View Full Version : WB Game Day V Port Adelaide R9 2021

Pages : 1 2 [3]

15-05-2021, 10:38 PM
Yeah, can't fault his moxy but his footy IQ is very low. Good game from him overall though.

Ideally we'd play him as a third tall defender. He's just too small to take the bigger guys and can do some dumb stuff out there

15-05-2021, 10:38 PM
JJ was a pleasant surprise, he was very important.

15-05-2021, 10:39 PM
Libba, you absolute maniac. 12 clearances and 20 contested possessions.

15-05-2021, 10:40 PM
Yeah, can't fault his moxy but his footy IQ is very low. Good game from him overall though.

Give Cordy a break. He was terrific tonight

15-05-2021, 10:41 PM
How good was Libba - 27 disposals, 20 were Contested, 5 Centre Clearances and 7 Stoppage Clearances

15-05-2021, 10:41 PM

I thought Cordy was one of our best in the backline

15-05-2021, 10:42 PM

Which part of 'good game from him' did you find issue with?

15-05-2021, 10:43 PM
Libba, you absolute maniac. 12 clearances and 20 contested possessions.

Loved his reaction after the game too.

15-05-2021, 10:44 PM
He didn't have a ton of it, but I thought Roarke had some important touches and went hard when it was his turn.

15-05-2021, 10:45 PM
JJ was a pleasant surprise, he was very important.

He's gotten a bit of reward, with a couple of goals and four tackles.

15-05-2021, 10:47 PM
So do we know where we're at?

15-05-2021, 10:47 PM
How good was Libba - 27 disposals, 20 were Contested, 5 Centre Clearances and 7 Stoppage Clearances

Libba was excellent tonight and together with Bont Macrae Smith and Treloar we had a dominant midfield. The ruck work of Sweet against Ladhams was also good

15-05-2021, 10:52 PM
How was Weightman tonight?

15-05-2021, 10:52 PM
Which part of 'good game from him' did you find issue with?

You need to gush mate. GUSH!

15-05-2021, 10:53 PM

I still think we can beat Port Adelaide.

15-05-2021, 10:53 PM

Really good.

15-05-2021, 10:54 PM
That was a cracking team performance. Really pleased with that effort. We had a LOT of good players who worked very hard and were definitely made to work hard by Port who were up for it after quarter time. Go Dogs!

15-05-2021, 10:55 PM

The word that comes to mind is impact.

Like any young player playing in the forward half he was in and out and dependent on supply, but he had five tackles, got us going with a couple of goals early and then kicked a very very important and amazing goal over his head in the last five of the last to break Port. Excellent game, but won't get the rising star nomination because he hasn't had two average senior games already at senior level.

15-05-2021, 10:59 PM
So happy Weightman was promoted and did so well. I think we should prepare a gold statue of Caleb Daniel for WO. Love him. So creative.

15-05-2021, 11:04 PM
Kudos to Bevo I think we have all questioned his team selection over the years, but seems to have gotten a lot right this year.

I would have played Wallis tonight instead of Cody, he pulled the right rein well done to them both, not easy for a young player to come and perform first up in a hot game like that.

Anyone else think Sweet was solid? We need to continue to play him even when English comes back in, it gives us a chance to get Stef right and continue his development.

15-05-2021, 11:08 PM
Kudos to Bevo I think we have all questioned his team selection over the years, but seems to have gotten a lot right this year.

I would have played Wallis tonight instead of Cody, he pulled the right rein well done to them both, not easy for a young player to come and perform first up in a hot game like that.

Anyone else think Sweet was solid? We need to continue to play him even when English comes back in, it gives us a chance to get Stef right and continue his development.

Sweetie wasn't bad. He tried his guts out and competed, and didn't let himself or the team down.

He was probably the lesser of the rucks in terms of effectiveness on the ground but he is only in his third game and did what he could to help win.

15-05-2021, 11:11 PM

I could see Wallis replacing Hannan who continues to struggle
Sweet has done very well considering his lack of games at this level. Very good in the ruck contests.
Weightman was a revelation tonight and deserved his opportunity.

15-05-2021, 11:16 PM
https://www.reddit.com/r/AFL/comments/ncyf4t/just_asking_a_young_kid_who_played_his_best_game/

Not impressed with the question that Soders asked, very disrespectful of Weightman

15-05-2021, 11:18 PM
Cody. The new Bont

Nice goal

Settle !!!

15-05-2021, 11:24 PM

Yep 8 and 1...
It's good.

15-05-2021, 11:26 PM

Electric. Classic youthful exuberance from a small forward. Love him.

15-05-2021, 11:54 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E1bqfLnVkAEtxKZ?format=jpg&name=medium

15-05-2021, 11:57 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E1bqfLnVkAEtxKZ?format=jpg&name=medium

"Close ya legs Adzy"

15-05-2021, 11:59 PM
No. purely unlucky. He read it bouncing short and the bounce was fickle.

Yep, too be fair to Treloar , it kept low and spin towards his left. Maybe he should have kept low but the ball could have over bounced.

16-05-2021, 12:00 AM
Told you. No worries. Well done boys.

16-05-2021, 12:02 AM
That was a cracking team performance. Really pleased with that effort. We had a LOT of good players who worked very hard and were definitely made to work hard by Port who were up for it after quarter time. Go Dogs!

Players who had not been so great, JJ for example, really stood up. BONT WAS A BEAST.

16-05-2021, 12:03 AM
Scott West should sit Rhylee down and look at Codie’s game and see the bench mark.

16-05-2021, 12:05 AM
I liked what I saw of Cody, he got tot he right spots , fumbled a few times, but he will get better.

Hopefully he can stay in the side long term to be that electric small forward we need

16-05-2021, 12:09 AM
Weightman is exactly what our forward line needed. So happy for him.

It’s ironic because we seemed to recruit what was already under our nose.

16-05-2021, 12:16 AM
I understand that Cody wasn't exactly what we wanted when we drafted him, but the thing that has always stood out for me is that he is a natural forward with natural forward attributes.

There is nobody else on our list who we can say those things about, but for some reason we have doubted him and his possible value to us.

Sure we didn't land Kozzie Pickett (who?), but that doesn't mean landing Weightman as a pure forward wasn't the right thing to do. A lot of us didn't see the value in Dickson when we got him because he didn't fit a mould we thought we needed to be fit at the time, but that turned out pretty well. Cody might just be a similar case.

16-05-2021, 06:46 AM
So happy Weightman was promoted and did so well. I think we should prepare a gold statue of Caleb Daniel for WO. Love him. So creative.

There was an instance when Caleb executed three feints with the ball in hand in the space of three seconds - next level genius. I have never seen that done before.

16-05-2021, 06:49 AM
There was an instance when Caleb executed three feints with the ball in hand in the space of three seconds - next level genius. I have never seen that done before.

He was on another level tonight. His composure under pressure was supreme.

Feels like the entire team took the learnings from the Richmond game when it came to dealing with the heat.

16-05-2021, 07:06 AM
Yep, too be fair to Treloar , it kept low and spin towards his left. Maybe he should have kept low but the ball could have over bounced.

Treloar was 100% the victim of dumb luck. If he had flung himself at the ball it could have bounced over his head. It looked like a 'chaos ball ' coming in and it behaved like "the chaos ball from hell" after it "bounced" or rather "grubbed" its way between his legs with barely a millimetre of space to spare. Freakish event and no blame to be attached to Treloar.

16-05-2021, 07:16 AM
He was on another level tonight. His composure under pressure was supreme.

Feels like the entire team took the learnings from the Richmond game when it came to dealing with the heat.

Agree. Taking away "learnings" from a game is crucial. Woosher knew this.
https://youtu.be/yC8QzkLeJ3E

16-05-2021, 07:22 AM
Agree. Taking away "learnings" from a game is crucial. Woosher knew this.
https://youtu.be/yC8QzkLeJ3E

I learnt all I know about learnings from Woosher.

16-05-2021, 08:04 AM
It was a good overall effort by our boys, the forward line worked well for us with Weightman adding something, the defenders held their own even with Wood's early departure and our midfield courtesy of Liberatore was at times brilliant.

The returning Williams added a lot to our back line and Cordy played his best game for the season.

The questions marks are around what to do with a replacement for Wood with Crozier the mist likely option and the fluctuating form of Lipinski and Hannan?

Hunter will be considered but might need another week and of course English makes us a stronger side. Gardner might need a game at Footscray.

16-05-2021, 08:56 AM
Great win.

We are legit now in the football world. We can and will beat anyone.

Don’t want to wish the year away, and it will go quickly with more ups and downs, but bring on September!

16-05-2021, 10:06 AM
Baz had his best game in a few weeks. Was starting to question his form (albeit a high bar), but from go to woah he was running hard, composed with the ball and really damaging with his touches.

16-05-2021, 10:17 AM
Baz had his best game in a few weeks. Was starting to question his form (albeit a high bar), but from go to woah he was running hard, composed with the ball and really damaging with his touches.

He has been in lala land for weeks but was involved all game last night. Even his hand balling was top notch.

Hopefully the penny has dropped.

16-05-2021, 10:46 AM
There was a lot to like about this game. Sweet is tracking well. He always gives a contest and did not get caught out when the throw in landed short as it seems to do too often for my liking these days.

JJ played well. His best game for some time. Two goals and the second was kicked at a pivotal moment. He showed some of his customary dash and helped out down back too.

Bailey Williams was very solid and assured. He makes good decisions and doesn't panic under pressure.

Alex Keath was excellent and kept Dixon under control especially during stoppages in their forward fifty when Dixon was rucking.

Duryea was very solid all night. He took some hard hits, tackled well and kicked well.

Cordy had his best game for some time. He made some timely interventions and played his role. Ditto Roarke Smith.

Bailey Dale continues to shine. In traffic, when the whips are cracking, he is up to the task. He's a penetrating kick too and he relieves the pressure with those kicks.

Daniel was the Ringmaster down back. There are insufficient superlatives in the English language's 400K words to describe his genius.

Crozier did his job. Apart from one panic kick out of defence he spoiled, tackled well and made good decisions.

Our midfield was supreme apart from the first half of the second when Port piled on the pressure and also took advantage of a couple of fumbles and errant hand balls by us. But hey, where is the team that has ever played the 100% perfect football?

Other than that period we were hard at the contest and slick. Libba was sensational with his desire and tackling. The Bont was class, hardness and will. His goal in 2nd quarter red time was a superb solo effort.

Baz played a terrific game to celebrate his 50th. He ran HARD, to get to contests and to break free from congestion. He linked up well and was always in the game.

Cody Weightman was terrific and I really hope he keeps building. He can take a mark too and does not need too many kicks to do some damage.

Naughton is just 21 years old. Let's not forget that. He will get better. He is a force in the air and on the ground. I hope he remains injury free. He plays with little thought for his personal safety and he has a lot of footy smarts. He made sure his head rebounded well to ensure he got the free kick from that tackle - that's smart.

McNeil did some good things but let himself down with some poor kicking into forward 50. He wouldn't be happy with that. Similarly with Short. He missed a sitter and would be dirty on himself over that.

Josh Bruce was very good whether forward or in the ruck. He is having a very good season. Marking the ball well and kicking straight.

Mitch Hannan had one chance to goal and took it.

This was our best win for quite a while.

16-05-2021, 11:11 AM
Special mentionnto Roarke Smith. Much maligned and I've been hard on him in the past, but I thought his final last year was pretty solid (had a bad last QTR) and I liked his inclusion last night. He gave us everything we wanted; an honest, reliable, hard working performance which benefitted the team.

Roarke is really good depth for a good side given his versatility. He's seemingly matured into a composed player who knows what to do and nothing more.

Some of his contest work was excellent last night.

16-05-2021, 11:18 AM
Special mentionnto Roarke Smith. Much maligned and I've been hard on him in the past, but I thought his final last year was pretty solid (had a bad last QTR) and I liked his inclusion last night. He gave us everything we wanted; an honest, reliable, hard working performance which benefitted the team.

Roarke is really good depth for a good side given his versatility. He's seemingly matured into a composed player who knows what to do and nothing more.

Different type of player, but he’s our version of Matt Spangher. No world beater, but a solid 25-35 (without any list injuries) depth type that can come in and do what the coaches ask. Hawthorn had a few players that if needed could walk into the 22 and you knew what they would get. Roarke seems to be one of ours.

16-05-2021, 11:25 AM
Just catching up now, apparently we win? Hell yeah.

16-05-2021, 11:25 AM

King of Adelaide Oval.

16-05-2021, 11:26 AM
Seems that we are picking players to play specific roles. The inclusions of McNeil, Scott, Roarke have galvanised our team no doubt to the point that players know what the expectations of the MC are, and in most cases can deliver. We are playing a very selfless style of footy. Very team orientated, and that’s been a knock on our mids over the years in particular.

Players like West have a lot to look at if they are going to become a regular.

16-05-2021, 11:35 AM
How good is to be two games clear (top or second) on the ladder and a healthy percentage.

Can't remember anything like this in the past.

16-05-2021, 11:36 AM
Different type of player, but he’s our version of Matt Spangher. No world beater, but a solid 25-35 (without any list injuries) depth type that can come in and do what the coaches ask. Hawthorn had a few players that if needed could walk into the 22 and you knew what they would get. Roarke seems to be one of ours.

Sedat has entered the chat...

16-05-2021, 11:47 AM

I've said for a while now the playing lists are big enough for clubs to have some specialists like an additional ruckman with plenty of experience or KP defender or in the case of Smith a depth player. Not every player has to be in the mix for the best 22 each week.
To me her started off well last night but faded just a bit after half time but maybe his role has changed.
With Richards and McLean not that far away Smith needs to get some runs on the board with every game he plays.

16-05-2021, 11:57 AM
Always rated Weightman can't believe some of the stuff that all of you and not me said about him.

16-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Always rated Weightman can't believe some of the stuff that all of you and not me said about him.

Yeah I’ll put my hand up and say I was wrong. Takes a lot of courage HD to admit when you’re wrong so I’m glad you made me do it.

16-05-2021, 12:07 PM
I’m also one non believer of Weightman, but as good as he was last night, it’s one game. I’ll see what next week brings before I kneel at the alter and preach to the Weightman Gods.

16-05-2021, 12:09 PM
Cody stopped trying to be the NAB Mini Legend version of Aaron Naughton and found the perfect balance between contesting for marks and staying down to crumb and provide pressure.

16-05-2021, 12:26 PM
Cody stopped trying to be the NAB Mini Legend version of Aaron Naughton and found the perfect balance between contesting for marks and staying down to crumb and provide pressure.

Yep really pleased with his choosing of when to fly and not last night. Had a great game and a great combination of execution and the ability to make stuff happen. That last goal was sensational and so instinctive.

Very impressed by Keaths job on Dixon. Thats two weeks in a row we have been up against a key forward that should tear us apart and Keath has done a great job. Interestingly they very rarely even kicked it to him so we clearly did a lot of good work up the field and with our setup to ensure that he was very rarely a good option.

JJ can finally walk away from a game happy, his selection the last few weeks has felt more charitable than merit based of late but this week he repaid the faith. Didn't have a lot of it but owned his moments (aside from the one where he just could not slow down or turn).

Bont was immense, so nice to see him nail that set shot too. Bizarrely I found that more impressive than the one where he an through 4 blokes and kicked it from 40.

Libba again incredible. He is such a great hunter of the ball.

Bailey Williams back made a huge difference. You could tell we have learnt from the Richmond game, our ability to stand up to pressure and NEVER panic kick it out of defence was a huge difference to the Tigers loss. The ability of Williams to stay composed and buy time by twisting and turning makes a huge difference, especially on a night where Dale struggled to hit targets. Daniel also was fantastic.

McNeill got involved a lot and even considering some poor inside 50s should be very happy with his game. He is such a clean player and really seems to be growing and taking the next step in this role. Geez he's been spoken about a lot but Rhylee West got a great example of what he needs to offer from all four of Scott, McNeill, Weightman and JJ last night. It's a really smooth attacking quartet that are clean with the footy and find space well while still applying good pressure.

I actually really like Roarke. He plays within his limitations so well that I find it hard to fault him. I'm not sure he holds his spot but having someone who you can call upon and rely on doing their role well is huge.

Cordy had a good game and generally impacted most contests he was in. Pretty pleased there.

Hannan was poor, really struggled to get involved and as others have said kind of remiscient of 2020 Bruce where he was frequently a non factor when he was. I suspect we will continue to persist with him but he is has been our biggest non-contributor in all three of his games thus far and has to come out for English.

Bruce stood up again when it mattered. His ability to turn around his woeful form from last year into being second for the Coleman and kicking important goals has been fantastic.

Naughton continues to be so good. He is such a threat from aerial balls and I love that he is never out of the contest. He showed it last week where he was beaten for much of the game but still manage to have an impact, last night he wasn't anywhere near as well held and managed to be a continual threat. I really rate Ports defence and the role Jonas plays so to have Bruce and Naughton both perform is fantastic, and the fact that this was Aliir's worst game i have seen this year would suggest we worked really hard on making sure our forward entries weren't to his advantage.

16-05-2021, 12:30 PM
I also think we learnt from the Blues game. We shut down ports corridor use early last night which was pleasing.

16-05-2021, 01:39 PM
Yeah I’ll put my hand up and say I was wrong. Takes a lot of courage HD to admit when you’re wrong so I’m glad you made me do it.

Not sure you remember him, but there was a very good poster called Sockeye Salmon (nice bloke too), and he had a rule which I believe is true - called the 20 game rule, ie don't write off players till they have played at least 20 games, then you will know if they are any good. I think it works most times. BTW - Gardner says hello

16-05-2021, 01:41 PM
Yeah Cody's going to have some games where he stinks it up, so are Scott and McNeil but they need to be seen in context of them only having played less than ten games each.

What we saw from Cody was outstanding, but there's a long road ahead for him to become an AFL player.

16-05-2021, 01:47 PM

Maybe Doug Hawkins could have done it but it's elite company that Caleb is keeping.

16-05-2021, 02:26 PM
On reflection, this was a very very good win.

I expected Port's comeback in the second, like against Richmond because there is a fine margin between the top teams. Its unrealistic to expect the best teams will just lie down for 4 quarters. That's not "shitting the bed", as some have called it. Its reality.

But different to the Richmond game when we missed about 8 gettable goals, this time we took most-but still not all- of those gettable chances. Othwerwise it could have been over at quarter time.

OTOH if Naughton shanks one of his set shots ala Richmond and JJ misses his which he's been known to do, and Robbie Grey doesn't miss which he usually doesn't, then its a different outcome. That's how fine the margin is at the highest level.

I expect games against St Kilda ( who have had our measure recently, Melbourne, Geelong and the Swans to be tougher again and I think we'll need to improve again and I think we can. As great as pack marks are, I'd like to see more forward entries hitting a forward on a lead, and I still think we can be more accurate in front of goal and these are both achievable and necessary come finals.

16-05-2021, 02:29 PM
Just on Naughton, any risk of concussion rule for the head on the turf? I know he made sure the ump saw it.

16-05-2021, 02:30 PM
Yeah Cody's going to have some games where he stinks it up, so are Scott and McNeil but they need to be seen in context of them only having played less than ten games each.

What we saw from Cody was outstanding, but there's a long road ahead for him to become an AFL player.

The thing I love about him, is you can’t teach his innate abilities, you can’t teach someone to take speccy’s like he can, you can’t teach to hit a loose ball at speed and kick goals in one motion, you can’t teach his quick snaps or to kick match winners over their head. You can assist, but you can’t make him as quick as he his (under 2.8 seconds at the combine for 20m) and use that to a high pressure forward.

You can take the time to develop him, teach him leading patterns and systems plus add to his natural forward ability, teach him work rate, teach him the level he needs to achieve in the VFL to get promoted.

Blue collar players are part of the list mix, but give me a kid like Cody everyday of the week. He is already able to inherently special things a lot of our forwards can’t do. Once we add real belief that he belongs at the level, or forwardline (best attack this year) just got even better.

16-05-2021, 02:36 PM
The thing I love about him, is you can’t teach his innate abilities, you can’t teach someone to take speccy’s like he can, you can’t teach to hit a loose ball at speed and kick goals in one motion, you can’t teach his quick snaps or to kick match winners over their head. You can assist, but you can’t make him as quick as he his (under 2.8 seconds at the combine for 20m) and use that to a high pressure forward.

You can take the time to develop him, teach him leading patterns and systems plus add to his natural forward ability, teach him work rate, teach him the level he needs to achieve in the VFL to get promoted.

Blue collar players are part of the list mix, but give me a kid like Cody everyday of the week. He is already able to inherently special things a lot of our forwards can’t do. Once we add real belief that he belongs at the level, or forwardline (best attack this year) just got even better.

You know what I love about Cody his attitude - "I just love Playing Footy"

16-05-2021, 02:36 PM
Just on Naughton, any risk of concussion rule for the head on the turf? I know he made sure the ump saw it.

Bit of acting there. The doctor and Physio checked him out and I am pretty sure he said he milked the free

16-05-2021, 03:06 PM
Bit of acting there. The doctor and Physio checked him out and I am pretty sure he said he milked the free

good to hear.....well you know what I mean.

16-05-2021, 03:25 PM
Not sure you remember him, but there was a very good poster called Sockeye Salmon (nice bloke too), and he had a rule which I believe is true - called the 20 game rule, ie don't write off players till they have played at least 20 games, then you will know if they are any good. I think it works most times. BTW - Gardner says hello

Didn’t he also say the rule applied the opposite way. Don’t say a player will make it until after 20 games.

16-05-2021, 04:31 PM
Didn’t he also say the rule applied the opposite way. Don’t say a player will make it until after 20 games.

YES, works both ways

16-05-2021, 08:50 PM
The youtuber AL does a magnificent job at stitching together Dogs highlights.
We were excellent all over the ground. If you can beat them in that fortress you know you're good to go in September.

The stat about Libba with the clearance record speaks volumes. He's an oddball, and may never be on a weetbix packet beside Dangerfield, but I'd rather have him in our team.

16-05-2021, 08:55 PM
The youtuber AL does a magnificent job at stitching together Dogs highlights.
We were excellent all over the ground. If you can beat them in that fortress you know you're good to go in September.

The stat about Libba with the clearance record speaks volumes. He's an oddball, and may never be on a weetbix packet beside Dangerfield, but I'd rather have him in our team.

He's more chance of having a Weetbix packet tattooed on his left butt cheek.

16-05-2021, 09:15 PM
Sorry to see Easton Wood go off. Hope it's not too serious.
The coach seemed a bit circumspect in the presser and I guess we have a lot to work on.
The five unanswered goals is a worry.

17-05-2021, 03:06 PM
the reports and video of the fight in the crowd at the Port v Bulldogs game ... I'm really hoping its just two Port fans fighting and not a Bulldog supporter involved.

Warning ... the link contains video of the fight LINK (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/port-adelaide-power/report-police-investigating-ugly-king-hit-during-port-adelaide-game/news-story/079658dceee8ab242bf35121665e3a54)

17-05-2021, 03:10 PM
the reports and video of the fight in the crowd at the Port v Bulldogs game ... I'm really hoping its just two Port fans fighting and not a Bulldog supporter involved.

Warning ... the link contains video of the fight LINK (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/port-adelaide-power/report-police-investigating-ugly-king-hit-during-port-adelaide-game/news-story/079658dceee8ab242bf35121665e3a54)

He wore a few and had he not fallen backwards over the seats I think the tide was about to turn.

17-05-2021, 03:14 PM
How angry do you have to be to continually hit someone in the face? Monkey behaviour.

The Port guy took the blows like a trooper as well.

17-05-2021, 03:16 PM
He wore a few and had he not fallen backwards over the seats I think the tide was about to turn.

The whiplash from the fall alone was horrific. Its vexing how the media are calling it a king-hit, yet he was tapping his cheek goading him to hit him (granted he looks plastered)

17-05-2021, 03:17 PM
How angry do you have to be to continually hit someone in the face? Monkey behaviour.

The Port guy took the blows like a trooper as well.

Not his first rodeo I'd say.

I've looked at it twice and there appears to be a grin after he turns around fully to face him like saying it's my turn now. Then he missed with a haymaker.

17-05-2021, 03:19 PM
The whiplash from the fall alone was horrific. Its vexing how the media are calling it a king-hit, yet he was tapping his cheek goading him to hit him (granted he looks plastered)

Both are as bad as each other. We really needed to see the next 20 seconds

17-05-2021, 03:22 PM
Both are as bad as each other. We really needed to see the next 20 seconds

The next 20 seconds would be footage of the bloke in the brown jacket high-tailing it after the ineffectiveness of his punching.

17-05-2021, 03:24 PM
It's Rocky level concussion advocacy.

17-05-2021, 03:24 PM
The Port bloke was about to unleash hell before falling backwards on his arse. Either the Port bloke has a granite chin or the other bloke has pillow fists.

17-05-2021, 03:27 PM

Link is broken? Maybe they took it down

17-05-2021, 03:29 PM
Link is broken? Maybe they took it down

It worked for me ... try this one LINK (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/port-adelaide-fan-sent-tumbling-after-goading-man-into-punching-him-on-the-chin--c-2860118) This is the seven sport one

17-05-2021, 03:30 PM
It worked for me ... try this one LINK (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/port-adelaide-fan-sent-tumbling-after-goading-man-into-punching-him-on-the-chin--c-2860118) This is the seven sport one

yes works - cheers

One Bulldog supporter there

https://images.7news.com.au/publication/C-2860118/7ffcb76f9763b75881afcbfc9796b263c508f618.png?imwidth=650&impolicy=sevennews_v2

17-05-2021, 03:33 PM
Not his first rodeo I'd say.

I've looked at it twice and there appears to be a grin after he turns around fully to face him like saying it's my turn now. Then he missed with a haymaker.

Yeah that was definitely a grin... I suspect his falling over probably is the only reason the other guy is still breathing unaided today.

17-05-2021, 04:27 PM
Yeah that was definitely a grin... I suspect his falling over probably is the only reason the other guy is still breathing unaided today.

The other guy was lucky he ducked under the haymaker because if it connected I doubt the Port guy he would have fallen backwards and the next couple of punches would have been telling. Hopefully the Port guy is OK because that fall could have really hurt him.

Fighting at the footy is just stupid. Pointing at your chin and daring someone to have a whack isn't smart either.

17-05-2021, 05:20 PM
Fighting is for children.

17-05-2021, 05:22 PM
Fighting is for children.

And drunks by the look of it.

17-05-2021, 05:33 PM
And drunks by the look of it.

Hope they throw the book at them. It's so annoying to go to the footy with kids and see this s***t.

17-05-2021, 05:56 PM
AFLCA votes.

Port Adelaide v Western Bulldogs

10 Tom Liberatore (WB)
8 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
4 Aaron Naughton (WB)
3 Adam Treloar (WB)
2 Alex Keath (WB)
2 Ollie Wines (PORT)
1 Caleb Daniel (WB)

17-05-2021, 05:58 PM
AFLCA votes.

Port Adelaide v Western Bulldogs

10 Tom Liberatore (WB)
8 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
4 Aaron Naughton (WB)
3 Adam Treloar (WB)
2 Alex Keath (WB)
2 Ollie Wines (PORT)
1 Caleb Daniel (WB)

About right.

17-05-2021, 06:18 PM
About right.

Treloar votes are a little surprising.

17-05-2021, 06:21 PM

Maybe Ken enjoyed the nutmeg.

17-05-2021, 08:14 PM
Great win. Was a high quality game and the ball movement at times form both sides was breathtaking. Bont and Libba were amazing. Naughts was a superstar and I reckon Weightman is stiff not to get a few votes - he really is like a flea. I pest!

17-05-2021, 11:30 PM
Watching the replay, Tom Jonas reminds me of the guy who would never usually party but just happened to when in your presence, and still has heaps of energy at 6am and wants to talk about how he would never usually party but just happened to this time.

17-05-2021, 11:56 PM
That punch up is an embarrassment on two levels:

Absolute feather dusters from brown jacket.
Fighting at the footy is dumb.

18-05-2021, 12:41 AM
It was a genuinely good game. Two very different teams in how they move the ball, defend the ground and where their strengths lay, but highly entertaining on the second watch.

18-05-2021, 01:27 AM
Final observation.....Ken Hinkley looks like a Star Trek villain in his weird black pants and top combo.

18-05-2021, 08:49 AM
Watching the replay, Tom Jonas reminds me of the guy who would never usually party but just happened to when in your presence, and still has heaps of energy at 6am and wants to talk about how he would never usually party but just happened to this time.

You don’t rate the LEEDERSHIP it takes to force guys to play out of their weight division so a guy with average skills can grab 2 intercept marks a game and take all the kickouts?

18-05-2021, 09:24 AM
Final observation.....Ken Hinkley looks like a Star Trek villain in his weird black pants and top combo.

I was getting Emperor Palpatine vibes from watching Kenny in the box.

18-05-2021, 09:36 AM

I thought so too. He was ok but I actually thought Bailey Smith had a better game. Even Sam-Powell Pepper looked more threatening all night.

20-05-2021, 02:34 PM
Having been away for the weekend and early part of the week and having not watched much of the game I finally had the chance to watch it this morning.

Really solid effort against a good team on their deck. We showed a level of maturity that was missing when we lost our way against Richmond.. still plenty to iron out, but we get the chance over the next 5-6 games to play some quality teams so lots of learnings to come.

Fox Footy can eat a big fat one for missing the last 3min of the 4th qtr on the recording... haven't these dipshits worked out the games are running over? Lucky the scoring was done by then.

20-05-2021, 02:40 PM
Fox Footy can eat a big fat one for missing the last 3min of the 4th qtr on the recording... haven't these dipshits worked out the games are running over? Lucky the scoring was done by then.

They have done that the whole season and I got caught out a few times.

You need to add 30 minutes to the end of the recording when you set it up.

20-05-2021, 03:04 PM

You should be able to stream the game (if net connected) also and see the end with the later gen Foxtel boxes.

20-05-2021, 03:04 PM
Honestly if you don't use Foxtel for anything else and have decent reliable internet make the switch to Kayo. Watch it when you want on whatever device with much more reliability.

Money still goes to the same place but easier to cancel it over summer or share with family/friends

20-05-2021, 03:05 PM
Honestly if you don't use Foxtel for anything else and have decent reliable internet make the switch to Kayo. Watch it when you want on whatever device with much more reliability.

Money still goes to the same place but easier to cancel it over summer or share with family/friends

Kayo streaming quality sucks :D

20-05-2021, 03:26 PM

Kayo is really good, especially now with all the additional VFL games they're streaming.

I'd love it if a company came along that collated every AFL, state league and NAB league game into one HD streaming service. I would happily pay $50 a month for that.

20-05-2021, 03:31 PM
Kayo is pretty good but has messed up and spoiled pretty much everything I’ve ever tried to watch on delay on it with the event in progress. One UFC card cut to a guy in the ring celebrating with the belt just as I’d gotten to the start of his fight.

20-05-2021, 03:43 PM

The mini I had scheduled that night cut out most of the last quarter.

I’m ditching it for Kayo

20-05-2021, 03:57 PM
Kayo is really good, especially now with all the additional VFL games they're streaming.

I'd love it if a company came along that collated every AFL, state league and NAB league game into one HD streaming service. I would happily pay $50 a month for that.

AFL too embedded with Murdoch to create their own streaming service like nearly every other league around the world does.

20-05-2021, 04:19 PM
https://themongrelpunt.com/afl-season-2021/2021/05/16/western-bulldogs-v-port-adelaide-the-good-bad-and-ugly-released/ a Write up, not the best but has some good patches.

20-05-2021, 04:21 PM
I thought so too. He was ok but I actually thought Bailey Smith had a better game. Even Sam-Powell Pepper looked more threatening all night.

Sam PP was a lot better than I thought.

20-05-2021, 04:29 PM
Kayo streaming quality sucks :D

I agree. It makes me motion sickness.

20-05-2021, 04:38 PM
I agree. It makes me motion sickness.

I know it is cheaper than Foxtel, but I haven't been impressed with the quality when I watched some of the freebies they have.

On the other hand I would love to get rid of Foxtel, but feel I have little choice.

20-05-2021, 04:49 PM
The mini I had scheduled that night cut out most of the last quarter.

I’m ditching it for Kayo

Kayo works for me really well on iPad. Not sure about streaming it on the 55 inch though.

I'm a Telstra customer so Kayo costs me $5 a month.

20-05-2021, 05:04 PM
Kayo works for me really well on iPad. Not sure about streaming it on the 55 inch though.

I'm a Telstra customer so Kayo costs me $5 a month.

I like to watch the footy on a projector in my theatre room, can't imagine watching on an iPad. Each to their own I suppose.

20-05-2021, 05:29 PM
I know it is cheaper than Foxtel, but I haven't been impressed with the quality when I watched some of the freebies they have.

On the other hand I would love to get rid of Foxtel, but feel I have little choice.

I dumped Foxtel for Kayo so instead of $75 for Fox I get Kayo and Netflix plus Amazon Prime and I'm still ahead.

20-05-2021, 05:31 PM
I like to watch the footy on a projector in my theatre room, can't imagine watching on an iPad. Each to their own I suppose.

I was too until my projector died now it's 85" tv. :)

20-05-2021, 05:33 PM

Same. We only have Foxtel for sport and the pricing is just ludicrous for just that, but don’t have a choice. Unfortunately they just won’t let you have sport.

20-05-2021, 05:34 PM
If everyone has access to NBN medium to high speeds, Kayo shouldn’t be a problem. It’s good enough for me. Could be better sure but the price for Foxtel just isn’t worth it.

20-05-2021, 06:48 PM
If everyone has access to NBN medium to high speeds, Kayo shouldn’t be a problem. It’s good enough for me. Could be better sure but the price for Foxtel just isn’t worth it.

The only time I've found the quality poor is when it's a Chanel 7 game but they seem to have fixed that issue now.

Was something about Seven not showing it in HD or Kayo not getting the HD version or something

20-05-2021, 07:27 PM
WatchAFL is a service for overseas viewers, it's $199 for twelve months and you get the Fox football shows. I just watch it via a VPN and it's good.

21-05-2021, 08:50 AM
WatchAFL is a service for overseas viewers, it's $199 for twelve months and you get the Fox football shows. I just watch it via a VPN and it's good.

Isnt Kayo cheaper than that and has all the fox football shows plus other major sports?

21-05-2021, 09:30 AM
Isnt Kayo cheaper than that and has all the fox football shows plus other major sports?

Kayo is $25 a month, but there are deals if you package it up.

21-05-2021, 11:15 AM
I thought Kayo was $35 a month......does it have content all year round?

21-05-2021, 11:17 AM
Apologies just realised how cheap that Telstra deal is.

But yes Kayo is Fox Sports but via the internet

21-05-2021, 11:26 AM
Kayo is $25 a month, but there are deals if you package it up.

There has been a $15 a month deal floating around recently.

21-05-2021, 11:30 AM
I thought Kayo was $35 a month......does it have content all year round?

Has cricket now and international sports (NBA, NFL etc)

21-05-2021, 11:55 AM

Yes indeed. We can't all have theatre rooms.

21-05-2021, 12:12 PM
Has cricket now and international sports (NBA, NFL etc)

Yeah I think I should make the switch.

21-05-2021, 01:29 PM
Yes indeed. We can't all have theatre rooms.

I dont even get use of the iPad half the time and have to use my phone!

21-05-2021, 03:13 PM

Can you cast to your TV?

21-05-2021, 03:16 PM
Cast to a chromecast, use an apple TV and even most smart tvs have the Kayo app. Plenty of options to watch on the TV. Remember this isn't like the AFL app where they stupidly blocked casting from your phone or tablet. That was done to ensure people still signed up to foxtel. Kayo is foxtel so it allows it.

21-05-2021, 03:23 PM
Cast to a chromecast, use an apple TV and even most smart tvs have the Kayo app. Plenty of options to watch on the TV. Remember this isn't like the AFL app where they stupidly blocked casting from your phone or tablet. That was done to ensure people still signed up to foxtel. Kayo is foxtel so it allows it.

I have the app on my AppleTV so I can watch the freebie VFL if it isn't on Foxtel.

BTW, New AppleTV4K is being launched today, major difference is a faster chip

21-05-2021, 03:26 PM
Can you cast to your TV?

mate if i had control of the TV i wouldnt be fighting for the iPad :D. 3 kids and 1 TV does not equal a happy dad.

i have kayo on my GoogleTv

21-05-2021, 03:38 PM
mate if i had control of the TV i wouldnt be fighting for the iPad :D. 3 kids and 1 TV does not equal a happy dad.

Fair enough, you have no chance

21-05-2021, 03:40 PM

Any means necessary.

21-05-2021, 03:42 PM

My brother has given me his Foxtel Go details which accomplishes two things for me.

I never miss a game and Rupert gets none of my cash (yes, yes I know, but it's not MY cash). Win, win.

21-05-2021, 03:47 PM
My brother has given me his Foxtel Go details which accomplishes two things for me.

I never miss a game and Rupert gets none of my cash (yes, yes I know, but it's not MY cash). Win, win.

The biggest thing I hate is giving money to any Murdoch owned media. I don't touch any of their papers, and only read anything on WOOF that has been reproduced.

Foxtel part owned by them is about all I give and I hate doing it, but footy comes first. Kayo also owned by Foxtel.

21-05-2021, 03:50 PM
The biggest thing I hate is giving money to any Murdoch owned media. I don't touch any of their papers, and only read anything on WOOF that has been reproduced.

Foxtel part owned by them is about all I give and I hate doing it, but footy comes first. Kayo also owned by Foxtel.

Isn't this all a bit off topic?

21-05-2021, 05:00 PM
Yeah I think I should make the switch.

Offer sent to em today for $15

http://links.engage.ticketmaster.com/servlet/MailView?ms=NjkyODg1NAS2&r=Mjc3NTkxNjgyNjQ4S0&j=MTI2MDUzNDEwMgS2&mt=1&rt=0

but you have to be with Telstra, I got this email from AFL

21-05-2021, 05:13 PM
I get Kayo free for the season with the doggies digital membership. (Well it's not free but hopefully the dogs get something)

21-05-2021, 05:16 PM

That sucks. I have 2 kids with 3 TVs and a projector. But even if we only had 1 TV everybody in the house knows when the Bulldogs are on that overrules all. The judges' decision will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.

21-05-2021, 05:36 PM
Isn't this all a bit off topic?

It depends if you want the topic to be about last week's game or which streaming/ subscription services posters use to watch footy.

21-05-2021, 05:39 PM
Detouring from the Kayo discussion, An actual review of the match 6 days late. I didn’t get to see it until today because last Saturday night my sister (AKA The Other Libba Sister) got married.

It was a luxury to sit back and watch, knowing we won, knowing that we weathered whatever they threw at us. And with that luxury, I could only see the good, without the usual panic and angst of watching live. If injuries are kind, we are a real threat this year. Libba was just superb, Bont was sublime, and it was a really strong “bull-at-a-gate” performance from Bailey Smith. Watching in a relatively relaxed fashion I had greater appreciation of why McNeil, Hannan and Scott are in the team. They work very hard so that others can be the cream. Special kudos to Josh Bruce who I often viewed as lazy and unprofessional last year. His work rate is now phenomenal and he clunks those marks that he regularly spilt last year..while taking his turn in the ruck!

I love the high flying, athletic excitement machine Naughton and Cody is such a live wire. He makes footy fun again, all on his own..

But I was most impressed by our maligned defence. They absorbed so much intense pressure. Bailey Williams is such a linchpin these days, and Dureaya had a fine match. Occasionally I have been stupid enough to question whether Caleb Daniel costs us in the backline but on Saturday night he wasn’t just there for his excellent kicking but defended astoundingly well.

There must have been something I didn’t like?

Um...Bont’s new hairstyle is seriously underwhelming...

23-05-2021, 08:44 AM
Offer sent to em today for $15

http://links.engage.ticketmaster.com/servlet/MailView?ms=NjkyODg1NAS2&r=Mjc3NTkxNjgyNjQ4S0&j=MTI2MDUzNDEwMgS2&mt=1&rt=0

but you have to be with Telstra, I got this email from AFL

Sorry to bring it back to Kayo but I got this offer earlier yesterday. (the 15/mnth)

Whilst at the game browsing the AFL site they offered me $5/ month for 12 months.

Too good to refuse, I think it's through Telstra which my mobile service is.

Think I'll suspend my foxtel for a year and donate the difference to a worthy cause.