View Full Version : WB Game Day V Hawthorn R22 2021
14-08-2021, 03:32 PM
Macrae showing some heart. Great pass to Cody & Macrae fist to palm - he wants it. Onya Macrae & Cody.
The next 7 mins will be the game.
Easton Wood is playing like an old man.
Yep, big time
Get off my TV English.
14-08-2021, 03:33 PM
What AFL attribute does Wood currently have?
Honestly, would Sweet have been worse than English today?
Treloar's phoning it in today.
Agree really poor looks not interested. I’m calling trouble in bromance land. They burnt too bright too quickly.
English. FFS THATS SHIT
Oh English, terrible handball
Cooked.
14-08-2021, 03:34 PM
Terrible. We are cooked. Stand up FFS
We are done, so is the year.
Pittiful.
English is rubbish.
Post 2016....
Bailey you don't seem so clever spraying Joel Selwood anymore do you mate?
Nice defending Baz.
Smith let’s Wingard Free.
Tradable.
14-08-2021, 03:35 PM
English loses every tap. It’s insane because it puts our guys on the back foot. The fact we break even is a massive credit to the mids.
14-08-2021, 03:36 PM
As long as the Fortnite numbers on your Twitch stream are ok, eh Baz?
Bailey thats two short steps I’ve seen today. Hearts not in it here fans I’m afraid. Crikey what am I watching.
*think positive think positive*
To get match payments do you need to put in five minutes?
Because something happened after those that it just stopped.
14-08-2021, 03:37 PM
It's at stage of pride a bit in this game. Not sure I see a way in. Something feels a tad off.
Quite frankly if there was a really good offer for him then I'd be really considering moving Bailey Smith on. He just doesn't want to work hard defensively and he's really exposing us out there due to his lack of two way running.
As our intent looks truly putrid.
14-08-2021, 03:38 PM
He just loves the Hawks so much
This really could blow out in the last.
HTB just for one team...
14-08-2021, 03:39 PM
That's blatant cheating. You can't cheat like that.
14-08-2021, 03:40 PM
HTB just for one team...
Or arm chopping.
How was that not a mark for VDM
Lol this is piss weak.
Hannan is ready to tear up the next qtr and actually touch the ball.
That’s a nice umpire goal.
14-08-2021, 03:41 PM
How Embarrassing.
14-08-2021, 03:41 PM
The commentators gushing over Kositschke spoiling Caleb Daniel is just cream on the cake.
14-08-2021, 03:42 PM
Will Dodo still do the 2 x 1st for Dunks deal?
Hannan is ready to tear up the next qtr and actually touch the ball.
Those KPIs we don’t know about are getting smashed. Really he or Marra, not much difference except one has a bigger upside.
So disappointing, hit the lead and then just stop thinking there job was done. How do you concede four goals into the wind.
14-08-2021, 03:43 PM
Bottom 4, half their midfield out, sacked coach...
I might need a lie down.
This is going to get very, very messy.
Probably the most pathetic 10 minutes this side has coughed up since last years Elim final. Nice timing for the soft underbelly to show itself.
Gee I can’t see us getting up now. The Hawthorn mids are just playing like they want to hurt us. We are taking a backwards step as well
14-08-2021, 03:44 PM
Bottom 4, half their midfield out, sacked coach...
I might need a lie down.
I am laying down watching it, it doesn't help.
This is unforgivable.
I'm ashamed of the club today.
You would think Hawthorn are playing for top spot. Where is our intensity?? This is as poor as it gets. We are going to limp into the finals. What a wasted year.
Throughout the year players have come back for injury challenges in pretty good form but Wood, Treloar, Dunkley and Vandermeer don't look quite right at the moment. Perhaps we had to play them back into form given how late it is in the season but it isn't helping us much today.
14-08-2021, 03:45 PM
This game is really concerning. I don't like to jump at shadows, think all the good teams having their struggles but wow. After the 3 goal burst, just pathetic.
14-08-2021, 03:45 PM
This is going to get very, very messy.
It’s the hope that gets you. 20 odd weeks thinking we were worthy of being considered a genuine flag threat then we turn up like the last 2 weeks to rip it away.
14-08-2021, 03:46 PM
What a waste of time this team is
14-08-2021, 03:46 PM
Just wondering what Bevo would give to have Trengrove back on the list. He never ever got better as bad as English in the Ruck.
English look like he just wants to play forward. He hasn’t got enough hardness to play in the ruck.
14-08-2021, 03:47 PM
English is one of the worst 'rucks' I've ever seen.
14-08-2021, 03:48 PM
It’s the hope that gets you. 20 odd weeks thinking we were worthy of being considered a genuine flag threat then we turn up like the last 2 weeks to rip it away.
I was just thinking. Maybe I should’ve stayed away from footy. It consumes us. The hope supercharges that. The public shitting of ourselves and embarrassment of that is a severe gut punch.
14-08-2021, 03:49 PM
We can still win this but we have to play well for the whole quarter
C'mon Bevo, work your magic.
But we’re 2nd on the ladder so our recent form is irrelevant.
Games on the weekend are literally all there is to look forward to right now and they keep end up being the worst part of the week. I don't deserve this.
English is one of the worst 'rucks' I've ever seen.
I actually think we need to recruit two rucks now.
Top four on the line and we shit the bed two weeks in a row. It's one thing if we're clearly conserving ourselves and doing just enough to pick up the win but it's just pure laziness.
14-08-2021, 03:50 PM
Something is wrong at the club. It has to be. This is pathetic and embarrassing. We shouldn’t even be in the finals.
14-08-2021, 03:50 PM
People were shitcanning Schache last week, mostly unfairly. This week Keath is getting exposed by a midfield that won’t defend. Hopefully there’s some acknowledgment maybe Schache wasn’t that bad last week. Keath is not as bad a Kosi is making him look.
14-08-2021, 03:51 PM
Baz just let’s Wingard go again in the middle. He’s a complete liability.
14-08-2021, 03:53 PM
This isn’t great.
Is it too late to tank for draft picks?
*!*!*!*! off JJ.
14-08-2021, 03:54 PM
Baz just let’s Wingard go again in the middle. He’s a complete liability.
Like I said before I'd shop him around if I was on the list management team, he refuses to crack in defensively so if he's having an off day then he can't even do that.
Lift Dogs!
Wake up!
We’re suddenly extremely easy to play against.
Goodbye JJ
*!*!*!*! off JJ.
Rubbish kick, rubbish effort to spoil
14-08-2021, 03:55 PM
Six goals in a row and now they are punishing us from distance. What is going on. I’m lost.
JJ really can’t be in our best 26 right now.
If or when we bomb out of another finals series, is Bevo safe?
14-08-2021, 03:56 PM
We are deliberately avoiding contact. We won’t tackle, we are not hitting packs hard, we won’t chase, we are done.
14-08-2021, 03:56 PM
Hopeless.
14-08-2021, 03:57 PM
Game over
5th looking a chance right now.
I'm normally a pretty positive guy, but this a the wrong time of year to drop 2 games in a row.
Really disappointing stuff.
Why do I want to sack Bevo all of a sudden?
14-08-2021, 03:58 PM
Essendon will win a final before us. I’m sorry but Bevo needs a review. This list is going nowhere. Blow it up.
When players start floundering around trying to earn a free you know somethings awry.
Oh look, Lachie Hunter!
You have to think that another embarassing finals and there's going to be questions asked. At the very least there needs to be an overhaul of our assistant coaches, it's clearly not working and whoever our midfield & stoppage coach is has refused to teach our players to set up on the opponents goal side.
14-08-2021, 03:59 PM
Why do I want to sack Bevo all of a sudden?
Steady on. He’s not out there! The players are showing a lack of hunger and intent, and really sloppy skills!
I’ll be calling for his head if that’s the case.
14-08-2021, 03:59 PM
The form towards the end of the 2016 HA season wasn’t the best either and then we know what happened after that.
14-08-2021, 04:00 PM
Dale that was selfish.
14-08-2021, 04:00 PM
The form towards the end of the 2016 HA season wasn’t the best either and then we know what happened after that.
This isn’t 2016.
14-08-2021, 04:01 PM
Hannan behind and doesn’t punch the ball.
14-08-2021, 04:02 PM
Something doesn’t seem right at the club. 8 of the worst quarters we’ve played, all in a row.
This isn’t 2016.
Yeah we are higher on the ladder than we were in 2016.
English is a genuine pea heart today.
Steady on. He’s not out there! The players are showing a lack of hunger and intent, and really sloppy skills!
im sick of the selection bingo every week
im sick of us going 5 years without a bonified ruckman on the list
im sick of list clogger coach favourites staying in for 4 years
we’ve lost god damn lost to the Box Hill Hawks, looking at their injury list, pathetic, it’s actually our worst loss in years, line in the sand should of been drawn instead we now face the very real prospect of finishing 5th because of a refusal to change.
*!*!*!*! this.
LostDog
Pathetic
14-08-2021, 04:03 PM
I hope we do drop to 5th. The less games we play this season the better. End this season ASAP.
14-08-2021, 04:04 PM
Why did Hunter stop and prop. He should have kept going and play on. We are 5 goals down.
I'd drop Treloar.
This is an atrocity.
14-08-2021, 04:05 PM
Why did Hunter stop and prop. He should have kept going and play on. We are 5 goals down.
He had nothing ahead of the ball… just as per the rest of the day.
I know some have said we have looked flat over the last couple of weeks but for me we don't look to be interested enough or playing with enough intent.
I've gotta check out of here. Way too early in the weekend to get into a gloomfest.
14-08-2021, 04:07 PM
48-32 inside 50s … been destroyed
English is a genuine pea heart today.
He was half asleep at the half time meeting. Serious doubts on his competitiveness. Every week we get smashed in the ruck....!
Its 50-15 the hit outs.
What a great way to honour Garry Hincks.
Skill errors I can cop, but effort and intensity I cannot.
I hope we do drop to 5th. The less games we play this season the better. End this season ASAP.
I know it is bad but come on we are still in the mix. Sure it doesn’t seem like it but things can turn around quickly.
I've gotta check out of here. Way too early in the weekend to get into a gloomfest.
Can I come too.
14-08-2021, 04:08 PM
Last week we won the inside 50s by 20. This week just been absolutely thrashed around the ball.
14-08-2021, 04:08 PM
An out of whack performance today.
14-08-2021, 04:09 PM
This form has also cost Bont a brownlow.
14-08-2021, 04:09 PM
He was half asleep at the half time meeting. Serious doubts on his competitiveness. Every week we get smashed in the ruck....!
Its 50-15 the hit outs.
Wondering if his early season concussion has sapped his confidence.
14-08-2021, 04:10 PM
Bont please man. He gets it runs, and kicks it 50 to no one very often.
Shambolic.
Wondering if his early season concussion has sapped his confidence.
It’s a fair call.
14-08-2021, 04:11 PM
Too right. I am thinking the same. In saying that I am really down after this performance
14-08-2021, 04:12 PM
Too right. I am thinking the same. In saying that I am really down after this performance
It’s a season killer.
14-08-2021, 04:12 PM
This club finds new ways of letting you down.
14-08-2021, 04:13 PM
Geez hawthorns three peat is done but they’re soon gonna be better than us.
14-08-2021, 04:13 PM
im sick of the selection bingo every week
im sick of us going 5 years without a bonified ruckman on the list
im sick of list clogger coach favourites staying in for 4 years
we’ve lost god damn lost to the Box Hill Hawks, looking at their injury list, pathetic, it’s actually our worst loss in years, line in the sand should of been drawn instead we now face the very real prospect of finishing 5th because of a refusal to change.
*!*!*!*! this.
This. All this.
14-08-2021, 04:14 PM
Another OOF from Baz just to put some icing on a *!*!*!*!ing pile of shit that’s been his afternoon.
14-08-2021, 04:14 PM
So what’s gone wrong? Win to go top of the ladder. Consolidate against Crows. The last two weeks have been completely off. We have conceded the last six goals of the game to bottom end team with everything to play for. How do we get our mojo back?
Not what we needed in lockdown. Was looking for to this game all day. It’s just absolutely depressing.
14-08-2021, 04:15 PM
This. All this.
It’s the worst for a long while. With their outs, the relative positions. It’s the hope that gets you!
14-08-2021, 04:15 PM
This umpire is the biggest cheat of the day.
14-08-2021, 04:17 PM
We have had NOTHING forward of the ball all day. Diabolical. We’re gonna get pumped by 10 goals in the finals.
14-08-2021, 04:18 PM
So we’re gonna get port or Geelong in an away final at best. Yeah well done dogs. Giving yourselves your best chance.
14-08-2021, 04:19 PM
Bruce was not replaced, and the game plan did not change - so on the rare occasions we touched it we just kicked it long anyway. Buggered if I know what we thought was going to happen.
We still have so much quality that I have some confidence we can turn it on and get involved in finals, but we look so tired and disinterested that I'm far from being convinced.
Spineless.
I'm ashamed to be linked to the club today. *!*!*!*!ing disgusting.
Finish 5th after being first/second literally all year.
Bevo, my patience is officially wearing thin.
The guy in the other box however.
55-15 hit outs.
Im trying to be positive it ain’t working.
1 goal into the wind...0 goals in the last.
14-08-2021, 04:22 PM
Tim O’Brien and Daniel Howe made to look like superstars. If I have to hear Koschitzke’s 7 touches and 2 goals get sucked off one more time I’ll break my TV.
We’re a JOKE why even play that game.
14-08-2021, 04:22 PM
It wasn’t the addition of an extra forward to replacing Bruce. We were destroyed around the ground. 60 less touches, 16 less inside 50s and lost centre clearances 10-4 with costly goals at crucial times conceded again.
14-08-2021, 04:24 PM
That last 2 weeks are performances this particular group can’t come back from. Something has broken within the psyche of the players.
Next week will be a blood bath.
No top 4 side produces a performance like this against the 15th side. Something is rotten at the club. If we don’t have a shakeup in the off-season I’m pulling the pin. I’m sick of seeing the same crap year after year. The same problems are rearing their head again. We papered over it. Coaches need a massive shakeup as does our list balance. I’d pull some heavy shots if I was Power. No one should be safe except Bont and Naughts.
Well… that was not great.
14-08-2021, 04:25 PM
Look at the positives. If it falls our way we may only have to watch 1 finals loss and not 2.
14-08-2021, 04:25 PM
Tim O’Brien and Daniel Howe made to look like superstars. If I have to hear Koschitzke’s 7 touches and 2 goals get sucked off one more time I’ll break my TV.
Yeah, the ogling over him was well over the top today.
14-08-2021, 04:26 PM
No top 4 side produces a performance like this against the 15th side. Something is rotten at the club. If we don’t have a shakeup in the off-season I’m pulling the pin. I’m sick of seeing the same crap year after year. The same problems are rearing their head again. We papered over it. Coaches need a massive shakeup as does our list balance. I’d pull some heavy shots if I was Power. No one should be safe except Bont and Naughts.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion but we’ve been up for a very long time and were bound to have a flat patch. Timing is terrible. Injuries have hurt. We are all midfield and far too heavy in there. But… we will have a double chance.
14-08-2021, 04:26 PM
This umpire is the biggest cheat of the day.
Terrible. Apparently you can tackle players without the ball now.
There's absolutely nothing to take away from this game. We looked listless, helpless. Didn't see a hard tackle or body spoil all day. It's not so long ago that we were treated like rag dolls in a final against GWS, offering no resistance physically. This game shows we haven't fundamentally changed as a team, we're still prone to rolling over without so much as a whimper. Losing contested possessions against this mob is unacceptable.
14-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Everyone is entitled to their opinion but we’ve been up for a very long time and were bound to have a flat patch. Timing is terrible. Injuries have hurt. We are all midfield and far too heavy in there. But… we will have a double chance.
Lions only 6 percent behind now, 5th is a real possibility.
14-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Is there a bit of sooking going on from Dunkley and Treloar? They didn't seem to be playing with any intensity today, and it was largely the same last week.
14-08-2021, 04:28 PM
And Macrae, Weightman and Daniel. Macrae looked like one of the few who looked like he cared today.
The double chance is no where near guaranteed, in fact I’d say it’s line ball right now. We dropped 3% today and are only 6% ahead of Brisbane. If Brisbane win both games like they’re expected to do, and we drop next week, there’s are very good chance the % flips and we end up 5th.
Is there a bit of sooking going on from Dunkley and Treloar? They didn't seem to be playing with any intensity today, and it was largely the same last week.
Something there, I’ve noticed it.
We're still going to win by the way.
OK great thanks.
14-08-2021, 04:29 PM
The double chance is no where near guaranteed, in fact I’d say it’s line ball right now. We dropped 3% today and are only 6% ahead of Brisbane. If Brisbane win both games like they’re expected to do, and we drop next week, there’s are very good chance the % flips and we end up 5th.
Yes I think it’s a coin toss now. Bombers week one wouldn’t that just top it aaaallllllllll off.
On a positive note I thought Bailey Dale was very good again.
This is more than a flat patch. We’ve been uncompetitive for 6 of 7 weeks. Kicking 5 goals against the 15th side isn’t a flat patch. I’ve been dubious about our form for much of the season. I always suspected this underbelly. But never in my worst nightmares did I think it was this bad. There’s no coming back from this.
Will we have a double chance? Thought we could drop to 5th.
14-08-2021, 04:30 PM
Terrible. Apparently you can tackle players without the ball now.
There's absolutely nothing to take away from this game. We looked listless, helpless. Didn't see a hard tackle or body spoil all day. It's not so long ago that we were treated like rag dolls in a final against GWS, offering no resistance physically. This game shows we haven't fundamentally changed as a team, we're still prone to rolling over without so much as a whimper. Losing contested possessions against this mob is unacceptable.
The unpaid deliberate, the tackles without the footy, the mark not paid, the non-holding the ball decisions just made an already frustrating day more frustrating.
If this is how the season fritters away then I'm questioning the leadership and cohesion at the club.
14-08-2021, 04:30 PM
Yep. If we lose next week and Brisbane win both and the 6% is worn away. Yep. Elimination Final vs Essendon. And I can’t think about that. It hurts.
LostDog
14-08-2021, 04:31 PM
Agreed
14-08-2021, 04:32 PM
The unpaid deliberate, the tackles without the footy, the mark not paid, the non-holding the ball decisions just made an already frustrating day more frustrating.
If this is how the season fritters away then I'm questioning the leadership and cohesion at the club.
Leadership is the right word. I’m not seeing it anywhere.
14-08-2021, 04:32 PM
This is more than a flat patch. We’ve been uncompetitive for 6 of 7 weeks. Kicking 5 goals against the 15th side isn’t a flat patch. I’ve been dubious about our form for much of the season. I always suspected this underbelly. But never in my worst nightmares did I think it was this bad. There’s no coming back from this.
How can you be uncompetitive for six of seven weeks when you win four times in that period?
14-08-2021, 04:33 PM
If west coast drop out of the 8, we’ll be the worst team heading into the finals on recent form. By a mile. Everyone will position themselves to play us.
14-08-2021, 04:34 PM
We have to lose next week and Brisbane need to win by around 8 goals each week
14-08-2021, 04:35 PM
The ruck Jeemak explain it to me. Banking on a 34 yr old who apparently every Lions fan I spoke to at Ballarat knew was cooked? English is so talented, but a complete liability in the ruck.
14-08-2021, 04:35 PM
How can you be uncompetitive for six of seven weeks when you win four times in that period?
We were uninspiring against bottom placed north.
Lost to Sydney.
Uninspiring against a horrible Gold Coast.
Did enough to beat a falling Adelaide.
Essendon made us look silly
Hawthorn embarrassed us.
I don’t just look at wins and losses. I’ve been concerned for a while.
14-08-2021, 04:36 PM
Given they play the Pies and Eagles at the Gabba, that’s a big possibility.
14-08-2021, 04:37 PM
Well if we lose by 60 points I think it would be less right? I’ll do some figures and report back :)
14-08-2021, 04:41 PM
The ruck Jeemak explain it to me. Banking on a 34 yr old who apparently every Lions fan I spoke to at Ballarat knew was cooked? English is so talented, but a complete liability in the ruck.
All I can tell you about the ruck is that Bevo won't play one unless he really likes them. In lieu of that we rely on our midfielders to be accountable to neutralise the football, roll one up and then move the ball forward cleanly.
If our midfielders don't do that we get exposed. If we butcher the footy we get exposed. Today we had both of these issues and paid the price.
14-08-2021, 04:43 PM
What would they have to sook about? Out injured for multiple weeks and then straight back in.
Not disagreeing just thinking out loud
14-08-2021, 04:44 PM
All I can tell you about the ruck is that Bevo won't play one unless he really likes them. In lieu of that we rely on our midfielders to be accountable to neutralise the football, roll one up and then move the ball forward cleanly.
If our midfielders don't do that we get exposed. If we butcher the footy we get exposed.
Matt Rendell spoke of their concern over Tim’s competitiveness when he was Pies recruiter. If I was a midfielder and the opposition ruck is basically bullying your guy (your ruck is a bit of a symbol in this game) it has to take a toll, especially as you say if the mids aren’t playing well.
Dunkley is really struggling, wonder if he’s off somewhere.
14-08-2021, 04:45 PM
What would they have to sook about? Out injured for multiple weeks and then straight back in.
Trouble in bromance paradise?
14-08-2021, 04:46 PM
Our worst effort since Bevo took over by far. I was listening on the car radio and we'd kicked 3 quick goals. Great. Went inside and we didn't score again for about 45 miniutes. That is lamentable. We were smashed all over the ground. Sadly, there is NOTHING to take away from this game. But don't worry. We will win next week. It's what we do.
14-08-2021, 04:48 PM
Yeah I may be reading a bit too much into the body language and what appeared to be a lack of effort. They should be grateful for the faith shown in them after long layoffs.
14-08-2021, 04:50 PM
Yeah I may be reading a bit too much into the body language and what appeared to be a lack of effort. They should be grateful for the faith shown in them after long layoffs.
I don’t think so, something is off within the group.
14-08-2021, 04:51 PM
Has it been since they were in the hub in WA?
They can test any relationship !
14-08-2021, 04:52 PM
Really????? where did you hear that?
14-08-2021, 04:54 PM
Really????? where did you hear that?
Why does he have to have heard anything? Our putrid performances the last 2 weeks are proof that something is off.
14-08-2021, 04:55 PM
Dunkley is struggling for form but I would not be questioning his commitment. He put his body on the line with unbelievable efforts at least twice today where he copped heavy knocks.
14-08-2021, 04:55 PM
I swear every year there is talk of something up with the playing group. Seriously have we recruited a bunch of high school teens? Play footy for gods sake and stop with the oversensitivity. God I miss guys like Moz, Boyd, Picko and Clay. What I’d do to get guys like that into our team.
14-08-2021, 04:57 PM
Hopefully sharing a plane trip home with hawthorn will embarrass out of our slumber.
14-08-2021, 04:59 PM
Far from an even satisfactory effort today. I'll listen closely to Bevo's presser. Perhaps there is more to this than I'm aware of.
14-08-2021, 05:00 PM
Dunkley is struggling for form but I would not be questioning his commitment. He put his body on the line with unbelievable efforts at least twice today where he copped heavy knocks.
He did AP very courageous.
He has had wavering commitment in the not too distant past though because he cracked it with the coach, so fair question. He’s fringe atm.
14-08-2021, 05:00 PM
We excel at that , make order ordinary players look like superstars
Last week it was Wight and Draper
Today’s it’s these 2
14-08-2021, 05:02 PM
Matt Rendell spoke of their concern over Tim’s competitiveness when he was Pies recruiter. If I was a midfielder and the opposition ruck is basically bullying your guy (your ruck is a bit of a symbol in this game) it has to take a toll, especially as you say if the mids aren’t playing well.
Dunkley is really struggling, wonder if he’s off somewhere.
Hawthorn had 55 hit outs to our 15 and yet we continue to use English as our sole ruck man. Treloar had 2 kicks and Dunkley 4 kicks, which is extremely poor from two of our prime movers. Hawthorn with Clarkson’s pending departure are playing with great passion, which we have sadly lacked over the past 5-6 weeks.
14-08-2021, 05:02 PM
Bevo seemed flat during the week and clearly the players also were flat.
Bevo has always said we are an emotional team and take things to heart.
No idea if losing Bruce and lockdown has finally pushed us to the brink.
14-08-2021, 05:05 PM
I was worried since the Geelong game. Players look tired especially the midfield . I had fears our form would drop off then and now risk of dropping out of the top 4
The glaring gaps we have been papering For years in a lack of a ruck and stubbornness to not tag to stop bleeding is same theme every week
Play a bona fide ruckman . Can at least they try play Young as a full time Ruck for one game ? We have to use him consistently somewhere
This high intensity game of mids covering for lack of ruck is wearing down our players . Its not going to succeed in finals . Remember what Mumford did to us in a final series.
14-08-2021, 05:20 PM
Howe is the biggest spud to have a blinder against us since Wiggins for the Blues.
14-08-2021, 05:29 PM
I am not overly worried with things like selection/tactics but very concerned with our selective efforts at ground level, lack of pressure and uncommitted aerial efforts. This was all attitude and effort if you get that right everything else looks much better.
How many times were there 50/50 balls that we took a short step on? Same with missed tackles, closing space and spoiling. Well down on basically anything that is effort based.
14-08-2021, 05:35 PM
We were uninspiring against bottom placed north.
Lost to Sydney.
Uninspiring against a horrible Gold Coast.
Did enough to beat a falling Adelaide.
Essendon made us look silly
Hawthorn embarrassed us.
I don’t just look at wins and losses. I’ve been concerned for a while.
Agree. The writing was on the wall at that NM game. When north can score 4.8 against you in the last quarter when we should’ve been out for % was a pure warning sign. Everything that has happened since shows we are on a major downward spiral.
14-08-2021, 05:38 PM
Agree. The writing was on the wall at that NM game. When north can score 4.8 against you in the last quarter when we should’ve been out for % was a pure warning sign. Everything that has happened since shows we are on a major downward spiral.
During that game, I actually thought we were doing what we needed to win. Conserving ourselves. Nope, it was the beginning of the end.
14-08-2021, 05:51 PM
Just got home after watching that debacle live.
Our skill level is shocking under little pressure
Our contested marking is a joke
Our goal kicking is laughable
We are carrying maybe 8-10 players that wouldn’t get a game for other top sides
Our fwd line was as dysfunctional as I’ve seen
English is not, and never will be a #1 ruck
Most of this I knew already but it was interesting to watch it all live
14-08-2021, 05:54 PM
Just got home after watching that debacle live.
Our skill level is shocking under little pressure
Our contested marking is a joke
Our goal kicking is laughable
We are carrying maybe 8-10 players that wouldn’t get a game for other top sides
Our fwd line was as dysfunctional as I’ve seen
English is not, and never will be a #1 ruck
Most of this I knew already but it was interesting to watch it all live
But apart from all that we’re ok, right? ;)
Missed the game for my grandsons 2nd birthday. How lucky am I haha. I think I'll just delete the recording
14-08-2021, 06:06 PM
But apart from all that we’re ok, right? ;)
Yep, we are on the verge of a dynasty.
14-08-2021, 06:06 PM
Missed the game for my grandsons 2nd birthday. How lucky am I haha. I think I'll just delete the recording
Delete now and enjoy the rest of your night Chef.
14-08-2021, 06:13 PM
I envy you.
Could be worse, I could also be an Arsenal supporter. Tough day TD and BAD.
14-08-2021, 06:35 PM
Could be worse, I could also be an Arsenal supporter. Tough day TD and BAD.
I make three. Used to be a huge Gooner. A bit over soccer/football though these days. Might be a link in there somewhere.
14-08-2021, 06:36 PM
Its really interesting, just looking at my work place, people have been really inconsistent this year there is is no doubt a cumulative impact of lockdowns is weighing on people. The club has done an outstanding job so far, but yeah we let ourselves down today.
Next week will answer a lot of questions, I'm not prepared to jump off yet. This group is set up for sustained success with a tweak to two to our list, I'm still really bullish on what this group can achieve.
14-08-2021, 07:14 PM
Bad day today. Looked very flat. Have to win next week and get that home final. Cmon Dogs!
14-08-2021, 07:21 PM
Positives - 1) the backline only conceded 9 goals, that would win most games.
2) we got games into Keath, Treloar, Dunks, vanders.
14-08-2021, 07:49 PM
I hope our window of opportunity to communicate with Clarkson is fully taken advantage of.
14-08-2021, 08:58 PM
Top of the world to hanging onto a top four position by a whisker in two weeks. Some turnaround.
14-08-2021, 09:05 PM
Did Bevo say anything useful in the presser?
14-08-2021, 09:29 PM
You should check it out.
He just seemed very flat and disappointed, didn't offer any excuses which is a clear sign he didn't want to put the players and their lack of intensity too far under the bus.
If Martin got through a strenuous session today he's closer to playing.
14-08-2021, 09:32 PM
You should check it out.
He just seemed very flat and disappointed, didn't offer any excuses which is a clear sign he didn't want to put the players and their lack of intensity too far under the bus.
If Martin got through a strenuous session today he's closer to playing.
It would've killed him losing to Clarkson. They've been having a decent cold war type stoush of late.
14-08-2021, 09:35 PM
It would've killed him losing to Clarkson. They've been having a decent cold war type stoush of late.
Yeah I don't think there's a great deal of friendliness between them. He said pre-game they had a very good relationship when he was at the Hawks.. but he didn't quite finish the sentence it before he clarified it by saying 'working relationship'..
14-08-2021, 09:57 PM
Brisbane winning by a squillion has just made this the perfect day.
14-08-2021, 09:59 PM
In some ways it might be the tonic we need!. No room for error next week.
14-08-2021, 10:22 PM
If our midfielders don't do that we get exposed. If we butcher the footy we get exposed. Today we had both of these issues and paid the price.
Why should our midfielders have to carry an unnecessary burden like that?
We had a structure that suited them and the rest of the team.
Haven’t we lost nearly half of the games since we stopped playing Martin or Sweet?
14-08-2021, 10:27 PM
Why should our midfielders have to carry an unnecessary burden like that?
We had a structure that suited them and the rest of the team.
Haven’t we lost nearly half of the games since we stopped playing Martin or Sweet?
What took you so long?
We probably think that if we play Sweet then we lose in other areas and only might gain something in the middle or structurally. Might, so on balance we choose not to.
As for the midfielders, asking for them to play defencively from time to time or all the time as needed isn't burdening them with something unreasonable. They should just do their *!*!*!*!ing jobs.
14-08-2021, 11:50 PM
What took you so long?
We probably think that if we play Sweet then we lose in other areas and only might gain something in the middle or structurally. Might, so on balance we choose not to.
As for the midfielders, asking for them to play defencively from time to time or all the time as needed isn't burdening them with something unreasonable. They should just do their *!*!*!*!ing jobs.
We did lose. Big time. Again. For the same reasons. English sacrificed. Forward line dysfunctional. Opposition centres had a picnic and Naughton given no assistance.
As for the midfielders they have been carrying a structurally deficient game plan for years. Even today they did ok when the ruck was lost catastrophically.
And Hannan as CHF worked as expected. With 10 minutes left he had touched the ball 4 times. I certainly believe we would have been much better with English as CHF and Sweet as ruck.
14-08-2021, 11:57 PM
We did lose. Big time. Again. For the same reasons. English sacrificed. Forward line dysfunctional. Opposition centres had a picnic and Naughton given no assistance.
As for the midfielders they have been carrying a structurally deficient game plan for years. Even today they did ok when the ruck was lost catastrophically.
And Hannan as CHF worked as expected. With 10 minutes left he had touched the ball 4 times. I certainly believe we would have been much better with English as CHF and Sweet as ruck.
Forward line dysfunctional?? They didn't get a sniff?? The ball didn't get down there anywhere near enough to even hope to engineer a win.
The midfield did not do okay. They were putrid,as they were last week. But they have shown for several weeks prior that a non dominant ruck isn't fatal if they work to the constructs of the game plan.
Hannan was crap..I'll give you that. But again, that may be an outcome of the paucity of opportunities our forward line got this week.
15-08-2021, 12:10 AM
Forward line dysfunctional?? They didn't get a sniff?? The ball didn't get down there anywhere near enough to even hope to engineer a win.
The midfield did not do okay. They were putrid,as they were last week. But they have shown for several weeks prior that a non dominant ruck isn't fatal if they work to the constructs of the game plan.
Hannan was crap..I'll give you that. But again, that may be an outcome of the paucity of opportunities our forward line got this week.
I think there is something important in this observation. There’s a very poor connection between the midfielders and the forwards, and that’s not new. Is it a result of having 3 successful tall forwards in the first half of the season? In the first 10 minutes or so today Hunter butchered 4 entries. There was no chance of today’s forwards salvaging something from his poor skills.
15-08-2021, 09:12 AM
I am expecting Bevo's presser to be featured on "The Bounce" tonight, in Gazey's segment, "Cut the crap".
15-08-2021, 10:32 AM
Every game we have lost with the exception of the Geelong and Sydney match, we have been beaten for centre clearances. If Libba doesn't get his hands on the ball, we are almost stuffed. Bevo did say we were the number one for CC but the last two weeks we have had issues.
The Richmond game, 3rd quarter, they won it continually out of the centre, Melbourne put the clamp on Libba and we lost, and the last two weeks we have been thrashed there. It stems from the lack of a good tap ruckman, so we are desperate for Stef to be back.
People can talk about lack of leadership, problems internally, the coach, the mids lack of defence, but at the end of the day, the centre clearances is what has killed us.
Hopefully we turn this around next week.
15-08-2021, 10:35 AM
Every game we have lost with the exception of the Geelong and Sydney match, we have been beaten for centre clearances. If Libba doesn't get his hands on the ball, we are almost stuffed. Bevo did say we were the number one for CC but the last two weeks we have had issues.
The Richmond game, 3rd quarter, they won it continually out of the centre, Melbourne put the clamp on Libba and we lost, and the last two weeks we have been thrashed there. It stems from the lack of a good tap ruckman, so we are desperate for Stef to be back.
People can talk about lack of leadership, problems internally, the coach, the mids lack of defence, but at the end of the day, the centre clearances is what has killed us.
Fully agree, it just makes it so confusing on why we haven't been proactive in building some depth in the ruck and KP options.
15-08-2021, 10:36 AM
I think the centre clearance issue the last two weeks is a symptom of the overall midfield issue. Of course, the ruck is a huge factor but we’re also largely uncompetitive around the ground too. Whilst the hawks had an extra man in defence, it also felt like they had an extra at stoppages AND at half forward. They had extra numbers all over the ground which just speaks to work rate.
15-08-2021, 10:36 AM
Fully agree, it just makes it so confusing on why we haven't been proactive in building some depth in the ruck and KP options.
Well it is what it is, and I guess we have one that is injured.
We need to rectify this for next year. Darcy will be a future ruckman, plus we need another mature body.
15-08-2021, 10:50 AM
Bevo sounded as mystified with the centre clearance issue as we all are. Focused on it this week after the bombers thrashed us, and we didn’t respond against the hawks.
15-08-2021, 10:53 AM
Bevo sounded as mystified with the centre clearance issue as we all are. Focused on it this week after the bombers thrashed us, and we didn’t respond against the hawks.
He knows why. Hitouts were 55 to 15
15-08-2021, 10:57 AM
We need to rectify this for next year. Darcy will be a future ruckman, plus we need another mature body.
With list sizes the way they are we could easily carry some additional support.
This is very much a calculated decision and we would have known the risks going in this season and a few before that.
15-08-2021, 10:58 AM
He knows why, there should be no confusion.
15-08-2021, 10:59 AM
He knows why. Hitouts were 55 to 15
Yeah that’s a big part of it, but we haven’t had Martin for ages and weren’t getting killed out of the middle like we have been lately. Maybe the mids have just given up sharking opposition taps.
15-08-2021, 11:01 AM
You certainly have to question the Trengove v Hayes retention decisions. Both limited, but one more a position of need.
Jackson may not have stayed on rookie wages anyway but I’d have preferred him as an option now.
15-08-2021, 11:03 AM
Yeah that’s a big part of it, but we haven’t had Martin for ages and weren’t getting killed out of the middle like we have been lately. Maybe the mids have just given up sharking opposition taps.
Psychologically it has to be detrimental.
15-08-2021, 11:03 AM
He knows why, there should be no confusion.
So why didn’t we select Sweet? He may have limitations elsewhere, but surely giving up centre clearances is a bigger issue.
15-08-2021, 01:31 PM
The last time we played Port Sweet did ok. I think it was his second or third game and he had as many possessions and hitouts as Martin did in the each of games 1,2 and 3.
And his efforts straightened up the clearances so the ball went to the goal square instead of the dead pocket via a sloppy kick on the wing. The number of clearances increased. Treloar had a dozen good kicks to the forwards, yesterday he had 2.
Amazingly, MartinÂ’s stocks have become greater by being unable to play.
I suggest that most people stop reading now.
The Dogs had more and better clearances when Sweet rucked alone in gamesÂ…8, 9 and 10Â… than they did when Martin and English shared the ruck in games 1, 2 and 3.
15-08-2021, 08:46 PM
Tim O’Brien had a career high player rating on the weekend, in his 95th game.
15-08-2021, 08:51 PM
So why didn’t we select Sweet? He may have limitations elsewhere, but surely giving up centre clearances is a bigger issue.
Sweet should have been in as soon as Martin went down. He won't play him, stubborn to the end and that will come soon if we're 1 and done again in 2021.
15-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Sweet should have been in as soon as Martin went down. He won't play him, stubborn to the end and that will come soon if we're 1 and done again in 2021.
That’s a great bumper sticker that will never get made:
Bulldogs 3 Peat: 1 & Done in ‘21
18-08-2021, 08:36 PM
Dunkley with the Domestique jumper today …. His peers seeing something in his game where he sacrificed for the greater good. Putting his body on the line?
18-08-2021, 10:04 PM
Dunkley with the Domestique jumper today …. His peers seeing something in his game where he sacrificed for the greater good. Putting his body on the line?
He took two big hits not long after each other.