View Full Version : 2021 Fixture
19-11-2020, 03:05 PM
A lot remains up in the air, but what should be on our wishlist for the 2021 fixture? How will it look?
Commercially at least, I think we want the Pies first up again. I think we desperately need a win to get our young group going, so in that regard, I wouldn't mind getting North Melbourne as an away game first up, followed by a Friday night home game against Collingwood.
I hope we pull Freo and Adelaide in the away games, for obvious reasons. WC and Port away can almost be marked down as an "L" but I think we will be ok against them at Etihad. Maybe even play Port down in Ballarat.
Latest fixture talk:
Eddie McGuire urges AFL to consider radical plan to combat COVID in 2021 season
Collingwood president Eddie McGuire believes the AFL should consider starting the 2021 season in mid-February in order to increase the chances of getting a season away in the face of any potential COVID-19 setbacks.
AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan said in September the league was aiming to return to its regular start window of late March in 2021, by which time he was hopeful some fans would be able to attend.
With a recent surge in COVID-19 cases in South Australia, McGuire said it was an indication the AFL should look to commence its 2021 season as soon as possible, which would then allow it to potentially complete even more games by year’s end.
“It’s why I’ve been pushing we should be starting the footy season in mid-Feb. I just think if we get them away quickly at the MCG, Marvel Stadium, kids are back at school, everyone’s desperate to watch a game of footy again,” he said on Triple M’s Hot Breakfast.
“Even then, you could have a break in the middle of the season, a three-week break for the Olympics, then if you’ve got the 17 games done you might come back and play another 10 games and get a 27, 28-game season.
“If the broadcasters are up for it then it could help mitigate the salary cap issues. Players tell me all the time they’d rather play more games and train less.
“Of course time is of the essence, if you’re going to do something like that it has got to happen now, the decision would have to be made in the next two-to-three weeks.”
McGuire is part of the AFL’s competition committee, which is set to meet on Wednesday to discuss a variety of issues.
19-11-2020, 09:28 PM
Well Eddie, why worry about pre-season at all.
Players return to training in January, surely they can be ready to play by Thursday 14th and we can ignore the cricket season and just get on with it.
20-11-2020, 01:42 AM
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/afl/footy-frenzy-on-the-cards-2021-fixture-may-be-delayed-until-february-20201119-p56g58.html
'Footy frenzy' on the cards, 2021 fixture may be delayed until February
The AFL fixture for next year is unlikely to be released until February, just weeks before play is to begin, and is further expected to only be revealed in monthly instalments as it was this year.
Club presidents and chief executives met with the AFL on Thursday for a wide-ranging briefing with the AFL telling them they were looking at a range of options, including not releasing the fixture until at least February and, when they do, only release four rounds at a time.
It is likely at that time they would also reveal which teams a club would play twice in the season, but little more detail beyond that.
The league said they remain attracted to the idea of squeezing in another 'footy frenzy', with games every day for 20 days, as happened this year as the league crammed matches into its reconfigured fixture because of the pandemic.
That proved popular with broadcasters and fans but it was also a unique situation with lockdown in Victoria leading to more people watching TV than might be the case in an ordinary year.
The AFL is planning for the season to fresume at a normal time and with 50 per cent crowds in Victoria next year while full capacity crowds are being planned for every other state. They do not expect a return to hubs.
The recent South Australian outbreak was a reminder of the fragility of the situation around the country and how the competition will have to remain flexible going into next year.
The AFL likes the flexibility the rolling fixture provided, enabling the league to schedule the best games in the best timeslots, and is exploring how that would be possible in a regular season with full crowds, corporate events and travel.
The AFL still expects the AFLW season to be nine weeks with a three weeks finals series.
AFL Players may be less open to a compressed fixture after the AFL's unilateral decision to reduce interchange rotations caught them by surprise on Wednesday.
Sources at clubs were also angry and bewildered that the decision to reduce interchange rotations from 90 to 75 per team per match had already been made before the competition committee met on Wednesday to discuss potential rule changes for the 2021 season.
The process, which saw the decision made before AFL-funded research relating to the impact of reducing interchanges had been tabled, upset players after they spent the season agreeing to quick shifts in the fixture and shorter breaks between games to ensure the season was completed during the coronavirus pandemic.
Patrick Dangerfield, who is president of the AFL Players' Association and on the competition committee, expressed his disquiet at the decision, particularly after such a taxing year, telling SEN on Thursday he was not a fan of reduction.
"We are just going to have to live with them as players," Dangerfield said.
However he wasn't the only person disappointed with the competition committee unaware of the controversial moves until they joined the meeting on Wednesday and were told the AFL Commission had approved the decisions.
Several members of the committee were concerned that the effect of reducing interchange rotations could not be properly assessed until the length of quarters and breaks between goals were confirmed.
The AFL is yet to decide on the length of quarters for next season although sources expect it to either return to 20-minute quarters plus time on or increase from 16 to 18 minute quarters from 2020 to 2021.
The interchange decision wasn't the only one affecting the AFL in 2021 with the league also changing the rules relating to what players standing on the mark can do after a free kick or mark is paid to an opponent and the location of the mark for kick ins.
The AFL also decided to trial a rule in next year's VFL and East Coast competition, which will see a minimum of three players from each team having to be stationed inside the 50-metre arcs (including one player from each team in the goalsquare) all all kick-ins and boundary throw-ins.
The radical shift will be monitored to see whether it should be introduced into the AFL in 2022.
The AFL is yet to determine a fixture for 2021 although they are discussing several options with clubs at the moment with uncertainty still surrounding the effect COVID-19 will have on the competition next season.
A compressed fixture would need player buy-in again in 2021 if the AFL wanted to repeat this season's football frenzy however sources said decisions made without consultation made gaining player approval more difficult.
Several players remain concerned about a heightened risk of injury and the desire of the AFL to increase fatigue to open up the game however AFL football operations boss Steve Hocking said player welfare was a consideration in only reducing the cap by 15 rotations when he spoke to the media after the decision.
Club sources also expressed concern that the potential for rule changes were not flagged before the trade period with the reduction in interchange changing the value of several players in the market.
The pandemic has made wide consultation on many issues difficult in 2020 but the process for these changes was in stark contrast to the exhaustive, evidence-driven process the AFL managed before nine rule changes were implemented ahead of the 2018 season in an effort to increase scoring.
The competitition committee was introduced in 2018 with members to sit on the panel for three years before being replaced with Essendon, Carlton, Fremantle, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs and St Kilda the clubs to not yet have had a representative on the committee.
10-12-2020, 03:00 PM
Full-time footy is back: 20-min quarters, AFL to reveal floating fixture (https://www.afl.com.au/news/528623/full-time-footy-is-back-20-min-quarters-afl-to-reveal-floating-fixture)
The AFL Commission has endorsed a return to 20-minute quarters and a partially floating fixture for 2021
FULL-TIME footy is back, with the AFL committing to 20-minute quarters in 2021.
And the floating fixture will return, with the League set to lock in the timeslots for only the first six rounds of next season.
After reducing quarter lengths to 16 minutes plus time-on this year due to the condensed nature of the season following the outbreak of COVID-19, the AFL Commission has ticked off a return to normal.
AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan had long flagged a return to 20-minute quarter lengths, something the League resisted to revert to for the 2020 AFL Finals Series.
The half-time break will consist of a 20-minute block with quarter-time and three-quarter time breaks to run six minutes.
There will be a 50-second gap following a goal to the resume of the centre restart, down from 60 seconds in 2020.
The 20-minutes plus time-on quarter lengths will also be consistent with the 2021 VFL and East Coast Second-Tier Competition.
By December, the AFL has committed to releasing a fixture that will be scheduled fully up until round six, which includes Anzac Day.
The rest of the season's match-ups will also be set, however rounds seven to 23 won't include the date, timeslots and choice of TV broadcaster.
Clubs have been informed the release of the rest of the season will be on a flexible basis in line with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic with hope to give clubs at least four weeks' notice before each fixture 'drop'.
It has been planned for the rest of the season to be released in blocks of four to six rounds.
10-12-2020, 03:07 PM
Lachie Hunter likes this.
10-12-2020, 06:35 PM
One of the joys of the off-season is hearing precious little from entitled dickheads like Dangerfield. Hasn't he got some waves to catch down at Moggy Creek and leave us all the fark alone until next year?
13-12-2020, 10:25 PM
Makes it hard to plan a trip from interstate when you’re not going to know if and when your team is playing
13-12-2020, 11:23 PM
Makes it hard to plan a trip from interstate when you’re not going to know if and when your team is playing
It’s a nightmare. I have airfare credit (from cancelled flights and through travel credit through Amex) to use and I’d like to use it to see a few games. If I don’t book it in soon I will forfeit them.
17-12-2020, 04:14 PM
AFL COMMUNITY SERIES FIXTURE 2021 (All times AEDT)
WEEK 1
Thursday February 18
Geelong Cats vs Essendon — GMHBA Stadium, 7.10pm
Friday February 19
West Coast Eagles vs St Kilda — Leederville Oval, 7.40pm
Saturday February 20
Collingwood vs Hawthorn — Morwell Recreation Reserve, 3.10pm
GWS Giants vs Sydney Swans — Blacktown International Sportspark, 6.10pm
Sunday February 21
Port Adelaide vs Carlton — Bennett Oval (Whyalla, SA), 5.10pm
WEEK 2
Friday February 26
Fremantle vs Melbourne — Fremantle Oval, 7.10pm
Saturday February 27
Richmond vs Western Bulldogs — Lavington Sports Ground (Albury, NSW), 3.10pm
Gold Coast Suns vs Brisbane Lions — Metricon Stadium, 7.40pm
Sunday February 28
North Melbourne vs Adelaide — North Hobart Oval, 2.10pm
WEEK 3
Wednesday March 3
Sydney Swans vs Collingwood — C.ex Coffs International Stadium, 7.10pm
Thursday March 4
St Kilda vs Geelong Cats — RSEA Park, 7.10pm
Friday March 5
GWS Giants vs Essendon — Manuka Oval, 7.40pm
Saturday March 6
Western Bulldogs vs Gold Coast Suns — Victoria University Whitten Oval, 1.40pm
Carlton vs Brisbane Lions — Ikon Park, 4.40pm
Hawthorn vs Port Adelaide — UTAS Stadium, 7.40pm
Sunday March 7
Adelaide Crows vs Richmond — Flinders University Stadium (Noarlunga), 1.10pm
Melbourne vs North Melbourne — Casey Fields, 4.10pm
West Coast Eagles vs Fremantle — David Grays Arena (Mandurah), 7.10pm
19-12-2020, 10:33 PM
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/subscribe/news/1/?sourceCode=HSWEB_WRE170_a_GGL&dest=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.heraldsun.com.au%2Fsport%2Fafl%2Fnews %2Fafl-fixture-2021-adam-treloarcollingwood-grudge-match-locked-in-as-full-round-1-schedule-confirmed%2Fnews-story%2F83c37d8887bb68c4068da40f8a2da511&memtype=anonymous&mode=premium
Can't get into the article but it looks will be playing the Pies in Round 1.
19-12-2020, 10:42 PM
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/subscribe/news/1/?sourceCode=HSWEB_WRE170_a_GGL&dest=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.heraldsun.com.au%2Fsport%2Fafl%2Fnews %2Fafl-fixture-2021-adam-treloarcollingwood-grudge-match-locked-in-as-full-round-1-schedule-confirmed%2Fnews-story%2F83c37d8887bb68c4068da40f8a2da511&memtype=anonymous&mode=premium
Can't get into the article but it looks will be playing the Pies in Round 1.
Adam Treloar’s much-anticipated grudge match with his former side Collingwood will showcase a bumper Round 1 next March as football and crowds return to Melbourne as part of the AFL’s COVID-19 fightback.
While the traditional Richmond-Carlton clash will kickstart the 2021 season at the MCG on March 18, much of the opening round attention will come the following night at the same venue with Treloar’s first game for the Western Bulldogs against the Magpies.
Treloar’s acrimonious split with Collingwood and his last-minute trade to the Bulldogs was one of the biggest shocks of the off-season.
The AFL is set to reveal the first six rounds of the 2021 season on Monday or Tuesday, but will remain flexible as it monitors the ever-changing nature of the pandemic’s impact on Australia.
But the Herald Sun can reveal the full round of matches in week one, where games will be played across four days and five states, with other highlights including:
● Richmond potentially unveiling two premiership flags – its 2019 and 2020 ones – on the opening night of the season against old rivals Carlton, who could also unveil its big trade acquisitions Zac Williams and Adam Saad.
● Jeremy Cameron facing the Adelaide Oval cauldron against the wooden spoon Crows in his first game for Geelong.
● Joe Daniher wearing the Brisbane Lions jumper for the first time at the Gabba against Sydney, the side he tried to join in the previous trade period but spurned this time around.
● David Noble kicking off his North Melbourne coaching career against flag fancies Port Adelaide, while Ben Rutten’s first official match as Essendon senior coach will come against the club’s bitter rival Hawthorn.
Treloar was shocked to learn the Magpies wanted to trade him as part of their salary cap squeeze post-season, despite the fact the explosive midfielder had five more seasons to run on a lucrative contract.
He had been desperate to stay at Collingwood, and made that fact clear to the club at the end of the season. Treloar’s partner, Kim Ravaillion, who will spend 10 months in Queensland next year as she looks to reignite her netball career, recently criticised the Magpies for their lack of support.
Treloar claimed Nathan Buckley told him some senior players wanted him out of the club, which the Magpies coach continues to deny.
The rift between Collingwood and Treloar was so messy that Magpies fans were furious when the 27-year-old was traded to the Western Bulldogs in the dying moments of the trade period.
He was one of four Collingwood players – along with Jaidyn Stephenson, Tom Phillips and Atu Bosenavulagi – who found new homes during the AFL’s exchange window.
Thursday, March 18
Richmond v Carlton, MCG, 7.25pm
Friday, March 19
Collingwood v Western Bulldogs, MCG, 7.50pm
Saturday, March 20
Melbourne v Fremantle, MCG, 1.45pm
Adelaide v Geelong, Adelaide Oval, 4.35pm
Essendon v Hawthorn, Marvel Stadium, 7.25pm
Brisbane Lions v Sydney, Gabba, 7.45pm
Sunday, March 21
North Melbourne v Port Adelaide, Marvel Stadium, 1.10pm
Greater Western Sydney v St Kilda, Giants Stadium, 3.20pm
West Coast v Gold Coast, Perth Stadium, 6.10pm
19-12-2020, 10:59 PM
I'm hoping for more daytime games (Sat or Sun Arvo) next year but the Fri and Sat night games are very good as well particularly more for the Free to air tv side of things.
19-12-2020, 11:53 PM
While the traditional Richmond-Carlton clash will kickstart the 2021 season at the MCG on March 18,
What rubbish by the HUN, traditional clash - made up tradition.
20-12-2020, 12:09 AM
Free win.
20-12-2020, 12:10 AM
What rubbish by the HUN, traditional clash - made up tradition.
Why would the HUN say anything else? It's been the season starter for a while now
20-12-2020, 02:28 AM
Why would the HUN say anything else? It's been the season starter for a while now
Yep been the opening game of the season for a number of years now. Could there be something with us and the Pies being the second game of the season very year. Have another premium slot along with Good Friday which is what we are crying out for.
20-12-2020, 09:41 AM
Depends how you define traditional. Tradition relates to many generations.
20-12-2020, 10:14 AM
Love it.
Hope we can keep playing Pies in R1 every year on the Friday Night and build it.
20-12-2020, 11:18 AM
Love it.
Hope we can keep playing Pies in R1 every year on the Friday Night and build it.
Yep, first Friday night game + Good Friday each year is a good platform to build on in regards to marquee matches.
21-12-2020, 02:23 PM
Round One
Thursday, Mar 18
Richmond v Carlton MCG (Seven) 7.25pm
Friday, Mar 19
Collingwood v Western Bulldogs MCG (Seven) 7.50pm
Saturday, Mar 20
Melbourne v Fremantle MCG (FOX) 1.45pm
Adelaide Crows v Geelong Cats Adelaide Oval (FOX) 4.05pm
Essendon v Hawthorn Marvel Stadium (Seven) 7.25pm
Brisbane Lions v Sydney Swans The Gabba (FOX) 6.45pm
Sunday, Mar 21
North Melbourne v Port Adelaide Marvel Stadium (FOX) 1.10pm
GWS Giants v St Kilda Giants Stadium (Seven) 3.20pm
West Coast Eagles v Gold Coast Suns Optus Stadium (FOX) 3.10pm
Round Two
Thursday, Mar 25
Carlton v Collingwood MCG (Seven) 7.20pm
Friday, Mar 26
Geelong Cats v Brisbane Lions GMHBA Stadium (Seven) 7.50pm
Saturday, Mar 27
Sydney Swans v Adelaide Crows SCG (FOX) 1.45pm
Port Adelaide v Essendon Adelaide Oval (FOX) 4.05pm
St Kilda v Melbourne Marvel Stadium (Seven) 7.25pm
Gold Coast Suns v North Melbourne Metricon Stadium (FOX) 7.10pm
Sunday, Mar 28
Hawthorn v Richmond MCG (FOX) 1.10pm
Western Bulldogs v West Coast Eagles Marvel Stadium (Seven) 3.20pm
Fremantle v GWS Giants Optus Stadium (FOX) 3.10pm
Round Three
Thursday, Apr 1
Brisbane Lions v Collingwood The Gabba (Seven) 6.40pm
Friday, Apr 2 (GOOD FRIDAY)
North Melbourne v Western Bulldogs Marvel Stadium (Seven) 4.20pm
Adelaide Crows v Gold Coast Suns Adelaide Oval (FOX) 7.20pm
Saturday, Apr 3
Richmond v Sydney Swans MCG (FOX) 1.45pm
Essendon v St Kilda Marvel Stadium (FOX) 4.35pm
West Coast Eagles v Port Adelaide Optus Stadium (Seven) 5.10pm
Sunday, Apr 4
Carlton v Fremantle Marvel Stadium (FOX) 3.20pm
GWS Giants v Melbourne Manuka Oval (FOX) 6.10pm
Monday, Apr 5
Geelong Cats v Hawthorn MCG (Seven) 3.20pm
Round Four
Thursday, Apr 8
Sydney Swans v Essendon SCG (Seven) 7.20pm
Friday, Apr 9
Port Adelaide v Richmond Adelaide Oval (Seven) 7.20pm
Saturday, Apr 10
Western Bulldogs v Brisbane Lions Mars Stadium (FOX) 1.45pm
St Kilda v West Coast Eagles Marvel Stadium (FOX) 4.35pm
Gold Coast Suns v Carlton Metricon Stadium (Seven) 7.25pm
Collingwood v GWS Giants MCG (FOX) 7.25pm
Sunday, Apr 11
North Melbourne v Adelaide Crows Marvel Stadium (FOX) 1.10pm
Melbourne v Geelong Cats MCG (Seven) 3.20pm
Fremantle v Hawthorn Optus Stadium (FOX) 2.40pm
Round Five
Thursday, Apr 15
St Kilda v Richmond Marvel Stadium (Seven) 7.20pm
Friday, Apr 16
West Coast Eagles v Collingwood Optus Stadium (Seven) 6.10pm
Saturday, Apr 17
Western Bulldogs v Gold Coast Suns Marvel Stadium (FOX) 1.45pm
Sydney Swans v GWS Giants SCG (FOX) 4.35pm
Carlton v Port Adelaide MCG (FOX) 7.25pm
Brisbane Lions v Essendon The Gabba (Seven) 7.25pm
Sunday, Apr 18
Adelaide Crows v Fremantle Adelaide Oval (FOX) 12.40pm
Hawthorn v Melbourne MCG (Seven) 3.20pm
Geelong Cats v North Melbourne GMHBA Stadium (FOX) 4.40pm
Round Six
Friday, Apr 23
GWS Giants v Western Bulldogs Manuka Oval (Seven) 7.50pm
Saturday, Apr 24
Geelong Cats v West Coast Eagles GMHBA Stadium (FOX) 1.45pm
Gold Coast Suns v Sydney Swans Metricon Stadium (FOX) 1.45pm
Carlton v Brisbane Lions Marvel Stadium (FOX) 4.35pm
Melbourne v Richmond MCG (Seven) 7.25pm
Fremantle v North Melbourne Optus Stadium (FOX) 6.10pm
Sunday, Apr 25
Hawthorn v Adelaide Crows University of Tasmania Stadium (FOX) 12.30pm
Collingwood v Essendon MCG (Seven) 3.20pm
Port Adelaide v St Kilda Adelaide Oval (FOX) 6.10pm
21-12-2020, 02:38 PM
Full fixture on AFL website. We play Eagles, Suns, North, Dees & Port twice.
Two trips to Perth.
One trip to Adelaide, Canberra, Metricon, Geelong (yuk), Tassie.
Two home games vs Lions & Crows at Ballarat.
3 games at MCG vs Pies, Tigers and Dees.
10 at Docklands.
A tougher fixture I think than last years.
21-12-2020, 02:57 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/Xvkqkg4x/2021-AFLFix-Release-1200x675-ART.png (https://postimages.org/)
21-12-2020, 06:25 PM
First glance says it's not easy but it could be worse.
21-12-2020, 06:28 PM
Full fixture on AFL website. We play Eagles, Suns, North, Dees & Port twice.
Two trips to Perth.
One trip to Adelaide, Canberra, Metricon, Geelong (yuk), Tassie.
Two home games vs Lions & Crows at Ballarat.
3 games at MCG vs Pies, Tigers and Dees.
10 at Docklands.
A tougher fixture I think than last years.
It's a pretty good fixture for us and a top four finish is a strong chance.
I hope 2021 is the 'No more excuses' year
21-12-2020, 07:05 PM
The two trips to Perth in four weeks probably could have been more reasonably scheduled, but its not horrible.
21-12-2020, 08:20 PM
I don't think we had excuses this year. Everyone was in the same boat with Hubs. We just weren't good enough.
21-12-2020, 08:23 PM
I wonder if we will be able to attend Victorian away games. Will wait and see. I’m all signed up as a Silver 9 home member for access to the home games + social club.
21-12-2020, 10:12 PM
First 3 home games against interstate clubs. Back to the schedule we're used to.
21-12-2020, 10:34 PM
First 3 home games against interstate clubs. Back to the schedule we're used to.
Yeah, how do we build up crowds
21-12-2020, 10:37 PM
I don't think we had excuses this year. Everyone was in the same boat with Hubs. We just weren't good enough.
I read plenty of them during the season
How do you think we are placed for 2021?
21-12-2020, 10:52 PM
I expect a top 4 finish, even with a few flaws, but every team has them and can patch them up.
In the end luck plays a part, but that is not an excuse.
21-12-2020, 10:53 PM
Home games for us against Vic sides
Round 8 v Carlton
Round 10 v St. Kilda
Round 11 v Melbourne
Round 16 v North Melbourne
Round 21 v Essendon
21-12-2020, 11:10 PM
Home games for us against Vic sides
Round 8 v Carlton
Round 10 v St. Kilda
Round 11 v Melbourne
Round 16 v North Melbourne
Round 21 v Essendon
Not getting one v Richmond or Collingwood hurts but it might not matter as much as usual given anticipated crowd restrictions
21-12-2020, 11:19 PM
Not getting one v Richmond or Collingwood hurts but it might not matter as much as usual given anticipated crowd restrictions
Yep would have good to have homes games against them but as you say TBB might not make much of a difference.
22-12-2020, 05:09 AM
Yeah, how do we build up crowds
With wins......seriously win our first 3 and they will come
22-12-2020, 08:31 AM
I'd prefer winning vs big crowds.
22-12-2020, 10:04 AM
Control the controllable's
Winning will bring us the crowds
22-12-2020, 02:00 PM
We've also proven that unlike Geelong etc we don't rely on crowds for money (of course since se still have a shit deal as far as I know) so may as well win what we can. Certainly prefer home games vs interstate teams over traveling.
22-12-2020, 05:28 PM
That late season game v Essendon is becoming a bit of a tradition too. Like how we always seemed to play Carlton in the last round back in the '70s.
22-12-2020, 08:53 PM
No Dogs games in Sydney. Disgraceful.
22-12-2020, 10:32 PM
No Dogs games in Sydney. Disgraceful.
I am also disappointed. Cannot believe the AFL would do this to us two years in a row.
22-12-2020, 11:10 PM
Terminator.
22-12-2020, 11:13 PM
We've also proven that unlike Geelong etc we don't rely on crowds for money (of course since se still have a shit deal as far as I know) so may as well win what we can. Certainly prefer home games vs interstate teams over traveling.
By far the biggest takeaway of the year, big clubs need big crowds to survive. They are completely dependent on favourable stadium deals, prime time slots, and mollycoddling from the AFL.
Sometimes a crisis actually shows the true fundamentals of an industry, unfortunately in the case of the AFL those fundamentals will be swept under the rug.
23-12-2020, 08:37 AM
I am also disappointed. Cannot believe the AFL would do this to us two years in a row.
Considering its a free win so am I.
Although they did give us 22 free wins so hard to complain really.
23-12-2020, 09:01 AM
By far the biggest takeaway of the year, big clubs need big crowds to survive. They are completely dependent on favourable stadium deals, prime time slots, and mollycoddling from the AFL.
Sometimes a crisis actually shows the true fundamentals of an industry, unfortunately in the case of the AFL those fundamentals will be swept under the rug.
Great points but I wonder what was behind Sydney's debacle? That was a massive loss
23-12-2020, 10:04 AM
The 20 matches of the 2021 season you won't want to miss
https://www.afl.com.au/news/529589/the-20-matches-of-the-2021-season-you-won-t-want-to-miss
Pretty simplistic ordinary list IMO. And who wants to watch Bombers games?
23-12-2020, 10:27 AM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/529589/the-20-matches-of-the-2021-season-you-won-t-want-to-miss
I don't think Bombers fans even want to watch Bombers games most weeks.
23-12-2020, 11:44 PM
Pretty easy going, when all you need to do is think about a couple of rivalries or tension and then look to players how have moved clubs.
A better list would be based on which teams matched up well on each other and which teams think they have claims over others......but that's AFEL meega.
23-12-2020, 11:49 PM
I expect a top 4 finish, even with a few flaws, but every team has them and can patch them up.
In the end luck plays a part, but that is not an excuse.
We were pretty unsettled this year. And we're also rebuilding, something that has been all but acknowledged by the club itself but not many others.
There's no excuses for lapsing in games or not even turning up to them from an intensity point of view for mine, but others would point to an unsettled and rebuilding list and suggest that's just what you get. However, these guys aren't club footballers, they're supposed to be professionals and if I could think of an area that needs to be managed as a priority it is how we get everyone's head into a game from the first bounce and how we make sure those heads stay in it until the final siren.
While I think we've improved our personnel overall we still have a big issue in defence unless we either put Naughton back (unlikely to happen) or we keep everyone on the park and the likes of Wood and Crozier can actually have good seasons in the air to take the pressure off Cordy/ Gardner/ Young (if he plays) and the angry PE Teacher.
Through the middle we seem OK, though need to control and defend the ground better. As for our forwards, we should be expecting better output from Naughton with continuity and Bruce with fitness. We have a couple of interesting propositions in English and Schache who could also play a part while our smaller and mid-sized players in the area actually have something to offer.
So while we need to understand that the likes of Port, Richmond, Geelong, St Kilda and Brisbane may stay the same or get better, there's also teams like Collingwood, West Coast and even GWS who have points to prove and will make it hard for us to progress. And that's not even taking into account a bolter or two as the season plays out.
I'm not putting a pass mark on things yet, aside from us being a lot more reliable week to week in our competitiveness and not jamming the forward 50m zone with over zealous pressing that exposes our defence.
24-12-2020, 12:15 AM
Great points but I wonder what was behind Sydney's debacle? That was a massive loss
Sydney is pretty much the only show in town that can unitise the operating costs of the SCG in winter, hence they would most likely get a pretty good return per head at the stadium. Couple that with solid/ favourable fixturing under normal circumstances then whatever they earned previously was always going to be shocked.
Here's the official line:
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-news-2020-sydney-swans-financial-result-61-million-loss/news-story/f309b548319384f190dc84615b8e7e16
Note the membership dropped by 10%-15%, and it's kind of given away a bit where the comment that 98% of members paid some sort of membership contribution to the club this year meaning there would have been substantial attrition from more premium packages to lower level packages across the base that stayed, and those who left but contributed in some way.
So what's the answer going forward? Here's something radical, but won't happen. Even out gate contributions to club revenue streams so no club is overly dependent on stadium deals that are unbalanced and hide other weaknesses in revenue strategy. Carefully apportion prime time slots to ensure exposure within those slots is evenly spread, taking into account fledgling/ inconsistent market conditions for some clubs (i.e. Brisbane, Sydney, GCS and GWS), and actually make clubs less dependent on footy socialism (which ironically we have evidence of) or equalisation that sees the more powerful clubs get the best gate and exposure conditions.
Or for the last point, don't do that. Just make sure that if the powerful clubs get the best exposure and the best conditions for revenue extraction from attendance per head that the money they do is pooled.
24-01-2021, 01:13 PM
AFL COMMUNITY SERIES FIXTURE 2021 (All times AEDT)
WEEK 1
Thursday February 18
Geelong Cats vs Essendon — GMHBA Stadium, 7.10pm
Friday February 19
West Coast Eagles vs St Kilda — Leederville Oval, 7.40pm
Saturday February 20
Collingwood vs Hawthorn — Morwell Recreation Reserve, 3.10pm
GWS Giants vs Sydney Swans — Blacktown International Sportspark, 6.10pm
Sunday February 21
Port Adelaide vs Carlton — Bennett Oval (Whyalla, SA), 5.10pm
WEEK 2
Friday February 26
Fremantle vs Melbourne — Fremantle Oval, 7.10pm
Saturday February 27
Richmond vs Western Bulldogs — Lavington Sports Ground (Albury, NSW), 3.10pm
Gold Coast Suns vs Brisbane Lions — Metricon Stadium, 7.40pm
Sunday February 28
North Melbourne vs Adelaide — North Hobart Oval, 2.10pm
WEEK 3
Wednesday March 3
Sydney Swans vs Collingwood — C.ex Coffs International Stadium, 7.10pm
Thursday March 4
St Kilda vs Geelong Cats — RSEA Park, 7.10pm
Friday March 5
GWS Giants vs Essendon — Manuka Oval, 7.40pm
Saturday March 6
Western Bulldogs vs Gold Coast Suns — Victoria University Whitten Oval, 1.40pm
Carlton vs Brisbane Lions — Ikon Park, 4.40pm
Hawthorn vs Port Adelaide — UTAS Stadium, 7.40pm
Sunday March 7
Adelaide Crows vs Richmond — Flinders University Stadium (Noarlunga), 1.10pm
Melbourne vs North Melbourne — Casey Fields, 4.10pm
West Coast Eagles vs Fremantle — David Grays Arena (Mandurah), 7.10pm
(https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/852997)One game, less travel: AFL revises AAMI Community Series fixture (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/852997)
THE AAMI Community Series pre-season schedule has been reduced to one game per team as the League looks to reduce travel ahead of the Toyota AFL Premiership Season.
Each of the 18 clubs will play an official AAMI Community Series game from Wednesday, March 3 to Sunday, March 7, instead of the originally scheduled two games across three weeks.
The revised fixture and ticketing for those games is yet to be released, but the format and length of those games will be the same as the premiership season.
In addition to the AAMI Community Series games, each team will also play a pre-season practice match against a team from the same state to avoid extra travel. The format of those games – including number of players, quarter length etc – will be decided by the participating teams.
All clubs will have a minimum seven-day break between their pre-season practice match and their AAMI Community Series game.
The AFL's executive general manager of clubs and broadcast, Travis Auld, said flexibility was a priority in the revised pre-season schedule.
"In addition to ensuring we continue to prioritise the health of our players, staff, and the wider community, this arrangement provides clubs with the ability to determine individual requirements, allowing clubs and players to best prepare for the season ahead," Mr. Auld said.
24-01-2021, 01:55 PM
Just saw that. Hopefully we can get a Melbourne based team at Whitten Oval! That would be insanely good.
25-01-2021, 07:05 AM
So it begins.
31-01-2021, 12:19 PM
Updated AAMI Community Series fixture released
2021 AAMI Community Series Fixture
Thursday, March 4
STADIUM (NETWORK)
EDT
LOCAL
Carlton vs. St Kilda
Marvel Stadium (FOX)
7:10pm
Friday, March 5
Collingwood vs. Richmond
Marvel Stadium (FOX)
Saturday, March 6
Hawthorn vs. North Melbourne
University of Tasmania Stadium (FOX)
1:10pm
Fremantle vs. Adelaide Crows
Fremantle Oval (FOX)
4:10pm
Geelong Cats vs. Essendon
GMHBA Stadium (FOX)
Sunday, March 7
Sydney Swans vs. Gold Coast SUNS
GIANTS Stadium (FOX)
GWS GIANTS vs. Brisbane Lions
Manuka Oval (FOX)
West Coast Eagles vs. Port Adelaide
Leederville Oval (FOX)
Monday, March 8
Western Bulldogs vs. Melbourne
Marvel Stadium (FOX)
3:10pm
3:10pm
Shame no Whitten Oval game.
.https://i.postimg.cc/FRSssNSR/Screenshot-20210131-121747-Twitter.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
31-01-2021, 12:54 PM
What sort of shitty time is 3.10pm on a Monday.
In QLD that will be 210pm they obviously don't want anyone to see the game. Wankers
31-01-2021, 01:03 PM
In QLD that will be 210pm they obviously don't want anyone to see the game. Wankers
Yeah you can’t beat the traditional 2:10pm EDT timeslot.
31-01-2021, 01:16 PM
It's Labour day public holiday in Victoria. Doesn't help interstate fans though.
31-01-2021, 01:39 PM
It's Labour day public holiday in Victoria. Doesn't help interstate fans though.
Well that explains the time then. I hope the bosses aren't on this forum I may have to take a sickie. :)
31-01-2021, 04:29 PM
Clubs are also free to arrange a practice match with another club, based in same state, so we could still see a game at WO or preferably (for me) Mars Stadium.
31-01-2021, 09:11 PM
So how do we all rate the Demons this year?
31-01-2021, 10:59 PM
I don't rate them at all - but then again I never do.
01-02-2021, 03:53 PM
Same as always: I don't.
I don't rate them at all - but then again I never do.
Jinx
01-02-2021, 04:26 PM
The Dees came 17th in 2019. I know its over a season ago but 17th! That’s so bad!
Why did they not cop more heat for that coming off their best season ever that counted?
31-03-2021, 01:17 PM
Surely we can sell the prime real estate on the back of our jumpers with plenty of prime time fixtures likely to come our way?
AFL 2021 fixture: Blues, Bombers out of favour, with Bulldogs, Sydney Swans potential winners (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/essendon/afl-2021-fixture-blues-bombers-out-of-favour-with-bulldogs-sydney-swans-potential-winners/news-story/f1b1c0869d7171da46016f9a6e271758)
The AFL’s flexible fixture has been delayed, but already there’s two clubs set to benefit from the league’s ability to schedule prime time slots on the fly.
Sydney and the Western Bulldogs could be the big winners out of the AFL’s new flexible fixture as the COVID scare pushes back an expected update beyond Round 6 until next week.
But Essendon and Carlton will have to rapidly gain momentum so they are not shut out of marquee contests.
The league was set to reveal another two or three weeks of its new flexible fixture on Tuesday after initially only locking in six weeks.
Teams know their direct rival and venue after Round 6 but not the timeslot or day the game will be played.
AFL fixture boss Travis Auld said yesterday the league had structured the fixture that way to allow the them to navigate COVID.
It also allows them freedom to “flex” games into Thursday and Friday night slots that had not seemed appealing in the pre-season.
Sydney has become a must-watch team given its fleet of exciting young kids and the return of Lance Franklin.
And the Western Bulldogs play a high-octane, freewheeling game that is also particularly attractive to watch.
But clubs such as Carlton – which had hoped to jump from the blocks – could quickly be shut out of marquee contests unless they can show they have the wins to match their traditional pulling power for TV broadcasters.
Essendon has an away Friday night encounter against Sydney in Round 4 but also faces the prospect of an off-Broadway finish to the year given its expected struggles.
Auld admitted the Brisbane COVID cluster had affected the league’s fixture release plans.
“It might. I think it’s a good question. We had planned to release the next two or three weeks of fixture this week,” he said.
“I asked (second in charge) Marcus King to have a look at the knock-on impacts of this. We will hold it off for a few days but I am not sure if that means next week.
“Certainly (better marquee contests) is the upside of building flexibility into the fixture.
“There is no better reminder of why we released six weeks of the schedule than what happened in the last 24 hours.
“The secondary benefit is we can respond to form and we have seen some upsets early on.
“We have more options on Thursday and Friday nights than what we might have realised going into the season.”
Round 7’s Essendon-Carlton clash might have been a perfect Friday night contest if the Dons agreed to play off five days break but suddenly Sydney-Geelong looks an enticing clash.
31-03-2021, 01:22 PM
I don't get why we can't. I realise covid has put a strain on business but the candidates for that prime placing probably didn't take a massive hit.
I'm hoping there's something major brewing and we are just holding off until it's finalised.
Slight concern though.
31-03-2021, 01:34 PM
I don't get why we can't. I realise covid has put a strain on business but the candidates for that prime placing probably didn't take a massive hit.
I'm hoping there's something major brewing and we are just holding off until it's finalised.
Slight concern though.
We've been everywhere this week - all over AFL 360, front page of the HS sports section, Bont's goal was the #1 moment of the week on AFL.com.au. Perfect opportunity for a sponsor to get some air time.
I was hoping for a good start so we'd get those prime time TV slots and it's working out nicely - if our commercial team can't spin this into a sponsor announcement, it's a worry.
31-03-2021, 01:43 PM
Surely we can sell the prime real estate on the back of our jumpers with plenty of prime time fixtures likely to come our way?
AFL 2021 fixture: Blues, Bombers out of favour, with Bulldogs, Sydney Swans potential winners (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/essendon/afl-2021-fixture-blues-bombers-out-of-favour-with-bulldogs-sydney-swans-potential-winners/news-story/f1b1c0869d7171da46016f9a6e271758)
The AFL’s flexible fixture has been delayed, but already there’s two clubs set to benefit from the league’s ability to schedule prime time slots on the fly.
Sydney and the Western Bulldogs could be the big winners out of the AFL’s new flexible fixture as the COVID scare pushes back an expected update beyond Round 6 until next week.
But Essendon and Carlton will have to rapidly gain momentum so they are not shut out of marquee contests.
The league was set to reveal another two or three weeks of its new flexible fixture on Tuesday after initially only locking in six weeks.
Teams know their direct rival and venue after Round 6 but not the timeslot or day the game will be played.
AFL fixture boss Travis Auld said yesterday the league had structured the fixture that way to allow the them to navigate COVID.
It also allows them freedom to “flex” games into Thursday and Friday night slots that had not seemed appealing in the pre-season.
Sydney has become a must-watch team given its fleet of exciting young kids and the return of Lance Franklin.
And the Western Bulldogs play a high-octane, freewheeling game that is also particularly attractive to watch.
But clubs such as Carlton – which had hoped to jump from the blocks – could quickly be shut out of marquee contests unless they can show they have the wins to match their traditional pulling power for TV broadcasters.
Essendon has an away Friday night encounter against Sydney in Round 4 but also faces the prospect of an off-Broadway finish to the year given its expected struggles.
Auld admitted the Brisbane COVID cluster had affected the league’s fixture release plans.
“It might. I think it’s a good question. We had planned to release the next two or three weeks of fixture this week,” he said.
“I asked (second in charge) Marcus King to have a look at the knock-on impacts of this. We will hold it off for a few days but I am not sure if that means next week.
“Certainly (better marquee contests) is the upside of building flexibility into the fixture.
“There is no better reminder of why we released six weeks of the schedule than what happened in the last 24 hours.
“The secondary benefit is we can respond to form and we have seen some upsets early on.
“We have more options on Thursday and Friday nights than what we might have realised going into the season.”
Round 7’s Essendon-Carlton clash might have been a perfect Friday night contest if the Dons agreed to play off five days break but suddenly Sydney-Geelong looks an enticing clash.
In what world was this ever a perfect friday night contest? 1999?
31-03-2021, 01:53 PM
Theyd still have 80-90k people turn up. I don't get supporter base.
I went to Melbourne Victory v Liverpool at the MCG.
I'm a victory member and hate Liverpool.
90 percent of the crowd barracked for Liverpool. In Melbourne, against their local team.
31-03-2021, 02:03 PM
Haha, 1999 called and wants its fixture back...
31-03-2021, 02:53 PM
Theyd still have 80-90k people turn up. I don't get supporter base.
I went to Melbourne Victory v Liverpool at the MCG.
I'm a victory member and hate Liverpool.
90 percent of the crowd barracked for Liverpool. In Melbourne, against their local team.
Liverpool are trendy. People flock to what's trendy. Remember when we were trendy late in 2016? People who weren't into footy suddenly told me they were dogs fans (these people are now tiger fans by the way. I'm not kidding.).
For whatever reason, Carlton and Essendon are still trendy. I assume because of the effect of the masses. It feeds itself. Whilst I hated hearing how everyone was suddenly a bulldogs fan in 2016 (our bandwagon got pretty big), our immediate decline failed to hold these newbies which would have gone a long way to establishing our club as 'trendy' which = $$$$, which in the AFL means a better chance of sustained success. Just see Carlton and Essen.....hang on a sec
06-04-2021, 05:47 PM
Tigers set to host Bulldogs in round seven Friday night blockbuster (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/tigers-set-to-host-bulldogs-in-round-seven-friday-night-blockbuster-20210406-p57gvg.html?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR1d2-bC9zI6YX5Yn4DkIJyZEonnkoWO1Y5d2ynkw849K2CatRC3t90ihMQ#Echobo x=1617685813)
The Western Bulldogs’ early-season form has them set to meet defending premiers Richmond in a Friday night blockbuster at the MCG in round seven.
The Bulldogs are unbeaten after three rounds for the first time since 2009 and are considered top-four aspirants, while the Tigers remain premiership contenders despite their loss to Sydney in round three.
Richmond’s golden era, during which they have won three of the past four flags, began the year after the Bulldogs broke a 62-year premiership drought in 2016.
Industry sources indicated the Tigers were likely to host the Bulldogs in what would be Richmond’s first Friday night match in Melbourne since the 2019 preliminary final against Geelong.
The AFL is hoping to have rounds seven and eight locked in before the end of this week after holding off on the announcement when a COVID-19 outbreak occurred in Queensland on the eve of round two, forcing the Brisbane Lions to play their clash against Collingwood last Thursday in Melbourne.
The new flexible approach allows the AFL to place the best match-ups in the best timeslots, depending on performance with Essendon versus Carlton at the MCG and Sydney versus Geelong at the SCG shaping up as exciting round seven contests after their respective winning performances in round three.
Essendon and Carlton have met in the Saturday afternoon slot more often than not in the past decade, although with Anzac Day falling on a Sunday this year and the Bombers playing Collingwood in that traditional fixture, they would only get a six-day break heading into their match against the Blues if it were to be fixtured on a Saturday.
Brisbane host Port Adelaide in a crucial match, with the two teams playing Saturday evenings at the Gabba over the past four seasons, while the western derby works on either Saturday night or Sunday at Optus Stadium.
07-04-2021, 07:42 PM
ROUND 5 FIXTURE UPDATE:
vs Gold Coast Suns
Saturday, April 17
4.35pm (prev 1:40pm AEST)
Marvel Stadium
Don't miss it The BONT plays his 150th
07-04-2021, 08:48 PM
ROUND 5 FIXTURE UPDATE:
vs Gold Coast Suns
Saturday, April 17
4.35pm (prev 1:40pm AEST)
Marvel Stadium
Don't miss it The BONT plays his 150th
Get why they did it, but what a terrible time....
07-04-2021, 11:34 PM
Liverpool are trendy. People flock to what's trendy. Remember when we were trendy late in 2016? People who weren't into footy suddenly told me they were dogs fans (these people are now tiger fans by the way. I'm not kidding.).
For whatever reason, Carlton and Essendon are still trendy. I assume because of the effect of the masses. It feeds itself. Whilst I hated hearing how everyone was suddenly a bulldogs fan in 2016 (our bandwagon got pretty big), our immediate decline failed to hold these newbies which would have gone a long way to establishing our club as 'trendy' which = $$$$, which in the AFL means a better chance of sustained success. Just see Carlton and Essen.....hang on a sec
It's probably just dumb people having dumb kids who they say dumb shit to that will keep them popular.
I get we're by and large products of parents and relatives or friends filling our minds with stories about what it means to be Bulldogs. But I think about the 12-16 year old supporters of Essendon and Carlton who should have been told their team used to be successful when it was easier to cheat and now that it's harder to cheat they can't compete at the highest level and wonder what is actually said to them to keep them enthusiastic about following their clubs.
07-04-2021, 11:43 PM
It's a shocker for a home game, but would have been fine if it was an away game on the Gold Coast.
08-04-2021, 09:10 AM
Apparently it has to do with the GF of the AFLW having its own time slot. That is what I heard anyway.
08-04-2021, 09:21 AM
I actually like Saturday twilight. It can pretty smoothly fit in with other plans you might have.
Sunday twilight games are full on depressing though and should be banned forever.
08-04-2021, 10:34 AM
C'mon AFL, turf Essendon and Carlton from the primetime slots.
Hand us Anzac Day while we're at it.
You know you want to.
08-04-2021, 12:48 PM
AFL confirms Tigers, Blues fixtures (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/899725/?fbclid=IwAR0CogqKWTEvCJeZjkh2c-QODY5YP9sfmXzHj9dYYK1z4YtcY9bjWYccX-w)
Another Friday night blockbuster has been locked in for the Western Bulldogs, with the AFL confirming the fixtures for round seven and eight of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season today.
The Bulldogs will take on the reigning premiers, Richmond, to start round seven.
Already, the Bulldogs have had two Friday night games – against Collingwood in round one and North Melbourne in round three – with a third on the way against the GWS Giants in round six, in Canberra.
It will be the Bulldogs’ second visit to the MCG for 2021, with the Tigers to play hosts for the game on Friday 30 April at 7.50pm AEST.
The match will be broadcast live on Channel 7 and Fox Footy.
From there, the Bulldogs will have a nine-day break before hosting Carlton in round eight, on Sunday 9 May at Marvel Stadium at 3.20pm.
Again, this match will be broadcast on both Channel 7 and Fox Footy.
*The Bulldogs’ round five fixture against the Gold Coast Suns on Saturday 17 April at Marvel Stadium has had the start time changed from 1.45pm AEST to 4.35pm AEST, to allow a standalone time for the AFLW Grand Final at 2pm AEST on the same day.
Round 5
Western Bulldogs v Gold Coast Suns
Saturday 17 April, 4.35pm AEST
Marvel Stadium
Round 6
GWS Giants v Western Bulldogs
Friday 23 April, 7.50pm AEST
Manuka Oval, Canberra
Round 7
Richmond v Western Bulldogs
Friday 30 April, 7.50pm AEST
MCG
Round 8
Western Bulldogs v Carlton
Sunday 9 May, 3.20pm AEST
Marvel Stadium
08-04-2021, 03:17 PM
Surely we can sell the vacant sponsor space on the back considering our upcoming prime time appointments.
08-04-2021, 03:22 PM
Surely we can sell the vacant sponsor space on the back considering our upcoming prime time appointments.
We should get the Vic goverment to pay us a million dollars to have VACCINATE NOW across the back of the jumper.
08-04-2021, 03:24 PM
Raking in the friday night games, turns out that playing well with a visually appealing style helps in that regard.
08-04-2021, 05:19 PM
It's gotten beyond ridiculous. Top of the ladder, plenty of FTA coverage and we are the only club without one.
08-04-2021, 05:27 PM
It's gotten beyond ridiculous. Top of the ladder, plenty of FTA coverage and we are the only club without one.
I wouldn't be against a rotation idea selling it in smaller lots if we can't land the big commitment.
I have faith in the team behind the scenes they've been pretty on the ball of late, but I do wonder with Friday night games how we haven't sold that space.
In Nick Truelson we trust :cool:
08-04-2021, 05:28 PM
It must be a tough decision between accepting a low ball offer and holding out for a better deal. Surely we can't go on too much longer without one though.
13-04-2021, 12:11 AM
We should get the Vic goverment to pay us a million dollars to have VACCINATE NOW across the back of the jumper.
For accuracy "Vaccinate between now and possibly this time next year - we'll let you know!"............ :)
22-04-2021, 09:28 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/J0mL3k8P/draw.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
22-04-2021, 05:32 PM
Cornes having a whinge about the game with Port should be prime time on Friday night instead of the Saints. :)
22-04-2021, 05:34 PM
Cornes having a whinge about the game with Port should be prime time on Friday night instead of the Saints. :)
agree
22-04-2021, 05:35 PM
I’ll take the extra days break.
22-04-2021, 06:30 PM
We will have played 4 (if you count Good Friday) Friday night games in the first 7 rounds, not too worried about Port being on a Saturday night.
29-04-2021, 04:37 PM
Another Friday night game coming up:
https://i.postimg.cc/dtw2Kwqv/2021-AFLFixture-Rd11-Rd12-1920x1080-ART.webp (https://postimages.org/)
29-04-2021, 05:19 PM
People genuinely enjoy watching us play.
The more big game experience we can bring this team the better we will perform at the business end of the season. WOOF WOOF
29-04-2021, 10:08 PM
The more big game experience we can bring this team the better we will perform at the business end of the season. WOOF WOOF
Yep, it bodes well for later in the year.
Tomorrow night v Tigers is a big one.
30-04-2021, 07:50 AM
Also attract players who want to play in prime time as well as finals.
We must be making Ch7 and AFEL cash hand over fist. I hope they remember this when we want something,
14-05-2021, 03:12 PM
Another Friday night:
https://i.postimg.cc/RVp2Dy9t/2021-AFLFixture-Rd13-Rd15-1920x1080-ART.webp (https://postimages.org/)
14-05-2021, 03:17 PM
I will be watching on TV
14-05-2021, 03:56 PM
6 Friday Nights, inc. Good Friday.
Ch7 is obviously making good advertising money out of us. I hope they & the afel remember this next time we ask for anything.
Anyone know what our record is Friday Night Prime Times spots. 6 feels close to the record. 7 or 8 would have to be.
14-05-2021, 06:07 PM
6 Friday Nights, inc. Good Friday.
Ch7 is obviously making good advertising money out of us. I hope they & the afel remember this next time we ask for anything.
Anyone know what our record is Friday Night Prime Times spots. 6 feels close to the record. 7 or 8 would have to be.
Yet we remain bareback. We’ve been “Bulls on Parade” regularly yet we still “Settle for Nothing”.
#confusingcrossthreadmetaphors
23-06-2021, 03:18 PM
So 85% capacity likely v North at a date and time TBA. I think 25,000 would have pulled it up anyway!
Limited crowds return to Melbourne (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/963004/limited-crowds-return-to-melbourne?fbclid=IwAR1WJ3FNzrRhQSdJ0dtef83AMSK8uy7Cd9dmy6RSH 8cjxa8z0vnxyxjfrGA)
Crowds will return to AFL matches in Melbourne this weekend, after the Victorian Government announced an easing of coronavirus restrictions.
The AFL had lobbied the state government for a 50 per cent capacity at the MCG and Marvel Stadium, but crowds will be capped at 25,000 fans this weekend before a planned boost to 85 per cent capacity next week.
It means Friday night's Richmond-St Kilda match at the MCG to be the first fixture played in front of spectators in the city since May 23.
"From 11.59pm tomorrow night, outdoor stadiums can have 50 per cent of the venue capacity up to 25,000 people," acting Premier James Merlino.
"This means that the A-League grand final can proceed with 15,000 people and the MCG can host 25,000 people.
"From the following week, commencing 11.59pm on July 1 and subject to public health advice, indoor and outdoor stadiums will be able to increase to 85 per cent capacity - so that includes the MCG, Marvel Stadium and AAMI Park."
The roof at Marvel Stadium will remain open for the two matches this weekend and in line with community wide mask restrictions, all fans, aged 12 and above, will be required to wear a face mask when moving throughout both the MCG and Marvel Stadium, unless they have a medical exemption – this includes when entering and exiting the stadium, inside function rooms, going to the bathroom or when purchasing food and beverage or merchandise.
Fans are not required to wear a facemask when in their allocated seats.
The capacity was approved on the basis of the venues being outdoors, and the AFL, in conjunction with both the MCG and Marvel Stadium management, have ensured the matches, like all AFL matches, have a COVID-Safe Event Plan that is endorsed by the Victorian Department of Health.
The Bulldogs are set to host North Melbourne at Marvel Stadium next weekend, with a timeslot and day yet to be finalised.
The AFL is also confirming the exact number of spectators permitted to attend VFL and VFLW matches this weekend, with more information to come in due course.
23-06-2021, 03:34 PM
The Bulldogs are set to host North Melbourne at Marvel Stadium next weekend, with a timeslot and day yet to be finalised.
It will be Sunday as I believe we have been promised 7 day break for next match.
23-06-2021, 03:51 PM
It will be Sunday as I believe we have been promised 7 day break for next match.
Feels like a Sunday game anyway as it's a fairly low interest clash.
26-06-2021, 11:00 AM
Western Bulldogs-North Melbourne is 4.40 Sunday.
26-06-2021, 02:38 PM
Sydney in Lockdown so two teams will have to stay here in a hub.
26-06-2021, 03:02 PM
Sydney in Lockdown so two teams will have to stay here in a hub.
I feel for Buddy and their better players. Might just be best to stay in Sydney. There’s more to life than playing the bulldogs.
29-06-2021, 09:17 AM
Western Bulldogs-North Melbourne is 4.40 Sunday.
This is the one time I am happy with a 4:40pm game as it gives me a chance to make it to Marvel after I play footy.
02-07-2021, 02:46 PM
AFL fixture news: Latest updates on how Round 17 fixture will look (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/news/afl-fixture-news-latest-updates-on-how-round-17-fixture-will-look/news-story/73cb52da365d5d69b014dde35373c751)
Essendon appears set to secure a lucrative home Friday night clash against Adelaide after the player union rejected a deal that would have handed the Western Bulldogs a prime-time clash in Round 17.
News Corp can reveal the league is certain to schedule the blockbuster Port Adelaide-Melbourne clash next Thursday in a game that will be held at Adelaide Oval.
As the league assesses Covid cases across Australia, the Lions are likely to play Adelaide on Saturday then return to Melbourne for the short-term future.
After more cases in Queensland overnight, the league would make a decision early next week on whether they hosted their Round 17 Gabba contest against St Kilda or relocated it to Melbourne.
The Power is expected to fly home on Sunday from this weekend’s Hawthorn clash in Melbourne then with low Covid numbers host the Demons on Thursday in front of a crowd at Adelaide Oval.
Both teams will be playing off an equal-five day break, with the collective bargaining agreement only allowing the league to hand teams one five-day break per season.
The league hoped to bend those rules with the blessing of the Bulldogs hierarchy and players to allow the Dogs to host Sydney at Marvel Stadium.
The player union, which had warned the league against going back to 20-minute quarters and reducing interchange over summer, held firm on the CBA regulation given concerns over an already-high injury toll and player fatigue.
It means Essendon is best placed to swoop in to host a Marvel Stadium clash against Adelaide next Friday night, with those prime time games valuable given bumper ratings and sponsorship exposure.
Essendon would be playing off a seven-day break and Adelaide six days.
While Adelaide is not yet a finals contender, the league would hope they could perform similar feats as Gold Coast against Richmond on Thursday by stepping up to provide a tight contest.
Scheduling Thursday and Friday night contests next week between teams from Melbourne and Adelaide also gives more certainty the game will not be moved given the regular exemptions between the SA and Victorian governments.
It can be revealed the AFL is set to explore the idea of multiple five-day breaks per side next year to pave the way for an expanded Thursday night schedule.
It would require an alteration to the current CBA but the league could ask for one five-day break per team each side of the mid-season bye.
The player union denied the Dogs in part because Luke Beveridge’s players had already done a full week in WA hotel quarantine and had not been handed their mandatory four-day bye given scheduling issues.
Currently the league often schedules teams coming off mid-season byes to slot in Thursday night football but cannot schedule more than 10-12 quality Thursday night games.
A team that plays Friday night football can play the following round on a Thursday night but finding an appropriate rival good enough for prime time football who has not already had a five-day break is often challenging.
The ratings bonanza has proved football’s most popular timeslot.
Dogs coach Luke Beveridge accepted the player union’s ruling but said he was bemused the players wouldn’t want to grow the TV pie, which in turn would grow their revenue pool.
The league’s TV rights deal has been extended through to the end of 2024, but in the future the AFL could even package up Thursday night football for sale to help maximise its broadcast rights.
02-07-2021, 03:17 PM
I’d prefer the rest over the exposure.
02-07-2021, 03:44 PM
I’d prefer the rest over the exposure.
Strangely it seems Bevo wouldn't.
02-07-2021, 03:48 PM
Strangely it seems Bevo wouldn't.
Yep. Or he hates anything good happening to Essendon. I understand that.
02-07-2021, 03:59 PM
I really hope they can give us the Saturday night slot, and in a few weeks the Game against Bombers can be the Friday night game .
05-07-2021, 06:14 PM
Round 17 fixture
Thursday, July 8
Port Adelaide v Melbourne at Adelaide Oval, 7.10pm ACST, Seven
Friday, July 9
Essendon v Adelaide at Marvel Stadium, 7.50pm AEST, Seven
Saturday, July 10
Hawthorn v Fremantle at University of Tasmania Stadium, 1.45pm AEST, Fox
Carlton v Geelong at the MCG, 4.35pm AEST, Fox
Brisbane v St Kilda TBC, 7.25pm AEST, Seven
Sunday, July 11
Greater Western Sydney v Gold Coast at TBC, 12.40pm AEST, Fox
Western Bulldogs v Sydney at Marvel Stadium, 3.20pm AEST, Seven
Richmond v Collingwood at the MCG, 4.10pm AEST, Fox
Monday, July 12
West Coast v North Melbourne at Optus Stadium, 5.40pm AWST, Fox
05-07-2021, 08:00 PM
Is there anything worse than that sinking feeling knowing you've copped the Ch 7 Sunday 3.20pm timeslot, and are stuck with cretins like BT making the coverage unbearable?
08-07-2021, 09:44 AM
Round 18
Thursday, July 15
Fremantle v Geelong at Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST, Seven
Friday, July 16
Richmond v Brisbane at MCG, 7.50pm AEST, Seven
Saturday, July 17
GWS Giants v Sydney Swans at TBC, 1.45pm AEST, Fox
Melbourne v Hawthorn MCG, 4.35pm AEST, Fox
Gold Coast v Western Bulldogs at Metricon Stadium, 4.35pm AEST, Fox
St Kilda v Port Adelaide at Marvel Stadium, 7.25pm AEST, Seven
Sunday, July 18
North Melbourne v Essendon at Marvel Stadium, 1.10pm AEST, Fox
Collingwood v Carlton at MCG, 3.20pm AEST, Seven
Adelaide v West Coast at Adelaide Oval, 4.10pm ACST, Fox
08-07-2021, 09:55 AM
Round 18
Thursday, July 15
Fremantle v Geelong at Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST, Seven
Friday, July 16
Richmond v Brisbane at MCG, 7.50pm AEST, Seven
Saturday, July 17
GWS Giants v Sydney Swans at TBC, 1.45pm AEST, Fox
Melbourne v Hawthorn MCG, 4.35pm AEST, Fox
Gold Coast v Western Bulldogs at Metricon Stadium, 4.35pm AEST, Fox
St Kilda v Port Adelaide at Marvel Stadium, 7.25pm AEST, Seven
Sunday, July 18
North Melbourne v Essendon at Marvel Stadium, 1.10pm AEST, Fox
Collingwood v Carlton at MCG, 3.20pm AEST, Seven
Adelaide v West Coast at Adelaide Oval, 4.10pm ACST, Fox
Happy with this. Naughty makes it in by one day so a big plus.
08-07-2021, 09:58 AM
Happy with this. Naughty makes it in by one day so a big plus.
Will you make it to the game B4L?
08-07-2021, 10:02 AM
Will you make it to the game B4L?
I hope to Axe Man. Depends a lot on 'She who must be obeyed'. I've brought the topic up already. A few hurdles to overcome. :)
08-07-2021, 11:05 AM
I hope to Axe Man. Depends a lot on 'She who must be obeyed'. I've brought the topic up already. A few hurdles to overcome. :)
Plenty of time to jump over said hurdles!!
13-07-2021, 06:17 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/8c2DwsXD/fixture.jpg (https://postimg.cc/N2kWjGwP)
17-07-2021, 12:59 PM
John Ralph on twitter
I understand the AFL is looking at whether they need to spin the magnets & change up some Round 19 matchups for the first time this year to get all 9 games away with some closed borders. Had hoped not to be forced to do it but all options being considered for Round 19
@FOXFOOTY
17-07-2021, 01:23 PM
All the more reason why you need each team to play each other once first before getting second games in against some teams. If the season has to be halted for a month, you could then always have a locked in ladder after rd 17 to fall back on.
17-07-2021, 01:55 PM
All the more reason why you need each team to play each other once first before getting second games in against some teams. If the season has to be halted for a month, you could then always have a locked in ladder after rd 17 to fall back on.
Fixture inequity is one of the key tenets of the AFL, they'll never take such a common sense approach as it goes against the very fabric of the game.
26-07-2021, 06:57 PM
ROUND 20
Friday, July 30
St Kilda v Carlton at Marvel Stadium, 7.50pm AEST (SEVEN)
Saturday, July 31
Western Bulldogs v Adelaide at Mars Stadium, 12.30pm AEST (FOX)
North Melbourne v Geelong at Blundstone Arena, 1.15pm AEST (FOX)
Gold Coast v Melbourne at TBC, 3.10pm AEST (FOX)
Collingwood v West Coast at the MCG, 4.15pm AEST (FOX)
Essendon v Sydney Swans at the Gabba, 7.40pm AEST (SEVEN)
Sunday, August 1
Hawthorn v Brisbane at UTAS Stadium, 2.10pm AEST (FOX)
GWS Giants v Port Adelaide at TBC, 3.10pm AEST (FOX)
Fremantle v Richmond at Optus Stadium, 3.10pm AWST (FOX)
26-07-2021, 07:03 PM
90% of 5-8mm
Winds 20-40km
26-07-2021, 07:16 PM
90% of 5-8mm
Winds 20-40km
Why they bother scheduling games in Ballarat during the month of July, I'll never understand.
First month and last 2 weeks of the season only.
26-07-2021, 07:22 PM
Why they bother scheduling games in Ballarat during the month of July, I'll never understand.
First month and last 2 weeks of the season only.
If there’s no crowds, playing there makes us no more money. Can we request it to Marvel under the roof?
26-07-2021, 07:23 PM
So wait. Ballarat, with no crowds, in a hurricane?
Can we forfeit?
26-07-2021, 07:24 PM
If there’s no crowds, playing there makes us no more money. Can we request it to Marvel under the roof?
I've read we get $300k from playing the game in Ballarat even without a crowd.
26-07-2021, 07:26 PM
I've read we get $300k from playing the game in Ballarat even without a crowd.
Really? How’s that?
26-07-2021, 07:44 PM
Really? How’s that?
Via the sponsorship with Ballarat. My understanding is there is no crowd threshold or anything regarding payment. We get paid to promote the city of Ballarat and the game is effectively a 2.5 hour ad for the town.
26-07-2021, 08:00 PM
Via the sponsorship with Ballarat. My understanding is there is no crowd threshold or anything regarding payment. We get paid to promote the city of Ballarat and the game is effectively a 2.5 hour ad for the town.
So they wouldn’t be thrilled trying to move it. Fair enough, we need the cash. But as you say, mid to late August makes all the sense in the world.
26-07-2021, 08:04 PM
So they wouldn’t be thrilled trying to move it. Fair enough, we need the cash. But as you say, mid to late August makes all the sense in the world.
From a fixturing $ perspective, we've probably come out of this year as good as anyone (the first game v Melbourne notwithstanding). Geelong have lost a ton without crowds, WC the same.
I think our books will look pretty good at the end of the season, especially if we can get crowds at our Essendon (slight chance) and Port games (good chance).
26-07-2021, 08:09 PM
From a fixturing $ perspective, we've probably come out of this year as good as anyone (the first game v Melbourne notwithstanding). Geelong have lost a ton without crowds, WC the same.
I think our books will look pretty good at the end of the season, especially if we can get crowds at our Essendon (slight chance) and Port games (good chance).
The Premiership Prize Money will be welcomed too.
26-07-2021, 10:34 PM
Yeah, you'd think that would be the most important thing. I guess only thing really lost is the tourism part.
30-07-2021, 09:21 PM
THE AFL has released the fixture for Round 21 of the 2021 Toyota AFL Premiership Season.
Round 21 updates (all times AEST):
- Western Bulldogs vs. Essendon will take place at Marvel Stadium at 7:50pm on Friday, August 6.
- Richmond vs. North Melbourne will take place at the MCG on Saturday, August 7 with the start time to be confirmed.
- Geelong Cats vs. GWS Giants will take place at GMHBA Stadium on Saturday, August 7 with the start time to be confirmed.
- Carlton vs. Gold Coast Suns will take place at Marvel Stadium on Saturday, August 7 with the start time to be confirmed.
- West Coast Eagles vs. Melbourne will take place at Optus Stadium at 7:40pm (5:40pm local) on Saturday, August 7.
- Adelaide Crows vs. Port Adelaide will take place at 7:40pm (7:10pm local) on Saturday, August 7 with the venue to be confirmed.
- Hawthorn vs. Collingwood will take place at University of Tasmania Stadium at 2:10pm on Sunday, August 8.
- St Kilda vs. Sydney Swans will take place at Marvel Stadium at 3:20pm on Sunday, August 8.
- Fremantle vs. Brisbane Lions will take place at Optus Stadium at 5:10pm (3:10pm local) on Sunday, August 8.
01-08-2021, 01:36 PM
Looks like Friday night match will transfer to Sunday due to Essendon having a short break
01-08-2021, 02:10 PM
But why. It's a five day break against a six day break, not exactly uncharted territory.
01-08-2021, 02:47 PM
But why. It's a five day break against a six day break, not exactly uncharted territory.
Players Association
01-08-2021, 03:08 PM
Seems like any game on Fri this week will need to have a 5 day break for one club at least. I think the PA agreement allowed for one 5 day break per season for each club but not sure which clubs haven't used one yet.
01-08-2021, 03:11 PM
Seems like any game on Fri this week will need to have a 5 day break for one club at least. I think the PA agreement allowed for one 5 day break per season for each club but not sure which clubs haven't used one yet.
Essendon have already had theirs but it was very early in the season.
01-08-2021, 03:12 PM
Essendon have already had theirs but it was very early in the season.
So GWS and Geelong haven't had a 5 day break yet?
01-08-2021, 03:25 PM
Gee, that reads a bit aggressive?
Geelong would be on a six day break.
On the giants not sure anyone on this board cares about them enough to know!
01-08-2021, 03:26 PM
Geelong have but I don’t think GWS have.
01-08-2021, 03:28 PM
Gee, that reads a bit aggressive?
Geelong would be on a six day break.
On the giants not sure anyone on this board cares about them enough to know!
I just quickly skimmed through the fixture looking at who played Thursday/Friday night and what day they played the week before. I don’t think we had any Monday night games this season?
01-08-2021, 03:29 PM
GWS v Cats looks it.
01-08-2021, 03:34 PM
GWS v Cats looks it.
Gives our guys an extra day to recover so suits us.
01-08-2021, 03:36 PM
Gives our guys an extra day to recover so suits us.
Yeah, I guess the Sunday means we probably have to cop at 6 dayer anyway. I'd have preferred to get Essendon on the shorter break but whatever. No biggie either way for us.
01-08-2021, 03:36 PM
Wonder what ground we will play at?
Current Saint and Swans scheduled at Docklands on Sunday.
MCG is vacant
01-08-2021, 03:40 PM
Wonder what ground we will play at?
Current Saint and Swans scheduled at Docklands on Sunday.
MCG is vacant
Likely a double header at Marvel, I'd imagine.
01-08-2021, 03:56 PM
Likely a double header at Marvel, I'd imagine.
Yep. Too easy with no crowd. We can also play Sat I guess.
01-08-2021, 05:09 PM
So how can GWS be now playing Geelong off a 5 day break?
Perhaps Essendon have already had 1 this year and GWS haven't, but regardless how is this not compromising for GWS season at this point.
01-08-2021, 06:03 PM
Perhaps Essendon have already had 1 this year and GWS haven't, but regardless how is this not compromising for GWS season at this point.
There really has to be a Friday Night game and GWS vs Cats is the least worst option with breaks.
01-08-2021, 06:12 PM
The other issue is that GWS are playing the late game on Sunday. So it's even more of an impact.
01-08-2021, 06:22 PM
The other issue is that GWS are playing the late game on Sunday. So it's even more of an impact.
Yeah, more of whatever you can get away with in terms of AFLPA agreement. GWS also had to travel late.
02-08-2021, 04:24 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/3Jc29hCN/2021-AFLFixture-R21-1920x1080-ARTv2.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
02-08-2021, 04:26 PM
Round 21
Friday, August 6
Geelong v GWS Giants at GMHBA Stadium, 7.50pm AEST (SEVEN)
Saturday, August 7
Carlton v Gold Coast at Marvel Stadium, 1.45pm AEST (FOX)
Richmond v North Melbourne at the MCG, 4.35pm AEST (FOX)
St Kilda v Sydney at Marvel Stadium, 7.40pm AEST (FOX)
Adelaide v Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval, 7.10pm ACST (FOX)
Sunday, August 8
Hawthorn v Collingwood at UTAS Stadium, 2.10pm AEST (FOX)
Western Bulldogs v Essendon at Marvel Stadium, 3.20pm AEST (SEVEN)
Fremantle v Brisbane at Optus Stadium, 3.10pm AWST (FOX)
Monday, August 9
West Coast v Melbourne at Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST (SEVEN)
11-08-2021, 08:30 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E8fwtY0VcAI8-wb?format=jpg&name=large
13-08-2021, 10:19 AM
Duplicate error. (mods remove please) .
13-08-2021, 10:20 AM
Looks like pre-finals bye may be bye-bye (sorry).
https://www.espn.com/afl/story/_/id/32005950/afl-consider-scrapping-season-2021-pre-finals-bye-ahead-finals
AFL premiership contenders Melbourne, Geelong and the Western Bulldogs have all indicated they are prepared for the league's pre-finals bye to be scrapped, if required, to keep the season rolling.
There are just two rounds left in the home-and-away season, which has proceeded throughout COVID-19 lockdowns across the country, albeit with significant fixture reshuffles.
AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan on Thursday confirmed the league's desire to keep the season moving and complete the finals series in September has led it to consider starting the finals the week after round 23, removing the bye.
A decision may not be made until late next week as the AFL waits for news on Victoria's current lockdown, which has been extended until at least August 19.
"We're contingency planning, but I don't have a line of sight on where and how week one of the finals looks - I really don't," McLachlan said.
"At the moment we're debating whether we have the bye or not and that's as candid as I can be.
"People understand we're sort of waiting everyday and looking at what happens in Victoria and in other states, I mean, Queensland's opened up a bit the last hour.
"So I think our clubs now understand, our supporters I know do, that every day seems to count in this environment and they're giving us that leeway."
Melbourne are the only club guaranteed to finish in the top four at this stage and coach Simon Goodwin said the ladder-leading Demons are ready to roll straight into finals, if necessary.
16-08-2021, 01:17 PM
Pre finals bye officially gone - to be held over and used during the finals series apparently.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/666123/no-rest-for-the-wicked-afl-moves-pre-finals-bye
CLUBS have been informed the pre-finals bye has been officially scrapped with the week off to instead be held over and used during finals.
It's understood clubs were told on Sunday night they will roll straight from the home and away season into finals without a week off.
The week off will, however, be a fluid decision and come into effect ahead of the preliminary final or the Toyota AFL Grand Final depending on whether teams are required to be relocated to other states given the ongoing threat of COVID-19.
It comes after calls from Geelong coach Chris Scott and Melbourne counterpart Simon Goodwin over the weekend demanding clarity on whether there would be a weekend's rest ahead of the finals (https://www.afl.com.au/news/663688/we-should-know-by-now-scott-demands-answer-on-pre-finals-bye).
16-08-2021, 01:39 PM
Pre finals bye officially gone - to be held over and used during the finals series apparently.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/666123/no-rest-for-the-wicked-afl-moves-pre-finals-bye
CLUBS have been informed the pre-finals bye has been officially scrapped with the week off to instead be held over and used during finals.
It's understood clubs were told on Sunday night they will roll straight from the home and away season into finals without a week off.
The week off will, however, be a fluid decision and come into effect ahead of the preliminary final or the Toyota AFL Grand Final depending on whether teams are required to be relocated to other states given the ongoing threat of COVID-19.
It comes after calls from Geelong coach Chris Scott and Melbourne counterpart Simon Goodwin over the weekend demanding clarity on whether there would be a weekend's rest ahead of the finals (https://www.afl.com.au/news/663688/we-should-know-by-now-scott-demands-answer-on-pre-finals-bye).
I was told prelim and Gf will be in Perth
16-08-2021, 01:41 PM
I’d bloody love it for us to win the flag without the week off before finals. Just to spite everyone who thought the bye was the reason we won in 2016 :)
Oh and I’d love it regardless of the bye. Of course.
16-08-2021, 01:57 PM
What source BAD?
It is looking more likely isn’t it.
16-08-2021, 01:59 PM
What source BAD?
It is looking more likely isn’t it.
Just someone who has some connection into AFL
16-08-2021, 02:00 PM
So our whole club is going into strict isolation the whole week and are only allowed out to train at Whitten Oval.
This is because of demands from the SA government. Massive leg up for Port who are free to do whatever they want.
This season is done.
16-08-2021, 02:16 PM
So our whole club is going into strict isolation the whole week and are only allowed out to train at Whitten Oval.
This is because of demands from the SA government. Massive leg up for Port who are free to do whatever they want.
This season is done.
I feel like we haven’t had the rub of the green at all with any of the Covid changes.
Still not sure how the game was in Tassie this week, especially when it meant we lost a KPD.
Do we have enough clout at the table? Our new President is conspicuous by her absence I feel...Gordo might’ve had more influence. I like KWW don’t get me wrong but when I see the Bombers playing a GC home game down here I wonder at times.
16-08-2021, 03:12 PM
Do we have enough clout at the table?
https://i.postimg.cc/PrVhJSNg/Harvey.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
16-08-2021, 03:46 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/5z5ZbMgWOjWoWqbsY7/giphy.gif
16-08-2021, 10:29 PM
Well, we have likely played more games in Perth over the journey (by way of always getting stitched up with the double each year) so maybe we draw an advantage there?
We also posted two solid wins there this year, so maybe this is a blessing in disguise?
*Note: For purely selfish reasons they should be in Adelaide.
16-08-2021, 10:33 PM
Well, we have likely played more games in Perth over the journey (by way of always getting stitched up with the double each year) so maybe we draw an advantage there?
We also posted two solid wins there this year, so maybe this is a blessing in disguise?
*Note: For purely selfish reasons they should be in Adelaide.
Maybe Adelaide gets some of the lead up finals
16-08-2021, 10:37 PM
Maybe Adelaide gets some of the lead up finals
You would think that we could be in line for any Port home games/finals where Port isn't involved as the "Home" team. Two in the first week and one in the second?
Maybe one of the Prelims could also be in Adelaide assuming borders remain free and flowing between SA and WA?
18-08-2021, 12:32 PM
Looks like AFL will say highest seed will get to select from grounds that allow fans to attend. If we end up finishing 2nd and play Geelong, where would you pick?
I'd go with Mars if allowed., If not, next pick would be Metricon due to last year + us playing there/Cats not playing there this year.
18-08-2021, 12:40 PM
Looks like AFL will say highest seed will get to select from grounds that allow fans to attend. If we end up finishing 2nd and play Geelong, where would you pick?
I'd go with Mars if allowed., If not, next pick would be Metricon due to last year + us playing there/Cats not playing there this year.
Anywhere but Geelong
18-08-2021, 12:44 PM
Agreed, good calls. There might even be a chance I could attend a Mars final.
Anywhere but Geelong
Or Tassie.
18-08-2021, 12:46 PM
I’d prefer Perth. We’ve won there twice and it’s likely that the prelim and GF will be played there.
18-08-2021, 12:53 PM
Agreed, good calls. There might even be a chance I could attend a Mars final.
Or Tassie.
I think we do need crowds and Ballarat is a great idea. Would be great for our country supporter base and I am sure we would fill the ground. Game would have to be during the day, hopefully a nice day.
18-08-2021, 01:08 PM
I’d prefer Perth. We’ve won there twice and it’s likely that the prelim and GF will be played there.
Me too but I think it would need buy in from players and families to just stay there. Max travel + week of hard quarantine + leaving Perth + another week of hard quarantine.
Win or lose we are guaranteed the next 'home' game and can just stay in Perth. I think might be logistically impossible as we won't know if we are 2nd until late into Saturday evening. Means the game would have to be on a Sunday, no ideal.
18-08-2021, 01:30 PM
How likely are crowds in regional Vic next week anyway? Would be cool to get Geelong in Ballarat, a ground they’ve never been within cooey of.
Makes winning this week so important because even if Geelong do beat the Dees, we’re guaranteed of getting Melbourne at a neutral venue.
18-08-2021, 01:47 PM
How likely are crowds in regional Vic next week anyway? Would be cool to get Geelong in Ballarat, a ground they’ve never been within cooey of.
Makes winning this week so important because even if Geelong do beat the Dees, we’re guaranteed of getting Melbourne at a neutral venue.
Totally. We go from an EF to either a neutral final. Huge.
How likely is anything with AFL and deciding home venues at the best of times? Dan sounds pretty pro regional crowds as soon as possible. Ballarat might come down to something like signage needed for a final or something seemingly trivial like that. Of course there are crowds. I think TV/players/AFL more want a crowd vibe anyway, so not sure max numbers is the biggest selling point. Would be a smart move long term too giving Ballarat a game. Not always just about today.
18-08-2021, 01:49 PM
Totally. We go from an EF to either a neutral final. Huge.
How likely is anything with AFL and deciding home venues at the best of times? Dan sounds pretty pro regional crowds as soon as possible. Ballarat might come down to something like signage needed for a final or something seemingly trivial like that. Of course there are crowds. I think TV/players/AFL more want a crowd vibe anyway, so not sure max numbers is the biggest selling point. Would be a smart move long term too giving Ballarat a game. Not always just about today.
Well we had to endure a Prelim at GWS ground which only holds about 20k. If they wanted to maximise crowds, should have been at SCG
18-08-2021, 02:30 PM
Well we had to endure a Prelim at GWS ground which only holds about 20k. If they wanted to maximise crowds, should have been at SCG
Yeah that's it. The rules are always a bit random. FWIW I believe clubs should be always allowed to pick where to play home finals for at least the first two weeks of finals. Centralise it at the prelim stage perhaps. Get Grand Final is ideally set in stone for marketing reasons.
18-08-2021, 03:01 PM
Yeah that's it. The rules are always a bit random. FWIW I believe clubs should be always allowed to pick where to play home finals for at least the first two weeks of finals. Centralise it at the prelim stage perhaps. Get Grand Final is ideally set in stone for marketing reasons.
I would agree with that. Often the Prelim is a better game than the GF, and the biggest grounds should be used.