View Full Version : Trade Dunkley
Pages :
[
11]
16-09-2022, 09:58 PM
Word from #branddunks is that they are disappointed that the queen has decided to leave us just as the momentous decision of Josh's playing future was about to be unveiled to the world. It is expected that as soon as #branddunks stylist is available a press conference will be called and we will all be told what we already know.
18-09-2022, 11:04 AM
The IT couple. So beautiful.
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/brownlow-time-for-tippah-dwan-and-josh-dunkley/video/b2fe8ed92dd18b805128333022eef625
18-09-2022, 11:08 AM
Dunks doesn't want to lose his Brownlow tickets so no announcement until afterwards.
18-09-2022, 04:26 PM
The IT couple. So beautiful.
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/brownlow-time-for-tippah-dwan-and-josh-dunkley/video/b2fe8ed92dd18b805128333022eef625
Bleuuughhh.
18-09-2022, 05:12 PM
Bleuuughhh.
Could you #belessbulldog
18-09-2022, 06:30 PM
Could you #belessbulldog
I don't believe so.
18-09-2022, 07:38 PM
They all look like bouncers.
18-09-2022, 07:58 PM
The dunkleys got a worst dressed award!!!
18-09-2022, 08:00 PM
Why is he even there?
18-09-2022, 08:11 PM
Can he sit at another table?
18-09-2022, 08:21 PM
Why is he even there?
Free feed and gift bag and a catch up with Fages.
18-09-2022, 08:33 PM
Stylist is in trouble.
18-09-2022, 09:06 PM
How the hell is the "worst dressed" thing still a thing.
Imagine the effort these people put into looking as good as they think they can and then literally an hour after arriving get told publicly that they look shit.
I mean I get it gets clicks but it's pretty shithouse and unnecessary "journalism".
18-09-2022, 09:12 PM
How the hell is the "worst dressed" thing still a thing.
Imagine the effort these people put into looking as good as they think they can and then literally an hour after arriving get told publicly that they look shit.
I mean I get it gets clicks but it's pretty shithouse and unnecessary "journalism".
It's the entire point. So sad little nobodies can sit at home and sneer and snigger so they feel somewhat elevated from their daily ritual of passing out on Woodstock in their underwear.
18-09-2022, 09:17 PM
It's the entire point. So sad little nobodies can sit at home and sneer and snigger so they feel somewhat elevated from their daily ritual of passing out on Woodstock in their underwear.
I feel personally attacked.
18-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Is Woodstock still around? Last time I drank that I thought I was having a heart attack, I was 23 at the time.
18-09-2022, 09:31 PM
Is Woodstock still around? Last time I drank that I thought I was having a heart attack, I was 23 at the time.
It's no Mississippi Moonshine ;)
I think it is still around sadly.
18-09-2022, 09:32 PM
I feel personally attacked.
Tell me what you're wearing so we can do it right....
Wait...
18-09-2022, 10:05 PM
Tell me what you're wearing so we can do it right....
Wait...
I already did.
19-09-2022, 08:09 AM
Unless Dunkley is going to wait until after our B&F night is it fair to assume that the announcement should come through by Wednesday?
19-09-2022, 08:11 AM
I already did.
Hahahaaaa.
19-09-2022, 08:12 AM
Unless Dunkley is going to wait until after our B&F night is it fair to assume that the announcement should come through by Wednesday?
Has a winner ever said they're leaving prior?
I've got two opposing forces on him attending.
It's about this season, and he was an amazing contributor so of course he should attend.
The other :
*!*!*!*! off.
19-09-2022, 08:21 AM
It's about this season, and he was an amazing contributor so of course he should attend.
The other :
*!*!*!*! off.
It will probably form part of his acceptance speech. “this is the hardest decision I have ever had to make, and it may come as a shock to everyone as I have held this close to my chest, blah, blah, blah….”
19-09-2022, 08:23 AM
It will probably form part of his acceptance speech. “this is the hardest decision I have ever had to make, and it may come as a shock to everyone as I have held this close to my chest, blah, blah, blah….”
He will use the acceptance speech to propose to Tippah.
Then after the awkward applause he will say oh yeah I'm off to the Lions and drops the mic.
19-09-2022, 08:43 AM
He will use the acceptance speech to propose to Tippah.
Then after the awkward applause he will say oh yeah I'm off to the Lions and drops the mic.
Nah, he'll tell her he's thinking about proposing then spend two months dodging the question
19-09-2022, 08:52 AM
He will use the acceptance speech to propose to Treloar.
and then say, I mean Tippah
19-09-2022, 08:53 AM
The other :
*!*!*!*! off.
I can recall when Ward didn't make his intentions known before his departure there was a lot of discussion that he shouldn't have been played for the last 3 games and his spot could be filled by players committed to the club beyond the season. All logical when you consider we weren't in the finals chances either.
So I get the notion that for some we should flip Dunks the bird but given the club has said he was engaged right through the season and the fact that we know his form didn't slide I think we need to display the same level of professionalism and accept the fact that this sort of scenario will play out occasionally.
I'm not sure of the motivation on why Dunkley has dragged this out like he has but he's a premiership player and has just had a terrific season with us. Outside of not signing up again he's done his best.
19-09-2022, 08:56 AM
I'm not sure of the motivation on why Dunkley has dragged this out like he has but he's a premiership player and has just had a terrific season with us. Outside of not signing up again he's done his best.
Whilst all true, and the players and his mates would want him there, it is more the supporters attending that will feel he shouldn't.
19-09-2022, 09:37 AM
Whilst all true, and the players and his mates would want him there, it is more the supporters attending that will feel he shouldn't.
Interesting take on things BAD.
As you know the night is about the B&F for the season so I don't get all of the angst of someone being there who was committed right through the season. Dunks being there or not shouldn't change that for anyone.
When Harbrow deferred to announce his intentions and ultimately left us to be closer to his family, but only wanting to go to the GC, the fact he was delaying his decision wasn't an issue for 99% of the supporters. Why was that? It was because we were in the finals and we all wanted the club to play our best players. It didn't matter that he hadn't committed beyond the season.
I wonder if the stance of many supporters with Dunks and the B&F night would change if we were heading to a GF on Saturday?
I'm really disappointed in the way Dunks has managed this but it's going to happen more and more. He's given his all as a player and a team mate and while I get why people are upset he should be able to attend the night with his team mates.
19-09-2022, 09:54 AM
Ward still attended the B&F the year that he left, and it was known before the night that he was going.
19-09-2022, 10:11 AM
As you know the night is about the B&F for the season so I don't get all of the angst of someone being there who was committed right through the season. Dunks being there or not shouldn't change that for anyone.
When Harbrow deferred to announce his intentions and ultimately left us to be closer to his family, but only wanting to go to the GC, the fact he was delaying his decision wasn't an issue for 99% of the supporters. Why was that? It was because we were in the finals and we all wanted the club to play our best players. It didn't matter that he hadn't committed beyond the season.
I wonder if the stance of many supporters with Dunks and the B&F night would change if we were heading to a GF on Saturday?
I'm really disappointed in the way Dunks has managed this but it's going to happen more and more. He's given his all as a player and a team mate and while I get why people are upset he should be able to attend the night with his team mates.
https://media.giphy.com/media/opDOlodTVNgm4/giphy.gif
19-09-2022, 10:24 AM
Maybe his agent has been angling for the B&F to be tossed in for him to sign a new contract? After the Cripps appeal, anything is possible with these awards in my opinion.
19-09-2022, 10:42 AM
Maybe his agent has been angling for the B&F to be tossed in for him to sign a new contract? After the Cripps appeal, anything is possible with these awards in my opinion.
Not a bad call.
Hopefully his B&F finish/vote polling in the Brownlow gives us better leverage.
19-09-2022, 10:43 AM
No, I think the B&F is another opportunity hashtag all his sponsors for his hair, fake tan, suit, shoes, and some extra jewellery for Tippah. And his new stylist after the Brownlow one gets the chop.
19-09-2022, 10:52 AM
No, I think the B&F is another opportunity hashtag all his sponsors for his hair, fake tan, suit, shoes, and some extra jewellery for Tippah. And his new stylist after the Brownlow one gets the chop.
No way Dunks would part ways with his stylist of 5 years, he's a very loyal individual.
19-09-2022, 11:07 AM
I think if we don't hear this week, I actually think he stays.
19-09-2022, 11:09 AM
Karl Amon is departing Port after getting the most Brownlow votes and Tom Mitchell finished 2nd at Hawthorn and might be looking to move. Times are changing.
19-09-2022, 11:14 AM
Decision imminent, could someone please do a welfare check on his partner, oh and his girlfriend.
19-09-2022, 11:32 AM
Sam Edmund
Josh Dunkley today informed the Western Bulldogs he wants a trade to Brisbane. My understanding is the Lions have put forward a six-year deal for Dunkley.
Swoop
19-09-2022, 11:34 AM
I genuinely can't see how Brisbane are going to make this trade work.
19-09-2022, 11:37 AM
OK, let the trading games begin. What do we get from them? Picks? Players? They're all over Ashcroft so I can see us getting eff all in this deal.
19-09-2022, 11:38 AM
We use him to get Grundy in that 3 way trade some genius posted a couple of pages back. We’re giving up the most and are the only ones trading against our will so I figure if we’re down then everyone else will be too.
Swoop
19-09-2022, 11:40 AM
They're also committed to Fletcher who is expected to go in the late first round.
Their first pick is 15 and will most likely only receive a 2nd round pick for McStay.
If they don't accumulate enough points they'll go into draft deficit which will see them lose their first round pick for next season. This only further limits their hand. Not sure what else on their list will see them get a first round pick in return.
19-09-2022, 11:42 AM
Any Jack Crisp’s on the Brissy list? Feels like a player has to be involved in this one, I guess not necessarily to us.
19-09-2022, 11:43 AM
It’s a little known fact that my mother, a diehard who’s now 85 has put “curses” on players hove left us. She announced Dempsey and Templeton would never play in a premiership. We did feel she went too far with Nathan Brown. All I’m saying is Brand Dunkley should be worried.
19-09-2022, 11:46 AM
We use him to get Grundy in that 3 way trade some genius posted a couple of pages back. We’re giving up the most and are the only ones trading against our will so I figure if we’re down then everyone else will be too.
Well I don't see that happening (Re: Grundy) but I think there will need to be some creativity to get this over the line. Their hands are kind of tied because of their draft commitments.
19-09-2022, 11:49 AM
Sam Edmund
Josh Dunkley today informed the Western Bulldogs he wants a trade to Brisbane. My understanding is the Lions have put forward a six-year deal for Dunkley.
This is very very very bad news.
KHAAAAAAAN!
Bad player to lose, bad club to go to.
Not sure what I think about this guy.
I think if he's at the B and F with Tippah I'll ask for a photo, when he steps forward I'll say, not with you, with her.
19-09-2022, 11:53 AM
KHAAAAAAAN!
Tbh I fine with this news. It had been coming so was prepared. At least a decision has been made. As long as we are able to gain high draft picks or trade for a player like Grundy then all should be sweet.
19-09-2022, 11:54 AM
KHAAAAAAAN!
Disappointed that all he cares about is Dunkley.
Should have taken Essendon's offer two years ago. When a player doesn't want to be at the club, just get rid of them, however, maybe the club thought we will teach other players a lesson, that if you have a contract both parties have to agree.
19-09-2022, 11:56 AM
Disappointed that all he cares about is Dunkley.
Should have taken Essendon's offer two years ago. When a player doesn't want to be at the club, just get rid of them, however, maybe the club thought we will teach other players a lesson, that if you have a contract both parties have to agree.
Think of all the extra rucking he could've been doing as well ! I can't wait for Fagan to play him in the ruck.
Nice that its all out in the open now and we can focus on getting a trade done.
Thanks for your service Dunks and enjoy your next job.
19-09-2022, 11:57 AM
Tbh I fine with this news. It had been coming so was prepared. At least a decision has been made. As long as we are able to gain high draft picks or trade for a player like Grundy then all should be sweet.
The Lions just don't have any as they've committed to f/s stuff.
If you could choose the worst club for him to nominate this season it's the Lions.
I agree I'm glad it's done.
19-09-2022, 11:58 AM
I’m taking a silver lining approach to this. The money this frees up will be good for us in the long run. We’re losing a player from a line we bat very deep at and we’re likely to bring in more first round picks off the back of it.
Thanks for your service Josh. Hope you never win a final up north.
19-09-2022, 11:58 AM
So cold ;)
19-09-2022, 11:59 AM
Where's Jeemak - he started all this ?!
19-09-2022, 11:59 AM
Good point chef. Despite all the shenanigans Dunks walks away a Bulldog legend. Part of the squad that delivered our 2nd premiership. Wish him all the best.
19-09-2022, 12:00 PM
Where's Jeemak - he started all this ?!
Cashing in at the TAB
19-09-2022, 12:01 PM
The Lions just don't have any as they've committed to f/s stuff.
If you could choose the worst club for him to nominate this season it's the Lions.
I agree I'm glad it's done.
True but Magic Power will work his stuff and make sure we don’t get ripped off.
So cold ;)
At the end of the day this is just a job to the players and you have the try and take the emotional attachment off them.
Its sad thats how it is now, but I guess cheer the jumper not the guy in it.
19-09-2022, 12:02 PM
I’m taking a silver lining approach to this. The money this frees up will be good for us in the long run. We’re losing a player from a line we bat very deep at and we’re likely to bring in more first round picks off the back of it.
^^^
This is the best take, as long as we get a good return. Last sentence I really wish for.
19-09-2022, 12:02 PM
He’s definitely given us a ton of material to work with from the outer next year at least.
If the choice is between a future first and nothing but he goes to North then I’d honestly rather the latter. We gotta use this to make us better right now while Bont is still the best player in the league.
19-09-2022, 12:03 PM
I genuinely can't see how Brisbane are going to make this trade work.
First and future first for Dunkley & later picks this year to help them match bids.
They may lose little in total points this year on this trade.
19-09-2022, 12:04 PM
^^^
This is the best take, as long as we get a good return. Last sentence I really wish for.
Either that or we play off in a GF and smash them
19-09-2022, 12:05 PM
He’s definitely given us a ton of material to work with from the outer next year at least.
If the choice is between a future first and nothing but he goes to North then I’d honestly rather the latter. We gotta use this to make us better right now while Bont is still the best player in the league.
100% has to work in our favour. Brisbane need to come to the party
19-09-2022, 12:05 PM
This, I still think we can cover the loss and it doesn't hurt as much as we think it will. As long as our coach doesn't fill the hole with a McComb type I think we'll be fine.
19-09-2022, 12:07 PM
First and future first for Dunkley & later picks this year to help them match bids.
They may lose little in total points this year on this trade.
Brisbane current picks: 15, 33, 44, 69, 87 total points = 2086
How do they do it?
19-09-2022, 12:10 PM
If Brisbane trade us their 2023 first rounder does it get pushed back if they go into points deficit for matching their two father-sons?
19-09-2022, 12:11 PM
I don’t want to hear their 2023 first mentioned at all unless there is something better in front of it. That’ll be pick 15 at absolute best.
19-09-2022, 12:12 PM
This will be a good test for Sam Power and his team.
Brisbane, on paper, look like one of the worst to deal with. Commitment to F/S, highish pick, no obvious player targets for us ... but surely they wouldn't commit if they didn't think they could get a deal done.
What would everyone like from Brisbane (which is realistic)?
Their current first round pick + next year's first round, or a pick & player?
19-09-2022, 12:12 PM
How do they do it?
Where is BT when we need him?
19-09-2022, 12:14 PM
How do they do it?
15 to us, later picks back as part of the Dunkley trade, plus a pick for Gardiner as a FA.
If they trade their 2023 first rounder and end up with a points deficit this year, they end up moving back places into the 40s and 50s next year. That's a pretty easy decision if that means they get Ashcroft, Fletcher & Dunkley this year.
19-09-2022, 12:14 PM
Brisbane, on paper, look like one of the worst to deal with. Commitment to F/S, highish pick, no obvious player targets for us ... but surely they wouldn't commit if they didn't think they could get a deal done.
I don’t think it will be a direct deal with the Lions. Surely it will require a tripartite deal for us to get noteworthy compensation
19-09-2022, 12:15 PM
Where is BT when we need him?
Yes we need him now
I don’t think it will be a direct deal with the Lions. Surely it will require a tripartite deal for us to get noteworthy compensation
Is there anyone at Brisbane on their way to, say, Collingwood? Anyone from Collingwood we might be interested in?
We could ask if Rayner or Berry want to come home and take one of them and the first for next year.
19-09-2022, 12:17 PM
How do they do it?
Assuming both Ashcroft and Fletcher go as predicted (#1 and #16) 4067 - 20% discount = 3254 points needed. I think that's right?
19-09-2022, 12:17 PM
Is there anyone at Brisbane on their way to, say, Collingwood? Anyone from Collingwood we might be interested in?
Lipinski?
19-09-2022, 12:25 PM
Lipinski?
Grundy
19-09-2022, 12:28 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/846870/make-me-a-lion-bulldogs-midfielder-confirms-trade-request
19-09-2022, 12:28 PM
We could ask if Rayner or Berry want to come home and take one of them and the first for next year.
I think a decent player, with exchange of picks to even it up as necessary, is the only way to get it done.
My 3 favourites:
Bailey, Rayner and Berry. No idea on contract status, where they're from, are they happy - but they're all equivalent to Dunks in my eyes.
19-09-2022, 12:30 PM
Isn’t McStay going to Collingwood. Surely a simple:
Dunks to Lions
McStay to Pies
Grundy to Dogs
would suffice
19-09-2022, 12:31 PM
Dunks to Lions
McStay to Pies
Grundy to Dogs
would suffice
He's a free agent though.
19-09-2022, 12:34 PM
Damn I had not considered that.
If they just want him off the books then maybe whatever dog shit Brisbane offer will be enough to facilitate the deal. Say we get their future first and this years second from Brisbane, if we then send that first to Collingwood and they pay a considerable amount of his salary (as with Ads and as has also been rumoured there is a willingness to), then we could come out of this pretty well.
19-09-2022, 12:42 PM
Ah ok. Changes things then. Bummer
Swoop
19-09-2022, 12:47 PM
It's a classic case of offering the player the world and not having anything to match their supposed worth with the trading club.
If they believe he's worth a 6 year contract and x amount than they need to offer something of similar value.
I wouldn't be opposed to letting him walk to North Melbourne if Brisbane don't play ball.
19-09-2022, 12:49 PM
At the end of the day this is just a job to the players and you have the try and take the emotional attachment off them.
Its sad thats how it is now, but I guess cheer the jumper not the guy in it.
Would you be so magnanimous if it was Bontempelli?
This is our best performed player of the last 12 months who is 25.
I get in a professional sporting world these things happen, but it's nothing like US or European sports here.
It's still a local game, built around communities and I'm ok with being cranky about Dunks leaving.
Not sure if I'm more annoyed with him, or the clubs inability to satisfy issues he had.
Also the destination, I can't see how we get a good deal here.
19-09-2022, 12:55 PM
https://i.ibb.co/N13nMpt/beast-mode.png (https://ibb.co/8zB4H2N)
#BeastMode activated
19-09-2022, 12:59 PM
#BeastMode activated
Ha! God I've missed these xD
19-09-2022, 01:01 PM
I get in a professional sporting world these things happen, but it's nothing like US or European sports here.
It's still a local game, built around communities and I'm ok with being cranky about Dunks leaving.
Not sure if I'm more annoyed with him, or the clubs inability to satisfy issues he had.
Hard to compare Dunkley with Bont. Two entirely different characters - one really only about himself; the other loyal as hell. Deep down we all knew Dunks would leave at some stage - it was just a matter of when.
I am not sure the club could have done much more tbh. Maybe guaranteed 100% game time in the middle but still that wouldn’t satisfy him. He needs to be the big wig and that is impossible with the likes of Bont and Macrae only being a year or two older.
#BeastMode activated
Haha the barometer
19-09-2022, 01:07 PM
Hard to compare Dunkley with Bont. Two entirely different characters - one really only about himself; the other loyal as hell. Deep down we all knew Dunks would leave at some stage - it was just a matter of when.
I am not sure the club could have done much more tbh. Maybe guaranteed 100% game time in the middle but still that wouldn’t satisfy him. He needs to be the big wig and that is impossible with the likes of Bont and Macrae only being a year or two older.
Neale and Mcluggage?
Youre right re character I was more comparing our best player this year who is imo Dunks.
Our Marcus would never leave!
I'll cool my jets until I see the deal. If we can turn it into something useful I'll be ok.
Out of interest I wonder what FA compo we would've got with that deal. 6 years x 700 ish you would guess.
19-09-2022, 01:09 PM
Dunks to Lions
McStay to Pies
Grundy to Dogs
would suffice
I get this would need a bit of refining but Collingwood are getting the short straw in that scenario so would need something coming back to them especially if they're coughing up 300K in the salary.
McStay is a slightly above average footballer, Dunkley close to elite and Grundy is an elite ruckman.
19-09-2022, 01:17 PM
Its also a player that most have expected was going to leave for the past 2 years.
He helped us win a premiership and then gave his all.
As long as we work out a trade he can go with my blessing.
19-09-2022, 01:24 PM
I hate it as a concept because he's a premiership hero but we need to change up our mix in the midfield, as having three see ball get ball midfielders who are all of similar pace and size is leading to us being exposed. Aside from Smith there's a distinct lack of zip in the midfield mix and that needs to change.
To me Jacko and Bont are untouchable, so that unfortunately leaves us with one major card to play to change things up and that's putting Dunkley on the market and seeing whether we can bring in a quick established midfielder (not a world beater, but with defencive cred) and a reasonably high draft pick (early to mid second) to secure another.
The reason that this is necessary to me is that we don't have anyone good enough to replace him in the side and nobody coming through who can materially change the way our midfield operates due to its sameness in personnel.
What does everyone think? What is he worth to us?
Here is Jee's response
19-09-2022, 01:24 PM
I get this would need a bit of refining but Collingwood are getting the short straw in that scenario so would need something coming back to them especially if they're coughing up 300K in the salary.
McStay is a slightly above average footballer, Dunkley close to elite and Grundy is an elite ruckman.
You also need to factor in the salary benefits that Collingwood are getting (think Treloar trade). Agree it's uneven, and irrelevant anyway because of McStays FA status.
I'd like to think I'd be the same with any player, none are bigger than the club. I don't like shitting on guys who have given their all for our enjoyment, especially Premiership Legends.
Dunkley wanted to leave two years ago, we denied him and he didn't sook. He gave us another two years of decent service.
Hopefully we can get a deal worked out nice and early.
I don't get the local feel anymore from the AFEL and it's clubs(or players) and TBH I'd rather watch country footy over the product that they created for TV. Wait until they relax FA more and players announce their next clubs during the season.
19-09-2022, 01:40 PM
From the Club
Josh Dunkley statement (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1224827/)
Josh Dunkley has today informed the Western Bulldogs Football Club of his desire to be traded to Brisbane.
The 25-year-old was drafted to the Bulldogs in 2015 and was a member of the 2016 premiership team.
“Josh has indicated to the club he is seeking to continue his career in Brisbane,” Bulldogs General Manager – List & Recruiting, Sam Power said.
“Josh has been weighing up this decision for some time and this news is obviously disappointing for the club.
“We believe Josh is at the peak of his powers in a football sense having had a career-best season in 2022, averaging 25 disposals and kicking 18 goals across the campaign.”
“The Club was clearly intent on Josh staying with the Bulldogs, having tabled an attractive contract offer for him to continue with us for the long term.”
“Given we have only learned the news this morning, we will take some time to work through the Club’s options leading into the trade period."
19-09-2022, 01:43 PM
I'd like to think I'd be the same with any player, none are bigger than the club. I don't like shitting on guys who have given their all for our enjoyment, especially Premiership Legends.
Dunkley wanted to leave two years ago, we denied him and he didn't sook. He gave us another two years of decent service.
Hopefully we can get a deal worked out nice and early.
I don't get the local feel anymore from the AFEL and it's clubs(or players) and TBH I'd rather watch country footy over the product that they created for TV. Wait until they relax FA more and players announce their next clubs during the season.
Fair enough. Thanks.
Also booo.
19-09-2022, 01:43 PM
Thanks for your services Josh. See you at the premiership reunions from 2031 onwards.
It seems six years is becoming the spot for deals for the better players, though not sure we're comfortable with that level of tenure and I can accept that position.
I'm definitely on the do what we can to secure Grundy, but I'm highly confident we don't have the apricots for that sort of play. I'd like to squeeze out a player on top of a first rounder for this year, and a future first with a range of picks going back. We need to change our mix now and need to use this as an opportunity to do so.
19-09-2022, 01:53 PM
Hmm it will probably be a future first and a player who in the best 23-26 team bracket.
I’m not expecting much from this…a deal has to get done.
19-09-2022, 01:54 PM
Was hard to love him after the EOC trade request, which signalled his character. To his credit, somewhat, he didn’t spit the dummy when it couldn’t be done & frankly, he should be grateful we didn’t let him go there.
Fingers crossed we get a good deal and I wish him well post footy, until then, may his career be plagued by shit form, frustration and dissatisfaction.
19-09-2022, 01:57 PM
Thanks for your services Josh. See you at the premiership reunions from 2031 onwards.
It seems six years is becoming the spot for deals for the better players, though not sure we're comfortable with that level of tenure and I can accept that position.
I'm definitely on the do what we can to secure Grundy, but I'm highly confident we don't have the apricots for that sort of play. I'd like to squeeze out a player on top of a first rounder for this year, and a future first with a range of picks going back. We need to change our mix now and need to use this as an opportunity to do so.
Do we change the thread heading again?
19-09-2022, 02:00 PM
Was hard to love him after the EOC trade request, which signalled his character. To his credit, somewhat, he didn’t spit the dummy when it couldn’t be done & frankly, he should be grateful we didn’t let him go there.
Fingers crossed we get a good deal and I wish him well post footy, until then, may his career be plagued by shit form, frustration and dissatisfaction.
This is the key in my view. He's wanted to be the big dog and he's been fine with letting some issues with personnel at the club being purported to be influential in his wanting to leave - but he'd know what it's like at EFC, he'd know what playing with Jesse Stringer is like.
It will be interesting to see what stance the club takes. I wouldn't be surprised if we do use the PSD as leverage to secure a better deal, that Power has stated we're considering our position knowing full well this was coming hopefully suggests we're going to play this one pretty hard.
19-09-2022, 02:01 PM
Do we change the thread heading again?
Yes. I think Twodogs changed the thread heading to this ridiculous iteration in a flagrant display of authoritarianism.
19-09-2022, 02:03 PM
Bont's on 7 figures and is a rolled gold star as well..
19-09-2022, 02:04 PM
From the Club
Josh Dunkley has today informed the Western Bulldogs Football Club of his desire to be traded to Brisbane.
The 25-year-old was drafted to the Bulldogs in 2015 and was a member of the 2016 premiership team.
“Josh has indicated to the club he is seeking to continue his career in Brisbane,” Bulldogs General Manager – List & Recruiting, Sam Power said.
“Josh has been weighing up this decision for some time and this news is obviously disappointing for the club.
“We believe Josh is at the peak of his powers in a football sense having had a career-best season in 2022, averaging 25 disposals and kicking 18 goals across the campaign.”
“The Club was clearly intent on Josh staying with the Bulldogs, having tabled an attractive contract offer for him to continue with us for the long term.”
“Given we have only learned the news this morning, we will take some time to work through the Club’s options leading into the trade period."
There is nobody on the planet that believes this.
Let the games begin
19-09-2022, 02:19 PM
From the Club
Is that all rather chilly? I’m ok with it if so. No need to fawn over the guy.
19-09-2022, 02:32 PM
Is that all rather chilly? I’m ok with it if so. No need to fawn over the guy.
Nah, it's just a statement of facts. I'd say you'll get more colour when a deal is done, and when he's first brought up in an interview during preseason. Then much less when we beat Lions by 90 points in the prelim at the Gabba next season.
19-09-2022, 02:47 PM
Yes. I think Twodogs changed the thread heading to this ridiculous iteration in a flagrant display of authoritarianism.
We both know full well it was Twodogs who went rogue.
19-09-2022, 03:09 PM
No need to stroke his ego. :)
19-09-2022, 03:11 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if we do use the PSD as leverage to secure a better deal, that Power has stated we're considering our position knowing full well this was coming hopefully suggests we're going to play this one pretty hard.
Scenario - We can't agree with Brisbane and let him go to PSD? What happens then with his contract? Does he demand a deal that is similar ie 6 years and $700 to $750 (reported in HUN) and wait for a club to agree?
19-09-2022, 03:17 PM
Scenario - We can't agree with Brisbane and let him go to PSD? What happens then with his contract? Does he demand a deal that is similar ie 6 years and $700 to $750 (reported in HUN) and wait for a club to agree?
Hope this doesn’t happen but if it were who would pay? North, WC, Bombers?
19-09-2022, 03:46 PM
Yeah, pretty much. He'll put a contract out there and club that drafts him in the PSD has to absorb that. It won't get to that though
19-09-2022, 05:02 PM
I think because this is the second time he has done it leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouth.
19-09-2022, 05:03 PM
Yeah, pretty much. He'll put a contract out there and club that drafts him in the PSD has to absorb that. It won't get to that though
Personally, I couldn't care less, now he has opted to (again) leave the club. I can't even find it in my heart to wish him well. Having been a supporter through thick and thin since the fifties, I always find it hard to accept a much needed player opting to leave. I mean it's not like he is on rock bottom dollars, nor are we cellar dwellers either.
Don't let the door hit you on the way out.
Players come and go, but true supporters and players are forever.
19-09-2022, 05:11 PM
Berry who is unsigned.
19-09-2022, 05:24 PM
Fair enough. Thanks.
Also booo.
I'm with you Gg. The amount of players our club has lost to another club, ever since I started buying a membership is astounding. I can never wish any player that leaves us "all the best". Because I don't wish that. That is just how I feel.
19-09-2022, 05:27 PM
I'm with you Gg. The amount of players our club has lost to another club, ever since I started buying a membership is astounding. I can never wish any player that leaves us "all the best". Because I don't wish that. That is just how I feel.
It all depends. I always cheered Roughy after he left however I still boo Calan Ward and I'll boo this Dunkley prick as well.
19-09-2022, 05:30 PM
It all depends. I always cheered Roughy after he left however I still boo Calan Ward and I'll boo this Dunkley prick as well.
Dunkley wanted out to Essendon. He’s just been a piece of meat since that day.
19-09-2022, 05:31 PM
Personally, I couldn't care less, now he has opted to (again) leave the club. I can't even find it in my heart to wish him well. Having been a supporter through thick and thin since the fifties, I always find it hard to accept a much needed player opting to leave. I mean it's not like he is on rock bottom dollars, nor are we cellar dwellers either.
Don't let the door hit you on the way out.
Players come and go, but true supporters and players are forever.
Well said
Same
Agree I really liked Roughy and don't mind Lippa.
Dunkley is welcome back for the premiership reunions, but in the meantime, hope his career fails. (After we have a good deal of course)
19-09-2022, 05:37 PM
Berry who is unsigned.
I think he's signed until the end of 2024. If only we had an 'all AFL players contract status' thread.
19-09-2022, 05:38 PM
I think he's signed until the end of 2024. If only we had an 'all AFL players contract status' thread.
Ha ha I read it today but could be wrong.
I think because this is the second time he has done it leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouth.
I never got over the first time...
19-09-2022, 05:49 PM
Ha ha I read it today but could be wrong.
Might have been his brother Tom
19-09-2022, 05:52 PM
Might have been his brother Tom
Good point.
19-09-2022, 06:12 PM
Good point.
Clutch to those straws B4L ;)
19-09-2022, 06:14 PM
Josh Dunkley played in Premiership in his first year. He was 19 and had played 14 games from memory.
He played up his bromance with Adam Treloar. Maybe his one true love is the almighty $$$. Disappointing.
19-09-2022, 06:25 PM
Thanks for the service Dunks - you’ve been excellent. Extra credit for the 2 years since we denied your last trade.
There’s two types of players in the AFL - bulldogs players and everyone else. You’ve just become everyone else
Onward and upward dogs!
19-09-2022, 06:51 PM
Berry who is unsigned.
Berry is essentially like for like that doesn't make sense. I actually think Berry has more mongrel though and I like that.
I hate how Dunks pats the opposition on the head and helps everyone up.
19-09-2022, 06:56 PM
The tricky trade period facing the Lions — and the moves they’ll consider to ensure a trio joins them (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/brisbane-lions/afl-brisbane-lions-trade-news-rumours-whispers-2022l-josh-dunkley-contract-will-ashcroft-no1-pick-jaspa-fletcher-fatherson-how-deals-get-done/news-story/c522957fefd909ed858a3653c46c70db?fbclid=IwAR2UUu5S54jUunaVDm WLuA536vfsUpf2xL7vXzliAGnneGA9H0F-nQkiRMo)
Any calculator manufacturers looking for some extra promotion might want to get in touch with the Brisbane Lions, whose list management team will be feverishly crunching numbers over the next few months.
Now eliminated from the AFL premiership race after a horror preliminary final loss to Geelong, the Lions turn their attention to some significant list calls around the trade period and draft.
It’s widely expected off-contract Lion Dan McStay will exercise his free agency rights and request a move to Collingwood on a five-year deal worth up to $600,000 a season.
But it’s juggling who’s set to join the club, rather than those who’ll leave, that looms as one of the AFL trade period’s most delicate balancing acts.
WHAT DO THE LIONS NEED TO DO?
Brisbane had a big win on Monday when off-contract Bulldog Josh Dunkley turned down significant offers from the Western Bulldogs and Port Adelaide and requested a trade to the Lions. He’s set to sign a six-year deal at Brisbane, reportedly worth between $700,000 and $750,000 per season.
On top of Dunkley, the Lions are tied to two of the best draft prospects of this year’s class in father-son duo Will Ashcroft and Jaspa Fletcher.
Bal magnet Ashcroft, the son of triple premiership Lion and 318-game great Marcus Ashcroft, is committed to Brisbane after officially nominating the club last month as his preferred destination under the father-son rule. It means Brisbane will get the opportunity to match a rival club bid on Ashcroft, who should be a walk-up Round 1 selection next year.
The versatile Fletcher – the son of Adrian Fletcher, who played 231 games for four clubs, including 107 for Brisbane – is in late first-round calculations following an outstanding Under 18 national championships for the Allies. He hasn’t officially declared he wants to join the Lions yet, but recruiters expect him to do so before the nomination deadline.
It means the Lions face a tricky trade period where they’ll need to satisfy the Dogs in a Dunkley trade while also banking selections to match inevitably early rival club bids on Ashcroft and Fletcher.
“We‘re just going to have to work through post-season,” Lions recruiting boss Stephen Conole told the Road To The Draft podcast last month. “There’ll be a bit of work.
“It‘s going to be an interesting time … We’ve got a pretty good record with that. Our trade stuff is usually spot on and I’m sure Dom (Ambrogio) and the boys will get it all covered.”
WHAT ASSETS DO THEY HAVE TO WORK WITH?
Brisbane will enter the trade period hold Picks 15, 33, 44 (via Port Adelaide) and 69 in the draft. According to the draft value index, those four picks total 2086 points.
Most recruiters expect Ashcroft to attract a rival club bid at Pick 1, which is worth 3000 points. If North Melbourne holds Pick 1 and bids on Ashcroft at No. 1, the Lions would need 2400 points to match with the 20 per cent father-son discount.
Then there’s Fletcher, who’s being touted as a top 15 to 20 pick. A rival club bid in that range would require the Lions to cough up between 890 and 730 points to get Fletcher … when they already don’t have enough for Ashcroft.
You can see why, initially, it seems like the Lions face a tough task.
But the Lions have, most importantly, time and a few routes to explore.
They’ll be compensated for losing free agent McStay. Where that pick will land remains uncertain – due to the AFL’s secret herbs and spices formula – but an end-of-first-round compo pick would give them just over 900 points, while an end-of-second-round selection would net them around 500 points.
There’s also the chance free agent Darcy Gardiner departs, with the defender still unsigned beyond this year. A compensation selection would likely be in the second or third round. Although the sense is he’ll stay at Brisbane.
That would give them enough points to match an Ashcroft and, potentially, Fletcher. Although they could look at going into draft deficit next year.
But then there’s the small issue of Dunkley – and the high asking price the Bulldogs will enter negotiations with.
HOW EXACTLY CAN THEY GET DUNKLEY THROUGH THE DOOR?
Dogs list manager Sam Power on Monday made it clear how much the Dogs rate Dunkley and wanted to retain him. He said Dunkley was “at the peak of his powers in a football sense” after his “career-best season in 2022”, hence the club “tabled an attractive contract offer for him to continue with us for the long term”. That contract was reportedly worth five years.
To secure Dunkley, the Lions will have to strike a trade with the Dogs as he’s not eligible for free agency. And Brisbane‘s future first-rounder mightn’t be enough, with the Dogs expected to target two first-round picks for Dunkley, according to AFL Media.
Brisbane will hold some power at the trade table. They can hold their ground on their suggested trade – a future first and second-rounder, for instance – given Dunkley isn’t contracted anymore and the Dogs will desperately want to be compensated for losing a player that topped their Brownlow Medal count on Sunday night.
The Lions could use purely future selections to land Dunkley. Alternatively, they could take the hit and be the first club since the bidding system was introduced to go into a significant draft points deficit next year. The consequence of that would mean their first pick next year at next year’s draft – which arguably has better and more exciting high-end talent than the 2022 class – would be pushed back.
But Brisbane would also be pondering getting creative and killing a couple of birds with one stone during the trade period.
Father-son bids aside, the Lions could use their top 2022 selection (Pick 15) instead of their future first in the Dunkley deal. They could then split that future first-rounder in a separate trade with a club that not only wants to get into the early part of next year’s draft, but also has second and third-round picks to offer back to Brisbane. It means the Lions would bank more points to pay for the father-son duo – the strategy many clubs have used in the past to acquire Academy and father-son guns.
The Lions could also split Pick 33 in a trade and bank several later picks that way to help them acquire more points.
Alternatively, any Brisbane players that want out for a better opportunity at a rival club might be encouraged to leave.
Deven Robertson, Tom Berry, Jaxon Prior, Callum Ah Chee and Tom Fullarton are all still out of contract, while midfielder Jarryd Lyons (contracted until 2024) fell out of favour during the finals series you still sense Rhys Mathieson (2023) hasn’t completely cemented his spot in the best 22 yet despite a promising finish to this season. It was reported in July this year rival clubs were looking to take advantage of a selection squeeze at Brisbane.
Despite Friday night’s horror loss, the Lions are still expected to be among the flag and finals contenders next season.
And if Brisbane list manager Dom Ambrogio and football boss Danny Daily can work their magic and land Ashcroft, Fletcher and Dunkley all in the same off-season, the Lions will be well placed for the future.
19-09-2022, 07:30 PM
If we can get Pick 15 plus our pick 11, we should head for the draft and pickup some good players for the future. Snag next years Brisbane first pick and suddenly with 4 first round picks, we can replenish the players that are starting to get to the end of their career.
19-09-2022, 08:54 PM
If we can get Pick 15 plus our pick 11, we should head for the draft and pickup some good players for the future. Snag next years Brisbane first pick and suddenly with 4 first round picks, we can replenish the players that are starting to get to the end of their career.
What about Dunkley traded for Brions' 2022 pick 15 and Callum Ah Chee and Devon Robertson (Both out of contract)? Attractive to us? Would Brisbane go with that?
19-09-2022, 08:59 PM
There’s an easy trade here. I won’t bore you with details.
This is a classic ‘Griffen’ trade scenario if the club wants to be brave.
19-09-2022, 09:14 PM
hmmm, got me intrigued.
19-09-2022, 09:15 PM
Let us have it.
And then send it to the club.
19-09-2022, 09:19 PM
Let us have it.
And then send it to the club.
It involves us going hard after Grundy really to work. Would the club go for that? But a cursory look involving Grundy looks good and doable.
19-09-2022, 09:25 PM
A reminder that the best course of action on a trade is not to send it to the club and get a phone call from Naughts thanking you for your support or whatever, it’s repeating it here over and over and over again until Sam Edmund boosts it for his radio show.
So yes, easy trade, two first for Dunks, one of which we use to get Grundy on $500k a year. In fact I’m hearing that yes that’s definitely what is happening and can safely be reported on drive time radio if anyone relevant is reading.
19-09-2022, 10:17 PM
I agree, its not acceptable here. Given the amount we have put into Dunks - prioritising him over guys like lipinski, McLean, West and Garcia so that he could develop and play his preferred midfield spot. I would get it if we were a basket case and not in his career likely to play in a finalis let alone a GF; I'd get it if we were offering far less than Brisbane. The fact we are not and it smacks of a decision that is all about HIM. The individual. Good riddance I say, but lets not make this easy.
20-09-2022, 12:25 AM
I agree, its not acceptable here. Given the amount we have put into Dunks - prioritising him over guys like lipinski, McLean, West and Garcia so that he could develop and play his preferred midfield spot. I would get it if we were a basket case and not in his career likely to play in a finalis let alone a GF; I'd get it if we were offering far less than Brisbane. The fact we are not and it smacks of a decision that is all about HIM. The individual. Good riddance I say, but lets not make this easy.
Definitely not a leader, as a leader would look at a problem and help solve rather than run away from it. Or if it was just about the money and status they'd be happy enough admitting it was just about the money and status.
And him not being a leader when push comes to shove is actually OK. Not everyone can be and some will do whatever they need to do to prioritise their perceived self-interest when it suits them.
20-09-2022, 07:37 AM
I’m not very good at this, but surely we can find a way to make it work…
Bulldogs - out Dunkley, current second round pick, current fourth round, future second round pick
Bulldogs - in Grundy, future first round, future third round (Brisbane)
Brisbane - out pick 15, future first round, future third round
Brisbane - in Dunkley, second round and fourth round (Bulldogs)
Pies - out Grundy
Pies - in pick 15, future second round (Bulldogs)
20-09-2022, 07:43 AM
Definitely not a leader, as a leader would look at a problem and help solve rather than run away from it. Or if it was just about the money and status they'd be happy enough admitting it was just about the money and status.
And him not being a leader when push comes to shove is actually OK. Not everyone can be and some will do whatever they need to do to prioritise their perceived self-interest when it suits them. Definitely all about the coin. By all accounts he is very much like his old man. Such a shame when you are talking the difference between $700k - $750k. That sort of money at that level doesn't make or break you. Maybe he could learn something of Cameron, Dangerfield and Hawkins at the Cats who were happy to take a hit for the benefit of the team knowing they can still lead a good lifestyle on what they are on.
20-09-2022, 07:51 AM
Agree.
20-09-2022, 07:54 AM
It appears Grundy is a cert to go to the Dees if they lose Jackson. Both parties have met all ready. We'd have to move extra fast.
20-09-2022, 08:33 AM
Definitely all about the coin.
I doubt this very much.
Problems at the Bulldogs all year just haven't been resolved.
20-09-2022, 08:34 AM
I’m not very good at this, but surely we can find a way to make it work…
Bulldogs - out Dunkley, current second round pick, current fourth round, future second round pick
Bulldogs - in Grundy, future first round, future third round (Brisbane)
Brisbane - out pick 15, future first round, future third round
Brisbane - in Dunkley, second round and fourth round (Bulldogs)
Pies - out Grundy
Pies - in pick 15, future second round (Bulldogs)
Well done GD, Jon Ralph thinks Grundy to Melbourne is a very likely scenario and Goodwin confirmed Melbourne believe it can work.
20-09-2022, 08:59 AM
I am not a fan of the way Dunkley has handled this and find him cringe in general, however completely writing it off as him being a mercenary/all about his brand is problematic. Forget defending him, but I am us to be as successful as possible.
As cringe as I find Dunkley, one thing I cannot fault is his professionalism. It's really easy and convenient to place all the blame on him but I hope we have taken or take a thorough look at these issues.
20-09-2022, 09:06 AM
I am not a fan of the way Dunkley has handled this and find him cringe in general, however completely writing it off as him being a mercenary/all about his brand is problematic. Forget defending him, but I am us to be as successful as possible.
As cringe as I find Dunkley, one thing I cannot fault is his professionalism. It's really easy and convenient to place all the blame on him but I hope we have taken or take a thorough look at these issues.
I actually agree qith this 100%, but my only caveat is that does he think any club in the league isn't going to have cokeheads and shitbags?
my plums
20-09-2022, 09:06 AM
I just don't get the 'problems at the club' narrative. If that was the case, wouldn't more players be requesting a trade rather than re-signing?
20-09-2022, 09:08 AM
I just don't get the 'problems at the club' narrative. If that was the case, wouldn't more players be requesting a trade rather than re-signing?
Exactly. It's bullshit. How many out of contract players did we sign this season. Can't be that much of a problem.
20-09-2022, 09:11 AM
I actually agree qith this 100%, but my only caveat is that does he think any club in the league isn't going to have cokeheads and shitbags?
Totally. I mean we investigate (possibly Gareth Kennnan). Not saying Dunkley is right or wrong but I'd like to know. My feel is that it's somewhere in the grey zone.
He did want to go to Essendon was that makes the culture thing a bit harder to take. Maybe he wanted the coin and has been resentful about missing out. Who knows I guess is my point. I'd like us to know.
20-09-2022, 09:12 AM
I actually agree with this 100%, but my only caveat is that does he think any club in the league isn't going to have cokeheads and shitbags?
Nailed it
20-09-2022, 09:13 AM
Exactly. It's bullshit. How many out of contract players did we sign this season. Can't be that much of a problem.
Maybe the guys signing on are part of the problem. As in they are signing on as life is 'easy'.
I think you are probably (at least) mostly right and Dunkley is probably talking a lot of crap but he is very professional, for the betterment of our club, I hope we have investigated the issues or do so.
20-09-2022, 09:15 AM
Nailed it
Yes there are but:
1/ how many?
2/ how are they managed?
3/ how those it effect results?
The easy option is to believe Dunkley is a dick. I love that option. I have zero interest in defending him but I am desperate for us to be as successful as possible. Dunkley for all his faults, has been very professional and setting high standards. Way higher than our benchmark this season.
my plums
20-09-2022, 09:16 AM
So many
20-09-2022, 09:18 AM
Is it as simple as Dunkley wants to be number one or two in the pecking order? 100% midfield time, no rotating through other positions on the ground.
20-09-2022, 09:22 AM
Is it as simple as Dunkley wants to be number one or two in the pecking order? 100% midfield time, no rotating through other positions on the ground.
Maybe. But I hope the club knows the real issue/s. Again, very easy/human to just blame it 100% on the guy leaving. I am sure Dunkley has at least some of the blame but it doesn't completely absolve us.
20-09-2022, 09:25 AM
Trade period hasn't started yet.
20-09-2022, 09:26 AM
Yes there are but:
1/ how many?
2/ how are they managed?
3/ how those it effect results?
The easy option is to believe Dunkley is a dick. I love that option. I have zero interest in defending him but I am desperate for us to be as successful as possible. Dunkley for all his faults, has been very professional and setting high standards. Way higher than our benchmark this season.
Well it is superfluous to speculate
20-09-2022, 09:31 AM
Well it is superfluous to speculate
Isn't it superfluous/ignorant to just believe it's all his fault?
I am no fan of negativity, the morons who claim they don't accept mediocrity, however:
1/ we have massively unperformed this season
2/ our issues seem to involve work rate/defensive pressure
3/ Dunkley has set a very high standard for workrate
4/ He seems to have an issue with our professional standards
Again, I cannot stress enough how much of a lame square I find Dunkley and, in a lot of ways, happy to see him gone. However, I would hate for us to continue to slip.
my plums
20-09-2022, 09:33 AM
We'll see what happens I guess.... anything we need to brace ourselves for?
20-09-2022, 09:33 AM
Yep. Also, players can stay for the wrong reasons. My main issue is the results and one of our most professional players apparently having issues. All I am saying is I hope we have looked into it (which we may have) rather than 100% explain it as Dunkley being a mercenary who hates the Bulldogs. That's a convenient narrative for us fans. I am definitely hoping BAD and co are right.
20-09-2022, 09:40 AM
Yep. Also, players can stay for the wrong reasons. My main issue is the results and one of our most professional players apparently having issues. All I am saying is I hope we have looked into it (which we may have) rather than 100% explain it as Dunkley being a mercenary who hates the Bulldogs. That's a convenient narrative for us fans. I am definitely hoping BAD and co are right.
Completely agree with this but I do think the fact that all other required players have consistently signed points to it being more about Dunkley. I don’t hate him for this, get the best deal we can and move on. Don’t think Geelong supporters will be losing sleep over losing Kelly right now same for Dawson and Sydney.
20-09-2022, 09:51 AM
Completely agree with this but I do think the fact that all other required players have consistently signed points to it being more about Dunkley. I don’t hate him for this, get the best deal we can and move on. Don’t think Geelong supporters will be losing sleep over losing Kelly right now same for Dawson and Sydney.
Yep and in turn, I agree with that. I think there being all real issue is a very much a possibility.
20-09-2022, 10:22 AM
Dunkley can join the other mercenaries Cooney, Griffin and Ward. Shut the door on your way out Josh.
20-09-2022, 10:23 AM
Yep and in turn, I agree with that. I think there being all real issue is a very much a possibility.
I wonder if Dunkley doing everything to such a professional level makes him feel as though he has more right to make career minded decisions. The language he uses, the off field deals he has cultivated makes it look like he is keen to maximise every opportunity to cash in on the work he puts in.
I try to think through what his issues would be, if it’s positional or related to his number in the pecking order then I can live with that. I don’t think we could have handled him much better in that regard to be honest.
If it’s related to professionalism of others or some form of concern with the football department then that’s a different story. I have full confidence in our senior coach but if you’re comparing total football department skill sets (assistants, development, medical etc) with other clubs we do look a bit shallow for demonstrated talent. Could this be playing a part with someone who feels he is fulfilling all of his obligations? Pure speculation but it’s a concerning thought.
Jumping ship is just not something I like in a sporting sense but I would hope the club is trying to understand it even if they don’t agree with it.
20-09-2022, 10:33 AM
I am definitely hoping BAD and co are right.
Hey Rocco, I didn't give an opinion :D, all I am saying is I don't really know what is going on and no use guessing.
Rumour is that some players, off field, enjoy partying, but that happens at every club. If Dunks doesn't like that, then don't par take. However, if there are issues at training and not putting in effort in games, then that is not good.
20-09-2022, 10:35 AM
Hey Rocco, I didn't give an opinion :D, all I am saying is I don't really know what is going on and no use guessing.
I don't believe I was guessing. I am saying I hope we have looked in issues. I believe it's very convenient to believe it's all on Dunkley as he is gone, he is a douchebag and we love the Bulldogs, but I want us to do what's best for us.
20-09-2022, 10:39 AM
I wonder if Dunkley doing everything to such a professional level makes him feel as though he has more right to make career minded decisions. The language he uses, the off field deals he has cultivated makes it look like he is keen to maximise every opportunity to cash in on the work he puts in.
I try to think through what his issues would be, if it’s positional or related to his number in the pecking order then I can live with that. I don’t think we could have handled him much better in that regard to be honest.
If it’s related to professionalism of others or some form of concern with the football department then that’s a different story. I have full confidence in our senior coach but if you’re comparing total football department skill sets (assistants, development, medical etc) with other clubs we do look a bit shallow for demonstrated talent. Could this be playing a part with someone who feels he is fulfilling all of his obligations? Pure speculation but it’s a concerning thought.
Jumping ship is just not something I like in a sporting sense but I would hope the club is trying to understand it even if they don’t agree with it.
Yeah, I agree with all of that. Well said.
I think most players are pretty 'loyal', in terms of not demanding actual market value. The loyalty for the vast majority is towards mates I think. My read on Dunks is he is the type to just be close to 1-2 and not really 'one of the boys' at all. One of the those two seems to be on the way out anyway.
20-09-2022, 10:56 AM
I am no fan of negativity, the morons who claim they don't accept mediocrity, however:
Again, I cannot stress enough how much of a lame square I find Dunkley and, in a lot of ways, happy to see him gone. However, I would hate for us to continue to slip.
It's a very good post.
Leadership is driving cultural change.
He is a very professional kid, so if there were cultural issues at the club that motivated a change back in 2020 I would love to know if they still exist now.
If he was the only one driving the change bus, that would be a super lonely place and you need guys like Josh I believe to be influential in a professionalism sense to get that complete buy in which leads to doing the extras required. Look at the Pies.
Personally I think there are probably are a few loose units; whether it's more than other teams I don't know.
Regarding his decision, I'm sure there are many factors as with most things but this one is relevant to us as it may still exist after Josh is gone.
Zaine probably didn't help with his performance on Mad Monday!
20-09-2022, 11:11 AM
Maybe the guys signing on are part of the problem. As in they are signing on as life is 'easy'.
I think you are probably (at least) mostly right and Dunkley is probably talking a lot of crap but he is very professional, for the betterment of our club, I hope we have investigated the issues or do so.
I think we're somewhere in the middle. Something definitely stinks but to say it is so bad that one player wants to leave, only one. It's drawing a very long bow. He wanted to leave in 2020, we made the GF in 2021. It cannot be that bad.
20-09-2022, 11:19 AM
I think we're somewhere in the middle. Something definitely stinks but to say it is so bad that one player wants to leave, only one. It's drawing a very long bow. He wanted to leave in 2020, we made the GF in 2021. It cannot be that bad.
Yeah that seems very logical. Hopefully we investigate it and see if we can make some adjustments to get the best of the Bulldogs in 23.
20-09-2022, 11:20 AM
Oh yeah, I’m definitely not saying we are rotten and Dunkley is pure. All I’m saying is I hope we have or are looking into it rather than just dismissing it as all about his issues.
20-09-2022, 01:21 PM
As much as we all hate it the move for Dunkley makes a bit of sense.
Long term deal so plenty of security even though we offered roughly the same.
His partner had to split time between her Netball career in SA, Dunkley in VIC and her family in QLD so with Dunkley being in QLD simplifies things for everyone.
Given the way he never bitched and moaned after not being traded to Essendon, the way he has impeccably prepared for his football, the way he was fully engaged with the club I think we have to reluctantly agree that at the very least he's been as professional as he could be.
I don't want to 2nd guess his motivations for leaving us or the way he dragged this out but I can't bring myself to hate him.
I hope things work out well for him but his overall success at Brisbane pales in comparison to what happens with us.
20-09-2022, 01:25 PM
Did Dunkley staying after the Essendon debacle, have an affect the playing group? He used to be pretty close with Bont and that seemed to change overnight. I wonder how many are actually happy he’s now gone for good.
20-09-2022, 01:40 PM
Did Dunkley staying after the Essendon debacle, have an affect the playing group? He used to be pretty close with Bont and that seemed to change overnight. I wonder how many are actually happy he’s now gone for good.
I don't think so, I believe that are still very close. Crozier is really close to both of them.
20-09-2022, 01:59 PM
What has he said? Where?
20-09-2022, 02:05 PM
We made the GF the year after...
20-09-2022, 02:07 PM
This is my rough sketch on how to get this done. It needs more fine tuning, so it's very rough and needs more work as I ponder it some more. Essentially, 'if' McStay compo is Pick 34 is the starting point:
Dunkley goes to Brisbane, with Picks 29, 37, 65
Dogs get Pick 15, Future First, Pick 33 & 69, plus a Player (valued notionally above Pick 29 - perhaps Gardiner (just as an example only) - as a restricted FA - might be traded if the FA compo is only second round)
Edit: If it was Gardiner and he wanted us and us he, then we could offer a juicy FA offer to boost the compo to Brisbane, let him go FA, thus keeping Pick 29 but shuffling other picks downward towards Brisbane (netting them more points) that keeps us with another highish draft pick. Call it trade manipulation if you like, or rorting the compo system for mutual benefit. Edit.
Brisbane split their compo for McStay, say to Collingwood trading Pick 34, for Picks 47 & 48 - Collingwood then use Pick 34 for Tom Mitchell, a future second rounder for Hill, nothing of note for Frampton, and trading Grundy should that happen gets them more than enough to get another first rounder and the pick for Henry to Geelong goes to GCS for Fiorini.
Collingwood In - McStay, Lewis, Fiorini, Hill, Frampton, First Rounder and more for Grundy ($700,000 freed up on Grundy)
Collingwood Out - Grundy, Henry
Brisbane then have Picks 29, 37, 44, 47, 48 & 65 - By my math that 2,386 Points where a matched bid at Pick 1 for Ashcroft is 2,400 Draft Points after discount. Depending on how many live spots they have, they might even split pick 29.
So Brisbane need to find 750-800 points for Fletcher if he's late first round. If he slides into the 20's the more generous discount applies. So they may look to another player trade.
Brisbane In - Dunkley, Ashcroft, Fletcher and no deficit
Brisbane out - McStay, Pick 15, 2023 First, two other players with moderate worth
*** If the AFEL make the FA compo pick 16 for Mc Stay, then this is even easier for Brisbane with an extra 527 draft points. Then split Pick 16 for two other picks (one that still allows a draft points trade with say Collingwood). Taking in at least 6 'live' picks. Brisbane in this scenario could get away with McStay and only one other playing needing to be traded, to us for our Pick 29, or if the compo is rigged, it could even be our Pick 37. Or just a straight trade on Dunkley for Pick 15 and a Future First.
Leaving:
Dogs In - Picks 15, 33, 69, 2023 First, player of moderate value such as Gardiner (or keeping Pick 29)
Dogs Out - Dunkley, Picks (29*), 37 & 65.
Broken down further:
Slight improve in the second round to dogs (virtually evened out in draft points by pick 65 points)
Dunkley nets circa 2 x pick 15's (this year and next) - which feels a bit lower than value
Pick 29 for a player we want that slightly higher than this pick, which adds to the Dunkley value.
Collingwood get everything
Brisbane get everyone, while letting McStay and maybe just one other go
Dogs get two first rounders and a player we want, that includes 4 First Rounders in our pocket.
Indicatively here we have picks 11, 15, 33, 69 and a player (or Pick 29), with 2023: First x 2, Second, Third & Fourth
Dunkley's value is then circa 2 x Pick 15's, a slight second upgrade and involving a decent player with Pick 29 in the mix
(or under higher FA compo, a straight trade with two first rounders)
So it can be done if the McStay compo is Pick 34. But it limits their ability to really pay, which limits our ability to hardball to the fullest extent possible. If Gil decides to offer them Pick 16 or Pick 19 compo, then it's off to the races. We really need Collingwood to come in hot with something like 5 years at $650,000 to disguise the 'makey upey compo' as worth either Pick 16, or end of first round compo Pick 19. Hence, if Brisbane can work out a seperate draft points trade that induces goodwill from Collingwood to present to McStay contract in its best light, then all of Dogs, Pies and Lions can walk away happy enough. I think Dunkley is worth more, but it is what it is.
So, lets see what happens when the AFEL dish out the McStay compo, and hope they 'Motlop' the compo. That's my assessment right now. Lets see the McStay compo.
(I'd have added Grundy to us, but that's never going to happen, especially if Martin is hobbling around again next season)
20-09-2022, 02:17 PM
(I'd have added Grundy to us, but that's never going to happen, especially if Martin is hobbling around again next season)
Brilliant as usual BT
Forget Martin, he is just insurance if someone goes down - doubt he plays any games, but agree Grundy is pie in the sky at the moment as seems we are not chasing him
We also have to offer Freo something for Lobb
20-09-2022, 02:17 PM
We made the GF the year after...
True, but we seemed quite off within the playing group this year. Maybe it filtered out that Dunkley was looking at jumping ship again..and that might have annoyed more than a few.
20-09-2022, 02:25 PM
Brilliant as usual BT
Forget Martin, he is just insurance if someone goes down - doubt he plays any games, but agree Grundy is pie in the sky at the moment as seems we are not chasing him
Assuming Freo trade him, sure. Future second rounder, or alternatively:
Or if the McStay compo is Pick 16 or Pick 19, then there's no need to add another player coming to us which is much easier. If Gardiner was to come however is this became somehow involved in Power's plans, we could get Gardiner for the compo paid to Brisbane and a draft points benefit to them hidden in the Dunkley paperwork. So that Pick 29 stays with us, but say it drops down to their Pick 34 in a swap (111 extra draft points, plus Pick 34 compo to Brisbane). Effectively they get upgraded into mid second round compo this way, while we keep the slightly lower pick. Then Pick 34 ontraded for Lobb if Freo agree to the trade.
Picks: 11, 15, 33, Lobb, Jones (FA), Gardiner maybe.. (FA) - plus- future First Rounder
It's the McStay compo. It's all about the McStay compo.
20-09-2022, 02:28 PM
Brilliant as usual BT
Would JJ want to go back to WA an could Freo use him.
20-09-2022, 02:55 PM
Would JJ want to go back to WA an could Freo use him.
Can't see Freo being interested in JJ in any way, they have too many players back and forward ahead of him. Also he's a free agent so he has no trade value anyway.
20-09-2022, 02:59 PM
And him not being a leader when push comes to shove is actually OK. Not everyone can be and some will do whatever they need to do to prioritise their perceived self-interest when it suits them.
I am concerned that the decision is about displeasure with the coach and the game plan.
The ruck position was cited at the last attempt to leave. Perhaps the lack of cohesion in the game plan creates the angst.
20-09-2022, 03:43 PM
I am concerned that the decision is about displeasure with the coach and the game plan.
The ruck position was cited at the last attempt to leave. Perhaps the lack of cohesion in the game plan creates the angst.
I doubt it. He comes into the team at 19 years old and plays in 11 finals including 2 GF and a premiership and he thinks the game plan is no good. As a player, I doubt it.
20-09-2022, 07:18 PM
I remember the year Nathan Brown left.
After the last game the players were doing a lap around the ground (you couldn't accurately call it a lap of honour) some of the comments from the crowd were some of the funniest stuff I ever heard
20-09-2022, 07:49 PM
Personally I think a lot of it may come down to poor management/advice.
I wonder if in the midst of all the head turning contract offers the words 'one club player' have been mentioned and any thought of the advantages that brings in the future? Especially 'one club player' combined with premiership player as opposed to 'ex Western Bulldogs and Brisbane Lions' player who doesn't really fit into the fabric of either club.
20-09-2022, 07:53 PM
It does to me. Its all about Dunks. The issues at the club piece is just bullsh*t and he playing group should be fuming to have that kind of mud thrown at them. Look at the way its been scripted - he's played a part waited for the right moment - post Brownlow and announce him intent. Good riddance. I don't want a guy at the club who isn't prepared to bleed for the jumper and he wont.
20-09-2022, 08:02 PM
It does to me. Its all about Dunks. The issues at the club piece is just bullsh*t and he playing group should be fuming to have that kind of mud thrown at them. Look at the way its been scripted - he's played a part waited for the right moment - post Brownlow and announce him intent. Good riddance. I don't want a guy at the club who isn't prepared to bleed for the jumper and he wont.
He has created a narrative that he's above the club.
It's managed and a little unsavoury.
He can spin it all he likes in his under armour compression tights and mission tortillas but the fact is brand Dunkley is all that matters.
He's done very well to get a 6 year deal x 700.
20-09-2022, 08:10 PM
What a completely ridiculous statement.
If our team from this year was lined up on a wall Dunks would be in the first 5 picked.. he gave his all for the jumper and the notion that he didn't is crap.
20-09-2022, 08:13 PM
As much as we all hate it the move for Dunkley makes a bit of sense.
Long term deal so plenty of security even though we offered roughly the same.
His partner had to split time between her Netball career in SA, Dunkley in VIC and her family in QLD so with Dunkley being in QLD simplifies things for everyone.
Given the way he never bitched and moaned after not being traded to Essendon, the way he has impeccably prepared for his football, the way he was fully engaged with the club I think we have to reluctantly agree that at the very least he's been as professional as he could be.
I don't want to 2nd guess his motivations for leaving us or the way he dragged this out but I can't bring myself to hate him.
I hope things work out well for him but his overall success at Brisbane pales in comparison to what happens with us.
I am a lot less rational. I am filthy. We prioritised Dunk's development over a number of other guys - Lipinski, McLean, West, Garcia etc. We have really only had one full season of beast mode Dunks and then he seek's to cash in. I would get it if we were on a downward spiral or if we were a Hawthorn/WCE/North situation, but we are not.
Dunks is dead to me. A kid who was gifted a GF medal (would he have played if Wally or Murphy were fit?) who instead of repaying that tries to walk and then walks again. He is a "me" player who personally I hope never graces Whitten Oval again. I hope he goes to Brissy and is a flop. Break a leg Dunks......literally.
20-09-2022, 08:23 PM
I am a lot less rational. I am filthy. We prioritised Dunk's development over a number of other guys - Lipinski, McLean, West, Garcia etc. We have really only had one full season of beast mode Dunks and then he seek's to cash in. I would get it if we were on a downward spiral or if we were a Hawthorn/WCE/North situation, but we are not.
Dunks is dead to me. A kid who was gifted a GF medal (would he have played if Wally or Murphy were fit?) who instead of repaying that tries to walk and then walks again. He is a "me" player who personally I hope never graces Whitten Oval again. I hope he goes to Brissy and is a flop. Break a leg Dunks......literally.
Yeah alright we get it. You're not happy, either am i. Your point about him being prioritised ahead of others is a good one.
But you can express your anger without wishing injury on a bloke
20-09-2022, 08:24 PM
If our team from this year was lined up on a wall Dunks would be in the first 5 picked.. he gave his all for the jumper and the notion that he didn't is crap.
Except he didn't. When push comes to shove he jumped ship. Giving all for you jumper is playing whatever position the team needs you to play. Its taking young players under your wing and coaching them and developing them. Its putting the team before all others. My first 5 wouldn't include Dunks this year:
1) The Bont - always has and always does;
2) Libba - enough said
3) McLean - worked his arse off to get back and played VFL footy to fight for his spot
4) Rourke Smith - just keeps battling and working and putting in
5) Gardner - his growth over the season was immense
Dunks did what Dunks does, but there is always a sub-plot. Could Dunks be a good tagger and sacrifice his game? Yes, would he do that? McLean would, Smith would. Heck - Treloar went a played back because we needed him to. The best think Dunks will give us is draft capital and another ex-player to boo 2 or 3 times a year!
20-09-2022, 08:26 PM
Yeah alright we get it. You're not happy, either am i. Your point about him being prioritised ahead of others is a good one.
What can I say, I'm a football supporter.....I will puke if the Bulldog's crowd let him off lightly - this is a Ryan Griffin/Nathan Brown level walkout.
20-09-2022, 08:35 PM
Weird.
Pretty hard player to fault on field imo. Was super professional in his application and contrary to the above thoughts was pretty good at playing the roles we asked of him.
Off field I do think he's got in his head that moving is gonna make him more of a star, and that coupled with him being so blatantly desperate to be a sponsorship superstar and as popular as possible makes him pretty unlikeable. I think he wants to be this cool guy who kills it with his off field game but in reality he is the least edgy bloke in the sport atm and maybe the most boring sounding guy we have ever had at the club.
20-09-2022, 08:45 PM
He got games ahead of those blokes because….
…wait for it…
…he’s…
…a…
…better…
…player!
20-09-2022, 08:48 PM
I laugh at the thought of leaving us because of a culture issue where he has picked a club that is captained by Zorko!! What ever his reason's are they would want to be good to sacrifice playing alongside The Bont and join forces with Zorko
Wishing injury on another human just because they leave your team is a bit much imo.
20-09-2022, 08:50 PM
And if it's the party boys he is trying to get away from he'd wanna steer clear of Daniher then from what I've heard
20-09-2022, 08:54 PM
I doubt it. He comes into the team at 19 years old and plays in 11 finals including 2 GF and a premiership and he thinks the game plan is no good. As a player, I doubt it.
Well you may doubt it, but none of us know.
What we do know is that he considers himself more important then the team.
This actually proves that his priority is not a team ethos and if he thinks there is something amiss with the coach/gameplan he will burn anyone that doesn't fit with his vision.
20-09-2022, 08:57 PM
This is my rough sketch on how to get this done. It needs more fine tuning, so it's very rough and needs more work as I ponder it some more. Essentially, 'if' McStay compo is Pick 34 is the starting point:
Dunkley goes to Brisbane, with Picks 29, 37, 65
Dogs get Pick 15, Future First, Pick 33 & 69, plus a Player (valued notionally above Pick 29 - perhaps Gardiner (just as an example only) - as a restricted FA - might be traded if the FA compo is only second round)
Edit: If it was Gardiner and he wanted us and us he, then we could offer a juicy FA offer to boost the compo to Brisbane, let him go FA, thus keeping Pick 29 but shuffling other picks downward towards Brisbane (netting them more points) that keeps us with another highish draft pick. Call it trade manipulation if you like, or rorting the compo system for mutual benefit. Edit.
Brisbane split their compo for McStay, say to Collingwood trading Pick 34, for Picks 47 & 48 - Collingwood then use Pick 34 for Tom Mitchell, a future second rounder for Hill, nothing of note for Frampton, and trading Grundy should that happen gets them more than enough to get another first rounder and the pick for Henry to Geelong goes to GCS for Fiorini.
Collingwood In - McStay, Lewis, Fiorini, Hill, Frampton, First Rounder and more for Grundy ($700,000 freed up on Grundy)
Collingwood Out - Grundy, Henry
Brisbane then have Picks 29, 37, 44, 47, 48 & 65 - By my math that 2,386 Points where a matched bid at Pick 1 for Ashcroft is 2,400 Draft Points after discount. Depending on how many live spots they have, they might even split pick 29.
So Brisbane need to find 750-800 points for Fletcher if he's late first round. If he slides into the 20's the more generous discount applies. So they may look to another player trade.
Brisbane In - Dunkley, Ashcroft, Fletcher and no deficit
Brisbane out - McStay, Pick 15, 2023 First, two other players with moderate worth
*** If the AFEL make the FA compo pick 16 for Mc Stay, then this is even easier for Brisbane with an extra 527 draft points. Then split Pick 16 for two other picks (one that still allows a draft points trade with say Collingwood). Taking in at least 6 'live' picks. Brisbane in this scenario could get away with McStay and only one other playing needing to be traded, to us for our Pick 29, or if the compo is rigged, it could even be our Pick 37. Or just a straight trade on Dunkley for Pick 15 and a Future First.
Leaving:
Dogs In - Picks 15, 33, 69, 2023 First, player of moderate value such as Gardiner (or keeping Pick 29)
Dogs Out - Dunkley, Picks (29*), 37 & 65.
Broken down further:
Slight improve in the second round to dogs (virtually evened out in draft points by pick 65 points)
Dunkley nets circa 2 x pick 15's (this year and next) - which feels a bit lower than value
Pick 29 for a player we want that slightly higher than this pick, which adds to the Dunkley value.
Collingwood get everything
Brisbane get everyone, while letting McStay and maybe just one other go
Dogs get two first rounders and a player we want, that includes 4 First Rounders in our pocket.
Indicatively here we have picks 11, 15, 33, 69 and a player (or Pick 29), with 2023: First x 2, Second, Third & Fourth
Dunkley's value is then circa 2 x Pick 15's, a slight second upgrade and involving a decent player with Pick 29 in the mix
(or under higher FA compo, a straight trade with two first rounders)
So it can be done if the McStay compo is Pick 34. But it limits their ability to really pay, which limits our ability to hardball to the fullest extent possible. If Gil decides to offer them Pick 16 or Pick 19 compo, then it's off to the races. We really need Collingwood to come in hot with something like 5 years at $650,000 to disguise the 'makey upey compo' as worth either Pick 16, or end of first round compo Pick 19. Hence, if Brisbane can work out a seperate draft points trade that induces goodwill from Collingwood to present to McStay contract in its best light, then all of Dogs, Pies and Lions can walk away happy enough. I think Dunkley is worth more, but it is what it is.
So, lets see what happens when the AFEL dish out the McStay compo, and hope they 'Motlop' the compo. That's my assessment right now. Lets see the McStay compo.
Who is this man 'Bulldogtragic'??
I'm sure it makes perfect sense but i just can't get my head around it..
20-09-2022, 09:06 PM
Who is this man 'Bulldogtragic'??
I'm sure it makes perfect sense but i just can't get my head around it..
He's more of a legend than a man.
20-09-2022, 09:20 PM
Weird.
Pretty hard player to fault on field imo. Was super professional in his application and contrary to the above thoughts was pretty good at playing the roles we asked of him.
Off field I do think he's got in his head that moving is gonna make him more of a star, and that coupled with him being so blatantly desperate to be a sponsorship superstar and as popular as possible makes him pretty unlikeable. I think he wants to be this cool guy who kills it with his off field game but in reality he is the least edgy bloke in the sport atm and maybe the most boring sounding guy we have ever had at the club.
This pretty much sums it up for me.
He's not a likeable guy, but he gave as much effort as anyone in the last two years - especially this year.
I also think it's true that he gave everything he could for himself. This wouldn't be lost on a number of players within the group, and I think him leaving will actually help the culture.
Effectively we've had to 'manage' a good player who everybody knows didn't want to be there. Besides Treloar and Crozier, he isn't overly close with anyone else.
As much as players know it's a business, rest assured a few would be annoyed by his actions over the last few years. That he 'put off' a decision so he could attend the Brownlow kind of sums him up.
I'm glad he's leaving.
20-09-2022, 09:39 PM
If he's going to Brisbane to boost Brand Dunkley good luck with that if the Lions have a down year.
Exposure wise all the those players could walk down the middle of the Queen st mall and only a 1/8 of the population might know who they are.
20-09-2022, 10:57 PM
On the field, but not off the field
20-09-2022, 10:58 PM
On the field, but not off the field
BAD, what are you basing this on?
20-09-2022, 11:00 PM
BAD, what are you basing this on?
Wanting to leave the club for two years. Brand Dunkley, all about him.
20-09-2022, 11:02 PM
Wanting to leave the club for two years
The club has said he was fully engaged (on and off field) which is very different to your take on it.
20-09-2022, 11:09 PM
The club has said he was fully engaged (on and off field) which is very different to your take on it.
On field can't fault him
20-09-2022, 11:12 PM
On field can't fault him
So how have you been able to question his off field application?
21-09-2022, 12:15 AM
So how have you been able to question his off field application?
I think that despite his obvious commitment to turning out professionally, his commentary around leaving and why he wanted to leave won’t have sat well in an environment where the boys are fed an “us v them” and “one in, all in” sort of narrative. We don’t play that way, but it’s definitely the story they like to tell themselves so to have a guy effectively going through the motions (albeit exceptionally well) wouldn’t have been welcomed by all.
21-09-2022, 06:29 AM
I think that despite his obvious commitment to turning out professionally, his commentary around leaving and why he wanted to leave won’t have sat well in an environment where the boys are fed an “us v them” and “one in, all in” sort of narrative. We don’t play that way, but it’s definitely the story they like to tell themselves so to have a guy effectively going through the motions (albeit exceptionally well) wouldn’t have been welcomed by all.
But we made the GF last year??
21-09-2022, 06:46 AM
If you assume there is at least partial truth to what Caro has said on Footy Classified last night then hopefully the club is aware of it and addressing where necessary.
I also think there is an element that Dunks isn’t going to find a team of professional robots at any club, it’s not realistic to have an entire club at his level. The truth is probably somewhere in the middle so if we have guys that need to turn this part of their footy around then hopefully the club is working with them.
21-09-2022, 07:37 AM
If you assume there is at least partial truth to what Caro has said on Footy Classified last night then hopefully the club is aware of it and addressing where necessary.
I also think there is an element that Dunks isn’t going to find a team of professional robots at any club, it’s not realistic to have an entire club at his level. The truth is probably somewhere in the middle so if we have guys that need to turn this part of their footy around then hopefully the club is working with them.
Dunkley doesn't strike me as naive enough to think any other club will be perfect or even close to it but what might have helped make his decision is that from his perspective we haven't done enough to address the challenges we have.
If I go back to 2017 it appears we tolerated a lot of bad behavior during the season and I'm sure at times clubs need to allow some standards to slide so if we have been accepting some lower standards from a few players for a while now that can be a trigger for a player like Dunkley to make a move.
21-09-2022, 07:43 AM
Dunkley doesn't strike me as naive enough to think any other club will be perfect or even close to it but what might have helped make his decision is that from his perspective we haven't done enough to address the challenges we have.
If I go back to 2017 it appears we tolerated a lot of bad behavior during the season and I'm sure at times clubs need to allow some standards to slide so if we have been accepting some lower standards from a few players for a while now that can be a trigger for a player like Dunkley to make a move.
Very hard to know exactly where it sits without being involved.
I know at a lower level the reasons given for people leaving often don’t make much sense, what is perceived a certain way for one person may be completely different for others. Really tough to put a black and white lens on this so all the club can do is ensure we are holding players to a high standard.
21-09-2022, 07:51 AM
Very hard to know exactly where it sits without being involved.
I know at a lower level the reasons given for people leaving often don’t make much sense, what is perceived a certain way for one person may be completely different for others. Really tough to put a black and white lens on this so all the club can do is ensure we are holding players to a high standard.
Dunkley's decision to leave is being questioned and I don't think anyone is putting a black and white lens on it but in answering Caro's observations last night that from Dunkley's perspective it's a culture issue I also don't think we can dismiss that either.
21-09-2022, 08:03 AM
I wonder where the line of division is, in his view. Him and Treloar, then the rest?
It all just smells a bit of one robotic guy struggling in a standard footy club - I think he will be disappointed when he sees that Brisbane is much the same.
Of course I hope the club is aware of and addressing any actual division in the playing group, but I'm not convinced.
21-09-2022, 08:14 AM
All in all I think this is a great opportunity to improve or at least tweak our list. Something has to change. We lose a GF by 70 something after leading by 19 and let a 41 point lead in a final slip.
Dunkley looked to give his all but is the discord with him and the other mids? If he is presenting holier than thou to his team mates, maybe they don't want to play with him. Who really knows but as it stands its a positive that a change is happening whether it's forced or not. I just hope the powers to be make the right decision and we don't end up squandering this opportunity to improve our list
21-09-2022, 08:21 AM
I think that any football club that has fallen disappointingly short in a Grand Final and then backed it up with a very inconsistent season would quite likely have divisions within the group. Clearly they have the talent to make it all the way, but for whatever reason they've fallen short. That's bound to stir up some very strong emotions amongst a group of professional athletes that are all well aware of how quickly their sporting career goes by.
As others have said, I'm not advocating the club take a 'nothing to see here' approach: we should look at it very objectively and if there is something to address then get to it.
21-09-2022, 08:43 AM
I think that any football club that has fallen disappointingly short in a Grand Final and then backed it up with a very inconsistent season would quite likely have divisions within the group. Clearly they have the talent to make it all the way, but for whatever reason they've fallen short. That's bound to stir up some very strong emotions amongst a group of professional athletes that are all well aware of how quickly their sporting career goes by.
As others have said, I'm not advocating the club take a 'nothing to see here' approach: we should look at it very objectively and if there is something to address then get to it.
We did address it, we stopped playing Dunks in the ruck!
21-09-2022, 08:48 AM
I wonder where the line of division is, in his view. Him and Treloar, then the rest?
It all just smells a bit of one robotic guy struggling in a standard footy club - I think he will be disappointed when he sees that Brisbane is much the same.
Of course I hope the club is aware of and addressing any actual division in the playing group, but I'm not convinced.
I wonder how much discussion he had with Marcus Adams, who also left for potentially the same reasons?
21-09-2022, 09:16 AM
Like any workplace there would be people that come in and be more focused on the money and financial security than performance and those perhaps a lot more focused on performing at their best. Professional sports teams wouldn't be a lot different.
It's a contract to contract environment so it will have a lot of competitive minded people who know they've got a short period of time to make the most of it. It's on Dunks to let the coaches sort though any distracted team mates but it appears he either ran out of patience with that or just the fact his partner being from QLD was the tipping point. We move on and as a club we now need to get a great trade outcome.
21-09-2022, 09:19 AM
Like any workplace there would be people that come in and be more focused on the money and financial security than performance and those perhaps a lot more focused on performing at their best. Professional sports teams wouldn't be a lot different.
It's a contract to contract environment so it will have a lot of competitive minded people who know they've got a short period of time to make the most of it. It's on Dunks to let the coaches sort though any distracted team mates but it appears he either ran out of patience with that or just the fact his partner being from QLD was the tipping point. We move on and as a club we now need to get a great trade outcome.
So many factors probably involved.
If I was 25 and had the opportunity to go and work up in Brisbane in the beautiful weather as opposed to a grim Melbourne winter at Skinner reserve I’d take it in a heartbeat!
Although would you want to play for Fagan now?
21-09-2022, 09:20 AM
And if it's the party boys he is trying to get away from he'd wanna steer clear of Daniher then from what I've heard
I've seen Daniher out and about, he was pretty straight edge every time.
21-09-2022, 09:24 AM
If I was 25 and had the opportunity to go and work up in Brisbane in the beautiful weather as opposed to a grim Melbourne winter at Skinner reserve I’d take it in a heartbeat!
I'm not going to single out anyone until the facts are known.
21-09-2022, 09:42 AM
Players leave clubs all the time. It doesn't mean there is anything wrong at the club. Freo might be losing up to half a dozen players now that's more of a story than one prima donna leaving the doggies. Sammy Power has re-signed all the others we wanted to keep. I take what Caro says with the tiniest grain of salt you can find.
21-09-2022, 09:47 AM
Players leave clubs all the time. It doesn't mean there is anything wrong at the club. Freo might be losing up to half a dozen players now that's more of a story than one prima donna leaving the doggies. Sammy Power has re-signed all the others we wanted to keep. I take what Caro says with the tiniest grain of salt you can find.
Fully agree, it's a shame to lose Dunks but we have survived and then thrived with similar departures.
The focus should be now to leverage a good deal and then move on. As BT has pointed out it creates a few list management opportunities.
If we were to land someone like Phillipou and then Hayes in the draft as supporters the focus on Dunkley will be minimised.
21-09-2022, 09:49 AM
Any chance she gets to have a crack at us she takes it with glee.
21-09-2022, 09:49 AM
Fully agree, it's a shame to lose Dunks but we have survived and then thrived with similar departures.
The focus should be now to leverage a good deal and then move on. As BT has pointed out it creates a few list management opportunities.
If we were to land someone like Phillipou and then Hayes in the draft as supporters the focus on Dunkley will be minimised.
Once he is gone G he will be only mentioned, if at all, in our ex-players thread. It is still raw at the moment.
21-09-2022, 09:51 AM
Any chance she gets to have a crack at us she takes it with glee.
Right on. She was smashing Bevo early in the year. I don't listen to that show because of her.
21-09-2022, 10:01 AM
Melbourne for me, best city. :)
21-09-2022, 10:03 AM
I wonder where the line of division is, in his view. Him and Treloar, then the rest? .
It certainly feels this way. I think it is a good thing they are now split. Maybe Treloar can make some more friends.
If there is a split in the playing group then the leaders of the players, ie Bont, Macrae etc need to mend this.
21-09-2022, 10:11 AM
I've gleamed the details from the rest of the thread but c'mon, we need to have standards on this board and assuming someone has bothered to watch Footy Classified and managed to both stay awake and pay attention is a very unfair assumption. If one manages such a feat they should share the details with the class if anything relevant is mentioned.
As for the actual story. It's hard to believe the club was super unprofessional AND a top two team for most of the year AND and Grand Finalist. I think this was the pre-defined story for his initial exit and when he didn't get that figured it was good enough to use again because it paints him in he best light. Is there some truth to it. Almost certainly. It's a football club. That's part of why it's a great excuse. Considering we were willing to lose Jake Stringer over this issue in the past it's hard to believe that the club doesn't try to enforce certain standards though.
21-09-2022, 10:20 AM
I've gleamed the details from the rest of the thread but c'mon, we need to have standards on this board and assuming someone has bothered to watch Footy Classified and managed to both stay awake and pay attention is a very unfair assumption. If one manages such a feat they should share the details with the class if anything relevant is mentioned.
As for the actual story. It's hard to believe the club was super unprofessional AND a top two team for most of the year AND and Grand Finalist. I think this was the per-defined story for his initial exit and when he didn't get that figured it was good enough to use again because it paints him in he best light. Is there some truth to it. Almost certainly. It's a football club. That's part of why it's a great excuse. Considering we were willing to lose Jake Stringer over this issue in the past it's hard to believe that the club doesn't try to enforce certain standards though.
Tend to agree re Caro and think the media in general has an axe to grind with Bevo because he stands up to them.
I do also think it would be wrong to completely write it off internally, if it’s baseless then great but worth making sure we are on track. I’m sure the club are doing that regularly but i think instantly dismissing it is just as dangerous as accepting it as fact.
21-09-2022, 10:51 AM
As for the actual story. It's hard to believe the club was super unprofessional AND a top two team for most of the year AND and Grand Finalist. I think this was the per-defined story for his initial exit and when he didn't get that figured it was good enough to use again because it paints him in he best light. Is there some truth to it. Almost certainly. It's a football club. That's part of why it's a great excuse. Considering we were willing to lose Jake Stringer over this issue in the past it's hard to believe that the club doesn't try to enforce certain standards though.
Totally agree with you
The clubs head of governance (a friend of mine) is a very experienced lawyer and gets on to issues very quickly. He is a diehard Doggies supporter and will not let anything go. The club is in very good hands administration wise. That is not to say there are issues from time to time that need to be dealt with.
I've seen Daniher out and about, he was pretty straight edge every time.
And didn't he live in Daylesford(or somewhere rural) as he wasn't a fan of the big city life?
Seems like a sort of laid back keep to himself sort of dude.
21-09-2022, 11:30 AM
And didn't he live in Daylesford(or somewhere rural) as he wasn't a fan of the big city life?
Seems like a sort of laid back keep to himself sort of dude.
Yeah. Not drinking, not getting on the gear as far as I could tell.
Plenty of guys were famous for getting out and about on it though (and some of those are reformed guys now considered really good blokes)
21-09-2022, 11:53 AM
I hope this question doesn't come across insensitive about the current report, nor am I suggesting guilt or otherwise.
Reckon he might review the Port Adelaide offer now?
Or... maybe he may still want to go to QLD and the door for Suns opens?
21-09-2022, 12:12 PM
I hope this question doesn't come across insensitive about the current report, nor am I suggesting guilt or otherwise.
Reckon he might review the Port Adelaide offer now?
Or... maybe he may still want to go to QLD and the door for Suns opens?
I doubt he changes his mind after the amount of work that goes into it.
It's an interesting discussion point for sure, if Fagan is found to be complicit he can't continue.
21-09-2022, 12:14 PM
I doubt he changes his mind after the amount of work that goes into it.
It's an interesting discussion point for sure, if Fagan is found to be complicit he can't continue.
Brisbane considering standing him down until the new AFL investigation is over (via Twitter).
This story is huge. Clarko might lose his north role? Players who agreed to go to north reconsider?
21-09-2022, 12:15 PM
Brisbane considering standing him down until the new AFL investigation is over (via Twitter).
This story is huge. Clarko might lose his north role? Players who agreed to go to north reconsider?
Wow. It's huge.
21-09-2022, 12:24 PM
Tend to agree re Caro and think the media in general has an axe to grind with Bevo because he stands up to them.
I do also think it would be wrong to completely write it off internally, if it’s baseless then great but worth making sure we are on track. I’m sure the club are doing that regularly but i think instantly dismissing it is just as dangerous as accepting it as fact.
The thing is if this is something Dunkley genuinely cares about the club isn't learning it now. internally either they agree and are working on things or disagree and are not. The media learning what Dunkley (still) thinks is unlikely to change whatever is happening internally (or at least it should be)
21-09-2022, 12:38 PM
The thing is if this is something Dunkley genuinely cares about the club isn't learning it now. internally either they agree and are working on things or disagree and are not. The media learning what Dunkley (still) thinks is unlikely to change whatever is happening internally (or at least it should be)
Don’t disagree with any of that, I was hand expecting something like this to come out post the Dunkley announcement.
21-09-2022, 12:50 PM
The club's culture may not be for Dunks, and it may not be bad. Maybe it's just a poor fit? If that's the case, it's best for both to part ways.
One bloke saying that others aren't up to his standards (IF he said that, and if that's the case... if it's around training, diet, obsession with footy, podcasts, haircuts...) then that's actually not necessarily either untrue, or a bad thing. It might be true, and it might be a fantastic thing.
Chris Scott was interviewed a few months back and asked about De Goey (I think) and he didn't say they were or weren't interested in him, but also that a team isn't going to be full of "straighty 180s".
A footy club would be a melting pot. Just like most organisations.
21-09-2022, 01:07 PM
The club's culture may not be for Dunks, and it may not be bad. Maybe it's just a poor fit? If that's the case, it's best for both to part ways.
One bloke saying that others aren't up to his standards (IF he said that, and if that's the case... if it's around training, diet, obsession with footy, podcasts, haircuts...) then that's actually not necessarily either untrue, or a bad thing. It might be true, and it might be a fantastic thing.
Chris Scott was interviewed a few months back and asked about De Goey (I think) and he didn't say they were or weren't interested in him, but also that a team isn't going to be full of "straighty 180s".
A footy club would be a melting pot. Just like most organisations.
If Dunks wants QLD because of his GF, then why isn't GC part of the conversation? Luke Jackson wants to go back to WA and NOT Freo specifically.
If it is culture, then why did Dunks want to go to the Bummers in 2020, knowing why Stringer was traded and ended-up there? And Bris, with their issues with Zorko let alone today's revelations.
If he wants to be the big dog (pardon the pun) in the team, then why go to a side with a pretty formidable midfield group already?
In total, I think the old man has drummed it into the kids to look after yourself, given his experience with the Swans. Thus going where he can get the most coin seems to be the overriding logic. Most people switch jobs for more coin in life, so we can't attack him for that but what he should do is be honest with the fans.
Note how Nathan Brown was welcomed back to the Bulldogs when he eventually said he left for coin to go to Sh1tmond and NOT play in Premierships. Honesty will let you keep the respect you have earned Dunks.
21-09-2022, 01:49 PM
No backsies Dunkley. You made your choice now enjoy your new team without a coach or with one who is an absolute disgusting human.
21-09-2022, 01:59 PM
No backsies Dunkley. You made your choice now enjoy your new team without a coach or with one who is an absolute disgusting human.
Exactly. I hope some good Brisbane players refuse to stay there and look to our club culture. This trade could have been blown wide open.
21-09-2022, 02:02 PM
If Dunks wants QLD because of his GF, then why isn't GC part of the conversation? Luke Jackson wants to go back to WA and NOT Freo specifically.
If it is culture, then why did Dunks want to go to the Bummers in 2020, knowing why Stringer was traded and ended-up there? And Bris, with their issues with Zorko let alone today's revelations.
If he wants to be the big dog (pardon the pun) in the team, then why go to a side with a pretty formidable midfield group already?
In total, I think the old man has drummed it into the kids to look after yourself, given his experience with the Swans. Thus going where he can get the most coin seems to be the overriding logic. Most people switch jobs for more coin in life, so we can't attack him for that but what he should do is be honest with the fans.
Note how Nathan Brown was welcomed back to the Bulldogs when he eventually said he left for coin to go to Sh1tmond and NOT play in Premierships. Honesty will let you keep the respect you have earned Dunks.
Agree it is all for the money. He looks at Bont on $1 million, Adz on $900k, and thinks, I can get that, I am just as good
21-09-2022, 02:03 PM
Now confirmed
21-09-2022, 02:06 PM
Exactly. I hope some good Brisbane players refuse to stay there and look to our club culture. This trade could have been blown wide open.
Brisbane will just sack Fagan long before they lose players IMO.