View Full Version : WB Game Day V Brisbane Lions R11 2020

Pages : 1 [2] 3

08-08-2020, 09:42 PM
Our mids have been annihilated

08-08-2020, 09:43 PM
Gardner just engaged as every defender does, Hipwood lost his feet and its a free. Spare me. Can't blame Gardner its a midfield massacre.

Lipinski didn't want it. Goal Lions!

Game over now.

we can't get control of the footy whatsoever

Bevo keeping Bont cold up forward again not helping. We have been murdered out of the middle this qtr

We have been shocking. But the umps having a nightmare. Only one team can get a holding the ball.

We're so far off it, it's not funny. Buck stops with Bevo.

I see weaknesses all over the ground. Forwards are woeful, mids are soft and backs don’t know where to be. We’re an absolute rabble

08-08-2020, 09:44 PM
He falls over every time he goes to a contest

08-08-2020, 09:44 PM
Does our coach have any idea?

08-08-2020, 09:45 PM
9 of the last 11 goals to Brisbane

Dam Adelaide will beat us at this rate

That free not paid against Andrews has basically ruined my weekend.

Be careful.

Our mids look pretty on paper but as a group must have the most fragile glass jaw in the comp.

They can dominate teams if they're in the mood but when someone pushes back they frequently go to water.

Then you get what's happening to our patchwork quilt backline.

Wouldn't matter if it was Gardner or Tits Kennedy back there that quarter.

There's a multitude of reasons why we're crap.

Not sure I have any confidence in our leadership to make the necessary changes.

08-08-2020, 09:46 PM
Fat lady is warming up her vocal cords i think she has already gone to bed

Game over I'm afraid. The days of us coming back from 5 goals down are long gone

Yeah I’m done. He needs to go. We’re so far off from competing it’s not funny. We make teams look so much better than they are.

We've been so disappointing for so long.

Sweet simply has to play next week and English sent to the scratchy.

08-08-2020, 09:47 PM
-11m gained, 2 free kicks against. Could have another player with a negative supercoach score

Bevo keeping Bont cold up forward again not helping. We have been murdered out of the middle this qtr

Looked like he was in the middle to me. Started forward that qtr.

Gardner is clearly out of his depth, but isn't close to our biggest problem.

The 206cm blonde bloke getting destroyed by Brisbane's back up is a much bigger issue.

We were in front. We let McGluggage out the back of a stoppage to kick a cheap goal inside their 50m. Unforgivable. Then they kick the next two from the centre clearance without us touching it. That was the momentum and the game. He was like 20m clear. Ran straight out of the stoppage.

08-08-2020, 09:48 PM
Our mids look pretty on paper but as a group must have the most fragile glass jaw in the comp.

They can dominate teams if they're in the mood but when someone pushes back they frequently go to water.

Flat track Bullies.

We’re getting annihilated out of the middle, but that wasn’t the case for a lot of the game. I don’t think this is done.

That HTB not getting paid and then getting a bullshit free at the other end is a farce and that umpire should be taken to a padded cell.

Anyone got any recommendations for Netflix? ;)

They are walking through us in the middle. Awful. We just can’t get our hands on the ball.

Agree it’s mids woeful in 2nd and inability to take mark in middle of ground letting us down. Gardner no worse than Cordy. C’mon dogs, dig in and at least be competitive.

08-08-2020, 09:49 PM
Just amazed at the ball watching of our players, they all sat outside the contest and allowed the lions to feast.

Pressure pathetic, slip, slide, go to ground, oops miss another tackle.

The centre square hasn't worked all year, anyone set up slightly defensively once they got a run on?

Looked like he was in the middle to me. Started forward that qtr.

He was forward resting when Bruce and Mitch were off.

I don’t think we can doubt we have talent so it’s got to could you “Between the ears” the coaching or the environment

How can we dish this kind of performance up every third week.

The Sinner is good

Doesn't help getting smashed in the ruck. They are winning the hitouts and feeding their midfield. English is way off at the moment and when he gets it around the ground he is getting caught easily.

How can we have two contested marking beasts in Bruce and Naughton basically be non existent for an entire half of footy ? I get they've not played together much but I'm lost.
Macrae been great as per usual.

08-08-2020, 09:50 PM
He was forward resting when Bruce and Mitch were off.

Correct. But he was also in the midfield

We’re getting annihilated out of the middle, but that wasn’t the case for a lot of the game. I don’t think this is done.

That HTB not getting paid and then getting a bullshit free at the other end is a farce and that umpire should be taken to a padded cell.

It's done and dusted man.

Gardner is getting caught out 1on1 against Hipwood which I’m sure we would have said should not happen. But given our mids have chosen to be pea hearted tonight, Brisbanea forwards are spreading our defenders wide to isolate Hipwood on Gardner. Something I’d like to see our forward line do just once in a season. But no we’ll just rock up and hope things will just work like they did in 16. This is garbage football we’re dishing up. 4 years running we’ve essentially been pathetic. Time for change I’m afraid.

08-08-2020, 09:51 PM
I don’t think we can doubt we have talent so it’s got to could you “Between the ears” the coaching or the environment

How can we dish this kind of performance up every third week.

I have said it many times we are lacking talent and we are over rating some players. We need some more talent to come in.

Just amazed at the ball watching of our players, they all sat outside the contest and allowed the lions to feast.

Pressure pathetic, slip, slide, go to ground, oops miss another tackle.

The centre square hasn't worked all year, anyone set up slightly defensively once they got a run on?

Well they either sit outside it or crowd it, nothing in between. It drives me completely mad.

English hasn't fired a shot in weeks. A part from Macrae our mids have looked slow and reactive. Too many double grabs at the ball and whoosh brisbane take it away.

08-08-2020, 09:52 PM
I have said it many times we are lacking talent and we are over rating some players. We need some more talent to come in.

Massive cross on the coaching group that they haven't been able to develop our playing group over the past 4 years. Given its been the same blokes in the box, they've had ample time.

08-08-2020, 09:52 PM

Watched Blackfish during the week. Also watched 6 days last night

08-08-2020, 09:53 PM

If you want something more uplifting than watching the Bulldogs, try Seven with Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman.

Massive cross on the coaching group that they haven't been able to develop our playing group over the past 4 years. Given its been the same blokes in the box, they've had ample time.

Yep I think we’ve all been extremely patient. But I worry we’re letting a heap of talent waste away. Either do a thorough review or just clean house. We can’t go into next season with the same setup.

How can we have two contested marking beasts in Bruce and Naughton basically be non existent for an entire half of footy ? I get they've not played together much but I'm lost.
Macrae been great as per usual.

We are not getting the ball inside 50. Currently 30 to 19, and most if those were in the first quarter

08-08-2020, 09:54 PM
Gardner is getting caught out 1on1 against Hipwood which I’m sure we would have said should not happen. But given our mids have chosen to be pea hearted tonight, Brisbanea forwards are spreading our defenders wide to isolate Hipwood on Gardner. Something I’d like to see our forward line do just once in a season. But no we’ll just rock up and hope things will just work like they did in 16. This is garbage football we’re dishing up. 4 years running we’ve essentially been pathetic. Time for change I’m afraid.

Yes something needs to happen. Not sure what the answer is. We have the makings of a good team but also have too many passengers. I am hoping we are a work in progress but who knows.

It's done and dusted man.

*!*!*!*! that we’re winning. Brisbane are cowardly loser virgins we are so much better I need this so badly it has to happen.

Gardiner has obvious limiations but that free to Hipwood was garbage - that simply cannot be a free otherwise every single marking contest would be a free.

We are losing this out of the middle and badly. And you have to at the very least break even against such an elite midfield like Brisbane. This failure breaks down the rest of our game.

Thank goodness I'm sitting in a Bulldogs section. Unfortunately my 7 yr old son brought his mate who supports the Lions. Little fella has been chirping ever since the Lions got a run on.
Is it ever okay to put one on the chin of a 7 yr old...asking for a friend.

08-08-2020, 09:55 PM

You can't develop hacks

08-08-2020, 09:56 PM
Thank goodness I'm sitting in a Bulldogs section. Unfortunately my 7 yr old son brought his mate who supports the Lions. Little fella has been chirping ever since the Lions got a run on.

Depends how tight you are with the Catholic Church or the Clintons.

Make him walk home.

Yes something needs to happen. Not sure what the answer is. We have the makings of a good team but also have too many passengers. I am hoping we are a work in progress but who knows.

We have been a WIP since 2016.......patience is running out

Definitely need support for English. He is looking tired. Hard work being sole ruck. Hope this helps him and doesn’t burn him out.

Do the Lions really have that much better a list ? Mcinerney seriously. Agree we need some talent injected but we can't be this bad.

08-08-2020, 09:57 PM
Do the Lions really have that much better a list ? Mcierneney seriously. Agree we need some talent injected but we can't be this bad.

We leave too much to too few

Get Gardner to FF (he’s not going to mark it anyway, just like our other talls up there)
And get Naughton to where he should be...defence.

We have been a WIP since 2016.......patience is running out

Maybe 2016 we over achieved. Maybe the WIP is still a factor. I don’t know. I agree patience is wearing thin.

To be honest I genuinely can’t see how we can turn it around, I just can’t.

We’ve got too many Nil impact players.

Our bottom 6 is on par with Adelaides and we’ve got nothing special waiting in the wings.

I’m not sure what’s happened to Bruce but he can’t hold a mark to save himself, he was a great mark at the saints, wtf happend?

08-08-2020, 09:58 PM
Do the Lions really have that much better a list ? Mcierneney seriously. Agree we need some talent injected but we can't be this bad.

Its too much left to too few......sadly.

We started well. But then it all went pear-shaped. Fumbling, misdirected hand passes, missed tackles - the works.
English needs to put his leg out first, rather than the other way round and CONTEST! We have been smashed in the middle and looked very poor in that quarter.

Macrae 19 D
Bont and Dunks 10 D each

Macrae clearly been our best mid but hey cannot do it on his own we need the others to get more involved.

I’m sorry to say we need an overhaul of coaches and players before we have a tilt at a flag.

08-08-2020, 09:59 PM
To be honest I genuinely can’t see how we can turn it around, I just can’t.

We’ve got too many Nil impact players.

Our bottom 6 is on par with Adelaides and we’ve got nothing special waiting in the wings.

I’m not sure what’s happened to Bruce but he can’t hold a mark to save himself, he was a great mark at the saints, wtf happend?

He's lost all confidence. Came back completely out of shape and as the season has worn on, with less conditioning staff/sessions/equipment, he hasn't been able to catch up and now he's paying the price.

08-08-2020, 09:59 PM

Anything structurally you can see at the ground we cant YHF. Bruce and Naughton for eg ?

08-08-2020, 10:00 PM
Do the Lions really have that much better a list ? Mcinerney seriously. Agree we need some talent injected but we can't be this bad.

That’s the thing we are not. Is it how we are coached? Our game plan? Our inability to adapt? Who knows. Lots of questions but no answers.

Definitely need support for English. He is looking tired. Hard work being sole ruck. Hope this helps him and doesn’t burn him out.

I would switch Bruce in the ruck and leave him there for a long stint.

Probably coz our fwd line is like Bunnings on a weekend and the saints had a more open, direct route to goal ?

08-08-2020, 10:01 PM
I would switch Bruce in the ruck and leave him there for a long stint.

Hello, 10 goal loss.

08-08-2020, 10:01 PM
Macrae 19 D
Bont and Dunks 10 D each

Macrae clearly been our best mid but hey cannot do it on his own we need the others to get more involved.

Dunks, Smith , Bont not getting first hands out of the centre.

08-08-2020, 10:02 PM
Does any team fall over, or miss tackle, or have their disposals smothered as much as we do ?

He's lost all confidence. Came back completely out of shape and as the season has worn on, with less conditioning staff/sessions/equipment, he hasn't been able to catch up and now he's paying the price.

It certainly shows, he’s a spud this year.

Well, as usual this year we should know 3 minutes in if we’re a chance or not. Cmon dogs!

Did the players read this? Tonight they decided to play for 3 minutes then switch off. Thanks for keeping us guessing fellas

08-08-2020, 10:03 PM
You can't develop hacks

Who are you calling out?

08-08-2020, 10:04 PM
Fagan interviewed at half time admitting he's basically happy for Macrae to get as much of the ball as he likes.

It certainly shows, he’s a spud this year.

Fair assessment. Promised a lot delivered little. Look at the Saints. Flying without him.

Probably coz our fwd line is like Bunnings on a weekend and the saints had a more open, direct route to goal ?

Worst part is at the season launch (in the before times kind of) he was so bullish about our forward 50 delivery opposed to the aints. That aged well.....

You can't develop hacks

But our coaching group selects them?

08-08-2020, 10:05 PM
Need a big 3rd quarter now.

08-08-2020, 10:06 PM
How is that not holding the ball against Cameron.

Disgraceful.

Another holding the ball missed on Cameron

Nice work Ed!

Richards is a complete butcher.

Shit Richards.

Although, nothing coming to him to spread the defence.

08-08-2020, 10:07 PM
It’s not JUST the passengers we are carrying. It’s our leaders too. Apart from Macrae, Wallis, Libba and most of the time Daniel the others are way below where they should be. We can’t overlook the fact that a lot of our young stars in 16 have not only not made progress, but gone backwards! Who is to take blame for this when it SO many players? The buck stops with the coaches.

And in the words of Terry Wallace, I’ll spew up if I hear how we evened the second half in the event that occurs.

08-08-2020, 10:07 PM
2020- the worst year of umpiring I can ever remember

08-08-2020, 10:08 PM
Our midfield needs the blow torch turned on it. Its just awful.

This could be biggest loss of year.

This has been Gardner’s best game ever and his man has 4 goals just after half time.

I feel like we so many low IQ footballers. Is that harsh?

Shit Richards.

Although, nothing coming to him to spread the defence.

Dale was clearly free.

The odds of losing 11 clearances in a row are over 4,000 to 1 ... how?

08-08-2020, 10:09 PM
This is crap

08-08-2020, 10:09 PM
This has been Gardner’s best game ever and his man has 4 goals just after half time.

I cant compute that logic. Non sequitur.
(I agree)

08-08-2020, 10:10 PM

Not at all... most of our players have no feel for the game, and it’s not like most of them are athletic beasts either.

What has happened since the 1st quarter Dogs?

But our coaching group selects them?

And at the end of every season the list is apparently well balanced and we have cut into it deep enough

08-08-2020, 10:11 PM
There are a number of players seriously out of form.

08-08-2020, 10:13 PM
What has happened since the 1st quarter Dogs?
Brisbane turned up ?

08-08-2020, 10:13 PM
Bailey Dale should have marked that

08-08-2020, 10:14 PM
Brisbane turned up ?

Yep they have. We were close early on but yes since the 2nd quarter not anymore.

And at the end of every season the list is apparently well balanced and we have cut into it deep enough

We all know Bevo has a real hard time moving players on... and it’s to the detriment of our performances as we have too many players who aren’t up to the level required to get us from a mid road team to one at the pointy end of the competition.

Not at all. Very accurate summation

08-08-2020, 10:15 PM
It has gotten to the point where I'm surprised when Richards hits a target.

08-08-2020, 10:16 PM
BRUCEEEE wow

I’m surprised when anyone hits a target

I've been off Richards for over a month now. Enough's enough.

Good grab Bruce, good finish. Amazing what a bloke can do when one on one.

Makes a difference when Bruce is one on one

Does he ever?

It would nice if he could just kicked one in our general direction.

08-08-2020, 10:17 PM
Finally Bruce takes advantage.

08-08-2020, 10:17 PM
Does he ever?

It would nice if he could just kicked one in our general direction.

He actually stopped, weighed up his options and still put it down the opposition's throat.

08-08-2020, 10:18 PM
Said it last week, he is great at getting to the drop of the ball and really poor at deciding what to do with it in his hands

08-08-2020, 10:18 PM
Vandermeer with our best moment of the night.

08-08-2020, 10:19 PM
Good kick Bailey Dale. Well done Lloydy.

08-08-2020, 10:19 PM
That was great from Vandermeer.

08-08-2020, 10:20 PM
How the F does English get beaten twice in the ruck v Eagles?

08-08-2020, 10:21 PM
Crowding the ball again and leaving Brisbane midfielders alone in the forward line is a player issue, not a coaching issue.

We lack leadership and organisation on the ground.

They are smashing us without much input from Cameron

That last centre clearance sums it up, had it then managed to slip slide and loose it. Amazing how many times it happens

Easy as you like. English is getting man handled by the winner of the f*cking Recruit.

Ah footy, you cruel mistress.

08-08-2020, 10:22 PM
Am I alone thinking weve come in with a different plan tonight and its exposed us defensively. I cant articulate it but we just seem to have a more attacking mindset / gameplan maybe because of Bruce and Naughton. We cant get the balance right. Or I've had too many beers ;^)

08-08-2020, 10:22 PM
Wood is cooked.

08-08-2020, 10:24 PM
Richards is just taking the piss!

08-08-2020, 10:24 PM
Richards again. Careless bullshit. Sick of it.

His ball drop is just pathetic. Terrible.

08-08-2020, 10:25 PM
They chip it around for half an hour yet still have players all by themselves inside 50

Wood is cooked.

Brayshaw 4 years behind the times saying it's hard to beat him in a one on one.

Richards is just taking the piss!
I actually laughed when he shanked it 20m from the nearest teammate after doing well to take possession in a 1-on-1

Richards has been especially woeful.

08-08-2020, 10:26 PM
We all know Bevo has a real hard time moving players on... and it’s to the detriment of our performances as we have too many players who aren’t up to the level required to get us from a mid road team to one at the pointy end of the competition.

Its a constant suggestion that confuses me because when the coaches get questioned during the season because of the way we are playing apparently it because the list isn't good enough and hasn't been for a while.
At the end of the season though when it's pointed out we haven't cut into the list deep enough or addressed our needs apparently we have actually got the right balance.

Richards again. Careless bullshit. Sick of it.

He has played about one or two average games all year... and the rest have been poor. How he gets selected every week is beyond me.

Why not allow players to throw and drop the ball. Would make it so much easier to umpire and decisions can't be influenced by crowd noise.

Wood is cooked.

He has been cooked since 2017, just taken many along time to realise it.

Adelaides best chance for a win will be next week

Richards has been especially woeful.

And let's Robinson get behind him for the easy inside 50 mark as some icing.

I didn't expect this, we should have performed a lot better than we have.

08-08-2020, 10:27 PM
Ed richards has to be the worst kick in the afl

We have played better this qtr but we just can’t put together 4 qtrs. That is deflating. It is really hard to take watching this.

That goal by Robinson has done my head in. Our defenders had so much time to man up but just didn't. Not fair dinkum

Well done Dale. One our better performers tonight.

We have way too many players who simply can’t hit a target 40 metres away on a regular basis.

08-08-2020, 10:28 PM
Great finish Dale.

That second quarter lapse in the middle has killed this game.

Nice kick Caleb Daniel to Bailey Dale. Just haven’t been seeing that too often tonight.

Ed richards has to be the worst kick in the afl

Add Wood, Cordy, Dunkley, McLean.

Adelaide then Melbourne are nowhere near guaranteed wins playing like this.

Can we have Caleb Daniel play in all positions at once

Just need another goal now and set ourselves for a better last quarter

08-08-2020, 10:29 PM
Our hot potato game plan is so September 2016

08-08-2020, 10:30 PM
He has been cooked since 2017, just taken many along time to realise it.

Finished seventh in our best and fairest last year. Fifteen votes out of fourth...…...

3 goals apiece this quarter

The Lions have too much pressure

Oh geez

Gardner haha

Gardner

How does Gardner get a game? I don’t understand. I don’t get it.

If gardner is afl quality then so am I

Lol Gardner.

Great selection MC. Anyone who refuses to question the MC need to pull their head out of the sand.

That was really very bad

08-08-2020, 10:31 PM
If you’re out of form...play the bulldogs

That's a poor free by Gardiner there. Panicky for no reason

Horrible horribly not up to it.

So nice of Ryan Gardiner to bring Eric Hipwood back into form.

Defenders need to be smart enough to know that if the forward is holding they can't also hold.

Umpires will always pay it to the forward.

Hip worth should buy Gardener a slab for tonight.

Gardner finding out that AFL footy is a little tougher when it's not played at half rat power with 16 a side.

What must go through Lewis Young’s mind on occasions like this?

08-08-2020, 10:32 PM
31 to 16 clearances defence is getting hammered due to midfield thrashing .

I just hate when we have one bad quarter and keep it fairly even for the rest of the game and lose. So frustrating!

Gardner holds on more than when Richmond sing their team song.

08-08-2020, 10:33 PM
Question: what happens if we lose to Adelaide next week?

Move Naughton back, put Cordy onto Hipwood. I don’t know, maybe do something....

That passage on the wing just sums us up. We are too slow, get out muscled and turnover the ball way too easily

31 to 16 clearances defence is getting hammered due to midfield thrashing .

Of course it doesn’t help, but the ineptitude of our defence & their positioning hasn’t helped the situation.

08-08-2020, 10:34 PM
There are so many things that are wrong individually and as a team its hard to know where to begin.

The bucks stops with the coach.

How bad is our pressure? We cant stick at tackle its so frustrating.

Question: what happens if we lose to Adelaide next week?

We get JUH for cheap?

Serious question - for those continually defending Bevo and the coaching group, how much longer do you give them?

I take it Gardner was a Bevo rookie selection at the mid year draft?

Tackles inside 50m.

Brisbane 13
Bulldogs 2

They just walk it out.

08-08-2020, 10:35 PM
Can we have Caleb Daniel play in all positions at once

Give him a go in the ruck, he may have won more ruck contests than English tonight.:D

Damn we still have a quarter to go! At least they shorter quarters I guess.

Gardner holds on more than when Richmond sing their team song.

4 frees and 4 goals, I am afraid he is not a footballers backside

Can anyone name anything positive about our team? Not players. Areas of the ground and play. I can’t. Weaknesses all over the place.

He would have to be thinking of getting a trade. Why would you hang around this club

Serious question - for those continually defending Bevo and the coaching group, how much longer do you give them?

I think they're done.

08-08-2020, 10:36 PM
Move Naughton back, put Cordy onto Hipwood. I don’t know, maybe do something....

Oh you want to move to plan B. Bevo hasn’t got one so we are out of luck.

More time. We pretty much matched them that quarter. We’ll be fine once we have Hunter back.

China Dog
Horrible to say, but maybe Bevo needs to go or at a minimum needs some alternative thinking and help. Continually favours duds like Gardiner, Bruce and Gowers and has no game plan when things go wrong.

Good trainer though.

Same old every time we lose

Of course it doesn’t help, but the ineptitude of our defence & their positioning hasn’t helped the situation.

Agree not making excuses. Its been woeful all round. Not sure what to think. Richards has so much potential it seems miles from being realised.

08-08-2020, 10:37 PM
I just hate when we have one bad quarter and keep it fairly even for the rest of the game and lose. So frustrating!

That is a false economy. The game is all but over and yes we may match them for the rest of the game but realistically our opponents just cruise through the rest of the game and rotate key players to minimise injury and keep them fresh.

Good trainer though.

How bad must the others be

Can’t stand Hipwood, and to make it worse my mother-law is texting me about him because he’s a distant cousin to my wife.

08-08-2020, 10:38 PM

Well said. Knowing our luck he will request a trade and blossom elsewhere. Clear as day umps are paying forwards if jumper held-how many times do you need to do same thing when you know it will result in free kick I50 to opposition?

Bont is trying his heart out there-some of his deft taps etc are very good. Vandermeer has done some nice things. If Richards could clean up his kicking to I50......

And 4 games.

Horrible to say, but maybe Bevo needs to go or at a minimum needs some alternative thinking and help. Continually favours duds like Gardiner, Bruce and Gowers and has no game plan when things go wrong.

Bruce isn’t a dud. He’s sadly out of form, but he has much exposed form at this level.

What’s the definition of insanity?

I can’t see how we continue to select players who aren’t up to this level.. it’s just nuts.

His blind loyalty is super frustrating.

Bailey Smith still on the field?
Think he needs a break...amongst many others

How bad must the others be

Who knows, we don't play them.

08-08-2020, 10:39 PM
And 4 games.

5 now ;)

Hopefully Gowers and Gardner will break the hub rules and have us sent home to put us out of misery.

31 v 17 clearances. The quality of those clearances is also the length of the Flemington straight. You can’t defend that. With that service our forwards would look like superstars.

Bailey Smith still on the field?
Think he needs a break...amongst many others

Smith has been very disappointing

Same old every time we lose

Why don't you answer the question?

Some posters here get so narky when anyone questions club leadership. It's a serious question - we've been awful since 2016 save for 7 weeks last year, this year we've gone backwards and been overtaken by a handful of sides.

How much longer do you give the coaching group as a whole before you make changes?

Seriously teams are just taking the piss against us. They’re toying with us. We are so predictable, slow and weak. We can’t lay a tackle to save ourselves. We make teams look amazingly fast and slick due to our slowness and lack of pressure.

08-08-2020, 10:40 PM
5 now ;)

4.75 :cool:

31 v 17 clearances. The quality of those clearances is also the length of the Flemington straight. You can’t defend that. With that service our forwards would look like superstars.

Libba smashed this week

I put today's performance fairly and squarely on the on field leadership, or lack thereof.

We are continually crowding the footy and leaving Brisbane outside, and we're continually getting into each other's paths. That's not a coaching problem, that's a player problem.

Someone in our midfield needs to actually call out that being defencive at stoppages doesn't mean win the ball so the opposition doesn't get it. It actually means positioning and having the intent to halve the contest and reset. Again, on field and player driven.

08-08-2020, 10:41 PM

Moving Bevo on is not the answer. He coached very well last week and he is a more than capable AFL coach.
Despite what some think, he has the ability to change things around.

At times he's shown a stubborn level of faith in players and this year that hasn't worked out that well for him

08-08-2020, 10:42 PM
Seeing English and Dunkley as our crumbing forwards while Cavarra and West slum it in the scratchies.

Piss and moan all you like about the coaching, but what happened in the second quarter was player driven and they need to take some responsibility.

Are we any chance to win the ball or hold it in when the ball hits the ground in F50?

Our forward half pressure is non existent.

08-08-2020, 10:43 PM
Why don't you answer the question?

Some posters here get so narky when anyone questions club leadership. It's a serious question - we've been awful since 2016 save for 7 weeks last year, this year we've gone backwards and been overtaken by a handful of sides.

How much longer do you give the coaching group as a whole before you make changes?

I guess we see the trajectory and it was on the up playing finals last season and after a slow start being in the eight earlier this year. I'm lost as to the beltings this year though.... when we lose we lose big.

2017 and 2018 was blamed on a certain player group damaging the minds of the club.
What about 2019 and 2020 ?

The question needs to be asked, no?

Well done Naught!

I put today's performance fairly and squarely on the on field leadership, or lack thereof.

We are continually crowding the footy and leaving Brisbane outside, and we're continually getting into each other's paths. That's not a coaching problem, that's a player problem.

Someone in our midfield needs to actually call out that being defencive at stoppages doesn't mean win the ball so the opposition doesn't get it. It actually means positioning and having the intent to halve the contest and reset. Again, on field and player driven.

But it reoccurs each week. Each year. If the coaches can’t effectively deliver a message over 3 years then they’re either doing a poor job or we’ve recruited extremely stupid footballers

08-08-2020, 10:44 PM
Piss and moan all you like about the coaching, but what happened in the second quarter was player driven and they need to take some responsibility.

Whilst true this issue is not exactly anything new.

08-08-2020, 10:44 PM
Moving Bevo on is not the answer. He coached very well last week and he is a more than capable AFL coach.
Despite what some think, he has the ability to change things around.

At times he's shown a stubborn level of faith in players and this year that hasn't worked out that well for him

He went on a run and won a Premiership. Those credits have been spent in the last 4 seasons.

08-08-2020, 10:45 PM
This game at Marvel different story btw..its an extraordinary season.

08-08-2020, 10:45 PM

100% agreed, but that is what the coaches or MC mow need to address.
Our back line hasn't functioned this week and our midfield hasn't performed to expectations.

08-08-2020, 10:46 PM
Ridiculously good kick under pressure from Caleb

08-08-2020, 10:47 PM
Daniel is a freak. Complete freak.

Best play of the night.

Good finish Lloyd.

A couple more goals to show something positive for us would be a better way to finish this game

Caleb Daniel is a genius. Just gets better every week.

This game at Marvel different story btw..its an extraordinary season.

You learn more in adversity than when it’s easy.

Lovely goal. Couple more please.

Best play of the night.

Good finish Lloyd.

Daniel, Bont, Vandermeer. Good things happen when these 3 get involved.

08-08-2020, 10:48 PM
When Daniel has the ball there was no movement. He had to create something out of nothing. Well done but poor options up field

100% agreed, but that is what the coaches or MC mow need to address.
Our back line hasn't functioned this week and our midfield hasn't performed to expectations.

The issue I have with what happened in the middle is that replacing players and making the team worse. We should expect better attentiveness to the task and performance from our key players weekly and they just don't deliver it.

A couple more goals to show something positive for us would be a better way to finish this game

Sorry but I’ve had enough of this. Sting out of the game and we get goals but as soon as the pressures on we turn to water.

Best play of the night.

Good finish Lloyd.

We could do with another one like him couldn't we?

We are still hanging in there!

08-08-2020, 10:49 PM

Possibly. Lions play all their games in Melbourne lets see how good they are.

08-08-2020, 10:50 PM
Much better by English

Shit not good for Cameron

Shit hopefully Charlie is ok. Want him up and about in the finals. Exciting to watch.

08-08-2020, 10:51 PM
Toby hasn’t done much tonight. Just saying.

08-08-2020, 10:51 PM

You do and overall this season will be good for us

08-08-2020, 10:52 PM
Get easy goals to get back within 4. Lions turn it up a bit and waltz into an easy goal

How does that happen?

Hope Cameron is ok. Really want Brisbane to win this year if we don’t (which obviously we won’t)

All night. They just walk it out of stoppages. That’s not talent. That’s lack of application from us. We have had a terrible night around the ball.

That was insipid pressure. Work rate non-existent

08-08-2020, 10:53 PM
That was insipid pressure. Work rate non-existent

All night. All night they have just walked it out. Terrible.

08-08-2020, 10:54 PM
Loving Vandas year

Why couldn’t have we responded more in the 3rd quarter. A bit late now.

Geez Wallis works his guts out