View Full Version : WB Game Day V Port Adelaide R23 2021

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

20-08-2021, 08:59 PM
Pressure and defence. And some terrible misses....

What percentage of that quarter did Bont play forward? Felt like >60%.

Not sure but only had a few touches

20-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Too many poor handballs and fumbles, I also think they are a bit harder around the footy at the moment. Allir body lines it more than 5 of our guys and walks through. Those sort of things happened several times.

Need a lift from Bont, Macrae and Libba. Boak is absolutely slaughtering us around the footy.

If you’re counting. 12 frees to them, 6 to us.

It’s not the doubling. It’s whats being paid for them, and not paid to us.

Some unbelievable holding-the-ball calls, paid and not paid.

Re: the ruck, has English contested anything outside the F50? I don't have a huge issue with Young as #1 ruck, but I'm surprised we're running Hannan as #2 instead of Tim (who, btw, needs to take a faaaarking mark).

The midfield is still a big concern.

I just don't think we're going to see the best of Treloar or Dunkley this year and it'll cost us.

I think we're in a good spot. We've seen how Port responded to our first quarter, and we've now got the opportunity, with a 3 goal lead, to try and respond in kind.

20-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Port managed to take Libba and Bont out of that quarter. This game will open up at some point and we need the run of Treloar and maybe Vanderto break the lines.

20-08-2021, 09:01 PM
Port got us that quarter but just couldn't get it on the board. Maybe it is our night?

20-08-2021, 09:02 PM
I think we're in a good spot. We've seen how Port responded to our first quarter, and we've now got the opportunity, with a 3 goal lead, to try and respond in kind.

Kick a couple before they do, and their confidence will drop with only a goal on the board. They will then be thinking about next week and not getting injured.

20-08-2021, 09:02 PM
Some unbelievable holding-the-ball calls, paid and not paid.

Re: the ruck, has English contested anything outside the F50? I don't have a huge issue with Young as #1 ruck, but I'm surprised we're running Hannan as #2 instead of Tim (who, btw, needs to take a faaaarking mark).

I think though, Tim staying home is a big part of negating Allir, keeping him honest. We want to keep English and Naughton as viable targets... or at least talls that ensure Allir stays home.
Hannan is doing a good job overall in not letting Lycett get too many free hits to advantage. As long as it's 2-3 times a quarter that's okay.

20-08-2021, 09:03 PM
Kick a couple before they do, and their confidence will drop with only a goal on the board. They will then be thinking about next week and not getting injured.

That would be the perfect start.. I'd love for that to happen.
Port are not going to wilt unless we get a big break.

20-08-2021, 09:05 PM
They've managed to not let Dale run out of defence as well. We need more drive from him

Regardless of the result, do we bring in Sweet or Martin to ruck with Young and thereby keep English as a forward? Seems obvious.

The second ruck of Hannan isn't working. In fact Hannan, in general, isn't working so I think he's easily expendable.

Side note - I actually like Roarke and what he's delivering. He's big, hard and committed - he's in our best side.

I know Hunter cops it for his 'easy' misses.. but just checked his time on ground.. He's at 95% and he's covered the most ground of anyone on the field....over 5km. He was probably absolutely knackered when he had that shot.

We need to score 6+ goals in the second half. I think we can defend 9+ goals over the half, because they will kick straighter evenly.

The issue is spraying easy ones (yes you Hunter) and scoring just one that quarter. But work it through somehow and we should just hold on.

Plus Schache for Wood would be handy.

20-08-2021, 09:07 PM
I know Hunter cops it for his 'easy' misses.. but just checked his time on ground.. He's at 95% and he's covered the most ground of anyone on the field....over 5km. He was probably absolutely knackered when he had that shot.

I don’t accept it. He’s done it his entire career. If he can’t take an easy set shot for running lots, stay out of the forwardline and don’t put yourself in a position to miss easy shots.

Where is Bont?
Saving himself for the finals.

Regardless of the result, do we bring in Sweet or Martin to ruck with Young and thereby keep English as a forward? Seems obvious.

The second ruck of Hannan isn't working. In fact Hannan, in general, isn't working so I think he's easily expendable.

Side note - I actually like Roarke and what he's delivering. He's big, hard and committed - he's in our best side.

Are we really worse off with Sweet in the team instead of Young or Hannan?

20-08-2021, 09:08 PM
I think that even as we are in front we have a lot more up side than port. We have plenty left in the tank

Stop the fumbling please…it’s not wet.
Majority of our handballs are bullets to the ground or shoulder height.
Need to be better around the ball and not allow easy getaways.

We seem to have put a big focus on D50 pressure which is great but it leaves us thin when we win the ball back

Make no mistake if they game continues on current trajectory we will get done. Need a lift around the ball and be a little bit cleaner with those release handballs. Win some loose balls, get some pace on the game again and force them to change the tempo.

Big half for Naughton too, a couple of big marks will make all the difference.

I love ya mate but that's no excuse for what was a dismal miss.

Need to start break even in the clearances. Getting smashed in there again. Need to lift to win this game.

20-08-2021, 09:09 PM

Young has been ok and wonders lots more than Sweet.

Easton Wood is going to cause my remote to go through my TV.

Stay strong.
Kick the cat.

I can't get over the BS over the disallowed Boak? goal. It was a blatant free kick to Cordy surely. The Port bloke practically strangled him!!!

20-08-2021, 09:10 PM

Was surprised he didn’t go around the corner.

Schache. Offers better skills around the ground. Can drop into defence. Knows the forward line.

Young for Wood in defence.

A half of footy to play. 19 points up. On our home deck. Top 4 on the line. If we lose from here it’s the final nail in the 2021 coffin. Let’s see what we’ve got.

I thought that was a tough quarter, they threw alot at us, but we defended well. They kicked a few behinds but under pressure.

We are winning.

Have either done poorly.. I think Young in particular has acquitted himself well. Hannan hasn't had a lot of possessions, but I think we've seen this year that's not necessarily the main measure for the MC. I think he's hit the packs, he's pressured and Lycett hasn't won pivotal advantages from the ruck contests he's contended with Hannan.
Sweet seems to get better the longer he's been out of the side. I think it's pretty clear his limitations outside of the ruck contest are what keep him out.

20-08-2021, 09:11 PM
Libba has only one clearance for the game. We need to win it at the source. We need a big half from him.

Need to start break even in the clearances. Getting smashed in there again. Need to lift to win this game.

Certainly. We fix this we go along way to winning this game

I don’t accept it. He’s done it his entire career. If he can’t take an easy set shot for running lots, stay out of the forwardline and don’t put yourself in a position to miss easy shots.

Yep my thoughts as well. Let’s face it this is not the first or second time this has show. It’s ugly head. But I would be more than happy for Hunter to be kicking to Naughton on the lead up if Hunter was on the F50

Hunners is always one of the hardest working players in the side. And a smart footballer.

Down in clearances by a bit and contested possessions.

That's unsustainable we need to break even at least for the rest of the game

20-08-2021, 09:12 PM
A half of footy to play. 19 points up. On our home deck. Top 4 on the line. If we lose from here it’s the final nail in the 2021 coffin. Let’s see what we’ve got.

Is that you Dan Lonergan :D

20-08-2021, 09:12 PM
I love ya mate but that's no excuse for what was a dismal miss.

Don't get me wrong, my TV gave an audible sigh, after I settled down following that miss. I'm just trying to make a case for mitigating circumstances. He's otherwise been very good.

20-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Hunners is always one of the hardest working players in the side. And a smart footballer.

And has a record of 69.77 plus complete misses (well under 50%)

20-08-2021, 09:13 PM
Libba has only one clearance for the game. We need to win it at the source. We need a big half from him.

I wonder if he's playing a different role? Has anyone noticed if he's spent more time on any one in particular?

20-08-2021, 09:14 PM
I can't get over the BS over the disallowed Boak? goal. It was a blatant free kick to Cordy surely. The Port bloke practically strangled him!!!
Thought the same thing. And no surprise the commentators didn’t even mention it.

20-08-2021, 09:14 PM

He would’ve kicked it if on the boundary line.. he never misses those ones.

20-08-2021, 09:15 PM
I wonder if he's playing a different role? Has anyone noticed if he's spent more time on any one in particular?

They've put a lot of work into him. He's had no room at all.

20-08-2021, 09:16 PM
Was surprised he didn’t go around the corner.

On his left close to goal with the new rule with his smarts easy peasey.
No belief from him.
I psychologise his instincts are great but he lacks confidence in deliberation.

20-08-2021, 09:17 PM
Wood again.

Dumb stuff Naughts.

Pretty sure Drew has been tagging him.

Naughton the clamp.

Naughts gone.

20-08-2021, 09:18 PM
Dangerous tackle and report.

The fix is in.

Didn’t hit his head

Absolute stupidity Naughton

Worst report in history.

Not high?

That is the most laughable report ever.

20-08-2021, 09:19 PM
Wood is having a ‘mare

Sub Wood. Get him out

This really is the worst game Easton has ever played.

No illegal disposal.

The fix is in.

That is a disgrace that Naughton has been reported.

If Vandermeer gives away a fifty for interference on the mark/ protected zone I'll smash my TV.

Wood horror.
Dropkick.

Naughts gone.

He is not getting suspended for that.

Drew just did the EXACT same thing as Wood, while in the middle of the ground. That was play-on, Wood was HTB.

TV smashed.. you owe me $2k.

This is a massive stitch up. Never seen anything like it.

No illegal disposal.

The fix is in.

I literally saw three examples of this already this quarter and then Wood gets pinged. *!*!*!*!ing bullshit.

Nice Easton, 2 frees against in the first 3 minutes. Absolute liability.

Wood is killing our season.

Get him the *!*!*!*! off.

20-08-2021, 09:20 PM
He is not getting suspended for that.

Drew just did the EXACT same thing as Wood, while in the middle of the ground. That was play-on, Wood was HTB.

Wood tried to wrestle free.

That’s what we didn’t need.

Cmon dogs lift. Daisy is getting too excited.

Two goal game.
Yuck. Oedipus grabs!
No its Lathams.

20-08-2021, 09:21 PM
Nobody fears us.

Can we get Bailey Smith away from the middle? Where is Dunkley?

I really don't like Daisy Pearce. Why does she dislike us so much?

We're 5 minutes from being done.

HTB not going for us. But all against.

The fix is in. 16-6

20-08-2021, 09:22 PM
If Naughts did what Dixon just did we get the ball taken off us

Baz and Zaine. My boys.

Where the heck are holding the balls against Port. What a joke.

Time for some medication.

Cmon Dogs!

20-08-2021, 09:23 PM
Mids have got to turn this around. Letting us down again this quarter.

We have quality mids? We can’t win a clearance to save ourselves.

I really don't like Daisy Pearce. Why does she dislike us so much?

She's completely out of control tonight.

We have to get it back on our terms again. Get that 1st quarter energy going.

20-08-2021, 09:24 PM
Response comes now, or not at all.

We’re cooked.

What sort of kick was that from English?

S**t

I think that’s it folks :(

Done.

She's over.

Wow pathetic. I'm LOSING IT!

Midfield has turned up their toes again.

We're a pathetic football side right now

Where are our leaders?

That was lazy as shit in the middle Dogs.

Guys just standing still watching them waltz it through. Lazy. As. Shit.

We’re cooked again!!!

20-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Medication not working.
Alarm.
Alarm

20-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Smashed in the centre 3 weeks in a row

20-08-2021, 09:26 PM
Cordy all the way up the ground. Didn’t actually impact the play but good on him for having a crack.

Why does B. Smith never have touch on his opponent in the middle?

Cordy all the way up the ground. Didn’t actually impact the play but good on him for having a crack.

He is a passenger.

20-08-2021, 09:27 PM
Easton… again!

20-08-2021, 09:27 PM
Could be time to get some sleep. I've seen how this ends.

20-08-2021, 09:28 PM
How did Amon not get pinged???

How is that not HTB

Cheating.

Not HTB ???

How the FU*K IS THAT NOT HOLDING THE BALL!!!!!!!

This is absolutely rigged.

While it's frustrating we just need to put in 10 minutes of good football and we can wrestle this game back.

20-08-2021, 09:29 PM
The “hawthorn” team has turned up again

Cheating.

Not even trying to cover it up now.

I’d be more pissed if I knew we hadn’t already pulled the pin.

We are out of form certainly. Need to kick into gear quickly.

The umpires are shit but we have half a dozen blokes out there that don’t deserve a game.

20-08-2021, 09:30 PM
Stick a fork in us. We are done.

20-08-2021, 09:31 PM
Well done B. Smith

*!*!*!*! off dogs

In all my years of watching football, I’ve never seen a team fall away so dramatically. This is beyond embarrassing. Where’s the change going to come from? It won’t.

20-08-2021, 09:32 PM
We are a rabble

Absolutely shit Bont

That's not what a good leader does.

Terrible Marcus.

Bont can’t even make it from 40m. What’s wrong? We have no energy left?

Will we score another goal do u think ?

20-08-2021, 09:33 PM
We have lost all confidence to go fast

Good lad Cody. Well done.

Will we score another goal do u think ?
Yes ;)

Cody is proper forward

Massive goal against the trend

Great finish Cody! Nice to have someone who can take those.

Huge goal Cody! We desperately needed that one.

Cmon dogs! Weightman nice kick.

Good boy Cody.

It’s hard to play well when half the team are out of form… just so many non-contributors.

While it's frustrating we just need to put in 10 minutes of good football and we can wrestle this game back.

We need to even the clearances and contested possessions to turn the tide.

Not sure what's going on with the mids.

Weightman is the new Dickson

Can this bloody midfield stand up?

20-08-2021, 09:34 PM
Retire Weightman and appoint him goal kicking coach.

Hunter FFS

*!*!*!*! you Jack!

Lovely Grab Roarke!

Just had to hit a 15m pass under no pressure Jackson, and we were out. That's pathetic.

Great mark Rorake!

Terrible Macrae. Terrible.

20-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Lovely Grab Roarke!

Ripper he's really got some hang time.

20-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Great fightback!

C’mon Dogs!!

Please ignore last post.
Weightman required on field personnel.

Lovely Tim.

Cmon boys.

Cmon Cody. The youngest leading from the front.

come on lads.

Let's get our tails up and start winning it at the coal face. Come on, lift!

Not sure where that’s come from, but let’s *!*!*!*!ing go!

God we needed that
Just move the ball quicker and don’t allow them to set up. It’s not rocket science. Stop the excess handball, and RUN

Yes Tim!

Big big mark by Roarke

Rourke's goal.

20-08-2021, 09:37 PM
2 goals from nothing. Now let's create our own goals.

Cudos Roarke Smith

20-08-2021, 09:37 PM
Good stuff Cody and JJ and English marks and finishes. Good response.

20-08-2021, 09:38 PM
Beautiful!

Woof Woof!

That’s it….run run run…

What is happening!?

Yes!

Cmon Dogs!

It's a shame that Cody's not going to make it.

Cmon dogs!!!!

Needed those 3

Cody is a ripper

Weightman again!

5 minutes ago I was getting ready for bed

It's a shame that Cody's not going to make it.

Wasted pick.

Yes Weightman required on field.
Medication now working.

20-08-2021, 09:39 PM
Cody is a jet. Nice movement.

Unlike last week, we need to do more than 3 in 5 minutes. Cash in.

Amazing what happens when you try and move it quickly rather then the stagnant crap we’ve dished up.

Baz… stick the tackle!

I've had enough of this midfield FFS they cannot win a ball

Cmon dogs don't do what we did last week.

Hold.

Hold!

Every one of these goals are all Weightman's. The kid wants it more than anyone!

Gees Boak is an evergreen. Showing no signs of slowing down in his 30's.

Cheats. That’s HTB every day of the *!*!*!*!ing week.

Centre clearance again. Getting obliterated.

20-08-2021, 09:40 PM
Again centre clearance costing us. How have we become so weak in There

20-08-2021, 09:40 PM
I’m so far over you Baz.

20-08-2021, 09:41 PM
Libba for *!*!*!*!S sake.

Argh lack of talk there.

We are throwing this away with absolute stupidity

Ladhams rocking the Mattingly.

Cordy 10m in front again for no good reason… so predictable

Libba a Simpson moment.

Libba FFS

No talk by Treloar

Libba for *!*!*!*!S sake.

Surely someone tries to call him out there? that would've been a certain mark.

20-08-2021, 09:42 PM
A goal from not talking. Terrible. Libba and Treloar. Work it out.

I’m so far over you Baz.

Needs a spell. Can we give him one going into finals? I say yes.

It's going to be a close game.

Libba having an absolute nightmare

So like last week. 3 goals in 5 minutes and we are done for the day.

Libba's worst game ever

20-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Cheating *!*!*!*!s

Hold firm Dogs!

Why aren't the other mids giving it to this guy who's tagging Libba.

I've seen no attempt.

20-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Three dogs there

20-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Latham run at the *!*!*!*!ing footy mate. *!*!*!*!.

20-08-2021, 09:45 PM

He’s lost all zip… no idea why he’s playing TBH.

I'm hoping we just had a bad angle...because it looked pathetic.

Why aren't the other mids giving it to this guy who's tagging Libba.

I've seen no attempt.

Meek as mice.

20-08-2021, 09:46 PM
Again not HTB to us. What more do we need to do?

Cheating *!*!*!*!s

Lachie this is your moment.

Daniel just makes a mockery of football sometimes.

Round two of Lachie Hunter Bingo.

He'll kick it.

My last choice for this kick takes the mark

Rorake’s having a good game.

Lachy. Nice finish

Good boy Lachie. Needed that badly.

Legendary Lachlan, Legendary.

20-08-2021, 09:47 PM
The coin is flipped.....and it's a goal!

Well done Lachie!

Deserved a goal for his hard work. The one mid who can hold his head high.

just. But enough. Now no easy red time gift.

Good call Daaaaawwwg. He is.

He'll kick it.

You're the great prognosticator

He'll kick it.

What does he win Alex?

Caleb is smart footy guy.

As quick as we flipped the switch they responded and now we have again.

20-08-2021, 09:48 PM
So no push in the back to Hannan, but one against Weightman. This seems rigged right now.

20-08-2021, 09:48 PM
20 frees in 3 quarters. Cheats.

20-08-2021, 09:49 PM
The umpiring is the worst I’ve seen all year and that’s saying something.

20-08-2021, 09:49 PM
We’re on to you AFEL. You’ve just been too blatant.

20-08-2021, 09:50 PM
First qtr ours. Second theirs. Third even. Fourth?

I didn’t breathe for about a minute.

Thank god.

We have a pulse! Nice response from the lads after Port started finding goals

Heart attack stuff.. just need to keep our passengers away from the ball and hope for the best.

Yep. An excellent game.

Great pressure goal Lachie.

20-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Glad we're in the lead, and I'm normally a positive guy. But we've got to go to another level if we're gonna be in front at the end.
28 inside 50's is still showing we're not doing enough in the midfield.
Bont and Libba have got to lift in particular.
Dunks has to take more centre bounces.

Heart attack stuff.. just need to keep our passengers away from the ball and hope for the best.

Think we are all on tenterhooks

Marcus, you need to step up.ade a good start but done nothing since.

The midfield will win it or lose it but we need our captain more than ever

20-08-2021, 09:52 PM
Free kicks 10-20 there way

Very happy with Young and R. Smith.

We need a big captains last quarter here.

First goal then work our ar5es off defensively.

So no push in the back to Hannan, but one against Weightman. This seems rigged right now.

The fix has been in from the start. We are tackling and getting no reward, forwards jumped on, no reward. It’s cost us shots at goal and given them goals. How we are front with that Wood & B. Smith I don’t know.

This is finals type of footy, tight, tough.

Can we take a moment to understand how bad Smith's decision making and handballing is?

Did he not learn how to handball as a junior? He's literally found a Port player more than us by hand, it's actually astonishing how it's even possible

20-08-2021, 09:53 PM
It's clear the impact that 50/50 calls make on a game as well. Our first 3 goal burst coincided with a couple of iffy free kicks going in our favour, but far out I would love to see some consistency with holding-the-ball. We have been absolutely stiffed.

Hopefully we have been saving Bont for a big last quarter burst.

Our first 5 minutes midfield must be Bont, Libba and Macrae, with Treloar and Hunter wide. Smith on the bench.

Gotta get the first couple.

A lot of money riding on Port getting a home final and the umpires said hold my beer

Roarke Smith has been having a good night, been involved in quite a few crucial moments and a few excellent intercepts.

What is the difference between the Wood free and the one BSmith didn't get. Rubbish umpiring.

Holding the ball, incorrect disposal by them not given

Weightman involved in the 3 goals that 3 rd quarter . His such a spark. Very good kick for goal

I held my breath for a second hoping Roarke would snap for a goal but good option it went to hunter
Real grind that quarter

What the hell is Bonts doing in the ruck ? It’s such a bad idea as I fear he could get injured
Young is getting smashed in the ruck but his trying .

20-08-2021, 09:54 PM
Marcus, you need to step up.ade a good start but done nothing since.

The midfield will win it or lose it but we need our captain more than ever

This is his quarter. Take it by the scruff of the neck and we win

I can't believe we're in front.

Can we take a moment to understand how bad Smith's decision making and handballing is?

Did he not learn how to handball as a junior? He's literally found a Port player more than us by hand, it's actually astonishing how it's even possible

I’m pretty sure he actually punched one with a sweet right jab in that quarter.

And the frequency his opponent gets the clearance after he doesn’t have any touch on them. His last 11 quarters have been putrid. He owes the team a good one now.

20-08-2021, 09:55 PM
We have a pulse! Nice response from the lads after Port started finding goals

Please don't mention the word 'pulse'... Bevo mentioned 'pulsing' several times in his presser..... and it's right up there with 'moist' as the most cringey word... :)

20-08-2021, 09:55 PM

He is frustrating me no end