First Goal Schache
BOG Schache

07-07-2022, 11:12 PM
Looks like no rain for tomorrow.

08-07-2022, 09:25 AM
Looks like no rain for tomorrow.

Resident weather man Jeemak said mention the same thing in another thread. But if i'm honest he went into a bit more detail.

08-07-2022, 10:13 AM
Resident weather man Jeemak said mention the same thing in another thread. But if i'm honest he went into a bit more detail.

I'm in Sydney.. the weather is fine today... as it was for most of yesterday, but lots of rain this week including 50mm on Wednesday. Not sure how well the SCG drains, but you would expect it will be very heavy under foot.

08-07-2022, 10:14 AM
I'm in Sydney.. the weather is fine today... as it was for most of yesterday, but lots of rain this week including 50mm on Wednesday. Not sure how well the SCG drains, but you would expect it will be very heavy under foot.

I actually just saw your comment and was about to post; hold on a minute our weather man on the ground Mantis has some concerns on how the ground will hold up under foot.

08-07-2022, 01:20 PM
Sydney by 26.
FG Weightman
BOG Libba

Last time we played, we dominated and won by 1-2 goals. I get we made it hard on ourselves with our goal kicking, but I'd imagine we come up against a much better Sydney tonight and until we can defend I find it hard to see us beating quality sides.

08-07-2022, 01:37 PM
Sydney by 26.
FG Weightman
BOG Libba

Last time we played, we dominated and won by 1-2 goals. I get we made it hard on ourselves with our goal kicking, but I'd imagine we come up against a much better Sydney tonight and until we can defend I find it hard to see us beating quality sides.
They are a very inconsistent and middle of the road team whose deficiencies in midfield and clearance play into our strengths. Honestly we should be winning this game by 4+ goals if we are a serious team in 2022.

08-07-2022, 01:40 PM
SCG is a very hard place to win.

Not sure we've got the confidence this season to consistently match the good sides.

Hope I get a surprise.

Swans by 20.
FG Marra
BOG Schache.

08-07-2022, 01:51 PM
Who will ever forget our 2015 win up in Sydney by less than a goal. Fantastic. We'll do it again. Strap yourself in.

Doggies by 5.
FG Naughty
BOG Macrae.

08-07-2022, 02:00 PM
Who will ever forget our 2015 win up in Sydney by less than a goal. Fantastic. We'll do it again. Strap yourself in.

Doggies by 5.
FG Naughty
BOG Macrae.

Probably up there with one of my favourite H&A wins

Dogs by 36
First goal - JUH
BOG - Libba

08-07-2022, 02:31 PM
SCG is a very hard place to win.

Is it though? The Swans are only going at just over 50% since 2019 there. I know they weren't great in 2019 and 2020 but it's not up with some of the other interstate fortresses over the years.

It's certainly no Gabba where the Lions hardly ever lose.*

*Unless it's a final :D

08-07-2022, 02:35 PM
Is it though? The Swans are only going at just over 50% since 2019 there. I know they weren't great in 2019 and 2020 but it's not up with some of the other interstate fortresses over the years.
They beat North at the SCG by 9 points earlier this year, and they would have lost if one of North's youngsters picked a better option kicking into F50 under no pressure in the last minute of the game instead of turning it over and getting torched the other way. That formline is diabolical in light of North's performances this year.

08-07-2022, 03:07 PM
They beat North at the SCG by 9 points earlier this year, and they would have lost if one of North's youngsters picked a better option kicking into F50 under no pressure in the last minute of the game instead of turning it over and getting torched the other way. That formline is diabolical in light of North's performances this year.

Agree I can't believe that the average tipster sees them as firm favourites. Going by a couple of sweeps I am in and the "expert" tipsters. Be about 80% Sydneys way...not that I care...much. Reckon it is 50/50.

08-07-2022, 03:21 PM
They might have nearly lost to North but they’ve also dusted Melbourne at the MCG. On paper I think we’re a better side but this is a very Jekyll and Hyde match up.

08-07-2022, 03:30 PM
They are a very inconsistent and middle of the road team whose deficiencies in midfield and clearance play into our strengths. Honestly we should be winning this game by 4+ goals if we are a serious team in 2022.

I agree, Sydney are a hard side to get a total read on with some of the games they've dropped/almost dropped but yet they also came back to beat Richmond when they looked gone and defeated Melbourne the week after at the MCG.

I suppose my prediction is more a reflection on what I think of us. I don't think we're a serious team, or even close to it, in 2022.

08-07-2022, 03:37 PM
I agree, Sydney are a hard side to get a total read on with some of the games they've dropped/almost dropped but yet they also came back to beat Richmond when they looked gone and defeated Melbourne the week after at the MCG.

I suppose my prediction is more a reflection on what I think of us. I don't think we're a serious team, or even close to it, in 2022.

This is last chance Charlie for me. We have to beat Sydney and St.Kilda to have a chance of the 8. Lose either we are gonski.

08-07-2022, 04:10 PM

Hope you're wrong - I am rating the team based on the words and expectations that the coach and club previously put on the public record, but if we fail to get over the line tonight and subsequently miss out on finals, you will be 100% right in your assessment that we are not a serious club in 2022. And that would be utterly scathing on the coaching group, playing list and the entire senior management of the club.

08-07-2022, 04:40 PM
Hope you're wrong - I am rating the team based on the words and expectations that the coach and club previously put on the public record, but if we fail to get over the line tonight and subsequently miss out on finals, you will be 100% right in your assessment that we are not a serious club in 2022. And that would be utterly scathing on the coaching group, playing list and the entire senior management of the club.

I have no problems with the club putting high expectations on the season. We had just finished a highly successful season and I don't really know how they could have talked down expectations for 2022.
Delivering on those expectations have been problematic so far but the next 3 weeks really tells the story.

I'd really like to get an understanding from the club on why things have't quite worked so far but it's unlikely.

08-07-2022, 04:43 PM

It's certainly no Gabba where the Lions hardly ever lose.*

*Unless it's a final :D

Last 3 of 4 matches at SCG we have won

08-07-2022, 05:12 PM
Last 4 matches at SCG we have won

3 of the last 4. Although 3 of those were 2015, 16 and 17 so not that recent.

08-07-2022, 05:14 PM
3 of the last 4. Although 3 of those were 2015, 16 and 17 so not that recent.

yes 2017 we got done.

08-07-2022, 05:59 PM
Dogs by 33
1st Goal Cody
BOG Bont

08-07-2022, 06:05 PM
When in doubt, back Bevo.

Dogs by 10 points.
BOG: (best on ground not a Sydney conditions report) Libba
First goal: Weightman

08-07-2022, 06:27 PM
Like most on here, I’d have no idea on how we are going to match up, especially in defence. They have some good half forwards in Heeney and Hayward, and if buddy gets isolated, look out.
3 concussed individuals returning has me a little worried, but time will tell on that. If we don’t win midfield we are no chance, and if we just bomb it in, we are no chance.
Our defence still looks shaky as all hell.
With my week, I’m not feeling it right now.

Syd 17 points
1st goal - Weightman
Bog- macrae

08-07-2022, 06:54 PM
Dogs by 27 points
First Goal: Naughton
BOG: Dunkley

08-07-2022, 08:06 PM
SCG is looking pretty good. Looks like it has drained well.

08-07-2022, 08:17 PM
Sydney: Braeden Campbell replaced in the selected side by Ryan Clarke

McComb = Sub

08-07-2022, 08:39 PM

Wouldn't you just rate them on what you see on balance week to week and try and figure out what's going on as the season progresses?

Things go wrong all the time in operationally focused organisations, which football clubs essentially are. I get you have your clear lines on what is in your mind acceptable and what isn't, but man, this hard line stuff puzzles me a bit.

08-07-2022, 08:39 PM
SCG is looking pretty good. Looks like it has drained well.

Someone really smart said it would.

08-07-2022, 08:46 PM
The Swans have been a real Jekyll and Hyde team this year, at their worst pretty ordinary and at their best they can beat anyone.

We have been pretty ordinary and clearly are totally unable to defend the corridor.

If the bad Swans turn up, Swans by 13.

If the good Swans turn they will pump us like they did St Kilda and therefore Swans by 46.

08-07-2022, 08:47 PM
The Swans have been a real Jekyll and Hyde team this year, at their worst pretty ordinary and at their best they can beat anyone.

We have been pretty ordinary and clearly are totally unable to defend the corridor.

If the bad Swans turn up, Swans by 13.

If the good Swans turn they will pump us like they did St Kilda and therefore Swans by 46.

Are you at the game DR?

08-07-2022, 08:50 PM
Lets do this Dogs!

08-07-2022, 08:56 PM
Loving the long sleeve look on Cody

08-07-2022, 08:58 PM
This is going as expected

08-07-2022, 08:59 PM
This is going as expected

I was thinking the same

08-07-2022, 09:00 PM
We are awful defensively!

08-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Treloar at HB… Bevo is taking the piss.

Dreadful with ball in hand, no structure up forward, defensive on the back foot. The sooner this season is over and we address this bullshit the better.

Swans are on and we are miles off the pace

08-07-2022, 09:05 PM
Eeek

Games almost over already. Embarrassing stuff for a team apparently fighting for the top 8.

We honestly look disinterested.

Thanks for showing up lads.

24-11 contested possessions. Jesus, when will we ever learn?

08-07-2022, 09:06 PM
Is that Buddy's first over head mark

08-07-2022, 09:06 PM
I'm sick of this playing group. Just cannot be trusted to show up.

08-07-2022, 09:07 PM
I'm sick of this playing group. Just cannot be trusted to show up.

Time to blow it up.

First hands every time.

Fumble every time.

Wow how bad has the Bonts hands been

What was Garcia doing there. Get the friggin football

What an absolute *!*!*!*!ing embarrassment! This coach neess to be looked at, I've had enough

This is s**t!

08-07-2022, 09:08 PM
Great tap by West. He is showing he has the goods

The body language looks insipid.

See that's exactly what you want from West. Perfectly sums up why he is part of the team these days. Excellent stuff.

Great finish Cody.

08-07-2022, 09:09 PM
Why do we flood our own forward line? It’s some 4d chess stuff I haven’t worked out right?

Wow how bad has the Bonts hands been To be honest he doesn't look interested

Vital goal Cody! Gets our first.

Swans are getting the run of things, lets see if we can settle this down.
MJP thread of midfield set-up after a run of goals comes into play.

What was Garcia doing there. Get the friggin football

That was really really bad.

08-07-2022, 09:10 PM
See that's exactly what you want from West. Perfectly sums up why he is part of the team these days. Excellent stuff.

Great finish Cody.

Yep good stuff from Westy. Clever.

Are theplayers confused. We flood our forward line and not the back line

Amartey lol.

Keath looks like he should retire

08-07-2022, 09:11 PM
5 dogs couldn’t get a fist on that lol

That is the most obvious example of how shit our tall defenders are at the moment. Disgraceful, one in five took the grab.

Keath is making Amartey look like Carey.

08-07-2022, 09:13 PM
Why do we flood our own forward line? It’s some 4d chess stuff I haven’t worked out right?

Has been like that all season.

08-07-2022, 09:13 PM
People harp on Gardner as being the problem in defence but Keath is every bit as bad this season and gets to slide.

08-07-2022, 09:14 PM
It looks like all our players are coming back from concussion.

08-07-2022, 09:14 PM
People harp on Gardner as being the problem in defence but Keath is every bit as bad this season and gets to slide.

Hence why we need 2-3 quality KPD for next year ;)

08-07-2022, 09:15 PM
10 scoring shots from 14 I50's. Gross.

Cody slips and gets smashed in the head....no free kick.

Joke.

Hence why we need 2-3 quality KPD for next year ;)

But I'm talking about how he gets to escape criticism while Gardner is apparently just the worst Bulldog to ever play defence.

08-07-2022, 09:17 PM
10 scoring shots from 14 I50's. Gross.

I said pre game until we can defend we won't be beating any half decent sides.

The list management of our back half is diabolical

08-07-2022, 09:18 PM
Cody slips and gets smashed in the head....no free kick.

Joke.

He's the only player in the league who plays for free kicks. Haven't you been following the football media.

08-07-2022, 09:18 PM
On cue.

08-07-2022, 09:19 PM
English getting smashed

Our players/ leaders in the centre are centrally to blame for this shit.

Stand up, you supposed A Graders.

Can someone from the box get to Bunnings and buy some selleys to fill the gaps in our defence.

Whoever thought it was a good idea to play Hannan & Treloar in defence shouldn’t be in a job at the club on Monday.

We are just no good. Opposition teams are told to move it quick as backs can't defend.

Getting absolutely smashed in clearances and can’t defend an inside 50m to save ourselves. The worst footy I have seen in a long time. Disgraceful and that is being kind.

08-07-2022, 09:21 PM
Worst performance this year…by far.

Whoever thought it was a good idea to play Hannan & Treloar in defence shouldn’t be in a job at the club on Monday.

To be fair, we could have anyone down there at the moment and it ain’t going to really matter. We are being smashed in clearances and our backline is under constant pressure. Horrendous work by our midfield.

Hopefully we can keep it under 100

08-07-2022, 09:22 PM
I feel we should talk Bevo into falling on his sword at the end of the season, he has clearly lost the players and it's incredibly obvious that he's out of tricks.

08-07-2022, 09:23 PM
Syd should be on 10-11 goals.

English, Hannan and Richards are showing no reason why they should be playing.

15 scoring shots in a quarter.

What the actual….

Every 50/50. Every clearance. We are just losing. Incredible.

*!*!*!*! this.

Why wouldn't you try and hold it in and force a *!*!*!*!ing stoppage you dickheads.

You got it to the wing and you think the best option is to keep it moving. *!*!*!*! me drunk.

Hannan is our best defender.

they are kicking it to whoever plays on Keath

I feel we should talk Bevo into falling on his sword at the end of the season, he has clearly lost the players and it's incredibly obvious that he's out of tricks.

What’s clarko up to? I think he could do wonders with our list.

08-07-2022, 09:24 PM

They won't even question anythinghe does, he'll employ another of his mates to help out coaching and it'll all be rosey.

At least we don’t have a long injury list :rolleyes:

Bont is a witches hat. Unbelievable.

08-07-2022, 09:25 PM
I literally despise this playing group sometimes.

Starting from the captain all the way down. They can't help themselves.

It's just the same shit over and again. Just show up, please for the love of *!*!*!*!. We all work really hard and look forward to watching the game on the weekend. Just show up.

Hard to imagine with the season on the line we dish this up

Is that the worst quarter under Bevo ever?

We could easily be 10 goals down.

08-07-2022, 09:26 PM
You can’t tell me that the Bont is even 50% fit he has had a shocker snd just can’t Run, tackle or get a kick. Send him forward snd but West in the guts

08-07-2022, 09:26 PM
This is terrible. Making the Swans look like a very good team

08-07-2022, 09:27 PM
What’s clarko up to? I think he could do wonders with our list.
And if our prima Donna midfield didn’t adhere to his orders, they’d be in the VFL.

Worst quarter of Bonts career

Bont is a witches hat. Unbelievable.

2 disposals!

Need to get into it as does Libba who has 4 disposals.

I literally despise this playing group sometimes.

Starting from the captain all the way down. They can't help themselves.

It's just the same shit over and again. Just show up, please for the love of *!*!*!*!. We all work really hard and look forward to watching the game on the weekend. Just show up.

We need to make changes next season, being in a different attitude

22 inside 50s in one quarter. No backline can defend that. Horrendous.

08-07-2022, 09:28 PM
The season is clearly done after this week, book Bont in for surgery so that he can heal up for next season. If Bont can't move then he's a liability.

-20 contested ball
-6 tackles

Disgusting workrate for a midfield group with so much talent. Actually shameful.

Boys need to respond in a big way. Let’s see what they are made of.

*!*!*!*! it

08-07-2022, 09:29 PM
22 inside 50s in one quarter. No backline can defend that. Horrendous.
Always going to happen on a small ground when your smashed in the centre.

There is no way they can sign Keath to another contract next year.

Funniest stat. 22 v 10 inside 50s. Yet they are still win in the intercept stats! Crazy.

Our ruckman shouldn’t be getting off scott free… English looks scared out there.

-20 contested ball
-6 tackles

Disgusting workrate for a midfield group with so much talent. Actually shameful.

It beggars belief they would bring that to the table.

Disgusting performance.

08-07-2022, 09:30 PM
Our ruckman shouldn’t be getting off scott free… English looks scared out there.

I can afford him some time to get back into things after a concussion, but now he's had some body and time on the ground he needs to lift.

Noble should be available next week.

It really is all or nothing with our mids. I can cope with losing if we are competitive but this is just embarrassing. Gotta tighten things up and not play like negligent millionaires.

The only way from here is up. We have hit rock bottom, I'm afraid. If Stdney had kicked straight they'd be ten goals up. Leaders? Do we have any? The only hope is that it's quarter time. The gane is not over yet.

08-07-2022, 09:31 PM
Sydney bouncing back like good sides do, us well I think that GF has destroyed this group for good.

08-07-2022, 09:31 PM
We need to stop kicking to stationary targets. Get on your bike boys.

08-07-2022, 09:32 PM
There is no way they can sign Keath to another contract next year.

He's already triggered a contract extension.

08-07-2022, 09:33 PM
This is under VFL standard

08-07-2022, 09:34 PM
Bedenbo

Is it bad I want us to lose by 100? Maybe it'll force some action.

I'm watching the same game you are mate.

Tackle you pricks!

Yep, leaving one on three seems like a great idea.

Missing the organisation Duryea and Wood brought to the team.

08-07-2022, 09:35 PM
Is it bad I want us to lose by 100? Maybe it'll force some action.

You are optimistic.

We are under pressure when we have it all the time. They are walking it the Swans.

And they want 50k to sign up for this crap.

Wow three free cheating forward and they still got it there.

Without frees we'd have no avenue to goal.

08-07-2022, 09:36 PM
Can the AFL please putus at 4.40 on a Sunday so not everyone watches. This is embarrassing.

08-07-2022, 09:37 PM
Is it bad I want us to lose by 100?
I wonder if that will finally get our president out of witness protection

08-07-2022, 09:37 PM
I still think I prefer Sweet at clearances

08-07-2022, 09:38 PM
Who is on Papley

08-07-2022, 09:38 PM
And for the record, I'm sick of the *!*!*!*!ing sub-standard TV viewing at the SCG.

Absolutely impossible to get a sense of space and time on screen due to how low the perspective is from. Get better AFL, this is shit.

08-07-2022, 09:39 PM
Did our players all have their nails done before the game ? Reason for standing back and no tackling with intent

08-07-2022, 09:39 PM
I still think I prefer Sweet at clearances

At least he wouldn't get pushed around like a paper daisy like English is right now

08-07-2022, 09:42 PM
Flea needs a left foot there

08-07-2022, 09:43 PM
Can Schache get his knob out of 1st gear ?

08-07-2022, 09:43 PM
English getting beaten by Reid in the ruck. Lovely.

08-07-2022, 09:44 PM
Four gettable misses.

08-07-2022, 09:45 PM
Hanan. Deplorable so far.

Why did we rush Hannan back?

He's lucky to even be on the list.

Mitch Hannan ladies and gentlemen

08-07-2022, 09:46 PM
Flea needs a left foot there

Sad to say, but not many modern AFL footballers have a wrong foot. How often to even the elite choose to go the check side or inside out rather than use their wrong foot.

08-07-2022, 09:47 PM
Are we still putting shit on Hannan or is he going OK?

08-07-2022, 09:48 PM
Great finish Cody. Great set up and run from defence. Probably the best ball movement from us.

08-07-2022, 09:48 PM
We are back!

Am I noticing a deeper set zone than normal? We appear to be playing on the counter.

08-07-2022, 09:49 PM
Better by Hanan. He is much better forward of the ball. Whoever thought he was a back has lost the plot.

We have got back into it this quarter. Much better.

Jesus Christ Josh.

08-07-2022, 09:50 PM
Shaq can’t even kick simple goals which used to be his strength. Missed easy ones last week too.

08-07-2022, 09:50 PM
Jesus Christ Josh.

Just horrendous. Needed that so badly. He is the most frustrating footballer to watch.

08-07-2022, 09:51 PM
Can we *!*!*!*! Shaq off already. What's the point in him playing.

Shaq is stamping his own papers

It goes without saying but we need the next goal

*!*!*!*! this

08-07-2022, 09:54 PM
Our players look like they’re running on trampolines

Just when you think it can’t get any worse. It does. It’s a comedy.

Aaron Naughton you were disgraceful then. Nothing else but disgraceful.

Get your shit together, get in the game.

Can Naughton not leave the goal square please?

Now I know why we don’t play a deep zone. Naughton up the ground is a scary prospect.

08-07-2022, 09:55 PM
How good is Cody Weightman.

08-07-2022, 09:55 PM
The local u12's could not stuff some of these opportunities up as badly as our players tonight.

08-07-2022, 09:57 PM
Apparently Bontempelli's playing.......

I know Bont just kicked that but his effort a second or two before that was putrid.

Somehow…Palapatine has returned.

I mean we are still in it.

Captain’s goal. The BONT!

Aaron Naughton you were disgraceful then. Nothing else but disgraceful.

Get your shit together, get in the game.

To be fair, that passage of play was the only time I've shown any emotion here sitting on the couch.

08-07-2022, 10:00 PM
McComb?

Scott gone.

08-07-2022, 10:01 PM
Pathetic by Gardner.

08-07-2022, 10:02 PM
We had so many chances to close that to three goals. We waste so many chances.

When we dominate we can’t score. When the opposition get on top we leak like a sieve.

Late goal a killer. Takes the gloss off a good fight back

McComb?

Scott gone.

Perfect, we need someone who brings so much possession quality into the team

08-07-2022, 10:03 PM
There is literally no on field leadership. Bont isn't up to it as captain, he's better as a lead by example player who can play a massive role, but I don't think he's actually that footy smart and seems he isn't able to tell people what to do.

And that's OK, but we need to find someone who can. There's been too many examples under his leadership of this shit happening and it can't continue.

08-07-2022, 10:03 PM
Pathetic by Gardner.

Cardinal sin as a backman - keep your bloody feet. Not a good look flopping around on the ground like a hooked fish.

Better effort by the boys. Hope Naughton is ok.

08-07-2022, 10:04 PM
Late goal a killer. Takes the gloss off a good fight back

It happens far too often. We allow goals against the trend of the game. However, the free kick against Dunkley was harsh. But how did the ball get down there? A horrendous decision and skill execution from Garica when we are streaming into goal.

08-07-2022, 10:04 PM
Half time discussion topic (I’m in here now I might as well start something).

What the *!*!*!*! is wrong with the Bont?? Can’t just be injuries, he is a different player this season.

08-07-2022, 10:05 PM
Half time discussion topic (I’m in here now I might as well start something).

What the *!*!*!*! is wrong with the Bont?? Can’t just be injuries, he is a different player this season.

Love him but he's been garbage this season. His body language is shit too.

08-07-2022, 10:05 PM
That late goal really hurt, although it was ably abetted by a very dodgy htb decision against Dunkley.

08-07-2022, 10:06 PM
I reckon Bont is injured - he is lumbering, guessing his hip.

08-07-2022, 10:06 PM
Does anyone think Tim is hesitant in the ruck?

08-07-2022, 10:07 PM
People rip on the coaching. It just doesn't stack up because every single time after a start like that the coaches get to the players and the players tighten up.

It's up to the players to realise that you can actually tighten up after one to three goals that come from a trend on the ground. It's solely on them to do that in a game of four quarters of twenty minutes plus time on, where you don't get to have your hand held to outline what needs to be done.

Enough is enough, we need to either support Bont with better leaders or replace him as captain.

Love him but he's been garbage this season. His body language is shit too.
6 disposals for a half is so not him.

I get he’s playing forward a bit but he’s having 0 impact. He’s our best player it’s an alarming drop off.

He has had 4 tackles and 5 clearances so the grunt work is there.

Love him but he's been garbage this season. His body language is shit too. He was supposed to have the op on his ankle after he injured it first round but chose not to. He is paying for it now. His shoulder also needs an op as well by all accounts. Best to put him out as soon as possible.

Scott with second concussion this year

08-07-2022, 10:09 PM
Scott with second concussion this year

Not good and it was very late and dirty hit.

That late goal really hurt, although it was ably abetted by a very dodgy htb decision against Dunkley.

Prior Opp out the door

Dunkley just needed to let the ball go and play the roulette game as his other arm was pinned.

He wouldn't have been pinged and we would have been able to roll the dice on whether Sydney used it well or otherwise.

Instead he held onto it and was penalised, appropriately.

Does anyone think Tim is hesitant in the ruck?

Started working his way back in but yes, looksed soft as butter early on.

08-07-2022, 10:10 PM
People rip on the coaching. It just doesn't stack up because every single time after a start like that the coaches get to the players and the players tighten up.

It's up to the players to realise that you can actually tighten up after one to three goals that come from a trend on the ground. It's solely on them to do that in a game of four quarters of twenty minutes plus time on, where you don't get to have your hand held to outline what needs to be done.

Enough is enough, we need to either support Bont with better leaders or replace him as captain.

I get it, but the flip side is, why can't the coaching group get them mentally and physically ready at the start?

It's not like we come barnstorming home anyway, we stopped the bleeding but that was about it.

This coaching group has a LOT to answer for.

There is literally no on field leadership. Bont isn't up to it as captain, he's better as a lead by example player who can play a massive role, but I don't think he's actually that footy smart and seems he isn't able to tell people what to do.

And that's OK, but we need to find someone who can. There's been too many examples under his leadership of this shit happening and it can't continue.

I agree, but Wallis would be the only choice and he’s not best 22

I just don’t think many sides in the AFL would be to worried with a side that plays Hannan and Trelor in the back six.

Not good and it was very late and dirty hit.

Will the player be reported for that? It was a high hit and he is concussed

What the hell was Naughton doing when the free was paid up the ground.

Naughton does not look good roaming up the ground, and confirms to me he should be in the goal square all the time.

I’ll play along Jee. I think you might be onto something; who would be your choice if not him? That exercise for me really made me realise the lack of natural leaders in the side. Not nice professional types off field we’ve got that in spades.

I just don’t see any alternative.

08-07-2022, 10:11 PM
I get it, but the flip side is, why can't the coaching group get them mentally and physically ready at the start?

It's not like we come barnstorming home anyway, we stopped the bleeding but that was about it.

The coaching group reeks inexperience.

08-07-2022, 10:12 PM
He was supposed to have the op on his ankle after he injured it first round but chose not to. He is paying for it now. His shoulder also needs an op as well by all accounts. Best to put him out as soon as possible.

If he’s out there he’s right to go, I’m not sure the injury excuse stacks up for me.

He could’ve rested for 10 weeks by now.

08-07-2022, 10:12 PM
I reckon Bont is injured - he is lumbering, guessing his hip.

I hope so, because his first quarter was as bad I've seen from him. I mean that was Rohde era level stuff in all its horrid pomp from the whole team in that first term. And our skipper was taking the lead role in that procession. Thank goodness the whole team showed a lot more effort and application, if not consistent execution in the 2nd.

Funny, a loss from here, will be season ending, I almost have no doubt about that, but......a win from here, would be so much of a lift.
C'mon Dogs!!! Its time to stand up.

08-07-2022, 10:13 PM
That goal on the half time siren is so very Bulldogs. Just crushing. This next half will determine our season. Simple as that. What are these players made of? It's about character and desire.

08-07-2022, 10:14 PM
So glad the cricket is on

08-07-2022, 10:14 PM
I hope so, because his first quarter was as bad I've seen from him. I mean that was Rohde era level stuff in all its horrid pomp from the whole team in that first term. And our skipper was taking the lead role in that procession. Thank goodness the whole team showed a lot more effort and application, if not consistent execution in the 2nd.

Funny, a loss from here, will be season ending, I almost have no doubt about that, but......a win from here, would be so much of a lift.
C'mon Dogs!!! Its time to stand up.

We got this YHF.

I sense a Libba inspired fight back!

08-07-2022, 10:15 PM

And who's mate with no experience gets a senior coaching gig? Get rid of them all.

08-07-2022, 10:15 PM

We replaced two people who had been at the club for a decade plus with two people on their L Plates. We have lost in recent years Gia, King and Hanson who are all well regarded and replaces them with not much.

08-07-2022, 10:16 PM
So glad the cricket is on

Smith with a century

08-07-2022, 10:16 PM
Started working his way back in but yes, looksed soft as butter early on.

With no real opposition ruckman he needs to take control in the 2nd half.

08-07-2022, 10:17 PM
Bont has had 24 pressure acts…that’s a lot for a full game.

For comparison Macare has had 9.

08-07-2022, 10:17 PM
I agree, but Wallis would be the only choice and he’s not best 22 I still think Dunks would have been a good leader but he has to live with his decision of trying to leave. In saying that he will end up leaving and be in the leadership at another club.

08-07-2022, 10:18 PM
We replaced two people who had been at the club for a decade plus with two people on their L Plates. We have lost in recent years Gia, King and Hanson who are all well regarded and replaces them with not much.

The players must take responsibility, and do something about winning.

08-07-2022, 10:18 PM
Compare our coaching depth to Melbourne.

Bevo
Smith
Sphanger
Webb
Maddock
Varcoe

Demons

Goodwin
Yze
Richardson
Chaplin
Williams

08-07-2022, 10:19 PM

It's a new and inexperienced coaching group, but, it's not the first coaching group to experience this shit from this playing group which is why I think the clear common denominator is the playing group itself.

Every successful side over the last ten years has talked of the love and respect, and commitment the playing group has had for itself outside of the coaching group (including us in 2016) and demonstrated that on the field when it counted.

Finals, not finals, anything in between.

I get instructions of what to do before I start a project at work. How it kicks off is pretty much up to me and dependent on how I behave when I start it. A game of footy is no different than a project. In fact, footy's great because there's a weekly start and finish.

The players need to motivate themselves to show up and do their part of the job, the coaches need to coach.

08-07-2022, 10:20 PM
We got this YHF.

I sense a Libba inspired fight back!

And Bont to play FF. He kicks three goals we win.

Webb from WA has a big reputation so no probs there and had lots of experience in the WAFL coaching. But to get your mates in who have never coached before ie:Sphanger I disagree with.

The players must take responsibility, and do something about winning.

Agree. 100%. But I do think the players don’t have the level of support that a team contending and played in a Grand Final deserve. We should be a destination for coaches wanting to prove themselves too. Why are we not?

The one thing, that really just grinds my gears, is how often our mids just leave a whole side of a contest, and next layer outside completely unprotected. So many times we win the clearance and when it spills outside the first layer at the contest, its only Swan's players there. At some stage, especially when you've...say I don't know given up 3 goals in a heartbeat....why wouldn't at least one of our mids have some accountability, pride and respect to defend at the stoppage.

08-07-2022, 10:21 PM
And Bont to play FF. He kicks three goals we win.
Now we are talking !

08-07-2022, 10:22 PM
Treloar on Heeney lol.

Masterminds.

The Covid is telling me it’s time for bed after that insipid defensive effort.

Is it really up to the coaches to stop that limp dick start to the quarter? That was all sorts of *!*!*!*!ing pathetic and had nothing to do with coaching.

08-07-2022, 10:23 PM
What we would do right now to get Dale Morris type in our backline. What a weak and insipid effort from our back six.

Wow... that's unacceptable defense

https://media.giphy.com/media/GIvajz0TlE316/giphy.gif

Wow... that's unacceptable defense

How many times have we said that in the last five quarters?

08-07-2022, 10:24 PM

Bevo
Smith
Sphanger
Webb
Maddock
Varcoe

Demons

Goodwin
Yze
Richardson
Chaplin
Williams

That says a lot

How can we seriously play Treloar on Heeney with a straight face?

Treloar on Heeney lol.

Masterminds.

Not the coaches fault. :D

08-07-2022, 10:25 PM
Worrying about Treloar letting that through is like worrying about not having a safety vest after a workplace accident.

It happens up stream.

08-07-2022, 10:27 PM
How many times have we said that in the last five quarters?

Five quarters? Try since the bye or round 1.

08-07-2022, 10:27 PM
Treloar is lost at sea. Spectator.

08-07-2022, 10:29 PM

Never played defence so let's start in a crunch game.

In Bevo we trust

08-07-2022, 10:30 PM
Let’s hope Dunks doesn’t mention his plan when he doesn’t play where he wants.

08-07-2022, 10:30 PM
Never played defence so let's start in a crunch game.

In Bevo we trust

It is hard to believe.

08-07-2022, 10:32 PM
Probably best it happened like this anyway. We weren't good enough and we can go hard on the list.

Get *!*!*!*!ed

OK, why the heck would Macrae take ages to then kick 40 metres down field to their best intercept in P MCCartin? Unbelievable..

08-07-2022, 10:33 PM
Give Noble a call

This is a shambles

It is hard to believe.
If you think about the team as a series of positions rather than players it might make more sense or have more logic despite the apparent idiocy.

Hannan is playing the O’Brien third tall role.

Treloar I assume the CD run off half back.

Not saying it’s right but that’s the logic I assume.

We have done incredibly dumb footballers… like who thinks it’s a good idea to kick the ball 5 metres?

Probably best it happened like this anyway. We weren't good enough and we can go hard on the list.

I have no confidence the club will make the hard calls though.

OK, why the heck would Macrae take ages to then kick 40 metres down field to their best intercept in P MCCartin? Unbelievable..

Because he’s a star padder.

08-07-2022, 10:34 PM
We have done incredibly dumb footballers… like who thinks it’s a good idea to kick the ball 5 metres?

You've gotta laugh.

Like seriously, laugh, otherwise you'll condemn yourself to eternal suffering watching this team.

08-07-2022, 10:34 PM

Bevo
Smith
Sphanger
Webb
Maddock
Varcoe

Demons

Goodwin
Yze
Richardson
Chaplin
Williams

I think you are missing Greg Stafford.

08-07-2022, 10:35 PM
I hope Bevo starts his post-match presser with an apology to everyone who wasted their herd earned on a member's ticket this year.

08-07-2022, 10:35 PM
Why are they playing Lachie. It is obvious he is not switched on.

08-07-2022, 10:36 PM
*!*!*!*! this