Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

04-04-2022, 12:43 PM

04-04-2022, 12:49 PM
This is a game I'm really looking forward to. On paper we should win this but Richmond play well against us

04-04-2022, 02:05 PM
Grimes might be out which is huge for us

06-04-2022, 09:35 PM
Dogs by 3 points
1st goal - Naughton
Bog - macrae

06-04-2022, 10:52 PM
Dogs 45
BOG Bont
FG Roarke

06-04-2022, 11:43 PM
Dogs by 33

First Goal: Naughton

BOG: Caleb

06-04-2022, 11:50 PM
Dogs by 58
First Goal: McNeil
BOG: McNeil

07-04-2022, 07:57 AM
I still have bad memories of last year where tigers showed us up. They got smashed the week before and had an injury or two going into the game.

Very very similar circumstances this year around.

Need to stop Shai Bolton somehow.

07-04-2022, 08:32 AM
Dogs by 9 points
First Goal: JUH
BOG: Treloar

07-04-2022, 09:40 AM
I still have bad memories of last year where tigers showed us up. They got smashed the week before and had an injury or two going into the game.

Yeah same. They did that thing to St Kilda last week that they did to us last year, but instead of capitulating under 15 minutes of psychotic pressure the Saints weathered it and ran over the top when the Tigers gassed out.

This isn’t to say that we can’t do the same, but more that the Tigers still have that card to play.

07-04-2022, 10:35 AM
The first 2 rounds we came up against 2 excellent midfields that largely got the better of us, Melbourne the number 1 and Carlton who are red hot at the moment.

I was quietly confident that we would beat the Swans as our midfield is better than theirs. Our midfield is vastly superior to Richmond's with no Dusty, perpetually injured Prestia and old man Cotchin.

It would be bitterly disappointing to lose the midfield battle on Saturday night, which generally goes a long way to deciding the outcome.

07-04-2022, 11:57 AM
Dogs by 28 points
First Goal: JUH
BOG: Dunks

07-04-2022, 01:58 PM

Richmond last three goals should not have happened. Starting with Houli’s kick from outside his normal range all our backmen tried to spoil Lynch (who had taken a dozen marks and 8 shots at goal). Everyone missed the ball and it rolled through for a goal. Our guys did the same thing twice more in the next 5 or so minutes and Bolton got the spoils and goaled. A major factor in losing the game was not paying Lynch some respect and giving him a tall opponent.

07-04-2022, 02:03 PM
Richmond last three goals should not have happened. Starting with Houli’s kick from outside his normal range all our backmen tried to spoil Lynch (who had taken a dozen marks and 8 shots at goal). Everyone missed the ball and it rolled through for a goal. Our guys did the same thing twice more in the next 5 or so minutes and Bolton got the spoils and goaled. A major factor in losing the game was not paying Lynch some respect and giving him a tall opponent.

So playing Cordy on Lynch wasn't the right move?

07-04-2022, 03:20 PM
So playing Cordy on Lynch wasn't the right move?
I can’t remember who was his official opponent but the others had no faith in him. That’s why Lynch had everyone jumping against him and still took overhead marks. The delivery out of the midfield was excellent too. Opposition coaches put two talls on Naughton, not three shorts.

07-04-2022, 08:16 PM
Tigers by 11
BOG Treloar
FG Weightman

If they get enough supply forward of the ball, I'm not sure we can contain them with that backline. I find it dumbfounding we didn't get some kind of insurance cover for a KPD....

Still concerned about our ability to score. I get we had our chances v Carlton and Sydney, but it's not a well functioning forward group at the moment.

We have a clear advantage in the midfield and we'll need to drive that home to win.

07-04-2022, 08:27 PM
After seeing the teams I’m changing my tip.

Rich 19 (no keath)
Lynch will be licking his lips.

07-04-2022, 08:29 PM
I think we'll win this game.

07-04-2022, 09:16 PM

Me too.

07-04-2022, 09:17 PM
After seeing the teams I’m changing my tip.

Rich 19 (no keath)
Lynch will be licking his lips.

They were pretty terrible against the Aints.

07-04-2022, 09:38 PM
Dogs by 16 points. Our midfield really should be able to get us over the line despit our deficiencies down back. No Grimes helps he's a good player and a general down there.

BOG: Smith

First goal; Weightman

07-04-2022, 10:05 PM
They’ll score more goals now Keath is out and Jack is in. But our mids just need to play to their standard and we shouldn’t give up too many inside 50s. We will be ok.

08-04-2022, 07:24 AM
They were pretty terrible against the Aints.
They were, but they do love our backline normally.
We need to make every shot a winner with our set shots (looking at you Naughton)

08-04-2022, 10:54 AM
Balta and Lynch a big ask without Kieth.
If we spray them as we usually do this week, can't see us getting up.
But I never pick against us really, so dogs by 10

BOG Dunkley
FG Libba

08-04-2022, 11:30 AM
Balta is, I will begrudgingly admit, a threat with no real physical defender to go against him, but he has struggled badly to stay involved in games and I haven’t seen evidence to date of him being a super sticky handed pack marking threat. If O’Brien can play him from behind, avoid wrestling matches and occupy him we *should* be okay. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t worried about it.

Riewoldt too. Just don’t see a great matchup for him. Gardner on Lynch will have to do but Gardner’s earned some faith.

08-04-2022, 11:48 AM

I mean, it’s not like we’ve never won games with an undersized/under strength backline. Just ask Premiership defender Fletcher Roberts

09-04-2022, 10:57 AM
Margin: Dogs by 12 points
First goal: Naughton
Best on ground: Dunkley

09-04-2022, 01:09 PM
Balta is, I will begrudgingly admit, a threat with no real physical defender to go against him, but he has struggled badly to stay involved in games and I haven’t seen evidence to date of him being a super sticky handed pack marking threat. If O’Brien can play him from behind, avoid wrestling matches and occupy him we *should* be okay. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t worried about it.

Riewoldt too. Just don’t see a great matchup for him. Gardner on Lynch will have to do but Gardner’s earned some faith.

It's the type of game where we allow a Balta type to kick 4-5.

Having said that, I actually rate Balta (as a KPD) and wish we had him.

09-04-2022, 07:14 PM
Dogs by 31
First goal- JUH
BOG- Bazlenka

09-04-2022, 08:11 PM
Wally medical sub

09-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Wally medical sub

Seems to be a role for him.

09-04-2022, 08:20 PM
Seems to be a role for him.

Not sure it’s a good idea to have a player who can pretty much only play in a FP as the sub…. But hey, whatever floats your boat.

09-04-2022, 08:39 PM
1.6 ffs

09-04-2022, 08:39 PM
Our goal kicking....

09-04-2022, 08:40 PM
spraying them, again. So annoying.

09-04-2022, 08:42 PM
We won't be winning many games of footy if we kick like Auskickers.

09-04-2022, 08:42 PM
Ed is a worry

09-04-2022, 08:43 PM
Hey, total domination and inaccuracy in front of goals. Stop me if you've heard this one before.

09-04-2022, 08:43 PM
I don't think we're spraying them. We've not really had any simple looks at goal that we've squandered like in previous weeks. Like the Naughton special of hitting the post 30 out with no angle.

09-04-2022, 08:44 PM
Butler is nowhere near the standard required.

09-04-2022, 08:47 PM
This is a joke.

You are *!*!*!*!ing kidding

Okay that one from Scott was an absolute sitter.

09-04-2022, 08:48 PM
12.31 in our last 6 quarters.

09-04-2022, 08:51 PM
Same old, same old. Dominate play, dominate inside 50s, no scoreboard pressure. Our set shot conversion is a disgrace. Had enough.

09-04-2022, 08:52 PM
I'm ready to turn this shit off and have an early night.

09-04-2022, 08:53 PM
Not sure it’s a good idea to have a player who can pretty much only play in a FP as the sub…. But hey, whatever floats your boat.

I'd prefer a more versatile player as the medical sub but it's been hard to team justify selections for a while now.

Genius from Bont.

Bont in the ruck. Kill me now

09-04-2022, 08:54 PM
*!*!*!*! we needed that

09-04-2022, 08:55 PM

I'm glad they quoted Pagan because WTF.

*!*!*!*! we needed that
Great snap

Heaven help us if he gets injured when rucking but a lot of people appear to be happy to roll with whatever options we use to support English.

Should be 4 goals up, but the qtr pretty much went to plan. Dominated play and the points dominated the scoreboard.

Good snap by Naughton.

This kicking at goal is deplorable - you don't see this at even local level week after week.

On the positive, English looks great and I've really liked TOB.

Listening on the radio as it makes me less agitated generally.

Found a player in O’Brien make no mistake.

09-04-2022, 08:56 PM
I'm glad they quoted Pagan because WTF.

If I'm the opposition ruck I'm giving away a free and driving my body into him at every opportunity. This is negligent from Beveridge.

Heaven help us if he gets injured when rucking but a lot of people appear to be happy to roll with whatever options we use to support English.

He shouldn't jump AT all. Conceed the tap and work on the ground.

Not me. It’s an absolute disgrace that you would pretty much put your best mid up in a centre ruck contest. The MC have officially lost their minds.

09-04-2022, 08:57 PM
If I'm the opposition ruck I'm giving away a free and driving my body into him at every opportunity. This is negligent from Beveridge.
Agree 100%.

Should be 4 goals up, but the qtr pretty much went to plan. Dominated play and the points dominated the scoreboard.

Same as last week, we aren't quite getting full value for our efforts

Smith 12, Dunkley 11,Macrae 10 disposals. We should be 4 goals up

09-04-2022, 08:58 PM
Reasonable quarter except for the usual.

O’Brian looks ok. Good jump. Missed a mark that led to a goal but took another pack mark and some spoils.

09-04-2022, 08:59 PM
I know it’s only first qtr but has butler looked any better than Roarke ?

Reasonable quarter except for the usual.

O’Brian looks ok. Good jump. Missed a mark that led to a goal but took another pack mark and some spoils.

Yep, we played well. Keep that sort of effort up for the balance of the game and we will crack them in a big way.

Same as last week, we aren't quite getting full value for our efforts

It will hurt against Richmond. Hopefully we can be more accurate this qtr. to be fair only one of the set shots was a sitter (Scotts) and a few rushed behinds.

09-04-2022, 09:01 PM

Assume by saying a lot of people you're excluding everyone on this board, right?

09-04-2022, 09:01 PM
It will hurt against Richmond. Hopefully we can be more accurate this qtr. to be fair only one of the set shots was a sitter (Scotts) and a few rushed behinds.

It's hard to understand how he could miss that set shot by so much.

09-04-2022, 09:03 PM
Same old, same old. Dominate play, dominate inside 50s, no scoreboard pressure. Our set shot conversion is a disgrace. Had enough.

Whats the answer? It's not like it's a recent thing

09-04-2022, 09:03 PM
Marra looks a bit slow and lazy tonight

09-04-2022, 09:04 PM
Whats the answer? It's not like it's a recent thing

Kick a goal I would have though. ;)

09-04-2022, 09:06 PM
Assume by saying a lot of people you're excluding everyone on this board, right?

Natch.

09-04-2022, 09:08 PM
I'm already resigned to the fact we'll once again have more scoring shots and lose the game. I'll need another gin.

09-04-2022, 09:09 PM
Frustrating but a big qtr is close. I’m sure.

09-04-2022, 09:13 PM
I'm already resigned to the fact we'll once again have more scoring shots and lose the game. I'll need another gin.

Send macaroons.

09-04-2022, 09:13 PM
This might get ugly. We don’t look switched on imo

09-04-2022, 09:14 PM
We are about the only side that continually moves on the mark every week. It's idiotic.

09-04-2022, 09:14 PM
Haha we are our own worst enemy.

09-04-2022, 09:16 PM
We are about the only side that continually moves on the mark every week. It's idiotic.
They were bullshit frees.

09-04-2022, 09:17 PM

First one for sure, second one was there.

It's the rule that's bullshit anyway.

Everyone else understands the rules but us. Is it a stupid rule? Sure, but we all know what the rule is.

We are a really immature football club.

No they weren't. Both were there, that's the rule

09-04-2022, 09:23 PM
Bont has been rubbish for most of this year.

09-04-2022, 09:26 PM
Laughable.

We're a bottom 8 side.

Your goal Vandermeer you twit!

What a piss weak goal to give up.

09-04-2022, 09:27 PM
Your goal Vandermeer you twit!

Needs to go back to VFL.

09-04-2022, 09:27 PM
This is tripe.

09-04-2022, 09:28 PM
Yuck Dogs.

09-04-2022, 09:28 PM
Vandermeer wow.

09-04-2022, 09:29 PM
We are a mentally weak group. Maybe that GF loss has done more damage than we think

09-04-2022, 09:32 PM
Dropped mark by b. Smith and cotchin wins the 50/50 and Richmond sends it forward for a goal

So many fumbles and dropped marks

Our response , Naughtons missed 40 m on an angle

Then kicks one round the corner

4 goals 10 behinds and we still 11 behind

It’s going to be one of these seasons

Can someone explain to me what the purpose the standing on the mark rule is needed ? 2x50 m penalties for rubbish

09-04-2022, 09:33 PM
Everyone else understands the rules but us. Is it a stupid rule? Sure, but we all know what the rule is.

Williams one wasn’t a free

That was rough to watch (also my attention drifted because it was shit)

Needs to go back to VFL.

Its not just VFL its a change of position, he cant play AFL in the forward half of the ground if at all.

09-04-2022, 09:34 PM
Dropped mark by b. Smith and cotchin wins the 50/50 and Richmond sends it forward for a goal

So many fumbles and dropped marks

Our response , Naughtons missed 40 m on an angle

Then kicks one round the corner

4 goals 10 behinds and we still 11 behind

It’s going to be one of these seasons

Can spend one explain to me what the purpose the standing on the mark rule is needed ? 2x50 m penalties for rubbish it is a fairly simple rule. Umpire says Stand then you can't move. Dreadful rule but it is what it is.

Vandermeer wow.

If He is one of our key small forwards I just don’t see where our goals are going to come from
Fumbles and is a poor mark
Does not have the agility , elusive and explosive movement

Still not getting enough value for our effort but we can still win this.

I thought Williams was badly done by and the goal he missed for us ended up costing us a goal but Naughtons appeared to be there.

Some smart play and we can crack them like an egg.

09-04-2022, 09:35 PM
Vandermeer, apparently he covers the angles was the response I got as to what he offers the team when i asked why is he in the team.

09-04-2022, 09:35 PM
Williams was in motion, he hadn’t stopped, there’s no way that call was right.

But, we’re our own worst enemy! Not sure we could play any worse to be honest.

09-04-2022, 09:37 PM
Too many passengers tonight.
Fumbling, falling over, dropping marks, poor set shots, can’t hold a tackle, can’t break a tackle.
Christ if English did his knee we would have to forfeit the season.

09-04-2022, 09:38 PM
The effort is there, just some really bad errors at crucial times, especially when we've gone forward.

09-04-2022, 09:39 PM
Its not just VFL its a change of position, he cant play AFL in the forward half of the ground if at all.

Another HBF? Speaking of those how did Butler get a call up? Dear in the headlights stuff out there. Is the gap from best 22 to the rest so far apart?

09-04-2022, 09:39 PM
Still not getting enough value for our effort but we can still win this.

I thought Williams was badly done by and the goal he missed for us ended up costing us a goal but Naughtons appeared to be there.

Some smart play and we can crack them like an egg.

we have to take our opportunities. Stats show we are on top so need to be more efficient and accurate at goals.

09-04-2022, 09:40 PM
Another HBF? Speaking of those how did Butler get a call up? Dear in the headlights stuff out there. Is the gap from best 22 to the rest so far apart?
Yep, butler is not AFL standard.

09-04-2022, 09:40 PM
We will still win this. Only 11 points down and the Tigers dominated that qtr. we will turn it around

09-04-2022, 09:43 PM

Yep they are all hbf thats the issue. I watched the VFL today the cupboard is bare.

09-04-2022, 09:43 PM
Jesus, has Wayne Carey been to Madonna's plastic surgeon? That's frightening.

09-04-2022, 09:44 PM

He really looks a long, long, long way off the standard.

09-04-2022, 09:44 PM
Bailey Dale forward for me, we seem to have enough run off HBF he has the field of view to hit targets forward of the ball

09-04-2022, 09:45 PM
Yep they are all hbf thats the issue. I watched the VFL today the cupboard is bare.

Where did it go wrong. One thing I could always have confidence in is our depth. It just seems like nothing there to make the team any better and we're essentially moving deck chairs around.

09-04-2022, 09:47 PM
We just need to take our chances. They have 2 goals from 50s, one from a big pack mark, one from a soft high free at CHF. They aren’t winning with transition and better play. It’s kinda flukey. We need to take our chances and not give away frees in the forward line.

Will be ok and every chance that we can get a run on.

09-04-2022, 09:49 PM
We are still a chance to run over the top of these guys.

Geez we need a second ruck and a goal kicking Coach. Same as last year, the year before that and the year before that.

09-04-2022, 09:49 PM
Where did it go wrong. One thing I could always have confidence in is our depth. It just seems like nothing there to make the team any better and we're essentially moving deck chairs around.

I think with even luck our defence can be very good, English is taking the step, but forward of the footy its a bunch of kids. There was barley anyone coming at the footy in the forward half when we dominated the pill. Shallow and wide is reflected in our accuracy

09-04-2022, 09:51 PM
Vandermeer "Hamstring tightness".

Mutz
09-04-2022, 09:52 PM
What do we think of O'Brien - could he be a permanent Cordy replacement?

09-04-2022, 09:53 PM
Yay. Good start.

09-04-2022, 09:53 PM
Well done Bont. Finally!!!

09-04-2022, 09:54 PM
What do we think of O'Brien - could he be a permanent Cordy replacement?

Put keath and Gardner next to him will be very good

09-04-2022, 09:56 PM
Bont could’ve iced this. Kick those and the tigers wilt

09-04-2022, 09:59 PM
Why is Wally on?

We are still a chance to run over the top of these guys.

Geez we need a second ruck and a goal kicking Coach. Same as last year, the year before that and the year before that.

Tob wtf

Why is Wally on?

Vandermeer "hamstring tightness"

09-04-2022, 10:00 PM
Ok must sign Tim English.

09-04-2022, 10:00 PM
English!!!!!!!!

09-04-2022, 10:02 PM
Those who think O'Brien is the saviour down the back, he struggled to get a game at the Hawks the past 3 years.

09-04-2022, 10:03 PM
Oh Smith..

09-04-2022, 10:06 PM
Those who think O'Brien is the saviour down the back, he struggled to get a game at the Hawks the past 3 years.

He's been ok tonight though, that howler aside.

09-04-2022, 10:07 PM
Only got ourselves to blame.

09-04-2022, 10:10 PM
Only got ourselves to blame.

Ball watching and let Shai kick a goal . If only our smalls Akbar that x factor

Gardner should never be allowed to kick a ball across the ground more than 20 m

09-04-2022, 10:12 PM
Our skill level is just horrific.

09-04-2022, 10:14 PM
I reckon that's the sealer

09-04-2022, 10:15 PM
The fat lady has almost sung I feel.

09-04-2022, 10:17 PM
Game over. Season over. How pathetic.

09-04-2022, 10:17 PM
Season over within a month.

Great stuff.

09-04-2022, 10:18 PM
I'm out of words and out of emotion. I simply do not care anymore much like our skills coach.

09-04-2022, 10:18 PM
Game over. Season over. How pathetic.

It's a very pessimistic view mate but I'm struggling to see where the improvement comes from. You're probably right which is pretty sad really.

09-04-2022, 10:21 PM
Haha of course

09-04-2022, 10:22 PM
Haha.

Never change dogs.

Goooooooooone!

It's a very pessimistic view mate but I'm struggling to see where the improvement comes from. You're probably right which is pretty sad really.

What we've serve up this season has been crap, we arent troubling anyone sadly.

09-04-2022, 10:23 PM
Yep we are gone. Build for the future

09-04-2022, 10:24 PM
We’ll have enough shots at goal to win this in the last.

09-04-2022, 10:26 PM
Even in general play we look lethargic and unable to pressure them enough to turn it over.

Our midfield needs to be broken up - it's ordinary.

Most of our goal attempts are so rushed.

Bont is nowhere near as dominant this year. Seems to be struggling - I mean not totally struggling but compared to what we are used to.

What we've serve up this season has been crap, we arent troubling anyone sadly.

I don't disagree

09-04-2022, 10:27 PM
What can anyone say? The only thing that keeps me going is that I have always been A Prisoner of Hope. My one wish is that we win. If we get beat by 8 goals - I won't care. But if we stage a fight back, hit the front and then get beat by a kick after the siren - well, there's a lake not far away and it's deep!

09-04-2022, 10:28 PM

So we'll need about 30 shots on goal this quarter then.

09-04-2022, 10:34 PM
Ha haa. At least that didn't decrease our score % anymore.

09-04-2022, 10:34 PM
Hate to say it but Libber looks cooked

09-04-2022, 10:35 PM
10.4 to 4.10 since qtr time. There’s the game.

He's old. Ask Happy Days.

Honestly, I can’t see us making the 8. Just like 2016-2017.
Laughable ruck situation and a dysfunctional fwd half that can’t kick straight.

09-04-2022, 10:36 PM

He's ok in the contest, but on the spread he's a witches hat.

I think he's in trouble to see the year out.

09-04-2022, 10:38 PM
Now let’s see if we just bend over in the last 12 mins

09-04-2022, 10:40 PM
Honestly, we will be lucky to scrape into the 8. Just like 2016-2017.

Deja vu hey.

09-04-2022, 10:42 PM
Send Butler home please.

09-04-2022, 10:43 PM
Williams useless

09-04-2022, 10:44 PM
Send Butler home please.

Had a mare tonight. Slow. Bad decisions. Bad skills. Why is he in the list?

I'm done with Richards.

Send Butler home please.

We'll give him 4 - 5 weeks of senior time at the expense of anyone who could straighten us up a little.

09-04-2022, 10:45 PM
Had a mare tonight. Slow. Bad decisions. Bad skills. Why is he in the list?
Coz we are prone to hold on to players who will never make it.

Send Butler home please. He actually has no skill. What did the recruiters see. they said at the time he wasn't on the radar and you can see why.

Send Butler home please.

Kick for goal , Miskick along the ground . What does he offer?

I am spend with this team

16 forward entries and zero goals

Poor kicking has costed us games in the past . I am afraid it’s going to cost us a season

We have no idea going forward.

Surely we can turn this around over the course of the season.

09-04-2022, 10:47 PM
We have no idea going forward.

Surely we can turn this around over the course of the season.

One play in the foward line , somehow Ball falls to wallis, who instantly hand passes it to Butler who just lets himself get tackled . No one wants to explode and take the ball on to create goal

There is no X factor in the fwd line

09-04-2022, 10:49 PM
Do you recon Bevo could d possibly develop a plan B. Obrien in the ruck, maybe forward give Wally a run with role. We need to do something for gods sake

09-04-2022, 10:50 PM
Are there any positives tonight? Maybe O’Brien. Dale has been good. Not much else.

09-04-2022, 10:50 PM
He actually has no skill. What did the recruiters see. they said at the time he wasn't on the radar and you can see why.

Did he do anything in the VFL to get the call up. Roarke lost his spot, he's not great but certainly would have been a much better option. A change for the sake of a change maybe? Either way get him out of the team.

09-04-2022, 10:51 PM
Do you recon Bevo could d possibly develop a plan B. Obrien in the ruck, maybe forward give Wally a run with role. We need to do something for gods sake

Teams have worked us out . Let the doggies win the ball . They will miss it in the forward line and kick a goal on the rebound

Tigers 15 goals 8 points
Our 17 points to 6 goals at last 5 mins says it all

Wait for the rebound

09-04-2022, 10:51 PM
Are there any positives tonight? Maybe O’Brien. Dale has been good. Not much else.

What did O'Brien do that was so good? Not being completely woeful is not a good game. He was a nothing pickup and will offer us nothing

09-04-2022, 10:52 PM
I’m taking a couple of days off. This is so disappointing.

dukedog
09-04-2022, 10:53 PM
Very sad state of affairs. Our bottom 6 players are probaby worst in the league

09-04-2022, 10:53 PM
This is our worst loss since the Hawks last year and prior to that… dunno… long time. Horrible performance. While every other game this year there’s been a somewhat logical argument for how it played out, this one is very clear; we are cooked.

09-04-2022, 10:54 PM
Balta is now playing forward . His been rotated in multiple positions with 10 hit outs
Tigers are now just taking the piss in our list gap

And hunter misses set shot 35 m out 7.19

09-04-2022, 10:54 PM
What did O'Brien do that was so good? Not being completely woeful is not a good game. He was a nothing pickup and will offer us nothing

Not saying he has necessarily been good but at least he has been a positive. Can see why we got him. He has some good attributes

09-04-2022, 10:55 PM
I love Wally but really that had to be the end of him tonight

09-04-2022, 10:56 PM
Bloody a Hunter how could an AFL footballer muss that.

09-04-2022, 10:56 PM
Bont is lucky to find his foot at the moment.

09-04-2022, 10:57 PM
I love Wally but really that had to be the end of him tonight He was cooked long ago and we still left him on the payroll

09-04-2022, 10:58 PM
Not saying he has necessarily been good but at least he has been a positive. Can see why we got him. He has some good attributes

Like what? I'm not being a smart arse here I just don't see anything.

09-04-2022, 10:58 PM
Shai Bolton just earnt himself a 4 year contract extension tonight . Gee he can play and when he has the ball is electric

09-04-2022, 10:59 PM
Sadly our fluke finals run last year has papered over the blatant cracks in this team. This team is horribly imbalanced and bereft of any desire, hunger, will or spark. It is extremely top heavy from a talent perspective and that top simply lacks any desire, responsibility or hunger. The start to this season was very very predictable. What did we expect would happen when these blatant cracks were horrendously ignored during the off-season? An absolute failure from a list management perspective to not even attempt to upgrade this side.

I have only watched up until now in the hope that the magician Bevo could pull off another miracle and prove me wrong. Sadly, not even Houdini could save this list. The season is shot. The list is shot. Two gun mids need to be traded out urgently. We could actually rebalance the list quite quickly by doing that as the 2 mids we trade out would have better value elsewhere. We need guts and desire and hunger in the middle. Not a bunch of cherry pickers. Ship off Dunkley/Smith/Treloar or all 3 and recruit a goddamn KPD and ruck. The negligence in list management has cost us the Bont years. Let’s go with a Hail Mary now as what we have is broken.

09-04-2022, 10:59 PM

My friend is a keen Hawks supporter , and he just laughed when kindly mentioned there is a reason his called Windscreen . Can’t kick

09-04-2022, 11:00 PM
So now… we drink!*

*Now being for the last few hours and including the next few. Those sorrows won’t drown themselves!

Problem is we have no one knocking down the door in the 2nds.

We need Schache to play forward at least to provide an alternative to Naughton. Jamarra will be up and down for awhile.
I would much rather have Schache than Wallis.

Wow! We suck! Heaps!

09-04-2022, 11:02 PM
Problem is we have no one knocking down the door in the 2nds.

We need Schache to play forward at least to provide an alternative to Naughton. Jamarra will be up and down for awhile.
I would much rather have Schache than Wallis.

Both aren't AFL standard.

The list needs an overhaul.

09-04-2022, 11:03 PM

Some reasonable marks. Apart from one poor kick he looks ok with the ball in hand. He should play as a third tall as an intercept defender. Again I can see him filling this type of role.

09-04-2022, 11:05 PM
Both aren't AFL standard.

The list needs an overhaul.

Agree but what options do we have? This season is not lost thus we need to find some immediate solutions. What we have now isn’t working. We should have put this game away in the first qtr. we let Richmond into the game early and that killed us.

09-04-2022, 11:09 PM
Hey, total domination and inaccuracy in front of goals. Stop me if you've heard this one before.

Hello darkness my old friend.

09-04-2022, 11:09 PM
My friend is a keen Hawks supporter , and he just laughed when kindly mentioned there is a reason his called Windscreen . Can’t kick He struggled to get a game at the Hawks the past 3 years and Sicily was out all of last year.

09-04-2022, 11:12 PM
Let’s look at:

Naughton
Dunkley
Bont

Those guys need to kick goals. They didn’t. They need to take responsibility for this. I agree that Butler, McNeil, Scott all posses little actual talent apart from being part of a system that makes you fitter than the average dude, but it’s the main guys who need to man up and cop this. We are losing matches cause our captain can’t kick for goal, cause our key forward can’t kick for goal, and cause blokes like Dunkley and Hunter, who are senior players and want to be paid… can’t kick for goal. It’s flat out not good enough. If they can’t get it done then move them on, it’s the same argument as Garry Roahan. We all laugh that he plays well in home and away and chockes in finals, and that the Cats keep him on. Fact is, we need to move blokes on who can’t get it done on game day. Fk training form. Game day!

So. Yeah.

Drinks.

09-04-2022, 11:13 PM
Is that like 4 wins from the last 11 games?

Pretenders.

09-04-2022, 11:13 PM
Terrible night. Really terrible. There were so many negatives. I cannot see us doing anything this year. We don't have a game plan that I can see. Our delivery into the forward line is dreadful. Our goal kicking is deplorable, our skills by hand and foot are lamentable, our defensive efforts are poor, uncordinated amd panicky. I'm lost to see a way forward.
However, there must be something there. We beat a good side last week. We booted 8 unanswered goals against Melbourne and we could have beaten Carlton.

But the reality is, at this point, if we were to make the 8 we'd only be making up the numbers.

09-04-2022, 11:14 PM
Agree but what options do we have? This season is not lost thus we need to find some immediate solutions. What we have now isn’t working. We should have put this game away in the first qtr. we let Richmond into the game early and that killed us.

We should sack the list manager?

But seriously… joking aside. How many people do we carry who are just kinda shit? Who maybe kinda can run a bit but also are just crap? Too many! Yep!

09-04-2022, 11:15 PM
Terrible night. Really terrible. There were so many negatives. I cannot see us doing anything this year. We don't have a game plan that I can see. Our delivery into the forward line is dreadful. Our goal kicking is deplorable, our skills by hand and foot are lamentable, our defensive efforts are poor, uncordinated amd panicky. I'm lost to see a way forward.
However, there must be something there. We beat a good side last week. We booted 8 unanswered goals against Melbourne and we could have beaten Carlton.

But the reality is, at this point, if we were to make the 8 we'd only be making up the numbers.

The team we beat last week only just crawled over the line against Nth Melb. Please…

09-04-2022, 11:18 PM

We aren't going anywhere this year. If we kicked straight, that still wouldn't excuse our inability to defend any part of the ground. The list has had concerns for a while but they've only got worse in the last 6 months.

Our forwards are a mix of defenders and midfielders / flankers who never really threaten to hit the scoreboard. They also cannot apply any pressure on rebound whatsoever.

Our mids are slow, reactive and flat out refuse to work defensively. They are stat padders - we win the ball but give it back. How often do we actually HURT opposition with the amount of ball we win? Honestly, Dunkley, Libba, Hunter and even Macrae are no threat. And of that bunch, only Macrae is actually worth keeping.

Our ruck stocks are English and nothing else. I mean, we used Bont as a second ruck because our main second ruck was injured in Hannan. Mitch Hannan ... A second ruck.

Our defenders can't defend as I've said for a long time. Dale hurts the oppositoy, Daniel can but isn't penetrating. Keath is looking injury prone. Not much else to write about.

What we do for the rest of the year? I'm not sure. I'd give the likes of JUH, McNeil, Garcia, West, McComb, Parker, Bedendo, Sweet and Khamis some games. If they are no good, delist them. Stop carrying dead weight.

Note - not saying to delist JUH. Poor night, but I think he'll be fine.

09-04-2022, 11:28 PM
We aren't going anywhere this year. If we kicked straight, that still wouldn't excuse our inability to defend any part of the ground. The list has had concerns for a while but they've only got worse in the last 6 months.

Our forwards are a mix of defenders and midfielders / flankers who never really threaten to hit the scoreboard. They also cannot apply any pressure on rebound whatsoever.

Our mids are slow, reactive and flat out refuse to work defensively. They are stat padders - we win the ball but give it back. How often do we actually HURT opposition with the amount of ball we win? Honestly, Dunkley, Libba, Hunter and even Macrae are no threat. And of that bunch, only Macrae is actually worth keeping.

Our ruck stocks are English and nothing else. I mean, we used Bont as a second ruck because our main second ruck was injured in Hannan. Mitch Hannan ... A second ruck.

Our defenders can't defend as I've said for a long time. Dale hurts the oppositoy, Daniel can but isn't penetrating. Keath is looking injury prone. Not much else to write about.

What we do for the rest of the year? I'm not sure. I'd give the likes of JUH, McNeil, Garcia, West, McComb, Parker, Bedendo, Sweet and Khamis some games. If they are no good, delist them. Stop carrying dead weight.

Pretty much my sentiments. Khamis, Bedendo, West, Garcia, McComb - give them a go.

09-04-2022, 11:34 PM

I see what you are saying but you just can’t do that. For a start that is not plausible at this stage of the season. Our best is good enough, but right now we are nowhere near our best. Seven of the above didn’t play tonight and if we made wholesale changes to that affect we wouldn’t win another game. I mean whom do you replace from tonight’s team? The obvious answer is Butler and Wallis but that is it. Even Butler is young so you could throw him into mix of the names listed but you just can’t do that.

Right now the only solution is to work through this lean patch. The list is good enough to turn this season around. We have obvious flaws but we also have a lot of strengths. The worst thing we can do right now is give in and rebuild. We can still be competitive this year and play one or two of the above players each week to give them experience.

09-04-2022, 11:39 PM
I see what you are saying but you just can’t do that. For a start that is not plausible at this stage of the season. Our best is good enough, but right now we are nowhere near our best. Seven of the above didn’t play tonight and if we made wholesale changes to that affect we wouldn’t win another game. I mean whom do you replace from tonight’s team? The obvious answer is Butler and Wallis but that is it. Even Butler is young so you could throw him into mix of the names listed but you just can’t do that.

Right now the only solution is to work through this lean patch. The list is good enough to turn this season around. We have obvious flaws but we also have a lot of strengths. The worst thing we can do right now is give in and rebuild. We can still be competitive this year and play one or two of the above players each week to give them experience.

I'm not saying play all of them at once, but they all need exposure for the rest of the year so that we can make LONG overdue decisions at year's end.

The worst thing we can do, which we have done for a period of time, is continue burying our head in the sand and ignoring the crystal clear deficiencies in our game and in our list.

09-04-2022, 11:41 PM
I'm not saying play all of them at once, but they all need exposure for the rest of the year so that we can make LONG overdue decisions at year's end.

The worst thing we can do, which we have done for a period of time, is continue burying our head in the sand and ignoring the crystal clear deficiencies in our game and in our list.

Agree- sorry might have misread your post. Agree we need to throw these players into the mix. Probably a reason why Butler was given a game tonight. Happy to stamp his card. Next.

09-04-2022, 11:47 PM
My father, he’s a normal guy whatever. Then one night, he’s just PLAYIN ON JACK RIEWOLDT.

My mother turns to him and asks, ARE YOU GONNA SPOIL THE BALL.

And he just LAUGHS. AH HA. HAHHAHA

So now? I see the funny side! And I’m always smilin!

09-04-2022, 11:49 PM
First quarter we looked like we came to play. We looked like the better team. But when you just keep missing chance after chance after chance after chance and then they hit you against the trend and nail a goal from outside 50m it just completely erodes your confidence. It then snowballs. It’s so frustrating.

9.17 last week
6.19 this week

It’s laughable.

10-04-2022, 12:03 AM
First quarter we looked like we came to play. We looked like the better team. But when you just keep missing chance after chance after chance after chance and then they hit you against the trend and nail a goal from outside 50m it just completely erodes your confidence. It then snowballs. It’s so frustrating.

9.17 last week
6.19 this week

It’s laughable.

We really seem to become frightened turtles when seriously challenged, I know they care but crikey it’s hard to see it in their body language at times.

By the way does anyone know who the black arm bands were for?

I noticed Macrae tapped his reverently after his goal which is an unusual display of emotion from him; made me wonder if it was somebody close.

10-04-2022, 12:03 AM

9.17 last week
6.19 this week

It’s laughable.

It’s unprofessional, that’s what it is. It’s everyone’s fault. It’s like a cricket team that never takes a catch. Players, list managers and coaches are all to blame and it’s flat out not good enough.

10-04-2022, 12:04 AM
From my very poor memory, we have never played finals after reaching a Grand final.
Why change history, club is at a very serious crossroads at the moment and with our on field performance, Bevo’s demeanour/ outburst, the non-existent President presence and the membership debacles it’s not looking very promising.
Not saying the seasons a bust, but for @#$& sake.

10-04-2022, 12:05 AM
It’s unprofessional, that’s what it is. It’s everyone’s fault. It’s like a cricket team that never takes a catch. Players, list managers and coaches are all to blame and it’s flat out not good enough.

There’s no one I’d put my house on that’s for sure.

Dunkley, Hunter, Naughton, Bont, Macrae I’d bet against set shots.

10-04-2022, 12:12 AM
If we were 7.2 at quarter time which we could have easily been. Then it would have been game over. Tigers had lost badly the week before. Devoid of confidence. We actually played them back into form. Even in the first half of third quarter we were running all over the top of them again but kept missing and then they made us hurt by kicking goals from the boundary.

There are many other issues. It is not just goal kicking. It ain’t that simple. But just taking some of those chances early and even when we had the momentum in the third, who knows what happens. It could be a completely different game.

10-04-2022, 12:24 AM
Back home now from the game. A very frustrating night.

Our goal kicking is a big issue and we have said this many times before MUST be addressed.

The second half of the 3rd quarter is where we lost it. I thought we were pretty good in the 1st half but just did not take our chances.

We need to move on now to Good Friday against the Kangaroos which wont be as easy as we think with their performance today against the Swans and just redeem ourselves and get a win.

10-04-2022, 12:30 AM
The other thing that was noticeable from the stands tonight was Nankervis all night getting away with late hits and being overtly physical, pushing the boundaries of what is legal without any push back or anyone standing up for themselves or their teammates. He got away with it all night. Drove me crazy. We don’t have anyone who stands up and says, not on my watch mate.

10-04-2022, 01:00 AM
Season over.

Turmoil brewing.

10-04-2022, 01:01 AM
More than just goal kicking we went shallow and wide all night. It was very similar to the opportunities we missed in the last quarter against Carlton, 45m out on a 60 degree angle. The forwards refused to move all night and we always seem to find a mid on the wrong side delivering into forward 50. How many left foot kicks did Baz have?

As I said before the forward line is too young to take us forward this year, most of the night we had Naughty, JUH, Weightman, Mcsteal and Vanders inside forward 50. There is 0 chemistry there atm its not something you can fix overnight.

I really liked English's game, we must hang on to him the penny is starting to drop. Outside of that? Bailey Dale was one of the few that tried to change the angles take risks he has quietly become one of our best players. He has more substance than our famed midfield at times that's for sure.

I know O'Brien made a few errors but as a third tall I still think he will be an excellent pick up.

Boots
10-04-2022, 01:03 AM
Just got home from the 'G (had dinner with a friend afterwards). What to say!

The matchup against the Tiges is a really bad one for us. We are shorter and slower which wipes out our contested game. On top of that, they use their speed to transition from defense to turnover to attack really fast, which wipes out our gut-running. Against us they can also use their height to just switch to chip-and-mark play (which they did, and we could do nothing except flood back and hope). By the middle of the third the game was an embarrassment. We got a clearance, it went down our end, repeat stoppages, behind. Then they got the ball and it went coast to coast for an easy goal. Repeat ad nauseum. Cue vomitous closeup of that smug *!*!*!*!wit Lynch's grin. And my god, just stop letting Shai Bolton off the chain.

We have zero options against Richmond. We can't tackle, they are too fast. We can't mark, they are too good at 50-50s. That leaves a possession game - win repeat clearances and just hold onto the ball at all costs. Fine, whatever - that's risky and extremely energy inefficient and you get punished for errors, so you have to blow them away. At one point we had as many behinds as they had scoring shots total - so we emphatically did not blow them away.

And the errors! Two of their first four goals were stupid frees in front of goal, then we gifted them two more later with atrocious 50m penalties. Stop ceding the mark! Just stop it! The benefits don't outweigh the risks. All it takes is a player to forget what he's meant to be doing and stopping for half a second and he's done. Bevo's dumb little grudges are so goddamn frustrating. There were two unforced turnovers in the third - one was Dunkley, forgot the other but it was a kick to Bont - that pretty much sealed the game for them.

I'm at a bit of a loss four games in. Is there a team shorter than us, or slower? We are on the back foot against so many sides - even when they are playing badly, Carlton, St. Kilda, Richmond and (pre-implosion) North would seriously threaten us with leg speed and height. Hell we even lost to the Suns a couple of years back. Melbourne are everything we are plus height and speed, and it showed in R1. Ditto West Coast (when they aren't fielding a WAFL reserves team). The less said about Geelong and GWS the better - two teams that have happily followed the AFL's lead by constantly chasing strong marking talls and key forwards.

The only team with a similar height and speed profile to us is Sydney (and they still feel taller). Sydney have similar fortunes to us - they either get a run on and look incredible or fall in a heap and struggle. I am starting to feel like the run-and-gun style is in a bit of a fallow period.

The most galling thing is we have all the pieces to make this work - our tall stocks are kind of incredible - Naughton, English, Marra, Bruce, Darcy. But our gameplan just sucks, and it looks worse by the week.

Who had a good game? Treloar had moments. Dale. Smith was excellent, as was English - that running goal! Bont had an absolute shocker. Dunkley, Naughts and Weightman had pretty mediocre games - lots of effort, no payoff.

Ugh.

10-04-2022, 01:32 AM
It’s really hard to know what to say after that loss. Some losses are much worse than others and this felt like a real dagger in the side. It felt like that loss when you know in your heart this group can’t win a flag. God knows we’ve seen enough of those.

I thought this would be a hard one to win, once I saw our team, but I hoped that last weeks manic contested ball effort would see us through. Our start was bright but it is death by 1000 cuts when you miss those shots. Mistakes at the wrong time, skill errors, decision-making. Lack of care for your teammate. Lack of any semblance of forward craft. Obviously the appalling goal kicking is, well, appalling, but it was equally horrible to see everyone, from the captain down, just aimlessly bombing the ball forward. The tigers defence feasted off us. Was there even one occasion when the ball hit the deck that we were able to retain it?

I’m as sentimental as anyone about Wally and the cruel missed opportunity for the 2016 flag but he is a shadow of himself.

All in all it was a heartbreaking night. I guess our season isn’t over. But it feels that way, and I can barely remember how we smacked teams by 100+points, and were top 4 all year, won a thrilling final against a terrific team in their home deck, thrashed a highly fancied contender, and were good enough to be 3 goals up in a grand final. Maybe the answer is as simple as that, we are an introverted club, we didn’t come out breathing fire in round one ready to send the cocky Dees back on their smart ###s, that loss has got into our psyche. Tomorrow maybe this will all seem better, right now I can’t see where the lift will come from.

10-04-2022, 06:30 AM
From my very poor memory, we have never played finals after reaching a Grand final.
Why change history, club is at a very serious crossroads at the moment and with our on field performance, Bevo’s demeanour/ outburst, the non-existent President presence and the membership debacles it’s not looking very promising.
Not saying the seasons a bust, but for @#$& sake.

This is actually true, just went back and checked myself. Every time we've made a grand final (win or loss) we've never in our history gone and played finals the next year.

10-04-2022, 08:21 AM
Right now I feel like we’re all paid up members of the Washington generals. Each week we play a mediocre team in the Harlem globetrotters. We find new and comical ways to stuff things up, make the simple look ludicrous and mostly look like we’re devoid of any sort of skill.

Our midfield is so one paced, our bottom 6 suck beyond belief and most critically we dont have ANY role players. Our list certainly needs a shake up, and I think we need to lose a good player to fix deficiencies.

10-04-2022, 08:40 AM
Bailey Dale was one of the few that tried to change the angles take risks he has quietly become one of our best players. He has more substance than our famed midfield at times that's for sure.

Hasn’t hit a kick all season. Part of the problem not solution atm for mine.

10-04-2022, 09:02 AM
I was at a 50th birthday last night and missed the game. Looks like I might leave it that way.

10-04-2022, 09:03 AM
This is actually true, just went back and checked myself. Every time we've made a grand final (win or loss) we've never in our history gone and played finals the next year.

I mean that might be true, but given our lack of success generally over time, it’s a pretty small sample size.

10-04-2022, 09:04 AM
A very disappointing game.

We just don’t have the right mix in the midfield, we’re not dynamic enough, we’re not hard enough, we’re not defensive enough, and while our handball game is still a solid blueprint, we don’t get the ball forward and to a player who can kicks advantage often enough.

Our backline worked OK but we do lack key defender depth and while I think our medium defenders did a pretty good job in the air, we don’t have someone like Morris / Wood who just wins third man up every time.

Our forward line was a shambles last night. We couldn’t get any rhythm going. Naughton tries but hard yakka against multi opponents most times. JUH a non factor. Our smalls - none of them had an impact.

Despite all that, if we’d kicked straight early we would’ve won. So, while it was bad… we can come back fast

10-04-2022, 09:34 AM
Right now I feel like we’re all paid up members of the Washington generals. Each week we play a mediocre team in the Harlem globetrotters. We find new and comical ways to stuff things up, make the simple look ludicrous and mostly look like we’re devoid of any sort of skill.

Our midfield is so one paced, our bottom 6 suck beyond belief and most critically we dont have ANY role players. Our list certainly needs a shake up, and I think we need to lose a good player to fix deficiencies.

Is our midfield really one paced? Smith and Treloar really provide us with that burst option.
Defensively we don't push back as hard as we should.

10-04-2022, 09:50 AM
Is our midfield really one paced? Smith and Treloar really provide us with that burst option.
Defensively we don't push back as hard as we should.

Defensively all of Bont, Macrae, Dunkley, Libba and Hunter can't move quick enough. Pretty unlikely they ever run a player down unless they're already within reach.

Smith and Treloar have the pace, and I love Ads, but he walks when the opposition has the ball.

Smith can't do it all himself which is why I am convinced we need to move at least 2 of Libba, Dunkley and Hunter on if we can.

10-04-2022, 09:57 AM
Defensively all of Bont, Macrae, Dunkley, Libba and Hunter can't move quick enough. Pretty unlikely they ever run a player down unless they're already within reach.

Smith and Treloar have the pace, and I love Ads, but he walks when the opposition has the ball.

Smith can't do it all himself which is why I am convinced we need to move at least 2 of Libba, Dunkley and Hunter on if we can.

Ads absolutely annoys me when he doesn’t get in and get the ball. He stands back and if the dogs lose the ball, he’s on a treadmill.
Let’s be honest. Our mids are prima donnas. Nowhere near hard enough at the contest. Pathetic defensively, and most are horrible kicks.
Our fwd line would have to be one of the bottom 3 in the league. It’s so dysfunctional it’s almost spinal tap territory.
And I’m over the ruck argument. We are the laughing stock of other team supporters.

The season is gone..yes it is. Won’t make the 8 and will be lucky to break the double figure wins.

Pathetic, but not surprising.

10-04-2022, 07:47 PM
Weird game, yet totally normal for us.

We have such a high energy and effort game, but get so little reward for it.

I don't think most of that game didn't go the way we wanted, aside from the goalkicking (and a couple of 50s) i think it was kind of what we expected. Dominate wpossesion, generate lots of shots on goal, move ball around midfield, use the switch, press high and get burnt occasionally but expect that we win more than we lose doing that.

The last quarter and a half we were broken, and I think that was from not getting anything out of the first half. Richmond were great at landing a deflating punch every time they needed to.

10-04-2022, 07:52 PM
Weird game, yet totally normal for us.

We have such a high energy and effort game, but get so little reward for it.

I don't think most of that game didn't go the way we wanted, aside from the goalkicking (and a couple of 50s) i think it was kind of what we expected. Dominate wpossesion, generate lots of shots on goal, move ball around midfield, use the switch, press high and get burnt occasionally but expect that we win more than we lose doing that.

The last quarter and a half we were broken, and I think that was from not getting anything out of the first half. Richmond were great at landing a deflating punch every time they needed to.

Trying to switch the ball was also our undoing several times with inaccurate kicks across ground resulting in Tiger goals.

11-04-2022, 07:04 PM
Aflca votes :
(Bont off the mark)
10 Shai Bolton (RICH)
6 Jayden Short (RICH)
5 Bailey Smith (WB)
4 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
2 Marlion Pickett (RICH)
2 Tom J Lynch (RICH)
1 Bailey Dale (WB)

Leaderboard
25 Patrick Cripps CARL
21 Andrew Brayshaw FRE
21 Jeremy McGovern WCE
20 Christian Petracca MELB
18 Touk Miller GCFC
17 Shai Bolton RICH
17 Jordan De Goey COLL
17 Tom Green GWS
17 Clayton Oliver MELB
16 Changkuoth Jiath HAW
16 Darcy Parish ESS
16 Bailey Smith WB
15 Tom Hawkins GEEL
15 Isaac Heeney SYD
14 Willie Rioli WCE
13 Max King STK
13 James Sicily HAW
12 Heath Chapman FRE
12 Jack Crisp COLL
12 Lachie Neale BL
12 Joshua Rachele ADEL
12 Jayden Short RICH

11-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Ads absolutely annoys me when he doesn’t get in and get the ball. He stands back and if the dogs lose the ball, he’s on a treadmill.
Let’s be honest. Our mids are prima donnas. Nowhere near hard enough at the contest. Pathetic defensively, and most are horrible kicks.
Our fwd line would have to be one of the bottom 3 in the league. It’s so dysfunctional it’s almost spinal tap territory.
And I’m over the ruck argument. We are the laughing stock of other team supporters.

The season is gone..yes it is. Won’t make the 8 and will be lucky to break the double figure wins.

Pathetic, but not surprising.You have identified relevant facts but I disagree with the conclusion.

The players have clearly shown what they are bad at but we keep using them the same way.

Look at the kicking in situation. Daniel (a fantastic player but a short kick) runs 20 m kicks 30, runs past, receives the handball and chips sideways. Often, the ball is still in the danger zone. The rest of the team sets up for this and the opposition expects it. Slow and predictable and helps the defenders cover our forwards.

But the players have also shown what they are good at. And when we cater for it they are winners. Look at last year. Top of the ladder and sky high percentage. What’s changed?