View Full Version : This year, we go celibate…

02-08-2021, 10:15 PM
In previous years, we’ve had to root for certain outcomes - let’s hope so and so win because we will make the finals, or finish top 4, or it will mean we have a more favourable match up and better chance to progress.

This year is the first year where I don’t care who we play, or where we play.

Throw whatever you want at us. We will win.

With that being said, apologies to T&T wherever he is, but I don’t think we will be rooting for anyone.

Does anyone else feel the same? Or is there a side that makes you nervous and you want to avoid if possible?

02-08-2021, 10:27 PM
I’m very content with things.

02-08-2021, 10:27 PM
I don't fear any team and the run home will give us a record number of wins, ie more than 16. It has been incredible so far.

For the home and away, I want to be minor premiers.

03-08-2021, 01:22 AM
A couple of losses, a couple of injuries, and a year full of promise could be on its knees

Think we will cop one of Geelong & Melbourne in the prelim and the other in the GF but it would be good for an interstate side to take one or both of them out

03-08-2021, 07:12 AM
#lessrooting

It’s on next year’s membership merchandise.

03-08-2021, 09:27 AM
Swans are the danger. Humming along very nicely. If we knock off Port they could finish top 4.

03-08-2021, 10:37 AM
If we win this week, we have equalled our most wins in a home and away season, win two more and its our best ever H&A record, win our last 3 and we finish as minor premier for the first time in the club's history.

18 wins (if we get there) is a lot of wins in a season!!
For perspective, not all that long ago in 2002/03/04 we only won 17 games across 3 seasons. In 1979-1982, we only won 17 games total across 4 season.

03-08-2021, 10:50 AM
I'll still be rooting for GWS and Essendon losses regardless of ladder position

03-08-2021, 12:20 PM
Swans are the danger. Humming along very nicely. If we knock off Port they could finish top 4.

This is the only team I honestly fear in the top 8, I'm 100% confident we pip Geelong with Adz/Dunkley/Martin in and, MCG/Marvel.

03-08-2021, 12:27 PM
This is the only team I honestly fear in the top 8, I'm 100% confident we pip Geelong with Adz/Dunkley/Martin in and, MCG/Marvel.

We played Sydney without Naughton, Dunkley & Treloar, JUH was a fumbly mess, Libba was clearly battling and had a rest the following week and we played as poorly as we had all year and yet lost by only 3 goals.

Sydney hold no fears for me.

03-08-2021, 12:31 PM
I have liked Sydney the whole year since their demolition job on Richmond, and think that their highly skilled style is very suited to the extra space at the MCG (ironically, it is specifically not suited to the SCG - the lockdown might have actually helped them).

But - they got us at about 70% capacity, played out of their minds and still couldn't really put us to the sword definitively. We should beat them or anyone else week one.

03-08-2021, 10:55 PM
The exciting thing for mine is that we haven't peaked yet, our best footy is ahead of us and we are on top of the ladder.

Even though we are on top, the laziness of the media has driven them to be with Geelong, just wait and see what we do to them in the second half of a final.

Bont and Bevo will be holding up the cup.

04-08-2021, 08:03 PM
Did somebody say Celibate Rifles?

https://youtu.be/Tk-hcwMklRA

06-08-2021, 11:42 PM
I tried to go celibate; I couldn’t do it. I didn’t even last a week.

Hi, my name is scraggers and I rooted for GWS.

06-08-2021, 11:47 PM
I tried to go celibate; I couldn’t do it. I didn’t even last a week.

Hi, my name is scraggers and I rooted for GWS.

Its okay, I spite rooted my guts out tonight......

06-08-2021, 11:54 PM
Its okay, I spite rooted my guts out tonight......

I posted on the game with condoms on my fingers. Just can’t take a risk these days that anything towards them is transmitable. Might need some penicillin just to be sure.

07-08-2021, 07:10 AM
Ok, I’ve worken up with a bad feeling, That feeling when you did something last night that you shouldn’t have.
I took an oath earlier in the week to give up the rooting, but I couldn’t help myself….

To make matters worse, I’ve rolled over and looking at what I was rooting over, it’s grim, 100% plastic, fake, silicon, Botox nastiness.

I’ve taken a shower, there’s still a lingering cheap perfume smell, but I hope you can all forgive me.

07-08-2021, 12:49 PM
I’ve taken a shower, there’s still a lingering cheap perfume smell, but I hope you can all forgive me.

You're forgiven, I suspect you will not be showering alone. (Wait, did I really say that ? )

07-08-2021, 01:18 PM
Ok, I’ve worken up with a bad feeling, That feeling when you did something last night that you shouldn’t have.
I took an oath earlier in the week to give up the rooting, but I couldn’t help myself….

To make matters worse, I’ve rolled over and looking at what I was rooting over, it’s grim, 100% plastic, fake, silicon, Botox nastiness.

Walk of shame to the bathroom.

07-08-2021, 04:29 PM

Classic post. Very gumshoe detective Reload. Bravo - made me smile during the grimness of lockdown 6. Thank you.

07-08-2021, 07:56 PM
Walk of shame to the bathroom.

With your housemates sitting at the kitchen table grinning at you.

I used to share a house with a girl and we had a rule. If one of us bought someone home that we didn't want to deal with the next morning then we'd sit them on the couch in the lounge room and go back to bed after knocking on the housemate's bedroom door and they'd go and get rid of them. Anyway one morning I heard the knock so I got up, walked into the loungeroom only to find quite a well known and loved Footscray (it was the '80s) player sitting on the couch. He said "where's that girl gone?" and I had to say to him "sorry mate but it's time to go"

Later in the day I said to her "mate, you know I love you like a sister and I'd do anything for you but don't ever put me in a position where I'm throwing (well known and loved Footscray player) out of the house again"

09-08-2021, 08:34 AM
Need to root now, especially WA dogs members/supporters. Cmon West Coast. Smash Melbourne into tiny pieces.

09-08-2021, 08:36 AM
Need to root now, especially WA dogs members/supporters. Cmon West Coast. Smash Melbourne into tiny pieces.

Yep, back on the root. First rooting for GWS, and now Wet Toast.... that's how you pick up an STD right there!

09-08-2021, 10:11 AM

I’ll be there … rooting for west coast and generally feeling dirty.

09-08-2021, 10:26 AM
I’ll be there … rooting for west coast and generally feeling dirty.

You’re a great man Scraggers. Thanks for taking one for the team.

09-08-2021, 10:45 AM
We can still Celibate, Bevo has us Top 4, first time since 2010.

09-08-2021, 06:01 PM
We win our two games the worst case scenario is we finish second. Yeah top would have been nice but who ever looks back and gives a shit about top spot if you don't win the premiership? We've got game time into Adz, Dunks and Edd so lets ramp up and hit finals like a ton of bricks.

Also you need a loss before finals so you're not due for one during the finals. Everyone knows this.

09-08-2021, 06:43 PM
We win our two games the worst case scenario is we finish second. Yeah top would have been nice but who ever looks back and gives a shit about top spot if you don't win the premiership? We've got game time into Adz, Dunks and Edd so lets ramp up and hit finals like a ton of bricks.

Also you need a loss before finals so you're not due for one during the finals. Everyone knows this.

Worst case, lose two and finish 4th, buts still a double chance.

i think we will win the next two

09-08-2021, 06:48 PM
Feels good to be back on the root. Let’s be honest. It’s more natural.

09-08-2021, 07:13 PM
Melbourne should destroy the Eagles they are beyond bad atm.

40+

09-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Melbourne should destroy the Eagles they are beyond bad atm.

40+

Could be a surprise coming up?????

09-08-2021, 09:36 PM
Could be a surprise coming up?????

100+ possibly the surprise :)

09-08-2021, 10:12 PM
There must be some full boar rooting going on in here, somehow the Eagles have risen from the dead. Keep it up!

09-08-2021, 10:14 PM
There must be some full boar rooting going on in here, somehow the Eagles have risen from the dead. Keep it up!

Should actually be a goal or two up

10-08-2021, 01:42 AM
I feel dirty … unclean !!! I went, I cheered, I even sought divine intervention (or a lightning stoppage). But noooooo … I need to cleanse :(

10-08-2021, 02:23 AM
I'm going to need a Paddle Pop stick and few bandaids after that.

21-08-2021, 09:49 AM
I’m donning the leather pants, white boots, unbuttoning the shirt to my navel and have got the gold chains on. Wet Toast, I’m yours, whatever it takes.

Take down those Lions and next week we are one win from a prelim, playing a team we lost to by 2 points, being ahead for 96% of the game. NicNat, MCG, Joshie K, you know I’ve always loved you!

21-08-2021, 09:51 AM
I’m donning the leather pants, white boots, unbuttoning the shirt to my navel and have got the gold chains on. Wet Toast, I’m yours, whatever it takes.

Take down those Lions and next week we are one win from a prelim, playing a team we lost to by 2 points, being ahead for 96% of the game. NicNat, MCG, Joshie K, you know I’ve always loved you!

Have you seen their team? Out- McGovern, Kennedy, Kelly, redden, shepherd.

21-08-2021, 09:53 AM
Have you seen their team? Out- McGovern, Kennedy, Kelly, shepherd.

Oh dear.

I’ll need to ask some of their young boys for a dance then.