View Full Version : WB Game Day V GWS Giants R22 2022

12-04-2022, 06:06 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

09-08-2022, 11:38 AM
Margin: Bulldogs by 21 points - Must win and rely on other results! We lose and it is all over for 2022.

First goal: Josh Bruce to get our first and get some form back

Best on ground: Marcus Bontempelli to have a great game

09-08-2022, 12:39 PM
Greene (fractured thumb) and Tarranto (delayed concussion) out

09-08-2022, 01:13 PM
Man if we lose this I reckon I might find something else to do with my time next year. This one is on easy mode.

09-08-2022, 01:44 PM
Man if we lose this I reckon I might find something else to do with my time next year. This one is on easy mode.

Do you sometimes hit reply and then think damn... lucky no one is nark around here... and no post can be requoted for historical purposes.

09-08-2022, 02:13 PM

After the Freo game my cue is already in the rack and I'm done for the year. My golf club has the Foursomes championship on this Saturday and whilst my golf game sucks at present at least I can get frustrated at my bad play rather than losing my mind at an overpaid bunch of prima donnas playing on their own terms.... the fact that our coaching group play favourites isn't helping with my support either.

09-08-2022, 02:22 PM
Yeah I'm giving this a miss.

See you in 2023.

09-08-2022, 02:34 PM
Now's the time to dig deep, it's what defines us as Dogs supporters.

Surely we don't follow for the success right !?

09-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Do you sometimes hit reply and then think damn... lucky no one is nark around here... and no post can be requoted for historical purposes.

I don’t deal in sorcery.

09-08-2022, 02:42 PM
Freo game was my last of the year too, spending 6 hours in the car to watch us go half arsed is not really much fun.

If we were genuinely crap I'd do it, but this group picks and chooses when to try. They aren't worth my time and effort.

09-08-2022, 02:42 PM
Now's the time to dig deep, it's what defines us as Dogs supporters.

Surely we don't follow for the success right !?

That's right! We do if for the MISERY. The wallowing and self pity. The lamentations and heartbreak. We do it for the shame and jealousy and the hatred. That's who we are.

09-08-2022, 02:44 PM
The Freo game was my first since... 2019? Not sure I even went that year either TBH.

I only went because a family friend had free tickets for level 2 and access to the top dog box.

Looks like I can go again this week so may as well. Surely we can't be worse! Right?

09-08-2022, 02:46 PM
I'm a glutton for punishment! Go dogs! Where there's life there's hope?

We need to win this, and ideally comfortably as % will be a factor.

09-08-2022, 02:59 PM
Sad thing is I bet come Saturday I won't be able to help myself and I'll be sitting at the ground half way through the first quarter thinking you idiot why did I do this haha.

09-08-2022, 03:03 PM
Margin: 54 points
First goal: Naughton
Best on ground: Dunkley

The Giants had some fire back last week. This would be a good opportunity for the guys to wake up as a unit and look out for each other.

09-08-2022, 03:04 PM
Sad thing is I bet come Saturday I won't be able to help myself and I'll be sitting at the ground half way through the first quarter thinking you idiot why did I do this haha.

We do it because we love the club and love our footy.

09-08-2022, 03:04 PM
Dogs by 35

First Goal: Naughton

BOG Libba

09-08-2022, 03:08 PM
We do it because we love the club and love our footy.

Or we are insane. Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different outcome.

Thank god for 2016.

09-08-2022, 03:16 PM
Margin: 54 points
First goal: Naughton
Best on ground: Dunkley

The Giants had some fire back last week. This would be a good opportunity for the guys to wake up as a unit and look out for each other.

The care for others in the way we play should be unconditional, but it isn't and it's both disappointing & frustrating.

The amount of finger pointing and disagreement about the effort being given & positioning on Saturday was as bad as I've ever seen from our team.. we aren't playing as a unit and it sucks.

09-08-2022, 03:38 PM
That's right! We do if for the MISERY. The wallowing and self pity. The lamentations and heartbreak. We do it for the shame and jealousy and the hatred. That's who we are.

Haha - sado masochism for the win :)

09-08-2022, 05:08 PM
Dogs by 101
First goal Jamarra
BOG Bont

09-08-2022, 05:31 PM
Marra is gonna kick 8.

09-08-2022, 07:34 PM
I’m expecting it to be close and too close to call.
Greene out is an absolute bonus, but we also have to worry about Hogan, who is one of those big fwds who doesn’t mind playing against our “defence”.

Whitfield and Tom Green also have to be watched closely.

Whichever team wins will be under a goal.

13-08-2022, 09:41 AM
We should win this convincingly. I like the two ruck option and getting Gardner back is hopefully a real positive.

Dogs by 27 points.
First goal: Weightman
BOG: Smith

Stopping Hogan might be a challenge for us.

13-08-2022, 10:31 AM
Dogs by 28 points.
First goal: VDM
BOG: Bont

13-08-2022, 11:10 AM
Dogs by 10 goals
First goal: JUH- seems to have a knack of kicking the first

Interested to see how the inclusion of Martin works.

13-08-2022, 11:41 AM
Dogs by 10 goals
First goal: JUH- seems to have a knack of kicking the first

Interested to see how the inclusion of Martin works.

I don't know why but I think Martin will be take the first ruck contest today and we will see English up forward.

13-08-2022, 11:48 AM
I don't know why but I think Martin will be take the first ruck contest today and we will see English up forward.

Last year we looked at our best when English played forward & Martin rucked but we all saw Martin run out of gas last year & really looked cooked by the end of the year. English took a huge step in the first ruck position this year but not quite the same player since the concussion against the Giants last time we played.
Hopefully English can play well as I seem to read here, he wants to be a ruck /forward not the other way around. For this reason i do like the interest in Lobb.

13-08-2022, 12:06 PM

Yes.

Bevo is pulling his last lever for the season.

Go back to what worked last season.

13-08-2022, 02:06 PM
No change
Roarke med sub

13-08-2022, 02:14 PM
No change
Roarke med sub

Roarke's been OK so a reasonable sub selection.
I wonder if it should have been Schache though.

13-08-2022, 02:15 PM

Everytime I post esp. Twitter.

13-08-2022, 02:24 PM
Dogs looking on today. 10 goal is in. Ok’ing up.

Cody 1st Goal
Libba BOG

13-08-2022, 02:27 PM
Have these lights changed in the last 2 years. I sit on the wing and I'm feeling like I'm looking into the sun. I jeed sunglasses

13-08-2022, 02:28 PM
Dogs by 33 pts
FG Marra
BOG Dunkley.

13-08-2022, 02:28 PM
I think GWS are capable of pushing us but I'm sitting back calmly at the moment for for that first bounce.
Perhaps the pressure is off us.

13-08-2022, 02:31 PM
Yes.

Don't underestimate Bevo's levers, he keeps a few hidden.

13-08-2022, 02:32 PM
Dogs by 29 points
First Goal: Weightman
BOG: Dunkley

13-08-2022, 02:34 PM
It's sad, there is hardly anyone here. From GF contender to this.

13-08-2022, 02:35 PM
It's sad, there is hardly anyone here. From GF contender to this.

I don't think last nights crowd was too flash either.

Here is something to ponder

Just had a mate send me a text saying that on BF there is speculation that Naughton to Melbourne is on the cards as he hates it at the Dogs. Gotta love a good healthy gulp of speculative Crappuccino

13-08-2022, 02:36 PM
Yes.

Bevo and his levers. Dunno which ones he pulled last week but I was ready to stick that lever up his A$@

Hopefully this weeks levers are a better choice!

13-08-2022, 02:38 PM
Hard to see us winning without Garcia.

13-08-2022, 02:39 PM
Hard to see us winning without Garcia.

Well there is that mountain to climb.

13-08-2022, 02:41 PM
Bevo and his levers. Dunno which ones he pulled last week but I was ready to stick that lever up his A$@

Hopefully this weeks levers are a better choice!

Haha very good

13-08-2022, 02:44 PM
Martin starting on the bench.

13-08-2022, 03:00 PM
Nice to see Cody get a crumbing goal, and nice driving play from West to get it there.

Have liked Tim's aerial work forward of the ball so far.

13-08-2022, 03:06 PM
Perryman with a super hard tag on Libba.

13-08-2022, 03:07 PM
Battle of coaching wills early with GWS doing their best to make the game look like a water polo match.

Some uncharacteristic errors by Bont early and West did the team thing and we missed a scoring opportunity by a small margin.

13-08-2022, 03:13 PM
I have tonsillitis and am moving house this weekend, and even with those two things going on I feel like I'm ahead by not going to this snooze fest and watching it on TV instead.

13-08-2022, 03:15 PM
Wake me up when the game ends.

13-08-2022, 03:15 PM
I have tonsillitis and am moving house this weekend, and even with those two things going on I feel like I'm ahead by not going to this snooze fest and watching it on TV instead.

Got in late and saw the last 6 mins, also thankful I'm on the couch!

13-08-2022, 03:18 PM
Bruise free footy. We need to crack in. Bont fumbling everything today.

13-08-2022, 03:19 PM
It will step it up this quarter. GWS trying to just over possess the footy at the moment.

13-08-2022, 03:29 PM
So far

English 29 of 34 mins on ground
Martin 13.

Not 50 50

13-08-2022, 03:29 PM
Why won't West have a shot at goal?

13-08-2022, 03:30 PM
This game so far sums up our season. Complete domination of a team and we are one goal up with only three goals for the game.

That was a very weak effort to defend Hogan from taking an easy mark and VDN seems to find a way to hurt himself for no good reason.

Double the inside 50s for zero reward. We just play dumb football.

13-08-2022, 03:31 PM
One of the most pathetic games of the year. We are so far off the pace it’s not funny.

They are coming out so easily it’s laughable…oh hang on…it’s our refusal to play one on one that allows this.

13-08-2022, 03:33 PM
Watch Riccardi kick 5 today ;)

13-08-2022, 03:34 PM

I know Mofra was pumping up up a few years ago. He's got some potential.

13-08-2022, 03:34 PM
Thank god Toby Greene isn’t playing.

13-08-2022, 03:35 PM
Riccardi giving Darcy a lesson.
Keath out not making a lot of sense right now.

13-08-2022, 03:35 PM
This is a training drill for GWS

13-08-2022, 03:36 PM
One point for the quarter so far. One point with complete domination of field position and possession for most of the quarter. Our systems are broken.

13-08-2022, 03:37 PM
Are there random fist fights breaking out in the crowd at the moment? Like, are people losing their minds?

13-08-2022, 03:37 PM
Hahaha. This team will get whipped in week 1 of the finals. It wouldn't be a bad thing to be put out of our misery today

13-08-2022, 03:38 PM
Needed that goal. Our forwards have been getting dominated 1v1, they need to lift.

13-08-2022, 03:43 PM
This game sucks.

13-08-2022, 03:46 PM
Needed that goal. Our forwards have been getting dominated 1v1, they need to lift.

I wonder if this is why we blatantly refuse to play one on one. Maybe Bevo knows that none of our players have the ability to win that type of contest.

13-08-2022, 03:47 PM
Are the Giants sitting back between the arcs when we have the footy or are we being slow arseholes by design?

13-08-2022, 03:48 PM
E look flat and lacking energy. Give they a Red Bull at 1/2 time.

13-08-2022, 03:49 PM
Are the Giants sitting back between the arcs when we have the footy or are we being slow arseholes by design?

I think so, they are just trying to hold the ball and switch it around a bit before trying to move forward. We are trying to be more direct.

13-08-2022, 03:50 PM
This game sucks.

Haha this season sucks. Can't wait until it's done and I'm not wasting my weekends on this crap.

The boys need a holiday actually bar Dale and Richards the rest have already started. I need a holiday too after that half of football if thats what you call it.

This is horrendous to watch. The Giants have had the life squeezed out of them and are playing afraid, yet we seem determined to not enter 50 with any quality at all.

What a waste of a beautiful day.

13-08-2022, 03:51 PM
The boys need a holiday actually bar Dale and Richards the rest have already started. I need a holiday too after that half of football if thats what you call it.

Haven't they both been impressive?

We need to see a lift from Bont in the 2nd half.

13-08-2022, 03:51 PM
Our inability to hold a tackle is giving them opportunities. We just get pushed away far too easily.

Has Gardner and Cordy been told to be 5 metres from their direct opponents at all times ?

13-08-2022, 03:53 PM
So, what has Martin offered that Sweet couldn’t ?

13-08-2022, 03:55 PM
If we are toning to leap frog Carlton we need percentage hope the boys fire up in the second 1/2

13-08-2022, 03:56 PM

Nothing not one thing.

IlHe’s actually been pretty okay from stoppages.

More to the point what could Sweet have offered that Martin doesn’t?

If we are toning to leap frog Carlton we need percentage hope the boys fire up in the second 1/2
I think we will be lucky to get the win, let alone %
I feel it’s going to remain a slog. GWS don’t want a shoot out.

13-08-2022, 03:58 PM
IlHe’s actually been pretty okay from stoppages.

More to the point what could Sweet have offered that Martin doesn’t?

Probably nothing, but the way Bevo was talking about Martin finding the fountain of youth, I expected him to be doing maybe just a little more.

13-08-2022, 03:59 PM
Probably nothing, but the way Bevo was talking about Martin finding the fountain of youth, I expected him to be doing maybe just a little more.

Well I think that's your answer, decent form in the twos where that's a continued battle for Sweet.

13-08-2022, 04:02 PM
Well I think that's your answer, decent form in the twos where that's a continued battle for Sweet.

Other players have decent form in the two’s as well and don’t get selected. I’m not saying sweet should’ve been picked, but with Bruce going out and Schache going ok in the 2’s then that would’ve been an ideal replacement, because at least Schache could’ve gone fwd or back if required.

13-08-2022, 04:03 PM

He's been very good in the VFL for a month, while Sweet was not even close to the same kind of form. Early signs are that the two rucks haven't worked for us, but there was merit in the selection.

Disappointing to see us down in the clearances. Bont, Dunks, Baz need to lift while Libba has the tag.

13-08-2022, 04:04 PM
I really thought we'd see more of English up forward. Don't see the point in playing Martin if English is going 70 - 30 or higher as a ruck. Would have been better off with Schache

13-08-2022, 04:05 PM

So far nothing, hoping for a far better 2nd half. He needs to really step it up for the balance of the game.
You would have to say both Sweet or Schache would have offered more.

13-08-2022, 04:06 PM

Pretty much.

Great wall, and chipping it around when they have it waiting for a free.

https://i.postimg.cc/VkRxh1gB/Screenshot-20220813-150505-AFL.jpg (https://postimg.cc/cvvkKpVr)

13-08-2022, 04:09 PM
Pretty much.

Great wall, and chipping it around when they have it waiting for a free.

https://i.postimg.cc/VkRxh1gB/Screenshot-20220813-150505-AFL.jpg (https://postimg.cc/cvvkKpVr)

Theyre man on man in defence like Freo last week.

They've basically copied their game plan but aren't as good at it.

13-08-2022, 04:14 PM
Some Posters and the club were happy to blame injuries for our loss agains the crows, what’s the excuse for todays first half showing?

13-08-2022, 04:17 PM
Some Posters and the club were happy to blame injuries for our loss agains the crows, what’s the excuse for todays first half showing?

Work rate / ability to separate.

13-08-2022, 04:18 PM
Time to bring Treloar into the middle surely.

13-08-2022, 04:19 PM
Richards V Giants

13-08-2022, 04:19 PM

That should have been done weeks ago.

This group is already on holiday, they don't want to be out there.

13-08-2022, 04:20 PM
We are getting smashed in the middle with Steph rucking

That could possibly be the game. We can’t score

One goal in almost two quarters. How can we be this bad?

And that there is why Dunkley is such a limited player.

We have the ball on the break, he doesn't have confidence in his own ability to run with the footy and find a target by foot, holds the ball up, and then butchers it to the opposition anyway.

It's it in a nutshell.

They just don't give a shit, they shouldn't get paid for today's effort.

Club lacks heart

13-08-2022, 04:21 PM
No, he's stuck there. What good would a running mid be who is great at kicking goals on the run. We're much better with him in the back half.......

13-08-2022, 04:21 PM
Instead of just playing into their hands I just wish we would take the game on and go straight down the guts. It’s not rocket science.

13-08-2022, 04:22 PM
Instead of just playing into their hands I just wish we would take the game on and go straight down the guts. It’s not rocket science.

This has nothing to do with ability though.

It's desire and there is none.

13-08-2022, 04:24 PM
Its amazing how many times we have kicked to our forwards flat footed.

13-08-2022, 04:25 PM
Naughton vs umpires at the moment, can't catch a break. How that is holding the ball is beyond me.

13-08-2022, 04:28 PM

I know Mofra was pumping up up a few years ago. He's got some potential.

Has anyone noticed that all of these bullshit calls have been specifically on Naughton? Can we change his name to King at 3QT?

Tim English. Ripped those centre clearances apart.

13-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Oh we've finally woken up.

13-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Brilliant west

13-08-2022, 04:32 PM
So we needed Giants to lift the intensity for us to lift the intensity!

I wish the Giants were more proactive early!

13-08-2022, 04:34 PM
Dumb kick from Richards to give up our momentum.

13-08-2022, 04:35 PM
What the hell Bont.

Wake up. Bring some intensity.

13-08-2022, 04:37 PM
Spoil all that good work with 2 red time goals against. How many times do we give opponents goals so late in the quarter

Giving away goals within the last 2-3 mins…that’s going by script.

What the hell Bont.

Wake up. Bring some intensity.

Aside from a few weeks he's really had an average year

13-08-2022, 04:38 PM
How could we not see the one-two coming into play there? Unbelievable.

13-08-2022, 04:38 PM
Can Gardner have body contact with hogan ?

13-08-2022, 04:39 PM
We’re so bad.

We’re so good.

We’re so bad again.

13-08-2022, 04:40 PM
We’ve blown another quarter, game and season.

When Caleb is shit he is really shit.

The last two goals are on him. First for being sucked into the footy and leaving Coniglio free, and in that instance being weak in the contest and fluffing the hands.

It's an arm wrestle with some occasional good passages of play.

I'll be sitting on the edge of the chair I suspect right through the last quarter.

13-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Seriously what did Naughton do?

Naughton must have pissed in the umpires wheat bix this morning. *!*!*!*! me.

That was a pathetic call on Naughton.

13-08-2022, 04:43 PM

The last two goals are on him. First for being sucked into the footy and leaving Coniglio free, and in that instance being weak in the contest and fluffing the hands.

He's gone under the radar for how bad he's been.

I was just thinking I'd rather drop him than play him next week regardless of today's result.

Time to pull the Sub. Martin off with that cut to his head. Rosie on and send him to tag Kelly.

That would = game over for them

Bont needs to take the game on and actually do something.
Daniel is killing us in defence.

I’m like 80% sure, between the goal review, the marks not paid, the push in the back free, that a Visy bin full of cash turned up on the AFL House steps about 2 hours ago.

Plenty need to step up in the last quarter if we are to win this. Bontempelli, Naughton, Daniel and Martin need to find something.

Did anyone have Bailey Williams as being our only multiple goal kicker going into the last quarter?

13-08-2022, 04:44 PM
Martin with 5 disposals and 8 hitouts.

Great selection MC.

13-08-2022, 04:44 PM
Naughton robbed again by the umpires, crazy streak of bad luck for one player.

We relinquished our advantage far too easily in the last five minutes, went away from our dour defending to open up the game but it's a double-edged sword

13-08-2022, 04:45 PM
He's gone under the radar for how bad he's been.

I was just thinking I'd rather drop him than play him next week regardless of today's result.

The way we are going, he may not be the only one being “managed” against the hawks. 70% of the team must have their flights booked for Monday.

13-08-2022, 04:45 PM

He has been no good since his knee. Why do we bring them back so early and underdone

13-08-2022, 04:46 PM
I’m like 80% sure, between the goal review, the marks not paid, the push in the back free, that a Visy bin full of cash turned up on the AFL House steps about 2 hours ago.

Jamarra's mark, Naughton's goal, hands in the back against Naughton up one end, but Gardner doing the same down back was fine, and then the marks not paid for Naughton.
It's bizarro world out there. I get there was some doubt for all of them in real time, but you'd expect to get one or two of those go in your favour during the course of a game.

13-08-2022, 04:49 PM
What's the point JUH if you can't kick one from directly in front.

13-08-2022, 04:50 PM
Lay a tackle FFS

13-08-2022, 04:56 PM
Why are we allowing this ? Man up

13-08-2022, 04:58 PM
So flat footed.

13-08-2022, 04:59 PM
Giants tactics are wearing us down.

13-08-2022, 05:01 PM
Good boy JUH. Come on Dogs, let's get it done.

13-08-2022, 05:04 PM
McShit.

13-08-2022, 05:04 PM
How's McNeil. Jesus, have some respect for your own lack of ability mate and be a team player.

13-08-2022, 05:05 PM
Wtf Zaine

13-08-2022, 05:08 PM
How's the umpiring today. It's your typical off broadway timeslot umpiring performance.

13-08-2022, 05:10 PM
How's the umpiring today. It's your typical off broadway timeslot umpiring performance.

Truly bizarre around deliberate and the adjudication of marking.

13-08-2022, 05:11 PM
Umpires not even good enough to understand that was Naughton's mark not Jamarra's

13-08-2022, 05:16 PM
I just don’t know how we got away with that

13-08-2022, 05:16 PM
Shows you how bad the Giants are to be honest.

Any half decent side wanting to win would have beaten us.

13-08-2022, 05:17 PM
Other than 3 mins of great play, that was putrid.

I’m sick to death of watching this team allow opposition to play such uncontested football. Our refusal to play one on one is farcical.

It’s a win, but nothing to be excited about at all.

13-08-2022, 05:19 PM
Great win.

There's something wrong with me we've established that, but I really enjoyed that tactical battle.

It's so ingrained in our guys not to kick to a contest we just kept going in circles until we were forced to.

13-08-2022, 05:19 PM
I don't think I've ever been so disappointed after a win. Just flat right now

13-08-2022, 05:23 PM
McShit.

Gee he turned it over a lot today, undid a lot of decent efforts with poor skill execution.

13-08-2022, 05:25 PM
Gee he turned it over a lot today, undid a lot of decent efforts with poor skill execution.

Respectfully I just don't see him as being anywhere near the level.

13-08-2022, 05:27 PM
Shows you how bad the Giants are to be honest.

Any half decent side wanting to win would have beaten us.

Like Freo last week. Giants pretty much played a carbon copy from Freo last week. Our coaches are just too stupid to do anything else.

I hope this really anaemic performance today is a precursor to us coming out firing next week in response, hopefully off the back of Carlton getting toweled up tonight..

That was one of the smelliest wins I've ever witnessed. Umpiring was next level horseshit and I had a strong suspicion that an umpire howler was going to influence the result in those last few minutes.

Respectfully I just don't see him as being anywhere near the level.

He's got the pace and the effort but there is a significant improvement gap he needs to work on.

13-08-2022, 05:34 PM
A win!! Just what we wanted. Dirty wins still count!

Go Dees!

13-08-2022, 05:34 PM
It's ugly no doubt but we got the four points.

GWS tried to replicate what Fremantle did to us last week, but without success. One positive is that we defended the ground well (aside from that patch in the third quarter). Third lowest score against for the season. Conversely, our forwards were abysmal early and were the main reason why we didn't take a healthy lead into half time.

13-08-2022, 05:35 PM
So many players out of form at the moment. Shocking game to watch and very frustrating watching GWS and their tactics of keeping’s off.

13-08-2022, 05:37 PM
I'm really looking forward to hearing Bevo's presser.

13-08-2022, 05:38 PM
Giants 165 marks. Highest for the AFL for 2022. Other highest was STK 158, against….guess who.

They lost so doesn’t matter

So many players out of form at the moment. Shocking game to watch and very frustrating watching GWS and their tactics of keeping’s off.

But with our refusal to play one on one, aren’t we allowing GWS to play that way ?

13-08-2022, 05:40 PM
They lost so doesn’t matter

I know. I’m only pointing out they’ve taken the most marks in a game this year, and the fact that the 2 highest are against us.

13-08-2022, 05:58 PM
I know. I’m only pointing out they’ve taken the most marks in a game this year, and the fact that the 2 highest are against us.

The point you have raised is valid regardless of how the scoreboard reads.
It's certainly something for us to focus on. I think there was a real battle of wills today and GWS went into the game wanting to frustrate us.

In the end we won ugly but we get to focus on the challenge for next week.

13-08-2022, 06:07 PM
The point you have raised is valid regardless of how the scoreboard reads.
It's certainly something for us to focus on. I think there was a real battle of wills today and GWS went into the game wanting to frustrate us.

In the end we won ugly but we get to focus on the challenge for next week.

I think it points out that as much as they want to play like that, we allow them to play like it.

13-08-2022, 06:07 PM
I'm really looking forward to hearing Bevo's presser.

I'm not

13-08-2022, 06:12 PM
But with our refusal to play one on one, aren’t we allowing GWS to play that way ?

We went one on one in the last quarter I believe. We certainly were not in the traditional zone.

I'm not

I think his read on the tactics today will be interesting.

It seems to be the way to stop our game dead in its tracks

13-08-2022, 06:14 PM
English 13 Martin 7 centre bounce attendances.

Did they say much about Cordy decking Bruhn?

Was a decent bump I only caught the end of it.

Then I think Lloyd sniped Cordy.

It was a spiteful game.

13-08-2022, 06:18 PM
English 13 Martin 7 centre bounce attendances.

Did they say much about Cordy decking Bruhn?

Was a decent bump I only caught the end of it.

Then I think Lloyd sniped Cordy.

It was a spiteful game.

Cordy nearly lost us the game with the two undisciplined acts in the last quarter

13-08-2022, 06:21 PM
Well done Ed Richards sensational mate one of the few consistent performers across the whole year.

13-08-2022, 06:27 PM
Jamarra's mark, Naughton's goal, hands in the back against Naughton up one end, but Gardner doing the same down back was fine, and then the marks not paid for Naughton.
It's bizarro world out there. I get there was some doubt for all of them in real time, but you'd expect to get one or two of those go in your favour during the course of a game.

Umpires were rubbish.

13-08-2022, 06:29 PM
What's the point JUH if you can't kick one from directly in front.

Last week his goal kicking was off too but he will get better as he gets used to kicking for goal when buggered.

13-08-2022, 06:39 PM
Cordy nearly lost us the game with the two undisciplined acts in the last quarter

Dale with one too.

13-08-2022, 06:43 PM
A win is a win is a win. Richards was sensational for 4 quarters. Best individual game by a Bulldog for the year.

Otoh, our inability to adapt to the opposition's tactics for the entire game is a big concern. They were still waltzing it out of defence in the last quarter. We managed to get it back between the arcs a couple of times when our pressure forced turnovers.

13-08-2022, 06:49 PM

The issue is the turnovers when we have the ball. We win the ball and then give it back. Cost us dearly last week. This week GWS were not good enough to take advantage of the turnovers. Except two vital ones by ED and Daniel.

13-08-2022, 07:02 PM
I'll be the first to admit it was a shitty game and one of the hardest to watch this season but if you look deep enough there were some positives to come out of it.

I think Mofra called out Marra's potential and while it wasn't necessarily a great game from him there were many positive way's he impacted the game.

Richards and Dale across the back line were sensational.
Bontempelli rallied in the last quarter when the game was right on the line like all good leaders should.
Naughton has some major highlights and Treloar ran hard all game.
Liberatore was sensational in handling a full on tag and he had some crucial contests in the last quarter.

Not all doom and gloom from my perspective.

13-08-2022, 07:06 PM
I’m convinced that game was rigged but the Giants are just too sad pathetic and shit to hold up their end of the bargain.

13-08-2022, 07:27 PM
I aged ten years watching that

13-08-2022, 07:30 PM

Only 10? My hair turned white

13-08-2022, 07:32 PM
A win that feels like a loss. So many players are out of form. Fumbles, handballs backwards to players under pressure. I didn’t understand how we were planning to win this game because to my eyes allowing all those uncontested kicks in the backline didn’t mean the orange ones couldn’t then find options including being able to centre it. What exactly is Plan B? I have no idea.

It’s like whatever happened in Q3 at Geelong ended our season and we’re just playing out the rest of the season with no real zest, dash or spirit. There were so few memorable bits of play. Just feels like we are mentally shot - or physically ? When the siren went Bont was on his haunches for ages.

13-08-2022, 07:38 PM
Missed the last quarter due to a commitment ... probably saved me from a heart attack. Do you job tonight Melbourne!

13-08-2022, 07:39 PM

What was the second one? He gave away the downfield on the half forward flank. The bump was a ripper and legal.

13-08-2022, 07:41 PM
What was the second one? He gave away the downfield on the half forward flank. The bump was a ripper and legal.

He belted Tanner Bruhn and somehow didn’t give away another free. It was like 7x the free that the two they actually paid were.

13-08-2022, 07:43 PM
That was an absolutely constipated game of footy. GWS trying to bore us to death. We’re really struggling for any flow and fluency to our game. Some awful disposal especially into forward 50. I love Naughts but he needs more awareness of when his teammates are in position for a mark. He spoils Marra constantly.
Dale was targeted by GWS all day, at every centre clearance they were physically into him. And of course he got done for reacting. Other than that he was great.
My love for Ed Richards has reached epic levels. He’s brilliant

13-08-2022, 07:45 PM
Only 10? My hair turned white

It only went white? That's nothing. Mine was white by half time. I'd torn it all out by the final siren

13-08-2022, 07:45 PM
He belted Tanner Bruhn and somehow didn’t give away another free. It was like 7x the free that the two they actually paid were.

The bump? It was a shepherd, didn’t get him high, in play, wasn’t paid a free. Not gonna hang him for that.

13-08-2022, 07:46 PM
That was an absolutely constipated game of footy. GWS trying to bore us to death. We’re really struggling for any flow and fluency to our game. Some awful disposal especially into forward 50. I love Naughts but he needs more awareness of when his teammates are in position for a mark. He spoils Marra constantly.
Dale was targeted by GWS all day, at every centre clearance they were physically into him. And of course he got done for reacting. Other than that he was great.
My love for Ed Richards has reached epic levels. He’s brilliant

Naughton crushed that game but some systemic force decided that he wasn’t getting shit. Three contested clunks turned over, a goal turned over, a couple of frees against invented out of thin air. As far as I’m concerned he kicked 5 goals and that was a 35 point win.

13-08-2022, 07:49 PM
Just happy to have got the win today. Wasn’t the greatest game ever but a win is a win. Finals still a chance. Blues need to lose.

Having dinner now at the Mona Castle Hotel in Seddon to celebrate.

13-08-2022, 07:50 PM

I watched it on replay when I got home and it was actually a fair bump.
Nailed him.

13-08-2022, 07:51 PM
Nailed him.

Best things he's done all season, I loved it

13-08-2022, 07:51 PM
Naughton crushed that game but some systemic force decided that he wasn’t getting shit. Three contested clunks turned over, a goal turned over, a couple of frees against invented out of thin air. As far as I’m concerned he kicked 5 goals and that was a 35 point win.

He’s *!*!*!*!ing amazing, he just needs to sometimes realise that just because he can go for a ball it doesn’t mean he should. Marra gets in good positions where the only person who contests is his teammate, getting to balls nobody else can

13-08-2022, 08:00 PM
A win is a win is a win. Richards was sensational for 4 quarters. Best individual game by a Bulldog for the year.

Otoh, our inability to adapt to the opposition's tactics for the entire game is a big concern. They were still waltzing it out of defence in the last quarter. We managed to get it back between the arcs a couple of times when our pressure forced turnovers.

Prefer a better draft position personally.

13-08-2022, 08:01 PM
Nailed him.

Didn’t say it wasn’t. Honestly the umpiring from half time on needs a royal commission.

13-08-2022, 08:04 PM
Didn’t say it wasn’t. Honestly the umpiring from half time on needs a royal commission.

Legit tried to ensure Carlton plays finals today.

13-08-2022, 08:05 PM
I rarely bag umpires as now I am one I know how hard it is...

HOWEVER today they were INCOMPETENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13-08-2022, 08:12 PM

Rather than make the 8? When we've gone from an elimination final to a Grand Final twice since 2016?
Give me the last place in the final 8 and a spot on the Elimination Final anyday. We've proven we can make gold dust from magic beans.

13-08-2022, 08:13 PM

HOWEVER today they were INCOMPETENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yep very poor today.

13-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Rather than make the 8? When we've gone from an elimination final to a Grand Final twice since 2016?
Give me the last place in the final 8 and a spot on the Elimination Final anyday. We've proven we can make gold dust from magic beans.

I mean maybe Darcy gets something out of being beaten up in an EF. We are so far off the pace it's line ball for me re. cost benefit. So many passengers. Too many. Usually I'm not such a negative creep.

13-08-2022, 08:16 PM

Well the Saints will be drafting in front of us again so bump us up one spot at least.

13-08-2022, 08:25 PM
I mean maybe Darcy gets something out of being beaten up in an EF. We are so far off the pace it's line ball for me re. cost benefit. So many passengers. Too many. Usually I'm not such a negative creep.

Pre 2016 I would have agreed but when we get on a roll we can really achieve. We were pretty much saying the same thing at exactly this time last year. Come to it we were saying the same thing prior to the 2016 finals series too.

We've also got a fairly good record against top 8 teams this year. I think if we make an Elimination Final our season isn't over by a long shot. We can take a few prisoners along the way.

I'm not saying that we will definitely win the flag but of rather be in it than not be in it.

13-08-2022, 08:26 PM

There was 2 deliberate out of bounds against GWS that were not there as well.

Naughton got royally screwed for the entire game. Those watching the game on telly, did it hit the post?

13-08-2022, 08:33 PM
He’s *!*!*!*!ing amazing, he just needs to sometimes realise that just because he can go for a ball it doesn’t mean he should. Marra gets in good positions where the only person who contests is his teammate, getting to balls nobody else can

Been happening all year. No surprise that when Naugts was out Marra kicks 5. The forward line coaching has been sh*t, with no patterms or space designated for each player. Needs to be addressed in the off-season.

13-08-2022, 08:59 PM
There was 2 deliberate out of bounds against GWS that were not there as well.

Naughton got royally screwed for the entire game. Those watching the game on telly, did it hit the post?

Looked like there was a gap.
Looked like there was noise as it passed the post. I wouldn’t say it was a “spike” though.

Player response says to me it’s a goal.

13-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Looked like there was a gap.
Looked like there was noise as it passed the post. I wouldn’t say it was a “spike” though.

Player response says to me it’s a goal.
goal umpire was there and called a goal

13-08-2022, 09:26 PM
goal umpire was there and called a goal

It's not a spectators game anymore. That call, the ones off the ball, you don't know what is going on. It's ridiculous from a spectators point of view and just leaves you irate even if it's a good call.

13-08-2022, 09:55 PM

As the game started I was eligible for Youth Allowance.

By full time I was applying for the Aged Pension.

14-08-2022, 12:10 AM

We are still alive in 2022!

14-08-2022, 12:19 AM

We are still alive in 2022!

How was the Mona Easty?

14-08-2022, 12:55 AM
A lot of our youngsters did very well today.

Richards, Smith, Naughton, West, Darcy, Ugle-Hagan and Weightman all made an impact at various stages.

I know we've had a challenging year with very mixed fortunes but we do have a good talent of younger players who's best football is still ahead of them. We have the chance to build a strong team with these youngsters and our more established players.

14-08-2022, 02:09 AM
How was the Mona Easty?

It was good HD. Just had a Chicken Parma and Chips there and watched a bit of the footy. Lukas Webb a former player of ours wasn’t there tonight but I have seen him before work at the Mona Castle. Also works at the Ascot Vale Hotel. Great guy Lukas.

14-08-2022, 08:54 AM
Bevo's presser was very subdued and shared that Bontempelli was carrying an injury with his adductor and it looks like Bont and Chris Bell had to convince him that Bont could play through the game.

It makes Bontempelli's last quarter effort even more impressive.

14-08-2022, 04:39 PM
Surprised no one seems to have noticed the absolute petulant, piss weak act from Ward, tripping Bont behind play? Even worse in the context of him carrying an injury, though to offer Ward, the worm, some reprieve, not his job to know or care. But for a supposed tough guy, thought it was very poor.

https://twitter.com/el_scraggo/status/1558616990860079104?s=21&t=OkAd8T5vQeq_Beyb0B3ang

14-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Yes I did see that pretty low act

18-08-2022, 02:13 PM
Naughton should have 4 more than he got. Should have been a comfortable win, if a boring one with GWS playing keepings off. We were way on top most of the game, the umpires killed us and made it close