02-08-2022, 10:19 AM
Dogs by 24
First Goal Naughton
BOG: Macrae

02-08-2022, 12:21 PM
Never a truer statement Easty.
Really hoping we are switched on.

Yep we need to be right on from the start and continue it for the whole match.

02-08-2022, 09:42 PM
WB by 30
First goal Marra
BOG Bont

05-08-2022, 02:51 PM
Does anyone think Aish will be used in a tagging role on Bontempelli tomorrow?

05-08-2022, 02:59 PM
Good luck if that is the way they see it G. Surely Bont would just take him deep forward and get everyone else outside 50 and destroy him in the air. A better option would probably be Banfield but not sure he could compete when isolated either.

05-08-2022, 03:16 PM

Don’t threaten me with a good time G.

05-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Good luck if that is the way they see it G. Surely Bont would just take him deep forward and get everyone else outside 50 and destroy him in the air. A better option would probably be Banfield but not sure he could compete when isolated either.

Surely if Bont goes forward Aish would hand him over to a backman?

And Banfield hasn't been selected so that theory isn't going to get a run either.

05-08-2022, 03:21 PM

I think he tags Smith.

They will let Brodie go head to head with Dunks and Bont/Brayshaw will (I suspect) be allowed to play their own games.

I would assign a forward to Young and try to find a way to prevent Cox playing purely as an interceptor...he MUST be made to be accountable.

Freo's strength is midfield back. Schultz is a challenging match-up ahead of the ball.

05-08-2022, 03:29 PM
We should beat Freo. I just don’t think they’re very good, we’re not great either, but at home, yep.

Dogs by 38
First goal Marra
BOG Libba

05-08-2022, 03:43 PM
I’m pretty confident here. Freo have been playing very conservatively since getting into a firefight with Port and I just don’t think they have the weapons to challenge our weaknesses. Hopefully we are able to grind through their defence to score, because if we can get to around 80 points I don’t see Freo as capable of anything more than that.

Dogs by 20
BOG Bont
First Goal Marra

05-08-2022, 04:12 PM

As Mantis pointed out it will be a different player when Bont is up forward.
MJP suggested Aish might mark Smith and that probably is a better match-up for them.

05-08-2022, 04:33 PM
I think he tags Smith.

They will let Brodie go head to head with Dunks and Bont/Brayshaw will (I suspect) be allowed to play their own games.

I would assign a forward to Young and try to find a way to prevent Cox playing purely as an interceptor...he MUST be made to be accountable.

Freo's strength is midfield back. Schultz is a challenging match-up ahead of the ball.

Who would be the player you would send to Young? Agree he needs to be closely watched.

Schultz is a robust type player who could give us trouble... is Richards the likely match-up there or maybe Cordy if Logue plays back?

05-08-2022, 04:44 PM
Aish tagged Oliver last week so if they are focusing on the opposition's best clearance player then Libba could be the target this week?

05-08-2022, 05:02 PM
I think he tags Smith.

I reckon he might tag Jacko or Libba.

05-08-2022, 05:03 PM
Freo are an awful side.

Big win in the offing.

We must put the foot down when we are 50 up at 3/4 time.

Dogs by 65
FG The one they call McNeil
BOG Naughton.

06-08-2022, 04:03 PM
Retro round - Cody ready

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZc4aGLacAIfhpz?format=jpg&name=medium

06-08-2022, 04:17 PM
Confession time, I have nerves about tonight. It's a huge game for us and we are playing well.
Does it mean it will all click for us?

How are you feeling about the game against Fremantle?

06-08-2022, 04:20 PM
Confession time, I have nerves about tonight. It's a huge game for us and we are playing well.

Sort of confident but also nervous

06-08-2022, 04:27 PM

Positive but then I always do. Honestly be surprised if Freo wins though.

06-08-2022, 04:33 PM

Now confident.

I’m working on the theory the VFL team played well which normally bodes well for the seniors.

06-08-2022, 04:36 PM
Dogs by 37 points
First Goal: Naughton
BOG: Libba

06-08-2022, 04:55 PM
How I envy those who are so confident about tonight.

I tried divining the result by reading tea leaves, but its so difficult with these bloody teabags.

Never mind, here we go.

Dogs by 15 (won't do our percentage much good, but a win is a win).
BOG. Bazlenka
FG: Marra

06-08-2022, 05:28 PM
Darcy warming up with the defenders as expected.

06-08-2022, 05:29 PM

I'm overly confident. That's usually a bad sign.

06-08-2022, 05:50 PM
Lose the attitude Marra and chase instead of sooking that a kick didn't find you. Good grief.

Mutz
06-08-2022, 05:51 PM
Fast game, should be to our advantage but we're not quite in sync.

06-08-2022, 05:55 PM
You wouldn’t know our season is on the line, no pressure at all.

Mutz
06-08-2022, 06:02 PM
That's what I wanted to see from VDM, staying down and crumbing for goals.

06-08-2022, 06:04 PM
How's that not a high fend off FFS.

06-08-2022, 06:05 PM
We used to tackle. Somethings just not right

06-08-2022, 06:05 PM
Not sure this was the right game for Darcy.

06-08-2022, 06:06 PM
We literally can't help ourselves.

Pisses me off so much. Not one, but two!

06-08-2022, 06:07 PM
I find Macrae more frustrating to watch by the week.

06-08-2022, 06:07 PM
We can’t defend the turnover to save ourselves. Every single week. It is just far too easy. How we concede five goals on the balance of that match play is mind boggling.

06-08-2022, 06:08 PM
Some really average play by us that quarter. Macrae’s kick in the forward 50 stands out.

06-08-2022, 06:08 PM
What’s up with Macrae? His form is terrible and his body language is worse.

Clear why he hasn’t been in the leadership group previously and not sure he should keep his role as VC.

06-08-2022, 06:09 PM
Surely that last goal was a push in the back?

Looking shaky. But… forward movement has been decent. A few marks in F50. This qtr it’ll turn our way.

06-08-2022, 06:11 PM
We need to show last night's magpie game to the players, they might understand pressure after that.

06-08-2022, 06:12 PM
We literally can't help ourselves.

Pisses me off so much. Not one, but two!

Same here. Unforgivable and it has happened so many times this year. I blame Williams for the Frederick goal. Williams was standing alone, watching Frederick standing alone, in line with the goals, 10 metres away from him. He arrives to spoil but is short half a metre. Just plain dumb. Man up for Chrissakes !!!

06-08-2022, 06:16 PM
Keath agile as always

06-08-2022, 06:17 PM
Keath agile as always

How could Ed miss a 20m pass by 5m?

06-08-2022, 06:19 PM
What’s up with Macrae? His form is terrible and his body language is worse.

Clear why he hasn’t been in the leadership group previously and not sure he should keep his role as VC.

I hate to cast this speculation but is the security of a 5 year deal just lessened his hunger for the football?

Horrific defending. We can’t defend there slow chip boring play.

Bruce looks so far off it.

06-08-2022, 06:20 PM
How could Ed miss a 20m pass by 5m?

Don’t underestimate how tough that it is to do.

Boots
06-08-2022, 06:20 PM
Jeez we are turning it over a lot

Boots
06-08-2022, 06:23 PM
Tantalising signs of forward line chemistry though

06-08-2022, 06:26 PM
Where was the free?

Mutz
06-08-2022, 06:26 PM
Their boring chip game is exposing our inability to man up in d50.

06-08-2022, 06:28 PM
Take Bont off.

The media wondered why we dropped keath.

Keath has now become Cordy. Maning space, cant take a grab, cant defend.

Boots
They’re covering out handball exits really well. They know we love to flick it around when we’re threatened with a tackle, so they know they don’t have to actually tackle, just threaten, and be ready when we flinch.

also woah Bont is having a SHOCKER

06-08-2022, 06:29 PM
Lazy.

Every time we allow an uncontested game we get smashed, picked apart.

Wish they'd stop taking the piss and wasting everyone's time.

06-08-2022, 06:29 PM
Naughton has no idea as a forward.

If he ain’t pack marking, he has no forward craft.

Compared to Ugle-Hagan chalk and cheese

06-08-2022, 06:30 PM
Diabolical.

Totally out coached too.

Dunkley is our best mid and he's leaving.

7.1 from set shots and they are kicking them from everywhere. Incredible.

06-08-2022, 06:31 PM
Sign Lobb now

06-08-2022, 06:32 PM
Diabolical.

Totally out coached too.

Players not helping the cause.

06-08-2022, 06:33 PM
Macrae is having a mare

06-08-2022, 06:35 PM
This is terrible. We are just letting them control the tempo

06-08-2022, 06:36 PM
I love Bont but he's killing me.

Macrae going ok I reckon.

06-08-2022, 06:37 PM
The standing off the mark is working well.

06-08-2022, 06:38 PM
This is a nightmare

Can we also just play Treloar in his best *!*!*!*!ing position!?

This is one of the laziest and selfish performances I have seen from our players.

Everyone wants to be the guy to kick it, nobody wants to defend.

Jesus it pisses me off.

06-08-2022, 06:39 PM
Lets man space more.

06-08-2022, 06:40 PM
The commentators have money on Freo for sure.

06-08-2022, 06:42 PM
There was a glimmer just before the half. Intensity lifted.

The commentators have money on Freo for sure.

Did you see their odds? High $2’s

Absolute disgraceful half of football. On our home deck. In front of our very patient fans. No intensity. Can’t defend a basic chip game. Melbourne didn’t let them move the ball last week on a bigger ground. Horrendous.

Finally 1 min before HT we start to put pressure on them. A little bit too late fellas

06-08-2022, 06:43 PM
It's so typical of this playing group.

Important game....OK, let's just let them control the football and see how that works out for us.

There's just no in-game adjustment. Our leaders are pathetic.

06-08-2022, 06:44 PM
I reckon we rarely flick the switch on pressure if we don’t start well. Not good signs.

06-08-2022, 06:44 PM
Absolute disgraceful half of football. On our home deck. In front of our very patient fans. No intensity. Can’t defend a basic chip game. Melbourne didn’t let them move the ball last week on a bigger ground. Horrendous.

Yep sums it up unfortunately. What puzzles me is the tactics-do we not change the way we play during a game when clearly what we are doing ain’t working?

06-08-2022, 06:45 PM

Important game....OK, let's just let them control the football and see how that works out for us.

Why can't the coaching group adapt to the plan Freo have brought with the chip/possession?

Look, the players have been woeful but the coaching group don't escape criticism for mine

06-08-2022, 06:45 PM
Watching them hit repeated 15 metre passes while we zone off for the long kick - how dumb are we? It improved in the last five minutes but surely it didn't take that long for our senior players to figure it out and adjust on field.

Incredibly poor performance so far.

Thank god for those Sam Darcy intercepts for giving me strength.

06-08-2022, 06:47 PM
Some positive signs from VDM and Darcy. Dunks was great.

Gee Bruce has to go. Just nothing at the moment. Go to the VFL and find some form. Have a big preseason and come back next year

06-08-2022, 06:48 PM
Fremantle +44 uncontested marks.

06-08-2022, 06:48 PM
The standing off the mark is working well. Why do we do it?

06-08-2022, 06:50 PM
We really are a hard team to invest time, effort and money in to.. we play like we don’t give a *!*!*!*!.

Just no want or appetite to defend… it’s embarrassing.

06-08-2022, 06:51 PM
Why can't the coaching group adapt to the plan Freo have brought with the chip/possession?

Look, the players have been woeful but the coaching group don't escape criticism for mine

I don't know whether the coaches did or didn't do anything, but I'm going to assume that if it's obvious to everyone watching the game it's probably the former.

The players have a history of not taking initiative, bringing conditional effort and being lazy without the football so I just assume it's largely a player issue. But you might be right, I don't know.

89 v 130 kicks. When we are winning both clearances and contested possession easily. We simply can’t force a turnover when they get the ball. Need a massive adjustment at HT.

Lobb’s trade value increasing. Based upon tonight he’d be a good addition.

06-08-2022, 06:52 PM
Lets see if Bevo can do what Chris Scott did last week and reset us. First 10 minutes of the 3rd quarter should tell the story if this group has another level it can reach today.

The good news might be that our prime movers in Bontempelli, Liberatore and Macrae haven't hit their standard yet and a goal or two by Bruce might spark us as well.

06-08-2022, 06:52 PM
I am going apeshit with this non-performance in THE MOST IMPORTANT GAME OF THE YEAR FOR US!

Just a diabolical performance. Some bastard needs to show some passion in the rooms to fire these blokes up for the second half. They are sleep walking for Chrissakes!!

06-08-2022, 06:53 PM
Upside is we are only 4 goals down. Bont needs to lift and the mids just pick up a man. We will roll all over them in the second half

I don't know whether the coaches did or didn't do anything, but I'm going to assume that if it's obvious to everyone watching the game it's probably the former.

The players have a history of not taking initiative, bringing conditional effort and being lazy without the football so I just assume it's largely a player issue. But you might be right, I don't know.

Look at the positives - today might finally put this year to bed once and for all.

Unfortunately you don’t get to play on Zaine Cordy every week.

And recruiting players based on how they go against us didn’t work out too well with the acquisition of O’Brien.

06-08-2022, 06:55 PM

They've even had the luxury of being able to leave him forward with no ruck work. Logue has picked up the part time chop out's for Sean Darcy.

06-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Lets see if Bevo can do what Chris Scott did last week and reset us. First 10 minutes of the 3rd quarter should tell the story if this group has another level it can reach today.

The good news might be that our prime movers in Bontempelli, Liberatore and Macrae haven't hit their standard yet and a goal or two by Bruce might spark us as well.

Do you honestly believe Bruce can hit the scoreboard? He hasn’t looked likely in 14 quarters so far and I can’t honestly see how he can win the ball.

06-08-2022, 06:56 PM

Bont streamed down the wing, Weightman and Naughton worked their arse off to present, he took two too many bounces stuffed it up and then yelled at the leading players.

That's the leadership I'm seeing.

06-08-2022, 06:56 PM
Do you honestly believe Bruce can hit the scoreboard? He hasn’t looked likely in 14 quarters so far and I can’t honestly see how he can win the ball.

We need to sub him out with a headache and bring on Toby

06-08-2022, 06:57 PM

He looks like he's never played footy before. Darcy better.

06-08-2022, 06:57 PM
Get Treloar in the middle. He's a player who can swing momentum. Playing an AA midfielder as a half back for weeks on end is *!*!*!*!ing stupid.

06-08-2022, 06:58 PM
Bont streamed down the wing, Weightman and Naughton worked their arse off to present, he took two too many bounces stuffed it up and then yelled at the leading players.

To be fair, he'd run 70 odd metres, and Naughton expected him to smash a 60 metre pass over the top of the defender? Naughts should've presented to Bont not turned back.

06-08-2022, 07:00 PM

I would have dropped him the week after he returned to the seniors but I do believe if he somehow bagged a couple it would olift a lot of his team mates. Apparently having Bruce in the side makes Marra a far better player.

06-08-2022, 07:00 PM
To be fair, he'd run 70 odd metres, and Naughton expected him to smash a 60 metre pass over the top of the defender? Naughts should've presented to Bont not turned back.

I’m assuming GG saw it live and the TV coverage didn’t show the lead up.

06-08-2022, 07:01 PM

No he burnt the leads.

06-08-2022, 07:03 PM

Naughton was running away from him and should have presented multiple times in that instance.

06-08-2022, 07:04 PM
Naughton was running away from him and should have presented multiple times in that instance.

He and Weightman worked perfectly into the space, Bont took too many bounces and screwed it.

Boots
06-08-2022, 07:09 PM
I am going apeshit with this non-performance in THE MOST IMPORTANT GAME OF THE YEAR FOR US!

Just a diabolical performance. Some bastard needs to show some passion in the rooms to fire these blokes up for the second half. They are sleep walking for Chrissakes!!

it’s only the most important game of the year because we played like garbage all year. Good teams don’t turn home and away games into the “game of the year”.

06-08-2022, 07:11 PM
CMON Bont!

06-08-2022, 07:12 PM
The next goal could be telling.

06-08-2022, 07:12 PM
Freo are basically man on man when we are exiting defence.

06-08-2022, 07:14 PM
Slight difference to our midfield when Bruce goes into the ruck.

How he is in the team after 3 sub standard games?

06-08-2022, 07:15 PM
Freo are basically man on man when we are exiting defence.

They're very good defensively. No genuine stars there but they all link up well. Young might be close to a star player in time.

06-08-2022, 07:15 PM
Centre clearances again! Out of the front! FFS

06-08-2022, 07:16 PM
Slight difference to our midfield when Bruce goes into the ruck.

How he is in the team after 3 sub standard games?

It's a good question without a good explanation. Team selection wise he gets marked a bit differently to many other players.

06-08-2022, 07:17 PM
Can we take Bruce off and just play one short

06-08-2022, 07:18 PM
Can we take Bruce off and just play one short

Witches hat

06-08-2022, 07:20 PM
We badly need Naughton to kick another 2 or 3 goals.

06-08-2022, 07:20 PM
They're very good defensively. No genuine stars there but they all link up well. Young might be close to a star player in time. We definitely got the wrong brother with Young

06-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Tim English isnt a first Ruck.

06-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Have we ever kicked a goal direct from centre bounce?

Reckon we’ve had 40 kicked against us this year.

06-08-2022, 07:26 PM
Freo's pace and kicking skills are impressive, they're catching us out regularly.

06-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Bont and Libba *!*!*!*!ing around again in the centre.

*!*!*!*! me drunk.

We are the complete opposite of Collingwood in the value for money stakes.

Every time we kick a goal this quarter. They win the centre clearance with ease. Basically walk it out and goal. Who is at that clearance? Our leaders. Speaks volumes.

Have we ever kicked a goal direct from centre bounce?

Reckon we’ve had 40 kicked against us this year.

English no where near it at centre bounce.

06-08-2022, 07:32 PM
Freo have been able to answer all our gains this quarter.

06-08-2022, 07:34 PM
Interesting stat flashed up : time in possession.

Freo 49 percent
Dogs 33 percent

They've controlled the game.

Anyone want the pressure acts?

BAD?

No composure. Bombing the *!*!*!*!ing footy, panicking. I'm sick of it.

Richards, you had someone in the centre, open, on your left perfectly but no, instead opening up the ground you shat yourself and went long down the line to dirty contests.

Mutz
Tim English isnt a first Ruck.
Yep, last few games we've been better at the centre bounces with Bruce.

06-08-2022, 07:35 PM
Bont and Libba *!*!*!*!ing around again in the centre.

*!*!*!*! me drunk.

Theyre so much cleaner at the stoppages. We look panicked and miss targets, they are clean and fast.

I reckon our midfield is very one paced when it's mainly Bont Libba and Jacko.

Surely Treloar has to go in there. What am I missing?

06-08-2022, 07:36 PM
Frustrating. How do we let a guy like ODriscoll get on the outside at a centre clearance and nab a goal. Then another centre clearance we control the ball and fumble turn it over and Fredrick ends up with a goal.

06-08-2022, 07:37 PM
I'm gonna be a broken record, but WHY are we playing Treloar as a HB when our midfield is desperate for some pace?

We're using the likes of Williams (a HB) and McNeil on the wings, meaning we're accommodating them and sacrificing an AA mid to play half back because... He has pace? FFS. Use VanderMeer in the role if you want pace.

Meanwhile our mids move as though they're caught in quick sand.

Boots
Every time we kick a goal this quarter. They win the centre clearance with ease. Basically walk it out and goal. Who is at that clearance? Our leaders. Speaks volumes.

we demonstrated two weeks ago we could stop this, and yet last week and this week we can’t. It’s pretty demoralising.

It’s really a common these against us. Side coming out of the centre time after time forward of centre with no pressure and all of our kids on the wrong side.

06-08-2022, 07:38 PM
Theyre so much cleaner at the stoppages. We look panicked and miss targets, they are clean and fast.

Surely Treloar has to go in there. What am I missing?

Probably what we are all missing some pace out of the midfield. Enough of this Treloar experiment. Get him in the centre

06-08-2022, 07:39 PM
I'm gonna be a broken record, but WHY are we playing Treloar as a HB when our midfield is desperate for some pace?

We're using the likes of Williams (a HB) and McNeil on the wings, meaning we're accommodating them and sacrificing an AA mid to play half back because... He has pace? FFS. Use VanderMeer in the role if you want pace.

Meanwhile our mids move as though they're caught in quick sand.

I don't assume this will do anything other than annoy you, though Treloar hasn't ever made the AA side.

Outside of that, I can only think that because of Wiliams being so poor in defence we've had to improvise.

We need to activate the sub. The coach needs to do something

Get Daniel or Treloar out of defence absolutely non existent.

If we had/get Lobb, odds of us trying to turn him into a CHB?

*!*!*!*!ing idiocy.

If Treloar spends the rest of the game in defence and we lose I'll combust.

06-08-2022, 07:40 PM

Surely Treloar has to go in there. What am I missing? Maybe Lapinski

06-08-2022, 07:42 PM
If we had/get Lobb, odds of us trying to turn him into a CHB?

*!*!*!*!ing idiocy.

If Treloar spends the rest of the game in defence and we lose I'll combust. I heard they were going to try Lobbe on the wing

Boots
06-08-2022, 07:46 PM
If I were as bad as my job as the commentators are I’d be… put on special projects (I’m a public servant so we don’t get fired).

They just yell the name of whichever forward is under the ball regardless of whether they’re even a chance of taking the mark. My flatmate reckons they’re just trying to be the voice on the replay and I reckon she’s right.

06-08-2022, 07:55 PM
Was that Libba mouthing off again?

06-08-2022, 07:55 PM
When we get some momentum. Need someone to stand up and kick a set shot. Zero chance. Miss two regulation shots.

They kick them from everywhere. It is basically the difference in the game. They have kicked multiple long range set shots that we would not be able to convert.

06-08-2022, 07:56 PM
I think it is the commentators that have everyone sucked in that we have a chance. We are lucky we are not further behind.

06-08-2022, 07:56 PM
I'm tapping out. This is just a completely unacceptable performance to end our season, and sort of encapsulates all that's been wrong with our year really.
What a frustrating end to our season.

06-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Gee we miss McComb

06-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Cordy 4 disposals Lobb 4 goals 2........

06-08-2022, 07:59 PM
I'm tapping out. This is just a completely unacceptable performance to end our season, and sort of encapsulates all that's been wrong with our year really.
What a frustrating end to our season.

It's possible we aren't very good.

06-08-2022, 08:01 PM
Get off the field Garcia.

That was pathetic.

06-08-2022, 08:02 PM
Another wasted year. Completely pissed it up the wall.

06-08-2022, 08:02 PM
You follow him Marra. That was even worse.

06-08-2022, 08:04 PM
We need Leon Cameron to replace Bevo. We have no plan B

06-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Can we get a forward to hit up at the ball carrier? They all peel off over the back looking for the cheap one.

06-08-2022, 08:05 PM
That effort from Weightman and Naughton typifies the day.

Just pathetic.

06-08-2022, 08:06 PM
We have played like a busted ass and are 3 goals down… get in the bin Dogs.

Can we get a forward to hit up at the ball carrier? They all peel off over the back looking for the cheap one.

That’s the problem when you only have 2 genuine fwds playing in Weightman and Bruce

Look at Coll last night with Elliott, Johnson and Mihocek

That first half was a *!*!*!*!ing disgrace.

Just a complete lack of on field leadership. Bont and Jacko aren't the guys to take us forward as our main leaders if that's what they're going to dish up when things aren't going our way.

Libba isn't any better, he plays undisciplined and unaccountable football all the time (but doesn't get called out for it enough), and for some reason thinks it's OK to mouth of and give away undisciplined fifty metre penalties.

Really bad stuff.

06-08-2022, 08:07 PM
Even after such a horrific performance it basically comes down to set shots that loses you the game. They took chances, particularly in that first half. That was the ball game in the end.

06-08-2022, 08:07 PM
Cordy 4 disposals Lobb 4 goals 2........

Hope Cordy knows where Saltwater Reserve is. He can go play for his mate Clay Smith.

Never thought I'd say this but we miss Ryan Gardner.

06-08-2022, 08:09 PM
Win inside 50m, centre clearance, clearances, contested possessions all quite easily and still get done easily.

06-08-2022, 08:10 PM
We need Leon Cameron to replace Bevo. We have no plan B

Clarko would not allow Freo to play a simple keeping off game for the WHOLE game.

06-08-2022, 08:11 PM
I just logged on and wrote something similar to this on 'the moment' thread.
It was terrible esp. in the first half.

06-08-2022, 08:12 PM
Win inside 50m, centre clearance, clearances, contested possessions all quite easily and still get done easily.

Every time we allow an opposition to control the football with uncontested marks we lose.

We turned it around in the second half but still weren't disciplined enough in the middle to get goal side in transition and again, too assertive at centre clearances when we should be aiming to nullify forward run.

06-08-2022, 08:12 PM
It's possible we aren't very good.

I think you may be right.

06-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Forwards who sit off and hope the ball gets over the defender... when Freo play three defenders and Luke Ryan who is an excellent reader of the ball.

Dumb, dumb set up

06-08-2022, 08:16 PM

As Collingwood showed last night you can throw stats out the window and win with desire. Our delivery into the forward 50 is woeful both from the delivery and the receiver. We hardly lead up rather try to win the ball over the top or out the back. Freo showed how to do it by leading.

06-08-2022, 08:17 PM
Forwards who sit off and hope the ball gets over the defender... when Freo play three defenders and Luke Ryan who is an excellent reader of the ball.

Dumb, dumb set up

Absolutely. This is a major flaw in how we play. If Lobb can lead with a 6ft 9 frame surely our forwards can at least lead.

06-08-2022, 08:18 PM
Every time we even gave a whimper the crowd at Marvel were fantastic with their support. Members played their role today. That performance ain’t going to help our membership for next year, so many disappointed fans at the ground today.

06-08-2022, 08:20 PM
Every time we even gave a whimper the crowd at Marvel were fantastic with their support. Members played their role today. That performance ain’t going to help our membership for next year, so many disappointed fans at the ground today.

But didn't we look great in our retro outfits today?

06-08-2022, 08:22 PM
I'm appalled and angry that we dished up such an appalling performance in the most important game of the year. It's heartbreaking to witness.

Our skills were so poor and our best players were just as much to blame as the lesser lights.

Every time there was a clutch moment - WE FAILED TO DELIVER!!

They gave us a sniff late in the 3rd by missing two simple set shots. That didn't mean a thing to our blokes.

I am absolutely gutted. My faith in this playing group has bottomed out. I just don't care any more. Season over.

06-08-2022, 08:23 PM
Nope worst jumper ever

Mutz
06-08-2022, 08:23 PM
I do like the white collars.

06-08-2022, 08:27 PM
Nope worst jumper ever

Your sarcasm meter needs adjusting.

06-08-2022, 08:27 PM
We need to change things up. Bevo will always be a club legend but time has come.8 years in the one role is a great effort but time for a change.

Look at what Collingwood have done. GF in 2019 and quickly back in the top 4.

New ideas and the side is rejuvenated.

06-08-2022, 08:28 PM
I'm appalled and angry that we dished up such an appalling performance in the most important game of the year. It's heartbreaking to witness.

Our skills were so poor and our best players were just as much to blame as the lesser lights.

Every time there was a clutch moment - WE FAILED TO DELIVER!!

They gave us a sniff late in the 3rd by missing two simple set shots. That didn't mean a thing to our blokes.

I am absolutely gutted. My faith in this playing group has bottomed out. I just don't care any more. Season over.

The season has been over for a long time. Injuries covered over the cracks and were used as the reason why we were not winning games.

06-08-2022, 08:31 PM
The unwillingness of our players to get on their bikes and provide each way running was evident.

If Freo went quickly they got goal side and broke us open, if they went slowly they got loose for uncontested marks. That's a massive failing of the core group of player playing between the arcs and speaks directly to their effort and care for each other. Put those things together with the selfishness on display at different times and it was nothing but disappointing.

Mutz
06-08-2022, 08:31 PM
Just looking at (AFL) efficiency stats. Dogs 73.1% (season ave 74.9%) Dockers 82.5% (ave 75.4%).
To me it means lack of pressure but MC may argue it is a consequence of our game plan - the perfect excuse to the players not to worry or care!

06-08-2022, 08:40 PM

Nope worst jumper ever

I do like the white collars.

Your sarcasm meter needs adjusting.

All the buzz about the club this week seemed to be about how amazing we were going to look in our retro kits, and Darcy making his debut. Perhaps I'm not paying attention or am paying attention to the wrong things, but I didn't hear much about how we're geared up for a massive crack at keeping our season alive and doing everything we can do to make it so.

Yep, I'm angry and borderline irrational.......well probably over the borderline, but it just seemed again like we weren't focused and I'm blaming the retro outfits because that's what a borderline or genuinely irrational person would do!

06-08-2022, 08:48 PM
I'm reduced to trying to decide who I"m going to barrack for in the finals. I wish it wasn't so.

06-08-2022, 08:50 PM
Quick man space everyone.

06-08-2022, 08:56 PM
What a bloody ordinary night. Scoreboard completely flattered us, it was dreadful

06-08-2022, 09:01 PM
We need to change things up. Bevo will always be a club legend but time has come.8 years in the one role is a great effort but time for a change.

Look at what Collingwood have done. GF in 2019 and quickly back in the top 4.

New ideas and the side is rejuvenated.

Slight overreaction

06-08-2022, 09:15 PM
All the buzz about the club this week seemed to be about how amazing we were going to look in our retro kits, and Darcy making his debut. Perhaps I'm not paying attention or am paying attention to the wrong things, but I didn't hear much about how we're geared up for a massive crack at keeping our season alive and doing everything we can do to make it so.

Yep, I'm angry and borderline irrational.......well probably over the borderline, but it just seemed again like we weren't focused and I'm blaming the retro outfits because that's what a borderline or genuinely irrational person would do!

It just took me back to 97 live.

I was ok with it until I actually saw them game day.

Burn it!

06-08-2022, 09:17 PM
What really does my head in is the way that my emotions get abused. Like we beat Melbourne with our best performance of the year, play a cracking first quarter against Geelong completely dominating them, are still in the game at half time, then collapse like a burst ballooon. Then in the most vital game of the season, against a team that has been totally out of form, we just don't fire a shot. That's emotional abuse 101.

06-08-2022, 09:18 PM
That first half was a *!*!*!*!ing disgrace.

Just a complete lack of on field leadership. Bont and Jacko aren't the guys to take us forward as our main leaders if that's what they're going to dish up when things aren't going our way.

Libba isn't any better, he plays undisciplined and unaccountable football all the time (but doesn't get called out for it enough), and for some reason thinks it's OK to mouth of and give away undisciplined fifty metre penalties.

Really bad stuff.

Those 50s were pathetic. I watched the way Brayshaw went about it for a bit kind of isolated him and my word he's a hard worker.
He was like a hunter going for the ball carrier. None of our guys do that at the intensity he does and with the repeat efforts.
Super player.

I'm seriously starting to doubt our midfield.

06-08-2022, 09:20 PM

Dumb, dumb set up

Probably in response to the ineptitude delivering it inside 50.
You can't lead to these guys they just burn you.

06-08-2022, 09:21 PM
Get off the field Garcia.

That was pathetic.

One clanger, a really bad one, but I thought he was otherwise really good.

06-08-2022, 09:23 PM
What really does my head in is the way that my emotions get abused. Like we beat Melbourne with our best performance of the year, play a cracking first quarter against Geelong completely dominating them, are still in the game at half time, then collapse like a burst ballooon. Then in the most vital game of the season, against a team that has been totally out of form, we just don't fire a shot. That's emotional abuse 101.

There just wasn't a time in the game I felt like we were a chance.
To be honest the Melbourne game was the same we just found something in the last quarter, maybe the GF motivation got us there.
Bevo pulled the magic lever for the Saints game. It worked for a while but we lost the spirit of the Buffalo.

06-08-2022, 09:35 PM
There just wasn't a time in the game I felt like we were a chance.
To be honest the Melbourne game was the same we just found something in the last quarter, maybe the GF motivation got us there.
Bevo pulled the magic lever for the Saints game. It worked for a while but we lost the spirit of the Buffalo.

My son was devastated, his 2nd loss witnessed but like you said and like I told him they were just so much better than us. We didn't deserve to be even as close as we got. They destroyed us

06-08-2022, 09:38 PM
My son was devastated, his 2nd loss witnessed but like you said and like I told him they were just so much better than us. We didn't deserve to be even as close as we got. They destroyed us

Argh sorry for your son mate!

You have to be made of stern stuff to follow the dogs thats for sure. But we've been lucky of late.
Hopefully he will see some good times ahead!

06-08-2022, 09:40 PM
Just got home now.

Disappointed with that today. Just could not get it going. Couldn’t find the magic spark to get us back. We are woeful defensively.

Freo well on top today and deserved the win.

Must rely on others now to slip up if we are a chance but to be honest if we miraculously make it will be making up the numbers.

06-08-2022, 09:44 PM
The thing that frustrates me is there's really only one way we get beaten, and it's actually the same way every team gets beaten in modern footy. However, because we're lacking personnel in defence we just can't hide it as well as some other teams might.

It's not that our game style is too taxing either. Every team has to show up in the midfield, and constrain ball movement between the arcs when they don't have the football.

06-08-2022, 09:50 PM
I blame Robodog.

06-08-2022, 09:57 PM
Those 50s were pathetic. I watched the way Brayshaw went about it for a bit kind of isolated him and my word he's a hard worker.
He was like a hunter going for the ball carrier. None of our guys do that at the intensity he does and with the repeat efforts.
Super player.

I'm seriously starting to doubt our midfield.

I’ve said all along our midfield is overrated by prima donnas. We may have the best looking on paper (Bont, dunks, macrae, smith, Libba, Hunter and Treloar) but when it comes to effort required offensively AND defensively, it leaves a lot to be desired.

I’d start with Hunter and Macrae gone and work from there to begin with.

06-08-2022, 10:06 PM
One clanger, a really bad one, but I thought he was otherwise really good.

He was actually OK I agree, but a bit grubby with the footy at times.

I really like him, was just frustrated with that particular effort but to be fair my reaction was a culmination of watching ill-considered and selfish play by a lot of our players forward of centre this evening.

06-08-2022, 10:08 PM
I’ve said all along our midfield is overrated by prima donnas. We may have the best looking on paper (Bont, dunks, macrae, smith, Libba, Hunter and Treloar) but when it comes to effort required offensively AND defensively, it leaves a lot to be desired.

I’d start with Hunter and Macrae gone and work from there to begin with.

Macrae is, outside of Smith and Bont sometimes, the only midfielder who consistently has the balls to run at the defence and try and get the football forward with multiple possession chains between the arcs. Losing him would be a nightmare for us.

Without him we'd just handball backwards until we're in row thirty seven.

06-08-2022, 10:13 PM
Macrae is, outside of Smith and Bont sometimes, the only midfielder who consistently has the balls to run at the defence and try and get the football forward with multiple possession chains between the arcs. Losing him would be a nightmare for us.

Maybe…but what I don’t like about Macrae’s game is that he is a treadmill runner, can have very poor body language, and his disposal “can” be totally unacceptable. He can get possessions no doubt, but how many of those possessions put us in a worst scenario, or a low handball? Grubber kick ?

If anything, I’d move him to the wing. We can’t afford his turtle like persona in the middle when we are under siege to stop the rot.

Either the MC has no idea, or the mids that are in there are too egotistical to set us a defensive mindset.

06-08-2022, 10:15 PM
Man that was some weak bullshit from us tonight. Just a total non-effort without the ball and seemingly a complete unwillingness to play to a man and actually work to create a turnover. Really, really pissed off with it.

06-08-2022, 10:24 PM
Maybe…but what I don’t like about Macrae’s game is that he is a treadmill runner, can have very poor body language, and his disposal “can” be totally unacceptable. He can get possessions no doubt, but how many of those possessions put us in a worst scenario, or a low handball? Grubber kick ?

If anything, I’d move him to the wing. We can’t afford his turtle like persona in the middle when we are under siege to stop the rot.

Either the MC has no idea, or the mids that are in there are too egotistical to set us a defensive mindset.

Jacko goes at ~77% disposal efficiency and ~400m gained a week. Libba goes at ~75%, Dunkley at ~73%. For metres gained the latter two go at ~300 and ~220 respectively. In tackles they're sitting at JM ~4, TL ~5 and JD 5.5.

Dunkley hits the scoreboard better than both at almost a goal a game, but he plays more forward than the other two.

Anyway, because Jacko gets so much of the footy and actually runs at the defence and tries to cut through it he can come unstuck, but his role is crucial.

Interestingly, on the abovementioned stats Smith sits at ~66 efficiency and ~500m gained. He also sits at the same tackle count as Jacko.

The more metres you try and gain, the worse your disposal will likely get because you have to be going flat out.

But, I do agree that Jacko could be more defencively minded, but that's a team/ midfield thing for mine.

Jacko vs. Libba - https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=8&playerStatus2=A&tid2=8&type=A&pid1=3800&pid2=3486&fid1=S&fid2=S

Jacko vs. Dunks - https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=8&playerStatus2=A&tid2=8&type=A&pid1=3800&pid2=4148&fid1=S&fid2=S

Jacko vs. Smith - https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?playerStatus1=A&tid1=8&playerStatus2=A&tid2=8&type=A&pid1=3800&pid2=6618&fid1=S&fid2=S

06-08-2022, 10:27 PM
Man that was some weak bullshit from us tonight. Just a total non-effort without the ball and seemingly a complete unwillingness to play to a man and actually work to create a turnover. Really, really pissed off with it.

You seem forlorn, no lols, not even one?

06-08-2022, 10:35 PM
You seem forlorn, no lols, not even one?

Nah I got nothing. Now that the dust has settled I guess whatever Darcy was trying to do when he gave away that 50 was pretty funny.

06-08-2022, 10:42 PM
Nah I got nothing. Now that the dust has settled I guess whatever Darcy was trying to do when he gave away that 50 was pretty funny.

And when Bont said I'm bouncing like it's 85 at Bojangles?

06-08-2022, 10:58 PM

He should get six for that.

06-08-2022, 11:35 PM
I'm still confused at what to do with English. He couldn't get a fingernail near it at centre bounce he is such a liability unless the ball hits the ground, he never puts our mids in dangerous positions. When was the last time we excited the stoppage out the front?

Around the ground he is a different beast. How do we get the best out of of Tim?

06-08-2022, 11:41 PM
I'm still confused at what to do with English. He couldn't get a fingernail near it at centre bounce he is such a liability unless the ball hits the ground, he never puts our mids in dangerous positions. When was the last time we excited the stoppage out the front?

Around the ground he is a different beast. How do we get the best out of of Tim?

Trade in Brody Grundy like I said in the trading thread, and get them to play fifty fifty ruck/ forward and mixing it up behind the ball.

06-08-2022, 11:42 PM

Today he spent too much time trying to help out the backline.

In general the problem is when he is poor around the ground. He can’t impact the game.

His efforts against Sydney and Brisbane were bloody awful.

I’d be ok with say trading him for a genuine ruckman like Darcy which then by default helps with our midfield mix.

Is English’s around the ground work good enough for him to be selected as a mid on merit?

06-08-2022, 11:42 PM
Argh sorry for your son mate!

You have to be made of stern stuff to follow the dogs thats for sure. But we've been lucky of late.
Hopefully he will see some good times ahead!

Nah mate, he's got to toughen up. Today was nothing in comparison to some of the losses I've experienced.

06-08-2022, 11:45 PM
Nah mate, he's got to toughen up. Today was nothing in comparison to some of the losses I've experienced.
That Freo game in 2003 when Rove’s cousin carved us up and Sam’s dad gave away 100 x 50 metre penalties.

I stayed till the end as self flagellation I think.

06-08-2022, 11:46 PM

Hahahaha, intergenerational savageness. Love it.

I copped some of the most massive sprays I've ever copped from my dad at the footy. I reckon that game against Norf where we got done by 136pts in 96 took the cake. About five minutes to go in the second we were down by a lot and I tried to cheer my old man up and say we're still a chance if we just kick a couple before half time.

He brought me back down to earth pretty quickly.

07-08-2022, 12:12 AM
Our midfield have regressed this year from the dominant group of last year.What are the reasons? Is it simplistic to lay it at the feet of our new midfield coach? We can blame the mindset of the players but isn’t that a coaching responsibility too? Is the message not getting through, or are we tactically weak? I can’t really see a lot of innovation in what we’re trying to do.

I hope the club commits to a searching and honest review. There is still an unbelievable amount of talent on this list and emerging stars like Jamarra and Darcy. We should be contending, surely, but this year has never really fired right from our lame effort in Round 1 and I’d hate to see another couple of years down the drain.

07-08-2022, 12:14 AM
Our midfield have regressed this year from the dominant group of last year.What are the reasons? Is it simplistic to lay it at the feet of our new midfield coach? We can blame the mindset of the players but isn’t that a coaching responsibility too? Is the message not getting through, or are we tactically weak? I can’t really see a lot of innovation in what we’re trying to do.

I hope the club commits to a searching and honest review. There is still an unbelievable amount of talent on this list and emerging stars like Jamarra and Darcy. We should be contending, surely, but this year has never really fired right from our lame effort in Round 1 and I’d hate to see another couple of years down the drain.

Do you think Bont carried us to a GF last year? He was so dominant that we were blinded that there were gaps?

07-08-2022, 12:24 AM
Do you think Bont carried us to a GF last year? He was so dominant that we were blinded that there were gaps?

Maybe…that’s an interesting take on it. He’s certainly been a shadow of himself, but what’s happened to the rest of them? I can’t believe the decline in Jack Macrae who was so reliable no matter what.

I think of those scintillating finals against Brisbane and Port and can’t understand what’s gone wrong.

There was that ominous stat about teams thrashed in GFs falling apart. I hoped it wasn’t right because we hadn’t had that kind of obliteration from the first bounce scenario of others who floundered the following year. Maybe it was something worse, though - leading and then losing that way.

07-08-2022, 12:59 AM
I've been formulating a theory about why we seem to go up, get figured out, seem to go back and then go up again.

Bevo in his years at St Bedes Mentone has talked about how there was a huge change in personnel across the years where they won three in a row going up the grades, which simply never happens in the ammos until it does. Essentially, they went up grades and personnel changed due to the attractiveness of the club going up sections, and they continued to win.

My theory is that in lieu of not having the personnel we want or need consistently or coming in as required, we go up and get maxed out/ figured out, go back down again, make a few adjustments and then go up again. The core is pretty much there, but we fiddle around the edges to see if we can get the mix right and adjust the game plan/ system accordingly.

And if you look at the GF side from last year versus the teams we've played this year, or the GF side from 2016 versus the teams we played in the subsequent years organically or otherwise there's been a level of change along the way.

Anyway, the point of all of this is we can only take the tweaks so far and actually need some step change recruitment to disrupt the mix as quickly as possible as we don't have the luxury of the rebuild we had after we realised 2017 was going to fizzle out, given Jacko, Bont and a few others are further down the line in their careers.

07-08-2022, 02:40 AM
I reserve the right to change my mind after a good nights sleep BUT:

That was a really deflating performance. I made a point on Twitter to the effect that this performance has shaken my belief in this iteration of the team. In recent seasons I’ve maintained that on our day, we are good enough, and the challenge is about ensuring we have enough of “our days.” Point being, the talent is there and it stacks up well against anyone. I’ve also maintained that we haven’t learned a great deal new about the squad since 2019, the strengths have been clear and the losses seem to feel familiar and procedural.

IÂ’ve been heavily critical of Bevo at various points since 2018. Not so much this year because of personnel changes in the coaching ranks and challenges in getting the right players fit and ready to go. His efforts through the lockdown to get the boys up and firing earned some credits in the bank. Not a heap, but enough to keep me from getting stuck in.

So IÂ’ve been toiling with what exactly is on the nose for me. If itÂ’s not the coach, and it canÂ’t be, because heÂ’s been going OK, then it must be the players, but they are as talented a group weÂ’ve pulled together. Their best footy is as close to perfect as IÂ’ve ever seen. So what is it?

My worry right now is that itÂ’s both. WeÂ’re broken and will miss the finals and are close to seeing the rot set in.

- We are disorganised and lack cohesion in transition. ThatÂ’s on the coaches.
- we play joyless footy. ThatÂ’s shared.
- we get bullied and turn our toes up too often. ThatÂ’s on the players.

For as good as the coach is and for as talented as the squad is. Collectively they arenÂ’t good enough, they arenÂ’t coached well enough. They arenÂ’t tough enough. ThereÂ’s nothing special about them at the moment. TheyÂ’re a far cry from a side IÂ’d say play footy that is emblematic of our best qualities as club.

ItÂ’s just been such a one note, meandering style of footy and performance and feels like we are pissing away the best years of some great players.

07-08-2022, 02:51 AM
Hey SoS, not a bad post at all.

Quick question, how does our defencive structure rate against any of the decent and good teams? How do the players we have playing in key defencive posts rate against our top eight to ten peers?

07-08-2022, 03:13 AM
Just for the woofers who weren't at the game, our zone was Essendon like and that says a lot.

I must say that was one of the most pathetic performances I've seen live under Bevo. Did our coaches box make any moves at all?

It was unbelievable how many times we gave up the short option, valuing guarding space more that the player which directly lead to a goal. You have never seen anything like it. Well not ever, It was Essendon like all over the park today, it was such an embarrassing performance. I'm pretty sure they had 18 plus marks inside 50.

I still think this is the most talent we have ever had on the list in my time as a bulldog. I'm not too sure where next? It's time for Bevo to get uncomfortable in his seat there is no doubt about it. He was poor post match I think he gave the players a pass again he needs to go harder at times. A big offseason for the club, get it right and we can challenge again. It's time for Kylie and Ameet to earn their stripes.

07-08-2022, 03:15 AM
Hey SoS, not a bad post at all.

Quick question, how does our defencive structure rate against any of the decent and good teams? How do the players we have playing in key defencive posts rate against our top eight to ten peers?

I thought today our defence was disgusting, we were incapable of actually defending the ground. But, our best performance on the night was Richards in a defensive post.

We break down in transition too easily & they practically walked in 6 goals from the sort of footy out of the front of centre clearances, or a lost contest at half forward that has crippled us all year. Almost not fair to judge the actual backline on that, they are hung out to dry by the rest of the squads inability to impose any defensive will on the contest.

Geelong, Freo, Melbourne, Sydney and Carlton all held their shape against us much better than we’ve been able to at any point this year. They defend up the field and their backline win the ball back. Don’t think we do enough of that. Darcy an important player for us to perhaps control a bit of the ball coming in via marks in the D50

07-08-2022, 04:39 AM
Well... That was the most insipid, rancid, slow, crap, chasing our tails game I have seen under Bevo in a long, long time.

What the f%%% was that?

Expected Score / Actual Score (Expected Accuracy / Actual Accuracy)
WB: 87 / 78 (47% / 42%)
FR: 80 / 95 (49% / 58%)

We actually beat them on expected score.

80% d50 1 on 1 losses v 17%?!

I know we are bad but THAT bad? Seriously, 80% ...

Pressure Gauge
Q1
WB: 174 (Below Average)
FR: 173 (Below Average)
Q2
WB: 171 (Below Average)
FR: 209 (Elite)
Q3
WB: 148 (Poor, VERY POOR)
FR: 177 (Below Average)
Q4
WB: 181 (Average)
FR: 183 (Average)

Q3 we put up the worst pressure we've put up all year...

We were -7km in total distance running. We were behind all night and ran less then they did...

Body language from the team at the game was completely dismal as well, lotta yelling, finger pointing, dropped heads, specially at the break before the last quarter, body language from all including staff was telling (Was sitting just near interchange).

Something stinks and I don't know what it is but for a 'do or die' game, it was woeful.

07-08-2022, 08:10 AM
To concede two goals in the last minute before a break is risible. Add in the significance of the game for our season and it is CRIMINAL!

And it is not as if that is a rare event for us. We concede goals at the end of quarters with such monotonous regularity that it has become our default. The opposition EXPECT it to happen! They are coached to take advantage of this flaw in our DNA.

"OK, lads we know that with two minutes to go all the Dogs players are thinking of is getting back into the rooms and tucking in to the oranges , jelly beans and Gatorade so lets fill our boots and kick a goal - or two."

FFS!! I am so disgusted when I think about it. Just an abject surrender. Wedid not fire a shot, played like a rabble, played the dumbest football ever, fumbled, mis-kicked, dropped marks, missed tackles, failed to tackle, failed to shepard, failed set shots, lacked connection, ran to the wrong positions - need I go on? A bone fide nightmare because the game was so important. Over and OUT!

07-08-2022, 10:00 AM
To concede two goals in the last minute before a break is risible. Add in the significance of the game for our season and it is CRIMINAL!

And it is not as if that is a rare event for us. We concede goals at the end of quarters with such monotonous regularity that it has become our default. The opposition EXPECT it to happen! They are coached to take advantage of this flaw in our DNA.

"OK, lads we know that with two minutes to go all the Dogs players are thinking of is getting back into the rooms and tucking in to the oranges , jelly beans and Gatorade so lets fill our boots and kick a goal - or two."

FFS!! I am so disgusted when I think about it. Just an abject surrender. Wedid not fire a shot, played like a rabble, played the dumbest football ever, fumbled, mis-kicked, dropped marks, missed tackles, failed to tackle, failed to shepard, failed set shots, lacked connection, ran to the wrong positions - need I go on? A bone fide nightmare because the game was so important. Over and OUT!

Credit has to go to Longmuir he really set them up to win.

With the ball they were patient, they didn’t give our intercept players much to feed on and skilfully worked it into dangerous positions almost using our defensive plan against us. They rendered it pretty useless and their ability to mark in dangerous positions inside 50 was testament to that. Brilliant game plan execution.

When we had it, it’s was pretty basic stuff. One on one footy, everyone had a man they were responsible for as we were exiting their forward 50. Other times when they zoned off they wasn’t any sagging or cheating just total commitment to the cause.

In dispute their guys just hunted everything. First time I’d seen Brayshaw and Serong up close and man was I impressed. Not only hard but clean. I watched Brayshaw hunt the ball carrier from about 20 metres away, circling the outside of the pack and when he got his chance just nailed the tackle with absolute commitment to the task of getting it back for his team.

Mundy is all class why is he retiring again ? Come to us ! Will Brodie gives them a fierce contest in the guts.

I was super impressed with their defence too. Luke Ryan is a gun, and has some mongrel. I think he was matched up with Marra so if Marra had of kicked straight might’ve evened it out a bit but Ryan had 32 touches and most metres gained for Freo.
Pearce, again first time I’d seen him up close : really nice player. His speed was what really stood out to me. Kicking looks a bit iffy but it goes where he wants it to.

FWIW Logue looked ok to me too, had a real crack plays with physicality so if we were in the market I’d be fine with that.

Our effort was really poor, but some of that came from Freo’s ability to frustrate our guys all game.

If we can get Matty Boyd across after he’s tutelage with Longmuir I think that would be a positive move.

Man what a horrible season. Only third time in eight seasons we’ve missed finals under Bevo. Two coming after GF appearances.

07-08-2022, 10:06 AM
Just watched the presser, Bevo seemed as if he was smelling burnt toast he was that angry.

Was actually quite respectful though, credit to him.

07-08-2022, 10:41 AM
A lot of things went wrong last night. Hardly anything went right and we lost by 17 points. But it did look like we were clearly out coached and they had the superior game plan. Losing both King and Hansen was a massive blow and that we didn’t replace long term A Grade assistants with A grade talent is disappointing. I know Hansen left late and caught us off guard but we knew King was leaving.

Does Bevo actually enjoy being the genius with a 1,000 helpers or does he actually want to bring in talented A Grade coaching staff who will challenge him, bring in new ideas and make us better.

07-08-2022, 10:41 AM
Wrong thread

07-08-2022, 10:42 AM
Just watched the presser, Bevo seemed as if he was smelling burnt toast he was that angry.

He certainly seemed more “realist” than “optimist” on this occasion. Glad the question about Bruce was asked and I’d expect him to make way for Schache this week.

07-08-2022, 10:47 AM
He certainly seemed more “realist” than “optimist” on this occasion. Glad the question about Bruce was asked and I’d expect him to make way for Schache this week.

I thought he sat on the fence there. Saying you have to reward VFL but also saying it was a lopsided game and will review at the end of the week.

07-08-2022, 10:50 AM
Just for there woofers who weren't at the game, our zone was Essendon like and that says a lot.

I must say that was one of the most pathetic performances I've seen live under Bevo. Did our coaches box make any moves at all?

It was unbelievable how many times we gave up the short option, valuing guarding space more that the player which directly lead to a goal. You have never seen anything like it. Well not ever, It was Essendon like all over the park today, it was such an embarrassing performance. I'm pretty sure they had 18 plus marks inside 50.

I still think this is the most talent we have ever had on the list in my time as a bulldog. I'm not too sure where next? It's time for Bevo to get uncomfortable in his seat there is no doubt about it. He was poor post match I think he gave the players a pass again he needs to go harder at times. A big offseason for the club, get it right and we can challenge again. It's time for Kylie and Ameet to earn their stripes.

Even as high as the wing we were happy to give up short passes to players on their own which gave them free ride to hit up someone like Lobb and, easy as you like, it's inside 50 for a goal. Very frustrating to watch and agree with your asessment of the zone.

07-08-2022, 10:51 AM

I thought he sat on the fence there. Saying you have to reward VFL but also saying it was a lopsided game and will review at the end of the week.

Yeah I wouldn't expect to see Schache replace Bruce on the back of those comments. He said it will be reviewed during the week but Bruce is progressing week on week and I think we'll want to get as much game time into him as we possibly can.

07-08-2022, 10:55 AM
Even as high as the wing we were happy to give up short passes to players on their own which gave them free ride to hit up someone like Lobb and, easy as you like, it's inside 50 for a goal. Very frustrating to watch and agree with your asessment of the zone.

The first half reminded me/ was a carbon copy of the Sydney game last year at Marvel where we got utterly smashed for uncontested marks and possession, and only went down by a few goals.

To me, outside of smashing us at centre clearances, it's the best way to do us over.

07-08-2022, 10:57 AM
A lot of things went wrong last night. Hardly anything went right and we lost by 17 points. But it did look like we were clearly out coached and they had the superior game plan. Losing both King and Hansen was a massive blow and that we didn’t replace long term A Grade assistants with A grade talent is disappointing. I know Hansen left late and caught us off guard but we knew King was leaving.

Does Bevo actually enjoy being the genius with a 1,000 helpers or does he actually want to bring in talented A Grade coaching staff who will challenge him, bring in new ideas and make us better.

We didn't quite get enough from our better players and that hurt us but the part that really hurt us was that quick response by Fremantle whenever we looked like getting a run on. They answered any and all challenges we could throw at them.

Regarding Bevo, there is no questions that he wants to win and for the side to be a relevant one in finals and you would hope he can identify if he needs a different level of support to help achieve that.

07-08-2022, 10:58 AM

Also watched the presser. Agee, he was angry but respectful. He doesn’t have his head in the sand. He can eloquently diagnose where we lost the game and the elements that hurt us the most. I guess it was obvious, but then worrying that we were powerless to adjust a game to combat what they were doing.

Was it intent? Is it talent? Is it cohesion? Is coaching communication?

07-08-2022, 11:06 AM
Also watched the presser. Agee, he was angry but respectful. He doesn’t have his head in the sand. He can eloquently diagnosed where we lost the game and the elements that hurt us the most. I guess it was obvious, but then worrying that we powerless to adjust a game to combat what they were doing.

Was it intent? Is it talent? Is it cohesion? Is coaching communication?

He gets a lot of shit, but as long as he doesn't get asked silly questions he's usually pretty good.

I honestly think he's worried about our defence, which to me came through in the presser. He knows we don't have the quality in talls that other teams do and that it stops us from being able to rebound quickly and cleanly. The amount of pressure we put on our smaller and medium sized defenders is massive compared to other well equipped sides. We are always scrambling in defence and starting from a much deeper position because we don't have the impenetrable wall other sides have across half back.

And really, that's where attack starts from.

07-08-2022, 11:12 AM
He gets a lot of shit, but as long as he doesn't get asked silly questions he's usually pretty good.

Bevo probably deserved a bit of it in the first half of the season but he has been very good since.
Honest and accurate answers and well worth listening to. You can sense he's frustrated with our performances.

07-08-2022, 11:14 AM
Bevo probably deserved a bit of it in the first half of the season but he has been very good since.
Honest and accurate answers and well worth listening to. You can sense he's frustrated with our performances.

There's a pretty basic rule to follow with him. Don't take much notice of what he says leading up to a game, and take notice of what he says after a game.

07-08-2022, 11:28 AM

Spot on

I was critical of him in the Morris affair but he's been really good since harnessing the spirit of the Buffalo.

07-08-2022, 11:32 AM
Spot on

I was critical of him in the Morris affair but he's been really good since harnessing the spirit of the Buffalo.

It's a part of his job that I suspect he would prefer not to do but it's one that needs to be done.
Credit to him.

07-08-2022, 11:48 AM
I honestly think he's worried about our defence, which to me came through in the presser. He knows we don't have the quality in talls that other teams do and that it stops us from being able to rebound quickly and cleanly. The amount of pressure we put on our smaller and medium sized defenders is massive compared to other well equipped sides. We are always scrambling in defence and starting from a much deeper position because we don't have the impenetrable wall other sides have across half back.

HappyDays idea of targeting Paddy McCartin is growing on me more and more. I've checked and believe he is an unrestricted free agent. We just have to give him an offer that makes him turn down Sydneys.

07-08-2022, 12:17 PM
HappyDays idea of targeting Paddy McCartin is growing on me more and more. I've checked and believe he is an unrestricted free agent. We just have to give him an offer that makes him turn down Sydneys.

He'll be waving it around after this endorsement.......

I don't disagree, but I don't think it's achievable.

07-08-2022, 12:48 PM

I agree but it makes me question the way we set up even further.

Our back half can't defend, but we invite the opposition to take territory all across the ground by laying off the mark and effectively guarding nothing.

Surely if you know our defence is the weakest point, you press high if anything to mitigate the amount of ball it potentially gets. Laying off the mark and conceding territory is downright stupid for our list. If Melbourne did it because they WANT you to kick to May/Lever/Gawn, that's a different story.

07-08-2022, 02:13 PM

Yep. Clubs are just too damn courteous when it comes to recruiting and trading. Get in his ear and force his hand, or at least, you know, try. Would have to think given his history that a long term contract would appeal to him and maybe be a risk that Sydney are unwilling to take.

07-08-2022, 09:30 PM
You haven't lived until you cop a footy in the head.
Bont is a lovely man.
https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cg9FWz_o20R/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

08-08-2022, 09:00 AM
Hahahaha, intergenerational savageness. Love it.

I copped some of the most massive sprays I've ever copped from my dad at the footy. I reckon that game against Norf where we got done by 136pts in 96 took the cake. About five minutes to go in the second we were down by a lot and I tried to cheer my old man up and say we're still a chance if we just kick a couple before half time.

He brought me back down to earth pretty quickly.

Worse game I have ever been to. Carey ran amok.

08-08-2022, 05:20 PM
Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
10 Rory Lobb (FRE)
8 Caleb Serong (FRE)
6 Josh Dunkley (WB)
4 Luke Ryan (FRE)
2 Jordan Clark (FRE)

LEADERBOARD
88 Touk Miller (GCFC)
88 Lachie Neale (BL)
86 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
86 Christian Petracca (MELB)
75 Patrick Cripps (CARL)
75 Connor Rozee (PORT)
72 Andrew Brayshaw (FRE)
67 Jeremy Cameron (GEEL)
57 Shai Bolton (RICH)
56 Callum Mills (SYD)
55 Chad Warner (SYD)
54 Sam Walsh (CARL)
53 Hugh McCluggage (BL)
50 Charlie Curnow (CARL)
50 Max Gawn (MELB)
48 James Sicily (HAW)
47 Cameron Guthrie (GEEL)
47 Rory Laird (ADEL)
46 Jordan De Goey (COLL)
46 Peter Wright (ESS)

08-08-2022, 05:21 PM
Coaches gave the same votes.

08-08-2022, 05:30 PM
Coaches gave the same votes.

If only we had a tall fullback, Lobb may have not kicked those goals and the score would have been different. People say height doesn't matter, but believe me it helps.

08-08-2022, 05:34 PM
If only we had a tall fullback, Lobb may have not kicked those goals and the score would have been different. People say height doesn't matter, but believe me it helps.

It was the marking but really the elite kicking that hurt us (four goals from outside 50m). To be fair to Cordy. Most of the marks were on a lead with plenty of space in front of him. Alex Rance at his prime would have struggled to stop them.

08-08-2022, 05:43 PM
It was the marking but really the elite kicking that hurt us (four goals from outside 50m). To be fair to Cordy. Most of the marks were on a lead with plenty of space in front of him. Alex Rance at his prime would have struggled to stop them.

Keath was also on him but about 10 metres behind. There was one where Lobb just strolled along and Keath made no effort

08-08-2022, 05:49 PM
Keath was also on him but about 10 metres behind. There was one where Lobb just strolled along and Keath made no effort

Keath is lumbering at the moment, but when you get caught out on lead with a perfect kick, it is very, very hard to stop. Our inability to defend the ground with any type of intensity created a lot of Lobb's opportunities.

08-08-2022, 05:51 PM
Bevo loves Lobby Lloyd.

08-08-2022, 05:56 PM
Keath is lumbering at the moment, but when you get caught out on lead with a perfect kick, it is very, very hard to stop. Our inability to defend the ground with any type of intensity created a lot of Lobb's opportunities.

I agree, but a good fullback could have spoiled some of those. I felt sorry for Cordy playing on a guy 10 cm taller than him, and Keath, well he made no effort. Similar to when he let Cameron run riot the first time we played Geelong.

08-08-2022, 06:25 PM

I wonder if any extra height would've mattered. Lobb seemed to get the break on our defenders on the lead and thats how he kicked his four goals.

08-08-2022, 06:27 PM
I wonder if any extra height would've mattered. Lobb seemed to get the break on our defenders on the lead and thats how he kicked his four goals.

Yeah, I checked back and he out reached Cordy for one of his goals. Another goal as I mentioned above he just took a stroll and no one went with him. I need to check the other two.

Edit: Out reached Cordy again in 3rd quarter and there was another where he lead and Cordy was behind.

So two of four he outreached everyone.