View Full Version : AFL Game Day R21 2021

02-08-2021, 10:51 AM
All discussion for Round 21. Won’t post the fixture just yet. It is changing up quite a bit but will post up once finalised.

06-08-2021, 08:17 PM
Just saw the outs for GWS. Hopefully we have some percentage above Geelong by the end of the game. Looks a brutal night for GWS coming their way.

06-08-2021, 08:52 PM
Margin now 8.8%

06-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Good to see Dangerfield cop a high fend off.

06-08-2021, 09:12 PM
Go Giants! Ahead now.

06-08-2021, 09:13 PM
It's no surprise that I think commentators are idiots, but one of my favourite reasons for it is "he should have had two if he had have kicked straight" after a first goal is kicked after a miss.

It is the epitome of nonsense.

06-08-2021, 09:14 PM
Go Giants! Ahead now.

Jesus mate, I hope you don't kiss your mother with that mouth.

06-08-2021, 09:15 PM
Toby Greene is becoming more likeable by the week

06-08-2021, 09:16 PM
Are we allowed to barrack for the Orange swine tonight?
You know, my enemie's enemy and all that.

06-08-2021, 09:16 PM
I hate the plastics, but don’t stop it guys.

06-08-2021, 09:17 PM
I never would have thought it but I'm with the Plastic Fantastics!

06-08-2021, 09:25 PM
Geez, GWS had a golden opportunity late but of course the ball bounced the wrong way on that shit hole surface.

06-08-2021, 09:26 PM
I know we said no more rooting, but I'm down for a spite root tonight.

06-08-2021, 09:28 PM

Suggestion that it might be looked at due to raised elbow.

Carey "because its Toby Greene it will be looked at"

Wayne - If that had been Zaine Cordy it would be 4 weeks!!!

06-08-2021, 09:31 PM
The fake GWS crowd noise is the loudest crowd noise they've had.

06-08-2021, 09:34 PM
Taylor, the kid playing on Hawkins, is doing a great job.

06-08-2021, 09:35 PM
Umpires trying to even this up. 5 straight frees and a 50 now.

06-08-2021, 09:42 PM

Diabolical.

06-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Frees 11-6

Key stat changing the game

06-08-2021, 09:48 PM
Geelong are impotent unless they get rapid fire free kicks.

06-08-2021, 09:53 PM
Some good counter attacking and clean handling by the Plastics have got them back on top. Go you orange good things.

06-08-2021, 09:54 PM
Ever notice if we go 8-2 frees in our favour the commentators point it out.

Not one mention this quarter.

06-08-2021, 10:00 PM
These are the type of games Geel will come back and hit the front with 1:07 on the clock.

06-08-2021, 10:02 PM
Some good counter attacking and clean handling by the Plastics have got them back on top. Go you orange good things.

Feels wrong cheering for GWS.

06-08-2021, 10:06 PM
Feels wrong cheering for GWS.

Nah. It's a close call but I despise Geelong now. Never liked them much but the pain they've caused us since that 1976 Elimination Final has been immense.

06-08-2021, 10:27 PM
I know we said no more rooting, but I'm down for a spite root tonight.

Nothing like a spite root

06-08-2021, 10:27 PM
Toby Greene is becoming more likeable by the week

How many weeks for that.

06-08-2021, 10:28 PM
Cats in trouble. Huge opportunity for us on Sunday if giants stay on top.

06-08-2021, 10:28 PM
Geelong need some frees.

06-08-2021, 10:29 PM
How many weeks for that.

$10,000 reward.

06-08-2021, 10:30 PM
How many weeks for that.

Well as BT has just told us all, it’ll depend on how badly injured Dangerfield is. Selwood won’t be sighted at all for his head bump because the GWS player got up.

06-08-2021, 10:31 PM
How many weeks for that.
If Fritch gets zero for a much more gratuitous high fend-off, Greene also has to get no weeks IMO.

06-08-2021, 10:37 PM
Selwood smashed into a blokes head as he was over the ball and the umpire still hesitated in giving the free.

06-08-2021, 10:38 PM
If Fritch gets zero for a much more gratuitous high fend-off, Greene also has to get no weeks IMO.

Dangerfield has gone to hospital? If for example he has a fractured jaw, does that make a difference?

06-08-2021, 10:38 PM
Dangerfield has gone to hospital? If for example he has a fractured jaw, does that make a difference?

Apparently the larynx, so the most we can hope for is he can no longer talk.

06-08-2021, 10:40 PM
Apparently the larynx, so the most we can hope for is he can no longer talk.

The Great Gary Dempsey copped one there and he has ended up with a very gravely voice

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E8GjaUkUUAQY329?format=jpg&name=medium

06-08-2021, 10:48 PM
Knocked the snot out of him.

06-08-2021, 10:50 PM
Himmelberg is trying to lose this game for GWS.

Two fifties, two free kicks and a dropped mark all in the last few minutes. He should be bashed at 3/4 time.

06-08-2021, 10:51 PM
No way that’s 50. He stood up. Umpires have got the wink.

06-08-2021, 10:55 PM
Jason McCartney needs to barge into the middle of the umpires huddle and abuse them.

1. He does that
2. It worked last time

06-08-2021, 10:55 PM
This is king shit from Toby. A lot like that time he kicked Dahl in the face.

06-08-2021, 11:07 PM
Umps are on the Geelong payroll for sure

06-08-2021, 11:09 PM
How do we get Sam Taylor?

06-08-2021, 11:12 PM
How do we get Sam Taylor?

I think he's the only GWS player I don't have beef with.

06-08-2021, 11:12 PM
This is going to be a disgusting Geelong win at the death, isn't it?

06-08-2021, 11:16 PM
Seriously, Himmelberg needs to be investigated after this performance.

06-08-2021, 11:16 PM
Himmelberg you *!*!*!*!ing idiot

06-08-2021, 11:18 PM

Dead serious. Match fixing is the only explanation.

06-08-2021, 11:18 PM

He’s having a serious impact on this result!

06-08-2021, 11:20 PM
GWS literally need 1 goal.

06-08-2021, 11:21 PM
Thank *!*!*!*! for that!

06-08-2021, 11:21 PM
I just want to see Chris Scott's sandiness if Geelong loses. They'll have to lie him down, put his feet in stirrups and hose him out if they lose.

06-08-2021, 11:22 PM
I just want to see Chris Scott's sandiness if Geelong loses. They'll have to lie him down, put his feet in stirrups and hose him out if they lose.

That's... Graphic.

06-08-2021, 11:23 PM
I feel dirty, barracking for GWS so we're clear on top.

06-08-2021, 11:23 PM
That's... Graphic.

It's in print now, I can't take it back.

06-08-2021, 11:24 PM
To avoid suspicion:..

Disastrous night for the Cats….which is nice

Very good effort with all those players out. They were NO chance.

Go Hsquared!

06-08-2021, 11:25 PM
Disastrous night for the Cats….which is nice
Very nice indeed.

Higgins is playing tonight?

Melbourne should get them too now.

06-08-2021, 11:26 PM
Taylor is just about BOG. He's incredible

06-08-2021, 11:26 PM
To avoid suspicion:..

Yep, realised it was a lost cause so kicked one.

06-08-2021, 11:27 PM
2 minutes left surely there's enough time for another Geelong injury

06-08-2021, 11:29 PM

Is he always that good? Because he was a wall tonight.

06-08-2021, 11:30 PM

100%. He smashed Hawkins, absolutely immense.

06-08-2021, 11:31 PM

Yeah Taylor is highly rated. Ridiculously injury prone though.

06-08-2021, 11:31 PM
Could have the added bonus of disincentivising the Bummers.

06-08-2021, 11:33 PM
So historically this is where we typically shit the bed. Massive opportunity for us to absolutely nail down a top two spot this weekend and capitalise on Geelong's stumble.

06-08-2021, 11:34 PM
Taylor gave Hawkins a football lesson. Epic win by GWS.

06-08-2021, 11:35 PM
My enemies enemy

06-08-2021, 11:35 PM
So historically this is where we typically shit the bed. Massive opportunity for us to absolutely nail down a top two spot this weekend and capitalise on Geelong's stumble.

I know what you mean, but surely, surely we beat Essendon.

06-08-2021, 11:39 PM
I know what you mean, but surely, surely we beat Essendon.

Oh I'm right behind this team. I think we've got the steel that previous iterations have lacked.
This is a critical moment that changes who we are. We can falter and live up to our history, or reposition ourselves as a team full of talent, resolve and ruthlessness.
I'm right into the latter being the case.

06-08-2021, 11:42 PM
Sam Taylor, he does not fit the GWS stereotype.. he seems like a top bloke, should be a Bulldog.

06-08-2021, 11:46 PM
Orange juice for breakfast.

07-08-2021, 12:00 AM
Jesus mate, I hope you don't kiss your mother with that mouth.

No, only my sister.

Off to have a very long cleansing shower.

07-08-2021, 12:04 AM

Local crowd effect.

07-08-2021, 12:33 AM
Don't think Sam Taylor is gettable but if he was, I would be imploring Sam Power to do whatever it took. Can do both one on one and team defence at a high level. Really, really impressive.

07-08-2021, 12:52 AM
What draft pick was Taylor?

07-08-2021, 01:03 AM
GWS beating the cats at the cheat ground should be a warning for us not take take a team fighting for the 8 lightly. Essendon will throw everything at us. On paper we win easily we just have to get the job done

07-08-2021, 01:05 AM
What draft pick was Taylor?

Pick 28, 2017.

07-08-2021, 01:14 AM
Taylor gave Hawkins a football lesson. Epic win by GWS.

07-08-2021, 01:41 AM
Gees, losing at home, 2 hammies, the throat hit and Selwood an MRP case, Dad's army might be faltering

07-08-2021, 02:22 AM
almost choking on my words, but Go Giants!
First goal, Scott letting everyone know he likes to be looked at in the coaches box. Can't stand his theatrics.
Glad to see the cats go down.

Can't believe they keep calling Toby Greene a star. Master of the stops in the face, elbow in the throat. Hope he gets weeks.

07-08-2021, 02:34 AM
Gees, losing at home, 2 hammies, the throat hit and Selwood an MRP case, Dad's army might be faltering

Here's hoping this is the beginning of their decline.

Reckon they've probably had a large training load and came in fatigued thinking it was going to be an easy game.

07-08-2021, 08:36 AM
If the Cats don’t steal one his year, they never will with this group. They’ve done amazingly well to sustain their run over the last decade but the youth coming through is pretty light on. Still a huge reliance on Selwood and Hawkins.

07-08-2021, 09:21 AM
If the Cats don’t steal one his year, they never will with this group. They’ve done amazingly well to sustain their run over the last decade but the youth coming through is pretty light on. Still a huge reliance on Selwood and Hawkins.

Parfitt, Clarke, Holmes, Ratugalea, Constable, Narkle, Atkins, Miers, Shannon Neale (untried but high pick), O'Connor, Close. I mean, Cam Guthrie and Cameron are only 28...

There are other kids there but I've never seen them play...

I actually think they're OK.

07-08-2021, 09:51 AM
Parfitt, Clarke, Holmes, Ratugalea, Constable, Narkle, Atkins, Miers, Shannon Neale (untried but high pick), O'Connor, Close. I mean, Cam Guthrie and Cameron are only 28...

There are other kids there but I've never seen them play...

I actually think they're OK.

Putting aside Guthrie and Cameron...

Only Parfitt is truly best 22.

Clark, Constable and Narkle will likely go elsewhere for opportunity and the rest are just, meh.

07-08-2021, 10:39 AM
The Great Gary Dempsey copped one there and he has ended up with a very gravely voice

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E8GjaUkUUAQY329?format=jpg&name=medium

As did Terry Wallace when Rod Grinter nailed him in the throat.

07-08-2021, 10:56 AM
He's had a few games like that. He's only 22.
Will miss the AA squad this year but wil be a regular fixture in future years

07-08-2021, 11:11 AM
Clark, Constable and Narkle will likely go elsewhere for opportunity and the rest are just, meh.

For the right teams they have a bit to offer.

07-08-2021, 01:13 PM

Didn't Dangerfield knock out Vlaustin in almost exactly the same way in the GF? What was his penalty for that? Greene gets that, plus the gratitude of a majority of WOOF.

07-08-2021, 01:43 PM
I have managed to obtain a list of patients from an unnamed nursing home in the Geelong area

Shaun Higgins (33)
Joel Selwood (33)
Tom Hawkins (33)
Isaac Smith (32)
Josh Jenkins (32)
Zach Tuohy (31)
Lachie Henderson (31)
Patrick Dangerfield (31)
Rhys Stanley (30)
Mark Blicavs (30)
Gary Rohan (30)
Mitch Duncan (30)

07-08-2021, 01:46 PM
Didn't Dangerfield knock out Vlaustin in almost exactly the same way in the GF? What was his penalty for that? Greene gets that, plus the gratitude of a majority of WOOF.

Maybe a bit of poetic justice.

Although Dangerfield knocked the ball away and left his elbow cocked for the incoming Vlaustin.
Greene raised the elbow as the prime method to fend off.

Selwood definitely collected Tylor high with an intentional bump. If they were concerned with the intent it would be an automatic suspension.

07-08-2021, 02:01 PM
Badly broken jaw.

07-08-2021, 02:32 PM
Just looked at the ladder. Geelong losing is great. But GWS sit 6 points above Essendon now so the chance of them playing finals now is close to, if not, zero. Carlton, Tigers & St Kilda winning today just makes it harder again. They could be 13th by tonight and two wins short of getting in.

Time to tank it up Bombers to get that higher draft pick.

07-08-2021, 02:50 PM
Just looked at the ladder. Geelong losing is great. But GWS sit 6 points above Essendon now so the chance of them playing finals now is close to, if not, zero. Carlton, Tigers & St Kilda winning today just makes it harder again. They could be 13th by tonight and two wins short of getting in.

Time to tank it up Bombers to get that higher draft pick.

You'd also hope our guys see last night's result and it reinforces that you can't go in expecting to just walk over a bottom 8 side.

07-08-2021, 03:57 PM
Badly broken jaw.

Affected his voice as Demps was

07-08-2021, 04:35 PM
Maybe a bit of poetic justice.

Although Dangerfield knocked the ball away and left his elbow cocked for the incoming Vlaustin.
Greene raised the elbow as the prime method to fend off.

Selwood definitely collected Tylor high with an intentional bump. If they were concerned with the intent it would be an automatic suspension.

Right so Dangerfield didn't actually have the ball so had no reason to fend off, while Greene had the ball with legitimate reason to fend.

So Greene should definitely get less than Dangerfield got for his dangerous and reckless hit.

By the way, what did Dangerfield get for that in the end?

07-08-2021, 04:45 PM
Right so Dangerfield didn't actually have the ball so had no reason to fend off, while Greene had the ball with legitimate reason to fend.

So Greene should definitely get less than Dangerfield got for his dangerous and reckless hit.

By the way, what did Dangerfield get for that in the end?

Dangerfield was no case to answer officially!

There was an argument that he kept his arm up as protection and Vlaustin ran into him.

So circumstances are different but I thought Danger should have been suspended.

07-08-2021, 05:02 PM
Dangerfield was no case to answer officially!

There was an argument that he kept his arm up as protection and Vlaustin ran into him.

So circumstances are different but I thought Danger should have been suspended.

I'm being facetious.

07-08-2021, 05:15 PM
Reckon that's a nail in Teagues coffin.

07-08-2021, 05:16 PM
I'm being facetious.

Out of character.

07-08-2021, 05:16 PM
Reckon that's a nail in Teagues coffin.

Both teams played dumb footy.

Why are the blues wearing orange socks? Not a jumper clash but a sock clash!!

07-08-2021, 05:26 PM
Out of character.

Unheard of.

07-08-2021, 05:28 PM
Both teams played dumb footy.

Why are the blues wearing orange socks? Not a jumper clash but a sock clash!!

Gender equality.

07-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Great to see Carlton lose.

Now for North to knock off Richmond.

07-08-2021, 05:57 PM
3-0 goals for North at 1/4 time

Good start by the faux’s

07-08-2021, 06:19 PM
Tigers are hot garbage right now.

07-08-2021, 07:01 PM
Tigers are hot garbage right now.

At least they won three premierships before turning to this.

We didn't even wait until mid 2017.

07-08-2021, 07:05 PM
At least they won three premierships before turning to this.

We didn't even wait until mid 2017.

Yeah, I'd happily take a few years of rubbish footy after a 5 year run like theirs.

07-08-2021, 07:10 PM
Also, kiss of death remains undefeated. Sorry North!

07-08-2021, 07:19 PM
Corey Norris
@coreynorris9
·
4m
Breaking: GWS star Toby Greene offered a 2 match ban for elbow on Dangerfield. Careless, high contact, high impact. Giants will challenge at tribunal. Joel Selwood escapes with $3000 fine for bump on Taylor.
@9NewsMelb

07-08-2021, 07:21 PM
Selwood is in the Buddy untouchables club.

07-08-2021, 10:01 PM
That's pretty cooked.

07-08-2021, 10:21 PM
Geez results are going our way tonight too. Swans and Port both behind in the 3/4rd quarter.

07-08-2021, 10:24 PM
Gotta say, this Fox Footy game has the best commentary team I've heard this year. No theatrics, no blokey bogan bullshit.

07-08-2021, 10:34 PM
Geez results are going our way tonight too. Swans and Port both behind in the 3/4rd quarter.

I wouldn’t mind Port winning to lock in fourth. They’re very gettable.

07-08-2021, 10:36 PM
I wouldn’t mind Port winning to lock in fourth. They’re very gettable.

Agree, Swans loss Port win would do me.

08-08-2021, 02:46 PM
Gotta say, this Fox Footy game has the best commentary team I've heard this year. No theatrics, no blokey bogan bullshit.

who was doing the commentary?

08-08-2021, 03:03 PM
who was doing the commentary?

Dunstall, N Riewoldt, Howard and Montagna (who is easily the weakest link). Dunstall is the best ex-footballer on TV by far, imo.

08-08-2021, 03:19 PM
Dunstall, N Riewoldt, Howard and Montagna (who is easily the weakest link). Dunstall is the best ex-footballer on TV by far, imo.

No coincidence that the commentary on the other game was the worst possible combination Fox can put out.

08-08-2021, 03:21 PM
No coincidence that the commentary on the other game was the worst possible combination Fox can put out.

Led by Dwayne and Ed ?

08-08-2021, 03:23 PM
Hated Riewoldt as a player (against us), but really like him as a special comments guy. Not afraid to tell it as it is…same with on the couch…has a lot to offer.

08-08-2021, 03:29 PM

I'm actually happy for them to combine Ed, Dwayne, Dermot and Healy at every opportunity so they don't pollute other games (Bulldogs games withstanding). Keep Dunstall, Riewoldt, Huddo etc for other games.

08-08-2021, 03:32 PM
Hated Riewoldt as a player (against us), but really like him as a special comments guy. Not afraid to tell it as it is…same with on the couch…has a lot to offer.

Same here

I'm actually happy for them to combine Ed, Dwayne, Dermot and Healy at every opportunity so they don't pollute other games (Bulldogs games withstanding). Keep Dunstall, Riewoldt, Huddo etc for other games.

Ed is a dickhead, trying to make everything sound exciting, but big fail, Derm and Healy are boring. Dwayne is a lot better than he use to be, but not a great voice.

09-08-2021, 10:56 PM
Not in game but Sam Docherty is to undergo chemotherapy after a secondary occurrence of testicular cancer found after a routine check-up. An issue much more important than football.

09-08-2021, 11:18 PM
BT really loves barracking for Melbourne.

09-08-2021, 11:21 PM

This game is making angry. Those smug demons will be top of the ladder because of our failures.

09-08-2021, 11:24 PM
So game stopped due to lighting.

Call it a draw!

09-08-2021, 11:25 PM
So game stopped due to lighting.

Call it a draw!

I think you have to award it to the home team.

09-08-2021, 11:26 PM

Romsey love fest.

https://www.triplem.com.au/story/what-the-hell-jake-lever-gets-grilled-about-having-roaming-brian-at-his-wedding-144293

09-08-2021, 11:35 PM
Honestly, given my distaste for WCE and the chance that the finals are going to be in WA, I'm happy for WCE to lose. Losing top 2 spot would be a bummer but on the plus side, ever since the bye round before the finals came in, out of the 10 teams to win a qualifying final in week one and get the bye before the prelim, only 4 of them have made the GF, so it's clearly no longer a big advantage as it had been. (In the previous 5 years, it was 9/10 that made GF).

09-08-2021, 11:38 PM
Honestly, given my distaste for WCE and the chance that the finals are going to be in WA, I'm happy for WCE to lose. Losing top 2 spot would be a bummer but on the plus side, ever since the bye round before the finals came in, out of the 10 teams to win a qualifying final in week one and get the bye before the prelim, only 4 of them have made the GF, so it's clearly no longer a big advantage as it had been. (In the previous 5 years, it was 9/10 that made GF).

It's a good point, the Tigers never finished on top in their recent premiership years.

09-08-2021, 11:39 PM

The double chance is what we want and top 4 gets us that. Home ground advantage for top 2, may not be possible with lockdowns

09-08-2021, 11:50 PM
I think you have to award it to the home team.

Demons win if it's called off apparently.

10-08-2021, 12:15 AM
Umpires massively kiss the Demons on the dick.

10-08-2021, 12:15 AM
Umpire didn't call fifty when it was clearly fifty, and didn't call time on either.

10-08-2021, 12:16 AM
Umpires massively kiss the Demons on the dick.

50 every day of the week.

10-08-2021, 12:26 AM
Dees will choke in finals. I'm not convinced that we won't as well, but the Demons definitely will.

10-08-2021, 12:40 AM
Not in game but Sam Docherty is to undergo chemotherapy after a secondary occurrence of testicular cancer found after a routine check-up. An issue much more important than football.

Metastatic cancer doesn't looks good for him. And he will be ****ed from chemo.

Suggests they are unsure where it has spread.

Good luck to him.

10-08-2021, 05:19 PM
Metastatic cancer doesn't looks good for him. And he will be ****ed from chemo.

Suggests they are unsure where it has spread.

Good luck to him.

I don't think it has spread. He was previously treated for testicular cancer last year, with a lump removed, and this is a recurrence - at least that's how I interpreted 'secondary occurrence'. Chemo is nasty though, wish him well.