View Full Version : Port Adelaide V Western Bulldogs - 2nd Preliminary Final 2021
11-09-2021, 09:20 PM
Just need a goal or two we got this.
Need to reset. Touched!
That will be overturned... that's touched.
Touched off the boot!!!!!!
11-09-2021, 09:21 PM
The hand of Bont!
Touched.
OMG that's big. That's some Karma
The hand of Bont!
HAHA that's the best post ever.
11-09-2021, 09:23 PM
Making up frees now.
11-09-2021, 09:24 PM
Smith that was a short armed tackle.
Get your heads in it lads.
11-09-2021, 09:25 PM
The hand of Gards now!
11-09-2021, 09:25 PM
The hand of Bont!
This Gardner guy.
11-09-2021, 09:26 PM
Hannan held by the arm umpire
They just won't pay a free kick to us.
Well done Gardy.
11-09-2021, 09:27 PM
Dunks has his tackle game back.
This umpiring is bullshit!!!!
Well done Schache!
Frees 14-7 (2 fifties)
11-09-2021, 09:29 PM
Just kick one goal dogs
11-09-2021, 09:29 PM
No throw...
11-09-2021, 09:31 PM
I wish we would run at the player and not stand off
11-09-2021, 09:32 PM
Very soft start to that quarter but we have at least got our heads back in to it now.
11-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Ok we dont want them to get to 8 goals before 3/4 time i think if they get there they're still a shot.
11-09-2021, 09:33 PM
We are desperate for a goal. Under siege
11-09-2021, 09:34 PM
Absolutely loving Schache's game.
11-09-2021, 09:35 PM
Are we the same team. Just GET a GOAL
11-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Brilliant JJ Brilliant !
11-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Great mark Caleb...
11-09-2021, 09:39 PM
Cmon boys…1 more
Schack attack! Woweeeeee.
Good boy Josh, reward for effort there.
Thank goodness we kicked one. Let's get another and they'll crumble.
He’s mine bitches.
Schache.... so, so happy for him.. 6 disposals.. doesn't do justice to his performance tonight...
11-09-2021, 09:40 PM
He’s mine bitches.
Take a bow BT you've put in the hard yards, lots of unrewarded GUT running now you're reaping the rewards.
11-09-2021, 09:41 PM
Easton Wood is the merchant of panic at the moment
11-09-2021, 09:41 PM
Almost there peeps
11-09-2021, 09:42 PM
Oh Treloar-composure - you little ripper!!!
Write off champions at your peril. Love you Ads.
Theres the two !
Doggies!!!!!
11-09-2021, 09:43 PM
Whoever has bagged Adam Treloar tonight needs to say sorry! :)
The best way of beating an intercepting defender is forcing them to keep honest. Schache and English have been super valuable in that regard by forcing Houston and Aliir to man their opponents.
StatusPiece5
Well everyone, as a West Australian Dogs fan I'm absolutely fired up as we head towards the 4th quarter. Don't wanna jinx us but it looks like we're on our way to another gf. Unfortunately as I'm not a member, my chances of getting tickets to the granny are slim to none with only 10,000 tickets available to the Perth public. This is why I ask, if anyone on here doesn't intend on using their membership code to buy tickets, I'd be absolutely thrilled if you'd let me use it to get a fellow Dogs fan into the granny 🐶
Adam with a running goal finally
First since he came back I think
11-09-2021, 09:44 PM
Schache is amazing what an edition.
11-09-2021, 09:45 PM
Yeah that's all made me a bit more comfortable.
Let's just pile it on now, and then rest up lads.
Come on Doggies!!!!
11-09-2021, 09:45 PM
Great game by Schache. Not going easy shots, but showing Swans fans why Allir was let go.
11-09-2021, 09:46 PM
Weathered the storm and now back on our terms.
Huge effort so far… let’s go again.
Adsyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!
How good has Schache been, brilliant
My heart is beating out of my chest. We got dominated that quarter but that defence stood up. Now back out by 58
Bontempelli touching that shot on goal killed them. Oh captain my captain.
I love how there’s almost no posts in here compared to most weeks. Never the optimists hey?
11-09-2021, 09:47 PM
Adam with a running goal finally
First since he came back I think
That was my thing when I’d call him as ‘back’. That’s the first to goal. Getting better, but with improvement left.
How important was Bont’s touch of that goal kick? Cannot be overstated. Make him a saint right now footy gods.
Could this be the making of Schache ?
He’s been unbelievable. He’s been aggressive in the contests.
LostDog
What's Happeing omg I'm crying
Remember '97?
My heart is beating out of my chest. We got dominated that quarter but that defence stood up. Now back out by 58
WITHOUT *!*!*!*!ING KEATH!!
PE teacher gets a break. Ready to go for the big dance
11-09-2021, 09:48 PM
Spot on Reload. Hey - can you remake that lego with a blond Naughts instead of Jones?
11-09-2021, 09:48 PM
I love how there’s almost no posts in here compared to most weeks. Never the optimists hey?
I think we’re all gob smacked.
11-09-2021, 09:49 PM
Anyone else remember losing 7 prelims in a row?
Me neither.
Bevo officially becomes our greatest ever coach tonight. 93 wins and two GFs
Weathered the storm and now back on our terms.
Huge effort so far… let’s go again.
They threw everything at us but just not good enough. I wonder if that ball wasn't touched they could have got some momentum
Ok. Say to myself calm down we are up by 58. They need 10 goals. Yes but they can still kick 10 goals to zip. Stop being so stupid. We have got this. We have got this.
Things I’ve always loved:
- Mitch Hannan
- Goal review system
Sunk in yet Superchiefs? We're in the Granny!!!
11-09-2021, 09:50 PM
The great hand of BONT
Footy gods are with us tonight
Schache is really maturing tongiht
Martin stands his ground in the contest , shows how strong he is
Cmon boys bring it home last quarter
Stats are interesting. Macrae 31 and the next best is 18, but spread out. This is a real team effort
things i’ve always loved:
- mitch hannan
- goal review system
haha love it@!
I can’t believe it. The 2016 GF I left for the USA GF Monday.
I’ve got 2 weeks to live it
The hand of Gards now!
Handy to have a Gardner on the field
Sunk in yet Superchiefs? We're in the Granny!!!
Greatest path to a GF in AFL HISTORY !
11-09-2021, 09:52 PM
Who did Scott sub on for?
Who’s subbed out?
Who's off?
Wait - when did Scott come on?
VDM subbed out for Scott who kicks a goal straight away. It's our night
Grand Final baby !!!!!!!!! Here we come.
We are in the gf mother f#ckeeeeeeeeeeeers!
11-09-2021, 09:53 PM
Well done Anthony!!!!
Come on lads!!!
11-09-2021, 09:54 PM
Port must be shitting themselves now it's started raining!!!!!
11-09-2021, 09:55 PM
Rourke off?
11-09-2021, 09:56 PM
LVDM was really trying to get to the bench on the wing when he put in that poor chase effort.
Hamstring tightness helps explain that
11-09-2021, 09:59 PM
How's the leg on Baz!!!!!
11-09-2021, 10:00 PM
Cannon!
Hamstring tightness - perhaps great chance for Scott to get a run.
Woohoo
Props to the dude in the crows rocking the fake Bailey Smith mullet. I walked past him after the game in Brisbane last week. He was standing against the concourse fence doing the Bailey Smith 'ice in the veins' gesture...
11-09-2021, 10:01 PM
BAILEY!!!
What a time to hit this form
11-09-2021, 10:02 PM
We did it. Us. The posters on WOOF. This RULES who wants a marg?
11-09-2021, 10:02 PM
BAILEY!!!
What a time to hit this form
I have said before he's a good kick :)
11-09-2021, 10:03 PM
This group is something else. Holy crap.
Also I caped for Baz all year when some of you, who I have not forgotten, wanted him gone. You know who you are and you owe me a beer.
We did it. Us. The posters on WOOF. This RULES who wants a marg?
Me? What's a marg. I'll have one though.
11-09-2021, 10:04 PM
How soft was that.
We are Napoleon's troops. Hannibal's. Julius Caesar's and Bevo's.
Holey shitballs... its happening again!
Do I need to go now to get to the game?
How soft was that.
Like a marshmallow
11-09-2021, 10:05 PM
Me? What's a marg. I'll have one though.
*best Ryan Atwood voice* whatever you want it to be
I actually feel surprisingly relaxed. I'm more worried about getting a call during the game. Have considered unplugging the turnout system.
Also, chortle.
https://i.postimg.cc/Kztdsb3R/Screenshot-20210911-192748.png (https://postimg.cc/N9fJ5W4c)
I am never ever ever f*#king opening my stupid mouth again. I've missed nearly the entire game. *!*!*!*!.
Ok. Shane Biggs is very busy on Insta... what a legend
So who comes out for Weightman and Keath? Some tough decisions.
11-09-2021, 10:06 PM
I am never ever ever f*#king opening my stupid mouth again. I've missed nearly the entire game. *!*!*!*!.
Where the hell have you been??
11-09-2021, 10:06 PM
*best Ryan Atwood voice* whatever you want it to be
https://media.giphy.com/media/gk3R16JhLP8RUka2nD/giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e47m9tqrh0174mj46qintnx4vqcigqf4i0v8jfejn ns&rid=giphy.gif&ct=g
11-09-2021, 10:07 PM
So who comes out for Weightman and Keath? Some tough decisions.
That same thought just hit me... man gonna be some tough calls...
11-09-2021, 10:07 PM
Percentage DOGS!
11-09-2021, 10:09 PM
So......I reckon some Melbourne supporters will be shitting themselves right about now.
OK bont is off good good, Macrea ok ok...
Naughton now please.
Yeah Naughton needs to come off
11-09-2021, 10:10 PM
What is Naughton doing on the ground?
Get him ooooorrrrrrffff!
Where the hell have you been??
House fire. Honestly, how inconsiderate.
So......I reckon some Melbourne supporters will be shitting themselves right about now.
I've already started congratulating them. Well done, this was our GF, you guys are the anointed ones.. ETC ETC.
They're not liking it.
Compare the two teams celebrations.
Weve just knocked off two top four sides on their home decks in finals. They beat Geelong in Perth and carried on like it was the big dance.
I reckon we can get inside their heads.
11-09-2021, 10:11 PM
Naughts needed his weekly poster
11-09-2021, 10:13 PM
Scott , vandameer and Cordy are going to be the unlucky ones
Keath, Weightman in….Vanders sub
11-09-2021, 10:13 PM
I've already started congratulating them. Well done, this was our GF, you guys are the anointed ones.. ETC ETC.
They're not liking it.
Compare the two teams celebrations.
Weve just knocked off two top four sides on their home decks in finals. They beat Geelong in Perth and carried on like it was the big dance.
I reckon we can get inside their heads.
I can guarantee you we've already moved in and set up a mat and some chairs on the patio.
11-09-2021, 10:14 PM
Real happy for Bailey getting his most ever goals in a Prelim.
Let's hope this is a sign of him being Dusty of the next decade
11-09-2021, 10:14 PM
This has been a complete performance… *!*!*!*!ing brilliant!!
11-09-2021, 10:15 PM
Bazlenka!!!!
How good is it being able to hear the players in a last quarter in a prelim in an away final. Best!!
11-09-2021, 10:15 PM
This feels weird..
I went 43 years without seeing the Dog's in a GF (I know well and good there are those here with decades more than that), and now two in six seasons, just seems really funky...........I love it.
11-09-2021, 10:17 PM
This is nice
11-09-2021, 10:17 PM
Any chance Kane Corne can publicly give himself a thrashing for his woeful hanging of Treloar after last week?
What a mega flog.
11-09-2021, 10:18 PM
We are going to the f$&@@&$ Grand Final.
Haha Hinkley at start of game...oh we much better team than last year!
Scott , vandameer and Cordy are going to be the unlucky ones
Keath, Weightman in….Vanders sub
I think this is fair. JJ has been real good in uncharacteristic areas tonight
11-09-2021, 10:19 PM
Just pinched myself to ensure I wasn’t dreaming.
11-09-2021, 10:19 PM
That is a smashing. GO DOGS!!!!!!
11-09-2021, 10:21 PM
Dogs flag? DOGS FLAG
11-09-2021, 10:22 PM
Go dogggggggs
Awesome. That was amazing
Sometimes I wish I hadn't given up the darts.... moments like these I'd love an after dart........mmmm I'm in flavour country!
11-09-2021, 10:24 PM
Ross Lyon so called expert. You’ve really got no idea who we are.
11-09-2021, 10:24 PM
So happy, what a win
11-09-2021, 10:25 PM
Any chance Kane Corne can publicly give himself a thrashing for his woeful hanging of Treloar after last week?
What a mega flog.
Just a pathetic muck raker.
Melbourne will be worried
I think this is fair. JJ has been real good in uncharacteristic areas tonight
Yep - I reckon and if any suspicion on VDM hammy then I’d have Scott or Richards as sub.
I was thinking there's no way we could do this tonight, 8 hours on a plane FFS! WTF!
11-09-2021, 10:26 PM
How important was Martin woofers?
11-09-2021, 10:26 PM
He was great
11-09-2021, 10:27 PM
One of the best TEAM efforts since the 2016 premiership.
What a difference when you have players playing their role…
Kudos to JJ, Schache and Hannan in particular.
And just shows how important Martin was.
11-09-2021, 10:27 PM
Holy *!*!*!*! balls!
11-09-2021, 10:28 PM
So Brad Lynch in the crowd giving some high 5's to Bevo.. as well as Eagleton... Monty too.....
So we still sacking Bevo or nah?
Great and only played 68%. So he’s going to be absolutely right to go in two weeks.
Best Win, outside of the 2016 GF EVER.
11-09-2021, 10:29 PM
House fire. Honestly, how inconsiderate.
Did you at least roast some marshmallows???????
11-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Debate at least shut down til Rnd 15 next year....
11-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Cannon!
Canon in D from B.Smith. D for Deadly kick
we are into a Granny!!!!
Well done to the whole team.
stuff you afl for cheating, obfuscating the rules, suspending our players unfairly over the years.
There is going to be some wonderful stories for our players on their journey into he granny.
Roarke
Shache
Martin
Gardner
Keith
Cody
B.Dale
Hannan
Scott
Enjoy this moment all. We are going to run over Melbourne next week!
11-09-2021, 10:32 PM
Saw Juicey on the phone poor bugger
Best Win, outside of the 2016 GF EVER.
Sorry, 2016 prelim shades it for mine.
He is an absolute genius
11-09-2021, 10:33 PM
Man look at that team song circle... this is how long term success builds..
Look at Jamarra and Rylee they're invested.. .and they know they will not be playing.. but they're stoked... they're now on hooked for wanting to feel this when they're involved.... There ain't gonna be a hangover after this, even if we don't win the GF.
11-09-2021, 10:35 PM
We are in the Grand Final.
Ross Lyon so called expert. You’ve really got no idea who we are.
Its a shame that Carlton did not award him the coaching job.
keep them along the road to nowhere. Just look at where Freo is atm, middle about team
Sorry, 2016 prelim shades it for mine.
I thought so too.. til 20 minutes ago.
2016 was euphoric.. I've never felt it before... but much like first-time sexy time relations... it's good..and skyrockets alight and such...but its rarely the pinnacle.
11-09-2021, 10:36 PM
I completely underestimated this group and the coach. For that I am sorry.
This is an incredible achievement given the circumstances. So bloody proud of them.
11-09-2021, 10:37 PM
Unbelievable… to put in your best performance on that stage is what you dream of doing.
Hats off to the guys.
11-09-2021, 10:37 PM
Thank you Port Adelaide for giving us our deserved training session.
11-09-2021, 10:38 PM
What a mega flog.
Not just that, also our choke being the biggest of all time for losing three games????
Eat shit you Port wanker, you're going to have to say the SAME thing about YOUR club now. EAT SHIT!!!
11-09-2021, 10:38 PM
I completely underestimated this group and the coach. For that I am sorry.
This is an incredible achievement given the circumstances. So bloody proud of them.
I’m with you. I thought we were cooked.
What I saw tonight was eye opening.
11-09-2021, 10:39 PM
Unbelievable… to put in your best performance on that stage is what you dream of doing.
Hats off to the guys.
Didn't even have our best team in
11-09-2021, 10:40 PM
11-09-2021, 10:41 PM
From the get go yo! Other than the 3 goal burst in the 3rd.... we just smashed em..
This is about the only time I wish I wasn't an athiest, I'd love a universe where Ted is watching tonight...
Not just that, also our choke being the biggest of all time for losing three games????
Eat shit you Port wanker, you're going to have to say the SAME thing about YOUR club now. EAT SHIT!!!
He can pot whoever he wants. When he opens his mouth the results go our way.
Incredible performance - the opening quarter and ruthless first half absolutely positively magnificent
11-09-2021, 10:42 PM
One of my Melb friends text me and said - we would have won comfortably against Port - the Dogs will be much harder.
11-09-2021, 10:45 PM
One of my Melb friends text me and said - we would have won comfortably against Port - the Dogs will be much harder.
Never a truer word spoken.
11-09-2021, 10:45 PM
This club!
This club!
We're into the Grand Final again!!
dukedog
11-09-2021, 10:46 PM
You bloody beauty..... cmonnnn .... lets go
11-09-2021, 10:53 PM
I recall rd 23 when we lost by 2. Ollie Wines was pretty happy with himself. Haha
11-09-2021, 10:54 PM
Yeeeeeeiwwwwww!
11-09-2021, 10:54 PM
Green Beacon beers all night long…
All night long… all night!
11-09-2021, 10:57 PM
I didn't think they had it in them. What an amazing run after falling over at the end of the straight. I honestly thought I'd be struggling to see another Bulldogs GF and here we are, so happy right now and so happy to be so wrong on so many levels.
11-09-2021, 11:02 PM
That’s what I love about Bevo. He is a beacon of positive thinking. Lee Matthews, Rossy Lyon, Kane Cornes, whatever.
Even if we had lost tonight I would have been super proud. Even if we lose the final I will be proud.
11-09-2021, 11:04 PM
Just realised I can't go. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
11-09-2021, 11:06 PM
Into the grand final! You beauty!
11-09-2021, 11:07 PM
I recall rd 23 when we lost by 2. Ollie Wines was pretty happy with himself. Haha
The dude who looks like one of the stand-in Nazis from Where Eagles Dare?
11-09-2021, 11:08 PM
The dude who looks like one of the stand-in Nazis from Where Eagles Dare?
Broadsword to Danny Boy, Broadsword to Danny Boy....over.
11-09-2021, 11:11 PM
Well, that was just *!*!*!*!ing amazing. Enjoy the absolute shit out of the next 2 weeks everyone.
11-09-2021, 11:12 PM
Was great to be so relaxed tonight :D
Heart rates way lower this week compared to last :D
11-09-2021, 11:13 PM
Did we win?
11-09-2021, 11:17 PM
Best performance in my time following the club that was breathtaking.
Bevo had the boys where he wants them, everything was against us he is made for this situation. I was confident with three rounds to go that Bevo and Bont would be holding up the cup this year but no one could have scripted the past 6 weeks.
So many things to discuss but just wanted to highlight Hannan, JJ and Schache bloody sensational.
My family is split between Melbourne and the Dogs. My Mother is 68 is a Dees supporter goes every week, I really want for her to experience a winning GF but make no mistake these Dogs can break hearts in a fortnight.
Enjoy everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!
11-09-2021, 11:21 PM
Did we win?
Angelo my good man, we certainly did.
11-09-2021, 11:22 PM
Has anyone heard from T and T or The Adelaide Connection? Have they made it out of the ground?
11-09-2021, 11:24 PM
Was great to be so relaxed tonight :D
Heart rates way lower this week compared to last :D
How could you be relaxed until the very last Eastie you sociopath!!!! :)
11-09-2021, 11:24 PM
I am very keen for us to rain on the Demon parade now. It’s a huge opportunity to spoil the party and cement a new world order.
11-09-2021, 11:26 PM
I was shitting myself in the 3rd when they made that mini run. I had everyone laughing at me seeing me panicking and being 50pts up. They don’t understand our torment!
11-09-2021, 11:27 PM
No words tonight. Other than incredible.
11-09-2021, 11:27 PM
Demon supporters now officially concerned, there is almost no chance of a snow fall in WA, so they might have to go to the Grand Final after all.
11-09-2021, 11:29 PM
How could you be relaxed until the very last Eastie you sociopath!!!! :)
Last Q was stress free. The rest tense. Whoever said you don’t enjoy replays of drubbings after last night. Sorry. You’re wrong. Will enjoy that tomorrow.
11-09-2021, 11:29 PM
I didn’t relax until the Schache goal.
11-09-2021, 11:36 PM
Best performance in my time following the club that was breathtaking.
Bevo had the boys where he wants them, everything was against us he is made for this situation. I was confident with three rounds to go that Bevo and Bont would be holding up the cup this year but no one could have scripted the past 6 weeks.
So many things to discuss but just wanted to highlight Hannan, JJ and Schache bloody sensational.
My family is split between Melbourne and the Dogs. My Mother is 68 is a Dees supporter goes every week, I really want for her to experience a winning GF but make no mistake these Dogs can break hearts in a fortnight.
Enjoy everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My mum and grandma are Dees supporters as well. Younger brother a Pies supporter and Dad not a big footy fan. Hopefully I’ll be the happiest one in my household in 2 weeks :)
11-09-2021, 11:39 PM
Hannan... how dare you prove yourself on such a stage............
I kid!
You bloody legend!
11-09-2021, 11:44 PM
That was insane. What a performance.
I'm curious how many touches Port had had by our 5th goal. We owned the ball that first half.
So happy for a bunch of fringe guys that stood up and did great. Guys like Schache, Roarke, JJ, Cordy, Gardner, Hannan etc have all looked VFL quality for lots of this season, but have really performed in their roles and were all important tonight. For fringe players like these guys it's really important they own their moments and they did tonight (and have all finals series).
So impressed with our forward setup. I really rate Ports defence and their roles within it, Jonas is a real "makes the guys around him play better" kind of guy. We obliterated it. By controlling the footy it meant we could be calculated coming in and all their three talls were negated if not outright beaten by our bunch. Hannan's first half was genuinely fantastic and really repaid the faith the coaching group have placed in him.
What a weird second half. Relaxing is not a word i have ever used for a Prelim before, but that was what the scond half was like. Until the last 10 minutes i guess, when the nerves of worrying about our guys injuring themselves (Naughton flying for marks I mean no) started to take over.
11-09-2021, 11:45 PM
Glad to see all the supporting players in the circle, singing the song. Mitch Wallis, Cody, players injured or not in the team, all in good spirits.
Love the fact that Bevo has an eye for good working players, like Roarke Smith, Zaine Cordy, Mitch Hannan, all rewarding him by playing their roles.
11-09-2021, 11:46 PM
https://www.facebook.com/513580375346213/posts/4245500265487520/
FMD Titus can be hilarious.
11-09-2021, 11:50 PM
Schache shut down Allir and kicked 1.3.
Hannan 3 goals.
JJ.
Cordy on Dixon.
Roarke 1.1, great pressure.
Some huge games from our bottom handful.
LostDog
11-09-2021, 11:55 PM
I'm confused
11-09-2021, 11:59 PM
Glad to see all the supporting players in the circle, singing the song. Mitch Wallis, Cody, players injured or not in the team, all in good spirits.
Love the fact that Bevo has an eye for good working players, like Roarke Smith, Zaine Cordy, Mitch Hannan, all rewarding him by playing their roles.
and look who was in the circle
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E_AibCdVEAIqCB5?format=jpg&name=large
12-09-2021, 12:02 AM
Agree. Full squad effort. Was brilliant.
12-09-2021, 12:08 AM
I have just read this entire thread and I am so happy to see all the joy that has been expressed - because it's the joy I feel too.
This was an incredible team performance from the first bounce and a coaching masterpiece from Bevo and his assistants. I was really impressed by our attack on the ball and our attack on our opponents.
It was wonderful to see players who have come under a lot of criticism have very good games. Bailey Smith was brilliant. Mitch Hannan was really influential offensively and defensively. JJ was full of energy and endeavour. Josh Schache was so competitive and a major factor in blunting the influence of Port's prime mover from the back half. Adam Treloar was back to his best. Really cracked in, got a lot of the ball and used it very well.
Down back Zaine and Gards were very solid and were ably supported by the rest of the defence and by midfielders getting back to help out. It was a superb effort by all concerned.
Special shout out to Stef Martin. To play the game he did after a 97 day lay off is a tribute to his professionalism - a really solid game that enabled our midfielders to keep a solid grip on the game.
A total team performance. Melbourne thought they had this Premiership in the bag 24 hours ago. If they still thinking that they are doing it at their peril. We are in this up to our necks and we have the momentum. Go Dogs!
12-09-2021, 12:12 AM
I have just read this entire thread and I am so happy to see all the joy that has been expressed - because it's the joy I feel too.
This was an incredible team performance from the first bounce and a coaching masterpiece from Bevo and his assistants. I was really impressed by our attack on the ball and our attack on our opponents.
It was wonderful to see players who have come under a lot of criticism have very good games. Bailey Smith was brilliant. Mitch Hannan was really influential offensively and defensively. JJ was full of energy and endeavour. Josh Schache was so competitive and a major factor in blunting the influence of Port's prime mover from the back half. Adam Treloar was back to his best. Really cracked in, got a lot of the ball and used it very well.
Down back Zaine and Gards were very solid and were ably supported by the rest of the defence and by midfielders getting back to help out. It was a superb effort by all concerned.
Special shout out to Stef Martin. To play the game he did after a 97 day lay off is a tribute to his professionalism - a really solid game that enabled our midfielders to keep a solid grip on the game.
A total team performance. Melbourne thought they had this Premiership in the bag 24 hours ago. If they still thinking that they are doing it at their peril. We are in this up to our necks and we have the momentum. Go Dogs!
Never has a Bulldog player been more important... STEF..... mega... massive...
Massive stones by Bevo.
'break glass in emergency.......bloody hell.......Stef....
12-09-2021, 12:12 AM
Was he good? He did enough. Bigger and more important game in 2 weeks. Glad he’s had a run.
12-09-2021, 12:15 AM
Those first few contests from BDSM we arousing.
12-09-2021, 12:21 AM
Has anyone seen Comrade?
12-09-2021, 12:22 AM
I was shitting myself in the 3rd when they made that mini run. I had everyone laughing at me seeing me panicking and being 50pts up. They don’t understand our torment!
One of the reasons I'm glad I live alone!
12-09-2021, 12:23 AM
Last Q was stress free. The rest tense. Whoever said you don’t enjoy replays of drubbings after last night. Sorry. You’re wrong. Will enjoy that tomorrow.
I think I might even dust it off tonight!
12-09-2021, 12:24 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E_AbTBLVUAAlbw4?format=jpg&name=large
12-09-2021, 12:25 AM
https://www.facebook.com/513580375346213/posts/4245500265487520/
FMD Titus can be hilarious.
Saw that, very well played.
12-09-2021, 12:27 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E_AbTBLVUAAlbw4?format=jpg&name=large
Biggsy and Tom Boyd have rediscovered the Dogs again this year. That's not inconsequential.
12-09-2021, 12:29 AM
I think I might even dust it off tonight!
I’m watching it right now. Don’t tell the missus - said I’d come to bed, but didn’t. It’s as awesome as you think it will be. At the part where JJ kicks his goal. Woof woof.
12-09-2021, 12:37 AM
Teams losing consecutive home preliminary finals
Collingwood 1945-46
Geelong 1980-81
Western Bulldogs 1997-98
Port Adelaide 2020-21
I can feel their pain. It hurts.
12-09-2021, 12:55 AM
Shane Biggs still has the best AFL player Instagram account. Undefeated and undisputed
12-09-2021, 12:57 AM
JJ was outstanding. I don't see how you can leave him out off the back of that game and his second half against Brisbane.
12-09-2021, 01:41 AM
JJ was outstanding. I don't see how you can leave him out off the back of that game and his second half against Brisbane.
JJ will be playing make no mistake.
12-09-2021, 03:02 AM
So....I've been thinking about this a bit more in the context of who was best on ground, and *!*!*!*! me Aaron Naughton was a complete psycho killer tonight.
Dangerous. Missed a couple, but the complete nut job you want heading up your offence.
We are so lucky to have him.
So....I've been thinking about this a bit more in the context of who was best on ground, and *!*!*!*! me Aaron Naughton was a complete psycho killer tonight.
Dangerous. Missed a couple, but the complete nut job you want heading up your offence.
Any poor defender lining up on Naughton over the next decade must literally shit themselves that this competitive beast could kill them with a stray knee in a marking contest at any moment.
He is so, SO dangerous upforward it must be a nightmare for other teams to stop him.
12-09-2021, 07:27 AM
He was immense, completely mauled McKenzie.
12-09-2021, 07:35 AM
He was immense, completely mauled McKenzie.
Imagine playing McKenzie on Naughton. That was plain dumb.
12-09-2021, 07:51 AM
Imagine playing McKenzie on Naughton. That was plain dumb.
They didn’t have any other option TBF.
12-09-2021, 07:57 AM
Has anyone seen Comrade?
Last I saw he'd filled out a permitted worker form for himself and was cutting laps around Barkly Street.
12-09-2021, 08:12 AM
Has anyone seen Comrade?
Lucky enough to be in regional Victoria, so watched it away from home but was here in spirit.
Bevo and the lads were incredible.
12-09-2021, 08:27 AM
Amazing stat, +23 contested ball for the first qtr is the biggest single qtr discrepancy recorded by champion data for a final.
12-09-2021, 08:31 AM
Amazing stat, +23 contested ball for the first qtr is the biggest single qtr discrepancy recorded by champion data.
We needed to take the crowd out of it, normally its the 3rd quarter where the games won, but boy oh boy that was blitzkrieg personified.
if we can replicate anything near that were well on our way.
12-09-2021, 08:37 AM
Slept pretty well considering.
Oh man, what a difference Martin made to that midfield. Really brought all the guys into the game, and what was even more amazing was we didn’t the Bont that much. Everyone played their role.
Absolute kudos to JJ, Hannan and Schache. You could see it in their eyes that they “wanted it”. The way they attacked and used their bodies was outstanding.
Make no mistake, there is an absolute belief amongst this group. The “US” vs “THEM” is alive and well.
We played as a TEAM. We looked like a TEAM.
We CAN do this.
12-09-2021, 08:49 AM
From sirswamp :
Wins in Finals for FOOTS/WBD
1x: 68 players
2x: 44 players
3x: 31 players
4x: 26 players
5x: ZCordy
6x: TWhitten BJohnson LPicken
7x: MBontempelli CDaniel JDunkley LHunter JJohannisen TomLiberatore JMacrae DMorris
8x: EASTON WOOD, Matthew Boyd
Tells you how amazing the current crop is.
Was also wondering how many clubs made the GF after getting the #1 pick!
12-09-2021, 08:55 AM
I saw a stat last night showing number of wins by a bulldogs coach. Bevo has the most. I couldn’t believe it. I had to read it twice. We are spoilt. It’s his 7th season with us. How time flies.
12-09-2021, 09:04 AM
Watching the game again… our start is the stuff of dreams, just about perfect footy.
12-09-2021, 09:06 AM
Watching the game again… our start is the stuff of dreams, just about perfect footy.
It shell shocked Port.
They didn’t know what hit them, and you could see heads drop early when they realised it wasn’t going to a walk in the park like they expected.
12-09-2021, 09:16 AM
The pre-game narrative was incredible. They were selling tickets on AirPower with past players to fly to the grand final, tag line "We are gonna make it" - apparently promoted on Adelaide radio all week.
Ecstatic that we spoiled their party.
12-09-2021, 09:16 AM
We shitted it in!!!!
12-09-2021, 09:18 AM
It shell shocked Port.
They didn’t know what hit them, and you could see heads drop early when they realised it wasn’t going to a walk in the park like they expected.
If they expected a walk in the park they were always in for a rude shock. We were always coming to play.. it’s what we do.
12-09-2021, 09:20 AM
I saw a stat last night showing number of wins by a bulldogs coach. Bevo has the most. I couldn’t believe it. I had to read it twice. We are spoilt. It’s his 7th season with us. How time flies.
Bevo has coaches 33% of all Bulldogs finals wins. Incredible.
12-09-2021, 09:20 AM
JJ having his best game for 5 years, Hannan getting scoreboard reward for his defensive forward job (a role he's played all year) and Treloar having the most tackles on the ground.
"These are a few of my favourite things..."
12-09-2021, 09:24 AM
I’m into the last three minutes of the last quarter. I knew it was coming, but still took my breath away.
I might watch it again this arvo. It can’t be taken for granted just how virtually perfect it was.
12-09-2021, 09:26 AM
JJ having his best game for 5 years, Hannan getting scoreboard reward for his defensive forward job (a role he's played all year) and Treloar having the most tackles on the ground.
"These are a few of my favourite things..."
JJ rediscovered himself. May he keep this form.
12-09-2021, 09:28 AM
Thor was at the game too, it had everything :
https://i.postimg.cc/Tw5z8kfS/Screenshot-20210912-092547.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
12-09-2021, 09:30 AM
If they expected a walk in the park they were always in for a rude shock. We were always coming to play.. it’s what we do.
They expected a walk in the park but they got a crawl over a field of bindi eyes littered with broken glass and skeins of barbed wire - pity they were only kitted out in their jocks.
12-09-2021, 09:30 AM
Any poor defender lining up on Naughton over the next decade must literally shit themselves that this competitive beast could kill them with a stray knee in a marking contest at any moment.
He is so, SO dangerous upforward it must be a nightmare for other teams to stop him.
So Steven May has already said Naughton is the hardest player in the comp to play on. He’d be spewing we got through. Now he’s got to face him in a GF with tight hammies!
Haha Brad Lynch what a legend.
12-09-2021, 09:32 AM
Thor was at the game too, it had everything :
https://i.postimg.cc/Tw5z8kfS/Screenshot-20210912-092547.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
Are we sure that's not Brad Lynch?
Edit: wait, isn't that actually Brad Lynch?
12-09-2021, 09:35 AM
Looks like Brad to me.
12-09-2021, 09:40 AM
Are we sure that's not Brad Lynch?
Edit: wait, isn't that actually Brad Lynch?
Yep it is. Bevo spoke to him apparently, I didn't see it.
12-09-2021, 09:44 AM
There were plenty of ex-Dogs in the crowd. Eagleton, Brett Goodes, Lynchy and even Christian Howard made an appearance.
12-09-2021, 09:51 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/SR1YX7nW/Big-Footy-com-314489535.jpg (https://postimg.cc/MfRpNBbT)
12-09-2021, 10:36 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/SR1YX7nW/Big-Footy-com-314489535.jpg (https://postimg.cc/MfRpNBbT)
Seeing quality Photoshops make me miss Rocket Science. Where is that guy?
12-09-2021, 11:09 AM
They didn’t have any other option TBF.
They did, but their captain is the most selfish player in the AFL.
12-09-2021, 11:11 AM
There were plenty of ex-Dogs in the crowd. Eagleton, Brett Goodes, Lynchy and even Christian Howard made an appearance.
Loved seeing all the ex players there celebrating. Biggsy's posts on Insta were great as well.
12-09-2021, 11:12 AM
I just want to put it on the record that the boys looked really sharp out there last night with their recent haircuts. Great job Toby McLean! Confidence builder.