View Full Version : WB Game Day V Carlton R8 2021

Pages : 1 [2]

09-05-2021, 05:27 PM
Naughton is no chance unless he's got a run at it. His body work is horrible.
He can’t even out position his opponent one on one.

Well that second half of the quarter was better. We need to keep the pressure up, stick our tackles and just play on at all costs. We look dangerous when the ball is in movement

We are right in this but we need some our passengers to lift- Lipinski and Smith in particular

Did I really select all of these 22? Seems pretty unbalanced. Huh.

"Geez, we could do with another defender...

Not Lewis Young though, hate that guy."

Out
lippa, Hanan, Scott, McNeil, Wood,

What is wrong with Hunter?

09-05-2021, 05:28 PM
We don't win unless we change something. JJ as a running HB with Dale and Caleb is our only chance. Mids obviously need to lift but we need to penetrate through the middle of the ground to score heavily.

Perfect chance to ask JJ to stand up.

I don’t see why we would ever play Hannan again.

We just couldn't let that entry out so easy after getting the clearance. Hannan, JJ, Daniel, Hunter etc giving us nothing when it hits the ground.
Hannan has offered nothing in 2 games now. Let’s see if the MC are consistent with their fringe players.

09-05-2021, 05:29 PM
We don't win unless we change something. JJ as a running HB with Dale and Caleb is our only chance. Mids obviously need to lift but we need to penetrate through the middle of the ground to score heavily.

Perfect chance to ask JJ to stand up.

We need JJ, Dale and Caleb to pinpoint passes thru the guts to give Bruce and Naughton the best possible chance. That’s our only hope..and to keep it away from Betts/McKay on any rebound.

09-05-2021, 05:29 PM
Naughton is no chance unless he's got a run at it. His body work is horrible.

Our kicking to him is frequently terrible. We put it right on top of his head which removes his ability to run and jump, and good defenders like Weitering/Moore/Andrews/Grimes will always be able to outwork him in those situations.

Good to see the long kick to the top of the square pay off for its customary one time per 20 attempts though.

09-05-2021, 05:30 PM
Need the first goal to have any chance.

09-05-2021, 05:31 PM
We have got ourselves back in the game. It's winnable from here.

FFS constantly out marked.

Our kicking to him is frequently terrible. We put it right on top of his head which removes his ability to run and jump, and good defenders like Weitering/Moore/Andrews/Grimes will always be able to outwork him in those situations.

Good to see the long kick to the top of the square pay off for its customary one time per 20 attempts though.

I think he leads too early. Can't be the kicker every time.

09-05-2021, 05:32 PM
Cripps throw again.

09-05-2021, 05:33 PM
2 horrible inside 50s.

Crozier's lost me.

Bye Crozier.

Crozier in the bin.

09-05-2021, 05:34 PM
The kick from Crozier was bad enough but to then not contest the mark, he's done.

09-05-2021, 05:36 PM
Great goal Lachie, nice pro free too.

09-05-2021, 05:39 PM
Smith into the guts has worked.

09-05-2021, 05:41 PM
How many times do we wanna pick out defenders going forward?

09-05-2021, 05:42 PM
Great grab from Bruce.

09-05-2021, 05:45 PM
We continue to kick it on Naughton's head to no avail.

09-05-2021, 05:45 PM
Ok yeah Naughton sucks at bringing it to ground.

09-05-2021, 05:46 PM
Those 2 inside kicks were absolute dog sh*t.

09-05-2021, 05:47 PM
Can’t say we haven’t had our chances to take this game.

Constantly kicking to their key backs.

It's amazing what can happen when you put pressure on and also kick to the advantage of a forward.

Come on Dogs!

Working harder...yep, it makes a difference.

Keep it going.

09-05-2021, 05:49 PM
McNeil and Scott!!!

Come on Dogs!!!

09-05-2021, 05:49 PM
Hunter to wing, Smith to middle great changes.

McNeil pace handy :)

09-05-2021, 05:50 PM
Fancy Daniel having an impact behind the ball.

09-05-2021, 05:51 PM
Brucey!!!!

Again, work hard and spread the field, use the footy well and voila!

09-05-2021, 05:55 PM
What a difference it makes to the team when players are playing their best roles. It’s not rocket science Bevo.

09-05-2021, 05:55 PM
Umps trying to keep them in it.

09-05-2021, 05:56 PM
Bruce has been so good today. Our best and won it for us.

09-05-2021, 05:57 PM
What was everyone worried about!

09-05-2021, 05:57 PM
8 goal turn around in a quarter of footy.

09-05-2021, 05:59 PM
Has Khamis been off most of the quarter?

Not a Hayes moment is it.

09-05-2021, 06:01 PM
Naughton down. Hope he’s ok cos Marra can’t play next week.

09-05-2021, 06:02 PM
Well, I'm pretty speechless.

Good comeback win. Not great but we showed spirit

Has Khamis been off most of the quarter?

Not a Hayes moment is it.

He may well have not been structuring up properly. Not sure though.

09-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Not sure where that came from. Suddenly started playing footy properly with players in their best position and voila. Who’s have thought it was that simple to beat Carlton.

09-05-2021, 06:04 PM
We looked cooked. But this group is more resolve than previous years. Just steamrolled them in that last quarter.

Great turnaround... Daniel made such a difference when he went behind the ball, who would’ve thought.

Bont butchered it lots, but he was the one who lifted us when we needed it.

Yeah that's game over. Very disappointing defending

Great win, never in doubt....

Really bloody impressive last quarter. We lose that game last year

Well, I'm pretty speechless.

Same. It’s funny how we can decide to pressure, run, and spread when we want to. Against the REALLY good teams there will be no coming back. Smith had a better 4th but his form is still a worry. Daniel was masterful in that last, and Bruce won it for us.

09-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Great fightback. Really glad we got it to click from late in the third.
Melbourne looked pretty ordinary against North a couple of week's ago for 3 Qtr's before they got it together, we looked off too. But we're a good team, we fixed things, and got it done.

09-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Well that was a fantastic, gutsy turnaround.

We were playing terribly, playing lazy and just not doing what we should have been doing to be competitive.

Coach pulled some moves, players tightened up and put pressure on and what do you know!

09-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Those on here doubting the Bont should probably self impose a ban.

09-05-2021, 06:08 PM
Awesome turnaround, impressive that we held our nerve

09-05-2021, 06:09 PM

Yeah, he was IMMENSE.

09-05-2021, 06:10 PM

Yeah it got out of hand pretty quick.

5 year contract? What were we thinking.

09-05-2021, 06:11 PM
Another come from behind last quarter win under Bevo as well.

Don't think he deserves the bagging he gets a lot of the time.

Ok we’re clearly a 6-12 team.

Anxiety.

Great last quarter from Bonts,Bruce and Daniel.
We will need to lift taking on Port next week though

It’s gotta be mental. How can we play insipid for 3 quarters and then turn on the tap. ?

What is going on with Bont at the moment?

Mate. You have no idea. Stick to Rugby League

09-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Lazy players everywhere. Carlton will walk this game in.

Anxiety.
Relax and let it happen.
I've lived it long enough to know to baulk it.

09-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Anxiety.

Nah. Still think we’re not top 4. I think 6-8. We’ve got Port, Saints, Dees, Freo in Perth and Geelong to come. Things could unravel quickly not even considering if we had lost today which nearly happened. I’m happy we turned it around today but we still played non-competitive football for 3 quarters which for me outweighs the 1 good quarter we played. Long way to go.

09-05-2021, 06:14 PM
Yeah it got out of hand pretty quick.

5 year contract? What were we thinking.

Blank cheque.

09-05-2021, 06:14 PM
Nah. Still think we’re not top 4. I think 6-8. We’ve got Port, Saints, Dees, Freo in Perth and Geelong to come. Things could unravel quickly not even considering if we had lost today which nearly happened. I’m happy we turned it around today but we still played non-competitive football for 3 quarters which for me outweighs the 1 good quarter we played. Long way to go.

Yep. Really tough games. Play those like today and we win 1 of those.

09-05-2021, 06:15 PM
Anxiety.
Relax and let it happen.
I've lived it long enough to know to baulk it.

I’d love to trawl forums with hindsight.

09-05-2021, 06:16 PM
We have got ourselves back in the game. It's winnable from here.
Fellow intuit.

09-05-2021, 06:19 PM
I never give up hope at half time. We lifted in the second half and fortunately they missed a couple of chances in the third so we were not too far away at three quarter time.

I thought Jacko was really important in the last quarter as well as Caleb Daniel, Bont, Hunter and Treloar. Crozier also lifted.

But the bloke who stood up for 120 minutes was Josh Bruce. I thought his performance was immense. I always reckoned he could play at St Kilda and although his first year with us was poor he has really turned it around by getting fit and giving up alcohol. I am really pleased for him.

This was an important win and we showed that we can get up off the floor, keep punching and deliver a knockout blow to win the game. The "Old Mongoose", Archie Moore, would've been proud.

https://youtu.be/9UTsHFaZR34

09-05-2021, 06:20 PM
Yep. Really tough games. Play those like today and we win 1 of those.

Yeah we were off, but we righted the ship. Good teams can also play rubbish at times. Melbourne looked like they were going to get rolled by North last week for the best part of 3 Qtrs.

It’s gotta be mental. How can we play insipid for 3 quarters and then turn on the tap. ?

It's good that we can turn on the tap. I thought we'd roll over

Mate we won the first and the last, plus pegged back momentum in the third.

We weren't great, I get it, but we agree that we can play better so while we're able to dig in and win like good teams do it might be more enjoyable if we avoid talking our prospects down until you know, we need to.

09-05-2021, 06:22 PM

You can also look at it from a glass half full viewpoint in that we played ordinary for 3/4 but managed to turn it around when it mattered. Good teams get challenged and great teams can turn it around. We also have momentum going into next week’s game.

09-05-2021, 06:31 PM
Mate we won the first and the last, plus pegged back momentum in the third.

We weren't great, I get it, but we agree that we can play better so while we're able to dig in and win like good teams do it might be more enjoyable if we avoid talking our prospects down until you know, we need to.

Ok I’ll fall in line and trot out the mission statement.

We’ll win a premiership based on our last quarter.

Better? Sorry I forgot where I was. Thought I was in a public forum so wanted to express my opinion. I’ll look elsewhere.

09-05-2021, 06:33 PM
You can also look at it from a glass half full viewpoint in that we played ordinary for 3/4 but managed to turn it around when it mattered. Good teams get challenged and great teams can turn it around. We also have momentum going into next week’s game.

7 of 8 won and only a bad second half cost us the eighth against Richmond. Plus 150%. Most people would’ve taken that at season start.

09-05-2021, 06:34 PM

Better? Sorry I forgot where I was. Thought I was in a public forum so wanted to express my opinion. I’ll look elsewhere.

I'm not sure Jeemak's post was antagonistic to warrant that. As you say we're entitled to express opinions here, and also to challenge people's opinions. Jeemak wasn't disrespectful or condescending.

09-05-2021, 06:34 PM

This is true. What you say is completely valid and I agree with it but there are two sides to every situation. I hope you’re right. We are much better than we showed for most of today.

09-05-2021, 06:35 PM

Sorry mate, that's not what I'm saying. Post whatever you like.

09-05-2021, 06:36 PM
I'm not sure Jeemak's post was antagonistic to warrant that. As you say we're entitled to express opinions here, and also to challenge people's opinions. Jeemak wasn't disrespectful or condescending.

Didn’t think it was disrespectful or condescending. But I was told it’d be better to avoid saying certain things that others may not want to hear.

09-05-2021, 06:40 PM
Wins like that are the difference between making top 4 or not. I must say it is quite humerous reading the match day thread after a come from behind win ha! Thanks for the entertainment all, love the passion go doggies.

09-05-2021, 06:41 PM
Didn’t think it was disrespectful or condescending. But I was told it’d be better to avoid saying certain things that others may not want to hear.

FWIW. I'm not convinced we're top 4 either. I still think we have a soft underbelly, the way we crumbled last week kind of puts doubt in my mind. Either way I'm happy with this win.

09-05-2021, 06:42 PM
I never give up hope at half time. We lifted in the second half and fortunately they missed a couple of chances in the third so we were not too far away at three quarter time.

I thought Jacko was really important in the last quarter as well as Caleb Daniel, Bont, Hunter and Treloar. Crozier also lifted.

But the bloke who stood up for 120 minutes was Josh Bruce. I thought his performance was immense. I always reckoned he could play at St Kilda and although his first year with us was poor he has really turned it around by getting fit and giving up alcohol. I am really pleased for him.

This was an important win and we showed that we can get up off the floor, keep punching and deliver a knockout blow to win the game. The "Old Mongoose", Archie Moore, would've been proud.

https://youtu.be/9UTsHFaZR34
Fully agree with your assessment of Bruce.That was his best game for us and his consistency throughout the game meant we were always a chance. Hope to see more of that strong play.

Ok. I read it as just saying, lets save the doomsday talk, until doomsday hits, and enjoy the fact that we did what good teams do when they're seemingly down for the count, they fightback.
Last year, we rolled over against Carlton when in a similar position. Am I happy with the first 2 and a half Qtrs? Nope. But I loved the fact we got our collective shit together and steamrolled them. I'm actually quite proud of that fight, and Bont's brilliance.

There was one moment that I found super frustrating. McNeil throws himself into a contest to prevent McKay from taking a mark and does so successfully, Cordy then proceeded to just stop and stare as McNeil's opponent just waltzed past him with the ball and set up an easy goal.

I just read the game day thread back because lol but Daniel did not get enough credit for his job on Saad. Beat him so bad he’s probably gonna get dropped.

09-05-2021, 06:44 PM
Throwing Daniel back into defense was what probably turned the game for us.

09-05-2021, 06:45 PM
I just read the game day thread back because lol but Daniel did not get enough credit for his job on Saad. Beat him so bad he’s probably gonna get dropped.

Great point. The fact that we could then flick Daniel's role in the last to an offensive one that really made a difference was great to see. First he denied Saad and then he showed him his bag of tricks to rub it in.

09-05-2021, 06:46 PM
Great point. The fact that we could then flick Daniel's role in the last to an offensive one that really made a difference was great to see. First he denied Saad and then he showed him his bag of tricks to rub it in.

Broke Saad then broke the game. Insane stuff.

09-05-2021, 06:49 PM
Ok. I read it as just saying, lets save the doomsday talk, until doomsday hits, and enjoy the fact that we did what good teams do when they're seemingly down for the count, they fightback.
Last year, we rolled over against Carlton when in a similar position. Am I happy with the first 2 and a half Qtrs? Nope. But I loved the fact we got our collective shit together and steamrolled them. I'm actually quite proud of that fight, and Bont's brilliance.

Yeah I take your point. But my initial comment was in response to something else. It wasn’t just raised on its own. I wouldn’t have typed it generally after that win.

09-05-2021, 06:52 PM
Broke Saad then broke the game. Insane stuff.

Why are we using Caleb Daniel to tag a half back flanker?

That's crazy if true. Give the job to Scott or McNeil, not your blue chip distributor.

09-05-2021, 06:54 PM
Why are we using Caleb Daniel to tag a half back flanker?

That's crazy if true. Give the job to Scott or McNeil, not your blue chip distributor.

I don’t have a great answer and he wouldn’t have been my choice, but think Daniel himself deserves a ton of credit.

09-05-2021, 06:57 PM
Throwing Daniel back into defense was what probably turned the game for us.

Putting your b and f into his All Australian position. Who could have known?

09-05-2021, 06:59 PM
I don’t have a great answer and he wouldn’t have been my choice, but think Daniel himself deserves a ton of credit.

Probably does but it was one of the reasons we were losing the game. I don't understand why Bevo wants to get cute like that. It could have been very costly.

09-05-2021, 07:02 PM
That had to be Josh Bruce's best game ever at AFL level, surely?

09-05-2021, 07:03 PM

For us Id have to agree. Best by a long way.

09-05-2021, 07:04 PM

Possibly. That goal he kicked around the corner in the first was a ripper.

09-05-2021, 07:04 PM

It was pretty special, not least due to his reliability to keep us in the game. There wasn't any hint of junk time about it.

09-05-2021, 07:05 PM
It was pretty special, not least due to his reliability to keep us i the game. There wasn't any hint of junk time about it.

Yeah, it wasn't just feasting in a belting which has been a specialty of his. This was 4 quarters of grit and skill, including a run in the ruck.

Once again, I've been sucked into the Josh Bruce vortex.

09-05-2021, 07:06 PM
Taking care of business.

09-05-2021, 07:09 PM
Yeah, it wasn't just feasting in a belting which has been a specialty of his. This was 4 quarters of grit and skill, including a run in the ruck.

Once again, I've been sucked into the Josh Bruce vortex.

It's a place that fills me with unease..........

He's not always going to play like that obviously, but if he can cast aside some of the stinking efforts and be consistent with a few games like today here and there then I'm more than happy with him.

I'm not sure how anyone watching could feel that way, but I hope you're right.

We had some good wins in the clearance and by and large our defence was holding up OK. It got worse before it got better, but we weeent too far off.

Happy Mother’s Day y’all!! Talk about saving the best ‘til last. I thought we were heading for a belting.

What did Bevo say to rev the troops?

Daniel (the architect) was superb that last quarter. Bruce was good all game. Bont did Bont like things too.
Buku a crowd fave already. Keath’s screamer icing on the cake. And that Treloar goal - wow.

09-05-2021, 07:13 PM
We had some good wins in the clearance and by and large our defence was holding up OK. It got worse before it got better, but we weeent too far off.

Kudos to you :D

09-05-2021, 07:15 PM
For us Id have to agree. Best by a long way.

He kicked 10 a few weeks ago, but agree - this was probably a better effort on a more worthy opponent.

09-05-2021, 07:16 PM

Nope. He's pretty much saying the place would be a lot better if people thought positive and didn't like, you know wave the tide of emotion or anything. Anyway...

Well done match committee and chosen players.
Buku promises a legend.
William too.

Didn't there used to be some Cripps vs Bont talk? Cripps hardly sighted today.

Big signings Williams and Saad were crap.

It pains me to say it, but Jones was reasonable.

09-05-2021, 07:19 PM
Cripps is finished. Has been for 18 months. He’s lost a step of pace and has become horrendously selfish trying to do to much to overcompensate. Even that goal he kicks at the end of the game should’ve been a handball over the top to Casboult (?) in the goalsquare by himself.

09-05-2021, 07:19 PM

Did some ok things but was matched on Bruce all night who got the chocolates.

09-05-2021, 07:20 PM
Nope. He's pretty much saying the place would be a lot better if people thought positive and didn't like, you know wave the tide of emotion or anything. Anyway...

I didn't articulate what I was trying to say well. I've apologised to BT&T.

09-05-2021, 07:25 PM

Like Collingwood they misjudged their list. I advocated it 12 months out to the contract of Williams. But he needed to be the cream at a club, say like ours or what he was at GWS. Not the worker bee. It’s making less sense for them and his game (not bank balance). I can them going for speed in Martin, Williams & Saad with one very good tall forward and KPDs covered. But the cash in those three guys is going to curtail what they can afford to plus their list holes.

Ah well, couldn’t happen to a nicer more relevant club.

09-05-2021, 07:26 PM
So watching Bevo's presser.
Daniel played forward because they were concerned with Carlton's taller forward line.
They switched him in the 4th largely because, and Bevo was nice about it, but we weren't getting what we wanted from Buku's matchup, and needed to get some drive.

Also Hunter played half the game with what they think is a broken 4th metatarsal in his hand. They might need to put a plate in it.
Tought nut.

09-05-2021, 07:27 PM
Fully agree with your assessment of Bruce.That was his best game for us and his consistency throughout the game meant we were always a chance. Hope to see more of that strong play.

Agree he stayed at a solid level throughout and he kept us in touch. Best game for sure.

09-05-2021, 07:33 PM
So watching Bevo's presser.
Daniel played forward because they were concerned with Carlton's taller forward line.
They switched him in the 4th largely because, and Bevo was nice about it, but we weren't getting what we wanted from Buku's matchup, and needed to get some drive.

Also Hunter played half the game with what they think is a broken 4th metatarsal in his hand. They might need to put a plate in it.
Tought nut.

Khamis was off nearly 75 percent of the last qtr from memory.
He did look out of position at times, searching for a player but first game of course and he'll learn.
He seems pretty assured by foot.

09-05-2021, 07:35 PM

Jones is a very good player but thought Bruce was outstanding. Jones doesn’t often have bags kicked on him. First time I have been impressed with Weitering. He is starting to play like a # 1 pick. They have the makings of a good team but for some reason it never seems to click-and hopefully never does. They are in the same category as Essendon. Scum both of them.

09-05-2021, 07:39 PM
Khamis was off nearly 75 percent of the last qtr from memory.
He did look out of position at times, searching for a player but first game of course and he'll learn.
He seems pretty assured by foot.

I'm not surprised. I thought his reading of the play at VFL level was off and that he used his athleticism to make up for the lack of footy nous. At AFL level its harder. That said - I thought he was good, but I still don't see a role for him at the moment in our team - not big enough to take on the McKays - no room with Crozier, Doc and Wood to be the intercepting mid sized tall. Great to give him a game, but he will be monstered v Port who wont give us the chances that Carlton did.

09-05-2021, 07:40 PM
Jones is a very good player but thought Bruce was outstanding. Jones doesn’t often have bags kicked on him. First time I have been impressed with Weitering. He is starting to play like a # 1 pick. They have the makings of a good team but for some reason it never seems to click-and hopefully never does. They are in the same category as Essendon. Scum both of them.

Weitering has been this good for at least 18 months, pretty sure he won their best and fairest last year.

I thought Keath and Cordy actually did a great job defensively. Casboult barely sighted on Zaine, who also laid a great tackle on Betts immediately after a very clever defensive spoil, and most of McKay's wins on Keath came after terrible defensive half turnovers. Our skill level in the first half was deplorable.

09-05-2021, 07:40 PM
Watched Scott a little closer today. Apart from kicking 2 goals he puts in good defensive efforts that let his teammates gain possession etc. A no fuss, team orientated player. Confidence growing & more assured. I’m warming to him.

09-05-2021, 07:47 PM
Watched Scott a little closer today. Apart from kicking 2 goals he puts in good defensive efforts that let his teammates gain possession etc. A no fuss, team orientated player. Confidence growing & more assured. I’m warming to him.

His best game by a mile. He’s 26 so he’d *want* to be good now but he does a lot of work.

09-05-2021, 07:51 PM
Great win Dogs! They certainly get the heart going :D

Really woke up at the end of the 3rd quarter and put in a great final quarter. I thought we were off in the 1st half. We keep 2nd spot outright. The 3qtr time talk did the trick :)

09-05-2021, 07:55 PM
Weitering has been this good for at least 18 months, pretty sure he won their best and fairest last year.

I thought Keath and Cordy actually did a great job defensively. Casboult barely sighted on Zaine, who also laid a great tackle on Betts immediately after a very clever defensive spoil, and most of McKay's wins on Keath came after terrible defensive half turnovers. Our skill level in the first half was deplorable.

Thanks. Shows how much I watch Carlton ��.
:)

09-05-2021, 07:58 PM

I agree with you.We have close to the best list in the competition, but what Carlton showed today is we have a way to go before we are the best team. So there are different ways of looking at a game. The simplistic way- that was a win and that’s all there is to it. Or the sophisticated way that shows how it leads to the grand final (or not).

My text to a friend in the third quarter said Carlton is tiring so we should win. And that’s what happened. But before that Carlton used set plays and ran defined lines to exploit weaknesses in our game plan. Something which deserves saying and correcting.

09-05-2021, 07:59 PM
Buku Khamis I thought had a decent debut.

09-05-2021, 08:01 PM
He and McNeill sacriufice their games for the team. JJ has done it two weeks in a row two

McNeill is probably leading the comp for steals and probably leading our team for blocks for the other forwards

09-05-2021, 08:06 PM
Buku Khamis I thought had a decent debut.

I'm sure he was on Betts early, and Eddie taught him more than a few lessons. He seemed rushed with his first few touches as expected, but calmed down as the game went on. He was good in the air.

09-05-2021, 08:16 PM
I'm sure he was on Betts early, and Eddie taught him more than a few lessons. He seemed rushed with his first few touches as expected, but calmed down as the game went on. He was good in the air.

He has a decent leap on him and is not afraid of a contest. Decent debut and plenty to work with.

09-05-2021, 08:24 PM

I didn't think he was on Eddie at any point

09-05-2021, 08:33 PM
I didn't think he was on Eddie at any point

Yeah I thought that was left to Duryea with whacky results.

09-05-2021, 08:36 PM
Khamis was definitely on Betts and got moved off after his third goal.

09-05-2021, 08:43 PM
Khamis was definitely on Betts and got moved off after his third goal.

Interesting because he wasn't close to him for 2 of those and when Eddie helped set up a goal in the 1st Buku was again no where to be seen.

I wasn't at the game so only getting the tv viewpoint

09-05-2021, 08:51 PM
Anyone else reckon Smith is not having a good year?

09-05-2021, 08:56 PM

Rhetorical question?

09-05-2021, 09:00 PM

He's tapered off in the last few weeks and is playing a slightly different role. Has only missed 20 disposals for the game twice this season. He fumbled a bit today.

09-05-2021, 09:02 PM
He's tapered off in the last few weeks and is playing a slightly different role. Has only missed 20 disposals for the game twice this season. He fumbled a bit today.

Also didn’t lay one tackle today.

09-05-2021, 09:04 PM
Interesting because he wasn't close to him for 2 of those and when Eddie helped set up a goal in the 1st Buku was again no where to be seen.

I wasn't at the game so only getting the tv viewpoint

I felt that he was manned up on him (definitely started on him at some centre bounces) and the fact that he was not in the frame on TV says everything about his lockdown skills - but he might have traded at that particular point, as our defensive match ups are fairly fluid.

Wood was a far better match up for Eddie.

09-05-2021, 09:05 PM
Good win. I was convinced we were done halfway through the third. Worth noting we have some really key players out - English, Dunkley and Williams are 3 massive outs. Arguably all in our best 10 or damn close to it, English structurally is just so important. When you add the likes of an in form Vandermeer and Gardiner and replace them with JJ/Cordy our depth is being tested.

For mine, the JJ forward experiment is done. It's half back or VFL. Lipinski is another I don't see room for, I'd rather Weightman. Hunter needs to stay on the wing - his move from HF to wing was crucial in the 4th.

Bont was massive, ditto Libba and Bruce.

Still carrying too many passengers (JJ, Cordy, Crozier, Lipinski, Hannan and to lesser degrees Smith, Khamis). Thought Sweet was solid and had some nice deft touches, positive game. Khamis showed a bit but positionally looked lost at times especially early v Betts.

All in all, fantastic to steamroll Caaarlton but we need some players back asap.

09-05-2021, 09:12 PM
Hannan has been disappointing. As a forward he doesn't impact the scoreboard nor does he apply any pressure. He doesn't get enough posessions. Am I missing something with him?

09-05-2021, 09:16 PM
Hannan has been disappointing. As a forward he doesn't impact the scoreboard nor does he apply any pressure. He doesn't get enough posessions. Am I missing something with him?

I haven't been impressed with him and still wonder why we chased him.

09-05-2021, 09:29 PM
2.75 quarters of lacklustre footy. Feel like we’ve left a fair few ingredients in the “how to beat the bulldogs” recipe out there for the league to piece together in our last three outings.

7-1 so won’t wring my hands too much, but that wasn’t ideal.

Said to my dad pre game that this this one had 5 goals to MacKay, a half time collapse after wasting early, dominant football, written al over it. The sort of loss that seems to have typified those days where we were concerned about losing the game at selection. Looked like it might go that way, but I suppose, credit where it is due, we did wrestle things back in our favour and close that story down.

Watching the replay now to see what looks different. At the game I thought Bruce was BOG. Then Macrae. Then Bont.

09-05-2021, 10:10 PM
2.75 quarters of lacklustre footy. Feel like we’ve left a fair few ingredients in the “how to beat the bulldogs” recipe out there for the league to piece together in our last three outings.

7-1 so won’t wring my hands too much, but that wasn’t ideal.

Said to my dad pre game that this this one had 5 goals to MacKay, a half time collapse after wasting early, dominant football, written al over it. The sort of loss that seems to have typified those days where we were concerned about losing the game at selection. Looked like it might go that way, but I suppose, credit where it is due, we did wrestle things back in our favour and close that story down.

Watching the replay now to see what looks different. At the game I thought Bruce was BOG. Then Macrae. Then Bont.

I agree with your synopsis. We were outplayed in the 1st 2.75 quarters. We somehow managed to get it together. Can't help but feel we have guys playing in the wrong positions so they are nowhere as effective as we would expect them to be. Output from Bruce (not just goals) was first rate.

09-05-2021, 10:18 PM
It'll be interesting watching the replay because I thought we won the first, albeit only just (scoreboard notwithstanding) and definitely won the last.

09-05-2021, 10:20 PM
It'll be interesting watching the replay because I thought we won the first, albeit only just (scoreboard notwithstanding) and definitely won the last.

The only area we were down until mid way through the third was contested poss. (of course scoreboard).

They were going in harder, but we turned that around. We were smashing them in Clearances and stoppages, but not delivering the ball into our F50 very well (as usual)

09-05-2021, 11:38 PM
Just on Hannan, he has had an interrupted preseason( didn't play much last year either) and is playing a difficult role in a new side I think we need to give him time. I remember when Crozier first came in and had knee problems early looked well off the place but eventually got going with continuity.

10-05-2021, 12:35 AM

Im convinced Mitch W. could play Hannan's roll better at this point.

10-05-2021, 12:47 AM
Lets be honest here, how many of us wrote off the game when we were 27 points down in the middle of the 3rd quarter?

Something inspired our boys.

Was it Bont's magic show and never give up attitude?
Bruce commanding a 'kick it too me' position with our midfielders?
Did the team know Hunter was out there with a likely broken hand and giving his all?
Was it Liberatore and Daniel lifting their work rate?
Or an inspirational Bevo speech?

I just have to think there was an incredible belief among our boys that it's not over til it's over.

When you consider where we were this might be our best win of the season.

10-05-2021, 07:08 AM
Lets be honest here, how many of us wrote off the game when we were 27 points down in the middle of the 3rd quarter?

Did the team know Hunter was out there with a likely broken hand and giving his all?

I just have to think there was an incredible belief among our boys that it's not over til it's over.

I agree Gary,

I think a combination of all those elements, which signifies the overall belief the team has.
We're not always going to play beautiful football with things going our way, it's the good teams that, despite this, keep fighting and get the result. That's the difference between a 'nice' team and a good team. Carlton are a 'nice' team. When it's on their terms they look great, but when a good team takes it up to them, they don't have the mental goods to stick with it. And that's probably a charge you could've slung at us in recent years. I think the performances against West Coast, GWS and Carlton have showed we've grown in that regard.
Another massive challenge next week against Port in Adelaide to get a real reading of just how much we've improved. We may not get a win, it's a tough challenge to win over there against a fired up Port, but it's vital we don't roll over.

10-05-2021, 07:32 AM

Absolutely. Watching them walk it in off the back of every forward 50 contest was doing my head in, and (except for the last few minutes post treloar goal) I thought they were moving more freely. The one saviour in my mind was that it was largely our poor skills giving them the ball back in dangerous positions, and that was an easy fix.

I would still have the Eagles win higher in my rankings as proof that we can beat a good team, but this was great for belief that we are always in games.

10-05-2021, 07:59 AM
"Watching them walk it in off the back of every forward 50 contest was doing my head in."

You and me both.

10-05-2021, 08:14 AM

I thought we still were in it but I was losing faith/belief by the second. I said to my son if they kick 1 more it's good night Irene. Then when we kicked a couple at the end of the 3rd I felt we were in for a big last quarter. I'm not sure if it was a gut feel or just a desperate wish to want the win. I actually said we'll kick 7 in the last at 3QT to my son. If Naughton hadn't hit the post I look like Nostradamas!

Very pleasing win after playing awful for so much of the game. Our field kicking was atrocious. When Cordy turned the ball over trying to pin point Macrae with 3 Carlton players all around him in the corridor I said a few things that should never be repeated. But it wasn't just him we were bad across all lines. There was a little bit of it's just going to happen about the way we were playing atm and we need everyone to play their role and not waiting for others to do the heavylifting all the time. I didn't realise that Bevo was coaching from the bench in the last quarter until I watched some of the replay. Maybe that was what got us humming in the last. A bit more direction and discipline in the face of the players.

A win against Carlton always feels nice

10-05-2021, 08:22 AM

Certainly did. When Harry clunked a few marks inside 50 on consecutive entries, it looked gone. Lynch from last week areas.

Then Bont really lifted. Crozier found some form. Caleb moved back. Things ran much more smoothly with a half back line really starting to hum and the best player on the ground in motion, with ball in hand.

There was a definitive shift. Noticed Bevo was on the bench coaching around that time too. Wonder if things weren’t as organised as he would like.

I am hesitant to give it too much credit because while Carlton did pose a threat, we should be dealing with them and in the end that’s what we did. Par result.

10-05-2021, 08:45 AM
Certainly did. When Harry clunked a few marks inside 50 on consecutive entries, it looked gone. Lynch from last week areas.

Then Bont really lifted. Crozier found some form. Caleb moved back. Things ran much more smoothly with a half back line really starting to hum and the best player on the ground in motion, with ball in hand.

There was a definitive shift. Noticed Bevo was on the bench coaching around that time too. Wonder if things weren’t as organised as he would like.

I am hesitant to give it too much credit because while Carlton did pose a threat, we should be dealing with them and in the end that’s what we did. Par result.

Yeah that fact we were in such a dire position against a side like Carlton is pretty concerning. Great to get the win but it shouldn’t paper over the massive cracks we have at the moment.

10-05-2021, 08:53 AM
Yeah that fact we were in such a dire position against a side like Carlton is pretty concerning. Great to get the win but it shouldn’t paper over the massive cracks we have at the moment.

Agree... the review should heavily focus more on the bad than the good.

We aren't getting a consistent level of performance from 6-8 at present and we didn't execute our skills well and I think we need to change the mix in the team as whilst we were able to right the ship, it won't be the case against an opponent of higher quality.

10-05-2021, 08:53 AM

Is it really so dire? Melbourne looked woeful for 2 and a half quarters against North a couple of weeks ago, before they too got on top.
I agree we fluffed things against Richmond, and we need to do better. I don't think we have massive cracks. Carlton, North they have massive cracks. I think we've got some improving to do, but I don't think its that bad.

10-05-2021, 08:57 AM

Some of those cracks though are from having an unsettled side and with injuries hitting. The losses of three players who were in our best in the first few rounds, English, Williams and Dunkley have not just hurt in the sense of personnel missing, but in the way the side is set up.

Wins like yesterday's do more for the team than a romp against North. Good teams learn how to win in all sorts of different ways. There were many signs that it 'just wasn't our day' - the fumbles, the endless slipping over, even the overturned goal. You learn a lot about a team's character when they are forced to dig deep, and I liked the answer we got yesterday.

10-05-2021, 09:04 AM
Is it really so dire? Melbourne looked woeful for 2 and a half quarters against North a couple of weeks ago, before they too got on top.
I agree we fluffed things against Richmond, and we need to do better. I don't think we have massive cracks. Carlton, North they have massive cracks. I think we've got some improving to do, but I don't think its that bad.

How many teams play every single quarter consistently well? I would say none - there are ups and downs.

The beauty is we didn't just chuck it in like years gone by, we fought it out and won.

10-05-2021, 09:09 AM

It’s not that bad and I’d prefer to have cracks now than at round 18, we have time to fix them. Injuries to key players aren’t helping but that doesn’t excuse the output of about 6 or so players who are very down on form and the overall lack of defending we saw for about 70% of game time. We know our Achilles heel is the defensive group against big key forwards and we know that it requires total buy in from every single player up the field to restrict supply. We’re not completely buying in right now and it’s hurting us. But there is still plenty of time to fix it and build momentum towards finals.

English has been a huge loss as an aside. No way Weitering takes all those marks if English is there.

10-05-2021, 09:16 AM

It was pretty dire there for a while, but it’s such an even competition sometimes belief is half the battle. The Blues really should’ve put us away they muffed loads of chances and you could see their heads drop when the tide turned. Not sure what’s going on with Cripps he looks a shadow of the player he was?

Despite the win I walked away uncertain of where we are at. But as you say every team has their struggles and it can be a trap to focus on the negatives. Previously we lose that game.

I watched the replay, it really is a game that doesn’t translate well to TV. It was like a different match, you can’t see the structure and work off / without the ball, collective effort stuff at all which I consume with interest at the ground.

I thought we struggled in this phase of the game and found myself gesticulating like an airport traffic controller for most of it trying to will players to run to the right spots! I’m sure that’s why Luke was on the boundary late, he was as animated as I’ve ever seen him down there. Was really orchestrating things. Buku off for most of the last was fair indication the structure was not what was expected.

Can’t be anything but mostly positive with this start but as we all know the real test is to come.

10-05-2021, 09:22 AM
It was pretty dire there for a while, but it’s such an even competition sometimes belief is half the battle. The Blues really should’ve put us away they muffed loads of chances and you could see their heads drop when the tide turned. Not sure what’s going on with Cripps he looks a shadow of the player he was?

Despite the win I walked away uncertain of where we are at. But as you say every team has their struggles and it can be a trap to focus on the negatives. Previously we lose that game.

I watched the replay, it really is a game that doesn’t translate well to TV. It was like a different match, you can’t see the structure and work off / without the ball, collective effort stuff at all which I consume with interest at the ground.

I thought we struggled in this phase of the game and found myself gesticulating like an airport traffic controller for most of it trying to will players to run to the right spots! I’m sure that’s why Luke was on the boundary late, he was as animated as I’ve ever seen him down there. Was really orchestrating things. Buku off for most of the last was fair indication the structure was not what was expected.

Can’t be anything but mostly positive with this start but as we all know the real test is to come.

Agree, I thought we were gone up til last 7 or so minutes of the 3rd Qtr, and was fuming.
And yep whilst I was rapt to see Buku get a game, it was clear that he's got some work to do before he can comfortable slot into the back 6, and do the role required.
It does feel that we're really struggling at the moment to replace our structure minus English, Williams and Dunkley. Not sure we've figured it all out yet. At least we should get Williams and Timmy back this week, which should help. We just need someone else to step up and cover Dunks' role.. that is going to be tough, maybe Wallis spending a lot of time inside for Footscray is a clue that we seem him as filling in that role down the track?

10-05-2021, 09:26 AM
Agree, I thought we were gone up til last 7 or so minutes of the 3rd Qtr, and was fuming.
And yep whilst I was rapt to see Buku get a game, it was clear that he's got some work to do before he can comfortable slot into the back 6, and do the role required.
It does feel that we're really struggling at the moment to replace our structure minus English, Williams and Dunkley. Not sure we've figured it all out yet. At least we should get Williams and Timmy back this week, which should help. We just need someone else to step up and cover Dunks' role.. that is going to be tough, maybe Wallis spending a lot of time inside for Footscray is a clue that we seem him as filling in that role down the track?

Think Buku is a way off in defending smaller forwards, and Carlton were able to manipulate things for Buku to end up on a small a fair few times.

10-05-2021, 09:28 AM
Think Buku is a way off in defending smaller forwards, and Carlton were able to manipulate things for Buku to end up on a small a fair few times.

He's certainly got some homework to do. Given his journey so far just to get a game, I suspect he'll really knuckle down and take in the feedback and learnings going forward. If he can go back to Footscray and apply himself, there is definitely opportunity for him. He's got some great attributes.

10-05-2021, 09:31 AM
Just on Hannan, he has had an interrupted preseason( didn't play much last year either) and is playing a difficult role in a new side I think we need to give him time. I remember when Crozier first came in and had knee problems early looked well off the place but eventually got going with continuity.
He was on managed minutes two weeks ago in the VFL.
It just looks like we've rushed him back too early. Weightman is knocking the door down with effort and deserves a chance.
With VFL having the bye though dropping Hannan doesn't give him a chance to get his match conditioning up to scratch.

10-05-2021, 09:42 AM
He was on managed minutes two weeks ago in the VFL.
It just looks like we've rushed him back too early. Weightman is knocking the door down with effort and deserves a chance.
With VFL having the bye though dropping Hannan doesn't give him a chance to get his match conditioning up to scratch.

Yeah I agree, we rushed him into the team. He didn't look ready in the VFL game against GWS. I was very surprised to see him included after that performance. It will be interesting to see if he keeps his place this week.

10-05-2021, 10:22 AM

Not sure with Wally, I think he went into the midfield against the Giants as a game day move rather than a bigger picture plan for him in the AFL side?

Hope he gets back in, but I think he's pretty far back in the midfielder queue.

10-05-2021, 10:30 AM

He should watch Zaine Cordy. His tackle on Betts was outstanding.

10-05-2021, 11:07 AM
He should watch Zaine Cordy. His tackle on Betts was outstanding.

Agreed. I began drafting an obituary for Zaine when I saw that situation developing but he played it perfectly.

10-05-2021, 01:12 PM
I quite enjoyed that.

We really didn't perform as we should've for much of the game but I felt weirdly confident we would put it together and at least give it a proper shake.

Bont was immense. Yes he was wasteful and lacking in execution at times but he was awesome. Our only mid for much of the game that was actually an attacking presence.
His physicality was impressive and something that has really improved in the last year.

Bruce was also great. The first time he has repetitively stood up in important moments and delivered. His accuracy was so important and even his stints in the ruck were productive.

Not sure I liked playing Daniel forward, even if he did do his job really well. We have lacked composure and kicking skills out of defence of late in the absence of Williams (and the inclusion of Wood, Crozier, Cordy) so not a fan of basically putting all of that onto Dale's shoulders.

Khamis had an ok debut. Didnt really do anything good and is potentially the most responsible for the fast start of Betts but held his own for the most part. Not sure he stays in the side though if we don't want to play him for more than 60 odd percent of the game.

Really rated the games of McNeill and Scott. They don't get heaps of it but it is a bit Richmond like in that what they add isn't necessarily on the stats sheet. Their pressure is great and if they can own the few moment steel get like Scott did then they deliver. Played the role much better than say West's attempt last week.

Hannan I like and think will be good, but has not clicked yet. Came in pretty underdone from the VFL it seems and it is weird how some players are made to fight for weeks just to get a shitty game out of position (West) while others just get thrown in before they are ready. Would be open to dropping him but we have come this far so maybe he is about to click.

Was pretty meh on Sweet to halftime but thought his competitiveness there in the second half was good. Would like to see more from him to see if he can be a positive contributor and not just a stopper but he should be reasonably happy.

Treloar had a pretty good finish to the game. My impressions pre-us were that he was an energetic panic kick merchant but his foothills have been great. Fantastic range, can hit up some nice passes and convertd on the run very well which is a nice change from the plethora of guys we love handballing to for points (Crozier and Jj particularly).

Thought Weitering and Jones worked very well both individually and to help each other out. Naughton had a hard game against them but thought to his credit still.managed to have an impact. That pack mark was awesome. Good signs if your key forward can have a quiet game and still have an influence.

Cordy was ok. If he didn't kick it out on the full for no reason and also try the stupidly ambitious kick to a 1 on 4 then I would have been pretty happy. I still prefer Young but Cordy was ok.

Keath was fantastic. McKay still had an impact but not sure Keath could've done much more. Loved his aggression and he was really the only good bit of our defence for a lot of the game.

Was a very fun last quarter and a pretty positive result. Carlton aren't good, but they are a team that has troubled us in the past. We have a tendency to raise or lower our level of performance to our oppositions so even if we don't play to our potential as long as we secure the win im pretty happy. Also nice to have another game under our belt where we were challenged and rose to meet it. Practice with getting important goals and coming back from decent deficits can only hold us in good stead going forward. Pleasing to see a number of key players deliver on that front too, Naughton and Bruce probably the two I wanted to see it from the most.

10-05-2021, 02:13 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E0_6khaVoAMG-e5?format=jpg&name=large

10-05-2021, 02:18 PM
Caleb was the other one worth mentioning. He's a weapon down back, and makes good decisions quickly ( as we already know ).
Great to see him taking contested marks and also not afraid to show a bit of mongrel (When one of our blokes went down.) He's an important leader down back.

Glad we won.

10-05-2021, 05:15 PM
We got our act together when we needed too, and there’s no doubt having Williams, Dunks and English missing have been huge losses. Hopefully have 2 of them back this week.

When we are flat, we are really flat, and if we play quarter 2 and 3 against port this week, there is no coming back. We need 4 quarters of hungry team orientated football.

Yes we won, but other than the last quarter, I wasn’t happy with the way we played, the way we defended and the way we moved the ball from defence. These need to be ironed out and we need a more consistent effort. This Port game will show where we REALLY are.

10-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Coaches Votes

10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
6 Tom Liberatore (WB)
6 Josh Bruce (WB)
4 Jacob Weitering (CARL)
3 Eddie Betts (CARL)
1 Sam Docherty (CARL)

10-05-2021, 05:25 PM
Coaches Votes

10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
6 Tom Liberatore (WB)
6 Josh Bruce (WB)
4 Jacob Weitering (CARL)
3 Eddie Betts (CARL)
1 Sam Docherty (CARL)

I hate to say it but Weitering has been short changed

10-05-2021, 05:26 PM
Can one of the math geniuses tell me how that went as far as coach splits are concerned?

10-05-2021, 05:27 PM

He was excellent, though greatly helped by how we kicked forward a lot of the time.

10-05-2021, 05:29 PM
Can one of the math geniuses tell me how that went as far as coach splits are concerned?

Putting aside the obvious ones I believe Tom and Bruce got 4+2 each, and Weitering got 1+3

So possibly

Bevo:
5 Bont
4 Bruce
3 Weitering
2 Libba
1 Docherty

Teague:
5 Bont
4 Libba
3 Betts
2 Bruce
1 Weitering

10-05-2021, 05:32 PM

Why?

Bruce kicked 5 goals

10-05-2021, 05:32 PM
Why?

Bruce kicked 5 goals

Jones was on Bruce.

10-05-2021, 05:34 PM

I have it something like this:

Bont 5 & 5
Libba 4 & 2
Bruce 3 & 3
Betts 2 & 1
Docherty 1 & 0
Weitering 0 & 4

10-05-2021, 05:34 PM
Jones was on Bruce.

Yes, but deserved more votes than Weitering because of the 5 goals and 11 marks.

10-05-2021, 06:34 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E0_6khaVoAMG-e5?format=jpg&name=large

And reading back in this thread some wanted him subbed off!! We expect so much of Bont. He made the odd mistake and looked a bit sore and fatigued but as champions do he willed us across the line.

10-05-2021, 06:43 PM
And reading back in this thread some wanted him subbed off!! We expect so much of Bont. He made the odd mistake and looked a bit sore and fatigued but as champions do he willed us across the line.

Haha I was losing my mind but I'm glad I kept my powder dry on any Bont bashing :D

10-05-2021, 06:43 PM
Nobody puts Bonty in the corner

10-05-2021, 06:45 PM
I have it something like this:

Bont 5 & 5
Libba 4 & 2
Bruce 3 & 3
Betts 2 & 1
Docherty 1 & 0
Weitering 0 & 4

I'd reckon that would be close to the mark.

10-05-2021, 07:22 PM
Nobody puts Bonty in the corner

Very good.

10-05-2021, 07:38 PM

I was saying last night that sometimes winning is a habit that good teams get into. We will look back at this game at the end of the season and realise that the four points we got yesterday was the difference between finishing top two/four or in the 5-8 spots.

10-05-2021, 07:43 PM

I'm with you on this. I think the win flatters what was a pretty lacklustre performance from the team. Great finish, but how did we get into that position in the first place is what I would be asking? Was it positional? Work effort? Match-ups? What I do know is that PA/StK/Melb are unlikely to be as accommodating as Carlton in giving up a 27 point lead.

10-05-2021, 07:56 PM
The win shows that in the half of the game in which we had the upper hand we managed to kick sixteen more points than the opposition did in the half in which they had the upper hand.

That's actually a good thing.

I was having a look at the Tigers 2109 season, there's a few interesting results in the run home they put together against the Saints, Eagles and Geelong.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/tg-richmond-tigers?year=2019

They're a team that sticks to their system, and if folks buy into it they're always a chance of turning things around and that's what we're aspiring to be.

This is actually the reason why I really like the game played at twenty minute quarters. There's enough time for teams to regroup and change the momentum of the game within quarters and halves. You can have a rough forty minutes of football and still be in with a chance to win the game.

10-05-2021, 08:13 PM
Jones was on Bruce.

Liam Jones is a highly paid, elite defender. I fail to see your point :D

10-05-2021, 08:22 PM
The win shows that in the half of the game in which we had the upper hand we managed to kick sixteen more points than the opposition did in the half in which they had the upper hand.

That's actually a good thing.

I was having a look at the Tigers 2109 season, there's a few interesting results in the run home they put together against the Saints, Eagles and Geelong.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/tg-richmond-tigers?year=2019

They're a team that sticks to their system, and if folks buy into it they're always a chance of turning things around and that's what we're aspiring to be.

This is actually the reason why I really like the game played at twenty minute quarters. There's enough time for teams to regroup and change the momentum of the game within quarters and halves. You can have a rough forty minutes of football and still be in with a chance to win the game.

Do you happen to have an almanac and a Delorean?

10-05-2021, 08:40 PM
Do you happen to have an almanac and a Delorean?

https://y.yarn.co/951faaf9-e992-42ac-a76a-9ea3f8179bf1_text.gif

10-05-2021, 08:49 PM
https://y.yarn.co/951faaf9-e992-42ac-a76a-9ea3f8179bf1_text.gif

2109?

10-05-2021, 09:11 PM
2109?

I see.

10-05-2021, 09:38 PM
I'm with you on this. I think the win flatters what was a pretty lacklustre performance from the team. Great finish, but how did we get into that position in the first place is what I would be asking? Was it positional? Work effort? Match-ups? What I do know is that PA/StK/Melb are unlikely to be as accommodating as Carlton in giving up a 27 point lead.

We were losing due to turnovers and contested Poss, even though we won the clearances and stoppages. Once we went in a bit harder and won the CP and fewer turnovers, we took control of the game.

10-05-2021, 10:03 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E1BdZiHVcAcKO57?format=jpg&name=small

10-05-2021, 10:10 PM

That's an absolute cracker of a leap for a big fella, and it was great to see it happen over someone bigger than him.

10-05-2021, 10:13 PM

He did break our record for the most ever clangers, and still won us the match.

Ban starting...

Now?

10-05-2021, 10:14 PM

You are right it was an unflattering performance. Good teams sometimes have unflattering performances and get over the line. That to me is a good sign. You can’t always be at your best. This also allows coaches to focus on areas that need improvements. Hopefully come finals we don’t have these lapses and are at the top of our game. But you are right, play like that against Port and we get hammered.

10-05-2021, 10:21 PM
You are right it was an unflattering performance. Good teams sometimes have unflattering performances and get over the line. That to me is a good sign. You can’t always be at your best. This also allows coaches to focus on areas that need improvements. Hopefully come finals we don’t have these lapses and are at the top of our game. But you are right, play like that against Port and we get hammered.

Unless Port play shit too. You know, two teams can play shit at the same time.

10-05-2021, 10:26 PM

That brought me much joy.

10-05-2021, 10:52 PM

Cracking photo

10-05-2021, 11:34 PM
Is that a black eye Keath is sporting? What a fantastic acquisition he has been. Thank You Sam Power.

11-05-2021, 12:04 AM

Did Keathy George mark it in his mouth?

11-05-2021, 12:05 AM

11-05-2021, 11:52 AM
Too good not to put on here (2 hours later I get it working :cool:)

https://media.giphy.com/media/t4zQBgcKE0x7xIAhYT/giphy.gif

11-05-2021, 12:15 PM
Chief is so committed to the angry PE teacher schtick that he even looks grumpy mid air.

11-05-2021, 01:40 PM

I think he was commentating. "KEEAAAATHY. BOLTON EAT YOUR HEART OUT!"

11-05-2021, 09:37 PM
Too good not to put on here (2 hours later I get it working :cool:)

https://media.giphy.com/media/t4zQBgcKE0x7xIAhYT/giphy.gif

McKay is tall and Keath lands on his shoulders/neck. Absolute cracking mark.

11-05-2021, 09:44 PM

Bolton's mark was spectacular but a light fella with a massive leap is often likely to get a ride like that. Someone of Keath's height to do what he's done here is pretty amazing.

12-05-2021, 09:19 AM
Als Highlights. Keath's big grab.

https://youtu.be/qjKNwGmOZ9k

12-05-2021, 12:29 PM
Als Highlights. Keath's big grab.

https://youtu.be/qjKNwGmOZ9k

I might have to mumble this but that's a good call of Keathy George's mark from BT too. Mentions McKay but then he nominates Keath from a fair way out. Nice touch mentioning the members standing and applauding him.

The kick to Naughton after must have gone all of 7-8 metres.

12-05-2021, 01:17 PM

Was looking down on it directly from level 2 it was one of the best I've seen live.