View Full Version : WB Game Day V Sydney Swans R17 2022

Pages : 1 [2]

08-07-2022, 10:37 PM
I hope Bevo starts his post-match presser with an apology to everyone who wasted their herd earned on a member's ticket this year.

Optimistic.

08-07-2022, 10:37 PM
This is very ordinary.

08-07-2022, 10:39 PM
Because he’s a star padder.
Our midfield group are shades of Melbourne circa 2018-2020. Perhaps a Macrae can sacrifice his high possession game like Angus Brayshaw has done for the betterment of the Dees, or like Cotchin has done for the Tigers.

08-07-2022, 10:40 PM
That's a horrid call, htb on McComb, arm pinned and ump says 'didn't make an attempt'! bloody hell.

08-07-2022, 10:40 PM
I thought we had seen the last of McComb then up he pops.

08-07-2022, 10:41 PM
*!*!*!*! this shit

08-07-2022, 10:42 PM
Keath on the bench for 10 mins?

Injury or lesson?

McComb doesn’t have the necessary skill but at least the kid has a crack unlike a lot of his teammates.

I thought we had seen the last of McComb then up he pops.

Having a crack unlike most of the clowns out there in the first half

Gardner never has any idea where to go.

Delist him FFS, it's an indictment on this *!*!*!*!ing list management he's our second key defender

Our midfield group are shades of Melbourne circa 2018-2020. Perhaps a Macrae can sacrifice his high possession game like Angus Brayshaw has done for the betterment of the Dees, or like Cotchin has done for the Tigers.

Doesn’t he count his possessions?

Worse game since we played Geelong in 2016

08-07-2022, 10:44 PM
I like Garcia.

08-07-2022, 10:44 PM
The Kardinia Park game? We were in it up to our eyeballs untill we were smashed by injuries.

08-07-2022, 10:46 PM
Retire Keath now.

08-07-2022, 10:49 PM
Gardner... AFL quality? Really?

Embarrassing. They are just walking into open goals. They are so sure they are go to win the contest, they are cheating forward of the ball and tearing us apart.

This is the worst quarter of footy we have played in five years. Not score-wise, effort and energy. We are woeful

08-07-2022, 10:50 PM
21-6 tackles this quarter.

I think the coaches should tell the players to tackle.

Did Gardner keep that ball in? He doesn't know the rules

Season 2022, stick a fork in it. That Gardner brain fart... just beautiful.....sums up our season.

08-07-2022, 10:51 PM
Thrown in ze towel.

Gards just had to fall over but he keeps it alive and gifts them a goal. Make it stop!

08-07-2022, 10:51 PM
Soft team. We’re soft.

08-07-2022, 10:52 PM
Schache is our best forward right now … and that’s saying something

08-07-2022, 10:52 PM
The commentators are even mocking us now. “Never played in the finals after playing in a Grand Final.”

08-07-2022, 10:53 PM
This is us. We are *!*!*!*!ed.

We are shit.

*!*!*!*! this what a bunch of *!*!*!*!s.

08-07-2022, 10:54 PM
Time to give some games to Cleary, Khamis, Darcy…..

08-07-2022, 10:55 PM
I underestimated the impact that Melbourne kicking 16.4 to 1.1 in the last 37 minutes of the 2021 season has had on the psyche of our players. They are shot to pieces.

We didn't even need to hire the services or Collective Minds.

08-07-2022, 10:56 PM
Where are we at? Serious questions need to be asked. Is Bevo the man to take us forward?

08-07-2022, 10:56 PM
Good boy JUH.

Great mark and great finish, even if the commentary didn't give you cred for how strong you actually were in the contest.

Excellent.

08-07-2022, 10:58 PM
I underestimated the impact that Melbourne kicking 16.4 to 1.1 in the last 37 minutes of the 2021 season has had on the psyche of our players. They are shot to pieces.

It wasn't great.

But I reckon the player issues that allowed that to happen are the ones that are hurting us now. This issue has been prevalent over the past eighteen months, it just makes how amazing our finals run last year all the more amazing.

08-07-2022, 10:58 PM
Good boy JUH.

Great mark and great finish, even if the commentary didn't give you cred for how strong you actually were in the contest.

Excellent.

Yes great goal Marra. Really tough mark with 100 kegs of McCartin bearing down on him.

08-07-2022, 10:59 PM
Season 2022, stick a fork in it. That Gardner brain fart... just beautiful.....sums up our season.

Ed has done the same a few times turning it over.

Backline a shambles, but there is no fix this year.

08-07-2022, 11:00 PM

Question is what now?

Who needs to go? Players, coaches, mix of both?

This should be an interesting off season if we're sane.

08-07-2022, 11:00 PM
Bloody hell. We have one more quarter to go. I thought the game was over

08-07-2022, 11:01 PM
Pathetic.

Genuinely horrible.

08-07-2022, 11:01 PM
Where are we at? Serious questions need to be asked. Is Bevo the man to take us forward?

No. We need some real assistants if he's going to stay on further. This list is too good to not go deep into the finals. We're not even going to makenit. If that doesn't set off alarm bells I don't know what will.

08-07-2022, 11:02 PM
No. We need some real assistants if he's going to stay on further. This list is too good to not go deep into the finals. We're not even going to makenit. If that doesn't set off alarm bells I don't know what will.

we need some quality talls in the backline

Did Gardner keep that ball in? He doesn't know the rules
You could also lay the blame at the feet of Williams who could have rushed it through but chose to offload the pressure onto someone else.

Yes great goal Marra. Really tough mark with 100 kegs of McCartin bearing down on him.

These are the things we need to focus on. How we can rebuild the team. Also really need to look at coaching structure and talent too. Perhaps a whole club review?

08-07-2022, 11:03 PM
I missed it why is mccomb on?

08-07-2022, 11:03 PM
Scott concussed

08-07-2022, 11:04 PM
Amartey took out Scott with a late bump after he kicked and he was concussed.

we need some quality talls in the backline

Chicken and egg.

Midfield could put pressure on the ball carrier to help

China Dog
Need a complete revamp of the coaching panel, including Bevo out.

Am I the only one hoping this isn't a respectable loss if you look at the scores and haven't seen the match?

08-07-2022, 11:05 PM
I have overrated our playing group. This is some of the worst efforts and overall performance I have seen in a long, long time. It started from the first bounce, we didn’t bring anything and it really hasn’t improved except for a 10 minute effort in the second quarter.

I don’t know where we go from here. I’m flat as a pancake.

08-07-2022, 11:05 PM
Scott concussed

Thanks Like for like.

Pretty sh*t day at the office to be honest. Final's practically blown, but worse we have essentially played the way the naysayers have said. Number of guys just not up to AFL standard

08-07-2022, 11:06 PM
You could also lay the blame at the feet of Williams who could have rushed it through but chose to offload the pressure onto someone else. No, he just needed to step over the line

08-07-2022, 11:08 PM
Good boy JUH.

Excellent.

Nice finish. I have liked JUH tonight.

08-07-2022, 11:10 PM
Midfield could put pressure on the ball carrier to help
I'm loathe to dismantle the midfield we have assembled, but to say we need to change the mix of roles and responsibilities in there is an understatement. If the GF wasn't a warning that our strength can also be our weakness, this season has rammed it home.

There are also holes down back obviously, horrid list management.

08-07-2022, 11:11 PM
We cannot tackle!

08-07-2022, 11:11 PM
Gee's he's not alone but Gardner has had an absolute mare.

08-07-2022, 11:12 PM
Gardner stands on the opposite side of where the space is for Franklin to lead into.

He's the dumbest player on our list.

08-07-2022, 11:12 PM
I can't believe the coaches didn't tell the defencive group to not leave the corridor open.

Stupid coaches.

08-07-2022, 11:13 PM
I mean what the *!*!*!*! was that?

08-07-2022, 11:13 PM
I can't believe the coaches didn't tell the defencive group to not leave the corridor open.

Stupid coaches.

But they're the ones who keep picking them each week (and have had a big handle on our overall list management).

08-07-2022, 11:14 PM
Gardner sucks almost as much as our midfield.

I also can't believe the coaches told the players not to tackle their players.

How many marks in defence have we dropped.

Who kicked that OOTF?

Can somebody at the ground crank up the Benny Hill music please.

Gardner stands on the opposite side of where the space is for Franklin to lead into.

He's the dumbest player on our list.

Better than L Young though......

English has been just as poor, if not worse than Gardner

08-07-2022, 11:15 PM
Better than L Young though......

Debatable.

08-07-2022, 11:15 PM
But they're the ones who keep picking them each week (and have had a big handle on our overall list management).

It's *!*!*!*!en bullshit mate.

Every single team I've played for from tens to seniors had the basic rule. Don't leave a hole open ever when a free kick is coming into the forward line.

08-07-2022, 11:16 PM
Oh my, did anyone see that contest when Rampe outmarked JJ. Sums up this team perfectly

English has been just as poor, if not worse than Gardner

Let’s talk about who has been good…

Ok, much shorter conversation.

I'm loathe to dismantle the midfield we have assembled, but to say we need to change the mix of roles and responsibilities in there is an understatement. If the GF wasn't a warning that our strength can also be our weakness, this season has rammed it home.

There are also holes down back obviously, horrid list management.

I don’t disagree but clearly neither of our midfield group want to play a sacrificing role for the team.

Your earlier suggestion of Macrae earlier has merit

08-07-2022, 11:17 PM

Libba

08-07-2022, 11:17 PM

Every single team I've played for from tens to seniors had the basic rule. Don't leave a hole open ever when a free kick is coming into the forward line.

The hole was there for a good 30 seconds as the Sydney had to reset before his kick.

08-07-2022, 11:18 PM

I agree but who were the two nearest? Gardner and McComb

Both should be playing local level.

Stupid coaches.

What was McComb doing? In *!*!*!*!ing fairy land!

Our 22 season has parallels with Jake Stringers entire career. Beat up on the crap but unsighted when the heat is on.

08-07-2022, 11:19 PM
Libba has been good at his game, but might it be that Libba needs to also change the way he plays to stop the opposition on occasion?

08-07-2022, 11:20 PM

Just excited to be out there. Fun, YAY!!!

Now the season is dusted: odds of Dunkley re-signing?

Getting longer by the minute.

If this bloke is on our list next year I'm about done.

08-07-2022, 11:21 PM
Now the season is dusted: odds of Dunkley re-signing?

Getting longer by the minute.

No Dunkley talk unless it’s on the best thread on woof.

08-07-2022, 11:21 PM
No Dunkley talk unless it’s on the best thread on woof.

haha.

08-07-2022, 11:22 PM
If this bloke is on our list next year I'm about done.

Do we say our goodbyes now? I'd be surprised he is not promoted to the senior list.

08-07-2022, 11:23 PM
See what happens when you tackle and a good user of the footy moves it quickly?

08-07-2022, 11:24 PM
I'd trade Dunks......I think you move West/Garcia into the midfield, bth better field kicks

08-07-2022, 11:25 PM
It is hard to believe that the Bombers embarrassed this mob last week and they have made us look like a basket case.

08-07-2022, 11:25 PM

Treloar not bad tonight.

08-07-2022, 11:28 PM
The most obvious thing the coaching group can do is adjust our defencive positioning to be a bit more aggressive when we don't have the ball.

Again the uncontested marks tell the story of the game. It's not the stand or not stand tactic either, it's what happens on the next kick that makes the difference.

There's a clear issue/ trend that needs to be rectified.

08-07-2022, 11:30 PM
Hickey out, Ladhams injured and Reid performing well against English. We should have had a huge advantage there.

08-07-2022, 11:31 PM
BT is the epitome of ignorance.

Bedembo.....*!*!*!*!.

08-07-2022, 11:33 PM
I honestly believe I’m better at footy than Robbie McComb.

08-07-2022, 11:33 PM
I'd trade Dunks......I think you move West/Garcia into the midfield, bth better field kicks

Not sure about Garcia but yeah West a better kick.

08-07-2022, 11:34 PM
The most obvious thing the coaching group can do is adjust our defencive positioning to be a bit more aggressive when we don't have the ball.

Again the uncontested marks tell the story of the game. It's not the stand or not stand tactic either, it's what happens on the next kick that makes the difference.

There's a clear issue/ trend that needs to be rectified.

Man that stand tactic *!*!*!*! me.

There was a moment in the first qtr where Lloyd had it front of centre and Keath who was on the mark ran away from him backwards (so with no ability to influence anything with that momentum)and Lloyd ran 15 metres to the 50 and nailed a player on the chest.

08-07-2022, 11:34 PM
I honestly believe I’m better at footy than Robbie McComb.

I honestly believe you.

08-07-2022, 11:36 PM
Do we say our goodbyes now? I'd be surprised he is not promoted to the senior list.If he is promoted to the senior list i will happily hand back my membership. Surely they see whatwe do. The guy can't play.

08-07-2022, 11:37 PM
Hickey out, Ladhams injured and Reid performing well against English. We should have had a huge advantage there.
I still find the dropping of Sweet hard to understand given that he gave the likes of Libba and Macrae clear midfield passage in the past two games. To see a non ruck man in Reid dominate tonight was very disappointing

08-07-2022, 11:38 PM
If he is promoted to the senior list i will happily hand back my membership. Surely they see whatwe do. The guy can't play.

If they see what we do they wouldn't *!*!*!*!ing play him. It's no fault of his own, he tries his guts out but he's not an AFL footballer. Our coach sees things differently.

08-07-2022, 11:39 PM
Man that stand tactic *!*!*!*! me.

There was a moment in the first qtr where Lloyd had it front of centre and Keath who was on the mark ran away from him backwards (so with no ability to influence anything with that momentum)and Lloyd ran 15 metres to the 50 and nailed a player on the chest.

The zoning off five is fine, it's the lack of accountability that it results in within a compressed zone defence.

The players aren't smart enough to close down the space to make the kick almost worth attempting but not worth attempting. It's a fine art and it takes smarter players than what we have to execute.

I'm absolutely with the giving up five. That teams are starting to adopt it means it's the right thing to do to compress the ground/ space. It's completely logical on all areas. We just don't have the players to execute it.

And here's the thing, if they can't execute compressing the ground, they definitely can't defend it when it's opened up.

08-07-2022, 11:41 PM
The zoning off five is fine, it's the lack of accountability that it results in within a compressed zone defence.

The players aren't smart enough to close down the space to make the kick almost worth attempting but not worth attempting. It's a fine art and it takes smarter players than what we have to execute.

I'm absolutely with the giving up five. That teams are starting to adopt it means it's the right thing to do to compress the ground/ space. It's completely logical on all areas. We just don't have the players to execute it.

And here's the thing, if they can't execute compressing the ground, they definitely can't defend it when it's opened up.

So if the players can’t perform the play, you can it right?

I don’t like the play to start with but there’s merit in your response.

08-07-2022, 11:44 PM
Construct a game plan that suits your list - coaching 101 I would have thought.

Bevo and our coaching group get more free passes than Disneyland.

08-07-2022, 11:45 PM
So if the players can’t perform the play, you can it right?

I don’t like the play to start with but there’s merit in your response.

Well I do have a brain the size of a planet, even if I'm so depressed.

08-07-2022, 11:46 PM

They should definitely construct a game style that encourages tackling and contested possessions.......oh...wait.

08-07-2022, 11:47 PM
They should definitely construct a game style that encourages tackling and contested possessions.......oh...wait.

Are you saying he's lost the players? ;)

08-07-2022, 11:47 PM

Hopefully not after tonight. Media already starting on why and how this has happened. Questioning selections and tatics.

08-07-2022, 11:48 PM
How do you rate the Hannan to the back line move?

08-07-2022, 11:49 PM

Need to insert the "That's Bait" gif. ;)

08-07-2022, 11:51 PM

It was *!*!*!*!ing stupid.

He doesn’t play for 10 weeks… has a run around for Footscray in a unfamiliar role then straight in and lines up on one of the competitions best small forwards.

08-07-2022, 11:51 PM

Hi might have!

I started thinking that today.......and then I remembered this is the same shit I've seen from the same players for the last few years.

08-07-2022, 11:52 PM
Hannan was hit and miss, but like Treloar when your midfield performs like that you're *!*!*!*!ed either way.

08-07-2022, 11:53 PM
Well I do have a brain the size of a planet, even if I'm so depressed.

Here's the play. Ignore the sound my heater died and that's a portable.

It's Papley not Lloyd but you can see Keath's instinct is to run away and defend space.
Papley waltzes into the dangerous space and sets up a goal scoring opp.
How can you not run at him there?

https://youtu.be/6JRhnzSF7h8

08-07-2022, 11:55 PM

He doesn’t play for 10 weeks… has a run around for Footscray in a unfamiliar role then straight in and lines up on one of the competitions best small forwards.

Not sure if it was stupid but we certainly didn't appear to give him a decent chance to make it work.
I suspect we will have to give it another week though.

08-07-2022, 11:55 PM

I said at the start I hope we don't experiment with Hannan going back. He gets to the ball and never holds a mark. He was a shocking defender.

08-07-2022, 11:56 PM
Not sure if it was stupid but we certainly didn't appear to give him a decent chance to make it work.

I prefer Cordy to Hannan. I didn't say that in the match committee thread because it won't happen

08-07-2022, 11:56 PM

It's Papley not Lloyd but you can see Keath's instinct is to run away and defend space.

It should have been the outside player folding in to put pressure on outside five, which looked like Hunter. He almost did as much as he could have been to stay out of the play then.

However, there should be some discretion allowed, and I agree Keath should have propped.

When the ball is moving slow, it's fine. When it's moving fast, stop and press.

08-07-2022, 11:57 PM

Why though? Has he ever played a defensive role. Why start now? Why continue it any longer after it failing? Square pegs don't fit in round holes and never will.

08-07-2022, 11:58 PM

The move reeks of desperation.

I keep coming back to list management - how can we continually draft half back flankers and out of 40 odd players on a list, have less than 4 who can actually DEFEND. That's not just key defenders, that's ANY defender.

Bont put in his worst performance in is AFL career tonight, he fumbled his way through the first quarter and set the tone for the group.

English got clean hands to it many times but was unable to put it down a mids throat when it counted. I still think the best thing for the team this year with Bruce out was for Sweet to ruck 65% and Tim to play forward.

There is no doubt there is an underlying selfishness within the group( so many of them hem have been holding out to sign all year I reckon it has been an issue inside the club) and its shown by the lack of defensive intent across the whole ground.

We are officially cooked. We need to use this time smartly, have a good hard look at ourselves warts and all, and make some smart list management decisions for us to finally make the top 4 under Bevo.

How was that a free kick to Heeny. Watch the ball bounce off Ed's head, plus he didn't chop the arms

It should have been the outside player folding in to put pressure on outside five, which looked like Hunter. He almost did as much as he could have been to stay out of the play then.

It was diabolical that's for sure. I think Keath was trying to cover the guy streaming through but to let a guy walk it in like that... Crikey something ain't right.

Interesting question. Sometimes I feel like he has but then we retain our players so I don’t believe that to be the case. It is is hard to point a finger as to exactly what the problem is. There are a number of contributing factors - personnel, psychological, structure, injuries, talent (or lack thereof), accountability- it is a long list of issues.

Where is the club’s scrutiny of our inept performance? Where is our President? We need to know where we are headed and how our current issues will be addressed in the future. Bevo carries a lot on his plate and needs more support from the top down (maybe he gets it but it certainly isn’t clear to us supporters). I feel like we don’t have direction across the club in general.

08-07-2022, 11:59 PM
I prefer Cordy to Hannan. I didn't say that in the match committee thread because it won't happen

You're not going to get much support but I'll back you with the bring back Cordy proposal

09-07-2022, 12:01 AM
Well we saved our worst performance of the year for the most important game of the year. I am really angry. To be so supine in the first quarter is unforgiveable! It was an appalling effort.

And then, as per usual, when we needed to kick goals - we missed. We just don't have the players who we can rely on to get the job done. Bont's miss on the run - a case in point.

English? He allowed homself to be dominated by Sam effing Reid! Can you believe it! I can't.

We had so very few good players tonight. It was just awful. A nightmare. I really thought we would win this game. I feel like a fool now An absolute stupid fool.

We may win the last two games of the year but that"s it. I don't believe in miracles. This game should be a wake up call for the Club.

What the fcuk are we doing having men such as Matty Boyd, Bob Murphy and Dale Morris elsewhere. They should be in our coaching group surely?

Bont put in his worst performance in is AFL career tonight, he fumbled his way through the first quarter and set the tone for the group.

English got clean hands to it many times but was unable to put it down a mids throat when it counted. I still think the best thing for the team this year with Bruce out was for Sweet to ruck 65% and Tim to play forward.

There is no doubt there is an underlying selfishness within the group( so many of them hem have been holding out to sign all year I reckon it has been an issue inside the club) and its shown by the lack of defensive intent across the whole ground.

We are officially cooked. We need to use this time smartly, have a good hard look at ourselves warts and all, and make some smart list management decisions for us to finally make the top 4 under Bevo.

But we have to play the best ruck/ forward in the league as a pure ruck otherwise he will leave.

That's how *!*!*!*!en selfish our team is.

We have the perfect player to fill the hardest position on the ground to fill, and the *!*!*!*! only wants to play the position he is worst at for some ridiculous reason.

Against the Saints I would imagine Cordy or TOB are a chance.

09-07-2022, 12:02 AM
You're not going to get much support but I'll back you with the bring back Cordy proposal

I'd take Cordy back over Hannan that's for sure.

09-07-2022, 12:02 AM
How was that a free kick to Heeny. Watch the ball bounce off Ed's head, plus he didn't chop the arms

You can't make contact without looking at the ball sometimes, but sometimes you can depending on the day.

You're an idiot for not understanding that.

09-07-2022, 12:03 AM
But we have to play the best ruck/ forward in the league as a pure ruck otherwise he will leave.

We have the perfect player to fill the hardest position on the ground to fill, and the *!*!*!*! only wants to play the position he is worst at for some ridiculous reason.

I know you've brought this up a few times but it's really valid.

09-07-2022, 12:03 AM
The move reeks of desperation.

I keep coming back to list management - how can we continually draft half back flankers and out of 40 odd players on a list, have less than 4 who can actually DEFEND. That's not just key defenders, that's ANY defender.

It's a good point, I get why we like the more attacking players but we could balance it a lot better.

09-07-2022, 12:04 AM
Against the Saints I would imagine Cordy or TOB are a chance.

Why was O'Brien who has been performing pretty much the same way all season sonehow on the nose after last week?

How would his confidence be going being replaced by Hannan?

I can see woofers are split between blaming coaches or players but....

https://media.giphy.com/media/zbzNUbpFnlw8E/giphy.gif

09-07-2022, 12:04 AM

That is actually BS talk.

English is our number one ruck. Sweet is a long way off as he can't find the ball around the ground.

09-07-2022, 12:06 AM
I know you've brought this up a few times but it's really valid.
So we get Lobb in 2023 who is a middle-of-the-road stoppage ruckman and a dangerous forward, which is basically the same skill set that English possesses.

Then what do we do with Bruce in 2023? JUH? Darcy? If we spend 500-700k a season on 29yo Lobb, what currency do we have to lure AFL quality key defenders, which is clearly a more pressing need?

09-07-2022, 12:07 AM

When Tim comes up at the footy inside 50 he is so hard to stop, he looks really naturally there. If only Schache had his hands...

I like Sweet, I think he gives our mids best chance at the clearance we seem to be able dominate periods when he is in there.

09-07-2022, 12:08 AM

That's a *!*!*!*!ing good point.

Tail wagging the dog(s). See what I did there.

09-07-2022, 12:09 AM

English is our number one ruck. Sweet is a long way off as he can't find the ball around the ground.

It's actually not. It was brought up last season on a post game press conference and Bevo said that himself.

So we get Lobb in 2023 who is a middle-of-the-road stoppage ruckman and a dangerous forward, which is basically the same skill set that English possesses.

Then what do we do with Bruce in 2023? JUH? Darcy? If we spend 500-700k a season on 29yo Lobb, what currency do we have to lure AFL quality key defenders, which is clearly a more pressing need?

Just on that what would we have to give up to land Lobb? Is a 2nd rounder going to get it done?
I have a slight concern that we have more pressing needs in the back line.

Remember how we chased Cloke before winning the GF in 2016 and we had basically committed to a player that we really didn't need.
To me Lobb is a sweetener to a team around the top 4 mark. If we need to break things up a bit at the end of the season and do a refresh is he still the right player?

It's actually not. It was brought up last season on a post game press conference and Bevo said that himself.

Link?

09-07-2022, 12:11 AM
Link?

I honestly can't remember when it was BD. Someone else with a better memory can find it. It was after a loss and English had his pants pulked down, that was his answer.

09-07-2022, 12:14 AM

Yes he defintely did. I can't find it but I remember it clearly.

It was along the lines of Tim wanted to play more ruck time not forward.

He finds our mids though, we get much clearer exits from the stoppage when he is in there

Just on that what would we have to give up to land Lobb? Is a 2nd rounder going to get it done?
Whatever the trade ends up being, the salary expectation for someone who is essentially a facsimile version of what we already have is puzzling to me.

We have urgent pressing needs elsewhere that I'd like us to address first, but it looks like Lobb is our man.

09-07-2022, 12:16 AM

It's a good question.

I think we have holes literally everywhere. Bruce is close to done and I'm not banking on him whatsoever for next year, Marra is still a long way off it, Darcy hasn't played a game and might be a defender?

Lobb at least gives both Naughton and English support. Good sides continually outmark us and I'm a firm believer in two rucks. It means we don't have somebody like Schache who has no impact forward and no impact as a ruck.

However, you bring up a good point - does it impact our ability to address an even bigger weakness which are our key defenders? It kinda has to, doesn't it?

It will never happen but I'd rather trade all of Dunkley, Hunter and Macrae to fix issues at both ends. Sadly this isn't fantasy football so it's pointless mentioning that, but my point is as good as Dunks/Hunter/Macrae are, you can always find good mids.

In short, it's an interesting off season because whilst Lobb helps his recruitment is absolutely worthless if Keath and Gardner are still our key backs next year.

09-07-2022, 12:16 AM
I honestly can't remember when it was BD. Someone else with a better memory can find it. It was after a loss and English had his pants pulked down, that was his answer.

I think that was more of describing what he would like. But I don't believe he said he would leave if he didn't get what he wants.

09-07-2022, 12:18 AM
I think that was more of describing what he would like. But I don't believe he said he would leave if he didn't get what he wants.

Nah BD. He definitely said something about X player will leave if they didn't get more time in their position, referring to English.

09-07-2022, 12:18 AM

Which is basically what I said on the selections thread. Crunch game you need everyone bang on ready not running them into form in the senior team

09-07-2022, 12:24 AM

I'm sorry I didn't get there today to say hello, but you need to get over it.

Tim English is the best ruck forward in the league. full stop.

09-07-2022, 12:25 AM

See!

Even though we share avatars we rarely agree BAD. You're wrong here.

09-07-2022, 12:28 AM
It's a good question.

I think we have holes literally everywhere. Bruce is close to done and I'm not banking on him whatsoever for next year, Marra is still a long way off it, Darcy hasn't played a game and might be a defender?

Lobb at least gives both Naughton and English support. Good sides continually outmark us and I'm a firm believer in two rucks. It means we don't have somebody like Schache who has no impact forward and no impact as a ruck.

However, you bring up a good point - does it impact our ability to address an even bigger weakness which are our key defenders? It kinda has to, doesn't it?

It will never happen but I'd rather trade all of Dunkley, Hunter and Macrae to fix issues at both ends. Sadly this isn't fantasy football so it's pointless mentioning that, but my point is as good as Dunks/Hunter/Macrae are, you can always find good mids.

In short, it's an interesting off season because whilst Lobb helps his recruitment is absolutely worthless if Keath and Gardner are still our key backs next year.

Don't stress, Dunkley and Hunter won't be at the Dogs next year.

09-07-2022, 12:31 AM

Nah BD. He definitely said something about X player will leave if they didn't get more time in their position, referring to English.

Tim's manager said all but Tim would leave if not granted the first ruck position, due to being frustrated playing forward. That was basically at the same time Bevo weirdly came out and said Tim is our first ruck and will be played there. It was all earlier this year.

Yes BAD, before you go off your kettle it is speculation, but it was pretty clear.

In fact I can't believe you missed it.

09-07-2022, 12:34 AM
This is absolutely my concern with recruiting Lobb. Hence my line about not asking the right questions if Lobb is the answer.

We are 18th for conceding contested marks in general and contested marks inside D50 - that's worse than North for context. Getting Lobb as a stop-gap ruck/forward while we wait for Darcy and JUH, and when we get Bruce back to full capacity, is a niche problem by comparison. And it will cost decent coin/draft currency.

09-07-2022, 12:39 AM
This is absolutely my concern with recruiting Lobb. Hence my line about not asking the right questions if Lobb is the answer.

We are 18th for conceding contested marks in general and contested marks inside D50 - that's worse than North for context. Getting Lobb as a stop-gap ruck/forward while we wait for Darcy and JUH, and when we get Bruce back to full capacity, is a niche problem by comparison. And it will cost decent coin/draft currency.

I note with interest Essendon are into Liam Jones. There's stupider ideas.

09-07-2022, 12:45 AM
Has anyone noted Brad Johnson on Twitter tonight. It must be a false account.

That is the most insipid quarter of football I have seen from the Dogs in a long long time, soft, no game plan, no leaders, players not skilled enough and POORLY coached, as usual #AFLSwansDogs

He's really got it in for the coaching

09-07-2022, 12:47 AM

That is the most insipid quarter of football I have seen from the Dogs in a long long time, soft, no game plan, no leaders, players not skilled enough and POORLY coached, as usual #AFLSwansDogs

Edit : twas a hoax!

09-07-2022, 12:47 AM

Wonder if there's been a fallout?

I recall him being scathing earlier in the year too which is really unlike him. Perhaps gives a tiny insight into some issues behind closed doors

09-07-2022, 12:49 AM

I recall him being scathing earlier in the year too which is really unlike him. Perhaps gives a tiny insight into some issues behind closed doors

Wonder if Morris related seeing Brad worked with him.

Are you sure that is our Brad Johnson? I find it hard to believe he would say something like that at all.

Has anyone noted Brad Johnson on Twitter tonight.

Considering his BFF is a coach at the Dogs, it is certainly interesting that he’s so public in his criticism. Is he acting as a proxy for Bubba and venting shared frustrating?

That’s if the account belongs to the ACTUAL Johnno.

09-07-2022, 12:50 AM
Are you sure that is our Brad Johnson? I find it hard to believe he would say something like that at all.

It's not the first time.

09-07-2022, 12:53 AM

It's looking more like a false account. I've stopped following him now

09-07-2022, 12:54 AM

Haha. Sucked us right in.

Fake Brad is right though.

09-07-2022, 12:56 AM

Interesting isn’t it (and not in a good way). Isn’t Bubba still on the coaching staff? Bubba and Johnno (assume) are still close so that would provide insight into the ways of working. Do Bevo and Grant get on? Are there issues there? Or is Johnno just frustrated like al of us with our game plan and game management? It’s not like we have players wanting to leave (at this stage) - which to me is the biggest determiner of ‘losing a playing group’. It’s not like there is a mass exodus like the Tory party seeking resignation at the top.

Just saw the post above indicating that the Johnno account is a fake.

09-07-2022, 01:03 AM
Don't stress, Dunkley and Hunter won't be at the Dogs next year.

We must be housemates because it seems we get the same mail.

09-07-2022, 01:04 AM
We must be housemates because it seems we get the same mail.

You're a funnier version of me.

I'm you if you didn't get raised on this site.

09-07-2022, 01:10 AM

Yeah as much as I agree with that tweet it really doesn't sound like the real Brad Johnson at all.

09-07-2022, 01:17 AM
Bevo was flat in the presser. Didn't really reveal much. Kept his cards close to his chest. He said I don't want to make excuses while hinting in riddles that we have had some excuses for our decline in performance this year versus last year.

09-07-2022, 01:21 AM
You're a funnier version of me.

I'm you if you didn't get raised on this site.

I would’ve way rather gotten raised in /mu/ than here but I guess we play with the cards we’re dealt

09-07-2022, 01:27 AM
Bevo was flat in the presser. Didn't really reveal much. Kept his cards close to his chest. He said I don't want to make excuses while hinting in riddles that we have had some excuses for our decline in performance this year versus last year.

It was subtle, but if you listened hard for the sub text you noticed a clear message.

https://i.postimg.cc/MGRCC9rr/Screenshot-20220709-002527-AFL.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

09-07-2022, 01:29 AM
I would’ve way rather gotten raised in /mu/ than here but I guess we play with the cards we’re dealt

Sorry for being a Karen or a Boomer or whatever it is I should identify with given I don't know what you're talking about, but what is /mu/ ?

09-07-2022, 01:30 AM
It was subtle, but if you listened hard for the sub text you noticed a clear message.

https://i.postimg.cc/MGRCC9rr/Screenshot-20220709-002527-AFL.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Change your signature.

09-07-2022, 01:32 AM
Apparently we are 8-10 in games when English is sole ruck and 11-2 (both losses against Melbourne) when we have a two-pronged ruck division.

09-07-2022, 01:37 AM
Change your signature.

I'll retreat back into the shadows next week.

09-07-2022, 09:18 AM
There is so much angst on here and deservedly so. We are all searching for answers. The obvious one is that we just aren't that good. It's hard to accept that when we made the GF last year after a Herculean effort at season's end and then, as recently as last week, absolutely dominated the first quarter against Brisbane on their own deck but fail time and again to take our chances. Instead of being 5 goals up Brisbane are still in the game and we get humiliated from then on.

And then, next game mind you when we know the Swans are going to come out firing, we just roll over and they open up a 40 point lead. How do you account for that?

Team selection for a start. Hannan and Treloar in defence? Did Bevo get out the ouija board during the week?

English rucked like a bloke recovering from a stroke. His timing was just horrible. I saw him looking at his opponent so many times before going for the ball. That's NOT a good look. Go for the ball with all you've got - that's a non-negotiable.

I get the impression that we don't have the personality types who can inspire blokes around them to lift. Apart from Libba that is. And you can't fake something like that. The desire to win, the desire to give everything can inspire those around you to greatness. We don't have those types of players I'm sorry to say. I wish I knew what the atmosphere was like in the inner sanctum in the week leading up to this game. I didn't see any evidence that the players were primed for a big game.

I'm as frustrated as all hell. It's another horrible waste of a season. In fact you could say it's been a disastrous 6 years as we have failed to inculcate a winning culture at the Club. In what way has the Herculean effort we made to get to the GF last year infiltrated the mind set of the organisation? It hasn't.

09-07-2022, 10:32 AM
Just reading a little between the lines I wonder if Bevo has all but written the season off and now tinkering with players to see if they can play other roles.
I've posted my thoughts about Treloar in other threads but defence would be the last place I would put him and I'm also wondering about Williams as he has declined this year and gets caught a lot.
I thought Garcia played well enough in a poor team effort and shows some good evasive skills if his body can hold up he could replace Libba when the time comes.
I'm also in the Sweet should have played and I know his mobility isn't were Bevo wants it to be but with the 6,6,6 rule isn't more important to get first use out of the centre so the ball get in fast to our forwards before the opposition can clog up our half.
Anyway a lot went wrong and not much right and because of a lack of depth (Not many putting their hand up in the VFL) it's hard to give battered players some recovery time.

09-07-2022, 10:35 AM
I wasn’t able to watch the game last night, but have recorded it. Win or lose I always watch the replay but after reading all the comments on here I’m thinking I’ll just delete. Was there anything positive at all to change my mind?

09-07-2022, 10:38 AM
Save yourself some frustration apart from a slight fight back the performance was insipid.

09-07-2022, 10:39 AM
Sorry for being a Karen or a Boomer or whatever it is I should identify with given I don't know what you're talking about, but what is /mu/ ?

Oh man thought you’d get that one for sure. Was the internet music board before everyone got Spotify and could just listen to everything all the time

09-07-2022, 10:48 AM
I wasn’t able to watch the game last night, but have recorded it. Win or lose I always watch the replay but after reading all the comments on here I’m thinking I’ll just delete. Was there anything positive at all to change my mind?
It was the worst performance since Geelong in 2016

09-07-2022, 10:51 AM
So thinking back on it - is there actually anything positive to take from that game?

09-07-2022, 10:54 AM
It was the worst performance since Geelong in 2016

Who we play in three weeks in time:eek:

09-07-2022, 10:55 AM
So thinking back on it - is there actually anything positive to take from that game?

McComb played 3 quarters instead of 4?

09-07-2022, 11:23 AM

West and Garcia.

English came good and will be better for the run.

Weightman looked back to pre elbow levels.

Marra did a couple of nice things.

Naughton never gave up though clearly playing hurt.

Bont and Libba did their thing as best they could.

That's me being super positive too. Can't find much.

09-07-2022, 11:24 AM
Oh man thought you’d get that one for sure. Was the internet music board before everyone got Spotify and could just listen to everything all the time

Napster?

09-07-2022, 11:28 AM
Napster?

What did you just call me?

09-07-2022, 11:36 AM
What did you just call me?

https://media.giphy.com/media/qGFKMntShELTy/giphy.gif

09-07-2022, 11:50 AM
West and Garcia.

English came good and will be better for the run.

Weightman looked back to pre elbow levels.

Marra did a couple of nice things.

Naughton never gave up though clearly playing hurt.

Bont and Libba did their thing as best they could.

That's me being super positive too. Can't find much.

A few posters have mentioned English and gave him votes.
Honestly I thought he was putrid. He should have DOMINATED the Sydney 3rd and 4th string rucks.

He broke even at best.

09-07-2022, 11:59 AM
Honestly I thought he was putrid. He should have DOMINATED the Sydney 3rd and 4th string rucks.

He broke even at best.

Statistically his game looks alright. Watching it he was clearly down, that 1st quarter was dreadful. Maybe a bit reluctant due to another head knock?

09-07-2022, 12:10 PM

He broke even at best.

I thought he was hesitant early but went all right after qtr time.
Even dropped into the hole a couple of times.
Agree he looked very cautious.

09-07-2022, 12:11 PM
I’m struggling with what to think and say. It almost feels like the loss we had to have, to lay bare the things we’ve seen wrong in our team this year but have been masked by preoccupation with our bad kicking, or injury woes, or the great ruck dilemmas, or quarters/halves here and there which remind us of our best.

But this has been a truly bad year, with few positives, no really memorable wins and a whole lot of serious question marks about players, selections, and tactical nous.

Nothing has been done to correct the things that led to the GF capitulation. In almost every match including the wins we’ve seen even poor teams able to get a run on and score with ease.

It seemed like in 2016 all those issues of mental fragility or ‘what exactly is wrong with OUR club?’ had been blown away but now they seem sharper than ever. A premiership with one of the all time youngest lists, injured players who missed out hungry to taste that success, a strong vfl side. And yet what has there been to show for all that promise. Our inability to build a dynasty from that is just as embarrassing as all the other things that have been so hard to live through as a Bulldogs fan.

I hope when/if finals become completely out of the question there is a strong methodical review and we don’t think it will all be fixed with a new recruit here or there.

09-07-2022, 12:13 PM
Travelling as a team can be illuminating.

Can expose cracks or factions.

Or can unite.

Some things I noticed last night make me wonder if there's some fractures in the group.

Certainly the way they played it seemed something was off.

09-07-2022, 12:22 PM

no..

09-07-2022, 12:29 PM
Statistically his game looks alright. Watching it he was clearly down, that 1st quarter was dreadful. Maybe a bit reluctant due to another head knock?

Sam Reid stats at a high level pretty much mirror English stats which is fairly underwhelming.

09-07-2022, 12:30 PM
I’m struggling with what to think and say. It almost feels like the loss we had to have, to lay bare the things we’ve seen wrong in our team this year but have been masked by preoccupation with our bad kicking, or injury woes, or the great ruck dilemmas, or quarters/halves here and there which remind us of our best.

But this has been a truly bad year, with few positives, no really memorable wins and a whole lot of serious question marks about players, selections, and tactical nous.

Nothing has been done to correct the things that led to the GF capitulation. In almost every match including the wins we’ve seen even poor teams able to get a run on and score with ease.

It seemed like in 2016 all those issues of mental fragility or ‘what exactly is wrong with OUR club?’ had been blown away but now they seem sharper than ever. A premiership with one of the all time youngest lists, injured players who missed out hungry to taste that success, a strong vfl side. And yet what has there been to show for all that promise. Our inability to build a dynasty from that is just as embarrassing as all the other things that have been so hard to live through as a Bulldogs fan.

I hope when/if finals become completely out of the question there is a strong methodical review and we don’t think it will all be fixed with a new recruit here or there.

Well said.

Why is it that the four times we have made grand finals, we miss out on the finals the following year?

09-07-2022, 12:31 PM
Sam Reid stats at a high level pretty much mirror English stats which is fairly underwhelming.

In one quarter Reid had 8 tackles and our entire side had 8.

Third maybe, it was sirswampthing on the platform formerly known as Elon's egoverse.

10-07-2022, 03:14 AM

Was and will be always a Youtube guy. Yes, the quality isn't where it could be but the range is where it should be.

10-07-2022, 03:19 AM

Cody continuing to play with pain and try and make an impact. West showing tenacity and hunger around the footy.

10-07-2022, 03:26 AM

Ripping post, but the bolded bit I can't agree with.

It's hard to make finals in an eighteen team competition and we got it right in a year when we were as good as anyone when our players were all together and firing in 2016. We haven't had that since, and to my mind last year's effort was an aberration and a brilliant one for the journey given how up against it we were for a massive chunk of the season.

Nothing about our club is an embarrassment. We fight against the odds, get it right sometimes and other times we don't. But the fifteen to twenty years since Rocket took over and to Bevo's tenure have been nothing close to an embarrassment. As supporters that time has delivered amazing value finals wise and a flag to boot.

10-07-2022, 08:27 AM
Ripping post, but the bolded bit I can't agree with.

It's hard to make finals in an eighteen team competition and we got it right in a year when we were as good as anyone when our players were all together and firing in 2016. We haven't had that since, and to my mind last year's effort was an aberration and a brilliant one for the journey given how up against it we were for a massive chunk of the season.

Nothing about our club is an embarrassment. We fight against the odds, get it right sometimes and other times we don't. But the fifteen to twenty years since Rocket took over and to Bevo's tenure have been nothing close to an embarrassment. As supporters that time has delivered amazing value finals wise and a flag to boot.

Yeah, I agree. I think the frustration many of us feel now is because historically we’ve had it so good these past 5-6 years and expectations have lifted.

I really dunk on Bevo too much, he’s just about the most important person to have ever entered the club and deserves more appreciation than I give him. Something is off though and I hope he can fix it.

10-07-2022, 08:45 AM
Yeah, I agree. I think the frustration many of us feel now is because historically we’ve had it so good these past 5-6 years and expectations have lifted.

I really dunk on Bevo too much, he’s just about the most important person to have ever entered the club and deserves more appreciation than I give him. Something is off though and I hope he can fix it.

Totally agree re Bevo.

He is incredible.

He looks tired and angry, the club need to get him the support he needs otherwise he's going to burn out.

You look in the coaches box and it's scary the lack of experience in there.

Feels like he's trying to do everything atm.

10-07-2022, 11:01 AM
Totally agree re Bevo.

He is incredible.

He looks tired and angry, the club need to get him the support he needs otherwise he's going to burn out.

You look in the coaches box and it's scary the lack of experience in there.

Feels like he's trying to do everything atm.

Would love to have Leon back to help.

10-07-2022, 11:16 AM

Why?

10-07-2022, 11:18 AM
Was and will be always a Youtube guy. Yes, the quality isn't where it could be but the range is where it should be.

I’m an NTS Radio guy now. Best app you can get on these stupid phones.

10-07-2022, 11:32 AM

I would prefer Joel Corey and/or Matty Boyd.

10-07-2022, 11:34 AM
I would prefer Rocket but one of them would have to coach on the bench. :)

10-07-2022, 11:47 AM
Why?

Some more experience in coaching.

Are you happy with the assistants?

10-07-2022, 12:04 PM

I'd be ok with Leon back he's a dog's man at heart.

11-07-2022, 06:16 PM

I have no idea if our assistants are good at the their job, but based on the performance of the groups they look after you would have to say that we haven't seen any improvement in each line... so I'm not happy.

Sure Leon is experienced, but is he any good? Was given the keys to a Ferrari, but did he get the best out of that group?

11-07-2022, 06:31 PM
Aflca votes :

Sydney v Western Bulldogs

9 Chad Warner (SYD)
8 Tom Papley (SYD)
6 Sam Reid (SYD)
4 Paddy McCartin (SYD)
2 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
1 Callum Mills (SYD)

LEADERBOARD

84 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
72 Andrew Brayshaw (FRE)
72 Touk Miller (GCFC)
68 Lachie Neale (BL)
67 Christian Petracca (MELB)
65 Patrick Cripps (CARL)
63 Jeremy Cameron (GEEL)
62 Connor Rozee (PORT)
49 Callum Mills (SYD)
46 Charlie Curnow (CARL)
46 James Sicily (HAW)
45 Sam Walsh (CARL)
45 Peter Wright (ESS)
43 Hugh McCluggage (BL)
43 Bailey Smith (WB)
42 Jack Crisp (COLL)
42 Jack Sinclair (STK)
41 Sam Docherty (CARL)
41 Darcy Parish (ESS)

Boots
11-07-2022, 06:32 PM
Sure Leon is experienced, but is he any good? Was given the keys to a Ferrari, but did he get the best out of that group?

Cameron feels like a real enigma to me. I never saw him play but people tell me he played nothing like the thugs at GWS. That whole team is tall, with great leg speed, and by all reports (and all evidence) play to cause bruises. People tell me Leon was silky, not thuggish.

I often wonder whether he was really comfortable at GWS. I think he and the rest of his team built a really solid side with a lot of mental fortitude and a great system. Their massive turnover didn't help, and in the end their mental fortitude faltered at the last second, and they've never really recovered. Was that a flaw, or just bad luck? No idea. Eerily similar problem, to us now (the mental fortitude bit - our system sucks).

Could we use him? Maybe if his systemic thinking is good.

11-07-2022, 06:40 PM
All class as a player. Probably a bit like Whitfield.

12-07-2022, 01:03 PM

He is not.

18-07-2022, 10:22 PM
Is it really up to the coaches to stop that limp dick start to the quarter? That was all sorts of *!*!*!*!ing pathetic and had nothing to do with coaching.

Getting the playing group ready for the game is job number one. Motivated, skilled, fit and healthy. Tactics are job number two

18-07-2022, 11:15 PM
Getting the playing group ready for the game is job number one. Motivated, skilled, fit and healthy. Tactics are job number two

Says you.

19-07-2022, 12:42 AM
Says you.

Bevo obviously sees that as his role if he is coming up with a different theme each week to get the boys going. They bought in to the cape buffalo story this week and used it in their celebrations, brought their A game and got the win, credit to Bevo. But a lacklustre showing against Sydney is at Bevo's feet as well

19-07-2022, 12:48 AM
Bevo obviously sees that as his role if he is coming up with a different theme each week to get the boys going. They bought in to the cape buffalo story this week and used it in their celebrations, brought their A game and got the win, credit to Bevo. But a lacklustre showing against Sydney is at Bevo's feet as well

Does your boss or manager need to rev you up to go to work? I mean, apart from hopefully providing a supporting environment in which you can get the best out of yourself?

Or do you just make sure you rock up ready to go, with some occasional gaps between your best and worst that aren't massive chasms?

The gaps between good and bad we see with our playing group and have seen over the years are between their own ears. Yes footy is different to most other occupations, but at some point rocking up ready to go as an individual and as part of the collective should just be permission to play.

I don't see that with this group. All of the consistently good teams have player ownership of performance at the forefront of their ethos, but we never seem to.

19-07-2022, 01:16 AM
Does your boss or manager need to rev you up to go to work? I mean, apart from hopefully providing a supporting environment in which you can get the best out of yourself?

Or do you just make sure you rock up ready to go, with some occasional gaps between your best and worst that aren't massive chasms?

The gaps between good and bad we see with our playing group and have seen over the years are between their own ears. Yes footy is different to most other occupations, but at some point rocking up ready to go as an individual and as part of the collective should just be permission to play.

I don't see that with this group. All of the consistently good teams have player ownership of performance at the forefront of their ethos, but we never seem to.

Is the problem with specific individuals? I think you're making my point with your group references. You can let Stringer go, watch him be the same guy at Essendon and say "well that's on Jake". But if it's the whole group you're questioning?

19-07-2022, 01:41 AM
Is the problem with specific individuals? I think you're making my point with your group references. You can let Stringer go, watch him be the same guy at Essendon and say "well that's on Jake". But if it's the whole group you're questioning?

I don't know enough about the group, or how they function intimately to say.

But they just seem to have a laconic nature about them visually, to the extent where someone like West comes in and we're shocked by how much he wants to fight for the nut like his life depends on it. And how some of the core midfielders can bring that some weeks but during other weeks it simply isn't there.

It probably drives the MC bonkers as much as it does us supporters, and possibly some of the playing group as well. I just can't put down the massive gap between them being switched on or otherwise to anything other than the players themselves because it doesn't feel logical to do so.

They clearly can do it, they have shown they can. Why wouldn't it just be the standard they bring each week?