Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

05-07-2021, 01:27 PM

05-07-2021, 01:28 PM
Still need to confirm the date and time for this one.

Big game. Need to do better I feel than we did last night. We were a little flat at times.

05-07-2021, 03:40 PM
Still need to confirm the date and time for this one.

Big game. Need to do better I feel than we did last night. We were a little flat at times.

According to Fox Sports it will be 3.20 on Sunday.

05-07-2021, 03:42 PM

I hate Sunday games, but at least better than 4.40

05-07-2021, 03:52 PM
At 3.20 with an open roof, it's going to be shocking if there's any sun about.

05-07-2021, 04:08 PM

HUN and Longmire disagrees:

Sydney will stay in Melbourne for another week to take on the Western Bulldogs, which Swans coach John Longmire said he expected to be played at Marvel Stadium on Saturday night.

“We were told on the way in, not from anyone internally, that we were playing on Saturday night,” Longmire said on Sunday.

“But I’m yet to hear any official word yet.”

05-07-2021, 04:24 PM
I'll be happy with 3.20 Sunday.

It will allow me to go.

Surely with the absence of cases we can go back to normal crowds and conditions.

Even when they had positive cases attend matches earlier this year, there were no reports of any transmission attributable to football attendance.

05-07-2021, 07:12 PM
3:20pm Sunday at Marvel confirmed.

05-07-2021, 07:22 PM
Forward line looks flat without Naughts. Who will play on Cody? If it's Lloyd he'll make him nervous in the air.

06-07-2021, 09:51 PM
I believe at this stage the roof will be open again unless there a new announcements.

07-07-2021, 12:16 AM
I believe at this stage the roof will be open again unless there a new announcements.

Announcements will happen on Thursday.

07-07-2021, 12:16 AM
Dogs by 26

First Goal Bruce

BOG: Bont

07-07-2021, 07:55 AM
We are the boggy team for the swans.

Dogs by 32 points
1st goal McClean
BOG Libba.

07-07-2021, 10:31 AM
Announcements will happen on Thursday.

Could be today. It is being reported that crowds will increase to 75%.

07-07-2021, 10:32 AM
We are the boggy team for the swans.

Not since we played them at Whitten Oval in the middle of winter.

07-07-2021, 12:04 PM
Could be today. It is being reported that crowds will increase to 75%.

Confirmed 75% to a maximum of 40,000 for outdoor stadiums. Assume this will mean roof open but have to wait and see.

07-07-2021, 12:13 PM
JUH to debut?

07-07-2021, 12:35 PM
JUH to debut?

What makes you say that?

07-07-2021, 12:37 PM
What makes you say that?

The romantic in me?
Sheer unadulterated speculation?
Being stuck in a foreign country and wanting some entertainment?
Being from the Western District and a bit one-eyed towards players from that region?:D

07-07-2021, 12:38 PM
The romantic in me?
Sheer unadulterated speculation?
Being stuck in a foreign country and wanting some entertainment?
Being from the Western District and a bit one-eyed towards players from that region?:D

Oh, I thought something had happened to prompt that.

07-07-2021, 12:43 PM
JUH to debut?

Probably better off in the match committee thread GD where it is discussed every week. :D

07-07-2021, 12:47 PM
Oh, I thought something had happened to prompt that.

Sorry Comrade. Apologies:)

07-07-2021, 10:29 PM
Margin: Dogs by 8 points
First goal: Bruce
Best on ground: Libba

08-07-2021, 03:09 PM
Dogs by 25
FG Jamarra
BOG Jamarra (5)
Rising Star Jamarra

08-07-2021, 04:29 PM
Sydney by 4 points (one of 2 losses for the rest of the year).
1st goal - Bruce
BOG - bonti

08-07-2021, 08:06 PM
Probably better off in the match committee thread GD where it is discussed every week. :D

Bulldogs by 10 points
1st Goal JUH, Axe Man.
BOG probably edited - Mitch Wallis to turn back the clock.

Come on Jamarra. Help get us over the line with Sydney.
Should be a great game. I have a lot of respect for the Swans.

08-07-2021, 08:07 PM
Sydney by 4 points (one of 2 losses for the rest of the year).
1st goal - Bruce
BOG - bonti

What swings the game in Sydney’s favour?

08-07-2021, 09:10 PM
What swings the game in Sydney’s favour?

If Franklin gets up the ground I think he will wreck havoc on Cordy who would most likely take him. I think Hayward will do a job on Dale in a tagging role and then going deep on the rebound.

Naughton is a massive out. Make no mistake of that.

Swans have some good kids. If they can break even in the clearances I think that will just be enough for them to kick a winning score.

Sydney have a diverse fwd line with buddy, papley and Heeney leading the way. Throw Hayward, Wicks, McInerney into the mix and they have good avenues to goal. Gotta keep an eye on that Amarty guy. Looks alright. They have a lot of rotations through the middle with Kennedy, Florent, Parker, mills, hewett and rowbottom.

Need dunks and Treloar back.
Should be a cracker of a game with JUH debuting, but I just feel they’ll do enough when it counts.

08-07-2021, 09:49 PM
If Franklin gets up the ground I think he will wreck havoc on Cordy who would most likely take him. I think Hayward will do a job on Dale in a tagging role and then going deep on the rebound.

Naughton is a massive out. Make no mistake of that.

Swans have some good kids. If they can break even in the clearances I think that will just be enough for them to kick a winning score.

Sydney have a diverse fwd line with buddy, papley and Heeney leading the way. Throw Hayward, Wicks, McInerney into the mix and they have good avenues to goal. Gotta keep an eye on that Amarty guy. Looks alright. They have a lot of rotations through the middle with Kennedy, Florent, Parker, mills, hewett and rowbottom.

Need dunks and Treloar back.
Should be a cracker of a game with JUH debuting, but I just feel they’ll do enough when it counts.

I’m not sure what makes you think Cordy will run with Buddy… I would think Keath gets that role 100 times out of 100.

Does Hayward have the running power that Dale has?

Naughton is a massive out.. no doubt.

The swans have a pretty slow midfield and whilst Hickey is having a really good season, his ruck work isn’t amazing. We have a clear advantage around the ball and if we make it count we will dictate field position which will give us the edge.

Sydney have some good kids… ours are better.

Anyway as you’ve given us away this week it will be good to have you on our side for 5 of the last 6 weeks. ;)

08-07-2021, 10:00 PM
I’m not sure what makes you think Cordy will run with Buddy… I would think Keath gets that role 100 times out of 100.

Does Hayward have the running power that Dale has?

Naughton is a massive out.. no doubt.

The swans have a pretty slow midfield and whilst Hickey is having a really good season, his ruck work isn’t amazing. We have a clear advantage around the ball and if we make it count we will dictate field position which will give us the edge.

Sydney have some good kids… ours are better.

Anyway as you’ve given us away this week it will be good to have you on our side for 5 of the last 6 weeks. ;)

Well, if buddy gets up to the wing, I’d doubt Keath will go with him. He might, but Bevo likes Keath deep, and so do I.

I’d be confident Hayward would go ok. Just depends on how far Bevo wants his half backs to push fwd. My Hayward lockdown on Dale would be more defensive 50 to mid…not necessarily if Dale ran into the fwd line. Sydney need to stop Dale getting the ball out of defence with his elite kicks.

Yes, we have the better midfield, but without dunks and Treloar, do we have the deepest midfield in THIS game ?

I’m not picking syd by 50 points. This will be a hard slog of gut running. Win the clearances and stop their mid type fwds from kicking goals and we will probably win.
Naughton plays and I’d be picking us. He’s that important.

It will be close either way. Can’t see either team winning over 3 goals.

It’s not about giving us away. I hope we win, and win by 100 pts, but I wasn’t impressed with last weeks effort. We looked a bit tired after a tough month. We won’t win the last 7. This is one I just think we might fall short.

08-07-2021, 10:21 PM
. Win the clearances and stop their mid type fwds from kicking goals and we will probably win.

We are still number one for clearances and Sydney sit 6th, I think we will do ok there.

Can't see Sydney winning this one.

09-07-2021, 10:27 AM
Well, if buddy gets up to the wing, I’d doubt Keath will go with him. He might, but Bevo likes Keath deep, and so do I.

I’d be confident Hayward would go ok. Just depends on how far Bevo wants his half backs to push fwd. My Hayward lockdown on Dale would be more defensive 50 to mid…not necessarily if Dale ran into the fwd line. Sydney need to stop Dale getting the ball out of defence with his elite kicks.

Yes, we have the better midfield, but without dunks and Treloar, do we have the deepest midfield in THIS game ?

I’m not picking syd by 50 points. This will be a hard slog of gut running. Win the clearances and stop their mid type fwds from kicking goals and we will probably win.
Naughton plays and I’d be picking us. He’s that important.

It will be close either way. Can’t see either team winning over 3 goals.

It’s not about giving us away. I hope we win, and win by 100 pts, but I wasn’t impressed with last weeks effort. We looked a bit tired after a tough month. We won’t win the last 7. This is one I just think we might fall short.

I wouldn't read too much into last weeks game.. we did enough to win, whilst not overly exerting ourselves. I would be expecting our pressure to be more like the WC game when we made it extremely difficult for them to move the ball from defence to attack compared to last week when we were largely in 1st gear.

Important our small forwards are on their A game with regard to offensive pressure... with Dunkley & Treloar not far away it's time for the likes of JJ, Hannan, Scott & Wallis to stake their claim for a our spot in our finals team as we can't fit them all in. (Flea still needs to show up, but he's clearly best 22 now)

And whilst our midfield is a little thin in depth, Bont, Macrae & Libba with support from others have been super all year so expecting all to show up on Sunday with the right attitude and to take it up to Sydney.

11-07-2021, 08:54 AM
Swans have been impressive this season performing far better than most would have predicted but we should still be too strong for them.

Dogs by 22 points.
First goal Hunter
BOG Macrae

Marra kicks 1 goal 3 points.

11-07-2021, 10:41 AM
Dogs by 16
First goal JUH
BOG Libba

11-07-2021, 10:44 AM
Bit of a banana peel this one, really think it'll be a dog fight. Just want to get through unscathed with the dub.

11-07-2021, 11:07 AM
Bit of a banana peel this one, really think it'll be a dog fight. Just want to get through unscathed with the dub.

Sick of injuries.

Roof open, so hope they have found a solution for the gulls. I am taking my tennis racket today :D

11-07-2021, 11:28 AM
Sick of injuries.

Roof open, so hope they have found a solution for the gulls. I am taking my tennis racket today :D

Perhaps a wider brimmed hat might be in order? :)

11-07-2021, 11:38 AM
If JUH kicked 5 goals today would Bevo be lauded for being patient and bringing him at the right time or would there be some who would say he should have done it earlier?

I hope he gets the footy a few times early to relieve any nerves he might have.

11-07-2021, 12:05 PM
If JUH kicked 5 goals today would Bevo be lauded for being patient and bringing him at the right time or would there be some who would say he should have done it earlier?

I hope he gets the footy a few times early to relieve any nerves he might have.

If he kicks five goals today we win and I honestly couldn't care less about the background noise.

11-07-2021, 12:33 PM
If JUH kicked 5 goals today would Bevo be lauded for being patient and bringing him at the right time or would there be some who would say he should have done it earlier.

There'd be both, which is why it's good coaches don't pay attention to outside noise.

11-07-2021, 01:48 PM
Marra kicks 1 goal 3 points.

Bulldogs Pessimism! :D
JUH will kick a few
Maybe one less than Mitch Wallis, who is going to have a blinder today.

11-07-2021, 02:06 PM
With all the media scrutiny, the last thing we want is for Marra to hardly get a kick. Hopefully he really plays a blinder, gets an early goal, and gets up and about early to settle those nerves.

11-07-2021, 02:11 PM
With all the media scrutiny, the last thing we want is for Marra to hardly get a kick. Hopefully he really plays a blinder, gets an early goal, and gets up and about early to settle those nerves.

Not really fussed if that's the case, in fact I fully expect him to hardly touch it.

11-07-2021, 02:15 PM
Not really fussed if that's the case, in fact I fully expect him to hardly touch it.

Really? I’m hopeful of 1 goal from him, but you’re not expecting much Comrade ?

11-07-2021, 03:29 PM
I am at sea with this game. Could go either way.
Swans are red hot now.
Means so much if we can get over the line.
Bruce critical.
Bulldogs by 27pts
Fg: Macrae
BOG Libba

11-07-2021, 03:44 PM
Josh Dunkley says he is very close to returning.
Has given a detailed account of the struggles of working through the injury process
Has been running for 10 weeks.

11-07-2021, 04:06 PM
As is always the case I am just happy with a win. Margin 1 point or greater.

PS Great win for the twos.

First Goal: Libba
BOG: Libba

11-07-2021, 04:13 PM
Bloody cold here, but looking forward to this one. Hope we bring our best.

11-07-2021, 04:29 PM
Sydney on top here..13 marks to 1

11-07-2021, 04:29 PM
Come on Foggies we need to settle.

11-07-2021, 04:37 PM
Sydney’s tackling is immense. We need to settle.

11-07-2021, 04:40 PM
Great stuff Libba and Richards goals. Just need to be more direct.

11-07-2021, 04:43 PM
Sydney are just using the ball better and have a paddock up fwd. they go the length of the ground way too easily.

11-07-2021, 04:51 PM
How are there so many free swans players everywhere?

11-07-2021, 04:52 PM
Poor quarter in general. Much like our performance last week but against better opposition. Need to wake up

It’s all about efficiency, swans have it, we don’t.

We are very loose on letting the Wingers roaming around.

11-07-2021, 04:54 PM
Sydney harder and tougher. Using the ball better and playing the ground way better. Going round the boundary and then once inside 50, bringing the ball back to the centre, giving them all their shot on goal directly in front. They look like they will score every entry.
Bulldogs fwd line congested as usual. Just bombing it in. We are winning the clearances, but they are harder in the contest and using the ball better. We are in for a battle here.

11-07-2021, 04:55 PM
Tough start. Their pressure too good and run powerful through our field position.

We just need to turn the dial up a bit though and roll through them.

11-07-2021, 04:55 PM
God I hope that I don't see any Swans fans sooking about the umpiring. Our forwards are either getting held or pushed in the back at every contest, a Swan runs 30 metres without bouncing which leads to a Swans goal, Franklin lands on Keath's *!*!*!*!ing head and it's just play on.

11-07-2021, 04:56 PM
Poor quarter in general. Much like our performance last week but against better opposition. Need to wake up

I think Sydney are just well on top. Not allowing us to play the way we want. Their free players tell me we aren’t defending hard enough.

11-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Bazlenka, read the room mate. Marra had his name all over that contested mark and he calls him out.

11-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Well, we have a game on our hands as I expected. Let's see how we respond. English doing ok in the ruck.

11-07-2021, 05:04 PM
Dogs look like they’re out on their feet.

11-07-2021, 05:06 PM
English getting a bath from Hicky. How about you just man hon up Timmy

11-07-2021, 05:06 PM
Their efficiency going fwd puts us to shame. The way we are playing we must expect Naughton to make an appearance and mark our bombs.

11-07-2021, 05:08 PM
When Dawson kicks 3 goals you know it’s not your day. .
Who’s on Dawson ?

11-07-2021, 05:08 PM
Connection isn’t there at the moment. We dominated 10mins for nothing. A 2020 vibe.

Come on lads

11-07-2021, 05:14 PM
I’m sick to death to just see us allow opposition to make their way to the wing in 2 possessions from a kick out.

11-07-2021, 05:18 PM
I’ve never seen us drop so many marks at marvel. Close the roof.

11-07-2021, 05:20 PM
Bruce…what a joke.

11-07-2021, 05:23 PM
14-7 inside 50’s for us and nothing to show for it. We are fumbling like it’s wet.

11-07-2021, 05:27 PM
I prob just look for it, but everything Hannan does is bad.

11-07-2021, 05:29 PM
Marra. Oof.

How costly is that last goal gonna be. Can’t believe we didn’t just boot it down the line and hit it out hit a throw in.

What is up with our skills today? Worst I’ve seen them and our tackling is woeful.

11-07-2021, 05:30 PM
Not just you. Shouldn’t be in the team.

Well that last stuff up was the perfect way to finish an hour of shouting at the TV.

No. It’s putrid.

We need a big lift across the board in the second half.

Duryea is lucky that the siren blew because he'd absolutely be dragged for that shit kick.

We look a fair way off it today, allowing them the chip kick out of d50 is killing us and Bruce and Marra can't win a ball between them.

11-07-2021, 05:32 PM
Swans keep spreading tbe game wide and making us work. We need to get some momentum back.

Duryea is lucky that the siren blew because he'd absolutely be dragged for that shit kick.

It happens. Apart from that he has been huge.

Messy end to the half, Marra doesnt look quite ready either.

11-07-2021, 05:33 PM

He’s miles off it.

11-07-2021, 05:33 PM
Bont is the best player in the league. I don’t think I’ve seen him miss more targets in a half.

Time to reset. Only 11 points down. But another half of team footy like that and we drop this game.

11-07-2021, 05:34 PM
We’ve got 30 players in our fwd 50 and Sydney have 6. Why do we let that allow to happen against the good teams ?

It happens. Apart from that he has been huge.

It was just awful. He's been our best on for the half but then he doesn't even chip it 15 metres to a man in our defense. Just bomb it up the line and hopefully force a stoppage, instead he kicked it at Cordy's feet.

@Half Time,

Up until that last kick, Duryea was has been best on ground.

Bruce and Jamara need to take those marks.

English has been really poor today except for 5 mins of that quarter. He needs to up the contest against Hickey, and start winning some of these contests.

Goal kicking is killing us. Misses by Bruce, Cody. We are very very luck to be in it still.

Umpire has been atrocious. Keath gets his head sat on by Franklin, right in front of the umpire in the first quarter, and no free. Franklin looks past it, attacking the man, not the ball, and its happened several times. 2 goals in the first quarter where umpire missed frees to the doggies. I have been really filthy on the umpiring up until half way 2nd quarter.

The team's work rate needs to lift and we have been really sloppy all around.

Who is covering Dawson?

Thank you. He’ll kick 4 this half now.

Occasion has been way too big for him. Dropping marks any AFL player should be taking and fumbling everything that comes his way.

Ah well, I wasn’t expecting much based on his VFL form.

11-07-2021, 05:35 PM
Our disposal by foot not under pressure has been appalling in both quarters.

11-07-2021, 05:36 PM
Goal kicking from easy positions not a lot better either

11-07-2021, 05:36 PM
What needs to change for the second half. The forward 50 just not working. Bruce can’t get space and the ball is coming out like a trampoline

Need Wallis, Bruce, JJ snd Hannan all stand up.

11-07-2021, 05:37 PM
Marra should’ve debuted against North if at all. Not Sydney.

11-07-2021, 05:37 PM
It's clear at the game the Swans are working so much harder. I'm surprised the scores are so close.

Their pressure on the ball carrier is as good as I've seen this year, and their forward line looks incredibly potent.

Out worked, really need to lift or the Swans will gap us in the third.

Bont been huge. Still not sold with Caleb on the ball. Think Keath has held his own v Buddy.

Marra looks like a first gamer, underwhelming so far let's hope he can get into it more in the second.

11-07-2021, 05:38 PM
We need to take some control of the ball.

We’re doing ok in tight but we are hurried and turning it over as soon as it pops out. We just need to improve our method a bit on the second and third possession. Take some time. Take some heat off the ball. 5 mins of control and then let’s open it up a bit again and put the foot down.

Both sides have missed chances, so we aren’t far off and a margin that won’t worry anyone in this league.

Let’s win this.

11-07-2021, 05:39 PM
We are going to have our patch of 7-10 mins where we will dominate. In that time, we need to kick 3-4 goals, otherwise this game is over. We look tired. We look off. Sydney are using the ball way better, and even though not winning the clearances, they are certainly winning the ground ball with better skills. We are fumbling like it’s raining.

If we continue to bomb like Naughton is out there, we are no chance to win. Bruce is playing like it’s 2020 and Marra is deer in headlights. If they are going to flood, we need the likes of JJ, Dale and Williams to hit the 50 running and boot it over the defence.

11-07-2021, 05:40 PM
We are playing very poorly indeed. So much fumbling, so many dropped marks, 3 absolute sitters missed. If not for good contributions from Bont, Libba, Baz, Duryea, Hunter, Dale and Daniel we would be five goals down. JJ has usually played well against the Swans. I'm hoping he will impact the second half.

We have a lot of work to do to rescue this game.

11-07-2021, 05:46 PM
It was just awful. He's been our best on for the half but then he doesn't even chip it 15 metres to a man in our defense. Just bomb it up the line and hopefully force a stoppage, instead he kicked it at Cordy's feet.

Agree. pressure often leads to a poor or rushed decision.

11-07-2021, 05:47 PM
The good news is that Bevo sill settle them down. We need to lift both work rate and skills.

We do that we.m win comfortably

11-07-2021, 05:47 PM
We are playing very poorly indeed. So much fumbling, so many dropped marks, 3 absolute sitters missed. If not for good contributions from Bont, Libba, Baz, Duryea, Hunter, Dale and Daniel we would be five goals down. JJ has usually played well against the Swans. I'm hoping he will impact the second half.

It’s so far, but so close too. Fumbles and skill errors are killing us and that can turn. If it does we’ll break them.

11-07-2021, 05:48 PM

We are playing poorly but to their credit the Swans are forcing us to make mistakes. We need to break it open and move the ball quickly. When we do we look better

11-07-2021, 05:52 PM
Dominating early and can’t score as usual.

11-07-2021, 05:54 PM
Guess you wouldn’t think we are playing fit top spot on the ladder.

11-07-2021, 05:54 PM
I’m calling it. Game over

11-07-2021, 05:55 PM
It’s just too easy

11-07-2021, 05:55 PM
If we bring this effort next week, GC will beat us.

11-07-2021, 05:57 PM
We have ZERO aerial presence without Naughton.

11-07-2021, 05:58 PM
Our worst game of the year imo.

11-07-2021, 06:01 PM
Their transition is a training drill.

11-07-2021, 06:02 PM

It's a good test, they are a fantastic side. This is what we have to beat to win it.

Sydney should be 40 points up.

Easily. We don’t look like scoring.

11-07-2021, 06:03 PM
I would love to know how many handball received we have had today. We are not working hard enough

11-07-2021, 06:14 PM
That’ll do it. Easy as you like again.

11-07-2021, 06:15 PM
3 goals we’ve given up in red time.

11-07-2021, 06:16 PM
And I was mocked for picking Sydney. Our effort against NM rang alarm bells for mine.

11-07-2021, 06:16 PM
Hopefully we can draw inspiration from Footscray. One good quarter of footy can win this.

11-07-2021, 06:17 PM
Jamarra outperforming Hannan right now…

11-07-2021, 06:17 PM
Jamarra outperforming Hannan right now…

You’d hardly know Hannan was out there.

11-07-2021, 06:18 PM
I’m here amongst Swans supporters. It sucks…

11-07-2021, 06:19 PM

Someone is going to make way for Naughton- right now he is a lock.

Our forward line without Naughton, yuck.

There's a few in the same basket. Wally isn't inspiring me looks a yard off the game at AFL level.

11-07-2021, 06:20 PM
I still think we can win this. We need to run. This stop start crap kicking hi a contest down the line is not our go. We need to run and give the handball receive. We can do this dogs

11-07-2021, 06:20 PM
We’re cooked.

Our half forward line has really failed to present today.

11-07-2021, 06:21 PM

He’s not on his pat…. Our entire forward line have been extremely poor.

Bevo has invented some logic that says hes doing what is asked of him :)

Feels like we are back in 2020 with lockdowns, boarder closures and awful connection in the forward line.

I live in hope. Surely there is someone, anyone, who can do something inspiring to get us up and firing.

11-07-2021, 06:22 PM
It goes without saying that we need the first 2 goals

11-07-2021, 06:23 PM
There's a few in the same basket. Wally isn't inspiring me looks a yard off the game at AFL level.

Yeah for someone who is pushing for a spot in the 22, Wally has been awful really.

11-07-2021, 06:24 PM
The good news is we are winning centre clearances. Chance to score heavily and quickly if we can actually use them.

11-07-2021, 06:27 PM
All the play. No goals…zzzzzzzz

11-07-2021, 06:27 PM
FFS Tim

11-07-2021, 06:31 PM
Lucky goal.

11-07-2021, 06:33 PM
Blowing those chances again…and in the blink of an eye they’re down in their 50…again.

11-07-2021, 06:35 PM
Wow they bomb it in high and we allow a one on one mark. Unbelievable.

11-07-2021, 06:35 PM
Garbage Cordy.

11-07-2021, 06:36 PM
That Hawood grab. English could have gotten back. He didn’t try he just jogged back and didn’t but a stride in. Really poor from the ruckman.

How can you allow clear run at the ball in a congested forward line?

Once again they bring it from boundary to the guts..and bam, like clockwork, take a contested mark 20 out directly in front.

11-07-2021, 06:37 PM
Why would Bont hand ball to Cordy?

They’ll go on with it now.

Hard to watch now. Game over.

11-07-2021, 06:38 PM
Gee we need some players to return

11-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Looks like half our team need a rest ;)

11-07-2021, 06:40 PM
What was Bont doing there? If you're going to put it into the corridor then you need to hit those passes.

Buddy kicks this we are done. How did smith just not play on

Baz had an easy handball to Williams running past, turned his back. Absolute space cadet.

11-07-2021, 06:41 PM
I seldom criticise players but JJ had the chance to kick a really vital goal and missed EVERYTHING

11-07-2021, 06:42 PM
Bruce has been plain sh*t. I know a lot have, but he’s got to stand up in Naughtons absence.

11-07-2021, 06:43 PM
Our forward defensive pressure is non existent. Too easy for them to transition from defence to attack

What are we doing? We’ve stopped dead in our tracks. Some really concerning signs.

We should be 8 goals down. Keath has done a very good job on Franklin

11-07-2021, 06:44 PM
Lucky we’ve been banking percentage.

11-07-2021, 06:44 PM
It’s not pretty, but you’d rather it now than finals. It’s a huge wake up call.

11-07-2021, 06:49 PM
Looked pretty ordinary from the start today. Swans just better today while we looked unwilling to match their intent. Some of those inexcusable misses in front of goals may have helped but I'm clutching at straws.

11-07-2021, 06:49 PM
On this effort, GC up there won’t be easy next week either.

11-07-2021, 07:10 PM
Well, that was a very poor performance - our worst, by far, this year. It was an eight goal loss in reality. Forward pressure? Non existent. If not for Bont, Libba, Macrae, Duryea, Keath, Dale, Daniel and a couple of others and their bad kicking we would have been thrashed by 10 goals.

I don't think Tim English will ever make it as a first ruck. Today was his big chance against a bloke he outweighs and is taller than. He failed the test badly. JUH had chances but failed to take them - but he wasn't alone by a long shot. But don't worry - he will be a player.

I hope the coaches can throw some light on how come we played so poorly. It's a mystery to me.

11-07-2021, 07:13 PM
It was a very tired effort today. Not sure if we’ve spent all our tickets early or if the injuries have just taken its toll. We’ll see over the next few weeks, but after Brisbane’s loss last night, we’ve really blown our shot at taking top spot. I think we need to forget top spot now and hope we don’t fall out of the top 4. Based on the last two weeks, we’ll end up out of the 4. Won’t beat dees, port or bombers with that effort. Let’s see how we respond next week.

11-07-2021, 07:22 PM
Thats what worries me about this sort of loss.

We were 150% up at North at one stage last week, and now dropped this game and now are at 142%. A real danger of dropping out of the 4 , with Brisbane and Geelong breathing down our backs.

Brisbane %129
Geelong %124

its only one bad loss and big win by these 2 and we could be out of the 4

11-07-2021, 07:50 PM
We seemed very flat this week, like last week, except Sydney are a better team than North. Sydney played a very good tackle game, being patient with their switching the ball around, short kicks to find players and then moving the ball quickly when they got out of our defence.

Sydney crowded our forward line so it was difficult to pass to a player on their own or to lead out. We just bombed it in thinking Naughton was there to take the big grab. Bruce was constantly surrounded and when the ball hit the deck, they took the ball away easily.

This was out weakest team this year and really need Stef Martin, Dunks, Wood, and Treloar back

11-07-2021, 08:26 PM
Talk about being outworked. Allowing so many uncontested possessions/ marks is OK against a team like North, sometimes, but teams like Sydney are too well drilled not to capitalise on it in some way and make you pay a price.

I was watching on a dicey TV, but it looked to me like Tim English failed to make the distance from forty metres out at one stage. Was that the case? I need to have this clarified before I can move on and think about more elements that sucked today.

11-07-2021, 08:39 PM
Was a good opportunity for fringe players to stand up and be counted. Sadly, most missed their opportunity.

11-07-2021, 08:42 PM
Swans were way more athletic and used the ball better and this wasn't a master class from Buddy that brought us unstuck.
They switched the ball wide and made the ground bigger which gave them a chance to use their athleticism and skills to better effect.

They employed some tags and a lot of their lesser lights just outperformed us. We can't say they weren't impressive.

I don't agree with the notion that we were flat when really we were outplayed and if we are flat lets see if we bring in more than a change or two for next weeks game? Our Footscray boys finished the game strongly so I don't think we are flat as a playing group.

Our forward line was a shambles today and didn't look effective. Weightman flew from behind for marks when when Bruce was in the best position and I think he essentially spoiled a marking opportunity for Bruce with an impetuous act. Bruce had just 5 kicks and 3 marks for the game and didn't perform. JUH couldn't handle the pace of the game and clearly wasn't ready and Wallis really can't find the form that he had last season. Hannan looks OK at times but he isn't adding much from what most of us can see. Perhaps it's some intangibles that Bevo rates. If anyone really needs a break it might be Scott who has done a mighty job all season but needs to find more of the footy at Footscray for a couple of weeks.

11-07-2021, 08:49 PM
Credit to Sydney, they played well. Really clean, barely missed a target with their kicking around the ground and their structure and setup was great. They were a hard match up for us, their defenders are generally all good mid sized players that are good in the air, and they play with real intent and make it hard to just overwhelm them as we do with lesser sides.

That showed the limitations of our forwardline without Naughton, we lack another option who can break the stalemate. Bruce is not an aerial guy and he was super poor tonight, and English wasn't down there enough to have the impact we would've wanted and still had 3 set shots.

Hannan and Wallis should both be dropped. I know they are just about the only mid sized marking targets on our list but I think we can survive without them. Hannan is failing to have an impact in neither the air or the ground, doesn't get the ball in dangerous positions and has zero hurt factor when he does. I like some of his attributes and think there is hope yet but atm he is a less face palm worthy Gowers. Wallis I love but I don't know what his role is in this side aside from ending up with the ball 20 metres from goal (from memory most of his goals this week and last have been from being the last and deepest in a chain instead of beating his opponent in a one on one). He hasn't added anything to our forwardline and isn't even marking it atm which was his one point of difference.

JUH was poor today, double grabbed everything. I suspect he will be dropped, the long stint on the bench in the last usually indicates as such, but I'd be very open to giving him another week where he isn't competing against a team full of good aerial defenders with nothing other than a 2020 form Bruce as support. A road trip to Qld and a game not in front of a crowd hanging onto your every move might give him a chance to bond a bit more with the team and take the edge of a little too. Unsure if he lacked confidence today or if this is his usual style but was very half pace in his attack on the footy, his first kick in space where he got run down was a good example of not playing with the intensity required.

Young has to stay, I've been really impressed with him these last two weeks. Covers the ground well, but more importantly has been really strong in the contest and has been playing with intent, especially his spoiling.

Garcia I thought was encouraging, works really well in tight and can find the ball. Reminds me a bit of Hunter in tight with the way he can spin and shuffle his way through small spaces but still find a kick.

11-07-2021, 08:49 PM
Today all the bad Cody Weightman traits were on show, flying for everything, flailing about trying to draw frees, minimal pressure. Let's hope 4 goals against North hasn't gone to his head and this was just a down day.

11-07-2021, 08:59 PM
Disappointing today but you have these kind of games. The Swans played quite well. We were playing catch up for a lot of it. Just struggled to really get a look in inside forward 50. We didn’t have that 4-5 goal burst that could have turned this game.

The bright side is we are 2nd with the best percentage and got two relatively good games coming up against Suns and Crows.

11-07-2021, 09:00 PM
I thought there were danger signs last week. Hopefully this is a match which rekindles the desire and reminds our team how easily things can slip.

I did think we were flat. When even Cody Weightman is listless, you know it’s not a great day.

It goes without saying how much we miss Naughton: not only what he himself brings, but how much better others look around him.

We can’t keep playing so many low possession forwards whose role is unclear. I’m out of patience with whatever Hannah’s role is, but if he’s so essential I don’t know that others such as Wally, Scott and JJ can be kept in these roles as none looks likely to consistently kick goals.

Strangely enough if JJ had kicked a gimme, we would have been seven points down in the last quarter, and maybe heads would have lifted. But he didn’t which was the story of the day…even playing poorly we remained within reach but wasted chances to put any pressure on Sydney.

I’m a bit amazed though people think we could drop out of top 4. We need to have faith in what this group can do. It’s been a really tough few weeks, but the returns of Naughton and Dunkley, and hopefully an end to a rotten run with injuries, and our best is still a match for anyone.

11-07-2021, 09:08 PM
Disappointing day at the footy.

At the start of the day we would have taken centre clearances 15-3, overall clearances 46-26, winning the inside 50 count and keeping Buddy and Papley to a solitary goal. However, the Swans played a lot players behind the ball, ran the ball out of defence magnificently and played a great strategic game of keepings off (67 v 123 marks). They created all their scoring chances going coast to coast with a lot of open space in their forward line (which was the opposite to ours).

Our forward line just didn't function and we really missed Naughton's aerial ability. We just could not connect in our F50 and you didn't have any confidence when we went inside. They also put a lot of pressure on our handball chains and we did not get a lot of clean football.

Even with all of that and looking completely out of it, if JJ kicked that goal in the last quarter we would have been a goal down with momentum. It just wasn't our day and it was a bad game to drop as with the Lions and Port dropping games we could have put a big distance between them and us.

To be seriously competitive come September we need a fit Naughton, Dunkley, Martin. Treloar and Wood would be a bonus.

11-07-2021, 09:08 PM
Sydney touched us up. We looked like we might scrape a result at various points because they left the door ajar and I thought it’d come, until it didn’t. On the balance of things they outplayed us, outworked us and we were certainly out coached.

A disappointing performance across the board.

We didn’t get the numbers game right, tactically, they were able to break down how Bevo has us set up. Rarely we were able to effectively pressure the second kick from their defensive 50. Our forward line were ineffective both ways.

The ruck situation is diabolical, given we had effectively addressed it this season. Just play two rucks FFS.

11-07-2021, 09:20 PM
I'm a little concerned we've dropped games against sides I think are very good finals type teams, who pressure well and structure up beautifully.

Dees, Swans, Tigers (what has happened to them?), Cats (to be fair unlucky).

If the Demons do us easily in rd 20 I'll have my doubts (minor at this stage : alert not alarmed) we can make a meaningful impact in finals, really need Martin to somehow conjur a Keating. English and Young just don't have the strength in aerial contests reliably.

11-07-2021, 09:22 PM
I'm a little concerned we've dropped games against sides I think are very good finals type teams, who pressure well and structure up beautifully.

Dees, Swans, Tigers (what has happened to them?), Cats (to be fair unlucky).

If the Demons do us easily in rd 20 I'll have my doubts (minor at this stage : alert not alarmed) we can make a meaningful impact in finals, really need Martin to somehow conjur a Keating. English and Young just don't have the strength in aerial contests reliably.

I'm pretty nervous that our premiership chances may be hinging on the 34 year old body of a (potentially?) cooked ruckman. We should have covered that gap, I don't know....3 years ago when it was clear it was an issue.

11-07-2021, 09:25 PM
The major difference was the speed and quality of the respective inside 50s. We didn't have any pace on the ball when going forward, it was stilted, and low energy. Sydney on the other hand just whipped it from deep in defence all the way up the ground, culminating in clean, fast entries. Our defence did well to hold up (Cordy letting Haywood take that mark notwithstanding).

11-07-2021, 09:33 PM
What a bummer.

Really distinct lack of two-way running today, and I think that I can count today's fluid i50 entries to targets on one hand.

There's a lot to come back in but we got styled on again, which is a worrying trend in our losses.

11-07-2021, 09:38 PM
Just re-watched the JJ 'effort' in the last after Marra gives off the deft handball. 40m, slight angle and just a diabolical miss.

11-07-2021, 09:53 PM
The way Sydney moved the ball from goal square to fwd line was with the most ease they’ve had all year. Most of the times it was 2 kicks to the wing, and another inside 50. Our defensive pressure was a joke and the fact of Dawson kicking 3 was laughable. Their game plan was simple and we couldn’t counteract it. Move the ball like Geelong to fwd 50 and then cut the ball back into the centre giving their fwds straight easy access to goal. The amount of contested marks they took was not surprising as our team literally sucks one on one in most cases.

GC will be another test of our resolve. Most thought the NM game was nothing to worry about. Today showed similar signs. GC have a bit of belief going for them. Sexton is quite aware he loves playing us, so one to watch out for. This game is truely 50/50 for mine.

A big week ahead. Hopefully we have nothing to worry about.

11-07-2021, 10:03 PM
Just re-watched the JJ 'effort' in the last after Marra gives off the deft handball. 40m, slight angle and just a diabolical miss.

English missed a couple and Bruce too. We had our chances.

11-07-2021, 10:05 PM
I'm pretty nervous that our premiership chances may be hinging on the 34 year old body of a (potentially?) cooked ruckman. We should have covered that gap, I don't know....3 years ago when it was clear it was an issue.

Did Young not take a mark today? That's amazing for a big man.

11-07-2021, 10:06 PM
English missed a couple and Bruce too. We had our chances.

As poorly as we approached the game, and how outworked we were in transition etc., there was still an opportunity for us to hang in there and possibly win it.

11-07-2021, 10:09 PM
Did Young not take a mark today? That's amazing for a big man.

That's pretty crazy we couldn't find him in space, or get him in an outnumber/mismatch. I don't think throwing him around the ground is the best use for him, but then again, I don't know if he's ever going to make it as a defender either. He's a very frustrating prospect, that's for sure.

11-07-2021, 10:14 PM
The ruck wasn't the issue today, our mids were beaten. Macrae and Libba had low numbers and their mids out worked us.

Marks inside 50 were also a big issue, and we really missed Naughton.

We can only get better with a stronger team to come.

If we were on, the game was gettable as there were only a few goals in it all day, except we couldn't kick two goals in a row to shift the momentum

11-07-2021, 10:16 PM
That's pretty crazy we couldn't find him in space, or get him in an outnumber/mismatch. I don't think throwing him around the ground is the best use for him, but then again, I don't know if he's ever going to make it as a defender either. He's a very frustrating prospect, that's for sure.

By half way through the second quarter he'd played KPD, Ruck and KPF. Can't be easy.

11-07-2021, 10:18 PM
Thought the effort and intensity of Garcia was great in what, his third game?

Also I have noticed he plays borderline dirty at times, which I wholeheartedly support. Likes to hurt opponents.

11-07-2021, 10:20 PM
Thought the effort and intensity of Garcia was great in what, his third game?

Also I have noticed he plays borderline dirty at times, which I wholeheartedly support. Likes to hurt opponents.

He's definitely a goer.

11-07-2021, 10:20 PM
The ruck wasn't the issue today, our mids were beaten. Macrae and Libba had low numbers and their mids out worked us.

Marks inside 50 were also a big issue, and we really missed Naughton.

We can only get better with a stronger team to come.

If we were on, the game was gettable as there were only a few goals in it all day, except we couldn't kick two goals in a row to shift the momentum

Parker did a good job I think he was doing a Harmes on Libba but I haven't seen the replay. He seemed to be annoying him a few times.

11-07-2021, 10:23 PM
Today all the bad Cody Weightman traits were on show, flying for everything, flailing about trying to draw frees, minimal pressure. Let's hope 4 goals against North hasn't gone to his head and this was just a down day.

Well summarized. Weightman had a poor game and needs to find other ways to contribute.

11-07-2021, 10:25 PM
By half way through the second quarter he'd played KPD, Ruck and KPF. Can't be easy.

It's diabolical how we're using Young.

A guy who needs confidence and consistency, yet we're throwing him in all 3 areas of the ground. Meanwhile, English can't play to his real strength whilst Cordy continually gets outmarked.

We lost this game tactically (allowing Sydney to chip through us) and via selection, but our effort was also off. I'm surprised we didn't get put away by 8+ goals.

Our coaches really need to settle on a proper structure ie 3 key defenders (Keath, Young, Cordy/Gardiner), 2 rucks (English, Martin/Sweet) and 2 key forwards (Naughton and Bruce). Then fill out the rest of the side accordingly, but we simply aren't winning finals with English as a solo ruck, Young as a KPD-Ruck-KPF, and Cordy as our second KPD for large stretches of the game

11-07-2021, 10:27 PM

A guy who needs confidence and consistency, yet we're throwing him in all 3 areas of the ground. Meanwhile, English can't play to his real strength whilst Cordy continually gets outmarked.

We lost this game tactically (allowing Sydney to chip through us) and via selection, but our effort was also off. I'm surprised we didn't get put away by 8+ goals.

Our coaches really need to settle on a proper structure ie 3 key defenders (Keath, Young, Cordy/Gardiner), 2 rucks (English, Martin/Sweet) and 2 key forwards (Naughton and Bruce). Then fill out the rest of the side accordingly, but we simply aren't winning finals with English as a solo ruck, Young as a KPD-Ruck-KPF, and Cordy as our second KPD for large stretches of the game

The trouble is Sweet is not setting the world on fire to cover the ruck.

11-07-2021, 10:27 PM
Could we have swung Dale forward in the 2nd half? Our forward line just wasn't functioning

11-07-2021, 10:28 PM

You know I'm going to agree with all this.

11-07-2021, 10:35 PM
The trouble is Sweet is not setting the world on fire to cover the ruck.

It's less about Sweet and more about the roll on effect him playing has on our structure. We are not winning a flag with English rucking by himself, if Martin can't go we need to play Sweet so that English can impact forward / Bruce can stay forward / Young can stay back.

I find it frustrating we've reverted back to a method we've seen fail for 3 years.

Could we have swung Dale forward in the 2nd half? Our forward line just wasn't functioning

Yep I thought we should have done this and worth a shot - our forwards were stagnant and couldn't create space.

11-07-2021, 11:21 PM

Killed our chances.

JJ was bitterly disappointing today, thought he took some really soft efforts early that set a tone. I had written him off early this year, then thought he’d found some form. He’s gone cold again. Really wish VDM was fit so we could push him out.

11-07-2021, 11:45 PM
Killed our chances.

JJ was bitterly disappointing today, thought he took some really soft efforts early that set a tone. I had written him off early this year, then thought he’d found some form. He’s gone cold again. Really wish VDM rwas fit so we could push him out.

RE: VDM, so do I, though McNeill should come in next week as a likely replacement in the meantime

12-07-2021, 08:23 AM
So I was at an under 9's football carnival all day my son was participating in, so didn't get to watch the game til last night.
That was one of the most frustrating games I've watched all year. So many times we butchered the ball coming inside 50, fluffed marks, and easy shots on goals.
I hope this game highlights to Jamarra the level he's got to get to in order to be a contributor at AFL level. He's got some work to do.
Bruce and Wallis were inept up forward too, both dropping marks, and in Bruce's case, missing sitters as well. That was as poor a performance as our forward line have put out this year.

12-07-2021, 08:58 AM
Our frontal half pressure was non existent. Have never seen more handovers in my life, with Wallis & Bruce being the worst offenders. Just no want or desire to close down the 45 kick that gave the Swans forward momentum… and then our mids who ‘zoned up’, but were largely in positions that were non influential and when they needed to push to close space they refused to do it…. I’m looking at you Jackson.

Regardless of who was out and how badly we used the ball if we’re going to defend like that we aren’t beating anyone we need to.

Our first real stinker of a performance… not going to dwell on it with it being more important how we respond, but we need a more even effort across the board if we’re going to go deep.

12-07-2021, 09:15 AM
Yeah our forward pressure was truly horrible and proved to me that we can only play one of Bruce and Wallis (no prizes for guessing who stays), especially without Naughton in the side heaven forbid he ever misses another game. In hindsight was probably not the game to swing JJ back either, who, for all of his faults, has largely brought the heat this year.

Kind of demonstrates the peril in having your best pressure player also being a kamikaze pilot aerialist. I think I also just talked myself into McNeil playing next week.

12-07-2021, 09:22 AM
Yeah our forward pressure was truly horrible and proved to me that we can only play one of Bruce and Wallis (no prizes for guessing who stays), especially without Naughton in the side heaven forbid he ever misses another game. In hindsight was probably not the game to swing JJ back either, who, for all of his faults, has largely brought the heat this year.

Kind of demonstrates the peril in having your best pressure player also being a kamikaze pilot aerialist. I think I also just talked myself into McNeil playing next week.

I didn’t mind playing Wallis for some experience with both Weightman and Marra down there but he just can’t play again. Completely unsuited to the modern game where pressure and pace is an non-negotiable in the forward half.

12-07-2021, 10:09 AM
I didn’t mind playing Wallis for some experience with both Weightman and Marra down there but he just can’t play again. Completely unsuited to the modern game where pressure and pace is an non-negotiable in the forward half.

I get Wallis can never play again, but surely JJ is in the same boat - as he has the skill set required in the forward half but just picks and chooses his effort level.

12-07-2021, 10:14 AM
I get Wallis can never play again, but surely JJ is in the same boat - as he has the skill set required in the forward half but just picks and chooses his effort level.

Yeah, JJ is on the thinnest of ice. He has more AFL standard weapons than Wallis which is why Wally is in my gun first, but I'd also happily spell JJ and bring in McNeil.

12-07-2021, 10:36 AM
McNeil played well last week in the VFL picking up 22 disposals, but would he come in after missing a week?

12-07-2021, 11:34 AM
McNeil played well last week in the VFL picking up 22 disposals, but would he come in after missing a week?

Fresh

Yep

12-07-2021, 10:52 PM
Coaches votes :

Western Bulldogs v Sydney

10 Jordan Dawson (SYD)
8 Tom McCartin (SYD)
3 Bailey Smith (WB)
3 Luke Parker (SYD)
3 Alex Keath (WB)
2 Taylor Duryea (WB)
1 Caleb Daniel (WB)

Leaderboard
79 Clayton Oliver MELB
76 Marcus Bontempelli WB
76 Touk Miller GCFC
73 Samuel Walsh CARL
70 Jack Steele STK
70 Ollie Wines PORT
63 Darcy Parish ESS
61 Zach Merrett ESS
60 David Mundy FRE
55 Max Gawn MELB

13-07-2021, 05:16 PM
I never want to see us play like that again. There has to be a lot to learn from this game especially in the coaches' box. The pattern was set very early. It was working well for Sydney but we just let them roll along waltzing the ball out of defence, then centering it once they got it into their forward half. They always had a pretty open forward line whereas ours was like a peak hour Bourke St tram.

We get a chance to redeem ourselves this week. GC are a good side. They carved us up for a quarter earlier in the year and are coming off a good win against a desperate GWS. Hopefully we put in a convincing performance and win well. Or, at the very least win - I don't care how ugly it is: just win.

There are no easy games anymore - just ask West Co*st - and if you go in with the wrong mindset then watch out. That loss against Sydney has given some encouragement to the teams below us. We can dash those hopes over the next few weeks.

13-07-2021, 05:38 PM
Watched Footy Classified today. We are most changes for any side in the league, with 41 players gone through the best 22 ( according to them). They made the point that at this time of the year, we really need to settle our positions.

13-07-2021, 06:34 PM
The comments were relating to us needing to settle on our best 22 leading into the finals. Not one of the space cadets on the panel is likely to be aware that at least 5 of our front liners have been unavailable for many weeks with long term injury. They are happy to tell us how decimated Richmond have been every single week however. Complete lack of research.

13-07-2021, 07:12 PM
The comments were relating to us needing to settle on our best 22 leading into the finals. Not one of the space cadets on the panel is likely to be aware that at least 5 of our front liners have been unavailable for many weeks with long term injury. They are happy to tell us how decimated Richmond have been every single week however. Complete lack of research.

You are dead right. We have been without key players for an extended period and have been forced to play English far more than we would have liked in the ruck. I REALLY hope Martin comes back fit and firing.

13-07-2021, 07:42 PM
Watched Footy Classified today. We are most changes for any side in the league, with 41 players gone through the best 22 ( according to them). They made the point that at this time of the year, we really need to settle our positions.

I wonder what Hayes did to get placed on the rookie list after being delisted and what he hasn't done this year to get a senior game?

13-07-2021, 07:50 PM
I wonder what Hayes did to get placed on the rookie list after being delisted and what he hasn't done this year to get a senior game?

I can't answer why he was retained, but he's been playing half back at VFL level this year and as we all know it is one area of the ground we are well stocked in. Also most of our first choice small/medium defenders have barely missed a game

13-07-2021, 09:52 PM
You are dead right. We have been without key players for an extended period and have been forced to play English far more than we would have liked in the ruck. I REALLY hope Martin comes back fit and firing.

Not true.

21, 17, 16, 15. The number of goals the Dogs kicked when Sweet was used in the ruck. 4 great wins before he was banished after his first bad game. These were higher than the scoring when Martin rucked (apart from the North blowout) and much higher than recently.

No matter how you dice it the ruck debacle has been chosen, not forced.

14-07-2021, 01:38 AM

I have no idea. We should probably give more players a go because 41 is definitely not enough to show we are open to playing lots of players and testing what they can do.*

*Sorry mate.

14-07-2021, 08:00 AM
Not true.

21, 17, 16, 15. The number of goals the Dogs kicked when Sweet was used in the ruck. 4 great wins before he was banished after his first bad game. These were higher than the scoring when Martin rucked (apart from the North blowout) and much higher than recently.

You and statistics should not be allowed in the same room as each other. The cherry picking, the misrepresentation of correlation as causality in order to produce confirmation bias here is off the charts.

14-07-2021, 10:16 AM
You and statistics should not be allowed in the same room as each other. The cherry picking, the misrepresentation of correlation as causality in order to produce confirmation bias here is off the charts.Sorry but your vague dismissal of facts you either don’t like or understand became irrelevant when you claimed the reason we lost to Melbourne wasbecause of empty stands.

14-07-2021, 10:44 AM
Not true.

Yes, you are right. What I should have said was we omitted to play specialist ruckman Sweet and relied on an option that has a history of failure. Big difference.

14-07-2021, 11:27 AM
Yes, you are right. What I should have said was we omitted to play specialist ruckman Sweet and relied on an option that has a history of failure. Big difference.

I thought English was BOG on Sunday, but of course this meant we had a lack of man power in the F50.

Having said that, English could have had at least 3 goals but didn't kick straight, or long enough

14-07-2021, 11:36 AM
Personally until the Gawn game I thought Sweet had done alright and a lot of woofers seemed to be happy with his performances. Received 2 coaches votes against Ryder. Was one of the reasons after half time in the VFL why we won last weekend. Finished up with being in our best and had more hit outs than Sinclair. He has improved each year he has been with us. Can take a good grab and is a steady shot for goal. Furthermore who doesn't Gawn beat most weeks.

14-07-2021, 11:52 AM
We know certain players get more chances than others. This is part of the problem.

14-07-2021, 12:05 PM
We know certain players get more chances than others. This is part of the problem.

I'm not sure we do know if that is part of the problem. Unless we have direct insight into why some players get more chances than others we are just making up a narrative that suits our own biases. And that's fine, its the internet we are allowed to speculate, its fun. But I don't think equates to actually knowing this is a part of the problem.

I'm pretty confident that if the MC were able to publicly speak to selection decisions in detail, they would have some pretty good responses to the queries we have.

14-07-2021, 12:11 PM
I'm not sure we do know if that is part of the problem. Unless we have direct insight into why some players get more chances than others we are just making up a narrative that suits our own biases. And that's fine, its the internet we are allowed to speculate, its fun. But I don't think equates to actually knowing this is a part of the problem.

I'm pretty confident that if the MC were able to publicly speak to selection decisions in detail, they would have some pretty good responses to the queries we have.

The question I need answering is, does the MC committee prefer to play a player (English) where he is far better served fwd/ruck, as a ruck/fwd, than bring in a genuine ruck prospect, that in turn, keeps our 3 headed monster alive ?

Seems to me they pick the best 22 than can on the park, and then move the chess pieces to accomodate. Sometimes that’s well and good but it doesn’t always work that way.

We pick players like Scott and Hannan who don’t do much to the eye, but obviously run to the right spots and keeps the coach happy. Are they guaranteed top 22? No way, but they serve a need. Surely sweet as a genuine ruck allowing English to play his BEST role, is better for the team overall ? I don’t get it.

14-07-2021, 12:19 PM
Surely sweet as a genuine ruck allowing English to play his BEST role, is better for the team overall ? I don’t get it.

That's the trade off we're currently accepting because the MC must believe Sweet in the ruck/English forward is a net negative compared to English in the ruck. I don't necessarily agree with that choice but it's kind of pick your poison at the moment. Either option is unlikely to be good enough to beat Melbourne or Geelong in a final (though I do believe we would have eked out a win v Geelong if Sweet was rucking and English was playing forward more in that game).

14-07-2021, 02:33 PM
That's the trade off we're currently accepting because the MC must believe Sweet in the ruck/English forward is a net negative compared to English in the ruck.

And the MC probably did choose the better option, at least last week. English had 22 touches and 21 hitouts, was competitive in the ruck, good around the ground, and generated 3 set shots. Not playing Sweet didn't cost us this game, why should it cost us the next? Yes I know the argument is that he could have played forward, but I am unsure he would have had a better game than that there (he has only had more than 3 scoring shots 4 times in his career), and we gambled on the JUH and Bruce combo having a bigger influence on the game than English forward with an out of form Sweet in the ruck.

I agree that two rucks is preferable, and I'm as frustrated as anyone about our reluctance to fix this issue (and do not rate ENglish as a long term option in the role) but I'm not happy to just play any ruck. Sweet has been fine when played, as in he hasn't been a negative, but his ruck work has been just ok (against a bunch of mostly mediocre ruckmen), and his ability to impact the game through other means has been virtually non existent. It isn't as if we aren't playing someone like Lloyd Meek who was genuinely good when he played.