View Full Version : WB Game Day V Fremantle R18 2020

Pages : 1 [2]

20-09-2020, 07:32 PM
Bruce just became our main man...I have faith.

20-09-2020, 07:33 PM
How’s the smothers?

20-09-2020, 07:33 PM
Could Zaine Cordy have any worse game for us?

20-09-2020, 07:34 PM
How was that not a free kick to Crozier then.

Completely disgraceful.

Cordy simply has to go to CHF.

Couldn't afford to lose players against Geelong. We do.

Couldn't afford to lose one tonight. We do.

Not the start we wanted.

20-09-2020, 07:35 PM
Looked like a cheekbone or something up high on the right hand side of Naughton’s face.

Cordy simply has to go to CHF.

He's simply no good.

But with Naughton out, it's worth a crack.

Keath forward crikey !

20-09-2020, 07:36 PM
Could Zaine Cordy have any worse game for us?

I don't know how he's so highly rated around here.

20-09-2020, 07:37 PM
Keath forward crikey !

Big challenge for him

This could write a real head line for us

20-09-2020, 07:38 PM
Great tap Keath on the ground.

Not good enough Lachlan!

Learn to kick at goal hunter

Lachie please

Bloody hell Hunter

20-09-2020, 07:39 PM
Great goal Bailey!

Hunter is an awful awful kick for goal. Awful.

Great contest and handball by Bruce, excellent by Libba again

Trying to follow this on a bad radio call. What happened to Naughton? Serious? Will miss games?

That's how you do it. Nice one Bailey

I don't know how he's so highly rated around here.

I don't think he actually is.

Great finish from Smith...…...need him to get more involved.

Well done Bailey Smith, lets get the next one dogs

Bailey Smith has great goal sense. Tidy finish.

Bailey Smith. He may never miss a game.

Hunter should just handball off any set shot opportunity. He's no better than 25% on any attempt.

Trying to follow this on a bad radio call. What happened to Naughton? Serious? Will miss games?

Head clash, gone to hospital for checks. At a guess cheek bones

20-09-2020, 07:40 PM
Keath is competing really well up forward.

We don't know, he's finished for this game and there is a bye next week if we win

Gone to hospital. Head knock.

20-09-2020, 07:41 PM

Darcy their big oaf as a ruck went to bump Naughton and ended up collecting Naughton's upper cheek with his forehead.

20-09-2020, 07:42 PM
Hopefully Naughts will be ok.

20-09-2020, 07:43 PM
Thanks for all the replies with Naughton.

So Keath up forward, and Wood and Gardener to look after after three tall Freo forwards?

20-09-2020, 07:44 PM

So Keath up forward, and Wood and Gardener to look after after three tall Freo forwards?

+ Cordy.

20-09-2020, 07:44 PM

2 talls, Tabener was a late out of them. Cordy, Gardner and Wood can get the job done

20-09-2020, 07:47 PM
Who's loving this contest? if we get the next one we might crack this game wide open

20-09-2020, 07:48 PM
The patented Macrae smother kick!

20-09-2020, 07:49 PM
More than 10 minutes have gone without a score

20-09-2020, 07:50 PM
Can’t hunter mark, unless he’s trying to take chest marks.?

20-09-2020, 07:50 PM
Lachie Hunter is determined to send me to an early grave.

20-09-2020, 07:51 PM
Forward connection an ongoing issue.

Bruce getting his hands to plenty but not marking too many.

20-09-2020, 07:51 PM
Stalemate at the moment. If we can get another goal now that would be great.

20-09-2020, 07:52 PM
Suspected fractured cheekbone for Naughton..?

20-09-2020, 07:52 PM
What do you have to do for a holding the ball?

20-09-2020, 07:53 PM
Piss off Crozier.

20-09-2020, 07:54 PM
Libba great tackle!

Suspected fractured cheekbone for Naughton..?

Time for Schache to stand up?

Libba, you star.

20-09-2020, 07:56 PM
Mitch it’s your moment

20-09-2020, 07:57 PM
Huuuuuuge kick

Libba, you star.

I don’t think I’ve seen him play better. Absolute standout.

Shit Wall, that's two sitters.

Could have iced it, Mitch.

20-09-2020, 07:58 PM
Hope a few of those misses don’t bite us on the bum.. that one in particular was massive.

Geez it would be nice to have a Gunston or Breust out there with these easy misses.

Will we pay the price got losing a forward and having a team fully of backmen.

Thoughts guys?

Still too close for comfort, especially given we are a man down

20-09-2020, 07:59 PM
I’m quietly confident. We get the first one of the last and we are nearly there.

1 goal 4 to 1 goal 1 for the quarter so we have a 15 point lead

We need to get the first goal of the last quarter

We literally can't help ourselves can we. Have to do everything the hard way, with Lachie Hunter leading the way with his continual pissing of chances up the wall for no apparent reason.

Anyway, need all of our midfielders to stand up and be super disciplined, Fyfe is up and about and has it in him to rip our hearts out.

Libba Libba Libba Libba - what an amazing game from him. So damn gutsy and clever.

Wasted some forward opportunities. Come on Dogs. Let's go!

Libba BOG.....our most important midfielder hands down. He’s been incredible.

Just checked the stats and nice to see Ed Richards his consistent self. 5 touches to 3 quarter time.

20-09-2020, 08:00 PM
First goal is massive. We get it and I reckon Freo log off, they kick it and we're in trouble

We should get the job done from here. Just need the first goal then play the clock down.

Keath to FF is a terrible horrible idea and we need to fix it immediately.

Got a bad feeling about this one. We’ve wasted far too many chances. They’ve got the breeze this quarter so we’ll need to want it and stop pissing chances away.

20-09-2020, 08:01 PM

He was back late in that quarter but think that was just to stop a late one.

We literally can't help ourselves can we. Have to do everything the hard way, with Lachie Hunter leading the way with his continual pissing of chances up the wall for no apparent reason.

Anyway, need all of our midfielders to stand up and be super disciplined, Fyfe is up and about and has it in him to rip our hearts out.

And as usual when we play him, Bevo just lets him do as he pleases.

First goal is massive. We get it and I reckon Freo log off, they kick it and we're in trouble

With Naughton out we don't look like kicking a goal without it being some sort of scrapped, grinding, slog of a kick.

20-09-2020, 08:02 PM
10 tackles inside 50 to our 1. We’ve had it in there 11 more times. Seriously our forward pressure once the ball hits the deck is pathetic.

The ball is in our court. No excuses from here. Full on pressure will get us there. Go Dogs!

Agree it’s huge.

I am very nervous. We should hang on but if Fyfe dominates we are in trouble

It's like we've given him a whizzy dizzy and then said go play full forward! He has no idea where he is, completely discombobulated.

For structure, naughts is the last person we want to lose.

Got a bad feeling about this one. We’ve wasted far too many chances. They’ve got the breeze this quarter so we’ll need to want it and stop pissing chances away.

Say positive BTT, we are just trying to help the ratings by keeping the Melbourne supporters watching ;)

First goal is the important one for the next quarter

Macrae well down with only 14 touches, Daniel not in the game at all, Smith quiet. Bont needs to lift us.

Roarke Smith was good that quarter.

20-09-2020, 08:03 PM
10 tackles inside 50 to our 1. We’ve had it in there 11 more times. Seriously our forward pressure once the ball hits the deck is pathetic.

That’s coz our fwd line is SLOWWWWWWWWWW

JJ also quiet. Come on boys this is really pathetic

26 shots on goal to 11. We should have had this iced already.

It’s set for a big Juicy quarter.

Yeah, insane idea.

A) Cordy has at least kicked goals as a forward at AFL level (in finals FFS) and B) he's our worst defender. Play him down there.

20-09-2020, 08:05 PM
This is it dogs ,all or nothing...literally

I reckon Naughts has got a facial fracture. Just seeing it again and the way he held his face straight after the clash. Oh no!

Cmon Dogs. Lets finish it.

20-09-2020, 08:06 PM
A draw gets us there as well, just saying :)

20-09-2020, 08:07 PM
Cordy forward now by the looks. Well done woofers.

20-09-2020, 08:07 PM
Cordy forward.

20-09-2020, 08:09 PM
Cordy forward.

And doesn’t compete the high ball from Bruce.. why is he down there?

20-09-2020, 08:10 PM
It really pisses me off seeing forwards not contest or refuse to punch and allow easy marks fifteen out from goal.

Had a chance to lock the ball in our forward line, but no, undisciplined and didn't spoil.

20-09-2020, 08:12 PM
How was that free kick against Bont!!!

Out of control.

20-09-2020, 08:13 PM
We are holding steady but a goal would be nice.

20-09-2020, 08:13 PM
Jesus, we're under siege at the moment.

20-09-2020, 08:14 PM
We are holding steady but a goal would be nice.

That's an understatement Easty :)

Jesus, we're under siege at the moment.

Really?

Here we go ....

Lachie. This is the one.

All will be forgiven!

20-09-2020, 08:15 PM
Some awesome hands by Roarke to unlock movement out of defense.
And now he's sold some candy and set up Hunter's goal.

That passage was probably my favourite moment of our season

Really?

Yeah, held firm but it was in their 50 for a long time.

Lachie gets it! Nice finish.

Roarke has been terrific. Well played!

R. Smith has had a really good game. Hats off to him.

Roarke has had some really good moments today.

Hunter, you legend!!! You kill me mate, but I love you.

Greatest shot for goal ever our Lachie ! Roarke Smith has got the skateboard off the back tonight.

20-09-2020, 08:16 PM
Best game ever from Roarke?

I’ve always said Roarke Smith was a future star...

Rourke having the quarter of his life

Come on dogs!!!

Caleb!!!

20-09-2020, 08:17 PM
Ladies and gentleman, we are finals bound :)

Bring on saints....or WC in Perth

Really?

Wasn't quite at the stage where Gary Busy was in drag doing a sexy dance for us but it was close.

Go the Dogs!!!!

Light it up boys!

Can we get a close up of Garry Lyon?

We're home.

Pray for Naughton now.

I'll enjoy listening to Gaz Lyon trying not to sound flat as a tack for the next 10 minutes.

Lachie redeems himself. Roarke Smith shows a bit of dash and Caleb adds some Tabasco Sauce! Go Dogs!!

Best game ever from Roarke?

Just said same myself!! Looking very assured. Go Daniel!!!

20-09-2020, 08:18 PM
Listen to Gary Lyon do a complete 180 in his commentary. Now we’re “a team to look out for in final”

Absolute dickhead

20-09-2020, 08:18 PM
Just cracked a beer. Home. Finals. Well done Dogs.

20-09-2020, 08:19 PM
Finals yay. Well done Dogs.

20-09-2020, 08:19 PM
Radio call claims Hunter is BOG. Do you agree?

Also saying it is Naugton's jaw.

20-09-2020, 08:20 PM

Nope. Libba BOG

20-09-2020, 08:21 PM

Him and Libba neck and neck

20-09-2020, 08:22 PM

Top handful but not BOG.

We are going to the finals. Yippee!!

Listening to 3AW with Tony Leonard. Geez he shits me! Good commentator but not for dogs games

20-09-2020, 08:23 PM
Wallis off and straight down the race. Hope he's okay.

Wallis. That didn’t look good. Fingers crossed.

Libba for mine.

Naughton looked high to the face, cheek/eye area. God I hope I'm wrong but I think it's going to be a serious one.

Wallis off and straight down the race. Hope he's okay.

Same here

20-09-2020, 08:24 PM
Yesss!!!

Go Dogs!!!!

Outstanding Tim!

If Tim English is not physically dominated or intimated he dominates.

Libba has been the outstanding player on the ground. Most pressure acts by any player this season and nearly top possession getter.

20-09-2020, 08:25 PM
Wallis. That didn’t look good. Fingers crossed.

Hope all ok with Wallis.

Same here
Seemed like a left shoulder.

This is a really good win. A tough opponent and we win comfortably (on the scoreboard anyway)

20-09-2020, 08:27 PM

Yeah it's between him and Libba. With Lachie kicking that goal he probably just edges ahead for mine.

20-09-2020, 08:28 PM
Cordy just burned Libba…….why mate?

Hell yeah.

I don't want to harp but does Cordy have the lowest footy IQ in the side?

20-09-2020, 08:31 PM
Libba for me. Both he and Hunter excellent though.

Shit - if Wally does play you can see oppo pummelling his shoulder into ground.

20-09-2020, 08:32 PM
Professional performance in the end... concerns on Naughton & Wallis aren’t ideal and our hopes moving forward might depend on them being available.

Hope all ok with Wallis.

Doesn’t look good. Hope Naughton and Wally are ok

Yes. The AFL? Yes

We may have lost our best two forwards for the finals.

Great win.

Hope Wallis and Naughton are OK - neither look great.

20-09-2020, 08:33 PM
Libba for me. Both he and Hunter excellent though.

Shit - if Wally does play you can see oppo pummelling his shoulder into ground.

Why it wasn’t in the back was beyond me , blind Freddie could see it.
Ps watch Bont get fined for touching the goal umpire.

20-09-2020, 08:34 PM
Great win in the end. Finals in 2015, 2016, 2019 and 2020 - Go BEVO

20-09-2020, 08:34 PM
Also - I *!*!*!*!ing love Libba.

20-09-2020, 08:35 PM
I’m happy with that win, minus the injuries. Hopefully both Mitch and Naughton get back up for finals.

20-09-2020, 08:35 PM
Now to wait on the injury news. :mad:

20-09-2020, 08:36 PM
Also - I *!*!*!*!ing love Libba.

Anyone who does not love Libba is not true RWB.

YES...plain dumb.

Wally did not look happy.

20-09-2020, 08:37 PM
If Tim English is not physically dominated or intimated he dominates.

The last quarter intercept against cox to win the poor kick , to pickup , turn and pass to bontempelii . His going to be sensational with another pre season

So just on Naughton, Darcy went the bump and got him head high. See if the AFL ping him for it.

Wally did not look happy.
I hope he is ok , his left shoulder look restricted post game

20-09-2020, 08:39 PM
I hope he is ok , his left shoulder look restricted post game
It was very limp

20-09-2020, 08:39 PM

He had 2 players on his left , in the clear , to handball and he skews the kick

20-09-2020, 08:40 PM
Not going to worry about injuries until we know more about them.

Credit to Bevo and the coaching group today. Naughton going down could have really thrown a spanner in the works, but having an extra defender actually worked out ok as it meant we could move the pieces around.

Our team defence has also been top notch the last few weeks, completely denying bulk inside 50s to the opposition.

20-09-2020, 08:41 PM
I’ve always said Roarke Smith was a future star...
He could be one of those players who can come good after 50 games. Was it a breakout game ?

20-09-2020, 08:41 PM
Good on Bevo for being adventurous. Keith, Daniel, Crozier and Cordy to the forward line at different stages. You'll never die wondering.

20-09-2020, 08:43 PM
Phew. I can breath again.

https://youtu.be/-JsGYihuW_k

20-09-2020, 08:43 PM
Roarke played really well on the wing if you ask me; I'd prefer a more attacking wing to compliment Hunter's defensive work but his pressure was really important.

20-09-2020, 08:44 PM
Phew. I can breath again.

https://youtu.be/-JsGYihuW_k

Great song!

20-09-2020, 08:45 PM
Roarke played really well on the wing if you ask me; I'd prefer a more attacking wing to compliment Hunter's defensive work but his pressure was really important.

Agree Roarke was v good today.

20-09-2020, 08:45 PM
Good on Bevo for being adventurous. Keith, Daniel, Crozier and Cordy to the forward line at different stages. You'll never die wondering. Underrated part of this was understanding that we could play Keath forward with the wind but needed to swap them into the wind. Some real local footy nous from Bevo there.

Daniel has been tagged 3 of last 4 weeks now so having a method to get him involved is important. Also keeps the opposition guessing from a planning perspective.

20-09-2020, 08:46 PM
I’m so happy for Roarke. That deft touch handball on the back flank was unbelievable.

20-09-2020, 08:47 PM

Isn't it strange - he did a good job in this role pre-season but then was dispensed with once the 'proper stuff' started.

20-09-2020, 08:47 PM
Roarkes best game by a long way.

20-09-2020, 08:48 PM
I’m so happy for Roarke. That deft touch handball on the back flank was unbelievable.

And the shimmy and rough kick into forward line when Hunter took mark and kicked the sealer.

20-09-2020, 08:51 PM
So just on Naughton, Darcy went the bump and got him head high. See if the AFL ping him for it.

I thought so as well 'in the moment' and wanted a free-kick...commentators didn't mention it so I figured I had just 'missed' something...will be interesting to see the replay.

20-09-2020, 08:53 PM
I thought so as well 'in the moment' and wanted a free-kick...commentators didn't mention it so I figured I had just 'missed' something...will be interesting to see the replay. Darcy dipped his shoulder but it was actually a head clash in the end.

20-09-2020, 08:53 PM
Honestly I'd prefer Darcy get off, it was a clash of heads and Naughton came off worse.

20-09-2020, 08:57 PM
I thought so as well 'in the moment' and wanted a free-kick...commentators didn't mention it so I figured I had just 'missed' something...will be interesting to see the replay.

Darcy dipped his shoulder but it was actually a head clash in the end.

Honestly I'd prefer Darcy get off, it was a clash of heads and Naughton came off worse.

Yeah I don't want him pinged, but, I bet if he was concussed Darcy would be sighted.

20-09-2020, 08:59 PM
We finished two games out of the top 4. Would have been nice to finish off Port and Geelong, but still may get a chance to.

20-09-2020, 09:00 PM
If someone told me Naughts and Wally would not kick a goal, that we’d be 1 player down with half a game to play and we were gonna win by 5 goals by a much improved Freo I would have said you are dreaming.

The little things our players did whole match - tapping ball to others, somehow reaching ball when not in best position etc impressed me today. Playing more cohesively as a team. Think Freo did us some favours with some bad goal misses in last half plus horrible turnovers. Thought we handled the slippery conditions much better.

20-09-2020, 09:00 PM
We finished two games out of the top 4. Would have been nice to finish off Port and Geelong, but still may get a chance to.

Yeah would have been nice to have already secured our spot in the finals before the last round but we are here again and always a chance.

20-09-2020, 09:01 PM
If someone told me Naughts and Wally would not kick a goal, that we’d be 1 player down with half a game to play and we were gonna win by 5 goals by a much improved Freo I would have said you are dreaming.

The little things our players did whole match - tapping ball to others, somehow reaching ball when not in best position etc impressed me today. Playing more cohesively as a team. Think Freo did us some favours with some bad goal misses in last half plus horrible turnovers. Thought we handled the slippery conditions much better.

Agree with the sentiment. However, Wally kicked the first Bulldogs goal of the game.

20-09-2020, 09:02 PM
I don’t usually take much notice of fantasy football scores, however Libba scored 196 in SuperCoach which is rarified air.

20-09-2020, 09:02 PM
Agree with the sentiment. However, Wally kicked the first Bulldogs goal of the game.

Oops-yes it was a clever soccer kick!! My bad & Naughty kicked one too-that bad missed mark by Freo backman.

20-09-2020, 09:05 PM
Oops-yes it was a clever soccer kick!! My bad & Naughty kicked one too-that bad missed mark by Freo backman.

Naughty kicked a goal too... batting 0 from 2 Josie. ;)

20-09-2020, 09:08 PM
Get your act together Josie. :)

20-09-2020, 09:12 PM
It was a strange, tense and exhausting night. At times it felt like things were against us. Often a series of magnificent smothers somehow resulted in them getting possession. Losing Naughton was really tough. Can the Kid take a trick?

Our defence didn't seem as cohesive, Wood's timing was out, and though I love Cordy tonight I could see why Comrade's opinion that he ain't much chop is held so steadfastly.

We had a dreadful start to the year and haven't had a whole lot of luck with injuries, but here we are, with another finals series to play in this strange old season. Go Dogs your endeavour this year has never been in doubt!

20-09-2020, 09:14 PM
Titus O'Reilly has lamented how terrible a day it's been for Melbourne fans.

1. COVID breach
2. Inappropriate touching
3. Out of finals

Glad we could be a part of it.

20-09-2020, 09:16 PM
Titus O'Reilly has lamented how terrible a day it's been for Melbourne fans.

1. COVID breach
2. Inappropriate touching
3. Out of finals

Glad we could be a part of it.

WHAT was that all about? Your most important quarter of the year and... just why?

20-09-2020, 09:17 PM
We had a dreadful start to the year and haven't had a whole lot of luck with injuries, but here we are, with another finals series to play in this strange old season. Go Dogs your endeavour this year has never been in doubt!

Yep, given the start and the 4-5 times throughout the season I thought we were done and dusted, credit has to go to the coaching group and the players for somehow buying in until the end and making it through.

Fingers crossed the injury gods smile on us over the next week, we can roll out as close to our best 22 as possible and we cause some carnage in the finals.

20-09-2020, 09:17 PM
Naughton has a suspected fractured cheek bone ... not good.

20-09-2020, 09:18 PM
We've had a settled defence with Crozier a key component all year, and in a must win game, we send him into a completely different role that he has proven he isn't suited to.

We bring Wood straight in and make our defence slower and less competent by foot.

Makes sense to me.

And that the mighty trio Bont, Macrae and Dunkley have their least combined effort ever.

20-09-2020, 09:20 PM

Broken nose or a broken cheek I reckon. The contact looked high up.

Either way it's not good.

20-09-2020, 09:22 PM
I was impressed with our pressure particularly in defence. Lipinski was very good in the first half and Roarke had his best game by far. His willingness to take the risk and run around the man on the mark was great to see. Libba was immense throughout. It was a very good pressure performance. The win was made harder by poor goal kicking and poor delivery inside 50. I am really happy with the win. Thanks Dogs. We are in the mix.

20-09-2020, 09:24 PM
Naughton has a suspected fractured cheek bone ... not good.

It's better than an orbital bone. Depending on how he plays, he could rush back in time for the semi finals. If it was an orbital bone then that would be year over.

20-09-2020, 09:25 PM
WHAT was that all about? Your most important quarter of the year and... just why?

Kids these days...…..

20-09-2020, 09:30 PM
Broken nose or a broken cheek I reckon. The contact looked high up.

Either way it's not good.

Broken nose is nothing, rather that any day of the week,not sure you would even scan a broken nose , I have a history of them from Back in the day , apparently cheek bone too he could play but eye socket is the worry according to the great man Healy.

20-09-2020, 09:31 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EiWriaHUwAAZ_qf?format=jpg&name=medium

20-09-2020, 09:34 PM
I'm glad we made finals. But not satisfied yet. Win one final and I think most of the bitterness I feel about the years since the flag will dissipate.

20-09-2020, 09:34 PM
Broken nose is nothing, rather that any day of the week,not sure you would even scan a broken nose , I have a history of them from Back in the day , apparently cheek bone too he could play but eye socket is the worry according to the great man Healy.

Yeah I've had a couple of broken noses too. Hurts like buggery for a while but not the end of the world.

I'm not sure they will let him play these days though if it's a cheek. Maybe 20 or 30 years ago. Remember the egg on Libba's face in his last game? He played it out but nowadays the decision would have been taken out of his hands.

20-09-2020, 09:38 PM
Yeah I've had a couple of broken noses too. Hurts like buggery for a while but not the end of the world. I'm not sure they will let him play these days though. Maybe 20 or 30 years ago. Remember the egg on Libba's face in his last game? He played it out but nowadays the decision would have been taken out of his hands.

I think it depends on if it’s a concussion issue which I doubt very much, all he did was kept running and grab what looked like his nose.
For them to rush him to hospital for scans I very much doubt it’s just a broken nose though.

20-09-2020, 09:41 PM
I think it depends on if it’s a concussion issue which I doubt very much, all he did was kept running and grab what looked like his nose.
For them to rush him to hospital for scans I very much doubt it’s just a broken nose though.

Suspected fractured cheek bone

20-09-2020, 09:43 PM
Suspected fractured cheek bone

So any chance to return if we go deeper in the finals? or will be back in 2021.

20-09-2020, 09:48 PM
Bevo's presser indicated a depressed fracture of the check bone for Astro it just depends on how high it is. Wally should be ok just jarred the shoulder.

20-09-2020, 09:49 PM

He could be back in a couple of weeks Easty.

Depends on how bad.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/816835/bulldogs-finals-bound-after-last-round-win

Bulldogs finals bound after last round win
A 30-point victory over Fremantle in Cairns has secured the Bulldogs a finals berth.

The Western Bulldogs left it to the second last game of the last round of the season, but they have locked in their spot in the 2020 finals.

The Bulldogs, who started their Sunday evening game in ninth spot, launched into the top eight with an eventually comfortable 30-point win over Fremantle in Cairns.

The Dogs will learn their opponent for the Elimination Final – which will be either West Coast or St Kilda - after Monday night’s game between Port Adelaide and Collingwood.

They’ll be sweating on the availability of young spearhead Aaron Naughton, who was sent to hospital as a precaution with a facial injury, and Mitch Wallis, who left the field late in the game nursing his left arm.

The match was still in the balance midway through the last quarter, but the Bulldogs finally broke away from the determined Dockers with the last three goals of the contest.

Lachie Hunter and Tom Liberatore were superb for the Dogs for the entire four quarters. Hunter won a match-high 34 disposals, kicked a goal and had 601 metres gained, while Liberatore recorded an astonishing 41 pressure acts to go with 25 possessions, 12 score involvements, eight tackles and seven clearances.

Captain Marcus Bontempelli finished with a goal and 20 disposals, while Pat Lipinski was a bright light in his return to the senior side, kicking and goal and collecting 17 possessions.

The Bulldogs had 10 individual goalkickers, with Tim English kicking two for the second week in a row.

After an even start, the Dogs established some breathing space during the second quarter with a burst of three straight majors, taking a 12-point lead into half time.

The Dockers kicked the first goal of the third term to get to within six points, but it was to be their last six-pointer of the match.

Bailey Smith snapped truly restore the Bulldogs advantage by the final change, and Hunter broke the tense deadlock at the 10-minute mark of the last quarter with a strong mark and converted set shot.

Dogs fans could rest even easier when Caleb Daniel and Bontempelli put the icing on the cake with late goals to send them marching to back-to-back finals appearances.

MATCH DETAILS

FREMANTLE 2.2 5.4 6.5 6.8 (44)

WESTERN BULLDOGS 2.3 7.4 8.8 11.8 (74)

GOALS

Fremantle: Fyfe 2, Darcy, Schultz, Crowden, Hogan

Western Bulldogs: English 2, Wallis, Johannisen, Naughton, Bruce, Lipinski, B.Smith, Hunter, Daniel, Bontempelli

BEST

Fremantle: Fyfe, Serong, Ryan, Darcy, Cerra, Hogan

Western Bulldogs: Liberatore, Hunter, Bontempelli, English, Lipinski, Daniel

INJURIES

Fremantle: Taberner (quad) replaced in selected side by Colyer

Western Bulldogs: Naughton (head), Wallis (shoulder)

Bevo said in presser it depends on how high up the fracture is- if anywhere near the eye sounds like will not play. If lower ok. Will be surgery for sure. He was optimistic about Wally but gee Wally looked somber at end if game so here’s hoping Bevo is right.

Worth watching presser-start is quite funny as interruptions at start and Bevo starts laughing. Also workers are whistling in background for first few mins as they presumably pack stuff away in background. Amateur hour.

20-09-2020, 09:50 PM

They take any sort of head knock pretty seriously these days.

20-09-2020, 09:56 PM
He could be back in a couple of weeks Easty.

We do have a break so he might not miss at all.

20-09-2020, 10:10 PM
It was a strange, tense and exhausting night. At times it felt like things were against us. Often a series of magnificent smothers somehow resulted in them getting possession. Losing Naughton was really tough. Can the Kid take a trick?

Our defence didn't seem as cohesive, Wood's timing was out, and though I love Cordy tonight I could see why Comrade's opinion that he ain't much chop is held so steadfastly.

With all due respect the endeavour was certainly in doubt a few times, but we have risen to the occasion enough time s to give us hope.

We now need maximum effort to win the next game 4 more time in 2020

20-09-2020, 10:11 PM
We do have a break so he might not miss at all.

That's basically what I meant.

20-09-2020, 10:13 PM
We have won 5 of the last 6. Should have never lost to Cats after that start either. Our form line is good.

20-09-2020, 10:46 PM
Wally is fine, Naughton depressed cheek might need surgery should be fine

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/816939/injury-concern-for-forward-pair?fbclid=IwAR1MOiogvflfp9Dldh6BqsP_-r4-wTUeJXcWxJMZaTf2ib7wlEKEF5PtLaU

20-09-2020, 10:58 PM
We have won 5 of the last 6. Should have never lost to Cats after that start either. Our form line is good.

I think it made a big difference to the team when Dunkley and Naughton came back from injury

20-09-2020, 11:00 PM
Yeah I've had a couple of broken noses too. Hurts like buggery for a while but not the end of the world.

I'm not sure they will let him play these days though if it's a cheek. Maybe 20 or 30 years ago. Remember the egg on Libba's face in his last game? He played it out but nowadays the decision would have been taken out of his hands.

I fractured my cheek bone a few years back playing local footy. The surgeon told me I could play again a week after surgery, as long as I felt comfortable - I was in my last year of uni and couldn't afford to miss placement, so stayed out for a few months - and even when I did come back I was very cautious.
But I would suggest that surgery alone won't rule him out - I think it will depend on scheduling and how quickly they can get the operation done.

20-09-2020, 11:15 PM
I fractured my cheek bone a few years back playing local footy. The surgeon told me I could play again a week after surgery, as long as I felt comfortable - I was in my last year of uni and couldn't afford to miss placement, so stayed out for a few months - and even when I did come back I was very cautious.
But I would suggest that surgery alone won't rule him out - I think it will depend on scheduling and how quickly they can get the operation done.

When I was a kid my dad took me to learn how to box at a gym in Footscray run by a bloke called Ambrose Palmer. Ambrose played footy for Footscray as well as being a world rated boxer.

One day against Essendon he was sandwiched between two players and had his jaw, cheek and skull broken in 16 (SIXTEEN) places. He played again that year. I asked him about it once. He said "it was the depression and if you didn't play then you didn't get payed, no matter the reason. I had to put food on the table"

21-09-2020, 12:06 AM
When I was a kid my dad took me to learn how to box at a gym in Footscray run by a bloke called Ambrose Palmer. Ambrose played footy for Footscray as well as being a world rated boxer.

One day against Essendon he was sandwiched between two players and had his jaw, cheek and skull broken in 16 (SIXTEEN) places. He played again that year. I asked him about it once. He said "it was the depression and if you didn't play then you didn't get payed, no matter the reason. I had to put food on the table"

Great story-thx for that Twodogs. Did you enjoy the boxing lessons?

21-09-2020, 01:41 AM
Awesome effort to dig ourselves out of a massive hole after round 2 and make it well done to everyone.

Even watching today I just think there is another gear to go with this team, we have so many things to improve on which is exciting and equally a frustrating at the same time.

I'm still concern about our lack of a hard edge, we need more of the boys to follow libba's lead, he had them on his shoulders for the majority. Its going to be very interesting how we approach week 1, we spoke about redemption over the summer lets see how much we have improved.

Has Naughty ran over a black cat? Its been an amazing effort for him to get back and contribute, let's hope he has one last effort in him.

21-09-2020, 01:50 AM
That was a very mature performance against an in-form and well-drilled opponent. We played the game mostly on our terms from halfway through the 2nd qtr onwards. The most pleasing aspect in recent weeks is that we are getting important contributions from our notional bottom 6 compared to earlier in the year. We are also getting fantastic output from our guns.

We're not the finished article but we are a good team with the opportunity to become even better.

21-09-2020, 06:04 AM
I'm thrilled we put Melbourne out of the finals race. Revenge for 1987 & 2005.

21-09-2020, 07:19 AM
That was a very mature performance against an in-form and well-drilled opponent. We played the game mostly on our terms from halfway through the 2nd qtr onwards. The most pleasing aspect in recent weeks is that we are getting important contributions from our notional bottom 6 compared to earlier in the year. We are also getting fantastic output from our guns.

We're not the finished article but we are a good team with the opportunity to become even better.

Thats a great summary Sedat, we really do have the foundations of a team that can be successful for the long term. Sometimes I have nfi what Bevo is doing but credit where its due his methods have galvanised the place and they really look a united group.
Our attractiveness to free agents and players who want to have success just went up another notch too which is a brilliant outcome for our team. Credit to everyone involved, after a shaky start we are primed for another assault.

21-09-2020, 09:49 AM
Great story-thx for that Twodogs. Did you enjoy the boxing lessons?

Loved them. I can still hear old Ambrose saying "keep that left up. Any decent boxer will just walk around that defence and sit you on your arse"

21-09-2020, 10:00 AM
It was a very interesting game tactically and quite cagey early between both sides. I think it was a great lead in for us with several areas of our game challenged, a few observations on that below

Daniel tagged again but this time from the start of a game where we had JJ also in a different role. I thought we looked a bit big down back without the influence from Daniel and JJ so to be able to adjust this was a good effort. The different methods we used to not only shake the tag but also ask questions of the opposition by setting up Daniel around the ball was also good to see. I don’t see many teams letting him run free going forward but Stkilda may given the attacking nature of some of their smalls.

The other watch out is to have a plan in place for the kick ins if Daniel and JJ move mid qtr, not 100% sure that Duryea and Williams were ready for the responsibility initially. Little things become huge things when plans are changed on the run and I have seen kick ins cost teams finals in these circumstances. Williams settled pretty well in the end,

The slow and methodical build up with the ball from Freo is not dissimilar to what we will face with Stkilda if we end up playing them. The tempo side of things and staying engaged in the contest and concentrating and being able to shift gears through a game is something that doesn’t come easily to young teams. It was a great sign that we were able to defend and then when the chance came to cause a spill or 50/50 our intensity was still there.

The well coached teams are really challenging their midfield groups about the balance around the contest against us. Freo really did this well early and sweated on our handballs from inside to outside and were then able to run away with it. Richmond and Brisbane did this well. I thought we lifted our own intensity in those situations and really just overwhelmed them after qtr time.

What we have done really well over the last 2-3 weeks is get more value from contested situations inside 50. I commented after the Geelong game that we need to pick better options with our backwards handballs inside 50 and be willing to snap on goal. Since then I think there has been a clear effort to release with a longer or wider handball and basically 1-2 handballs to space and then either a kick to a stationary target or a snap on goal. We scoring from these situations now instead of being tackled or smothered.

I felt we were too big both forward and back in the first qtr last night and had to juggle a few things around. I think the back half will take care of itself but we really need to find a way to get the ground level balance right in the forward half without McLean. Whether it is selecting an extra mid and rotating more heavily through the forward half or getting Vandermeer back I am not too sure. We are stuck with what we have for now.

Red time goals in Q1 and Q2 absolute killers. Cordy copped much of the criticism for one of them and rightly so but why did the first kick not go down the line with 50 seconds left? The second one we put in 2 or 3 smothers and then a mis-kick landed in their hands but we had a chance to exit the area earlier. It was just poor game awareness and cost us a 3 goal half time lead which could have killed it earlier.

Richards- Obviously a poor performance but the week before was his best front and square, genuine small forward role performance of the year. Playing in roles he isn’t suited to and we need that ground level pace so hard to be critical of him but the effort needs to be non-negotiable and so does basic footy smarts. There was a couple where he was our deepest player and it was clearly going to be a pressured kick coming in and he went backwards instead of at the ball.

Hunter- This guy is our most important player and has been for a long time. They seem to be starting him forward quite a bit since the Geelong game. He is just blowing teams up as the games wear on.

Crozier- No issue with his desperation but feel he has been down for a little bit now. Was worth a shot to swing him forward last night because he has been getting scored on and his intercepting has been down a little bit. Thought he showed some good signs later in the game and was starting to come off the back to receive again.

Williams- Thought he supported really well in the air last night. He has been horrible 1 on 1 recently but really timed his help well last night. He is one we need to protect from a match up perspective as he doesn’t turn as well as you would hope, likes the ball in front of him.

Keath- Really solid game in defence and while not devastating as a forward showed that he will definitely bring the ball to ground in that role. Clearly lacks a bit of craft in that area and cost himself two shots on goal by not coming back at the footy at the right time. Was important that we had him as a deep target with the wind but swung him back against the wind as the long kick was looking very dangerous in Q2.

Bruce- Clearly his stats are not great but you can sense over the last few weeks his timing is coming back and he is getting a bit leaner. He really seemed to have the wood on opponents last night but we could not get any 1 on 1 marking contests which is a real challenge for us. If it isn’t Naughton and Bruce flying together it is English (looks the most likely anyway), Keath or even Crozier getting in their space. On top of that it is stopping Wallis having space to workover his opponent. Forward mix is still a work in progress but it is progressing.

Duryea- Still finding form and fitness but always thought we are a better side with him up and running. Good organiser and decent distributor who understands the ebbs and flows of a game.

Lipinski- Much better from him, I think all we need to see is the effort around the ball with him and the rest tends to fall into place.

Wallis- Really fine line with him on whether to go straight at his marks or look for body contact. Probably felt for body a few times last night where he already had created separation on his initial lead or push. Our kicking needs to get better to him as well in my view, we absolutely cooked him a few times.

Bailey Smith- Not sure what he was doing early last night but we lacked some spread and burst from congestion without his influence. As soon as he got his hands on it things started to open up.

Bont- The slippery conditions hurt him the most in my view. Look at his stats for the day games so far. He tends to try to change direction really quickly and loses his footing or cant pick up cleanly. When its dry he uses his long limbs and dexterity to get free from congestion on the move. It is only a minor thing but it just stops him getting those really damaging plays as often.

21-09-2020, 10:04 AM
Good summary DT.

21-09-2020, 11:00 AM
Great to see you back contributing dog town over the last few weeks.

Hopefully time permits so you can continue to.

21-09-2020, 11:50 AM
Loved them. I can still hear old Ambrose saying "keep that left up. Any decent boxer will just walk around that defence and sit you on your arse"

He took Johnny Famechon to the World Featherweight title too.

23-09-2020, 03:06 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/817051/key-takeaways-round-18

Key Takeaways: Round 18
The key talking points to emerge from Sunday's win over Fremantle in Cairns.

1. Finals locked in

Just quietly, we always knew Luke Beveridge and his boys would get the job done on Sunday night.

With a finals berth on the line, they had everything to play for.

Just like the last two weeks. And they delivered the goods – again – under extreme pressure.

Fremantle just wouldn’t go away for the first three quarters, but a three-goal to nil last term ensured Bulldogs supporters wouldn’t endure any nervy final minutes.

For the fourth time in six years under Beveridge, the Bulldogs will play finals footy.

And whether it’s the West Coast Eagles in Perth, or St Kilda in Queensland, you know the Bulldogs will be up for the fight.

2. Sons of guns get it done

Good luck separating Lachie Hunter and Tom Liberatore for best on ground.

The two father-son products couldn’t be more different players, but both were equally important in leading the Bulldogs to victory in Cairns.

Hunter racked up 35 disposals – 10 more than any other player on the ground – and kicked a goal.

He generated more than 600 metres gained, won four clearances and had an impact at both ends of the ground with five inside-50s and three rebound-50s.

Liberatore was just as good, with his 25 disposals punctuated by seven clearances, eight tackles, six inside-50s and two rebound-50s.

With the Bulldogs’ season on the line, both more than rose to the occasion.

3. Long game with Tim

Remember – only a couple of weeks ago – when the Bulldogs had Tim English playing more forward time than ruck?

You could argue that move has paid dividends the past fortnight.

The emerging big man has spent the past three weeks playing predominantly in the ruck, but has been able to push forward to great effect and showcase his forward craft.

English kicked two goals against Hawthorn last week and was influential again when he slid forward against Fremantle.

He kicked two important goals against the Dockers and put the icing on the cake with a chip over the last defender to find Marcus Bontempelli all alone in the goal square for the sealer.

23-09-2020, 05:14 PM
Maintain the Rage

<strong>
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBUiPCpTF3A&amp;ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

23-09-2020, 05:57 PM
I've enjoyed the game day videos

23-09-2020, 08:08 PM
Good summary DT.

Excellent run down from a very keen observer.

23-09-2020, 10:00 PM
Good summary DT.

Agree-will look at some of our players more keenly based upon some of your astute observations in future matches - here’s hoping 4 more this year.

24-09-2020, 08:07 AM
I named my youngest boy Ambrose after Ambrose Palmer.

24-09-2020, 09:16 PM
Ambrose Palmer: 66 fights for 57 wins (23 by KO) 7 losses (2 by TKO) 2 draws. Australian light-heavy and heavy weight champion.

25-09-2020, 08:31 AM
Ambrose Palmer: 66 fights for 57 wins (23 by KO) 7 losses (2 by TKO) 2 draws. Australian light-heavy and heavy weight champion.

https://i.ibb.co/KDgtF3m/IMG-0718.jpg