View Full Version : Three things you have learned Round 7 v the Bombres.

17-07-2020, 07:56 PM
Tell us what you know now that you didn't know at 7.40 before the game against the Same Old Scumbags.

17-07-2020, 11:32 PM
1. Bailey Williams keeps building and is looking like he belongs more and more as both third man up and also with his run and carry game.

2. Matt Suckling is still best 22.

3. We still need to find a solution for when English is off the ground especially in the middle

17-07-2020, 11:53 PM
1. English with another 10kg could be the best all round ruckman in the Afl.
2. Jack Macrae is an unassuming player who often goes unnoticed in the accolades but is simply AA standard.
3. Playing the young blokes brings the team energy, enthusiasm and speed.

17-07-2020, 11:55 PM
1. Who would have thought picking a genuine forward pocket and playing them in the forward pocket would have worked.

2. English is ahead of the curve in his development. He'll have poor games this year, we have to persevere.

3. We're desperate for a genuine second wingman. A rookie-lister who has never played there before isn't the answer.

17-07-2020, 11:58 PM
1. English with another 10kg could be the best all round ruckman in the Afl.
2. Jack Macrae is an unassuming player who often goes unnoticed in the accolades but is simply AA standard.
3. Playing the young blokes brings the team energy, enthusiasm and speed.

Not sure we’d want to lose his amazing ability to cover the ground.

We keep trying to compare him to other ruckman, but he’s something very hard to categorise.

18-07-2020, 12:29 AM
Not sure we’d want to lose his amazing ability to cover the ground.

We keep trying to compare him to other ruckman, but he’s something very hard to categorise.

He would simply be stronger, he has a good tank, I doubt he would lose any mobility.

18-07-2020, 12:37 AM
1. I love to beat Essendon
2. Tim English could be the best PLAYER in the comp one day. Or certainly the most influential.
3. Did I say that I love to beat Essendon?

18-07-2020, 12:42 AM
1. We have some good young talent coming through

2. Libba has been so good since he came back from injury

3. Macrae, takes the hard knocks and has a real appetite for the ball.

18-07-2020, 12:44 AM
1. Who would have thought picking a genuine forward pocket and playing them in the forward pocket would have worked.

Not to shoot Bambi or however that works but Weightman did some very annoying things tonight along with his moments of brilliance. Someone really needs to let him know that flying for big pack grabs doesn’t always have to be his job, and kicking sideways isn’t always a bad thing. I know he “plays tall” but maybe can he not from now on.

Sick SICK first goal though, fair play.

18-07-2020, 12:53 AM
Not to shoot Bambi or however that works but Weightman did some very annoying things tonight along with his moments of brilliance. Someone really needs to let him know that flying for big pack grabs doesn’t always have to be his job, and kicking sideways isn’t always a bad thing. I know he “plays tall” but maybe can he not from now on.

The second goal is the one that has me excited for his presence in our forward line. The checkside from the boundary isn't something he'll conjure up each week but strong work rate, clean hands and good goal sense under pressure is exactly what he can bring every game and we'll be more potent for it.

18-07-2020, 12:55 AM

I would say his first game he would have been told just get out there and do your first instinct.
I wouldn’t be critical of that part of his game, imagine the Adrenalin and excitement playing with guys like Bont.
I’m sure he will be shown what he did right and wrong and grow from it very quickly.

18-07-2020, 12:58 AM
The second goal is the one that has me excited for his presence in our forward line. The checkside from the boundary isn't something he'll conjure up each week but strong work rate, clean hands and good goal sense under pressure is exactly what he can bring every game and we'll be more potent for it.

I think we need to remember that was his second effort after getting it out in the first place then running forward, that’s the work rate I recognised. If you as a back pocket drop off this kid for 2 seconds he will be off like a rocket and you won’t get near him

18-07-2020, 12:58 AM

Booooooo

18-07-2020, 01:02 AM
Booooooo

Yo he was still *good*, just not not annoying and seemed to do a lot of the same stuff that got West punted. Maybe we should play them together?

18-07-2020, 01:15 AM
1. I didn't learn it....but those saying English isn't a ruckman can have a spell. And yes, next week he plays Witts (who is a monster) and he'll lose the hit outs in a big way. But we haven't had a ruckman like English, who has the potential to completely change the way we play, for a long time. How was his pick up for our first goal! The speed he has to get there and then the pick up! Marking around the ground....its been a while since we had a ruckman who does that. Extraordinary young player.

2. Wally - I'm very defensive of Wally. I can understand the view that he's too slow etc. But gee whiz, you know what you're going to get in a contest from him, and you know he will take his opportunities. A non-bulldogs supporter mate, who I rate in terms of footy opinion, text me tonight saying "I love Wallis. There's still room in the game for a bloke who's clever, controls the ball, creates space and looks like the sort of bloke who does what he's asked with a minimum of fuss like playing forward when he probably thought of himself as an inside mid". Each to their own if you agree or not - but that sums up my feeling on Wal.

3. Little things make the difference. Vandameer's spoil - and Lippa getting it one grab and kicking a long snap goal - that was the game tonight. We needed a moment to break up the game. I can't remember who kicked the ball to centre half forward, but it wasn't much of a kick - Vanda spoiled like his life depended on it, Lippa always catches clean, and the finish was superb. I was giving a standing ovation for Vanda, and we went from wasting a half of dominance, to getting the break we needed.

18-07-2020, 01:46 AM
1. Something happens to us when we play the last game of the round on Sunday evenings and its usually bad. Fridays nights however have been great..... except for round 1.

2. Macrae is too smart for a player like Devon Smith. He milked a late bump free and the 50 metre penalty bump. Both frees we 100% there but Macrae made sure the umpires saw both. Sucked in Devon.

3. Libba doesn't get beaten. He might not win every contest but neither does his opponent. He is the expert at just getting a little touch or tap that sends the ball in our favour or at least away from his opponent. Such an important player for us.

18-07-2020, 09:34 AM
1. I didn't learn it....but those saying English isn't a ruckman can have a spell. And yes, next week he plays Witts (who is a monster) and he'll lose the hit outs in a big way. But we haven't had a ruckman like English, who has the potential to completely change the way we play, for a long time. How was his pick up for our first goal! The speed he has to get there and then the pick up! Marking around the ground....its been a while since we had a ruckman who does that. Extraordinary young player.
I recall even you were concerned about English after the St Kilda game. What he has done since then has been sensational, in particular the improvement in his ruck craft at stoppages which hasn't previously been evident until the last 5 weeks. It is testament to his character and to his steely resolve.

My concerns that the hidings he received from Grundy and Marshall in the first 2 rounds were sapping his confidence in his around the ground work both linking up with the mids and also aerially at both ends. Instead the opposite has happened - he destroyed Jacobs around the ground, did a number on the (undermanned) Swans, buried the Goldstein ghosts and then gave us his true coming of age performance last night. I am very happy to be wrong, and it's all credit to him.

18-07-2020, 09:56 AM
1. Our ruck situation is precarious. Coin toss stuff. High risk, high reward. I love seeing English do what he did. I hate seeing everything fall to pieces when it's not on his terms.

2. Young players flying for the footy and having a nose for goal, it's good for the soul. CODY-19 set my spirit soaring with that mark & goal. What a good lad.

3. JJ and Dutch needed to pack their long stops. Keep your feet boys!

18-07-2020, 10:18 AM
1. We are genuinely amazing to watch when the conditions favour fast moving quick hands footy - i.e. When our 'Plan A' works
2. Our run and carry is much better than the bombers, we both played our game style and we dominated them
3. 3rd quarter was great but our scoring effectiveness is still a real issue

18-07-2020, 10:38 AM
He would simply be stronger, he has a good tank, I doubt he would lose any mobility.

That'd be my concern with increased bulk - losing his mobility across the ground and his ability to influence the ball on the ground. If he could put on 10kgs and still be so effective around the ground then he is a top 3 for sure. I'm sure the strength/mobility equation is one they are trying to balance for him all the time.

That one handed scoop off the ground for our first goal, was remarkable

18-07-2020, 11:51 AM
1. I'm glad we continue to scrap goals in general play because I'm well over our inability to nail straightforward set shots. (Wally excepted).
2. The Flea brought genuine adrenaline and excitement to the group, didn't get a lot but what he got was a good sign of things to come.
3. Essendon are the most overhyped, over rated bunch of frontrunners ever with most bolstering their numbers in the last when our cue was in the rack. Interested to see how the Bomber sympathisers (Hun, Channel 7) gloss over this one.

18-07-2020, 12:00 PM
1. Gee this sites become a Debbie Downer :confused:Can we enjoy a win and a good performance ?
There’s enough barbs thrown on here when we lose....
2. Tim English is a special talent . Can we please enjoy his progress ? He’s not Polly farmer yet, we know!
Going to be speed bumps along the way, but he’s 22 years old
3. Libba’s progressing beautifully, he’s starting to become the old Tom Liberatore again
Love the grunt and Niggle . Bailey Williams is becoming a consistent best 22 player

18-07-2020, 12:56 PM
1. Those that said there was no room for both Libba and Wallis in the side, were well off the mark.
2. English is so far ahead of where is age and Round one would suggest.
3.We may finally have a couple of future small forwards who are capable of hitting the score board.

18-07-2020, 01:25 PM
1. The flea's first mark and first goal were the best of any doggie's player I can remember....happy to be proved wrong.

2. Timmy English will be a superstar.

3. If we make the finals and can get Naughty and Dunks back. Watch out.

18-07-2020, 03:31 PM

Sick SICK first goal though, fair play. He was a stand out for his marking at Haileybury. Why not go for it if you have the confidence. He is smart enough to know when to fly and when not to. Let him have some fun.

18-07-2020, 04:02 PM
3. Little things make the difference. 032803 spoil - and Lippa getting it one grab and kicking a long snap goal - that was the game tonight. We needed a moment to break up the game. I can't remember who kicked the ball to centre half forward, but it wasn't much of a kick - Vanda spoiled like his life depended on it, Lippa always catches clean, and the finish was superb. I was giving a standing ovation for Vanda, and we went from wasting a half of dominance, to getting the break we needed.
That Lippa take and goal was brilliant.
The commentators were Bomber-centric and Carey said 'how often does that happen; a team dominates, doesn't score and the ball goes up the other end for an EASY goal'.!?!

18-07-2020, 04:11 PM
The commentators were Bomber-centric and Carey said 'how often does that happen; a team dominates, doesn't score and the ball goes up the other end for an EASY goal'.!?!

Because Essendon were so dominant they had been almost in ascendancy for about 3 minutes.

At that stage of the game we were way short of the scoreboard dominance that the game play should have produced.

But gee ....commentary is so insightful:rolleyes:

18-07-2020, 05:15 PM
Because Essendon were so dominant they had been almost in ascendancy for about 3 minutes.

At that stage of the game we were way short of the scoreboard dominance that the game play should have produced.

But gee ....commentary is so insightful:rolleyes:

Even during the play of the night English - Bont - Suckling - goal, Bruce still managed to talk about Grundy doing something similar the night before. Like come on, at least live in the moment...

18-07-2020, 06:00 PM
1. From observations at the ground, I'm now not sure our historical problems capitalising on inside 50's is mainly the poor delivery. So often our forwards were all on leads that seemed to end with all of them in the same place. That doesn't seem an overly smart tactical plan, and may explain why those bringing the ball in often seem hesitant or unable to pinpoint their passes to advantage

2. As I remarked elsewhere, I am not up with the tactical plans of modern defensive setups.. but whatever it was, our guys were 100% focused all game on trying to make the setup stick. They were constantly looking around, adjusting, communicating and making sure we ALWAYS held a line across the ground that was slightly behind the Bombers, with one always a 5 or 10 metres behind them on the fat side of the ground.

3. I queried again pre game the soundness of mind of our Match Committee...I still have no idea how, but we dropped 3 attacking/forward's and replaced them with 3 defenders, and yet we did not struggle to score. Suckling played well up forward. Young was so-so, but not as exposed as Butler was last week. Crozier was Crozier, and Weightman...hit the scoreboard twice- should've been thrice.

18-07-2020, 07:19 PM
1. The Bombers have many very ordinary players (including high draft picks), and their ladder position this year is a mystery to me

2. The only thing better than watching the Dogs pants the Bombers is watching it with aBombers fan mate

3. Playing specialist small forwards in the forward line is useful

18-07-2020, 07:37 PM

I was reading the write up in the age last night and if they hadn't shown the scores you'd never have know we'd won handsomely.

It was like the bomberblitz admin wrote the article.

18-07-2020, 07:56 PM
I was reading the write up in the age last night and if they hadn't shown the scores you'd never have know we'd won handsomely.

It was like the bomberblitz admin wrote the article.

I saw a headline as well that said something like what chance did they have without their three star midfielders. Stringer, Heppell and Shiel. Shiel i get, Heppell at a stretch hes struggled for a while but gee wiz they pump up Jake beyond his output. We had a couple out too btw...
They must have pretty clear analytics who their click bait prey are. I ignore it all but that one got me laughing.

18-07-2020, 08:58 PM
I saw a headline as well that said something like what chance did they have without their three star midfielders. Stringer, Heppell and Shiel. Shiel i get, Heppell at a stretch hes struggled for a while but gee wiz they pump up Jake beyond his output. We had a couple out too btw...
They must have pretty clear analytics who their click bait prey are. I ignore it all but that one got me laughing.

If only Dunks was as great a midfielder as Stringer. Maybe with time he'll catch up and be borderline flying himself

18-07-2020, 11:54 PM
The players we had out are better than the players they had out no cap.

19-07-2020, 01:00 PM
1. I love Libba. Always best 22. Should never be questioned.
2. We still have 2-3 guys who SHOULDNT be playing...not best 22
3. English is a superstar in the making.

19-07-2020, 02:05 PM
2. We still have 2-3 guys who SHOULDNT be playing...not best 22 .

Who are they?

19-07-2020, 02:24 PM

2. Wally - I'm very defensive of Wally. I can understand the view that he's too slow etc. But gee whiz, you know what you're going to get in a contest from him, and you know he will take his opportunities. A non-bulldogs supporter mate, who I rate in terms of footy opinion, text me tonight saying "I love Wallis. There's still room in the game for a bloke who's clever, controls the ball, creates space and looks like the sort of bloke who does what he's asked with a minimum of fuss like playing forward when he probably thought of himself as an inside mid". Each to their own if you agree or not - but that sums up my feeling on Wal.

3. Little things make the difference. Vandameer's spoil - and Lippa getting it one grab and kicking a long snap goal - that was the game tonight. We needed a moment to break up the game. I can't remember who kicked the ball to centre half forward, but it wasn't much of a kick - Vanda spoiled like his life depended on it, Lippa always catches clean, and the finish was superb. I was giving a standing ovation for Vanda, and we went from wasting a half of dominance, to getting the break we needed.
Agree 100% re Wallis. That first goal was the result of his tremendous 2nd effort. Got poleaxed, should have got a free. Bounced up straight away and ran to the contest, read the play perfectly and backed off to remain in space to receive a handball with just enough clear air to look at the goals and kick truly. He plays with his head and his HEART.

19-07-2020, 03:19 PM
Who are they?

Young and Dale...they should NOT be playing ahead of Trengove/LEW young and Dickson

19-07-2020, 03:44 PM
Young and Dale...they should NOT be playing ahead of Trengove/LEW young and Dickson

I was surprised Young came into the team, and Dale is lucky

19-07-2020, 03:50 PM
Trengove is horses for courses
Essendon don’t have a big forward 50
I think they’re stiff and I think Bailey Dale’s been lucky to keep his spot .
Been better than at the seasons start though .
Dicko is a similar player who does have soft tissue problems

20-07-2020, 10:41 AM
Agree 100% re Wallis. That first goal was the result of his tremendous 2nd effort. Got poleaxed, should have got a free. Bounced up straight away and ran to the contest, read the play perfectly and backed off to remain in space to receive a handball with just enough clear air to look at the goals and kick truly. He plays with his head and his HEART.

I really do completely understand the view of many of Wallis that he is just too slow and that limits his ability to do the defensive things, and at times to get to contests. And absolutely, you can't have 'too many' Wallis types because of those physical limitations.

BUT, I love him being in the side for his smarts and his ability to make his 10 possessions count us much as most other players 15-18. Speed and kicking penetration are great attributes to have, but I think because those two attributes are so conspcious, supporters get obsessed with and even over rate these attributes above all others. Smarts and body positioning/body strength are pretty damn important too. Wally has certainly inherited these from his old man, who had a great ability to use his body in a contest to put his opponent out of business. (And speaking from experience from playing some mid-week basketball v Wally snr...he was pretty handy at boxing out under a basketball ring, and very very strong!!!).

20-07-2020, 10:57 AM
I really do completely understand the view of many of Wallis that he is just too slow and that limits his ability to do the defensive things, and at times to get to contests. And absolutely, you can't have 'too many' Wallis types because of those physical limitations.

BUT, I love him being in the side for his smarts and his ability to make his 10 possessions count us much as most other players 15-18. Speed and kicking penetration are great attributes to have, but I think because those two attributes are so conspcious, supporters get obsessed with and even over rate these attributes above all others. Smarts and body positioning/body strength are pretty damn important too. Wally has certainly inherited these from his old man, who had a great ability to use his body in a contest to put his opponent out of business. (And speaking from experience from playing some mid-week basketball v Wally snr...he was pretty handy at boxing out under a basketball ring, and very very strong!!!).
Wallis is the new Cross - most focus on what he can't do, completely forgetting what he can do.

Once he plants his feet, he just can't be moved. Every week he takes a one on one mark against a similar sized opponent just using bodywork/strength to win the contest.
He's a really smart footballer and a good finisher. Yes he's slow and can't kick much more than 40m unless he has a run-up and a favourable breeze but he's best 22 for me.

20-07-2020, 10:59 AM
Wallis is the new Cross - most focus on what he can't do, completely forgetting what he can do.

Once he plants his feet, he just can't be moved. Every week he takes a one on one mark against a similar sized opponent just using bodywork/strength to win the contest.
He's a really smart footballer and a good finisher. Yes he's slow and can't kick much more than 40m unless he has a run-up and a favourable breeze but he's best 22 for me.

I think Wally might be the new Gia!

20-07-2020, 11:29 AM
I think Wally might be the new Gia!

Wally is the new Gia only in the way supporters talk him down, much like Eagleton before.

Wally is a completely different player as he is a competitor first. There seems little appreciation for the things he does without a possession.

The second goal for Weightman was a very good effort from Cody with work rate to get to the ball, but it wouldn't have been possible without Wally causing the spillage from a disadvantaged position stopping an Essendon mark.

20-07-2020, 11:44 AM
Wally is the new Gia only in the way supporters talk him down, much like Eagleton before.

Wally is a completely different player as he is a competitor first. There seems little appreciation for the things he does without a possession.

The second goal for Weightman was a very good effort from Cody with work rate to get to the ball, but it wouldn't have been possible without Wally causing the spillage from a disadvantaged position stopping an Essendon mark.

I think there's a little more to it that that. Both are slowish small forwards that manage to get goals through footy smarts, clever positioning and body use and accurate finishing. But being a slow small forward makes you a prime target for dismissal as it's harder to see the positives they bring to the side when they inevitable don't hit the scoreboard.

20-07-2020, 11:45 AM
I am enjoying the Wallis love.

20-07-2020, 01:10 PM
I've come around to Wallis. Despite his limitations he's mostly reliable - he doesn't put in many (if any) stinkers. I think the issue is that we can't afford to play Wallis, Schache, Dale, Lloyd, Dickson etc. together. Their limitations are the same and so when we play sides like Carlton, St Kilda and even Gold Coast, they get exposed. We can probably play 2 of them, but even that is a stretch at times.

20-07-2020, 01:19 PM
I learnt Essendon have a lot to learn.

20-07-2020, 02:18 PM
I've come around to Wallis. Despite his limitations he's mostly reliable - he doesn't put in many (if any) stinkers. I think the issue is that we can't afford to play Wallis, Schache, Dale, Lloyd, Dickson etc. together. Their limitations are the same and so when we play sides like Carlton, St Kilda and even Gold Coast, they get exposed. We can probably play 2 of them, but even that is a stretch at times.
This. Wally, Dale and Lloyd especially are all quite similar types who have similar skills and similar deficiencies. With Lloyd now available for selection, it will be interesting to see how we line up on Thursday. Wally is the first of the 3 that should be picked at the moment.

GetDimmaBack
20-07-2020, 07:39 PM
Not sure learned - maybe just further appreciated:

1. Good to see younger players being rotated. Vanda needs a rest, bring back West. Keep the young blokes fresh.

2. Wallis's experience and physical strength are serious advantages in our forward line.

3. Crozier is becoming the barometer, if he's not there already. One of the best trades we've ever made.

20-07-2020, 07:42 PM
Good to hear from you GetDimmaBack. Hope you have been well. Are you still down Gippsland way? Good that we are doing reasonably well in an unprecedented 2020 season.

20-07-2020, 07:58 PM
1. Man I love our 1970s jumpers. So so love.
2. Tim English = a weapon of mass destruction
3. Libba = critical to a Covid flag. Stay safe and cut back on the dimmies.

20-07-2020, 08:00 PM
1. Man I love our 1970s jumpers. So so love.
2. Tim English = a weapon of mass destruction
3. Libba = critical to a Covid flag. Stay safe and cut back on the dimmies.

If the dimmies are currently in the plan, then they stay in the plan.

20-07-2020, 08:09 PM
Maybe you're right.

GetDimmaBack
20-07-2020, 11:45 PM
Good to hear from you GetDimmaBack. Hope you have been well. Are you still down Gippsland way? Good that we are doing reasonably well in an unprecedented 2020 season.

G'day Easty!

Yeah, we're still in Gippsland, on the coast these days. Life is good!

I do miss our reserved seats at Marvel, having had them since the stadium opened. Still, we're not in Melbourne, which is a bonus at the moment, isn't it? :o

20-07-2020, 11:56 PM
G'day Easty!

Yeah, we're still in Gippsland, on the coast these days. Life is good!

I do miss our reserved seats at Marvel, having had them since the stadium opened. Still, we're not in Melbourne, which is a bonus at the moment, isn't it? :o

Yeah I love my reserved seat at Marvel as well. I’m on Level 1 Aisle 33. Been there since 2013 since I become a Dogs member been a Dogs supporter since the early 2000s. Great spot there and great atmosphere at our home games. Really get to know the people around you. Miss going to the footy but there are more serious things now.

21-07-2020, 10:36 AM
I am enjoying the Wallis love.
Me too do we have a new VC yet ?