View Full Version : WB Game Day V Brisbane R20 2019

Pages : 1 [2]

04-08-2019, 07:28 PM
That’s taking it to a different level Marcus.

04-08-2019, 07:28 PM
Will someone shut Lynch up

04-08-2019, 07:29 PM
Cmon Dogs!

C’mon Dogs!

Good last 5 mins. Bont is a jet except within goal scoring range.

04-08-2019, 07:30 PM
Lipinski goal!...24 points in it, 1qtr to go

Great kick Pat!

I don’t buy this. We should be a better side than Brisbane. We just miss easy shots, targets then turn it over when we are out of position. We have a good midfield that are going ok. The backs are under pressure due to our poor skills. The forward are putting the backs under pressure by not hitting the score board and applying score board pressure.
If we are missing easy shots and turning the ball over we are not a better side than Brisbane. Off with the rose coloured glasses.

04-08-2019, 07:31 PM
This is what we are capable of. A lot of work ahead of us though

04-08-2019, 07:31 PM
If we are missing easy shots and turning the ball over we are not a better side than Brisbane. Off with the rose coloured glasses.

Bevo on the bench. Thor in the stands.

04-08-2019, 07:32 PM
Good last 5 mins. Bont is a jet except within goal scoring range.

He should’ve kicked 25+ goals for the season and be $1.20 favourite for the Brownlow.

04-08-2019, 07:34 PM
6 goal quarter

Good things happen when Bailey Smith has the ball in hand.

Shaq! 17 points in it. Give Shaq credit, he has his knockers.

04-08-2019, 07:36 PM
Lynch Dwayne Roos excruciating

04-08-2019, 07:37 PM

It is barely above CH7 levels.

A real test for us in this last quarter. We need some more multiple goal kickers.

Great comeback in the premiership quarter.

Smith shows how to not panic entering 50. He's 18! Great qtr.

Good things happen when Bailey Smith has the ball in hand.

Excellent 1st year. Really liked how he has progressed.

04-08-2019, 07:38 PM
Wow that would have made things interesting.

Great that we've fought back here. We need to keep pushing them as they're a rotation down and vulnerable.

Imagine if Dicko was on his man shepherding that last kick.

Much better quarter.

Couldn't cop it. I muted it before quarter time and put some Miles Davis on in the background.

Helps sooth my fury every time we hand it to them on a silver platter.

I'm glad we've woken up, fair chance playing like chumps for two and a half quarters will cost us the game and the season.

Lets see if we feel like playing in the fourth.

04-08-2019, 07:39 PM
A real test for us in this last quarter. We need some more multiple goal kickers.

Just getting little from some senior players. Dickson, Suckling, Cordy, Trengove all can improve.

04-08-2019, 07:40 PM
Can we do this?

04-08-2019, 07:41 PM
Can we do this?

You barrack for the Dogs, you have to believe :)

Alastair Lynch is detestable. Dwayne a moron.

Meanwhile a lad called Marcus Bontempelli goes ok.

Fight to the wire Dogs.

Can we do this?

10th playing 3rd here....we are doing well considering and I think we can!

Can we do this?

We’re that good we could win by 4 goals or lose by 10 goals! :D

04-08-2019, 07:42 PM
What a shit start.

04-08-2019, 07:43 PM
Pretty sure you can only be held or not held - not half held Dwayne.

Dirty scrubby clearance

Massive hold on Bont missed at that bounce. Cordy no where to be seen in defence.

04-08-2019, 07:45 PM
English BOG for us.

04-08-2019, 07:46 PM
EASTON

Jeez.

04-08-2019, 07:46 PM
Why rush

04-08-2019, 07:47 PM
Poor composure from Schache. Needed to do better.

And here comes the 11 point play

Pathetic by Toby & JJ.. but how the hell did we not kick a goal back there?

Wood...deplorable

04-08-2019, 07:48 PM
Rubbish.

Just an awful effort from McLean on the wing.

Your goal son.

We are our own worst enemies. So frustrating.

Wood is a little in danger of no getting a new contract next year if this vein of shitness continues.

04-08-2019, 07:50 PM
Naughton, fantastic conversion. 18 points in it

04-08-2019, 07:51 PM
Happy to keep Easton off for the entire quarter.

04-08-2019, 07:51 PM
Bont half held again DWayne.

04-08-2019, 07:52 PM
The treatment of the Bont and non free kicks is disgusting

Bont half held again DWayne.

Does that add up to one actual hold now?

*!*!*!*! these easy misses

04-08-2019, 07:55 PM
Ed has to halve that contest.

04-08-2019, 07:55 PM
We’ve got a few on the cooked list.

04-08-2019, 07:56 PM
Another Suckers special.

Magnificent.

04-08-2019, 07:56 PM
Suckers is taking the piss.

04-08-2019, 07:57 PM
Need a very big effective clearance here.

04-08-2019, 07:59 PM
Whenever Easton puts ball to boot baby Jesus cries.

04-08-2019, 07:59 PM
Bont!!!!

04-08-2019, 08:00 PM
Bailey Smith is a smart footballer. Created the space for Bont there.

04-08-2019, 08:00 PM
Bont kicks true. BL 91 to WB 74, coming home

04-08-2019, 08:01 PM
We had to do better there.

04-08-2019, 08:01 PM
Lippa needed to hold that ball in at CHF and create a stoppage. Small mistake but big consequence

04-08-2019, 08:02 PM
24 points needed in 7 mins. No worries...

04-08-2019, 08:02 PM
Lewis Young must really be bad at footy if Zaine Cordy is s better option as our 2nd tall defender.. just banging our head against the wall!

04-08-2019, 08:04 PM
359 us, disposals, to their 280....

04-08-2019, 08:05 PM
Surely Suckling is done?

04-08-2019, 08:06 PM
Surely Suckling is done?

So is Dickson.

04-08-2019, 08:06 PM
Dickson.....sigh

04-08-2019, 08:07 PM
It's games like this that underline how much we're crying out for a zippy pressure forward.

04-08-2019, 08:07 PM
All the best in retirement Dicko.

04-08-2019, 08:08 PM
Lipinski by foot I50 isn’t a good thing to watch.

We have butchered some really good looks inside 50 tonight

We had two good chances but again, last kick into 50.

04-08-2019, 08:09 PM
It's games like this that underline how much we're crying out for a zippy pressure forward.

And some key defenders.

04-08-2019, 08:10 PM
Similar to St.Kilda game the first quarter lead looks like it will be the difference.

Shaq! 17 points in it. Give Shaq credit, he has his knockers.

A few weeks back you were one.

Crozier has been pretty active tonight. Otherwise backline really unable to contain Hipwood

Fitting end for Suckers.

04-08-2019, 08:11 PM
And some key defenders.

Bingo, ideally with some mobility.

They're the two biggest holes in the list and bring us done on a regular basis.

04-08-2019, 08:11 PM
Suckers channelling his inner Eagleton with that junktime special

04-08-2019, 08:13 PM
Suckers channelling his inner Eagleton with that junktime special

Eagleton would be perfect for 2019 footy

04-08-2019, 08:13 PM
You can stay up there Lachie.. 5 more years!

04-08-2019, 08:14 PM
Lachie Hunter, words fail me.

04-08-2019, 08:15 PM
Crozier the only defender to earn his wage today

:( :(

Well at least it wasn't a complete blow out. It was always going to be tough, I hope the players are completely ashamed of their first half decision making and ball use, because it was entirely shameful.

04-08-2019, 08:17 PM
Crozier the only defender to earn his wage today
We missed Dureya today.

04-08-2019, 08:17 PM
Honorable loss in the end.

04-08-2019, 08:18 PM
Well at least it wasn't a complete blow out. It was always going to be tough, I hope the players are completely ashamed of their first half decision making and ball use, because it was entirely shameful.

All things being equal in that we score 3 or 4 goals in the first qtr and a bit we win that game... it’s such a frustrating ride we are on with this group.

04-08-2019, 08:18 PM
We missed Dureya today.

Absolutely. He plays instead of Suckling & Cameron has a lot more to think about.

04-08-2019, 08:20 PM
Thought we were going to get pantsed early in the 3rd.
Whilst I'm glad we showed resilience and fought back, I'm gutted we didn't seize the opportunity to really put a scare through the teams innthe 8.

04-08-2019, 08:21 PM
Them by 21
First goal Schache
BOG The Bont

I was pretty close. I should do this more often.

Woeful conversions cost us again. We could have won this.

Our younger players are great. It's our old guys that are letting us down: Dickson, Suckling, Trengove, and, it pains me to say it, Wood all look past it.

04-08-2019, 08:24 PM
All things being equal in that we score 3 or 4 goals in the first qtr and a bit we win that game... it’s such a frustrating ride we are on with this group.

As I posted earlier, it was genuine supporter melt down material in the first half and you're absolutely right about it being a frustrating ride.

It's all players who show such a broad spectrum of skill levels.

04-08-2019, 08:31 PM
A few weeks back you were one.

He's had a perfect season in your view?

04-08-2019, 08:33 PM
We missed Dureya today.

Agreed, really noticeable when he wasn't there.

04-08-2019, 08:35 PM
Once again missing simple set shots at goal costs us badly. We had a few opportunities to gain momentum and footy is a game of momentum-if you have it, then you are hard to stop but it can disappear so quickly just by missing one easy set shot.

04-08-2019, 08:36 PM
Once again missing simple set shots at goal costs us badly. We had a few opportunities to gain momentum and footy is a game of momentum-if you have it, then you are hard to stop but it can disappear so quickly just by missing one easy set shot.

Yep footy quite a bit of the time is a confidence game and nailing those shots can have a huge effect.

04-08-2019, 08:38 PM
Once again missing simple set shots at goal costs us badly. We had a few opportunities to gain momentum (and footy is a game of momentum-if you have it, then you are hard to stop but it can disappear so quickly just by missing one easy set shot.

That didn't cost us at all. They also missed plenty of easy ones. It was our entry into the forward 50 that robbed us of opportunities to even have a shot. Some of the dumb passes into the forward line was amateurish .

We over used the ball (74 more disposals) and we weren't very efficient with it.

04-08-2019, 08:42 PM
This will go down as one of the most disappointing seasons. Every top 8 side is vulnerable and we have the best midfield group in the league. If our defence and (to a lesser extent) forward line even resembled AFL quality, we’d be up to our eyeballs. Alas we’ve pisses it away.

04-08-2019, 08:43 PM
That didn't cost us at all. They also missed plenty of easy ones. It was our entry into the forward 50 that robbed us of opportunities to even have a shot. Some of the dumb passes into the forward line was amateurish .

We over used the ball (74 more disposals) and we weren't very efficient with it.

The shorter passes going forward we’re good to see in the 2nd half as we were just bombing it early on. Hard to get good opportunity just bombing it.

04-08-2019, 08:50 PM

I think you have misunderstood me. I didn't say that it was goalkicking I said it was missing simple shots at goal. If Naughton had slotted simple set shots and Bont didn't miss from 5 metres out, heads wouldn't have dropped and we would have won more contests (it's hard to win contests with your arms attached to your hips and your head down).

There's a difference between goalkicking and missing simple shots at goal. Bad goalkicking is kicking more behinds than goals, missing simple shots are the team deflating, coach killers that arise because players don't take enough care with their kicking technique.

04-08-2019, 08:54 PM
What a dirty prick that Robinson was with the hit into the ribs of Dunks. I hope he is ok.

04-08-2019, 08:56 PM
This will go down as one of the most disappointing seasons. Every top 8 side is vulnerable and we have the best midfield group in the league. If our defence and (to a lesser extent) forward line even resembled AFL quality, we’d be up to our eyeballs. Alas we’ve pisses it away.
3 of the top 4 (WC, Richmond and Brisbane) have a sustainable and predictable game plan that doesn't over-rely on 1-2 players shooting the lights out. By contrast we rely far too much on our absolute cream, hence the big gap between our best and worst. So do Geelong, hence why they are finals fodder every year.

Your point about our bookends is spot-on - we need to keep tinkering with both ends of the ground so we can maximise our midfield dominance, protect our back 6 and get better reward for our I50's.

04-08-2019, 08:56 PM
What a dirty prick that Robinson was with the hit into the ribs of Dunks. I hope he is ok.

Yeah, pretty much. Easy to hurt a bloke who’s open and not expecting it.

04-08-2019, 08:58 PM

Commentators loved it. Said it was legal, Roos a little circumspect. Let's let Dunk's do that to them or someone from a team they support and see if that changes...

04-08-2019, 09:04 PM

When something like that happens there is no way that Robinson should leave the field without a trainer holding each arm. We should never have let Ziebull leave the ground under his own steam after he heroically attacked Cloke from behind. He should have been looking over his shoulder until everthing turned to black for him. How come every other club can get that through their heads except for us? I'd hate to be a young kid playing for us. Other clubs must be laughing at us.

04-08-2019, 09:06 PM
Feel like the scoreboard flattered us a little, despite a few fits and spurts of reasonable footy. Backline was outclassed and our physicality no where near matched theirs across the field. Our inside work and clearances seemed good but the missed tackles etc stacked up.

04-08-2019, 09:07 PM
When something like that happens there is no way that Robinson should leave the field without a trainer holding each arm. We should never have let Ziebull leave the ground under his own steam after he heroically attacked Cloke from behind. He should have been looking over his shoulder until everthing turned to black for him. How come every other club can get that through their heads except for us? I'd hate to be a young kid playing for us. Other clubs must be laughing at us.
Trengove had a bit of a go, he should have unloaded and belted him.

04-08-2019, 09:12 PM
Feel like the scoreboard flattered us a little, despite a few fits and spurts of reasonable footy. Backline was outclassed and our physicality no where near matched theirs across the field. Our inside work and clearances seemed good but the missed tackles etc stacked up.

13 or 14 other teams would have taken Brisbane to the cleaners today. The Lions weren't off their game by that much but it only takes being off by 5% and things can get ugly. Without checking their fixture it wouldn't surprise me if they lost their next couple. Next week by a litlle (and it should have been this week) and then the rot sets in and it's a 7-10 goals loss.

04-08-2019, 09:17 PM
I didn't know the result and chose WOOF to let the game unfold, sorry you guys for putting the eager eye on you. I was faithful to page four, then googled the below:

"The Brisbane Lions have their 14th win of the year, and sit equal on points with Geelong and West Coast Eagles and third on the ladder overall after rolling the Western Bulldogs in an exciting, back-and-forth contest at the Gabba featuring a number of outstanding individual performances by both teams."
Reporters are easier on the nerves but not as keen as us.

04-08-2019, 09:18 PM
This was a very winnable game given the opportunities we had after a tardy start. The forward line was inadequate with smaller forwards in Dickson Lloyd and Dale contributing one goal between them. The back line lacked class and leg speed and there is an urgent need to find a quality key defender. A terrible error by our MC to have both English and Bont on the interchange bench together in the final term which enabled Martin to take control in the ruck and the brilliance of Bont missing in the midfield at such a vital time.
The brilliance of Bont and ball getting ability of Macrae with support from Dunkley kept us constantly in attack but in the end we fell short.

04-08-2019, 09:21 PM
Trengove had a bit of a go, he should have unloaded and belted him.

Somebody should have. I would have loved to see Trengove split him down the middle with a classic shirtfront ("that's one!" to quote Steve Wallis)

04-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Thought Brisbane were better when the game was on the line. We will keep growing, should be much stronger next season

04-08-2019, 10:20 PM
First time I’ve been up here in a decade
Probably won’t again
52 $ cheapest seats is way overs
Just wanted G/A and told it was sold out , which was utter B/S
It’s not Barcelona or Man United or Liverpool
Low footy fan IQ up here and that’s being nice

04-08-2019, 10:21 PM
Well I've just got back from the game and I can say I had a really good steak at the Pineapple Hotel.

……………………………………………………………..

04-08-2019, 10:24 PM

Had a peanut around yelling at Dunkley to get off !
Advised them if it was a lions player they’d be moaning up a storm

04-08-2019, 10:25 PM
Well I've just got back from the game and I can say I had a really good steak at the Pineapple Hotel.

Hope that wasn’t at Gabba prices

04-08-2019, 10:35 PM

Would have been better had we won.

04-08-2019, 10:37 PM
Hope that wasn’t at Gabba prices

I never buy anything at the ground once my arse hits the seat its stuck there until the final siren.
$52 bucks for 300gm eye fillet with cheesy garlic bread. I thought that was about normal.

04-08-2019, 10:50 PM
Probably won’t again

Usually GA for Marvel games is about $27. Must have been because it was a bigger game but still it is quite a bit. I payed around $60-65 for a reserved seat for the game next Saturday night at Marvel.

04-08-2019, 10:52 PM
Amazing we got so close considering the passengers we had, that game was there for the taking. The Bont, Macrae, Naughty, Smith, Schache, Dunkley and Crozier kept us in it all day long.

Our flankers were incredibly poor at both ends and then there is Cordy and Wood. I'm not even gonna go there.

We continue to allow forwards get in behind us, we really need to rejig that press its way too high, absolutely we need a sweeper and it also impacts our ability to score when too compressed when we lock it in.

Were coming there is no doubt about it, I just wish it was now.

04-08-2019, 11:02 PM
Probably won’t again

Had a peanut around yelling at Dunkley to get off !
Advised them if it was a lions player they’d be moaning up a storm

They are Queenslanders Remi. We all know the only non brain dead Queenslanders are the ones that barrack for the Bulldogs.

After all they still think they are going to get that money that Clive Palmer owes them back!

04-08-2019, 11:18 PM
Not sure what to say.

Lloyd missed a bunch of easy goals.
Naughton did too.
Bont missed the unmissable.
So many times we had 2-3/1 in the F50 and didn’t even get a shot.
Maybe the Lions defence is super smart, maybe we just have no chemistry up front.

I reckon we can blame everything and everyone but if people take their chances we have a different match. Sure we have gaps in the squad but why oh why is it OK for Naughton to butcher goals week after week? Hunter to either not shoot or miss from 30 out? Bont... from the square? Richards... from 25 out? Lloyd... 25 out?

We simply have a horribly unbalanced fwd line and are bereft of leadership.

We actually take the piss with who we are. Ok with making mistakes.

04-08-2019, 11:25 PM
I wasn't able to watch 100% of the game but was it really that bad? I know it's been a serial problem for us but if we convert even adequately at goal in the first quarter/half and we probably beat a top 4 team interstate.

Bont and Macrae are the best two mids in it at the moment. Queensland Jack Macrae is one of football's true mythical beasts; if he played every game up there he'd poll 50 Brownlow votes a year.

04-08-2019, 11:58 PM
I wasn't able to watch 100% of the game but was it really that bad? I know it's been a serial problem for us but if we convert even adequately at goal in the first quarter/half and we probably beat a top 4 team interstate.

Bont and Macrae are the best two mids in it at the moment. Queensland Jack Macrae is one of football's true mythical beasts; if he played every game up there he'd poll 50 Brownlow votes a year.

We are all so frustrated because we were getting a lot of it and doing a lot of things right, but our execution of skills in the first half was as bad as it has been. Continually fluffing our lines with the football coupled with some poor team defence and lacklustre individual defending, meant it seemed really easy for them to score and difficult for us.

It really didn't have to be that way either. The poor skill execution was at times with very little pressure, and genuinely basic bread and butter kicking was mangled. It was horrible, and frustrating, and embarrassing for footballers who when they concentrate can be much better.

05-08-2019, 12:07 AM
395-321 disposals in our favour

Efficiency Inside 50

Lions 28 shots from 54 inside 50s
Bulldogs 25 shots from 59 inside 50s

We won the centre clearances and stoppage clearances but lost the hit outs

05-08-2019, 12:48 AM

When we got it close to the 50, one could tell with certain players, confidence was not there to slot it.
Dickson butchered the ball all day, Easton coughed it up, senior players, very annoying.

05-08-2019, 09:56 AM
The poor skill execution was at times with very little pressure, and genuinely basic bread and butter kicking was mangled. It was horrible, and frustrating, and embarrassing for footballers who when they concentrate can be much better.

Seemed to happen along the half forward line, that last kick into the F50, when we looked like getting a certain goal.

05-08-2019, 10:40 AM
Not sure what to say.

Lloyd missed a bunch of easy goals.
Naughton did too.
Bont missed the unmissable.
So many times we had 2-3/1 in the F50 and didn’t even get a shot.
Maybe the Lions defence is super smart, maybe we just have no chemistry up front.

I reckon we can blame everything and everyone but if people take their chances we have a different match. Sure we have gaps in the squad but why oh why is it OK for Naughton to butcher goals week after week? Hunter to either not shoot or miss from 30 out? Bont... from the square? Richards... from 25 out? Lloyd... 25 out?

We simply have a horribly unbalanced fwd line and are bereft of leadership.

We actually take the piss with who we are. Ok with making mistakes.

The thing about Bont is, if he does miss he immediately tries to get it back. Can see the hunger to make up for it. But others don't seem to have that ability. Dickson's dribble made me want to cry. Whenever Hunter gets the ball within 10ft of the forward line I cringe.

06-08-2019, 03:57 PM
From Twitter:

Between Jackson Macrae and Marcus Bontempelli, the Dogs' dynamic duo did this today...

80 disposals
35 contested possessions
17 clearances
13 inside 50s
1290 metres gained
14 tackles
1 goal

06-08-2019, 04:24 PM
From Twitter:

Between Jackson Macrae and Marcus Bontempelli, the Dogs' dynamic duo did this today...

80 disposals
35 contested possessions
17 clearances
13 inside 50s
1290 metres gained
14 tackles
1 goal

I could be wrong but I think Bontempelli tries to straighten up towards goal and kicks good distance with a low trajectory. Always seems that something good might come from it. I don’t get that impression from the others.

06-08-2019, 04:51 PM
I could be wrong but I think Bontempelli tries to straighten up towards goal and kicks good distance with a low trajectory. Always seems that something good might come from it. I don’t get that impression from the others.

He's not a fair reference point - he's the best kick in the league.

06-08-2019, 06:45 PM
He's not a fair reference point - he's the best kick in the league.

Is Lloyd or Dickson or Schache better when 40+ metres from goal? Lloyd has 15 since the bye.

Not kicking well is inexcusable.

Straighten up, keep low leaning forward, hold the ball properly, kick through. Some don’t want to improve.