View Full Version : Game Day Festival of Footy (Round 10-12)

21-07-2020, 07:56 PM
ROUND 10

Monday August 3

Port Adelaide vs Western Bulldogs (Adelaide Oval), 6:40pm

Tuesday August 4

Richmond vs Brisbane Lions (Metricon Stadium), 7:10pm

Wednesday August 5

Geelong Cats vs North Melbourne (Gabba), 5:40pm

Adelaide Crows vs Melbourne (Adelaide Oval), 7:40pm

Thursday August 6

Collingwood vs Sydney Swans (Gabba), 5:40pm

Gold Coast Suns vs St Kilda (Metricon Stadium), 8:10pm

Friday August 7

Essendon vs GWS Giants (Metricon Stadium), 7:50pm

BYES: Fremantle, West Coast Eagles, Hawthorn, Carlton

ROUND 11

Saturday August 8

Port Adelaide vs Richmond (Adelaide Oval), 4:05pm

Brisbane Lions vs Western Bulldogs (Gabba), 7:40pm

Sunday August 9

West Coast Eagles vs Carlton (Optus Stadium), 1:35pm

North Melbourne vs Melbourne (Blundstone Arena), 6:10pm

Monday August 10

Geelong Cats vs St Kilda (Gabba), 6:10pm

Fremantle vs Hawthorn (Optus Stadium), 6:40pm

Tuesday August 11

Adelaide Crows vs Collingwood (Adelaide Oval), 6:40pm

Wednesday August 12

Gold Coast Suns vs Essendon (Metricon Stadium), 7:10pm

BYES: GWS Giants, Sydney Swans

ROUND 12

Thursday August 13

Sydney Swans vs GWS Giants (Optus Stadium), 6:10pm

Friday August 14

Geelong vs Port Adelaide (Gabba), 7:50pm

Saturday August 15

North Melbourne vs Brisbane Lions (Blundstone Arena), 2:35pm

Melbourne vs Collingwood (Gabba), 5:10pm

Fremantle vs Carlton (Optus Stadium), 6:10pm

Sunday August 16

Western Bulldogs vs Adelaide Crows (Metricon Stadium), 1:05pm

St Kilda vs Essendon (Gabba), 3:35pm

West Coast Eagles vs Hawthorn (Optus Stadium), 4:10pm

Monday August 17

Richmond vs Gold Coast Suns (Gabba), 7:10pm

31-07-2020, 08:58 PM

31-07-2020, 09:01 PM
Azabob idea taken onboard. Much better like this for the next few rounds.

04-08-2020, 07:39 PM
Gary Lyon makes light of a cheap shot from Tom Lynch
Gotta say I can’t stand the b/s like papley’s on Mitchell a week ago

04-08-2020, 08:11 PM
Jeez Tigers are good.

Still the best by a mile

04-08-2020, 08:13 PM
Jeez Tigers are good.

Still the best by a mile

A well oiled machine.

04-08-2020, 08:17 PM
I reckon they’re going to win it again
Hopefully lockdown is still on if they do

04-08-2020, 08:21 PM
Jeez Tigers are good.

Still the best by a mile

Such a great kicking side, always moving the ball quickly forwards when they have it and super pressure and structure when they don't. Bolton looks like an impressive kid.

04-08-2020, 08:24 PM
Such a great kicking side, always moving the ball quickly forwards when they have it and super pressure and structure when they don't. Bolton looks like an impressive kid.

Very impressed with Bolton. Weren’t we rumoured to be into him last trade period ?

04-08-2020, 08:32 PM
Very impressed with Bolton. Weren’t we rumoured to be into him last trade period ?

Be mad not to be, looks the goods.

04-08-2020, 08:32 PM
Brisbane look like a deer in the headlights against this mob

04-08-2020, 08:37 PM
Brisbane look like a deer in the headlights against this mob

Theyve got no run at all.

04-08-2020, 09:10 PM
Nothing more certain than Brisbane kicking 15.3 next week.

04-08-2020, 09:21 PM
Makes our loss against Richmond look a little more respectable, I reckon they were better against us.

04-08-2020, 09:23 PM
Nice statistical symmetry.

Tigers 12-8-80
Lions 4-16-40

Same scoring shots, double the score. Both 20 scoring shots and score a multiple of 4. Yes I'm going covid crazy.

04-08-2020, 09:29 PM
Makes our loss against Richmond look a little more respectable, I reckon they were better against us.

They were shit tonnes better than anything seen this year against us last week.

It will be interesting to see if Brisbane bounces next week or whether they falter again providing we bring the pressure.

04-08-2020, 09:31 PM

It will be interesting to see if Brisbane bounces next week or whether they falter again providing we bring the pressure.

Pressure is key against the lions. Only way to stop them scoring

04-08-2020, 09:32 PM

Agree, only Eagles against Pies maybe better.

05-08-2020, 12:54 PM
I full on don't understand the Tigers. Their bottom 6 every week is worse on paper than just about anyone else's but they have found away to maximise every player's talent.

05-08-2020, 01:11 PM
I full on don't understand the Tigers. Their bottom 6 every week is worse on paper than just about anyone else's but they have found away to maximise every player's talent.

1. Structure
2. Know your role - play your role
3. Turn up

05-08-2020, 01:13 PM

Its an absolute credit to them that they are extracting great footy from Baker, Aarts, Higgins etc

05-08-2020, 01:16 PM
Its an absolute credit to them that they are extracting great footy from Baker, Aarts, Higgins etc

Got to be impressed by the way they've bounced back from some very patchy early form, the loss of key players and overcome their forward woes that saw them barely scoring above 30 points versus Sydney a few weeks back.

They're a lock for the flag, IMO.

05-08-2020, 01:22 PM
1. Structure
3. Turn up

4. Move the ball forward, mainly by foot.

05-08-2020, 01:44 PM
Gary Lyon makes light of a cheap shot from Tom Lynch
Gotta say I can’t stand the b/s like papley’s on Mitchell a week ago

How do you feel about Vandermeer who has done something similar most weeks he's played?

05-08-2020, 01:46 PM

1. Structure
3. Turn up

4. Move the ball forward, mainly by foot.

The saints are doing all this well at the momemnt too. They haven't had the injuries the tigers have had but they're a legitimate chance for the flag. They're getting a lot out of some little known players.

05-08-2020, 06:57 PM
How do you feel about Vandermeer who has done something similar most weeks he's played?

Don’t like it
Regardless of what team it is
Pseudo tough guy b/s

05-08-2020, 06:59 PM
Got to be impressed by the way they've bounced back from some very patchy early form, the loss of key players and overcome their forward woes that saw them barely scoring above 30 points versus Sydney a few weeks back.

They're a lock for the flag, IMO.

Tend to agree , sadly .
The only shining light might be that the residents presiding East Melbourne won’t need to board their homes

05-08-2020, 07:07 PM
Unpopular opinion currently and I think it’s wonderful he’s back
Majak Daw isn’t up to it

05-08-2020, 09:18 PM
No he's horrible how long will they persist with him?

05-08-2020, 09:49 PM
Jut switched over to one of the worse games ever Adelaide v Melbourne. Not sure I can stand watching

05-08-2020, 10:09 PM
Jut switched over to one of the worse games ever Adelaide v Melbourne. Not sure I can stand watching

You're braver than I am :)

05-08-2020, 10:36 PM
Adelaide are pretty bad. Just no fight or spirit it seems.

06-08-2020, 12:16 AM
Adelaide are pretty bad. Just no fight or spirit it seems.

Adelaide are currently offering up teams a platter of confidence and percentage boosting to any team that can firmly remind them they are no good. Oh man are they no good.

When we get them we need to hit them hard and early. Batter their feeble, slow midfield. I'm talking a 50 points to none Ballaratesque first quarter job to brutally crush their spirits. Get Bruce a ten goal haul to ease his troubled mind. Their defence is probably their best line so it's actually a pretty good challenge to try to atone and use inside 50 dominance to play our forwardline into some semblance of system and form.

I think more than any other year, this year is about momentum, confidence, and wellbeing. West Coast and Richmond were pretty awful until they scrapped an ugly one and things snowballed from there. I don't think Port are actually anywhere near a 'game clear on top good' but are feeling pretty damn good about things and are doing enough to get it done.

06-08-2020, 07:41 AM
Adelaide are currently offering up teams a platter of confidence and percentage boosting to any team that can firmly remind them they are no good. Oh man are they no good.

When we get them we need to hit them hard and early. Batter their feeble, slow midfield. I'm talking a 50 points to none Ballaratesque first quarter job to brutally crush their spirits. Get Bruce a ten goal haul to ease his troubled mind. Their defence is probably their best line so it's actually a pretty good challenge to try to atone and use inside 50 dominance to play our forwardline into some semblance of system and form.

I think more than any other year, this year is about momentum, confidence, and wellbeing. West Coast and Richmond were pretty awful until they scrapped an ugly one and things snowballed from there. I don't think Port are actually anywhere near a 'game clear on top good' but are feeling pretty damn good about things and are doing enough to get it done.

I hope these words don't come back to haunt us, like the "I love beating Carlton thread".

06-08-2020, 09:09 AM
I hope these words don't come back to haunt us, like the "I love beating Carlton thread".

Yeah the Adelaide game has all the hallmarks of a typical bulldogs loss.

06-08-2020, 09:27 AM

I just want to deal with the upcoming Brisbane game, which I'm taking the family to.
If the Dogs and Lions kick for goal like they did this round, its gonna be the most frustrating game to watch.

06-08-2020, 09:58 AM
I just want to deal with the upcoming Brisbane game, which I'm taking the family to.
If the Dogs and Lions kick for goal like they did this round, its gonna be the most frustrating game to watch.

Lucky duck.

06-08-2020, 09:59 AM

There are Klaxons ringing in my head.

06-08-2020, 11:01 AM

I still love beating them, but wasn't to be this year. ;)

06-08-2020, 11:15 AM
I still love beating them, but wasn't to be this year. ;)

True. I suppose the concept remains relevant, buy the talk was premature.

06-08-2020, 07:43 PM
Swans all over the Pies like a cheap suit

06-08-2020, 08:16 PM
Gutsy win from Collingwood. They should have been miles ahead at half time
Sydney couldn’t sustain allowing a team that much territory and win .

06-08-2020, 08:37 PM
How do the Saints manufacture so many Joe the Gooses each game?

06-08-2020, 08:40 PM
I have no idea. They always seem to have 1-2 extra players at every contest around the ground. It’s like they’re playing 19v18.

Max King is such a threat thought that he’s drawing an extra defender or two each contest

06-08-2020, 09:09 PM
GC are a much improved side. Next year they will be even better.

06-08-2020, 09:53 PM
Apparently Alistair Clarkson invented kicking it to the top of the square. Genius is a *!*!*!*!ing time traveler as well as a premiership coach it seems.

06-08-2020, 10:15 PM
Hodge is getting sick of working with these commentary dickheads.

06-08-2020, 10:36 PM
Gee Hunter Clark had some telling possessions in D50 in that last qtr.

Quality game of footy that.

06-08-2020, 10:54 PM

Best game I have seen this year.

Did we ever pursue Butler?

06-08-2020, 11:07 PM

A small forward with plenty of speed, great goal sense and would have cost us virtually nothing? Why would we? We have Sam Lloyd!

07-08-2020, 06:39 AM

Yeah, he was cool, calm and collected.

07-08-2020, 08:47 AM

He is progressing well, looks to have made a lot of improvement this year

07-08-2020, 09:21 AM
Butler was a total dart throw. Unbelievable that he's this good.

Re Joe the Gooses; its because they have like 8-10 players in a given week that will be faster that the opposition's quickest player and a willingness to run all day and take on a zone. I don't think it's sustainable but it would warm your heart to watch as a Saints fan.

I'm a total bro moron so I don't actually hate him on commentary but can Brayshaw go a single week without lionising Stephen Milne?

07-08-2020, 09:30 AM
How good was the Daicos goal? Now there's a sentence not uttered since the early 90s.

07-08-2020, 09:42 AM

Re Joe the Gooses; its because they have like 8-10 players in a given week that will be faster that the opposition's quickest player and a willingness to run all day and take on a zone. I don't think it's sustainable but it would warm your heart to watch as a Saints fan.

I'm a total bro moron so I don't actually hate him on commentary but can Brayshaw go a single week without lionising Stephen Milne?
Agree on Butler. No one including the saints and himself would have thought he’d be close to leading the Coleman chase. The saints have a lot of things clicking at the moment. They’ve had a great run with injuries as usual so they’re getting a lot of continuity which a lot of clubs this year haven’t had. A lot of their fringe players are playing out of their minds. Can these players keep it going? Time will tell but full credit to them and Ratten. They’re a well oiled unit.

I agree with the Joe the goose statement. You’d think it’d be unsustainable but then again they’ve kept it going so far in the condensed schedule. Perhaps that’s also a result of the opponent being underdone too. Geelong will be a good litmus year for them. The cats have an extra days rest and Chris Scott is no slouch in the coaches box and should be able to figure out exactly what the saints are up to.

07-08-2020, 10:28 AM

WOOF certainly did!

07-08-2020, 03:34 PM

Is he really? Footy media just can't help itself

07-08-2020, 07:49 PM
Is he really? Footy media just can't help itself

You said it.

If you missed it, Milne, the actual live article, was amongst the remote fan face 'wall' featured every time the Saints kicked a goal.

Nauseating.

07-08-2020, 08:44 PM
He just stated that they had Stevie Milne on last night, and they had royalty on again with Dustin Fletcher.

Sickening.

07-08-2020, 09:13 PM
You said it.

If you missed it, Milne, the actual live article, was amongst the remote fan face 'wall' featured every time the Saints kicked a goal.
Another wonderful cutting edge addition to the Ch 7 coverage :rolleyes:

07-08-2020, 09:29 PM
Bruce just said that everyone would think of Phil Davis as a favourite of theirs.

The guy's completely bonkers. He's clearly lost the plot but nobody is willing to say it, and frankly, it's getting uncomfortable.

07-08-2020, 09:51 PM
He just stated that they had Stevie Milne on last night, and they had royalty on again with Dustin Fletcher.

Sickening.
Royalty. Like Prince Andrew or King Jellybean (No offense to Fletcher)

https://i.ibb.co/b7ffwqr/tenor.gif (https://imgbb.com/)

07-08-2020, 10:17 PM
Quick, hurry......get over to Bomber Blitz!

07-08-2020, 10:18 PM
Papley charged with staging for a free. I think Ward should be as well

07-08-2020, 10:21 PM
I mean, you truly can't wish enough pain on Essington but that free kick gifted to an overacting Ward to ice the game was putrid.

Anyway, I've said my piece, over to bombreblitz.

07-08-2020, 10:28 PM
Papley charged with staging for a free. I think Ward should be as well

Don’t think it was quite staging territory but it was greatly exaggerated and should have been play on. If the umpires keep getting sucked in by it (as in the Papley case as well) then the players will keep doing it.

07-08-2020, 10:35 PM
That was just disgusting. How could any player look back at that and not be ashamed of themselves

07-08-2020, 10:57 PM
Gotta feeling Callan won’t be welcome back as an essendon fan
Awful decision
It’s a great comeback by the plastics , but once again shows how flakey they can be

07-08-2020, 10:59 PM
I only watched the last 10 minutes but looking back at the scoreline, Essendon kicked 6 on one quarter and only 1 for the rest of the match. Hate both teams, but prefer Essendon to lose

07-08-2020, 11:02 PM
I guess another way to look at the Ward free kick is that players like him miss out on a lot and occasionally they get one like that and it balances out.

He went a bit far but it wasn't anything like the Papley staging.

07-08-2020, 11:06 PM
I guess another way to look at the Ward free kick is that players like him miss out on a lot and occasionally they get one like that and it balances out.

Staging is staging. Ward spun around like a spinning top, and yet he was bumped on the side - really pathetic. Did you hear him justify it at the end with a staged interview by Heath.

07-08-2020, 11:25 PM

Papleys was on another level but don't excuse Ward - it was a stage and a poor free kick in a tight game (even if it's Essendon ;))

08-08-2020, 12:11 AM
Staging is staging. Ward spun around like a spinning top, and yet he was bumped on the side - really pathetic. Did you hear him justify it at the end with a staged interview by Heath.

Papleys was on another level but don't excuse Ward - it was a stage and a poor free kick in a tight game (even if it's Essendon ;))

I get it, but I also think there's varying degrees. If Ward had have been still he'd have copped a high one and it wouldn't have been paid. Yes, he went too far but it was likely to be a free kick that was there missed.

And it comes down to the umpire paying it or not.

What really gets my goat is the hasbeens saying that's not how we played in our day...…..I mean there was five minutes the other night with Dermot telling everyone the game has changed because players denigrate their opponents now after a mistake as if that never happened in his day and he didn't do it. This is a guy who stamped on an opponents face after a neutral contest just because he was an old shithead.

The competition, society, everyone, is going completely batshit at the moment. I really can't keep up with the outrage.

08-08-2020, 07:50 AM
Quick, hurry......get over to Bomber Blitz!

True Confession time. After the GWS loss I checked out BB.
There is enough material on there to keep a conference full of psychiatrists busy for a year.
The vitriol against their players, their club and the UMPIRES has to be read to be believed.
Raging with joy in the first half, then the trepidation followed by anguish, rage, despair, longing, urging, hatred, threats, brow beating, teeth gnashing, resignation and tears.

08-08-2020, 07:56 AM
I get it, but I also think there's varying degrees. If Ward had have been still he'd have copped a high one and it wouldn't have been paid. Yes, he went too far but it was likely to be a free kick that was there missed.

And it comes down to the umpire paying it or not.

What really gets my goat is the hasbeens saying that's not how we played in our day...…..I mean there was five minutes the other night with Dermot telling everyone the game has changed because players denigrate their opponents now after a mistake as if that never happened in his day and he didn't do it. This is a guy who stamped on an opponents face after a neutral contest just because he was an old shithead.

The competition, society, everyone, is going completely batshit at the moment. I really can't keep up with the outrage.

When your name is Rayden Tallis you'll always be remembered.

08-08-2020, 10:36 AM
True Confession time. After the GWS loss I checked out BB.
There is enough material on there to keep a conference full of psychiatrists busy for a year.
The vitriol against their players, their club and the UMPIRES has to be read to be believed.
Raging with joy in the first half, then the trepidation followed by anguish, rage, despair, longing, urging, hatred, threats, brow beating, teeth gnashing, resignation and tears.

Ward should be fined for staging that was atrocious.

08-08-2020, 11:01 AM

Yes, agree 100%. That was shameful.

08-08-2020, 11:28 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dY2ETFusjyw&feature=youtu.be

08-08-2020, 11:29 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dY2ETFusjyw&feature=youtu.be

Haha sensational.

08-08-2020, 11:59 AM
Damn those umpires for paying that free kick costing Essendon a game they were already losing in which the ball hadn't left the other team's forward line for five straight minutes after conceding five straight goals. They had it in the bag otherwise! So unfair!

08-08-2020, 12:06 PM
Damn those umpires for paying that free kick costing Essendon a game they were already losing in which the ball hadn't left the other team's forward line for five straight minutes after conceding five straight goals. They had it in the bag otherwise! So unfair!

I'm very conflicted. It was a win win either result.

Bummers fans I know are not blaming that on losing the game; doesn't exclude it from being a shizen act. Well played Cal though I guess sucked them in its been happening forever up to the AFL to decide if its what they want in the game.

08-08-2020, 12:25 PM
I've seen worse from Brad Johnson to be honest. The fact it helped seal the win vs the Bombers makes it even better.

08-08-2020, 02:01 PM
I've seen worse from Brad Johnson to be honest. The fact it helped seal the win vs the Bombers makes it even better.

How dare thee ! (Its true). The small paper is reporting he's received death threats.
Bomberblitz probably created an automated death threat generator that posts directly to Cal's socials. Not cool to be serious for a sec. Morons out there if true.

08-08-2020, 03:16 PM
Esserdon supporters & death threats. Name a more iconic duo.

I'll wait.

08-08-2020, 03:37 PM
Gotta love em’
They had Lloyd a confessed diver playing for them every week

08-08-2020, 05:44 PM
Port v Richmomd has been the best half of footy all year so far. Pressure from both teams through the roof.

08-08-2020, 05:46 PM
Port v Richmomd has been the best half of footy all year so far. Pressure from both teams through the roof.

Best game I've seen for a while.

08-08-2020, 05:47 PM
Yep, it's been a cracking game thus far.

Ricciuto again not able to interview a coach without raising a point the coach can't meaningfully discuss. Moron.

08-08-2020, 05:52 PM

Ricciuto again not able to interview a coach without raising a point the coach can't meaningfully discuss. Moron.

Was that a replay of last weeks urination in pocket or what ? Port good, umpires bad, thanks Kenny.

08-08-2020, 05:54 PM

Ridiculous free to Riewoldt when Dusty pushed the bloke in the back. How can the umpire nor see that?

08-08-2020, 05:59 PM
Was that a replay of last weeks urination in pocket or what ? Port good, umpires bad, thanks Kenny.
Richmond did get a dream run in the 2nd qtr to be fair. They were gifted 2 goals from awful frees at the start of that qtr, and the umps then missed a clear in the back on Robbie Gray 30m dead in front that then went the length of the ground for another Richmond goal. That's a 4 goal swing, which is massive in the context.

Nice of Charlie Dixon to fluff 2 sitters in the goal square this week instead of last week against us.

08-08-2020, 06:05 PM
Richmond did get a dream run in the 2nd qtr to be fair. They were gifted 2 goals from awful frees at the start of that qtr, and the umps then missed a clear in the back on Robbie Gray 30m dead in front that then went the length of the ground for another Richmond goal. That's a 4 goal swing, which is massive in the context.

Nice of Charlie Dixon to fluff 2 sitters in the goal square this week instead of last week against us.
Couple of absolute howlers.

08-08-2020, 06:19 PM
How dare thee ! (Its true). The small paper is reporting he's received death threats.
Bomberblitz probably created an automated death threat generator that posts directly to Cal's socials. Not cool to be serious for a sec. Morons out there if true.

Terrible news on a number of levels. I hope the AFL and the other social media platforms take strong action where they can.

08-08-2020, 06:24 PM

Yeah the umpiring was terrible, it's just that Ricciuto shouldn't be using the fifteen seconds he has to talk to a coach at half time commenting on things the coach can't talk about.

Anyway, to the umpiring itself I'm seeing evidence of forwards getting away with less subtle shoves in the back than they have in the past. Just another tweak to the rules that's likely to swing further than intended.

08-08-2020, 06:43 PM
What a game, best I've seen for a long long time.

08-08-2020, 06:46 PM
What a game, best I've seen for a long long time.
Port pressure absolutely off the charts this qtr. Amazing to watch

08-08-2020, 06:59 PM
This is a powerful performance. They have smashed Richmond in general play - 55 inside 50's to 24, 20 centre clearances to 5.

Poet are the real deal, that was brutal.

08-08-2020, 07:04 PM
This is a powerful performance. They have smashed Richmond in general play - 55 inside 50's to 24, 20 centre clearances to 5.

Poet are the real deal, that was brutal.

28 scoring shots to 17, and Tigers came back twice and they pulled away each time. Hard to fault their bonafides now.

08-08-2020, 07:07 PM
So we did ok last week?

08-08-2020, 07:17 PM
So we did ok last week?

We performed really well. 10 minutes of disorganised footy in the 3rd quarter cost us

08-08-2020, 07:30 PM
There was a rumour that we were trying to get an extra pick to take Butters in the 2018 draft. Nothing against Weightman but he is the perfect type to complement our forward set up.

08-08-2020, 07:33 PM
There was a rumour that we were trying to get an extra pick to take Butters in the 2018 draft. Nothing against Weightman but he is the perfect type to complement our forward set up.

Agree absolute ripper. Looks like a proper footballer.

08-08-2020, 07:34 PM
So we did ok last week?

So annoyed we didn’t capitalise early. But we certainly had them covered on their home deck. Let’s see if we can back up that form it’s good enough to trouble Lions.

08-08-2020, 07:35 PM

Heard that as well ;)
How in blazes does he keep his job ?
Doing a great job with Adelaide

08-08-2020, 11:20 PM
True Confession time. . I watching the game and went for the Bombers.

Awful choice between those 2 teams, but I still feel dirty and will accept a forum ban for going for the Bombers.

Standards must be upheld.

09-08-2020, 08:30 AM
Best game for the season
Port’s last quarter had to be seen to be believed
Thought the result flattered Richmond to be honest
Port made some tough trade calls in 2018 and are now reaping the benefits

09-08-2020, 10:38 AM
The Port game was insane intensity like a pre lim final. The amount of noise that 10,000 crowd made was rock concert ready. Port really should’ve had the game won at qtr time. Dixon/Gray work so well together. They are certainly on the right path. Getting rid of Wingard was a smart move, and the amount of good kids coming thru (Rozee and Butters in particular) have given the whole team a renewed energy that had been lacking the last few years.

09-08-2020, 10:55 AM
In the words of Kerry Packer
You only get one North Melbourne in your life
Pittard and Polec for pick 10 was that

09-08-2020, 04:46 PM
Pretty sure it’s not Deconeing
It’s Dekonning
Sadly I remember the old man

09-08-2020, 04:48 PM
Sadly I remember the old man
So do I, Remi. The Royce Hart days were dark days indeed.

09-08-2020, 05:22 PM
We should go into debt to get Tim Kelly.
Love his kicking. Win us a flag.
We have him in waiting, Baz.

09-08-2020, 05:33 PM
What an attempt over Nic Nat! Tom
DE KONING.
His third game, recruit him! We need another blonde haired athletic ruckman, it's the second one that gets you.

09-08-2020, 06:38 PM

Impossible, Geelong threw everything at him and he just wanted to go back to WA

09-08-2020, 06:49 PM
West coast turned the screws in the second half
Carlton will whinge about the umpires , but that’s a cop out .
Dom Sheed was brilliant

09-08-2020, 07:30 PM
Josh Kelly?

09-08-2020, 09:22 PM
Josh Kelly?

Him too but Tim penetrates better.

10-08-2020, 06:38 PM
Saints and Cats are both really well set up across the ground, and impressed with the Saints forwards willingness to really push to get back on the mark and put pressure on the Cats defenders to go down the line.

We're a fair way off both teams, IMO. Not in talent necessarily, but definitely in system & structure.

10-08-2020, 06:40 PM
Saints and Cats are both really well set up across the ground, and impressed with the Saints forwards willingness to really push to get back on the mark and put pressure on the Cats defenders to go down the line.

We're a fair way off both teams, IMO. Not in talent necessarily, but definitely in system & structure.

Agree. We’re like the opposite of what these teams are built on. Forward/defensive pressure, crumbing contests, spreading from contest and clean skills and pace.

We’re a long way off it. But you could say the same about the saints last year and they’ve had a very quick turnaround with a new coach. I do believe we can turn things around with some smart recruiting but most importantly a refresh in coaching ranks. We cannot maintain the status quo going into 2021

10-08-2020, 06:50 PM
Agree. We’re like the opposite of what these teams are built on. Forward/defensive pressure, crumbing contests, spreading from contest and clean skills and pace.

We’re a long way off it. But you could say the same about the saints last year and they’ve had a very quick turnaround with a new coach. I do believe we can turn things around with some smart recruiting but most importantly a refresh in coaching ranks. We cannot maintain the status quo going into 2021

For the first time in weeks, Saints are dealing with an opponent that is prepared to slide an extra defender back to clog up the 50. They haven't handled it well yet.

10-08-2020, 08:02 PM
For the first time in weeks, Saints are dealing with an opponent that is prepared to slide an extra defender back to clog up the 50. They haven't handled it well yet.

Yep. I was waiting for it this week. Chris Scott is a great coach and the saints have been relying on gameplan to get their wins. Take nothing away from them though they've been superb but I always felt as soon as a smart coach figures out what they’re doing they’ll be pegged back a bit. Teams with a new coach and new style will get the jump early in the season as teams don’t know what to expect. This has been the saints this season. Teams will copy the cats plan now against the saints.

10-08-2020, 08:04 PM
Can't stand Geelong yet they keep winning year on year. Wish we were able to replicate their consistent output.

10-08-2020, 08:12 PM
Can't stand Geelong yet they keep winning year on year. Wish we were able to replicate their consistent output.

Aye. Some of the reasons I loathe them is the bone-deep entitlement and the heads on half of them but scratch the surface and it's mostly because their football is intelligent, reliable and professional; everything we're not.

10-08-2020, 08:36 PM
I’m not looking forward to playing the cats.

However hats off to them. Must admit looking at their list, they’re an example how get the most out of their players. A lot of them aren’t high draft picks but they’ve been developed well and they have a crack. We could learn a thing or two from them

10-08-2020, 08:41 PM
As much as I can't stand him, Chris Scott is one of the best coaches in the game. His team is always prepared, always competitive. Cats fans definitely get their money's worth most weeks and never have to cross their fingers hoping for a good performance.

10-08-2020, 08:44 PM
Likewise here
They’ve pushed a number back so they don’t get that easy at the back goal
Pressured , and kept the ball off them
Due respect to the way they give their fans a great run
Pains me to say he’s a very smart coach

10-08-2020, 08:44 PM
As much as I can't stand him, Chris Scott is one of the best coaches in the game. His team is always prepared, always competitive. Cats fans definitely get their money's worth most weeks and never have to cross their fingers hoping for a good performance.

Couldn’t agree more. Most fans only ask for effort. At this level that’s usually the difference between winning a losing. Sadly our efforts leave a lot to be desired. A complete backflip from 2016 which compounds the frustration and disappointment.

10-08-2020, 08:49 PM
Fair bit of commentary on Josh Bruce from a saints fan or two I know
Million dollar man Brad Hill ain’t giving much output

10-08-2020, 09:04 PM
Fair bit of commentary on Josh Bruce from a saints fan or two I know
Million dollar man Brad Hill ain’t giving much output

Brad Hill has been woeful but Bruce has been worse.

10-08-2020, 09:08 PM
Brad Hill has been woeful but Bruce has been worse.

In fairness Hill’s position is a little easier to play than a key forward
Bruce has been rubbish though

10-08-2020, 09:41 PM

They have finished top four after the home and away season 10 times in the last 13 years. I had to double check that. It’s remarkable. What are they doing? I write them off nearly every season after they get bundled out of the finals and they back up again. Giving their supporters hope. Giving them an unbelievable ride, year in, year out. Is it Brian Cook? Selwood leadership? The Geelong bubble? Shrewd recruiting? Coaching? Professionalism? What?

10-08-2020, 09:46 PM
They have finished top four after the home and away season 10 times in the last 13 years. I had to double check that. It’s remarkable. What are they doing? I write them off nearly every season after they get bundled out of the finals and they back up again. Giving their supporters hope. Giving them an unbelievable ride, year in, year out. Is it Brian Cook? Selwood leadership? The Geelong bubble? Shrewd recruiting? Coaching? Professionalism? What?

Wow that’s incredible. What’s the record of top 4 finishes in a 15 year span I wonder? Selwood would set great standards but I’m not sure what can lead to sustained success like that. I can only think of the San Antonio spurs in the nba and the patriots in the nfl who can rival success like that in a salary capped sport in the modern era

10-08-2020, 09:59 PM

Wins in past 15 seasons...

247 - @GeelongCats

243 - Essendon + Melbourne

235 - Brisbane + Carlton

Via @js_kay on Twitter

10-08-2020, 10:01 PM
Eddie McGuire calls for Brownlow change he says WAGs will love
(https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/eddie-mcguire-calls-for-brownlow-change-he-says-wags-will-love-c-1228790)
“Imagine the outfits the girls would be able to wear because it’ll be quite warm up there"

And with that McGuire's transformation into the ghost of Allan McAlister is complete.

11-08-2020, 07:01 AM
Eddie McGuire calls for Brownlow change he says WAGs will love
(https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/eddie-mcguire-calls-for-brownlow-change-he-says-wags-will-love-c-1228790)
“Imagine the outfits the girls would be able to wear because it’ll be quite warm up there"

And with that McGuire's transformation into the ghost of Allan McAlister is complete.

He is the gift that just keeps giving. Remarkable.

11-08-2020, 09:30 AM
Jesse Hogan to move to defence apparently. Liam Jones mk 2? Might take some pressure off him on the goals front I guess? Such a wasted talent hopefully he can get back to his best.

Edit : Helps if I link in the article https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-2020-fremantle-jesse-hogan-key-defender-star-recruit-justin-longmuir/news-story/752da70e4444522b6ab1582fbe7b5d19

11-08-2020, 10:49 AM
I’m not looking forward to playing the cats.

However hats off to them. Must admit looking at their list, they’re an example how get the most out of their players. A lot of them aren’t high draft picks but they’ve been developed well and they have a crack. We could learn a thing or two from them

It's not like we haven't tried - McCartney, King, Graham, Corey, Scarlett and Mooney have all been employed by the club over the past decade in various roles.

11-08-2020, 01:23 PM
It's not like we haven't tried - McCartney, King, Graham, Corey, Scarlett and Mooney have all been employed by the club over the past decade in various roles.
Let's not forget Hamling and Gardner as players (and before that Callan, Djerkerra and the mighty Peter Street).

11-08-2020, 01:27 PM
Let's not forget Hamling and Gardner as players (and before that Callan, Djerkerra and the mighty Peter Street).
Even Moles was part of their system from memory.

11-08-2020, 02:52 PM
Very impressed with what Freo and Justin Longmuir are doing

11-08-2020, 02:57 PM
Very impressed with what Freo and Justin Longmuir are doing

Agreed, Longmuir is making a good impression in his first season

11-08-2020, 05:12 PM
Dominated possession
Hawthorn out Hawthorned
Result flattered hawthorn

11-08-2020, 07:39 PM
Pies might be doing us a huge favour here by playing so poorly the Crows break their duck.
By the way get a look at Lynden Dunn, Rene Kink eat your heart out!

https://i.postimg.cc/nVSHP3zL/Screenshot-20200811-194106-Twitter.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

11-08-2020, 08:16 PM
That’s America Deep South that look

11-08-2020, 08:22 PM
Doesn’t look like crows will break that duck....damn

11-08-2020, 08:36 PM
If we lose to Adelaide, may as well pack it in for the year. They’ve been competitive but that says more about Collingwood than anything.

Probably the slowest, least skilled side I’ve ever seen.

11-08-2020, 08:38 PM
No execuses losing to the ravens
No execuses
Looks like they’ve lost Lynch and Doodee as well

11-08-2020, 08:52 PM
They’re woeful. Just no confidence or skill under pressure. We just have to bring the intensity and we will easily cover them.

12-08-2020, 07:41 PM
CARNA Suns

12-08-2020, 09:21 PM
If James Stewart can run into space and take a Mark why can't the Bulldogs

12-08-2020, 09:25 PM
Gold Coast just don't know how to win. Tighten up every time it gets close.

12-08-2020, 09:36 PM
Would definitely welcome Ben King into our side.

Rankine certainly believes in his own ability. A good trait to have, but feel there was a different play to be made at the end of the game then.

12-08-2020, 09:38 PM
Rankine needed to go right hand side of the goals and get a point. Or even top of the square for Witts to punch through. He wasted 30 seconds and his kick went 15 metres from goal towards the boundary - worst possible outcome.

12-08-2020, 09:50 PM
Rankine needed to go right hand side of the goals and get a point. Or even top of the square for Witts to punch through. He wasted 30 seconds and his kick went 15 metres from goal towards the boundary - worst possible outcome.

Totally agree that was the worst kick he could've done. He let us all down ! I was cheering for the Steve Kolynuik run around the mark and goal.

12-08-2020, 10:54 PM

He missed that goal against us as well when he had a tough shot from the boundary and they could have hit the lead with minutes to go.

Would love someone like him to play for us.

13-08-2020, 12:43 PM
Would definitely welcome Ben King into our side.

I imagine this to be the least controversial thing ever written on this site.

13-08-2020, 03:04 PM
Totally agree that was the worst kick he could've done. He let us all down ! I was cheering for the Steve Kolynuik run around the mark and goal.
I suppose the counter argument with him taking the shot from 55m out was that he completely removed an Essendon win out of the equation, but the skill error with his kick was poor. The Ben King miss with 2 minutes left was much poorer, although his goal to tie the scores a few minutes before was brilliant for such a big man. Also true to form, Dylan Shiel missed a very gettable shot for goal late in the match - he really doesn't hurt opposition teams on the scoreboard much at all.

As BAD has alluded to, Rankine has missed key shots for goal late in matches before - against us and also against the Dees. However he is getting a lot of looks at goal for a sub 10-gamer, which is a real positive. I really enjoy seeing such a young player not afraid of the moment and backing himself in.

13-08-2020, 09:16 PM
GWS playing like they don't value 8th spot much.

And how good's The Lizard? Rapidly ascending as my favourite non-Bulldog.

13-08-2020, 10:16 PM
GWS playing like they don't value 8th spot much.

And how good's The Lizard? Rapidly ascending as my favourite non-Bulldog.

Sydney doing us a favour if we are able to take advantage.

13-08-2020, 10:29 PM
Superb collective effort from the Swans.

Equally hilarious / infuriating the Giants' only three goals were all the result of charity inside forward fifty. They neither earned nor engineered a single goal.

Stew on that you turds.

13-08-2020, 10:33 PM
Superb collective effort from the Swans.

Equally hilarious / infuriating the Giants' only three goals were all the result of charity inside forward fifty. They neither earned nor engineered a single goal.

Stew on that you turds.

Watched the last quarter, wow, have they gone down hill. That last free was not there, charity I think.

13-08-2020, 10:34 PM
Ha ha ha GWS-hoping this is the start of a slide. No heart.

Sydney look like they have some good young talent.

Was Alir Alir dropped or injured?

13-08-2020, 10:37 PM

I think dropped as he is not on the injury list, but could be out of date (August 11)

13-08-2020, 10:50 PM
Nice audition by Zac Williams to the rest of the comp. Otherwise that was a very stinky performance by GWS.

13-08-2020, 11:02 PM
Did the Giants just re-sign Leon Cameron too? Might've pulled the trigger a little soon.

14-08-2020, 06:32 AM
Watched the first
Dreadful from the plastics , but pretty all to familiar
They actually got some inside 50’s and their forward half was disfunctional
Sydney are building beautifully

14-08-2020, 06:32 AM

Alir is injured.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/484607/teams-key-defenders-out-swans-axe-young-guns

14-08-2020, 08:48 PM
Geelong’s structure once again standing out. Impossible to get clean looks inside 50.

Any chance our coaching staff can take some notes?

14-08-2020, 08:50 PM
The Cats are insufferable enough without Bruce audibly creaming himself every time they do something good.

Someone needs to tell Port the opening bounce was an hour ago.

14-08-2020, 08:56 PM
The Cats are insufferable enough without Bruce audibly creaming himself every time they do something good.

Someone needs to tell Port the opening bounce was an hour ago.

Great for their long suffering fans. Anyone got a clue as to how they're so good in defence. I mean old ham man himself Taylor can hardly walk. Hard to tell from the TV and the buffoons presenting it, be interesting to see it broken down.

14-08-2020, 09:19 PM
Bruce just can't *!*!*!*! off.

Just said Hawkins is like a Carey or a Franlin tonight.....of course on the same coverage as Carey.

Imagine being so cooked that you are a complete sycophant to Wayne Carey, domestic violence/ indecent assault champion.

14-08-2020, 09:31 PM
I hope Keath is learning how not to play on Hawkins

14-08-2020, 09:33 PM
Why isn’t Jonas on him?
Brian Lake tweeted that you need to play behind his shoulder

14-08-2020, 09:37 PM
Alir is injured.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/484607/teams-key-defenders-out-swans-axe-young-guns

Thx Azabob

14-08-2020, 09:45 PM
Why isn’t Jonas on him?
Brian Lake tweeted that you need to play behind his shoulder

Because he’s the captain and he’d prefer the 5 goals to be against Clurey!

14-08-2020, 09:49 PM
Bruce just can't *!*!*!*! off.

Just said Hawkins is like a Carey or a Franlin tonight.....of course on the same coverage as Carey.

Imagine being so cooked that you are a complete sycophant to Wayne Carey, domestic violence/ indecent assault champion.

Let’s also talk about picturing Carey in the spa and getting a tan...

14-08-2020, 10:02 PM

Insert Randy March meme.

14-08-2020, 10:03 PM

Cringe Television
God ,could Bruce get any creepier

14-08-2020, 10:05 PM
Masterclass from Geelong
Port are terrible
Organized on field and off field
They seriously shit me

14-08-2020, 10:24 PM
Yeah, I'm looking forward to Geelong being exposed again when the whips are cracking one way or another.

14-08-2020, 10:32 PM
You need an explosive mid sized forward to trouble the Geelong defence. The likes of De Goey and Dusty really trouble them when they are isolated one-out. Or you need a clearance beast ruckman like Nic Nat to get it in there super quick.

Why did Port let Dougal Howard go last season? Their short backline is a real problem against the gorillas.

14-08-2020, 10:34 PM
Yeah, I'm looking forward to Geelong being exposed again when the whips are cracking one way or another.

I’m not so sure it will be the case this year. I hope I’m wrong but I expect them to make the GF.

15-08-2020, 11:48 AM
Cats looked the real deal again last night. Hawkins was Plugger like. They are now on track for 11 top four H&A finishes in 14 years. Incredible.

15-08-2020, 11:59 AM
Cats looked the real deal again last night. Hawkins was Plugger like. They are now on track for 11 top four H&A finishes in 14 years. Incredible.

Yep, as much as I loathe them and their coach, they are certainly keeping their fans in with a chance. They have a few stars, and a team full of guys playing their role to perfection. Brilliantly coached and totally disciplined.

15-08-2020, 05:19 PM
Just saw the last quarter of Norf and Bris Vegas
I want that 25 minutes back
Norf finally realize they need a rebuild

15-08-2020, 06:02 PM
Just turned footy on and then a few mins in to see sickening looking injury to Mihochek (one of my fave non dog players). Hope he is OK. Pies having dreadful luck in injury front. Feel for their supporters and Buckley.

Dees getting run of green with HTB-umps going back to interpretation at start of year. Total lack if consistency. Hope umps are better next week when we play Dees.

Hard for pies to win now I think.

15-08-2020, 07:28 PM
Pies getting pantsed
Dees are looking good , but pies look cooked
Injuries and compact fixture are hurting them
Melbourne besides Gawn are pretty healthy

15-08-2020, 07:31 PM
Pies getting pantsed
Dees are looking good , but pies look cooked
Injuries and compact fixture are hurting them
Melbourne besides Gawn are pretty healthy

Melbourne have had the easiest 3 week run of the year. Will be shown up as pretenders soon enough.

15-08-2020, 07:35 PM
We are going to face Melbourne at their absolute peak

15-08-2020, 07:38 PM
We are going to face Melbourne at their absolute peak

Yeah, we won't beat them.

15-08-2020, 07:45 PM
And they’re saying Gawn is a chance to return...typical.

15-08-2020, 08:25 PM
Just turned footy on and then a few mins in to see sickening looking injury to Mihochek (one of my fave non dog players).

What happened to Mihochek?

Hope he is OK, good player who plays with the spirit of the game.

15-08-2020, 08:43 PM
What happened to Mihochek?

Hope he is OK, good player who plays with the spirit of the game.

Running with the flight, absolutely poleaxed.

I agree with you, I like him.

15-08-2020, 08:46 PM
Clash in F50 going for a mark. Fell straight to ground - did not move so guessing he was unconscious. When they got him on mobile stretcher he started to move his arms a bit.

I really like him - reliable, no fuss, tough and proven goal kicker. Kind of a forward version of Morris.

15-08-2020, 09:21 PM
So do I, Remi. The Royce Hart days were dark days indeed.

The darkest days. I can remember supporters booing Royce Hart as he ran off the ground after three quarter time.

15-08-2020, 10:27 PM
Don't think I've seen a better after the siren kick for goal than the Newnes kick. He absolutely flushed that.

15-08-2020, 10:29 PM
What a umpire driven game freo Carlton was. Some of the worst umpiring all game with non calls, mystifying call and then to end with 2 frees in 10 seconds was just fitting. Umps ruined a pretty enjoyable game to watch I thought.

15-08-2020, 10:30 PM
What a umpire driven game freo Carlton was. Some of the worst umpiring all game with non calls, mystifying call and then to end with 2 frees in 10 seconds was just fitting. Umps ruined a pretty enjoyable game to watch I thought.

Manufacturing entertainment. It really is AEFL.

15-08-2020, 10:33 PM
Umpires have gone back into their shell on holding the ball and the game has been worse for it. Something needs to be done at the end of the season to fix up this grey area and make it easier for the umpires to do their job properly.

Carlton were definitely lucky with the Taberner deliberate, even though he was clearly intending to hit the boundary. Yet another rule that is too grey and open to inconsistency. The downfield has been paid all season - there have been some very soft downfield frees all year.

15-08-2020, 10:35 PM
Carlton were very fortunate. Two very iffy free kicks in the last 10 seconds and then Newnes kicks a goal that is probably a 1 in 10 chance.

15-08-2020, 10:37 PM
Carlton were very fortunate. Two very iffy free kicks in the last 10 seconds and then Newnes kicks a goal that is probably a 1 in 10 chance.
The luckiest thing was that Gibbons was closest to the ball and should have taken the kick. Newnes a much better kick than Gibbons.

15-08-2020, 10:44 PM
Carlton also lucky that a downfield free cannot be awarded when the ball goes out on the full. The free kick should have been given to Docherty where the infringement took place. Freo would be seething.

How can an umpire not know their own rules?

15-08-2020, 10:50 PM
Carlton also lucky that a downfield free cannot be awarded when the ball goes out on the full. The free kick should have been given to Docherty where the infringement took place. Freo would be seething.

How can an umpire not know their own rules?

Haha that just adds to the umpiring shit show that it was. Freo should feel absolutely jibbed

15-08-2020, 10:53 PM
Don't think I've seen a better after the siren kick for goal than the Newnes kick. He absolutely flushed that.

What a kick.

15-08-2020, 10:59 PM
Haha that just adds to the umpiring shit show that it was. Freo should feel absolutely jibbed
Actually I stand corrected. It was correct to award the free downfield. Social media lit up with an old interpretation of that particular rule.

So Carlton were only lucky that the Taberner deliberate was harsh, the Docherty downfield free was soft and the wrong person got the kick after the siren!

16-08-2020, 12:05 AM
The darkest days. I can remember supporters booing Royce Hart as he ran off the ground after three quarter time.

The Royce Hart period was when I moved to Melbourne from Maryborough. I remember as the new kid 7yrs old being greeted at the school gate Monday morning, as the only Dog's supporter in my grade, with my mates laughing at each drubbing.
Funny...that only made me even more rusted on as a Dog's supporter. That's where support became passion.
All around me kids were jumping off their team to support Richmond. I couldn't fathom how changing team could even be an option.
I wore our shittiness as a badge of honour, reckoning that one day loyalty would be repaid. That's probably why 35 yrs later i cried like a child when we won the flag. All those Monday morning school entrances being laughed at for a Dog's flogging most weekend were redeemed.
Luke Darcy doesn't get much right as a commentator, but he once said 'A Dog's flag is worth two at any other club. He was correct.

16-08-2020, 12:20 AM

Who would you trust from our team (current 22, not Dickson) to do that?

16-08-2020, 12:24 AM
Can someone who knows far more than me, please explain to me why Freo in the first half, on top but playing on on a really wet ground, kept pissed around with hand balling?

Surely you would play a long kicking, territory taking game getting it into your forward 50 by foot and keeping it there, almost NRL territory style.

16-08-2020, 12:25 AM
Can someone who knows far more than me, please explain to me why Freo in the first half, on top but playing on on a really wet ground, kept pissed around with hand balling?

Surely you would play a long kicking, territory taking game getting it into your forward 50 by foot and keeping it there, almost NRL territory style.

Luckily, the Dogs never over do hand balling....

16-08-2020, 09:23 AM
Schache- oh that’s right, we never pick him either.

16-08-2020, 09:38 AM
One of the worst decisions ever
No moaning up a storm this week I bet
Great kick , but never should have been

16-08-2020, 09:46 AM
I was ok with the deliberate, but the downfield was dubious.

16-08-2020, 11:17 AM
Prior to the downfield being given the boundary umpire set the mark for the Fremantle kick for out on the full around the fifty metre line, then the Carlton free kick was about ten metres further up the field.

Should the rule be the kick for down field is where the ball crosses the boundary line?

16-08-2020, 11:42 AM
Prior to the downfield being given the boundary umpire set the mark for the Fremantle kick for out on the full around the fifty metre line, then the Carlton free kick was about ten metres further up the field.

Should the rule be the kick for down field is where the ball crosses the boundary line?

Yep, that is exactly what the rule says.

16-08-2020, 11:47 AM
Quit being a bunch of highlight truthers. Hitting that kick from that spot with his right foot was just about impossible and Freo deserved to lose after not coming out after half time anyway.

Its not like it happened to us.

16-08-2020, 12:01 PM
Best after the siren kick since Blighty. You could tell he was very confident beforehand, moving the camerman and security guard out of the way and not wasting time taking the kick once he got settled.

16-08-2020, 12:06 PM
Quit being a bunch of highlight truthers. Hitting that kick from that spot with his right foot was just about impossible and Freo deserved to lose after not coming out after half time anyway.

Its not like it happened to us.

It's not anything to do with that. The information I require is to either prove someone wrong on FB or keep my mouth shut!

16-08-2020, 12:06 PM
Best after the siren kick since Blighty. You could tell he was very confident beforehand, moving the camerman and security guard out of the way and not wasting time taking the kick once he got settled.

Honestly when I saw that I thought he was getting in early on an excuse (as if you need one for not being able to hit a kick from the left pocket fence on your right foot.)

16-08-2020, 12:07 PM
It's not anything to do with that. The information I require is to either prove someone wrong on FB or keep my mouth shut!

FB is finished for me without the need to keep events diarised. I imagine there's a lot of level headed discussion going on about the free kick though.

16-08-2020, 12:11 PM
The deliberate was a harsh call. The downfield was soft. I don't think that Blues fans would have been outraged if either of those were not called.

However, the kick was a thing of beauty. He was nearly in the hot dog stand. Unbelievable kick.

16-08-2020, 12:14 PM
FB is finished for me without the need to keep events diarised. I imagine there's a lot of level headed discussion going on about the free kick though.

In the before times pre COVID it evolved into an extremely convoluted calendar for me, however, I have found myself getting involved in things I shouldn't more and more.

Anyway, this is apparently from the rule book:

16-08-2020, 12:18 PM

In the before times pre COVID it evolved into an extremely convoluted calendar for me, however, I have found myself getting involved in things I shouldn't more and more.

Anyway, this is apparently from the rule book:

How cute trying to justify facebook use. Just kill it off.

16-08-2020, 12:34 PM

Yeah, I can't. Some people still bring the lols for me and as I said, while it's an extremely convoluted calendar system it is still a system nonetheless.

16-08-2020, 12:53 PM

Marketplace is literally the only good thing on there - and even that's hit and miss.

16-08-2020, 04:55 PM
Saints giving a lesson to the bombers. Geez they handball more than we do. At half time Parish and McGrath have a combined total of 1 kick, 14 handballs.

16-08-2020, 05:02 PM
Saints giving a lesson to the bombers. Geez they handball more than we do. At half time Parish and McGrath have a combined total of 1 kick, 14 handballs.

Saints have been impressive haven't they. Most thought they were a basket cast last year so full credit to Ratten for reorganizing the team

16-08-2020, 05:18 PM
Essendon are not taking the game on
Very easy team to play against

16-08-2020, 05:33 PM
Essendon are not taking the game on
Very easy team to play against

Can see them heading back to the bottom. An ordinary team with a poor midfield, aging key position players and not much coming through.

16-08-2020, 05:35 PM
Can see them heading back to the bottom. An ordinary team with a poor midfield, aging key position players and not much coming through.

Mcgrath v Mcluggage looks more puzzling by the week. He's good, but he's no number 1. Caleb was 46 ? But Dodoro has won every draft and trade week so maybe I'm confused.

16-08-2020, 05:39 PM
Mcgrath v Mcluggage looks more puzzling by the week. He's good, but he's no number 1. Caleb was 46 ? But Dodoro has won every draft and trade week so maybe I'm confused.

Karma making sure they didn't get the number one player as a reward for their cheating.

16-08-2020, 06:37 PM
Eagles look ominous. Their defence is like a big eff off wall.

Not sure how we get within 5 goals, tbh.

16-08-2020, 06:58 PM
Saints have been impressive haven't they. Most thought they were a basket cast last year so full credit to Ratten for reorganizing the team

I feel like Ratten would be an easy guy to play for. Just seems connected.

17-08-2020, 09:27 AM

God let’s hope that happens doc
The days since essendon’s last finals wins needs to keep living

17-08-2020, 07:53 PM
Last game of festival and Gold Coast up by a goal - come on Suns

17-08-2020, 09:05 PM
I like the Look of Noah Anderson. That kick inside was excellent.

Terrible game of footy, hopefully GC can find something.

17-08-2020, 10:02 PM
The best bit was Richmond being gifted a tide-turning goal thanks to the savage mark-encroachment rule where there was zero undue influence on the kicker, then Lynch later merrily round-housing his opponent in the guts so he could escape on a lead, mark and goal.

*chef's kiss*

17-08-2020, 10:09 PM
The best bit was Richmond being gifted a tide-turning goal thanks to the savage mark-encroachment rule where there was zero undue influence on the kicker, then Lynch later merrily round-housing his opponent in the guts so he could escape on a lead, mark and goal.

*chef's kiss*

I loved the bit where after Lynch gives his opponent said punch in the guts and kicks the crucial goal, Dunstall, who is actually one of the few ok commentators, then goes on about "Sometimes as a forward you have to make your own luck".

18-08-2020, 06:30 AM
Why do they continually play this shit down ?
Needs to be eradicated

18-08-2020, 06:47 AM
Why do they continually play this shit down ?
Needs to be eradicated

Up to the MRO.

Should absolutely be a suspension.

18-08-2020, 02:35 PM
Players used by each club in Festival of Footy

25 - FREM* HAW*
26 - CARL* GWS* RICH
27 - GEEL PORT WCE*
28 - BRIS GCS STK SYD*
29 - ESS MELB
30 - COLL
31 - WBD
32 - NTH
33 - ADEL

*played 3 matches

18-08-2020, 02:43 PM
Honestly, I like the Clug but Taranto deserves to be in that conversation. I'd take Taranto over McGrath.

18-08-2020, 02:49 PM
McGrath is a midget and a master of the panic kick out of congestion. Racks up some numbers, but his hurt factor is ultra low.

There's probably 7 I'd take ahead of him from the same draft:

Taranto
McLuggage
Ridley
English
Simpkin
Bolton
Stewart