modern game. It creates nothing but congestion, repeat stoppages and low scoring.

It was bullshit to change the HTB rule because of a Clarko whinge (even though it is absolutely the right way to go) but it was worse, after a couple of weeks, to revert back to the garbage of prior opp that sees that Petracca non-call happen.

Yeah, I get it but I think that one was just plain incompetence.

Prior opportunity needs to be reinterpreted given the improvement in tackling techniques. What we saw after the change this year was players waiting for someone to grab the footy and then wrap them up. In those instances the umpire just needs to ball it up without nominating rucks and all that bullshit, and if a player tries to break through they get pinged. You shouldn't get pinged for trying to take possession of the footy, and I don't want to see players just tapping the ball around so as to avoid taking possession and actually using it.

19-09-2020, 10:36 PM
If rest of Bummers team played with as much heart as a Tippa they’d probably make the 8. I like him a lot. Not sure we want to trade with Dodo though. It will be 2 first round picks or something equally ridiculous.

Not kidding, given Daniher is likely going he would literally demand a straight swap of Tippa and Naughton and wouldn't budge on it, and not even have the slightest inkling that everyone thinks he's a complete dickhead because of it.

20-09-2020, 08:48 AM
Bombres really are terrible which gladdens my heart. So little pride and skills are diabolical. And Jake Stringer is going to continue to squander his talent, such a waste. Bomber Blitz can at least entertain us while we count down the nervous hours.

Jake Stringer's career reminds me of Same Kekovich's career. Can be brilliant but doesn't do the small things. Erratic. Lazy. Off field dramas. But Sam was better.

20-09-2020, 08:51 AM

He was so much better when he started his career off the half back line.

20-09-2020, 10:54 PM
Go Power....

20-09-2020, 10:55 PM
Go Power....

I'm not sure our WOOF WA contingent agree but YHF will likely be all over the Power tomorrow night :)

20-09-2020, 10:57 PM
Do we match up better v West Coke or Saints? I'd say recent history v the former is probably better, even though they're easily the better side of the two.

Hope we play the Saints but they seem to always have our measure.

20-09-2020, 10:59 PM
Do we match up better v West Coke or Saints? I'd say recent history v the former is probably better, even though they're easily the better side of the two.

Hope we play the Saints but they seem to always have our measure.

We should be confident against both of them. I have a slight preference to play the Saints just to avoid the trip over to the west

20-09-2020, 11:01 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/816894/finals-equation-eagles-or-saints-await

Finals equation: Eagles or Saints await
The Western Bulldogs first finals opponent will be determined by the result of the Collingwood and Port Adelaide match.

The Western Bulldogs will have to wait until Monday night to find out who they will face in an elimination final, after locking in a top-eight spot on Sunday night.

It’s a two-horse race for the Bulldogs following the 30-point win against Fremantle in Cairns, with the West Coast Eagles and St Kilda the Bulldogs’ possible opponents.

That part will be determined when Port Adelaide hosts Collingwood in the final round of the home-and-away season tomorrow.

Should the Power win, the Bulldogs would finish seventh and face the Saints at a home venue of their choosing.

But if the Magpies win, they would jump to sixth to host the Saints, leaving the Bulldogs to travel west to Perth to take on the Eagles at Optus Stadium.

A draw between the Magpies and Power wouldn’t impact the Bulldogs – as it would propel the Magpies above the Bulldogs on percentage.

20-09-2020, 11:06 PM
We should be confident against both of them. I have a slight preference to play the Saints just to avoid the trip over to the west

Especially after the trip back from Cairns. It's about as far from Cairns to Brisbane as it is from Melbourne to Brisbane.

20-09-2020, 11:08 PM
I'd prefer the Saints in what I believe is their first ever final (congrats guys :) ) but not really fussed and think we can beat West Coast too.

20-09-2020, 11:19 PM
Good rooting everyone.

Some of the best roots I've had since this time last year!

20-09-2020, 11:31 PM
If Wally and Naughts are to miss, this has us playing the Saints written all over it. To top it off we’ll lose another to an acl, the saints will get a dubious free kick and kick the winning goal that was clearly touched but called a goal anyway. And the saints fans will bang on about how they were too good for us.

20-09-2020, 11:59 PM
If Wally and Naughts are to miss, this has us playing the Saints written all over it. To top it off we’ll lose another to an acl, the saints will get a dubious free kick and kick the winning goal that was clearly touched but called a goal anyway. And the saints fans will bang on about how they were too good for us.

Cleary been on the happy pills have we BTT? I still shudder at the thought of those prelim losses to Saints. Begone and out ye damned Saints....

21-09-2020, 12:23 AM
Cleary been on the happy pills have we BTT? I still shudder at the thought of those prelim losses to Saints. Begone and out ye damned Saints....

Yeah our history against them spooks me. I don’t know what it is but things never seem to go right when we play them. We should beat them this year but it’ll be tough without Naughts.

21-09-2020, 12:25 AM
Yeah our history against them spooks me. I don’t know what it is but things never seem to go right when we play them. We should beat them this year but it’ll be tough without Naughts.

We beat them in a final in 1961!

21-09-2020, 12:26 AM
We beat them in a final in 1961!

and 1992

21-09-2020, 12:32 AM
I could've spent a fortune on the best therapists in the land and they wouldn't come as close to pinpointing what vexes me as much as this stat.

https://i.ibb.co/MpLjWjX/Screen-Shot-2020-09-20-at-11-11-38-pm.png (https://ibb.co/HYQM1MJ)

But we're in!

Though we might've lost our leading goal kicker + most dangerous forward in the process, so therapists, you'll be hearing from me.

21-09-2020, 12:33 AM
I mean 2010 they were the better team. 2009 they were better that year but we should have won the prelim. I suppose it was the 2015 and 2016 games that get me. I mean Clay does his ACL for the fourth time and then in 2016 we get Wally breaking his leg and Redpath doing his ACL in the same game. Yet all you heard from saints fans was how good Billings was.

21-09-2020, 12:40 AM
and 1992

It's our turn then.

21-09-2020, 12:41 AM
I mean 2010 they were the better team. 2009 they were better that year but we should have won the prelim. I suppose it was the 2015 and 2016 games that get me. I mean Clay does his ACL for the fourth time and then in 2016 we get Wally breaking his leg and Redpath doing his ACL in the same game. Yet all you heard from saints fans was how good Billings was.

I'd be happy if the season turns out like 2016 again.

21-09-2020, 10:06 AM
I could've spent a fortune on the best therapists in the land and they wouldn't come as close to pinpointing what vexes me as much as this stat.

https://i.ibb.co/MpLjWjX/Screen-Shot-2020-09-20-at-11-11-38-pm.png (https://ibb.co/HYQM1MJ)

But we're in!

Though we might've lost our leading goal kicker + most dangerous forward in the process, so therapists, you'll be hearing from me.

There's something amusing about the idea that you're so scarred by the Bulldogs you have a rotating team of therapists you work through one by one until they get exhausted and sub a team mate in.

21-09-2020, 10:34 AM
We may need to root for Port tonight as it’s a chance that Wood and Bruce won’t play if we need to go to Perth as their partners are expecting.

21-09-2020, 10:41 AM
We may need to root for Port tonight as it’s a chance that Wood and Bruce won’t play if we need to go to Perth as their partners are expecting.

No way I want to go to Perth. WC are very difficult to beat there.

21-09-2020, 10:50 AM
We might have had our biggest root of the season last night, but it's not over yet.

Time to re-hydrate, limber up and put in one last rooting effort tonight.

Go Power!

21-09-2020, 01:18 PM
St.Kilda hasn't won a premiership for 54 years which is great news in itself. I want us to be the team that sends them packing out of the 2020 finals. It would be a good feeling. I like good feelings.

21-09-2020, 04:32 PM
We might have had our biggest root of the season last night, but it's not over yet.

Time to re-hydrate, limber up and put in one last rooting effort tonight.

Go Power!
Looks like I'm off to the pharmacy again, packet of twelve thanks.

21-09-2020, 04:37 PM

This might actually be a popular option in the MC thread.

21-09-2020, 09:11 PM
There's no celebration like a Charlie Dixon over-celebration.

I reckon he'd pop the jugulars and flex the double pythons if he found a good parking spot.

21-09-2020, 09:18 PM
Don't overestimate the achievement of finding a good parking spot. I find one I'm flipping the bird to all the other drivers.

21-09-2020, 09:22 PM
Port will take their 9 point lead and reset.
If they can keep wines, boak etc getting first use, hence keeping the ball away from DeGoey, then hopefully they can kick away.
However, I have a feeling it will be a close finish.

21-09-2020, 09:26 PM
Don't overestimate the achievement of finding a good parking spot. I find one I'm flipping the bird to all the other drivers.

Ha. That I can fathom, but not sure I've ever seen Dixon kick a goal without carrying on like he's just sacked Rome.

Maybe keep something up the sleeve for a granny, Charlie.

21-09-2020, 09:34 PM
We’ve been in absolute vintage rooting form the past few weeks, let’s not drop off now.

One half to go.

Root, my friends. Root with all your heart.

21-09-2020, 09:47 PM
Gonna go down to the wire. Pies playing well. West Coast first week after Freo last round, it has a nice symmetry?

21-09-2020, 09:49 PM
Gonna go down to the wire. Pies playing well. West Coast first week after Freo last round, it has a nice symmetry?

Spooky.

21-09-2020, 09:52 PM
Port should be at least two more goals up. Come on POWER!!

21-09-2020, 09:55 PM
Port should be at least two more goals up. Come on POWER!!

On top now. Pies look like they’ve fired their best shot.

21-09-2020, 09:55 PM
Robbie Gray is a such a smart footballer.

21-09-2020, 10:05 PM
Makes great decisions with ball in hand.

21-09-2020, 10:06 PM

Agree. A gun. Beautifully balanced and often keeps his feet. Catlike I reckon. Another of my fave other team players. Been an excellent player for a long time.

21-09-2020, 10:32 PM
Port are a good side. Well done to them on finishing top of the ladder and thanks for beating the Pies.

21-09-2020, 10:35 PM
Great stuff!

21-09-2020, 10:37 PM
The Power to win

21-09-2020, 10:38 PM
Been a great month of rooting. Just about every key result went our way.

Let’s not waste it.

21-09-2020, 10:41 PM
It takes a shallow man to take as much pleasure in seeing the filth sent to Perth for an Elimination Final, where they were destroyed earlier this year, as the Dogs making the finals. I am a shallow man.

21-09-2020, 10:55 PM
OK in honour of me, can we all have a little "lets hope the match v the aints is in Adelaide" root?

21-09-2020, 10:59 PM
OK in honour of me, can we all have a little "lets hope the match v the aints is in Adelaide" root?

Certainly.

21-09-2020, 11:11 PM

I think it will be in Adelaide.

22-09-2020, 12:08 AM

I can definitely get on board with that.

22-09-2020, 12:17 PM
Looks like our rooting luck is lasting. An Adelaide EF is on the books.

22-09-2020, 12:23 PM

Is everyone down for a border rush next weekend? They can't catch us all!

22-09-2020, 12:24 PM

Sacrifice a few for the greater good of the many!

22-09-2020, 12:28 PM

We were talking about this last night. I've got an essential worker exemption form and we were trying to work out if they'd believe that I took a wrong turn at Melton and there was nowhere to do a U-turn before the SA border. "What noise from the boot? I can't hear any noises from the boot. SHUT THE *!*!*!*! UP IN THE BOOT"

https://youtu.be/NjQkx1h5dWI

22-09-2020, 01:20 PM

Sacrifice a few for the greater good of the many!

You guys go first, then I will follow :D

22-09-2020, 01:24 PM
How about we get a truck and slap a big Farmers Union Iced Coffee sign and on the side of it? That's the definition of essential for South Australians, they will wave us straight through.

22-09-2020, 01:57 PM
Bulldogs and Saints fans in Bordertown in just over a week's time ....

https://youtu.be/qTj4aSPwTBk

22-09-2020, 02:50 PM
The Long Shot Root
/end thread

22-09-2020, 02:51 PM
How about we get a truck and slap a big Farmers Union Iced Coffee sign and on the side of it? That's the definition of essential for South Australians, they will wave us straight through.
"What do you have in the truck?"
"Ah... someone's attractive cousin"
"Right, through you go"

22-09-2020, 03:00 PM
I'm rooting for little 1 week twinges to Fyfe, Ryan, Brayshaw and Taberner.

1 out 4 wasn't bad and add Walters to the mix. Decent rooting.

01-10-2020, 08:32 PM
So I’m assuming tonight’s rooting is for the Power or are we on the other side of the draw?

Pre-emptive but I’d love for us to be the one knocking Geelong out in straight sets after years of anguish against them.

Edit: Buggar, we’re on the other side of the draw.

01-10-2020, 08:38 PM
All going well who would we prefer to face in a prelim?

01-10-2020, 08:39 PM
All going well who would we prefer to face in a prelim?

I want us to be the one to knock Geelong out. Unfortunately our side of the draw means that we can’t do this in a Semi.
So my reckoning is that I need Geelong to win tonight to face them in a Prelim.

01-10-2020, 08:49 PM
I really don't care about any results other than ours.

We win and I then only care about our game in week 2.

We don't win I demand an enquiry.

01-10-2020, 09:52 PM
I want to see cats go out in straight sets. I dont want any accolades to Selwood, Dangerfield or Ablett.

01-10-2020, 09:56 PM
i want to see cats go out in straight sets. I dont want any accolades to selwood, dangerfield or ablett.

ditto

01-10-2020, 10:30 PM
I second the motion

01-10-2020, 11:11 PM
So we have to get past Port in Adelaide to get through to the Grand Final.

01-10-2020, 11:21 PM
I second the motion

I third it.

01-10-2020, 11:29 PM

Easy. Bring it on.

Saints
Brisbane
Port
Richmond

Premiers

02-10-2020, 12:20 AM
Easy. Bring it on.

Saints
Brisbane
Port
Richmond

Premiers

Cmon Dogs! We are 4 wins away from a 3rd flag :D Being serious let’s just win on Saturday.

02-10-2020, 10:21 AM

Good news for our SA Woofers if we can win the next 2 games. I'm hoping that SA decides to open their borders to regional Vic by then...

02-10-2020, 10:28 AM
Good news for our SA Woofers if we can win the next 2 games. I'm hoping that SA decides to open their borders to regional Vic by then...

One week at a time....(but yes, I'm hoping the same!)

02-10-2020, 02:52 PM
One week at a time....(but yes, I'm hoping the same!)

Hey, that reduces my chance of getting a ticket!

02-10-2020, 03:18 PM
Hey, that reduces my chance of getting a ticket!

I wonder what our allocation would be for an Adelaide Oval game?

02-10-2020, 03:46 PM

I noticed a couple of groups of Geelong supporters last night - behind the goals at one end and on the wing when Dixon went over the fence. There can't be that all that many members in SA, or other permitted states willing to travel.

02-10-2020, 07:34 PM
I noticed a couple of groups of Geelong supporters last night - behind the goals at one end and on the wing when Dixon went over the fence. There can't be that all that many members in SA, or other permitted states willing to travel.

I'm sure that I heard on the news last night that Geelong fans were going to be outnumbered by a ratio of 26 to 1 by Port fans at the game.

02-10-2020, 11:20 PM
The road to the Grand Final now.

Beat the Saints tomorrow, Beat Tigers next week, then beat Port.

Cmon Dogs!

03-10-2020, 12:03 AM
I'm sure that I heard on the news last night that Geelong fans were going to be outnumbered by a ratio of 26 to 1 by Port fans at the game.

So about 1000 cats fans, sounds about right. I wonder if that was the limit or simply how many were taken up by members.

03-10-2020, 10:24 AM

If (big if) we get a chance to buy an allocation of tickets take up as many as you are allowed to. Will be easy to pass them on later

03-10-2020, 10:51 AM
If (big if) we get a chance to buy an allocation of tickets take up as many as you are allowed to. Will be easy to pass them on later

I have four Social club memberships, so that could be a lot of tickets. I will definitely max out though and if I can’t find enough Dogs supporters, I know plenty of people that would get on board for the night (and have enough scarves and merch to fit out a cheersquad).

01-04-2021, 05:13 PM
Is it too early to resurrect the rooting thread?

I'm hoping Brisbane wins tonight in a hard fought slog (Neale copping a 1 week niggle would also be nice). We want as many teams as possible in the 1-3 pack.

01-04-2021, 05:31 PM

I'm hoping Brisbane wins tonight in a hard fought slog (Neale copping a 1 week niggle would also be nice). We want as many teams as possible in the 1-3 pack.

I heard Neale may be out tonight? (not confirmed)

02-04-2021, 12:33 AM

Easter is the best time for resurrection and it’s never ever to early for rooting comrade.:D

02-04-2021, 12:39 AM
It's never too early for a solid rooting. And you got your wish, however Brissy have a nine day break now so they'll be a bit fresher than they might have been should they have travelled.

02-04-2021, 02:37 AM
Interesting to think about who we would want to win this early, if we're going for top 4 I say Collingwood winning would have been better as Brisbane are more likely to be a top 4 threat

02-04-2021, 05:04 AM
Interesting to think about who we would want to win this early, if we're going for top 4 I say Collingwood winning would have been better as Brisbane are more likely to be a top 4 threat

I wanted Collingwood to win this, as they said during the broadcast ''only 5 teams since 2000 have made finals after starting 0-3'' - Sadly tho, wasn't to be.

02-04-2021, 08:11 AM
I wanted Collingwood to win this, as they said during the broadcast ''only 5 teams since 2000 have made finals after starting 0-3'' - Sadly tho, wasn't to be.

Don’t worry Brisbane will be 1-3 after we knock them off in Ballarat next week.

03-04-2021, 01:42 PM
It's never too early for a solid rooting. And you got your wish, however Brissy have a nine day break now so they'll be a bit fresher than they might have been should they have travelled.

To make it fair they should be made to fly to Brisbane then turn around and fly straight back through the week.

Or maybe fly to Ballarat via Gold Coast/Ballina

03-04-2021, 02:03 PM
Who are we rooting for today?

For me:

Sydney to narrowly beat Tigers
Essendon to somehow scrounge a win over the Saints
Eagles to pip Port

And we sit pretty at the top of the table at the end of the round :)

03-04-2021, 03:18 PM
Too early. At this point 17 clubs are rooting against us. Right now we’re number one on the ladder, undefeated with the highest percentage. Just stay here, out in front, for 6 months.

03-04-2021, 03:56 PM
Who are we rooting for today?

For me:

Sydney to narrowly beat Tigers
Essendon to somehow scrounge a win over the Saints
Eagles to pip Port

And we sit pretty at the top of the table at the end of the round :)

Sydney taking Rich to the cleaners right now. Geez they look quick. Playing team footy, and making Tigers defence 2nd rate. I love it.

03-04-2021, 04:02 PM
Sydney taking Rich to the cleaners right now. Geez they look quick. Playing team footy, and making Tigers defence 2nd rate. I love it.

Amazing what happens when you get clean ball in the midfield and hit up targets inside 50 against Richmond. They're so used to the pressured high ball to a 3 on 1 type of scenario, they're struggling to handle it. Hope we're taking notes.

03-04-2021, 04:11 PM
New rules might stuff the Tigers defence. They can't pressure the midfield like they would prior so getting plenty of clean entry against.
Good to see the Swans back as a good side. They had 1 tough year there.
McDonald, what were North and Crows thinking.

03-04-2021, 04:41 PM
Amazing what happens when you get clean ball in the midfield and hit up targets inside 50 against Richmond. They're so used to the pressured high ball to a 3 on 1 type of scenario, they're struggling to handle it. Hope we're taking notes.

Isn’t that basically our defensive strategy?

03-04-2021, 05:18 PM
It is the field in which some us are known as champion rooters.

03-04-2021, 05:27 PM

Absolutely. Richmond zone off to create that 3-1 scenario, so it’s great to see a team dismantle that, the way Sydney did today. Those academy players look top notch, and yes, what were Adelaide and North thinking. Oh my.

03-04-2021, 06:09 PM
New rules might stuff the Tigers defence. They can't pressure the midfield like they would prior so getting plenty of clean entry against.
Good to see the Swans back as a good side. They had 1 tough year there.
McDonald, what were North and Crows thinking.

Adelaide I can kind of understand going for a local to try and cut off more departures back home.

North though? They are just a rabble from the head down it seems.

03-04-2021, 06:50 PM
With the exodus of Brown, NM were always going to struggle to kick a score. They have Larkey, and nothing else, so they go for a mid over McDonald. Absolute stupidity. That’s like “Tambling over Franklin” all over again.

03-04-2021, 06:57 PM
McDonald would look horrible at North. Phillips will be a jet. That decision won’t look bad within a year or two.

On a side note, my rooting is going swimmingly.

03-04-2021, 07:59 PM
McDonald would look horrible at North. Phillips will be a jet. That decision won’t look bad within a year or two.

On a side note, my rooting is going swimmingly.

It’s a major f up imo. Forwards like that are the gold. Short mids are more abundant, something clearly spooked them about the go home factor.

Coffield or Naughton? I guess that’s my point. But I will wait and see on Phillips clearly a talent.

03-04-2021, 08:00 PM
With the exodus of Brown, NM were always going to struggle to kick a score. They have Larkey, and nothing else, so they go for a mid over McDonald. Absolute stupidity. That’s like “Tambling over Franklin” all over again.

When North did their fire sale of players they ran the risk of becoming a rabble. They would want to make sure their player development over the next two years really reaps some results.

03-04-2021, 08:15 PM
Interesting time to reflect on the Aints decision to trade Bruce. He was best contested mark nearly in league in 2019.

03-04-2021, 10:06 PM
Interesting time to reflect on the Aints decision to trade Bruce. He was best contested mark nearly in league in 2019.

To be fair, I don't think tall marking forwards are the Saints problem (see Elimination Final 2020).

03-04-2021, 10:25 PM
It’s a major f up imo. Forwards like that are the gold. Short mids are more abundant, something clearly spooked them about the go home factor.

Coffield or Naughton? I guess that’s my point. But I will wait and see on Phillips clearly a talent.

A+ mids are worth their weight in gold and think Phillips will end up one. North have obviously made a lot of mistakes in the last 10 years, but picking Phillips over McDonald shouldn't be considered one...yet.

Also, the rooting extravaganza continues into the night.

03-04-2021, 10:37 PM
A+ mids are worth their weight in gold and think Phillips will end up one. North have obviously made a lot of mistakes in the last 10 years, but picking Phillips over McDonald shouldn't be considered one...yet.

Also, the rooting extravaganza continues into the night.

Eagles look like a good side.

Fair enough re Phillips, just at 180 not sure.

Like Davies-Uniacke he looks the right size.

03-04-2021, 10:49 PM
To be fair, I don't think tall marking forwards are the Saints problem (see Elimination Final 2020).

Ergh did that happen?

They'd be last for marks inside 50 this year. Bruce probably #1.

Ryder and Marshall out wouldn't be helping.

04-04-2021, 04:01 PM
Ergh did that happen?

Saints look like a completely different side with Ryder and Marshall out. Both destroyed us in our 2 games last year. Hopefully at least 1 is still missing next time round.

05-04-2021, 08:58 AM
Looking at ladder, quite remarkably we will end round three two wins (and percentage) inside the top 8

05-04-2021, 09:34 AM
It’s nice to see our % over 180, pretty much 40% above the next best. However, most of those are yet to play NM, and we know how quickly it could go down, but we have set it up nicely. Bris, GC and GWS are very important games, and there’s no reason we can’t be 6-0 after those IF we continue to play team football and kick straight. A very important month ahead.

05-04-2021, 10:33 AM
Ergh did that happen?

And King had been missing/underdone.

On marks inside 50, dogs (52) are second to Sydney (53), with the saints down in 11th with 35.

01-05-2021, 11:14 PM
Good results with Geelong & Port. Shame Melbourne have North. Still has us likely second (when dees win) with a game clear and 30%.

Big root on us to beat Carlton next week.

01-05-2021, 11:54 PM
Good results with Geelong & Port. Shame Melbourne have North. Still has us likely second (when dees win) with a game clear and 30%.

Big root on us to beat Carlton next week.

the way things are going this round anything can happen

02-05-2021, 12:28 AM
C’mon North !!

02-05-2021, 11:54 AM
If North are going to win any games this year, it will most likely be in Hobart, but it’s not often Melb are $1.02 on Sportsbet. Supposed to be really nice day in Hobart today. 21 degrees. No chance of rain, so we can’t hope that brings the skill level down.

02-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Melbourne will win by 100+ points.

02-05-2021, 12:08 PM

I think they might take them lightly.

In all seriousness North can't kick a score. Havent scored much past 50 all season.

02-05-2021, 12:24 PM

Hobart games aren’t canon. Absolutely anything could happen.

26-06-2021, 08:20 PM
Would love for the top 2 and top 4 to be set now.

Playing a QF against Port or Brisbane at hopefully Etihad (small crowd and home advantage). Hopefully two MCG games left.

That would mean after the flight back tomorrow there’s only one trip outside Victoria this year (Tassie).

Geelong & Richmond to knock the other out.

First thing first, we need to keep on winning.

26-06-2021, 11:05 PM
Geelong has dropped to 5th. As its stands 2nd to 5th on same points.

We need to win tomorrow.

27-06-2021, 08:11 AM

We need to win tomorrow.

Hopefully last week's minute of madness doesn't prove very costly.

27-06-2021, 10:00 AM

We need to win tomorrow.

Melb pretty much has a top 2 in the bag you’d think. Leaving 4 teams fighting 3 top 4 positions. It’s not gonna be easy. If we could somehow pull it off today it would be massive.

27-06-2021, 11:20 AM
Melb pretty much has a top 2 in the bag you’d think. Leaving 4 teams fighting 3 top 4 positions. It’s not gonna be easy. If we could somehow pull it off today it would be massive.

Melbourne hasn't got an easy draw coming up.

27-06-2021, 11:36 AM

Disagree. I've said it multiple times they look shaky and have us, Port in Port Adelaide, West Coast in Perth and Geelong in Geelong. Given how close things are if they lose even three if those four they are a very really chance of finishing outside top 4.

27-06-2021, 11:53 AM
Dees never got out of second gear last night and more than handled who Fox and the AFL have led me to believe were the #2 team in the competition last night.

They just have such faith in their positioning and structure to bring results that how they score seems almost irrelevant to them. They're really locked in right now and also a nightmare matchup for us specifically.

27-06-2021, 12:23 PM
Disagree. I've said it multiple times they look shaky and have us, Port in Port Adelaide, West Coast in Perth and Geelong in Geelong. Given how close things are if they lose even three if those four they are a very really chance of finishing outside top 4.

And with 2 games ahead of us we pretty much have to win every game after WC. ?
They will beat us at the G unless we have our best 22.
Sydney and Essendon for us are not going to be easy beats like some on here think they will be.

27-06-2021, 12:48 PM
Dees never got out of second gear last night and more than handled who Fox and the AFL have led me to believe were the #2 team in the competition last night.

They just have such faith in their positioning and structure to bring results that how they score seems almost irrelevant to them. They're really locked in right now and also a nightmare matchup for us specifically.

Yep, a dominating ruckman and gun intercept defenders is nightmare fuel for us.

27-06-2021, 12:56 PM
Yep, a dominating ruckman and gun intercept defenders is nightmare fuel for us.

I agree with the dominating ruck part but I think we can work around the gun intercept defenders. Clearly they are a danger for anyone, having two of the best intercept defenders in the league is huge. But we had Naughts and Bruce can be dangerous. Having Treloar and Dunks back when it matters, well hopefully, will be huge in where we get to dictate numbers. Bruce really needs to have the right game when he plays the Dees next.

02-07-2021, 08:34 PM
Feels dirty, but I'm going for Essendon tonight. A Bombers win keeps Geelong at bay and puts Richmond out of the 8.

Let's go you scumbags!

02-07-2021, 09:01 PM
Feels dirty, but I'm going for Essendon tonight. A Bombers win keeps Geelong at bay and puts Richmond out of the 8.

Let's go you scumbags!

Struggling to barrack for either. I console myself that one will lose and I can ignore whoever wins. A draw would probably be the most satisyfing outcome.

03-07-2021, 04:04 PM
Hoping that GWS can keep it going against Melbourne and Hawks do it for Shaun and knock off Port.

03-07-2021, 04:14 PM
Hoping that GWS can keep it going against Melbourne and Hawks do it for Shaun and knock off Port.

I don’t think GWS win, but if they do, there’s no more rooting. If we win and keep winning everyone else is completely irrelevant. Strange thought.

03-07-2021, 04:28 PM
I don’t think GWS win, but if they do, there’s no more rooting. If we win and keep winning everyone else is completely irrelevant. Strange thought.

Melbourne are struggling to score lately.

03-07-2021, 04:31 PM

BT can you orchestrate Haynes to the Dogs please. Many thanks.

03-07-2021, 04:32 PM
The thing about Melb is that they have patches during the game where they dont score, and usually stop the opposition from scoring at the same time. GWS are ticking the scoreboard over and at least not having any major patches of non scoring. Looking good, but gotta hold this lead til 3 qtr time.