27-06-2021, 05:35 PM
Umpires have been woeful in 2nd quarter:

missed high tackle on bonts
Ryan shoulders JJ jaw
Ryan's 7m kick allowed
Ryan's slap

All Right infront of the umpire.

What was Garcia's 50m penalty for ?

I don't know what is more frustrating, a crap goal kicking or just #%!@% umpiring.

27-06-2021, 05:36 PM
Garcia/Scott both have a clay smith about them. Hard at it. I pressed with some of Garcia’s body work in particular.

And Garcia is quick too. Also think Gardner doing ok today. Libba has been sensational, as has Bont.

27-06-2021, 05:36 PM
What was Garcia's 50m penalty for ?

I don't know what is more frustrating, a crap goal kicking or just #%!@% umpiring.

No idea, I assume that if they don't show it then someone mouthed off to the umpire.

27-06-2021, 05:37 PM
Bazlenka playing very well today. Maybe his best of the season

Yeah, been fantastic today. Kudos to the kid, he's bounced back. More inside too which is clearly where he belongs.

I checked the radar it's looking clear unfortunately.

I hope our effort and endeavour is rewarded with victory but the drying conditions will suit the Eagles and they may run over us in the 2nd half.

Brilliant dogs.

Our goal kicking woes still haunt me but that aside it was a near perfect game of footy. One half to go lads, don't let up - draw on last week's pain!

Only downer so far are the 3 easy misses. If weather does clear that lost extra 15 point buffer could be important.

27-06-2021, 05:40 PM
Is Bont the best player in the AFL this year. He has to win the Brownlow

One of the best pin point passes from the centre square to Cody Weighman.

Beautiful to watch.

27-06-2021, 05:40 PM
We are doing very well. If we get the first 1 or 2 goals at the start of the 3rd it will make it hard for them. We have nearly got them.

27-06-2021, 05:41 PM
Like Richards.
Like Smith.
Like Garcia.
English doing well.

Another 15 min of that an the dam wall bursts surely!

Garcia looks like he belongs at AFL. Like his hardness
Both Richards and Garcia looking very strong and put on heaps of muscle. First time I have seen them this year.

27-06-2021, 05:42 PM
I hope our effort and endeavour is rewarded with victory but the drying conditions will suit the Eagles and they may run over us in the 2nd half.

More rain to come?

27-06-2021, 05:43 PM
More rain to come?
I’m praying for it.

27-06-2021, 05:43 PM
Brilliant dogs.

Our goal kicking woes still haunt me but that aside it was a near perfect game of footy. One half to go lads, don't let up - draw on last week's pain!

Agree but we all know how this half will play out and we'll spend another week lamenting how if we could kick easy goals this game would be over now.

Just kidding, we'll press on and win.

Now I've covered both bases.

27-06-2021, 05:44 PM
Fifty minutes left Dogs. Let's show our stamina. Theirs may sag.

27-06-2021, 05:44 PM
I’m praying for it.

Im praying our goal kicking improves by 100%

27-06-2021, 05:46 PM
Fifty minutes left Dogs. Let's show our stamina. Theirs may sag.
Will sag. They have 4 unfit players.

27-06-2021, 05:46 PM
Nonthing but blue sky here now.

27-06-2021, 05:47 PM
If we can get off too a fast start and get a couple of goals early we could open this game up for a big win but we must improve our goal kicking accuracy.

27-06-2021, 05:48 PM
I don’t like the look of that sun.

27-06-2021, 05:49 PM
Who keeps telling Bailey Smith to kick on his left. It’s worse than Suckling right foot.

27-06-2021, 05:53 PM
Exactly what we needed. Well done smith

27-06-2021, 05:54 PM
Go Bailey Smith! We have got this. Eagles are well and truly rattled.

Who keeps telling Bailey Smith to kick on his left. It’s worse than Suckling right foot.

Nothing is that bad.

I nearly started throwing helicopters at my wall when it looked as if we may have messed that up!

Good goal Smith, he's playing well.

Josh Bruce is getting slaughtered by the umpires this quarter.

Bont needed to find the handball through the corridor then. Thankfully we won it back and Baz converts.

Gardner shoulder again ffs!

27-06-2021, 05:55 PM
Gardner's dislocated his shoulder in that contest.

Courageous effort. Will be missed.

Gardner's shoulder gone. Poor kid. He was doing well.

Gardner AC

Fear for Gardner.
Fark Gardiner has what I got from a bicycle accident.
I think Kane Cornes has it too. Not a dislocated shoulder although it gets diagnosed as such.
His shoulder blade has been wrenched from the clavical and shoulder joint. I saw the end of his shoulder blade sticking up like mine still does.
Good news is doctors recommend no surgery but plenty of physio and a layoff.

Gardner's shoulder is borked.

He's got Dale Morris courage without Dale Morris's body.

Gardner shoulder :(

27-06-2021, 05:56 PM
Lew Young come on down.

27-06-2021, 05:56 PM
Josh Bruce is getting slaughtered by the umpires this quarter.

Turns around and runs into McGovern who's right behind him? Free kick McGovern.

Two handed shove in the middle of the back from Barrass? Play on.

27-06-2021, 05:57 PM
Same shoulder ?

Rain ffs.

Not good vibes.

Umpiring has been putrid. Duryea got his head ripped off.

27-06-2021, 05:58 PM
We literally can not get through a game without an injury.

Same shoulder ?

He did the left last time I believe, so opposite.

Umpiring has been putrid. Duryea got his head ripped off.

Coat hangered clear as day.

27-06-2021, 05:59 PM
Very good game from Baz today. Gets another good goal.

Bailey playing a ripper. Need some multiple goals now.

We literally can not get through a game without an injury.

Amazing. Easton injured too.

Gardner shoulder again ffs!

It does not look for Gardner

Nice return to form for bailey Smith though

27-06-2021, 06:00 PM
Stick to the right foot Bailey. It’s really, really working for you.

Ed Richards looks like he's spent his entire time off training for this game, Cape Fear/Uncle Leo style. Good comeback.

Naughton looks like he's going to mark it any time it goes near him.

Bailey Smith having a ripper.

It's goal for goal, we need to get the next

Two easy goals in reply. We just need to keep pushing.

Cordy. Glacial.

We didn’t need that quick response from Allan.

27-06-2021, 06:01 PM
We work hard for our goals and the get 2 centre clearance goal response. Fmd

This game has opened up way too much. Need to bring it back to a contested game.

Danger signs!

Didn't need Smith getting sucked into the contest and then falling over. Costly.

27-06-2021, 06:02 PM
Cordy. Glacial.

And again.

Two easy goals in reply. We just need to keep pushing.

Make that 3. Need to get it back.

Make that 3 centre clearance goals *!*!*!*!en hell

Signs not looking good. Need to keep it in tight

NicNat getting right on top.

27-06-2021, 06:06 PM
Am I taking crazy pills? Are Ling and BT saying Daniel on Gaff was a free, even though Caleb fisted the ball?

27-06-2021, 06:06 PM
Good boy Cody.

We need to force a contest at this centre bounce. So desperately.

27-06-2021, 06:07 PM
It’s not gonna rain so we just have to hope our mids can defend and our backline can hold up. What we don’t want is easy set shot misses. We need multiple goals here..

ATA boy Cody.

Am I taking crazy pills? Are Ling and BT saying Daniel on Gaff was a free, even though Caleb fisted the ball?

Yes, that's what they're saying. Barracking isn't enough, they need to get spiteful now.

27-06-2021, 06:09 PM
Hey, we are ahead. Cool.

I just wish one of our fwds would just plant themselves in the goal square. We lose so many opportunities over the back where we don’t have anyone.

I am VERY worried about Nic Nat.

27-06-2021, 06:12 PM
Yes, that's what they're saying. Barracking isn't enough, they need to get spiteful now.

Jason Bennett stays silent during that chat, no doubt thinking "listen to these dickheads".

27-06-2021, 06:14 PM
English is honouring his homestate and family with his efforts.
We are out westing West Coast.
Garcia and Norton.

27-06-2021, 06:15 PM
Where are our tall defenders there?

27-06-2021, 06:16 PM
How do we let Oscar Allen mark that?

Massive let off.

We have got this Dogs! Keep it going this last quarter now and we win.

27-06-2021, 06:18 PM
Where are our tall defenders there?

Well, one is in the change rooms.

Anyone else nervous?? I don’t know if I can watch the last.

Don't lose Dogs, my family hate me enough after last week.

27-06-2021, 06:19 PM
Pretty complete effort apart from our goal kicking. Who would have thought we could have piled on some percentage playing West Coke at home

27-06-2021, 06:20 PM
I’m stuck somewhere between happy and disappointed. But if we can can the first couple of goals, it should settle everything nicely.

27-06-2021, 06:20 PM
Don’t Stress we won’t loose this one. We are just to far on top in all areas.

27-06-2021, 06:21 PM
A nice lead but plenty of work to do. It's a shame Tim missed that set shot.

We need the first goal of the 4th quarter.

I’m stuck somewhere between happy and disappointed. But if we can can the first couple of goals, it should settle everything nicely.

Disappointment only if we don't win.

Gotta get the first of the last quarter.

27-06-2021, 06:22 PM
Can’t allow them easy entry into their fwd line. Gotta get guys back to allow contests…not one on ones. Need to continue to win the clearances and try to nullify NicNat coz he looks like he could explode at any min.

27-06-2021, 06:22 PM
Libba a quiet quarter, we need more from him in the last.

27-06-2021, 06:23 PM

And a goal from Bruce wouldn't go astray.

Are you really surprised they don’t know the rules?

Can’t allow them easy entry into their fwd line. Gotta get guys back to allow contests…not one on ones. Need to continue to win the clearances and try to nullify NicNat coz he looks like he could explode at any min.

Centre clearance is the key.

The trouble with English in the ruck, he is watching Nicnat too much instead of eyes on the ball up

Hopefully he had a good rest being bandaged up

27-06-2021, 06:24 PM
Let's go HARD!

27-06-2021, 06:25 PM
Bruce is a great player.

27-06-2021, 06:25 PM
16 points.

27-06-2021, 06:26 PM
C'mon Dogs own Subiaco!

Players are tired.

Libba, had so many options.

Such a poor kick from Libba.

27-06-2021, 06:27 PM
English, why?

27-06-2021, 06:27 PM
Use your hands Timmy!!

27-06-2021, 06:28 PM
Put some air into the clearing ball FFS English.

Let off the hook there.

27-06-2021, 06:28 PM
Bad luck for them Good kick.
Poster.

27-06-2021, 06:29 PM
Are you really surprised they don’t know the rules?

I know they know the rules, I'm surprised they're so blatantly cheering.

Finish it off Dogs. Cmon!

Terrible clearance kick from English, with Daniel right in front. Real let off by Oscar allen hitting the post.

We looked flat in periods in the third quarter.

Need to run over the top of them this quarter

27-06-2021, 06:31 PM
Stuffing with the ball. Just kick it.

27-06-2021, 06:32 PM
Literally one goal from winning this.

27-06-2021, 06:33 PM
Jacko YES! Come on lads, let's put a couple more on the board!

Cmon. Hold on boys.

*!*!*!*! Yes

27-06-2021, 06:34 PM
Come the moment, Macrae can kick the goal.

Have killed almost 8 mins and get the first goal. Come on boys!!

Huge goal from Jack!

27-06-2021, 06:35 PM
Come the moment, Macrae can kick the goal.

Great read byBonts to get NicNat tap , handballs to Macrae, goal.

Defenders must have nightmares about Naughton.

Come on lads, COME ON!!!!

Naughton!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sublime.

27-06-2021, 06:36 PM
Naughts!!

Well done dogs…finish it off.

Break them.

We are going to win. What a win.

27-06-2021, 06:37 PM
Percentage builder!

Naughton despite his misses has been really good today. His marking is superior.

See above.

Go you good things!

We are going to win. What a win.

Agree. Such a dominating performance. And very much a team effort.

Naughton. You are a superstar. Love him.

27-06-2021, 06:38 PM
Ronathon Brown is back

Double WCE on their home ground. With time to go.

Seriously impressed with our boys today. Have shown consistent focus and guts. Very deserved win.

And we still have Trenkley to come back.

Bont wut?

What a goal Bont!

27-06-2021, 06:39 PM
Hahahahahahahaha, BONTEMPELLI!

Ok Bont.

Freak show!

What???

Goal of the millennium.
The goal Bontempelli was born to kick.

You beauty!!

27-06-2021, 06:40 PM
Bont. No words.

Naughton despite his misses has been really good today. His marking is superior.

His the best contested mark in the competition. 18 more contested marks than anyone else.

We are so blessed to have him.

Bonts kicks an amazing goal, against his body momentum going to the left, hooks and golas. Amazing!

Marcus.

Ok Bont.

There's really no other way to react. Just, sure, do that then.

Goal of the year….OMG!!!

Macrae has played a huge game again and Astro delivers big time. This is a magnificent team performance. And Bont just does a magic trick!

27-06-2021, 06:41 PM
Shout out Eddie Richards. Been awesome today.

27-06-2021, 06:41 PM
That defied physics

27-06-2021, 06:43 PM
More west than WC.
Garcia in his home city!!!

27-06-2021, 06:43 PM
Well done Riley!

First AFL goal!

27-06-2021, 06:44 PM
Well done Sonny. Repeat efforts and rewarded.

Everyone has done their job. Bont insane, macrae and Hunter fantastic. Richards has been wow first game back.

This has been dominant and oh so impressive… 12 goals hey DOG GOD? ;)

27-06-2021, 06:46 PM

McLean came into the side last week and performed after a long lay off and now Richards. The medical department is making sure the guys are fit when they return.

27-06-2021, 06:46 PM
Weightman is our Bartlett.

27-06-2021, 06:47 PM

Has he got taller? Seems to be playing bigger today.

27-06-2021, 06:48 PM
This has been dominant and oh so impressive… 12 goals hey DOG GOD? ;)
Impressive alright. I’ll admit I got it wrong. Just pleased to see this effort Mantis.

Seriously, inject this into my veins.

Bevo, you're a *!*!*!*!ing genius.

Eagles have given up. Weak as

27-06-2021, 06:49 PM
Impressive alright. I’ll admit I got it wrong. Just pleased to see this effort Mantis.

It’s been great… we go ok.

27-06-2021, 06:49 PM
10 goals in front, you bloody beauty

27-06-2021, 06:50 PM
I get home after missing all the game until now. Hear Ling say something stupid and went to mute straight away. "There was contact but not a lot"

27-06-2021, 06:50 PM

Adam Simpson seething behind the face mask. Great to see.

27-06-2021, 06:51 PM

Only a 20-21 goal swing mate, that's nothing in today's footy.

27-06-2021, 06:51 PM
Could someone tell me again how suspect our backline is and how dangerous the West Coast talls are.

27-06-2021, 06:53 PM
I get home after missing all the game until now. Hear Ling say something stupid and went to mute straight away. "There was contact but not a lot"

He grabbed his arm.

Ling and BT have had money on WCE today for sure. Reminds me of the good old days of Dwayne and Gerrard barracking for the WA teams in WA every week.

27-06-2021, 06:53 PM
It’s been great… we go ok.

We’re absolutely legit contenders.

27-06-2021, 06:54 PM
What a way to respond from last week’s disappointment. Absolutely amazing.

27-06-2021, 06:54 PM
Go the *!*!*!*!ing Dogs!!!

Might get a bit of air time now?

27-06-2021, 06:55 PM

But will it lead to a positive post?

27-06-2021, 06:55 PM
But will it lead to a positive post?

I’ve been positive most of this game. What’s your point ?

If you’re referring to my game day prediction, I expected WC to be a lot better..great ins, in Perth, fanatic crowd, and our backline suspect. Us having to quarantine, and our injuries. Our backs were to the wall. Kudos to the dogs. WC gave up halfway thru the 3rd. What else do you want me to say ?

27-06-2021, 06:56 PM
That's as good as it gets right there especially under the circumstances we had to endure this week. Get home safely guys!

27-06-2021, 06:57 PM
WOW

That’s all I have.

27-06-2021, 06:58 PM
One of our best H&A wins of all time. Gut wrenching loss last week. Interrupted preparation. Travel and Isolation. Could have just dropped our heads but instead put in an absolutely inspiring effort.

I was concerned with our early misses but the boys just took the game away from the Eagles by dominating the midfield and controlling the game. Awesome effort. So so proud.

27-06-2021, 06:59 PM
Could someone tell me again how suspect our backline is and how dangerous the West Coast talls are.

The least stingy backline

27-06-2021, 06:59 PM
Does Lewis Young get his chance now?

27-06-2021, 07:00 PM
Great win boys. Love watching us take chances. Watching naughton fly at the footy is one of the most beautiful things you will see.

Fantastic to see Richards play well in his preferred position. Reckon he’s just pinched it off Croz for the next few weeks.

27-06-2021, 07:00 PM
Only had a radio call.

Thoughts on Garcia, Richards and Smith today?

27-06-2021, 07:01 PM
Can we cancel the lockdown in WA so I can go to work tomorrow?? Please :cool:

27-06-2021, 07:02 PM
Scoring shots: 33 to 13
Bulldogs ran 8km more than Eagles.

Great effort by all team effort.

I like the look of Garcia, his got speed, reads the play well and has some grunt about him.
Loved the celebration with him, Scott and Weightman, Really see these 3 as the future small forwards.

Richard looks big and took some strong marks. Really good to have him back.

Eagles dropped 3% today Really has messed them. Yep, WestCoke have sooked off the effort. If Melbourne hub, its all over for them.

No crowd bias to sway the umpires, who were woeful in the 2nd quarter.

Only had a radio call.

Bazlenka was brilliant, Richards was excellent and Garcia was very good.

Only had a radio call.

Smith played his best game of the year. Richards played a ripper too, and Garcia was as tough as nails and played his role.

27-06-2021, 07:03 PM
Does Lewis Young get his chance now?

He has plenty to offer. The problem is between his ears. Does he have enough to fight fit a spot in a top 4 side or does he take the easy way out and go get a game in a bottom 4 side.

The temptation of May r a game on the last day of September should be the ticket I recon

Smith played his best game of the year. Richards played a ripper too, and Garcia was as tough as nails and played his role.

Re-sign Richards NOW

Only had a radio call.

Smith outstanding. Garcia took his chances, a good game for me. Richards was very good - came in and out but did some standout things - amazing seeing what he can produce when playing off half back

27-06-2021, 07:04 PM
Re-sign Richards NOW
Agree. He didn’t look out of place at all. Need to keep him.

27-06-2021, 07:05 PM
Agree. He didn’t look out of place at all. Need to keep him.

Backline is his spot

27-06-2021, 07:06 PM
Backline is his spot

Absolutely. He had good run and his disposal was very good. Sets up really well.
He looked eager and he looked hungry to want to be part of it.

27-06-2021, 07:07 PM
Only had a radio call.

Solid, very good and a welcome return, back into the type of form we know he can play.

27-06-2021, 07:07 PM
Only had a radio call.

Garcia promising-a bit of terrier tenacity about him. Richard & Smith both very good. Richards taking some important marks in last qtr. He looks to have bulked up a bit to my eye, without losing his speed & appeared less fumbly -playing with more confidence than last year - more like his first year with us. Smith was in the thick of it, not on wing and played really well including better hand passes, linebreaking speed & a goal (or was it two) to boot. He is so much better as an inside mid.

27-06-2021, 07:08 PM
Backline is his spot

Well not sure about that. But he can play Back, mid and forward. There Bevos first and golden rule

27-06-2021, 07:09 PM
What Josie said.

Smith was outstanding, and I really don't know why BT is so hellbent on trading Richards when that's what he can do!

Garcia seems tough, and will grow in confidence.

27-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Huge win for top 2 and top 4 chances. All on the back of last weeks heartbreak, a trip to Perth after being there 2 weeks ago and having to spend the week in quarantine.

Huge backs to the wall win. Dug deep. That shows amazing character.

27-06-2021, 07:16 PM
I’ve been positive most of this game. What’s your point ?

If you’re referring to my game day prediction, I expected WC to be a lot better..great ins, in Perth, fanatic crowd, and our backline suspect. Us having to quarantine, and our injuries. Our backs were to the wall. Kudos to the dogs. WC gave up halfway thru the 3rd. What else do you want me to say ?

I’m just being cheeky 😋, no offence intended.

I want everyone to enjoy the ride. 11 wins and three losses. Best attack in the league. Best defence in the league. What is there not to like. Let’s share the love.

27-06-2021, 07:17 PM
When was the last time we won in Perth twice in a home & away season? Never?

27-06-2021, 07:25 PM

Two times as well ��

27-06-2021, 07:40 PM
The crew must have been zen through the lockdown.
Good signs.
Focused.

27-06-2021, 07:43 PM
Great win.

For a highly touted midfield group (admittedly a bit underdone) we just killed them. No hardness to the contest, no scrap. That was a bloody MASSIVE win in the context of our season.

Woof woof.

27-06-2021, 07:44 PM

The have been overwhelmed.

27-06-2021, 07:46 PM
It's not often that you lament not running your percentage up more against the Eagles in Perth.

27-06-2021, 07:49 PM
It's not often that you lament not running your percentage up more against the Eagles in Perth.

That being said, we still bumped it up by another 4%.
That was a very committed performance today. Really proud of the guys today.
Bar 3 easy misses, we really looked the far better team today, not only personal performances, but our system.
West Coast just could not pierce our wall. Great work rate by all the guys. As a team we outran them by a staggering 8kms!

27-06-2021, 07:50 PM

We have never won multiple times in a season in Perth.

27-06-2021, 07:55 PM
Bar 3 easy misses, we really looked the far better team today, not only personal performances, but our system.
West Coast just could not pierce our wall. Great work rate by all the guys. As a team we outran them by a staggering 8kms!

A WC supporter friend told me that, it's massive.

27-06-2021, 07:58 PM

Just outworked them comprehensively. The Eagles didn't want to crack in when it was wet and we were already settled and rolling when it dried out.

27-06-2021, 08:05 PM
How did English go vs NicNac?

27-06-2021, 08:13 PM
Great professional performance this afternoon. We were up for their challenges all game. Had we kicked straighter we could have won by a lot more. Just great the way we were dismantling them in the last quarter. We kept that foot on the accelerator and did not slow down.

27-06-2021, 08:14 PM

I thought he performed well. He of course got beaten in the genuine ruck contests but was impressive around the ground.

27-06-2021, 08:14 PM

What you'd expect in ruck contests, where NN was decisive and made them look dangerous on centre clearances. However, English had a couple of good taps to advantage, and was easily better around the ground.

27-06-2021, 08:19 PM
A gutsy effort by English after another facial injury. Bont Macrae Libba and Bailey Smith dominated the midfield.

27-06-2021, 08:20 PM
What a tragedy that there was no live crowd to witness and be in awe of us.
It was like that with Whitten , Schultz and Hawkins on TV., they got bugger all coverage
Bulldog brilliance.

27-06-2021, 08:31 PM
I thought he performed well. He of course got beaten in the genuine ruck contests but was impressive around the ground.

I thought he was a little trepidatious until he got an accidental kick to the head from Libba. After that he kind of grew in confidence. Maybe thats the knock he needed (after Naught's knee to his jaw) to give him some belief in his body?

27-06-2021, 08:32 PM
What a tragedy that there was no live crowd to witness and be in awe of us.
It was like that with Whitten , Schultz and Hawkins on TV., they got bugger all coverage
Bulldog brilliance.

Would have been great to watch those guys go around.

27-06-2021, 08:39 PM
That was a complete performance from the off. We monstered them around the contest. We closed them down with our impenetrable wall denying them fast ball movement. Our players' willingess to run and run to get to contests, to occupy space was admirable.

West Coast were found wanting. They were not prepared for the whirlwind we unleashed. We forced them to be reactive for most of the match. They just didn't have the appetite for the fight. It was an excellent team performance.

We had so many good players all over the ground but I do want to mention a couple:
- Tim English. I thought he competed hard and had a limiting
effect on Nic Nat's output. The longer the game went the better
Tim played. He should take some confidence out of this game.
- Ed Richards. He was sure handed, quick and creative. We got a
lot of drive from him.
- Riley Garcia. He was far from over awed. Goes hard and kicked
a fine goal.
- Mitch Wallis. Threw himself into every contest. He still has a lot
to offer.
- JJ. He ran hard forward and back and provided a good contest
to keep the ball in our scoring zone.
Our defenders were terrific against a four pronged attack that has given many teams a lot of problems. There was a calmness down back that comes from every player knowing his role and his mates knowing that he's going to do what's expected.

I am rapt that we pulled off this great performance on the back of last week's disappointment.

27-06-2021, 08:41 PM
Guns of the west!!!!!! I'm stoked.
Just watching the highlights.
That's one for the faithful; Well done to all supporters of this team. So many great moments.
There is no luck, no poor opposition, just incredible skill and hard work.
Pumped for Garcia after great form in the VFL.
Bont's goal from the boundary was astounding.

27-06-2021, 08:42 PM
That goal by number 4 for us was great :D

27-06-2021, 08:47 PM
And well done to Mitch Wallis!

That first smother from Cody set the tone of the game. He is a live-wire.

27-06-2021, 08:51 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E439uteVcAEWNr3?format=jpg&name=medium

27-06-2021, 08:54 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E439uteVcAEWNr3?format=jpg&name=medium

If'n I was a religious person, I'd wake up every morning and thank the Great Spaghetti Monster in the sky that St Kilda chose Jack Billings.

27-06-2021, 08:55 PM
Marcus Brownlowpelli.

What a game, there's so much spirit in this group. Couldn't be prouder of how we went about it. Some really great individual performances but the team is as good as it's ever been.

27-06-2021, 09:01 PM
Big shout out to Williams today when he had to play tall after Gardner went down. I think he ended up on Darling. In fact Keath, and Cordy held their own on the WC talls.

27-06-2021, 09:02 PM
Thought Cordy battled hard today. Oscar Allen got him a couple of times, but he didn't really do much wrong in those encounters.

27-06-2021, 09:08 PM
Grew more optimistic by the day this week but I didn’t realistically see it happening. Weightma’s goal in the 3rd quarter ended up pivotal and while our opening to the last quarter took a while to be rewarded, once Macrae scored you felt we were in a good spot.

Some amazing players at our club currently. Bontempelli & Naughton are scintillating to watch when on.

27-06-2021, 09:12 PM
Grew more optimistic by the day this week but I didn’t realistically see it happening. Weightma’s goal in the 3rd quarter ended up pivotal and while our opening to the last quarter took a while to be rewarded, once Macrae scored you felt we were in a good spot.

Some amazing players at our club currently. Bontempelli & Naughton are scintillating to watch when on.

Was really good to see Weightman kick that goal.
I must admit at start of the year, I was struggling to see how he fit into our forward structure. He has really fitted in and added a new dynamic to our attack.

27-06-2021, 09:17 PM
I must admit at start of the year, I was struggling to see how he fit into our forward structure. He has really fitted in and added a new dynamic to our attack.

I love his repeat sprints inside 50, especially as he’s very quick at sub 3 seconds over 20m. Nothing will appear on the stat sheet if he can’t tackle or smoother, but he rushes opponents kicks out of defence so often that they’re not precise and give our mids the chance to intercept and make repeat 50 entries. I imagine Bevo loved that stuff even if the stat sheets say nothing. I hope he continues to deliver what he’s doing. He may never play VFL again.

27-06-2021, 09:20 PM

6 games he has kicked 10 goals

27-06-2021, 09:27 PM
I love his repeat sprints inside 50, especially as he’s very quick at sub 3 seconds over 20m. Nothing will appear on the stat sheet if he can’t tackle or smoother, but he rushes opponents kicks out of defence so often that they’re not precise and give our mids the chance to intercept and make repeat 50 entries. I imagine Bevo loved that stuff even if the stat sheets say nothing. I hope he continues to deliver what he’s doing. He may never play VFL again.

And they're the bits to his game he's added. I didn't know he had those strings to his bow. The fact he's bringing this, not only helps his game, but it just exponentially adds to the danger factor of our forward line.
We're also blessed that not only is Naughton is an aerial freak, but also a speedy, impacftful defensive pressure forward.

27-06-2021, 09:41 PM
Would have been great to watch those guys go around.

Still have very fond memories of these times, and those players. Sadly the only thing we had to show for those years were four night premierships, and the '61 Grand final.

27-06-2021, 09:46 PM
A big shout out to our defensive 6. They're not all superstars but they play to their strengths and as a unit. Still under rated amongst the football media. About time commentators gave them recognition as amongst the best in the competition.

27-06-2021, 10:02 PM
A big shout out to our defensive 6. They're not all superstars but they play to their strengths and as a unit. Still under rated amongst the football media. About time commentators gave them recognition as amongst the best in the competition.

There is no doubt it's the weakest part of our list, but kudos to our coaching staff to devise a game plan that mitigates it.
We simply try to set up a game that limits the time spent in opposition forward 50. We do look out gunned when ball gets there quickly. But overall we do a great job defending the ground, and limit the quick ball movement of opposition teams. Opposition teams struggle to engineer enough quick ball to exploit our back 6 flaws.
All week, all I heard in the media was how West Coast have the best 3 headed monster forward line in the competition.

As it stands, we have allowed the least points in the comp.
I'm reminded of King Philip sending a message to the Spartans saying “If I invade Lakonia you will be destroyed, never to rise again.” The Spartans replied with one word, “If.” ...

This week it was Adam Simpson telling Bevo ' If I send the ball quickly and regularly into our forward line, I will crush the Bulldogs!' and Bevo simply responding with 'IF'

27-06-2021, 10:17 PM
Great performance this afternoon from start to finish. One of our best of the year. Had we kicked straight we could have won by a lot more.

Bont, B Smith, Naughton, Macrae, Hunter, Libba, Richards all very good. Liked how Garcia went about it. Bont kicked the goal of the year. That was fantastic.

Looking forward now to hopefully going next Sunday at Marvel.

27-06-2021, 10:24 PM
Great performance this afternoon from start to finish. One of our best of the year. Had we kicked straight we could have won by a lot more.

Bont, B Smith, Naughton, Macrae, Hunter, Libba, Richards all very good. Liked how Garcia went about it. Bont kicked the goal of the year. That was fantastic.

Looking forward now to hopefully going next Sunday at Marvel.

Garcia is really looking like another great late draft pick by our recruiting team. Once he gets some games under his belt, he's got some traits that really fit in well with our system. He looks to really love the hard stuff, and the effort based stuff. Maybe a comparison to a 'motovated' Dahlhaus?

27-06-2021, 10:36 PM
Was really pleased to see us win all 4 quarters today (albeit the 3rd by only a point). We persisted all day and never really dropped our guard. The Eagles got 2 in a row on one occasion, and truth be told - it was a horror off break of a bounced that saw Allen end up with the footy for a touch snapped goal. Apart from that we always seemed well on top and from what I could tell on tv - set up the ground really well. Liked what we did from their kick outs. Setting ourselves (the major group) deeper towards the wing for Hurn's huge kicking . They were never able to get out the back of us - and they certainly had no shortage of kick ins.

Great all round performance.

27-06-2021, 10:58 PM
Garcia is really looking like another great late draft pick by our recruiting team. Once he gets some games under his belt, he's got some traits that really fit in well with our system. He looks to really love the hard stuff, and the effort based stuff. Maybe a comparison to a 'motovated' Dahlhaus?

He's got that bit of attitude about him too. Our recruiters have knocked it out of the park.
Can't believe we've beaten both Perth teams in Perth! Surely this can't be real.

27-06-2021, 11:04 PM
Marcus Brownlowpelli.

What a game, there's so much spirit in this group. Couldn't be prouder of how we went about it. Some really great individual performances but the team is as good as it's ever been.

Strongest TEAM we've had at this stage of a season. The 2016 version was the genuine article by the end of the season, this version has the clipboard out and is ticking boxes.

27-06-2021, 11:07 PM

Defending's only valid if you have dominant intercept marking players as far as the media is concerned. Apparently that's the only way you can defend.

27-06-2021, 11:09 PM
There is no doubt it's the weakest part of our list, but kudos to our coaching staff to devise a game plan that mitigates it.
We simply try to set up a game that limits the time spent in opposition forward 50. We do look out gunned when ball gets there quickly. But overall we do a great job defending the ground, and limit the quick ball movement of opposition teams. Opposition teams struggle to engineer enough quick ball to exploit our back 6 flaws.
All week, all I heard in the media was how West Coast have the best 3 headed monster forward line in the competition.

As it stands, we have allowed the least points in the comp.
I'm reminded of King Philip sending a message to the Spartans saying “If I invade Lakonia you will be destroyed, never to rise again.” The Spartans replied with one word, “If.” ...

This week it was Adam Simpson telling Bevo ' If I send the ball quickly and regularly into our forward line, I will crush the Bulldogs!' and Bevo simply responding with 'IF'

The creative bit before things get really purple!

27-06-2021, 11:13 PM
The creative bit before things get really purple!

I've got an RDO tomorrow and the kids are going to vacation care.. things are going to get alot more purplier.

27-06-2021, 11:25 PM
Defending's only valid if you have dominant intercept marking players as far as the media is concerned. Apparently that's the only way you can defend.

And a sexy moustache like Lever...

27-06-2021, 11:48 PM

Yeah agree, disappointing to see Gardner go down I'm really liking the three tall defenders. I actually thought it was one of Cordy's better performances today he seem to play the man rather than space.

Bevo said a month ago he would experiment with it and I think we may of found a better balance without Crozier/Wood and instead adding another attacking defender in Richards. I think this mix works better when we are down Dunks/Treloar as it enables Caleb to push up on to a wing and we then saw Bailey Smith go back inside.

Its never easy finding the sweet spot but Bevo has got the balance right this year there is no doubt about it.

28-06-2021, 12:01 AM
Is Caleb's spoil that resulted in blood from the face of WC player going to be looked at? You never know with these dirty mongrels at the AFL?

28-06-2021, 12:09 AM
Is Caleb's spoil that resulted in blood from the face of WC player going to be looked at? You never know with these dirty mongrels at the AFL?

That was interesting, and of course the commentary team wanted Caleb penalised.

However, he actually punched the ball. Without a slow motion replay, you can't be sure that it wasn't the ball that actually caused the injury to Gaff. Caleb played at the ball legitimately and whatever contact occurred was incidental.

28-06-2021, 12:13 AM
I've got an RDO tomorrow and the kids are going to vacation care.. things are going to get alot more purplier.

You'll be chasing a goon bag strapped to the clothesline when they get home at a quarter to four after a marathon effort.

28-06-2021, 12:14 AM

However, he actually punched the ball. Without a slow motion replay, you can't be sure that it wasn't the ball that actually caused the injury to Gaff. Caleb played at the ball legitimately and whatever contact occurred was incidental.

Should've been a free kick against Caleb.... But in the wash fair enough given Josh Kennedy was gifted a nark/goal from a 7 metre kick.

28-06-2021, 12:21 AM
Yeah agree, disappointing to see Gardner go down I'm really liking the three tall defenders. I actually thought it was one of Cordy's better performances today he seem to play the man rather than space.

Bevo said a month ago he would experiment with it and I think we may of found a better balance without Crozier/Wood and instead adding another attacking defender in Richards. I think this mix works better when we are down Dunks/Treloar as it enables Caleb to push up on to a wing and we then saw Bailey Smith go back inside.

Its never easy finding the sweet spot but Bevo has got the balance right this year there is no doubt about it.

Almost as if he knows what he's been doing and has been tinkering to get where we are right now.

I understand the angst a lot of the time when it comes to his selections, player preferences and all of those things, but it's all about context and perspective and the longer term approach when it comes to Bevo.

The last few years have been frustrating as hell, but they've also vetted a HUGE amount of players and their credentials to complement our core of more talented personnel. For a top two team at this stage of the season we've played a substantial mix, and we've gotten here by throwing the names around pretty much since 2018, and it's paying off.

My view is that a finals win is still the goal, but we're good enough to go a few week's deep into the finals if things go our way. It's likely we make top four from here, and if we win a final we get to a prelim and from there it's game on.

28-06-2021, 12:21 AM

I agree but stranger reports have happened this year

28-06-2021, 12:26 AM
You'll be chasing a goon bag strapped to the clothesline when they get home at a quarter to four after a marathon effort.

Correction.. they'll be enthusiastically cheering Dad on chasing a goonbag round the clothesline at a quarter to 4.
my 5 year old daughter: 'Why is Daddy chasing red cordial dripping from the clothesline
8 year old son' I'm not sure, but I'm more confused why he's calling out 'Naughty' every time he manages to get some drops him his mouth'

28-06-2021, 12:27 AM
Should've been a free kick against Caleb.... But in the wash fair enough given Josh Kennedy was gifted a nark/goal from a 7 metre kick.

I don't have the rule book with me but is that how it works?

If a player has sole intent for the football, meets and makes contact with the football but incidentally takes an opponent high does that constitute a penalty?

28-06-2021, 12:27 AM
Correction.. they'll be enthusiastically cheering Dad on chasing a goonbag round the clothesline at a quarter to 4.
my 5 year old daughter: 'Why is Daddy chasing red cordial dripping from the clothesline
8 year old son' I'm not sure, but I'm more confused why he's calling out 'Naughty' every time he manages to get some drops him his mouth'

I guffawed.

28-06-2021, 12:31 AM
I don't have the rule book with me but is that how it works?

If a player has sole intent for the football, meets and makes contact with the football but incidentally takes an opponent high does that constitute a penalty?

Me and my wife had the same discussion....it was good.. we still ended up having 'marital relations' afterwards... we settled on a free kick being an equitable outcome....and agreeing that Michael Christian's involvement would both be a mood killer and unnecessary.

28-06-2021, 12:35 AM
Me and my wife had the same discussion....it was good.. we still ended up having 'marital relations' afterwards... we settled on a free kick being an equitable outcome....and agreeing that Michael Christian's involvement would both be a mood killer and unnecessary.

Mate, you and I are chalk and cheese.

28-06-2021, 09:11 AM
I had the pleasure of watching the game on replay rather than live which allowed me to avoid the angst of missing gettable goals and having emotional outbursts.

The boys seriously put on an impressive performance other than a couple of 5-6 minute patches we dominated from start to finish.

Ryan Gardner is going to be a huge loss, fingers crossed it won't be for the season but it doesn't look great.

Fantastic to see Ed Richards back, Tim English cop a couple of knocks and still stand up, Bailey Smith seem to go back to basics and played his best game for ten weeks.

Great win after a trying 10 day stretch. Now we need to back it up over the next three weeks.

#BeMoreBulldog

28-06-2021, 09:26 AM
Years of grinding to a halt after not putting on enough scoreboard pressure and being beaten by 15 minutes or so of good footy from the opposition had me pretty sceptical right up until Macrae’s goal. It was in fair of me to feel that way given how dominant we were.

Outworked them in the wet, with some real SCRAGGERS FOOTY, then pulled their pants down in the dry after they evened the effort a little, must have been frustrating for WCE.

I think English improved as the game wore on, really pleasing. Still want him and BDSM or Sweet more often than not.
Gardner is a blow structurally, he was solid and settling back in well.
Ed and Toby have had strong returns to senior footy so far, Richards was superb I thought. Competition is hot, hot, hot for a few roles.

Bruce has found himself in a position where he can contribute even if the goals aren’t coming. His turn around has been quite incredible.

28-06-2021, 09:26 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gu2PhCmBGt8&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs