18-08-2019, 06:47 PM
Mitch Wallis back next week on crutches. No worries dick heads on channel 7

18-08-2019, 06:47 PM
9 in a row can you believe it....

18-08-2019, 06:48 PM
We should've picked Libba if only to roll him off the bench and get in Shaw's grill right about now.

18-08-2019, 06:49 PM
Keep going. Percentage is important now.

18-08-2019, 06:50 PM
Take that plastics

I f***ing love footy!

This is so sweet I'm about to get diabetes.

...still want more

We should've picked Libba if only to roll him off the bench and get in Shaw's grill right about now.

Libba would hate not being out their getting in Shaws face

18-08-2019, 06:51 PM
Lewy Young have a day out

I hope this is the blueprint for how Lewis Young plays for the next 10 years.

All this tapping - we are the Harlem Globetrotters.

18-08-2019, 06:52 PM
Lewy Young have a day out

Should not be dropped

18-08-2019, 06:52 PM
GWS given up, weak as piss

18-08-2019, 06:54 PM
Lippppppaaaaaa

Lewis young has been great

Sure has, like Hayes the previous week it was a bit of a slow start but he got better as the game wore on

You get a goal... And you get a goal...and you get a goal...

Leigh Matthews is working his arse off not to compliment us in any way!

This has just been a fantastic effort these last two and a half quarters.

This is so sweet I'm about to get diabetes.

...still want more

Inaccurate and not cool.

18-08-2019, 06:56 PM
Pretty confident Lethal would rather get rogered with a broken bottle than give us any form of sincere praise.

18-08-2019, 06:57 PM
Naughty, two easy ones. Got to nail those

18-08-2019, 06:58 PM
This is absolutely beautiful

12 in a row wow

How good is AFL? Love this game.

18-08-2019, 07:00 PM
So Essendon were crap last week... And GWS are crap this week... Nothing to do with us...

Oh hey rest of the eight, you want some of this?

Pretty confident Lethal would rather get rogered with a broken bottle than give us any form of sincere praise.

Hate the fat prick

18-08-2019, 07:01 PM
What a win, you beauty

18-08-2019, 07:02 PM

Great win! We are in the 8! You beauty!

18-08-2019, 07:03 PM
I love hearing Matthews refuse to say anything good about us

18-08-2019, 07:03 PM
Good win by the boys. Played really well, with a good win next week here we come.

18-08-2019, 07:04 PM
That was awesome by Lew Young. I thought he struggled early on but dominated down back in the 2nd half. We really need someone there to step up. Could this be our Joel Hamling?

Yep, absolutely cracking win, super impressive performance and really happy with how we wrestled the game back onto our terms.

Not sure we played better footy even in 2016 over these last two weeks

Young so impressive and Duryea is a great selection

https://i.ibb.co/Bs0vVw3/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-6-03-39-PM.png (https://ibb.co/5cbCW24)

Feels good man.

Sooo happy. Well done boys.

18-08-2019, 07:09 PM
Whitfield injury had an impact. Kelly underdone too. But big turning point I think was Bonti & others flying the flag. Showed up the plastics for what they are-great pretenders. Loved the way Lewy Young went in in last qtr after that hit in Lipinski (& Bont too). Next week in Ballarat-mouth watering!! Agree our formline is very 2016esque.

18-08-2019, 07:15 PM
Can't wait for Ballarat, if you haven't planned on going, well get on your bike and get there

18-08-2019, 07:21 PM
https://i.ibb.co/Bs0vVw3/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-6-03-39-PM.png (https://ibb.co/5cbCW24)

Feels good man.

Love it!

18-08-2019, 07:29 PM
Always funny reading this thread after the game...

Really great effort from the side.

Young was important down back and took safe options by foot.
Dunkley is unstoppable.
Naughton, Schache, Dale, Lloyd, Dickson are a dangerous forward mix.
Heater Shaw is still a moron.

18-08-2019, 07:32 PM
For those who have been patiently waiting to see if the game against the Crows is worth going to the last couple of weeks is a good indicator that it's worth getting your tickets now.

18-08-2019, 07:33 PM
Can't wait for Ballarat, if you haven't planned on going, well get on your bike and get there

Sorry BAD, I didn't see this before my last post, I'll train it to Ballarat just too far on the bike :)

18-08-2019, 07:37 PM
Tough games like this, guys like Hayes, Dale, need to do more

You are way too hard on Dale.

18-08-2019, 07:39 PM
You are way too hard on Dale.

Dale, Richards, Hayes looked like lost sheep in the first half.

18-08-2019, 07:42 PM
I thought Trengrove was very dam good in that 2nd half. The 2nd quarter it was ugly and Dawson Simpson looked in AA form but to his credit he made a big difference to the game.

18-08-2019, 07:43 PM
I reckon Leon Cameron is a dead man walking. Caroline Wilson was reporting that the AFL aren't happy that he hasn't delivered success and will push for his removal. I can't see how him being the only coach to have coached successive goalless halves in 120 years helps him.

He'll need a miracle in the finals to keep his job I think.

18-08-2019, 07:43 PM
Sorry BAD, I didn't see this before my last post, I'll train it to Ballarat just too far on the bike :)

Depends on where you leave from. It's not that far from Darnley.

18-08-2019, 07:44 PM
I thought Trengrove was very dam good in that 2nd half. The 2nd quarter it was ugly and Dawson Simpson looked in AA form but to his credit he made a big difference to the game.

I was thinking to myself "so this is what it's like without Tim English rucking" in the second half. Trengove really battled hard and did a lot to lock down the football when the Giants looked to have numbers skirting the contest.

18-08-2019, 07:45 PM
I reckon Leon Cameron is a dead man walking. Caroline Wilson was reporting that the AFL aren't happy that he hasn't delivered success and will push for his removal. I can't see how him being the only coach to have coached successive goalless halves in 120 helps him.

Needs at least one win in the finals I'd say. I don't mind Cameron

18-08-2019, 07:47 PM
Yeah funny reading this after the game.

Awesome win. Super effort to turn it around after they took control in the second quarter.

18-08-2019, 07:47 PM
I reckon Leon Cameron is a dead man walking. Caroline Wilson was reporting that the AFL aren't happy that he hasn't delivered success and will push for his removal. I can't see how him being the only coach to have coached successive goalless halves in 120 years helps him.

Gerald Brosnan says hello!

Is there something wrong with me that I knew off the top of my head that he coached University in 1911?

18-08-2019, 07:48 PM
The flow on from this great form is the attractiveness for players from other clubs.
We have some serious cash in reserve and it's high time we lured a big name! Very exciting times, how was Naughton staring down at Davis(man bun with pink boots). We've got some real competitors coming through.

18-08-2019, 07:49 PM

Brad Scott would be my guess.

18-08-2019, 07:49 PM
Needs at least one win in the finals I'd say. I don't mind Cameron

He helped create Schoctober and deliver a premiership to us by getting into Ryan Griffen's ear, so apart from being a good servant to our club for many years I'll always love him for that.

The Giants have struggled with injury throughout his tenure at different times, and this was actually called out by the media to the extent they even blamed the preliminary loss to us on Callan Ward's injury (of course like everyone else, forgetting we lost Roughead handing them a big ruck advantage).

I don't think a solitary finals win will save him as crazy as that sounds.

18-08-2019, 07:50 PM

Is there something wrong with me that I knew off the top of my head that he coached University in 1911?

I'd be completely disgusted with you if you didn't.

18-08-2019, 07:59 PM

Feels good man.

That 95 above us is looking mighty nice too. We did that

18-08-2019, 08:07 PM
Macrae last four weeks:

38 touches
45 touches
38 touches
39 touches

18-08-2019, 08:09 PM
Macrae last four weeks:

38 touches
45 touches
38 touches
39 touches
Chas Brownlow possible ?

18-08-2019, 08:15 PM
Chas Brownlow possible ?

Reckon our mids will take votes away from each other; Dunks, Bont & Macrae.

18-08-2019, 09:01 PM
Late season 2015 was the best H&A form under Bevo. Until this past fortnight.

18-08-2019, 09:03 PM

2015 H&A season was just slightly better than our 2016 H&A season but 2016 finals series obviously was the greatest ever compared to our 2015 final series in which we were very unlucky to be knocked out.

18-08-2019, 09:04 PM
Have we been ultra good or have our opponents just been terrible? Hard to say.

18-08-2019, 09:06 PM

Possibly a combination of both but lets enjoy the moment against 2 teams we really don't like :)

18-08-2019, 09:09 PM

We played some ripping footy in the first ten rounds of 2016, where we only really put in one crappy performance in against Norf and were unlucky to lose to Hawthorn with the last kick of the day when we should have been paid a free kick for a block (but they never get paid).

18-08-2019, 09:12 PM

It's an interesting question, probably a bit of both. The teams we beat had many of their preferred 22 or players in the mix to be in their preferred 22 at the start of the season, but we were without six ourselves...........(Picken, Boyd, Daniel, Libba, Wallis and Morris).

You can only play who you play, and we've absolutely belted who we've played as convincingly as I've seen for a while.

GWS had to play exceedingly well to keep up with us in the first half. Looking back I'm not surprised they dropped away after we upped the pressure and run.

18-08-2019, 09:13 PM

Players can’t win.
They put teams to the sword and we question how good the opposition was.
They just scrape over the line against “poor teams” they get slammed for not winning by more.

18-08-2019, 09:15 PM
Players can’t win.
They put teams to the sword and we question how good the opposition was.
They just scrape over the line against “poor teams” they get slammed for not winning by more.

Win by 5 goals and we are playing great football, win by 10 goals and we question the quality of our opposition.

You're on to something

18-08-2019, 09:17 PM
We played some ripping footy in the first ten rounds of 2016, where we only really put in one crappy performance in against Norf and were unlucky to lose to Hawthorn with the last kick of the day when we should have been paid a free kick for a block (but they never get paid).
That's true, and only injuries started to bite into that red hot form. But in late 2015 we were routinely smashing teams by 10-15 goals. I reckon we could well have replicated 4 finals wins in a row in 2015 had we not been so profligate (and more than a little naive) against Adelaide.

18-08-2019, 09:17 PM

Weren't you AT university in 1911?

Bloody good win btw.

18-08-2019, 09:18 PM
Win by 5 goals and we are playing great football, win by 10 goals and we question the quality of our opposition.

You're on to something

I'd much rather focus on the fact when it looked like we'd lost control of the game, we found a way to not only wrest control back and then torch them
We can only play who is put on the park, and when challenged we adjusted and found a will that has been lacking in similar moments. That to me suggests a growth in this group.

18-08-2019, 09:19 PM
I was very impressed with Trengove's game in the 1st quarter and the 2nd half. He really put in and did a lot of heavy clearance work. Easily his best game for us. Apart from being badly out bodied once Lewis Young was really solid. He used the ball well - no turnovers - and kept it simple. Easton Wood had his best game for a while and Duryea was also very safe.
Bailey Dale added some tackling pressure up forward which was very pleasing.
This was easily our best win for the year. To wrestle back control after a very poor 20 minutes at the start of the second quarter was a credit to the group.
Macrae was epic along with Dunkley and the Bont. This was a complete team performance. There were no passengers out there today. Well done team. Go Dogs!

18-08-2019, 09:20 PM
I was very impressed with Trengove's game in the 1st quarter and the 2nd half. He really put in and did a lot of heavy clearance work. Easily his best game for us. Apart from being badly out bodied once Lewis Young was really solid. He used the ball well - no turnovers - and kept it simple. Easton Wood had his best game for a while and Duryea was also very safe.
Bailey Dale added some tackling pressure up forward which was very pleasing.
This was easily our best win for the year. To wrestle back control after a very poor 20 minutes at the start of the second quarter was a credit to the group.
Macrae was epic along with Dunkley and the Bont. This was a complete team performance. There were no passengers out there today. Well done team. Go Dogs!

18-08-2019, 09:25 PM

I posted this in another thread:

In the first 11 rounds we kicked 888 points, but conceded 1001. Since then we have kicked 801 points (10 games), but conceded only 657 points. This is really telling on how our defense all over the ground (including tackling) has improved

Bevo mentioned we had made adjustments to the way we defend, and it has come to fruition.

MJP pointed out early in the year, it wasn't the goals we weren't kicking, but the goals we were leaking.

18-08-2019, 09:39 PM
That's true, and only injuries started to bite into that red hot form. But in late 2015 we were routinely smashing teams by 10-15 goals. I reckon we could well have replicated 4 finals wins in a row in 2015 had we not been so profligate (and more than a little naive) against Adelaide.

I remember being really furious with our attitude in the last game of the season against the Lions because we refused to defend the ground properly and got beaten, when it should have been a dress rehearsal for the following week (where funnily enough, we didn't defend the ground properly!). And you're right, we were completely wasteful, oh so wasteful right to the very end.

Looking back on the results we handed massing thumpings to Melbourne, Essendon and Port Adelaide, but were given one ourselves by WCE where we allowed them to kick 162 points!

18-08-2019, 09:46 PM
I actually suggested to a friend yesterday that right now we're about the fourth best in it, and I left both of Geelong and Brisbane out of that top four!

Sure, I may have had a few libations at the time...........but I wonder how good we actually are. Would we get found out structurally and defencively when the whips are cracking? Possibly. I'd be confident of our midfield matching it with anything anyone could throw at us, but remain concerned around our immature forward half and the lack of a higher quality tall in defence.

18-08-2019, 09:52 PM

We were not favourites against either team and I don’t think the most fervent Bulldogs optimist (is there actually such a thing?) expected we would win both matches and if we did, would have only daydreamed a gritty 3-4 goals win. We are doing something few Bulldogs teams (even the 2016 boys) have done, piled on the misery to the end.

After we barely defeated Carlton I wondered where our club was heading, now we are in the 8 and playing footy that’s great to watch. There’s spirit and passion that had disappeared. I think we reduced our oppositions to that standard, remember both had plenty to play for, so let’s enjoy the ride.

18-08-2019, 09:56 PM
After we barely defeated Carlton I wondered where our club was heading, now we are in the 8 and playing footy that’s great to watch. There’s spirit and passion that had disappeared. I think we reduced our oppositions to that standard, remember both had plenty to play for, so let’s enjoy the ride.
That game was a pretty good form line in hindsight - Carlton are also the last team in the comp to beat Brisbane and have won 6 matches out of 10 under Teague.

18-08-2019, 10:18 PM
Bevo sick of meaja comparing 2019 to 2016:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ECPtBDiU8AIyU06?format=jpg&name=small

and

Luke Beveridge has warned his side’s best football is still to come

18-08-2019, 10:42 PM
https://i.ibb.co/DYcq05P/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-9-33-12-pm.png (https://ibb.co/nBdWxzq)

https://i.ibb.co/MRhTyP6/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-9-37-17-pm.png (https://ibb.co/gD71btV)

https://i.ibb.co/0DLYJ08/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-9-41-20-pm.png (https://ibb.co/bWVNd4q)

Yes it's low hanging fruit.

Sue me.

18-08-2019, 10:50 PM
The ground holds 23,500, shame on you 13,361 Bulldog supports for not turning up to the game to fill the Stadium like last time.

18-08-2019, 10:53 PM

Yes I was so confident that we would get over Adelaide and anything was possible.

18-08-2019, 10:57 PM
https://i.ibb.co/DYcq05P/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-9-33-12-pm.png (https://ibb.co/nBdWxzq)

https://i.ibb.co/MRhTyP6/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-9-37-17-pm.png (https://ibb.co/gD71btV)

https://i.ibb.co/0DLYJ08/Screen-Shot-2019-08-18-at-9-41-20-pm.png (https://ibb.co/bWVNd4q)

Yes it's low hanging fruit.

Sue me.

We apologise to our supporters, fortunately I was able to do so individually to those at the ground

As an aside, he looks genuinely strained.

18-08-2019, 11:11 PM
Memo to Bevo: can we make opposition coaches apologising to their supporters after losing to us a regular thing?

18-08-2019, 11:45 PM
Just watching the replay from about five to ten minutes to go in the second quarter, and it was great to see the players run off clearly knowing they'd gotten under the skin of the GWS team. The Bont hurt both Williams and Haynes, Heath Shaw was enticed into being his dickhead self and Toby Greene did his tough guy act as they were leaving the ground walking through our team getting lippy.

It's a beautiful thing knowing the outcome of what I'm about to watch, having just watched the above unfold again with a wry smile on my face.

Bailey Smith would have grown up thinking Heath Shaw was a dickhead, now he knows if for a fact having seen it up close.

18-08-2019, 11:58 PM
The ground holds 23,500, shame on you 13,361 Bulldog supports for not turning up to the game to fill the Stadium like last time.

It's a nice place to watch footy, but today it had no atmosphere.

I had a very enjoyable after noon, except for parts of the second quarter.

We may be returning here in 3 weeks. But if we do, dont get over confident. They can move the ball much better than us and IIRC will get Cameron and another tall forward back, plus Mumford.

19-08-2019, 12:55 AM
It's a nice place to watch footy, but today it had no atmosphere.

I had a very enjoyable after noon, except for parts of the second quarter.

We may be returning here in 3 weeks. But if we do, dont get over confident. They can move the ball much better than us and IIRC will get Cameron and another tall forward back, plus Mumford.

Yeah, they actually played really well and were too good in parts of the first half. Sure they had to be error free and super clean, but that's who they can be even without all their best players.

Glad you had a good day DR.

19-08-2019, 12:58 AM
Commentary highlight of the second half was Leigh Matthews doing all he can to put shit on Bontempelli and the unlikelihood of him getting coaches votes this week:

Leigh Matthews - he's not going to get votes in awards for this week you wouldn't have thought. He's been in the contest winning against de Boer, so he's in that one on one doing OK.

Also Leight Matthews - so he's not going to get votes, but that's what the coaches awards are about, so maybe he should get votes.

He started so hellbent on disparaging the Bont's lead in the AFLCA award that he tried to push a point where he shouldn't get more votes but then contradicted himself.

Poisoned by his own spite I think, and just can't say a good thing about us.

19-08-2019, 01:02 AM
Commentary highlight of the second half was Leigh Matthews doing all he can to put shit on Bontempelli and the unlikelihood of him getting coaches votes this week:

Leigh Matthews - he's not going to get votes in awards for this week you wouldn't have thought. He's been in the contest winning against de Boer, so he's in that one on one doing OK.

Also Leight Matthews - so he's not going to get votes, but that's what the coaches awards are about, so maybe he should get votes.

He started so hellbent on disparaging the Bont's lead in the AFLCA award that he tried to push a point where he shouldn't get more votes but then contradicted himself.

Yep, i was perplexed hearing this as well. Some commentators should stick to calling the game and not pushing agendas, if only...

19-08-2019, 02:06 AM
Had a great photo from today, but cannot upload it seems. Pity.

19-08-2019, 02:26 AM
Had a great photo from today, but cannot upload it seems. Pity.

https://postimages.org

This might help Dry Rot.

19-08-2019, 10:15 AM
Matthews is a Dinosaur.

Toby Greene plays with a lot of spunk was said twice in 20 mins. What is he implying here? Greene's got big gonads? How does he know this?

19-08-2019, 11:12 AM
Matthews sounds like he’s losing his faculties mentally. I don’t mean that as a joke. Seems to lose track of what he’s saying and mumble. Think it’s time to retire.

19-08-2019, 12:01 PM
Matthews is a Dinosaur.

Toby Greene plays with a lot of spunk was said twice in 20 mins. What is he implying here? Greene's got big gonads? How does he know this?

At one stage he couldn't even say we are in top form. He says " Bulldogs have won 7 and lost 2, I suppose they are going ok"

19-08-2019, 12:43 PM
Not sure if Barney commentated our game vs Essendon but he sounded like someone who hadn't watched a lot of us lately. When asked if the 2016 form was returning he rambled about us not hunting the opposition like we did then....maybe we aren't just yet, but I was thinking 'we kicked 21 goals straight last week......albeit gainst witches hats at times, but still'

It's only of slight annoyance, but I do get a continued attempt to delegitimize anything we do in the media sometimes. We've looked very, very good against quality opposition and intolerably poor in equal measure at times this year.

We aren't over the line yet, but I can't remember a season where we've come from outside the finals equation to nick a spot before. Before we kicked away half way through the last quarter yesterday, I had some serious anxiety - Dogs games mean something again

19-08-2019, 02:58 PM
Not sure if Barney commentated our game vs Essendon but he sounded like someone who hadn't watched a lot of us lately. When asked if the 2016 form was returning he rambled about us not hunting the opposition like we did then....maybe we aren't just yet, but I was thinking 'we kicked 21 goals straight last week......albeit gainst witches hats at times, but still'

It's only of slight annoyance, but I do get a continued attempt to delegitimize anything we do in the media sometimes. We've looked very, very good against quality opposition and intolerably poor in equal measure at times this year.

We aren't over the line yet, but I can't remember a season where we've come from outside the finals equation to nick a spot before. Before we kicked away half way through the last quarter yesterday, I had some serious anxiety - Dogs games mean something again

I feel more 2005 vibes. We’re charging home and giving the top 8 a scare. Just need to stick the landing this time

19-08-2019, 03:04 PM
I feel more 2005 vibes. We’re charging home and giving the top 8 a scare. Just need to stick the landing this time

Good call... Lets keep Wayde Skipper away from the line-up this week!

19-08-2019, 03:27 PM
Ah the glory days of playing all of Skipper, Minson and Street.

Thats more specialist ruckman than we have on the entire list now

19-08-2019, 05:10 PM

I refuse to wear the colour white to this day.

19-08-2019, 05:28 PM
If ESPN did a ‘Catching Hell’ style doco on us, the 97 prelim and Libba’s behind would be the central point, but missed finals opportunities would surely feature as well (87 & 05 off the top of my head)

Nice that it means something again, but $&@ hell the nerves are back

19-08-2019, 05:44 PM

Oh. God. Jeff White nightmares I was there with a cousin from the UK she didn't understand my pain thought it the best thing she'd ever seen.
Still wasnt a free

19-08-2019, 06:41 PM
That was bad. I saw a bloke wearing Melbourne gear walking out, his little boy in Bulldogs gear was crying inconsolably, and the dad was saying: I know it’s not fair, and looking as though he’d prefer to have lost rather than see his kid so heartbroken.

19-08-2019, 07:45 PM
Weren't you AT university in 1911?

Bloody good win btw.

I'm from Footscray mate. Kids from Footscray didn't go to uni in 1911. I did however go to Vic Uni (the West's own uni!) toward the end of the century.

What shits me is Matthews is held up as the best player of all time. Leigh Matthews was a thug and isnt even in the top 5 (Probably even 10) players I have seen play the game. Off the top of my head Whitten, Hart, Baldock, Templeton and S. Maddern were all comfortably better players I saw play the game than Matthews.

20-08-2019, 06:29 PM
Friend of mine Plays at Myrtleford and he just informed me Dawson Simpson has signed with them next year, did he retire on Saturday after our game?

20-08-2019, 06:33 PM
Friend of mine Plays at Myrtleford and he just informed me Dawson Simpson has signed with them next year, did he retire on Saturday after our game?

Yep announced prior to the game.

20-08-2019, 08:34 PM
That's a real shame. Dawson Simpson was my favorite non bulldog player.

We got into a to and fro with a guy wearing a #27 GWS jumper at Etihad the night Greene kicked Dahl in the face. We gave him a bit, he gave a bit back and then we stood together and barracked for our teams. We even shook his hand after we had lost.