View Full Version : Player Contract Status

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9

16-02-2024, 09:03 AM
New Western Bulldogs vice-captain Tom Liberatore?s reward for his remarkable consistency is likely to be a new one-year contract before the start of the season.

Liberatore?s talks are set to ramp up next week after another exceptional 2023 in which he again recorded a top-four best-and-fairest finish, this time runner-up to Marcus Bontempelli.

Liberatore?s wild days ? and resulting contract impasses ? are behind him and while the Dogs extractor only 31 he still has plenty of one-year contracts ahead of him.

The Dogs have already signed up Aaron Naughton on an eight-year deal, so Liberatore?s signature would continue that momentum.

This masthead reported last week Tim English was in no hurry to sign a new free agency deal, with Bailey Smith?s future set to be decided at year?s end.

So rewarding Liberatore makes sense given he has also found remarkable durability, having missed one two games in the past three seasons.

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan wants to stay at the Dogs but will be due a massive salary rise and might want to maximise his value by pushing talks back.

Link (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/trade-latest-libba-shaping-towards-oneyear-deal-max-holmes-delay-disaster-for-jiath/news-story/5b9287cc0b09cd5926e38f49863178dd)

16-02-2024, 09:08 AM
He certainly deserves it. I like seeing some of the deals done quickly.

16-02-2024, 09:11 AM
Would be very good to get an unexpected early signature of JUH. I think we need one of JUH, English or Bailey Smith to sign on relatively early. I don't think we want to go into the off-season with 3 big names available to be poached.

16-02-2024, 09:16 AM
Would be very good to get an unexpected early signature of JUH. I think we need one of JUH, English or Bailey Smith to sign on relatively early. I don't think we want to go into the off-season with 3 big names available to be poached.

Wouldn't that put a lot of wind into the membership sales to land some of the good news stories with player retention's?
Marra would be the highest of all priorities.

18-03-2024, 08:48 AM
Sam Edmund
@Sammy__Edmund

27m
TOM Liberatore is closing in on another contract extension at the Western Bulldogs. Liberatore is poised to sign a one-year deal that will carry him through until the end of 2025.
The midfielder signed a one-year contract this time last year and is as prolific as ever. @1116sen

18-03-2024, 03:41 PM
Good news

20-03-2024, 09:14 AM
LIBBA CLOSES IN ON NEW CONTRACT (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/moneyball-afl-trade-news-vfl-clubs-weigh-up-tarryn-thomas-risk-jamarra-uglehagans-12m-price-tag/news-story/d14aad52b735e2fb53f7b540e6b7e642)

Western Bulldogs midfield bull Tom Liberatore is edging closer to a new one-year deal, but the soon-to-be 32-year-old is confident that his battle-scarred right knee can push on for a few more seasons.

Liberatore’s AFL career has come full circle, having rejoined the club’s leadership group this year after a long absence. He says he will largely take his AFL career on a year-to-year basis.

The Bulldogs’ vice-captain has rolled through a series of one-year deals in recent years and has often accepted slightly under market value, such is his love of the club.

Liberatore doesn’t expect that to change, despite four consecutive top-three finishes in the Dogs’ best and fairest, as he and his management look to tick off an extension into 2025.

“The right knee was playing-up for a couple of years, but it’s all good … I’ve been able to manage it quite well,” Liberatore said.

“It’s a big jump once you turn 32 (which he does in May), but I’m still loving it (playing AFL football). I couldn’t be happier with where (I) am at and where the club is headed.”

Moneyball revealed last year Liberatore was still well-paid, but had been prepared to accept slightly less to stick with the Bulldogs.

He played that down this week, saying: “I’m not going to sit here and proclaim I am some sort of hero. It’s just the elements of (past) injury and age (as the reasons for the one-year deals). I probably deserve what I get.”

20-03-2024, 11:07 AM
LIBBA CLOSES IN ON NEW CONTRACT (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/moneyball-afl-trade-news-vfl-clubs-weigh-up-tarryn-thomas-risk-jamarra-uglehagans-12m-price-tag/news-story/d14aad52b735e2fb53f7b540e6b7e642)

Western Bulldogs midfield bull Tom Liberatore is edging closer to a new one-year deal, but the soon-to-be 32-year-old is confident that his battle-scarred right knee can push on for a few more seasons.

Liberatore’s AFL career has come full circle, having rejoined the club’s leadership group this year after a long absence. He says he will largely take his AFL career on a year-to-year basis.

The Bulldogs’ vice-captain has rolled through a series of one-year deals in recent years and has often accepted slightly under market value, such is his love of the club.

Liberatore doesn’t expect that to change, despite four consecutive top-three finishes in the Dogs’ best and fairest, as he and his management look to tick off an extension into 2025.

“The right knee was playing-up for a couple of years, but it’s all good … I’ve been able to manage it quite well,” Liberatore said.

“It’s a big jump once you turn 32 (which he does in May), but I’m still loving it (playing AFL football). I couldn’t be happier with where (I) am at and where the club is headed.”

Moneyball revealed last year Liberatore was still well-paid, but had been prepared to accept slightly less to stick with the Bulldogs.

He played that down this week, saying: “I’m not going to sit here and proclaim I am some sort of hero. It’s just the elements of (past) injury and age (as the reasons for the one-year deals). I probably deserve what I get.”

Bulldog through and through.

20-03-2024, 01:08 PM
Apparently we have a 2 year offer in front of Bailey Smith according to Cal at Gettables.

Glove38
20-03-2024, 01:14 PM
Apparently we have a 2 year offer in front of Bailey Smith according to Cal at Gettables.

If that's true I'm pretty cynical of that. I reckon that's that our way of saying we don't really want him.
We have used this tactic in the past, we have lowballed players (on years or $) when we know others will offer much more, but in negotiating with other clubs we say really wanted to keep him and offered him a deal.
I don't think coming back from the knee would be the reason for the 2 yrs.

20-03-2024, 02:06 PM
If that's true I'm pretty cynical of that. I reckon that's that our way of saying we don't really want him.
We have used this tactic in the past, we have lowballed players (on years or $) when we know others will offer much more, but in negotiating with other clubs we say really wanted to keep him and offered him a deal.

Maybe Bailey has said he only wants two years and see where we are at then.

20-03-2024, 02:34 PM
Maybe Bailey has said he only wants two years and see where we are at then. I think you are right as that would see him to free agency. Wouldn't be easy going to a new club straight of an ACL so could be in the best interest of both parties. He also may feel he owes the club as well for doing the rehab. The two year deal also won't mean he will be short of a coin.

20-03-2024, 03:49 PM

I might be wrong but 2 years gets him to free agency. If another club offers him a big deal now then he should absolutely take it...but I think it is within both his and our interests to get him through another couple of seasons.

20-03-2024, 04:53 PM
Free agency means the club lets you go a year early if you want as the club then gets zero for you when contract finishes.

20-03-2024, 05:31 PM
Free agency means the club lets you go a year early if you want as the club then gets zero for you when contract finishes.
Normally that's right but not in the AFL, there are band level compensation picks.

21-03-2024, 06:27 AM
Tom Morris

Lock it in 🔒: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan will re-sign for the @westernbulldogs.

The only question is whether it?s a two-year deal or four years. The latter would take him to free agency.

Either way, he?s not going anywhere.

21-03-2024, 06:49 AM
Tom Morris

Lock it in ��: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan will re-sign for the @westernbulldogs.

The only question is whether it?s a two-year deal or four years. The latter would take him to free agency.

Morris and the other pricks in AFL media won't be happy about that!

21-03-2024, 07:28 AM
Tom Morris

Lock it in ��: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan will re-sign for the @westernbulldogs.

He's basically repeating exactly what Sam Edmund reported. If true I think it's a smart move by Marra.

21-03-2024, 07:48 AM
Morris and the other pricks in AFL media won't be happy about that!

They'll just move onto the next one and the one after that. Either way it's great to have him unofficially signed on. Hopefully it's at the longer end of report.

21-03-2024, 08:12 AM
He's basically repeating exactly what Sam Edmund reported. If true I think it's a smart move by Marra.

What stands out as making it a smart move for Marra?
Is it that either a 2 year or 4 year deal gives extends him to the point where he's most likely to be able to leverage a career defining deal - by virtue of both his expected improvement and standing in the game coupled with a Tassie team looming and free agency?

21-03-2024, 08:13 AM
It would be a big lift of energy having Marra's name taken off the list of 'gettable' players. Would love some official news soon on this one.

21-03-2024, 08:21 AM
Is it that either a 2 year or 4 year deal gives extends him to the point where he's most likely to be able to leverage a career defining deal - by virtue of both his expected improvement and standing in the game coupled with a Tassie team looming and free agency?

To me the smart move is to get it done early in the season and to end all the speculation. This allows him to focus on his footy.
If I was him I'd back it in for a 2 year deal and then sign the mega deal well beyond free agency with a fall back position to sign until FA.

21-03-2024, 08:29 AM
To me the smart move is to get it done early in the season and to end all the speculation. This allows him to focus on his footy.
If I was him I'd back it in for a 2 year deal and then sign the mega deal well beyond free agency with a fall back position to sign until FA.

A two year deal is risky in it's own way. What if this year he got concussed 3 times? If he'd just signed a 4 year deal he has some income protected.

21-03-2024, 08:37 AM

4 years, then sign on as a Bulldog for life. This guy is critical to our post Bont (shudder) future.

21-03-2024, 09:24 AM
It is great news for us as well. We bloody need it after a very ordinary showing in Rd 1 and looking like another ordinary season. To have players leave is just a kick in the balls to us as fans. Keeping them here helps a lot. Good news to read from a very disgruntled fan.

21-03-2024, 09:35 AM
It wouldn't be of much a surprise to get both the Marra and Baz Smith deals done albeit for the short term and then would leave just English as one of the higher profile players to get done.
The list managers role is getting more critical for football clubs and it certainly appears that Sam Power has a good handle on things.

21-03-2024, 11:59 AM
4 years, then sign on as a Bulldog for life. This guy is critical to our post Bont (shudder) future.

You rang Dobie.

23-03-2024, 10:13 AM
It wouldn't be of much a surprise to get both the Marra and Baz Smith deals done albeit for the short term and then would leave just English as one of the higher profile trades

Fixed that for you.

02-04-2024, 07:52 PM
Just heard we are about to sign JUH another 2 years, seems strange only two years.

02-04-2024, 08:14 PM
Just heard we are about to sign JUH another 2 years, seems strange only two years.

To take him to free agency where the circus will restart.

bulldogfan
02-04-2024, 08:17 PM
No his a free agent in 2027

02-04-2024, 08:57 PM
No his a free agent in 2027

Exactly.

bulldogfan
02-04-2024, 09:11 PM
So his only locked into 2026 that’s not free agency

02-04-2024, 09:24 PM
So his only locked into 2026 that’s not free agency

So he's a free agent start of 2027 or end of 2027?

bulldogfan
02-04-2024, 09:45 PM
He is a free agent in 2027 he has only signed till 2026 so he will come out of contract in 2026 and he is not a free agent

03-04-2024, 09:11 AM
That exchange is making my head hurt.

Players need to give 8 years service to their club to qualify for free agency. Jamarra was drafted in the 2020 draft meaning he will qualify for free agency at the end of the 2028 season. This is Jamarra's 4th season (2021-2024).

It has long been expected that he would either sign for 2 more seasons (2026) at which point he won't be a free agent, or 4 more seasons (2028), which would take him through to free agency.

03-04-2024, 10:19 AM
That exchange is making my head hurt.

Players need to give 8 years service to their club to qualify for free agency. Jamarra was drafted in the 2020 draft meaning he will qualify for free agency at the end of the 2028 season. This is Jamarra's 4th season (2021-2024).

It has long been expected that he would either sign for 2 more seasons (2026) at which point he won't be a free agent, or 4 more seasons (2028), which would take him through to free agency.

8 seasons for free agency? I thought it was 6 and then read it's 7. Either way a 2 year deal won't take him to free agency which does make the length a little strange.

PSA: I really hate being that guy but I have educator friends who don't get this right:
https://langeek.co/en/grammar/course/180/his-vs-he-s

03-04-2024, 10:24 AM
8 seasons for free agency? I thought it was 6 and then read it's 7. Either way a 2 year deal won't take him to free agency which does make the length a little strange.

PSA: I really hate being that guy but I have educator friends who don't get this right:

It's 8 years

AFL Free Agency

To become a Free Agent, a player must be one of the following:

Players entering their eighth or ninth season and who are in the top 25 per cent of the club's earners are Restricted Free Agents
An Unrestricted Free Agent is a player who's spent eight years at one club but are outside the top 25 per cent of the club's earners or have spent 10+ years

Players who have been delisted at any stage of their career and are at the end of their contract automatically qualify as free agents

03-04-2024, 10:31 AM

It's 8 years, hence why Tim English is a free agent for the first time at the end of this season having been drafted in 2016.

From Jamarra's point of view he will be backing himself to become one of the best forwards in the game over the next 3 seasons if he extends to 2026 soon. He will then be able to command a mega contract should he choose or again hedge his bets through to free agency in 2028.

The use of 'his' in place of 'he's' or 'he is' drives me crazy too. Thanks for being that guy so I didn't have to!

03-04-2024, 11:11 AM
I might be reading this wrong, but two years feels like a good result for us?

If he were setting himself to play the market at the end of his next deal, I'd have thought he'd take a contract for four years through to free agency when Tassie are going to be a big player. Realistically, if he does become a premier key forward, they could throw an unprecedented contract at him.

Two years more feels like he's willing to forego that free agency leverage to renegotiate with the club when he does have more runs on the board and we're going to have more cap space with the Libba, Treloar, Bont, Macrae contracts all running down.

03-04-2024, 11:33 AM
I might be reading this wrong, but two years feels like a good result for us?

If he were setting himself to play the market at the end of his next deal, I'd have thought he'd take a contract for four years through to free agency when Tassie are going to be a big player. Realistically, if he does become a premier key forward, they could throw an unprecedented contract at him.

Two years more feels like he's willing to forego that free agency leverage to renegotiate with the club when he does have more runs on the board and we're going to have more cap space with the Libba, Treloar, Bont, Macrae contracts all running down.

I would be surprised if Libba, Treloar and Macrae are with us by then.
Libba is a year by year due to his knees,
Treloar is in his 30s and has a body that will only break down more.
Macrae has dropped right away even now.
To be honest I have thought we are going to have some real cap space for Bont, he can’t possibly go to another club.
Years ago they had some sort of contract in the AFL where if you reached a certain age or played so many years at the club your whole salary didn’t come under the cap or something like that . Can anyone remember it and is it still around in some shape or form ?

03-04-2024, 11:54 AM
I would be surprised if Libba, Treloar and Macrae are with us by then.
Libba is a year by year due to his knees,
Treloar is in his 30s and has a body that will only break down more.
Macrae has dropped right away even now.
To be honest I have thought we are going to have some real cap space for Bont, he can’t possibly go to another club.
Years ago they had some sort of contract in the AFL where if you reached a certain age or played so many years at the club your whole salary didn’t come under the cap or something like that . Can anyone remember it and is it still around in some shape or form ?

The AFL removed the veterans list rule (where a portion of eligible players contracts could sit outside the salary cap) many years ago. There was some talk of it returning in some fashion last year but I'm not sure it progressed.

Bont is already on $1 million or more, I don't expect his next contract will be significantly different.

03-04-2024, 12:07 PM
The AFL removed the veterans list rule (where a portion of eligible players contracts could sit outside the salary cap) many years ago. There was some talk of it returning in some fashion last year but I'm not sure it progressed.

Bont is already on $1 million or more, I don't expect his next contract will be significantly different.

I think we had Johnno on it.

03-04-2024, 01:35 PM
https://ci3.googleusercontent.com/meips/ADKq_NbEeRDD98wo9CDS97sLY-rNNf8zrwcVrMN9HgShwOlThSsiW9G8j6VSKwt6PG9V7mlMAZGT01osjl3_yP LhhIzOZPBxxEprExPH23mZdBCEwE0yrQ2RYpNGvuGAGn4ulObaVyIpfS4NCc _A0CsQIHlz2cswH6gDoYlVbfxb19l85j1cbQ=s0-d-e1-ft#https://image.e.westernbulldogs.com.au/lib/fe3511727364047e771371/m/1/7022fcdf-5980-4ee3-838b-6c5722c4833f.jpg

03-04-2024, 10:12 PM
DISCUSSIONS UNDERWAY FOR TOP FREE AGENT
EARLY discussions have begun between the Western Bulldogs and star free agent Tim English, with the Dogs putting forward a contract offer to retain the All-Australian ruckman.

English is one of the top restricted free agents in the competition this year and one of three contract priorities for the Bulldogs alongside Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and Bailey Smith.

The Dogs have offered Smith a two-year deal as he recovers from his knee injury while Ugle-Hagan is expected to soon ink a new deal, likely two years, amidst significant rival interest, including from Hawthorn and Richmond.

English has been prepared to wait until deeper into the season to make a decision on his future, but talks are underway and the Dogs are understood to have put a long-term offer to him to stay at Whitten Oval.
West Coast signalled its interest in English over summer and has previously courted the West Australian.

The 26-year-old dominated against the Eagles last weekend as the Dogs ran riot, with English gathering 17 disposals, kicking two goals and having 24 hitouts in his best game of the season so far. – Callum Twomey

03-04-2024, 11:05 PM
Seems we have locked in Jamarra and now moved onto English.

03-04-2024, 11:23 PM
Seems we have locked in Jamarra and now moved onto English.

Have we? Is there news??? Man, I'm so far behind on everything rn.

03-04-2024, 11:33 PM

I think just journos saying we've agreed on 2 years being the length but it's not all finalised. Good indication things are moving and he's not looking to leave though

03-04-2024, 11:34 PM

Well the other day they announced Jamarra was about to sign a contract and now the news is we are now on discussions with English on a long term contract, so I presume that means the chats with Jamarra are done and now we have moved to English.

04-04-2024, 08:29 AM
Well the other day they announced Jamarra was about to sign a contract and now the news is we are now on discussions with English on a long term contract, so I presume that means the chats with Jamarra are done and now we have moved to English.

I think all these things happen in parallel

10-04-2024, 06:49 PM
DOGS HOPING TO TIE DOWN WEST

THE WESTERN Bulldogs have tabled a contract offer to Rhylee West, as the father-son talent looks to entrench his position in coach Luke Beveridge's senior plans.

West has been keen to focus on securing his spot in the forward half through the early parts of the season, having followed on from an impressive second half of last year.

The 23-year-old has kicked four goals in four games to begin the campaign playing as a high half-forward, having emerged as an important part of Beveridge's attack late last season.

The son of 324-game club great Scott West, the tough mid-forward played only 37 games through his first five seasons in Bulldogs colours after they matched a bid at pick No.26 to secure his services in 2018.

The Bulldogs will be among the busiest clubs from a contract perspective this season and are still to re-sign four former first-round picks in Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Jedd Busslinger, Bailey Smith and Tim English.

A two-year deal would take West through to free agency in 2026. – Riley Beveridge

Source: https://www.afl.com.au/news/1105460

10-04-2024, 09:41 PM
Harmes isn’t really contracted to 2026 is he?

13-04-2024, 12:32 AM
Ralph

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan showed his full range of tricks today. Understand he has been offered rival deals of up to 12 years. Four years to free agency then seven or eight years on top of that. He is keen to stay on a shorter term deal but both parties some way apart on cash

His manager Robbie D’Orazio told @FOXFOOTY talks with the Dogs are proceeding but they aren’t in a hurry to do a deal yet. Be shocked if he left and it could get done in coming weeks but shows what he will be knocking back from rivals after Errol Gulden was offered ten years

13-04-2024, 12:33 AM
Marra has been offered 12 year deals from rivals. Wow. Staggering.

13-04-2024, 12:35 AM

Marra if you turn that down I will personally Venmo you $500.

13-04-2024, 12:43 AM

Crazy.

13-04-2024, 11:02 AM
He added to his value last night, that was a huge game.
Clubs with good delivering mids would be salivating like the wolf in old cartoons at getting him.

13-04-2024, 11:07 AM
Harmes isn’t really contracted to 2026 is he?

Oh absolutely. Isn't it great. :cool:

13-04-2024, 02:00 PM
AFL 2024: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan lifetime offers from rival clubs, 12-year deals, Western Bulldogs trade news, rumours, whispers, Tim English, Rory Lobb, Bailey Smith, latest

Western Bulldogs budding superstar Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has reportedly drawn “lifetime deals” to depart Whitten Oval, according to Herald Sun reporter Jon Ralph.

Reports have stated the out-of-contract Ugle-Hagan is closing in on a two-year deal, however rival sides have been circling the prodigal 22-year old with lucrative offers.

It comes amid a hot start to 2024 from Ugle-Hagan to emerge as the focal point of the Bulldogs’ forward line, having booted nine goals from five games.

Speaking on Fox Footy on Friday night, Ralph revealed teams have made offers as long as 12 years to try and lure the former No. 1 draft pick away from the Kennel.

“I can tell you he has been offered lifetime deals from rival clubs – four years to free agency and then another seven or eight years on top of that – so as much as 11 or 12 years,” Ralph said.

“His manager Robbie D’Orazio tells Fox Footy he’s “certainly not in a rush on that deal and those talks are progressing, but slowly.”

Ralph noted Ugle-Hagan’s management could leverage the Tasmania Devils’ impending entry into the AFL in 2028 in contract talks with the Dogs as the two parties remain a ways a part on the financial element of the current offer.

“The spectre of Tasmania and a potential three-year deal through to there of course looms large. I still think (Ugle-Hagan) very much wants to stay and will stay at this football club,” Ralph added.

“But it shows you the extraordinary scope of those deals and some of the crazy money out there. I think they’re hundreds of thousands dollars apart per year on their current contract offer.”

Ralph also reported Tim English’s management have been in “weekly talks” with the Dogs over a multi-year, multimillion extension despite rival interest in the free agent including those from his home state in Western Australia.

As such, it’d make Rory Lobb, who’s currently outside the senior team, “surplus to requirements” and likely traded to a fourth club at season’s end.

That would in turn open up salary cap space to help the Dogs to re-sign Ugle-Hagan.

“I think (Lobb) will be very keen by the end of the season to play for a fourth team and he will have suitors. The Dogs will be asked to make that trade for probably a late throw away pick,” Ralph added.

“But they’ll be able to get his $550,000 deal for two more years off their books. That will give them money for Jamarra Ugle-Hagan. They are extraordinary figures, but when you’re someone like Jamarra with so many of those tricks, people are going to offer you the absolute world.”

It comes as Bulldogs CEO Ameet Bains told SEN he expects new deals for Ugle-Hagan and English to get locked away, however suggested Bailey Smith’s future was less certain.

Smith, who’ll miss this season due to an ACL injury, is also uncontracted beyond 2024 – but not eligible for free agency – having been linked to the likes of Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood.

Asked if Smith had given the club any indication on his future plans, Bains responded: “No.”

Bains pointed out that Smith is a “different case” to Ugle-Hagan and English due to his injury situation

“He started running back in the program this week, which is a really significant milestone for him,” the Dogs CEO said.

“Our approach with that has been to offer a contract to him and we’re really keen to retain him. But at the same time we don’t want to put any undue pressure on him knowing that the physical part of his rehab and the next few weeks are really important for him.

“He’s been a really positive person around the club the last couple of weeks, particularly this week, with coming back and being able to run, which has been significant.”

Source:https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/department-of-trade/afl-2024-jamarra-uglehagan-lifetime-offers-from-rival-clubs-12year-deals-western-bulldogs-trade-news-rumours-whispers-tim-english-rory-lobb-bailey-smith-latest/news-story/b0cb306d5e7de3d42a0153e0e3344e99

Glove38
24-04-2024, 03:12 PM
Anybody hearing question marks over Bont extending (I think hes out of contract next year).
I heard something on one of the radio stations over the weekend, but only caught the tailend of it and had no context.

24-04-2024, 03:15 PM
Anybody hearing question marks over Bont extending (I think hes out of contract next year).
I heard something on one of the radio stations over the weekend, but only caught the tailend of it and had no context.
I've seen the speculation but I think it's without any basis.

Glove38
24-04-2024, 03:15 PM
You can ignore this - just came across the Bont thread which has an article. Sorry

01-05-2024, 06:11 PM
YOUNG DOG IN DISCUSSIONS

THE WESTERN Bulldogs are in talks to extend Rising Star nominee Harvey Gallagher's time at the club after an exciting start to his second season.

Gallagher, who joined the Bulldogs at the 2022 draft, made his debut in round one this season and has so far played every game as a half-forward, including a Rising Star nomination for his two-goal, 16-disposal effort against West Coast in round three.

With his standard first two-year deal coming to an end this season, the Dogs are in talks over an extension for him at the kennel.

His manager Tom McConville from Mac's Sports, said discussions were underway for a new contract.

"Yeah, that's another contract that's on the table and we're discussing it. It's moving in the right direction and [we] expect something to get done there," McConville told Gettable, AFL.com.au's trade, draft and free agency show.

As Inside Trading reported last month, the Dogs also have an offer for Rhylee West on the table. – Callum Twomey

04-05-2024, 06:46 PM
Apparently Jamarra has re-signed for 2yrs.

04-05-2024, 06:49 PM
Sam Edmund

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has locked in a new contract with the Western Bulldogs. The forward has re-committed with a two-year deal, keeping him at the Dogs until at least the end of 2026. At 22, he'd been among the most sought-after players in the comp.

04-05-2024, 06:50 PM
EXCLUSIVE | UGLE-HAGAN SIGNS NEW BULLDOGS CONTRACT

Jamarra Ugle-Hagan has signed a new contract with the Western Bulldogs.

It can be revealed that Ugle-Hagan has put pen to paper on a new two-year deal to stay at the Whitten Oval.

The talented forward, out of contract at the end of this season, was always keen to stay at the club where has formed an excellent relationship with coach Luke Beveridge.

The new deal is a big show of faith in the direction of the club and keeps him at the Dogs until at least the end of 2026.

Having just turned 22, Ugle-Hagan had been among the most high profile out-of-contract players this year and had attracted widespread interest from across the competition.

But his signature is a big win for the Western Bulldogs, who are also working to re-sign Tim English and Bailey Smith.

Ugle-Hagan is set to return on Sunday against Hawthorn at Marvel Stadium after a two-week break due to personal reasons.

04-05-2024, 06:50 PM
Great news. Looking forward to him reaching new heights over the next couple of years.

04-05-2024, 06:52 PM
Fantastic news and oddly enough I never felt like it was in doubt.

04-05-2024, 06:54 PM
Never in doubt

04-05-2024, 07:26 PM
Good news to get it done early.

04-05-2024, 08:21 PM
Great News, one down two to go

04-05-2024, 09:26 PM

Well it doesn't happen often but I got this one right

04-05-2024, 10:39 PM
Well it doesn't happen often but I got this one right

Nostradamus like

04-05-2024, 11:03 PM
Well according to Draper the players don’t like Bevo as coach and are leaving.

05-05-2024, 09:10 AM
Well according to Draper the players don’t like Bevo as coach and are leaving.

It was good to see Brad Scott give Draper a whack in his presser after the Eagles game last nigh

05-05-2024, 12:31 PM
It was good to see Brad Scott give Draper a whack in his presser after the Eagles game last nigh

Yes, it can come back to kick you in the arse.
Good to see the clubs still have unwritten rules on respecting teams.
Draper just has absolutely nothing between the ears.

05-05-2024, 07:32 PM
We can pot Draper and it's dumb to air it publicly but he's probably right.

05-05-2024, 07:46 PM
Draper was only saying what most of us are saying anyway, it just hurts because it's the truth

05-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Draper is a diver its recorded in last 20 seconds of the Adelaide game.

At least he puts his body on the line when it matters.

06-05-2024, 06:35 PM
Draper was only saying what most of us are saying anyway, it just hurts because it's the truth I also feel for him as good on him for saying what he thinks rather than tow the standard line that most players and commentators do.

Much like Cornes people have a lot of hate for him as he has controlversial views but a lot if it is the truth. It is just that people don't like it when it is about their own club.

06-05-2024, 07:37 PM
I also feel for him as good on him for saying what he thinks rather than tow the standard line that most players and commentators do.

Much like Cornes people have a lot of hate for him as he has controlversial views but a lot if it is the truth. It is just that people don't like it when it is about their own club.

There’s a difference with a player and a shock jock. Players shouldn’t give the opposition ammunition and comment on other club issues.
Professional footballers should know that.

07-05-2024, 11:36 AM
There’s a difference with a player and a shock jock. Players shouldn’t give the opposition ammunition and comment on other club issues.
Professional footballers should know that. But we want footballers to be open, honest and entertaining rather than robotic. When they do they get cut down.

It makes it entertaining next time we play them.

07-05-2024, 12:22 PM
But we want footballers to be open, honest and entertaining rather than robotic. When they do they get cut down.

It makes it entertaining next time we play them.

There is entertainment , open and honest but bagging another club isn’t how you go about it.

07-05-2024, 01:10 PM
There is entertainment , open and honest but bagging another club isn’t how you go about it.

Of all the things I don't care about, I don't care about this the most.

Not having a go at you ledge, more just commenting on how this is a total irrelevance.

I just don't care.

07-05-2024, 01:34 PM
Of all the things I don't care about, I don't care about this the most.

Not having a go at you ledge, more just commenting on how this is a total irrelevance.

I just don't care.

Yeah but whether you care or not is irrelevant . For Essendon to contact us and apologise means it’s not irrelevant to clubs. There is still unwritten rules of things you just don’t do. Essendon dropped him this week ( they say injury but is it ?) they have also told him to get off the podcast . It’s a bit like Akermanis back in the day, he got sacked talking about inside his own club . Draper was talking about a club he has no connection too and bagging them.
It was big enough for the club to sanction him and phone us .

07-05-2024, 01:53 PM
Yeah but whether you care or not is irrelevant . For Essendon to contact us and apologise means it’s not irrelevant to clubs. There is still unwritten rules of things you just don’t do. Essendon dropped him this week ( they say injury but is it ?) they have also told him to get off the podcast . It’s a bit like Akermanis back in the day, he got sacked talking about inside his own club . Draper was talking about a club he has no connection too and bagging them.
It was big enough for the club to sanction him and phone us .

What a bunch of snowflakes

15-05-2024, 06:23 PM
DOGS OFFER YOUNGSTER DEAL (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1130501/inside-trading-swan-hits-trigger-package-deal-close-young-dogs-offer)

THE WESTERN Bulldogs have put a contract offer to first-round pick Jedd Busslinger as the developing tall defender reaches the midway point of his second season at the club.

Busslinger was the Dogs' No.13 pick at the 2022 AFL draft but is yet to break through for his debut at the top level in the club's well-stocked talls department.

The West Australian is one of only two first-round picks from that season yet to re-sign beyond his standard two-year deal, with Swan Jacob Konstanty, the No.20 pick that season, also remaining out of contract beyond this year.

Konstanty is gathering rival interest as a small forward and also is yet to get in a shot at AFL level with the Swans.

The Dogs have made a contract offer to extend Busslinger beyond the end of this season. ? Callum Twomey

15-05-2024, 06:30 PM
DOGS OFFER YOUNGSTER DEAL (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1130501/inside-trading-swan-hits-trigger-package-deal-close-young-dogs-offer)

THE WESTERN Bulldogs have put a contract offer to first-round pick Jedd Busslinger as the developing tall defender reaches the midway point of his second season at the club.

Busslinger was the Dogs' No.13 pick at the 2022 AFL draft but is yet to break through for his debut at the top level in the club's well-stocked talls department.

The West Australian is one of only two first-round picks from that season yet to re-sign beyond his standard two-year deal, with Swan Jacob Konstanty, the No.20 pick that season, also remaining out of contract beyond this year.

Konstanty is gathering rival interest as a small forward and also is yet to get in a shot at AFL level with the Swans.

The Dogs have made a contract offer to extend Busslinger beyond the end of this season. ? Callum Twomey
Is that one year??

15-05-2024, 06:31 PM
Is that one year??

Unclear from that article, you would think it would be 2. Only offering 1 year would be inviting him to look around.

15-05-2024, 06:47 PM
Konstanty could be an interesting target too.

15-05-2024, 09:19 PM

West Coast are obviously going to throw a stupid amount of money at him especially now that his VFL form is pretty good.

Warrnambulldog
16-05-2024, 09:18 PM
Tyson Stengle would be a handy addition to our side

16-05-2024, 09:25 PM
Tyson Stengle would be a handy addition to our side

West will be the man

12-06-2024, 06:55 PM
DOG DEAL DONE​

HARVEY Gallagher has been rewarded for a strong start to 2024 by securing a new two-year deal this week.

The 20-year-old will remain at the Western Bulldogs until at least the end of 2026.
After enduring an interrupted first season at the Whitten Oval, Gallagher was rewarded for an impressive pre-season with a debut against Melbourne in round one.

The former Bendigo Pioneers captain has played all 13 games to start the season, quickly becoming a reliable option for Luke Beveridge.

Western Bulldogs list manager Sam Power is still working through contract negotiations with All-Australian ruckman Tim English, former first-round pick Jedd Busslinger, and Rhylee West, among other contract decisions. ? Josh Gabelich

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1149935/inside-trading-blue-in-talks-giant-weighs-up-offers-sun-inks-extension

12-06-2024, 07:06 PM
Nice! Love Gaggs.

12-06-2024, 07:43 PM
DOG DEAL DONE​

HARVEY Gallagher has been rewarded for a strong start to 2024 by securing a new two-year deal this week.

The 20-year-old will remain at the Western Bulldogs until at least the end of 2026.
After enduring an interrupted first season at the Whitten Oval, Gallagher was rewarded for an impressive pre-season with a debut against Melbourne in round one.

The former Bendigo Pioneers captain has played all 13 games to start the season, quickly becoming a reliable option for Luke Beveridge.

Western Bulldogs list manager Sam Power is still working through contract negotiations with All-Australian ruckman Tim English, former first-round pick Jedd Busslinger, and Rhylee West, among other contract decisions. ? Josh Gabelich

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1149935/inside-trading-blue-in-talks-giant-weighs-up-offers-sun-inks-extension

Happy with this.

12-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Happy with this.

I am happy with the signing and I am happy that you are happy.

12-06-2024, 08:30 PM
Happy with this.

I'm happy with the signing, not bothered by whether EW is happy about it, but very mad that azabob is happy that EW is happy

12-06-2024, 08:31 PM
Happy with this.

Always virtue signalling. FFS.

12-06-2024, 08:46 PM
Nice! Love Gaggs.

Fantastic News, I like him as well. He is impressive. Just needs to improve on some of those turnovers

13-06-2024, 10:49 AM
Fantastic News, I like him as well. He is impressive. Just needs to improve on some of those turnovers

We obviously see the improvement coming.

13-06-2024, 01:30 PM
Another year from Bramble as well as per the club twitter

13-06-2024, 01:42 PM
Hoping for a Garcia announcement too.

13-06-2024, 01:47 PM
Another year from Bramble as well as per the club twitter

Why now? I get the need for role players but what if we debut another player and he slots in there pushing him out making him redundant? No other club would be interested at all, just wait, evaluate and sign if needed in the off season not right now.

13-06-2024, 01:53 PM
link (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1576978/gallagher-bramble-remain-at-bulldogs)

https://resources.westernbulldogs.com.au/photo-resources/2024/06/13/2d7138c8-82e2-49c4-a8a6-e95b72bf4615/BrambleRe-Signs-1920x1080-combined-ART.jpg?width=1064&height=600

Western Bulldogs pair Harvey Gallagher and Lachy Bramble have extended their time at Mission Whitten Oval, signing beyond the 2024 season.

Gallagher, 20, will remain in red, white and blue for at least the next two seasons, rewarded for playing every game so far this season.

The versatile midfielder has averaged 14 touches and kicked six goals, marking the midway point of his second season in the AFL.

Having been drafted as a rebounding defender in 2022, Gallagher has found himself on the wing or playing as an inside midfielder during a number of roles in 2024.

Bramble, 26, has signed on until at least the end of the 2025 season, showing plenty of speed and durability across his 13 games this campaign.

The 182cm defender crossed from Hawthorn in the off-season, playing every game so far and averaging 18 touches and five marks a game.

Western Bulldogs? General Manager of List and Recruiting, Sam Power was pleased to have both players locked away into the future.

?Both Lachy and Harvey have played important roles within our side this season,? Power said.

?After suffering some injury setback in his first year, Harvey has shown some really positive signs as a midfielder, with his versatility a feature in his opening 13 games.

?We?re excited to see Harvey continue to grow into a consistent AFL footballer in the years to come.
?Lachy has been a sound addition to our backline, with his athletic traits allowing him to play on some of the best small forwards in the competition.?

13-06-2024, 08:22 PM
What pick did we get Gallagher at ?
Is he better than the draft number we acquired him at ?

13-06-2024, 09:20 PM
What pick did we get Gallagher at ?
Is he better than the draft number we acquired him at ?

Pick 39

13-06-2024, 10:09 PM
Pick 39

Well he is starting to show he could be a good pick up .

14-06-2024, 07:31 AM
Why now? I get the need for role players but what if we debut another player and he slots in there pushing him out making him redundant? No other club would be interested at all, just wait, evaluate and sign if needed in the off season not right now.

Feel 100% the same.

If the club are messaging me about players signing on that player needs to be:

Bont.
English.
Smith.

14-06-2024, 12:04 PM
Talks open on new deal for livewire Dogs forward

TALKS have opened on a new deal for Western Bulldogs forward Cody Weightman, as the Dogs look ahead to their 2025 contract group.

The Bulldogs are this year still in discussions on a long-term deal for restricted free agent Tim English, while they offered a two-year deal to midfielder Bailey Smith earlier this year.

Rival clubs expect Smith to be on the move at the end of the season, with Hawthorn and Geelong remaining among the clubs linked to the 23-year-old.

Small forward Weightman, who has been sidelined since round seven after undergoing elbow surgery, is contracted to the end of next season.

However discussions have begun on a potential extension, with his agent Scott Lucas, from Phoenix Management Group, saying there have been early talks on a new deal.

"We've had a brief chat with the Bulldogs and sometimes clubs are keen to lock away that talent in advance. We've had an early chat and there's no rush in a sense, because he is not out of contract until the end of next year," Lucas told AFL.com.au's trade and draft show Gettable.

"But I think it's fair to say there's a willingness from both sides to explore sooner rather than later."

Weightman, a first-round pick for the Dogs in 2019 who has kicked 113 goals in 66 games, is two years away from free agency at the end of next season.

Captain Marcus Bontempelli will again become a free agent at the end of 2025, while emerging key forward Sam Darcy will also be out of contract at the end of next season for the Dogs.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1150085/talks-open-on-new-deal-for-livewire-western-bulldogs-forward-cody-weightman

14-06-2024, 06:31 PM

Everyone's a winner baby that's the truth

26-06-2024, 04:12 PM
West continues Bulldogs legacy (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1585754/west-continues-bulldogs-legacy)

Bulldogs? forward Rhylee West has extended his time in the red, white and blue, putting pen to paper on a two-year deal at Mission Whitten Oval.

The former father-son selection will remain at the Kennel until at least the end of the 2026 season, rewarded for a consistent campaign that has culminated in 17 goals across 13 games.

Celebrating his 50th game in Round 14, West put together his best performance in 2024, finishing with four goals and 13 touches in the 67-point win.

West was drafted via Pick 26 in the 2018 National Draft and has played 50 games in seven seasons.

“It’s exciting – I’m happy to be here at this footy club,” West said.

“Since I got here six years ago, the group has been very tight. I’ve grown with this group, and also seen them grow too.

“Reflecting on my journey so far, it’s obviously been a bit of a longer one – getting to 50 games – but I’m definitely grateful for how it has turned out.

“Without those challenges, I wouldn’t be where I am now.”

Western Bulldogs’ General Manager of List and Recruiting, Sam Power was pleased to have West locked away for the next two seasons.

“Rhylee continues to show plenty of promise as a small forward and we’re pleased to keep him at the Club into the future,” Power said.

“His ability to find the goals, create pressure and bring others into the game, while playing a selfless role at times, have been important traits this season.

“Having played only 50 games so far in his career, Rhylee will continue to develop as he gains more experience at AFL level.”

West joins Tom Liberatore, Jamarra Ugle–Hagan, Harvey Gallagher and Lachy Bramble in re-signing for the Bulldogs this season.

26-06-2024, 04:18 PM
They're starting to work through the list of players not signed beyond this year rather than leave it all to the last month or so.
West deserved another contract, he's performed quite well.

26-06-2024, 04:20 PM
They're starting to work through the list of players not signed beyond this year rather than leave it all to the last month or so.
West deserved another contract, he's performed quite well.

Still a few to get through - big job

Tim English: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1154841/english-commits-future-to-bulldogs)*
Bailey Smith: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1193536/)
Riley Garcia: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1210741/exciting-quartet-sign-on-at-bulldogs)
Jason Johannisen: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1229243/)*
Jedd Busslinger: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1252664/2022-afl-draft-pick-13-jedd-busslinger)
Charlie Clarke: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1253024/2022-afl-draft-pick-24-charlie-clarke)
Alex Keath: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1387262/keath-extends-until-2024)
Buku Khamis: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1447506/khamis-remains-loyal-to-bulldogs)
Dominic Bedendo: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1459925/bedendo-remains-in-red-white-and-blue)
Lachie McNeil: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1468140/duryea-mcneil-remain-at-the-kennel) (Rookie)*
Taylor Duryea: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1468140/duryea-mcneil-remain-at-the-kennel) (Rookie)*
Kelsey Rypstra: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1566509/bulldogs-select-kelsey-rypstra-in-2024-mid-season-draft) (Rookie)

26-06-2024, 04:33 PM
Rhylee and Levi West in 2026>. Giddy up.

26-06-2024, 04:38 PM
Still a few to get through - big job

Tim English: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1154841/english-commits-future-to-bulldogs)*
Bailey Smith: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1193536/)
Riley Garcia: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1210741/exciting-quartet-sign-on-at-bulldogs)
Jason Johannisen: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1229243/)*
Jedd Busslinger: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1252664/2022-afl-draft-pick-13-jedd-busslinger)
Charlie Clarke: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1253024/2022-afl-draft-pick-24-charlie-clarke)
Alex Keath: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1387262/keath-extends-until-2024)
Buku Khamis: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1447506/khamis-remains-loyal-to-bulldogs)
Dominic Bedendo: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1459925/bedendo-remains-in-red-white-and-blue)
Lachie McNeil: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1468140/duryea-mcneil-remain-at-the-kennel) (Rookie)*
Taylor Duryea: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1468140/duryea-mcneil-remain-at-the-kennel) (Rookie)*
Kelsey Rypstra: 2024 (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1566509/bulldogs-select-kelsey-rypstra-in-2024-mid-season-draft) (Rookie)

What is the asterix for BAD? RFA?

26-06-2024, 04:38 PM

Free agents.

26-06-2024, 04:41 PM
Free agents.

Thanks BT. I should have thought it through.

26-06-2024, 04:51 PM
From that list
English - hopefully
B Smith - looks like we need to push for best trade we can manage
Garcia - please sign - 2 years would do.
JJ - maybe time is up - Duryea type move to Rookie
Busslinger - Really needed to extend maybe 2
Clarke - 1 yr to show if he can improve
Keath - marginal at best
Buku - Trade? I wouldn't renew
Bedendo - Can't stay on the park. Time to go.
McNeill - Had enough chance
Duryea - Holding on better than expected - last player to retain for 2025vif he wants.
Rypstra - Needs a chance 1 yr extension

26-06-2024, 05:06 PM
From that list
English - hopefully
B Smith - looks like we need to push for best trade we can manage
Garcia - please sign - 2 years would do.
JJ - maybe time is up - Duryea type move to Rookie
Busslinger - Really needed to extend maybe 2
Clarke - 1 yr to show if he can improve
Keath - marginal at best
Buku - Trade? I wouldn't renew
Bedendo - Can't stay on the park. Time to go.
McNeill - Had enough chance
Duryea - Holding on better than expected - last player to retain for 2025vif he wants.
Rypstra - Needs a chance 1 yr extension

Seems pretty solid to me. While you’re at it: Lobb, Daniel, Macrae or other?

26-06-2024, 07:35 PM

The players BAD wants to delist… I thought he was an English fan :D

26-06-2024, 11:11 PM
The players BAD wants to delist… I thought he was an English fan :D

https://gifdb.com/images/high/baby-boy-laughing-xrkj18votga8fphy.gif

27-06-2024, 06:01 AM
Seems pretty solid to me. While you’re at it: Lobb, Daniel, Macrae or other?

Well we should always be trying to improve the list and the balance of the list.

While all 3 are at worst solid back up we must listen to offers.

03-07-2024, 03:39 PM
Cody Weightman extends contract to 2027 link https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/western-bulldogs-lock-away-another-forward-as-weightman-extends-contract-to-2027/news-story/918bb9e2c16530b016d7c6a9592b28c8

Western Bulldogs lock away another forward as Weightman extends contract to 2027

The Western Bulldogs have locked away another key part of their forward line, with livewire forward Cody Weightman putting pen to paper 12 months earlier than required to extend his contract.

Western Bulldogs have locked away one of their brightest stars with Cody Weightman re-signing more than 12 months before he was due to fall out of contract.

The Herald Sun can exclusively reveal that Weightman has signed on until 2027 in what is another huge show of faith in premiership coach Luke Beveridge.

The contract was inked on Sunday.

Weightman is the AFL’s No. 1 player for goalkicking accuracy this season with the sharpshooter converting 20.4.

Weightman returned from a dislocated elbow almost three weeks ahead of schedule last month.

He has undergone five surgeries in his short career but has played through pain repeatedly to help the Dogs.

Beveridge said on Monday that Weightman “almost falls off the threshold at the bravery end of the continuum” in a powerful interview on AFL360.

“We’re talking about a young fellow who has played with a dislocated elbow and three times that’s happened before he’s needed to fix it with surgery,” Beveridge said.

“He plays with a velocity and a courage like the best small forwards do in the game. That’s why he’s such a good player.

“He’s a star. He’s got that much courage, and I’ll protect him and go into bat for him for however the day is long.”

Weightman’s signature follows fellow goalkickers Aaron Naughton (2032) and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (2026) re-signing in the past 12 months.

03-07-2024, 03:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GRihT7paYAAx5Yi?format=jpg&name=small

03-07-2024, 03:46 PM
Great news, really love watching this bloke.

03-07-2024, 03:48 PM
Port can just about decapitate him this weekend and he'll be treat like Ginnivan.

03-07-2024, 03:50 PM
You would have to say that the culture and overall atmosphere at the club isn't too bad if some our absolute guns have either signed (e.g. Marra, Astro, Flea, Dale etc.) and others like English sound like they are also committed to getting a contract done. Some turning down some massive long term deals from other clubs too.

It is a good sign.

03-07-2024, 03:50 PM
Great news, really love watching this bloke.

Excitement machine. Also, just comes across as someone who would be an awesome teamate. Great news for the club.

03-07-2024, 03:54 PM
Club has now officially released the news too https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1591662/weightman-signs-on-until-2027

https://resources.westernbulldogs.com.au/photo-resources/2024/07/03/b782c2c0-fa2c-41b9-ad3f-3769c74c8498/COM1390-Weightman-Re-Signs-1920x1080.jpg?width=1064&height=600

03-07-2024, 03:55 PM
Ace!

03-07-2024, 03:56 PM
Excellent news, he's just about our best forward(hard to split him and Naughty).

03-07-2024, 03:57 PM
So we are going to have in the one forward line peak Marra, Astro and Flea with Darcy rising fast to his best footy. That is a scary forward line my friends.

03-07-2024, 03:59 PM
If Baz is 'not really a bulldog' then Cody is pretty much the opposite.

03-07-2024, 04:00 PM
Great news about Cody.

He is an exciting player who can make things happen in that forward line.

03-07-2024, 04:01 PM

100% this. You either buy in or you don't. Make a choice Baz. I have faith in the direction of the club when quality people decide to sign and extend cotntracts. Those with questionable behavioural traits not committing creates less stress. It says more about them than the club.

03-07-2024, 04:03 PM
**** Yes!

03-07-2024, 04:27 PM
Excellent news, he's just about our best forward(hard to split him and Naughty).

With their similar blond locks I sometimes refer to them as Naughts & little Naughts.

Fantastic news. He is one of doggies members faves & high on list of oppo most hated. Even more reason to love his ear to ear grin & energiser bunny team camaraderie. I?d choose our Cody over Kosi (thug) Pickett 8 days a week. Thanks Dees for selecting Kosi whom I think was slightly higher on our draft list. Cody a much more accurate goal kicker.

03-07-2024, 04:41 PM
With their similar blond locks I sometimes refer to them as Naughts & little Naughts.

Fantastic news. He is one of doggies members faves & high on list of oppo most hated. Even more reason to love his ear to ear grin & energiser bunny team camaraderie. I?d choose our Cody over Kosi (thug) Pickett 8 days a week. Thanks Dees for selecting Kosi whom I think was slightly higher on our draft list. Cody a much more accurate goal kicker.

We need to get him to wear a head band.

03-07-2024, 05:29 PM
We need to get him to wear a head band.

Please no.

03-07-2024, 05:46 PM
Please no.

Mini me :D

03-07-2024, 07:26 PM

My son is so upset that Baz is likely to move on, he keeps asking and I keep saying I don't think he'll stay. It's going to be like a Dahlhaus situation for him, he was devastated when he left. Now that you mention a true Bulldog I'll be pushing this angle on him. Thank you!

04-07-2024, 02:24 AM
My son is so upset that Baz is likely to move on, he keeps asking and I keep saying I don't think he'll stay. It's going to be like a Dahlhaus situation for him, he was devastated when he left. Now that you mention a true Bulldog I'll be pushing this angle on him. Thank you!

You should tell your young fella to turn his attention to an up.and comer named Marcus Bontempelli. He might turn out ok.

04-07-2024, 09:11 AM

My son's current favourite player is Cody so we should be safe for at least a few years yet.

05-07-2024, 10:50 AM
Jedd Busslinger has recommitted to the Western Bulldogs for another two seasons.

The West Australian has turned his back on interest from West Coast to sign a new deal that locks him at the Whitten Oval until the end of 2026.

Reported on the AFL website.

05-07-2024, 10:51 AM
Jedd Busslinger has recommitted to the Western Bulldogs for another two seasons.

The West Australian has turned his back on interest from West Coast to sign a new deal that locks him at the Whitten Oval until the end of 2026.

Great news!

05-07-2024, 10:54 AM

I'm happy with this. Slow burn to this point but that's fine. Two years is good for both parties.

He'll do well under the tutelage of Barrass next year and learn a lot about professionalism from Butters, who is really looking forward to playing with his idol, Bont.

05-07-2024, 10:57 AM

Given how we have so horribly mistreated him by not gifting him a senior game I thought he had already packed his bags. :rolleyes:

05-07-2024, 11:04 AM
Great news to sign up the young KPD. Won't be long and he will get his chance to debut.

05-07-2024, 11:05 AM

Good news. Hopefully very soon he will get his chance. Keen to see how he goes.

05-07-2024, 11:09 AM
Both parties must really be absolutely on the same page with respect to his development and future, given he's not played a game yet.
I think this is a good sign that the connection and communication between players and coaching group is really in a good place.

05-07-2024, 11:52 AM

Oh joy. I didn't think he'd stay, now give him a debut please.

05-07-2024, 11:53 AM
That is great news. Can put all the talk re a debut to bed.

This also backs our ITK knowledge who said he's happy in Melbourne.

05-07-2024, 11:55 AM
I'm happy with this. Slow burn to this point but that's fine. Two years is good for both parties.

He'll do well under the tutelage of Barrass next year and learn a lot about professionalism from Butters, who is really looking forward to playing with his idol, Bont.

The b sharps.

Keep an eye on your locals rooftop.

05-07-2024, 12:00 PM
So the media were writing rubbish again about him going to WA.
Glad he stayed and obviously a plan is there for when Gardiner or Keath leave, which I imagine one will be gone next year and he will fit straight in.

05-07-2024, 12:04 PM
So the media were writing rubbish again about him going to WA.
Glad he stayed and obviously a plan is there for when Gardiner or Keath leave, which I imagine one will be gone next year and he will fit straight in.

Gardner is contracted until the end of 2026, but you would have to be able to find the contract thread to know that which we certainly aren't in right now as I am reliably informed that it doesn't exist.

05-07-2024, 12:53 PM

That's great. We really can't afford to lose young developing KPDs.

05-07-2024, 01:21 PM
Given how we have so horribly mistreated him by not gifting him a senior game I thought he had already packed his bags. :rolleyes:

True dat.

Also I'm glad someone found a way to post this information given there is no dedicated location for contract news.

The b sharps.

Keep an eye on your locals rooftop.

https://i.postimg.cc/pd9gMSf3/images-32.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Butters on board.

05-07-2024, 01:58 PM
True dat.

Also I'm glad someone found a way to post this information given there is no dedicated location for contract news.

https://i.postimg.cc/pd9gMSf3/images-32.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Butters on board.

How I adore.

05-07-2024, 02:59 PM
Both parties must really be absolutely on the same page with respect to his development and future, given he's not played a game yet.
I think this is a good sign that the connection and communication between players and coaching group is really in a good place. It was always going to be a slow burn with Buss and still apparently a bit to go. He had never defended before yet played in defence so had to be taught. Part of his tuition was to sacrifice his intercepting to play on an opponent. Now it is hoped that he can do both long term.

05-07-2024, 04:36 PM
I am significantly less angsty about Busslinger not debuting yet if we have him locked away for a few years yet.

05-07-2024, 05:19 PM
I am significantly less angsty about Busslinger not debuting yet if we have him locked away for a few years yet.

Good take, I agree.

09-07-2024, 12:37 PM
Busslinger extension official.

Busslinger in red, white and blue until 2026

The young defender has signed a two-year contract extension with the Club.

https://resources.westernbulldogs.com.au/photo-resources/2024/07/08/eb7e9571-05ea-4bef-832b-f488614b385e/COM1409-Re-Signs-1920x1080.jpg?width=1064&height=600
Young defender Jedd Busslinger has signed a two-year contract extension, keeping him in red, white and blue until at least the end of 2026.
The Western Australian was selected at Pick 13 in the 2022 National Draft and has played an important role in Footscray’s defensive half this season.
Over the past month, Busslinger has averaged 24 touches and nine marks per game, kicking his first goal in Bulldogs’ colours last weekend.
“The Bulldogs has been a great place to me ever since I walked in the door and I couldn’t be happier to be staying around,” Busslinger said.
“I’m absolutely loving my time here with all the boys and all the coaching staff.
“While I haven’t played a game of AFL yet, I am really confident in myself moving forward.
“I want to be absolutely ready when the opportunity comes and to hold my own at AFL level.”
Western Bulldogs’ General Manager of List and Recruiting, Sam Power was pleased to secure the signature of Busslinger.
“We’re really pleased that Jedd is remaining at Mission Whitten Oval,” Power said.
“Jedd’s shown strong growth over the past 12 months, demonstrating his ability to intercept the ball and distribute well across the back half.
“Jedd has developed a willingness to work extremely hard on his game, particularly his defensive craft alongside our senior players and coaches.
“From the moment he walked in the door, Jedd has been willing to take feedback onboard in order to improve and is driven to become a consistent AFL footballer.
“As a Club, we’re excited to see Jedd continue to develop as a key defender into the future.”

02:13
Just now
Jedd Busslinger | 'Confident that'll be soon' Jedd Busslinger discusses his two year contract extension, and his AFL journey so far.

09-07-2024, 12:41 PM
Perhaps a contract signing and a debut all in the same week. This might quiet some of the naysayers who had him heading back to WA

09-07-2024, 01:53 PM

It was more than just interest. Both Eagles and Dockers were big into him. From my understanding, both clubs had offers on the table for him.

09-07-2024, 03:14 PM
It was more than just interest. Both Eagles and Dockers were big into him. From my understanding, both clubs had offers on the table for him.

Good on him for sticking with the club that put the time into him.

10-07-2024, 10:11 PM
Seems that we are closing in on a deal for Adam Treloar. Possibly one of the more professional players I've seen arrive at our club from another. I really like the way he works with the younger players as well

11-07-2024, 07:36 AM
Seems that we are closing in on a deal for Adam Treloar. Possibly one of the more professional players I've seen arrive at our club from another. I really like the way he works with the younger players as well

Treloar seems just an all round awesome human.

Since day one I have been wrapped to have him wearing the red white and blue.

11-07-2024, 07:39 AM
EXTENSION LOOMS FOR STAR DOG
ADAM Treloar still has a season to run on a five-year deal since joining the Western Bulldogs, but the club will move to reward the in-form star with an extension in the coming months.

Treloar has played 74 games since being traded from Collingwood at the end of 2020, amid a messy exit from the Magpies, and has produced a career-best season to date in 2024, putting him in All-Australian contention and positioned as Marcus Bontempelli's biggest challenger in the Charles Sutton Medal.

The Bulldogs have held an early discussion on a one-year extension for 2026 and will look to finalise that over the off-season ahead of round one.
This time last year, Treloar was regularly linked to a move to a Queensland club to join his partner and daughter in Brisbane, before his manager, Tim Hazell from Vivid Sport, emphatically denied those links on Gettable.

Now his partner, netball star Kim Ravaillion, is moving back to Melbourne after informing the Queensland Firebirds last month that she was retiring. That decision was formally announced on Tuesday, following a decorated career in Super Netball and for the Diamonds.

Treloar was included in the All-Australian squad three times across his five seasons at the Magpies, but never made the final team. This year the 31-year-old has reached new heights.

No one has touched the ball more in 2024 than Treloar, who is averaging 31.9 disposals after round 17 to be ranked equal 16th with Jordan Dawson and Luke Davies-Uniacke in the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year award on 48 votes and, having been linked to a move with a fourth club, he is now destined to sign a second contract at the Whitten Oval. ? Josh Gabelich

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1168815/inside-trading-new-deal-on-cards-for-star-dog-dee-in-talks-levi-test-case-looms

11-07-2024, 08:43 AM
EXTENSION LOOMS FOR STAR DOG
ADAM Treloar still has a season to run on a five-year deal since joining the Western Bulldogs, but the club will move to reward the in-form star with an extension in the coming months.

Treloar has played 74 games since being traded from Collingwood at the end of 2020, amid a messy exit from the Magpies, and has produced a career-best season to date in 2024, putting him in All-Australian contention and positioned as Marcus Bontempelli's biggest challenger in the Charles Sutton Medal.

The Bulldogs have held an early discussion on a one-year extension for 2026 and will look to finalise that over the off-season ahead of round one.
This time last year, Treloar was regularly linked to a move to a Queensland club to join his partner and daughter in Brisbane, before his manager, Tim Hazell from Vivid Sport, emphatically denied those links on Gettable.

Now his partner, netball star Kim Ravaillion, is moving back to Melbourne after informing the Queensland Firebirds last month that she was retiring. That decision was formally announced on Tuesday, following a decorated career in Super Netball and for the Diamonds.

Treloar was included in the All-Australian squad three times across his five seasons at the Magpies, but never made the final team. This year the 31-year-old has reached new heights.

No one has touched the ball more in 2024 than Treloar, who is averaging 31.9 disposals after round 17 to be ranked equal 16th with Jordan Dawson and Luke Davies-Uniacke in the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year award on 48 votes and, having been linked to a move with a fourth club, he is now destined to sign a second contract at the Whitten Oval. ? Josh Gabelich

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1168815/inside-trading-new-deal-on-cards-for-star-dog-dee-in-talks-levi-test-case-looms

Would be great to get him to 100 games. GWS & Collingwood didn’t and thus no access to FS. With Kim coming back to Melbourne they need to put their amazing genes into a few boys.

For whatever it was, about 130 draft points, this goes down as one of our best trades I reckon.

11-07-2024, 01:29 PM
Love Adz and another year is a fair reward for what he had produced.

11-07-2024, 05:19 PM
Love Adz and another year is a fair reward for what he had produced.

I doubt any player on our list appreciates training on the Whitten Oval surface instead of Skinner Reserve as much as Treloar.
The added advantage is the way he assists his team mates.

11-07-2024, 09:00 PM
He’s a gun. Never realised how good he was until he came across. Star. Glad we’re going to extend.

12-07-2024, 01:44 PM
I can't remember a better pick-up personally or professionally.

Ripper character and a star on the field. Hope he gets to 100.

Kingbiggs
16-07-2024, 01:04 PM
Will be nice to get him to 100 club games! Love the way he goes about his footy, I was skeptical earlier in the year, but have found his increase in defensive pressure one of the best things about the season he's put together thus far.

18-07-2024, 07:30 PM
I've become a real admirer of Adz. I wasn't sure he was what we needed, and I wasn't convinced we'd see the best of him.
But he has been a fantastic addition to the team and must be giving Bont a close run for the B&F this year.
He's clearly not marking time and taking a cheque. I'd love for Adz to be a premiership player for us. He damn near did his bit to try and become one in 21 that's for sure.

18-07-2024, 07:44 PM
I've become a real admirer of Adz. I wasn't sure he was what we needed, and I wasn't convinced we'd see the best of him.
But he has been a fantastic addition to the team and must be giving Bont a close run for the B&F this year.
He's clearly not marking time and taking a cheque. I'd love for Adz to be a premiership player for us. He damn near did his bit to try and become one in 21 that's for sure.

I could understand some people being a bit hesitant about bringing in Treloar given his high pay, because he's had some injury challenges and that he was filling a position that we were already deep at. Then there was the bullshit assessment on the way he would handle his wife and child being located interstate for a period of each season while she played netball by Nathan Buckley.
There was also a belief among our supporters that he was forced into coming at us and was somewhat reluctant.
When Treloar arrived he got along well with the playing group and brought in a level of professionalism with his training.
He's also taken a mentor role with Sanders and has also recently brought young Charlie Clarke into his house. That can only be a positive for Clarke.

Other than the fact that he remains close mates with Dunkley which is contentious for some of our supporters I honestly don't understand why he's not receiving a lot more praise given what he has brought to our club.

18-07-2024, 09:10 PM
I honestly don't understand why he's not receiving a lot more praise given what he has brought to our club.

I think the fact he is still held in high esteem by both his magpie (ex) teammates and supporters is a pretty fair indication of his professionalism and value as a clubman. Thank goodness he is with us now.

31-07-2024, 01:38 PM
TRELOAR EARNS EARLY CONTRACT EXTENSION (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/hawthorn-hawks/afl-2024-trade-news-rumours-whispers-sam-mitchell-flew-to-west-australia-to-meet-up-with-tom-barrass-hawthorn-hawks-jeremy-howe-speaks-on-future-at-collingwood-magpies-adam-treloar-contract-extension-at-western-bulldogs/news-story/236446d273c9795eb18c95a74f4d7b87)

Western Bulldogs star midfielder Adam Treloar is set for an early contract extension beyond the 2025 season.

Treloar was traded from Collingwood to the Bulldogs at the end of 2020 with five years remaining on a deal the Magpies have contributed towards.

And amid Treloar?s rich vein of form this season for the red-hot Dogs ? averaging 32.3 disposals ? the second-best return of his career ? the 31-year old is set to be rewarded with at least another season at Whitten Oval.

?He?s flying, this man is airborne at the moment. In All-Australian considerations and could beat Marcus Bontempelli for the club best and fairest this year, he is going that well,? Herald Sun journalist Jay Clark said of Treloar on Fox Footy?s Midweek Tackle.

?The Western Bulldogs are making moves on a deal, I suspect they?ll sign him for one more season that will take him out to the end of 2026.

?When he signed at the Western Bulldogs from Collingwood against his wishes, it was a $900,000-a-year deal ? $600,000 from the Bulldogs and $300,000 from Collingwood ? that will end next year.

?But Adam Treloar will play on until 2026.?
Fellow Herald Sun journalist Sam Landsberger believes Treloar has been arguably the Dogs? greatest pick-up of the modern era.

?It?s a great get from the Dogs, this has been one of the best trades probably this century,? he said.
?To get Adam Treloar and his output for $600,000 a year, I think that?s just about their best acquisition for the century.?

31-07-2024, 03:07 PM
That's enough for future father sons/daughters. :)

31-07-2024, 08:08 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/1184730/inside-trading-saints-deal-close-flag-tiger-to-go-on-dons-face-contract-crunch//

DOG DRAFTEE EXTENDS
WESTERN Bulldogs draftee Joel Freijah has been rewarded with an early contract extension after a strong start to his AFL career.

The 18-year-old will now remain at the Whitten Oval until at least the end of 2026 after adding a third season to the two-year contract he signed when he was drafted last November.

Freijah made his debut against Richmond in round nine and played 10 straight games of senior football before being managed for the trip to Sydney last weekend.

The Bulldogs selected the Horsham product with pick No.45 in last year's AFL Draft, following a strong draft year for GWV Rebels, which culminated in selection in the Coates Talent League team of the year.

Under the new collective bargaining agreement, players selected inside the first 20 sign mandatory three-year deals. Those picked beyond receive two-year contracts. The third season is on a set base, plus bonuses based on games played and achievements across the player's first two seasons. ? Josh Gabelich

01-08-2024, 09:57 AM
Great get , this kid is going to have a long career, he can play and will be a very good player.

01-08-2024, 10:01 AM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/1184730/inside-trading-saints-deal-close-flag-tiger-to-go-on-dons-face-contract-crunch//

DOG DRAFTEE EXTENDS
WESTERN Bulldogs draftee Joel Freijah has been rewarded with an early contract extension after a strong start to his AFL career.

The 18-year-old will now remain at the Whitten Oval until at least the end of 2026 after adding a third season to the two-year contract he signed when he was drafted last November.

Freijah made his debut against Richmond in round nine and played 10 straight games of senior football before being managed for the trip to Sydney last weekend.

The Bulldogs selected the Horsham product with pick No.45 in last year's AFL Draft, following a strong draft year for GWV Rebels, which culminated in selection in the Coates Talent League team of the year.

Under the new collective bargaining agreement, players selected inside the first 20 sign mandatory three-year deals. Those picked beyond receive two-year contracts. The third season is on a set base, plus bonuses based on games played and achievements across the player's first two seasons. ? Josh Gabelich

he has been very impressive this season.

01-08-2024, 11:37 AM
Two years time he will be breaking lines and hitting Darcy or Jamarra on the lead.

01-08-2024, 12:23 PM
Two years time he will be breaking lines and hitting Darcy or Jamarra on the lead.

Are a lot of contract extensions looking to go out to 2026 these days due to Tassie coming in in 27?

01-08-2024, 03:44 PM
Are a lot of contract extensions looking to go out to 2026 these days due to Tassie coming in in 27?

I don’t think it’s an anomaly from any other year, but the media will jump on anyone from Tassie that’s only signed 2 year contracts.
I’m not sure it’s as appealing as GC , more like a GWS vibe but in a footy state , no doubt the membership will be big but not sure anyone not from Tassie would want to go there but for the money.

09-08-2024, 10:04 AM
Freijah rewarded with new deal (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1622549/freijah-rewarded-with-new-deal)

Joel Freijah has penned a one-year contract extension at the Bulldogs, remaining at the Kennel until at least the end of the 2026 season.

Despite being contacted until the end of 2025, Freijah has been rewarded for an exciting start to his career as a Bulldog, playing 10 games in his debut season so far.

The defender has averaged 14 touches and five marks after being drafted at Pick 45 in the 2023 AFL National Draft.

The GWV Rebels product began as a wingman before moving into defence early in the season, showing plenty of promise in the VFL before making his debut in Round 10 against Richmond.

Bulldogs? General Manager of List and Recruiting Sam Power said the Club was pleased to lock away the promising youngster.

?Joel hasn?t put a foot wrong since stepping into the Club at the beginning of the year,? Power said.

?He has worked extremely diligently to learn his craft as a defender and has shown positive signs throughout his 10 matches in the AFL side.

?We see a lot of growth in Joel and we look forward to watching him develop over the next two years.?

09-08-2024, 10:13 AM
He will get offered a bigger one at the end of next year , I’m surprised we didn’t lock him away longer.

09-08-2024, 10:55 AM
Freijah rewarded with new deal (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1622549/freijah-rewarded-with-new-deal)

Joel Freijah has penned a one-year contract extension at the Bulldogs, remaining at the Kennel until at least the end of the 2026 season.

Despite being contacted until the end of 2025, Freijah has been rewarded for an exciting start to his career as a Bulldog, playing 10 games in his debut season so far.

The defender has averaged 14 touches and five marks after being drafted at Pick 45 in the 2023 AFL National Draft.

The GWV Rebels product began as a wingman before moving into defence early in the season, showing plenty of promise in the VFL before making his debut in Round 10 against Richmond.

Bulldogs? General Manager of List and Recruiting Sam Power said the Club was pleased to lock away the promising youngster.

?Joel hasn?t put a foot wrong since stepping into the Club at the beginning of the year,? Power said.

?He has worked extremely diligently to learn his craft as a defender and has shown positive signs throughout his 10 matches in the AFL side.

?We see a lot of growth in Joel and we look forward to watching him develop over the next two years.?

Thanks Sammy. This is last weeks news.

09-08-2024, 10:56 AM
Thanks Sammy. This is last weeks news.

Only confirmed by Club today

09-08-2024, 11:11 AM
Great news! I have been really impressed with how he has gone in his first season.

10-08-2024, 07:46 PM
Poster on BF that has had good info over the last few years has suggest English has signed on. He is playing like it that's for sure looks like he has had a load lifted.

11-08-2024, 12:59 AM

I really like JF, he's had a great start to his career and the extension is well earned. He reminds me of someone but I can't figure out who.......

But that's OK, just musings in a thread that doesn't even exist.

11-08-2024, 12:20 PM
I really like JF, he's had a great start to his career and the extension is well earned. He reminds me of someone but I can't figure out who.......

But that's OK, just musings in a thread that doesn't even exist.

I see Dimattina in him . Hunched back and runs through.

12-08-2024, 03:30 PM
Sought-after Bulldogs ruck closing in on five-year extension By Callum Twomey

Tim English set to remain with the Western Bulldogs with a five-year contract extension taking him through to the end of 2029

TIM ENGLISH is closing in on a five-year extension with the Western Bulldogs as the restricted free agent nears his contract call.

The All-Australian ruckman has been weighing his decision throughout the year, with the Bulldogs putting forward a long-term offer earlier in the season.

The West Australian has also had strong interest from West Coast, however, as flagged on Gettable last month, it is understood he is poised to remain at the kennel.

A five-year deal would run through to the end of 2029, with a decision possible as early as this week.

The 27-year-old and 129-gamer has previously considered the Eagles, who tried to lure him back to Perth in 2022 when he was last out of contract.

With his partner Rudi Ellis, a Melbourne Vixens netballer, now in Victoria after crossing from the West Coast Fever, English is settled in Melbourne.

English has led the Dogs' midfield unit since 2019 and pieced together his best season of his career last year.

He is one of only two remaining restricted free agents in the 2024 group, alongside Geelong superstar Patrick Dangerfield.

English was in a moonboot on Sunday night following the Dogs' loss to Adelaide, with the ruckman undergoing scans on Monday ahead of a crunch end to the season as they vie for a finals spot.

12-08-2024, 04:25 PM
Why the hell does this have to be dragged out for so long.

12-08-2024, 04:28 PM

While I agree it's been going on for too long it is however, his last chance at a big deal so I can't blame him wanting to maximise his earning potential and test the market if they might pay him more.

12-08-2024, 04:36 PM
While I agree it's been going on for too long it is however, his last chance at a big deal so I can't blame him wanting to maximise his earning potential and test the market if they might pay him more.

Yeah fair enough, but it has been a long process

12-08-2024, 04:43 PM

Good news for him is even though he's kind of blown it he'll still get 4 mil to set himself up pretty well post footy

12-08-2024, 11:10 PM

Maybe some of it was seeing where his girl friend ended up . She has signed with the Vixens coming over front Perth so she is now in Melbourne, can’t see him going to WA when his gf just signed here.

13-08-2024, 07:40 AM
Maybe some of it was seeing where his girl friend ended up . She has signed with the Vixens coming over front Perth so she is now in Melbourne, can’t see him going to WA when his gf just signed here.

Oh ledge. He was maximising his $$$. Clear for all to see. And that is ok.

13-08-2024, 09:09 AM
Oh ledge. He was maximising his $$$. Clear for all to see. And that is ok.

100%. Hr held out hoping his form would improve and he could wring out every season or dollar out of Sam Power. That’s business.

13-08-2024, 09:32 AM
Maybe some of it was seeing where his girl friend ended up . She has signed with the Vixens coming over front Perth so she is now in Melbourne, can?t see him going to WA when his gf just signed here.

Rudi Ellis just played the season with the Vixens, she signed on at the start of the year.

13-08-2024, 09:45 AM
Rudi Ellis just played the season with the Vixens, she signed on at the start of the year.

Might need a thread detailing the contract details of player girlfriends :D

15-08-2024, 09:17 AM
Official, Tim has signed a 5 year deal

15-08-2024, 09:18 AM

Just in time for us to all think he sucks again. I’ve never experienced this level of negging in my life.

15-08-2024, 09:20 AM

Bloody typical of todays generation. Sign a massive contract and take two weeks off to party!!

In all seriousness I think this is a good result for both club and player. The scuttlebutt suggests Tim didn't get as much as he wanted but he still should be very happy.

15-08-2024, 09:22 AM
I read Khamis is in talks with the club. He just wants opportunity he said. If it’s there going ahead, he’d like to sign by the sounds of what he was saying. Sounds pretty happy at the club and with his coaches and team mates.

15-08-2024, 09:23 AM
Bloody typical of todays generation. Sign a massive contract and take two weeks off to party!!

In all seriousness I think this is a good result for both club and player. The scuttlebutt suggests Tim didn't get as much as he wanted but he still should be very happy.

It's probably a good deal for both parties. I get why he pushed to maximise it but for supporters of the club it's a frustrating drawn out delay.

15-08-2024, 09:27 AM
It's probably a good deal for both parties. I get why he pushed to maximise it but for supporters of the club it's a frustrating drawn out delay.

If the reporting is correct, 5 years at $800,000 (plus bonuses) is exactly the ‘retain him at a fair price’ (or let him walk) deal that I was/would’ve been happy with. I hope he finds better form next year, but all in all, that sounds reasonable for him and the club didn’t buckle.

15-08-2024, 09:30 AM
I read Khamis is in talks with the club. He just wants opportunity he said. If it’s there going ahead, he’d like to sign by the sounds of what he was saying. Sounds pretty happy at the club and with his coaches and team mates.

He has no value and is good backup.

15-08-2024, 09:33 AM
English pledges future to the Bulldogs (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1628298/english-pledges-future-to-the-bulldogs)

​Tim English will be a Bulldog for the next five seasons.

The ruckman has pledged his long-term future to the Club, signing on until at least the end of the 2029 season, despite being eligible for free agency.

Finishing as the All Australian ruckman in 2023, English has enjoyed another strong season at Mission Whitten Oval, averaging 17 disposals and 28 hitouts a game and kicking 13 goals.

Originally from Western Australia, English was drafted at Pick 19 in the 2016 National Draft, immediately boasting elite athleticism and skills for a player of his size.

Recently turned 27, English has played 129 games for the Bulldogs, kicking 76 goals across his eight seasons at the Club.

?It?s exciting for Rudi and me ? I love life in Melbourne,? English said.

?I am really enjoying it at the Club and I?ve got some great mates here ? it?s my eighth season now and I?ve developed strong friendships over that time.

?There are so many different factors that go into a decision, but I really want to win a Premiership, that?s the ultimate goal for me at a football club.

?I feel like we have the opportunity to do that here and that would the best way to give back to the Club. As a group we?re capable and everyone is putting in the work to get better and achieve that.?

Western Bulldogs General Manager of List and Recruiting, Sam Power, was thrilled to secure English until 2029.

?Tim is such an important part of this football club and we?re so pleased he?s remaining at Mission Whitten Oval long term,? Power said.

?As the reigning All Australian ruckman, Tim has been critical in our Club?s strong performances throughout the year, regularly impacting games with his athleticism.

?His ability to get involved around the ground and use the ball as a ruckman has been a valuable asset to our side, underlining him as one of the most damaging big men in the competition.

?We still firmly believe Tim?s best football is ahead of him at 27, with a five-year extension highlighting his faith in our program, staff and players moving forward.?

15-08-2024, 09:36 AM
He has no value and is good backup.

I think reading between the lines it was ‘if the dogs get Barass (type) and in 5th/6th in line defender I don’t want to stay and play VFL all season again’. He wants to be playing seniors from his side of things. He said the club is in talks, so the club wants him, it sounds like he just doesn’t want to waste another season in the VFL. So I guess if we get no KPD that could threaten his place in the pecking order he probably stays. On the other hand, if we do, he might look at a trade to a team short of KPD/3rd tall types where he will be playing seniors. I guess this is the delay, he wants to see what we are doing.

15-08-2024, 09:39 AM
Now that there's no pressure on his financial wellbeing I hope Tim has a better year next year, more in line with his 2023 at least

15-08-2024, 09:45 AM
I think reading between the lines it was ‘if the dogs get Barass (type) and in 5th/6th in line defender I don’t want to stay and play VFL all season again’. He wants to be playing seniors from his side of things. He said the club is in talks, so the club wants him, it sounds like he just doesn’t want to waste another season in the VFL. So I guess if we get no KPD that could threaten his place in the pecking order he probably stays. On the other hand, if we do, he might look at a trade to a team short of KPD/3rd tall types where he will be playing seniors. I guess this is the delay, he wants to see what we are doing.

Thing is, are any other teams interested or is he just hoping to keep his career on an AFL list going?

16-08-2024, 07:59 AM
Thing is, are any other teams interested or is he just hoping to keep his career on an AFL list going?

Don’t know. His comments were just about opportunities to play senior footy. You’d think he’d have some interest from other clubs since he did have last year, but he sounds happy enough from his comments.

20-08-2024, 09:18 AM
Don’t know. His comments were just about opportunities to play senior footy. You’d think he’d have some interest from other clubs since he did have last year, but he sounds happy enough from his comments.

Well we have pretty much bought him up like an adopted family I wouldn’t imagine him going anywhere unless we don’t want him.

10-09-2024, 03:02 PM
Buku has signed for two more years.

Link https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1651999/khamis-commits-to-the-kennel

10-09-2024, 03:05 PM
Happy enough with this although I think he is a better forward than backman but we'll see what another pre season with the backs can produce.

10-09-2024, 03:06 PM
Wow I would not have done that.

10-09-2024, 03:07 PM

Link https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1651999/khamis-commits-to-the-kennel

I know he has flaws but he's still only 24 and showed significant improvement this year. I admire his loyalty and happy to have him on the list.

10-09-2024, 03:11 PM

Perhaps a touch generous but he made some progress this year so hopefully he can keep improving.

10-09-2024, 03:15 PM
Good news. I don't think there's much between him and JOD so between them we can eek out a year of good footy.

10-09-2024, 03:19 PM
Good news. I don't think there's much between him and JOD so between them we can eek out a year of good footy.

Hopefully some healthy competition between Buku, JOD and Buss next year. With Keath expected to depart losing Khamis would have left us too thin at the back unless there was a replacement lined up.

10-09-2024, 03:21 PM

Why?

Should be delisted, what a waste of a spot and money.

10-09-2024, 03:26 PM
Buku has shown enough that he deserves the spot on the list. Can play a number of roles. While he may not yet be a first choice player, the growth in his game over the past 12 months bodes well. His intercept ability a highlight. He needs to work on his positioning and body work.

10-09-2024, 03:34 PM
I would’ve thought 12 months would be the go. But I’ve thought that many times each year when we are giving out contracts. Nonetheless I hope he improves next year and the year after.

10-09-2024, 03:35 PM
Why?

Should be delisted, what a waste of a spot and money.

very harsh Chef

10-09-2024, 03:37 PM
Buku has shown enough that he deserves the spot on the list. Can play a number of roles. While he may not yet be a first choice player, the growth in his game over the past 12 months bodes well. His intercept ability a highlight. He needs to work on his positioning and body work.

Agree, at 24 years old he is also a late starter not having played footy as a youngster, so still learning the game.

I like this bit in the club article:

The Club has done a lot for myself and my family. The culture is amazing, we are a pretty tight group – it made my choice pretty easy.

10-09-2024, 03:53 PM
Here we go again. shouldve been 1 year at most. Why do we keep doing this ?
Maybe we just expect him to break out of the clouds and be the next Mac Andrew?
Geez

10-09-2024, 03:56 PM
Yeah like others 12 months would've been ideal. But it's not always that easy if he had other offers for more elsewhere which has been mentioned. He's a useful backup utility.

10-09-2024, 04:01 PM
very harsh Chef

Nope. Just chewing up a valuable list spot. Rather hit the draft with it.

10-09-2024, 04:02 PM
Geez

He is worth keeping for two more years. One year is bullshit - either he is a good player or just delist.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIz_dOKCujo&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

Countrydog5
10-09-2024, 04:09 PM
Depends whether we want to keep him on the list or not. He had a 4 year offer from the saints so a one year contract would have had him walking away. I don't mind it. I personally have him behind both JOD and Buss though

10-09-2024, 04:18 PM
It's a bit of a meh announcement - 2 years is a tad generous but it's not as though we are flush with bankable key position depth next year. I'm aware that Buku is not fully bankable either but he is notionally AFEL standard, did genuinely improve this year (off a very low base to be fair), and is the right side of 25yo. He's got some flexibility as well, being able to play forward or chop out in the ruck. I guess JOD, Buss, Gardner and 2025 version Jones aren't 100% bankable either. It won't stop me being nervous as buggery next year when Buku is isolated one-out in D50 against his direct opponent.

The community/family/culture/next gen academy angle is nice - those intangibles can't be quantified but are important.

Who had Lobb at the start of the year as our most bankable key defender by the end of 2024? Weird season.

10-09-2024, 04:30 PM
Nope. Just chewing up a valuable list spot. Rather hit the draft with it.

I think he's become quite a good player. I don't think you'd find someone else out there so easily with his skill set on what I'm guessing is a pretty low dollars contract.

I'm one who's really chuffed with this, Buku is a true doggy from the west who can play and is getting better every year.

10-09-2024, 04:31 PM
Never going to be an elite defender, good depth I guess.

10-09-2024, 04:39 PM
Buku is a stop gap as a key defender, third tall forward and even ruck. To hazard a guess he would be on the average wage, if not less.

Reality is Keath should retire, L.Jones has yet to play a full season, Buss is an unknown, Gardner did not get on the park this year, JOD was beaten on Friday night by a first year rookie. As great as Lobb was in 2024 ain?t no guarantee he backs it up again.

As much as I say we need to hit the draft there is no way we are getting a ready made player who can fill a variety of roles.

10-09-2024, 05:43 PM
He had a good season in 2024. He was pretty dependable during our end of season run before losing his spot.

I'd have him over JOD. Buku would have been more reliable on Friday.

10-09-2024, 09:18 PM
I think on current output he's better than JOD, and while I'm unsure he becomes a proper best 22 player he is definitely capable of being a more than solid backup option a either end of the ground.

10-09-2024, 10:28 PM
Geez

Maybe because Buku wouldn't have signed a 1 year deal?

I am ok with this, Keith likely to retire, Buss yet to debut. We need him next year. I rate him higher than Gardner

11-09-2024, 06:47 AM
Whilst I still have my doubts to if Buku can become a consistent member of our best 22 he certainly showed a good level of improvement this year.

Seems like a really solid citizen and is good for the vibes within the change rooms so happy that he gets further opportunities to develop.

11-09-2024, 06:58 AM
Whilst I still have my doubts to if Buku can become a consistent member of our best 22 he certainly showed a good level of improvement this year.

Seems like a really solid citizen and is good for the vibes within the change rooms so happy that he gets further opportunities to develop.

We appear to be backing that he hasn't plateaued and there is a level of improvement to come. It's certainly doesn't hurt that he has a great attitude and at a pinch can play a few different roles as well.

11-09-2024, 11:00 AM
No issues with Buku getting 2.

Level of improvement has been strong, despite coming off a low base. He has his faults but he put together his best year by some margin, it would be crazy to delist / let him walk.

One player that seems to escape criticism is JOD. I thought he had a very ordinary year, and he was bloody awful v Hawthorn in the EF. We complain about Buku getting lost or losing 1-v-1's, but JOD might be worse.

IMO Buku is actually ahead of JOD. Neither have proven themselves to be a good 'defender', but Buku has an intercept game and is versatile - we've seen little of that from JOD.

11-09-2024, 11:28 AM

Level of improvement has been strong, despite coming off a low base. He has his faults but he put together his best year by some margin, it would be crazy to delist / let him walk.

One player that seems to escape criticism is JOD. I thought he had a very ordinary year, and he was bloody awful v Hawthorn in the EF. We complain about Buku getting lost or losing 1-v-1's, but JOD might be worse.

IMO Buku is actually ahead of JOD. Neither have proven themselves to be a good 'defender', but Buku has an intercept game and is versatile - we've seen little of that from JOD.

JOD also coming off a low base, having not played much footy at a younger age

11-09-2024, 11:34 AM

Completely agree, he has gone backwards in 2024 and IMO Buku was ahead of him and was more suited on Friday.

11-09-2024, 01:09 PM

1 year would have been enough. Little evidence Buku can defend at all.

11-09-2024, 02:38 PM
1 year would have been enough. Little evidence Buku can defend at all.

His best form of defense is attack, intercepting is his game and was thrown to the wolves a bit playing as a 2nd key defender at times, that game v Geelong was excellent, i think a 1 year deal should have been enough but my guess is that there may have been other clubs asking and offering and we upped it for him to stay.

Stevo
11-09-2024, 02:57 PM
Never going to be an elite defender, good depth I guess.

If we were happy enough to give him 1 year we might as well give him 2 providing we aren't overpaying him and that doesn't seem likely. Given his ability to jump into a few roles he's a bit of a Swiss Army Knife player for us and I'm happy to have him staying with us.
He needs to keep improving and if we have factored that in to the decision I'm not going to be critical.

11-09-2024, 03:37 PM
Duryea, McNeil sign on (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1652389/duryea-mcneil-sign-on)

Veteran Taylor Duryea and forward Lachie McNeil will remain at Mission Whitten Oval after signing fresh deals this week.

McNeil, 23, has signed on for two more seasons, while Duryea will play on into the 2025 season.

A two-time premiership player, Duryea played 22 matches this season, averaging 15 touches and five marks a game.

A member of the Club?s leadership group, Duryea has continued to help develop the younger players within the program.

McNeil played 12 games this season, finding his place as a small forward within the side, averaging 12 touches and four tackles per game.

The pair follow in the footsteps of Buku Khamis, who signed on for two more seasons earlier this week.

Western Bulldogs General Manager of List and Recruiting, Sam Power, was pleased to lock away both players at the conclusion of the season.

?Taylor has had a very consistent year and remained a vital leader for the Club, both on and off the field,? Power said.

?Lachie continues to grow as a footballer and has played some important roles as a small forward this season.?

?We?re pleased that both players have remained at the Bulldogs into the future.?