View Full Version : Time to pull the Liam Jones move.
04-09-2021, 11:32 PM
He really shat the bed at different times, and to his credit did it in different ways! ;)
However, he was also extremely important early and late and on the basis of that worth persevering as a swing player who can also help in the ruck.
Please Josh, just be yourself and back your skills and brain in because they're both unique for someone of your size. It's career time for you now mate, go get it!
Couple of terrible efforts BUT stayed in the game and kept presenting. We missed him going inside twice in really easy kicks as well.
04-09-2021, 11:34 PM
Couple of terrible efforts BUT stayed in the game and kept presenting. We missed him going inside twice in really easy kicks as well.
Absolutely. And he wasn't the only one who missed out, in fact, that we were able to scramble and score enough to win is massive.
I just want him to do what he does best as often as he can. Hit targets, take the easy marks, present and present again. I know in my heart...and possibly head, that if he does that then he will get better and better at the other stuff that's been more difficult to him.
04-09-2021, 11:35 PM
And you haven't even mentioned Marra.
We are going to have some good problems! ;)
Completely forgot about Marra tonight.
And Darcy coming in hopeful in the draft we pick him up.
05-09-2021, 12:24 AM
They have a long memory...
Watching the Kayo mini. Schache gets the ball and a bloke next to a crowd mic says deridingly “I want to go home Schache”...
Ironic, that bloke is the one who is going home. Josh is flying to Perth to play in a Prelim.
05-09-2021, 12:28 AM
I really hope Josh keeps his spot next week.
Yes he dropped the sitter that would've been a goal, and he didn't trouble the statistician overall, but I was watching him off the ball, and he definitely was up for the contest.. He was body on body and looking to initiate contact. This meant a lot to him and his intent was clear.. He just fluffed his moment.
05-09-2021, 12:30 AM
I really hope Josh keeps his spot next week.
Yes he dropped the sitter that would've been a goal, and he didn't trouble the statistician overall, but I was watching him off the ball, and he definitely was up for the contest.. He was body on body and looking to initiate contact. This meant a lot to him and his intent was clear.. He just fluffed his moment.
11 touches, 4 marks, 102m gained, 1 Goal, 4 Score Involvements, and shepherded a goal on the line for Smith in the last.
I get the statistician wasn’t flat out. But I think Josh troubled him a little bit... :D
05-09-2021, 12:32 AM
If he takes that mark and kicks it, he has what you'd call another good night.
Obviously he didn't and he made 2 other big errors, but he competed reasonably well and had an impact in the last.
We stick with him (clearly).
05-09-2021, 01:26 PM
Gotta be honest a game riddled with errors in big moments was what I was waiting for from Schache, and he largely delivered, but he at least stayed in the game, which is a huge step forward from him.
He stays in.
05-09-2021, 10:37 PM
I thought Shack was good overall. A bad dropped mark and a horrible turnover, but I was really impressed by a couple of strong overhead marks on the lead. I don't recall seeing that from him in the past, he loves a chest mark.
06-09-2021, 12:33 AM
I thought Shack was good overall. A bad dropped mark and a horrible turnover, but I was really impressed by a couple of strong overhead marks on the lead. I don't recall seeing that from him in the past, he loves a chest mark.
I had completely written him off as a key forward at AFL level and have been really pleased with what he has offered these last two weeks. Things weren't even particularly going his way last night and he still managed to have a positive impact.
Sure he stuffed up a couple of times (chest marks running backwards can be difficult to judge where the ball will land tbf),but he did what he needed to do.
11-09-2021, 09:43 PM
My ode to Josh (you need to be in your 40’s or older)
Who's the private dog
That's a sex machine to all the chicks? (Shaq)
You're damn right
Who is the man that would risk his neck for his brother, man? (Shaq)
Can ya dig it?
Who's the cat that won't cop out when there's danger all about? (Shaq)
Right on
You see this cat Shaq is a bad mother (Shut your mouth)
But I'm talkin' about Shaq (Then we can dig it)
He's a complicated man but no one understands him but his woman (Josh Shaq))
Yeah I was wrong about Shaq and so happy about it.
11-09-2021, 09:52 PM
Those games in defence I thought would pay off next year. Still will as I rate h8m that highly back there, but that experience has given his the defensive skills to nullify Allir while hitting the scoreboard and bringing others into the game. I loved him from the get go, and I hope the footy world acknowledges his finals to date from their expectations of him they printed.
11-09-2021, 10:24 PM
Josh Schache
10 Disposals (4 Contested)
7 Kicks
3 Handballs
6 Marks (1 Contested, 5 I50)
4 Tackles
1.3 from tough spots
1 Goal Assist
6 Score Involvements
3 1%
229m Gained
Made Allir look Second rate, Allir rated 6th worst on ground (would be lower is they didn’t blow two non marks early, Allir a non factor, Josh blocked for teammates for multiple goals which aren’t on the sheet. Laid hard tackles, took hard tackles. Stood up in packs and under the high ball.
Go you good thing Josh.
11-09-2021, 10:26 PM
Dermott Brereton: That’s the best ever game Josh Schache has ever played in his life.
11-09-2021, 10:29 PM
At least he stays up forward for the grand final. Next year would be nice to have him train with the defenders full time.
11-09-2021, 10:54 PM
Schache impacted the contest several times tonight. He looks like he knows how to use his body now to even the contest.
Maybe for some players it takes them a few years to know how to use their bodies, with full momentum to gain position in the contest.
With Naughton it comes natural. Its uncanny the instinct he has, and he leads from the hip, his centre of gravity is pushing all his momentum, so his hitting with full force.
I hope Schache keeps the upwards trajectory. His so important in terms of what he can offer the team.
Big tall marking forward, who will scare the crap out of the oppositions when he hits the contest, just look at how Naughton plays
Tall back who runs into the backhalf to help out and quell the opposition forward drives and provides chops out in the ruck .
Its awesome to see the self belief. Really happy for him, and really sorry that I wrote him off this year.
He is a great turn around story.
11-09-2021, 10:54 PM
They have a long memory...
Watching the Kayo mini. Schache gets the ball and a bloke next to a crowd mic says deridingly “I want to go home Schache”...
Ironic, that bloke is the one who is going home. Josh is flying to Perth to play in a Prelim.
It was "I want to go home to mummy". Not for another fortnight though band with a shiny premiership medallion to show mum.:cool:
11-09-2021, 10:56 PM
Josh Schache
10 Disposals (4 Contested)
7 Kicks
3 Handballs
6 Marks (1 Contested, 5 I50)
4 Tackles
1.3 from tough spots
1 Goal Assist
6 Score Involvements
3 1%
229m Gained
Made Allir look Second rate, Allir rated 6th worst on ground (would be lower is they didn’t blow two non marks early, Allir a non factor, Josh blocked for teammates for multiple goals which aren’t on the sheet. Laid hard tackles, took hard tackles. Stood up in packs and under the high ball.
Go you good thing Josh.
As a matter of interest and to tell the whole story what were Alir's stats?
11-09-2021, 10:59 PM
So happy for Josh. He now knows he belongs.
11-09-2021, 11:01 PM
As a matter of interest and to tell the whole story what were Alir's stats?
Main ones:
15 touches, 7 Marks (2 not legit), only 1 Tackle, and just 9 Pressure Acts - but 6 turnovers from his Disposals with goals from them. Goals to opponents is at least 3. Likely more.
He just couldn’t handle Schache.
11-09-2021, 11:40 PM
Main ones:
15 touches, 7 Marks (2 not legit), only 1 Tackle, and just 9 Pressure Acts - but 6 turnovers from his Disposals with goals from them. Goals to opponents is at least 3. Likely more.
He just couldn’t handle Schache.
As good as Allir's intercept marking is, his disposal is *!*!*!*!ing horrendous.
Josh did a sterling job on him tonight.
Don't think there have been many 200cm defensive forwards to ever play the game.
11-09-2021, 11:47 PM
As good as Allir's intercept marking is, his disposal is *!*!*!*!ing horrendous.
Josh did a sterling job on him tonight.
Don't think there have been many 200cm defensive forwards to ever play the game.
He’s going to potentially have Lever in the GF. A better opponent but he’s coming in chock full of confidence.
11-09-2021, 11:52 PM
Super happy for Josh, but to be honest part of the reason why he was able to do what he did to Allir was because they were his instructions and he executed them in line with the team doing the right thing for him and the other forwards.
Not enough coaching teams and players have done what we did to Allir tonight properly, when it seems pretty obvious that's how he needs to be played.
Back to Josh, what I was really happy with is it seemed he didn't feel satisfied with only just doing a job on Allir. He presented really well and when it was his time he took marks and gave himself chances to kick goals.
His shots weren't necessarily easy, though I would have thought someone of his quality by foot could have converted at least one more. But getting the opportunities is the main thing for him.
He's getting better and I'm really happy for him, if he can take another step in a fortnight I'll be even more so.
12-09-2021, 12:22 AM
My ode to Josh (you need to be in your 40’s or older)
Who's the private dog
That's a sex machine to all the chicks? (Shaq)
You're damn right
Who is the man that would risk his neck for his brother, man? (Shaq)
Can ya dig it?
Who's the cat that won't cop out when there's danger all about? (Shaq)
Right on
You see this cat Shaq is a bad mother (Shut your mouth)
But I'm talkin' about Shaq (Then we can dig it)
He's a complicated man but no one understands him but his woman (Josh Shaq))
Gold. Isaac Hayes would be proud of Shaq Attack too.
12-09-2021, 12:52 AM
He’s going to potentially have Lever in the GF. A better opponent but he’s coming in chock full of confidence.
Looking forward to seeing that smug prick and his stupid moustache demoralised by the Shack Attack.
12-09-2021, 12:53 AM
Looking forward to seeing that smug prick and his stupid moustache demoralised by the Shack Attack.
Amen to that.
12-09-2021, 12:59 AM
Imagine May doesn't get up and he has to actually defend. His whole angry bus driver from on the buses shtick and self flagellation at every turn makes me puke.
He's an A grade troglodytic choad sniffer and his crumpled carcass on the deck after we steal their dreams Kruger style will give me some completely unhealthy satisfaction.
12-09-2021, 02:37 AM
Imagine May doesn't get up and he has to actually defend. His whole angry bus driver from on the buses shtick and self flagellation at every turn makes me puke.
He's an A grade troglodytic choad sniffer and his crumpled carcass on the deck after we steal their dreams Kruger style will give me some completely unhealthy satisfaction.
I hope May does get up because if Naughton attacks the ball like he did tonight May will tear that hammy of the bone trying to keep up!
12-09-2021, 02:42 AM
I hope May does get up because if Naughton attacks the ball like he did tonight May will tear that hammy of the bone trying to keep up!
Absolutely. Posturing of the highest order these past couple of days. May's *!*!*!*!ed.
12-09-2021, 08:31 PM
Allir was under constant pressure and it got to his head. It manifested in his poor kicking and timing of his mark. The team worked well to completely ruin his game, especially Josh, just forcing those errors.
Imagine having 200cm ,100KG forward breathing down your back and outmuscling you. I hope Schache can turn on beastmode for the whole GF game and just scare the crap out of opposition players. His got a few more levels to go.
24-09-2021, 10:51 AM
Bevo smiling when talking about Josh. Bevo says we’ve not had a genuine swing man KPP utility, but we have that now in Josh. Gives us extra height forward and back which is an advantage. Also great to see the media giving him some love.
24-09-2021, 10:54 AM
Bevo smiling when talking about Josh. Bevo says we’ve not had a genuine swing man KPP utility, but we have that now in Josh. Gives us extra height forward and back which is an advantage. Also great to see the media giving him some love.
He also said ‘if’ Schache plays forward!
24-09-2021, 10:55 AM
He also said ‘if’ Schache plays forward!
Mind games are off and running!
24-09-2021, 10:57 AM
I reckon its you Comrade, me and a couple of others who’d have said Schache plays in a GF in defence. Enjoy the glory.
24-09-2021, 12:14 PM
I reckon its you Comrade, me and a couple of others who’d have said Schache plays in a GF in defence. Enjoy the glory.
One of the highlights of 2021 was how excited we were at Schache playing a quarter of defence in the VFL :D
24-09-2021, 12:45 PM
One of the highlights of 2021 was how excited we were at Schache playing a quarter of defence in the VFL :D
OMFG what a *!*!*!*!ing quarter that was!!! :D
24-09-2021, 03:51 PM
AFEL.com
JOSH Schache is finally feeling the love and coach Luke Beveridge is backing the Western Bulldogs swingman to play a critical role in the Toyota AFL Grand Final.
Schache has looked a new man since his round 19 recall after struggling to get a game for much of the past two seasons.
Having orchestrated a brilliant preliminary final shutdown of Port Adelaide interceptor Aliir Aliir, Schache looks set to play a similar defensive forward role in Saturday's premiership decider against Melbourne at Optus Stadium.
The No.2 draft pick in 2015, Schache has at times looked lost in a career which has yielded just 63 games in six seasons for Brisbane and the Bulldogs.
Now, much to Beveridge's delight, the 201cm big man shapes as a genuine threat at either end of the ground.
"I love the way (the media has) given him a lot of credit after the Port Adelaide game because he did play a significant role last week against the opposition's key interceptors," Beveridge said on Friday.
"So he's got an absolutely critical role tomorrow. He seems to be really enjoying it and loving the fact that probably for the first time in his career, he's getting some love and he's the centre of attention around the influence that he's having on the field."
Melbourne's athletic Therabody AFL All-Australian defender Jake Lever looms as a potential match-up for Schache as the Bulldogs look to disrupt the Demons' intercept marking.
His selfless preliminary final role prevented Aliir from having any significant influence while also clearing space for Bulldogs spearhead Aaron Naughton.
Back in round 19 when the Bulldogs and Demons last faced off, Schache was summoned to the backline to cover for the injured Alex Keath and Ryan Gardner.
"He was a legitimate key defender that night," Beveridge said.
"With him out and Alex going down, we needed Josh to stand up as a defender and he was tremendous for a few weeks.
"Now he's in probably more of a familiar role of playing that key forward post.
"We probably in recent times haven't had anyone who we've swung either end and 'Schach' can do that, so he becomes that utility that we haven't had."
24-09-2021, 07:24 PM
Schache beast mode for 4 quarters
Scare the living day lights out of them with your 200 cm frame, go hard at the footy, crash those packs, and just make them fear you!
thats what I want to see.
24-09-2021, 07:39 PM
schache beast mode for 4 quarters
scare the living day lights out of them with your 200 cm frame, go hard at the footy, crash those packs, and just make them fear you!
Thats what i want to see.
tom boyd game. Tom boyd game! Tom boyd game!!!!!
24-09-2021, 07:54 PM
Surely he plays the same role in lever as he played on Aliir last week. At least from the first bounce
Yeah he needs to be forward and make Lever accountable.
24-09-2021, 08:29 PM
Yeah he needs to be forward and make Lever accountable.
Has anyone bothered to just put in a physical game against Lever ? He would just crumble.
See what happeend to Allir Allir last game.
25-09-2021, 10:17 AM
Has anyone bothered to just put in a physical game against Lever ? He would just crumble.
Jacob Townsend did in the 2017 GF - safe to say Lever didn't handle it well at all.
25-09-2021, 06:02 PM
Interesting listening to Bevo on Kayo (Grand Final Thoughts) talk about how he resisted suggestions to play Shache back, telling him that he's a key forward and he'll make it in time with perseverance.
Seems happy with the fact he can play back now though
25-09-2021, 06:05 PM
Interesting listening to Bevo on Kayo (Grand Final Thoughts) talk about how he resisted suggestions to play Shache back, telling him that he's a key forward and he'll make it in time with perseverance.
Seems happy with the fact he can play back now though
That was a great insight. He also said when he first played back in the VFL due to the conditions was to play him up the one end of the ground to keep him in the game.
I really got the impression Beveridge never lost faith in him.
03-10-2021, 01:42 PM
I wonder what we go with next year; no Bruce so we lack him up forward and Schache makes a good foil for Naughton but we have JUH who should be ready to play games regularly with another preseason under the belt.
My money is on Naughton stepping into Bruces ''bring it to ground'' role next year, JUH and English as our 3 talls, Schache back and trained during our off season as a intercepting defender role.
03-10-2021, 05:20 PM
My money is on Naughton stepping into Bruces ''bring it to ground'' role next year, JUH and English as our 3 talls, Schache back and trained during our off season as a intercepting defender role.
Who offers more upside, Hannan or Young? Hannan had a couple of good games but was usually found wanting.
if young can play as a defender helping in the ruck, Schache can play forward Helping Naughton and JUH gets the fourth defender.
03-10-2021, 06:05 PM
Who offers more upside, Hannan or Young? Hannan had a couple of good games but was usually found wanting.
if young can play as a defender helping in the ruck, Schache can play forward Helping Naughton and JUH gets the fourth defender.
I don't mind this idea. Young could easily take Wood's role.
12-10-2022, 08:14 PM
Get rid of Schache, and move in Liam Jones. That's the Liam Jones moves I prophesied and what I meant to say. Apologies if I wasn't clear.
12-10-2022, 08:27 PM
BT you are a prophet. You saw this coming 18 months ago. Amazing foresight.
12-10-2022, 08:30 PM
Of course I did.
29-06-2024, 02:50 PM
First half of this strategy working well.
29-06-2024, 02:58 PM
First half of this strategy working well.
Rory Lobb the new Liam Jones.
Do you know this strategy won a premiership in 1966.
Bob Murray
29-06-2024, 03:48 PM
Rory Lobb the new Liam Jones.
Do you know this strategy won a premiership in 1966.
Bob Murray
And here I was thinking we had drafted bookends :)
29-06-2024, 03:49 PM
I always said Lobb or Naughton back :cool:
29-06-2024, 03:50 PM
I always said Lobb or Naughton back :cool:
Goal keeper, nice save.
29-06-2024, 05:07 PM
Jones kept Larky goaless today, was solid as a rock
29-06-2024, 05:15 PM
Jones kept Larky goaless today, was solid as a rock
He's had a very solid season. Plays close to 100% game time each week as well.
30-06-2024, 12:26 AM
It?s gonna be hilarious if Lobb was the answer all along.
30-06-2024, 12:37 AM
It?s gonna be hilarious if Lobb was the answer all along.
I'd have gone with Darcy from the start of the season, but if Lobb being competent drops in our lap at this point then you're right, hilarious!
30-06-2024, 12:41 AM
I'd have gone with Darcy from the start of the season, but if Lobb being competent drops in our lap at this point then you're right, hilarious!
I?d love to know exactly how we ended up down this particular path, as I can?t recall Lobb ever playing as a primary key defender.
Honesty though?I?m just glad we tried something to give Jones genuine key position support.
30-06-2024, 12:48 AM
I?d love to know exactly how we ended up down this particular path, as I can?t recall Lobb ever playing as a primary key defender.
Honesty though?I?m just glad we tried something to give Jones genuine key position support.
Reckon it just comes from coaches saying **** it, my hands are tied and I need to play him because he was very good last game. Darcy, Marra and Naughton are my forwards, Rory needs to play.
Beveridge did talk to Rory's lack of junior football so there's no track record of him playing back. He also rates him as an excellent footballer (as do I) so maybe it's a bit like Dale and Williams. Too good not to be playing, let's throw the least obvious thing at them and see if it sticks after them not nailing the more obvious roles.
30-06-2024, 08:01 AM
It might be a combination of a few things. Good coaching and backing an in-form player. Lacking depth with our key defensive options and Busslinger needing more time. Could you imagine the media focus on Bevo if it worked out badly yesterday?
Back to Liam well he has been sensational this season and all of us who were concerned about his age and lack of football leading and even his contract length leading into his arrival must be impressed but what he has been able to achieve so far.
Bruce read the room with Lobb's arrival and suggested a move to the back line so I wonder if Lobb suggested it this week as well or if it's been in the back of the MC mind for a while.
30-06-2024, 08:52 AM
So he played well on Teakle and Pink yesterday. How do we feel about him taking McKay or Curnow in two weeks?
My thoughts are... It's better than the alternatives!
30-06-2024, 09:17 AM
So he played well on Teakle and Pink yesterday. How do we feel about him taking McKay or Curnow in two weeks?
This is the test of the experiment. I was happy for him and the team/coaches yesterday. But he probably gets Curnow and then we’ll see how successful it is. But he will take a lot of confidence from his performance which is great as he seems very much a confidence player. We’ve been playing smaller (Coffield, Khamis, Cleary) so it will be interesting having a 200cm+ mature body down there and if that allows Jones some more freedom to impact the game and his man. If the Jones/Lobb/JOD or Buss trio can hold down the fort, while hoping Naughty, Marra & Darcy find a rhythm, then our talls will be really imposing for the balance of the year. The issue right now is English in our talls group.
30-06-2024, 09:47 AM
Lobb's pretty good aerobically should have no worries about him going with Curnow but Curnow also looks really strong so I dunno about that.
One swallow does not a summer make, but Lobb was pretty good yesterday. I was particularly impressed by his feel for the game/reading of the play. Those things aren't easily taught and are usually the vibe, and he did alright.
30-06-2024, 09:49 AM
From the Age
While he spent time in defence against Greater Western Sydney last season, this was Lobb?s first full game in a key role, and he proved adept at intercept marking and finding the ball when manned on Brynn Teakle.
Bontempelli said Lobb?s forward and ruck craft would stand him in good stead in defence, while Beveridge said Lobb was under consideration to play permanently in the back half, particularly as regular defenders Alex Keath and Ryan Gardner are injured.
?I thought he was very good, really happy with that outcome and how well Rory played. He took five intercept marks, a number of critical spoils. He was able to use his speed, at times, for a big man, to close space. And I thought he was pretty composed when he had the ball for most of the night, so that?s a real win for us,? Beveridge said.
?He is too good a player to miss out week to week.?
If the Bulldogs and Lobb agree to a permanent shift, the former Docker, who crossed to the Whitten Oval last season on big money but has struggled to have a consistent impact, could lean on teammate Liam Jones for advice. Jones was also a key forward before reinvigorating his career in defence.
Lobb had been mentioned in trade speculation earlier this season, but was so embarrassed by the media headlines that he approached Beveridge to apologise, despite admitting he had been unaware why the reports had surfaced.
?He is a great person, Rory, and I really enjoy coaching him, we all do,? Beveridge said.
?As much as I said, prior to this game, he has been searching for some consistency in a couple of areas, he has always kept his chin up. He has probably had one game since he has played with us where he probably hasn?t been at the top of his game with his mindset, and that was at the state league level where there was a lot going on in his life and behind the scenes. But, other than that one state league time, every time he has just met the challenge that we have asked him to meet, and his confidence will get a real boost from this game this afternoon.?
Bontempelli said Lobb had much to offer in defence.
?Sometimes you have just got to make it up and make it happen, and I thought it was a really good test ? he was great,? Bontempelli said.
I think Lobb will play on Harry McKay and Jones on Curnow
30-06-2024, 10:00 AM
Lobb's pretty good aerobically should have no worries about him going with Curnow but Curnow also looks really strong so I dunno about that.
One swallow does not a summer make, but Lobb was pretty good yesterday. I was particularly impressed by his feel for the game/reading of the play. Those things aren't easily taught and are usually the vibe, and he did alright.
Bang on about reading the play. If our mids don’t turn up and Lobb’s man gets to lead and get great service (like others) he will get shown up. If we can make oppo mids kick long and high, and rushed, then I think Lobb will a handful to play on, as you say he reads it well and has the reach to mark of spoil to a degree other options just can’t do. For his sake, I hope our mids turn up week defensively in and out as it will make his life easier. While also allowing us to judge him a little more fairly.
Let’s say he plays ok for the rest of the year down back. I wonder if playing means he’s happy to stay as he’s playing and being payed well. Or, if he sees himself as a forward and still wants to kick goals. With Keath set to retire there’s a spot him. But if we land Barass, then maybe he looks elsewhere. Or we take the compo for Tim and he’s a ruck. He’s a fascinating player to watch right now.
30-06-2024, 10:30 AM
He played on Teakle and Pink like he was playing on Teakle and Pink. Gave them zero respect and got his own shit in. This is a good thing and is exactly what we need.
30-06-2024, 10:08 PM
Just watching the highlights again...
Has he ever attacked the ball in the air for us, the way he did on the weekend? One of my big criticisms of him as a forward was he failed to impact aerial contests. Is it because his run wasn't being blocked?
30-06-2024, 10:21 PM
Has he ever attacked the ball in the air for us, the way he did on the weekend? One of my big criticisms of him as a forward was he failed to impact aerial contests. Is it because his run wasn't being blocked?
That and maybe in defence he knows he has to impact the contest?
Up forward he knows most high balls are being competed for by JUH and or Naughton as well, plus sometimes he would be trying to hold space to allow them a better go at it. So either he knows maybe he isn't the best guy to go for it or is actively making himself a support player.
In defence there isn't the luxury of the "real" target coming over the top, he either impacts the contest or loses the contest. He has to go. As a recent dud movie puts it "With great responsibility, there comes great power".
30-06-2024, 10:54 PM
His role is simplified in defence versus being the third and least targeted tall in our forward line.
30-06-2024, 11:05 PM
I think he was actually very good as a forward at 'holding out' from a contest when Naughton or Marra had the better position (unlike the two of them who tend to fly at everything).
But I think you're both right that the change in mindset of 'killing the contest is a win' vs 'either me, Naughton or JUH must mark this ball' will have helped.
I'm keen/wary to see how he will cope in a genuine contested defensive 1v1.
01-07-2024, 09:22 AM
He played on Teakle and Pink like he was playing on Teakle and Pink.
Teakle and Pink sounds like a dubious early 90's British comedy duo
01-07-2024, 09:32 AM
Teakle and Pink sounds like a dubious early 90's British comedy duo
80's New Wave band.
01-07-2024, 09:36 AM
Teakle?d Pink.
01-07-2024, 09:38 AM
Teakle?d Pink.
That's solid work and I'm surprised it's taken this long.
Can I just put in here that if you berated Bevo for moving Lobb back vs GWS at Ballarat last year then you should be banned from praising him from doing the same thing 12-months later. I mean, it's not like he's been crafting with the backs throughout the interim.
01-07-2024, 09:41 AM
Can I just put in here that if you berated Bevo for moving Lobb back vs GWS at Ballarat last year then you should be banned from praising him from doing the same thing 12-months later. I mean, it's not like he's been crafting with the backs throughout the interim.
I think you should go back and check on who it was and narc and we can bully them mercilessly.
Edit: maybe don't I might be one of them, I can't remember. Anyway shut up.
01-07-2024, 09:49 AM
I can?t really remember what happened in that game? Did we lose some key defenders in game and had to move Lobb for coverage?
01-07-2024, 09:51 AM
I think it?s the opposite. If you berated him then you should absolutely praise him now and eat a little humble pie.
01-07-2024, 09:55 AM
I can?t really remember what happened in that game? Did we lose some key defenders in game and had to move Lobb for coverage?
Honestly I would keep it that way bro
01-07-2024, 09:59 AM
Yes, it was confusing that Naughton did not go back
01-07-2024, 10:11 AM
Yes, it was confusing that Naughton did not go back
At least Naughton was keeping Taylor 1/2 interested in defending in that game... if Naughton went back, it would've been even easier for GWS to run us down.
Honestly, Lobb going back is a 'watch' for me. A no comment at this stage.
Can't be judging if it will be a good move based on one week, vs North Melbourne.
I'm petrified of what this may look like v Carlton & Sydney. Hopefully it works.
01-07-2024, 10:50 AM
Honestly, Lobb going back is a 'watch' for me. A no comment at this stage.
Can't be judging if it will be a good move based on one week, vs North Melbourne.
I'm petrified of what this may look like v Carlton & Sydney. Hopefully it works.
Don't disagree, but I would be far more petrified if it was Khamis instead of Lobb against Carlton & Sydney. What Lobb lacks in actual key defensive experience compared to Khamis (with Keath and Gardner not available), he has the advantage of height, athleticism, ability and a bigger tank over Khamis. Buss is the only other option and is similarly as inexperienced as Lobb as key defender at this level.
Also, having someone like Truck trade up as a 3rd tall and having JOD move up to 2nd tall doesn't do any favours for Jones being able to peel off and rebound. Lobb is the best of the available options - it's by no means not perfect but the strengths/upside outweighs the downside. Also, if there are in-game injuries Lobb has greater flexibility to be deployed elsewhere and is just a far better player than Khamis.