View Full Version : WB Game Day V Gold Coast Suns R8 2020

Pages : 1 [2]

23-07-2020, 10:48 PM
Too many kids.

23-07-2020, 10:48 PM
Anyone else get the feeling ups are going to pay GC a soft free to kick a winning goal?

23-07-2020, 10:50 PM
Our kids are melting under the pressure.

23-07-2020, 10:50 PM
Weightman will need to learn from that. Jesus.

23-07-2020, 10:51 PM
I can see one of these shitty htb right in front sooner or later.

23-07-2020, 10:53 PM
Bruce has had a fair dinkum mare.

I keep willing on Porter to do something well

GC to win by a point

23-07-2020, 10:54 PM
Livid with the umps

23-07-2020, 10:54 PM
I keep willing on Porter to do something well

Just found touch

23-07-2020, 10:55 PM
Porter and Gowers around the ball...

23-07-2020, 10:57 PM
Two captains save the day

Gowers, seriously.

Had Smith on his on.

**** me.

Thank FCK ....geez Gowers

This is a great win.

Gold Coast are a serious team.

Suns and the Umps can Eat the proverbial

Bloody hell what was Gowers thinking

@#$&ing Gowers gave me a heart attack.

Billy Gowers.. FMD!!!

23-07-2020, 10:58 PM
Gowers needs to never play again for that.

Please never play Gowers again. Delist him now

Billy Gowers.. FMD!!!

We all knew he was going to turn it over. Never in doubt

Gutsy win

Gowers needs to never play again for that.

Seconded!

Bloody hell what was Gowers thinking

He wasn't. He never does. Papers stamped.

Vandemeer in his fourth or fifth game can kill a vital contest when he's 1 v 3 and Gowers can't even halve any contest.

Out.

We all knew he was going to turn it over. Never in doubt

Imagine him in a cut throat final.

23-07-2020, 10:59 PM
What a WIN!

Oh Billy. Great work by Williams and Vanders back half to wing was the play for me.
I literally just saw Bevo say "fkn Billy Gowers!"

Phew!! Was it Gowers that did that woeful kick forward? How dumb can you be?

Yeeesssss!!!! Go dogs!!!

I can't even enjoy that after the Gowers kick.

Billy Gowers!!!! Go the skinny side. Go long. Take your time.

No take the game on by centring it. Wow. Dumb, dumb.

Well that's it for Gowers.

23-07-2020, 11:00 PM
Seriously how good was that by Vandermeer with a minute to go???

Big marks by Bont and Wood late. Such an important win.

I am very quiet and reserved as I watch the football but I just shouted "GOWERS!" in an absolute rage just then.

...phew. Williams and Vandermere played that last Suns forward entry beautifully.

*!*!*!*!ing hell Gowers.

23-07-2020, 11:01 PM

And Smith out by himself. Could Billy have chosen a worse option than where he put it.

Glad it's not just me

Never ever want to see Gowers play in seniors. Porter did a few nice things. Onya La Young - pressure goal when we needed it.

Huge win!!... very little from 6-8 players and still found a way to get our noses in front.

Big game next week.

Oh God. I hate to pot an individual. Gowers. What the hell.

I don’t ever want to see Gowers play again. Not even VFL. Delist him now

Good to get a win we didn’t exactly deserve. They’re important

I don't get the piling on all night of players. Yep I yelled at Gowers to, for what could've been a game losing decision... but geez there were several copping it here tonight. At times this thread resembled a game where we were getting pounded.
Tough conditions, very tough opponent, on their deck.
Yep we were messy, but Gold Coast are now a hard unit.
That's the ugly win we needed, heading into a hard run.

23-07-2020, 11:02 PM
Take a bow, defenders.

JJ, Williams & Keath were particularly good.

Huge win for our season.

23-07-2020, 11:02 PM
I don't get the piling on all night of players. Yep I yelled at Gowers to, for what could've been a game losing decision... but geez there were several copping it here tonight. At times this thread resembled a game where we were getting pounded.

The win was off the back of about a dozen players.

23-07-2020, 11:03 PM

How he gets a game is beyond me

I feel sick!

People just comment their thoughts at the same time. Something happens, people comment.

If the jungle drums are beating hard enough about someone maybe there's something in that.

Take a bow, defenders.

JJ, Williams & Keath were particularly good.

Huge win for our season.
I have a man crush on Keath, gut jeez Crozier would be close to BOG. Daniel's ball use really stood out too.

23-07-2020, 11:05 PM
Bont saved the day! Go Dogs!

Five points in it.

Forty seconds left.

Static ball on the wing.

Stuff settling it down, milking the clock to wait for numbers then going a safe boundary contest, I'll just use my big brain to turn it over into the corridor.

Keep giving this bloke games though.

Our defense was just incredible. They deserve match payments from our forwards.

I still can’t get over Gowers decision. Either hold it up for longer or give it off to Smith all on his own. Seriously what a stupid footballer. Please Bevo never ever again

Gowers is such a dumb footballer. All he had to do was either pump it inside or chip it to Smith. Instead he tried to go to the middle and kicked it right down the throat of their defender.

23-07-2020, 11:06 PM
Keath was massive. He's a bloody good angry footballer

Seriously how good was that by Vandermeer with a minute to go???

What did he do?

GoWeRs WoNt CoSt Us ThE gAmE

I am very quiet and reserved as I watch the football but I just shouted "GOWERS!" in an absolute rage just then.

...phew. Williams and Vandermere played that last Suns forward entry beautifully.

*!*!*!*!ing hell Gowers.

I lost my shit with those HTB decisions late in the game against us, Gower just pushed me over the edge. Good result, we only played well in spurts and walked away with the win. In recent times we've been on the losing end of those.

GoWeRs WoNt CoSt Us ThE gAmE

Haha.

Haha Brown and Riewoldt can't stop themselves from laughing at Gowers mistake.

23-07-2020, 11:07 PM

I actually thought Billy was serviceable tonight battled hard. But gee wiz that kick. I had flash backs of a Brian fade. Love ya Billy.

5-3 after being smashed round 1 and 2. The losing another game by 52 points. I will take it.

We can now sit back watch GWS and Richmond smash the crap out of each other. Tigers need to travel and and have a days less rest. Bring it.

Was a call for some of the non-contributors to stand up and fair play to Richards and Young, they kicked the goals the were the difference in the end.

23-07-2020, 11:08 PM
What did he do?

3 on 1 on the wing. Didn't take possession but kept it in contest until it went out of bounds. If he took position they would have pinged him for HTB, if he bashed it out of bounds they would have pinged him for deliberate.

23-07-2020, 11:08 PM
What did he do?

What GMo said

23-07-2020, 11:10 PM
That last 90 seconds really makes clear who is mentally cut out for league footy and who isn’t.

We all know what the Bont’s capable of.

Thought Vandemeer was close to giving away some silly frees with niggle, but when asked to hold the ball up outnumbered on HB he was up to the task.

And then there’s Billy Gowers.....

Pretty lucky in the end, particularly with Rankine missing two very gettable goals in the last. Macrae is so good in these types of games.

Was a call for some of the non-contributors to stand up and fair play to Richards and Young, they kicked the goals the were the difference in the end.

Great goal by Richards. Kept his feet. Smart soccer finish.

*!*!*!*!ing hell Gowers.

The dog never normally moves from her bed at this time of night, she got up and went into the garage in the last quarter. That tells you how quiet I was!

I desperately wanted Billy to do something good, anything. Head in hands stuff.

Geez Vandermeer is a smart footballer. He is really blossoming as a player and has pace to break the lines.

How he gets a game is beyond me

Reading Bevo's lips that might not be an issue from here. Don't think he was our worst to be fair. First game for a while cant expect miracles I guess.

23-07-2020, 11:11 PM
3 on 1 on the wing. Didn't take possession but kept it in contest until it went out of bounds. If he took position they would have pinged him for HTB, if he bashed it out of bounds they would have pinged him for deliberate.

Yeah VDM did a great job in that contest. Extremely smart of an inexperienced kid playing his first season in the seniors.

Our defensive 6 were absolutely huge tonight. And not for the first time this season.

I hate games like that. In front all night and look like getting run over for the last 10 minutes of the match. I was counting every second. Effing exhausting. Abysmal commentary. So obviously wanting Suns to win.

Meritorious win. Vandermeer take a bow. Billy Gowers- you are running out of credits so if you get another chance you had better seize it.
Suns had 10 more inside 50s and - LOST! That's nice for a change.
Big shout out to the entire time particularly Macrae, Crozier, Daniel, Williams

23-07-2020, 11:12 PM
He won a 3 vs 1 on HBF through repeated efforts

Thanks. I only have an ordinary radio call.

Can someone explain what crap Gowers did at the end?

23-07-2020, 11:12 PM
I thought JJ was outstanding tonight. The phone call celebration topped it off.

23-07-2020, 11:13 PM
I actually thought Billy was serviceable tonight battled hard. But gee wiz that kick. I had flash backs of a Brian fade. Love ya Billy.
That is too generous. 8 disposals at 25% efficiency

I don't think he is up to this level. Just an ordinary VFL player

Thoughts on Keath tonight? Useful pick up for us? More than just an interceptor?

Don't like ever bagging any dogs players but Billy...

I watched him at every contest tonight and it's just like he is playing the game for the first time.

23-07-2020, 11:14 PM
Thanks. I only have an ordinary radio call.

Can someone explain what crap Gowers did at the end?

Marks the ball about 70 Metres out, open forward line, with some options, and kicks it straight to GC

23-07-2020, 11:15 PM

Agree-tried his guts out, great goal, run & dash and mostly good disposal. Presume he was not tagged tonight? His best game this year.

Thoughts on Keath tonight? Useful pick up for us? More than just an interceptor?

Good decision maker.

Great game. The whole backline was incredible

Marks the ball about 70 Metres out, open forward line, with some options, and kicks it straight to GC

Thanks.

Shanked kick or he tried to do that?

23-07-2020, 11:16 PM

Vital member of our defence. Clever, clutch, strong, dependable.

More than a useful pickup. A bargain.

More than just an interceptor. A genuine Key Defender

Smart, tough. Can defend. Unflappable. Makes good decisions. Total steal.

You know those stories of people who buy a $20 side table and find $10,000 in a drawer?

That probably sums up our trade for Alex Keath. I believe SA Police now have a warrant out for Sam Power's arrest for theft.

Libba had some crucial touches late. Just those 30-40m hooks down the line to give us territory. I reckon they'd find a Sherrin if they X-Rayed his head.

23-07-2020, 11:17 PM
You know those stories of people who buy a $20 side table and find $10,000 in a drawer?

That probably sums up our trade for Alex Keath. I believe SA Police now have a warrant out for Sam Power's arrest for theft.

Alex 'Antique Roadshow' Keath.

Good to get an ugly win when we looked like losing for the last ten minutes. Gold Coast are a good team, every vital umpiring decision seemed to go their way at key moments but we still found a way to win. I'm not big on "if onlys" but those losses v St Kilda and Carlton might be the difference between a top 4 position.

Thanks.

Tried to be cute, in the wet, by putting it in the corridor where a turnover could cost us the game.
I want Billy to make it but that was an absolute howler in both decision and execution.

Geez Vandermeer is a smart footballer. He is really blossoming as a player and has pace to break the lines.

Growing better than very game. So clever not to give away free kick and yet kind of keep control. Saw that and thought we can win this. Then there was Gowers kick...... Thank goodness for Bont and Woody.

Bont looks injured - a bit slow. Still did ok when it mattered.

23-07-2020, 11:18 PM
Gowers also missed a sealer from the goal square

23-07-2020, 11:19 PM
Whilst Bruce had a dirty game in terms of disposals there were a number of good efforts from him competing for the ball both in the air and on the ground. Thought he battled hard.

Yep. Liked his game tonight as well

Thanks.

He tried to go inbound because we had a guy on the opposite flank that was open. Instead it just went to the top of our 50 down the throat of Harbrow.

with under 60 seconds and 5 point margin<---that's important

23-07-2020, 11:20 PM
Defence bloody awesome love the last few involvements by Williams he has found the composure now.

Could be the difference between making finals, much to work on though.

23-07-2020, 11:21 PM
Gowers also missed a sealer from the goal square

No he didnt' he was on a massive tight angle, and had no time..

Can we please stop just smashing the bloke? There's some real relish to this, since pre-game...
He's not the first bloke to have an absolute mare.

23-07-2020, 11:22 PM

Often we complain of trades that go awry but geez we have scored a bargain in Keath. Your analogy sums it up beautifully

23-07-2020, 11:22 PM

In addition to his playing qualities he is the captain of the backline already. Takes a man, peels off and intercept marks, organises those around him, understands what the game plan is, where him and others fit in it and what he is trying to do. Pretty much the perfect modern day defender.

He's a great pickup.

23-07-2020, 11:23 PM
Tried to be cute, in the wet, by putting it in the corridor where a turnover could cost us the game.
I want Billy to make it but that was an absolute howler in both decision and execution.

I applauded his recruitment, and I reckon he’s played some decent games

But that was unacceptably stupid

Can we please stop just smashing the bloke? There's some real relish to this, since pre-game...

Agree. Let’s focus on the positive. We won the bloody game ;)

Nobody is smashing him. Stop being so defensive.

It was a terrible decision but more than that I don't think he brings anything to the table.

There was a period of time when he would use physicality as an asset, but now he's gone full Jake Stringer trying to sneak out the back and not have any impact.

It's not that he doesn't have the ability, it's that he doesn't seem to have it between the ears. Also I doubt he reads woof.

He's being criticised fairly. Agree with you about the goal though, he didn't have better options than to have that ping.

Yeah, in the end there's not much more to say about Billy. He doesn't pick the team and there's probably no one else feeling worse about that kick than him.

23-07-2020, 11:24 PM

He deliberately switched it from one side of the centre square to the other. He took about 5 seconds of his allotted time after taking the mark, with 40 seconds on the clock. He missed his target by 10m, while having a Bulldogs player on his own on the wing (and probably others behind the ball).

Options were:
1) pass to his unopposed teammate on the wing
2) hold the ball and look back to see if there are any defenders open (GC likely would have been rushing to flood back, and not worrying about man-on-man in our backline)
3) hold the ball until the last moment and bang it long to a contest on the boundary

4) switch it across the ground to the chest of a GC player

23-07-2020, 11:25 PM
Loved that 3rd quarter from JJ. Really got things going.

23-07-2020, 11:25 PM
I applauded his recruitment, and I reckon he’s played some decent games

But that was unacceptably stupid

Agree. His efforts throughout game were not up to it. What would Maclean and other wave thinking if he gets another game? I’ve seen enough.

Did anyone else think umps were about GC biased in last half of last quarter? Missed Wallis free kick, some questionable HTB against us. Maybe I’m paranoid?

23-07-2020, 11:27 PM

Well he missed it right? Didn’t say it was a sitter but it’s fairly regulation snap from that distance.

I’ll stop potting the guy as my frustration got the better of me but I don’t want him in the side again

23-07-2020, 11:27 PM

It was a terrible decision but more than that I don't think he brings anything to the table.

There was a period of time when he would use physicality as an asset, but now he's gone full Jake Stringer trying to sneak out the back and not have any impact.

It's not that he doesn't have the ability, it's that he doesn't seem to have it between the ears.

He's being criticised fairly. Agree with you about the goal though, he didn't have better options than to have that ping.

Its an incredible echo chamber of Billy bashing, to deny that is ridiculous. He wasnt that bad.
I'll not make more comment but remember this is a public forum and these guys are human. That kick was the release the hounds moment most had been baying for. He had 8 disposals yes, so did most other forwards.
Great win !

23-07-2020, 11:28 PM
The guy kicks it directly to the other side under no pressure in a five point game with guys out everywhere and we shouldn’t be angry with him?

23-07-2020, 11:28 PM

It's not that he doesn't have the ability, it's that he doesn't seem to have it between the ears.

Really..
Every mistake is being scrutinised, almost with relish..
Yep i yelled at the TV when he turned it over late..it was a shocker.
But pregame people were jumping on, sharpening knives.

Lots of blokes made bad errors tonight, and have done similar, but don't get the scrutiny Billy does, and not in the same way.
I was hoping to celebrate a tough win, in tough conditions agaibst3an increasingly tough opponent....
You'd think we got pumped .
I'm off camping tomorrow, happy for the win, enjoy the weekend.

23-07-2020, 11:29 PM
Also shout out to Nick Riewoldt for criticising Vandermeer for not spotting up his old teammate Bruce and instead opting for a perfect pass to Richards’ advantage that ended in a goal.

23-07-2020, 11:30 PM
Agree. His efforts throughout game were not up to it. What would Maclean and other wave thinking if he gets another game? I’ve seen enough.

Did anyone else think umps were about GC biased in last half of last quarter? Missed Wallis free kick, some questionable HTB against us. Maybe I’m paranoid?

Just because I think everyone is out to get us doesn't mean they're not.

23-07-2020, 11:30 PM
Also shout out to Nick Riewoldt for criticising Vandermeer for not spotting up his old teammate Bruce and instead opting for a perfect pass to Richards’ advantage that ended in a goal.

Given the way Brucey was mugging them all night, the kick to Richards was a much better decision.

23-07-2020, 11:31 PM
Just because I think everyone is out to get us doesn't mean they're not.

Ha Ha!!

23-07-2020, 11:34 PM
Given the way Brucey was mugging them all night, the kick to Richards was a much better decision.

Oh for sure, but it was a beautiful kick that Richards dropped. If it was a certain other player for the other side that commentary are trying to make me hate the three idiots would still be talking about it.

23-07-2020, 11:36 PM
I was pleased to see Porter get more involved in the contest in the final quarter. He seemed to adapt to the pace and pressure of the game as it went on, and I'm keen to see him get 2 or 3 matches to show his wares.

Cody had a disappointing second game, but that is to be expected.

Lachie Young needs to go back to half back in the scratch matches, and wait for an injury or player needing a rest. He looked lost forward of centre

Lipinski started poorly and looked to be running in mud at times. I wouldn't be surprised to see him out of the side next week (although he also improved as the game went on).

Backline were immense. Macrae, Libba and Bazlenka provide an amazing contest around the ball.

Fantastic win against the odds throughout the game. We gave ourselves a tough ask with selection, and probably didn't deserve the win, but it's nice to move to 5-3 and 3rd on the ladder!

23-07-2020, 11:37 PM
Richards' goal off the deck was superb.

23-07-2020, 11:38 PM
Its an incredible echo chamber of Billy bashing, to deny that is ridiculous. He wasnt that bad.
I'll not make more comment but remember this is a public forum and these guys are human. That kick was the release the hounds moment most had been baying for. He had 8 disposals yes, so did most other forwards.
Great win !

Maybe, and stay with me here, maybe Billy just isn't quite good enough. Maybe it's a defense mechanism. If I prepare myself to be let down, it'll hurt less.

Really..
Every mistake is being scrutinised, almost with relish..
Yep i yelled at the TV when he turned it over late..it was a shocker.
But pregame people were jumping on, sharpening knives.

Lots of blokes made bad errors tonight, and have done similar, but don't get the scrutiny Billy does, and not in the same way.
I was hoping to celebrate a tough win, in tough conditions agaibst3an increasingly tough opponent....
You'd think we got pumped .
I'm off camping tomorrow, happy for the win, enjoy the weekend.

Your definition of sharpening knives is different to mine. Much trepidation surrounded his selection and it was borne out. That's about it. Lots of bloke made plenty of mistakes sure, but nobody else made THAT mistake.

Anyway, don't forget the caveat that anything said in the game day thread is inadmissible in the court of law. I'm sure once the blood pressures drop it'll be discussed more objectively.

Enjoy the camping.

23-07-2020, 11:39 PM
It was the right decision - a one on one close to goal vs a kick to a KPF on a greasy night further out on a decent angle. Richards kicked it too as Vanders kick it to his advantage

23-07-2020, 11:49 PM
Maybe, and stay with me here
Cheers. That condescending attitude is uncalled for. I have had a bit to do with Billy, stay with me, he's a very capable human. Time for a break for me...!

23-07-2020, 11:54 PM

You're not paranoid, you're just worried about other paranoid people thinking you are!

23-07-2020, 11:55 PM
Cheers. That condescending attitude is uncalled for. I have had a bit to do with Billy, stay with me, he's a very capable human. Time for a break for me...!

Relax mate. Stay with us, everything is actually OK. Remember, it's the game day thread.

23-07-2020, 11:56 PM
Richards' goal off the deck was superb.

Agreed. And he did a few things tonight that might just get me off his back.

Hit a target or two that he hadn't previously, and that goal....was sublime body use and quick thinking and highly skilled.

24-07-2020, 12:00 AM
I actually thought Billy had endeavour tonight. Probably too kamikaze at times. Committed his body and crashed packs. Was lucky not to give away a few more free kicks. He is unpredictable. It was a hard night for a forward. I’m not ruling him out forever. But gee whiz, that last kick was stupid football.

24-07-2020, 12:01 AM
Relax mate. Stay with us, everything is actually OK. Remember, it's the game day thread.

Imagine if the ball was slingshot from half back all the way inside 50 and they kick the winning goal. Billy's lucky Bont worked back to take the settler.

24-07-2020, 12:03 AM
I reckon Ed did ok. He gives us something different. He’s never going to be a massive accumulator. Not sure if he’s in fwd line, not wing, at present? Gee I miss being at the games. Listening to The Morons is doing my head in.

24-07-2020, 12:08 AM

Yeah thought that too. Seemed suss

24-07-2020, 12:08 AM
For anyone feeling like Gowers is being unfairly maligned the coach himself just casually potted him in the post-game presser.

24-07-2020, 12:11 AM
I actually thought Billy had endeavour tonight. Probably too kamikaze at times. Committed his body and crashed packs. Was lucky not to give away a few more free kicks. He is unpredictable. It was a hard night for a forward. I’m not ruling him out forever. But gee whiz, that last kick was stupid football.

He is a dumb footballer. Undisciplined, fumbles, frequently lets the ball spill to the wrong side of the contest. Bites off more than he can chew, that last kick a case in point.

I don't enjoy piling on players. The only player I've ever really hated is Shaun Higgins. I don't hate Billy, he's a good lad. But he's also all the things above. It's like a compulsion, it's written in the stars that he will do something stupid with the footy.

Even his point was almost swept up coast to coast, could have kicked a match winner! A reverse King Midas.

Libba covered more ground than anyone tonight. He has come back so strong. Just immense again tonight. Always have faith when he is at the stoppage.

Agreed. And he did a few things tonight that might just get me off his back.

Hit a target or two that he hadn't previously, and that goal....was sublime body use and quick thinking and highly skilled.

There were some really good efforts from him. One in particular on the wing where he used his body to contest a mark, brought the ball to ground and beat two opponents to break free and handball to Porter, who was then able to kick long to the top of the goal square.

Bevo seems to like what Ed brings to the table. That goal was reward for his effort.

24-07-2020, 12:13 AM
For anyone feeling like Gowers is being unfairly maligned the coach himself just casually potted him in the post-game presser.

What did he say?

24-07-2020, 12:16 AM
We won guys. Let's talk about that.

I'm getting a bit sick of the pile onto Billy Gowers.

24-07-2020, 12:18 AM
I can't believe Bont took, and hit, the option of Wood on the boundary. A 50m kick that needed to be pinpoint to be marked, within 10% to get a throw-in and anything less probably intercepted and thrust back forward. It was sublime skill.

24-07-2020, 12:19 AM
Imagine if the ball was slingshot from half back all the way inside 50 and they kick the winning goal. Billy's lucky Bont worked back to take the settler.

Correcto mundo. I would have destroyed the lounge room.

24-07-2020, 12:19 AM
I can't believe Bont took, and hit, the option of Wood on the boundary. A 50m kick that needed to be pinpoint to be marked, within 10% to get a throw-in and anything less probably intercepted and thrust back forward. It was sublime skill.

Bont is the best kick in the league. Was an outstanding effort to mark the ball in the first place but was so relieved that he was the one that marked it because you just knew it was hitting a Bulldog chest far, far away.

24-07-2020, 12:24 AM

It was a completely audacious kick, which with the game on the line, only Bont would execute perfectly. I reckon if Bont tries that kick in the second quarter it doesn't come off....but with the game on the line he nails it. The bloke, well - kid really, he's 24 years old - how many times has he taken that sort of mark or made the big play for us? He's made the winning or saving play more times than any bulldog in my lifetime, and God/EJ willing, we get to watch him for 8-10 more years.

24-07-2020, 12:25 AM
I'll be honest, I didn't enjoy that game at all. It gave me the feeling that too much caffeine does.

24-07-2020, 12:27 AM
I'll be honest, I didn't enjoy that game at all. It gave me the feeling that too much caffeine does.

Like what you did there.

24-07-2020, 12:28 AM
How good was Wallis in that last quarter, just threw himself at the ball several times, pure desperation. One passage where the ball was in the middle of the ground and he had at least three efforts that kept the ball in dispute.

I felt our desperation in the last 10 minutes won us the game.

24-07-2020, 12:32 AM
How good was Wallis in that last quarter, just threw himself at the ball several times, pure desperation. One passage where the ball was in the middle of the ground and he had at least three efforts that kept the ball in dispute.

Wally is in fine form, showing his character in the way he plays. A great leader in the group.

24-07-2020, 12:34 AM
It was a completely audacious kick, which with the game on the line, only Bont would execute perfectly. I reckon if Bont tries that kick in the second quarter it doesn't come off....but with the game on the line he nails it. The bloke, well - kid really, he's 24 years old - how many times has he taken that sort of mark or made the big play for us? He's made the winning or saving play more times than any bulldog in my lifetime, and God/EJ willing, we get to watch him for 8-10 more years.

Real champion players win the big moments. That's what Bont does and I've never seen a player that wins as many of them as he does, not in our colours anyway. You can see it demoralise the opposition when he's loping to the contest.

The prelim against GWS was a masterclass in winning all the big moments that were going to sway the game.

24-07-2020, 12:35 AM
My last comment on the Gowers kick.

After watching it a bunch of times, I'm convinced he wasn't trying to hit Richards (who he missed by 5m). He was actually trying to kick it to Wood and missed him by a good 20m.

Check it out here: https://twitter.com/i/status/1286279891646730241

24-07-2020, 12:37 AM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/781347/dogs-shade-suns-in-a-thriller

Dogs shade Suns in a thriller
A gutsy finish in the wet, the Bulldogs held on for a five-point victory over the Gold Coast Suns at Metricon Stadium on Thursday night.

The Western Bulldogs have hung on to defeat the Gold Coast Suns in a heart-stopper at Metricon Stadium on Thursday night.

The Dogs led by as much as 14 points in the last quarter but the Suns surged late, with the margin inside a goal for a desperate final few minutes.

Two saving chest marks from skipper Marcus Bontempelli and Easton Wood in the last minute ensure the Dogs secured their second straight win, and fifth in their last six.

The game was played in greasy conditions and was low-scoring, but was an enthralling contest between two young and emerging teams.

The Bulldogs’ defence was outstanding, led by Caleb Daniel, Alex Keath and Hayden Crozier, which withstood some dangerous attacks by the Suns while providing plenty of drive and rebound.

Crozier’s first half was immense. He had 13 disposals and 10 intercept possessions (including four intercept marks) in the first two quarters.

Jack Macrae finished as the leading disposal winner on the ground with 29 (including seven clearances), while Daniel was at his brilliant best across half back with 25 touches.

Each of the Dogs’ goals came from individual sources, while Alex Sexton booted three majors for the Suns.

The Bulldogs led by two points at quarter time and survived a second quarter onslaught from the Suns to lead by the same margin at the long break.

Sexton’s third goal at the start of the third term gave the home side the lead, but the Dogs struck back with majors to Jason Johannisen and Mitch Wallis and the lead was extended to 10 points.

A goal from Brandon Ellis nearing three-quarter-time reduced the margin once more, but the Bulldogs made a move at the start of the final stanza with back-to-back majors from Ed Richards and Lachie Young – his first in AFL football.

Gold Coast pushed hard late, but the Dogs held on for a morale-boosting victory.

GOLD COAST 2.1 3.4 5.6 6.10 (46)
WESTERN BULLDOGS 2.3 3.6 5.8 7.9 (51)

GOALS
Gold Coast: Sexton 3, Ainsworth, Ellis, Rankine
Western Bulldogs: Smith, Liberatore, Johannisen, Lipinski, Wallis, Richards, Young

BEST
Gold Coast: Miller, Witts, Collins, Greenwood, Sexton, Swallow
Western Bulldogs: Daniel, Smith, Crozier, Macrae, Keath, Williams, Bontempelli

INJURIES
Gold Coast: Nil
Western Bulldogs: Nil

24-07-2020, 12:39 AM

It reminded me of the game against the Swans at SCG in 2015 when we won by 4 points. That win was the making of that team. I am confident when we look back on this game that we will think the same thing. You can have your fancy free flowing football but these wins are team oriented. We were desperate, we wanted to win for each other and this really showed in our efforts. Brilliant stuff.

24-07-2020, 12:42 AM

After watching it a bunch of times, I'm convinced he wasn't trying to hit Richards (who he missed by 5m). He was actually trying to kick it to Wood and missed him by a good 20m.

Ha you’re right. But dare we criticise it

24-07-2020, 12:46 AM
Forget Gowers, all the damn forwards were putrid tonight. We need Naughton and to a lesser extent Lloyd back in a bad way.

If we're just giving games away then let's see what Fergus has. We're trying to manufacture a third tall out of Suckling/Richards, lets see if the guy who can actually play the position can actually play the position.

24-07-2020, 12:48 AM
Like what you did there.

I have no idea what I did.

24-07-2020, 12:52 AM

I reckon it was a 'tweener. Half way through his ball drop he realised he'd *!*!*!*!ed up and panicked between two shit options.

It's immeasurably worse on replay than it was watching on live TV. An AFL standard player can't make those mistakes, and honestly, Gowers is an AFL standard player if his head is right. You don't kick almost thirty goals in a season if you're not.

So, what the actual *!*!*!*! is wrong with Billy Gowers? Is it just that he's a bit muddled between the ears?

24-07-2020, 12:52 AM
Forget Gowers, all the damn forwards were putrid tonight. We need Naughton and to a lesser extent Lloyd back in a bad way.

If we're just giving games away then let's see what Fergus has. We're trying to manufacture a third tall out of Suckling/Richards, lets see if the guy who can actually play the position can actually play the position.

Bevo playing forwards in the forward line?

24-07-2020, 12:56 AM

Oh my that's glorious.

On top of the GIF of Baz bleeding that Gowers ignored him.

On top of Richards pleading with Billy to settle it down before Billy goes yeah nah here you have it.

I'm no longer angry. I'm not even disappointed. Now I'm just enthralled.

24-07-2020, 12:59 AM

When you said the game gave you the feeling like when you have too much coffee. I read that as the game gave you the s#%^ts!

24-07-2020, 01:14 AM
When you said the game gave you the feeling like when you have too much coffee. I read that as the game gave you the s#%^ts!

Hahaha...….nah, that'd come later if I have had too much coffee but I get the point.

To me the game was just agitating all night, I couldn't enjoy it. Possibly it's because I was juggling work stuff throughout and I'm under pressure on that front. Or, we just went in with a team that was never going to be clean and wasn't going to match what I thought would be an enjoyable experience. I don't know.

I'm super happy with the win and think the replay will be better than the live experience.

24-07-2020, 01:24 AM

Yes, yes he did (without naming him, that wasn’t subtle)

24-07-2020, 01:28 AM
Oh my that's glorious.

On top of the GIF of Baz bleeding that Gowers ignored him.

On top of Richards pleading with Billy to settle it down before Billy goes yeah nah here you have it.

I'm no longer angry. I'm not even disappointed. Now I'm just enthralled.

I got stuck on that thread giggling for a while myself.

If he was going for Wood, a decent kick *might* have been a worse outcome...every chance to get spoiled from behind resulting in chaos with a loose ball in the middle.

I liken it to having flashbacks to me jumping off gorges into rivers as a kid now that as an adult I’m terrified of open heights. Didn’t ruin my weekend, but gee Billy you came close.

24-07-2020, 01:28 AM

The GIF above that - shit, that's amazing from Daniel.

24-07-2020, 01:32 AM
The GIF above that - shit, that's amazing from Daniel.

Yeah but what about all those times he was EXPOSED tonight?

24-07-2020, 01:50 AM
Libba covered more ground than anyone tonight. He has come back so strong. Just immense again tonight. Always have faith when he is at the stoppage.
Just finished watching the replay. Libba's stoppage work in the last qtr was off the charts. He won almost every single stoppage and gained so much valuable meterage for us. Stewie Dew mentioned how important his stoppage work was in his presser.

Love him.

24-07-2020, 01:52 AM
Bevo reaction to the Gowers moment https://twitter.com/sandellenburg/status/1286285768776773632?s=21

24-07-2020, 01:59 AM
So, what the actual *!*!*!*! is wrong with Billy Gowers? Is it just that he's a bit muddled between the ears?
He's the latest in a lineage of Bulldogs who, when they stuff up they do it spectacularly. He is simply carrying on that tradition from the likes of Peter Quill and Todd Curley.

On a serious note, I reckon he suffers from the red mist - he can't slow down his thought process when he has the ball, and his decison-making therefore becomes reckless. He's an instinctive player with generally poor instincts.

He was actually ok tonight before that shank. Was a bad night for forwards and he was far from the worst. But that kick and decision - wowsers. Glad it didn't cost us. We were well structured defensively, which is credit to the players, so in the event of the Gowers turnover we had the numerical advantage further up the ground.

24-07-2020, 02:01 AM
Just finished watching the replay. Libba's stoppage work in the last qtr was off the charts. He won almost every single stoppage and gained so much valuable meterage for us. Stewie Dew mentioned how important his stoppage work was in his presser.

Love him.

A massive admission of his value from an opposition coach. Essentially said you're watching the wrong mids....the guy you should be watching was Tom Liberatore.

As an aside, Dew is a very very reasonable guy. Sydney trained at my old home ground, long after I retired, but I was still boxing there at the Fairbairn Gym a team mate set up a few years ago, and our club let Sydney take over the ground to train one night. As I'd finished my boxing session Dew who was behind the goals near my car collecting balls the Sydney guys were kicking over the fence and I said straight up to him, given you've stopped training for this club, I reckon a nice way of saying thank you would be to give the club your training footballs.

He agreed that would be a nice thing to do, and a few days later I rocked up to that spot again and the lads had six yellow footies that were in excellent condition. Respect.

24-07-2020, 07:17 AM
Bevo reaction to the Gowers moment https://twitter.com/sandellenburg/status/1286285768776773632?s=21

Is he actually saying "F***ing Billy Gowers"?

24-07-2020, 07:20 AM

I don't think so. We don't even know what time the clip was from.

24-07-2020, 07:37 AM
Wow, so I had a brilliant night last night, yet a heart stopping night none the less!!

Last night I streamed a Nick Cave gig called Idiot Prayer, just him on a piano and signing a wide range of well known and some well not known songs and the gig finished at three quarter time. And Damn it was brilliant.

I don't have Kayo or Fox so I streamed the game on my iphone via the AFL app and boy I was happy right up until the shank with 45 seconds to go.

A few thoughts from the quarter four,

*Vandemeer's effort on the wing was magical. Posters have been critical of his ability to keep his feet and his strength over the ball. He keeps adding to his game week in week out.

*Alex Keith is one of the most self assured footballers going around - his ball handling in the wet is ridiculous.

*Woods marking efforts in the last were awesome - I think one he double grabbed in front of Rakein(?) and obviously when Bont hit him in the last quarter. In fact the whole defensive team seemed to go above and beyond

*Good to see Lachie Young kicking clutch goal (his first) in the wet, when clearly goals were a premium.

*Liberatore's touch in close and his clever, clever kicks down the line to gain meters and kill the contest at the same time

*Bontempelli's mark in the dying seconds and then to hit up Easton Wood on the boundary

*The run and desire of the whole team when we had our backs up against the wall in the last was extremely extremely pleasing

24-07-2020, 07:42 AM
I don't think so. We don't even know what time the clip was from.

It was from directly after the game as it says full time in the top left corner.

24-07-2020, 07:42 AM
I thought he was saying *%#k me dead.

Further down in that tweet how many of you Melbournians are going to cut up your Bont socks. :)

24-07-2020, 08:36 AM
Alex 'Antique Roadshow' Keath.

That's his moniker for mine.

24-07-2020, 09:06 AM

I'm pretty good at lip reading, I'm 90% sure those are the words his uttering.

Luke Darcy on Triple M in Melbourne this morning also had nothing nice to say about Billy Gowers and how pissed off he was with that kick.

Safe to say, I don't think anyone in Bulldogs management will want him playing next week.

24-07-2020, 09:13 AM

That's mostly because he was getting very little on offer from the players ahead of him.

24-07-2020, 09:29 AM
When they review the tape do you think they just show the Gowers clip first, have a laugh and then get it out of the way?

24-07-2020, 09:40 AM
When they review the tape do you think they just show the Gowers clip first, have a laugh and then get it out of the way?

After listening to Luke Darcy this morning and Bevo last night, I don't think so.

24-07-2020, 09:43 AM

Yes. It's so obvious what he should have done that it's not even a learning opportunity.

As stupid as it was, I sincerely hope that the staff and players are supporting Billy. He seems like a genuinely nice guy, who would take a mistake like that to heart.

24-07-2020, 09:44 AM
Yes. It's so obvious what he should have done that it's not even a learning opportunity.

As stupid as it was, I sincerely hope that the staff and players are supporting Billy. He seems like a genuinely nice guy, who would take a mistake like that to heart.
Good post.
He made a poor decision, late in the game, fatigued. He's still wearing red, white and blue.

24-07-2020, 09:58 AM

Bevo wasn't the only one. 100,000 supporters watching at home said the same thing.

24-07-2020, 09:58 AM

Yeah, I'd like to think that's the approach we're taking.

No one would be feeling worse about it than him, and in the end, all's well that ends well.

24-07-2020, 11:38 AM
And after watching the replay multiple times, it was a really poor call from Easton Wood in the corridor. As a leader, he should really have known better than to even consider giving Billy that option.

24-07-2020, 11:47 AM
Having slept on it, you can find one positive in that Billy presented as an option late on, which worked. If he’s any chance to sustain a league career he just needs to learn from what he did next.

From his earlier efforts, it seemed he was given instruction to crash packs and provide a physical presence, which is something outside of Bruce the forward line has lacked. On a dry day, he may have had more impact.

I’ll back him in if he’s picked next week (weather depending) but don’t think he will be

24-07-2020, 12:07 PM

I want you to always, always comment like this re Daniel. Don't lose the flame.

24-07-2020, 12:20 PM
I want you to always, always comment like this re Daniel. Don't lose the flame.

The public opinion of him is a joke. He's easily one of the All Australian back pockets this season but some would genuinely have you believe he's the reason we won't win big games because haha small man can't mark ball brrr.

24-07-2020, 12:28 PM
Agree Daniel is underappreciated. He can get done once in a marking contest and all of a sudden the commentators are banging on about how he's being exposed and teams are taking advantage.....

His footy IQ is really only matched by Pendles. It's off the charts and his ball use (as we know) is first rate.

My only question at times is if we could do with him playing further up the ground, delivering into F50 because our entries can be a mess.

24-07-2020, 12:38 PM
And after watching the replay multiple times, it was a really poor call from Easton Wood in the corridor. As a leader, he should really have known better than to even consider giving Billy that option.

I'm pretty sure Wood is directing him to go wide with his left arm, like he should be.

24-07-2020, 12:40 PM
Daniel has always had far more success competing aerially than he has any right to. Sure put him one on one with a good tall forward and he'll get outmarked more often than not but against anyone sub 193cm he'll normally kill the contest if he has to.

Even as a mid we'd often kick to him in situations where he had to stand his ground and take a hit to mark the ball and he'd always do it.

24-07-2020, 12:42 PM
The public opinion of him is a joke. He's easily one of the All Australian back pockets this season but some would genuinely have you believe he's the reason we won't win big games because haha small man can't mark ball brrr.

He's an absolute jet. The more people dismiss him the more they don't take him killing them seriously, and I'm ok with that.

Agree Daniel is underappreciated. He can get done once in a marking contest and all of a sudden the commentators are banging on about how he's being exposed and teams are taking advantage.....

His footy IQ is really only matched by Pendles. It's off the charts and his ball use (as we know) is first rate.

My only question at times is if we could do with him playing further up the ground, delivering into F50 because our entries can be a mess.

I've said it before, and others have said it also, but he's actually an excellent one on one defender all things considered. He's mastered the art of applying body pressure in an aerial contest without giving away a free.

Sure, he might get caught one out occasionally (and he's hardly on his own there anyway) but I think that's more to do with a system breakdown than anything else.

24-07-2020, 12:47 PM
I'm pretty sure Wood is directing him to go wide with his left arm, like he should be.

Wood is the one in the middle with both arms waving in the air.

Richards is the one madly waving to go wide.

24-07-2020, 12:52 PM
Wood is the one in the middle with both arms waving in the air.

Richards is the one madly waving to go wide.

Oh shit yeah...….not smart.

24-07-2020, 12:55 PM
I thought Woods arms were telling him to slow down.

Anyway on a better note there is this
https://www.facebook.com/356560647486/posts/10158386978802487/?d=null&vh=e

24-07-2020, 12:56 PM

That was superb and I'm glad it's being recognised.

24-07-2020, 01:17 PM

Also great effort by Williams keeping his feet. He does it a second time either shortly before or after this as well in another crucial contest.

24-07-2020, 02:38 PM
I know its only very temporary....but its nice to be 3rd on the ladder. Probably around 6th at the end of the round - but it sure beats being a chance to drop as low as 13th or 14th. Amazing what one straight kick from the Suns could have done to our ladder positioning, finals prospects, confidence going into a tough run, and all of our Friday & weekends....

24-07-2020, 02:41 PM
I know its only very temporary....but its nice to be 3rd on the ladder. Probably around 6th at the end of the round - but it sure beats being a chance to drop as low as 13th or 14th. Amazing what one straight kick from the Suns could have done to our ladder positioning, finals prospects, confidence going into a tough run, and all of our Friday & weekends....

Now we can sit pack and hope GWS pummels Richmond into the dust :)

24-07-2020, 02:47 PM

And I don’t see the point of having him do the kick in. I saw Williams do a kick-in that put the ball close to the centre line. If we had a plan to get it into Daniel’s hands out there I’m sure we would have a more effective forward line. At the moment most of our scoring is not coming from structured forward play.

24-07-2020, 03:29 PM
And I don’t see the point of having him do the kick in. I saw Williams do a kick-in that put the ball close to the centre line. If we had a plan to get it into Daniel’s hands out there I’m sure we would have a more effective forward line. At the moment most of our scoring is not coming from structured forward play.

Daniel has the skill to hit a 30m pass in the backline, to a player who can then send the second kick beyond the centre circle, or turn and run to break the lines. He is also very capable of the quick play on and 45-50m kick which gets the ball 60-70m away, when there are no other options.

I like having one of our smartest players taking the kick ins.

24-07-2020, 03:36 PM

My only concern is our percentage.

24-07-2020, 03:37 PM
Daniel has the skill to hit a 30m pass in the backline, to a player who can then send the second kick beyond the centre circle, or turn and run to break the lines. He is also very capable of the quick play on and 45-50m kick which gets the ball 60-70m away, when there are no other options.

I like having one of our smartest players taking the kick ins.

He was ranked as the best kick in the AFL by champion data. We are also the number one team to go coast to coast - so I don't have any issues at all.

24-07-2020, 07:17 PM
Just watched the replay and I thought Bruce was bad with his love affair with Carey but OMG the love for GC by Dwayne, Riewoldt and Brown was incredible , every player is a champion and every time one of their players got the ball their voices raised to Dame Nellie proportions, when we got it it was a low disappointing voice over.
They were willing GC home like they had a million on them.
Must say I did found it funny when the GC player apparently pointed out he didn’t touch the ball that went through for a goal but Dwayne knew better ?
Terrible one sided commentary.

24-07-2020, 07:40 PM
Also great effort by Williams keeping his feet. He does it a second time either shortly before or after this as well in another crucial contest.

HD, make sure you check out the Western Bulldogs post on Instagram of the the Vandameer bit of play and look at someones response to a comment left by 7afl. Absolute gold.

24-07-2020, 07:52 PM

That'd be all that coffee. Probably.

Last night I streamed a Nick Cave gig called Idiot Prayer, just him on a piano and signing a wide range of well known and some well not known songs and the gig finished at three quarter time. And Damn it was brilliant.

I've been watching Nick Cave since the '80s and have all sorts of war stories. I can still remember where I was the first time I heard Release the Bats because that song changed my life and I didn't think I could have idolised him any more more than I did when I was younger but damn almighty he has grown into the preeminent Australian song writer/musician. Each album is almost perfect but then the next release is even better.

As a matter of interest did you know that Graeme Richmond the man who put together those Richmond premiership teams in the 60s and 70s was the manager/licensee of the Crystal Ballroom in St Kilda where the Birthday Party used to play? No Richo=no Birthday Party= no Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds!

Now we can sit pack and hope GWS pummels Richmond into the dust :)

Yeah, nah. Don't know how to feel about this one.

Just watched the replay and I thought Bruce was bad with his love affair with Carey but OMG the love for GC by Dwayne, Riewoldt and Brown was incredible , every player is a champion and every time one of their players got the ball their voices raised to Dame Nellie proportions, when we got it it was a low disappointing voice over.
They were willing GC home like they had a million on them.
Must say I did found it funny when the GC player apparently pointed out he didn’t touch the ball that went through for a goal but Dwayne knew better ?
Terrible one sided commentary.

How was that with Dwayne? THE PLAYER HIMSELF SAID HE DIDN'T TOUCH IT but Dwayne was ready to leave his commentary position and run onto the ground to overrule him.

24-07-2020, 08:01 PM

Williams' effort to beat two GC players and knock the ball out of their attacking zone is pretty good too.

24-07-2020, 08:35 PM

It was wonderful by Williams, composure, smart thinking. I really rated his game. Vanda has the right stuff. I thought he’d be overtaken in that contest, his legs looked heavy, but he just willed himself through.

24-07-2020, 10:48 PM
HD, make sure you check out the Western Bulldogs post on Instagram of the the Vandameer bit of play and look at someones response to a comment left by 7afl. Absolute gold.

My initial response was to assume it was you, but now I’ve checked and it is not. Never forget.

24-07-2020, 11:16 PM
My initial response was to assume it was you, but now I’ve checked and it is not. Never forget.

The comment I saw was Biggs saying “this is a cute video of Nathan Vanderberg”

25-07-2020, 10:42 AM

"If they are out to get you are you still paranoid"

I certainly felt like they were caught up in the Gold Coast are coming good excitement. Perhaps that is just how the human animal reacts.

The free kick count was 18 all, which proves we were dudded. We apparently "always" win the free kick count:D

25-07-2020, 01:49 PM

Yep. I only read it the next day or later. It's hilarious.

25-07-2020, 02:02 PM
My only concern is our percentage.

Not a problem. We just keep on winning. :)

25-07-2020, 02:02 PM
True if we can knock of 2 of Port, Lions, Tigers we will be very well positioned.

25-07-2020, 02:03 PM
Yep. I only read it the next day or later. It's hilarious.

Sage advice!

25-07-2020, 02:07 PM
Sage advice!

To be honest I don't have time to post during the game. Just enthralled in it. Cheers for those that do.

25-07-2020, 02:29 PM
The comment I saw was Biggs saying “this is a cute video of Nathan Vanderberg”

And so he is named henceforth.

25-07-2020, 04:03 PM
That's his moniker for mine.
To me Keath is 'The Answer' (42)

25-07-2020, 04:14 PM
To me Keath is 'The Answer' (42)

Ex Corvid 20

27-07-2020, 06:44 AM
COACHES VOTES:

Gold Coast Suns v Western Bulldogs

10 – Jack Macrae (WB)
4 – Alex Keath (WB)
4 – Jarrod Witts (GC)
3 – Bailey Smith (WB)
3 – Hayden Crozier (WB)
3 – Touk Miller (GC)
2 – Sam Collins (GC)
1 – Caleb Daniel (WB)

27-07-2020, 10:46 AM
COACHES VOTES:

Gold Coast Suns v Western Bulldogs

10 – Jack Macrae (WB)
4 – Alex Keath (WB)
4 – Jarrod Witts (GC)
3 – Bailey Smith (WB)
3 – Hayden Crozier (WB)
3 – Touk Miller (GC)
2 – Sam Collins (GC)
1 – Caleb Daniel (WB)

Interesting spread of votes. To break it down further.

Both coaches gave Macrae 5.
One coach gave Keath 4, the other zero.
One coach gave Witts 4, the other zero.

For Smith, Crozier and Miller - two of these players wre given 3 by one coach and zero by the other. And one of these players got a 2 and a 1.
Sam Collins got 2 from one coach, zero from the other.

And Caleb got a 1, from one coach, zero from the other.

So the coaches have only agreed on Macrae, and one of Smith/Crozier/Miller - to both award votes too.

Unusual for the coaches to be that far apart.

27-07-2020, 10:48 AM
Pretty sure Witts got votes from Dew for his tagging job on English. Interesting that Bevo didn't see it that way, but we know his feelings about both taggers and ruckman!

27-07-2020, 10:53 AM
The most striking thing for me watching the game is that both teams fortunes ebbed and flowed with the conditions. All of our best patches came when the drizzle went away and it dried up enough for us to be able to link up and change direction with our ball movement. The second that became impossible our lack of true forwards made it hard for us to move the ball down the line.

Bevo has done some puzzling things this year but being 5-3 with this team says to me that we have an outstanding coach. His ability to adjust from week to week and within games is elite as far as the coaches in this competition go. Adjustments within qtrs and understanding of what we are trying to achieve is absolutely outstanding at the moment.

Like everyone else I am enjoying the chemisty between the back 6 at the moment. I think the success of this group is limiting the flexibility for our forward line because we do not want to disturb their momentum. Bigger tests to come for them and we are still reliant on what happens in other parts of the field but we have some reliable personnel down there.

Suckling- I have never liked him as a forward but particularly deep. I thought we may have originally played him in that forward role after we failed to capitalise or even fire shots on goal from our myriad of inside 50 or close to inside 50 possessions against Carlton. I like him higher where he can take advantage of those half chances that most of our mids or forwards just handball on to the next guy.

Wallis- Feel like he isn't far away from having a day out particularly when we get some support back in the side for him. Scary to think that he has the best forward craft skills of our forwards at the moment. Knows when to push off, kniws when to engage and identifies space really well. Far from perfect in the role but you can see how much work he has done on it. Some of his snaps this season he would have handballed backwards last year so he has worked on this as well.

Bont- Bit happening with Bont at the moment, teams really trying to make sure he cant be on the move at stoppages but he isn't himself and hasn't been all year. Desperately need him back at his best but he is still finding ways to contribute and his team ethic and work rate cant be questioned.

Crozier- Has actually gone to another level in his last few games. I questioned whether he had enough impact to play the zone off role previously but he is at the peak of his powers right now and getting caught with the ball less.

Young- Agree with general sentiment that we are trying to squeeze him in to a roll that he isn't suited but he really has something. Some of the play he produced on Thursda, you can just tell that he is going to find a role somewhere. To me he looks much more comfortable behind the footy but he has some great qualities. He is quite long and not many people could have produced the handball he gave to put put Vandermeer??? into space.

Richards- Letting himself down with 1-2 actions a week interspersed with moments of obvious improvement. Will keep his feet and hit a contest hard when the week before he failed and then will revert in another contest. Does something with great poise with ball in hand and then butchers it the next time. There is clear signs of improvement.

Vandermeer- Keeps finding a way to make himself useful. In the forward half purely to provide leg speed you get the feeling. He is a natural half back flanker from everything I had seen previously so doing well to keep contributing. Needs to work on contests skills and I am sure he is.

Lipinski- 3 times he didn't bend over to pick up the ball which was disappointing. He is better than that and we need him to be. No room in our game plan for double grabs or letting the ball go through your legs.

Gowers- Putting aside the error at the end I just didn't think he competed hard enough at ground level or defensively. You might as well play the second tall as he hasn't impacted in the air or been able to provide any additional pressure that you expect from someone his size and shape. In attack I dont think his footy mind works quickly enough to suit our style of play. We had several instances we actually got involved but didnt release quick enough and dneied us of a surge forward.

English- Thought he should have abandoned trying to help defenders and pushed forward more aggressively or even tried to create an outlet. Cant just let Witts sit on him and I think Bevo did a lot to try and gain an advantage out of it in other ways. We will be prepared the next time this happens I think.

Bruce- Working really hard but his craft is off. Engaging the defender at the wrong times and pushing off at the wrong times. The wet should really suit him as he is really hard to get around. Had a few that he should have just protected the space and taken a chest marlk. Happy with his team ethic and general work rate.

Libba and Macrae- Their game sense, clean hands and general nouse is driving this team at the moment. Libba is our best user and Macrae has had a huge month.

Porter- To me he needs to make it as a mid. Did some brave things in the second half and really cracked in to earn himself some further opportunities. Thought he was a bit timid early which is against what we have seen at other levels so possibly just had a bit of stage fright.

27-07-2020, 11:04 AM
Nice summary DT, agree with pretty much all of it.

Our forward line is a puzzle at the moment and you're right, props to Bevo for somehow making the machine work despite 1 third of the ground being effectively dysfunctional.

27-07-2020, 11:59 AM
Lipinski- 3 times he didn't bend over to pick up the ball which was disappointing. He is better than that and we need him to be. No room in our game plan for double grabs or letting the ball go through your legs.

I noticed in a few games, players are reluctant to bend over for the fear of being tackled and giving away a HTB. This was really evident yesterday when I watched the last quarter of Crows v Bombres.

27-07-2020, 12:30 PM
I noticed in a few games, players are reluctant to bend over for the fear of being tackled and giving away a HTB. This was really evident yesterday when I watched the last quarter of Crows v Bombres.

Disincentivizing going for the pill.

Take a bow AFEL.

27-07-2020, 12:59 PM

Sorry BAD but aren't you a proponent of getting rid of prior opportunity? This is what it would look like. Goes against the very essence of the game - win the ball.

27-07-2020, 01:04 PM
Sorry BAD but aren't you a proponent of getting rid of prior opportunity? This is what it would look like. Goes against the very essence of the game - win the ball.

Full agree. I want to see our boys hunting the ball and it will be a shame if it gets coached and officiated out of the game

27-07-2020, 01:07 PM

Any reason that the player cant kick or tap the ball forward?

27-07-2020, 01:17 PM

Of course not but do we want to see a lot of scrimmages like that?

27-07-2020, 01:30 PM
A couple of Lipinskis efforts were in relative space he just didn’t bend with any conviction to take it one grab.

27-07-2020, 01:40 PM

There are times where that is a smart play but I don't ever want to see that as a default position because players are worried that by taking possession of the ball and being instantly tackled they may give away a free. Will look like a game of little league.

Do you seriously want to discourage players from getting the ball?

27-07-2020, 02:14 PM
There are times where that is a smart play but I don't ever want to see that as a default position because players are worried that by taking possession of the ball and being instantly tackled they may give away a free. Will look like a game of little league.

Precisely, let's just reduce contested situations to players engaging in chains of volleyball spikes. We're edging closer to the mocking 'aerial ping pong' jibes of yore.

The game's long celebrated blokes who were prepared to put their head over it, burrow to the bottom of a pack and extract to advantage from the mess with vision and guts.

Imagine Scott West or Libba the Elder approaching a loose ball with a bloke on their clacker and being forced to think shit, whatever I do I'd better not grab it.

27-07-2020, 02:24 PM
Wasn't the prior opportunity rule brought in during the mid 90s though? We need a rules historian.
I am not sure it's the answer (to remove) but I think players will still attack the footy and try and possess it and back themselves to effectively dispose before being tackled. There is nothing worse than a chain of tackles with the ball just being constantly knocked out and held in.

27-07-2020, 02:27 PM

Whenever a rule is changed or introduced there are consequences that the AFL never think about or think through before making a rule change. What has happened in the past few years (or longer) is when players are going for the ball, and they are about to be tackled, instead of trying to get rid of the ball, they hold it into their chest as hard as possible in order to force a stoppage. Some teams, like us, are good at stoppages, so it is an advantage, however, it creates congestion as all the players converge on the stoppage.

In the past you had players like Diesel Williams, Terry Wallace, who were in and under players and went for the ball even though there wasn't a prior opportunity rule. No one wants to discourage players attacking the ball, but if you are about to be tackled, then punch the ball, paddle it along.

I think some players are now totally confused because the interpretation has changed mid season and players are not sure what to do.

Another major stuff up by the AFL who really make things up as they go along.

Wasn't the prior opportunity rule brought in during the mid 90s though? We need a rules historian.
I am not sure it's the answer (to remove) but I think players will still attack the footy and try and possess it and back themselves to effectively dispose before being tackled. There is nothing worse than a chain of tackles with the ball just being constantly knocked out and held in.

Yes it was in the mid 90s

27-07-2020, 03:11 PM

The situation you are describing is what we see at the moment in my honest opinion and its because of the current rules.

Players are confident that they can win a ball up so they just grab the ball and wait to be tackled.

Prior opportunity is a relatively new rule, players have never been discouraged from getting the ball. They can pick it up and handball quickly, they can tap it along the ground, they can kick it further. They still have loads of options.

27-07-2020, 03:44 PM

The previous prior opportunity just created scrimmages.

I want the game to be moving not scrums and ball ups.

Get the thing out and move.

So the sequence should be

Attack the ball
Be aware of what is around
Dispose of it at first option (can be tap on) unless clear space.
If tackled
Is tackle legal - So many In The Back and High are not being called
If tackle is legal - did the player with the ball have any opportunity before tackle or is the ball free of the tackle onus to move the ball on.

If tackle instantaneous (or near to) before any opportunity AND held in Then and only Then is it a ball up.

27-07-2020, 04:03 PM
I can't remember any major change to the holding the ball rule in my footy playing/watching lifetime.

According to this the prior opportunity rule essentially was introduced in 1986, albeit under a different name.

The next and last major change to the holding the ball rule was the introduction of the 'prior opportunity' rule. The rule was initially introduced in 1986 and known as the "perfect tackle rule": tackling a player who had an opportunity to dispose of the ball before being tackled was defined as a perfect tackle, and the provision for a perfectly tackled player to have a reasonable time to dispose of the ball before being penalised was eliminated. The rule was introduced to speed up the game. This later became the modern 'prior opportunity' rule in 1996, and it was the first time that different holding the ball interpretations had been applied on the basis of what had taken place before the tackle was laid.

I certainly don't recall any major change to the rule in the mid 90s, and am not old enough to remember the impact of the rule change in 86.

27-07-2020, 04:16 PM
The previous prior opportunity just created scrimmages.

I want the game to be moving not scrums and ball ups.

Get the thing out and move.

So the sequence should be

Attack the ball
Be aware of what is around
Dispose of it at first option (can be tap on) unless clear space.
If tackled
Is tackle legal - So many In The Back and High are not being called
If tackle is legal - did the player with the ball have any opportunity before tackle or is the ball free of the tackle onus to move the ball on.

If tackle instantaneous (or near to) before any opportunity AND held in Then and only Then is it a ball up.

Does either option achieve utopia?

I don't like players hanging around waiting for someone else to go and get the ball so they can tackle them and try and milk a free kick. We should be rewarding the people who are hunting the ball. That should be the whole principle of the game

27-07-2020, 04:18 PM
I can't remember any major change to the holding the ball rule in my footy playing/watching lifetime.

According to this the prior opportunity rule essentially was introduced in 1986, albeit under a different name.

I certainly don't recall any major change to the rule in the mid 90s, and am not old enough to remember the impact of the rule change in 86.

1996 was when they started interpreting the rule as is up to this year - you quoted it:

This later became the modern 'prior opportunity' rule in 1996, and it was the first time that different holding the ball interpretations had been applied on the basis of what had taken place before the tackle was laid.

Started off okish in the 90s, but then in the 2000s, players have been instructed to just hold on to the ball and not let go in the tackle and causing a ball up and congestion.

BUT

The interpretation shouldn't change mid year - players are now confused. I have heard a few interviewed and they are saying just that.

27-07-2020, 04:20 PM
1996 was when they started interpreting the rule as is up to this year - you quoted it:

This later became the modern 'prior opportunity' rule in 1996, and it was the first time that different holding the ball interpretations had been applied on the basis of what had taken place before the tackle was laid.

Started off okish in the 90s, but then in the 2000s, players have been instructed to just hold on to the ball and not let go in the tackle and causing a ball up and congestion.

BUT

The interpretation shouldn't change mid year - players are now confused. I have heard a few interviewed and they are saying just that.

That's not what it says - the change was in 1986. The perfect tackle rules takes into account what happens before the tackle is laid, as does prior opportunity. Sounds essentially the same to me.

27-07-2020, 04:23 PM
That's not what it says - the change was in 1986. The perfect tackle rules takes into account what happens before the tackle is laid, as does prior opportunity. Sounds essentially the same to me.

I read it as 1996 when the interpretation changed?

EDIT - I can't see where 1986 comes into it as an actual change.

see: https://www.afl.com.au/about-afl/history/rule-changes

Also: https://themongrelpunt.com/afl-season-2019/2019/08/21/a-history-of-rule-changes/

27-07-2020, 04:24 PM

Ah that's interesting thanks for that. I had a brief look through this one and it only mentions 1996. I can't recall the terminology prior opportunity before this time, but as you've elucidated there is was called a perfect tackle.

https://www.afl.com.au/about-afl/history/rule-changes

27-07-2020, 04:26 PM

Thanks for posting, Axe Man.

The change to prior opp has been ruthlessly exploited by defensive coaches, in particular the pariah of the modern game Paul Roos and his proteges Ross Lyon and John Longmire. Giving players prior opportunity has resulted in them being expertly coached to take the tackle, create additional congestion and work towards multiple stoppages, especially if they have good ruckmen. The time to address this was in the mid 00's when Roos first set about destroying the aesthetic of the game - today, players are so good at defensive actions and tackling techniques, it requires the complete removal of prior opp to get rid of congestion around the ball and reduce the number of stoppages. But even then it won't work on its own unless umpires also get rid of nominating rucks. They also need to throw it up immediately and also call ball up straight away in a 50/50 situation instead of hovering around for a few seconds to see if a player disposes of the ball. We also need to ensure the tackler is not infringing on the player with the ball - there are far too many 'in the backs' not being paid because umps are instructed to focus on the player with the ball getting rid of it and not on the actual tackler. The grey area on prior opp is simply too difficult now to adjudicate on when there are so many bodies in the coalface, so we need to remove the grey area IMO. Players and coaches will adjust within a week.

In addition to prior opp, the best defence against stoppages, congestion and low scoring is continuous movement of the ball - we need to reduce all static situations that plague our game, which are not just the stoppages. I would also reduce time for a player to dispose of the ball after a mark in general play to no more than 5 seconds - players hold onto the ball for an eternity until they are eventually called play on. I would also increase length of a kick to 20 or even 25 metres - the short chipping game is boring as hell and rarely moves the ball forward.

Finally, umps need to be red hot on the scragging around the ball at stoppages. What happened to Cripps on the weekend should never be acceptable and needs to be paid a free kick against every single time. That tactic is a by-product of increased stoppages and congestion, and also of umpires taking too long to ball up/throw up/nominate ruckmen.

If continuous ball movement is increased through the above mechanisms, teams will have no choice but to structure up positionally and not all around the ball.

27-07-2020, 04:30 PM
Does either option achieve utopia?

I don't like players hanging around waiting for someone else to go and get the ball so they can tackle them and try and milk a free kick. We should be rewarding the people who are hunting the ball. That should be the whole principle of the game

I do agree that we should be rewarding those that attack the ball and that is why we should be seeing more frees for illegal tackles.

However, we cannot have players just holding the ball in for a ball up.

I would prefer to see a doubtful disposal let go as a genuine attempt rather than allowing them to just hold it in.

My belief is that Genuine Attempt should replace Prior Opportunity.

So we would have
Illegal Tackle - Free Kick
Legal Tackle - Failed to take option - Free Kick
Legal Tackle - Incorrect Disposal - Free Kick (ie Throw)
Legal Tackle - Genuine attempt - ball comes free - Play On
Legal Tackle - Genuine attempt - Ball held in - Ball Up
Legal Tackle - Arms and Ball Pinned - Impossible for disposal - Ball Up

27-07-2020, 04:32 PM
What happened to Cripps on the weekend should never be acceptable and needs to be paid a free kick against every single time.

Carlton are great whinges but they do it all the time, they held on to The Bont throughout the whole game when we played them. Bont is constantly held by every player, especially guys like De Boer. Agree it should be a free kick, but also hard to pick up when the umpire is concentrating on the ball up.

27-07-2020, 04:35 PM
I do agree that we should be rewarding those that attack the ball and that is why we should be seeing more frees for illegal tackles.

However, we cannot have players just holding the ball in for a ball up.

I would prefer to see a doubtful disposal let go as a genuine attempt rather than allowing them to just hold it in.

My belief is that Genuine Attempt should replace Prior Opportunity.

So we would have
Illegal Tackle - Free Kick
Legal Tackle - Failed to take option - Free Kick
Legal Tackle - Incorrect Disposal - Free Kick (ie Throw)
Legal Tackle - Genuine attempt - ball comes free - Play On
Legal Tackle - Genuine attempt - Ball held in - Ball Up
Legal Tackle - Arms and Ball Pinned - Impossible for disposal - Ball Up

Another thing that has crept in is just passing the ball across to a team mate, like Rugby. That is an incorrect disposal, but then what do you do if your team mate snatches it out of your hands.

27-07-2020, 04:41 PM
That tactic is a by-product of increased stoppages and congestion, and also of umpires taking too long to ball up/throw up/nominate ruckmen

Great post. Ruck nominations, I still can't believe this is a part of our game and sometimes you'll have the umpire screaming "no bulldogs no bulldogs!" because somebody failed to put up their hand. Mark Evans brought that rule in with the flimiest of evidence "to encourage recruitment of tall players" or something ...mein gott.

27-07-2020, 04:42 PM
Another thing that has crept in is just passing the ball across to a team mate, like Rugby. That is an incorrect disposal, but then what do you do if your team mate snatches it out of your hands.

Incorrect disposal is Incorrect disposal and should be treated as such.

27-07-2020, 04:44 PM
Carlton are great whinges but they do it all the time, they held on to The Bont throughout the whole game when we played them. Bont is constantly held by every player, especially guys like De Boer. Agree it should be a free kick, but also hard to pick up when the umpire is concentrating on the ball up.
Agreed, all teams do it (some more than others) but I was only referencing the most recent example being Cripps against North on the weekend. Teams only do this because they are allowed to get away with it.

27-07-2020, 04:59 PM
I read it as 1996 when the interpretation changed?

EDIT - I can't see where 1986 comes into it as an actual change.

see: https://www.afl.com.au/about-afl/history/rule-changes

Also: https://themongrelpunt.com/afl-season-2019/2019/08/21/a-history-of-rule-changes/

I don't know, perhaps 1986 was just an interpretation change. Perhaps someone just made it up and put it on wiki?

My point is I don't recall a major change in the mid 90s that seems to be have been suggested by a few on here. Perhaps there was and I just don't remember it.

Also from my readings it seems the change was previously you could have had the ball for an eternity, but once tackled you still had to receive a reasonable allowance from the umpire to dispose of it. Prior opportunity made it necessary to dispose of it immediately. Again I think the change is being misrepresented by some on here to you can now just grab the ball and if there is no prior do nothing and get a ball up. I'm not sure that is how it went down.

27-07-2020, 05:04 PM
Thankyou Sedat that was perfectly put and encapsulates many of the problems in the game.