View Full Version : 2021 Jumper Numbers

17-11-2020, 11:01 PM
Open: 1, 8, 26, 28, 29, 30, 36, 40 (Powerball 45)

Possible: 15, 24, 25, 32, 37

Mine:

JUH - 1 (he’s number 1)
Treloar - 8 (7 at Collingwood)
Martin - 26
Hannan - 28
Recruits - left overs (anyone re-drafted keeps their number)

17-11-2020, 11:32 PM
Love to see JUH in 51.

17-11-2020, 11:52 PM
#1 has some big shoes to fill. Such Bulldog luminaries as Suckers, Faz, Winmar, Willsy and Loaf. Didn't Shannon Rusca also have #1, even though he never played a senior game?

18-11-2020, 12:04 AM
#1 has some big shoes to fill. Such Bulldog luminaries as Suckers, Faz, Winmar, Willsy and Loaf. Didn't Shannon Rusca also have #1, even though he never played a senior game?

Jarrad Grant

18-11-2020, 12:06 AM
Jarrad Grant
How could I forget old microphone head. Did the number proud

18-11-2020, 08:39 AM
Andrew Purser was a decent number 1.

https://i.ibb.co/2YCzrpb/2549-C472-4-E46-4-E1-E-A89-A-DD60-C17-F61-E0.jpg (https://ibb.co/0V60Lzw)

18-11-2020, 10:06 AM
Retire the #1. No one ever looks good or comfortable in it.

18-11-2020, 10:07 AM
Jarrad Grant

Except the obvious of course.

18-11-2020, 10:08 AM
Could see JUH in the #37 too.

18-11-2020, 10:08 AM
Vanders to 1 or 8, Marra to 23.

18-11-2020, 11:41 AM
Vanders to 1 or 8, Marra to 23.

Yep - beat me to it. Think 'marra will try and get 23.

18-11-2020, 12:18 PM

Jarrad Grant

Ijlia Grgic. Poor old Monster went from 28 to 1 and his playing ability halved. We experimented and the curse of the Footscray #1 well and truly got him.

I'd be terrified if we gave Marra the #1.

https://i.ibb.co/2YCzrpb/2549-C472-4-E46-4-E1-E-A89-A-DD60-C17-F61-E0.jpg (https://ibb.co/0V60Lzw)

Great player who overcame the #1 curse at Footscray. Although he probably should have played for longer.

18-11-2020, 12:22 PM
Burn #1 and #19 in the middle of Whitten Oval.

18-11-2020, 01:54 PM
Found this list up to 2015:
Guernsey #1
Alan Hopkins (1925-1934) – 151 games, 205 goals
Hopkins was inducted into the Bulldogs Hall of Fame in 2010 after captaining the Club in 1929 and acting as coach/captain in 1930. He was awarded the Brownlow Medal in 1930 and was named in the Club’s Team of the Century.
Jim Thoms (1937-1946) – 120 games, 101 goals
John Kerr (1953-1958) – 81 games, 94 goals
Kerr was part of Footscray’s premiership side in 1954. Kerr was judged one of the best afield on the day, collecting 32 disposals – the most of any Footscray player.
Murray Zeuschner (1962-1967) – 64 games, 4 goals
Ken Greenwood (1967-1972) – 73 games, 7 goals
Ian Hampshire (1973-1980) – 111 games, 73 goals
Andrew Purser (1983-1987) – 112 games, 16 goals
Ilija Grgic (1993-1996) – 62 games, 92 goals
Farren Ray (2004-2008) – 75 games, 32 goals
Jarrad Grant (2009-2015) – 81 games, 83 goals

Best player in our first flag was #1... It's had a rough time since.

18-11-2020, 01:59 PM
Found this list up to 2015:
Guernsey #1
Alan Hopkins (1925-1934) – 151 games, 205 goals
Hopkins was inducted into the Bulldogs Hall of Fame in 2010 after captaining the Club in 1929 and acting as coach/captain in 1930. He was awarded the Brownlow Medal in 1930 and was named in the Club’s Team of the Century.
Jim Thoms (1937-1946) – 120 games, 101 goals
John Kerr (1953-1958) – 81 games, 94 goals
Kerr was part of Footscray’s premiership side in 1954. Kerr was judged one of the best afield on the day, collecting 32 disposals – the most of any Footscray player.
Murray Zeuschner (1962-1967) – 64 games, 4 goals
Ken Greenwood (1967-1972) – 73 games, 7 goals
Ian Hampshire (1973-1980) – 111 games, 73 goals
Andrew Purser (1983-1987) – 112 games, 16 goals
Ilija Grgic (1993-1996) – 62 games, 92 goals
Farren Ray (2004-2008) – 75 games, 32 goals
Jarrad Grant (2009-2015) – 81 games, 83 goals

Best player in our first flag was #1... It's had a rough time since.

That's from the Dogs website and they left out as mentioned above Minton-Connel, Winmar etc... think they forgot the late 90s.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/74542/by-the-numbers-guernseys

To keep this on topic, JUH has to go 23 :cool:
Vanders can break the curse of #1.

18-11-2020, 02:05 PM
Does anyone know why players used to change their numbers quite a bit through their career?

Alan Hopkins only wore #1 for 4 seasons, he wore a total of 5 different numbers over 10 years.

Alby Morrison only wore #1 for 1 season, again he wore 5 different numbers over 14 years.

18-11-2020, 03:40 PM
Unless there's some connection to it, I'd prefer to see Caleb get a single digit number. #35 just seems too big for him.
I'd give him #1. Hey he's now our reigning B&F winner.

18-11-2020, 09:02 PM
Does anyone know why players used to change their numbers quite a bit through their career?

Alan Hopkins only wore #1 for 4 seasons, he wore a total of 5 different numbers over 10 years.

Alby Morrison only wore #1 for 1 season, again he wore 5 different numbers over 14 years.

I'm assuming that the captain or the captain/coach was entitled to it if they wanted to wear it.

19-11-2020, 09:20 AM
Unless there's some connection to it, I'd prefer to see Caleb get a single digit number. #35 just seems too big for him.

Maybe because of Wheels having the same number and presenting it to Caleb is important to him.

19-11-2020, 09:02 PM
Maybe because of Wheels having the same number and presenting it to Caleb is important to him.

No 35 has been good at the Bulldogs in recent times.

Kretiuk wore it with distinction. One of our most under rated players EVER

20-11-2020, 12:44 PM
My prediction is;

1. Treloar
8. Vandemeer
23. Jamarra
26. Hannan
30. Martin

20-11-2020, 03:32 PM

Purser was the most perfect specimen of a footballer. He never had a hair out of place, never raised a sweat, never looked fatigued but always played to a high consistent level.

20-11-2020, 03:38 PM
Ijlia Grgic. Poor old Monster went from 28 to 1 and his playing ability halved. We experimented and the curse of the Footscray #1 well and truly got him.

I'd be terrified if we gave Marra the #1.

Great player who overcame the #1 curse at Footscray. Although he probably should have played for longer.

From memory, he decided to return to W.A. for business reasons. Had plenty of good football left in him.

20-11-2020, 03:43 PM

I don't think numbers who such a big deal in those days. For kids that had gone through the aftermath of WW1 and the depression, i imagine just having a mangy jumper would have been enough.
In future fox sports and SEN will probably broadcast live jumper presentations.

20-11-2020, 03:46 PM

I'd prefer he keep the #35.
We have a lot of legends with the low numbers. I'd like to see some created wearing the big numbers. Loved Libba snr in the number 39.

20-11-2020, 06:26 PM
1. Stefan Martin

8. Alex Keath

26. Mitch Hannan

28. Adam Treloar

51. Jamarra

20-11-2020, 11:38 PM
From memory, he decided to return to W.A. for business reasons. Had plenty of good football left in him.

He was/is an auditor from memory.

21-11-2020, 08:17 AM
He was/is an auditor from memory.

So he decided to live his working life without personality:rolleyes:

21-11-2020, 11:54 AM
So he decided to live his working life without personality:rolleyes:

Mate's brother got the auditor's job at the office he was already working in. He said the typical corridor conversation went from "hey, here comes John! Whatcha doing after work mate?" to " hang on, here comes the bloody auditor. I'll tell you in a minute"

21-11-2020, 01:47 PM
Wasn’t Andrew wills (the flying egg) number 1 as well?

15-12-2020, 05:54 PM
Official

1. Treloar
8. Martin
22. JUH
26. Bedendo
29. Hannan
30. McNeil

15-12-2020, 06:00 PM
Time to make 22 legendary.

15-12-2020, 06:03 PM

Already is with Ben Harrison :D:D

15-12-2020, 06:08 PM
2021 WESTERN BULLDOGS GUERSNEY NUMBERS

1. Adam Treloar
2. Lewis Young
3. Mitch Wallis
4. Marcus Bontempelli
5. Josh Dunkley
6. Bailey Smith
7. Lachie Hunter
8. Stefan Martin
9. Hayden Crozier
10. Easton Wood
11. Jack Macrae
12. Zaine Cordy
13. Josh Schache
14. Rhylee West
15. Taylor Duryea
16. Toby McLean
17. Josh Bruce
18. Louis Butler
19. Cody Weightman
20. Ed Richards
21. Tom Liberatore
22. Jamarra Ugle-Hagan
23. Laitham Vandermeer
24. Buku Khamis
25. Ben Cavarra
26. Dominic Bedendo
27. Pat Lipinski
29. Mitch Hannan
30. Lachlan McNeil
31. Bailey Dale
32. Will Hayes
33. Aaron Naughton
34. Bailey Williams
35. Caleb Daniel
37. Roarke Smith
38. Riley Garcia
39. Jason Johannisen
41. Jordon Sweet
42. Alex Keath
43. Ryan Gardner
44. Tim English
46. Lin Jong

15-12-2020, 06:16 PM
That list reminds me Dunkley no longer deserves the no 5.

15-12-2020, 06:20 PM
JUH has a locker next to Libba!

EJ Jnr may not end up the longest serving 22.

15-12-2020, 06:23 PM
JUH has a locker next to Libba!

EJ Jnr may not end up the longest serving 22.

Wally Donald played 205 games in 22

15-12-2020, 06:25 PM

To young to ever have seen him play but my old man said Wally Donald was a gun, 202 Games, 54 Premiership, Team of the Century, oh and one goal.

15-12-2020, 06:30 PM
Wally Donald polayed 205 games in 22

How did I forget a premiership legend?

Time for the Bulldogs Shop to stock up on lots of 2s.

15-12-2020, 06:38 PM
Well it’s pretty clear to me. Jamarra already has incredible pull within the club. He gets no 22 shortly after Lloyd announces his retirement. Not a coincidence :rolleyes:

15-12-2020, 06:45 PM
Let's hope Jamarra can do Peter Quill's number proud.

15-12-2020, 07:51 PM
Jamarra joining the great....

Peter Quill
Mark Cullen
Mitch Honeychurch
Ben Harrison

15-12-2020, 07:51 PM
To young to ever have seen him play but my old man said Wally Donald was a gun, 202 Games, 56 Premiership, Team of the Century, oh and one goal.

'54 Premiership. I opened the batting with Wally's son Mark for a few years at Footscray ANA. He was a good guy to bat with.

Wally also coached us three times when Charlie Sutton was unavailable (coaching/playing for Victoria) for one win and two losses.

15-12-2020, 08:01 PM

Peter Quill
Mark Cullen
Mitch Honeychurch
Ben Harrison

I was too focused on #19 but maybe we should burn #22 as well. Yikes.

15-12-2020, 08:15 PM
And how did I forget Dylan Addison. Played about 80 in the 22.

15-12-2020, 08:48 PM
And how did I forget Dylan Addison. Played about 80 in the 22.

DFA played 88 games for us. Didn't think it was that many.

15-12-2020, 10:51 PM
Some wag on FB suggested Treloar should wear 1.5 in deference to Collingwood's portion of his future salary

15-12-2020, 11:29 PM
Some wag on FB suggested Treloar should wear 1.5 in deference to Collingwood's portion of his future salary

Its the gift that keeps on giving.

16-12-2020, 01:29 AM
Its the gift that keeps on giving.

As soon as AT has one injury, you just know their fans will claim clairvoyancy and claim it was part of a wider injury management plan that Collingwood had. Book mark it.

Until then, let's have a money fight with Collingwood's money.

10-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Have we announced the design for our 2021 playing gear yet? Easton Wood has posted a picture on his instagram related to a different sponsorship but he bulldogs jumper he is wearing has red trim which is different no? It's an Asics sponsorship so should be the correct one.

Link here, (http://https://www.instagram.com/p/CLEFyqKBZTX/?igshid=136w5li30tghg) I can't post pictures on phone I think.

12-02-2021, 12:09 PM
Have we announced the design for our 2021 playing gear yet? Easton Wood has posted a picture on his instagram related to a different sponsorship but he bulldogs jumper he is wearing has red trim which is different no? It's an Asics sponsorship so should be the correct one.

Link here, (http://https://www.instagram.com/p/CLEFyqKBZTX/?igshid=136w5li30tghg) I can't post pictures on phone I think.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Et_At1KVgAEbZFv?format=jpg&name=medium

12-02-2021, 12:29 PM
I wonder what sponsor(s) are going on the back - bottom and now top?

2021 ASICS Bulldogs guernsey revealed (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/861260/2021-asics-bulldogs-guernsey-revealed)

https://i.postimg.cc/3NXkffhy/HERO-120211-Jumper21.png (https://postimages.org/)

Nostalgia meets the future in the design of the new Western Bulldogs’ 2021 men’s ASICS playing guernsey.

The striking new design, created by the Club’s long-time apparel partner ASICS Australia, will be exclusively worn by the AFL team this season.

The guernsey is reminiscent of the commemorative ‘Bob 300’ jumper from 2017, which was made to honour the triple century of games for Club champion Robert Murphy.

The 2021 guernsey features a red collar and red trims on the shoulders, as well as an updated logo for the Club’s major partner, Mission Foods.

The most striking change is the re-positioning of the traditional letters ‘FFC’, a tangible recognition of the Bulldogs’ former status and history as Footscray Football Club, from the back of the guernsey to the chest section on the front.

“The AFL approached clubs during the covid-ravaged 2020 season about a sponsor branding opportunity in the top section of the back of the guernsey, which meant relocating the FFC letters,” said Bulldogs’ Chief Commercial Officer, Nick Truelson.

“While we were grateful for the opportunity to create an extra revenue opportunity for the Club, we were determined to keep FFC on the guernsey in a prominent position, because we know how important our history is to our members and fans.

“We worked with ASICS and the AFL to move the letters to the front of the 2021 jumper, where they’ll sit proudly on the chest of the players, underneath the Mission logo.

“Unfortunately, apparel deadlines meant we weren’t able to produce a retail version of the guernsey with FFC on the front for 2021, however we believe our fans will be excited to purchase a jumper with an overall new look.”

The 2021 ASICS Bulldogs guernsey is available for pre-order now from the Bulldogs Shop. Click here to find out more.

The 2021 ASICS apparel has also now arrived, and will be available on in store on Monday, February 15, and online soon. Visit the Bulldogs Shop at VU Whitten Oval to get all of your Red, White and Blue gear.

12-02-2021, 01:40 PM
Jumper looks great. Red cuffs are glorious. Thicker bands preferred.

Also FFC on the front is foreshadowing a glorious return of the name to the national competition.

12-02-2021, 04:05 PM
Beautiful looking jumper. Red sets it off.

I rate this as one of our best, my only criticism is that I'd like the hoops to be a little higher up and a bit thicker.

Still, love this!

12-02-2021, 07:29 PM

I rate this as one of our best, my only criticism is that I'd like the hoops to be a little higher up and a bit thicker.

Still, love this!

Agree. I think the hoops need thickening and higher up towards the red arm rim

12-02-2021, 07:53 PM

Still, love this!

How much thicker do you want the red and white hoops? They are fairly thick.

12-02-2021, 08:16 PM
How much thicker do you want the red and white hoops? They are fairly thick.

1/3 more thicc

12-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Don't like the red. Kind of hate it TBH.

12-02-2021, 09:18 PM
Don't like the red. Kind of hate it TBH.

I'm kind of with you. Too much red. The 97/98 version with the white collar red trim wasn't bad.
But I'm ok with a change.

12-02-2021, 10:04 PM

Agree, the hoops are too low

15-02-2021, 09:46 PM
First game back I'm going to begin the chant:

"RAISE THE HOOPS"
"RAISE THE HOOPS" ....

16-02-2021, 01:04 PM
Love the red

16-02-2021, 01:59 PM
The "FFC" should be in solid red or white - or white with a red border/ red with a white border.

16-02-2021, 03:18 PM
http://australianfootball.com/uploads/default/source/2016/01/23b55.WhittenKick.jpg

16-02-2021, 04:49 PM
https://i.ibb.co/74pqfCg/FFC.png (https://ibb.co/PQWdLjT)

Agree, the hoops are too low

https://i.ibb.co/7R9QnsB/FFC-revised.jpg (https://ibb.co/D8qY90m)

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Using lockdown productively here ... Must say the inexplicable broken red on the collar strip is super annoying. Make it contiguous or just embrace the royal blue.

Regardless, I'll fight anyone who doesn't concede ours is comfortably the finest damn guernsey in the land.

17-02-2021, 08:36 AM
Might be out on my own here but the only change I would do replace the red on the collar with white.But excellent overall.

17-02-2021, 10:10 AM
Might be out on my own here but the only change I would do replace the red on the collar with white.But excellent overall.

Was big in the 90s.

https://i.postimg.cc/GpDbVmkD/Screenshot-20210217-090904-Google.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

17-02-2021, 10:27 AM
Was big in the 90s.

https://i.postimg.cc/GpDbVmkD/Screenshot-20210217-090904-Google.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Weren't we all?

17-02-2021, 11:49 AM
That's where the hoops should be. Right up under the arms. Looks so much more regal and 'manly' than having them wrap around the tummy.
http://australianfootball.com/uploads/default/source/2016/01/23b55.WhittenKick.jpg

17-02-2021, 12:43 PM
Regardless, I'll fight anyone who doesn't concede ours is comfortably the finest damn guernsey in the land.

Yep. Anybody who doesn't automatically think that our jumper is the best footy jumper in the world can meet me at the Yarraville cricket nets dispute resolution centre at 7pm most nights. I'll be wearing my old woolen tricolour.

17-02-2021, 01:46 PM
Yep. Anybody who doesn't automatically think that our jumper is the best footy jumper in the world can meet me at the Yarraville cricket nets dispute resolution centre at 7pm most nights. I'll be wearing my old woolen tricolour.

When I was 6 years old, my parents had some friends from Tassie and the women was a super faster knitter. She decided to knit me a jumper, but it ended up being white and red stripe underneath. :D I still wore it to games, but as a 6 year old I was still embarrassed.

17-02-2021, 03:14 PM

Peter Quill
Mark Cullen
Mitch Honeychurch
Ben Harrison

Add to that list Ron McGowan, maybe not one of the most skilled, but certainly one of the meanest scrappers I can remember in the Red, White and Blue.