View Full Version : Western Bulldogs Game Day V St. Kilda - Week 1 2020 Elimination Final Two
03-10-2020, 05:34 PM
Our decision making has been crap, Caleb and English have barely won a contest, defenders shaky.
We are in big trouble.
03-10-2020, 05:34 PM
What is it about us playing our worst against this mob
03-10-2020, 05:35 PM
We have not defended the high ball to their goal line well. Multiple players are no good if none defend the height of the ball.
But isn’t that’s King strength as he’s been the tallest player in each marking contest.
Every time we turn it over at half forward with dumb decisions it kills us.
Saints are using it much better picking better options
I must be watching a different game - things we need to improve on for sure but were right in this.
We've got some work to do but we just need to steady it down for a while and we can get things back on equal terms
03-10-2020, 05:36 PM
Get Daniel up the ground FFS he's getting destroyed
Seriously tackle them! The amount of times in our 50
We need to swap Daniel for Crozier or JJ... he’s losing every contest.
It’s all on their terms. Daniel is being exposed big time.
03-10-2020, 05:37 PM
They are getting out of defence as if we aren't there
03-10-2020, 05:38 PM
How bad has our tackling been? That example late was the prime example.
Daniel getting a lesson that quarter
Same as last time. No correction. Every time we turn it over they burn us.
Saints would be down 5 goals against any other side in the 8. Yet they lead us.
Lucky to be only 7pts down... we need to make some adjustments and get more from our bottom 6-8. Well pretty much need more from everyone!
03-10-2020, 05:39 PM
We've got some work to do but we just need to steady it down for a while and we can get things back on equal terms
Of course immediately after I posted that the Saints ratcheted it up - that being said seven points at half time is nothing.
Beveridge needs to tell both Macrae and Gardner if you're streaming into fifty like that go for goal.
Our fwd pressure is laughable of not being able to Hold the ball in.
Saints should be 20+ points up.
We look slow, can’t hold a tackle. They swat us off like flies.
Terribly disappointed by that. Expect the arse to fall out now.
03-10-2020, 05:40 PM
Positive - we have a lot of options to change the game. Not in the ruck unfortunately
Big difference between this game and the other 2 finals. We are hanging on but only just. Put Daniel forward. We have no one to kick goals.
Of course immediately after I posted that the Saints ratcheted it up - that being said seven points at half time is nothing.
Beveridge needs to tell both Macrae and Gardner if you're streaming into fifty like that go for goal.
I want what youre having ! :cool:
03-10-2020, 05:41 PM
Lucky to be only 7pts down... we need to make some adjustments and get more from our bottom 6-8. Well pretty much need more from everyone!
Not really we should be up by 5 goals. We just stuff around with it too much.
03-10-2020, 05:42 PM
Saints would be down 5 goals against any other side in the 8. Yet they lead us.
Yep they haven’t laid a tackle barely in a final and lead. Bevo looking perplexed gives me the sh1ts.
I want what youre having ! :cool:
Eh. If they're killing us then I'll take 7 points.
I'm not breaking out the party poppers - there are legitimate areas of concern - but I remain hopeful.
Plus, beer.
Positive - we have a lot of options to change the game. Not in the ruck unfortunately
And the fact we are only 7 points down. We are still in it but it isn’t pretty
We don't have intensity when we don't get it on our terms. Wait for someone else to do it.
The guys in the middle need to lift as they will need to kick the goals.
03-10-2020, 05:43 PM
If Timmy & Naughts lift and we are a bit more composed with our delivery into F50 we are still in this. Cordy out with half to go hurts.
03-10-2020, 05:43 PM
Tim needs to lift to put it mildly. They are killing us on the spread - their clearances are so much cleaner. All starting at the source.
03-10-2020, 05:44 PM
Eh. If they're killing us then I'll take 7 points.
I'm not breaking out the party poppers - there are legitimate areas of concern - but I remain hopeful.
Plus, beer.
It felt like we were just holding their run, we didn’t have the pressure I expected. I can’t see us bringing it any higher so really worried it’s going to get out the back now big time. Is Libba playing?
03-10-2020, 05:44 PM
I've got a few one eyed Saint's fans in front of me..gee I hope we can fix up our game this 2nd half and get the win.
Doesn't feel like I'm watching a finals game; not exactly top shelf engaging footy from either team right now.
03-10-2020, 05:45 PM
Cordy out for game.
Well the good news is we clearly have another gear but whether we'll find it ...
Lacking composure going forward and not only burning chances but promptly getting split open down the other end when it happens.
The back six matchups need adjusting. We surely want Gardner contesting aerial balls and Daniel handling exits but we're copping the reverse right now.
Our mids not named Hunter might want to exert more influence in the second half too.
Keath, Bruce, Naughton need to give us SOMETHING. Thought Juice competed ok but he needs to do more, the other two have done SFA.
Wood and Lipinski have offered very little, Daniel needs to move up the ground because our decision making has been woeful going forward and Caleb has had his arse handed to him defensively.
We can easily get on top but we need to tinker right now.
We can only hope guys like Hanneberry and Jones will slow down as they have not played a lot of football over the past few weeks.
WTF are these players doing, have a shot for goal.
As for Gardner, every game at least once he turns it over with a bad kick resulting in a goal. In a tight game you can't do that
03-10-2020, 05:46 PM
Keath is having a mare
He has had a bad last few weeks.
I've got a few one eyed Saint's fans in front of me..gee I hope we can fix up our game this 2nd half and get the win.
Doesn't feel like I'm watching a finals game; not exactly top shelf engaging footy from either team right now.
How are we looking behind the ball YHF? One passage they had three contested marks in a row I just don’t know what we are doing back there it’s frustrating on tv.
Pretty predictable that Daniel is getting isolated i know he made AA but been saying it all year they will isolated him when it counts.
Lacking forwards which was also predictable. We gotta stick tackles killed us so far.
Well done to Roake bern great so far, we need our mids to follow his lead.
Our fwd pressure is laughable of not being able to Hold the ball in.
Saints should be 20+ points up.
We look slow, can’t hold a tackle. They swat us off like flies.
Yeah I’m extremely disappointed in our performance. We’ve been beaten just like we all thought we would on the turnover out the back.
Poor skills. Poor tackling. Poor coaching.
03-10-2020, 05:47 PM
Tim needs to lift to put it mildly. They are killing us on the spread - their clearances are so much cleaner. All starting at the source.
He looks spooked again.
03-10-2020, 05:47 PM
The game is being played on their terms. They find ways to retain possession and play out of their back 50. Our forward 50 deliver has to be better.
03-10-2020, 05:48 PM
Whats more disappointing is realising how far of the top we really are. If we played the tigers tonight we’d be 50 down already.
03-10-2020, 05:49 PM
The amount of times they cleared it from our forward 50 under extreme pressure was pretty impressive.
Libba 0 tackles. How on earth.
He looks spooked again.
He needs to get angry
03-10-2020, 05:50 PM
The amount of times they cleared it from our forward 50 under extreme pressure was pretty impressive.
Our tackling is just so meek. Hunter Clarke fended off 3 players to get a kick away - why didn't somebody put him into the ground!? Croziers tackle was great but some of the efforts from Lipinski, Wallis and even Bruce has been bloody awful.
Real concerning atm with too many passengers in a final. Bevo needs to swing some changes before the game slips away.
For me its the midfield who need to lift.
English, Liberatore, Bontempelli, Macrae, Hunter, Dunkley and Bailey Smith need to lift. Their numbers may look ok, but they have not influenced the game at all.
Not sure Wallis should be playing.
We look sluggish and slow.
03-10-2020, 05:51 PM
Whats more disappointing is realising how far of the top we really are. If we played the tigers tonight we’d be 50 down already.
We finished 7th for a reason and our record against the top 8 teams proved this... hopefully we find a way to win this, but next week is going to be a battle.
03-10-2020, 05:51 PM
He needs to get angry
I don't think he has it in him. He's happy to be pushed around and play nice footy, but finals isn't too kind to those types.
03-10-2020, 05:52 PM
We can only hope guys like Hanneberry and Jones will slow down as they have not played a lot of football over the past few weeks.
I read on this forum repeatedly that Zak Jones is a no good faux hardman, but the evidence says otherwise.
And in news that will shock no-one we seriously need to throw half a dozen kitchen sinks at an AFL-ready pressure forward this offseason.
Trade quality to get quality if we have to but as we can see it's a fatal gaping hole on the list.
We’re in a world of trouble here. Pissing away gilt-edged chances by being too cute inside 50 and not working hard enough back. Cordy’s injury really stings, especially with Bruce getting out positioned by Paddy Ryder i50.
If we don’t target a mature age ruck this off season I’ll seriously lose it
Daniel sitting with the midfield group in the 1/2 time meeting.
03-10-2020, 05:53 PM
We should enquire about Ryder's availability.
03-10-2020, 05:53 PM
We definitely have to lift. So disappointing to allow them to get the ball out of forward fifty consistently. We need to hold it in there.
03-10-2020, 05:54 PM
Daniel sitting with the midfield group in the 1/2 time meeting.
Let's hope it's an obvious sign because he and we simply cannot afford for this to continue on. Geary is barely VFL standard and he gave him a bath.
Yeah I’m extremely disappointed in our performance. We’ve been beaten just like we all thought we would on the turnover out the back.
Poor skills. Poor tackling. Poor coaching.
Obviously Bevo has learnt nothing from round 2 loss. It’s a carbon copy. They are ru Ning hard and using good kicking to get over the top. We are hell bent on out kamikaze handball approach.
We are in desperate need of a fwd who is fast, agile and is a Charlie Cameron/Liam Ryan clone.
And the ruck? Well....
CarnTheScray
Lipinski is a little girl. I don't want to see him get a game next year. Tell JJ to stop doing the telephone crap or I'll send him in a box to Freo. Gardner is somehow overrated, has one good kick and is considered "solid" by supporters when in truth with him in the side we are handicapped.
Bont owes us two goals. Macrae got the wobbles inside 50 and handballed it. I could go on but it is the same problems as usual. I am not looking forward to seeing us linger in the bottom half of the top 8 for an eternity with this unconfident players.
How are we looking behind the ball YHF? One passage they had three contested marks in a row I just don’t know what we are doing back there it’s frustrating on tv.
We pressed so high up the field, at one point in the second quarter I couldn't make out who was who!
Players are gonna have to lift themselves into action; they ain't gonna get much from the crowd.
Its very strong Saints support tonight.
We won't
03-10-2020, 05:55 PM
Bad feeling. Hope I'm wrong. Libba and Bont not having an influence. English being slaughtered, and the defence disorganised. I'm really disappointed that we don't seem to have the answers for a predictable game style by the Saints.
03-10-2020, 05:56 PM
Lipinski is a little girl. I don't want to see him get a game next year. Tell JJ to stop doing the telephone crap or I'll send him in a box to Freo. Gardner is somehow overrated, has one good kick and is considered "solid" by supporters when in truth with him in the side we are handicapped.
Bont owes us two goals. Macrae got the wobbles inside 50 and handballed it. I could go on but it is the same problems as usual. I am not looking forward to seeing us linger in the bottom half of the top 8 for an eternity with this unconfident players.
Fiery. Love the passion.
03-10-2020, 05:57 PM
I'm optimistic. We are right in this. They have somehow managed to escape immense forward pressure about 5 times, we should have at least 2 goals 1 from those times but instead they managed to get about 2 goals from them.
We are playing well enough, just look lost once we go inside 50.
All the talls are having no impact, nobody even looks like taking a mark. English can lose the ruck but he needs to have a win somewhere. Atm, he isnt anywhere.
Keath has been woeful btw, Gardner has at least had an impavt in most contests and is providing some run.
R. Smith top 3 disposals for us...that’s says it all...and I’m not knocking him, he’s had a good game, just a lot of others haven’t.
This reminds me of the Melbourne game. If we switch the magnets around we can get back on top.
03-10-2020, 05:58 PM
Think we have defended the quick transition well btw, those running goals have happened from us not killing aerial balls.
03-10-2020, 05:58 PM
Take a mark at HF for godsake :mad:
03-10-2020, 06:01 PM
What are our defenders doing!
Over to you mids. Get on top in a big way or pack in 2020
They are beating us at our own game. Cleaner around the stoppages.
Nice guarding of space Woody!
Tigers will be licking their lips next week
We just arent good enough unfortunately. Noce effort to make the finals but we were just making up the numbers
03-10-2020, 06:03 PM
This looks hopeless as long as we've got issues in all three areas of the ground.
We're not even forcing them to play quality footy either.
Roarkes having some game. Well done mate.
Dunks! Desperately needed that one.
03-10-2020, 06:04 PM
Roarke BOG so far and I'm torn on the concept.
03-10-2020, 06:07 PM
We've turned up the heat
03-10-2020, 06:08 PM
Terrible Bailey!
03-10-2020, 06:08 PM
Yeah nah
03-10-2020, 06:09 PM
Lipinski is the worse tackler in our team... if you’re already slow and then can’t tackle, well you need to be amazing at everything else.
03-10-2020, 06:10 PM
Our defense is just absolutely crap.
Where is Naughton? Might as well have had the week off
03-10-2020, 06:10 PM
Their worse player is BOG... give me strength!
03-10-2020, 06:11 PM
Miss tackle city
We've made Geary look like an AFL footballer. Laughable
Lipinski is the worse tackler in our team... if you’re already slow and then can’t tackle, well you need to be amazing at everything else.
He's a witches hat.
And his set up at throw ins has been awful, nowhere near his man
03-10-2020, 06:12 PM
Suddenly wishing we'd rolled the dice on Vandermeer's hammy.
Gee they are lucky with their blind kicks and hitting someone.
They are using it much smarter than us
Trade Lipinski. Now
03-10-2020, 06:13 PM
GREAT decision Lippa.
Why Lipinski would handpass to Bont..he was under the hammer
Not a finals footballer.
Officially over
03-10-2020, 06:14 PM
So yeah, ruck doesn't matter right?
I think we're cooked. Have never looked to have the upper hand at any stage.
Good to see the team playing their first final in a decade monstering the other mob with 9 premiership players running around.
Might be time we y'know, grew up.
Not a finals footballer.
Not just finals, he’s just not capable against decent opposition.
Their talls are killing us.
Stick a fork in us
Never take injured players into a final
03-10-2020, 06:15 PM
Lipinski can go to the bench never to be seen again and get a Uber out of the Gabba right now.
Killed in the air again on its cost us this game. Its game over
Love the guy but Naughton did f all in last year's EF and f all today. Not good enough
Wood on King has been a great decision. Nice Bevo.
03-10-2020, 06:17 PM
Party time for the Saints.
03-10-2020, 06:17 PM
English has been soooo disappointing!!
03-10-2020, 06:18 PM
Mjp was spot on.
They escape another outnumbered situation they had no business escaping.
Get on the bus now boys, this is over.
English couldn't even tackle Steele LOL.
I've seen enough from Tim. You aren't built for contests mate.
PISS POOR umpiring
03-10-2020, 06:19 PM
Their defence is so open. They love that. We knew that.
Seriously Bevo you have a lot to answer for.
HOw the *!*!*!*! wasnt that holding the ball
Play on play on play on play on....
Why Lipinski would handpass to Bont..he was under the hammer
To be fair, it’s exactly the sam handball Macrae gave him in the 2nd. So he’s learnt from the best
03-10-2020, 06:20 PM
Their defence is so open. They love that. We knew that.
Seriously Bevo you have a lot to answer for.
Don’t get beaten by what you know. One simple rule.
03-10-2020, 06:20 PM
It's going how I expected. We're not mentally strong enough to win a final. Saints will in close to win is far more superior to our guys who are showing similarities of 2019. Making the finals papered over the cracks again. We're not good enough
03-10-2020, 06:22 PM
English couldn't even tackle Steele LOL.
I've seen enough from Tim. You aren't built for contests mate.
He should have broken Steele's collarbone in that tackle. GWS would have done that to us last year. Timmy is too timid I'm afraid.
Bruce in ruck and Tim up forward was the no brainer move. Why didn't it happen?
03-10-2020, 06:24 PM
Miss two goals form 15m against the trend to have half a chance. So disappointing.
03-10-2020, 06:24 PM
He should have broken Steele's collarbone in that tackle. GWS would have done that to us last year. Timmy is too timid I'm afraid.
Steele has no idea it was play on yet Tim gave him a hug.
03-10-2020, 06:26 PM
We are winning the inside 50 count 34-31 ... have not been able to clunk a Mark all night.
Lets go backwards to win the game.
That was a free kick every day, yet play on and they get a goal.
Long term, what do we do with Tim? Nice skills, but timid and easily spooked.
Either we support him with experience (Ryder would have been handy...) Or we trade him and get maximum value to improve areas elsewhere.
I'm sick of seeing him destroyed not only on the ruck but around the ground against Grundy/Hawn/Ryder/Marshall/Naitanui.
Msg from Bevo on the whiteboard.
GO DOWN THE FCKING GUTS 100%.
No flank plays.
If we turn it over, we might as well lose by 60 points (which I think we might anyway)
03-10-2020, 06:27 PM
Miss two goals form 15m against the trend to have half a chance. So disappointing.
Yep. Too be so poor, nail those and we are in it at least on the scoreboard
Such a let down just like last year. We don't seem to have the mettle for finals footy anymore
Either we support him with experience (Ryder would have been handy...) Or we trade him and get maximum value to improve areas elsewhere.
I'm sick of seeing him destroyed not only on the ruck but around the ground against Grundy/Hawn/Ryder/Marshall/Naitanui.
He seems to be our only chance of a mark in forward 50, so maybe start there?
It's actually a little embarrassing. They are playing for sheep stations, make them hurt and punish them physically. Tim just doesn't have that uncompromising competitiveness. There's so much more to the game than running around in space, especially in finals.
03-10-2020, 06:28 PM
We are winning the inside 50 count 34-31 ... have not been able to clunk a Mark all night.
Yet they take marks all day long in both their fwd and defensive lines.
03-10-2020, 06:28 PM
Yep, Schache would’ve given more than Naughton today.
03-10-2020, 06:29 PM
We’re meek and mild. Soft. Not a club built for finals.
We’ve got a lot of redesign to do this offseason. Let’s face it we haven’t advanced on last year despite what was meant to be two great recruits. We need to shake this list up.
Naughton has barely touched the ball, Bruce same. Stop trying to take speccies and hanging out the back ala Stringer, FFS give a lead.
Naughton needs to move up the ground abit around that CHF position.
Honestly, we don't deserve to be in the finals as on this performance we are just making up the numbers. Very disappointing. There are certain moments that are mentally znd emotionally crucial in games and we so often fail to grab them. It is so frustrating. And to make it worse Smith and Hunter's misses were gimmes! As EJ would've said: "I could have kicked it with me ferret!"
Plenty like to come to Bevo's defence with "yeah but finals in 4 out of 6 years" but y'all really wanna be hanging your hats on the last two years as part of your rebuttal?
Because the evidence is starting to hint strongly he can orchestrate an audacious fairytale run but not a professional, consistent contender.
It's an understatement to say we need to lift but lets get the first goal early in the 4th
Our inability to ever have a defender deep on his own is amazing.
03-10-2020, 06:30 PM
Naughton and Wallis have four disposals between them at 3/4 time. Sums up our night.
It's actually a little embarrassing. They are playing for sheep stations, make them hurt and punish them physically. Tim just doesn't have that uncompromising competitiveness. There's so much more to the game than running around in space, especially in finals.
That was a free kick every day. Shit umpiring
Please. He got a kick
Yep, Schache would’ve given more than Naughton today. You dont play injured players in finals. Schache would have provided another option.
03-10-2020, 06:31 PM
Bruce in ruck and English forward. Has the horse bolted?
03-10-2020, 06:31 PM
Our inability to ever have a defender deep on his own is amazing.
I don’t know how in the world we have allowed the saints out the back. Seriously it’s the only way they know how to score and we’ve given it to them all night. I’m really disappointed in Bevo tonight.
03-10-2020, 06:32 PM
Macrae looks in slo mo
03-10-2020, 06:32 PM
You dont play injured players in finals. Schache would have provided another option.
Isn’t he injured?
03-10-2020, 06:35 PM
Achilles
03-10-2020, 06:35 PM
Are they the best team in the world to take a mark? Or is it us making them look like they are?
03-10-2020, 06:36 PM
Thats HTB. How many ops?
03-10-2020, 06:37 PM
Any chance Roarke might get near Coffield?
03-10-2020, 06:38 PM
Macrae looks like he’s kicking a bag of wheat every time.
03-10-2020, 06:38 PM
We must hate Roarke Smith. Literally kicking it to his direct opponent at every chance.
03-10-2020, 06:40 PM
Is geary on steroids or it’s just playing us ?
03-10-2020, 06:41 PM
Go backwards.
Needlessly over-handle it.
Panicked skied kick forwards that their interceptors swallow.
Repeat.
AstroNaught has come!
We are having a dip. Can’t fault the endeavour. Just been out smarted most of the night. Played dumb footy.
03-10-2020, 06:43 PM
I am a prisoner of hope ... and Richards just dashed it!
03-10-2020, 06:44 PM
English again.....
Do we honestly think this guy is our future ruck?
That goal out the back against the trend is the story of the night. It’s how we lost in the second round.
*!*!*!*!ing atrocious
Hmmm is that another over the back, from the goal square ?
thank you linesman, thank you balls boys
Sums up the night beautifully.
Timmy gets destroyed in the ruck, defenders caught out of position again and they kick a goal from the square.
*chef kiss*
03-10-2020, 06:45 PM
How often have we missed a very gettable one and they go straight down the other end for an easy one?
Ed can get in the bin... with a few others.
Sliced open oh so easily again.
Timmy gets destroyed in the ruck, defenders caught out of position again and they kick a goal from the square.
*chef kiss*
Yep, and just rolls off the tongue Comrade like it was expected.
The unps have not been kind to us
03-10-2020, 06:46 PM
How does Hunter kick that, but miss when it really matters?
03-10-2020, 06:46 PM
*chef kiss*
It's quite sad seeing him get repeatedly and consistently destroyed at stoppages by quality tap ruckman. Definition of insanity?
03-10-2020, 06:47 PM
Agree. You cannot teach aggression. I fear he will never be a number 1 ruckman. I am more confident with Bruce in the ruck.
I think the world has moved on from this. Why is being a girl a term of belittlement and abuse?
The unps have not been kind to us
Yet we lead the frees 12-7.
Yep ruck is a very big problem
03-10-2020, 06:48 PM
I love my football team, but geez they make me sad.
03-10-2020, 06:48 PM
English again.....
Do we honestly think this guy is our future ruck?
And again
03-10-2020, 06:50 PM
Libba you're a beautiful man
Libba!!!
Those misses from <20m certainly hurt right now.
03-10-2020, 06:51 PM
We have not given up
Yet we lead the frees 12-7.
Its how not how many.
Have to be impressed with that and the doors opens just a bit
03-10-2020, 06:54 PM
C'mon Woofers, bring them home
03-10-2020, 06:54 PM
My heart rate just hit 120 bpm on the couch.
03-10-2020, 06:58 PM
Got our just desserts.
We need to be ruthless in the off season
*!*!*!*! that!
*!*!*!*!ing shitful result.
03-10-2020, 06:59 PM
How important were Hunter and Smith's misses..
Had 3 misses within 20-30 meters dead in front.
How undisciplined was Bruce
Wow.
Who knew playing finals-calibre footy for one quarter out of four wouldn't quite get the job done?
Well because this is the game day thread and anything said is inadmissible, if we won't COACH the players that need coaching then we trade Lipinski, English, Johannisen and Dunkley.
And we put the acid on our vaunted midfield to actually lead.
03-10-2020, 07:00 PM
I would have loved another 3 or 4 minutes to see what happened
Yep -bad kicking is bad footy. Good the dogs kept trying. Almost stole it. Still think we need to do something about ruck issue.
Bruce may as well have stayed at the saints. He was better for them than us tonight.
03-10-2020, 07:01 PM
If we had a ruck who could even slightly curtail what they did we would have won.
I'm done on English. Make him a forward/ruck and trade in a ruck or get what we can for him and move on.
Was apt that a lazy free kick against Josh Bruce really sealed it.
03-10-2020, 07:02 PM
Didn't deserve it. Well fought out but too little too late. We need to shake this team up and get rid of some of the fragile egos in this team.
35-51 inside 50s and you lose
Bruce may as well have stayed at the saints. He was better for them than us tonight.
In all sincerity, how the actual f**k has he carved out an almost decade long career?
03-10-2020, 07:03 PM
If we had a ruck who could even slightly curtail what they did we would have won.
I'm done on English. Make him a forward/ruck and trade in a ruck or get what we can for him and move on.
I agree. I’m sick of it too.
I'm glad we pushed in the last quarter but we didn't grab our chances
He has been better for the opposition in most games this year
Four more shots. That miss from Bailey and Hunter in the third quarter cost you match. That’s it. Kick those and we win.
03-10-2020, 07:04 PM
Best trade last offseason for the Saints was Bruce
03-10-2020, 07:04 PM
In all sincerity, how the actual f**k has he carved out an almost decade long career? Surely we can negotiate a settlement for him
03-10-2020, 07:05 PM
It's not his fault. He is just not ready yet. Blame our idiotic list managers and match committee who are absolutely destroying him.
03-10-2020, 07:06 PM
The ruck contest wasn’t good. But don’t think it ultimately cost us. They took three big grabs to kick goals in the square basically. They also took intercept marks in our D50 all night too easy. Big marking was a massive difference.
We had four more shots. 16 more inside 50 entries.
03-10-2020, 07:08 PM
Well that's that. How disappointing. We did not deserve to win the game and the last quarter was a complete assault on my emotions. However, I must say that even though we got close I knew in my heart that after Baz's miss we were going to lose. I just knew it. The ladt quarter effort was never going to be enough and even if we had won it would not mask the fact that we were imposters in the eight. That is harsh, I know. It was a good effort to get there but we are a still a long way off the pace. We need to bring some players in and desperately need a goal kicking coach and another ruckman. I really did not expect that performance but I can't say Im shocked either.
03-10-2020, 07:08 PM
It's not his fault. He is just not ready yet. Blame our idiotic list managers and match committee who are absolutely destroying him.
Absolutely. He's still learning, and people expect him to be a matchwinner. Where was Bont? McCrae? Hunter? Libba?
03-10-2020, 07:09 PM
Predictable way to loose Bevo has alot to answer for.
I’ll say it again well done to Roarke Smith awesome effort
I agree. I’m sick of it too.
Hopefully this is a catalyst that makes Club question the approach taken to ruck. Play Trengove instead of Cordy and I reckon we would have won by a few goals. Break even at 3 or 4 of those late centre bounces where Tim lost clearance and we possibly steal it. What is purpose of killing the confidence of Tim? Also what happened to Bont tonight?
Ah well-JUH to get excited about....
Absolutely. He's still learning, and people expect him to be a matchwinner. Where was Bont? McCrae? Hunter? Libba?
I said the exact same thing at half time. Bailey Smith, also need to thrown in there for his poor first half
Proud of the boys to fight it out, not good enough but had a crack.
Go Dogs.
03-10-2020, 07:10 PM
Learning how to be physical? Learning how to put himself between the ball and his opponent?
I'm sorry but the excuses for Tim have run out. His game is critically flawed and if we keep pretending he'll 'get there' expect this result time and again.
03-10-2020, 07:11 PM
Ultimately the forward 50 entry's have been chaotic, random and haphazard all season, and that falls at the feet of the coaches
03-10-2020, 07:12 PM
Proud of the boys to fight it out, not good enough but had a crack.
Go Dogs.
Thanks Chef. I feel pretty gloomy myself but I appreciate the positivity.
03-10-2020, 07:12 PM
It’s possible I need to re-think my hobbies, given how much I wanted to enjoy finals footy, yet hated nearly every second of that game.
03-10-2020, 07:13 PM
The ruck contest wasn’t good. But don’t think it ultimately cost us. They took three big grabs to kick goals in the square basically. They also took intercept marks in our D50 all night too easy. Big marking was a massive difference.
We had four more shots. 16 more inside 50 entries.
A lot of the inside 50s were just bombs to no one in particular. We make it so hard for ourselves, though I'm not sure if we bomb because we have no faith in the forwards? I saw Naughton lead and be ignored a couple of times. The easy misses just kill you, and there was also JMac 1) not taking a shot when he should have and 2) missing everything when he had a shot.
I hope the close finish doesn't disguise the fact that we were outplayed for large chunks of the night. And the urgency we displayed in the last 10 minutes should have been there in the third quarter where the match was lost. Even in the first minutes of the last quarter we still looked flat.
Hindsight's a great thing, but the speed of Vander would have been handy.
Just showed the replay again. Tim English. Should have killed him in that tackle. Had him blindsided. Gently wraps him up and they coast for coast and kick a goal. Still can’t believe it. Should have legally put him out of the game and created a goal for us. Sums up where he is in regards to hardness. You need a killer instinct to win finals.
Learning how to be physical? Learning how to put himself between the ball and his opponent?
I'm sorry but the excuses for Tim have run out. His game is critically flawed and if we keep pretending he'll 'get there' expect this result time and again.
he's played less than 50 games and you want to cut him loose?
I guarantee it he'll have NO trouble getting a club. And then we can a talk about another one clocking 250 games plus that we let go?
03-10-2020, 07:14 PM
Last quarter also ... Richards should have kicked that goal. That’s why he is there. Macrae should have kicked that goal. So many y chances. Just didn’t take them.
03-10-2020, 07:14 PM
I'm sorry but the excuses for Tim have run out. His game is critically flawed and if we keep pretending he'll 'get there' expect this result time and again. The guy is still young and learning the craft. They don't come good until they reach 25 - 27. Wait until he puts on more muscle and give him 3 years and then see where he is at. What he is being asked to do is to big a role against the big boys. He is well ahead of Grundy/Gawn at the same time in their careers.
03-10-2020, 07:15 PM
It’s possible I need to re-think my hobbies, given how much I wanted to enjoy finals footy, yet hated nearly every second of that game.
Nailed it. At least after halftime.
03-10-2020, 07:15 PM
Yeah and that is fair but if he had an experienced bigger body around him so he could learn his craft properly I think we'd be in a much better position. Our coach doesn't rate the position so we've fed him to the wolves and now he is hit the plateau. He *!*!*!*!ed up in the off-season. It was Tim English or bust.
03-10-2020, 07:17 PM
He's just not going to make it as no 1 ruck. And if he cannot add serious aggression to his game he might not make it anywhere despite his obvious physical gifts. It's a mindset thing with Tim, and there is now a big enough sample size to question his absolute desire and competitiveness to want to win every contest he competes.
03-10-2020, 07:17 PM
Just showed the replay again. Tim English. Should have killed him in that tackle. Had him blindsided. Gently wraps him up and they coast for coast and kick a goal. Still can’t believe it. Should have legally put him out of the game and created a goal for us. Sums up where he is in regards to hardness. You need a killer instinct to win finals.
Should have been HTB. You don't need to flatten a player for that.
The play stopped and it seems Tim thought it was a mark. In that case crunch him to the ground and its 50.
03-10-2020, 07:18 PM
The guy is still young and learning the craft. They don't come good until they reach 25 - 27. Wait until he puts on more muscle and give him 3 years and then see where he is at. What he is being asked to do is to big a role against the big boys. He is well ahead of Grundy/Gawn at the same time in their careers.
He's never going to be Grundy though is he?
If we're not going to get him some support then trade him now while his value is good and get an actual ruckman if we're going to persist with one ruck and one part timer.
03-10-2020, 07:18 PM
he's played less than 50 games and you want to cut him loose?
I guarantee it he'll have NO trouble getting a club. And then we can a talk about another one clocking 250 games plus that we let go?
Of course he won't have trouble. He HAS ability, but anyone ignoring the absolute obvious is blindly putting faith into the kid. His lack of aggression is actually embarrassing, exemplified by a soft hug on Steele who didn't even know it was play on. Steele brushed him off to get the ball away and the Saints score.
No need to go into the amount of times he was pushed around by Marshall and Ryder in the ruck, which put our mids on the backfoot and gave the Saints the 'over the top' space they crave. Deny them the space over the back and this team is actually clueless but we played into their hands and it ultimately all started at the source with English.
As I said, we either get him support (I wish we had Ryder or equivalent) or turn him into a forward, but if we keep going down this path of having him as our number one ruck, our insanity knows no bounds.
03-10-2020, 07:19 PM
Ultimately the forward 50 entry's have been chaotic, random and haphazard all season, and that falls at the feet of the coaches
Absolutely agree with this post. How many clean entries to a lead up forward have seen us score goals? Not many.
Predictable way to loose Bevo has alot to answer for.
I’ll say it again well done to Roarke Smith awesome effort
What does Bevo have to answer for? Yes the responsibility rests with him but errors and turnovers cost us. We will continue to develop into a very good side in the next few years. There is a lot of upside. Problem right now is that we rely on too few and when they don’t show up it exposes our weaknesses
Tim English’ new nickname: Huggies.
03-10-2020, 07:22 PM
He's never going to be Grundy though is he?
If we're not going to get him some support then trade him now while his value is good and get an actual ruckman if we're going to persist with one ruck and one part timer.
He doesn’t have to be Grundy like. English is not our problem. I agree he needs help but we also need players that can run and carry with pace. St Kilda exposed us in this area and their mature experienced players really showed us up.
03-10-2020, 07:23 PM
Tim English’ new nickname: Huggies.
I think English has shown enough that he does not have to be potted by our supporters
He doesn’t have to be Grundy like. English is not our problem. I agree he needs help but we also need players that can run and carry with pace. St Kilda exposed us in this area and their mature experienced players really showed us up.
English is our problem, though it's not his fault.
I agree with the rest of your post though.
He's just not going to make it as no 1 ruck. And if he cannot add serious aggression to his game he might not make it anywhere despite his obvious physical gifts. It's a mindset thing with Tim, and there is now a big enough sample size to question his absolute desire and competitiveness to want to win every contest he competes.
Yep and every single half decent opposition ruckman knows it.
03-10-2020, 07:24 PM
If we were going to lose it was exactly as it played out. Dominate field position and inside 50m entries but cough easy goals on the counter. We actually lost the game against the Crows in 2015 the same way.
03-10-2020, 07:24 PM
We didn't lose the game because of Tim English not sticking a tackle or lacking agression.
We lost it because Hunter missed. Smith missed. Richards missed. Wallis missed. I missed Mcrae opportunity so dunno about that. Five goals.
03-10-2020, 07:30 PM
We didn't lose the game because of Tim English not sticking a tackle or lacking agression.
We lost it because Hunter missed. Smith missed. Richards missed. Wallis missed. I missed Mcrae opportunity so dunno about that. Five goals.
Simplistic argument I reckon. Saints missed some sitters early in the game.
The centre clearance numbers were crucial in this game. St Kilda got so many clean clearances into a dangerous and open forward line. We got our share of clearances around the ground but it was dirty ball and more often than not into a crowded forward line.
Ryder was clear BOG and Marshall was dangerous as well. The ruck situation was absolutely critical to this result IMO.
03-10-2020, 07:30 PM
Since I’m a glutton for punishment, I’ve watched that Duryea kick back about 10
times...looks like Bruce spoils Crozier, Crozier stiff not to get a high free, and not sure Bruce’s tackle was that high.
Gah - so many missed opportunities. Few lessons out there I hope seep in over the summer.
03-10-2020, 07:34 PM
Since I’m a glutton for punishment, I’ve watched that Duryea kick back about 10
times...looks like Bruce spoils Crozier, Crozier stiff not to get a high free, and not sure Bruce’s tackle was that high.
Gah - so many missed opportunities. Few lessons out there I hope seep in over the summer.
They looked gutted leaving the ground. This should hurt them and we need to learn. Too many of our big guns went missing when needed. Yes there were flashes but to few and far between. We let them control the game and we end up playing catch up. Not good enough
03-10-2020, 07:34 PM
Tim will be ok. He will have support from Jamarra next season.
I think we should have played Sweet all year. With Covid he wasn't going to get the opportunity to get AFL ready so do it in the seniors.
The guy has played SANAFL grand final so he could have been support Tim and work on what ever he needs to work on in game.
If he's too much like Willow then delist him.
03-10-2020, 07:37 PM
The centre clearance numbers were crucial in this game. St Kilda got so many clean clearances into a dangerous and open forward line. We got our share of clearances around the ground but it was dirty ball and more often than not into a crowded forward line.
Ryder was clear BOG and Marshall was dangerous as well. The ruck situation was absolutely critical to this result IMO.
It doesn't matter what St Kilda did when we miss five easily gettable-at this level- kicks.
And yes our entry's are dirty, but what's new about that? That's how we play-keep getting the ball inside 50 and by sheer weight of opportunities you'll kick more goals than they do. But......when the chances are there, you gotta kick 'em. We didn't.
03-10-2020, 07:39 PM
And the lead up to it for two weeks was excruciating. The whole time I kept telling myself it didn’t matter. But why does it so much!? Apart from one season this club has mostly let me down and caused pain. Is it really worth it? No it isn’t. But I’ll be back for the ride again next season.
03-10-2020, 07:44 PM
I think the point though is, if you can't finish when it counts then it will hurt you. The deficit at half time should have been a poiint. The deficit at 3/4 time should have been no more than 14 points. We lost because we didn't take our opportunities end of. That's how you win a close game, by taking the chances and half chances that are offered.
03-10-2020, 07:44 PM
It doesn't matter what St Kilda did when we miss five easily gettable-at this level- kicks.
And yes our entry's are dirty, but what's new about that? That's how we play-keep getting the ball inside 50 and by sheer weight of opportunities you'll kick more goals than they do. But......when the chances are there, you gotta kick 'em. We didn't.
We missed them late and St Kilda missed them early. Goal kicking shits me but we shouldn't have gotten ourselves nearly 5 goals down and with too much to do in 25 minutes.
03-10-2020, 07:46 PM
We got a look at Ryder and Marshall killing English in round 2 and combatted it with Dunkley as our first choice backup. We deserved that loss. I'm so angry.
03-10-2020, 07:46 PM
Ryder had 4 marks and 9 disposals. He won the hitouts but we smashed them in clearances and stoppages. This game was lost because we stuffed around inside 50 and missed easy goals.
03-10-2020, 07:47 PM
Bruce can tug the jumper all he likes but he never should play again. Double for Lipinski until he learns to tackle with something other than his forearms.
03-10-2020, 07:50 PM
Totally understand how you feel. It wasn’t enjoyable. The first qtr we looked in control for the first 10 mins but could only manage 7 points. The rest of the game, whilst we had our chances and realistically should have been 3 or 4 goals up, we really just played dumb football. Dumb football under 18s play. Even our more seasoned players are found wanting making poor choices. Loopy kicks into the forward line you know are just going to get intercepted. It is not like this is something new why we don’t try something different just baffles me.
Anyway I am going to take up meditation over the summer. At least this will hold me in good stead for future years watching us play.
03-10-2020, 07:53 PM
Ryder had 4 marks and 9 disposals. He won the hitouts but we smashed them in clearances and stoppages. This game was lost because we stuffed around inside 50 and missed easy goals.
Totally. Whilst it would be nice to win hit outs it certainly wasn’t the reason we lost.