View Full Version : WB Game Day V Geelong R14 2021
18-06-2021, 10:33 PM
Selwood trying to break English’s kneecaps.
18-06-2021, 10:34 PM
Take 30 seconds
18-06-2021, 10:36 PM
*!*!*!*! that!!!
18-06-2021, 10:37 PM
Why bother just forfeit.
How?
That sucks.
*!*!*!*! you. *!*!*!*! off. *!*!*!*! you. *!*!*!*! off.
I just want to cry
Guttered
One ruck.
There is no *!*!*!*!ing justice
With a min to go we really needed to work off Scott rather than go back down the line.
Lost the game, passed the test.
We're neck deep in this year.
18-06-2021, 10:38 PM
F*ck this shit. Always fails their way.
Stuff you Cats. We will smash you next time.
How. We miss two set shots directly in front.
I hate that club
18-06-2021, 10:39 PM
That's awful..
I still think this will build belief. We're good enough, and we played tough. On a night where both teams botched chances, it just came down to the clock, and a moment.
Well done Dogs.
Wait till we get Treloar, Dunks, Wood, Martin back
I think so we’re clearly good enough to finish Top 4 I know that.
I turned it off when they were bursting fwd with 47 seconds left.
I’m not surprised with the result.
Glad I didn’t see it.
Stuff you Cats. We will smash you next time.
We’ve been saying that for twenty years.
18-06-2021, 10:40 PM
Incredible fighting effort, it's a shame we lost but we didn't quite take our chances.
The boys put up a great effort and hopefully we will learn from it.
I hate that club
Right there with you mate.
That's awful..
I still think this will build belief. We're good enough, and we played tough. On a night where both teams botched chances, it just came down to the clock, and a moment.
Well done Dogs.
Agree this is a defining moment of our season. They will be hurting but they will know they belong.
Glad I didn’t see it.
Then don’t post then dude.. just go to bed.
Naughton off in second half certainly didn't help us
Well that’s just caused a week of hell at work from tomorrow on.
18-06-2021, 10:41 PM
We’ve been saying that for twenty years.
But we have team now and they are frigging old.
Man, *!*!*!*! Geelong. These *!*!*!*!ers find a way every time
I feel sick. I can't explain in words how much I hate Geelong.
Scott and Bonti May have just cost us the game.
They did.......poor kicking = poor football
Naughton off in second half certainly didn't help us
I reckon we played better without Naughts tonight
How. We miss two set shots directly in front.
We’ve been doing it all year. Only difference tonight it was Astronaut
18-06-2021, 10:42 PM
Totally. A win would've been amazing, but that was not a loss based on us being fearful, or losing belief. We're around the mark, and you can definitely sell belief to the team off the back of that. A full strength Geelong, and we're without some key players.
18-06-2021, 10:42 PM
It doesn't matter Bulldog supporters. We have their measure. We have nothing to fear from them. As Rowan just said : "We were lucky at the end." And that summed it up. Never fear. We are in this up to our necks. Get a few back and you will see how we can REALLY play football.
18-06-2021, 10:43 PM
I hate this team. So much, this hurts so much. So, so much.
18-06-2021, 10:43 PM
How did we allow that ball to come out so easily? We had to lock that in. Then after Cordy cleated it who was there to contest the loose ball? It was all cats.....this stings.
AFL games should never be played on GMHBA, it's the worst AFL ground in the league, no wings, shaped like a giant *!*!*!*!ing cock. If its not fit for finals football why is it for for home and away games?
*!*!*!*! Geelong and *!*!*!*! GMBHA shit *!*!*!*!ing ground
18-06-2021, 10:44 PM
Our mids were awesome in the end. The backline held up pretty well restricting Hawkins to one goal, Cameron two.
We had a few passengers that really stuffed us up. Hannan the biggest culprit
They did.......poor kicking = poor football
That is just not true. You could equally say that some Bont brilliance got us back in it. Its easy to criticise shots on goals when you lose. Dangerfield missed some easy ones too. Intercepts marks hurt us more than missed shots on goal.
Never forget that Gary Rohan’s only contribution to the 2016 GF was kicking a goal accidentally. You still suck mate.
I actually take a lot of positives out of that. A few composure issues at times, and we really need to find a way to stop teams with two good KPDs (May & Lever, Henry & Stewart) from cutting off our forward entries.
18-06-2021, 10:45 PM
I get the sentiment but I just want the 4 points against those pricks on their shitty little tinpot ground. No wins there for 19 years and counting
18-06-2021, 10:45 PM
Why would Cordy kick it there and not out to the boundary as far as you possibly can?
18-06-2021, 10:46 PM
Tigers, Dons, Blues, Pies play that at G.
Shame we aren't popular enough.
I need to compose myself, im feeling like I did in 94 as a teenager at the G with Brownless.
That's as bad a loss as I can recall. No sugar coating that, on top when the siren went.
Then I have to watch Chris Scott carry on like a fkhead.
We did everything except win it.
Lots to digest on replay, but we played that last minute very poorly… surely Scott could’ve kicked it backwards to someone loose? And then to just let the ball out so easily was horrible.. you train all year for these moments and we *!*!*!*!ed it.
Why would Cordy kick it there and not out to the boundary as far as you possibly can?
Cause he had heaps to time to consider his options..... jeez.....
Those two Arc decisions so costly too.
18-06-2021, 10:47 PM
Lots to digest on replay, but we played that last minute very poorly… surely Scott could’ve kicked it backwards to someone loose? And then to just let the ball out so easily was horrible.. you train all year for these moments and we *!*!*!*!ed it.
That's something I'll agree with.. We definitely could've eaten the clock better at that point.
Our mids were awesome in the end. The backline held up pretty well restricting Hawkins to one goal, Cameron two.
We had a few passengers that really stuffed us up. Hannan the biggest culprit
Yep the backline was immense. Williams and Duryea were superb but well played by Gardner, Cordy and Keath
That is just not true. You could equally say that some Bont brilliance got us back in it. Its easy to criticise shots on goals when you lose. Dangerfield missed some easy ones too. Intercepts marks hurt us more than missed shots on goal.
C'mon. There are key moments that decide the outcomes of games. They were it. Even if we'd won.
I get the sentiment but I just want the 4 points against those pricks on their shitty little tinpot ground. No wins there for 19 years and counting
They needed no more reason to be arrogant arsewipes. But we gave them one.
18-06-2021, 10:48 PM
How did we allow that ball to come out so easily? We had to lock that in. Then after Cordy cleated it who was there to contest the loose ball? It was all cats.....this stings.
It is a good question. We just blew that last minute.
18-06-2021, 10:48 PM
Yeah.. I really wanted that win...
But in the realm of losses, I'll not take this, but reckon it's not useless as a big learning opportunity. There are thing we can do better to ensure we don't drop these types of games, and I think we'll bank those learnings.
18-06-2021, 10:49 PM
C'mon. There are key moments that decide the outcomes of games. They were it. Even if we'd won.
Yep. The opportunity to build any momentum went with them too. Professional footballers should kick those.
MASSIVE loss in context of season. Win that and we were two games and percentage clear of them.
Can’t blame Cordy for that. He did well to get ball and had no time and just put his boot to ball. Thought it was smart keeping the ball low. We really should have had some coverage in the middle
Its not a one off. We play the last minute of many quarters badly. Its an issue. It costs is games. It has to be addressed by the coaching staff.
18-06-2021, 10:50 PM
If Weightman paid the free he should have been paid we win that. Hannan, Bont, Scott misses. Roarke shaving the post ….so, so near.
On the positive front Maclean was superb. Hope Naughton is OK.
I just knew Rohan was going to kick the goal. What a superb kick he is.
18-06-2021, 10:50 PM
MASSIVE loss in context of season. Win that and we were two games and percentage clear of them.
Agree. It's massive.
18-06-2021, 10:51 PM
I wonder what happens if we take 30 seconds off the clock? Probably won.
18-06-2021, 10:52 PM
I am not bothered about this result in the scheme of things. They won with a kick after the siren. Meh. Who cares. When we have our full strength team in playing on the MCG we will prevail. Have no fear. We have their measure.
Yeah.. I really wanted that win...
But in the realm of losses, I'll not take this, but reckon it's not useless as a big learning opportunity. There are thing we can do better to ensure we don't drop these types of games, and I think we'll bank those learnings.
I feel you but that was top 2 v top 4 I reckon. Might not matter but history seems to deny us these moments.
OK I'm having a spell im losing it Jerry.
English was very disappointing. Didn't take a single mark
18-06-2021, 10:53 PM
If you take a mark you can take 30 seconds. Take the fricken 30 seconds.
Why does a piss ant failure of a club like Carlton not have to play the Cats at Kardinia Park and we do? Why? They are a rabble for 25 years. They get rewarded for being terrible.
I just don't subscribe to that. On the surface it's easy to denote.. But the goal he kicked in the 3rd was ridiculous. Most players don't even get a shot on goal, let alone slot it. Yep he missed an easy one.. But Dangerfield equally missed sitters, and had they lost they equally wouldn't be the reason why they lost.
I think the way we played in the last minute and a half was a bigger dilemma, and one we need to work on, as it's system based.
We eat the clock for 30 seconds, Rohan doesn't get that shot on goal.
Similarly, they pounded us all game with intercept marks.. Each of those is an opportunity missed, But they're not as visible to the outcome as a miss on goal.
Yep I hear you. I'm shitty too but in the context of our year our performance really stood up.
Especially after that first quarter which was borderline unwatchable.
18-06-2021, 10:54 PM
Going from such a heartbreaking loss into a week of hard quarantine in a WA hotel, this is going to take such a big mental effort from all the players and coaches. Definitely has the potential to make or break our season.
18-06-2021, 10:54 PM
@YHT. Mate 25m out, no excuse.
18-06-2021, 10:55 PM
But Danger gets a free pass. Ok..
You want to know how bad these feral supporters are.
I’ve just had a bloke from work, who keeps asking for a promotion, text me a capital Moew.
Call me fickle, but he has well and truely underestimated my love of the Dogs.
As they say timing is everything and he’s is @#$&ing shit poor.
18-06-2021, 10:56 PM
Scott had an easy chip 20m on a 45 degree.
Cordy looked up to see his options before collecting the ball and still kicked it straight to Guthrie when a boundary kick would have been better.
Two key moments fluffed and the Cats nailed every possession at the death.
18-06-2021, 10:56 PM
But Danger gets a free pass. Ok..
Danger doesn't play for us.
18-06-2021, 10:57 PM
It was a bad miss for sure. Those 25 metre shots seem to really be an issue for him. But it wasn't the game, there's so many moments.
I'm super proud of the team but jeez I'm struggling to feel anything but pain.
English was very disappointing. Didn't take a single mark
Haven’t seen Smiths stats, but he seemed to be running around in circles a lot.
18-06-2021, 10:59 PM
Mate, both teams missed easy shots. We had this game in the bag but just couldn't hang on.
18-06-2021, 10:59 PM
Then don’t post then dude.. just go to bed.
Ok I’ll remember to do that next time.
18-06-2021, 11:01 PM
Haven seen Smiths stats, but he seemed to be running around in circles a lot.
Not sure what he was doing, but I know he must have kicked the ball to a Geelong player, every time he had it. He ended up with 14 disposals which is very poor for him
18-06-2021, 11:01 PM
Its amazing what happens when we are more daring with our ball movement we added a little bit more composure in the second half and were excellent.
Loved Bailey Williams and Duryea while what more can you say about Libba?
If our defenders could mark a ball we would of won that game. How many times did we go the punch instead of mark which put us under more pressure? Not sure how we fix it? Crozier Cordy Keath and Gardner fought hard but lacked class in the big moments.
18-06-2021, 11:02 PM
Kardinia Park 115m wide
MCG 148m wife
Burn it to the ground. It ain’t a footy ground.
Bont has to nail that shot but we still should have shut the game down regardless. We did everything wrong in that last 40seconds.
I mean the whole game I knew we were gonna lose a close one. You could feel it. Everything always falls their way. But still didn’t think that would happen. This absolutely hurts. Top 2 chance gone begging. I don’t care what we achieved. We should have won.
Gee that’s a tough pill to swallow.
Such a good effort from the boys against an absolute quality opposition.
18-06-2021, 11:03 PM
Bont has to nail that shot but we still should have shut the game down regardless. We did everything wrong in that last 40seconds.
I mean the whole game I knew we were gonna lose a close one. You could feel it. Everything always falls their way. But still didn’t think that would happen. This absolutely hurts. Top 2 chance gone begging. I don’t care what we achieved. We should have won.
Will be tough next week. Good thing is Geelong have Lions next week at the Gabba.
18-06-2021, 11:03 PM
And that is important because? His misses on goal don't count?
18-06-2021, 11:04 PM
Gutted.
18-06-2021, 11:04 PM
Will be tough next week. Good thing is Geelong have Lions next week at the Gabba.
That makes me feel worse BAD haha.
18-06-2021, 11:05 PM
Yep would've been really great to bank 4 points.. going into Perth...
Thankful we've banked 10 wins, are playing good footy, and have the talent and game to run home strong, especially once we get Treloar and Dunks back.
18-06-2021, 11:07 PM
Going from such a heartbreaking loss into a week of hard quarantine in a WA hotel, this is going to take such a big mental effort from all the players and coaches. Definitely has the potential to make or break our season.
The early word is we will have to do the week in WA quarantine.
I really want the club to push back hard here, surely this is a player welfare issue.
18-06-2021, 11:07 PM
Very frustrated. Should not have lost the game from the point Scott had the entry inside 50. His, and Weightman entries late we lacking in composure. Take longer, go longer, or wider and ice the bloody game.
18-06-2021, 11:08 PM
Mate, both teams missed easy shots. We had this game in the bag but just couldn't hang on.
Its not about "missing easy shots". Its about key moments. There's a difference. When you understand the difference talk to me then.
18-06-2021, 11:11 PM
And that is important because? His misses on goal don't count?
This isn't a pissing contest about who is better, Bont or Danger. Other people called it during the game. If you think it didn't matter, good for you. But it did matter.
18-06-2021, 11:14 PM
Its not about "missing easy shots". Its about key moments. There's a difference. When you understand the difference talk to me then.
That's actually quite condescending.
I know losses like these are tough to handle, as invested supporters, but we don't need to talk down to each other.
18-06-2021, 11:15 PM
I’ve just had a bloke from work, who keeps asking for a promotion, text me a capital Moew.
Call him into your office on Monday and sack the *!*!*!*!. Then as he walk out of he door you should text him back and say "now that you suddenly have more time on your hands you can be a full-time comedian"
18-06-2021, 11:17 PM
Bevo is gutted. I feel your pain. I feel your pain.
18-06-2021, 11:18 PM
The only thing that will cure this loss is a premiership and I want to beat Geelong in the finals to get it.
18-06-2021, 11:19 PM
The only thing that will cure this loss is a premiership and I want to beat Geelong in the finals to get it.
They own us in September. Own us. To beat them would be so sweet.
18-06-2021, 11:20 PM
But what is a key moment? Was not the last 90 seconds a key moment?
Every game, every week players miss easy goals. Is that frustrating? Y yep! Is it crucial? yep! But no more so than making a decision to control ball movement in key moments,
Duryea was huge tonight, but late in the game, he went down the line twice, when we'd all game been smashed in intercepts We lost both of those ensuing plays.
Scott had another opportunity to take time off the clock, but chose not to.
They are equally, if not more important, given we were in front then.
18-06-2021, 11:21 PM
We talk about the moments at the end there but Cameron said post game he asked a Dogs player "how long do you think's left?" when Rohan had it.
Two minutes was the response.
Not sure how the players are that far off the mark.
18-06-2021, 11:23 PM
But what is a key moment? Was not the last 90 seconds a key moment?
Every game, every week players miss easy goals. Is that frustrating? Y yep! Is it crucial? yep! But no more so than making a decision to control ball movement in key moments,
Duryea was huge tonight, but late in the game, he went down the line twice, when we'd all game been smashed in intercepts We lost both of those ensuing plays.
Scott had another opportunity to take time off the clock, but chose not to.
They are equally, if not more important, given we were in front then.
It's true. So many moments. A missed 45 degree kick inside can be as big a mistake as a missed set shot.
I understand the obvious nature of the missed goal. But as you say it's one of many incidents during the entire match.
18-06-2021, 11:28 PM
I hate these losses. We played a good game tonight. Will be back. I hope we can get them in the finals and knock them out.
18-06-2021, 11:28 PM
So has anyone been able to grab the footage of Selwood intentionally standing on Duryea's ankle while he's on the ground?
18-06-2021, 11:29 PM
So has anyone been able to grab the footage of Selwood intentionally standing on Duryea's ankle while he's on the ground?
That was a dog act and 50 metres should have been paid. I hate that sooky lala and his constant whinging to umpires for free kicks.
18-06-2021, 11:30 PM
That did look bad. He had stop marks down his leg. Then Selwood proceeded to call him a sook.
18-06-2021, 11:31 PM
That did look bad. He had stop marks down his leg. Then Selwood proceeded to call him a sook.
Yep. Did nothing to dissuade my belief that Selwood is a self entitled grub.
18-06-2021, 11:41 PM
An annoying loss but I'm confident we'd get them in the finals
18-06-2021, 11:42 PM
He is a grub. He also gave someone else a head massage whilst on the ground. One of the most hated players of all time.
18-06-2021, 11:47 PM
Just watched last two minutes again.
Libba? Just let it go out of bounds.
Weightman? Drops mark.
McNeil? Had loose players. Kicks down the line.
Can’t believe we blew that.
18-06-2021, 11:48 PM
Just watched last two minutes again.
Libba? Just let it go out of bounds.
Weightman? Drops mark.
McNeil? Had loose players. Kicks down the line.
Can’t believe we blew that.
Poor old McNeil.. wasn't even playing and he's copping the blame!? ;)
18-06-2021, 11:50 PM
Apologies. Scott.
18-06-2021, 11:50 PM
Just please don’t lose a final like that!
18-06-2021, 11:52 PM
Cordy should have done better with that last play. I would have grabbed the ball and gone to ground to wait for the troops to come
18-06-2021, 11:52 PM
Just please don’t lose a final like that!
Especially to Geelong
18-06-2021, 11:53 PM
Apologies. Scott.
It was funnier the other way though. I imagine grantysghost about to rage.
18-06-2021, 11:53 PM
A shame for Scott. Could’ve had 3 goals and iced the game. Very much the breakout game. I wished he had the breakout game.
18-06-2021, 11:55 PM
Tell him there is no humility in harassing someone after a loss like that , its not very team building.
See what is his response and then report him to HR.
19-06-2021, 12:01 AM
Cordy should have done better with that last play. I would have grabbed the ball and gone to ground to wait for the troops to come
Or at least tap it along.
19-06-2021, 12:01 AM
Never forget that Gary Rohan’s only contribution to the 2016 GF was kicking a goal accidentally. You still suck mate.
That’s why I really love to hate player like him . only needs 5 possessions and turns a game
His such an evil good kick . I can’t believe I used these 2 words in a the same sentence in a football context .
19-06-2021, 12:02 AM
It’s nights like this that I thank God that we got the job done in 2016. For all their brilliance over such a long period of time it is now 10 years without a flag for Geelong.
Without the 2016 Premiership. It could have been the end of me tonight.
They beat us twice in the ‘92 finals series. They beat us after the siren in the ‘94 finals. They smashed us in the ‘95 finals. They beat us in the ‘08 prelim. They beat us in the ‘09 Qualifying final.
When it really matters. Geelong own us.
19-06-2021, 12:05 AM
Totally. A win would've been amazing, but that was not a loss based on us being fearful, or losing belief. We're around the mark, and you can definitely sell belief to the team off the back of that. A full strength Geelong, and we're without some key players.
I’m going to look at this in same positive context , that the team will be hurting . They know they were good enough to win just did not nail those key goals and come composure in the last 2 mins . They will learn from this and get better.
You learn more from your losses .
I still hate Geelong , and hate losing at that the bias ground
19-06-2021, 12:09 AM
Draw first quarter.
Lost second quarter.
Won third quarter.
Won last quarter.
Won last half.
Those three quick goals in three minutes with three successive kicks in the second quarter. Very costly in the scheme of the game.
19-06-2021, 12:13 AM
It’s nights like this that I thank God that we got the job done in 2016. For all their brilliance over such a long period of time it is now 10 years without a flag for Geelong.
They beat us twice in the ‘92 finals series. They beat us after the siren in the ‘94 finals. They smashed us in the ‘95 finals. They beat us in the ‘08 prelim. They beat us in the ‘09 Qualifying final.
2016 it was Isaac Smith missing after the siren that kept them away from our side of the draw.
Then the Swans at the G in the Prelim on the Friday as we were arriving in Sydney..... It was meant to be.
19-06-2021, 12:13 AM
It was funnier the other way though. I imagine grantysghost about to rage.
I can imagine he was best on in two games so there's that.
19-06-2021, 12:15 AM
2016 it was Isaac Smith missing after the siren that kept them away from our side of the draw.
Then the Swans at the G in the Prelim on the Friday as we were arriving in Sydney..... It was meant to be.
The planets aligned. It was meant to be. What a month. Hoping for some similar experiences in September this year.
19-06-2021, 12:29 AM
https://i.ibb.co/rt5zf81/79-E1-E998-E6-AA-48-F3-9-CFF-D81-B553-C0659.jpg (https://ibb.co/4f4Xgv5)
19-06-2021, 12:32 AM
https://i.ibb.co/rt5zf81/79-E1-E998-E6-AA-48-F3-9-CFF-D81-B553-C0659.jpg (https://ibb.co/4f4Xgv5)
Yikes, we just got done talking about how relevant this has been and then tonight happens....
19-06-2021, 12:34 AM
Yikes, we just got done talking about how relevant this has been and then tonight happens....
That was the exact face I made watching Macrae and Hannan rucking.
19-06-2021, 12:38 AM
That was me as the ball hit Rohan’s boot.
19-06-2021, 12:41 AM
That made me laugh! Poor kid!
19-06-2021, 07:15 AM
What a heartbreaker. For some reason, I’m optimistic and positive this morning. Sucks to lose, BUT:
1. We’re up to our eyeballs in it this year - we can match the best
2. We have quality coming back in, and I’m talking game changing elite, top tier it’s not fair, type quality
3. Our best asset in a game like that (wet, cold, contested) is just about Martin (it’s Libba, Bont, Dunks and then Martin IMO) but he would’ve huge for us.
4. Naughton was off for the second half - he would’ve helped us ice that game with a huge pack mark
Another team I’m confident we will be able to beat next time when the whips are cracking again.
We owe a few sides now.
Also, after a long week, did not need that last night. But better than being blown out which is always a legitimate worry playing the Cats in Geetroit particularly after a bye.
19-06-2021, 07:53 AM
And he's not the sharpest tool in the shed so sadly - no promotion.
19-06-2021, 08:56 AM
A shame for Scott. Could’ve had 3 goals and iced the game. Very much the breakout game. I wished he had the breakout game.
And he would’ve made it to the Kick A Bag thread!
19-06-2021, 09:01 AM
Was Scott the one that kicked it when Stewart touched it on the line? God that guy tormented us in every way possible last night.
19-06-2021, 09:05 AM
Mark Blicavs had a career high player rating last night on top of a career high 9 clearances as well as 26 hitouts, with plenty of those on Mitch Hannan and Jack Macrae.
19-06-2021, 09:09 AM
Mark Blicavs had a career high player rating last night on top of a career high 9 clearances as well as 26 hitouts, with plenty of those on Mitch Hannan and Jack Macrae.
Made no sense, and took away our biggest asset in our 3 tall fwds, which we needed more than ever when Naughton went down.
Is Naughton broken ribs ???
19-06-2021, 09:45 AM
And he's not the sharpest tool in the shed so sadly - no promotion.
Geelong supporters can be smug asses.
19-06-2021, 09:46 AM
Easy reply:
You're fired
Have to question the decision making of an employee sending that.
19-06-2021, 10:26 AM
I saw them beat us in the 1976 final :mad:
19-06-2021, 10:29 AM
Was Scott the one that kicked it when Stewart touched it on the line? God that guy tormented us in every way possible last night.
I still think that was a goal
19-06-2021, 10:30 AM
I still think that was a goal
Nah that was a point. The Brad Close goal was much more inconclusive but oh well.
19-06-2021, 10:31 AM
I saw them beat us in the 1976 final :mad:
I was listening on the radio. That was really hard to take. From memory we had been in front for most of the game and were 16 points up in time on.
19-06-2021, 10:39 AM
Nah that was a point. The Brad Close goal was much more inconclusive but oh well.
The angle they showed on TV was crap. Maybe they have better cameras from the opposite side?
19-06-2021, 10:48 AM
The angle they showed on TV was crap. Maybe they have better cameras from the opposite side?
The one where Daniel appeared to have touched the ball on the mark was the most dubious. The field umpire, metres away, immediately called it touched. On an evening with much less crowd noise than usual, he almost certainly picked up the noise of a deflection as well as being able to see any deviation. Why did it even have to be reviewed? Why put our faith in dodgy technology instead?
19-06-2021, 10:50 AM
I've always wanted to be remembered for a contribution to the game. We had the Dr Maclellan? Trophy?, the McIntyre finals system and cricket has the Duckworth Lewis system for use in rain interrupted games.
So, I'm proposing the Merantau Score Review Ritual for arbitrating inconclusive video/snicko footage.
It works like this. The captains are called to the spot when the disputed incident occurred. The captains call "Heads or Tails". The umpire tosses the coin. Two out of three tosses wins and then gets to nominate the result of the score review
Eminently fair because even with all the technology I'm stuffed if I can tell whether "the vision clearly shows that the ball has been touched."
Really? Well, fmd I should have gone to Specsavers.
If truth be known these video reviews are an absolute lottery.
19-06-2021, 11:07 AM
The one where Daniel appeared to have touched the ball on the mark was the most dubious. The field umpire, metres away, immediately called it touched. On an evening with much less crowd noise than usual, he almost certainly picked up the noise of a deflection as well as being able to see any deviation. Why did it even have to be reviewed? Why put our faith in dodgy technology instead?
It’s honestly embarrassing, the score reviews in this competition. A national league using wrong angles and blurry vision to make crucial decisions. It could have cost us a grand final. It may have cost us the win last night. Where is the common sense at AFL house.
The Caleb Daniel touched ball was horrendous. Umpire calls it immediately but the refers his decision and it’s overturned based on a blurry ball.
19-06-2021, 12:16 PM
The score review should only overturn for blatant obvious mistakes (like Hawkins hitting the post in the GF) not for mm calls when judging a 3D word via a 2D screen. We have got it so wrong.
19-06-2021, 12:47 PM
Yeah but Daniel didn’t touch it.
19-06-2021, 02:20 PM
Selwood. Dog act. https://twitter.com/aaronwright360/status/1406054468798455809?s=21
Why is he such a protected species?
19-06-2021, 02:29 PM
Selwood. Dog act. https://twitter.com/aaronwright360/status/1406054468798455809?s=21
Both acts caught out. Let's see what MRO says
19-06-2021, 02:30 PM
This is in Toby Greene territory.
19-06-2021, 02:30 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E4No5tRUUAYpKUr?format=jpg&name=large
19-06-2021, 03:10 PM
But he's such a good bloke! So courageous! He's shed so much blood over the years ducking his head to win those frees. Grub.
19-06-2021, 03:17 PM
Yeah but Daniel didn’t touch it.
Are you saying the field umpire standing a few metres away and yelling touched was wrong?
19-06-2021, 03:25 PM
Are you saying the field umpire standing a few metres away and yelling touched was wrong?
The umpire said I heard something or along those lines and wanted to review it. Caleb didn't seem to protest to much when he kicked it or afterwards either.
I didn't think he touched it.
19-06-2021, 03:27 PM
The umpire said I heard something or along those lines and wanted to review it. Caleb didn't seem to protest to much when he kicked it or afterwards either.
I didn't think he touched it.
I am pretty sure you are right, but he did say touched and then he wanted to check.
Anyway that wasn't the issue, it was the turnover before that which lead to the Geelong mark in front of goal
19-06-2021, 04:25 PM
Well that was pretty rough. Was watching at The Duke of Wellington, was actually pretty fun and albeit disappointing at the death an enjoyable evening.
Taking the full fifteen seconds and then a short option to me is probably more favourable than just immediately taking a long option, but on that piece of shit lump of dirt without wings it becomes more difficult.
I thought the boundary line was the way to go for Cordy but not willing to be too unkind in the heat of the moment. We had moments to convert opportunities, so did they and in the end they converted an extremely difficult one when we couldn't convert more straight forward opportunities.
Whilst we can match it mostly with the form clubs of the competition, our reality is that we have now lost in our three biggest challenges of the year and have question marks on us. A win this coming week will be gutsy, and I'm looking forward to seeing how we respond to the challenge in front of us.
19-06-2021, 05:19 PM
Your last paragraph is what concerns me. One can argue Richmond was one bad half. Melbourne one bad quarter. Geelong one bad minute.
But as we know, it’s three losses from three matches against the best three opponents this year. That’s a nagging concern I have. I guess the only way to overcome it is to beat good opponents, starting with WCE at home.
19-06-2021, 05:38 PM
The good thing is none of them have been deflating losses like we've had in the past when on the up and up. They've delivered their own concerns but think back to the 2008 clash at Kardinia Park when we got pounded by ten goals at a roughly similar point of the season. That was deflating.
I feel like our players are going to keep improving and maturing, hopefully to the point where we can hang in for longer more often and if you do that you make your own luck sometimes but sometimes you still miss out. But if you don't get that consistency you're never in it seriously.
19-06-2021, 05:44 PM
The good thing is none of them have been deflating losses like we've had in the past when on the up and up. They've delivered their own concerns but think back to the 2008 clash at Kardinia Park when we got pounded by ten goals at a roughly similar point of the season. That was deflating.
I feel like our players are going to keep improving and maturing, hopefully to the point where we can hang in for longer more often and if you do that you make your own luck sometimes but sometimes you still miss out. But if you don't get that consistency you're never in it seriously.
We also have a couple of A grade mids to come back and bolster us which should give us some confidence. Dunks was interviewed before the game and said Rd 18 is his target and he's on track for that. If he's as important as I think he is, I reckon we'll see a significant uptick once he's back and Treloar will just be cream on the cake.
19-06-2021, 05:45 PM
We also have a couple of A grade mids to come back and bolster us which should give us some confidence. Dunks was interviewed before the game and said Rd 18 is his target and he's on track for that. If he's as important as I think he is, I reckon we'll see a significant uptick once he's back and Treloar will just be cream on the cake.
I agree, we have 5-6 elite mids. Need all to be playing to get those rotations allowing Bont that extra bit fwd which will be needed come finals.
19-06-2021, 06:00 PM
The concern is winning enough games to stay top 4 until our elite mids get back, all the while not actually getting a new injury, which we continue to get EVERY week.
There's a few similarities with 2016, let's hope it ultimately delivers the same result.
19-06-2021, 06:03 PM
The concern is winning enough games to stay top 4 until our elite mids get back, all the while not actually getting a new injury, which we continue to get EVERY week.
There's a few similarities with 2016, let's hope it ultimately delivers the same result.
Yeah, the new injury every week thing is getting pretty old.
I think 6 more wins gets us top 4 and a likely first final at the MCG. That should be the main focus from here and if we win the ones we're big favourites in, should get us there.
19-06-2021, 06:07 PM
Your last paragraph is what concerns me. One can argue Richmond was one bad half. Melbourne one bad quarter. Geelong one bad minute.
But as we know, it’s three losses from three matches against the best three opponents this year. That’s a nagging concern I have. I guess the only way to overcome it is to beat good opponents, starting with WCE at home.
Usually I would be front and center in banging on about the fact, as I have been in previous years, but this year there's clearly circumstances impacting our ability to beat the best sides.
The Richmond game was most disappointing - we had most of our side in, but we looked flat in the second half and got run over.
Melbourne game, never really thought we were a chance given our personnel out and the whole lockdown/no crowd situation. Excuse? It is, but it's also real.
Last night's game we were missing two elite mids, a first ruck (which hurts our structure badly) and Wood. Then we lost Naughton at half time. To run Geelong to a kick in a game we should have won in the end, on their own shithole, with their whole side in (Duncan's injury the exception) is a hard result to swallow but commendable.
We are clearly good enough to beat the best sides but we need some bloody fortune too.
The game v Eagles is one I worry about in terms of it being a blowout after an emotional and mental let down. It's a big test, if we can find a way to win, it'd be enormous.
Assuming we lose all is not lost, but we can't drop many more games and we sure as hell can't keep losing good players every single week if we want to compete with the best.
19-06-2021, 06:17 PM
My biggest concern in the 3 losses is our inability to score for large chunks of game time and the haphazard way we moved the ball. All system and structure has gone out the window in these games.
19-06-2021, 06:32 PM
My biggest concern in the 3 losses is our inability to score for large chunks of game time and the haphazard way we moved the ball. All system and structure has gone out the window in these games.
Isn't that due to the pressure from a good opposition?
19-06-2021, 06:35 PM
Isn't that due to the pressure from a good opposition?
Of course, and we haven't handled it well at all.
19-06-2021, 06:37 PM
I just think we need a plan B, when guys like Libba are tagged and also change up our tactics coming out of the backline.
19-06-2021, 06:37 PM
On balance, we've not handled it well for about 70 minutes of game time but that's enough to put a nail in those three games.
19-06-2021, 07:36 PM
Glad I didn’t see it.
Dude that is so sad. You're worse than me!
19-06-2021, 07:39 PM
If Brisbane beat Geel, port win and we lose, teams 2-5 will be on level points. Top 4 is not a given, particularly with WC and Rich (easiest draw of the top 8) hot on our heels.
19-06-2021, 07:40 PM
Dude that is so sad. You're worse than me!
Heart was pounding out of my chest.
Not good for my underlying health issue.
19-06-2021, 07:51 PM
If Brisbane beat Geel, port win and we lose, teams 2-5 will be on level points. Top 4 is not a given, particularly with WC and Rich (easiest draw of the top 8) hot on our heels.
There's still 9 games to play and 6 of them are against teams outside the top 8. We also play Port and Melbourne which will largely determine our spot in the top 4. Win the game against bottom 8 sides and halve the Port/Melb game and we're top 4 in a canter. Not saying it'll work out like that but most models have us as huge probability of making top 4.
19-06-2021, 08:01 PM
There's still 9 games to play and 6 of them are against teams outside the top 8. We also play Port and Melbourne which will largely determine our spot in the top 4. Win the game against bottom 8 sides and halve the Port/Melb game and we're top 4 in a canter. Not saying it'll work out like that but most models have us as huge probability of making top 4.
Hope you’re right mate. Sydney and Essendon won’t be walks in the park. We are expected to win and SHOULD win, but you just never know.
20-06-2021, 12:25 PM
I just think we need a plan B, when guys like Libba are tagged and also change up our tactics coming out of the backline.
Chad? Cornes made a good point, I thought. He said that as Stewart was so dominant we need to "kick the ball to grass", try a few "chaos balls" to bring our small forwards into the game
20-06-2021, 12:56 PM
Usually I would be front and center in banging on about the fact, as I have been in previous years, but this year there's clearly circumstances impacting our ability to beat the best sides.
The Richmond game was most disappointing - we had most of our side in, but we looked flat in the second half and got run over.
Melbourne game, never really thought we were a chance given our personnel out and the whole lockdown/no crowd situation. Excuse? It is, but it's also real.
Last night's game we were missing two elite mids, a first ruck (which hurts our structure badly) and Wood. Then we lost Naughton at half time. To run Geelong to a kick in a game we should have won in the end, on their own shithole, with their whole side in (Duncan's injury the exception) is a hard result to swallow but commendable.
We are clearly good enough to beat the best sides but we need some bloody fortune too.
The game v Eagles is one I worry about in terms of it being a blowout after an emotional and mental let down. It's a big test, if we can find a way to win, it'd be enormous.
Assuming we lose all is not lost, but we can't drop many more games and we sure as hell can't keep losing good players every single week if we want to compete with the best.
Lots of luck in it
20-06-2021, 07:39 PM
Chad? Cornes made a good point, I thought. He said that as Stewart was so dominant we need to "kick the ball to grass", try a few "chaos balls" to bring our small forwards into the game
Reckon rather than kicking to grass we could just have stopped kicking it to Stewart
21-06-2021, 05:22 PM
AFLCA Votes
Geelong v Western Bulldogs
9 - Tom Stewart (GEEL)
6 – Tom Liberatore (WB)
6 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
4 – Sam Menegola (GEEL)
3 – Taylor Duryea (WB)
2 – Jack Macrae (WB)
Leaderboard
68 – Clayton Oliver (MELB)
66 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
60 – Ollie Wines (PORT)
55 – Hugh McCluggage (BL)
55 – Darcy Parish (ESS)
52 – Touk Miller (GC)
49 – Max Gawn (MELB)
48 – Zach Merrett (ESS)
48 – Sam Walsh (CARL)
44 – David Mundy (FRE)
21-06-2021, 05:46 PM
AFLCA Votes
Geelong v Western Bulldogs
9 - Tom Stewart (GEEL)
6 – Tom Liberatore (WB)
6 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
4 – Sam Menegola (GEEL)
3 – Taylor Duryea (WB)
2 – Jack Macrae (WB)
Leaderboard
68 – Clayton Oliver (MELB)
66 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
60 – Ollie Wines (PORT)
55 – Hugh McCluggage (BL)
55 – Darcy Parish (ESS)
52 – Touk Miller (GC)
49 – Max Gawn (MELB)
48 – Zach Merrett (ESS)
48 – Sam Walsh (CARL)
44 – David Mundy (FRE)
Interesting mix
Obviuosly
Stewart 5 and 4
Libba prob 5 and 1
Bont 4 and 2
Menegola 3 and 1
Duryea 3
Macrae 2
A few variations possible
21-06-2021, 06:00 PM
Interesting mix
Obviuosly
Stewart 5 and 4
Libba prob 5 and 1
Bont 4 and 2
Menegola 3 and 1
Duryea 3
Macrae 2
A few variations possible
Scott:
5 - Stewart
4 - Bont
3 - Menegola
2 - Macrae
1 - Libba
Bevo:
5 - Libba
4 - Stewart
3 - Duryea
2 - Bont
1 - Menegola
21-06-2021, 08:00 PM
Reckon Scott still dislikes Libba Snr...
21-06-2021, 08:10 PM
Scott:
5 - Stewart
4 - Bont
3 - Menegola
2 - Macrae
1 - Libba
Bevo:
5 - Libba
4 - Stewart
3 - Duryea
2 - Bont
1 - Menegola
Bevo saw Stewart destroying us too! How about doing something to stop him Luke ffs, don't just watch and clap ! :cool:
21-06-2021, 10:01 PM
Bevo saw Stewart destroying us too! How about doing something to stop him Luke ffs, don't just watch and clap ! :cool:
He had Scott on him in the 2nd half.. if he kicks 3 (which he should’ve) and we win do we say the plan worked?
22-06-2021, 06:05 AM
He had Scott on him in the 2nd half.. if he kicks 3 (which he should’ve) and we win do we say the plan worked? The half time adjustment nearly won us the game. We also squared the numbers game at half time which gives us some insight for next time.
22-06-2021, 08:17 AM
He had Scott on him in the 2nd half.. if he kicks 3 (which he should’ve) and we win do we say the plan worked?
My comment was tongue in cheek. I find it very hard on the TV to pick up any tactical changes. I just know Stewart was incredibly good and frustrating!
To answer your question. Yes. If that was the move he went from 17 disposals 9 marks first half to 10 and 4 second.
9 of those marks uncontested in the first half, 3 second (0 in last qtr).
Couldnt break down his metres gained but he had 697 for match as an aside. Fair game.
So looks like a great move.
22-06-2021, 09:03 AM
My comment was tongue in cheek. I find it very hard on the TV to pick up any tactical changes. I just know Stewart was incredibly good and frustrating!
To answer your question. Yes. If that was the move he went from 17 disposals 9 marks first half to 10 and 4 second.
9 of those marks uncontested in the first half, 3 second (0 in last qtr).
Couldnt break down his metres gained but he had 697 for match as an aside. Fair game.
So looks like a great move.
That was one of Scott's best games. He should have had 4 goals. His only real blemish is the last minute of play. Should have looked for a different option than just kicking down the line.
22-06-2021, 02:09 PM
That was one of Scott's best games. He should have had 4 goals. His only real blemish is the last minute of play. Should have looked for a different option than just kicking down the line.
Maybe, but we ended up with a genuine marking attempt that would’ve iced the game if taken from the ensuing contest.
Which still grates
23-06-2021, 05:54 AM
That was one of Scott's best games. He should have had 4 goals. His only real blemish is the last minute of play. Should have looked for a different option than just kicking down the line. Unless there was options to get multiple free marks to kill time then the instruction would have been to kick down the line and keep it as skinny as possible. It didn’t look like he had any other option, the fact that play had been in stuck on that side for a while meant everything was shut down pretty quickly.
23-06-2021, 09:32 AM
Unless there was options to get multiple free marks to kill time then the instruction would have been to kick down the line and keep it as skinny as possible. It didn’t look like he had any other option, the fact that play had been in stuck on that side for a while meant everything was shut down pretty quickly.
Yeah I didn't have much issue with the kick. It was everything after it. Poor contest. Not enough effort to punch it over the line. And then when the ball hit the deck we were statues. And how....how on earth Geelong had so much space at half-forward and then more players than us streaming forward after Cordy's kick is beyond me. Rohan was all by himself when he marked. We should have had numbers back before all that began and I imagine Geelong would have pushed quite a few up in our 50 to win the ball. It was really, really poor from us.
23-06-2021, 10:18 AM
Yeah I didn't have much issue with the kick. It was everything after it. Poor contest. Not enough effort to punch it over the line. And then when the ball hit the deck we were statues. And how....how on earth Geelong had so much space at half-forward and then more players than us streaming forward after Cordy's kick is beyond me. Rohan was all by himself when he marked. We should have had numbers back before all that began and I imagine Geelong would have pushed quite a few up in our 50 to win the ball. It was really, really poor from us.
We literally did every possible thing wrong from the moment the ball left Scott's boot.
23-06-2021, 10:25 AM
We literally did every possible thing wrong from the moment the ball left Scott's boot.
The defence after Scott's kick was the classic bulldogs getting beaten out the back. It's frustrating enough during a typical game, but just bewildering when you're a point up with a minute to go. Is this down to a lack of on-field leadership? Would we have been better set up if Wood was playing? I would have thought Duryea's been around long enough to marshal the troops.
23-06-2021, 11:16 AM
The defence after Scott's kick was the classic bulldogs getting beaten out the back. It's frustrating enough during a typical game, but just bewildering when you're a point up with a minute to go. Is this down to a lack of on-field leadership? Would we have been better set up if Wood was playing? I would have thought Duryea's been around long enough to marshal the troops.
I think we probably started the set-up OK when that kick went in, but when the ball flicked out forward and then to the wing area it became a mad scramble and we lost our way.
23-06-2021, 01:50 PM
Not to be stuck in the past or anything but just thinking about Rowan’s goal… was there any reason we couldn’t have gone all “Harry Taylor” and had the entire team jumping up & down, waving their arms around & shouting uncomplimentary things about his appearance.. so long as they were behind the man on the mark? That’s not disallowed any more is it?
23-06-2021, 02:10 PM
Not to be stuck in the past or anything but just thinking about Rowan’s goal… was there any reason we couldn’t have gone all “Harry Taylor” and had the entire team jumping up & down, waving their arms around & shouting uncomplimentary things about his appearance.. so long as they were behind the man on the mark? That’s not disallowed any more is it?
Not sure, but the new rules for man on the mark have changed and I believe there is an exclusion zone that includes the man on the mark from both sides. It's meant to avoid the Hawk tactic of having some one sheppard the man on the mark when the ball carrier plays on
25-06-2021, 11:58 AM
Great to see the Lions kill this mob. Great entertainment. Go Roys!