Best on ground:

28-07-2021, 01:54 PM
Margin: Dogs by 35 points
First goal: Cody Weightman
Best on ground: Jack Macrae

28-07-2021, 01:58 PM
Conditions aren't conducive but I'd love to see us get back to some more free flowing footy over the next few weeks. Feels like our run off half back is down and the stats confirm it - in the Pure Footy segment David King does each week, we're ranked something like 15th for ball movement from the back half over the last 6 weeks.

28-07-2021, 02:00 PM
Conditions aren't conducive but I'd love to see us get back to some more free flowing footy over the next few weeks. Feels like our run off half back is down and the stats confirm it - in the Pure Footy segment David King does each week, we're ranked something like 15th for ball movement from the back half over the last 6 weeks.

We are 18th for rebound fifties in the league this season is my understanding.

28-07-2021, 02:02 PM

Yeah, it was something like that which is a complete turn around from the last few years where we at the very pointy end. We're also way down the rankings for contested possession after clearance which is apparently a metric sides consider important. Hopefully Dunks coming back will help with that.

28-07-2021, 02:07 PM
Yeah, it was something like that which is a complete turn around from the last few years where we at the very pointy end. We're also way down the rankings for contested possession after clearance which is apparently a metric sides consider important. Hopefully Dunks coming back will help with that.

Gold Coast 1st, Hawks 2nd.....Cats are 16th so maybe it's not that big an indicator. (rebound 50).

This site is reasonably good for stats (the ones CD let you have)

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/stats/teams?editiondata=none&fromakamai=true&pt=none&device=MOBILE&wpa=BB44D82C3D7223D393F2AE47579FB5EA6791ABE4&category=stoppages&sortBy=rebound50

28-07-2021, 02:10 PM
Windy, showers, max 13 at Ballarat on Saturday with no crowd, something the players and viewers would really look forward to, not.
Dogs by 20
FG Naughton
BOG Macrae

28-07-2021, 02:22 PM
Dogs by 102
First Goal JUH
BOG The Bont

28-07-2021, 02:32 PM
Dogs by 102
First Goal JUH
BOG The Bont

Would love another massive % booster :D

28-07-2021, 02:40 PM
So Crows are the only undefeated team against the top 3 - can we break the curse?????? (Yes)

Dogs by 70
First goal - Bruce
BOG - Marc Bontempelli

28-07-2021, 02:41 PM

I can't find the number, but aren't we conceding less Inside 50 than most/all teams.

No need to rebound when you don't let it in.

28-07-2021, 02:49 PM
I reckon Bevo’s concentrating on team defence, to prepare us for the finals. In Bevo we trust.

Dogs by 42
FG Flea
BOG Daniel

28-07-2021, 02:53 PM

You can't rebound from 50 if you don't allow the opposition to enter. The more rebound 50s you have, the more opposition inside 50s you are conceding.

28-07-2021, 03:01 PM
You can't rebound from 50 if you don't allow the opposition to enter. The more rebound 50s you have, the more opposition inside 50s you are conceding.

Yeah it's much the same as us being last in one on one win percentage in D50. The stat in isolation totally overlooks how we defend.

28-07-2021, 03:01 PM

I'm not sure how Champion Data determine 'ball movement' metrics as Melbourne is ranked #1 over the last 6 weeks and via the eye test, they don't seem to be moving the ball as well as they were in the first 10 weeks.

Would be great if CD metrics (and their explanations) were readily available beyond the brief regurgitation we get on the different footy shows and segments.

28-07-2021, 03:25 PM
Dogs by 9 (the conditions)
1st goal - Weightman
Bog- Libba

28-07-2021, 03:43 PM
Dogs by 44
First goal - Bont
BOG - Bont

28-07-2021, 04:03 PM

End of June we sat about 10th in inside 50 differential so it goes in there enough.

31-07-2021, 09:17 AM
Glorious morning here in Ballarat!

Definitely need to shop early and put a gap on them as the rain is expected to stay away until at least half time.

A win and no injuries is all I can hope for. Let's go!

31-07-2021, 10:08 AM
Dogs by 38
BOG Schache
FG Dunkley

31-07-2021, 10:08 AM
Glorious morning here in Ballarat!

Definitely need to shop early and put a gap on them as the rain is expected to stay away until at least half time.

A win and no injuries is all I can hope for. Let's go!

It's one game I'm not sure I care that I can't go to!

Dogs by 20
FG Bwuuuuce
BOG : Macrae.

31-07-2021, 10:16 AM
Dogs by 55
FG Marra
BOG Macrae with 50 possessions

31-07-2021, 10:39 AM
Dogs by 38
BOG Schache
FG Dunkley

Sorry - that made me laugh out loud. I love the optimism tho.

31-07-2021, 10:44 AM
Sorry - that made me laugh out loud. I love the optimism tho.

Happy to help! I did it last week, so I need to do it this week too. Can’t have Josh feel my confidence is slipping after a good game. He’s a confidence player after all.

31-07-2021, 10:57 AM
Adding Dunkley to our midfield rotation will be a welcome addition especially against the Crows who often appear to be light on for depth and quality.

Dogs by 29
First goal Naughton
BOG Macrae

31-07-2021, 11:10 AM
Dogs by 48
First goal Naughton
BOG Hunter

Woof woof - looking forward to a demolition.

31-07-2021, 11:43 AM
Dogs by 28
First goal Juicey fruit
BOG Macrae

31-07-2021, 12:34 PM
No game prediction, as usual, but

First goal: Cody
BOG: Baz

Hopefully our forward line will strike gold in Ballarat today.

31-07-2021, 12:43 PM
Lippa sub

31-07-2021, 01:23 PM
We're not quite switched on yet

31-07-2021, 01:24 PM
"I will not comment on Cordy, I will not comment on Cordy"

31-07-2021, 01:25 PM
Not a great start.

31-07-2021, 01:26 PM
Banana peel.

Jesus what’s this breeze worth?

Absolute nightmare start.

Jesus what’s this breeze worth?

3 - 5

31-07-2021, 01:27 PM
Marra has sticky hands and leads well.

31-07-2021, 01:27 PM
Well done Libba. We are off!

31-07-2021, 01:28 PM
Libba has the highest footy iq in the game.

31-07-2021, 01:28 PM
Your goal Schache.

31-07-2021, 01:29 PM
Schache ending someone else's career. Uses it well too

31-07-2021, 01:29 PM
Schaches everywhere, schaches everywhere.

31-07-2021, 01:31 PM
I’m going to watch “Live” on Kayo a bit later so haven’t seen anything yet, but is it worth swinging Naughton back when we are kicking against the breeze if it’s 3-5 goals worth?

31-07-2021, 01:31 PM
Dunkley is the last guy I thought I’d ever see in long sleeves. Maybe Matthew Robbins.

31-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Shocker by Wood

31-07-2021, 01:32 PM
Easton…

31-07-2021, 01:33 PM
Dunkley is the last guy I thought I’d ever see in long sleeves. Maybe Matthew Robbins.

Shoulder injuries do that to the beach muscles.

Bailey Smith is my nomination.

I’m going to watch “Live” on Kayo a bit later so haven’t seen anything yet, but is it worth swinging Naughton back when we are kicking against the breeze if it’s 3-5 goals worth?

If Adelaide defenders are allowed to throw him to the ground with no eyes for the footy all game then maybe.

We need more numbers goal side at these marking contests.

31-07-2021, 01:34 PM
Possession is crucial against this wind.

Keath who?

Our forward line is a trampoline.

No shot this breeze is only worth 3 goals

I like him forward.

31-07-2021, 01:35 PM
Way too easy exiting from our forward line. Lock it in ffs.

Marra looks fit all of a sudden.

Brucey!

31-07-2021, 01:36 PM
Marra now invoved in linking plays. Tank just must be improving

31-07-2021, 01:36 PM
I think we’re honestly doing pretty good considering their pitching wedge is hitting it 60m.

31-07-2021, 01:38 PM
Crows getting the kid gloves from the umpires. They must’ve read the feedback on Bigfooty last week.

Poor defence lettign their SF get a run at that

Nice defending Baz… not!

That wind is strong

Can not afford to give them any ball forward of centre. That free kick was a killer in the middle.

31-07-2021, 01:40 PM
Does Baz ever hit a target. Watch him today and see

31-07-2021, 01:41 PM
Well done Marra!

31-07-2021, 01:41 PM
Marra's going to be alright hey?

31-07-2021, 01:42 PM
This Marra guy.

31-07-2021, 01:42 PM
Wildcard for finals is Marra.

31-07-2021, 01:43 PM
Brucey!

31-07-2021, 01:44 PM
First time Brucey has lifted off the ground for a while.

31-07-2021, 01:45 PM
First time Brucey has lifted off the ground for a while.

Really good season for us after a tough 2020.

31-07-2021, 01:46 PM
Marra, wonderful stuff

31-07-2021, 01:47 PM
All from Marra that one. We have a special one here like Bont.

Marra looks like he’s played 30-40 games now.

Marra. Wow. Recovery from slam tackle and then makes something from nothing.

Great finish JJ!

31-07-2021, 01:48 PM
Scott playing well off HBF

Over to the mixed relay!

After a slow start we have gotten on top now on the 1st quarter.

31-07-2021, 01:50 PM
Very good work from Hunter.

31-07-2021, 01:52 PM
10 Goal 2nd quarter coming up for Dogs

Bronze in the mixed relay. Aussies have been good in the pool. Back to the footy.

Fantastic quarter all things considered. This forward mix looks ominous.

31-07-2021, 01:53 PM
I was going to take a 2 goal deficit at 1/4 time given the start so an awesome fight back to turn 2 goals up.

Foot down now and let’s set up a big lead at 1/2 time.

31-07-2021, 01:55 PM
The JUH handball to Hannan was sleight of hand with teflon.

31-07-2021, 01:55 PM
Schache with the lazy 4 marks for the quarter.

31-07-2021, 01:56 PM
It's a shame Naughton didn't finish with that goal but a good quarter for us particularly the last 10 minutes.
Schache, Liberatore, Bontempelli and Bruce with two goals really got us into the game.

It will be interesting to see if we can capitalize on the wind in the 2nd quarter.

31-07-2021, 01:56 PM
Scott doing well down back. English up and about. We are playing well all over the ground.

31-07-2021, 01:57 PM
Schache with the lazy 4 marks for the quarter.

3 intercept possessions to boot. If you didn’t know it, you wouldn’t think he’s only played 5 quarters as a KPD.

31-07-2021, 01:58 PM
Geez Marra is looking all class. Keep playing like this and he won't see VFL again.

31-07-2021, 01:59 PM
What did Bevo know. ? When asked pre game if he would kick with the wind, he kind of hoped not.

31-07-2021, 02:00 PM
Talent isnt everything but this is the most talented list the dogs have ever had by some margin.

I just cant believe how good a player Weightman has become in such a short amount of time. Should be winning the rising star no doubt about it.

Schache we have all had our fingers crossed for you and I still do keep going mate.

Bevo lets keep Hunter on the wing he is so effective there.

31-07-2021, 02:01 PM
Not a great contest from Schache, had position but was didn't plant his feet.

Pile them on now.

31-07-2021, 02:03 PM
Walker is a sniper.

Why does Smith persist using his putrid left foot?

Baz is such a butcher, no care whatsoever with the ball.

Not a great contest from Schache, had position but was didn't plant his feet.

Pile them on now.

This has big win feels.

31-07-2021, 02:04 PM
Macrae is below his best

Can’t get a free.

Umpires are giving us nothing.

31-07-2021, 02:05 PM
No 50...

31-07-2021, 02:06 PM
"I will not comment on Cordy, I will not comment on Cordy"

Repeat

31-07-2021, 02:06 PM
That’s a horrible entry by JJ.

31-07-2021, 02:07 PM
That’s a horrible entry by JJ.

Had Bruce in acres.

31-07-2021, 02:07 PM
Had Bruce in acres.

He was in acres too. Just keep running!

31-07-2021, 02:09 PM
Our kicking inside 50 is atrocious… kicking it way too hard.

31-07-2021, 02:09 PM
Garbage 5 minutes.

31-07-2021, 02:11 PM
JJ is such a pod for us. Essential player need to keep him happy and in form.

31-07-2021, 02:14 PM
We are not using this breeze well at all.

31-07-2021, 02:15 PM
Great effort Marra.

31-07-2021, 02:15 PM
We are not using this breeze well at all.

Hunter just belting it forward into the dead pocket is fun.

31-07-2021, 02:16 PM
Marra 6.0 this season/career to date

He just needs to run the other way when it looks like the ball is going OOB.

We are well on top. Marra gets his 2nd of the game.

31-07-2021, 02:17 PM
He just needs to run the other way when it looks like the ball is going OOB.

Shook my head when he was fighting Dale for that one.

We finished off last quarter well so I'm hoping we do the same now.
Need a couple of goals before the siren.

It's a low tackling game at the moment

Marra 6.0 this season/career to date

We don’t count the whiffs?

31-07-2021, 02:18 PM
We did the right thing holding Ugle-Hagan back.

He's still got a lot of improvement to come this season.

The only entry I’ve liked all quarter is Bruce’s shot. Kicking it to contests all quarter is not it.

Nah. It’s 6.0

31-07-2021, 02:19 PM

Like some golfers :)

31-07-2021, 02:19 PM
So Schache might still have some work to do.

31-07-2021, 02:20 PM
So Schache might still have some work to do.

That sort of contest happens dozens of times a game. Thought he was stiff.

31-07-2021, 02:21 PM
That was great from Caleb.

31-07-2021, 02:21 PM
Marra is getting better by the minute.

31-07-2021, 02:22 PM
Caleb. Pound for pound champ.

That sort of contest happens dozens of times a game. Thought he was stiff.

Two sets of rules today.

Caleb Daniel - good player.

31-07-2021, 02:24 PM
We did the right thing holding Ugle-Hagan back.

He's still got a lot of improvement to come this season.

He just looks like he belongs.

I'm pinching myself to be honest.

31-07-2021, 02:25 PM
Scott having an awesome game.

31-07-2021, 02:25 PM
Caleb Daniel - good player.

Everyone else out there must be so embarrassed.

31-07-2021, 02:27 PM
Everyone else out there must be so embarrassed.

Serious questions about his jumping ability.

31-07-2021, 02:28 PM
Garcia to Weightman. Crikey the depth.

31-07-2021, 02:32 PM
Only have a radio call. How is Schache going?

31-07-2021, 02:32 PM
Didn’t use the ball well that qtr at all, given the territory it should’ve been a 6-8 goal qtr, but the conditions aren’t ideal.. which is par for the course at this place.

31-07-2021, 02:33 PM

Holding his own, 5 marks as well

31-07-2021, 02:34 PM

He's been out bodied maybe once or twice. But has made good front position and distributed well. I'd say a pass mark so far.

31-07-2021, 02:35 PM
Thanks. How was Garcia's first half?

31-07-2021, 02:36 PM
Thanks. How was Garcia's first half?

A bit quiet, needs to do a bit more but he's going OK

31-07-2021, 02:37 PM
Caleb BOG at the moment

31-07-2021, 02:37 PM
Average spectacle due to the conditions. Handy 35 point lead. Happy just to win by any margin.

31-07-2021, 02:38 PM
18 shots to 8. We did very well that quarter but we really should give them a belting for the balance of the game.

31-07-2021, 02:38 PM
The Bont quiet, is he being tagged?

31-07-2021, 02:39 PM
The Bont quiet, is he being tagged?

Looks like Keays is running with him.

31-07-2021, 02:45 PM
We're down. The difference in class between the two sides is evident. Arguably, the crows have had better effort but our ball movement has been better

31-07-2021, 02:51 PM
Weather is turning a bit here now. Dropped a few degrees and still windy as hell. Need to hold the fort this quarter, as we might not have great conditions to run away with it in the last.

31-07-2021, 02:53 PM
JJ playing well

31-07-2021, 02:53 PM
JJ playing well today. Pleasing to see

31-07-2021, 02:54 PM
Should be dispiriting for them. Or I hope so.

31-07-2021, 02:59 PM
JJ playing well

Brilliant to see. He's got so much upside. Normal game a 2 out of 10, when he goes ok 7/10 when he explodes Norm Smith.

Management of a guy like that is the work.

31-07-2021, 03:00 PM
B Smith, JJ, JUH, Bruce, Caleb Daniel, Schache have been pretty good in this one.

31-07-2021, 03:04 PM
Nice hand in their by Schache. His extra reach saved a shot on goal.

31-07-2021, 03:06 PM
We had the easy clearance from 50 then if Zaine didn't fumble.

31-07-2021, 03:07 PM
Hannan is Josh Bruce 2020 reincarnated, nothing good happens when he goes near it.

He can still have an impact not sure 2021 is his year though.

31-07-2021, 03:07 PM
We had the easy clearance from 50 then if Zaine didn't fumble.

Should’ve Schache killed the ball against Himmelberg?

31-07-2021, 03:09 PM
Cordy just saved a goal.

Himmelberg should’ve marked it. He had superior position with the unorthodox kick and breeze.

I still love Marra

31-07-2021, 03:10 PM
Bailey Dale been very good. Certainly been solid behind the ball as has Bailey Williams.

31-07-2021, 03:10 PM

I think an experienced back would've initiated early contact but I'm being very harsh.

31-07-2021, 03:11 PM
I still love Marra

How can you not. In my 41 years as a member, he's as exciting as I've seen.

Chris Grant the best. Ever.

31-07-2021, 03:12 PM

Was out of position but should have done better. Wouldn't have needed to if the ball was cleared.

31-07-2021, 03:13 PM
Bailey Dale been very good. Certainly been solid behind the ball as has Bailey Williams.

They've added a bit haven't they?

31-07-2021, 03:14 PM
Good quarter so far. They’ve only pegged back one point.

31-07-2021, 03:14 PM
They've added a bit haven't they?

Yeah for sure. Will be great to get Keath back down there.

31-07-2021, 03:15 PM
English spending plenty of time behind the ball. Loving the discipline.

31-07-2021, 03:16 PM
English spending plenty of time behind the ball. Loving the discipline.

Has been really good, helping our undermanned defence.

B Smith, JJ, JUH, Bruce, Caleb Daniel, Schache have been pretty good in this one.

Add Bailey Dale i reckon might be best of the lot

Marra getting out of the F50 a lot more. Really good to see

Hannan is Josh Bruce 2020 reincarnated, nothing good happens when he goes near it.

He can still have an impact not sure 2021 is his year though.

RIP Josh Bruce 2020

31-07-2021, 03:19 PM
Marra shot his bolt in the first half. Gassed.

31-07-2021, 03:20 PM
Add Bailey Dale i reckon might be best of the lot

13 disposals at 100% that qtr. not bad

Marra a bit of an almost match. Could’ve almost had four goals to his name. He’s been really good, but will be kicking himself he left a few shots out there.

Great effort in that qtr to pretty much have a nil-nil draw.. The Bailey’s were immense.

Time to crank it up a gear now!

31-07-2021, 03:22 PM
Great effort in that qtr to pretty much have a nil-nil draw.. The Bailey’s were immense.

Time to crank it up a gear now!

Should really win this by 8+ goals now.

31-07-2021, 03:24 PM
Should really win this by 8+ goals now.

I’m thinking 10+ given we’re 6 up now.

31-07-2021, 03:25 PM
Marra a bit of an almost match. Could’ve almost had four goals to his name. He’s been really good, but will be kicking himself he left a few shots out there.
Yeah - but a 197cm 19 year old that moves like him - it's incredible what he could become.

I’m thinking 10+ given we’re 6 up now.

I like under promising and over delivering.

Dunkley a quiet game

31-07-2021, 03:27 PM
Dunkley a quiet game

Extremely rusty.

31-07-2021, 03:28 PM
Dunkley a quiet game

Being stuck inside for 2 weeks can’t be good for his preparation and conditioning.

Anthony Scott looks a better back then forward has been solid.

Dunkley a quiet game

Just needs some continuity. He will be right next week

Honestly, Cordy - has he ever won a 1-v-1?

31-07-2021, 03:29 PM
Triple Baileys all doing well. Daniel and Libba good too. Garcia very gutsy & touch of class there too.

31-07-2021, 03:31 PM
Garcia playing a good game, lots of potential

31-07-2021, 03:31 PM
Bailey Dale's third quarter against the breeze...

11 kicks at 91%
2 intercept marks
215 metres gained

31-07-2021, 03:32 PM
Garcia playing a good game, lots of potential
His kicking has been very good today.
Had a lot of good chasing runs too to pressure the Crows backs

Nice goal Garcia.

Anthony Scott looks a better back then forward has been solid.

Agree, he looks to have adjusted to the tempo of AFL footy.

Now injured...

31-07-2021, 03:33 PM
Where is the free Schache

Fingers crossed for Scott

Hope Scott’s okay.

Only took Schache getting his head taken off for Tex to do anything.

31-07-2021, 03:34 PM
Cordy got a massive shove then Schache copped one high, play on.

31-07-2021, 03:34 PM
Where is the free Schache

Bullshit. How can you not pay something as obvious as that.

31-07-2021, 03:35 PM
And Hannan knocked them all over lol

31-07-2021, 03:36 PM
Beautiful finish Lachie.

This game is not good.

Great stuff Bailey Dale to Lachie Hunter and he make no mistake and kicks it.

Bailey Dale is just taking the piss in these conditions.

31-07-2021, 03:38 PM
Naughts has had a bit of a mare, hasn't he?

31-07-2021, 03:38 PM
I’ve been talking about Naughton giving dumb frees when we have shots/the ball. He needs to pull his non disciplined head in.

31-07-2021, 03:39 PM
Needs fans back hurling slurs over the fence at the umpires so they stop taking so much piss.

31-07-2021, 03:39 PM
I’ve been talking about Naughton giving dumb frees when we have shots/the ball. He needs to pull his non disciplined head in.

Is that why Bruce lost the kick?

31-07-2021, 03:40 PM

Naughts just got a free before but didn’t goal :D

31-07-2021, 03:40 PM
Is that why Bruce lost the kick?

Marra’s first behind.

31-07-2021, 03:44 PM
Dale 3 votes.

31-07-2021, 03:47 PM
Cody’s kicking has been horrible today, trying to be too cute with his passes and set shots have been terrible.

31-07-2021, 03:48 PM
Time to put Bont on the bench

31-07-2021, 03:48 PM
Dale 3 votes.

Yep.. has had an outstanding game.

31-07-2021, 03:49 PM
Time to put Bont on the bench

Really? :D

Your goal Sunny.

Garcia with the spoil sets up Bontlow

Cody’s playing for frees has come to bite him. Not getting anything from the umps now.

31-07-2021, 03:50 PM
Wondering why Hannan is in the ruck. Where’s Tim?? At Fullback!!

Never change Bevo!

31-07-2021, 03:51 PM
Interestign tactic. Hannan in the ruck, English in the backline

Clear difference this week in positioning is the amount of time English has spent behind the ball.

Wondering why Hannan is in the ruck. Where’s Tim?? At Fullback!!

Never change Bevo!

Interesting huh?

If B. Smith could kick well, he’d be a dead set gun.

31-07-2021, 03:52 PM
Spoke too soon

31-07-2021, 03:52 PM
What an annoying pest! I love him.

31-07-2021, 03:54 PM
We've finished 3 of the 4 quarters strongly today.

31-07-2021, 03:56 PM
Interesting huh?

Hannan to Bombers?

31-07-2021, 03:57 PM
Schache’s 1 on 1 defending isn’t great is it?

31-07-2021, 03:58 PM
49 point win. Have not got out of second gear. Still top of the ladder. Take that.

31-07-2021, 03:58 PM

It’s not. But not any worse than Young. Unfortunately we’re very shallow down back for tall timber.

31-07-2021, 03:59 PM

He's a brilliant kick.

31-07-2021, 03:59 PM

Never had to do it full time. Something to work on over summer.

31-07-2021, 04:00 PM
He's a brilliant kick.

Brilliant? I don’t agree. It’s been poor today.

31-07-2021, 04:01 PM

He's got some work to do.

31-07-2021, 04:02 PM

He needs to steady abit instead of hurrying his kicks

31-07-2021, 04:05 PM
He's got some work to do.

Needs to take front position.

Experienced defenders are going to struggle one out with Tex when it's kicked to his advantage, a bloke playing his 2nd game in the role even more so.

31-07-2021, 04:06 PM
That kind of devolved into a bit of a chore to watch but 8 goals is 8 goals.

Dale’s game was unbelievable in those conditions.

31-07-2021, 04:08 PM
49 point win. Have not got out of second gear. Still top of the ladder. Take that.

It's hard to accept isn't it. Winning is the default.....

It used to be so special I was promised a badge from the amazing stalls after the game.

Geoff Jennings, Tony McGuinness, Chris Grant!
Now....

I can't get used to it.

31-07-2021, 04:08 PM
Brilliant? I don’t agree. It’s been poor today.

Is there a dislike button?

31-07-2021, 04:15 PM
Never had to do it full time. Something to work on over summer.

It was a weakness when he was forward and it is a weakness now he plays back. Overall I think he did well and I have hope for the future, but he had to defend three high balls, one on one, and got comprehensively beaten each time. To make it as a KPD, he has to learn how to out body opponents. In his defense, Cordy is not any better, which is why we need Keath.

31-07-2021, 04:18 PM

Top of the ladder!

Looking for 1st after the home and away season and the premiership.

31-07-2021, 04:22 PM
I thought that was our best TEAM win for the year. Some of the lesser lghts had very good games - Roarke Smith, Scott, Hannan. We are travelling well.
Caleb Daniel is an absolute super star. When he has the ball it's as if there is a force field arouńd him that gives him that instant of time to allow him to make the right decision. But it's a force field he creates himself with lightning changes of direction, subtle body movements, swerves, turns and shimmiys. But overall it is his masterful grasp of geography - he just knows where everyone IS! He is a UNIQUE footballer. I defy anyone to name a player of similar physical attributes who can influence a game in the same way that he does.

31-07-2021, 04:25 PM
No surprises that their tall forwards got on the end of it. No Keath was a huge loss, as is Duryea in setting us up properly.

Happy with a 49 point win and no injuries.

31-07-2021, 04:35 PM
It was a weakness when he was forward and it is a weakness now he plays back. Overall I think he did well and I have hope for the future, but he had to defend three high balls, one on one, and got comprehensively beaten each time. To make it as a KPD, he has to learn how to out body opponents. In his defense, Cordy is not any better, which is why we need Keath.

Yeah, I’ve put the guts of it in another thread. He has things to work on, which is predictable for game two. I’m sure he can do a crash course in defending with Morris and give the MC something to think about come finals. The good side is game highs in marks and intercept possession for KPPs, ball use, that he can play 100% game time to help our rotations, plus the extra height etc etc. That’s nice to know. I’m sure a couple of weeks ago if it was said Schache will play, Keath will not against Melbourne and Josh would play on Walker for a half, the picture of what that would look like and guessing the wins/losses would be different to what’s happened. Like everyone else, he just needs to keep improving.

31-07-2021, 04:37 PM
It's hard to accept isn't it. Winning is the default.....

It used to be so special I was promised a badge from the amazing stalls after the game.

Geoff Jennings, Tony McGuinness, Chris Grant!
Now....

I can't get used to it.

You make a very good point. I find myself being much more intolerant of mistakes than in the past. I have to remind myself that my last game of football was in a losing Grand Final for Sunshine YCW U/15s against Middle Park in 1963.

31-07-2021, 05:04 PM
I think we will get the job done today.
My predictions:
Dogs by 50 pts
FG Libba
BOG Dale due for a blinder.
Whatime does the game start?

31-07-2021, 05:05 PM
Watched this on delay. How good was the people beeping the horns after goals. Haha. Loved it.

31-07-2021, 05:37 PM
Just a note for all commentators its Caleb Daniel, not Daniels! The kid is a star at least we can do is get his name right.

31-07-2021, 05:45 PM
Just a note for all commentators its Caleb Daniel, not Daniels! The kid is a star at least we can do is get his name right.

They have been called out on that endlessly but are just too lazy to make the correction.

Speaking of the helmeted champ, isn’t he strong as well as all the other admirable qualities about him. I thought he was difficult to tackle because of his size, but I’m really noticing he doesn’t go to ground and has the ability to stand and still get a kick/handball away.

31-07-2021, 05:45 PM

Be fair. He gets it often enough there must be plural of him:o

31-07-2021, 06:44 PM
Be fair. He gets it often enough there must be plural of him:o

Haha. This English teacher appreciates it. Deeply satisfying.

31-07-2021, 06:51 PM
The JUH handball to Hannan was sleight of hand with teflon.

Sounds like Ted Whitten snr.
Bring back flickpass.

31-07-2021, 07:30 PM
I thought that was our best TEAM win for the year. Some of the lesser lghts had very good games - Roarke Smith, Scott, Hannan. We are travelling well.
Caleb Daniel is an absolute super star. When he has the ball it's as if there is a force field arouńd him that gives him that instant of time to allow him to make the right decision. But it's a force field he creates himself with lightning changes of direction, subtle body movements, swerves, turns and shimmiys. But overall it is his masterful grasp of geography - he just knows where everyone IS! He is a UNIQUE footballer. I defy anyone to name a player of similar physical attributes who can influence a game in the same way that he does.

If we are talking historically, then I would suggest Barry Cable. After that, I've got nothing.

31-07-2021, 07:53 PM
A bit of cruise control today.

Take the points, the even performance from most - everyone has a good moment some many.

Dale now a lock for AA. Amazing season.