27-07-2020, 06:40 PM

27-07-2020, 07:07 PM
Any chance there will be no rain?

27-07-2020, 11:57 PM
Any chance there will be no rain?

No rain forecast, so it will be fast and furious.

28-07-2020, 09:14 AM
Dogs by 17
BOG: Macrae
FG: Bruce

28-07-2020, 10:28 AM
Dogs by 28
BOG: Bont
FG: Lloyd

28-07-2020, 10:30 AM
Dogs by 12

First goal: Smith
BOG: Macrae

28-07-2020, 10:50 AM
Quite confident we can beat Richmond. We've won 5 of our last 6 against them, and the one loss was by 3 points.

Dogs by 12 points.
BOG: Bont has 11 Brownlow votes from his 5 matches v Richmond. Why not add 3 more.
First Goal: Bruce

28-07-2020, 01:32 PM
Margin: Dogs by 8 points
First goal: Libba
Best on ground: Macrae

28-07-2020, 09:51 PM
Dogs by 31 points
1st Goal Wallis
BOG Keith.

No way we are going to drop this mile stone game for our three boys.

28-07-2020, 10:13 PM
Dogs by 1
1st goal Gowers
BOG Smith

29-07-2020, 07:24 AM
We have a good record against Richmond wiinning 5 of last 6 and I am confident we can get the job done.

Big Timmy should handle Soldo and set us up.

Jack Macrae loves playing Richmond.

Jam Donuts
29-07-2020, 08:43 AM
We can get the Tigers this week

Dogs by 18
1st Goal Lloyd
BOG Toby

29-07-2020, 08:59 AM
Dogs by 14
1st goal Bruce
BOG Bont

Tough spot for Richmond here with their 3rd game in 11 days going from gold coast to Sydney and back to the gold coast (also in Sydney the week before that). Vlastuin is a huge out for them.

29-07-2020, 09:14 AM
Feeling good about this match up, even with some solid ins for Richmond.

Not exactly sure where the goals are coming from but confident we'll work something out.

29-07-2020, 09:15 AM
Dogs by 14
1st goal Bruce
BOG Bont

Tough spot for Richmond here with their 3rd game in 11 days going from gold coast to Sydney and back to the gold coast (also in Sydney the week before that). Vlastuin is a huge out for them.

No excuses tonight. I was talking to a mate about the exact same thing.

29-07-2020, 10:10 AM
Richmond by 37 points
Macrae BOG
Lipinski first goal

29-07-2020, 10:19 AM
We have a good record against Richmond wiinning 5 of last 6 and I am confident we can get the job done.

Big Timmy should handle Soldo and set us up.

Jack Macrae loves playing Richmond.

I reckon Bont has Jack covered v Richmond - 11 Brownlow votes in the past 5 games.

29-07-2020, 10:19 AM
Richmond by 37 points
Macrae BOG
Lipinski first goal

What?:eek:

29-07-2020, 10:25 AM
That's what everyone said when I selected Carlton by 4 goals.

We win when I don't select us so I'm not selecting us.

29-07-2020, 10:31 AM
Rich by 17 points
Ist goal - Wallis
Bog - macrae

We have a knack of playing key forwards back into form, so expect Lynch and Jack to kick 5 between them.

29-07-2020, 10:38 AM
That's what everyone said when I selected Carlton by 4 goals.

We win when I don't select us so I'm not selecting us.

huh? But carlton beat us

29-07-2020, 10:53 AM
Rich by 17 points
Ist goal - Wallis
Bog - macrae

We have a knack of playing key forwards back into form, so expect Lynch and Jack to kick 5 between them.

I have a bit more faith now with Alex Keath in charge.

The real battle to contain their forwards is winning the clearance and keeping the turnovers to a minimum.

29-07-2020, 11:02 AM
Confident we can win the clearance battle, particularly without Nankervis to deal with. Handling the pressure in open play will be the key.

Conditions look good for tonight, but it always gets slippery in QLD at night. I wonder if we're doing any training at night to replicate the conditions. No point training in dry blazing sunshine if the game conditions are nothing like that.

29-07-2020, 11:40 AM
Confident we can win the clearance battle, particularly without Nankervis to deal with. Handling the pressure in open play will be the key.

Conditions look good for tonight, but it always gets slippery in QLD at night. I wonder if we're doing any training at night to replicate the conditions. No point training in dry blazing sunshine if the game conditions are nothing like that.

Clearances are certainly key to this one. Richmond haven't been winning the clearances typically, even when they smashed North - they were -12 in clearances. But winning the clearances gives our defenders the opportunity to do their thing. Vs Carlton we got smashed in centre clearances early, which put our defenders on the back foot.

29-07-2020, 12:59 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/784616/the-last-five-richmond

The last five: Richmond
A look back at the last five encounters between Richmond and the Western Bulldogs, ahead of their Round 9 match-up.

Richmond has been the yardstick of the AFL competition for the last few seasons, but the Western Bulldogs will be buoyed by a strong recent record against the reigning premiers.

The Dogs have claimed the points in five of the last six contests between the sides, stretching back to 2014.

And they saluted each time they faced the Tigers in their premiership years, 2017 and 2019.

Here’s a look at the last five encounters between the Bulldogs and the Tigers.

2019 – Round 7 (Bulldogs 99 defeated Tigers 52)

The Bulldogs were on a four-game losing streak coming into this clash last year, and put in a stunning performance to get their season back on track.

It was Aaron Naughton’s breakout game – five goals and nine contested marks – which led the Dogs to an emphatic victory.

After an even start, the Bulldogs exploded, kicking 13 goals to four after quarter time to streak to a 47-point win.

2018 – Round 23 (Tigers 98 defeated Bulldogs 95)

The finals were out of reach of the Bulldogs late in the 2018 season, but three consecutive wins leading into the final round had their fans excited about the future.

Against the highly-fancied Tigers, they nearly pulled off a massive upset at the MCG.

Led by 43 disposals from Jack Macrae and three goals from Billy Gowers, the Dogs had a chance to pinch victory in the final seconds, but Brad Lynch’s long-range snap from the boundary hit the post and Richmond prevailed by three points.

2017 – Round 7 (Bulldogs 80 defeated Tigers 75)

The Bulldogs scored a thrilling comeback win at Marvel Stadium. Early in the third quarter the Dogs trailed by 23 points, but inspired by a three-goal second half from Clay Smith, they got over the line by five points in a tight finish.

Smith ended up with four goals – an equal career high – while Jack Macrae and Luke Dahlhaus won plenty of the ball and Marcus Bontempelli snared the three Brownlow votes.

2016 – Round 16 (Bulldogs 85 defeated Tigers 75)

Another victory in tight tussle at Marvel Stadium which lifted the Bulldogs into the top four in their premiership year.

The Dogs trailed by 14 points deep into the third quarter, but finished with seven of the last 10 goals, including the last three of the match.

Jake Stringer kicked four second half majors, and the Bont was again best afield with 25 touches, two goals and eight tackles.

2015 – Round 2 (Bulldogs 85 defeated Tigers 66)

Both sides started the 2015 season with wins, and it was the Bulldogs who kept their streak alive with a comfortable win against the Tigers.

The Dogs won three of the four quarters, stretching out to a 29-point lead by three quarter time and doing enough in the last to secure the win, despite conceding seven scoring shots to two.

Tory Dickson booted four goals for the winners and, you guessed it, Bontempelli was the best player on the ground.

29-07-2020, 01:03 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/784617/four-things-to-watch-round-9

Four things to watch: Round 9
The talking points ahead of our Wednesday night clash with Richmond.

1. The Milestone Men

One milestone is reason enough to celebrate. Tonight, the Bulldogs will have three.

There won’t be a banner at Metricon Stadium like usual, but the efforts of Jack Macrae (150th), Caleb Daniel (100th) and Bailey Williams (50th) certainly haven’t gone unnoticed.

Macrae and Daniel in particular, both premiership players, have been star performers for the Bulldogs for a number years.

Williams has now established himself in the side, alongside his great mate Daniel in defence, and has been a key contributor in 2020.

All three will be hoping to have an extra reason to celebrate at the final siren.

2. The Inclusions

Sam Lloyd and Toby McLean are two significant inclusions for the Bulldogs.

At their best, both have the capability to be shape the outcome of games.

Lloyd returns from a shoulder injury after two scratch matches. The Bulldogs’ 2019 leading goal-kicker will be keen to impress on return – even more so given he’s coming up against his old side.

It’s been a different 2020 for McLean, who has been influential at times but found himself in and out of the side.

The tenacious Dog will be hoping he can impact against the Tigers an reclaim a permanent position.

3. The (Richmond) Inclusions

Richmond might be missing some stars, but there’s no underestimating the reigning premiers.

The return of skipper Trent Cotchin from a hamstring is significant.

Sydney Stack, Jack Ross and Oleg Markov join Cotchin in the side this week, highlighting a deep Tigers’ list.

They might be without the likes of Dion Prestia, Bachar Houli, Shane Edwards, David Astbury and Nick Vlastuin, but a quick look at the Tigers’ 22 will tell you there’s no shortage of quality there.

And after a loss to the GWS Giants in a grand final re-match last week, these Tigers will be determined to bounce back.

4. The Big Game Player

A star was born last year against Richmond. And a new nickname – AstroNaught.

Aaron Naughton tore the Tigers apart, with five goals and 14 marks – nine of those contested. Even Jesus Christ would have struggled to stop him, according to Tigers’ coach Damien Hardwick.

There’s no Naughton this week. So who will make their mark on a huge Wednesday night stage?

Conditions have been challenging for key forwards on the Gold Coast.

But could this be the night for another Josh Bruce bag? At the other end, the Bulldogs will be desperate to keep superstar forwards Tom Lynch and Jack Riewoldt quiet.

Time will tell how this plays out… but it’s set up to be a cracker.

29-07-2020, 01:29 PM
huh? But carlton beat us

Sorry I picked Norf and the Suns I think.

29-07-2020, 03:35 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/Kz9tgkYq/Dogs-Tiges.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Don't mind this

29-07-2020, 04:13 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/Kz9tgkYq/Dogs-Tiges.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Don't mind this

I like Liam Baker's hair. Tough yet understated.

29-07-2020, 07:21 PM
Dogs by 4 points.
BOG: The Bont.
FG: The Bruuuce. (said with a Scottish accent).

29-07-2020, 07:23 PM
Dogs by 11 points
First goal Bruce
BOG Macrae

29-07-2020, 07:33 PM
Weightman out, Trengove in.

29-07-2020, 07:35 PM
Just win ( whatever will do )
Bog Macrae
1st goal Wallis

29-07-2020, 07:39 PM
Ready to go on a Wednesday night at home in Melbourne, Victoria. Go Dogs!

https://i.postimg.cc/VSxwDVVL/8-C7497-EF-8-E92-4-E3-D-A5-ED-CCBD0-DD64-CCA.jpg (https://postimg.cc/VSxwDVVL)

29-07-2020, 07:54 PM
Dogs by whatever
First goal : Willo
Bog: Caleb

Go the bulldog breed!

29-07-2020, 07:55 PM
Weightman out, Trengove in.

No surprise really

29-07-2020, 08:01 PM
Dogs by 15
First goal- Wallis
BOG - the Bont, he's overdue for a big one

29-07-2020, 08:07 PM
Is there any word on why we’ve gone from heavy outsiders to heavy favourites over the past two hours?

Has Dustin Martin broken a leg or something?!

29-07-2020, 08:08 PM
Come on Dogs, a flying start

29-07-2020, 08:15 PM
Great stuff Bailey Williams to Suckers then to Vander first goal! Vander been impressive in his first year so far.

29-07-2020, 08:18 PM
If it’s going to be that easy for them up forward, gonna be a long night.

29-07-2020, 08:18 PM
How does an umpire miss that push

29-07-2020, 08:20 PM
Games are bit quicker than training eh, Billy?

29-07-2020, 08:21 PM
Gowers is crap

They look dangerous... and so much quicker across the ground. We need to be clean.

Games are bit quicker than training eh, Billy?

He did win the ball in the first place

29-07-2020, 08:22 PM
He did win the ball in the first place

We’re better off when he doesn’t have it?

29-07-2020, 08:24 PM
Keath has had a very scrappy start.

Backline looks all at sea.

Bloody hell Suckers watched Lynch mark whole wrestling Keith. Why not come in and punch the ball away

The umps have missed half a dozen frees to us. What’s going on out there

How bad was that miss by Bruce to Suckling a few minutes back

Not handling Richmond pressure atm

29-07-2020, 08:25 PM
Tough out there at the minute.

29-07-2020, 08:25 PM
Signs are real bad!

29-07-2020, 08:26 PM
Errors are killing us

29-07-2020, 08:26 PM
That’s a let off after a poor Wood kick.

29-07-2020, 08:27 PM
The umps have missed half a dozen frees to us. What’s going on out there

Clarkson probably had a sook about something.

29-07-2020, 08:27 PM
Errors are killing us

Yep need to clean that up

29-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Free kick Richmond.

29-07-2020, 08:29 PM
That’s rubbish from Wallis!

And why is Gowers out there?

Western Bulldogs vs. Richmond/ umpires/ commentators.

Should be a fun night.

They don’t look like a side that’s playing 3 games in 2 weeks. We do.

29-07-2020, 08:30 PM
Western Bulldogs vs. Richmond/ umpires/ commentators.

Should be a fun night.

We’re not doing ourselves any favours. Hopelessly uncompetitive

Should have been kicking from the goal line.

I think we're in a bit of strife tonight. Tiges look sharp and hungry, need to get one against the flow here.

We’re not doing ourselves any favours. Hopelessly uncompetitive

Yeah lots of fumbles too

Great effort on that chase out there from Bill. Maybe he’s tired from trying too hard at training.

29-07-2020, 08:31 PM
Garbage. Like a training run.

Will Bevo make a change or will he allow us to cop a belting?

29-07-2020, 08:32 PM
Very poor start

What else is on TV?

When we’re bad, we stink!

they are too quick. it looks like a smashing.

29-07-2020, 08:33 PM
Just turned on and looks like we're done.

What's happened?

How bad has Lipinski been?

You just know we can't come back from here

Wow we’re bad. Absolute trash. Adelaide would beat us

29-07-2020, 08:34 PM
Cordy touched that

Bevo has a bit of work to do at quarter time

Just turned on and looks like we're done.

What's happened?

See Rd 1, 2, Carlton game. Same sh*t.

29-07-2020, 08:35 PM
Bevo needs to give the players the manic footy pill at quarter time.

29-07-2020, 08:36 PM
Terrible. They are clean. We are fumbling every single time. Almost the difference.

29-07-2020, 08:36 PM
Probably our worst qtr for the year. How can they be so clean and we are just fumbling the ball

29-07-2020, 08:37 PM
Even when the is no pressure we are taking 3 touches to control it

That is where we are against the big boys unfortunately.

Effort are just poles apart. Richmond look like they give a shit we look like we’d rather be at movie world.

When we’re bad we stink. I’ve never seen such a disparity of this magnitude. What is it that causes the difference in mentality?

Bruce & Gowers 1 touch between them.

29-07-2020, 08:38 PM
Why is the footy they are using a dry one and we get the water logged one?

We’re an indoor footy side. Woeful.

33 marks to 7 is embarrassing.. our work-rate sucks!

I thought his attempt to shepherd for someone and in the process let the person he was shepherding access the ball was outstanding!

Early days. Bad first qtr. lots of upside.

We’ll overcome!

Yeah looks like he has a bar of wet soap in his hands every time he goes near it. And the poor defensive effort to attract the ball off the wing was really poor. He does have plenty of mates.

We need Bont to stand up and change the tidy of the game or we are done.

29-07-2020, 08:39 PM
We’re an indoor footy side. Woeful.

We need more games experience in the elements.

Fumbling is killing us

Bruce & Gowers 1 touch between them. Hardwick letting Gowers be our loose man on the forward line

It would be nice to get control of the ball......and you know, give our forwards a chance.

Not sure if they've had many chances though.

Not good early on and not sure if we're good enough to peg it back. Bonus to that is could be an early night for me.

They’re the least of our problems

Macrae 8 disposals
B Smith 7 disposals
Richards 5 disposals

Vandermeer with our only goal

And why is Gowers out there?

Great effort on that chase out there from Bill. Maybe he’s tired from trying too hard at training.

Can't say that. It's bullying.

You just know we can't come back from here

Thanks Bruce.

Bumped off the ball by Picket way too easily for this level of footy.

We’re getting exposed here

29-07-2020, 08:40 PM
Fumbly and sloppy. Can't get our hands on it, can't get any rhythm at all. They look like scoring every time they go inside 50.

C'mon Dogs, lift the intensity.

29-07-2020, 08:40 PM
Yeah looks like he has a bar of wet soap in his hands every time he goes near it. And the poor defensive effort to attract the ball off the wing was really poor. He does have plenty of mates.

We need Bont to stand up and change the tidy of the game or we are done.

Lipinski has been ordinary for much of the year, he's escaped criticism but his attack on the ball and tackling has been meek.

Bont 3 disposals? It's really not good enough from him.

29-07-2020, 08:41 PM
That is where we are against the big boys unfortunately.

Feels that way doesn’t it?

29-07-2020, 08:42 PM
Caleb Daniel and Crozier need to do more as does Bont and Libba.

We can't get our hands on the ball at the moment, they have had almost 30 disposals more.

29-07-2020, 08:45 PM
Suckling done for the night and our fortunes are changing with a nice piece of play and Wallis goal.

Suckers :(

Has done his hamstring

Suckling done his hammy and finished for the night.

29-07-2020, 08:46 PM
Wallis and Vandermeer the only forwards who look remotely dangerous.
Good mark by Lloyd before though.

29-07-2020, 08:47 PM
That’s a shocking kick by Bailey Smith... missed Bont by 10m!

Oh yeah great idea let Dusty do whatever he wants

China Dog
I can't understand what Bevo sees in Gowers, he loves him and everyone else loathes him. No more games for him please!!!

We need to start getting into it now.

so slow

I love Smith, but that was a rubbish kick inside 50.

So.
Slow.

29-07-2020, 08:49 PM
Bont a bit better now

29-07-2020, 08:49 PM
Bruce has just fit in perfectly with kicking like that. Perfect Bulldog forward kicking

29-07-2020, 08:50 PM
Our defence non existent tonight.

Bont another poor hand over leading to a Richmond Goal coming up.

Bont, terrible.

I literally have no idea why we are defending from in front of Richmond players. It is insane.

29-07-2020, 08:51 PM
Bont a bit better now

He’s been horrible like the whole team

Cotchins pass was forward.

Our defence non existent tonight.

No pressure on the ball carrier up the field isn’t helping at all.

Reckon this is showing where we're at. Miles off it

Is there a more mentally fragile side? You can tell the result 3 minutes into a game. No fight.

29-07-2020, 08:52 PM
He’s been horrible like the whole team

Yeah overall this season hasn’t been the best he can be.

29-07-2020, 08:54 PM
Reckon this is showing where we're at. Miles off it

Yep. Pretenders.

29-07-2020, 08:55 PM
Good block Billy

This is a carbon copy of the Carlton game.

Much better delivery to Bruce, Goal.

29-07-2020, 08:56 PM
Good block Billy

It really was. Nice finish from Bruce.

Good hit up from Bruce.

Cut the errors and we’re in this.

Thank *!*!*!*! for that!

Getting our hands on the ball now.. need to keep it going.

29-07-2020, 08:57 PM
That is disgraceful Libba.

How did Libba miss that.

That’s a big miss!

Libba would kick that 99 times out of 100.

29-07-2020, 08:58 PM
Great pick up in defence Caleb. Macrae having more influence.

29-07-2020, 08:59 PM
What’s with the handballs right our feet?

29-07-2020, 08:59 PM
Poor defending. How can nobody contest a 55m predictable kick into D50…

29-07-2020, 09:00 PM
Daniel really stiff then

Why is Crozier flat footed at that contest? Help your teammates.

Bailey Williams is having a ‘mare!

200cm v 187cm... fun times!

Why was English standing at CHB while Joel takes a mark 15m out.

Way too easy Dogs :mad:

Annnnd poor defending again

He’s only giving away 13cm.

29-07-2020, 09:01 PM
Tell me is there a team worse at defending a long ball to the top of the square yet also the worst at marking a long ball into the square in our own forward line

We only need to give them ten metres of grass and they can still get behind us to score.

Unbelievable.

That’s it we’re done.

We are done

Thank you linesman, thank you ball boys. Game over.

He's the only one that went up.

29-07-2020, 09:02 PM
As I've said numerous times, we're just not that good. List needs fixing

29-07-2020, 09:02 PM
Well this games not much fun.

29-07-2020, 09:03 PM
Seriously! Every entry into our forward line is marked by the opposition. Every entry for them we have no contest.

29-07-2020, 09:04 PM
Bont has to get his set shot kicking right.

Yay, BONT!!!!!!! Yay!

When we lose we lose bad. Already 51 points to them. Yet in our wins we give up 6-7 goals the whole game. It’s all between the ears

Gowers 0 touches & -6 ranking points.

29-07-2020, 09:05 PM
We need to make some adjustments at half time and at the very least get competitive

Gowers 0 touches & -6 ranking points.

But let's play him next week cos he'll learn...

Yay, BONT!!!!!!! Yay!

That’s just crap.. it wasn’t even close!

29-07-2020, 09:06 PM
That’s just crap.. it wasn’t even close!

Our most talented player isn't a good goal kicker
It could have lifted the team

29-07-2020, 09:07 PM
Crap free kick!

Libba and Bont…….so so costly. Unbelievable.

But let's play him next week cos he'll learn...

We’d hate to hurt his feeling.

Well whatever. If that’s a free then what game am I watching

Our most talented player isn't a good goal kicker
It could have lifted the team

He needs to sort it out.. there’s no use him playing forward if he can’t kick them.

29-07-2020, 09:08 PM
My early call for the Moment. Bont miss shot at Goal once again.

29-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Pipeline just fall on his head. Do we have the Dumbest footballers going around.

Wow. This is terrible

Tigers were $14 40+ on Sportsbet lol

Embarrassing

Well on a positive we are playing a Richmond back into form.

29-07-2020, 09:10 PM
My early call for the Moment. Bont miss shot at Goal once again.

I’d go with Libbas miss. That puts us within a couple of kicks. He didn’t and well looks like a 10 goal belting

This is all Gowers fault...……..

Turned TV off. Cannot watch the obliteration.

Just awful

Tell me is there a team worse at defending a long ball to the top of the square yet also the worst at marking a long ball into the square in our own forward line

That's quite a niche category.

How can their forwards get a free run at the ball every single *!*!*!*!en time

What the hell are we doing!

29-07-2020, 09:11 PM
A team that knows how to win vs a team of pretenders.

This is laughable.

Love Smith but he's been pathetic

Why would Smith take that advantage ????

Time to turn off.

Know we're going badly when Bailey Smith is having a mare and doing selfish things.

Nah mate, he’s been a shining light ��

dukedog
29-07-2020, 09:12 PM
Are we on the field?

Just pathetic
I’m over these schizophrenic performances
Pressured us and we’ve gone to water

It's moments like these I wish Suckling was out there.

He needs to sort it out.. there’s no use him playing forward if he can’t kick them.

I know we are getting back into the whole goal kicking debate but we have to take this more seriously

dukedog
Hahahah how does he keep getting games?

Why would Smith take that advantage ????
Slow entries in to the F50 kill us.
He should have kicked the ball off the ground just before that though

29-07-2020, 09:13 PM
41 points down, hard to know what levers Bevo can pull from here

He's not been any good, just love how he's the focus when you've got Bont and Libba shitting the bed with easy shots and we can barely get our hands on it meaning our forwards are starved.

Terrible. They were much better. But three Bad misses from us resulted in multiple goals from them. The Libba, Wallis and Bont miss are just bad, bad, bad football. Just kills you.

Yep. Gowers getting selected is the least of our worries.

29-07-2020, 09:14 PM
41 points down, hard to know what levers Bevo can pull from here

Ejector seat?

dukedog
29-07-2020, 09:15 PM
Terrible. They were much better. But three Bad misses from us resulted in multiple goals from them. The Libba, Wallis and Bont miss are just bad, bad, bad football. Just kills you.

Our skills are so poor some weeks. I dont know whether its pressure and we fold or just week to week luck. Pressure teams seem to get us.... carlton and saints do it and we lost those

29-07-2020, 09:16 PM
It reminds me of the Prelim last year. We just don’t like the hard stuff and really need to develop a play B

29-07-2020, 09:17 PM
Really don't know what to do with Bont. He's a liability at the moment, he gets caught all the time and he's a turnover king who can't kick goals.

We have problems all over (much of it list related), but our captain has churned out absolute tripe.

I'm riding him hard because he's meant to be our best player but he's not even in our top 10-15 on performance this year.

He's not been any good, just love how he's the focus when you've got Bont and Libba shitting the bed with easy shots and we can barely get our hands on it meaning our forwards are starved.

It’s been inside 50 17 times, 4 less than Richmond.

Some real poor skill execution all night from players who should be better.
Bontempelli - he is so far behind his best this year. And with poor goalkicking to boot it hurts.
Libba has been woeful. Maybe needed a rest this week.
Lipinski - apart from one passage of play he's been very ordinary
Macrae - has tried, but has been uncharacteristically fumbly
Bailey Smith - again, has tried hard, but has been very sloppy.

Our mids just getting belted. but yeah, Gowers is our biggest problem.

29-07-2020, 09:18 PM
Really don't know what to do with Bont. He's a liability at the moment, he gets caught all the time and he's a turnover king who can't kick goals.

We have problems all over (much of it list related), but our captain has churned out absolute tripe.

I'm riding him hard because he's meant to be our best player but he's not even in our top 10-15 on performance this year.

I really wonder if he's carrying a hip injury that he looked hobbled by recently.

29-07-2020, 09:19 PM
Who has said Gowers is our biggest problem? Protected species on here.

Even our form players are down - Keath and Williams

It's moments like these I wish Suckling was out there.

Suckling has more touches than Gowers and hasn’t been on the field in 45 minutes.

29-07-2020, 09:20 PM
You can’t trust this team. We are looking like five good wins. Four beltings. Who knows what team turns up.

We look like we are running in quicksand. Slow, slow, slow. Terrible skills, terrible tackling, terrible goal kicking, terrible mental strength, and .....it’s just terrible, but yeah, the only thing that’s not terrible, is I’m use to watching this.

We need a Plan B for when we are under siege. We just don’t have one!

How many of them were good entries? Most have been garbage, or have occurred with a slow build up allowing Richmond to get numbers back.
Most of Richmond's have been deep or off the back of quick ball movement inside.

Suckling has more touches than Gowers and hasn’t been on the field in 45 minutes.

Shhh, don’t you dare.

29-07-2020, 09:21 PM
I really wonder if he's carrying a hip injury that he looked hobbled by recently.

Maybe but that was last week and he's been rubbish long before that. It also shouldn't impact his ability to hit targets by hand.

The amount of times his handballs miss targets or get smothered is concerning.

We can't even play him forward because he's the worst kick at goal in the team.

You can’t trust this team. We are looking like five good wins. Four beltings. Who knows what team turns up.

A fluctuating %

I'm out of ideas. Can we start a fuggin' blue?

Killed off in the blink of an eye with precious little resistance.

We're millionaires or paupers, there's so little push-back with this team.

Think quality of entry has anything to do with it?

Again, I don't think he's been any good, I just think the focus should be elsewhere.

I mean maybe it's cathartic, or something, just to whip one player as if that player is causing the malaise rather than largely being a symptom of it?

We need a Plan B for when we are under siege. We just don’t have one!
But do we have a plan A?

29-07-2020, 09:22 PM
Do we have an overrated list ?

29-07-2020, 09:22 PM
Macrae working hard but needs help.

29-07-2020, 09:23 PM

Absolutely.

Our list is vanilla.

29-07-2020, 09:23 PM
I’m gonna get drunk my dudes. This is depressing.

29-07-2020, 09:24 PM
Crazy thought, but maybe Bont is significantly below 100% fitness and has been told it's something that won't get worse by playing, so the decision has been made that a 70% Bont is better than whoever would replace him?

And maybe it's not Gowers, Lloyd and Bruce who are at fault for sh*t delivery and lack of entries?

And maybe Bevo can't actually make them faster, or stop them fumbling under no pressure?

I understand it's frustrating and we are playing poorly, but there's gotta be a little bit of thought applied to some of the comments on here.

It's one of those games. Everything they touch turns to gold. Everything we touch turns to shite. Be that as it may we have missed easy goals at crucial times and they have been gifted 3 goals. So, I live in hope.
The htb free kick against Caleb Daniel was risible, the Riewolt push in the back against Cordy was criminal and the turn over free kick against Richards raised pathetic to a new level.

Why on earth would we bring in Trengove to play him as the number one ruck against a genuine easy kill in Soldo. Gotten nothing out of English.

Even though we are not in the hunt, the thing to look for is how we respond to the situation.

What will Bevo and the coaching staff do ? How will our players adapt to Richmond's game plan.

There is much to be learnt about ourselves, and whether we can dig deep and respond.

Adversity is where character is tested, how will we react.

29-07-2020, 09:25 PM
But do we have a plan A?

That manic pressure style around the ball.

29-07-2020, 09:25 PM
The moment Trengove went into the middle, it went off the rails. How do we get to half time 40 down with English and Bont at centre stoppages about 3 times each when it’s so crucial?

We’ve just turned our backs on what we know works.

English a key forward now? Nice idea.

29-07-2020, 09:26 PM
We need 7 goals but only kicked 3. That aside I can’t see us stopping them kicking another dozen. We just let ourself down with poor games at critical times of our season.

I'm out of ideas. Can we start a fuggin' blue?

Killed off in the blink of an eye with precious little resistance.

We're millionaires or paupers, there's so little push-back with this team.

We can’t pull a Getting Smashed So Start A Fight (TM Essendon Bombers 1897-2020). They have Martin who probably could bash our entire side by himself.

Even though we are not in the hunt, the thing to look for is how we respond to the situation.

What will Bevo and the coaching staff do ? How will our players adapt to Richmond's game plan.

There is much to be learnt about ourselves, and whether we can dig deep and respond.

I’m expecting this to be a blowout like the Carlton game. Give them the first 2 goals of the 3rd and expect a bewildering 70+ point loss.

Yep we'll learn a bit tonight.
I've already got a tick next to Vandermeer's name. Tenacious. Compare the contest in the pocket where Lipinski sat meekly back while Vandermeer was trying to make the play.

29-07-2020, 09:27 PM

No, we just find ways to misuse it.

29-07-2020, 09:27 PM
The moment Trengove went into the middle, it went off the rails. How do we get to half time 40 down with English and Bont at centre stoppages about 3 times each when it’s so crucial?

We’ve just turned our backs on what we know works.

English a key forward now? Nice idea.

Why we do persist with harebrained sh*t?

29-07-2020, 09:28 PM
Who has said Gowers is our biggest problem? Protected species on here.

Not at all. Just don't enjoy the continual focus, when there are way more established players who are actually driving this piss poor performance thus far.

29-07-2020, 09:28 PM
Crazy thought, but maybe Bont is significantly below 100% fitness and has been told it's something that won't get worse by playing, so the decision has been made that a 70% Bont is better than whoever would replace him?

And maybe it's not Gowers, Lloyd and Bruce who are at fault for sh*t delivery and lack of entries?

And maybe Bevo can't actually make them faster, or stop them fumbling under no pressure?

I understand it's frustrating and we are playing poorly, but there's gotta be a little bit of thought applied to some of the comments on here.

This is the game day thread where all bets are off. Analysis is for cooler heads in later days.

Let it rip.

29-07-2020, 09:29 PM

Agree with much of this but the truth is somewhere in the middle. Ultimately I think the biggest issue is the actual talent on the list.

On Bont, is he really better at 70% than fully fit players? It sounds great to use that phrase, but I'm not sure it's correct.

29-07-2020, 09:29 PM
I’m gonna get drunk my dudes. This is depressing.

We're aligned on something it seems.

29-07-2020, 09:31 PM
Big 2nd half we need. Cmon Dogs!

Our back line hasn't performed well has it? They haven't had too many touches

Why on earth would we bring in Trengove to play him as the number one ruck against a genuine easy kill in Soldo. Gotten nothing out of English.
Trengove to Fb

29-07-2020, 09:32 PM
Agree with much of this but the truth is somewhere in the middle. Ultimately I think the biggest issue is the actual talent on the list.

On Bont, is he really better at 70% than fully fit players? It sounds great to use that phrase, but I'm not sure it's correct.

I'm not saying he is, but I wouldn't be surprised if that has been the case. I hope he just gets given a rest because he clearly needs it.

We have no middle ground. Just very good, or very poor. Too many games are beyond us, too early in the contest. We are a one legged man in an arse kicking contest. Two men down. Game over in the first quarter.

The effort just isn’t there
When our effort is just a fraction off , we get beat
The efforts way off tonight and this looks like a 70 pt hiding
Deer in the headlights also ! Happening far to often

Our back line hasn't performed well has it? They haven't had too many touches
Richmond either go over the top of the backline or take big marks

29-07-2020, 09:33 PM
Good spoil from Crozier

29-07-2020, 09:34 PM

Thanks Jazzadogs. We're having a poor night, that's for sure. Richmond are an exceptionally good team, have executed a clever game plan against us. We are a work in progress. Some selections are...err, puzzling...but for all the calls to bring back Mclean and Lloyd, they've shown little.

If you're five per cent off in intensity - and we are tonight - this is what can happen in footy.

29-07-2020, 09:36 PM
Wallis and Vandermeer been good up forward. We need more overall.