12-11-2020, 07:31 PM
Bravo Sammy.. bravo

12-11-2020, 07:32 PM
Thread CLOSED :D

No Treloar to the Dogs either. Spewing a bit but fair enough if we held firm on salary

Max Power

So did we do anything?

Held our nerve, which will hopefully pay good dividends in limiting the poaching of our contracted players.

Can't help but feel disappointed at no AT.

Other clubs are improving their list, we aren't.

12-11-2020, 07:33 PM
We didn't blink. Well done. No walk-over club :)

12-11-2020, 07:33 PM

Totally agree. Geez Martin and Hannan gets me excited (rolls eyes)

12-11-2020, 07:34 PM
*RELIEFFFFFFFFFF*

Strewth I need a beer.

12-11-2020, 07:34 PM

You can keep your avatar, though.

12-11-2020, 07:35 PM
Totally agree. Geez Martin and Hannan gets me excited (rolls eyes)

Martin helps quite a bit I'd proffer.

Hannan's going to have nice year in the VFL though.

Agreed. Better to not accept a shit deal, but both can be right at the same time.

Just like last year, most of the improvement from the Bulldogs will come from within, given the age demographic.

One of the youngest teams in the comp, youngest by a mile in the last two finals, trading for ready-made players was to assist the squad, not transform it. (Think of Whorethorn. Drafted guns but added ready-made players when and if needed).

Treloar would be nice but not for $700k a year.

12-11-2020, 07:36 PM
Agreed. Better to not accept a shit deal, but both can be right at the same time.

Yep - that sums it up pretty well.

I felt like our list could have done with a shake-up. Like that we didn't give in to Essendon, but wish we found a way to get Treloar across.

Good to see Sammy is not a soft touch.

Treloar got done!!!

Giddy up

Treloar deal has been completed...wow

Wow we got Treloar !

We got Treloar.

AT a dogs

Treloar got done!!!

Fabulous

12-11-2020, 07:37 PM
Treloar done

12-11-2020, 07:37 PM
Sammy power, what do you want for dinner!?

You magnificent bastard!

12-11-2020, 07:38 PM
Wowee. That's it, Sam gets a statue. This is the most stacked midfield we've ever had.

Deleted post, should learn to update screen.:)

Cal twoomey just tweeted Treloar a Dog

Kept Dunks and got Treloar..... Yes !!!!

12-11-2020, 07:39 PM
Wowee. That's it, Sam gets a statue. This is the most stacked midfield we've ever had.

That statue needs a big pair of brass balls.

Sammy power, what do you want for dinner!?

You magnificent bastard!

That should be a dinner and a sleep over too

Let me ask a question ... did Essendon win this trade period again? ;)

Magnificent outcome for the club

Brilliant work Sam Power

Treloar

Dunkley is still a bulldog

12-11-2020, 07:40 PM
Josh Dunkley can get his midfield minutes at Footscray and play with Kyle there too.

That should be a dinner and a sleep over too

and a single malt.

Means we have $ to pay Bont, B Smith etc.

Sent a clear message to others we will not be a crèche for top players for bully clubs.

With Phillips deal going down late to Hawks for peanuts (pick 60 or so) as a salary dump for Pies I think that meant they could keep Treloar so glad we did not offer higher pick we might regret later.

Would have been nice to welcome Treloar to RWB but not to be. Let’s hope Garcia and Vandermeer can be our speedsters, along with Richards improving after a stagnant year. Plus JJ who could be moved further forward like he was late this year.

Shit-just read we have Treloar. Wowee!!!!

12-11-2020, 07:41 PM
Dunks get your shin pads ready.

12-11-2020, 07:41 PM
I reckon the last 2 years have shown Sammy can sit at the grownup table come trade time.
Next trade time I reckon I'm not going to go in thinking we're gonna get pantsed. He's earned some credits.

12-11-2020, 07:42 PM
And DODORO comes out of it looking like the asshole that he is. Awesome.

12-11-2020, 07:43 PM
Apparently it's a complicated deal but pick 14 is gone for points and a 2nd rounder to Collingwood for Treloar

Thats as good as it gets

12-11-2020, 07:43 PM
Future second rounder for Treloar, and split 14 for points. Sam you are the man.

12-11-2020, 07:44 PM
Let me ask a question ... did Essendon win this trade period again? ;)

Of course, it is stipulated in the AFL Commission charter ;)

12-11-2020, 07:44 PM
Dunks is staying.....time to rebuild those bridges son

12-11-2020, 07:45 PM
"Essendon made me a really good offer that I was keen to accept but a trade couldn't be worked out so I'm really looking forward to getting back to preseason with this great club and giving it all for the red white and blue next year"

I'll just email this to Josh's media team.

12-11-2020, 07:45 PM
Wow thought we had no deals then to see Treloar for a second. Sammy Power I have faith in you!

12-11-2020, 07:47 PM

We never fell out of love with Dunks - we questioned if we still loved him yes! We asked ourselves if we could get over him? We told each other we could cover him but he is a bull and our best footy of the past two years has been with that bull doing his best work - his 2019 was magic

12-11-2020, 07:48 PM
Looks like the pies are paying 300k/year of Treloar's salary.

12-11-2020, 07:49 PM

Let's all forgive Dunks and get behind him. I know the players will

12-11-2020, 07:49 PM
Wonder if we will rookie Kyle.

12-11-2020, 07:51 PM
We need to send one of those oversized cards to our POWER Ranger aka SAM the MAN.

I'm gobsmacked. So late again and he nailed it AGAIN.

12-11-2020, 07:52 PM
We are going to have to cut the list further now

12-11-2020, 07:54 PM
121 pages later and we're not trading Dunkley!!!!!!

Great result, and with getting Treloar onto the list under what appear to be perfect circumstances we've come a close second to Essendon in this year's national trade championships!

12-11-2020, 07:55 PM
*RELIEFFFFFFFFFF*

Strewth I need a beer.

Errr, as I was saying...

Too many mids is barely enough.

12-11-2020, 07:56 PM

Could Porter be a casualty? I thought he looked OK in his one game. Feel sorry for him if that ends up being the case. Perhaps add him to rookie list? (Or is he already on that?).

12-11-2020, 07:56 PM
Let's all forgive Dunks and get behind him. I know the players will

Well, it’s only right the lads get behind our backup ruck.

12-11-2020, 07:57 PM
Could Porter be a casualty? I thought he looked OK in his one game. Feel sorry for him if that ends up being the case. Perhaps add him to rookie list? (Or is he already on that?).

If getting Treloar means we do what we need to do with Porter then, no offense intended to the guy, I think it's a win coming and going for us.

12-11-2020, 07:58 PM
I'm meeting Dodoro there tonight around 9pm :)

Buy him a beer Gary ;)

12-11-2020, 08:00 PM
Hey look we didn't get bent over! I know losing Stringer was hard on us all but times have changed. The man that hurt us (McCartney) is gone and we have a new hunk of a man to keep us warm with his ten pound balls that you can sit in like beanbags.

12-11-2020, 08:02 PM

Great result, and with getting Treloar onto the list under what appear to be perfect circumstances we've come a close second to Essendon in this year's national trade championships!

If it wasn't for you, we wouldn't have chased Treloar - so Jee, I give you this one.

From Big Footy: Pick swaps 26, 33 & 42 for pick 14 with pies is 1687 points compared to 1161 points. That's a BIG win.

And DODORO comes out of it looking like the asshole that he is. Awesome.

They have got 6 , 7 and 8 ... watch them destroy those kids development, Stringer will take them under his fat wing.

12-11-2020, 08:03 PM
**Sam power about to come on sen.

12-11-2020, 08:05 PM
They have got 6 , 7 and 8 ... watch them destroy those kids development, Stringer will take them under his fat wing.

And try to get their girlfriends under the other.

12-11-2020, 08:08 PM
I listened to AFL Trade Radio for last hour of trade period. Gotta say I like SOS. Very even tempered and not one sided from what I heard. Glowing of Power prior to 7:30pm news we got Treloar & kept Dunks.

Lloyd glowing of Power (after the fact) & of our list now.

12-11-2020, 08:10 PM
From Big Footy: Pick swaps 26, 33 & 42 for pick 14 with pies is 1687 points compared to 1161 points. That's a BIG win.

That covers a bid at 4. Not bad.

12-11-2020, 08:11 PM
Sam Power: We are rapt to keep Josh.

12-11-2020, 08:12 PM
I listened to AFL Trade Radio for last hour of trade period. Gotta say I like SOS. Very even tempered and not one sided from what I heard. Glowing of Power prior to 7:30pm news we got Treloar & kept Dunks.

Lloyd glowing of Power (after the fact) & of our list now.

Must really hurt him to say that, probably more than Kretiuk punching his broken hand.

12-11-2020, 08:14 PM

Plus we have other picks to use. I think we can cover a pick 2 bid based on BT's calculations.

12-11-2020, 08:14 PM
What a pisser. We keep Dunks, get Treloar, bring back a footscray premiership player who we wanted to draft and get a ruck to help Timmy for a couple years. You little fkn ripper!!

I tip my hat to Sir Sam Power

12-11-2020, 08:15 PM
**Sam power about to come on sen.

Ooh. Better listen to this. What a result

12-11-2020, 08:15 PM

Just crazy.

It's not quite so simple, but you can effectively say we got the equivalent of pick 4 and Treloar for pick 14 and our 2021 2nd...

Regardless of how this goes, just exemplary trading from Power - did everything right with Dunkley and Treloar.

12-11-2020, 08:16 PM
Sam did good!

I’m so happy we did not give an inch to Dodo.

Anyone on Twitter who wants to give it to Tom Browne, now's the time!

Dodo's last pitch was Pick 7 and future 2nd

12-11-2020, 08:18 PM

That's exactly where I thought it would land from Essendon. Glad we held.

12-11-2020, 08:18 PM

I hear Dodo’s still waiting for a reply :D

12-11-2020, 08:19 PM

That sounds almost exactly like the two good first round picks we said it would take to get across the line.

Flabbergasted it didn't work out for him.

12-11-2020, 08:19 PM
Wow. Unbelievable turn of events. Welcome Treloar.

12-11-2020, 08:20 PM
Anyone on Twitter who wants to give it to Tom Browne, now's the time!

I get it, but I don’t know bro. He called it so early and was proven right that Dunkley wanted out.

12-11-2020, 08:20 PM
Getting Treloar will strengthen our hand with keeping Dunks. With Martin coming , dunks no longer rucks and plays more midfield +fwd time. Trevor will only improve our midfield and depth . If Dunks has a good year next year I can only see his value getting better . DODO Will need to pay more next year! His very good at pyrrhic Victories!

12-11-2020, 08:23 PM

Typical Dodo. Destabilise Josh; promise him the world; posture in the media; spread rumours of disfunction at the dogs; offer up jack sh*t at the pointy end.

All that comes now is the cr*p that the Dogs demands were unreasonable and that they expect to nab 3 quality kids in the draft.......

12-11-2020, 08:23 PM

That's a decent trade if he didn't have 2 years to go and he wanted out. Too bad for essendon that he has 2 years to go

12-11-2020, 08:24 PM
Tire kicker. Wanting the world for peanut.

12-11-2020, 08:25 PM

Maybe he thought Jason McCartney was still our list manager. Although even he managed to screw Dodo on the Shiel deal 12 months after the Stringer negotiations.

12-11-2020, 08:26 PM
Typical Dodo. Destabilise Josh; promise him the world; posture in the media; spread rumours of disfunction at the dogs; offer up jack sh*t at the pointy end.

All that comes now is the cr*p that the Dogs demands were unreasonable and that they expect to nab 3 quality kids in the draft.......

And screws over his brother.

It’s more like a flipper. Penguinesque. Borderline flying.

I get it, but I don’t know bro. He called it so early and was proven right that Dunkley wanted out.

You have to give a lot of credit to Essendon, even though they are easy to put shit on.

12-11-2020, 08:27 PM

Feeling relieved jeemak?? :p

12-11-2020, 08:28 PM
You have to give a lot of credit to Essendon, even though they are easy to put shit on.

Go your hardest on Essendon! I certainly will be.

12-11-2020, 08:30 PM
Feeling relieved jeemak?? :p

I am a little bit.

12-11-2020, 08:31 PM
Awesome effort Sammy. Thanks!!!

12-11-2020, 08:32 PM

BTW, is calling something early the same as being force fed information by a footy club?

12-11-2020, 08:33 PM
Wow, what a November.
First Donald
Then Dodo
All i want now is for Dan to let me unmask and i'll be over the moon.

12-11-2020, 08:35 PM

Love the avatar G

12-11-2020, 08:36 PM
Love the avatar G

Just added it 2 minutes ago

12-11-2020, 08:40 PM
Does Essendon still offer Kyle a spot or is that charade done with?

12-11-2020, 08:42 PM
Getting Treloar will strengthen our hand with keeping Dunks. With Martin coming , dunks no longer rucks and plays more midfield +fwd time. Trevor will only improve our midfield and depth . If Dunks has a good year next year I can only see his value getting better . DODO Will need to pay more next year! His very good at pyrrhic Victories!

If we add two years to dunks contract during the season then it’s not a problem.
Don’t think dunks will be impressed the way Dodoro treated him anyway , offer money to get him and club relationship awkward then dump him at the last minute.

12-11-2020, 08:43 PM
In many situations, I expect pick 7 and 2021 2nd rounder could be enough. In our current situation, pick 7 would've been used on JUH and basically wouldn't have been worth anywhere near it's real value in an open market and as such, it's reasonable that we were looking for another high pick.

12-11-2020, 08:44 PM
I am a little bit.

The North remembers, Jee.

You should be giving thanks that bulldogtragic showed up to reverse your juju.

12-11-2020, 08:45 PM
Does Essendon still offer Kyle a spot or is that charade done with?

I hope for Kyle's sake the gave him the contract already...

Kyle was due to play with Footscray more before the mid season draft with Melbourne drafting him. Hopefully we extend him the invite back. It might not be the same, but at least he'd be in and around the club and very close to his brother. With a commitment that if he performs well enough we will be open to drafting him like Gowers and several others that we've had perform well at Footscray. That's at least something and a gesture of good faith, as well as a good signing for Footscray.

12-11-2020, 08:46 PM

Yeah! Where my thanks be at?

12-11-2020, 08:46 PM
In many situations, I expect pick 7 and 2021 2nd rounder could be enough. In our current situation, pick 7 would've been used on JUH and basically wouldn't have been worth anywhere near it's real value in an open market and as such, it's reasonable that we were looking for another high pick.

I suspect in any other year it would have been but a loved player who is contracted is not something you want to part with unless someone is willing to pay overs

12-11-2020, 08:48 PM
BTW, is calling something early the same as being force fed information by a footy club?

Ah.... yeah... you are probably spot on as usual...

Go your hardest on Tommy and Essendon

12-11-2020, 08:49 PM
S. Power... 3 votes.

Set his limits on trades early and did not deviate. Great result.

12-11-2020, 08:50 PM

Yep, and because he's such an amateur Dodoro doesn't give other clubs enough time to get other deals done, nor himself time to get other deals done.

How has their list improved as a result of his posturing and delaying tactics?

12-11-2020, 08:51 PM

More like save his jujus.

I'd just like to say on behalf of WOOF, Sam theicemanwith15kgtestes, myself withslightlysmallertestes, Jeemak forsavinghistestes and the entire Western Bulldogs Football club thank you for all you did.��

12-11-2020, 08:52 PM
Ah.... yeah... you are probably spot on as usual...

Go your hardest on Tommy and Essendon

Ch7 would have literally told him that if he didn't run with it he'd be given the sack.

12-11-2020, 08:54 PM
Ch7 would have literally told him that if he didn't run with it he'd be given the sack.

*!*!*!*! him. The guy's a clown!

12-11-2020, 08:56 PM

More like save his jujus.

I'd just like to say on behalf of WOOF, Sam theicemanwith15kgtestes, myself withslightlysmallertestes, Jeemak forsavinghistestes and the entire Western Bulldogs Football club thank you for all you did.��

Purely coincidental in its timing!

In all seriousness BT, it was good you came back when you did. I was getting a bit worried............

12-11-2020, 08:57 PM

Not so sure on that one. He got the job through connections.

12-11-2020, 08:59 PM

The guy can barely string together a coherent sentence, he certainly didn't get the job on merit

12-11-2020, 09:02 PM

Oh yeah, who's he connected to? He does have the twerpiness about him......

12-11-2020, 09:08 PM
I will leave this here ..
Ode to Sam
https://youtu.be/NCIUf8eYPqA

12-11-2020, 09:22 PM
So this may not be over....

https://amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/magpies-firesale-sends-treloar-to-the-dogs-20201112-p56e67.html?__twitter_impression=true

“Josh Dunkley was left hanging after asking to be traded from the Bulldogs to Essendon, but there is a glimmer of hope that deal could yet be done as the AFL is exploring the possibility of a second brief trade period before the national draft.

This move is not yet confirmed but the AFL is exploring the idea because clubs ended the trade period without a definitive idea of list sizes or the salary cap for next year. The list and salary cap decision is expected within days and might prompt the reopening of the trade window ahead of the draft”

12-11-2020, 09:22 PM

https://amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/magpies-firesale-sends-treloar-to-the-dogs-20201112-p56e67.html?__twitter_impression=true

Josh Dunkley was left hanging after asking to be traded from the Bulldogs to Essendon, but there is a glimmer of hope that deal could yet be done as the AFL is exploring the possibility of a second brief trade period before the national draft.

This move is not yet confirmed but the AFL is exploring the idea because clubs ended the trade period without a definitive idea of list sizes or the salary cap for next year. The list and salary cap decision is expected within days and might prompt the reopening of the trade window ahead of the draft.

AFL are a joke.

12-11-2020, 09:25 PM

“Josh Dunkley was left hanging after asking to be traded from the Bulldogs to Essendon, but there is a glimmer of hope that deal could yet be done as the AFL is exploring the possibility of a second brief trade period before the national draft.

This move is not yet confirmed but the AFL is exploring the idea because clubs ended the trade period without a definitive idea of list sizes or the salary cap for next year. The list and salary cap decision is expected within days and might prompt the reopening of the trade window ahead of the draft”

Nope .. Sam just says no.

12-11-2020, 09:27 PM
AFL are a joke.
They can have 20 more, it matters not. Unless Essendon match our offer he stays. They know now for sure we ain’t bluffing.

12-11-2020, 09:35 PM
They can have 20 more, it matters not. Unless Essendon match our offer he stays. They know now for sure we ain’t bluffing.

Don’t think we need to trade for anything we got what we wanted.

12-11-2020, 09:43 PM
Don’t think we need to trade for anything we got what we wanted.

May be able to trade a couple out for picks next year.

12-11-2020, 09:44 PM
Typical Dodo.
All that comes now is .... (chomp) and that they expect to nab 3 quality kids in the draft.......

Why not, It's the line Collingwood are pushing

12-11-2020, 10:09 PM
On the Foxtel Trading Day show Jon Ralph early this week said we had crumbled with regards to trading Josh Dunkley and Tom Morris and David King were indicating he would be a Bomber at the end of the trade period. Sammy Power didn't fold so a great outcome for us

12-11-2020, 10:14 PM

*!*!*!*! this. Trump wants another election and the AFEL want another trade week. With the same ‘logic’ and equal merit. I just called Vince McMahon and he said he’s all for rigging athletic stuff for money, but the AFEL has taken it way too far.

12-11-2020, 10:48 PM
Dodoro has said our ask was pick 8 and next years first

12-11-2020, 10:51 PM

Exactly what we should've been asking. Power is a smart man.

12-11-2020, 10:57 PM
Exactly what we should've been asking. Power is a smart man.

Absolutely. I’d have been pretty happy with that outcome and love we stood our ground!

12-11-2020, 10:58 PM

I guess Dodo realised that they might well have been handing us over pick 1 next year.

12-11-2020, 11:03 PM
Why not, It's the line Collingwood are pushing

How are you feeling J54? I was a bit worried we were going to lose you to the abyss these past few days! :)

13-11-2020, 12:40 AM

But they can’t give us next years as they aren’t allowed to trade it.

13-11-2020, 07:01 AM

I read they can apply to the AFL for the right to do it, I think Geelong was granted the chance for the danger trade.

13-11-2020, 07:13 AM

I am pretty sure that if they take two first round picks this year, they don't need to take one next year.

So out of their four (6,7,8 2020; pick 1 2021 ;) ) they can trade two.

13-11-2020, 07:17 AM
And try to get their girlfriends under the other.

Hilarious KT.;)

13-11-2020, 07:21 AM
On the Foxtel Trading Day show Jon Ralph early this week said we had crumbled with regards to trading Josh Dunkley and Tom Morris and David King were indicating he would be a Bomber at the end of the trade period. Sammy Power didn't fold so a great outcome for us

Ralph, Morris and Browne were barracking for the Dunkley trade. Now left with egg on their face. They weren't expecting for Sammy Power to stick to his guns. Sammy's reputation is growing.

13-11-2020, 07:32 AM
Ralph, Morris and Browne were barracking for the Dunkley trade. Now left with egg on their face. They weren't expecting for Sammy Power to stick to his guns. Sammy's reputation is growing.

Watch the narrative turn to ‘have the Bulldogs made mistake bringing in Treloar’ and ‘teams will come hard at Dunkley again next year’.

13-11-2020, 07:38 AM
Watch the narrative turn to ‘have the Bulldogs made mistake bringing in Treloar’ and ‘teams will come hard at Dunkley again next year’.

David King already suggested it. Just hope the doggies don't participate in that mini draft the AFL are suggesting just in case The Bummers change their mind. Don't want to lose Dunks now.

13-11-2020, 07:56 AM

Spot on!

It’s already - “dogs stop gun mid from playing where he wants” instead of being “dogs stand ground on required contracted player”

13-11-2020, 08:24 AM
*!*!*!*! this. Trump wants another election and the AFEL want another trade week. With the same ‘logic’ and equal merit. I just called Vince McMahon and he said he’s all for rigging athletic stuff for money, but the AFEL has taken it way too far.

It’s just pathetic. But all we have to do is put up a "Closed for business" sign and head straight on over to the draft. I don’t care if Essendon offer all 3 of their 1st round picks (well I do but), don’t even pick up the phone.

13-11-2020, 08:24 AM
It just reiterates how ingrained the bias towards the bigger clubs and selling clicks, papers and TV space to their drooling masses is.

We knocked it out of the park and they can suck our balls.

13-11-2020, 08:29 AM
It just reiterates how ingrained the bias towards the bigger clubs and selling clicks, papers and TV space to their drooling masses is.

We knocked it out of the park and they can suck our balls.

The eloquence...

13-11-2020, 08:42 AM
Has anyone seen the details of Kyle Dunkleys move to the Bummers?

13-11-2020, 08:48 AM
they can suck our balls.

Pretty sure this was Power's final offer to Dodo.

13-11-2020, 09:10 AM

If they did promise to Josh they would pick Kyle up surely the Dunkley family comes away from this feeling pretty burned by Dodoro.

Promised the world and he delivered nothing to them except dissapointment.

13-11-2020, 09:17 AM
By rumour they would have paid him higher than base salary. If they renege now it would be a horrible move. They need inside mids anyway.

13-11-2020, 09:27 AM
If they did promise to Josh they would pick Kyle up surely the Dunkley family comes away from this feeling pretty burned by Dodoro.

Promised the world and he delivered nothing to them except disappointment.

How low are Essendon to play the emotional card with Kyle.

13-11-2020, 09:31 AM
The beauty of Dodo being involved with so many deals at once is that Essendon missed out on some clear fire sale type bargains like Treloar, Phillips and Witherden that would have all filled a role for very little cost, but he bit off more than could chew.

13-11-2020, 09:33 AM
So now that we've kept him, I think he and Libba should swap mid rotations.

Libba is a fantastic midfielder with some of the best in close hands in the competition, but I'm convinced the Dunkley we saw in 2019 is a better player. He's unmoveable off the ball, a phenomenal two way runner and tackler, and our best non-centre square extractor. I think Libba will also help our ball retention inside 50 if he spends more time there, which to me is a bigger area of need than Dunk's overhead work.

Plus, we can say its not a factor all we want but I wouldn't be against soothing his bruised ego a little bit.

13-11-2020, 09:40 AM

Libba is a fantastic midfielder with some of the best in close hands in the competition, but I'm convinced the Dunkley we saw in 2019 is a better player. He's unmoveable off the ball, a phenomenal two way runner and tackler, and our best non-centre square extractor. I think Libba will also help our ball retention inside 50 if he spends more time there, which to me is a bigger area of need than Dunk's overhead work.

Plus, we can say its not a factor all we want but I wouldn't be against soothing his bruised ego a little bit.

People will howl this down but Bont more forward has to be a serious option - not exclusively, but more.

Goal kicking aside, he’s very good in the F 50.

13-11-2020, 09:42 AM
AT's addition can also help prolong Libba who probably can't spend big mid minutes going forward.

13-11-2020, 09:44 AM
People will howl this down but Bont more forward has to be a serious option - not exclusively, but more.

He can play the role Carey did with North. Very few defenders can match up on him.

13-11-2020, 09:50 AM

Bont can spend more time forward if Treloar can pick up his slack in the middle. We had some horrible periods in games this season when Bont was forward and the midfield couldn't get their hands on it. Bont stays a predominant midfielder though, he's top 5 in the league as a mid and good, not great as a forward.

He can play the role Carey did with North. Very few defenders can match up on him.

I fail to see even the slightest comparison between Bont and Carey. :confused:

13-11-2020, 09:51 AM

Perhaps Dunks and Bont are both split Mid/Fwd pretty equally. Both hard match ups forward.

13-11-2020, 09:52 AM
I don't buy the more midfield time excuse. In 2016 we were rotating 6 to 7 players through the midfield and that really worked well.

13-11-2020, 09:54 AM

I was thinking Pavlich. Pav & Bonts can literally play every role on the ground, albeit an ineffective ruckman.

- If a 3rd tall intercepting player, say Wood, goes down then we can push Bont back to cover it
- If our mids are dominating without him, move him forward
- If the mids are struggling, move him in
- If there's a key centre bounce, put him in there

Hawthorn in their 3 Peat had a great set up. They changed their centre square set up after every goal. Which made it nearly impossible for opponents to work out how Hawthorn mids were setting up, as well as changing the mid sized players rotating through the forward line. We've now got the depth to do something similar. Particularly, if the tagger or person checking say Bonts goes with him, Bonts can drag them out of the centre square and give say Treloar some more freedom. Or the tagger stays and Bonts is going to likely get a lesser defender, or they shuffle and say Naughton/Bruce/Schache/JUH gets the lesser defender. The domino effect of having our mid field this strong should lend itself to a strong strategy/game plan and lots of game day opportunities for Bevo.

13-11-2020, 10:18 AM
Spot on!

It’s already - “dogs stop gun mid from playing where he wants” instead of being “dogs stand ground on required contracted player”

What I have read and listened to has been very complimentary of us holding onto Dunkley and the reasons why
I have seen some silly things on Twitter but I ignore most of that

13-11-2020, 10:22 AM
What I have read and listened to has been very complimentary of us holding onto Dunkley and the reason why
I have seen some silly things on Twitter but I ignore most of that

That’s good. I was really referring to trade radio yesterday immediate afterward and Twitter. Glad the long form journos are calling it as it is

13-11-2020, 10:32 AM
That’s good. I was really referring to trade radio yesterday immediate afterward and Twitter. Glad the long form journos are calling it as it is

Trade Radio is a propaganda machine for the Essendon Football Club. They are appalling. Matt Rendell - all day carrying on Dunks is only worth pick 8, Cooney making up stupid trade deals that show we get low balled etc. Julian De Stoop and Brendon Goddard both barracking for Essendon - it was unlistenable.

Julian having a go at me on twitter saying Dunkley didn't want to just leave for money and he knows more - of course he didn't reveal it. I told him it was BS and it was all about money and I also know more than him :D.

13-11-2020, 10:34 AM
How are you feeling J54? I was a bit worried we were going to lose you to the abyss these past few days! :)

Still here thank-you Jeemak, far too chuffed to sleep last night and so enjoying all the press reports this morning.

13-11-2020, 10:37 AM
Still here thank-you Jeemak, far too chuffed to sleep last night and so enjoying all the press reports this morning.

This trade period feels so good, similar to when we got Boyd. Have we ever had a better trade period than this one.

13-11-2020, 11:09 AM
Trade Radio is a propaganda machine for the Essendon Football Club. They are appalling. Matt Rendell - all day carrying on Dunks is only worth pick 8, Cooney making up stupid trade deals that show we get low balled etc. Julian De Stoop and Brendon Goddard both barracking for Essendon - it was unlistenable.

Julian having a go at me on twitter saying Dunkley didn't want to just leave for money and he knows more - of course he didn't reveal it. I told him it was BS and it was all about money and I also know more than him :D.

I did read that exchange BAD... Classic well done. The Essendon guy saying enjoy your two flags in 95 years was the salt on the cake. You know you've got them when they reach for that nugget. Kudos.

13-11-2020, 11:13 AM
I did read that exchange BAD... Classic well done. The Essendon guy saying enjoy your two flags in 95 years was the salt on the cake. You know you've got them when they reach for that nugget. Kudos.

As soon as he brought out My dick is bigger than yours, I blocked him :D

13-11-2020, 11:14 AM
DODORO LIFTS THE LID ON “COMPELLING” THREE-WAY DUNKLEY OFFER (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/11/12/dodoro-lifts-the-lid-on-compelling-three-way-dunkley-offer/)

Essendon list manager Adrian Dodoro has explained the specifics of the offer that was put forward to the Western Bulldogs for Josh Dunkley.

The Bombers pushed to land the midfielder, but the Bulldogs held firm on a player who remains contracted for a further two seasons.

Dodoro gave insight into what the Dons offered and how a third club, Collingwood, also attempted to become involved in the potential trade.

“In the end we had a direct offer with them (the Bulldogs) that had our pick 7 on the table and a future second-round selection,” he said on SEN Breakfast.

“It was a very, very strong offer but at the end of the day they didn’t want to do that.

“Also another deal that Ned Guy from Collingwood worked extremely hard to put together in a three-way deal that we thought was fairly compelling as well.

“They would have landed a future first, two seconds and a third-round as well to get (Adam) Treloar for Josh. They were resolute and good on them.

“They played it extremely well. There was no problem at all with the Bulldogs.

“Contracted player and I probably would have done the same thing as well to be honest because he’s a quality person.”

Dodoro admits there are no ill feelings with the Dogs and Dunkley after the failed dealings.

“We worked really hard to try and get it done for him but unfortunately it didn’t happen,” he added.

“He’s going to have a terrific career at the Western Bulldogs and I’m sure that we can all move past this, but it is disappointing.”

13-11-2020, 11:17 AM
Bont can spend more time forward if Treloar can pick up his slack in the middle. We had some horrible periods in games this season when Bont was forward and the midfield couldn't get their hands on it. Bont stays a predominant midfielder though, he's top 5 in the league as a mid and good, not great as a forward.

I fail to see even the slightest comparison between Bont and Carey. :confused:

We did - and perhaps Bont in the middle could’ve made a difference in those instances...but I blame our lack of halving the ruck contest for most of it.

If Martin can find a second wind and stay on the park...

13-11-2020, 11:19 AM
DODORO LIFTS THE LID ON “COMPELLING” THREE-WAY DUNKLEY OFFER (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/11/12/dodoro-lifts-the-lid-on-compelling-three-way-dunkley-offer/)

Essendon list manager Adrian Dodoro has explained the specifics of the offer that was put forward to the Western Bulldogs for Josh Dunkley.

The Bombers pushed to land the midfielder, but the Bulldogs held firm on a player who remains contracted for a further two seasons.

Dodoro gave insight into what the Dons offered and how a third club, Collingwood, also attempted to become involved in the potential trade.

“In the end we had a direct offer with them (the Bulldogs) that had our pick 7 on the table and a future second-round selection,” he said on SEN Breakfast.

“It was a very, very strong offer but at the end of the day they didn’t want to do that.

“Also another deal that Ned Guy from Collingwood worked extremely hard to put together in a three-way deal that we thought was fairly compelling as well.

“They would have landed a future first, two seconds and a third-round as well to get (Adam) Treloar for Josh. They were resolute and good on them.

“Contracted player and I probably would have done the same thing as well to be honest because he’s a quality person.”

Dodoro admits there are no ill feelings with the Dogs and Dunkley after the failed dealings.

“We worked really hard to try and get it done for him but unfortunately it didn’t happen,” he added.

“He’s going to have a terrific career at the Western Bulldogs and I’m sure that we can all move past this, but it is disappointing.”

So that deal, in the end, was basically a future first for Dunkley.

Again, well done Sam for not folding. To be honest, the two mentioned deals in this article I could imagine us taking in years prior. Sam has changed the frequency.

13-11-2020, 11:21 AM
I love that he said screw you and then went it alone dealing with the Pies. He really is the iceman.

13-11-2020, 11:25 AM
So that deal, in the end, was basically a future first for Dunkley.

Again, well done Sam for not folding. To be honest, the two mentioned deals in this article I could imagine us taking in years prior. Sam has changed the frequency.

Yep, we would only take significant overs and 1 first round pick wasn't it.

Though it would have been fun death riding Essendon next season!

13-11-2020, 11:25 AM

Seems pretty honest there.

13-11-2020, 11:44 AM
If he knew he wouldn't do it, why didn't he move the deal to the point he would? That's insane. Have Dunkley nominate them, and then make a final offer to us that he wouldn't accept himself. The perfect example of his career.

13-11-2020, 11:50 AM
If he knew he wouldn't do it, why didn't he move the deal to the point he would? That's insane. Have Dunkley nominate them, and then make a final offer to us that he wouldn't accept himself. The perfect example of his career.

Precisely.

His obsession with winning the trade cost the trade.

It is hardly a compelling offer if it is something he wouldn't have accepted from the other side.

13-11-2020, 11:52 AM

So essentially, he really did think he could pick on us. He thought he was the big kid and we were the weak kid that would cave. Sam has now changed that narrative.

13-11-2020, 11:54 AM
It’s just pathetic. But all we have to do is put up a "Closed for business" sign and head straight on over to the draft. I don’t care if Essendon offer all 3 of their 1st round picks (well I do but), [B]don’t even pick up the phone[/B.

"What's the story with that empty office with the phone that just keeps ringing in it?"

"That's the number we gave Dodoro to reach Sam Power on. For God's sake don't answer it"

No problem at all soothing his ego (a bit.) Now that he's still a bulldog, he's 100% a bulldog and we try to make him happy.

It's a really good solution to a great problem we suddenly have. Where to fit all the quality players we've got? Marcus roaming around the forward line being Marcus and doing what Marcus does best makes us a better team. A few centre bounces each week and then wreaking havoc in the forward line sounds like great fun.

13-11-2020, 11:57 AM
I don't think Dodoro has done too much wrong here. He's actually put a very compelling offer forward that many would say was a slight over offer for Dunkley but it didn't meet our valuation. I'd say the potential impacts to the likes of Naughton and Smith down the track played a huge part of how we valued the contracted Dunkley and why we held firm on what would be required to pry him from us.

At the end of the day I think everyone understands why we took the stance that we did and we shake hands and get on with things next time

13-11-2020, 11:59 AM

Crazy stuff. The perfect example of drinking his own bathwater while being egged on by the media. Not just drinking it but he's been injecting it. Mainlining it too by the sound of things.

13-11-2020, 12:00 PM

It really is pathetic isn't it. Apparently Dodo knows the Dunkleys quite well too so it is just extraordinary all round.

He is acknowledging that he lowballed us and we didnt fold.

Essendon are in for a World of hurt the next few years

13-11-2020, 12:04 PM
I really dont understand the narrative about the offer of a first and second being overs for Dunkley.

Dunkley's 2019 was better than any year Dylan Shiel had AND he still had 2 years left on his contract.

13-11-2020, 12:45 PM
I don't think Dodoro has done too much wrong here. He's actually put a very compelling offer forward that many would say was a slight over offer for Dunkley but it didn't meet our valuation. I'd say the potential impacts to the likes of Naughton and Smith down the track played a huge part of how we valued the contracted Dunkley and why we held firm on what would be required to pry him from us.

At the end of the day I think everyone understands why we took the stance that we did and we shake hands and get on with things next time

In the vacuum of the trade negotiations I actually agree. Two top 10s for Dunks would have been drastic overs and he's probably shown a rare bit of self-awareness not trading next year's pick. We can't really talk about how happy we are we didn't fold and be critical of Dodo for not folding either at the same time (objectivity rule notwithstanding).

However, from a macro view he promised a player and their fans the world and failed to deliver. Would have to think others will think twice about dealing with him.

13-11-2020, 12:51 PM
As soon as he brought out My dick is bigger than yours, I blocked him :D

How does he know? :p

13-11-2020, 12:57 PM
In the vacuum of the trade negotiations I actually agree. Two top 10s for Dunks would have been drastic overs and he's probably shown a rare bit of self-awareness not trading next year's pick. We can't really talk about how happy we are we didn't fold and be critical of Dodo for not folding either at the same time (objectivity rule notwithstanding).

However, from a macro view he promised a player and their fans the world and failed to deliver. Would have to think others will think twice about dealing with him.

Yes Dunkley's worth as a player certainly isn't 2 first rounders. But given the circumstances of being under contract for 2 more years and as a leader of our club, yes that is his worth and that is the only value relevant here.

I'm not being critical at Dodo for not folding. I am however critical of him:
- thinking he can simply throw some money at one of our contracted leaders,
- offer a list spot to that players brother as part of the deal (we think so at this point anyway)
- think we would fold for unders and at the same time drag the player they threw money at through a messy negotiation for a deal he never had the intention of doing anyway.

13-11-2020, 12:59 PM

Although going to the Nat Draft, and particularly without much exposed form to go by in 2020, can be hit and more miss at say picks 7 & 8, which probably would've satisfied the trade for Dunkley.

Whilst 2018 would've netted Bailey Smith and Tarryn Thomas (which Thomas would've then pushed out to Chayce Jones) there's many more that look more like Paul Ahern and Peter Wright.

Essendon have gambled that they will back their talent spotters over a known and very attractive commodity in Dunks.

Personally I think Essendon have erred but only time will tell with what they can pick up with their picks.

When adding their audaciousness of trying to pry him from us with 2 years to run, and to then hang Dunks out there by not backing him in with what was the difference b/w a mid first to a second rounder is why Essendon and Dodoro have the reputation they have.

13-11-2020, 01:05 PM
Personally I think Essendon have erred but only time will tell with what they can pick up with the picks.

I actually think it is better for Essendon to get these high draft picks in and grow them. If the pick wisely, it will form the nucleus of a strong base in 3 or 4 years time. Rutten is capable and has the right attitude.

Of course, they are Essendon, have no patience, cannot develop, and have inpatient rabid board and fans. They'll stuff this up for sure.

13-11-2020, 01:05 PM
Although going to the Nat Draft, and particularly without much exposed form to go by in 2020, can be hit and more miss at say picks 7 & 8, which probably would've satisfied the trade for Dunkley.

Whilst 2018 would've netted Bailey Smith and Tarryn Thomas (which Thomas would've then pushed out to Chayce Jones) there's many more that look more like Paul Ahern and Peter Wright.

Essendon have gambled that they will back their talent spotters over a known and very attractive commodity in Dunks.

Personally I think Essendon have erred but only time will tell with what they can pick up with the picks.

Their talent spotters haven't done to well in the past. And this year they've had nothing to watch in Victoria. This draft crop is going to be very interesting to track in a few years' time. Of course, by the same token they could fluke 3 of the top 5 simply because noone really knows how to place this years crop.

13-11-2020, 01:11 PM
I actually think it is better for Essendon to get these high draft picks in and grow them. If the pick wisely, it will form the nucleus of a strong base in 3 or 4 years time. Rutten is capable and has the right attitude.

Of course, they are Essendon, have no patience, cannot develop, and have inpatient rabid board and fans. They'll stuff this up for sure.

Not a good year to go to the draft with the Vic boys not playing under 18 footy.

There is a big difference in footy talent when you jump from 16, 17 to 18, 19 years old. Kids grow quickly, the body changes, the attitude changes, etc.

13-11-2020, 01:12 PM

I feel cheap saying this but if I was an Essendon supporter (shudders) I'd say the offer was more than fair and I wouldn't blame Dodoro for not being able to deliver Dunkley. I'd be thinking the Dogs have clearly over valued a very good but not a great player

13-11-2020, 01:12 PM
Their talent spotters haven't done to well in the past. And this year they've had nothing to watch in Victoria. This draft crop is going to be very interesting to track in a few years' time. Of course, by the same token they could fluke 3 of the top 5 simply because noone really knows how to place this years crop.

Yes, and being Essendon, we can only hope that their net result does look like Caleb Marchbank (6), Paul Ahern (7) and Peter Wright (8).

13-11-2020, 01:13 PM
I think what he should have done is work harder to secure an additional first round pick in the mid teens and offer that up in addition to pick eight as a final bid. Who knows, it may have just been enough to land his player.

As BT and others have put it, putting a bid on the table that he knew very well wasn't going to get the job done given the actual top ten picks he had to work with has pretty much insulted the Dunkley's and made him look like he was taking the piss.

13-11-2020, 01:21 PM

Bont would be the perfect player to spend significant time at HF as the player that rolls up to the contest at times then plays a short kick away at others, He has the contested game to make it work and I thought his marking in 2020 was better than it ever has been.

13-11-2020, 02:08 PM

Really can’t fault dodoro on this. Two negotiators went at it with their clubs best interests as a priority and neither folded.

13-11-2020, 02:09 PM
I think what he should have done is work harder to secure an additional first round pick in the mid teens and offer that up in addition to pick eight as a final bid. Who knows, it may have just been enough to land his player.

As BT and others have put it, putting a bid on the table that he knew very well wasn't going to get the job done given the actual top ten picks he had to work with has pretty much insulted the Dunkley's and made him look like he was taking the piss.

I think he should have asked the AFL to trade next years first - likely pick 1-4 and slammed that on the table. I can’t believe 8 was even part of the conversation considering the points would be gobbled on JUH

13-11-2020, 02:35 PM
I think he should have asked the AFL to trade next years first - likely pick 1-4 and slammed that on the table. I can’t believe 8 was even part of the conversation considering the points would be gobbled on JUH

Pretty sure he didn't need to. As long as they took 2 first round picks to the draft this year they could do what they wanted with next years pick.

13-11-2020, 02:51 PM
I feel cheap saying this but if I was an Essendon supporter (shudders) I'd say the offer was more than fair and I wouldn't blame Dodoro for not being able to deliver Dunkley. I'd be thinking the Dogs have clearly over valued a very good but not a great player

I disagree, for reasons others have stated. Most importantly that dunks is a 23 year old leader of our club with two years to run on his contract, and we did not want him to leave.

The offer would have been fair if he was out of contract, but he wasn't. It was arrogance to assume that they could offer the contract and then not meet the asking price.

Quote from Jason McCartney about Essendon, in view of their Caldwell negotiations:
"That's Essendon: target a player, high quality, get them in the door then not be prepared to stump up the price to facilitate the deal"

13-11-2020, 03:04 PM
I disagree, for reasons others have stated. Most importantly that dunks is a 23 year old leader of our club with two years to run on his contract, and we did not want him to leave.

The offer would have been fair if he was out of contract, but he wasn't. It was arrogance to assume that they could offer the contract and then not meet the asking price.

Quote from Jason McCartney about Essendon, in view of their Caldwell negotiations:
"That's Essendon: target a player, high quality, get them in the door then not be prepared to stump up the price to facilitate the deal"

It's clear now he thought he could pressure the deal and mould it with enough complicit noise from his mates, knowing full well it was a deal he wouldn't do himself.
They had to pay overs, he knew this and still he tried to coerce a deal and fleece the dogs.
The Dunkley's would be feeling a little jaded with the system at the moment I expect.

13-11-2020, 03:36 PM

Remember my comments were from an Essendon supporters perspective. I never wanted us to fold on Dunkley

13-11-2020, 03:45 PM
Really can’t fault dodoro on this. Two negotiators went at it with their clubs best interests as a priority and neither folded.
I can - Essendon offered two first round picks for Shiel with a second rounder going back.
That wasn't on the table for Dunkley at any stage.

13-11-2020, 03:59 PM
Yeah i think the Shiel trade particularly set a precedent, and while the consensus is that Essendon overpaid on that deal that is what we said would be required to get him off our hands.

It's easy to sound reasonable after the fact especially when you explain it from your pov but clearly Essendon wasn't coming to the table with a sufficient deal for a 23 year old very contracted big bodied midfielder which is the exact player they've needed to target for years.

13-11-2020, 04:10 PM
Yes, and being Essendon, we can only hope that their net result does look like Caleb Marchbank (6), Paul Ahern (7) and Peter Wright (8).

Well they have proven the best way to get pick 8, is let another club draft him and then trade him in when the original club no longer rates him.

Saves all the trouble of needing good scouts and dealing with developing players.

13-11-2020, 04:34 PM
Yeah i think the Shiel trade particularly set a precedent, and while the consensus is that Essendon overpaid on that deal that is what we said would be required to get him off our hands.

It's easy to sound reasonable after the fact especially when you explain it from your pov but clearly Essendon wasn't coming to the table with a sufficient deal for a 23 year old very contracted big bodied midfielder which is the exact player they've needed to target for years.
Treloar went to Collingwood for two first rounders - both pick 7s

Only one first rounder for Dunkley as a contracted player was ridiculous, even with a second rounder added to the deal.

13-11-2020, 04:46 PM
I'm not letting Dodo off the hook.
Yep he's trying to do the best for his club, that's a given, but he had to know that market value wasn't going to be enough to prise him out. And in knowing that, if he wasn't prepared to provide an offer significantly above market value, he should not have approached a player with 2 years left on his contract with promises of riches and playing with his brother.

He had to know the greater significance, from out point of view, of what what was at stake given the young talent we've got on our list. If he didn't, then that reflects poorly on his professionalism and ability to read the play.
I really think this was as big a statement we've made as a club in our modern history about who we are and our confidence as a professional sporting organisation. This ranks up there with our response to Griffen's departure for mine.

Had we buckled, we would've been on the back foot for the next 3-4 years trying to retain our talent, and possibly having to pay overs to keep players and ending up in a salary cap mess ourselves.

I think we've clearly let 17 other clubs know we are very clear on our priorities and strategic direction.

13-11-2020, 04:47 PM
Given the first round pick offered was likely to be absorbed into a JUH bid, and we could get the points for JUH elsewhere the Dons was effectively a future second rounder

It was a ridiculous offer after all that - but our logic was good - the Dons pick next year has the potential to be 1-5.

13-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Was listening to Pickering being interviewed SEN a little earlier.

Mentioned how he caught up with Dunkley for lunch. Reckons Dunks is pretty flat after the trade fell through. Actually he mentioned that a couple of times. Pickering thought that Essendon’s offer was fair but mentioned that it was the Dogs prerogative to hold firm.

13-11-2020, 06:10 PM

Mentioned how he caught up with Dunkley for lunch. Reckons Dunks is pretty flat after the trade fell through. Actually he mentioned that a couple of times. Pickering thought that Essendon’s offer was fair but mentioned that it was the Dogs prerogative to hold firm.

Looking forward to hearing what Dunks has to say. No doubt there will be disappointment the trade did not go ahead but think he is professional enough to put this behind him and make the most of his opportunities.

13-11-2020, 06:13 PM
Looking forward to hearing what Dunks has to say. No doubt there will be disappointment the trade did not go ahead but think he is professional enough to put this behind him and make the most of his opportunities.

Pickering did indicate as much.

13-11-2020, 06:16 PM

Would be nice to hear from Dunkley soon with a firm recommitment to the club that gave him his early opportunities & a flag in his first season, and the mates he was prepared to leave.

Not really interested in hearing he’s “flat.”

Though the moment Dunkley runs out with us again he’ll of course have my wholehearted support, I can’t quite forget at the moment that he was prepared to ditch our club while contracted so any ‘woe is me’ narrative from his agent is hitting the wrong tone altogether.

13-11-2020, 06:19 PM
Though the moment Dunkley runs out with us again he’ll of course have my wholehearted support, I can’t quite forget at the moment that he was prepared to ditch our club while contracted so any ‘woe is me’ narrative from his agent is hitting the wrong tone altogether.

Yes Dunkley is hardly the victim here (not saying he is trying to be).

dukedog
13-11-2020, 06:29 PM
There are guys that have wanted to move. Then have stayed and are happy. Papley the most recent that comes to mind. Treloar's words and honesty about collingwood were loyal. I believe he loved the club. I reckon he will be bulldog for life now.

13-11-2020, 06:31 PM
Ryan O'Keefe was jilted during trade week and 12 months later he was a premiership player and Norm Smith medallist

dukedog
13-11-2020, 06:31 PM
My apologies to the club for saying earlier in the post that we would get raped by dunkley deal. Alot of respect to the club and ill fall on my sword there.

13-11-2020, 06:55 PM
Little Pissy Pants Tom Brown says Dunkley is absolutely Shattered he wasn’t traded.

13-11-2020, 07:13 PM
Little Pissy Pants Tom Brown says Dunkley is absolutely Shattered he wasn’t traded.

Yeah I saw that on C7 news along with the graphic of the deal up on screen.

What part of "two first round picks" is he failing to get through his massive, thick, punchable head? This is not our mess and the narrative that we are somehow the bad guys because we stood up to Essendon is not going to fly.

13-11-2020, 07:17 PM

How did he manage to say that with our collective balls in his mouth?

13-11-2020, 07:18 PM

What part of "two first round picks" is he failing to get through his massive, thick, punchable head? This is not our mess and the narrative that we are somehow the bad guys because we stood up to Essendon is not going to fly.

Yep, I’m waiting for him to to post it on Twitter and will then hammer him until he blocks me!

13-11-2020, 07:23 PM
Yep, I’m waiting for him to to post it on Twitter and will then hammer him until he blocks me!

Sounds like a plan.

13-11-2020, 07:45 PM
How did he manage to say that with our collective balls in his mouth?

*Audible gasp*

13-11-2020, 07:47 PM
Ryan O'Keefe was jilted during trade week and 12 months later he was a premiership player and Norm Smith medallist

Beat me to the punch. Pelchan did the exact same thing to ROK that Dodoro did to Dunkley. ROK made Pelchan regret his lies about doing what it took to get him there in every training session and every game in every season afterwards. Nothing stopping Dunkley from doing the same. Pelchan looked as dumb as Dodoro actually looks.

13-11-2020, 08:07 PM

Playing Essington's dutiful errand boy to the bitter, fruitless end. You'd hope Dodo sent Tommy a bouquet for his efforts.

Yes Dunkley is hardly the victim here (not saying he is trying to be).

The true victims are the tormented Essington faithful. Long may Dodo reign.

13-11-2020, 08:09 PM
May not mean anything to anyone else but if Dodo really wanted Josh then why did he not offer up their first pick? Pick 6 was in their pocket & it wouldn't have made a difference but to me the audacity to think 'we'll get Dunkley & we won't even have to use our best pick' just shows the arrogance of this filth.

I love the fact Essendon has been our bitch for a few years now & hoping we will bend them over next year also. Would be a nice cherry on top if Dunks was BOG.

13-11-2020, 08:13 PM

That’s quite hilarious . So a bloke who signed a three year agreement just last year is shattered he isn’t being traded ?
Yet Treloar is shattered he was !
I’m sure Dunkley was told by the club what would get him traded and he fully understood the whole deal.
Hardly be shattered.

13-11-2020, 08:45 PM

I personally don't care what Dunks has to say. He was contracted. He wasn't complaining when we offered him a deal 12 months ago. We have no obligation to Dunks to trade him if he is contracted nor do we have any obligation to Dunks to offer him more midfield time, or more money. He is part of a team. A team that was there before he arrived and one that will be there long after he has gone. In the end he put his eggs into the Essendon basket, a team notorious for being difficult to trade with one with a dubious culture. Doesn't scream team player.

13-11-2020, 08:52 PM
“Shattered”? I’m really disappointed if Josh Dunkley is letting this perception of his reaction keep running.

In a pandemic - which like all the AFL players he was largely insulated from - he was lucky enough to get an offer to dramatically increase his salary, which is already what the rest of us only dream of, let alone the average 23 yr old. It didn’t come off...I guess because, you know, CONTRACT. Players really lack perspective on life’s realities.

13-11-2020, 08:54 PM

I wonder how flat Pickering was as well realising the big bucks he himself would be missing out on without any consideration of breaking a player contract

13-11-2020, 08:54 PM
The club does need to put its arms around Josh now.

Of course he'd be flat now. He's told his 'band of brothers' he's out...and wasn't allowed to leave.
There's a whole lot of mental anguish he's dealing with and stress, not least of which would be 'how awkward is it going to be fronting up to these blokes when I head back to work.'

We need to manage this well. How well all parties respond will determine if Josh requests a move again in 1 yr or maybe re-ups for a long term deal.

13-11-2020, 09:49 PM
I love the fact Essendon has been our bitch for a few years now & hoping we will bend them over next year also. Would be a nice cherry on top if Dunks was BOG.

According to a few Essington supporters they've let us win the last couple of games for some devious reason. It's all part of some grand plan and soon we will all be thinking "oh my god, we didn't see that one coming, theyve sucked us in good and proper"

The level of delusional thinking is strong with that lot.

13-11-2020, 09:59 PM
I wonder how flat Pickering was as well realising the big bucks he himself would be missing out on without any consideration of breaking a player contract

If I were Dunks I'd be asking Pickering some difficult questions like "exactly what value are you providing me? Advice? Nah mate, coming out and asking for a transfer was dud advice. Negotiation? Nah mate, exactly what did you negotiate with Dodoro? Career advancement? Nah mate, I'm further behind the 8-ball now than I was 6 weeks ago. Money? Nah mate, YOU saw the dollar signs and saw me as an early payday. I'm thinking that maybe you need to take your management company and pop it up where the sun doesn't shine. I'm signing with a new management company and if you send me a bill I'll come around with dad and Kyle and pay it in person"

13-11-2020, 10:03 PM

You mean the bloke that kept reporting how he was getting strong indications that it would happen.

Tom Browne
@TomBrowne7
Re Essendon / Dunkley. I’m getting renewed indications it will happen for a first round pick. I’m not willing to second guess the dogs, they seem steadfast it’s not on. But ive been told again Dunkley wants to go, and has told the dogs, including the coach

This tweet aged well :D

13-11-2020, 10:29 PM
If I were Dunks I'd be asking Pickering some difficult questions like "exactly what value are you providing me? Advice? Nah mate, coming out and asking for a transfer was dud advice. Negotiation? Nah mate, exactly what did you negotiate with Dodoro? Career advancement? Nah mate, I'm further behind the 8-ball now than I was 6 weeks ago. Money? Nah mate, YOU saw the dollar signs and saw me as an early payday. I'm thinking that maybe you need to take your management company and pop it up where the sun doesn't shine. I'm signing with a new management company and if you send me a bill I'll come around with dad and Kyle and pay it in person"

By which he would mean forcing Pickering to sit down and making him read the Dunkley kids blog.

13-11-2020, 10:38 PM
By which he would mean forcing Pickering to sit down and making him read the Dunkley kids blog.

That blog is very cool, hope they keep updating it.

13-11-2020, 11:23 PM
After some time away from footy media, I’ve decided to become ambivalent on Barrett. He’s at least occasionally right and has some sources, just not at our club. On the other hand, I’m actually somewhat surprised Browne has a job. I mean he’s just terrible at guessing things. His guesses just aren’t getting better. He clearly doesn’t have actual sources. They’d have to anonymous Twitter handles run by 12 year olds that guess better than him. I have really enjoyed blocking his existence from my mind. It’s surprisingly easy to do. Is it too much to ask that a billion dollar industry have professionals around it. Don’t worry, it’s rhetorical.

13-11-2020, 11:40 PM

Spot on NBP. These managers should be advising players properly and not trying to constantly get them big contracts to fill their own pockets. Dunkley on a two year contract , happy as Larry in the Hub, and Pickering meantime planning with Dodo to make a huge offer and getting in Dunkley's ear.

14-11-2020, 01:49 AM
I personally don't care what Dunks has to say. He was contracted. He wasn't complaining when we offered him a deal 12 months ago. We have no obligation to Dunks to trade him if he is contracted nor do we have any obligation to Dunks to offer him more midfield time, or more money. He is part of a team. A team that was there before he arrived and one that will be there long after he has gone. In the end he put his eggs into the Essendon basket, a team notorious for being difficult to trade with one with a dubious culture. Doesn't scream team player.

Agree wholeheartedly with what you are saying but I find the individual psyche fascinating and am keen to hear his thought processes and rationale behind his decision making. What, if any, are the issues with his current employer? Are the issues from an individual perspective or are there others with a similar view (highly unlikely)? Is money the main motivating factor behind your decision? How well are you being informed by your management team and those around you? These are more than likely questions that will remain unanswered but for mine it tells the story. Look in the scheme of things all I really care about is that when he dons our guernsey he gives it his all. I wonder if he has lost his passion for the RWB? I am probably analysing this way too deeply but find it fascinating to know.

14-11-2020, 07:50 AM
Agree wholeheartedly with what you are saying but I find the individual psyche fascinating and am keen to hear his thought processes and rationale behind his decision making. What, if any, are the issues with his current employer? Are the issues from an individual perspective or are there others with a similar view (highly unlikely)? Is money the main motivating factor behind your decision? How well are you being informed by your management team and those around you? These are more than likely questions that will remain unanswered but for mine it tells the story. Look in the scheme of things all I really care about is that when he dons our guernsey he gives it his all. I wonder if he has lost his passion for the RWB? I am probably analysing this way too deeply but find it fascinating to know.

Why does he have to have issues? Another club offered him $200k Per year extra. That’s a huge amount. More midfield time is a bonus and would likely mean more opportunity to maintain a high wage in the future also.

I think it makes perfect sense he wanted to leave. I reckon it’s a shame it was Essendon who offered the deal cause they’re a grub of a club, but it doesn’t mean he has issues at the dogs.

I’ve been with my employer for 9 years and would move in a heartbeat if a competitor offered me 50% more coin.

14-11-2020, 08:33 AM
Dodo stuffed up, there is simply no other way to look at it.

They rated him highly enough to offer 700k a season along with describing him as Captain material yet didn't think that was worth 2 first rounders.

All in a year where drafting will be a bit of a guessing game for Vic.

Also agree with an earlier poster about the audacity to offer the worst of your 3 1st round picks. Give me a break

14-11-2020, 09:13 AM
Why does he have to have issues? Another club offered him $200k Per year extra. That’s a huge amount. More midfield time is a bonus and would likely mean more opportunity to maintain a high wage in the future also.

I think it makes perfect sense he wanted to leave. I reckon it’s a shame it was Essendon who offered the deal cause they’re a grub of a club, but it doesn’t mean he has issues at the dogs.

I’ve been with my employer for 9 years and would move in a heartbeat if a competitor offered me 50% more coin.

Who is saying he has issues with club? I am simply saying it would be good to hear from Dunks to see what the factors were, if any, apart from money. Of course money talks. Simple but sometimes there can be underlying factors as well.

14-11-2020, 09:49 AM
Who is saying he has issues with club? I am simply saying it would be good to hear from Dunks to see what the factors were, if any, apart from money. Of course money talks. Simple but sometimes there can be underlying factors as well.

In the words of Mc Cartney if your happy at a club and it has good culture you won’t want to leave . I get the money part but yes would be interesting if any other issues but I do believe he says there wasn’t cultural issues.
I think we also need to understand not everyone one will get on with everyone it’s a huge group of people from different back grounds.
Hawks midfield in the 80s didn’t even talk to each other according to some players and they dominated that era.
In saying that I’m flabbergasted that would be the issue considering what the bombers were offering , they have massive issues with player and culture.
Ours would be extremely minor to theirs.

14-11-2020, 12:24 PM

I'd rather take the John Sharp in the Yarraville nets option.

14-11-2020, 01:48 PM
How many inside mids would a team want?

14-11-2020, 02:19 PM

Was it not the Duchess of York who said, "You cannot be too rich, or too thin, or have too many midfielders" ?

14-11-2020, 02:21 PM
Was it not the Duchess of York who said, "You cannot be too rich, or too thin, or have too many midfielders" ?

The bombers promised Caldwell inside mid position. Was wondering if that would conflict with offering the same to Dunkley.

14-11-2020, 03:05 PM
The bombers promised Caldwell inside mid position. Was wondering if that would conflict with offering the same to Dunkley.

I don't think so, given they've not really got any......

14-11-2020, 03:15 PM

Funny to go back and read the OP

I hate it as a concept because he's a premiership hero but we need to change up our mix in the midfield, as having three see ball get ball midfielders who are all of similar pace and size is leading to us being exposed. Aside from Smith there's a distinct lack of zip in the midfield mix and that needs to change.

To me Jacko and Bont are untouchable, so that unfortunately leaves us with one major card to play to change things up and that's putting Dunkley on the market and seeing whether we can bring in a quick established midfielder (not a world beater, but with defencive cred) and a reasonably high draft pick (early to mid second) to secure another.

The reason that this is necessary to me is that we don't have anyone good enough to replace him in the side and nobody coming through who can materially change the way our midfield operates due to its sameness in personnel.

What does everyone think? What is he worth to us?

14-11-2020, 03:20 PM
Popular OP. Not going to go back and see how many likes it got.........

14-11-2020, 03:23 PM

For such an unpopular topic, it will reach over 2,000 posts. Imagine how much more traction it will get if their is a second trade period.

14-11-2020, 03:58 PM

Love it Td.

14-11-2020, 04:25 PM

First rule of fight club is that we don’t check post histories.

14-11-2020, 05:06 PM
Paul Amy
@PaulAmy375·
Nov 13
Doggies supporter
@gavthommo
points out a strong Bulldog connection to the Queensland Firebirds, with Kim Ravaillion (Adam Treloar's wife) joining Lara Dunkley (Josh Dunkley's sister) at the club. Next time 'Thommo' runs into Sam Power in Ashburton he'll hoist a high five

14-11-2020, 06:00 PM
Paul Amy
@PaulAmy375·
Nov 13
Doggies supporter
@gavthommo
points out a strong Bulldog connection to the Queensland Firebirds, with Kim Ravaillion (Adam Treloar's wife) joining Lara Dunkley (Josh Dunkley's sister) at the club. Next time 'Thommo' runs into Sam Power in Ashburton he'll hoist a high five

Maybe josh was never leaving, just a ruse to get Treloar in ?:p
Distract Essendon so they cannot counter bid. They have paid big dollars for cadwell, at 500k per season for 2 years in the system

14-11-2020, 06:41 PM
Love it Td.

My first ever footy coach told me "son. Your best asset out on the field is that supremely punchable *!*!*!*!ing head of yours"

I was 8!

14-11-2020, 08:24 PM
Paul Amy
@PaulAmy375·
Nov 13
Doggies supporter
@gavthommo

I think Tim English's girlfriend also plays for them

14-11-2020, 08:24 PM
My first ever footy coach told me "son. Your best asset out on the field is that supremely punchable *!*!*!*!ing head of yours"

I was 8!

and nothing has changed :D:D:D

14-11-2020, 08:56 PM
and nothing has changed :D:D:D

I was wondering who was going to pull that trigger first.