View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee - Round 15 Vs West Coast Eagles 2021

Pages : 1 [2]

meenies
25-06-2021, 05:09 PM
Left field. Schache as sub.

Not so crazy with Naughton still sore. Could be an early target for WCE to test those ribs.

25-06-2021, 05:16 PM
Happy with that. Would’ve preferred Schache for Hannan.

Think that'll all come down to the weather. Schache would be awful in the wet and by the sounds of it, it's gonna bucket down.

25-06-2021, 05:17 PM
West Coast Eagles v Western Bulldogs
Sunday 27 June, 1.20pm AWST / 3.20pm AEST
Optus Stadium

B: Ryan Gardner, Alex Keath, Bailey Williams
HB: Taylor Duryea, Zaine Cordy, Bailey Dale
C: Caleb Daniel, Tom Liberatore, Lachie Hunter
HF: Jason Johannisen, Aaron Naughton, Cody Weightman
F: Anthony Scott, Josh Bruce, Marcus Bontempelli
R: Tim English, Jack Macrae, Bailey Smith
Int: Toby McLean, Ed Richards, Mitch Hannan, Riley Garcia
Emer: Mitch Wallis, Hayden Crozier, Josh Schache, Roarke Smith

In: Ed Richards, Riley Garcia
Out: Hayden Crozier, Roarke Smith

Pleasantly surprised with those changes. Having said that would have been ok with Smith staying in ahead of Garcia.

Hopefully Scott plays on McGovern this week from the start of the game to limit his influence.

25-06-2021, 05:18 PM
Happy with that. Would’ve preferred Schache for Hannan.

Once someone makes it to your s*it list, they are on it!

25-06-2021, 05:21 PM
Pleasantly surprised with those changes. Having said that would have been ok with Smith staying in ahead of Garcia.

Hopefully Scott plays on McGovern this week from the start of the game to limit his influence.

Garcia in is a classic Bevo move. From WA, so his family will be in attendance I'm sure.

That's a pretty strong endorsement for Richards by the MC. As soon as they realistically could they got him in. He's got a lot of potential, very excited to see him back.

Once someone makes it to your s*it list, they are on it!

Interesting. Welcome to the list Azabob. :D

25-06-2021, 05:22 PM
Surprised a little by the Roarke omission, they may have dropped the wrong Smith.

25-06-2021, 05:23 PM
That's a pretty strong endorsement for Richards by the MC. As soon as they realistically could they got him in. He's got a lot of potential, very excited to see him back.

It was the same with McLean and whilst he was very rusty last week, his effort couldn't be questioned. Hopefully Ed plays a blinder.

25-06-2021, 05:23 PM

It isn't really that surprising though. As Jeemak has pointed out many times where ever he is fit he plays most of the time.

Also very happy to see him back in.

25-06-2021, 05:31 PM
About as good as hoped, happy to see Crozier have a spell after a run of poor form. Richards to his spot in the backline I'm guessing.

25-06-2021, 05:42 PM
Roarke is good in the wet. Reckon he'll be the sub.

25-06-2021, 06:01 PM
Garcia gets debut 2.0 in front of his family which is cool.

25-06-2021, 06:03 PM
It isn't really that surprising though. As Jeemak has pointed out many times where ever he is fit he plays most of the time.

Also very happy to see him back in.

It's amazing what people pick up on when you say the same thing a thousand times as if it's insightful and the first time you've said it!

25-06-2021, 06:27 PM
Feels very 2020 that lineup.

Awesome effort from Richards to get back after one game at the VFL obviously like Mclean is doing the right things. Have my fingers crossed for both of them.

25-06-2021, 06:39 PM
Like the changes. We’re a big chance.

25-06-2021, 06:42 PM
Feels very 2020 that lineup.

Awesome effort from Richards to get back after one game at the VFL obviously like Mclean is doing the right things. Have my fingers crossed for both of them.

Thought the same thing. Missing some Billy Gowers though.

25-06-2021, 06:55 PM
Thought the same thing. Missing some Billy Gowers though.

Billy is absolutely crushing it this year. Running around kicking bags in the VFL with pink hair. Also appears to know where they keep the weights at Southport. Happy for him.

25-06-2021, 06:58 PM
So… is that a “WA is too hard to win and let’s tank and save our best for next week” selection?

25-06-2021, 06:59 PM
Billy is absolutely crushing it this year. Running around kicking bags in the VFL with pink hair. Also appears to know where they keep the weights at Southport. Happy for him.

Well, we have Mitch Hannan now.

25-06-2021, 07:00 PM
Well, we have Mitch Hannan now.

I'm down to talk a *lot* of shit about Hannan but he has Bill covered.

25-06-2021, 07:09 PM
I don't often comment on team selection, however, looking at the big picture I feel Hannan needs to have a very good game if he is to keep his place in the side. He needs to hit the scoreboard, help lock the ball in our forward line and curb any influence by his opponent.

25-06-2021, 07:24 PM
I don't often comment on team selection, however, looking at the big picture I feel Hannan needs to have a very good game if he is to keep his place in the side. He needs to hit the scoreboard, help lock the ball in our forward line and curb any influence by his opponent.

He has been underwhelming to say the least.

25-06-2021, 07:25 PM

Any one of those things would be a good start!

25-06-2021, 07:34 PM
Naughton to face Eagles (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/963949/naughton-to-face-eagles?fbclid=IwAR2SPPIwzo7oCKGYWGBYSA3Xygi_DzU6v_v5_XoNJb-65-fpWCfHWMIKAy4)

Western Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge has confirmed key forward Aaron Naughton will play against West Coast, having overcome a rib injury.

Naughton was subbed out of the Dogs' heartbreaking loss to Geelong after colliding with Jed Bews when contesting a ball on the half-time siren.

"He's good, he recovered really well," Beveridge said.

"He had a scan quickly after the game and thankfully that came up all clear. He's trained and he'll play on Sunday, he'll be fine."

Josh Schache is on standby as the sole tall emergency, with the Dogs having only taken an additional three players (Ed Richards and Riley Garcia the others) to the 23 who took on the Cats.

The team has been staying in Joondalup this week, able to leave only for training at WAFL club West Perth and Optus Stadium, as well as the game itself. They'll return to Melbourne immediately after the match against the Eagles on Sunday.

Beveridge said the Bulldogs were wary of the impact in-form ruck Nic Naitanui could have on the match, considering his strong finish to the match against Richmond and the fact the Dogs only have one recognised ruck in Tim English.

Stef Martin did not make the trip to Perth, finishing his recovery from a shoulder issue, but Beveridge said has since picked up a groin complaint at training.

"We've just got to be smart about it from a coaching point of view. You don't concede, but you understand where the vulnerability might be. We've watched him tear apart other really experienced ruckmen, so you expect Nic will have a big influence on the game at the stoppages," Beveridge said.

"I thought he finished off his game as well as he has all year against Richmond, and he played more game time in that last quarter than perhaps what we've seen.

"So, we understand what we're coming up against, we'll need to organise ourselves and be ready for the stoppage aspect, then away from that, we need to work out where we'll get our advantages and how we support Tim in the ruck.

"We saw what Max Gawn did to us against Melbourne with young 'Sweety' (Jordon Sweet), who's still learning the caper, we've got to make some decisions around that position at selection and see where we can get some advantages elsewhere.

"So unfortunately, we're probably where we were last year with all that, at the moment, not ideal, but we just have to tackle it."

Tim getting recognised as a ruck, but really we're going in with no ruckman.

Has Goldy been playing every week for Norf?

25-06-2021, 07:39 PM
Maybe, but no use carrying a ruck just to help other areas when those other areas might not actually be better with the structure you end up with.... and the ruck doesn't really help you play any better.

English has had 1 really good game as a pure forward and been a mixture of poor and ok at other times so I'm not yet convinced that our team looks best with English as forward/ruck... but given the injuries to all it hasn't been used as often as we would've liked.

Agreed. English has actually done most of his best work marking deep balls in D50. Something he's unable to achieve playing forward.

25-06-2021, 07:41 PM
I really don't get the tanking argument. It's going to be raining taking away WCE's main strength in clean use off the contests and tall forwards dominating the air.

We're up to our eyeballs in this and we've selected the appropriate side. If it wasn't going to be wet I'd be more concerned.

Let's have a little bit of enthusiasm and faith WOOFERS, it's on!

25-06-2021, 09:02 PM

SO he needs to be something other than a witches hat?

25-06-2021, 10:07 PM
You can't say that? Sweet hasn't been effective in the games he has played.

Stats

2021 Games Log for Jordon Sweet (Western Bulldogs)

Description
Date
Opponent
Result
K
HB
D
M
G
B
T
HO
GA
I50
CL
CG
R50
FF
FA
AF
SC

Round 11
May 28
Demons (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-melbourne-demons)
Loss 59-87 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10422)

Round 10
May 22
Saints (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints)
Win 144-33 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10414)

Round 9
May 15
Power (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)
Win 96-77 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10406)

Round 8
May 9
Blues (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)
Win 107-91 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10396)

Round 5
Apr 17
Suns (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-gold-coast-suns)
Win 118-56 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10365)

2021 Games Log for Jordon Sweet (Western Bulldogs)

Description
Date
Opponent
Result
CP
UP
ED
CM
MI5
1%
BO
CCL
SCL
SI
MG
TO
ITC
TI5
TOG%

Round 11
May 28
Demons (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-melbourne-demons)
Loss 59-87 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10422)

Round 10
May 22
Saints (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints)
Win 144-33 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10414)

Round 9
May 15
Power (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)
Win 96-77 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10406)

Round 8
May 9
Blues (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)
Win 107-91 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10396)

Round 5
Apr 17
Suns (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-gold-coast-suns)
Win 118-56 (https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=10365)

As I have said previously, I would have had Schache in (sorry Happy Days) as the 2nd ruck and we can still maintain the three prong tall attack. However, with rain forecast, maybe that won't work this week.
All you have shown is Sweet has had 1 very bad game, his 5th against the number one ruckman,Gawn.

English’s 40th game was against Melbourne and he had 6 possessions and 6 hitouts. Equally bad according to the AFL stats site. .Actually worse because Gawn didn’t play. The weeks before and after English did no better than Sweet usually does in both possessions and hitouts. Fortunately, that wasn’t the end of English. It probably will be the end of Sweet.

26-06-2021, 06:14 AM
Garcia and Richards are worth taking a look at right now.

Based on output, we know what Crozier and Roarke have as ceilings this year. Croz can’t impact contests in the air like has was a few years ago, his timing is off, he goes to ground, his kicking always seems under pressure. I like the Croz and back him in to turn it around at some point, but let’s see him string together a few good games and build confidence at VFL level. Roarke has done OK, he fills a role when the injuries mount, he’s reliable enough and works hard. He is also prone to making mistakes and isn’t going to influence a game, cause opposition sides headaches or add the class we will need when the whips get cracking.

Garcia and Richards need to show they can master the defensive aspects of the game. If the work rate is high, the pressure and tackle counts and effectiveness solid, then they add more. It’s now their’s to show what they can do on that end - I think ball in hand we know they can be smooth, and we know they have wheels.

26-06-2021, 07:57 AM
Lachlan McNeil’s faded from view, hoping he can play well today given there’s likely a spot for a pressure forward if things don’t go well tomorrow.

26-06-2021, 08:09 AM
No rucks again this week and they dropped Wallis our other ruck. Maybe Mitch Hannan will take the centre bounces and let English play as our 3rd tall.

26-06-2021, 08:17 AM

He really needed that a couple of games back. I had high hopes for Hannan but he hasn't quite lived up to that expectation. Maybe the slow start with his injury has impacted his season so far but we do need more from him soon.
Our recent struggles with having English missing a few games and now Martin not being available have opened up a spot for Hannan that you could argue he hasn't quite deserved but given we haven't been able to have our 3 tall forwards available he has been given an extended opportunity.

Lets hope the wide open spaces of Optus oval suit him and he can turn some doubters into believers.

26-06-2021, 08:24 AM
Best stadium in the universe, in fact.

To be fair, it actually is pretty good.

I mean, Subi was an abomination but this new place is pretty good.

26-06-2021, 09:10 AM
Schache has a higher chance of kicking a goal than Hannan and can ruck. Both have pretty much the same defensive ability.

Wallis is the best Mitch at our club and doesn't get in the way of our forwards flying for marks and knows what it means to play accountable football.

To say Hannan needs to make a contribution is an understatement.

26-06-2021, 01:21 PM
I wasn’t a fan of getting Hannan to the club, and nothing has changed. But he must be doing his KPI’s to remain in the team. In all his games so far I haven’t seen anything to keep warranting selection. Hoping he can add something this week, but I’m not holding my breath. The expected rain might’ve just saved him this week.

26-06-2021, 06:22 PM
To be fair, it actually is pretty good.

I mean, Subi was an abomination but this new place is pretty good.

Yeah I don't doubt it is. I'm just poking fun at it and those who have repeatedly talked it up because I'm a jerk.

26-06-2021, 06:23 PM
I think Hannan is probably covering a lot of ground and setting up in the right spots. Hard to tell.

26-06-2021, 10:11 PM
I think Hannan is probably covering a lot of ground and setting up in the right spots. Hard to tell.

Agree.

From the eye test I think he is involved in the play a lot more now than what he was a month ago. Execution is still very poor but he's been given time to grow into the role and seems to be doing it.

If it clicks we have a pacy mid sized forward who is a great mark in our set-up. Cant see JUH having the tank or disinclined to play the role yet, Wallis is too limited in other aspects of the game, Schache is just not good. Crozier is the next best candidate for me and his work as a forward for us has been underwhelming.

27-06-2021, 10:44 AM

If that's the requirement that gives hope to all of us for a career in the AFL.

Hannan can't get near it and we all know it.

27-06-2021, 11:31 AM

Yeah silly me watching the game wrong again.

He’s gotta have a higher assessment on his performance if this is him hitting his KPIs. Pretty sure literally anyone could hit these KPIs.

27-06-2021, 11:52 AM
Yeah I think I am more pro Hannan than most but I am struggling to see why he is in the side right now. He contests well in the air I think, good at the pressure acts and creating space for others but as HD states, his KPIs aren't massive. I don't think he is doing enough of the other things, namely getting it, kicking goals....again I don't mind him and thing he has improvement in him but I think a few wouldn't mind his KPIs atm.

27-06-2021, 11:57 AM
Yeah I think I am more pro Hannan than most but I am struggling to see why he is in the side right now. He contests well in the air I think, good at the pressure acts and creating space for others but as HD states, his KPIs aren't massive. I don't think he is doing enough of the other things, namely getting it, kicking goals....again I don't mind him and thing he has improvement in him but I think a few wouldn't mind his KPIs atm.

I guess the test would be if Martin was fit and available meaning English was returning to the forward line would there still be a spot for Hannan?

27-06-2021, 01:05 PM
No crowds today just announced - bummer for Perth WOOFers but surely a plus for our chances?

27-06-2021, 01:09 PM
No crowds today just announced - bummer for Perth WOOFers but surely a plus for our chances?

I'm convinced our guys prefer crowds even if it's hostile. The players and coaches have said as much.

27-06-2021, 01:11 PM
Hannan's primary job should be defensive forward. Position himself to spoil the likes of Stewart, Lever, Moore ect, he has the leap to jump over anyone. And once the ball is on the ground he is an offensive forward keeping his man accountable. Also blocking and trying to create space for our lead up forwards to work into. Right now I don't see him do those things very successfully but I'm glad we are giving him games to work himself into form. Although his chances must be dwindling by now you would think

27-06-2021, 01:30 PM
I'm convinced our guys prefer crowds even if it's hostile. The players and coaches have said as much.

Agreed but I genuinely feel that crowd sways the umpires as much as any. Affirmation bias.

27-06-2021, 02:31 PM
FINAL TEAMS: No late changes

sub: Mitch Wallis

27-06-2021, 03:12 PM

Yeah silly me watching the game wrong again.

He’s gotta have a higher assessment on his performance if this is him hitting his KPIs. Pretty sure literally anyone could hit these KPIs.

Not saying it's right or that I agree with his continued selection, though Bevo has called out this element for both he and JJ in recent weeks.

Perhaps he's getting an allowance for not having played in our system for long and being seen as crucial for our make-up later in the year. I don't know, just spit balling.

27-06-2021, 03:17 PM
Yeah I don't doubt it is. I'm just poking fun at it and those who have repeatedly talked it up because I'm a jerk.

Um - I think there are definitely issues with the stadium and issues like the lack of vendors on L3, the train/bus getting to the ground disaster that funnels everyone to the casino, the challenges with the upper deck entrance/getting to your seat and the #1 problem - I can't get up on the day of an Eagles game and just decide to go the footy because it simply isn't big enough (on purpose to create a waiting list for memberships and hold ticket prices up) all need to be made fun of and I am pretty happy for you to do that.

Subi was simply SO BAD though that as someone who does like to occasionally go to a game it is nice to have a venue that has been set up with the idea that people might come rather than hope they don't.

The

27-06-2021, 03:25 PM
Nice

27-06-2021, 06:00 PM
I have us a better team when at full strength, but given WC will add Yeo & Shuey to their midfield and we lose Dunkley, Treloar & Martin from ours from our last clash you would think the odds are weighted heavily in WC's favour to get the better of us?

Last time we had Martin, Dunks and Treloar. And Naughton who I don't think will play Sunday.

I'm just not sure how you can say that. I know there is water under the bridge and form and all sorts but we were like - really (REALLY) good in the last 20 mins of that game and had other periods of total dominance...we also kicked the ball to McGovern a bit so there's that I guess. Then again, a couple of weeks back we kicked it to Lever and last week we kicked it to Stewart.

LOL - My post was like, 1 minute later...sorry mate!

I meant that more along the lines of how we play rather than personnel, I mean without those two we nearly knocked off what was the form team of the competition at their shitty home ground.

For some reason I'm excited about what we can do this week, but am also fully prepared to be knocked back to reality!

Things turned out pretty well! ;)

I thought as a team we were excellent across the ground, committed and extremely difficult to score and move the ball forward againts.

Still some issues with not working hard enough to provide an option on the fat side but it's improved.

Pretty happy, and can't wait to get Dunkley and Treloar back.

27-06-2021, 06:30 PM

I thought as a team we were excellent across the ground, committed and extremely difficult to score and move the ball forward againts.

Still some issues with not working hard enough to provide an option on the fat side but it's improved.

Definitely the most committed performance of the year. Our ability to stifle their movement from half back despite numerous switching attempts from their defenders was incredible.

27-06-2021, 06:32 PM
Definitely the most committed performance of the year. Our ability to stifle their movement from half back despite numerous switching attempts from their defenders was incredible.

It reminded me somewhat of what Melbourne did to us, albeit WCE do like to hang onto the footy and move it cautiously more than we might.

27-06-2021, 11:08 PM

Presuming we are lucky on the injury front….who makes way for Treloar and Dunkley? Maclean has been very good and can play a negating role well as be a threat himself. Garcia/McNeil & Hannan? We will have to replace Gardner with Young you’d think. And who will make way so Martin can play (presuming he comes good soon) and allow English to play forward?

Nice quandary for coaches to have.

27-06-2021, 11:33 PM
Presuming we are lucky on the injury front….who makes way for Treloar and Dunkley? Maclean has been very good and can play a negating role well as be a threat himself. Garcia/McNeil & Hannan? We will have to replace Gardner with Young you’d think. And who will make way so Martin can play (presuming he comes good soon) and allow English to play forward?

Nice quandary for coaches to have.

Wallis, Garcia, Scott and Hannan most likely, and with the latter two that's only because I think Bevo really likes Toby and Ed (as do I). I thought all four were excellent in their own way today, each contributed in different ways.