Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

19-04-2022, 02:49 PM

19-04-2022, 04:18 PM
I have a reserved seat as part of my Ballarat membership, but I have tested positive today, so watching from sofa.

19-04-2022, 04:20 PM
I have a reserved seat as part of my Ballarat membership, but I have tested positive today, so watching from sofa.

Bugger. The rest of my family got it last week but I have dodged it so far, out of iso today. Have seats booked so hopefully I can get through this week unscathed.

19-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Bugger. The rest of my family got it last week but I have dodged it so far, out of iso today. Have seats booked so hopefully I can get through this week unscathed.

I either caught it at the footy on Friday, or Comedy Festival on Saturday. I did wear a mask at the Theater, so suspect the footy. I only wore the mask arriving to my seat and leaving the venue.

Enjoy Saturday.

19-04-2022, 04:37 PM

Finally, some positivity from BAD!

19-04-2022, 05:02 PM
Finally, some positivity from BAD!

haha

19-04-2022, 05:09 PM
I either caught it at the footy on Friday, or Comedy Festival on Saturday. I did wear a mask at the Theater, so suspect the footy. I only wore the mask arriving to my seat and leaving the venue.

Enjoy Saturday.

Footy would be unlucky it's such an open area....but with that roof closed it's like a sauna and in the tunnel/walkway areas there isn't alot of ventilation is there.

Hope you recover quickly.

19-04-2022, 05:18 PM
Footy would be unlucky it's such an open area....but with that roof closed it's like a sauna and in the tunnel/walkway areas there isn't alot of ventilation is there.

Hope you recover quickly.

Thank you

19-04-2022, 05:37 PM
Feel better soon Bornadog

19-04-2022, 06:29 PM
haha

I hope you're not feeling too bad and get better soon.

19-04-2022, 06:45 PM
Speedy recovery Bad. All woofers travelling to Ballarat will holler louder in in your absence.

19-04-2022, 06:50 PM

Mate, hope you have a speedy recovery.

19-04-2022, 09:31 PM
Dogs by 27

First Goal: Bont

BOG: Macrae

19-04-2022, 10:17 PM
This won’t be an easy game. Crows had a good win last week and Walker is in very good form.
Glad this one is in Ballarat

19-04-2022, 11:46 PM
This won’t be an easy game. Crows had a good win last week and Walker is in very good form.
Glad this one is in Ballarat

Last time in Ballarat Walker kicked a few - I think 5 by memory.

20-04-2022, 09:53 PM

Take it easy and get well soon BAD.

20-04-2022, 09:56 PM

Keep dodging Axe. My wife and myself haven't had a dose of it yet. My local doctor wants me to have 3 boosters. Had the first and second one early May.

20-04-2022, 10:55 PM
Margin: Dogs by 19 points
First goal: Cody Weightman
Best on ground: Jack Macrae

20-04-2022, 10:56 PM

Wishing you well BAD. Take care.

20-04-2022, 11:38 PM

Bummer dude. I got it this week as well. Wife tested positive today. Son negative thus far. Fun and games.

21-04-2022, 09:15 AM
Always feel like a team with a forward who can kick multiples is a danger game for us. This is certainly one.

Dogs by 12
BOG: English
FG: Smith

21-04-2022, 09:55 AM
Always feel like a team with a forward who can kick multiples is a danger game for us.

Isn't this like every team in the competition?

21-04-2022, 10:10 AM
Bummer dude. I got it this week as well. Wife tested positive today. Son negative thus far. Fun and games.

Hope you are ok. Let's get a win and square the ledger and make us all feel better.

21-04-2022, 12:01 PM
Isn't this like every team in the competition?

If you’re suggesting that every game is a danger game… then yes, that is undoubtedly the case.

21-04-2022, 12:45 PM
If you’re suggesting that every game is a danger game… then yes, that is undoubtedly the case.

Well that also... but pretty much every team has a forward that is very capable of kicking multiple goals.

21-04-2022, 01:13 PM
Banner:

"Do it for BAD!"

Inspire the boys to a 10 goal win

21-04-2022, 01:57 PM
Banner:

"Do it for BAD!"

What about Bad's Boy's

21-04-2022, 03:58 PM
What about Bad's Boy's

Boyz !

21-04-2022, 04:04 PM
Boyz !

Even better Bads Boyz, Bads Boyz whatch ya gonna do.

21-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Even better Bads Boyz, Bads Boyz whatch ya gonna do.

https://media.giphy.com/media/NidQczfxIWrmM/giphy.gif

21-04-2022, 06:42 PM
Booked a place for myself to watch the game at the Victoria (Harts) Hotel in Footscray.

21-04-2022, 08:19 PM
Banner:

"Do it for BAD!"

BAD's at home with the rona
Squirreled away like a loner
Let's get him a win
Give him a grin
And maybe a bit of a... Really good feeling.

Come on, what's wrong with you deviants?

21-04-2022, 08:19 PM
Booked a place for myself to watch the game at the Victoria (Harts) Hotel in Footscray.
You should go to Ballarat Easty, great place to watch the footy. We have another game there inMay

21-04-2022, 09:27 PM
BAD's at home with the rona
Squirreled away like a loner
Let's get him a win
Give him a grin
And maybe a bit of a... Really god feeling.

Come on, what's wrong with you deviants?

There once was a bad from Nantucket.
Whose dog's love could fill a huge bucket.
The Rona did spawn
And poor bad was forlorn
Dunks bobble head copped a good.....

Special place on the mantle above the tele.

21-04-2022, 10:39 PM

Trading?

21-04-2022, 10:41 PM
Trading?

Jeemak?

22-04-2022, 12:07 AM
There once was a bad from Nantucket.
Whose dog's love could fill a huge bucket.
The Rona did spawn
And poor bad was forlorn

Special place on the mantle above the tele.

I do have a Dunks Bobble head :D

22-04-2022, 12:55 AM
You should go to Ballarat Easty, great place to watch the footy. We have another game there inMay

I will have to bite the bullet someday :D

22-04-2022, 08:36 PM

All the best BAD. Just on the ballarat membership, is it possible to send the match ticket to someone else. My son is not going tomorrow so was going to see if a mate can use it.

22-04-2022, 08:37 PM
I will have to bite the bullet someday :D

Love the ballarat atmosphere. Can recommend it.

22-04-2022, 09:56 PM
All the best BAD. Just on the ballarat membership, is it possible to send the match ticket to someone else. My son is not going tomorrow so was going to see if a mate can use it.

Happy to pass on, but not sure how. It is a reserved grand stand seat.

Edit: If I take a photo of barcode and text that, should work

22-04-2022, 11:42 PM
Happy to pass on, but not sure how. It is a reserved grand stand seat.

Edit: If I take a photo of barcode and text that, should work

I read that as you were ready for the grand final in the sky.
BAD it's only Covid.

23-04-2022, 12:11 AM
I read that as you were ready for the grand final in the sky.
BAD it's only Covid.

Very funny. :D:D

PS: I hate that terminology " He Passed" people can't say he died any more.

23-04-2022, 12:13 AM
https://media.giphy.com/media/NidQczfxIWrmM/giphy.gif

The best scene in Bad Boyz is when he says to punch it and a Porsche already in high gear and fanging red lines........if that happened the Boyz would have slowed down a bit and risked engine damage. But that's not very Hollywood.

Oh I long for the days where Will Smith's misogyny was all about the things he said rather than the things he did.

23-04-2022, 03:15 AM
The best scene in Bad Boyz is when he says to punch it and a Porsche already in high gear and fanging red lines........if that happened the Boyz would have slowed down a bit and risked engine damage. But that's not very Hollywood.

Oh I long for the days where Will Smith's misogyny was all about the things he said rather than the things he did.

The more fame the more slaps you give. Wonder what Smith would have done if the "Rock" said that joke. Betcha nothing. Otherwise he'd get the smaketh down and the people's elbow.

23-04-2022, 09:25 AM
I'm not that supportive of going to Ballarat and paying extra for home games on top of my membership. Today though I'm really looking forward to it. This will be my first game that I have attended in such a long time, 2 years and change at a guess.

23-04-2022, 09:42 AM
I'm not that supportive of going to Ballarat and paying extra for home games on top of my membership. Today though I'm really looking forward to it. This will be my first game that I have attended in such a long time, 2 years and change at a guess.

I really enjoy going to games in Ballarat. I'll be leaving by 9am to start the journey. A win will be a nice bonus for the day :)

23-04-2022, 11:02 AM
I'm about to leave Ky for my first Ballarat game, pretty excited for some country footy.

Weather looks like a nice summers day for the Rat too so just single layers for a change.

23-04-2022, 11:18 AM
I'm about to leave Ky for my first Ballarat game, pretty excited for some country footy.

Weather looks like a nice summers day for the Rat too so just single layers for a change.

Great to be out and watch footy in the old fashion way

23-04-2022, 11:31 AM
I really enjoy going to games in Ballarat. I'll be leaving by 9am to start the journey. A win will be a nice bonus for the day :)

I just want it to renew my love for the club. I feel not going has made me less invested. Granted there have been some very poor decisions made in regards to members over the last couple of years which has put me off I'm hoping live action can bring me a little closer

23-04-2022, 11:40 AM

Awesome enjoy chef it's a good place to watch. Hope it's not too windy!

23-04-2022, 11:44 AM
I just want it to renew my love for the club. I feel not going has made me less invested. Granted there have been some very poor decisions made in regards to members over the last couple of years which has put me off I'm hoping live action can bring me a little closer

Great place to get up and close - hopefully you have a good day

23-04-2022, 12:20 PM
Ballarat has a better atmosphere than Marvel.

I really can't stand Marvel for so many reasons, I'd like to see it bulldozed.

23-04-2022, 12:37 PM
I’m not only not going, I’m going to attempt to try and watch this on delay no spoilers. See you guys around 7:30.

23-04-2022, 01:07 PM
Ballarat has a better atmosphere than Marvel.

I really can't stand Marvel for so many reasons, I'd like to see it bulldozed.

I just can't get used to calling it Marvel.
I actually enjoy it there. Fond memories and it's easy to get home.

I was at Ballarat to see Tommy Campbell look like the next Wayne Carey V Kangaroos.
I was standing behind Rohan Conolly for a bit IIRC ( what ever happened to him?)
The smell of snags and doughnuts was in the air. Was awesome.

23-04-2022, 01:11 PM
Where does Schache play today? I prefer him forward than defence but I’m guessing they want to get a feel of the structure of 2 KPD plus O’Brien playing the Wood role?

23-04-2022, 01:21 PM
I was standing behind Rohan Conolly for a bit IIRC ( what ever happened to him?)

You can find Rohan here: https://footyology.com.au/

Swoop
23-04-2022, 01:22 PM
Where does Schache play today? I prefer him forward than defence but I’m guessing they want to get a feel of the structure of 2 KPD plus O’Brien playing the Wood role?

The evidence suggests that he'll play in the backline. They've stopped using him as a swingman at VFL level and let him settle in the backline.

Make no mistake that the coaches will also be referring to his same game last year when Shache performed a role on Walker. He's a confidence player and will benefit from that game last year. This will allow O'Brien to play as a 3rd man and give us a good insight into whether he can be a long term replacement for Wood.

23-04-2022, 01:39 PM
Great day, for Ballarat at least!

https://i.postimg.cc/6qr26Vps/3-FF6-E6-A5-7080-4742-821-D-363-F9-B0-C0114.jpg (https://postimg.cc/wRBT0mNF)

23-04-2022, 02:09 PM
West is sub

23-04-2022, 02:33 PM
Danger game for us, I’m not confident for some reason. Even with good outings here in the past, this one is not sitting well with me.

Go Doggies

23-04-2022, 03:09 PM
Bombing it all the time won’t work

23-04-2022, 03:11 PM
Is there an weather advantage to one end?

23-04-2022, 03:15 PM
Slow and scrappy start for us but we have finished the quarter off well.

23-04-2022, 03:19 PM
Slow and scrappy start for us but we have finished the quarter off well.

Yes they seemed to work into the game the longer it went on. Or when Bont moved to the middle

23-04-2022, 03:22 PM
Just gotta be more sensible going forward. Not bombing it every time. Lower the eyes and hopefully get Jamarra and Weightman on the lead. And ofcourse, kick straight.

23-04-2022, 03:22 PM
McComb disposal needs improvement (as mentioned in the VFL thread)

23-04-2022, 03:24 PM
Geez our tackling in defence leaves a lot to be desired.

23-04-2022, 03:26 PM
This has been a shocking 3 mins.

23-04-2022, 03:27 PM
The mistakes coming out of defence are inexcusable

23-04-2022, 03:28 PM
Take McComb off

I’m sorry but mcComb makes butler look like bontipelli.

Geez McComb is having an absolute mare.

23-04-2022, 03:33 PM
Skills wise this is one of the worst games of the year to watch.

23-04-2022, 03:35 PM
Why do we continually bullet hand balls to players feet ?

23-04-2022, 03:47 PM
how's the weather?

23-04-2022, 03:47 PM
how's the weather?

Very nice

23-04-2022, 03:49 PM
Absolutely putrid first half. 0.2 that qtr

23-04-2022, 03:52 PM
Very nice

Have a Lion's club sausage for me. :D

23-04-2022, 03:53 PM
Bombing into 50 not working. Why are our forwards often behind crows in F50? Unable to run it in either. Can we match their extra man in defence instead of allowing them to mark it? Why not scrub it low? Do something different.

23-04-2022, 03:53 PM
I think we'll struggle to make the 8.

Our skill level has never been great but it's deplorable this year.

A few out there today who aren't up to the level - McComb, McNeil, Schache. Martin has been ok but I think both he and Libba are at the end.

Been saying it for a while but our list is unabalanced and not in amazing shape because of it. Lack of KPDs, lack of rucks, lack of natural forwards.

23-04-2022, 03:54 PM
That was probably one of the worst halves of football I've seen for a long time. Perfect conditions and one goal scored in the 2nd quarter.

Please can we step up in the 2nd half and put a gap in this? Let's kick the ball instead of hand balling all the time.

23-04-2022, 03:57 PM
half-time
2nd quarter :
wasted opportunity when going forward
McNeil 25 m out on an angle and misses everything
McNeil's fwd kick , and Frampton marks with no contest. Marra needs to work harder at those contests, and double back to put pressure on Frampton.

McComb been good at getting the ball, but had some clangers. I can see some observers mention his disposal is not up to it .

Very scrappy second quarter.

First -quarter:
Disposal was ordinary in the first 10 mins and then we got our kicking efficiencies right. Once it clicked 3 goals kicked with precision passing. , delight to watch.
Treloar I am going to be critical, his not working hard enough off the ball to create pressure on his opponent, which leads to them getting out of the contests.

Bailey Smith on fire and collecting heap of possession.

23-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Ramanauscus on 3LO saying there is something missing with Dogs, perhaps players just ensuring they get stats, not playing primarily for the team like St Kilda are doing atm.

23-04-2022, 03:59 PM
Very, very difficult game to watch on TV. The actual play is bad enough, but the camera work is deplorable.

23-04-2022, 03:59 PM
Starting to regret the 3 hour drive.

23-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Really poor 2nd quarter, we just didn't get any value of effort. It will all click of us soon I hope.

23-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Starting to regret the 3 hour drive.

It's worth it now you've seen the caesar lap of honour right?

23-04-2022, 04:04 PM
It's worth it now you've seen the caesar lap of honour right?

Standing at the footy on the fence is enough to keep me happy. Feels like 90s footy atmosphere.

23-04-2022, 04:08 PM
Let’s just hope for more precise, direct football.

23-04-2022, 04:14 PM
Nothing in the first 4 mins gives me more hope…it’s going to be one of those forgettable games.

23-04-2022, 04:15 PM
Hey did we just dominate possession for multiple forward entries then get hurt on the slingshot rebound?

What an unheard of event. I certainly hope it doesn't become a habit.

23-04-2022, 04:18 PM
Could we actually play 5 mins of AFL standard footy ?

23-04-2022, 04:22 PM
Crows should be 30+ up

23-04-2022, 04:25 PM
We are getting outworked at the moment. We need to get it going soon on the back of that goal

23-04-2022, 04:27 PM
Scott has been good!

23-04-2022, 04:29 PM
We just aren’t playing well enough to win this.

23-04-2022, 04:29 PM
Scott has been good!
That he has.

23-04-2022, 04:31 PM

We can't hit a target

23-04-2022, 04:36 PM

Our foot skills are poor in what is great conditions. Schache comes good for us.

23-04-2022, 04:38 PM
We need Treloar, Bontempelli and Smith to really lift us in the last quarter.

23-04-2022, 04:39 PM
We are just giving up the ball to easily.

23-04-2022, 04:41 PM
Lucky to jag that last goal. Will need to be a serious improvement in the last to get it done even at only 3 down. We have the talent on the park to do it but gee… need to be cleaner and will need to take our chances.

23-04-2022, 04:41 PM
Kicking down the line and being picked off every time. They are dominating us in the air. We are very lucky to be only a few points down. Need to be clean when we get our chances this quarter.

23-04-2022, 04:43 PM
Kicking down the line and being picked off every time. They are dominating us in the air. We are very lucky to be only a few points down. Need to be clean when we get our chances this quarter.
And will need to make every set shot a winner if we get the chance. Can’t have a 1.5 quarter.

23-04-2022, 04:44 PM
Losing inside 50s 31-44. Shows how much they have dominated us. We rarely lose that stat. I didn’t see such a lopsided count against us. I did see the potential for us to waste chances and lose, but they have out worked us around the ground.

23-04-2022, 04:45 PM
Really missing English around the ground

23-04-2022, 04:45 PM
It's obvious but we need to lift and use the ball efficiently.
What will it take? At least 4 goals I suspect.

23-04-2022, 04:50 PM
They are working harder and getting chances to score.

23-04-2022, 04:52 PM
This game is over. We are just showing nothing.

23-04-2022, 04:54 PM
Hallelujah

23-04-2022, 04:57 PM
Honestly, what is it with our hand balling ?

23-04-2022, 04:58 PM
We'd be fully stealing this.

23-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Now let’s see if we have what it takes to at least hit the front.

23-04-2022, 05:00 PM
Cmon

23-04-2022, 05:11 PM
Does anyone pick up these little blokes

23-04-2022, 05:11 PM
This is a horror show

23-04-2022, 05:13 PM
Does anyone pick up these little blokes

Absolutely pathetic performance. Not top 8 worthy.

dukedog
23-04-2022, 05:14 PM
Best be sacking some people

23-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Time for Bevo to go and time for us to break up this list.

Rebuild time.

23-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Wrapped up earlier than expected so caught the second half and wow we’re dogshit.

23-04-2022, 05:18 PM
Time for Bevo to go and time for us to break up this list.

Rebuild time.

Yep. Can’t believe we’ve wasted the Bont years.

dukedog
23-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Definately not playing decent footy.

23-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Look I've supported Bevo but it's pretty clear that he's run out of ideas. We used to be both incredibly skilled and very tough and now we're neither.

23-04-2022, 05:20 PM
Also *!*!*!*! Tex Walker.

23-04-2022, 05:20 PM
One of the weakest and pathetic performances I've seen in a very long time. Completely undeserving of being so close.

23-04-2022, 05:21 PM
We were outplayed but in a tight and scrappy game at least we we didn't stop having a go.
In good conditions we needed to use the ball so much better.

We hit the lead. Game is on the line. We had all the momentum. Then when the big moments in the midfield come at critical clearances we were no where to be seen. Worse than that, they got extremly clean runway into open space clearances similar to the GF last year in the 3rd quarter. How can that happen? We have the lead. It is a tight game. Surely we are setting up defensively. Such a dissapointing loss.

Waited to try and post something positive, however not possible and I’m just pissed with everything Western Bulldogs at the moment.

we are off a step. The hungry to get the ball and beat your opponent was missing today

Where is the hunger to hunt the ball gone?

Where has the aggression and endevaour to beat your opponent? Too easy pushed off by opponent.

Where has the defensive pressure gone? We don't work hard enough to win back at the ball

Errors in kicking out

tackles missed.

not halving the contest against opponent.

If Adelaide kicked straight the would have won by 5 goas, they kicked 8.15.63

This was an 8 point game for us.

Something not right here

Gallant played with a broken Nose.

Geez, Ben keays looks to have become a player now.

Would have liked to picked up Tex last year, he would have been the ideal mid size fwd.

23-04-2022, 05:22 PM
We were outplayed but in a tight and scrappy game at least we we didn't stop having a go.

Completely and utterly outworked late in that game. I just don't how it is possible. Look at the players we have in the midfield. Look at the players they have. How is it possible in those big moments that they win every single one.

23-04-2022, 05:24 PM

Yep we had a go at being as close to 50% as possible all day.

Legit looked like boys against men. Got monstered in the middle by Berry and Keays.

23-04-2022, 05:25 PM
Lot of bad negative vibes. Lots of reasons we lost. With the wind at our back in the second quarter. We kicked 0.2 for the quarter. That is basically the ball game. We blew lots of goals with stupid decision making that quarter. We are just not good enough. We don't have the depth to cover our injuries.

If English plays today. We win. We probably win easy.

23-04-2022, 05:28 PM
Shocking performance. They gave us every chance to win and we still couldn't do it!
We seemed to have no idea of how to change things up. Just kept bombing it inside 50, over handballing, kicking it down the line to O'Brien who either marked it or got it to ground.

We were badly beaten in reality and I just don't know where we go from here. Will struggle to make the 8 and even if we do we will only be making up the numbers, I'm afraid.

23-04-2022, 05:31 PM
The Crows had 28 shots. We had 18 shots. It is not the way I thought we would lose.

We only went inside 50m 43 times for the game versus there 58. That is an absolute smashing. Especially when you consider we won the clearances 46-37. However the clearances they won were so much more damaging, especially late in the game.

23-04-2022, 05:31 PM
I hope we don't mention injuries in the presser.

23-04-2022, 05:32 PM
I hope we yell at another journo.

23-04-2022, 05:33 PM

Yep, would be a cop out.

Bevo and the coaching group look out of ideas.

23-04-2022, 05:33 PM

Our injuries really hurt. They are for players we can't afford to be out. However we had more than enough talent to win that. On a perfect day for footy we kicked only 9 goals. Including two lucky half chances from Shaq.

23-04-2022, 05:34 PM
I hope we yell at another journo.

That was the sign he'd lost the plot.

Spending 6 hours in the car for that amount of effort, may be the last game I'll bother going to this season.

Our injuries really hurt. They are for players we can't afford to be out. However we had more than enough talent to win that. On a perfect day for footy we kicked only 9 goals. Including two lucky half chances from Shaq.

Crows were bottom 4 though we should be winning that.

23-04-2022, 05:35 PM
I know we were horrendous today. It was such a scrappy game. We just didn't fire a shot.

Question. Does playing at Ballarat hurt us? If the game was at Marvel surely it could not be as scrappy as today. Does a cleaner game on a perfect deck without the wind suit us better?

23-04-2022, 05:38 PM
Spending 6 hours in the car for that amount of effort, may be the last game I'll bother going to this season.

We were going to go but could not any seats after making a late decision to try and get some seats. I'm glad we didn't go. It would have been a long, long drive home. Safe travels.

23-04-2022, 05:39 PM
What’s clarko up to tomorrow?

23-04-2022, 05:41 PM
We were going to go but could not any seats after making a late decision to try and get some seats. I'm glad we didn't go. It would have been a long, long drive home. Safe travels.

It was still a good day, I was with my Crows mate who came from Bendigo and we've had a great time.

The Tex kick at the end was a pearler.

Never have expectations and you'll enjoy it! xD

23-04-2022, 05:41 PM
What’s clarko up to tomorrow?

Players on the ground were the ones who let the team down today.

23-04-2022, 05:42 PM
Players on the ground were the ones who let the team down today.

Never finished top 4 it's a trend. We were beaten at every level today. Coaching included.
Their ruck sat behind the ball all day and Martin was nowhere.

23-04-2022, 05:45 PM

Do you think it was good conditions GVGjr? It was pretty windy it was really affecting everything.

23-04-2022, 05:46 PM
So the Crows midfield of

Laird
Keays
Crouch
Berry
Sholl

Destroy our mid group of ...

Libba
Bont
Smith
Treloar
Dunkley
Macrae

How is that possible? We have more talent. We have more experience. We have more class. When it was on the line they were too good. Simple as that.

Hard Work Beats Talent When Talent Doesn't Work Hard

23-04-2022, 05:48 PM
So the Crows midfield of

Laird
Keays
Crouch
Berry
Sholl

Libba
Bont
Smith
Treloar
Dunkley
Macrae

How is that possible? We have more talent. We have more experience. We have more class. When it was on the line they were too good. Simple as that.

Bont was non existent. Why are we flirting with form? Reduced the best player in the league to just another average forward.
I get he moved into the midfield at times but it's very hard to adjust between those roles.

23-04-2022, 05:48 PM
It was still a good day, I was with my Crows mate who came from Bendigo and we've had a great time.

The Tex kick at the end was a pearler.

Never have expectations and you'll enjoy it! xD

Not my best trait, but get way too invested in the game when the Bulldogs play. I simply can't have fun or enjoy a game when we lose. I need help ...

23-04-2022, 05:50 PM
Not my best trait, but get way too invested in the game when the Bulldogs play. I simply can't have fun or enjoy a game when we lose. I need help ...

Haha don't worry I lost it last season, covid made it the only thing to focus on.
That was bad!

23-04-2022, 05:52 PM
So the Crows midfield of

Laird
Keays
Crouch
Berry
Sholl

Libba
Bont
Smith
Treloar
Dunkley
Macrae

Work rate.

Bont isn't in there unfortunately.

23-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Bont was non existent. Why are we flirting with form? Reduced the best player in the league to just another average forward.
I get he moved into the midfield at times but it's very hard to adjust between those roles.

Because our football department is in *!*!*!*!ing shambles and you can only really blame Bevo and Grant for it.

Our conditioning has been questionable over the last couple of years but now it's really starting to show, we're seeing month long injuries pop up over nothing at training to key players, other groups of players cannot run to save their lives.

Our coaching panel is beyond a joke, honestly I'm starting to feel that Bevo has taken this group as far as he can, watching today shows that we have zero fresh ideas, zero game plan switching awareness, like seriously took us an entire two halfs to realize that maybe moving Bont from being useless up forward to back into the midfield might be a good idea?
Third quarter, we kept doing the same thing, every, single, time, and getting the same result, no one thought that hey, maybe we need to change this up a bit?

I can't blame the playing group, although some did play well below par and form today, but I've been saying it since round 1, our behind the scenes is in shambles and it's showing on the field.

23-04-2022, 05:54 PM
There didn't seem to be enough of our players switching play across ground.

23-04-2022, 05:58 PM
I know we were horrendous today. It was such a scrappy game. We just didn't fire a shot.

Question. Does playing at Ballarat hurt us? If the game was at Marvel surely it could not be as scrappy as today. Does a cleaner game on a perfect deck without the wind suit us better?

Yes I think it hurt us today. It felt like one of those old Western Oval games when we’d bring other teams down to our level with a difficult wind.

Our game plan relies on our skills being hot. They weren’t today.

If today was at Marvel, we win.

23-04-2022, 06:00 PM

Agree. Especially late in the game, we kept going down the line and playing into O'Brien's hands.

23-04-2022, 06:14 PM
MJP questioned Bont’s investment post round 1 I thought he was mad but was bang on.

Macrae has become a liability at centre bounce while the forward line is too young and inconsistent.

We rely so much on Dale switching the play and today it wasn’t there and no one stepped up at all.

Where to from here?

23-04-2022, 06:17 PM

I get it but injuries happen, it's made worse when you don't try and cover for a couple of KP gaps.

23-04-2022, 06:19 PM

Every time they tried they kicked it to a crow.

23-04-2022, 06:20 PM
Every time they tried they kicked it to a crow.

I should have said effectively switching play.

23-04-2022, 06:25 PM
I just can't see how we dig out of this hole. How did we become so poor with our disposal, it was horrendous. I don't see anything from the VFL and anything in what we've brought through this season.

23-04-2022, 06:31 PM
I get it but injuries happen, it's made worse when you don't try and cover for a couple of KP gaps.

Yes. Agree. But it is difficult to cover for 12 of your 44 being unavailable in only round six. Injuries ain't the sole reason for our crisis, but it isn't helping.

23-04-2022, 06:34 PM
I lost count of the number of little handballs to a team mate who was surrounded.

23-04-2022, 06:37 PM
What did I miss?

23-04-2022, 06:41 PM
I lost count of the number of little handballs to a team mate who was surrounded.

Yep. This. Surrounded and stationary too. How many times?

23-04-2022, 06:52 PM
Yep. This. Surrounded and stationary too. How many times?

I like McNeil, he has potential, but he does this alot. He is too quick to dish off the ball as soon as he sees a RWB jumper

23-04-2022, 07:21 PM
What did I miss?

This is a serious question, I've had two hours of sleep in between a couple of partying sessions..........reckon I made the right call before Christmas by committing to the boat cruise I attended this afternoon that was supposed to be two months ago!

23-04-2022, 07:25 PM
This is a serious question, I've had two hours of sleep in between two massive partying sessions..........

You missed Adelaide's strategy to clog up the game and give our mids no space to move and when we got our hands on the ball, we turned it over. With 3 min to go scores level, and ball rushed through for a point to Adelaide. Caleb on the kick out, kicks it straight to Adelaide within scoring range, but that player kicks it to Tex on a tight angle and he nails it.

WE quickly reply but with 7 seconds on the clock no time

That is it.

23-04-2022, 07:27 PM
You missed Adelaide's strategy to clog up the game and give our mids no space to move and when we got our hands on the ball, we turned it over. With 3 min to go scores level, and ball rushed through for a point to Adelaide. Caleb on the kick out, kicks it straight to Adelaide within scoring range, but that player kicks it to Tex on a tight angle and he nails it.

WE quickly reply but with 7 seconds on the clock no time

That is it.

Succinct. Saw the half time scores, appeared to be a snore fest that turned into a shit fest.

23-04-2022, 07:31 PM
Bevo looked defeated in the presser. Paraphrasing.

-They strangled us. Credit to the Crows.
-We handballed one too many times inviting pressure.
-Soundly beaten in the inside 50s which isn't normal for this team.
-We don't have a healthy list. We don't have too many too choose from.
-We need to put time into our inexperienced players (McComb, McNeil, Marra, Scott) to develop them further.
-Training is not an issue but we will keep reviewing. Keath was late in the game. Timmy was the last kick of the training session. We just believe we have been a bit unlucky.
-Mitch Wallis was out due to his mother in law being hit by a car and unforntuantely passing away on Thursday. Also, his wife Emily is a week overdue. Just tragic for Mitch and the family.
-Travis Varcoe's mum also passed away. It has been a difficult time for the club.
-Stef should be able to back up week after week. Sweet has been our with the virus and concussion and therefore hasn't been in the mix for selection.

23-04-2022, 07:33 PM
Succinct. Saw the half time scores, appeared to be a snore fest that turned into a shit fest.

It was very boring till the last 10 minutes when intensity increased as scores were close and time was running out.

23-04-2022, 07:36 PM

-We need to put time into our inexperienced players (McComb, McNeil, Marra, Scott) to develop them further.
-Training is not an issue but we will keep reviewing. Keath was late in the game. Timmy was the last kick of the training session. We just believe we have been a bit unlucky.
-Mitch Wallis was out due to his mother in law being hit by a car and unforntuantely passing away on Thursday. Also, his wife Emily is a week overdue. Just tragic for Mitch and the family.
-Travis Varcoe's mum also passed away. It has been a difficult time for the club.
-Stef should be able to back up week after week. Sweet has been our with the virus and concussion and therefore hasn't been in the mix for selection.

Lot of doom and gloom there. Would have been great to get a win for those guys.

23-04-2022, 07:37 PM
Lot of doom and gloom there. Would have been great to get a win for those guys.

Did you enjoy being at the footy today, even though it was a shocking game.

23-04-2022, 07:42 PM
Did you enjoy being at the footy today, even though it was a shocking game.

Thank goodness for the weather is all I'll say. The drive 2 and from is pretty enjoyable as well. It was good to get back to the footy though and it was probably the biggest crowd I've seen there.

23-04-2022, 07:49 PM

That all sounds extremely rough.

Wallis and his family situation is really full on, as with Trav. Club must be really flat with all of that happening, the injuries, and Lachie needing some time away.

23-04-2022, 08:05 PM
Watched the match today at the Harts Hotel in Footscray. A few other Doggies supporters there as well. Just a very frustrating game to watch.

Our ball use was very poor giving away too much. We have a lot of work to do if we are going to play finals let alone finish top 4 which is just slipping away. Injuries to some key players don’t help. We may need to temper our expectations.

Onto next Sunday now back at Marvel against the Bombers.

23-04-2022, 08:40 PM

Have we ever had a healthy list under Bevo?

23-04-2022, 09:01 PM
Have we ever had a healthy list under Bevo?

It is a good question. I can't recall where we have had a blessed run. Premiership year we had injuries left, right and centre. Grand Final year we lost Bruce, lost English, Treloar and Dunkley for big stretches too.

23-04-2022, 09:25 PM

Bevo has been searching for excuses all year.

Do injuries hurt? Sure, but they aren't the sole reason for our diabolical start to the year.

Do the tragedies above really impact our entire list? Understanding they are close, and the tragedies are real, but I'm not sure they are the reason we still can't execute a basic skill.

Who has consistently performed this year? English, Dale, maybe Macrae and Smith (their turnovers kill us), Gardner... About it.

So the question is, why are our best players all out of form and not playing well? Bont has been ineffective to put it nicely (honestly think he's been dreadful for the most part), Daniel has been poor mostly, Dunkley/Libba ok in spurts, Naughton inconsistent (but not much help), Treloar ok I guess... But realistically It's not good enough from the leaders of our playing list.

If we were losing games because our depth just wasn't there, fine, but I don't think that's the case. We've got some stat padders at the moment which isn't helping the team.

23-04-2022, 09:37 PM
TBB, start that thread. Reality is Keath, Williams and Hunter have also been well down on form.

23-04-2022, 11:08 PM
If we were losing games because our depth just wasn't there, fine, but I don't think that's the case. We've got some stat padders at the moment which isn't helping the team.

Tell me more about our stat padders?

23-04-2022, 11:55 PM
Tell me more about our stat padders?

I touched on it in the thread I just created a little, and it might be an unpopular opinion, but Jack Macrae heads the list. He's a GREAT player but he's been grinding my gears this year because he often gets the unnecessary 1-2 in the same passage of play without actually doing anything productive with the ball. He's had 26 today but he was as ineffective as you could ever try to be.

You could argue our entire midfield is guilty of it (Libba, Dunkley, Hunter, Smith). We flick the ball around and often get multiple possessions in the one chain without hurting the opposition. It needs to stop because we often aren't taking ground and as a result, connection with our forwards is... let's not even talk about it.

24-04-2022, 12:41 AM
Taking a step back and looking at it there is a lot this group is dealing with and to be honest the results reflect this. Not sure how you can resolve and reboot, but that is what they have to do. Do it for Lachie; Do if for Wally; Do it for Varcoe. Its round 6, we are 2 games out of the 8. They can still salvage and 3 to 4 weeks of good form can change a lot.

24-04-2022, 12:47 AM
I touched on it in the thread I just created a little, and it might be an unpopular opinion, but Jack Macrae heads the list. He's a GREAT player but he's been grinding my gears this year because he often gets the unnecessary 1-2 in the same passage of play without actually doing anything productive with the ball. He's had 26 today but he was as ineffective as you could ever try to be.

You could argue our entire midfield is guilty of it (Libba, Dunkley, Hunter, Smith). We flick the ball around and often get multiple possessions in the one chain without hurting the opposition. It needs to stop because we often aren't taking ground and as a result, connection with our forwards is... let's not even talk about it.

Jack isn’t a great player… I judge him more harshly than others , but he pretty much has *!*!*!*! all hurt factor.

If he’s only kicking it 9 times out of 26 touches she can learn to play in a FP instead of Bont.

24-04-2022, 12:56 AM

A bit harsh on Macrae. The kick he hit up in the first quarter to Marra was elite. He has been doing a lot more of that this season too. He can find angles and precsision with his kicking.

However, you can argue we are trying to carry too many mids who only have one gear (e.g. Libba, Bont, Dunks and Macrae) and therefore we can really struggle on the spread when the clearance doesn't go our way.

24-04-2022, 01:09 AM
Jack isn’t a great player… I judge him more harshly than others , but he pretty much has *!*!*!*! all hurt factor.

If he’s only kicking it 9 times out of 26 touches she can learn to play in a FP instead of Bont.

It's an issue because Macrae, Dunkley, Libba and Hunter are all the same. Libba at his best could hurt you, but his hands/vision/decision making is borderline rubbish now.

I still think Macrae is a great player but in our system right now, he's just not damaging. Would the opposition be thinking 'we need to stop Macrae' ... Nope.

Thinking about this particular game in more detail, one thing that infuriated me was our propensity to win the ball in our back half and then chip it backwards 15-20m to a spare man who had nowhere else to go. If there's a switch on, go for it, but otherwise all we're doing is CONCEEDING territory. It's idiotic and we did it time and time again.

24-04-2022, 03:25 AM
I haven't watched the game yet, but I reckon losing two very entrenched assistants plus injuries has completely *!*!*!*!ed with us.

Then you consider we lost another the previous year and it's an off-ground rebuild that's taking place and without key players things are falling apart.

It doesn't take much, remember 2007 after the promise of the previous two years?

24-04-2022, 05:10 AM
We replaced all of them though. Did we make the wrong selections? I don't know about you but I was hardly doing cartwheels when we signed Webb and Spangher.

Swoop
24-04-2022, 08:56 AM
It's an issue because Macrae, Dunkley, Libba and Hunter are all the same. Libba at his best could hurt you, but his hands/vision/decision making is borderline rubbish now.

I still think Macrae is a great player but in our system right now, he's just not damaging. Would the opposition be thinking 'we need to stop Macrae' ... Nope.

Thinking about this particular game in more detail, one thing that infuriated me was our propensity to win the ball in our back half and then chip it backwards 15-20m to a spare man who had nowhere else to go. If there's a switch on, go for it, but otherwise all we're doing is CONCEEDING territory. It's idiotic and we did it time and time again.

We tried kicking long down the line to their extra defender on numerous occasions without success. What's the solution?

24-04-2022, 10:17 AM
Could it be possible that the Crows did their homework and stopped our main movers. Yes we played crap but the crows were in our faces a lot of the time and as its been mentioned we don't have a lot of pace to spread from the contest which makes it easier to congest the ball.
Libba looked good out there but his handpasses out of congestion was non existent and most of his possessions were quick kicks to no one in particular.
That kick from Caleb that ended with the Walker goal late in the game did he have to pick off too much because of a lack of options further up the ground.
We did a lot wrong but also the Crows did a lot right and if their kicking had been better we would have been blown away by a lot more.
We are out of form and the poor start to the season could be putting extra pressure on performing as the season is slowly slipping away.

24-04-2022, 11:22 AM
Good call Hotdog. They really did their homework and we lacked the answers.

24-04-2022, 11:42 AM
We tried kicking long down the line to their extra defender on numerous occasions without success. What's the solution?

Other than Dale, we are still lacking run off the backline. Richards needs to use his pace more and Williams is struggling at the moment. Duryea is a great kick but he doesn't run and bounce like say a Melbourne does. Caleb is more hit your targets (well most of the time) and get the ball going.

We have to find a way to launch quicker from the back half and catch the opposition backline out.

24-04-2022, 11:51 AM
Other than Dale, we are still lacking run off the backline. Richards needs to use his pace more and Williams is struggling at the moment. Duryea is a great kick but he doesn't run and bounce like say a Melbourne does. Caleb is more hit your targets (well most of the time) and get the ball going.

We have to find a way to launch quicker from the back half and catch the opposition backline out.

I wonder if Treloar is that person? If you look around the league, half-backs are often the least accountable players on the field. He would fit that mould perfectly!

He provides pace, good foot skills and decision making.

24-04-2022, 12:08 PM
I wonder if Treloar is that person? If you look around the league, half-backs are often the least accountable players on the field. He would fit that mould perfectly!

He provides pace, good foot skills and decision making.

Not a bad suggestion? How good is his defensive skills?

I want to see Richards do more, he was very loose yesterday. We had McAdam, McHenry, Scholl running riot. McAdam had 7 marks and 2 goals and Scholl took 6 marks and they seemed to be on their own.

Yesterday wasn't about our KPP stock, as I thought the big guys all did well in the backline, it was the HBF that gone done.

24-04-2022, 12:18 PM
Our back half is a real problem. I've been a broken record in saying that we only really have 2 defenders who can actually defend - Keath and Duryea. They're also both near the end, and the reserve cupboard is non-existent for replacing them. I look at 2016 and even when we weren't playing well, the likes of Morris and Boyd could defend long enough to keep us in games. Last year, Duryea and Keath were those players for us but with their indifferent form and injury we're now all at sea.

I had high hopes for Richards but he has been bitterly disappointing. Dale is an AA HB and has got better defensively, but it's not his role. Daniel isn't a bad defender. Gardner has improved but yet still leaks some goals week to week. What happens when Keath/Duryea drop off or retire, which may be sooner than we think?

The truth is we have severe issues in every position of the ground. I think we could turn this around relatively quickly but it requires decisive management and I have no faith in our list management team to do it.

24-04-2022, 12:23 PM

When the switch is on, be decisive and hit it. Work hard to create it, but if it's not on, it's not on. Conceeding territory as we did simply meant we STILL went long down the line but gave up 15-20m to do it.

The 'long down the line' play isn't sexy, but it's incumbent on the likes of Naughton, Jamarra, Bont, Cordy and Stef to compete and bring the ball to ground and let our midfield go to work. Sometimes you need to simply trust the players down the field to compete, but we have this propensity to want to hit cute targets and execute the perfect play and we've been turning it over all year. We've neglected the basics on so many fronts (Weightman - stay on the ground) and we're paying for it.

Swoop
24-04-2022, 12:33 PM
I thought both Gardner and O'Brien defended well. I believe Gardner has stepped up in Keath's absence and is tracking well.

Richards seemed to be our loose at times but that strategy favoured the Crows. I would've preferred to see Schache or someone else go forward and make it one on one like we did in the last quarter.

Treloar to half back could work? Why not give it a go?

Does anyone else feel like Crozier still has something to offer?

Could either Treloar or Crozier allow us to move Daniel ahead of the ball?

24-04-2022, 12:49 PM
I thought both Gardner and O'Brien defended well. I believe Gardner has stepped up in Keath's absence and is tracking well.

Richards seemed to be our loose at times but that strategy favoured the Crows. I would've preferred to see Schache or someone else go forward and make it one on one like we did in the last quarter.

Treloar to half back could work? Why not give it a go?

Does anyone else feel like Crozier still has something to offer?

Could either Treloar or Crozier allow us to move Daniel ahead of the ball? Crozier was done a year ago with his injuries unfortunately. I don't think he would have been on the list had he not been contracted for this year. Not sure he is the answer but then again we don't have much else.

24-04-2022, 02:35 PM
Martin had -16 metres gained.

He went backwards!

24-04-2022, 02:43 PM
Hey did we just dominate possession for multiple forward entries then get hurt on the slingshot rebound?

What an unheard of event. I certainly hope it doesn't become a habit.
The crows dropped a number back so we helpfully kicked to that extra number all day

24-04-2022, 03:55 PM
Not a bad suggestion? How good is his defensive skills?

I want to see Richards do more, he was very loose yesterday. We had McAdam, McHenry, Scholl running riot. McAdam had 7 marks and 2 goals and Scholl took 6 marks and they seemed to be on their own.

Yesterday wasn't about our KPP stock, as I thought the big guys all did well in the backline, it was the HBF that gone done.

I’d have said Zorko had poor defensive skills, but his move to half back has been praised as the best positional move in the AFL this year.

24-04-2022, 03:56 PM
I’d have said Zorko had poor defensive skills, but his move to half back has been praised as the best positional move in the AFL this year.

Worth a try, and move Williams up the ground a bit?

24-04-2022, 04:01 PM
The crows dropped a number back so we helpfully kicked to that extra number all day

Wow that's the first time we've ever fallen for that, rascals.

24-04-2022, 04:19 PM
Wow that's the first time we've ever fallen for that, rascals.

Came out of nowhere.

Nicks' recruitment certainly justified on the back of that.

Swoop
24-04-2022, 05:10 PM
On our forward line, Naughton, Marra, and anyone else playing forward have been murdered this year. I understand kicking to a contest and the need for our forwards to compete but it wouldn't kill them to kick a metre to their advantage instead of on their head.

I feel like sometimes there is an over reliance on metres gained and setting up defensively, and we forget the purpose of entering the F50 in the first place, which is to try and score.

24-04-2022, 05:39 PM
On our forward line, Naughton, Marra, and anyone else playing forward have been murdered this year. I understand kicking to a contest and the need for our forwards to compete but it wouldn't kill them to kick a metre to their advantage instead of on their head.

I feel like sometimes there is an over reliance on metres gained and setting up defensively, and we forget the purpose of entering the F50 in the first place, which is to try and score.

Our guys religiously kick it to the opposition's advantage.

It's probably the thing that may cause my wife to never come to a game again as I constantly whinge about it.

It's ok to generate a nice drop punt but if it's ill directed what's the point.

James Hird didn't spin them perfectly but they were always to his teams advantage. That's why he's one of the greats.

25-04-2022, 05:32 PM
Our back half is a real problem. I've been a broken record in saying that we only really have 2 defenders who can actually defend - Keath and Duryea. They're also both near the end, and the reserve cupboard is non-existent for replacing them. I look at 2016 and even when we weren't playing well, the likes of Morris and Boyd could defend long enough to keep us in games. Last year, Duryea and Keath were those players for us but with their indifferent form and injury we're now all at sea.

I had high hopes for Richards but he has been bitterly disappointing. Dale is an AA HB and has got better defensively, but it's not his role. Daniel isn't a bad defender. Gardner has improved but yet still leaks some goals week to week. What happens when Keath/Duryea drop off or retire, which may be sooner than we think?

The truth is we have severe issues in every position of the ground. I think we could turn this around relatively quickly but it requires decisive management and I have no faith in our list management team to do it.

What we would now give for a prime Dale Morris. Just a lock down defender you could trust 100% who rarely got beaten 1:1 and attack every contest like it was his last.