View Full Version : WB Game Day V Hawthorn R23 2022

Pages : 1 [2]

21-08-2022, 02:54 PM
1.2 to 0.6

21-08-2022, 02:56 PM
I think professional athletes should at least make the effort for the 2 -3 hours a week they perform.
Well so you expose yourself as judging our players as not performing to your standards, I get that.

21-08-2022, 02:57 PM
No one leading to English!

Are we with or against the breeze in the last?

What the *!*!*!*! is that kick Smith?

Give the forwards a *!*!*!*!ing chance!

21-08-2022, 02:58 PM
Are we with or against the breeze in the last?

With.

21-08-2022, 02:58 PM
Fantastic lads.

Keep pressing it forward. Come on!

21-08-2022, 03:00 PM
That's better, pressure has lifted and we're forcing errors. 5 more minutes, don't give a goal away

21-08-2022, 03:01 PM
Bont's playing like he's got red wine in his water bottle.

21-08-2022, 03:01 PM
Why are we playing so far in front of their fwds…

21-08-2022, 03:02 PM
Good grab from Dunkley. Awesome.

Good strong tackle from Weightman as well.

21-08-2022, 03:02 PM
I am only viewing this game on this thread, that's how much I respect you guys. It is painful to hope but I think you guys secretly do! Are we in front? Haha.
I went to pub in Frankston in 2nd qtr but we looked impotent and Hawks kicked three straight so I left. Footy can be painful but when we have hope, protect it.

21-08-2022, 03:04 PM
Oh FFS English!

21-08-2022, 03:04 PM
Cordy and Gardner are Bert and Ernie down back

21-08-2022, 03:05 PM
Dunks has been huge

21-08-2022, 03:06 PM
How is Cordy ahead of Keath?

The managed week off for Bruce hasn't quite refreshed him has it? Lets hope he can kick a goal in the last.

Well it's all in front of us, need to kick straight and take our chances.

That's a really good quarter.

Disciplined in defence, and willing around the ball.

A bit disappointing with some of our wastefulness but we didn't let them score much which was key.

21-08-2022, 03:07 PM
The managed week off for Bruce hasn't quite refreshed him has it? Lets hope he can kick a goal in the last.

He's hard to watch.

21-08-2022, 03:07 PM
Shows where Keath is at Topdog

21-08-2022, 03:08 PM

A bit disappointing with some of our wastefulness but we didn't let them score much which was key.

Spot on, a couple of straighter kicks and we would have blown the game right open.

21-08-2022, 03:08 PM
Dunks has been huge

Must sign him up

21-08-2022, 03:09 PM

We just can’t allow them to score a goal against the wind, and we have to make our entries count and just don’t expect the wind to do it for us. Need huge quarters from Bont, Macrae and Libba.

Well so you expose yourself as judging our players as not performing to your standards or even making the effort, I get that. It says something about you. Perhaps the club should employ you for the player reviews, you can say it to the players' faces.

Normally people in the gameday thread go a bit crazy with negativity and frustration. I think you're the first I've seen go crazy with positivity.

I hope he kicks nothing which forces us to drop him.

Keep Darcy up there.

Next season Bruce can start over again but this season we have to stop with him

Spot on, a couple of straighter kicks and we would have blown the game right open.
3 posters haven’t helped has it

21-08-2022, 03:10 PM

The breeze down that end has been tough. We kicked 1.8

How is Cordy ahead of anyone?

Well anyway that quarter has us set up nicely. Still need to be cautious as the Hawks can still get those easy goals out the back against the wind

Reckon he’s injured and needs to be subbed out :D

3 posters haven’t helped has it

For sure. Dominate quarter though in so many area's.

21-08-2022, 03:11 PM
how is cordy ahead of anyone?

funny :D

10 more scoring shots. We just need some straight kicking and we're home.

So, what do you think? Can we keep the scoreboard ticking and get a decent win?

21-08-2022, 03:12 PM
I hope he kicks nothing which forces us to drop him.

Keep Darcy up there.

Next season Bruce can start over again but this season we have to stop with him

Would Darcy be off the leash without Bruce there? Extra attention, he doesn't take those marks. That being said Schache can do what Bruce is doing and probably be more dangerous l.

We have 33 more inside 50s.
Should be up by 6 goals

Bruce barely touched it and Schache kicking goals for fun in the magoos. If only Schache could surf!

It's up to us now cmon doggies

Would Darcy be off the leash without Bruce there? Extra attention, he doesn't take those marks. That being said Schache can do what Bruce is doing and probably be more dangerous l.

Hawthorn put their better defender on Darcy and left Bruce to the young guys

21-08-2022, 03:13 PM
Not the start we need

21-08-2022, 03:14 PM
Bruce barely touched it and Schache kicking goals for fun in the magoos. If only Schache could surf!

It's up to us now cmon doggies

If only Schache could produce afl goals

21-08-2022, 03:14 PM
So, what do you think? Can we keep the scoreboard ticking and get a decent win?

Yes we can. Insert Obama election poster. OK we didn’t score goals but we stopped them doing so and we come home with the wind. C’mon dogs.

21-08-2022, 03:16 PM
Hawthorn put their better defender on Darcy and left Bruce to the young guys

Not defending the Bruce selection but don't see Darcy doing this when they have the ability to double up. I don't think he's ready to hold it down without help

I’ve been in the it’s probably onto trade Dunkley but geez his been good today, except for that missed goal. Those 2 contested marks when he knew he was going to be hit were soooo brave.

If only Schache could produce afl goals

I heard from secret sources that he actually kicked 2 in a half before being dropped once

21-08-2022, 03:17 PM
Naughton refuses to play in front.

21-08-2022, 03:17 PM
We have 33 more inside 50s.
Should be up by 6 goals

Gunna be VERY telling

21-08-2022, 03:18 PM
Stopping the game to tie up his boot is the biggest impact Bruce has had on the game.

21-08-2022, 03:18 PM
Roarke has played well today

21-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Good boy Roarke.

Did Naughton nearly have his jumper pulled over his head then? How can the umpire not see that?

I heard from secret sources that he actually kicked 2 in a half before being dropped once

Knock it off. Posters are aloud to have a different view and express it. Stop the childish nonsense

Not defending the Bruce selection but don't see Darcy doing this when they have the ability to double up. I don't think he's ready to hold it down without help

We'd still have Naughton and Marra up there

21-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Laughable we are struggling to beat this mob.

21-08-2022, 03:25 PM
Naughton you are not skillful enough to be a selfish footballer. Play as a team man.

21-08-2022, 03:26 PM
Alright, let's play Lachie Hunter bingo!

21-08-2022, 03:27 PM
Let's do it now. C'mon Dogs

Knock it off. Posters are aloud to have a different view and express it. Stop the childish nonsense

And you can can have a little fun with people who are a tad overly passionate about a particular point or player. We're still making Mantis Eagleton jokes what must be around a decade after that player has retired

Wowsers, the graphic actually showed he hadn't ever kicked a goal from fifteen out from eight shots!!!

21-08-2022, 03:29 PM
For gods sake goal umpires are useless

21-08-2022, 03:29 PM
Blow the sirens

21-08-2022, 03:33 PM
Three up and none down Dogs. Get your act together.

21-08-2022, 03:35 PM
Is Daniel working into form or is it just me?

21-08-2022, 03:36 PM
And you can can have a little fun with people who are a tad overly passionate about a particular point or player. We're still making Mantis Eagleton jokes what must be around a decade after that player has retired

Yeah, fun at someone else expense. It's bullshit mate, knock it off

Great game by Roarke

Give him another contract

21-08-2022, 03:37 PM
Roarke could be the one that seals it for us. Great game overall

21-08-2022, 03:39 PM
12.15 is a little dissapointing

21-08-2022, 03:39 PM
Is it time to turn it over and cheer on the Pies

21-08-2022, 03:40 PM
There's just a different type of annoyance/ frustration dished up.

It starts to come together and we can't finish the work. We should have a six goal win on the board.

21-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Nowhere near convincing but we did what we had to do. It's out of our hands now.

21-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Good win, from a really good if not slightly wasteful second half.

I'd have taken a four goal win prior to the game.

21-08-2022, 03:43 PM
Good win under the circumstances. Now go Pies.

21-08-2022, 03:43 PM
Give him another contract

Who?

21-08-2022, 03:45 PM
Who?

Roarke

21-08-2022, 03:46 PM
Good win under the circumstances. Now go Pies.

Chef, we have had an up and down season, but we have only won just 3 games less than last year.

Go Pies!!

21-08-2022, 03:47 PM
Roarke Smith and Lachie Hunter saving us, just like we all predicted

21-08-2022, 03:47 PM
Chef, we have had an up and down season, but we have only won just 3 games less than last year.

Go Pies!!

I don't think we're much of a chance but we're a better chance than 9th place should we make it

21-08-2022, 03:48 PM
Collllinnngwoooood!!!!

21-08-2022, 03:48 PM
I don't think we're much of a chance but we're a better chance than 9th place should we make it

As they say, got to be in it to win it

21-08-2022, 03:49 PM
Beat Hawthorn in Launceston for the 1st time since 2009. They lose in the last round for the 1st time since forever.

I'll take that any day of the week, and twice on Sundays AKA Todays. Half way to Perth and a date with Fremantle...go Pies.

Congrats WOOFERs the club could not have done it without our rooting. We did what we needed now let's root very hard for the mighty Pies!!!
Go you good thing!

Roarke

I reckon he’s already got one in 2023

I feel exactly this.

Mind you, I remember thinking last year we'd tailed off and were cooked, so who knows?

In fact, I'm calling it: Bulldogs to overcome our bogey team Geelong and win the flag.

21-08-2022, 03:50 PM
Who?

Roarke Smith.

Just a big relief to win that one by a fairly good margin. Had our chances to win by more. Now hoping my brother team the Magpies do us a huge favour.

Yeah, fun at someone else expense. It's bullshit mate, knock it off

And I'm sure they can defend themselves if it troubles them half as much as it does you, mate.

Pity there's no way to tell.

21-08-2022, 03:51 PM

I think you are right. If only we had a thread on player contracts :D

Beautiful win.

Very proud of the team.

Hunter was brilliant as was Roarke.

But let's face it... It's all about Super SAM! Never play in defence again.

Schache for Bruce if we make it he's really struggling.

Pies by 20 points at 1/4

21-08-2022, 03:52 PM
I've crossed the floor on Bruce. Love the guy for some reason I can't really figure out but we can't keep picking him if Schache is kicking 7 goals a week in the twos.

Congrats WOOFERs the club could not have done it without our rooting. We did what we needed now let's root very hard for the mighty Pies!!!
Go you good thing!

Toot toot. All aboard the rootin’ train. Go Pies.

Pity there's no way to tell.

I think you are right. If only we had a thread on player contracts :D

Too much effort to look up footywire.

21-08-2022, 03:54 PM
I've crossed the floor on Bruce. Love the guy for some reason I can't really figure out but we can't keep picking him if Schache is kicking 7 goals a week in the twos.

I loved Bruce when he took the pack mark 15m out from the hawks goal and then changed my tune when he turned it over

21-08-2022, 03:56 PM
And I'm sure they can defend themselves if it troubles them half as much as it does you, mate.

I just don't like bullying and that's exactly what it is. Pathetic response rather than owning it and ceasing

21-08-2022, 03:57 PM
So if syd win we play Freo in Perth
If saints win we play syd in syd

Ofcourse Carl have to lose first .

21-08-2022, 03:58 PM

Was about to congratulate him for contributing after taking that mark in defence but then he turned it over and gave away a free and them moment was gone.

Have to bring Schache in surely. Was playing better than Bruce before the Covid protocols so onus should be put on Bruce to force Schache out (or for Schache to do it to himself whichever comes first).

21-08-2022, 03:59 PM
Hawthorn put their better defender on Darcy and left Bruce to the young guys You could have put a dipping bird on Bruce and it would have given him a hiding.

21-08-2022, 03:59 PM
I just don't like bullying and that's exactly what it is. Pathetic response rather than owning it and ceasing

Agree with me or you're pathetic.

21-08-2022, 04:00 PM
Was about to congratulate him for contributing after taking that mark in defence but then he turned it over and gave away a free and them moment was gone.

Have to bring Schache in surely. Was playing better than Bruce before the Covid protocols so onus should be put on Bruce to force Schache out (or for Schache to do it to himself whichever comes first).

I mentioned in the match committee thread, we should have brought in TOB and not Bruce, and played Darcy forward and relief ruck. I think that would have been a better solution

21-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Nowhere near convincing but we did what we had to do. It's out of our hands now.
39 I50's conceded to our 71 - that is pretty convincing in all parts of the ground except our F50.

Also conceding only 14 shots at goal to go with our miserly defensive performance last week. We have quietly shorn up a previously huge problem area. If we are lucky enough to sneak in to finals, our game profile is far more September ready now than it was a fortnight ago.

We do need to work on F50 connection and efficiency - that is easier to fix on the run than defensive structure. Exhibit A - Melbourne on Friday night at the Gabba.

21-08-2022, 04:02 PM

Go Pies!!
And now anything can happen if we make it. None of us expected to make the GF last season after losing the last 3.

21-08-2022, 04:02 PM
I loved Bruce when he took the pack mark 15m out from the hawks goal and then changed my tune when he turned it over

Yeah, that was uplifting and deflating.

21-08-2022, 04:03 PM
Does that snippet up forward from Darcy lessen the need for Rory Lobb or does it enforce that need to get him into the side?

21-08-2022, 04:03 PM
I mentioned in the match committee thread, we should have brought in TOB and not Bruce, and played Darcy forward and relief ruck. I think that would have been a better solution

I think Darcy's performance may justify that decision but I doubt Bevo will want Jarmarra and Darcy as 2 of the 3 talls. Schache also makes it a bit of a conundrum as to what to do.

21-08-2022, 04:06 PM
Does that snippet up forward from Darcy lessen the need for Rory Lobb or does it enforce that need to get him into the side?

Question to a question. Are you happy for Darcy to play as a Fwd/Ruck? That's what he'll have to do if we don't get Lobb or we do what we did this season. I'm not comfortable with that.

21-08-2022, 04:07 PM
39 I50's conceded to our 71 - that is pretty convincing in all parts of the ground except our F50.

Also conceding only 14 shots at goal to go with our miserly defensive performance last week. We have quietly shorn up a previously huge problem area. If we are lucky enough to sneak in to finals, our game profile is far more September ready now than it was a fortnight ago.

We do need to work on F50 connection and efficiency - that is easier to fix on the run than defensive structure. Exhibit A - Melbourne on Friday night at the Gabba.

They kicked 2.3 in the second half

21-08-2022, 04:09 PM

I don't want Rory now at all. I was for him, then on the fence, but prefer we get some genuine young rucks on the list.

21-08-2022, 04:12 PM
Belief wins over whingers!!!
Go Dogs!!!

21-08-2022, 04:15 PM
I don't want Rory now at all. I was for him, then on the fence, but prefer we get some genuine young rucks on the list.

Same, Lobb can jog on.

21-08-2022, 04:19 PM
Same, Lobb can jog on.
Josh Bruce's form though....

21-08-2022, 04:28 PM
Josh Bruce's form though....

Back Darcy in, keep Schache. Drop Bruce forever

Sounds like a game of marry, kiss, kill.

21-08-2022, 05:37 PM
Belief wins over whingers!!!
Go Dogs!!!

21-08-2022, 05:47 PM
Beautiful win.

Very proud of the team.

Hunter was brilliant as was Roarke.

But let's face it... It's all about Super SAM! Never play in defence again.

Schache for Bruce if we make it he's really struggling.

When you are sweet you are very sweet, when you are bad you are not very good :)

21-08-2022, 06:08 PM
And with a Magpie win we are there !!!!!!

21-08-2022, 06:11 PM
We are going to win the flag.

21-08-2022, 06:23 PM

We're a better chance than Carlton

21-08-2022, 06:48 PM

I missed most of this season due to sulking after the GF loss but I honestly didnt even know what hujsh was talking about.

21-08-2022, 06:48 PM

yep and getting finals games into our young players.

Always rather in the finals than out.

Better to come 8th than 9th.

Better to come 13th than 9th too.

21-08-2022, 06:49 PM

Great to be in the top 8 again!

21-08-2022, 06:50 PM
Bevo's pet went alright.

21-08-2022, 06:51 PM
Back Darcy in, keep Schache. Drop Bruce forever

Sounds like a game of marry, kiss, kill.

I get that Bruce has not been ready to be back, but are we forgetting he kicked 50 goals before doing his knee last year?

At least give him a chance for the ball to hit him in the numbers again before putting a line through him I say.

21-08-2022, 06:53 PM
I get that Bruce has not been ready to be back, but are we forgetting he kicked 50 goals before doing his knee last year?

At least give him a chance for the ball to hit him in the numbers again before putting a line through him I say.

He's completely done for this season and should not be being picked. Hopefully, he will return to some measure of form in 2023.

21-08-2022, 06:54 PM

He is done for this season for me.

More than happy to see if he can get it back next season.

Hard to come back instantly from a knee.

21-08-2022, 06:55 PM

Ah interesting. You now sold on Darcy Forward/Ruck?

21-08-2022, 06:56 PM

Haha, can do.

21-08-2022, 07:07 PM
I can envision Bruce coming good in finals but Darcy changes the equation. I give Bruce my 1st ever BIDS54 guillotine.

21-08-2022, 07:13 PM
Ah interesting. You now sold on Darcy Forward/Ruck?

He will probably end up there

21-08-2022, 07:16 PM
I must say I'm surprised at the heat Bruce is getting on here for a big unit coming off a knee.

Josh Schache has never proven himself as a AFL player that's why they are giving Bruce the benefit of the doubt. Schache had a full preseason after a promising finals series last year to cement his spot( and didn't take advantage again....) and now he has kicked a few bags against amateur opposition he is now that saviour. Dacry is a better footballer than Schache after three games of football. There needs to be some perspective here surely.

ON the positives...

Its been obvious since his first game in the VFL, that Darcy isn't a defender. How exciting where those two goals? It was nearly the highlight of the year for mine(well outside of Marra's five against the dees.) Enjoy woofers this kid is going to be a star.

English actually put some hitouts to advantage today I thought he was really strong in all phases today.

You got to love Duryea. He is the only defender I feel that we can count on to win a one on one when it counts.

Hunter and Roarke welcome recent additions I thought they were both excellent.

We still seem to be a fair way off the pace, our intensity around the contest and desire to get back defensively and be responsible for a man continues to be our achilles.

Win or loose next week, I think think the club needs to have a good hard look at itself system wise or else it will continue to be our downfall. It's the most promising list we have ever had, Bevo is still the man no doubt I just think he needs to make a few changes and we can really become a serious force with this group.

21-08-2022, 07:17 PM

Most of those didn't count (am I doing it right?).

21-08-2022, 07:23 PM
He will probably end up there

"End up there"? He will always be up there but 'end there' is vaguely hostile haha. C'mon Darcy will end up in neon lights. He promises more than his dad or granddad. To say he will 'end up there' suggests the club will direct it.

21-08-2022, 07:45 PM
He is done for this season for me.

More than happy to see if he can get it back next season.

Hard to come back instantly from a knee.

I agree, that's my exact point. Aza wants him put to death, but then again, aza has always been a bloodthirsty fiend.

21-08-2022, 07:49 PM
I agree, that's my exact point. Aza wants him put to death, but then again, aza has always been a bloodthirsty fiend.

I also lack conviction to carry things through to the end.

21-08-2022, 08:20 PM
It must be a very frustrating existence.

21-08-2022, 08:26 PM
reference: Kruder. Post #380

Josh Schache has never proven himself as a AFL player that's why they are giving Bruce the benefit of the doubt.

You obviously have not been watching closely.

Both Bruce and Schache have played 45 games for the Dogs. Bruce has kicked 63 goals and Schache has kicked 52.

Bring in the fact that 10 of Bruce’s came in 1 game, and a small number of Schache’s were good games on the backline, I see their contributions as very similar. actually Schache has been a more consistent scorer, less per game but in more games.

In the 2020 and 2022 seasons combined, Bruce had 21 games and in 13 (66%) of them he didn’t kick a goal.

Bruce has been given the benefit of the doubt, true. And he will continue to be. But it is in circumstances where he is not fit and not contributing to the team. 1 goal in his last 5 games is not AFL standard.

22-08-2022, 07:11 AM
Bounced out of bed this morning. Dogs win. Blues lose again in tragic circumstances. We make the finals again. The Bombers are a basket case, again. It is also the launch day for House of Dragon.

p.s. We will get to relive that last few minutes of the Carlton choke on tonight's football shows from 47 different angles and perspectives.

p.s.s. How good is livin'?

22-08-2022, 07:57 AM
I can envision Bruce coming good in finals but Darcy changes the equation. I give Bruce my 1st ever BIDS54 guillotine.

Bruce hasn't looked like being a threat in his 5 AFL games this year... what have you seen that gives you hope?

22-08-2022, 09:57 AM
The Dogs making the finals

https://media0.giphy.com/media/EFGDfCzS5YA48/giphy.gif

22-08-2022, 11:40 AM
Another video of the boys. The last play of the day was Young kicks the ball and Lippa smothers it. :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYnJ_D_ZsyA

22-08-2022, 12:57 PM
I commented on Twitter pre game that Young and Lippa were our secret agents. I was right again.:cool:

Is it English and Bailey Dale who remain seated when everyone else jumps around like maniacs? :confused:

22-08-2022, 01:00 PM
I commented on Twitter pre game that Young and Lippa were our secret agents. I was right again.:cool:

Is it English and Bailey Dale who remain seated when everyone else jumps around like maniacs? :confused:

Lets hope Boyd and Murphy aren't their secret weapons.

22-08-2022, 05:43 PM
reference: Kruder. Post #380

Josh Schache has never proven himself as a AFL player that's why they are giving Bruce the benefit of the doubt.

You obviously have not been watching closely.

Both Bruce and Schache have played 45 games for the Dogs. Bruce has kicked 63 goals and Schache has kicked 52.

Bring in the fact that 10 of Bruce’s came in 1 game, and a small number of Schache’s were good games on the backline, I see their contributions as very similar. actually Schache has been a more consistent scorer, less per game but in more games.

In the 2020 and 2022 seasons combined, Bruce had 21 games and in 13 (66%) of them he didn’t kick a goal.

Bruce has been given the benefit of the doubt, true. And he will continue to be. But it is in circumstances where he is not fit and not contributing to the team. 1 goal in his last 5 games is not AFL standard.

You haven't been watching closely... Keep those Blinkers on dude. Has Schache ever proven himself as an AFL player?

Josh Bruce has. Its pretty simple.

22-08-2022, 06:13 PM
You haven't been watching closely... Keep those Blinkers on dude. Has Schache ever proven himself as an AFL player?

I think Chris Grant proved himself a pretty good AFL player, but I don't want him selected. He still might be better than the current version of Josh Bruce.

24-08-2022, 11:31 AM

I don’t know what benefits you get from actively pushing this myth.

In his first 2 years Schache was given 27 games and got goals in 23 of them. He was our most consistent goal scorer.

After 15 possessions and 4 goals against hawthorn (a stronger team than now) he had 2 goalless games and was dropped for 8 weeks.

Whereas your hero had 9 goalless games in 2020 and was never dropped. Considering that he only had 2 games with more than 1 goal in the whole season all he did was show that imported reputations count for more than local ones.

Yes, 2021 was great, and he is still being selected on last year’s form. Fortunately the youngest players are making up for his lack of contribution (understandable considering his injury and significant operation). But all we can conclude is selecting an unfit Bruce has been disastrous for the team in 2 of his 3 years.

I’m sure you remember that Schache wasn’t much good in the first half of a game and got benched for 50% game time, and then dropped for 18 games. Teflon Bruce is playing worse now than Schache did then, but we’re probably going to discover that his name is already on the team sheet for Perth.