View Full Version : 2021 Trade Target/s

Pages : 1 [2]

26-08-2021, 12:56 PM
Who hasn't been

Well the entire world except three footballers I think.

26-08-2021, 01:31 PM
Josh Kennedy has not been offered a new contract so far.

26-08-2021, 02:05 PM
Josh Kennedy has not been offered a new contract so far.

West coast? He would slot nicely in Bruce's absence for a year. He still knows where the goals are and would be the perfect teacher for JUH

26-08-2021, 02:22 PM
Sam Reid as a KPD?
He breaks down too much as a forward and was coming off a $600k contract IIRC

I don't mind this as a backup whilst Bruce is out. A bit of romance in a returning father-son too. It's a definite trend to have some mature talls as backup for injury.

https://i.postimg.cc/FK8xQ0NY/Bruce-Reid-1.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/1tFrR43J/Bruce-Reid-2.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/FzQgYmfm/Bruce-Reid-4.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

26-08-2021, 02:29 PM
West coast? He would slot nicely in Bruce's absence for a year. He still knows where the goals are and would be the perfect teacher for JUH

And he wouldn't be able to kick his regular 6+ goals against us.

26-08-2021, 02:34 PM
Battle was a previous Mia Fevola flame.
Ah cheers, thanks

26-08-2021, 03:12 PM
And he wouldn't be able to kick his regular 6+ goals against us.

Bringing back some bad memories there of being slaughtered. Hence I was so thrilled when we killed them in 2016 prelim. How sweet that was.

26-08-2021, 03:20 PM

Sydney?

26-08-2021, 03:32 PM
West Coast tall forward Kennedy

West Coast's Josh Kennedy is keen to play on but is yet to be offered a deal

https://www.afl.com.au/news/670602/the-arch-rival-circling-tigers-tall-st-kilda-swingman-testing-waters

26-08-2021, 03:42 PM
Would be happy to have Kennedy help out next year no probs. He's a tough bugger.

26-08-2021, 04:22 PM
Would be happy to have Kennedy help out next year no probs. He's a tough bugger.

We’ve done a lot worse, and given up more too. Bruce Insurance, if ever there was. If the salary is fair. Good experience for Marra, Darcy and probably Naughton too.

26-08-2021, 04:36 PM
Kennedy one of my non dog faves. Would love to have him in RWB. We’d need to play him judiciously but if his body is ok I’d definitely say yes.

26-08-2021, 04:38 PM
Watching Nic Nat almost drag WC over the line last weekend highlighted to me how important ruck can be. Gee he is good albeit prone to injury. Do you think he wants to play out his career as an eagle? I know he is from WA.

26-08-2021, 05:02 PM
I'd trade for JK just so I don't have to watch him destroy us again.

** He's still a gun.

26-08-2021, 05:14 PM
I'd trade for JK just so I don't have to watch him destroy us again.

** He's still a gun.

Unrestricted Free Agent.

26-08-2021, 05:31 PM
Would love Kennedy…great mark…great kick for goal…would still take a good defender, and would love to see him as a fwd coach moving forward if he wanted that.

Sign him up NOW

26-08-2021, 06:25 PM
Get JK and NicNatanui with pick trade/exchange + JJ . WE get 2 experience players in our prermiership window, and offload some salary cap pressure.

Power make it happen please!

JK be awesome to have his marking power and would teach our forward line heaps. Bruce would be one who would get better with him, amd Marra will really blossom.

Nic Natanui - his the Patty Ryder type trade we missed out on. Scary thought if he can be bought into our team and with our midfield. Coach Lewis young and Sweet , they are the future. I still don't understand why the club keeps these guys on the list if not for a specific role. They are tall enough 200+ cm ! English can spend more time forward and not get smashed in the ruck every week.

26-08-2021, 06:33 PM
We don't need a 34 year old FF.

Priority one is a ruckman, then Key Defender.

26-08-2021, 06:37 PM
I don't mind this as a backup whilst Bruce is out. A bit of romance in a returning father-son too. It's a definite trend to have some mature talls as backup for injury.

https://i.postimg.cc/FK8xQ0NY/Bruce-Reid-1.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/1tFrR43J/Bruce-Reid-2.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/FzQgYmfm/Bruce-Reid-4.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

So who backs up for Sam in the 15 weeks that he’s injured? I’ve always liked the skill set, just doesn’t get on the park enough

26-08-2021, 07:19 PM
We don't need a 34 year old FF.

Priority one is a ruckman, then Key Defender.

Agree with your second point about priorities. But a cheap option to kick goals and draw a good defender from double teaming Naughton is a ‘need’. One that is a Free Agent demands consideration at s minimum.

26-08-2021, 07:40 PM
Agree with your second point about priorities. But a cheap option to kick goals and draw a good defender from double teaming Naughton is a ‘need’. One that is a Free Agent demands consideration at s minimum.

Yeah Kennedy for a year would be a secondary last minute trade if West Coast choose to open up a list spot, save some coin and go through a refresh. They won't play deep finals next year but we might.

JK would need to be managed but he'll play a hell of a lot more than Martin did this year. He'll replace Bruce who won't be back until the second half of next year anyway.

26-08-2021, 09:18 PM
Get JK and NicNatanui with pick trade/exchange + JJ . WE get 2 experience players in our prermiership window, and offload some salary cap pressure.

Power make it happen please!

JK be awesome to have his marking power and would teach our forward line heaps. Bruce would be one who would get better with him, amd Marra will really blossom.

Nic Natanui - his the Patty Ryder type trade we missed out on. Scary thought if he can be bought into our team and with our midfield.

I would even offer up Smith as a sweetener we have plenty of midfielders but need a ruck and a mature forward could be a nice luxury

26-08-2021, 09:24 PM
I would even offer up Smith as a sweetener we have plenty of midfielders but need a ruck and a mature forward could be a nice luxury

I can only assume you mean Roarke.

26-08-2021, 09:27 PM

Either way, as JK is a UFA. The idea is therefore JJ & either Smith for NN who is 32 next year.

26-08-2021, 09:36 PM
JK is cooked … he has been absolutely brilliant for the Eagles, but it’s a hard no for me.

27-08-2021, 01:01 AM
Hard no on NicNat. Hard no on going all in on a ruckman that might be the best but we're one injury away from being in the same boat as what we are right now.

We need to go after TWO Rucks this year, not one, so we're not ''oh his injured back to English in the ruck and us losing in the middle again'' situations.

NicNat is almost cooked, not quiet there, but almost. Would not touch him anymore, we need someone about to hit their prime, not about to come out of it.

27-08-2021, 10:40 AM
Hard no on NicNat. Hard no on going all in on a ruckman that might be the best but we're one injury away from being in the same boat as what we are right now.

We need to go after TWO Rucks this year, not one, so we're not ''oh his injured back to English in the ruck and us losing in the middle again'' situations.

NicNat is almost cooked, not quiet there, but almost. Would not touch him anymore, we need someone about to hit their prime, not about to come out of it.

Rightly or wrongly AA again this year.

27-08-2021, 02:35 PM
Rightly or wrongly AA again this year.

Yeah, I'm hardly saying is not a good player, far from it. But for me, wrong side of 30 and way too many injuries in the last couple of years for my liking.

I'm really scared of us going all in on a player like him only to have us in the exact same situation we're in now with a great ruck out injured, hence why I'd rather us spend the capital we'd spend on one GOOD ruck on two maybe-not-so-good rucks, so we're never in this situation again.

28-08-2021, 01:54 AM
At the risk of being flamed, Phil Davies? Couldn't crack the Giants side for tomorrow.

28-08-2021, 10:20 AM
At the risk of being flamed, Phil Davies? Couldn't crack the Giants side for tomorrow.
Yes, but he wouldn't consider us
I think there are DFAs we can consider. A KPD would be my second priority after a ruck. Third priority would be tall forward cover which seems an easy problem to solve with DFAs

28-08-2021, 07:06 PM
There are 3 out of contract players at the Swans that might be worthy of consideration:

Callum Sinclair - Ruckman forward who might provide some support to our ruck group. Got pushed out of the rotation given Hickey's success.

Dylan Stephens - Quality youngster who didn't make the most of his chances this year. Probably looking for a return to SA and I doubt the Swans let him go without someone paying up

George Hewett - He's had a good season and I many suspect clubs would be very interested in him. He would give our midfield a different look.

29-08-2021, 03:57 PM
There are 3 out of contract players at the Swans that might be worthy of consideration:

Callum Sinclair - Ruckman forward who might provide some support to our ruck group. Got pushed out of the rotation given Hickey's success.

Dylan Stephens - Quality youngster who didn't make the most of his chances this year. Probably looking for a return to SA and I doubt the Swans let him go without someone paying up

George Hewett - He's had a good season and I many suspect clubs would be very interested in him. He would give our midfield a different look.

Sinclair absolutely fills our needs - physical and combative type, tries hard - would be a good addition for us

30-08-2021, 03:02 AM

Or Rohan. About as much chance as us letting Bailey Smth go, the kids a gun. He's 20, he's played 64 games and any talk of letting him go is bordering on insanity.

Anyway I don't mind the idea of getting Josh Kennedy as a tall forward fill in for next year. He'd also be a handy coach/mentor. It's going to be more common to have older players as player/coach/mentors with the soft cap reduction affecting how many line and specialist coaches clubs can have

31-08-2021, 09:16 AM
With Strachan showing a bit in his games at AFL level this year, is there a chance Adelaide decides to ramp up the rebuild and trade out ROB? You know I love my beefy big men, so I'd be all over that!

31-08-2021, 09:21 AM
Do we really need another tall forward when we have Naughton, JUH, Schache, English and Darcy coming in? I see it bought up a few times since Bruce went down, I think we can cover him up forward.

For me shopping list is still a ruck and KPD cover.

31-08-2021, 09:32 AM
Do we really need another tall forward when we have Naughton, JUH, Schache, English and Darcy coming in? I see it bought up a few times since Bruce went down, I think we can cover him up forward.

I think we can make a forward line with Naughton, Marra and English as the pillars work next year but it requires getting in a #1 ruck that can comfortably handle 80% ruck time.

31-08-2021, 10:00 AM

JUH may be in and out, and Darcy is a beanpole who many project as a CHB anyway (which is where he first burst onto the scene this year in his early games for Oakleigh).
The KPF cover is basically a one-year option to cover the loss of Josh Bruce. Tom Lynch/Josh Jenkins would be DFAs on low salary to provide that mature body.

A first ruck is definitely the no 1 priority. There may be some potential DFA KPD options to consider as well for support in that part of the ground.

31-08-2021, 10:23 AM
I am once again asking that we get Peter Ladhams. I’ve come into thinking that English working in tandem with someone who can be a danger up forward as well could be potentially devastating, as opposed to just getting someone in to let English be more effective.

31-08-2021, 10:53 AM
I am once again asking that we get Peter Ladhams. I’ve come into thinking that English working in tandem with someone who can be a danger up forward as well could be potentially devastating, as opposed to just getting someone in to let English be more effective.

Agree but surely no way Port let him go.

31-08-2021, 10:57 AM
Agree but surely no way Port let him go.

It just keeps coming up though. Apparently he's a dickhead but honestly that's kinda sick and maybe something we need?

31-08-2021, 10:59 AM
It just keeps coming up though. Apparently he's a dickhead but honestly that's kinda sick and maybe something we need?

He is contracted to end of 2022, so we would have to give up something to get him.

31-08-2021, 11:01 AM
With Strachan showing a bit in his games at AFL level this year, is there a chance Adelaide decides to ramp up the rebuild and trade out ROB? You know I love my beefy big men, so I'd be all over that!

No chance they give up O'Brien. He won their best and fairest last year, is a club leader and has a sick new phone.

Strachan on the other hand appears to be a ready to go Victorian ruck with no spot available to him there.....

31-08-2021, 11:20 AM
No chance they give up O'Brien. He won their best and fairest last year, is a club leader and has a sick new phone.

Strachan on the other hand appears to be a ready to go Victorian ruck with no spot available to him there.....

I looked at some Strachan footage this morning, reminds me of Tom Hickey.

Got a shocking head though, if he comes over to us can’t imagine we’ll be rolling him out to do any camera work.

31-08-2021, 11:21 AM

Stats and profile look good and his games were against North and Melbourne so good competition there

31-08-2021, 01:04 PM
I looked at some Strachan footage this morning, reminds me of Tom Hickey.

Got a shocking head though, if he comes over to us can’t imagine we’ll be rolling him out to do any camera work.
If you combind Strachan and Wood you'd get one normal looking person

31-08-2021, 01:59 PM
If we don't get a tall forward then in my view we need another avenue to goal to account for the absence of Bruce, who isn't JUH as he's unlikely to be consistent enough.

A genuine mid-sizer with good forward craft/ nous would suit us well.

31-08-2021, 02:02 PM
If we don't get a tall forward then in my view we need another avenue to goal to account for the absence of Bruce, who isn't JUH as he's unlikely to be consistent enough.

A genuine mid-sizer with good forward craft/ nous would suit us well.

Agreed - we aren't getting enough goals out of Hannan/Scott/JJ/McNeil/VDM. This was covered by Bruce this year for the most part, but it's a lot tougher week in/week out next year without him.

Lynch from Adelaide would seem a good cheap option, but I am not sure if he's a spent force. What other options are available?

I know it won't happen but I'd love Mihocek.

31-08-2021, 02:11 PM
Agreed - we aren't getting enough goals out of Hannan/Scott/JJ/McNeil/VDM. This was covered by Bruce this year for the most part, but it's a lot tougher week in/week out next year without him.

Lynch from Adelaide would seem a good cheap option, but I am not sure if he's a spent force. What other options are available?

What about Wingard? Seemed close with Clarko, and from what I hear about Mitchell he's unlikely to fit in well underneath him.

Mihocek would be great, and right in the perfect age bracket given he's going to be 29 at the start of the year. Offer him a two plus one, settle on three and a chance to be part of a finals team and he might go for it.

The issue is Collingwood, because they don't really have many avenues to goal without him.

31-08-2021, 02:19 PM
Wingard wants midfield time though doesn't he? I doubt we could offer him that.
I don't mind Tom Lynch on a 1 year deal and we did approach Josh Jenkins in the past who's likely to be a DFA as well.

I'm all-in on a first ruck though.

31-08-2021, 02:57 PM
If we get a first ruck I'd imagine one of of JUH or Shaq should be able to fill in the third tall spot. Maybe even the likes of Bedendo for a taste depending on how he's going.

31-08-2021, 03:50 PM
Ruck is def the primary issue. Replacing Bruce, well I reckon we can manage a pretty damaging forward line next season even with him on the sidelines.

31-08-2021, 04:49 PM

I’m a Mihocek fan but didn’t he just sign on for more years last year? I reckon Pies will not let him go. I wouldn’t. Said it elsewhere I think he’s like a forward equivalent of Morris; gritty, determined, good pressure, not overly tall & plays above his height.

31-08-2021, 04:54 PM
I’m a Mihocek fan but didn’t he just sign on for more years last year? I reckon Pies will not let him go. I wouldn’t. Said it elsewhere I think he’s like a forward equivalent of Morris; gritty, determined, good pressure, not overly tall & plays above his height.
He's no world beater but he's exactly what you want if you're a midfielder carrying the ball. He just presents presents presents.

31-08-2021, 05:51 PM
I think Mihocek would be great with our mids. He’s a natural fwd. very much in the mold of Gunston and Breust.

31-08-2021, 07:57 PM
There's been talk of Gunston being available over the last few days, however he didn't play this year due to issues with his back. I'd have Lynch as my preference ahead of Gunston.

I don't think Mihocek is a realistic option.

31-08-2021, 08:39 PM
Just going through the tall Free Agents no signed yet, so still live FA’s, any interest?

Lynch (ADEL)
Casboult
Jake Kolo
Sam Day
Phil Davis
Chol
Tarrant
Sam Reid (SYD)
Kennedy (WCE)

31-08-2021, 08:43 PM
Sam Reid as an interim replacement for Bruce who actually shadows Bruce in the rehab group?

31-08-2021, 08:46 PM
Sam Reid as an interim replacement for Bruce who actually shadows Bruce in the rehab group?

I never said it was a great list. Just the list.

31-08-2021, 08:49 PM
I'd actually take the punt on him, providing he's delisted and we can pick him up as a mature age rookie or something.

31-08-2021, 08:55 PM
I'd actually take the punt on him, providing he's delisted and we can pick him up as a mature age rookie or something.

What’s the difference with the last spot? To be a rookie, he’d need to be drafted as such from the rookie draft. In theory we could put him on the list and between drafts relegate him to the RL under the new rules. But he gets paid the same and he could play from either list I’m not sure it adds much.

If you want him, you’d have to pay for him and give him a primary list spot I’d think.

31-08-2021, 09:21 PM
I don't think Mihocek is a realistic option.

Sam Power calls the new Pies list manager:

"Sam Power here, just checking that your $600k payable to Treloar over the next 2 seasons is all in order. [PAUSE]

Would you like to make that $300K?

Well, we have a third round pick, and you have an ageing forward Mihocek..."

31-08-2021, 09:34 PM
Sam Power calls the new Pies list manager:

"Sam Power here, just checking that your $600k payable to Treloar over the next 2 seasons is all in order. [PAUSE]

Would you like to make that $300K?

Well, we have a third round pick, and you have an ageing forward Mihocek..."

Start at $200k then settle on $300k.

31-08-2021, 10:14 PM

Whatever is 'normal looking' anyway?

01-09-2021, 11:50 AM

https://i.postimg.cc/tZNq7pdN/Kieran-Strachan.png (https://postimg.cc/tZNq7pdN) https://i.postimg.cc/XpzVr25m/Easton-Wood.png (https://postimg.cc/XpzVr25m)

https://i.postimg.cc/PqJJdDD0/Easton-Wood-png-Kieran-Strachan-png.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

01-09-2021, 01:12 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/tZNq7pdN/Kieran-Strachan.png (https://postimg.cc/tZNq7pdN) https://i.postimg.cc/XpzVr25m/Easton-Wood.png (https://postimg.cc/XpzVr25m)

https://i.postimg.cc/PqJJdDD0/Easton-Wood-png-Kieran-Strachan-png.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

How very dare you.

01-09-2021, 01:36 PM
How very dare you.

https://media3.giphy.com/media/U1aN4HTfJ2SmgB2BBK/200.gif

01-09-2021, 01:39 PM

Stupid sexy Strachan-Wood?

01-09-2021, 01:47 PM

Gards' long lost brother

LostDog
01-09-2021, 04:16 PM
I think we see Khumis start coming in next year in our back line

01-09-2021, 07:56 PM
I think we see Khumis start coming in next year in our back line

I'm surprised that he only had the one appearance this year to be honest. Thought he did pretty well the one game he played.

01-09-2021, 08:22 PM
I'm surprised that he only had the one appearance this year to be honest. Thought he did pretty well the one game he played.

He had 4 goals kicked on him in 20 minutes by a guy who isn’t in the AFL anymore.

I was pretty in on Buku and now I’m not so sure. I would’ve gone the other way but whatever.

01-09-2021, 08:33 PM
He had 4 goals kicked on him in 20 minutes by a guy who isn’t in the AFL anymore.

I was pretty in on Buku and now I’m not so sure. I would’ve gone the other way but whatever.

He also struggled to see out the game, either through fitness or through the coach not wanting to rely on him to get it done.

01-09-2021, 09:42 PM

Another who has suffered from lack of footy this year and last year with C-19.

01-09-2021, 09:43 PM
He also struggled to see out the game, either through fitness or through the coach not wanting to rely on him to get it done.

Other than that and the 4 goals kicked on him in 20 minutes, he did pretty well?

01-09-2021, 09:45 PM
Another who has suffered from lack of footy this year and last year with C-19.

Yep. My count is 10 games over two years in official games. Can’t be great for his development. Hopefully a fully year (only as a Cat B) at VFL/AFL level next year does him wonders.

01-09-2021, 09:47 PM
Other than that and the 4 goals kicked on him in 20 minutes, he did pretty well?

Well, he had his best game for the year.

Seriously, he was a bit rough around the edges and lost, but no more than most other debutants. His tank will be the biggest decider if he can play. We need our defenders to be able to run and spend a lot of time on ground to help our rotations, the coach seems to favour players who can do that.

01-09-2021, 11:41 PM

What else has Buka done for us?

The aqueduct?

01-09-2021, 11:44 PM

The match committee usually have debutants a couple of games though but that practice wasn't always adhered to this year. Like BT says it's probably something to do with the lack of footy non AFL players have had over the last 2 years.

02-09-2021, 10:00 AM
How very dare you.

Now do Strachan and Naughton

02-09-2021, 11:15 AM
Not sure why we are discussing Khamis in this thread?

Back on subject, I recall someone mentioning we had an interest in a KPD from the Giants, Jake Stein:

GREATER Western Sydney defender Jake Stein has been holding former captain Phil Davis out of the team in recent weeks but is still not sure whether his late-season form will be enough to earn him a new deal.

The 27-year-old has played in the Giants' past four matches including their thrilling elimination final win as he enjoys his best run yet in the team, but is out of contract at the end of this season.

Stein represented Australia in the decathlon at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow before joining the Giants at the end of 2016 as a category B rookie.

The key defender is originally from Penrith in western Sydney and has played five matches this season after five games in 2019, when he debuted.

"I've just been focusing on playing footy. That stuff will sort itself out, the off-season is pretty long," Stein told AFL.com.au this week.

"I'm not too bothered but my family is from Sydney, my girlfriend is in Sydney and I love Sydney so hopefully the Giants have got a spot for me."

Link (https://www.afl.com.au/news/673366/cerra-meets-with-clubs-young-tiger-weighs-offer-eagle-staying-put)

Sounds like he is happy in Sydney but a bigger, longer deal could surely tempt him if we are keen? Could be the next Alex Keath as a mature latecomer to the game.

02-09-2021, 11:35 AM

Back on subject, I recall someone mentioning we had an interest in a KPD from the Giants, Jake Stein:

Link (https://www.afl.com.au/news/673366/cerra-meets-with-clubs-young-tiger-weighs-offer-eagle-staying-put)

Sounds like he is happy in Sydney but a bigger, longer deal could surely tempt him if we are keen? Could be the next Alex Keath as a mature latecomer to the game.

I thought he was really solid vs the Swans, especially in the first half. I'm surprised he's listed at 195 I thought he was very adept at ground level and made good decisions quickly.

02-09-2021, 11:40 AM

The interest was apparently taken from a conversation on Facebook.

02-09-2021, 12:38 PM
Stein was brilliant against the Swans but that's his best career game almost 6x over. Every other time I've seen him play I've been far from impressed. I wouldn't want to give up much.

02-09-2021, 02:17 PM
Left-field option - do we just stamp Ryan Gardner as our primary CHB option, and look for a tallish mobile third?
Jarrad Brander is 195cm but plays more of a running role and is OOC for next year. Originally a Vic.

02-09-2021, 02:23 PM
Left-field option - do we just stamp Ryan Gardner as our primary CHB option, and look for a tallish mobile third?
Jarrad Brander is 195cm but plays more of a running role and is OOC for next year. Originally a Vic.

We're in desperate need of someone who is an 'intercept first' type in D50 to replace Wood next year. I don't mind Gardner and Keath as stoppers, but our inability to win it back in the air hurt us.

02-09-2021, 02:28 PM
We're in desperate need of someone who is an 'intercept first' type in D50 to replace Wood next year. I don't mind Gardner and Keath as stoppers, but our inability to win it back in the air hurt us.

You forget your Schache to defence roots quickly. :D

02-09-2021, 02:57 PM
You forget your Schache to defence roots quickly. :D

Never! But I fear Bevo will look at that Peter Wright game and be reluctant to give Shaq another go back there.

A backline of:

Schache Keath Duryea
Williams Gardner Dale

along with Daniel and Richards rotating through looks good to me.

02-09-2021, 03:08 PM
Never! But I fear Bevo will look at that Peter Wright game and be reluctant to give Shaq another go back there.

A backline of:

Schache (c) Keath Duryea
Williams Gardner Dale

along with Daniel and Richards rotating through looks good to me.

I really like it too. Three very different KPD’s. Leaves Cordy & Crozier as experienced depth only, plus some kids who have lost much time is Butler & Khamis. Schache’s intercept skills, good foot skills, endurance, ability to go forward and extra height surely gets Bevo to send him to Dale Morris for summer. Keath was given crap midfield defence the next week and couldn’t stop things either.

Our mids are awesome.

Need a good ruck or two, support for Naughton at least next year and another natural small forward (Jones from WCE still not re-signed). If you believe in Josh, we might not need to spend a lot of capital.

02-09-2021, 03:26 PM

Hard to tell as Schache was injured for the next game. He was sub first game back and in last week, so Bevo obviously rates him a bit.

As stubborn as Bevo is during the season (as stubborn as it gets), I think he re-sets a bit during the pre-season and becomes open to new things. Then goes back into being stubborn AF around round 3-4.

02-09-2021, 05:55 PM

Keath was very close to the best intercept player in the comp at Adelaide if we could secure a solid bookend to replace him.

03-09-2021, 07:11 AM
Keath was very close to the best intercept player in the comp at Adelaide if we could secure a solid bookend to replace him.

Agree, I’d prefer to play him as a Jake lever type and bring in a Steven may type. Not sure who and Keath has been awesome this year.

03-09-2021, 09:09 AM
Agree, I’d prefer to play him as a Jake lever type and bring in a Steven may type. Not sure who and Keath has been awesome this year.

I think Keath is just good wherever he plays so I'm not that adverse to seeing him assigned a new role. I think it will be easier to find a big, solid lockdown full back than what it would be to find an interceptor as good as Keath.

04-09-2021, 08:00 PM
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/09/04/swans-struggling-to-overcome-massive-salary-cup-hurdle-for-2022

Anyone at the Swans you like?

04-09-2021, 08:03 PM
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/09/04/swans-struggling-to-overcome-massive-salary-cup-hurdle-for-2022

Seriously I know from most there will be ...deride deride in the words of George Costanza, but seriously Callum Sinclair would be the even steven ruck we need.
Turns up, crashes in, competes on the ground, does the TG (turnover game) ... It's a NO BRAINER!

04-09-2021, 08:05 PM

Would mind another small/mid sized natural forward.

This was going to happen when the biggest years of Buddy’s salary started happening sequentially.

04-09-2021, 08:42 PM

I posted 3 names last week. They would be willing to deal

06-09-2021, 03:03 PM
So SEN prints an article a day or to ago talking about us targetting a KPD, and it appears to be only the second priority. The vague info I'm getting is "ruck won't be an issue next year".
No idea who we're taregtting but we aren't looking at anyone who needs to develop and there's aren't too many 'gettable' rucks are there?

06-09-2021, 03:16 PM
My money is on Mason Cox!

06-09-2021, 03:24 PM
My money is on Mason Cox!
The case against is the indicate from power we'd be 'more agrressive' at teh trade table and Cox would cost about as much as Collingwood paid for Roughead.

My left-field option is Nankervis. Would cost overs by Richmond look set to hold onto Doldo & CCJ who are an ideal pairing. We can pay overs and get late picks back without hurting our actual draft posiiton (w're taking Darcy anyway).

Pipe dream, but we do look set to do something extraordinary and as far as football adminsitrators go I have about as much faith in Sam Power as I did in Peter Gordon.

06-09-2021, 03:26 PM
The case against is the indicate from power we'd be 'more agrressive' at teh trade table and Cox would cost about as much as Collingwood paid for Roughead.

My left-field option is Nankervis. Would cost overs by Richmond look set to hold onto Doldo & CCJ who are an ideal pairing. We can pay overs and get late picks back without hurting our actual draft posiiton (w're taking Darcy anyway).

Pipe dream, but we do look set to do something extraordinary and as far as football adminsitrators go I have about as much faith in Sam Power as I did in Peter Gordon.

Well I hope your right.

I posted a few months back that Nankervis would be the ideal fit for us. If it costs overs this is the time to do it with a list that is seriously challenging.

06-09-2021, 03:29 PM
So SEN prints an article a day or to ago talking about us targetting a KPD, and it appears to be only the second priority. The vague info I'm getting is "ruck won't be an issue next year".
No idea who we're taregtting but we aren't looking at anyone who needs to develop and there's aren't too many 'gettable' rucks are there?

Ooooh, let me guess, Nic Bruton is finally ready for AFL football and making a comeback at age 40 something?? :)