17-05-2021, 05:26 AM
Margin: Dogs by 69
First goal: Weightman
Best on ground: Libba

17-05-2021, 10:34 AM
Expect plenty of holding the ball calls for this one. All the talk this week is on how poor the umpiring was in the saints V cats game. I’m expecting the typical AFEL pendulum swing in umpiring HTB, especially given we’re playing the saints. They will bring intense pressure so we’ll need to be switched on in the middle.

18-05-2021, 02:43 AM
WB by 9
First goal Weightman
BOG Bont

18-05-2021, 10:11 AM
Dogs by 28
First Goal: McSteal
BOG: Macrae

20-05-2021, 07:08 PM
Dogs by 1
First goal - Bruce
Bog- Libba

20-05-2021, 08:46 PM
Expect plenty of holding the ball calls for this one. All the talk this week is on how poor the umpiring was in the saints V cats game. I’m expecting the typical AFEL pendulum swing in umpiring HTB, especially given we’re playing the saints. They will bring intense pressure so we’ll need to be switched on in the middle.

They have to catch us first. Can’t pay holding the ball if they don’t get near us

Dogs by 9 goals
BOG Libba. His having an amazing year
First goal. Juicy against his old side. Can see him kicking a lazy 6 this week.

21-05-2021, 01:03 AM
in line with the Club's current modus operandi :-

Saints by 123
1st Goal Zephaniah Skinner
Equal BOG Robert Groenewegen and Danny Del-Re

:)

21-05-2021, 01:07 AM
Margin: Dogs by 41 points
First goal: AstroNaught
Best on ground: Libba followed by Bont

22-05-2021, 06:48 PM
dogs by 16

bont on his left from a 30 degree angle.

bog Jack

22-05-2021, 06:56 PM
Dogs by 54
First goal Flea
BOG Naughty

22-05-2021, 07:22 PM
Dogs by 54
First goal Flea
BOG Naughty
You’re feeling VERY confident then Chef ?

22-05-2021, 07:39 PM
Dogs by 24
BOG Macrae
FG A steal from McNeal.

22-05-2021, 07:40 PM
You’re feeling VERY confident then Chef ?

Yeah, we are a very good side and we have a Bont.

22-05-2021, 07:43 PM
Lewis Young listed as IN on the AFL app. That makes me a bit more happy, allowing Bruce to stay forward.

22-05-2021, 07:46 PM
Lewis Young listed as IN on the AFL app. That makes me a bit more happy, allowing Bruce to stay forward.

He's out there warming up.

22-05-2021, 07:47 PM
Young is medical sub

22-05-2021, 08:21 PM
Bulldogs by 21 pts
FG second quarter: Weightman
BOG: Bontempelli
Anxiety rules.

22-05-2021, 08:22 PM
Win and we are on top!
Demons lost!

22-05-2021, 08:29 PM
How good was Dale with that hit up kick

22-05-2021, 08:31 PM
Through the corridor cutting us up.

22-05-2021, 08:33 PM
2 easy shots missed already.

22-05-2021, 08:34 PM
Thank god.

22-05-2021, 08:35 PM
Good stuff Libba, but I’m concerned the space we are leaving for them thru the corridor.

22-05-2021, 08:37 PM
Crap defence

22-05-2021, 08:39 PM
Gee Wiz. Dale looks like he has set himself for the saints

22-05-2021, 08:49 PM
Umpires' Sweet love!

22-05-2021, 08:50 PM
Why do we save our worst for this mob

That defence is laughable. Are we legit tonight ? A lot of lazy football out there.

I’m getting a little nervous. We are just 5% off tonight

22-05-2021, 08:51 PM
Not the best passage of play. Definitely playing into Saints hands

22-05-2021, 08:52 PM
I’m getting a little nervous. We are just 5% off tonight

Bit too cute in the backline, but I dunno. I kinda feel like we're on the cusp of ripping this one open. Can't really say why.

22-05-2021, 08:53 PM
Another intercept mark. I wish we could do that.

22-05-2021, 08:53 PM
The more I see of Sweet the more I like him.

22-05-2021, 08:56 PM
Reset and bring our A game would be nice.

That panic was reminiscent of Richmond, and Keath handball over his head blindly. Lucky for him that’s the first mistake I’ve seen him make this year.

22-05-2021, 08:56 PM
The more I see of Sweet the more I like him.
He’s looking ok, but I don’t like the look of that bandaging on his thigh..hopefully can go the distance against Ryder. Hmm I wonder if having young as sub is a ploy to sub sweet and have a fresh young in the last ?

22-05-2021, 09:00 PM
He’s looking ok, but I don’t like the look of that bandaging on his thigh..hopefully can go the distance against Ryder. Hmm I wonder if having young as sub is a ploy to sub sweet and have a fresh young in the last ?

Isn't that just to protect his thigh from impact?

Edit: oh it's on his shin. Still, point remains, I hope.

22-05-2021, 09:00 PM
Bit too cute in the backline, but I dunno. I kinda fell like we're on the cusp of ripping this one open. Can't really say why.

I think so too. We keep the effort and intensity up and clean up some of the nervous stuff, and I reckon we can work Saints over.

22-05-2021, 09:01 PM
Bailey Dale's great form continues.

22-05-2021, 09:02 PM
Well done weightman. Needed a good start.

22-05-2021, 09:03 PM
Just a freak.

Bont that is.

22-05-2021, 09:04 PM
Libba is just ripping this game open from the inside out.

Break them.

Libba and Bont - combo

Libba my hero!

22-05-2021, 09:07 PM
Cmon Boys, put them to sleep.

Libba my hero!

Gun player, Richo keeps saying he's underrated but I doubt that.

I’m feeling better now. Nice goal juicy

22-05-2021, 09:08 PM
Great start to the 2nd. Keep the foot down. Libba has been immense again.

Mutz
22-05-2021, 09:08 PM
Smith been taking lessons from Libba, good hard stuff from him.

22-05-2021, 09:09 PM
Cordy is letting mckernan play like Carey. He is pathetic body on body.

22-05-2021, 09:10 PM
Treloar straight down to the rooms. Not sure what is wrong.

22-05-2021, 09:12 PM
Bruce is just about the recruit of the year.

Shame we didn't recruit him last year.

22-05-2021, 09:13 PM
Josh Bruce - he used to play for St Kilda didn't he?

22-05-2021, 09:15 PM
Treloar didn’t look right from the get go.

22-05-2021, 09:16 PM
Relentless pressure and focus this quarter. It's impressive.

22-05-2021, 09:17 PM
This is some electric footy from us. Just really need to finish.

22-05-2021, 09:18 PM
Can’t afford to be missing these easy set shots. Weightman should have 3. Looking good and moving to the right spots though.

22-05-2021, 09:20 PM
To think we should be much further ahead!

22-05-2021, 09:22 PM
Why are we kicking it into the pocket all the time when we have 2 marking beasts down the guts ? Frustrating.

22-05-2021, 09:24 PM
I think Weightman might be ok.

22-05-2021, 09:26 PM
Brilliant ��

22-05-2021, 09:26 PM
What about Dale!

22-05-2021, 09:27 PM
What about Dale!
Move of the century by Bevo

22-05-2021, 09:28 PM
Other than our goalkicking, I'm loving this performance so far.
Reckon we've seen the Adelaide result and have come out like a team that wants to rise to the occasion.

22-05-2021, 09:29 PM
What about Dale!

Its the move of the year.

22-05-2021, 09:30 PM
To be fair, Saints will be much better when King comes back from injury.

22-05-2021, 09:31 PM

Do you mean Marshall?

King's out there. just not getting near it.

22-05-2021, 09:32 PM
Do you mean Marshall?

King's out there. just not getting near it.

Joke, you wouldn't know King was out there.

22-05-2021, 09:33 PM

Anyone know why Treloar is getting subbed out?

22-05-2021, 09:33 PM
Technically, Remembery fell back on Keath's statue of liberty arm.

22-05-2021, 09:34 PM
Joke, you wouldn't know King was out there.

Sorry, I'm slow.. and also full of brisket from the local club's US BBQ night. I've got the meat sweats.

22-05-2021, 09:35 PM
Should be another four goals up.

Brutal.

Love it.

22-05-2021, 09:35 PM
Sorry, I'm slow.. and also full of brisket from the local club's US BBQ night. I've got the meat sweats.

The Red wine should settle the meat sweats? I'm backing it in.

22-05-2021, 09:36 PM
Bailey Dale has been brilliant, having a great season.

22-05-2021, 09:36 PM
Should be another four goals up.

Brutal.

Love it.

That was a really good quarter. Just merciless around the ground.

Shame about Treloar. That being said, I'm "happy" it seems to be a sprained ankle.

22-05-2021, 09:37 PM
Great first half, although some of those set shots need to be executed more. 2 shocking misses from Naughton in particular should’ve had in front by 10 goals. Will be interesting to see if we take the foot off thinking of melb next week.

22-05-2021, 09:37 PM
This is pretty much over but we've missed some sitters. Sorry glass half empty here. :)

I can't fault much else

22-05-2021, 09:39 PM
Gosh our execution has been poor at times.

On another note, Brad Hill is a total and utter salary cap thief. I’ve never seen a more one way player in my life.

22-05-2021, 09:40 PM
From a % point of view I’m hoping we don’t allow the Saints to come out and do a GC. It’s important we continue momentum and continue to play a good brand of team football. Libba, Macrae and Dale have been huge.

Any word in TV about Treloar?

Gosh our execution has been poor at times.

On another note, Brad Hill is a total and utter salary cap thief. I’ve never seen a more one way player in my life.

Who was he trying to blame when Bont kicked that goal. There was no one else there but him. Reminded me of Goddard

22-05-2021, 09:43 PM
Sometimes we can be a bit too cute with those handballs, putting our players under more pressure than just alleviating it with a kick. What I love about Dale is that he back himself in once he gets to 50. Wish we had more players with that ability.

22-05-2021, 09:45 PM
Any word yet on Treloar's injury?

22-05-2021, 09:46 PM
I am still worried about a Saints comeback led by their hard man and match winner Brad Hill.

I want to see us shut them out in the 2nd half just as we have done up to now. We have played so well and should be another four goals up. It would be very disappointing to let them back into it. It would be absolutely great, and timely, to make a statement.

Thoroughly enjoying this? Is Treloar injured?

Any word in TV about Treloar?

Hes got an ankle injury but we aren't icing it. Are we taking advantage of the scoreboard and the fact we have a top of the table clash next week?

22-05-2021, 09:47 PM

He's like Johannisen without any credits in the bank.

That being said, JJ is doing ok tonight.

22-05-2021, 09:48 PM
Two questions

1. Has there ever been a father son brownlow combo.
2. What's the world record for baulks.

We are on track for both.

Libba has 17 possessions, 100 % disposal efficiency.

Dale reminds me of Lindsay Gilbee and how he used to score from the HBF.

Fantastic first half
Weightman excellent leading
Libba is just an inspiration how he manages to get the ball and release
Everyone is working hard and hungry
Dale kicking is elite . How he found naughton in the first quarter was fantastic, and those Long goals beautiful to see

St kilda lots of finger pointing and asking where are their team mates . They look like they are going through the motions and looking towards next week. Doggies please bury them

Hope treloar is Ok , medical sub called

He's like Johannisen without any credits in the bank.

That being said, JJ is doing ok tonight.

JJ's best game thus far. He seems to be coming to grips with his new role.

22-05-2021, 09:49 PM
What I love about Dale is that he back himself in once he gets to 50. Wish we had more players with that ability.
Do you think that R Smith has taken him under his wing and just said let me show you how it’s done son

22-05-2021, 09:50 PM
I want to see us shut them out in the 2nd half just as we have done up to now. We have played so well and should be another four goals up. It would be very disappointing to let them back into it. It would be absolutely great, and timely, to make a statement.
Agree. I don’t wanna see another GC 3rd quarter and them kicking 6 goals to 1.
I also don’t want to see us play with a “ hmm well we are in front we won’t lose” attitude.

Like Merantau said...Make a statement.

22-05-2021, 09:50 PM
I am still worried about a Saints comeback led by their hard man and match winner Brad Hill.

You’re on fire. Too much red :):)

22-05-2021, 09:51 PM
Do you think that R Smith has taken him under his wing and just said let me show you how it’s done son
Well....it does remind me of him.

When I first read that I thought you meant Roarke lol

22-05-2021, 09:51 PM
Agree. I don’t wanna see another GC 3rd quarter and them kicking 6 goals to 1.
I also don’t want to see us play with a “ hmm well we are in front we won’t lose” attitude.

Like Merantau said...Make a statement.

I think having Treloar out, might present some challenges for us, in terms of us continuing to dominate. Young for Treloar makes for some very interesting decisions to work through in terms of positional changes.

22-05-2021, 09:52 PM

You're on fire tonight.

Just having a read of the saints tv Facebook page saying the umpiring is costing them the game lol

Hes got an ankle injury but we aren't icing it. Are we taking advantage of the scoreboard and the fact we have a top of the table clash next week?

Not sure because wouldn’t that put more pressure on the other mids with one less rotation through there?

He is playing a Rohan Smith type role off HB and is an additional weapon as an avenue to goal. 6 goals straight this year.

22-05-2021, 09:53 PM
Just having a read of the saints tv Facebook page saying the umpiring is costing them the game lol

Did they see the Membrey one? He dropped under Keath's arm.

22-05-2021, 09:53 PM

Tend to agree with this assessment. No need to risk him

22-05-2021, 09:57 PM
Loving JJs pressure has been excellent

22-05-2021, 10:00 PM
Cordy is frustrating me to no end the way he is playing mckernan. No body on body and literally nowhere near him.

22-05-2021, 10:00 PM
Great to see Bailey Smith running back into his best form.

Mutz
22-05-2021, 10:01 PM
Clever defence work by Keath

22-05-2021, 10:02 PM
I’m gonna bite my tongue.

22-05-2021, 10:06 PM
Great to see Bailey Smith running back into his best form.
I only have a radio call but Smith is often mentioned.

22-05-2021, 10:09 PM
If Cordy can’t defend McKernan who can he defend?

22-05-2021, 10:10 PM
Raking kick Bontempelli.

22-05-2021, 10:10 PM
If Cordy can’t defend McKernan who can he defend?
Exactly. A very very avge performance.

Mutz
22-05-2021, 10:11 PM
Needs closer body work.

22-05-2021, 10:12 PM
Scott to the rooms.

22-05-2021, 10:14 PM
Exactly. A very very avge performance.

We judge defenders hard. He's made a couple of poor mistakes, but he's also had some really good moments too.

22-05-2021, 10:15 PM
I love Cody.

Mutz
22-05-2021, 10:16 PM
Weightman has some clever mongrel.
Followed up by a beautiful mark to feed Naughts for a goal - that could be my moment.

22-05-2021, 10:20 PM
This is now a top notch performance.

22-05-2021, 10:21 PM
28 shots on goal to 6.

Total demolition.

That’s what we should be doing. Centre the ball more. Dale, Libba and macrae continue to propel us at every turn. Bont having a good qtr too.

22-05-2021, 10:25 PM
St Kilda fans on BF blaming the umpires for the difference in scores....

22-05-2021, 10:27 PM
Total demolition.

I thought you would have heard this on the work radio. We are on fire as 23 blokes get.

22-05-2021, 10:27 PM
28 shots on goal to 6.

And three shots hit the post. Playing very well indeed.

22-05-2021, 10:28 PM

Thanks boys. That's half the job done. Now keep on going for another half hour.

22-05-2021, 10:29 PM
Glad I’m not on the MC. It’s got to be the hardest job in the AFL right now.

Only 2 disappointments so far. Naughton’s easy misses and Cordy’s work in defence. Both need to be fine tuned before finals come along.

I thought you would have heard this on the work radio. We are on fire as 23 blokes get.

Off duty. Zero interest :).

I'd sub the Bont now, play a man down.

Poor old Lewis Young, come on as a sub, go into the ruck against a warmed up Ryder and cop a nice knee to start your night.

Thanks boys. That's half the job done. Now keep on going for another half hour.
Was very pleasing to see.

22-05-2021, 10:30 PM
Glad I’m not on the MC. It’s got to be the hardest job in the AFL right now.

Nah this is an easy one.

No change, except Treloar out, English in.

Just got home … what happened to Treloar?

Any news on Scott injury? If he is out next week, or Treloar, could be Garcia debuts next week.

22-05-2021, 10:32 PM
I’m gonna bite my tongue.
That's what you get for sticking it out.

22-05-2021, 10:34 PM
Just got home … what happened to Treloar?

Bung ankle, but I don't think they've shown when it happened.

We're going so well tonight that I think that's the first time I've heard Bailey Williams mentioned.

Macrae another 30 odd.

Edit: and just as I say it they show the footage of Treloar injury

Mutz
22-05-2021, 10:34 PM
Anyone know what the Lewis Young up forward plan is about?

22-05-2021, 10:35 PM
Roarke vs Lippa in a final? I’m going Roarke any day of the week another solid performance by him, plays the percentages and importantly can make a tackle stick.

22-05-2021, 10:43 PM
This is impressive. No more words needed.

22-05-2021, 10:43 PM

Maybe because Lewis is not needed back.

22-05-2021, 10:44 PM
Deserved that Johannisen. Has been really good tonight.

22-05-2021, 10:46 PM
Maybe because Lewis is not needed back.
He’s needed in Cordy’s position haha

22-05-2021, 10:48 PM
A proud day in the history of the Footscray Football club.
John Schultz, it is so good to share this day with you.

22-05-2021, 10:50 PM
Geez JJ has had a fantastic game. I have no doubt the inclusion of weightman has helped JJ’s game. He looks rejuvenated.

Mutz
22-05-2021, 10:51 PM
Geez JJ has had a fantastic game. I have no doubt the inclusion of weightman has helped JJ’s game. He looks rejuvenated.

Pressure for spots.

22-05-2021, 10:52 PM
Bont next level stuff. Shame he missed it.

22-05-2021, 10:53 PM
Bring out the flags and colours.
Even my iridescent Bulldog shorts/underpants with a big robodog are now classy.

22-05-2021, 10:54 PM
Even my iridescent Bulldog shorts/underpants with a big robodog are now classy.

Pfft. As if they ever weren't.

22-05-2021, 10:55 PM
Crozier is starting to get back in form too.

22-05-2021, 10:57 PM
Sweetie wants some action.
Bad luck, the more you miss the more you get.

22-05-2021, 10:58 PM
Hamish McLachlan saying he wanted King to get a goal.

This isn't little league you tool.

22-05-2021, 11:02 PM
What a performance this has been. Gut running both offensively and defensively. Brilliant.

22-05-2021, 11:05 PM
Man that was good. Bogey team, have beaten us the last 3 times, and they made my son cry at the GABBA in the elimination final, so great to see them smash them.

22-05-2021, 11:17 PM
Hamish McLachlan saying he wanted King to get a goal.

This isn't little league you tool.
He's just offering poor solace to decimated St Kilda FC supporters

22-05-2021, 11:18 PM
Did we win?

22-05-2021, 11:18 PM
did we win?

hell yeah!!!!!!

22-05-2021, 11:19 PM
Smashed them. Finally. Amazing performance. So much better than them it should have been a 150pt win. Wow.

22-05-2021, 11:19 PM
Man that was good. Bogey team, have beaten us the last 3 times, and they made my son cry at the GABBA in the elimination final, so great to see them smash them.

Haha your son is laughing now.

22-05-2021, 11:21 PM
I think this is the first Bulldog team I have seen that has a killer instinct and if we can straighten up our kicking they will inflict more pain.

22-05-2021, 11:22 PM
Good to see Naughts outscore St Kilda FC

22-05-2021, 11:22 PM
What a win I am over joyed.

2 injuries sour it a bit but hopefully English back next week

22-05-2021, 11:28 PM
Bit too cute in the backline, but I dunno. I kinda fell like we're on the cusp of ripping this one open. Can't really say why.

Nailed it.

22-05-2021, 11:29 PM
Nailed it.

And next week's Powerball numbers are... Wait, what?

22-05-2021, 11:31 PM

2 injuries soar it a bit but hopefully English back next week

Treloar and who else injured?

22-05-2021, 11:32 PM
Treloar and who else injured?

Scott

22-05-2021, 11:34 PM
Scott

Is it serious?

22-05-2021, 11:34 PM
Is it serious?

Concussion rule

22-05-2021, 11:35 PM
Just watching Bont being interviewed on the post game. He just speaks so magnificently.

Best all round individual in the league.

22-05-2021, 11:35 PM

2 injuries soar it a bit but hopefully English back next week

We did plenty of soaring you're right and injuries are souring.

Insufficient Intent
22-05-2021, 11:36 PM
Possible concussion was mentioned on Fox, not heard or seen anything else.

22-05-2021, 11:38 PM
Very thorough performance. I thought our team work was excellent all game. We had numbers at every contest. We had very few turnovers by hand or foot.

When they did look dangerous coming through the corridor we were really desperate to chase and put pressure on the final kick or hand pass.
I really liked Alex Keath's game and Crozier's too. In fact the entire defence played well and the midfielders got back in numbers to help out when required.
I got my wish in the 2nd half. The boys put them to the sword Ghengis Khan-style.

22-05-2021, 11:38 PM
Bulldogs by 21 pts
FG second quarter: Weightman
BOG: Bontempelli
Anxiety rules.
Nuff said.

22-05-2021, 11:39 PM
I'm am satisfied with that result

22-05-2021, 11:43 PM
I got my wish in the 2nd half. The boys put them to the sword Ghengis Khan-style.
Being Celtic I prefer Cuchullain to do the beheading.

22-05-2021, 11:51 PM
Did I hear correctly? That’s the first time in our history that we have won two games in a season by more than 100 points?

22-05-2021, 11:52 PM
The view looks good from the top of the ladder ….

22-05-2021, 11:55 PM
Did I hear correctly? That’s the first time in our history that we have won two games in a season by more than 100 points?

You did indeed. I cannot remember the last time we had a %tage of 161 - if ever!

22-05-2021, 11:55 PM
Posted by a Saints fan:

St Kilda are like the kid in a school play who wets themselves on stage.

23-05-2021, 12:04 AM
Yes this is the future calling.

23-05-2021, 12:04 AM
Really good to win against our bogey teams Carlton and Saints.
We've got a tough run this next month. We're likely to drop some in the next 5 weeks. Melbourne, Geelong and a couple of trips to Perth

23-05-2021, 12:07 AM

My guess is to get him to experience to work along hard running leading forwards. It will be a good development game for him with the experience. Young still has a lot to go to get to anywhere Bruce or Naughton level

23-05-2021, 12:10 AM
Saints have the third worst percentage now.

I don't think we will be playing them in the finals this year.

23-05-2021, 12:25 AM
Bailey Dale has gone from fumbling 1-2 a week due to perceived pressure to startling to look for opportunities to step forward and meet an opponent. Even in our poorer games he has been huge, incredible season so far.

23-05-2021, 12:27 AM
Bailey Dale has gone from fumbling 1-2 a week due to perceived pressure to startling to look for opportunities to step forward and meet an opponent. Even in our poorer games he has been huge, incredible season so far.

He has surpassed my expectations. We give Bevo a lot of stick for wanting guys to be versatile and play in multiple positions. This is a clear tick in Bevo's favour.

23-05-2021, 12:39 AM

First live game since pre-COVID, very nervous early but once we got under way it would be a huge understatement to say I thoroughly enjoyed it.
I believe the last three 100 point wins in the AFL have been by the Doggies.

23-05-2021, 12:41 AM
The Saints were insipid in trying to lock the ball into their forward line and it just kept rebounding back into our forward line.
I think they've had 3 big losses before the mid way mark of the season and you would have to think there is no coming back from that.

23-05-2021, 12:43 AM
The Saints were insipid in trying to lock the ball into their forward line and it just kept rebounding back into our forward line.
I think they've had 3 big losses before the mid way mark of the season and you would have to think there is no coming back from that.

Yeah, I reckon that performance is the knockout blow to their season, and places intense pressure not only on some key players, but also on their recruiting strategy.
They got a bump from their recent recruitment, but it looks to be nothing more than a costly dead cat bounce.

23-05-2021, 12:46 AM

75 to Bombers, 86 to Tigers, 54 to Port and 111 tonight - not looking good

23-05-2021, 12:48 AM
75 to Bombers, 86 to Tigers, 54 to Port and 111 tonight - not looking good

There you go, 4 significant losses. The season is done for them I suspect.

23-05-2021, 12:58 AM
How does Hill command 750 to 800K a season? The Saints have too much money invested into players who's best football is a few seasons ago.

23-05-2021, 01:04 AM
How does Hill command 750 to 800K a season? The Saints have too much money invested into players who's best football is a few seasons ago.

My best mate is a Saint's nuffy. He agreed that they'd mortgaged long term success, but that it was necessary as they couldn't afford to bottom out and sell a 5 year rebuild.
I disagreed with him and said that a false dawn of a finals appearance and nought else, would still see them bottom out and would further disenfranchise their fans.
Better to cop your whack and build from the draft and then fill out the list with moneyball trades like they'd done with Membrey and Steele, than get a feel good sugar hit but ultimately fruitless result from trading hard draft currency for Hannebery and Hill and salary cap gobbling from Crouch.

23-05-2021, 01:19 AM

In a contending side, as he was at Hawthorn, I can see it. As I can likewise see the same money for Zac Williams. The problem is they are the cream so in average sides they’re of little value which is no good for the player or the clubs. Assessing your list is crucial to succeed these days, Saints, Carlton, Essendon, North & Collingwood have all misjudged their lists and where they are. Luckily with Sam Power we’ve not fallen into the traps others have. Circling back to Hill, Saints are going to have a few headaches about whether they just suck up keeping big dollar players, or trade them out and rebuild properly. I’m not sure they will, whereas a Hawthorn might trade out a Wingard (cream type player). Going to be interesting to see a lot of decisions at years end.

23-05-2021, 01:26 AM
In a contending side, as he was at Hawthorn, I can see it. As I can likewise see the same money for Zac Williams. The problem is they are the cream so in average sides they’re of little value which is no good for the player or the clubs. Assessing your list is crucial to succeed these days, Saints, Carlton, Essendon, North & Collingwood have all misjudged their lists and where they are. Luckily with Sam Power we’ve not fallen into the traps others have. Circling back to Hill, Saints are going to have a few headaches about whether they just suck up keeping big dollar players, or trade them out and rebuild properly. I’m not sure they will, whereas a Hawthorn might trade out a Wingard (cream type player). Going to be interesting to see a lot of decisions at years end.

I just checked and Hill is signed until the end of 2025. Unless a miracle happens in terms of rediscovering some form and purpose he's only going to become a bigger liability for them.

23-05-2021, 01:31 AM

That just confirms that the Saint's got it all ass backward. They recruited, not in the aims of a long terms tilt at success, but to stop a slide. The irony is the slide, probably even worse than it naturally would've, is coming hard as a direct result of that approach.

23-05-2021, 01:34 AM
Really strong performance tonight. We were well in control for the whole game. The Saints don't look good at all this year compared to last. A great % booster as well winning by over 100 points. We are back on top of the ladder on %. Big game now coming up next Friday against the Demons at Marvel.

23-05-2021, 01:37 AM
Where's Jeemak tonight? Did he take his trade ideas down to the Yarraville nets and get sorted out by a fat kid on the bounce castle that Twodogs mentioned had been set up?

23-05-2021, 01:40 AM
For the saints to unload Hill they’d have to do a Collingwood and pay to give him away. Who’d want that contract for his efforts?

23-05-2021, 01:50 AM
For the saints to unload Hill they’d have to do a Collingwood and pay to give him away. Who’d want that contract for his efforts?

I'd love Hill... he's the cream on the top if you're looking to contend now,... But to recruit him as the cornerstone of your team's rise, that's crazytown.
If you're on the downward drift, as Saint were when they got him, then save a late pick and recruit for his type on the cheap. Like we did with JJ. His type of player isn't someone you give up precious early picks on when you're in a rebuild. Dumb move that will cost them years.

23-05-2021, 01:52 AM
Where's Jeemak tonight? Did he take his trade ideas down to the Yarraville nets and get sorted out by a fat kid on the bounce castle that Twodogs mentioned had been set up?

Been raving to Nubreed and Infusion at a converted warehouse in North Coburg......what did I miss?

23-05-2021, 01:55 AM
Been raving to Nubreed and Infusion at a converted warehouse in North Coburg......what did I miss?

Less teeth grinding that's for sure

23-05-2021, 01:57 AM
Less teeth grinding that's for sure

Now now purple mouth, there was none of that for me hence being home at half twelve! :D

23-05-2021, 01:58 AM
Just about to watch the tape......when out I noted we were four points before we scored a goal. Should I go back and see what was said in this thread?

23-05-2021, 01:59 AM
Just about to watch the tape......when out I noted we were four points before we scored a goal. Should I go back and see what was said in this thread?

Oh the 1st qtr comments are GOLD

23-05-2021, 02:22 AM

Prophetic.

It's easy watching the tape and knowing the result about twenty-five minutes in, but feeling the same. Just needing to put it together.

23-05-2021, 02:34 AM
It felt like our sloppiness allowed them to put the pressure on in the first. However, it could have been a bit of a different game at quarter time if Saints forwards didn't decide to kick the footy with their eyes closed just for kicks on their set shots. Two absolute shanks from very gettable shots let us off the hook.

23-05-2021, 05:12 AM
Yeah not a lot to complain about with that. We left a few out there that we should have taken but it was so good.

What's better is how bitter the Saints fans would be after that. Completely demoralised, and they can complain about injuries as much as they like but we have a few good players out as well and they crumbled.

I mean I get Zac Jones is the toughest man on the planet, but even his awesome toughness wouldn't have saved them from what happened tonight.

23-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Just on Hill being the cream, Libba ran him down last night with dodgy knees so I think that says a lot about how he's going.
He must be very comfortable where he is at the moment and he's contract status.

On second thoughts that's a disservice to Libba how is playing extremely well.

23-05-2021, 08:53 AM
That was fun!

Amazing performance and the pressure we applied was relentless, 72 tackles to 48 when you win every key metric comfortably and the margin is over 100 points is testament to our work-rate.

Really looking forward to seeing how we go over the next 4 games when we have a really tough run, but when we bring our best we're the best team in it.

And St.Kilda... really! Average games per player (104 v 87).. Only 3 players under 50 games to our 6... that was embarrassing.

23-05-2021, 02:24 PM
Loving the fact Bevo is pointing to us being the number 1 effective tackle side in the comp and its that kind of grit we are looking for. It looks like we have learned from the final last year, and at the same time have brought in a number of roleplayers to improve on this area.

That win against Port away last week has enhanced the groups belief there is no doubt about that. We get another opportunity to build on it against the Dees cant wait for for it.

23-05-2021, 03:57 PM
Great Photo

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E1_icprWEAIdFe5?format=jpg&name=medium

23-05-2021, 04:14 PM
I loved that we seemed just as desperate for the ball in the last three minutes of the game, with literally nothing to lose, as we were in the first. That's the spirit that will get us all the way.

23-05-2021, 04:17 PM
I loved that we seemed just as desperate for the ball in the last three minutes of the game, with literally nothing to lose, as we were in the first. That's the spirit that will get us all the way.

Me too. I so wanted the record winning margin as an exclamation point.

23-05-2021, 10:26 PM
The Bontempelli - Liberatore Roadshow. Produced by Als Highlights

https://youtu.be/YNQsOo2x4ys

23-05-2021, 11:16 PM
I was out last night but got a chance to watch the replay today. What a stunning and complete performance. The Saints were woeful after quarter time, and it is hard to read how much of that was us vs them, but we were brilliant across all lines.

Keath had some great defensive moments - a great tackle on the edge of the centre square to stop a clear break forward, and running off his man to intercept and knock the ball forward on the TV-side wing.
Bailey Dale has completed his transformation into an elite half-back. He is defending well, but it is his ability to accumulate and distribute with such attacking flair that is making him a weapon. Daniel, Williams and Dale as half-back distributors is surely not matched across the competition?
I thought Cordy was fine, but would not be fazed if Young or Gardner replaced him. McKernan is no world-beater but he also has very sticky hands and has played some great games of AFL football - I thought Cordy played him well.

Our midfield is just phenomenal. Bazlenka has got some touch back playing his more familiar inside role, but the others (Bont, Libba, Treloar, Macrae) are an unbelievable combination. It will be interesting how we cover Treloar's absence.
I have been really impressed by Sweet. He definitely makes way for Martin when fit, but he has provided a lot more physicality, ruck craft and skill around the ground than I expected. A 2022 onwards Sweet and English combo sounds pretty good to me.

Naughton and Bruce will face their biggest test this week against May and Lever, but they have developed such a great chemistry. They get out of each others way, they block, they are both putting pressure on when the ball hits the ground - it's been really promising. 57 goals combined between our two key forwards to Round 10 is supreme. I read a stat last night that Naughton had been our inside 50 target 9 times, and had taken 6 marks inside 50. Good strike rate.
JJ played his best game as a forward. He pressured, he ran to good spots, his disposal was good. Admittedly it was a good night to be a forward, but still nice to see some progress in a player who I have been pretty critical of.
I love Cody's energy. What a great inclusion to the team. I hope he can maintain it over the next few weeks, because it is a really important part of our forward mix.

111 points. I kept checking the scores through the night and couldn't believe it, having gone in to the game expecting a close tussle. The only two Melbourne-based games I've missed this year have been 100+!!

24-05-2021, 08:15 AM
Naughton 5.4.34 def St Kilda 5.3.33

Good effort by Naughts to come back from 3 goals down at half time.

24-05-2021, 08:24 AM
JJ played his best game as a forward. He pressured, he ran to good spots, his disposal was good. Admittedly it was a good night to be a forward, but still nice to see some progress in a player who I have been pretty critical of.
I love Cody's energy. What a great inclusion to the team. I hope he can maintain it over the next few weeks, because it is a really important part of our forward mix.

I thought Hannan was also very good. His work rate off the ball kept the Saints rebounders under pressure. Same with JJ. They also had good support from Roarke & McNeil. I used to get so frustrated watching opposition teams waltz the ball out of our attacking 50 the past couple of years. Not anymore. They are ferocious down there.

Even Bruce in the very last passage of play when we are 111 points up running his guts out to chase an opponent was terrific from the big guy. This is an example of a terrific work ethic the team has at the moment.

24-05-2021, 08:55 AM
The Bontempelli - Liberatore Roadshow. Produced by Als Highlights

https://youtu.be/YNQsOo2x4ys
I’ve noticed they talk to each other a lot on the field

24-05-2021, 11:53 AM
I feel like Libba is our de facto vice captain.

24-05-2021, 12:30 PM
I thought Hannan was also very good. His work rate off the ball kept the Saints rebounders under pressure. Same with JJ. They also had good support from Roarke & McNeil. I used to get so frustrated watching opposition teams waltz the ball out of our attacking 50 the past couple of years. Not anymore. They are ferocious down there.

Even Bruce in the very last passage of play when we are 111 points up running his guts out to chase an opponent was terrific from the big guy. This is an example of a terrific work ethic the team has at the moment.

Does this explain some innacuracy? Is there a way to fix this? It worries me when we kick 18 points. That sort of thing kills you in a final.

24-05-2021, 12:33 PM
Does this explain some innacuracy? Is there a way to fix this? It worries me when we kick 18 points. That sort of thing kills you in a final.

I think it's just between the ears. We kicked 5 of those 18 points in the 1st quarter and some of those were dead set gimmes. Along with the 4 or 5 posters we had.

24-05-2021, 01:00 PM
I was out last night but got a chance to watch the replay today. What a stunning and complete performance. The Saints were woeful after quarter time, and it is hard to read how much of that was us vs them, but we were brilliant across all lines.

Keath had some great defensive moments - a great tackle on the edge of the centre square to stop a clear break forward, and running off his man to intercept and knock the ball forward on the TV-side wing.
Bailey Dale has completed his transformation into an elite half-back. He is defending well, but it is his ability to accumulate and distribute with such attacking flair that is making him a weapon. Daniel, Williams and Dale as half-back distributors is surely not matched across the competition?
I thought Cordy was fine, but would not be fazed if Young or Gardner replaced him. McKernan is no world-beater but he also has very sticky hands and has played some great games of AFL football - I thought Cordy played him well.

Our midfield is just phenomenal. Bazlenka has got some touch back playing his more familiar inside role, but the others (Bont, Libba, Treloar, Macrae) are an unbelievable combination. It will be interesting how we cover Treloar's absence.
I have been really impressed by Sweet. He definitely makes way for Martin when fit, but he has provided a lot more physicality, ruck craft and skill around the ground than I expected. A 2022 onwards Sweet and English combo sounds pretty good to me.

Naughton and Bruce will face their biggest test this week against May and Lever, but they have developed such a great chemistry. They get out of each others way, they block, they are both putting pressure on when the ball hits the ground - it's been really promising. 57 goals combined between our two key forwards to Round 10 is supreme. I read a stat last night that Naughton had been our inside 50 target 9 times, and had taken 6 marks inside 50. Good strike rate.

111 points. I kept checking the scores through the night and couldn't believe it, having gone in to the game expecting a close tussle. The only two Melbourne-based games I've missed this year have been 100+!!

Good post, oh yeah Bailey Dale. You know you are hitting your straps when you are in the backline, selling candy.
I think Caleb has had that influence down there.

24-05-2021, 05:37 PM
Coach's votes

VOTES
PLAYER (CLUB)

Marcus Bontempelli (WB)

Bailey Dale (WB)

Aaron Naughton (WB)

Tom Liberatore (WB)

Alex Keath (WB)

Jordon Sweet (WB)

24-05-2021, 05:42 PM
Sweetly!!!!!!

First vote son, just four games in. Two. On Ryder.

Sweetly!!!!!!

24-05-2021, 05:43 PM
Sweetly!!!!!!

Two votes deserve two posts!!!

Sweetly!!!!!!

Doing the math, it was one coach, I’d say ours. So Bevo rated him his fourth best player which is a huge reward as we had a bunch of outstanding players.

24-05-2021, 05:51 PM
Sweetly!!!!!!

Two votes deserve two posts!!!

Sweetly!!!!!!

Doing the math, it was one coach, I’d say ours. So Bevo rated him his fourth best player which is a huge reward as we had a bunch of outstanding players.

Great recognition from Bevo, it was a massive performance from Sweet. Looked like he came in with a decent corkie/knock too, if that padding on his thigh is anything to go by.

Saints fans truly believed Ryder was their trump card going into the game and Sweet completely neutralised him.

24-05-2021, 06:04 PM
Yeah Sweet was totally better than Jack Macrae and his 41 touches. It shows why you can’t take these things too seriously.

24-05-2021, 06:10 PM
Yeah Sweet was totally better than Jack Macrae and his 41 touches. It shows why you can’t take these things too seriously.

We often talk about Macrae being under-rated and this highlights that it is by everyone.

24-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Great recognition from Bevo, it was a massive performance from Sweet. Looked like he came in with a decent corkie/knock too, if that padding on his thigh is anything to go by.

Saints fans truly believed Ryder was their trump card going into the game and Sweet completely neutralised him.

I think Sugar wears the padding every week.

24-05-2021, 09:48 PM

Macrae is leading the league in possessions and now equal first in score involvements with Petracca on 83.
Doesnt get the plaudits he deserves.

24-05-2021, 10:38 PM
Got the standard 60 seconds on both AFL 360 and On The Couch.

24-05-2021, 10:53 PM

In fairness, St Kilda were always going to be the talking point out of that game.

That was a putrid effort from a team that has gone all in on trading and FA over the last 3 years.

25-05-2021, 12:50 AM
Anyone else having problems watching replay of game on kayo?

25-05-2021, 01:04 AM
I feel like Libba is our de facto vice captain.

I've been to every Melbourne game this year, I'll tell you now, Libba is 100% VC on field, his really important at getting people into position and yelling orders at team mates around stoppages.

25-05-2021, 02:05 PM
I’ve noticed they talk to each other a lot on the field

That play looked almost planned.

Their combination is phenomenal.

25-05-2021, 02:56 PM

Yep totally agree. Bevo said we were manic which says it all.

25-05-2021, 03:02 PM

Irritating to say the least. Each episode I settle down on the sofa expecting more. Melbourne dominates the discussion On the Couch with ex players Healy & Lyon.

25-05-2021, 06:52 PM
Irritating to say the least. Each episode I settle down on the sofa expecting more. Melbourne dominates the discussion On the Couch with ex players Healy & Lyon.

Lets hope it dominates this week but not in a good light.

26-05-2021, 11:32 AM

Did he though? I thought they won the taps by a long way. Not that it makes much difference with Libba hunting the leather around the ankles of the pack.

26-05-2021, 11:35 AM
Did he though? I thought they won the taps by a long way. Not that it makes much difference with Libba hunting the leather around the ankles of the pack.

Taps are a useless metric on their own. I was there live and watched the replay, and while Ryder got his hands on it first and did tap it directly down to his mids at time (mostly in a stagnant, flat footed position), there was no dominance.

Compare that to the final where Ryder was just putting the ball into space for running mids, was monstering English out of the contest and grabbing it and pumping it forward, and was taking marks around the ground and forward.

Ryder destroying Sweet was my only concern going into the game.

26-05-2021, 03:57 PM
Anyone else having problems watching replay of game on kayo?

Yes!!! So it's not just us? Sat down to rewatch with the MIL who missed the first half and it kept snapping back to the menu screen.

26-05-2021, 04:05 PM
Yes!!! So it's not just us? Sat down to rewatch with the MIL who missed the first half and it kept snapping back to the menu screen.

Had this happen a couple of times myself.