24-06-2020, 10:24 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

07-07-2020, 08:11 PM

For all pre game as well game day/post game day discussion. Our first game in the hubs. Any Gold Coast based woofers trying to go?

07-07-2020, 09:20 PM
For our QLD residents who may go:

Tickets on-sale Wednesday for Carlton clash at Metricon (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/738971/tickets-on-sale-wednesday-for-carlton-clash-at-metricon-stadium)

08-07-2020, 08:13 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/739378/the-last-five-carlton

The last five: Carlton
A look at the last five encounters between the Western Bulldogs and Carlton.

The Western Bulldogs will look to continue a strong recent record against Carlton when the two teams clash at Metricon Stadium this Sunday evening.

The Dogs have won six of their last seven games against the Blues, dating back to 2015.

This weekend’s game on the Gold Coast is the second time the teams have played outside of Victoria, after Marrara Stadium in Darwin hosted the clubs in 2005.

Here’s a look at the last five encounters between the two sides.

2019 – Round 13 (Bulldogs 103 defeated Blues 100)
A game of wildly fluctuating momentum swings ended up finishing as the closest game between the teams since 2002. The Dogs led by 27 points nearing half time, but had surrendered that advantage 30 minutes later. The game looked over when the Bulldogs surged again to stretch to a 34-point lead, but the Blues rattled home with five straight majors to give every red, white and blue supporter at Marvel Stadium a tremendous fright. Thankfully, the Dogs hung on, just.

2019 – Round 5 (Blues 101 defeated Bulldogs 57)
Earlier that season, the Dogs suffered a disappointing 44-point loss to the Blues, on the back of seven goals combined from Harry McKay and Levi Casboult. It was the first win for Carlton in its first five outings of 2019. They won every quarter that afternoon on their way to their biggest win over the Bulldogs since 2001.

2018 – Round 22 (Bulldogs 66 defeated Blues 49)
In a low-scoring encounter, the Bulldogs pulled away late in the contest after the result was in the balance early in the last term. The Blues led by two points at the six-minute mark of the final stanza, before consecutive majors to Fergus Greene, Josh Schache, Lin Jong and Jason Johannisen secured the four points.

2018 – Round 6 (Bulldogs 80 defeated Carlton 59)
Desperate for a victory after just one win in the first five starts of the 2018 campaign, the Dogs were rarely troubled in this contest. After an even start, the Bulldogs led by 23 points at half time and the Blues couldn’t get closer than 13 points from there, as Marcus Bontempelli (30 disposals) and Pat Lipinski (three goals) starred.

2017 – Round 17 (Bulldogs 82 defeated Blues 62)
The Dogs and Blues have only played one in their last 14 games at the MCG, and on this day late in the 2017 season, the tri-colours scored a comfortable 20-point win. The damage was done in the second quarter, when the Bulldogs booted five goals to one. For the second-straight time against the same opposition, Marcus Bontempelli scored the three Brownlow votes for his 30 possession, two-goal performance.

09-07-2020, 10:51 AM
I'll go early

Dogs by 16 points
BOG: Tim English....I know he is becoming 'hyped' but I think this week is a real opportunity for English to dominate the game around the ground. Pittonet has had some good efforts, but I think Marshall showed him up last week by getting plenty of ball around the ground, and Casboult struggles as a back up.
1st Goal: Bailey Dale another fast start.

Jam Donuts
09-07-2020, 11:00 AM
Doggies by 29 points
BOG: The Bont
1st Goal: Brucey

09-07-2020, 11:30 AM
Just a win thanks
BOG Daniel
1st goal Bruce

09-07-2020, 11:37 AM
Just a win thanks
BOG Daniel
1st goal Bruce

Yeah, not often we've won 4 in a row under Bevo. 3 wins seems to be the threshold for us so I'm happy to just crawl over the line. No injuries would also be nice.

Dogs by 7
BOG: Bont
1st Goal: Wallis

09-07-2020, 11:58 AM
Yeah, not often we've won 4 in a row under Bevo. 3 wins seems to be the threshold for us so I'm happy to just crawl over the line. No injuries would also be nice.

Dogs by 7
BOG: Bont
1st Goal: Wallis

There was this one time we did. ;)

Given we've got a 5 day break after this game and then possible another 4 games in 20 odd days we really need to get through this game unscathed. Happy to mix it up a little to give guys a rest, but we can't keep losing players to forced injuries.

09-07-2020, 12:33 PM
Doggies by 28 points
BOG: The Bont
1st Goal: Schache

Very confident about this game irrespective of who is in our side. Impressive last 3 weeks. Big game for Bont.

09-07-2020, 12:49 PM
I'm really looking forward to this game. Dogs by 23 points

Carlton could be a handful for us but we should kick away from them in the 2nd half

09-07-2020, 01:57 PM
Dogs by 13
First Goal: Bont
BOG: Macrae after destroying Cripps

09-07-2020, 03:02 PM
The 22's starting to resemble a patchwork quilt but we surely still have enough class to prevail here.

If our mids keep the heat on and our backs mobilise as smartly as they have been it's a 4+ goal win.

Yeah, we can't let Cripps do as he pleases but someone also needs to keep Docherty honest.

Be nice to see Juicy back it up with another little haul too.

09-07-2020, 03:34 PM
There was this one time we did. ;)

Given we've got a 5 day break after this game and then possible another 4 games in 20 odd days we really need to get through this game unscathed. Happy to mix it up a little to give guys a rest, but we can't keep losing players to forced injuries.

Have we won 4 in row since that epic month?

I will admit to some trepidation as we haven't been good at maintaining form and especially ordinary when we are clear favourites.

I just want the win.

09-07-2020, 03:40 PM
The 22's starting to resemble a patchwork quilt but we surely still have enough class to prevail here.

All depends on the level of attack around the ball and our appetite for being defensive

Carlton have been good at times this year but not always put 4 quarters together

Id hope we would look to assert ourselves from the start

09-07-2020, 03:45 PM
Nervous about this one, we often seem to drop games we are 'supposed' to win. Titus O'Riley has tipped us for the first time since the break and I fear he may have mozzed us.

09-07-2020, 04:09 PM
Have we won 4 in row since that epic month?

I will admit to some trepidation as we haven't been good at maintaining form and especially ordinary when we are clear favourites.

I just want the win.

Late in 2017 we did. Carlton/GCS/Ess/Bris.

09-07-2020, 04:10 PM
From Bevo's presser it sounds as though Smith and Vandermeer should be good to go.

Also seems Hunter is guaranteed to play. Was glowing of Weightman's performance in the practive match last week but Bevo didn't indicate if that will lead to selection.

09-07-2020, 04:15 PM
From Bevo's presser is sounds as though Smith and Vandermeer should be good to go.

Also seems Hunter is guaranteed to play. Was glowing of Weightman's performance in the practive match last week but but Bevo didn't indicate if that will lead to selection.

We usually go early and hype up a debuting player so I don't think we'll see Cody in the 22 this week. Doesn't sound like he's far off though.

09-07-2020, 04:45 PM
From Bevo's presser it sounds as though Smith and Vandermeer should be good to go.

Also seems Hunter is guaranteed to play. Was glowing of Weightman's performance in the practive match last week but Bevo didn't indicate if that will lead to selection.

We usually go early and hype up a debuting player so I don't think we'll see Cody in the 22 this week. Doesn't sound like he's far off though.

He always pulls a surprise

10-07-2020, 11:03 AM
He always pulls a surprise

Please god not Gardner

10-07-2020, 12:07 PM
Please god not Gardner

I am with you

10-07-2020, 12:20 PM
Please god not Gardner

We seem to have committed have him in front of Lewis Young and Trengove and perhaps he has the attributes the coach is after.
I suggest it's unlikely but you would have to think he is very much in the mix.

I'm hopeful he can turn it around and replay the faith the MC has with him

10-07-2020, 01:25 PM
Weather forecast is getting worse.

Gold Coast area
Cloudy. Very high (95%) chance of showers and patchy rain, most likely in the afternoon and evening. The chance of a thunderstorm. Light winds. 10-15mm rain.

10-07-2020, 01:27 PM
We seem to have committed have him in front of Lewis Young and Trengove and perhaps he has the attributes the coach is after.
I suggest it's unlikely but you would have to think he is very much in the mix.

I'm hopeful he can turn it around and replay the faith the MC has with him

Good on him if he does. What're the odds of that though?

10-07-2020, 05:55 PM
Whatever Rose coloured glasses the MC wear when watching Gardner play, I never wanna put them anywhere near my face. Watching him play is like blinking with razor blades in my eyes, yet somehow I’d rather that, then the Rose coloured glasses.

10-07-2020, 08:43 PM
Margin: Dogs by 9 points
First Goal: Pat Lipinski
Best On Ground: Jack Macrae

11-07-2020, 12:50 PM
A random betting site advertisement popped up on FB with their ‘best bets’ or whatever, and it stated that the Dogs only win 40% of the time when we are favourite. Time to start turning this stat around. Put them to the sword.

Dogs by 23
First goal: Vandermeer
Best on ground: Bont

11-07-2020, 02:52 PM
Going to be interesting if Carlton play all those talls
McKay , casboult , mcgovern up forward

11-07-2020, 02:58 PM
Going to be interesting if Carlton play all those talls
McKay , casboult , mcgovern up forward

and it is pouring rain

11-07-2020, 06:32 PM
So it’s 5pm Saturday, the day before we take on the Blues. We are going into this game as favourites and in the past these are the games we often lose. The other games in this round are falling our way so if we win we get a good foot hold on the top 4, a lot is on the line this week, injury to key players, the HUB, disruption to family life, what’s not to love about this club.

Let’s just hope Bevo keeps it simple and doesn’t try to do anything left field and get ahead of himself

Dogs by 32 points
BOG Libba
1st Goal Wallis.

11-07-2020, 06:45 PM
Four in a row...no law against going through the rest of the season undefeated.
Dogs by 27 pts
FG Schache
BOG Bailey Smith.

12-07-2020, 10:20 AM
I'm really looking forward to this game. Dogs by 23 points

Carlton could be a handful for us but we should kick away from them in the 2nd half

You look forward to every doggies game and so you should.

Dogs by 17
Bruuuuce first major
Bont BOG

12-07-2020, 11:09 AM
You look forward to every doggies game and so you should.

Dogs by 17
Bruuuuce first major
Bont BOG

Every Dogs game is a precious and beautiful snowflake. The lockdown should have taught us all that.

Dogs by 40
First goal Bruce
BOG Bont

12-07-2020, 12:20 PM
I will not be happy if we throw this one away. Come on dogs I want effort, effort effort on top of intensity.

12-07-2020, 12:34 PM
Five Father/sons today.

Wallis.
Liberatore.
Cordy.
Hunter.
West.

12-07-2020, 12:36 PM
Just watching last night expect a scrappy game

12-07-2020, 12:48 PM
Nervous about teams we should beat don't after a run of wins.

Margin: Dogs by 9. Goals.

First Goal: Libba

BOG: Libba.

12-07-2020, 01:28 PM
Nervous about teams we should beat don't after a run of wins.

Margin: Dogs by 9. Goals.

First Goal: Libba

BOG: Libba.

I think I have a healthy level on anxiety for this game. Their forward line could be a challenge for us. We need to control the midfield

12-07-2020, 01:33 PM
Gotta win the midfield and kick straight. 10 goals will probably win this, however Carlton are one of this teams we struggle with, and their fwd line always scares me with that marking ability....so...

Carl by 3 points
1st goal- Wallis
Bog - libba

12-07-2020, 01:41 PM
Gotta win the midfield and kick straight. 10 goals will probably win this, however Carlton are one of this teams we struggle with, and their fwd line always scares me with that marking ability....so...

Carl by 3 points
1st goal- Wallis
Bog - libba

Casboult is the only one that can clunk them and the ball will be a cake of soap. I wouldn't be selecting the Blues based on their marking prowess up forward Betts and Martin at ground level are the issues.

12-07-2020, 01:41 PM
Just watching last night expect a scrappy game

Kicks off the ground replacing handpassing. Just getting the ball forward with knocks, someone sitting on your hammer, slow pace.

12-07-2020, 02:00 PM
Casboult is the only one that can clunk them and the ball will be a cake of soap. I wouldn't be selecting the Blues based on their marking prowess up forward Betts and Martin at ground level are the issues.

True...betts and Martin are also issues to contend with. What we DONT want is a player like Cripps doing what he almost did against the saints.

12-07-2020, 02:04 PM
If we can tap into the game plan we execute vs Port last year, we should be ok. Lots of scrub kicks off the ground, lots of quick release handballs in close and bombing long. Bruce and Schache must ensure they bring the ball to ground and the likes of West, Wallis, Dale, Lipinski etc need to be rapid in their tackling pressure to keep the ball locked inside 50.

The game will be one by the team who can generate repeat inside 50s and just pile on the pressure.

12-07-2020, 02:12 PM
True...betts and Martin are also issues to contend with. What we DONT want is a player like Cripps doing what he almost did against the saints.

Agreed we need to send someone to him. Would you tag Cripps? Who would you send?

They were very keen to try to isolate Docherty against the Aints locking him down seems to unsettle them.

Bad time to lose Crozier as I think he would match up on Martin really well.

12-07-2020, 05:27 PM
Any late changes?

12-07-2020, 05:38 PM
Agreed we need to send someone to him. Would you tag Cripps? Who would you send?

They were very keen to try to isolate Docherty against the Aints locking him down seems to unsettle them.

Bad time to lose Crozier as I think he would match up on Martin really well.

Not sure on Cripps, but I’d certainly like to see McLean and Libba rotate on Doc to keep him quite.

12-07-2020, 06:09 PM
Any late changes?

It doesn't appear to be so

12-07-2020, 06:51 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EctRW1AVAAA9J5u?format=jpg&name=small

12-07-2020, 06:53 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EctaYZIUcAEdyMa?format=jpg&name=900x900

12-07-2020, 06:59 PM
NO late changes for either side.

12-07-2020, 07:27 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/crSCd80S/7-A09698-B-3016-4-D34-B5-BA-D39-D65-B19-CEA.jpg (https://postimg.cc/crSCd80S)

Lets Go Dogs!

12-07-2020, 07:39 PM
Dogs by 19
First goal: West
BOG: Libba

12-07-2020, 07:44 PM
go doggies.

12-07-2020, 07:51 PM
Great goal Bailey Smith! We are off!

12-07-2020, 07:51 PM
I love Bailey Smith.

12-07-2020, 07:52 PM
I love Bailey Smith.

Eyes off, he's mine.

12-07-2020, 07:56 PM
Carlton are on here... we need to match them.

12-07-2020, 07:57 PM
I would really like to see some defencive intent at the centre bounce. I really would.

12-07-2020, 07:59 PM
Wake up lads, for goodness sake.

12-07-2020, 07:59 PM
We’re playing like we thought Carlton weren’t going to show up.

12-07-2020, 08:00 PM
Carlton are on here... we need to match them.

Yep, they are working to a plan and we need to stay with them

12-07-2020, 08:05 PM
Based on IG, it looks like it’s been holiday mode for the players. Playing like it.

12-07-2020, 08:06 PM
Maybe we should learn from Carlton on how to tackle...grab the arm, not the waist.

Great play Butler to West to JJ to Dale Goal! Back to 7 points.

Great hands from Dale, and nice finish.

JJ didn't do him too many favours with the kick in........

12-07-2020, 08:09 PM
Take yourself off JJ

Captain obvious here, but our midfield getting blanked.
Nothing at all from the centre.

English and our mids getting destroyed

12-07-2020, 08:10 PM
Defence under siege tonight.

This is disgusting.

Our centre square work is disgusting!

That one hurts, we haven't switched on yet

Good to see our “overrated” midfield getting slaughtered

Our centre square players are really pissing me off right now.

And Bont, why not go the smother when he was clearly going to get the kick away?

12-07-2020, 08:11 PM
Maybe Bont should tag his opponent, might get him near the ball.

That "push" against Gibbons was an extremely weak free. That goes unpaid 75% of the time

Bont needs to lift, crap last week and started poorly

12-07-2020, 08:12 PM
Getting pumped in the middle

12-07-2020, 08:14 PM
Our forward line is a mess. Looks impotent and can’t lock it in.

This lead is already almost a match winning one based on how we’re playing.

12-07-2020, 08:14 PM
Game is almost over.

Pretty pathetic display from our mids

12-07-2020, 08:15 PM
Not looks totally out of form and we are again getting smashed in the guts.

English winning the taps but we can't buy a centre clearance. Bont well held.

Does any other team have as big a gap between their best and worst?

Big 2nd quarter. Cmon Dogs!

12-07-2020, 08:16 PM
How is our forward line so congested and theirs so open?

I mean, I know the why, but I can't get my head around why it seems to work so frequently against us.

12-07-2020, 08:16 PM
Where is Mclean playing? hasn't touched the ball

12-07-2020, 08:17 PM
Such a typical response from us after 3 good weeks in a row.

Bevo needs to pull the right levers and get us focused

Obviously the middle of the ground is hurting , but I think our backs need to take a more simplistic approach when under heat.

Hopefully we can reset little at quarter time, I still think we can win this.

Letting Carlton dictate terms at the moment. We can turn this around but we need to get our hands on the ball at centre clearances.

Well, this game had me nervous, that has only increased after that Qtr.
Bont has to find a way to shake a tag. Macrae is almost invisible, and apart from early Bailey Smith hasn't had an impact.
In short we are getting slaughtered in the engine room, which is magnifying mistakes by JJ, Vandermeer & Bont

Holiday mode.

12-07-2020, 08:18 PM
Bailey Smith 9 disposals 1 goal
Lachie Hunter 8
Libba 6

Shows how useless hit out numbers are, actually winning the taps and getting slaughtered out of the middle.

I picked Carlton based on their performance against Geel AND I know what we are like in games like this. Even with the rain, their talls are still in the game. For some reason our midfield always struggles against “lesser names”, . That’s a mindset issue. We look like the team from round 1-2.

Where is Mclean playing? hasn't touched the ball

Pretty sure he’s on Docherty who has only touched it once, but hard to tell on TV.

12-07-2020, 08:19 PM
Ok I’ve claimed down a little. We are. It at our best but only a few goals down. We gave three away in our back 50 so if we tidy that up we are level. Here’s hoping Bevo revs them up.

If the centre clearance differential is 6 to 1 Carlton this term, we're in almost terminal trouble.
With weather, this needs to be a 3 goal to zip 2nd qtr in our favour.

So many players barely sighted. Carlton are physical. We look dazed. I'm no great understander of midfield tactics but Bont faces their goal at the centre bounces. So he then needs to charge into the contest instead of run full on at the ball. Anyone understand that?

12-07-2020, 08:21 PM
Reckon we are cooked. Not up for it, expecting effort to drop off significantly.

12-07-2020, 08:22 PM
Just get back to basics dogs. Wet weather footy. Can win this easy.

We don't like it when the opposition are physical

We’ve allowed 5 goals for the whole game the last few weeks and now we give up 5 to carlton in a quarter in the wet!? This is rounds 1-2 bulldogs. We need to flip the switch

12-07-2020, 08:23 PM
Fair to say our game plan's not quite wet-weather proof.

We're going to have to find another way. And it begins with our big dogs asserting ourselves more at centre bounces.

12-07-2020, 08:26 PM
Same old dogs

12-07-2020, 08:27 PM
Clearances and spread absolutely smashed. Think we are still on the golf course. Could be over in the next 5 minutes.

And we’re done....

Need to get Libba into the middle now

12-07-2020, 08:30 PM
That's a bit more like it. Can we get a run on now?

12-07-2020, 08:30 PM
Nice play. Bruce to Lippy to Vanda goal!

12-07-2020, 08:31 PM
Great stuff Pat!

12-07-2020, 08:31 PM
Here we go, intensity up

12-07-2020, 08:32 PM
Just what we needed. Now for another one

12-07-2020, 08:33 PM
Here we go, intensity up

Makes a difference doesn't it? Good to see the players lifting their efforts

12-07-2020, 08:38 PM
Richards....

12-07-2020, 08:38 PM
So close

12-07-2020, 08:40 PM
Much better this quarter.

12-07-2020, 08:40 PM
Good pressure now adapted to conditions.

12-07-2020, 08:41 PM
Butler is nowhere near it... Ffs

12-07-2020, 08:41 PM
That was horrible by Butler... sorry kid, but you needed to do better.

12-07-2020, 08:42 PM
So we’re back to just giving up goals whenever it’s inside 50. Nice.

McKay doesn’t touch it unless he plays against us.

Trengove instead of Butler would be nice about now.

Was that Butler wow

It's a decent lead we need to start whittling away at. Who is going to kick the goals for us?

12-07-2020, 08:44 PM
Great kick JJ to Wally.

12-07-2020, 08:45 PM
Wally finishes. Important goal!

Ch7 have docked us a point. We’re 5.2 not 5.1

Wallis hasn’t looked like picking up a ball cleanly so that was a ripping mark.

12-07-2020, 08:46 PM
Keep believing dogs. Don't right us off yet.

12-07-2020, 08:46 PM
Ch7 have docked us a point. We’re 5.2 not 5.1

Fox Footy

12-07-2020, 08:47 PM
Their fwd 50 is like the Melbourne CBD and ours is like Bunnings on a Sunday

12-07-2020, 08:48 PM
That hurt

That hurts!

That is a killer

Christ this is depressing.

12-07-2020, 08:49 PM
Hopeless team defence.

Night's over.

This was a predictable result. We still have a long, long way to go

scoreboards wrong.

Give them some credit, the Blues have shown up to play tonight

That is a killer

The killer blow

Getting us too high ala early 2019

Wallis hasn’t looked like picking up a ball cleanly so that was a ripping mark.

He plays like he’s 195cm+ these days.

12-07-2020, 08:50 PM
Night's over.

This was a predictable result. We still have a long, long way to go

I haven't given up. Just need to get some momentum in the 3rd quarter

Still another half to go. We are still in it!

Letting through 8 goals is a disgrace.

The second half better be good, seems to me we are losing 80% of 50/50 contests.

Bruce and Schache need to stand up in the second half.

Butler is not ready. Picking him ahead of Suckling is reckless.

Carlton are playing well.

The endeavour's better, but we're still over-possessing the pill.

Missing Crozier back there.

Most frustrating half of footy I’ve seen in quite some time.

12-07-2020, 08:51 PM
This is why I get so frustrated, how is it that we can be so susceptible to cheap goals, fluctuations in effort and the ball being swept away from the centre uncontested? If we aren't on, we aren't on. If they're on, we can't turn the tide.

We had momentum in that quarter but fumbled, turned it over and got caught out the back.

Sounds all too familiar for this group.

Yeah I kinda wish we weren’t in this game because its a bit of a burner.

How do we make do many turn overs. The Bluee are not that good and we seen fumble ever third touch

12-07-2020, 08:52 PM
At least they’ll have ping pong and family pool time once the game is over.

12-07-2020, 08:52 PM
Why play Shaq in these conditions? Useless. Zero kicks. One handball. Blind Freddy could have predicted that.

12-07-2020, 08:53 PM
Why play Shaq in these conditions? Useless. Zero kicks. One handball. Blind Freddy could have predicted that.

Yep, I had him out during the week.

12-07-2020, 08:53 PM
Carlton are playing well.

I really hate to hand out compliments to Carlton, but yep..they have improved....
To balance the praise, and revert to my normal Carlton hatred...they'd want to improve off the back of decades of early 1st round picks!!!

12-07-2020, 08:54 PM

It gives Bevo a reason not to play him moving forward.

Yep, I had him out during the week.

He needs a big 2nd half, not even goals, just involvement and hard work.

I agree, but it doesn’t help when most of the game our fwd 50 is housing 30+ players

12-07-2020, 08:55 PM
10 more inside 50s and we are 21 points down. Feels like the 2015 final with the opposition (including Betts) scoring easy over the top goals.

Bailey Smith is a gun - 19 disposals to half time, really should have had another goal as well

I know I'm going against the downward spiral, but I actually think we're going to win.

12-07-2020, 08:56 PM
Bont is a champ....he has, bar Sydney game been largely ineffectual.
We need a champ like lift from him in the 2nd half if we're to pull this one back.

12-07-2020, 08:57 PM
Bailey Smith is a gun - 19 disposals to half time, really should have had another goal as well

Been excellent

Libba with 14 disposals
Hunter 14 disposals along with Libba
Macrae, English and Bont 11 each

We play the same way believing the conditions are the same as at Marvel under the roof and overuse the ball in the conditions.

I’m not if our forward 50 or our defensive 50 is structured up worse? 32 inside 50s for 5 goals.

Carlton are more desperate, harder at the ball, and playing to the conditions better. The Pagan’s paddock style play with Betts and Martin, makes them look like they are going to score Every time.

I really hate to hand out compliments to Carlton, but yep..they have improved....
To balance the praise, and revert to my normal Carlton hatred...they'd want to improve off the back of decades of early 1st round picks!!!

They have played well and in that first 15 mins they had intensity while we didn't.

We've lifted since then but haven't adapted to the conditions. So much 'hot potato' in the forward line when someone needed to take responsibility and take the shot. Very disappointed in Richards who was unsighted until a series of fumbles, and Wood has been unable to come across and intercept.

I hate losing as much as anyone but wow it is a harsh crowd on woof when we aren't playing well.

12-07-2020, 08:59 PM
I know I'm going against the downward spiral, but I actually think we're going to win.

I agree, we are winning all the stats, except rebound 50. Need to stop their run out their backline and not get caught out.

12-07-2020, 08:59 PM
Butler is not ready. Picking him ahead of Suckling is reckless.

An intriguing selection but if not Butler or Suckling then who?

12-07-2020, 09:01 PM
We need a champ like lift from him in the 2nd half if we're to pull this one back.

We need that attacking prowess from him in that 3rd quarter. He if he gets going can get this game back for us.

An intriguing selection but if not Butler or Suckling then who?

Lachie Young would have been OK and is more advanced than Butler. Not sure why we're playing a kid who isn't suited to the conditions and needs more time

If ever we need a strong performance from a captain it's right now. Bont could be the difference

I’m hoping and your right. If we stop the mistakes we win.

Saints forward line last week was an absolute paddock against carlton. Yet ours is clogged. What gives?

12-07-2020, 09:02 PM
They have played well and in that first 15 mins they had intensity while we didn't.

We've lifted since then but haven't adapted to the conditions. So much 'hot potato' in the forward line when someone needed to take responsibility and take the shot. Very disappointed in Richards who was unsighted until a series of fumbles, and Wood has been unable to come across and intercept.

I hate losing as much as anyone but wow it is a harsh crowd on woof when we aren't playing well.

My comment was a semi in jest response to Carlton playing well??

We all love Bont but really, he's been poor besides the game v Sydney. Not good enough from him.

Boy, do we miss Crozier down back.

Lachie Young would have been OK and is more advanced than Butler. Not sure why we're playing a kid who isn't suited to the conditions and needs more time

Good choice, it's interesting that we invested games into Hayes and Lachie Young last year but they appear to be at the back of the queue now

Richards hanging by a thread, needs a spell.

If ever we need a strong performance from a captain it's right now. Bont could be the difference

I thought he lifted in the 2nd quarter, but yeah, we need one of his match winning performances

12-07-2020, 09:04 PM
My comment was a semi in jest response to Carlton playing well??

Not you, YFH, i was agreeing with you :)

12-07-2020, 09:05 PM
We all love Bont but really, he's been poor besides the game v Sydney. Not good enough from him.

Yep. For a bloke who's never been out of form before, this period is trsting him.

12-07-2020, 09:06 PM
The overuse of handball is really concerning, too much space is being closed down in close and also further afield. It's OK under the roof at Docklands, but doesn't hold up in slippery conditions.

12-07-2020, 09:06 PM
We need Bont, McClean, Libba and McCrae to get down and dirty. We more plenty of up side in these guys were Carlton are already at peak performance. We need to lift around the ball and we win this game.

12-07-2020, 09:07 PM
Yep. For a bloke who's never been out of form before, this period is trsting him.

He has to learn to get rid of a tag. I hate players holding on, umpires need to stamp it out

12-07-2020, 09:08 PM
The overuse of handball is really concerning, too much space is being closed down in close and also further afield. It's OK under the roof at Docklands, but doesn't hold up in slippery conditions.

Shades of a game against the Crows in the wet.

12-07-2020, 09:08 PM

Agree. If Bont can dominate we win. 22 points in these conditions is a fair lead but think it is getable. That last minute goal certainly hurt.

12-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Shades of a game against the Crows in the wet.

Exactly what came to my mind...….was super frustrating to watch.

12-07-2020, 09:11 PM
Every loose ball just goes straight to them.

Ordinary by Butler again.

12-07-2020, 09:14 PM
Holding the ball. Two sets of rules. Gee whiz.

12-07-2020, 09:14 PM
That’s better just kick it forward of the ground

12-07-2020, 09:16 PM
So whats holding the ball now?

12-07-2020, 09:16 PM
Great stuff Vanda!

12-07-2020, 09:17 PM
So whats holding the ball now?

How bad were those non calls

12-07-2020, 09:17 PM
i think the umps have no idea what the rules are anymore.

12-07-2020, 09:18 PM
Lachie has been pretty good on return I reckon

12-07-2020, 09:19 PM
Great spoil from Bailey Smith!

12-07-2020, 09:21 PM

I'm saying the obvious here but our coaching would have been aware of this and would have prepared the team for a more kick orientated game

12-07-2020, 09:22 PM
That was crap by West... took forever and then kicked it straight to Casboult.

12-07-2020, 09:22 PM
We have an innate ability to bring ordinary footballers into the game. This week? McGovern and Gibbons

12-07-2020, 09:24 PM
This is embarrassing really. The difference between our best and worst is huge

12-07-2020, 09:24 PM
I hope someone gets the Rona and they pull the pin on the season (and the person recovers). This is just demoralising.

12-07-2020, 09:25 PM
I hope someone gets the Rona and they pull the pin on the season (and the person recovers). This is just demoralising.

Not cool AP6

12-07-2020, 09:26 PM
Have we had one HTB free go our way?

12-07-2020, 09:26 PM
How bad were those non calls

They got tackled without disposing of it four straight times and kicked a goal. Bit hard to do anything if the umpires aren't going to enforce the rules.

12-07-2020, 09:28 PM
Not cool AP6

It’s my view. I’m over the season.

12-07-2020, 09:29 PM
Should have finished that one before.

12-07-2020, 09:29 PM
Our forward 50 work is horrid tonight. Very frustrating, Blues so much cleaner.

12-07-2020, 09:30 PM
Richards has been bloody horrendous

Jeez Richards is having a mare. That’s two sitters he’s missed

Captains goal!

The Bont!

12-07-2020, 09:31 PM
Lachie on the oppie. Captains goal cmon dogs they stopped v the Cats ..!

12-07-2020, 09:31 PM
Need another one

12-07-2020, 09:32 PM
Shaq. Still one handball.

12-07-2020, 09:33 PM
don't concede late

12-07-2020, 09:35 PM
Hanging on. Will we bring it home?

Holding the ball. Change interpretation half way through game?

we're in this despite of doing our best to lose it.

I hate the new Clarko HTB... but given it's all the rage..and given what's transpired tonight with similar decisions.. how the heck was Docherty not pinged???

Too much fumbling is killing us.

Lachie was massive that quarter. Somehow within touching distance but don’t look likely.

12-07-2020, 09:36 PM
Richards is frustrating me.........he just needs to finish his work a lot better and I get it that I sound like a broken record on that one but it's plain to see.

The HTB interpretation has been absolutely abysmal tonight. The call on Daniel and then not right then against carlton.

Forwardline braking down. We're doing ok elsewhere. Hope West gets a midfield rotation or two in the last quarter.

12-07-2020, 09:37 PM
Umpires no clue on prior opportunity, HTB. So inconsistent, should have been a free to Wally based on the first quarter frees Carlton got

We still are looking for the perfect play and over possessing the ball. Move it quick and surge it forward - stop putting each other under pressure

Whats HTB? lol

I hate the new Clarko HTB... but given it's all the rage..and given what's transpired tonight with similar decisions.. how the heck was Docherty not pinged???
Seemed like an obvious free

Ed is either lacking confidence or lacking concentration.

12-07-2020, 09:38 PM
We will come home over the top but can we reel in three goals?

Forwardline braking down. We're doing ok elsewhere. Hope West gets a midfield rotation or two in the last quarter.

That’s what you get when you fill it with midfielders.

Desperately need to bring in some genuine goal sense.

15 more inside 50s. That Betts goals at the end of the half might just be the difference

It’s my view. I’m over the season.

Wishing any form of the virus on anyone isn't cool

If you are over the season, then look away

12-07-2020, 09:39 PM
I can feel an honourable kiss come on. Guess we just let ourself down time after time.

Ed is either lacking confidence or lacking concentration.

I know we are thin with injuries and I felt we didn't have the luxury to drop him, but we absolutely have to. He's costing us big time with his fumbles and errors.

What was the difference in the Daniel & Docherty HTB?

It goes without saying but we need a fast start.

12-07-2020, 09:40 PM
Richards has been so bad.

Hunter, good? No way who could've seen that coming.

Mutz
Yep, we're way up on frees but not getting those crucial HTBs in our forward 50.

We will come home over the top but can we reel in three goals?

45 inside 50s to 30, we need to capitalise.

BTW where is Schache? 1 handball and not on the ground?

Richards has been so bad.

Hunter, good? No way who could've seen that coming.

Richards just hasn't quite hit his straps this season.

Come on boys. Just need to tidy up those inside 50 ground balls and we can bring this one home. Bulldog spirit.:)

12-07-2020, 09:41 PM
We need to spread our fwd 50 and bomb it with Chaos entries.

12-07-2020, 09:46 PM
That's it. Done.

12-07-2020, 09:46 PM
Playing us on the counter and killing us with it.