Essendon vs Fremantle Marvel Stadium 1:10pm Fox

Melbourne vs Carlton MCG 3:20pm Seven/Fox

West Coast Eagles vs Adelaide Crows Optus Stadium 4:40pm Fox

09-05-2021, 09:06 PM

14-05-2021, 11:08 AM
Should be a great game tonight. The Aints a very big show at Marvel with Seb Ross a good in. Really hoping they can roll the Cats tonight.

14-05-2021, 11:14 AM
Will be interesting what Carlton dish up after all the flack they copped this week.

14-05-2021, 11:22 AM
Should be a great game tonight. The Aints a very big show at Marvel with Seb Ross a good in. Really hoping they can roll the Cats tonight.

They lose Zak Jones, makes a pretty slow midfield even slower. Tonight is one of those glorious games where I’m happy for either side to lose. Cats because it helps our top 4 aspirations and I can’t stand Selwood and his band of geriatric flogs, Saints because I hate them.

14-05-2021, 12:16 PM
They lose Zak Jones, makes a pretty slow midfield even slower. Tonight is one of those glorious games where I’m happy for either side to lose. Cats because it helps our top 4 aspirations and I can’t stand Selwood and his band of geriatric flogs, Saints because I hate them.

I feel exactly the same.

14-05-2021, 02:01 PM

Don't really want the Saints to get a confidence boosting win for next week. Hopefully they beat the crap out of each other.

14-05-2021, 03:35 PM
Can’t stand Geelong, so I hope the saints flog them, get bruised and battered, and Marshall tweaks a hammy in the last min.

14-05-2021, 09:13 PM
Saints are doing a bit of a mischief.

14-05-2021, 09:23 PM
Saints doing a 2018 Western Bulldogs.

14-05-2021, 09:50 PM
The longer Lachie Henderson keeps getting picked for Geelong the better it will be for the 17 other clubs.

14-05-2021, 09:52 PM
Saints are playing an exciting brand of footy. Ryder makes a huge difference for them

14-05-2021, 09:53 PM
Saints are playing an exciting brand of footy. Ryder makes a huge difference for them

I'm already having nightmares.

14-05-2021, 09:57 PM
Steve Hocking should be sacked.

The deliberate rule is just a joke. All Hocking wants is last touch, but disguising it as deliberate.

14-05-2021, 09:57 PM
I'm already having nightmares.

Me too. King and Marshall/Ryder up forward against our defenders. Those highballs in will have me looking away each time.

14-05-2021, 10:11 PM
I am loving the kicking for goal.
All righties kicking their leg left across the goals with their right hand guiding down onto the foot plane towards the little toe pushing the ball through.
Vica versa for Cameron.
A slice.
Way to go.

14-05-2021, 10:14 PM
Saints will beat us next week regardless of this result, don’t waste your energy on it.

14-05-2021, 10:14 PM
Me too. King and Marshall/Ryder up forward against our defenders. Those highballs in will have me looking away each time.

We will win next week

14-05-2021, 10:27 PM
Marshall subbed out.

14-05-2021, 10:28 PM
Can’t stand Geelong, so I hope the saints flog them, get bruised and battered, and Marshall tweaks a hammy in the last min.

Well it wasn’t the last minute but Marshall has tweaked something. Subbed out.

14-05-2021, 10:34 PM
Well it wasn’t the last minute but Marshall has tweaked something. Subbed out.

Bloody shame.

14-05-2021, 10:37 PM
Crouch injured according to AFL app? (not watching)

14-05-2021, 10:38 PM
Higgins missed his little toe.

14-05-2021, 10:39 PM
Can guarantee that Naughton wouldn't have struggled with the ball there

14-05-2021, 10:39 PM
Lonie suffered road trauma.
The traffic rocked his body like a test dummie.

14-05-2021, 10:43 PM
Looks like it's the troublesome foot for Marshall. You don't want to mess around with that, needs a week off surely.

14-05-2021, 10:43 PM
King has had a mare. Could have won it off his own boot.

Put him down for 6 next week.

14-05-2021, 10:47 PM
Looks like it's the troublesome foot for Marshall. You don't want to mess around with that, needs a week off surely.
Maybe two:D

14-05-2021, 10:49 PM
So much for the AFL experiment for high scoring.

STAND, STAND a crock of shit

14-05-2021, 10:52 PM
I hope Saints win to take the piss out of them.
No grand efforts against us.
Plus they are original tricolours like us.
Forget Riewoldt diver.

14-05-2021, 10:54 PM
In no way is King a better player than Naughton.

14-05-2021, 10:59 PM

I would take Naughton any day of the week.

14-05-2021, 11:08 PM
King failed to slice it.
He went for a lazy draw and pushed it.
No commitment from the medic.

14-05-2021, 11:10 PM
King failed to slice it.

Kicked 1.5 to date

14-05-2021, 11:27 PM
King failed to slice it.

You can see the mental demons as he lines up for goal each time. It’s all in his head. Hopefully his poor kicking continues next week.

14-05-2021, 11:29 PM
You can see the mental demons as he lines up for goal each time. It’s all in his head. Hopefully his poor kicking continues next week.

That last one was the worst I've seen someone look kicking for goal. Took about 10 seconds, ambled up and just stabbed at it. Did not want the kick.

15-05-2021, 01:01 AM

I would take Naughton any day of the week.

King failed to slice it.

Kicked 1.5 to date

Why on earth would you bring this evil onto us.

15-05-2021, 11:28 AM
Why on earth would you bring this evil onto us.

You are superstitious :D

15-05-2021, 11:32 AM
Crouch injured according to AFL app? (not watching)

It was obvious on the TV that he had sustained a depression to his cheekbone but kept on playing.
Will be interesting if the doctors rule him out this week as he was one of their better players on the night.

15-05-2021, 12:15 PM

I was actually thinking last night if they were to be drafted again who would go number 1 out of these 2. I don't think I'm wearing Rose coloured glasses here but Naughton for me every day of the week

15-05-2021, 12:37 PM
I was actually thinking last night if they were to be drafted again who would go number 1 out of these 2. I don't think I'm wearing Rose coloured glasses here but Naughton for me every day of the week

I'd be happy with either but I'm happier with Naughton. He has a killer instinct that sets him apart.

A few more pre seasons he won't get pushed around in the contest as much.

15-05-2021, 12:43 PM

I think Ben King would be a contender too. 23 goals this year to Maxs 13 (and with a game in hand), playing in an arguably worse side.

15-05-2021, 01:00 PM
I think Ben King would be a contender too. 23 goals this year to Maxs 13 (and with a game in hand), playing in an arguably worse side.

Rumour is that the saints will have both Kings from 2023.

15-05-2021, 01:03 PM
Notice Callum Sinclair has been omitted this week by the Swannies.
Hmm at 31, I wouldn't be opposed to a polite conversation as to his future. Not sure of his contract status although that means little at his age.

15-05-2021, 02:12 PM
Rumour is that the saints will have both Kings from 2023.

Saints fans have been hyping that for ages but I'd hope he stays at GC and it wouldn't surprise me if he wanted to to keep his own identity rather than become the 'King brothers'

I think we had a thread during the Dunkley fiasco about whether you'd actually want to play at the same club as your brother with most people saying 'yeah, no thanks'

15-05-2021, 02:30 PM
Since 2003, there have been 25 games between Sydney and Collingwood. Only 5 have been played in Melbourne

15-05-2021, 03:07 PM
Fast start by Collingwood. De Goey with 2 goals already

15-05-2021, 05:12 PM
North with a chance to get their first win. 1 point in it at 3/4 time

15-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Fast start by Collingwood. De Goey with 2 goals already

Fast start, slow end.

Lost by 30 points.

15-05-2021, 05:38 PM
Norf are going to get their first win in 17 games.

We need Kennett cam.

15-05-2021, 05:43 PM
Cracking contest, the players are really tiring. Just hoping North can hold on

15-05-2021, 05:44 PM
North are home now. For a bottom of the table clash it wasn't a bad contest to watch.

15-05-2021, 05:46 PM
North are home now. For a bottom of the table clash it wasn't a bad contest to watch.

Agree that was great.

Good to see David Noble get his first win he's had a monumental task and has made them quite competitive recently.
Not sure where to for Hawks.

15-05-2021, 05:48 PM
Nice to see Hawks lose.

They were 32 points up at once stage

15-05-2021, 05:51 PM
Agree that was great.

Good to see David Noble get his first win he's had a monumental task and has made them quite competitive recently.

First win since round 9, 2020

15-05-2021, 06:00 PM
Can't wait for the Clarko press conference

15-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Agree that was great.

North have a lot of work to do, they're still a mile off and I hope there is no priority pick for them given the way they dismantled their list.
Hawks need to fess up and acknowledge where they're actually at from a rebuild perspective. They do have some exciting players to build around though and would have a massive scope within their salary cap to recruit players.

For a bottom of the table clash it wasn't a bad spectacle at all. I think the new rules are contributing to better games this year.
I think I've watched more games this year than in any of the last 10 to 15 years.

15-05-2021, 06:44 PM
Well done Norf!

15-05-2021, 07:38 PM
Rowan Marshall out for at least one month with foot injury

15-05-2021, 07:41 PM
Rowan Marshall out for at least one month with foot injury

Such a shame he’ll miss our game :D

15-05-2021, 08:09 PM
Such a shame he’ll miss our game :D

I bet you were looking forward to watching him play :D

15-05-2021, 09:11 PM
GWS up by 27

16-05-2021, 12:50 AM
Richmond with a come from behind win with Dusty kicking four.........

Everyone is quick to write off some teams and kiss up to others. Richmond have a bit of an injury issue to worry about and it's a long season. If they keep grinding out to fifty fifty by round twelve or so, they're not in a bad spot to challenge later in the year after getting on a roll.

16-05-2021, 12:06 PM
Man Eddie McGuires commentary in the last 10 minutes of that GWS game is excruciating.

Richmond came over the top but i cannot overstate how bad the ball movement from the Giants was in that last quarter. Screwed up basically every possesion chain that didn't just involve kicking it long, had no composure under pressure and seemingly no system. Sure Richmond get credit for winning, but I'd expect any half decent team to beat that last quarter defence put up by GWS.

Callan Ward interestingly was one of the main offenders, just had a shocking finish.

16-05-2021, 04:42 PM
Melbourne continue to get kissed on the **** by the footy gods, with Harry McKay hurting himself in the first 10 minutes.

16-05-2021, 04:48 PM
It's a shame Essondon rallied, I was very much hoping for a draw.

16-05-2021, 04:53 PM
The top 8 is really starting to solidify with Freo and GWS’ losses.

16-05-2021, 04:55 PM
Melbourne continue to get kissed on the **** by the footy gods, with Harry McKay hurting himself in the first 10 minutes.

Would be the most fitting way for them to win the flag though no? A privileged run at it.

16-05-2021, 05:00 PM
The top 8 is really starting to solidify with Freo and GWS’ losses.

Yes, the gap is now there.

16-05-2021, 05:02 PM
Melbourne are about to crack this game open. Carlton have no system whatsoever.

16-05-2021, 05:07 PM
Melbourne are about to crack this game open. Carlton have no system whatsoever.

Carlton kick the next. Kiss of Death status confirmed.

16-05-2021, 05:08 PM
Melbourne are super organised and well structured. Wonder if they have peaked too early?

16-05-2021, 05:14 PM
Melbourne are super organised and well structured. Wonder if they have peaked too early?

I doubt that. They have had minimal injuries which helps.

16-05-2021, 05:17 PM
Umpiring is disgraceful in this game, saving Melbourne time and again with it deep in defence.

16-05-2021, 05:18 PM
Umpiring is disgraceful in this game, saving Melbourne time and again with it deep in defence.

Williams should have had a free in front of goal

16-05-2021, 05:23 PM

McKay is severely limited and almost a liability.

16-05-2021, 05:49 PM

Good question. They’re having a great run, not sure they’ve faced a super challenge yet be interesting to see how they go against an in form contender.
I’m still dubious but they’re doing everything right, with pretty much the same personnel that haven’t handled the expectations well in the last couple of seasons.
Rd 11 will be a good guide. (I’m confident)

16-05-2021, 05:54 PM
They just grind sides down. Why teams let them set up with an extra, I've got no idea.

16-05-2021, 06:03 PM
Good question. They’re having a great run, not sure they’ve faced a super challenge yet be interesting to see how they go against an in form contender.
I’m still dubious but they’re doing everything right, with pretty much the same personnel that haven’t handled the expectations well in the last couple of seasons.

And the fact they have a fairly easy draw. Will be lucky to lose 3 games I reckon from here.

16-05-2021, 06:03 PM
They just grind sides down. Why teams let them set up with an extra, I've got no idea.

Where do you think the improvement has come from? Yze maybe?

16-05-2021, 06:08 PM
The cheek of Hardwick whinging that Richmond supporters don't like going to Marvel andf that he hates going there as well.
And then we had Noble preaching for a priority pick after the club intentionally dismantled the playing list.

These coaches know how to work the media over to potentially get their own way.

16-05-2021, 06:09 PM

That seems to be the consensus and why we should be making some changes with our coaches along the way.

16-05-2021, 06:11 PM
The cheek of Hardwick whinging that Richmond supporters don't like going to Marvel andf that he hates going there as well.
And then we had Noble preaching for a priority pick after the club intentionally dismantled the playing list.

These coaches know how to work the media over to potentially get their own way.

I never get the Marvel bashing, why does it have to be compared to the G? We get it already.

I think level 2 is by far away the best view in the game, and it has a roof !

It needs updating for sure but first world problems hey.

My guess is the G tenants dislike it because they don’t win there as much.

16-05-2021, 06:13 PM
That seems to be the consensus and why we should be making some changes with our coaches along the way.

Matty Boyd come on down :^)

16-05-2021, 06:15 PM
Matty Boyd come on down :^)

He would have been an asset but given the restrictions on the footy department you can understand why we probably couldn't add him.

16-05-2021, 06:16 PM
McKay is severely limited and almost a liability.

He has come good and added a couple.

16-05-2021, 06:18 PM

Potentially. Seems to be a collective buy in to defend across the ground and just do the basics right all the time, which probably comes with maturity. They don't have a lot of young developing players in the side anymore, really in the prime age group to contend.

That and teams let Lever play on his own every game. Why, I have no idea.

Plus, they've left the state once.

16-05-2021, 06:24 PM
Potentially. Seems to be a collective buy in to defend across the ground and just do the basics right all the time, which probably comes with maturity. They don't have a lot of young developing players in the side anymore, really in the prime age group to contend.

That and teams let Lever play on his own every game. Why, I have no idea.

Plus, they've left the state once.

Left the state to play norf on a neutral deck.

I agree it’s hard to bash the dees as they will be undefeated and have knocked off the tigers and cats. They haven’t put a foot wrong. Yet there’s just a feeling they haven’t really been tested. They’re top 4 no doubt but I feel they got the cats and tigers at their worst.

All in all it wouldn’t be the worst thing to come up against them at 10-0. That’s well and truly due for a loss territory. I just hope we’re 9-1 at the time and take top spot from them.

16-05-2021, 06:26 PM
They’ve got Crows over there next week, interesting little match up.

16-05-2021, 06:29 PM

I agree it’s hard to bash the dees as they will be undefeated and have knocked off the tigers and cats. They haven’t put a foot wrong. Yet there’s just a feeling they haven’t really been tested. They’re top 4 no doubt but I feel they got the cats and tigers at their worst.

All in all it wouldn’t be the worst thing to come up against them at 10-0. That’s well and truly due for a loss territory. I just hope we’re 9-1 at the time and take top spot from them.

Must tag Salem.

16-05-2021, 06:30 PM

They played the Giants interstate too.

16-05-2021, 06:31 PM

Melbourne have beaten Richmond, Geelong and Sydney. I would have thought, at least, both Richmond and Geelong are contenders. Sure both Geelong and Richmond may not have been at their ‘peak’ when they played them but they beaten them (and convincingly) nonetheless. They have risen to the challenge that other teams are throwing at them. They are a contender, like us. Up until last night one could say our form is ‘dubious’. But you can only beat whom you are drawn against.

As much as I hate to say it but Melbourne will be tough to beat. They have a good even spread of players across the ground with no obvious weaknesses.

16-05-2021, 06:46 PM
They played the Giants interstate too.

Yeah, I forgot the North game in Tassie. Any decent side could play them on Mars and beat them though.

16-05-2021, 06:48 PM
Melbourne have beaten Richmond, Geelong and Sydney. I would have thought, at least, both Richmond and Geelong are contenders. Sure both Geelong and Richmond may not have been at their ‘peak’ when they played them but they beaten them (and convincingly) nonetheless. They have risen to the challenge that other teams are throwing at them. They are a contender, like us. Up until last night one could say our form is ‘dubious’. But you can only beat whom you are drawn against.

As much as I hate to say it but Melbourne will be tough to beat. They have a good even spread of players across the ground with no obvious weaknesses.

The Tigers game proved they are the real deal. If left to play their game, they're extremely hard to beat. The key for us is to not get dragged into the long kick inside 50.

16-05-2021, 07:43 PM
The improvement's come from Tom McDonald switching to his all-meat diet obviously.

16-05-2021, 08:01 PM

I agree with most of this.

I'd say if they had a weakness it's their forward line. Ben Brown and "Tmac" don't inspire me but the latter is getting it done.

I reckon they're at about peak output at the moment where as other contenders are gearing up to their best (Lions, Cats) and the Tigers always time their run well.

So I question if they can match the other top teams when they hit peak output hence my in-form qualifier.

We shall see.

I actually wouldn't mind them doing well nice to have someone different up there.

17-05-2021, 03:45 PM
Good article about the demise of Hawthorn

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2021/may/17/is-alastair-clarkson-still-the-right-fit-for-hawthorn-afl-north-melbourne-hawks?utm_term=0833ec2208c4bf4fc20dadacae967601&utm_campaign=GuardianTodayAUS&utm_source=esp&utm_medium=Email&CMP=GTAU_email