View Full Version : Melbourne V Western Bulldogs - 2021 Grand Final Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

25-09-2021, 10:26 PM
I've paid 8000 dollars in the last two years for sweet *!*!*!*! all.

Nothing from the club to say thanks.

I'm done.

Edit post :

ok they sent me a cheese and cracker platter from crown for the b and f, so I’m ok now :)

I picked a bad day to stop sniffing glue the other night.

25-09-2021, 10:27 PM
That's why I wanted Gardner over Cordy, he's not strong enough one on one and he's not athletic enough to stay with anyone that can actually run.

25-09-2021, 10:27 PM
We were brave but Dees are just too good.

You’re probably right. But man we’ve just given them what they want in the last 10 minutes. We’re not even getting done in the ruck, just letting them run through at will.

25-09-2021, 10:28 PM
That is so utterly heartbreaking.

Midfield found wanting.

They've turned this game on its head by just being a better team on the night.

Fair call and if there were weed in the macaroons I shouldve had some Saturday.

That's why I wanted Gardner over Cordy, he's not strong enough one on one and he's not athletic enough to stay with anyone that can actually run.

Yeah, this ain’t on Cordy.

Gardner would have saved at least 2 of these goals, just saying.

Centre clearances here are like rd 21 against Essendon. What a time to deliver such crap.

Have to hand it to Melbourne, and I really don't want to. But most teams would've wilted after JJ's goal. They found another gear.

In the blink of an eye. Clear centre clearances - were they all when English was in middle?

Both rucks I think but mids need to get on a defensive side at some stage.

Powerful performance by Melbourne in the premiership quarter. Throw the magnets around Bevo
How do we get a run on with goals?

19 points up in third quarter in a GF. Going to be well beaten.

I’m not sure what I feel.

Got 2010 prelim vibes, tension’s just gone right out of my body.

Their best out of the middle is electric, but we’ve laid out the mat for them in the last 10 minutes

The clean looks they got out of the middle would not be stopped by any group of defenders.

I’m shattered. How do we allow English to ruck and give them easy run outs. Not even against Gawn

25-09-2021, 10:29 PM
I've paid 8000 dollars in the last two years for sweet *!*!*!*! all.

Nothing from the club to say thanks.

I'm done.

Come on man. We are feeling the pain but we are in the GF and still have a very small chance. Why give up?

Farken ch 7 with their farken narrative. Go to hell BT

The channel 7 commentary bias is unlistenable for Bulldogs supporters.

Must be weed in those maccoroons
Whatever .

How was Shaq getting killed not a free kick?

I think we win this, somehow, because we are better than them.

The clean looks they got out of the middle would not be stopped by any group of defenders.

Shades of Essendon Round 21.

Powerful performance by Melbourne in the premiership quarter. Throw the magnets around Bevo

This is humiliating beyond anything I can imagine

25-09-2021, 10:30 PM

Dale forward
Sub Vandemeer on somehow
Won’t mean much if we can’t get our hands on it

They’re looking better. But really it’s only because our stoppage work has been so shit. A vfl team would look good if you’re allowed to waltz out of the middle under no pressure or accountability.

How can our mid group allow that to happen? Just so, so, so disappointing.

25-09-2021, 10:31 PM
Wtf that's what you've got in a GF?

This is humiliating beyond anything I can imagine

I guess I’ve got a wilder imagination than you. I can imagine way more humiliating stuff than this…

Not to use it as an excuse, but missed frees to Schache and against Trac for a throw which led to the Brayshaw were huge.

Weightman has been worst on ground, unfortunately.

Turn down volume and listen to ABC radio.
It is actually two seconds in front of TV vision.

25-09-2021, 10:32 PM
Weightman has been worst on ground, unfortunately.

Pickett & Spargo nothing either.. hard game for little blokes.

Im done guys.

Cheers for the forum but it's a little up it self when mods are saying well done to the team that's beating us in a GF.

Seeya on the other side. (don't be controverisal)

Now it’s just the margin.

Roseberry the difference 11 frees to 0

25-09-2021, 10:33 PM

Less bias than flat out incompetence

49 point turnaround.

Dale forward
Sub Vandemeer on somehow
Won’t mean much if we can’t get our hands on it

Like it.

I guess I’ve got a wilder imagination than you. I can imagine way more humiliating stuff than this…

Agree it sucks but hardly humiliating

Yeah, that ain’t it either.

Garbage. Embarrassing 12 minutes for this club. Absolutely embarrassing.

25-09-2021, 10:34 PM
Like it.

**deleted**

25-09-2021, 10:34 PM
Well it's been a hell of a year, but they're dancing on our corpses now.

25-09-2021, 10:35 PM
I can’t bring myself to watch it.
Night all

We had this. *!*!*!*!ing HAD IT and let these actual pieces of human shit take it away.

Their mids have destroyed our mids the last 25 mins. Better team is winning.

25-09-2021, 10:36 PM
Massive mistake to extend Wood and Cordy to next year.

Gotta say this is one of the worst grand final performances that’s ever been seen since halfway through the 3rd. Dead set embarrassing.

50 point turnaround in 13 minutes

Have a spell mate

Head between your legs or what?

Have I just been sent to the naughty corner :)

25-09-2021, 10:37 PM
Well it's been a hell of a year, but they're dancing on our corpses now.

Just playing for a bit if pride now.

25-09-2021, 10:39 PM
Weak as piss.

What a shitty finish. We had this during the 3rd, and we were unable to withstand Melbourne's response.
Hope this burns, because this was a fingernail from our grasp.

55 point turnaround in 17 minutes

Wood shoudlk have been subbed out twice. Hand and head knock. Still made that huge save though

Petracca throws it? Gets caught. All day. Has got away with everything.

25-09-2021, 10:40 PM
This is deflating… no desire to steem the flow and running around with our heads cut off.

25-09-2021, 10:40 PM
Well it's been a hell of a season but this is a poor result for us.

25-09-2021, 10:41 PM
All the cred the finals generated. Lost in under 20 minutes.

The worry isn't losing, it's what dropping our bundle so comprehensively can do to us mentally.

We're being thoroughly outplayed, so fair play to Melbourne, but our guys need to show some pride.

Oh Hunter. That’s this 20 minutes.

25-09-2021, 10:42 PM
Rubbish JJ.

Have I just been sent to the naughty corner :)

Sorry Garry but 15 points up in a GF I can't be flippant.

This is devastating.

Not sure where your heads at.

This is disgraceful. We're not even trying

25-09-2021, 10:43 PM
Unfortunately we have given up. Do guttered right now

61 point turnaround in 21 minutes

Sorry Garry but 15 points up in a GF I can't be flippant.

This is devastating.

It was 19. ;)

Delete

The first thing we need to do is chase a competent 1st ruck. Martin should have been it but he's too beaten up, he can be a break glass in case of emergency player next year but we can't afford to count on him.

Secondly is a good tall defender. Absolutely done with Cordy holding down a tall role and Gardner should be a second stringer and not a first choice tall defender.

25-09-2021, 10:44 PM
Looks like we just ran out of legs. Tough journey.

I don't place credence in the last Qtr. We've had to position ourselves ultra aggressively. This is what happens in GF's when you get behind the 8 ball and have to resort to crazy ultra aggressive posturing as a hail mary.
It's glorified junk time since the start of last Qtr.

Embarrassed.

25-09-2021, 10:45 PM
Bevo got his pants pulled down from half way through the 3rd.

James Harmes is a rapist and doesn’t deserve this.

Gawn is too - was swept under the Bali rug

Is there a mercy rule?

I just want this over.

Have to say I'd rather not make the grand final than dish this up.

This is pittiful. I'm ashamed

25-09-2021, 10:46 PM
62 point turnaround in under a quarter

Wait thats the master never made top 4 coach to you.

Thanks for the ride Woofers... we'll respond next year. I have no doubt.
We were in this up to our gills. I reckon we were one goal away after JJ's from sealing it.. But they really deserved this. and I hate that, because they're flogs.

25-09-2021, 10:47 PM
It was 19. ;)

Youve made the shit list too ;)

25-09-2021, 10:47 PM
We were in this up to our gills. I reckon we were one goal away after JJ's from sealing it.. But they really deserved this. and I hate that, because they're flogs.

We got the next goal after JJ’s.

Funke disco
25-09-2021, 10:48 PM
Well done Melbourne. Love all you woofers. We had the game and they snatched momentum away from us. Proud of our boys and the journey they’ve been on. See you next year

They didnt really

I am not convinced Cody was not concussed.

25-09-2021, 10:49 PM
We got the next goal after JJ’s.

Hannan took the wrong option for a free at 55m. If that turned into a goal, well, who knows.

25-09-2021, 10:49 PM
They didnt really

Except they did. That 10 minute burst in the 3rd was premiership stuff......and I'm throwing up as I say that....

25-09-2021, 10:50 PM
Has Roarke Smith been in our best 3 players?

68 point turnaround in about a quarter

Except they did. That 10 minute burst in the 3rd was premiership stuff......and I'm throwing up as I say that....

You can’t stop it if you don’t touch it. They are a class above

25-09-2021, 10:51 PM
Tom McDonald kicking junk goals.

https://i.postimg.cc/YSMQhhjY/200.gif (https://postimages.org/)

25-09-2021, 10:52 PM
Has Roarke Smith been in our best 3 players?

He's certainly been very good.

25-09-2021, 10:53 PM
Cmon back on?

Three for Treloar & Bonts. Would’ve liked to see the load spread passed two mids.

68 point turnaround in about a quarter
I'm shellshocked. I thought we were 1 goal from just about breaking them halfway through the 3rd. Their mids completely destroyed ours in that 10 minutes burst at the end of the 3rd qtr.

25-09-2021, 10:54 PM
Was numb. Moving to embarrassed.

25-09-2021, 10:54 PM
This is going to set us back a bit. The only word I can think of is: pathetic.

25-09-2021, 10:55 PM
I'm shellshocked. I thought we were 1 goal from just about breaking them halfway through the 3rd. Their mids completely destroyed ours in that 10 minutes burst at the end of the 3rd qtr.

Yep… they lifted and we went to water.

Shattered!

25-09-2021, 10:56 PM
Lot of scars for some players to wear.

Some embarrassing efforts

25-09-2021, 10:57 PM
A shellacking. Hope this doesn’t demoralise us going into next year.

25-09-2021, 10:58 PM
Was numb. Moving to embarrassed.
14.4 to 1.1. Ouch

25-09-2021, 10:58 PM
Sorry but this is the worst grand final performance over ever seen. This could put some long term scars. We’ll see next year. We’ve done well to get here. I’m proud of our efforts up until tonight. But we’ve clearly got a lot of mental demons to work out. We’re too weak and inconsistent.

25-09-2021, 11:00 PM

Who by? The defenders had no chance with that clean and easy ball out of the middle.

The mids except Bont and Treloar have been the most culpable in this capitulation.

25-09-2021, 11:00 PM
I think we need some pace in the middle when they get a break we have no one to go with them.

25-09-2021, 11:01 PM
Want to be positive but it is embarrassing. Would have preferred we didn't make it.

Has to be a worse loss than when GWS beat us up.

Dees simply to good. I have faith in Bevo to get us back competing next year. Their midfield is something to behold. Got to give them credit. Fritsch with likely Norm Smith makes me feel ill though.

25-09-2021, 11:02 PM
This has encroached into disgusting territory.

25-09-2021, 11:02 PM
Dees simply to good. I have faith in Bevo to get us back competing next year. Their midfield is something to behold. Got to give them credit. Fritsch with likely Norm Smith makes me feel ill though.

No way anyone but Petracca wins Norm Smith. He's playing a different sport tonight.

25-09-2021, 11:03 PM
Easton Wood has been a warrior for so long but it's time that he gets tapped on the shoulder. Been made to look inept tonight and has had a pretty bog average year.

25-09-2021, 11:03 PM
I am not convinced Cody was not concussed.

He just wasn't right at all.

25-09-2021, 11:04 PM
I think Cody has just gone full pelt all night. Just needed to settle down a bit.

25-09-2021, 11:04 PM
Man we HAD this. *!*!*!*!ing had it. This is brutal.

25-09-2021, 11:05 PM
This has encroached into disgusting territory.

Everything has gone their way and once it’s over it’s hard to keep giving the same level of effort.

Great and the actual *!*!*!*!ing domestic violence advocate ends up with it.

Which ones stood out for you?

25-09-2021, 11:06 PM
Want to be positive but it is embarrassing. Would have preferred we didn't make it.

That's a bit harsh. it's been a very tough year. If you think about the season as a whole it's been a very good time to be a bulldog supporter. Lots of very entertaining moments. But then again I have to admit I haven't been a lifelong member.

25-09-2021, 11:07 PM
A bridge to far.

19 points up in a knife edge tight game and they kick 15 of the next 16 goals. I felt like we had their measure. I don’t know where that came from. They got a sniff and then those repeated centre clearances and they could not miss.

Wood looks injured after 2nd quarter. His done some good things today, but he looks to have lost his speed and leap.

Cordy just does not have the speed and agility to go with Brown

Melbourne have another gear, and its scary how powerful their mids are and clean with their disposal. No stoppage work in the middle when we were bleeding.

I am gutted. This is the one that got away.

Melbourne deserve to win.

Well there’s our rd 21-23 underbelly on display. Needs to be addressed. Whatever it is. I’m speechless by how we just rolled over. Very very disappointing. I didn’t want a close loss. But this is the next worst. Losing with no pride or character. Nothing but pathetic.

25-09-2021, 11:09 PM
That was as the softest, most fragile performance from halfway through the 3rd. Disgraced the jumper tonight, let all us of down in lockdown and no one can convince we otherwise.

25-09-2021, 11:11 PM

We’ll have to agree to disagree on that point. I want our seasons to go for as long as possible, every year.

25-09-2021, 11:11 PM
I’m gonna take a day or two. Jesus christ that was *!*!*!*!ing nowhere.

25-09-2021, 11:12 PM
That was as the softest, most fragile performance from halfway through the 3rd. Disgraced the jumper tonight, let all us of down in lockdown and no one can convince we otherwise.

Can't disagree more. It's a good form to vent your spleen but I'm wearing my scarf proudly.

11 people died last night in New South Wales. It's good to keep things in perspective. I'm proud we made it into the final and a bit disappointed we couldn't keep going. But I don't think it's a disgrace. if you have two or three key players don't fire for some reason or another and you're in serious trouble. That's how it goes and credit to the opposition.

They played some scintillating football in that third term. Everything they touched turned to gold. The first goal was against the trend and then they torched us in the centre. I didn’t think we capitulated as much as they just went another gear and found a way to score quickly.

They killed us in centre clearances and I think we laid only one or two effective tackles on Petracca he whole night.

Bont played a great captain’s game.

How will teams counter Melbourne? They are like a freight train that runs you over.

25-09-2021, 11:13 PM
19 points up in a knife edge tight game and they kick 15 of the next 16 goals. I felt like we had their measure. I don’t know where that came from. They got a sniff and then those repeated centre clearances and they could not miss.

We overcommitted to the contest and didn’t defend goal side, repeatedly. Just didn’t change the method when we needed to. Plus Petracca was a million times better than anyone on our team.

Let’s be honest we really overachieved just making it.

They killed us in centre clearances and I think we laid only one or two effective tackles on Petracca he whole night.

Bont plated a great captain’s game.

How will teams counter Melbourne? They are like a freight train that runs you over.

Was the worst we’ve tackled all year.

25-09-2021, 11:14 PM

No not subscribing to that.

Well done Melbourne. Love all you woofers. We had the game and they snatched momentum away from us. Proud of our boys and the journey they’ve been on. See you next year

Love your work, FD. See you in the new year mate although would love to hear from you sooner should the mood take you.

Yep. It was those 4 goals deep in the fourth where they went bang bang bang. 24 points up in the space of a few minutes

25-09-2021, 11:15 PM

Bont plated a great captain’s game.

Yeah those clearances and tackling efforts were nothing short of embarrassing. But it’s not like tonight was the first time we’ve seen it. We’ve got a lot of work to do to overcome it. Bevo will have to work some miracles.

By the way. Did we tag Petracca at all? I was very disappointed in Bevos efforts tonight. Didn’t really adjust. But he obviously can’t control the weak efforts from our players.

25-09-2021, 11:15 PM

Absolute rubbish!

25-09-2021, 11:16 PM

I don’t believe that. We were the 2nd best team most of the year.

25-09-2021, 11:21 PM
Let’s face it our journey was tough. No excuses but travelling and being in quarantine clearly got to them. Melbourne were settled and well rested. That clearly showed as they ran over the top of us. We need to be more forgiving of our team’s performance. Yes it was hard but let’s stay positive and head into next year knowing we are up there. Just need a couple of changes to our list and reckon we can step up.

25-09-2021, 11:22 PM
Hey 2021 didn’t really count anyway right???

25-09-2021, 11:24 PM
Everyone you’d want to play well did so up to 40 minutes left in the game (Skip, Treloar, Smith, Daniel)

The last 40 minutes will haunt them. Lost all shape & will.

Great ride, strange & bitter ending.

25-09-2021, 11:24 PM
Yeah those clearances and tackling efforts were nothing short of embarrassing. But it’s not like tonight was the first time we’ve seen it. We’ve got a lot of work to do to overcome it. Bevo will have to work some miracles.

By the way. Did we tag Petracca at all? I was very disappointed in Bevos efforts tonight. Didn’t really adjust. But he obviously can’t control the weak efforts from our players.

He could not be stopped, his too quick for Dunks and his acceleration left him milies behind. When he kicked that groundball goal in the third. Dunks was chasing him, but he got bumped by Salem. So these small little things were against us.

Melbourne just have another gear to torch teams. Harmes, Langdon, Rivers, Petty, their lesser likes, they are good players and have some serious skill and speed.

25-09-2021, 11:25 PM
That 10 minutes in the 3rd was the difference. We just rolled over, once we lost that lead the players looked beaten. We were better than the scoreboard suggests tonight, just not our year

I believe that history echoes.

1954 win, 1961 lose, a lot of nothing

2016 win, 2021 lose, a ………..

Let’s hope this is not such an occurrence.

Melbourne just far too good, far bit if work to do still.

Yeah I'm gonna go lightly given the result and the stakes.
We were 1 more goal away in the 3rd from being premiers.
Melbourne got it back in 5 special minutes.
That's a grand final.
We didn't over achieve, we were overrun by a deserving premiership team in the 2nd part of the 3rd Qtr.
The last Qtr was 30 mins of junk time, as our posture had to be duper aggressive for a Hail Mary.

Anyone remember Essendon getting flogged by Hawthorn by 83 points in 1983?
What happened after that. We're positioned to be that if we're smart in the off season. We're a very good team, and we were not overachieving.

25-09-2021, 11:27 PM
Genuinely feel numb.

I thought we had it… if only there was next week…

25-09-2021, 11:29 PM
Centre bounce goals has been our achilles heel all year, just so disappointing that we couldn’t adjust on the run.

When Bont kicked that goal I was thinking dynasty it was a nice feeling for a few mintues.

That Schache non free kick was bloody massive will always feel like a sliding doors moment.

Proud of the club, never thought in my wildest dreams we would make 2 GFs in 6 years. This team with a few tweaks will get an opportunity again there is no doubt about it, I still think its the best list we have ever had.

25-09-2021, 11:30 PM
Genuinely feel numb.

I thought we had it… if only there was next week…

Yep. I’m more stunned than hurt.

We had that game on our terms with a decent lead with 40 to play.

My son (7YO) is shattered but I’m just more baffled

25-09-2021, 11:32 PM
Think this really brings the ruck situation square and centre now.

25-09-2021, 11:34 PM
Yep. I’m more stunned than hurt.

We had that game on our terms with a decent lead with 40 to play.

My son (7YO) is shattered but I’m just more baffled

We were in total control. Again we couldn’t stop the tide.

25-09-2021, 11:35 PM
Oooopppphhhh. Cop that.

Stunning performance from Melbourne. We got ahead of ourselves and messed around with our positioning at stoppages, particularly in the centre and paid the price.

Pretty shameful break in thought from our mids and leaders but they've had a good season and I won't be too hard on them.

For now.

25-09-2021, 11:36 PM
I just want to say this. I am so proud of our club with how they've performed this season and especially over the finals series with quarantines, travel etc. Not to mention the injury toll. Beaten by a better team on the night. No way are the colours coming off my house and fence tomorrow. In fact i'm going to put up some more. CEDE NULLIS.

25-09-2021, 11:40 PM
Oooopppphhhh. Cop that.

Stunning performance from Melbourne. We got ahead of ourselves and messed around with our positioning at stoppages, particularly in the centre and paid the price.

Pretty shameful break in thought from our mids and leaders but they've had a good season and I won't be too hard on them.

For now.

Yep, unfortunately this one is on the mids. They were overrun and couldn’t stop it.

25-09-2021, 11:41 PM
This will be the loss that launches an era.
I went into this thinking there is no way I can handle a Melbourne win.
They deserved this. They were a goal away from oblivion, and they killed us with 5 minutes of amazing footy in the 2nd part of the 3rd Qtr.
I like to think that Melbourne has just ensured we're gonna be even more determined for the next 5 years. There won't be any hangovers that's for sure, and our profile is young enough to recover, much like Essendon post 1983's thrashing.

Great barracking Woofers! Let's see how draft/trade period unfolds.

Ja, the centre square group just weren’t up to it when it counted

I’m proud of this club. We had an amazing three weeks. They jumped us. We showed character to get back in the game and then take the lead by 19 points. We then got blown away. This is only the second GF in my lifetime. This club has come so far in my lifetime. From near extinction to be respected and even feared by the completion.

Keep you head up Woofers. We will come again.

25-09-2021, 11:43 PM
Real shame in the end. Great season overall - would prefer to have been there than not.

Had them on the ropes and then fell away is the the bit that hurts.

Looks to look forward to next year.

25-09-2021, 11:43 PM
I’m proud of this club. We had an amazing three weeks. They jumped us. We showed character to get back in the game and then take the lead by 19 points. We then got blown away. This is only the second GF in my lifetime. This club has come so far in my lifetime. From near extinction to be respected and even feared by the completion.

Keep you head up Woofers. We will come again.

We lost by 12 goals. The competition doesn’t fear us.

25-09-2021, 11:44 PM

Well it always has been but I really don't think the rucks were the difference tonight. If I wanted to commit pain on myself I'd watch a replay of that 10 minutes which broke our back. Stoppages they streamed forward from their mids and HBs and just pushed forwards at all costs. Our backs seemed to high during these times as well. Again this is observations from the eyes of disbelief.

A genuine ruck probably would have helped stop that run but think it was more of how we set up each Stoppage.

25-09-2021, 11:47 PM
They were just too good. To come back from 19 points down in the 3rd to lead by 4 goals at the break was a top effort and they were unstoppable after that.
Top effort by the boys to get to the GF and I am very proud of their achievement and effort. Go Dogs!

25-09-2021, 11:49 PM
We seem to tire in the second half, and the 19 to 11 centre clearances helped their momentum.

The biggest disappointment for me was the losing margin.

25-09-2021, 11:49 PM

I don’t get this. Who fears who in the competition? Do we fear the Dees? No. They are beatable. We know it. We just blew it simple.

25-09-2021, 11:50 PM
They were just too good. To come back from 19 points down in the 3rd to lead by 4 goals at the break was a top effort and they were unstoppable after that.
Top effort by the boys to get to the GF and I am very proud of their achievement and effort. Go Dogs!

I dunno. I mean they were clearly better than us. But we didn’t put up a fight or any effort. We let them do what they wanted. But then apparently Geelong did too so maybe they’re simply too good. I dunno it feels like a decent team would just put a stop to the ease of their clearances. But it never happened.

25-09-2021, 11:50 PM
Who can I *!*!*!*!ing blame for what I witnessed tonight? Because honestly going belly up halfway through the third and then conceding 70 points is just.. I'm lost for words.

25-09-2021, 11:51 PM

Bollocks. The last Qtr was junk time. Margins in GF's are not important.
We needed to posture super aggressively in the last Qtr and were always going to be opened up if things didn't go 120% our way.

Competition doesn't fear us... total bollocks Comrade....I get it's tough post GF loss... I've just spent 40 minutes consoling my crying son.....so I get it....
There are 16 teams who were unable to get where we got to.
Was the competition thinking they didn't fear Essendon at the end of 1983?
I hope they don't fear us. More fool them.,

25-09-2021, 11:51 PM
We seem to tire in the second half, and the 19 to 11 centre clearances helped their momentum.

Exactly. It sucks losing by 70 plus. We just couldn’t keep up towards the end. Travel and injuries cruelled us. They aren’t that much better than us.

25-09-2021, 11:52 PM

Well it is flattering. We knew it was done and just shut up shop for a quarter. Losing margin helps me personally though, I can't sit back and stew on a missed shot at goal or a dodge free. We got hammered.

25-09-2021, 11:53 PM
I think we need to forget the margin. Everything that happened in the 4th is irrelevant.
We lost this in 5 minutes in the 3rd, against the play. We can learn from that.,
The 4th was just junk time, due to us having to go hail mary.

25-09-2021, 11:54 PM
Well it is flattering. We knew it was done and just shut up shop for a quarter. Losing margin helps me personally though, I can't sit back and stew on a missed shot at goal or a dodge free. We got hammered.

Sometimes better to be hammered than lose by a goal

25-09-2021, 11:55 PM
I think we need to forget the margin. Everything that happened in the 4th is irrelevant.
We lost this in 5 minutes in the 3rd, against the play. We can learn from that.,

Good points YHF. The margin sucks and I hate seeing it but yeah it probably is irrelevant. There is no way they are a 12 goal better side.

25-09-2021, 11:56 PM
Bollocks. The last Qtr was junk time. Margins in GF's are not important.
We needed to posture super aggressively in the last Qtr and were always going to be opened up if things didn't go 120% our way.

Competition doesn't fear us... total bollocks Comrade....I get it's tough post GF loss... I've just spent 40 minutes consoling my crying son.....so I get it....
There are 16 teams who were unable to get where we got to.
Was the competition thinking they didn't fear Essendon at the end of 1983?
I hope they don't fear us. More fool them.,

16 other teams didn’t make it to the GF, just like those teams didn’t make it in 2000 or 2007 or 2019 etc etc. The comp didn’t fear those losing teams, for good reason. We finished 5th after home and away and had a good run through finals before being completely stomped on. We have numerous deficiencies that reared their head at the worst moment. We’re miles off.

Can anyone explain to me how we didn't turn up in the second half?

That's what disappoints me.

We rolled over after being 19 up. Weird.

25-09-2021, 11:57 PM
Who can I *!*!*!*!ing blame for what I witnessed tonight? Because honestly going belly up halfway through the third and then conceding 70 points is just.. I'm lost for words.

The players. Bevo. Sorry but they collectively laid an egg. This blowout is on them. They were rightfully praised for getting us here but need to cop their whack for an all-time embarrassing performance tonight. It’s up there with the worst ever. How will they respond? Who the hell knows. I can’t predict this group. It’s part of the fun but it also leads to shit like tonight. If the wind is blowing 25kmh we get belted. If it’s overcast we smash interstate team on their home deck by 70pts. I can’t figure this team out.

26-09-2021, 12:00 AM
We finished 5th after home and away and had a good run through finals before being completely stomped on. We have numerous deficiencies that reared their head at the worst moment. We’re miles off.
I wasn't banking on our midfield group being one of the major deficiencies but they have curled their toes in critical moments a little too consistently in the last few seasons. Goes without saying that we didn't have the correct mix between attack and defence in the centre set-up in that critical last 10 mins of the 3rd qtr.

26-09-2021, 12:02 AM
Good news, maybe my mum will be OK

26-09-2021, 12:02 AM
16 other teams didn’t make it to the GF, just like those teams didn’t make it in 2000 or 2007 or 2019 etc etc. The comp didn’t fear those losing teams, for good reason. We finished 5th after home and away and had a good run through finals before being completely stomped on. We have numerous deficiencies that reared their head at the worst moment. We’re miles off.

Enjoy the off season comrade. I'm looking forward to 2022.
Isn't that the game. Some of us love the Dog's by viewing things as being half empty, some feel half full.
I hope the club is feeling half full.. Cause jeez it's a shitty journey otherwise.
Maybe I'm a silly dreamer, but I think we've got a very good path forward from here.

26-09-2021, 12:04 AM
I wasn't banking on our midfield group being one of the major deficiencies but they have curled their toes in critical moments a little too consistently in the last few seasons. Goes without saying that we didn't have the correct mix between attack and defence in the centre set-up in that critical last 10 mins of the 3rd qtr.

For whatever reason, the worst of round 21-23 came to the fore in the last 45 minutes of the game. Pathetic capitulation that is at the feet of our key mids along with Bevo who couldn’t stem the tide. Just a pathetic capitulation to end the season.

26-09-2021, 12:04 AM
Can anyone explain to me how we didn't turn up in the second half?
We dominated the first 20 minutes after half time and had them on the rack for a short period.

26-09-2021, 12:07 AM
Isn't that the game. Some of us love the Dog's by viewing things as being half empty, some feel half full.
I hope the club is feeling half full.. Cause jeez it's a shitty journey otherwise.
Maybe I'm a silly dreamer, but I think we've got a very good path forward from here.

ah - you lose a gf by the biggest second half margin in history...? There's no glass. Just shame. What is going on in here.

THAT WAS A GF!!!!

26-09-2021, 12:08 AM

Exactly. No point being down on what we have achieved this year. Tonight wasn’t great but the long term future is bright. Just thank god we aren’t Geelong, where there is no upside.

26-09-2021, 12:09 AM
We dominated the first 20 minutes after half time and had them on the rack for a short period.

They looked all at sea during that period too, I just cant work out how that changes so quickly unless it was output based.

26-09-2021, 12:09 AM
I don’t care about glass half full, glass half empty. That’s meaningless. Just look at it objectively and honestly.

26-09-2021, 12:10 AM
ah - you lose a gf by the biggest second half margin in history...? There's no glass. Just shame. What is going on in here.

THAT WAS A GF!!!!

It’s rotten is what it is. Never seen anything like it and that’s the concerning aspect. How we respond to this capitulation next year will be important. We can’t let this start another 60yr drought.

Downright embarrassing. Nothing to be proud of tonight. Great effort to get here but you can’t hang your hat on that performance. We’ve shown 1 too many times how meekly and easily we can give in.

26-09-2021, 12:11 AM

THAT WAS A GF!!!!

I hope this burns deep. I am choosing to say it will, and we'll respond. 2022 will reveal all.
Hey.. pretty good we've got JUH and Sam Darcy to look forward too.. That's sounds positive to me.
Aren't the Dee's gonna miss out of their NGA prospect because everyone got the sooks about us landing JUH??

26-09-2021, 12:12 AM
It’s rotten is what it is. Never seen anything like it and that’s the concerning aspect. How we respond to this capitulation next year will be important. We can’t let this start another 60yr drought.

Downright embarrassing. Nothing to be proud of tonight. Great effort to get here but you can’t hang your hat on that performance. We’ve shown 1 too many times how meekly and easily we can give in.

I'm devastated.

26-09-2021, 12:17 AM
Disappointing losing the way we did after such a great comeback in the 2nd quarter and being on the verge of something special but the Demons were just way too good in that 2nd half and we had no answers.

Congratulated my Mum and Grandma who are Demons supporters so they are over the moon.

I hope this make us stronger and even more determined in 2022. We need to look at getting a reliable ruckman in this coming trade period.

Stay strong woofers and Go Dogs!

I'm hurting that's for sure.

26-09-2021, 12:18 AM
I always thought that we had to find a way to limit the influence of Gawn, Fritsch, Petracca and Oliver in particular and we just didn't do that. It hurts to lose like that but it hurts a lot more to go down by a couple of goals especially when you gift them a couple and hit the post twice. No, we have to accept that we were totally outplayed and learn from it.

26-09-2021, 12:19 AM
Tonight is surely the last straw for Wood as a first choice defender? Time to put our energy into Schache as that 3rd tall.

26-09-2021, 12:20 AM
I always thought that we had to find a way to limit the influence of Gawn, Fritsch, Petracca and Oliver in particular and we just didn't do that. It hurts to lose like that but it hurts a lot more to go down by a couple of goals especially when you gift them a couple and hit the post twice. No, we have to accept that we were totally outplayed and learn from it.

Erm - but we did for like a shit load of the game.

Whats happening on this forum (not you merantau) but where's the anger???

WE WERE IN CONTROL EARLY IN THE 3RD!

26-09-2021, 12:25 AM
For whatever reason, the worst of round 21-23 came to the fore in the last 45 minutes of the game. Pathetic capitulation that is at the feet of our key mids along with Bevo who couldn’t stem the tide. Just a pathetic capitulation to end the season.
It's not a one-off. Some pretty ordinary teams (hello Carlton) have occasionally destroyed our mids with far greater workrate in the last few years.

We needed to change things up at qtr time and Treloar into the middle was an inspired move. Then we dominate field position and general play for the first 15 mins of the 3rd qtr. And then we utterly collapse and concede the game in a disastrous 15 min patch of unaccountable midfield and centre clearance play.

One of the weirdest games I can recall. We are heading in the right direction but the last 45 mins leaves us in no doubt that we need to shore up areas of concern if we are to continue our improvement, which we will need to do.

26-09-2021, 12:26 AM

Again who says we aren’t angry? Can’t supporters suffer in their own way? How do you want us to react? Throw the phone across the room, post expletives, shit on our coach and players? Really we all have different emotions and thoughts. Let us suffer how we each want to suffer. If that means trying to focus on positives so what…that is the way I want to process the loss.

26-09-2021, 12:28 AM

Yep. We were.
So were Hawks 84, off the back of a massive win against the Bombers in 83.
Massive learning moments for coaches and players.

This sucks.. But I reckon it will ultimately catapult us to greatness.
The margin is irrelevant, we've got the long term capital to be able to respond and correct a shitty 15 minute spurt in the 3rd that lost us this game.
4TH Qtr was irrelevant.

26-09-2021, 12:30 AM

Their best players changed the course of the game when they were under the pump. That's what good teams do and they are a very good team.

26-09-2021, 12:31 AM

We had control. Yes. We looked like we had their measure. They kick a goal from no where after we really should have kicked a few more goals in the first half of that third quarter. But they kicked some quick goals from centre clearances and they lifted. Everything they touched turned to gold. They didn’t miss. Their best was too good.

Don’t forget. They did this to Geelong in Round 23. Came from no where and steamrolled the Cats. They easily beat the Lions, they then smashed the Cats. These are the best teams in the competition. They then did the same to us in the last 45 minutes.

Does it hurt? Yes. It’s bloody painful. We nearly had our 3rd Premiership.

It’s an unorthodox year. We have been on the road for a month. Have not seen the Whitten oval. Surreal experience with a GF in Perth in a middle of a pandemic. We did amazing to get to the GF. A 45 minutes capitulation which also happened to the other best teams in the comp isn’t a sign you throw all your toys out of the cot. I’m confident we will learn and come again. Our best players are still young and in their prime. We have JUH and Darcy to look forward to. We also had a bad run with injury interruptions to some our prime movers like Dunks, Treloar, Bruce, Keath, Gards and others. Melbourne had a dream run all year with injury.

Bring on 2022.

26-09-2021, 12:32 AM

The anger is in your posts mostly.

I’m gutted, but how the *!*!*!*! is being angry about it going to help me or change anything? Yep it was an awful 45 minutes, and I’ll never watch that game again, but stamping my feet ain’t gonna help. Our best players failed when the pressure came on, shall we get rid of Bont, Macrae, Libba, Dunkley etc? Do we sack the only coach who has ever got us to 2 Grand finals in a 5 year span? I’m not sure what you want here.

26-09-2021, 12:33 AM
Tonight is surely the last straw for Wood as a first choice defender? Time to put our energy into Schache as that 3rd tall.

Problem is he got a waiver on everyone over 30 only gets 1 year. So if he’s around he’s in Bevo’s team. Same with Cordy.

We absolutely need to fast track Schache. I hope on baby cheeses that this is the plan.

26-09-2021, 12:33 AM
Their best players changed the course of the game when they were under the pump. That's what good teams do and they are a very good team.

Hate to say it but:

Trac > Bont

I never thought it would get to that but tonight’s performance was undeniable.

26-09-2021, 12:34 AM
The anger is in your posts mostly.

I’m gutted, but how the *!*!*!*! is being angry about it going to help me or change anything? Yep it was an awful 45 minutes, and I’ll never watch that game again, but stamping my feet ain’t gonna help. Our best players failed when the pressure came on, shall we get rid of Bont, Macrae, Libba, Dunkley etc? Do we sack the only coach who has ever got us to 2 Grand finals in a 5 year span? I’m not sure what you want here.

So we should just be ok with it?

26-09-2021, 12:35 AM
Hate to say it but:

Trac > Bont

I never thought it would get to that but tonight’s performance was undeniable.

What? So he had the deal with the captaincy right?

26-09-2021, 12:35 AM
See you all next year.

Would've loved a win...we didn't earn it.
I think good things are ahead of us, but fully understand why many are distraught right now.
It does suck being 2nd.

26-09-2021, 12:36 AM
Face it. We have some huge list holes and we still made a grand final.
We have a ruckman whos 35 and held together with tape
A defensive line that .. lets face it, ain't all that great
And a very young forward line with no actual natural crumber

The fact we made it this far with most on here only wanting us to ''win one final this year and that's a pass'' is good. Am I pissed off? Yes. Am I gutted? Yes. Can tonight be explained away? Most likely, plenty of excuses to be made.

Lets hope we fix some of our list problems next year, and hopefully with some new god damn assistant coaches who can teach a thing or two about ruckwork and defensive running as a midfield.

This is about as positive as I'm gonna get tonight.

26-09-2021, 12:37 AM
What?

Petracca has jumped ahead of Bont.

40, 2 goals and the catalyst of their comeback. Bont was nowhere to be seen in the last 45 minutes. Hurts to admit.

26-09-2021, 12:38 AM

40, 2 goals and the catalyst of their comeback. Bont was nowhere to be seen in the last 45 minutes. Hurts to admit.

Wrong.

So we've all just forgetten the path to get here now? Seriously we had them on toast and then...hey....maybe one team travelled the length of OZ and one had their dicks sucked the entire year.

Forum sadness is what i'm feeling now. You guys are reverting to type.

26-09-2021, 12:38 AM

Wait for it to come out that Bont has been playing injured as *!*!*!*! for the second half of the season ...

26-09-2021, 12:39 AM
Wait for it to come out that Bont has been playing injured as *!*!*!*! for the second half of the season ...

I kind of hope so. Trac monstered him and our other mids from halfway through the 3rd.

26-09-2021, 12:40 AM

Who is saying we should be ok with it? For mine there is no point being down about it. I am gutted that we lost but the future is bright. We missed this opportunity and they are hard to come by but it is not like we are on a downward spiral. We will win another one in the next year or two.

26-09-2021, 12:43 AM
I kind of hope so. Trac monstered him and our other mids from halfway through the 3rd.

There's a reason why his right shoulder has been heavily strapped since he fell on it really, really badly during the (I think it was) GCS game up on the Gold Coast

26-09-2021, 12:44 AM

Hard to do it on your lonesome. They got a roll and steamrolled us. Trac is sensational but the rest of their team helped make him look as good as he was (not detracting from his greatness). We didn’t lift as a team which made it hard for Bont to stamp his influence.

26-09-2021, 12:45 AM

**deleted**

26-09-2021, 12:47 AM
Just ordered you a dees 2021 top... Im sure youll wear it with pride.

WTF is going on in here.

I can feel your pain.
Rise again in 2022. This hurts

26-09-2021, 12:47 AM
They kicked three goals in the last 50 seconds of the third quarter. It was really unbelievable what happened in that third quarter. We just needed to get to the 3/4 time break with the game still in the balance. It was all over after that.

26-09-2021, 12:48 AM

I’m not really sure how to respond. Nobody is ok with it, and you can be as angry as you want to be, but I can’t bring myself to be anything other than disappointed at the way the season ended, but on the other side, thankful that it went as far as it did. Melbourne deserved to win. We have work to do. I also have no control over how any of that goes.

26-09-2021, 12:48 AM
Just ordered you a dees 2021 top... Im sure youll wear it with pride.

WTF is going on in here.

You are coping badly.

26-09-2021, 12:51 AM
One of the great sides, we actually should feel privileged to have been on the same ground as them. RIGHT?

WTF IS GOING ON IN HERE.

We are better, we fked up.
They lost 4 games all year and have been the best defensive team in Champion Data recorded history. If that isn't a big enough sample size for you I'm not sure what is.

Their last 10 mins of the 3rd qtr was as pure as footy gets. We don't have those gears, no other team in the comp currently does. Doesn't mean we couldn't beat them tonight and that we had the game on our terms halfway through the 3rd. But they were good enough to change the momentum and we were not when it was our turn to stop the rot.

26-09-2021, 12:52 AM
I think had we not won in 2016 we would be feeling around 20X worse right now. The drought still not broken but thank goodness for 2016.

26-09-2021, 12:54 AM
I think had we not won in 2016 we would be feeling around 20X worse right now. The drought still not broken but thank goodness for 2016.

No this is as bad

26-09-2021, 12:55 AM
All good. Look after yourself. We are all in the one community.

Cheers mate.

Not sure any one else realises we just got spanked in a gf.

26-09-2021, 12:55 AM
No this is as bad

Hang in there mate.

26-09-2021, 12:56 AM
Take care out there woofers.

26-09-2021, 12:56 AM
Yes. We have 2016. Also we got to see it person. We got to the GF Parade. To see training in person. We got to experience the amazing city of Melbourne at its best. No one can eve take that off us.

I salute the Demons. Well done. But I actually feel for their fans. Look at the week Melbourne the city has had. Locked down. Protests. Ugly scenes in the CBD between Police and protesters. An earthquake.

Imagine winning you drought breaking GF in this manner. You can't even get together with friends and family. I actually have empathy for the Demon diehards. It would be terrible.

26-09-2021, 12:59 AM
Hang in there mate.
Im trying to hang.

26-09-2021, 12:59 AM
I didn't have a lot of Bulldogs gear so I ordered some on the Chinese Internet from the factory.
They must've had some leftovers because the stuff I got was the EJ Witten club member gear from 2018.
Made me think of all the rusted on supporters who year after year shell out their hard earned.
I'm just inspired by the rusted on people of the Western bulldogs.
I used to live in Kingsville in the 2000's, not far from the ground. Boy it's come a long way.

26-09-2021, 01:04 AM
The straw that broke the shit Covid $&*#ing blues, second half was deplorable, for two minutes at the start of the third I thought we had it.
Gutted absolutely gutted.

26-09-2021, 01:07 AM
The straw that broke the shit Covid $&*#ing blues, second half was deplorable, for two minutes at the start of the third I thought we had it.
Gutted absolutely gutted.

Thought we had it too. 19 points up and we had them on the ropes. They were there for the taking. Just need a couple more killer blows.

26-09-2021, 01:08 AM
That was shit, then it was awesome, then it was shit, so shit.

First quarter we were a shambles. We were so fumbly and nervous, and basically didn't settle for the entire quarter. To only be 20 points down at the break was a miracle, especially considering that margin was blown out by two atrocious errors from the usually composed Bailey Williams. Next quarter and a half were great, good in the middle, defence tough and distributed well, forward line wasn't really functional but it was effective. From then on it was all Melbourne, and that was not fun.

We sucked hard tonight when we couldn't control the ball and the tempo of the game. When we weren't on top and dominating possession we were nowhere. We have shown a few times this year (Essendon being the other perfect example) that when we aren't winning the ball then the opposition has a free ticket to do whatever they want, and if they can generate a run on it will be super damaging. We desperately need to find a way to make our bad patches not hurt us in this manner, and grind them out instead. A ruckman who can negate should be priority one next season, Martin tried but can't go the distance and English is not a good ruck at all and especially when he just has to not be beaten. If we find a way to just stop the bleeding when it occurs then we would've hung in there tonight so much longer.

I'm hoping some guys don't come out of that with mental scars. Many were clearly very nervous and jittery in the first quarter but luckily settled as the game went on, but some (mainly Keath) never got there.

That horror 5 minutes broke us and we didn't look like winning once it started, which was very dissapointing. That last quarter we did the opposite of fight it out, and while I don't doubt many guys were sore and tired (Libba and Macrae definitely looked broken) I don't think it was asking too much for us to still fight it out.

Melbourne were incredible for the last quarter and a half and it's pretty hard to deny them credit for beating us, we just couldn't/wouldn't go with them in the end. I am extremely disappointed Tom McDonald gets credited with a couple of goals after completely spudding up the game when it mattered. The ball is in their court to be the new "team to beat", that was pretty convincing, but I don't think we are far off. If we do find a way to stop those run ons that teams get we are good enough at everything else to take it up to them.

26-09-2021, 01:08 AM
Cheers mate.

Not sure any one else realises we just got spanked in a gf.

Sure am, I watched the whole thing. Even the presentation. It *!*!*!*!ing sucked. Now I’m going to bed. And tomorrow I’ll wake up, and the result will be the same. But if it makes you feel better, humanity is on an inexorable downward spiral to extinction, so one day, there’ll be no record of the game and nobody to care.

26-09-2021, 01:18 AM
Also how the hell did neither coach get a sub on? For us we could've used it to try to change our setup (or drag someone who was a liability) and for them surely you find someone to donate 10 minutes of game time so Jordon can say he actually played in the flag he has a medal from?

26-09-2021, 01:22 AM
Sure am, I watched the whole thing. Even the presentation. It *!*!*!*!ing sucked. Now I’m going to bed. And tomorrow I’ll wake up, and the result will be the same. But if it makes you feel better, humanity is on an inexorable downward spiral to extinction, so one day, there’ll be no record of the game and nobody to care.

Hahaha. I often find it weird how we get so worked up about a friggin sport. I mean I do too. I feel like absolute shit right now. Things are bleak. At the end of the day though it is just a sport that doesn’t mean shit in the grand scheme of things. I’ll never be able to emotionally attach from this club though. I sometimes want to like right now. I’m telling myself life could be a whole lot worse. But it still hurts to see such a disappointing display. But really 2021 doesn’t count anyway just like 2020 they’ll be forgotten years.

26-09-2021, 01:25 AM
Also how the hell did neither coach get a sub on? For us we could've used it to try to change our setup (or drag someone who was a liability) and for them surely you find someone to donate 10 minutes of game time so Jordon can say he actually played in the flag he has a medal from?

There is no tactics.

26-09-2021, 01:26 AM
Did they do a coaches presser and I missed it? Have we heard from Bevo yet?

26-09-2021, 01:30 AM
Hahaha. I often find it weird how we get so worked up about a friggin sport. I mean I do too. I feel like absolute shit right now. Things are bleak. At the end of the day though it is just a sport that doesn’t mean shit in the grand scheme of things. I’ll never be able to emotionally attach from this club though. I sometimes want to like right now. I’m telling myself life could be a whole lot worse. But it still hurts to see such a disappointing display. But really 2021 doesn’t count anyway just like 2020 they’ll be forgotten years.

Maybe it’s because I’m sober tonight. Maybe the last year has given me some perspective. But I’ve really come to a realisation that for all that sport matters to me and this club in particular, you have to be willing to accept heartache as part of the package. If I you can’t, well maybe following a team isn’t for you. Doesn’t mean I wasn’t screaming at my tv before 3/4 time, or absolutely gutted afterwards, but life will go on, inevitably.

26-09-2021, 01:33 AM
Maybe it’s because I’m sober tonight. Maybe the last year has given me some perspective. But I’ve really come to a realisation that for all that sport matters to me and this club in particular, you have to be willing to accept heartache as part of the package. If I you can’t, well maybe following a team isn’t for you. Doesn’t mean I wasn’t screaming at my tv before 3/4 time, or absolutely gutted afterwards, but life will go on, inevitably.

Could not agree more. Read this many years ago. It sums it up really well https://waitbutwhy.com/2014/03/sports-fans-sports-fans.html

26-09-2021, 01:51 AM
Sorry you didn’t enjoy my reflection but I was replying to someone who wasn’t being a *!*!*!*!.

I’ve only been a member for 21 years. And only on this forum for 14, so it’s only been glory years over that time.
And nobody is saying it’s good that we lost. Pretty sure most of us have described how shit it was, just some of us are just being a little less dramatic about it.

26-09-2021, 01:57 AM
Sorry you didn’t enjoy my reflection but I was replying to someone who wasn’t being a *!*!*!*!.

I’ve only been a member for 21 years. And only on this forum for 14, so it’s only been glory years over that time.
And nobody is saying it’s good that we lost. Pretty sure most of us have described how shit it was, just some of us are just being a little less dramatic about it.

Edit : Removed due to my stupidity.

26-09-2021, 02:03 AM
So 4 Gfs since 1925.

This is the worst.

Can I be dramatic or is getting fked ok?

You always be Essendon and have zero finals wins 6,230 days.

26-09-2021, 02:09 AM
If this doesn't sting our boys I don't what will. Melbourne sticking it right up us with a copycat mocking of our leaked celebration https://twitter.com/AFL/status/1441770827540692999?s=20

26-09-2021, 02:13 AM
Love you AP.

Really want to downvote this but im not sad enough to have a FB account.

26-09-2021, 02:14 AM

That has cheered me up a bit :D

26-09-2021, 02:15 AM

I’m sure they are feeling a lot better than we all are tonight.

26-09-2021, 02:22 AM
I’m sure they are feeling a lot better than we all are tonight.

Yes. No doubt. It bloody hurts to lose on the biggest stage. But there are 25 year old Bombers supporters who can't ever recall a final win. If you told me that could happen when I was growing up, I would have thought you had gone mad. Bombers supporters now feel like a Bulldog supporter in 1984. For those older enough to remember it wasn't good.

26-09-2021, 03:12 AM
Yes. No doubt. It bloody hurts to lose on the biggest stage. But there are 25 year old Bombers supporters who can't ever recall a final win. If you told me that could happen when I was growing up, I would have thought you had gone mad. Bombers supporters now feel like a Bulldog supporter in 1984. For those older enough to remember it wasn't good.
Essendon have lost three and won four flags in my life time, we are one and one.

26-09-2021, 03:23 AM
If this doesn't sting our boys I don't what will. Melbourne sticking it right up us with a copycat mocking of our leaked celebration https://twitter.com/AFL/status/1441770827540692999?s=20

I just went from being apathetic about our loss to wanting to burn down the MCG ... It's one thing to win, it's another to mock the losing side.

26-09-2021, 07:22 AM
It’s important to be gracious in both victory and defeat.

We were outplayed by the best team of the year. We can’t control how they react, but we can control how we do, how we channel our anger and burning desire for redemption.

We were in it up to our eyeballs, that’s 95% of the job done, let’s fix it and make 2022 our story.

26-09-2021, 08:20 AM
The history of our club highlights that getting to Grand Finals is a rare thing and this is why last nights result is hurting all of us this morning. How does the club bounce back from this?

26-09-2021, 08:44 AM
The history of our club highlights that getting to Grand Finals is a rare thing and this is why last nights result is hurting all of us this morning. How does the club bounce back from this?

Have to make sure we keep getting there. Can’t afford to miss the boat for another five years. Massive missed opportunity tonight, it is hard to fathom exactly what happened when a fair stretch into the third it looked like we had one hand firmly on the cup.

It dissipated so quickly, like sand through the fingers.

The fatal centre clearance have been the ugliest flaw in our game since 2017, with various band aids and strengths to cover it. I think Carlton, Collingwood and St Kilda have all something similar to us in recent history, blown us up in 10 minutes of footy.Melbourne were ridiculously good in that moment. The last quarter May as well not even happened. We were spent and broken mentally.

That’s a worry and probably the most disappointing element. We didn’t fire a shot after that. And what should have been a famous win, or agonisingly close loss quickly got away from us. In the end it was embarrassing. They are mocking us over it.

Can’t change it. Coach needs to unpack it, get a better system going for the midfield and tweak the defence such that those centre clearances don’t kill us.

26-09-2021, 09:15 AM

Winner the spoils n all that, but gee that’s ordinary. Go your hardest, but the choice of tune is brazen.

They strike me as a group that could not GAF what the rest of the competition thinks of them anyway, so whatever. We earned the disrespect.

26-09-2021, 10:14 AM

I’ve missed a memo.

Why is this a slight on us?

26-09-2021, 10:22 AM
It was quite incredible when you think about it in the clear light of day. In a half of football we witnessed: a 40 point turn around from quarter time to about the 12 minute mark of the 3rd (from memory) for us. Then, from that point to 3/4 time, a 43 point turn around to them.

How do you process that? There has to be multiple factors involved. My greatest fear that they would get a run on came true. I also thought, naievly as it turns out, that we would have been prepared for that mentally and tactically. But whatever plans we had prepared went out the window. It was the footballing eqiuvalent of the Fall of Singapore.

But, let's get one thing straight. There is no going back for us. We are in an excellent shape to consolidate and cement our position for a long run of success. Dropping back into the following pack is not an option. I expect us to be right up there in the leading bunch and winning a couple in the next five years.

26-09-2021, 10:26 AM
I’ve missed a memo.

Why is this a slight on us?

That’s the same song the Bulldogs team have been singing after each finals win. Footage of us singing it post prelim leaked out.

Melbourne players did it to mock us.

26-09-2021, 10:31 AM
That’s the same song the Bulldogs team have been singing after each finals win. Footage of us singing it post prelim leaked out.

Ok. Was happy for them largely.

F*** them to hell. That is pathetic and classless.

Agree - if that doesn’t drive us next year nothing will.

26-09-2021, 10:42 AM

Do that in local footy and you get bashed.

26-09-2021, 10:58 AM
That's it. It's gloves off for me.

26-09-2021, 11:07 AM
I get the anger over the douche move of mocking our celebratory song, but the reality is the winners can please themselves. I'm sure other premiership winning clubs have said disparaging things about their opponents.

If that is added motivation for the players next year I'd be worried. We need to fix glaring holes that were brutally exposed in that last 1/3rd of the match, not focus on some questionable celebrations. Never again can we let opposition teams pile on massive scoreboard pressure out of the middle. If that means personnel changes, positional changes or game plan changes, that is what I expect us to focus 100% on.

26-09-2021, 11:12 AM
Bevo (paraphrasing from presser)

-We could not stem the tide from the centre clearances
-It all happened in a blink of an eye, the game was taken away from us
-Did the journey take a toll on us? I don't know. Maybe.
-The final scoreboard isn't a reflection of our entire season.
-We showed fight and heart to get back into the game.
-After the game, I expressed my gratitude for what we have done this year. We had injuries. We had to shuffle things. I'd rather be here than not.
-We are a step behind Melbourne, but hopefully both clubs can sustain high performance for years ahead. We are both young.
-We have been one of the better centre clearance teams all year, Trac lifted and we could not go with him.
-It is a shame that an area of the game that we has been good for us (centre clearances even against dominant ruckmen), that we let it be the reason they won the game.
-The blowout really hurts, our fans will be hurting to lose by such a big margin in the Grand Final.
-Our club started to inspire people again, on a day like today that subtracts from that, but our players are made of special things and I'm confident that there will not be lasting legacy from this.
-We have a break, we go to work to get a double chance next year.
-Internally we had some challenging things we were dealing with in the last three weeks of the H&A season.