View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee - 2023 Finals Edition

Pages : 1 [2]

31-08-2022, 09:05 AM
I reckon we will play Mcomb or Scott. Please make it Scott

31-08-2022, 09:09 AM
West should come into calculations now but there is no easy replacement for someone like Liberatore. I think it is time to throw West in the middle and see what he has got. He will be a bull in the guts and has such quick hands. He will be the new Libber in years to come if they manage to sign him.

31-08-2022, 09:09 AM
Also I don’t care if it’s a final the McComb rule still applies.

31-08-2022, 09:13 AM
Libba out with a hammy.

31-08-2022, 09:15 AM
When we played Freo Libba had for us:

-The most tackles
-The most clearances
-The most inside 50s
-The most centre clearances
-Second most score involvements
-Fourth most possessions

He is going to be very hard to replace. Dunks definitely has to step up and play that permanent inside mid role rather than the forward/mid role. We will also need big games from Macrae, Baz and Bont. Hopefully someone like Garcia, McLean or West can also step up if given a chance.

31-08-2022, 09:20 AM
Re Libba's hamstring. We pretty much just lost our best player for the year. That's great. Just bloody great.

31-08-2022, 09:21 AM
At least a full game of Dunkley in the middle gives the price of the brick a chance to go up.

This is our own fault for putting the negative energy of a McComb contract extension out into the universe right before this massive game.

31-08-2022, 09:22 AM
At least a full game of Dunkley in the middle gives the price of the brick a chance to go up.

This is our own fault for putting the negative energy of a McComb contract extension out into the universe right before this massive game.

Fingers crossed he doesn't come into the 22

31-08-2022, 09:23 AM
Fingers crossed he doesn't come into the 22

I know, the pub we booked took my credit card details and I really don’t want to pay a cancellation fee if I can’t watch the game.

31-08-2022, 09:24 AM
Horrendous news. Libba’s been easily our best player this year.

Well, I would argue that Richards has been our best player but I know where you are coming from. The news about Tom isn't great but one less inside midfielder is not a massive issue.

Our starting midfield still looks OK:
Multiple AA Player Jack Macrae.
Multiple AA Player Barcus Montempelli.
Premiership player and in demand out-of-contract 30-possession winning goal-kicking Josh Dunkley.
Best mate of Dunks - dynamic runner and elite kick on both feet Adam Treloar.
Hero of Cotton-On, the Melbourne Night Club scene (and the final vs Brisbane in 2021) Bailey Smith.

If those guys aren't up to taking on the Freo bunch (below) then, well, we may as well shut the joint down.
Andrew 'Smaller, younger brother of Gus who doesn't kick it as well' Brayshaw
Gold Coast discard Will Brodie.
Fossil who has announced his retirement Dave Mundy.
Brisbane and Collingwood discard James Aish
WAFL regular Darcy Tucker
The admittedly very good rising star winner Caleb Serong

I'm not saying we are 100% going to beat Freo but we have quality midfield depth and even without Liber we have the running brigade to torch the Freo mids. Are the players in there willing to sacrifice for one another in a 'we > me' style that overwhelms what is a pretty pedestrian Fremantle midfield group? Well...let's hope so. Freo are a system based team relying on team defense and retaining possession of the footy...this injury simply doesn't move the needle on what is possible on Saturday.

31-08-2022, 09:30 AM
Freo are a system based team relying on team defense and retaining possession of the footy...

I wonder what tactics will be deployed to counter this.

31-08-2022, 09:32 AM
Also I don’t care if it’s a final the McComb rule still applies. The McComb rule should apply in intra club games

31-08-2022, 09:57 AM
If McComb comes in I won't even bother watching.

31-08-2022, 10:00 AM
Well, I would argue that Richards has been our best player but I know where you are coming from. The news about Tom isn't great but one less inside midfielder is not a massive issue.

Premiership player and in demand out-of-contract 30-possession winning goal-kicking Josh Dunkley.
Hero of Cotton-On, the Melbourne Night Club scene (and the final vs Brisbane in 2021) Bailey Smith.

If those guys aren't up to taking on the Freo bunch (below) then, well, we may as well shut the joint down.

I'm not saying we are 100% going to beat Freo but we have quality midfield depth and even without Liber we have the running brigade to torch the Freo mids. Are the players in there willing to sacrifice for one another in a 'we > me' style that overwhelms what is a pretty pedestrian Fremantle midfield group? Well...let's hope so. Freo are a system based team relying on team defense and retaining possession of the footy...this injury simply doesn't move the needle on what is possible on Saturday.

Thanks for the pick-me-up.

Last week we had four mids rotating all with around 50% centre bounce attendance - Bont, Libba, Dunkley and Smith - while Macrae was the workhorse attending the majority of centre bounces and Treloar as relief. I'd guess that we'd elevate Treloar's minutes to 50% and find another player who can relieve Macrae. McLean, West, Garcia or McComb.

31-08-2022, 10:05 AM
It's a blow but we should be able to cover it.

I'm more concerned it presents Bevo an opportunity to play McComb.

31-08-2022, 10:10 AM
It's a blow but we should be able to cover it.

I'm more concerned it presents Bevo an opportunity to play McComb.

It sure does. As does the wet. Bigger bodies and all that. Messy ball and all that.

I mean... in some ways if there was EVER a game for him to play, it's this week.

31-08-2022, 10:21 AM
Thanks for the pick-me-up.

Last week we had four mids rotating all with around 50% centre bounce attendance - Bont, Libba, Dunkley and Smith - while Macrae was the workhorse attending the majority of centre bounces and Treloar as relief. I'd guess that we'd elevate Treloar's minutes to 50% and find another player who can relieve Macrae. McLean, West, Garcia or McComb.
McLean for mine. He has had a strong lead-in at VFL level since coming back from injury and he gives us better balance defensively in our midfield rotations.

Libba is a massive loss spiritually, but as mentioned Treloar can pick up some of the extra minutes in there and theoretically we don't lose an enormous amount. But we're talking about Libba, who is our spirit animal. Without him in the 2019 EF we folded insipidly like a deck of cards - we simply walk taller with him in the team. Huge game for Dunks, Bont, Macrae and Treloar especially - they are all vastly experienced and talended mids who have no excuse not to roll the sleeves up and get it done in Libba's absence. Goes without saying English needs to have a huge game as well. His stoppage work and ability to nullify Darcy at the source will be critical to the outcome.

31-08-2022, 10:25 AM
It sure does. As does the wet. Bigger bodies and all that. Messy ball and all that.

I mean... in some ways if there was EVER a game for him to play, it's this week.

the forecast is showing no rain after 1pm

31-08-2022, 10:29 AM
I’m worried about Libba’s loss for his presence as much as his ability. Say one of their players decides to punch Cody in the balls again, who can we realistically expect to be first in to mix it up now? Who is gonna go push Heath Shaw in the chest and let him know that he’s had 4 kicked on him, he’s a loser and he sucks?

He makes us walk taller in a way that no one else in the team really does.

31-08-2022, 10:43 AM
Libba is heart and soul in that midfield. This is like when we lost Moz in the backline. He can't be replaced

31-08-2022, 10:56 AM
Im in no way a fan of McComb but some of the comments in this thread about him are disgracecful.

31-08-2022, 11:01 AM
Im in no way a fan of McComb but some of the comments in this thread about him are disgracecful.

The frustration should be directed more towards the MC for selecting him not the player.

31-08-2022, 11:02 AM

Look I agree in theory it's just that whenever we've needed a spark it's been Libba. He's bigger than an inside mid in terms of what he brings to the team. Basically playing without our heart and his omission cannot be overstated.

31-08-2022, 11:15 AM
It looks as if whether Bruce is selected it will come down to an equal assessment of his likeliness to contribute in the ruck and whether the MC thinks he will get some forward form back.

Can we realistically go into the game with only English with help from.......well nobody? When English needs a break do we roll Cordy up and put Darcy back?

From Bevo's presser commentary it feels like Bruce is seriously being considered for omission, though interestingly with only reading excerpts Schache hasn't been mentioned as a possible in.

31-08-2022, 11:17 AM
It looks as if whether Bruce is selected it will come down to an equal assessment of his likeliness to contribute in the ruck and whether the MC thinks he will get some forward form back.

Can we realistically go into the game with only English with help from.......well nobody? When English needs a break do we roll Cordy up and put Darcy back?

From Bevo's presser commentary it feels like Bruce is seriously being considered for omission, though interestingly with only reading excerpts Schache hasn't been mentioned as a possible in.

Can Darcy do 5 to 7 minutes in the ruck?

31-08-2022, 11:25 AM

Errr no thanks.

31-08-2022, 11:26 AM
Errr no thanks.

Then Bruce plays

31-08-2022, 11:32 AM
I think Bruce will play anyway we're really gun shy when Tim goes out of the ruck. Assume Darcy starts back and goes forward when Bruce is rucking.

31-08-2022, 11:41 AM
Maybe our mids not having to rely on Libba to take the initiative may be a good thing. Don’t get me wrong Libba out is a massive blow but maybe now others need to be the driving force and step up.

31-08-2022, 11:52 AM

I don't think we'd take the risk, it wouldn't be good for either him or the team in my view.

To me it comes down to either Schache or Bruce, and I would go with the former as he isn't going to be much worse that Bruce in the ruck but is a higher chance of hitting the scoreboard. He can also play back if we needed him to, with Cordy going into the ruck.

31-08-2022, 11:55 AM
Errr no thanks.

Why not?

At VFL he showed a natural aptitude for ruck work.

If he is rucking against Griffin Logue I think he gets the hitouts and he seemed pretty adept at tapping to advantage.

31-08-2022, 11:57 AM
Then Bruce plays

NO No and No.

Schache is a better option and in form.

I have no issue with Darcy taking relief minutes but if the MC don't want him doing that then Schache before Bruce.

31-08-2022, 11:59 AM

With Bruce, it is like playing one short. 17 vs 18.

With McComb, it is as if you have also given the opposition an extra player. 17 vs 19.

If both McComb and Bruce play: 16 vs 19.

It will add a certain piquancy to watching this game.

31-08-2022, 12:09 PM
Why not?

At VFL he showed a natural aptitude for ruck work.

If he is rucking against Griffin Logue I think he gets the hitouts and he seemed pretty adept at tapping to advantage.

Darcy doesn't even have a preseason behind him and has played 10 games of football since badly injuring his foot (three AFL games). I just don't think we take the risk and I think he can be used to better effect elsewhere.

31-08-2022, 12:10 PM
Doesn't make sense to play Bruce all the way up to the finals and then just drop him and bring in Schache. Bruce has done absolutely nothing every week and keeps getting picked why would we change it up now?

31-08-2022, 12:15 PM
Bruce simply cannot be selected. In his present form he offers a net negative up forward, a net negative as ruck relief and is not capable of filling a role as key defender. Schache is a proven solid contributor in the wet, is in terrific goal kicking form and can pinch hit a few minutes in ruck to chop English out. If we suffer injuries in game he can also switch to key defence if needed - he's no David Dench but he's not to total liability either.

If not Schache, happy to go 1 less tall rather than select Bruce.

31-08-2022, 12:21 PM

He was really influential when he went in there in the VFL, will have better ruck craft than English. I was keen to see him in there against the Hawks just incase it happens in September.

31-08-2022, 12:34 PM
What I like about Libba's game is his willingness to be that "in and under" player when we just have to win the ball. He puts his head and body on the line to ensure we get first hands. If the ground is going to be wet, we need him ... but unfortunately, we don't have him. For this reason alone, West has to play and he has to play in the guts. He has to take on the Libba role and get first hands to the ball. If not him, then Sonny Garcia.

As good as our mids are, without the first hands on the ball, Freo kill us in the guts.

31-08-2022, 12:39 PM
Basically playing without our heart and his omission cannot be overstated.

Yep - I get it.

But what are we going to do? Cry about it? We have enough good players to cover...so...go cover!

31-08-2022, 12:41 PM
Garcia will step up in Libba's absence. Smith ready to fire. Dunkley in good form and a rested Bont should partly cover Libba. McComb may come in, see ball, get ball.

31-08-2022, 12:45 PM
Garcia will step up in Libba's absence. Smith ready to fire. Dunkley in good form and a rested Bont should partly cover Libba. McComb may come in, see ball, get ball.

... give the ball to the opposition?

Sorry, couldn't resist.

31-08-2022, 12:48 PM

Sorry, couldn't resist.

I actually LOLed :p

31-08-2022, 12:50 PM
If I had Bruce's form, I would ask not be selected. West is my preferred replacement for Libba in the centre, great opportunity for him.

31-08-2022, 01:01 PM
I actually LOLed :p

I choked on my coffee and a little bit of vomit came up into my mouth. ��

31-08-2022, 01:10 PM
Yep West for Libba for mine. He's the only one close to Libba's vision in tight

31-08-2022, 01:10 PM
If not Schache, happy to go 1 less tall rather than select Bruce.

Who is then second ruck?

31-08-2022, 01:17 PM
Who is then second ruck?
Just not Bruce.

Cordy will do. Or a mid every once in a while. Maybe English can ramp up to 90% game time and justify his expectation to be the big dog. We simply cannot carry Bruce in his present form.

31-08-2022, 01:19 PM
Yep - I get it.

But what are we going to do? Cry about it? We have enough good players to cover...so...go cover!

Sure the point of having a midfield that bats this deep is that you can cover the loss of one player, regardless of how good he is.

31-08-2022, 01:22 PM
Just not Bruce.

Cordy will do. Or a mid every once in a while. Maybe English can ramp up to 90% game time and justify his expectation to be the big dog. We simply cannot carry Bruce in his present form.

Maybe that is what will happen.

Last night Bevo was thinking of different scenarios, and mentioned rucks and whether Freo will bring in another ruck or go with Logue again. If it is Logue then your scenario will work.

What I would like to see is:

Out: Bruce, Darcy, Libba

In: Schache, JJ, West

Darcy is a 3 gamer and to me a possible risk in such a final - so I would go a little shorter in the forward line.

31-08-2022, 01:28 PM
Pretty happy to not pick Bruce based solely on his ability to run into the other ruckman in short spurts. Would much rather we picked anybody else and went with our classic random ruckman tactic. Darcy should take it in d50 anyway.

Understand the angst about McComb but meh, he's the 22nd player and while completely uninspiring clearly the MC think he plays his role well enough and he is unlikely to make that big a difference to our fortunes.

31-08-2022, 02:28 PM

Last night Bevo was thinking of different scenarios, and mentioned rucks and whether Freo will bring in another ruck or go with Logue again. If it is Logue then your scenario will work.

Darcy is a 3 gamer and to me a possible risk in such a final - so I would go a little shorter in the forward line.

I see no justification not to play Darcy.

We should not worry about him becoming overawed by the situation, but instead give him the opportunity to shine.

Show him we believe in him.

Better things happen when you concentrate on how you can get things to go right, rather than be limited because you worry about what might go wrong.

31-08-2022, 02:30 PM
Libba is heart and soul in that midfield. This is like when we lost Moz in the backline. He can't be replaced

I agree, he is also the only one that really gets his hands dirty.

31-08-2022, 02:35 PM
I see no justification not to play Darcy.

We should not worry about him becoming overawed by the situation, but instead give him the opportunity to shine.

Show him we believe in him.

Better things happen when you concentrate on how you can get things to go right, rather than be limited because you worry about what might go wrong.

He will probably play just fine in the ruck but his body isnt ready for ruck and we would be doing a disservice to give him time there.

Many others can chop out in the ruck before him.

31-08-2022, 02:38 PM
He will probably play just fine in the ruck but his body isnt ready for ruck and we would be doing a disservice to give him time there.

Many others can chop out in the ruck before him.

While I agree that his body needs more development, I don't see the issue with him covering the relief ruck role.

31-08-2022, 02:40 PM
If they replicate their structure from last time Darcy would be up against Griffin Logue, with a height advantage of near enough to 20cm. It could work well in our favour in bursts, especially from centre clearances.

31-08-2022, 02:41 PM

Would Keath or O'Brien be a better option to help the defenders if Fremantle go with 3 tall forwards if Darcy is to be dropped?

31-08-2022, 02:44 PM
Darcy must play. Wondering whether we'll throw Bruce back and Darcy forward.

31-08-2022, 02:50 PM
NO No and No.

Schache is a better option and in form.

I have no issue with Darcy taking relief minutes but if the MC don't want him doing that then Schache before Bruce.

Another positive about Schache playing is that he can swap with Darcy if needs be without weakening the back line or forward line.

31-08-2022, 03:03 PM
I'm in the camp we don't play Schache or Bruce.

Back in English, Darcy and Cordy to get it done in the ruck.

Contested ball and ball movement will be key.

31-08-2022, 03:09 PM
I’m expecting Bruce and McComb to both play.

31-08-2022, 03:14 PM
I'm in the camp we don't play Schache or Bruce.

Back in English, Darcy and Cordy to get it done in the ruck.

Contested ball and ball movement will be key.

Who plays in defense?

31-08-2022, 03:15 PM
Would Keath or O'Brien be a better option to help the defenders if Fremantle go with 3 tall forwards if Darcy is to be dropped?

I am not sold on Keath, but maybe TOB can take on one of their forwards.

God we are just not settled on backline and second ruck - so many options and I am not confident in any.

31-08-2022, 03:24 PM
Who plays in defense?

Cordy, Gardner, Richards, Dale, Duryrea, Daniel.

31-08-2022, 03:30 PM
Cordy, Gardner, Richards, Dale, Duryrea, Daniel.

So Cordy goes to relief ruck, who replaces him? Darcy?

31-08-2022, 03:35 PM
I am not sold on Keath, but maybe TOB can take on one of their forwards.

God we are just not settled on backline and second ruck - so many options and I am not confident in any.

Agree Bornadog. The backline is our Achilles heel for sure. It’s shaky, and it’s unpredictable.

31-08-2022, 03:47 PM
So Cordy goes to relief ruck, who replaces him? Darcy?

Darcy to ruck, Cordy as third option.

31-08-2022, 04:17 PM
Agree Bornadog. The backline is our Achilles heel for sure. It’s shaky, and it’s unpredictable.

How the backline performs is directly linked to the oppositions ease of entry, and also their repeated easy entries.

This relates to how much pressure those up the ground place on the opposition ball carrier. For large parts of this season's games the back line has held firm for periods of the game. Our midfielders and forwards must track their opponents to close down opportunities in our D50.

31-08-2022, 04:34 PM
I’m expecting Bruce and McComb to both play.

Aaarghhhhhh. Much prefer West or Garcia - suppose Bevo likes the bigger bodied McComb. Just don’t see it. Good luck to him tjough and as always hope my pessimism is proven wrong. Enough has been said about Bruce but hoping he can now jump off ground and clunk a few marks - was a bit better in hawks game but has to be much better again in a cut throat final for us to win I reckon.

31-08-2022, 04:35 PM
Is Maclean a smoky for selection with Libba out? Seasoned player, good in the clinches and good in wet weather.

31-08-2022, 04:39 PM
Is Maclean a smoky for selection with Libba out? Seasoned player, good in the clinches and good in wet weather.

He was mentioned by Bevo in his press conference today as a possible.

He also said two changes plus Libba, so three in three out.

31-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Doesn't make sense to play Bruce all the way up to the finals and then just drop him and bring in Schache. Bruce has done absolutely nothing every week and keeps getting picked why would we change it up now?

Because picking him when he is clearly still struggling was wrong decision in first place?

Hope he comes back next year fit & firing. If Bryce is selected I hope he puts in a pearler and proves doubters like me wrong. Also hope if Schache plays (agree extremely unlikely) he plays out of his skin - last chance saloon in the RWB and/or a job interview for prospective interested teams.

31-08-2022, 05:18 PM

He'd be my choice. I don't care if he's only played VFL this season, I have more faith in him than McComb who I'm expecting to play instead.

31-08-2022, 07:42 PM

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Haha.

31-08-2022, 09:37 PM
Doing my best to decode Bevo...I think:

- Bruce out, Keath in, Sam Darcy fwd
- Zaine R2 + KPD, maybe following the Freo R2/F (Logue perhaps)
- Libba out and I think one other. Vanders?
- No real idea of the other 1-2 in. Westy, Garcia, Tobias, JJ?

01-09-2022, 11:06 AM
I reckon JJ will come in.

01-09-2022, 11:17 AM
My team

B: Duryea, Gardner, Keath

HB: Dale, Darcy, Richards

C: Treloar, Dunkley, Hunter

HF: Smith, Jamarra, West

F: Weightman, Naughton, Schache

R: English, Bont, Macrae

Int: Daniel, Williams, JJ, Garcia

EMG: Scott, Cordy, McLean

01-09-2022, 11:22 AM
My team

B: Duryea, Gardner, Keath

HB: Dale, Darcy, Richards

C: Treloar, Dunkley, Hunter

HF: Smith, Jamarra, West

F: Weightman, Naughton, Schache

R: English, Bont, Macrae

Int: Daniel, Williams, JJ, Garcia

EMG: Scott, Cordy, McLean

What you want or what you think will happen? Roarke Smith stiff to miss out altogether.

01-09-2022, 11:30 AM
What you want or what you think will happen? Roarke Smith stiff to miss out altogether.

What I would like to see, hence 'my team'. I rate all the players mentioned higher than Roarke at the moment.

01-09-2022, 11:32 AM
I want Roarke in, especially if there’s any hint of rain.

01-09-2022, 11:42 AM
What I would like to see, hence 'my team'. I rate all the players mentioned higher than Roarke at the moment.

Fair enough.

I've entered the competition to pick the team on the Bulldogs website. I'm sure to be wrong.

01-09-2022, 12:00 PM
I doubt it will be that wet ... the forecast is for morning rain. We have had fine weather (sunny and 20s) all week, the ground will dry quickly if its only morning rain

01-09-2022, 12:12 PM
I doubt it will be that wet ... the forecast is for morning rain. We have had fine weather (sunny and 20s) all week, the ground will dry quickly if its only morning rain

Forecast rain till about 1pm

01-09-2022, 12:20 PM
Forecast rain till about 1pm

With a 5:10start? 4 hrs to dry?

01-09-2022, 12:28 PM
Isn't it 6:10 start

0.2mm from 10am to 1pm

01-09-2022, 12:32 PM
I think Optus will drain 2-4mm very quickly especially if there isn't any water in the subsoil.

01-09-2022, 12:40 PM

It is still two days ago. The BOM definitely don't have the ability to forecast actual rainfall down to a small time window more than 48 hours in advance. Who know what is going to happen.

01-09-2022, 12:44 PM
I made a statement a few weeks ago that we pretty much play the same 14-16 players every week and then rotate the other spots like crazy.

To think we might make 3 or 4 unforced changes again this week shows why we are in the position we are... we lack consistency in both team selection & player performance. I guess they go hand in hand, but we never seem to settle on what our best 22 is in and back them in regardless of minor ups and downs.... and sure there's exceptions, but our team is a revolving door.

01-09-2022, 01:18 PM
It is still two days ago. The BOM definitely don't have the ability to forecast actual rainfall down to a small time window more than 48 hours in advance. Who know what is going to happen.

Here you go. Hard to read but shows no rain after 1 - 2pm

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FbigNhJUYAATR5O?format=jpg&name=medium

01-09-2022, 01:39 PM
This thread has reached new heights.

01-09-2022, 01:43 PM
Here you go. Hard to read but shows no rain after 1 - 2pm

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FbigNhJUYAATR5O?format=jpg&name=medium

Is that Bevo's eyebrow height v the stupidity scale of questions he cops?

01-09-2022, 04:22 PM
Is that Bevo's eyebrow height v the stupidity scale of questions he cops?

its a dogs supporters heart rate when watching McComb kick the footy.

01-09-2022, 05:33 PM
Fair enough.

I've entered the competition to pick the team on the Bulldogs website. I'm sure to be wrong.

There you go, the MC are stumped for this round so they are picking a team based on the most popular. :)

01-09-2022, 05:59 PM
There you go, the MC are stumped for this round so they are picking a team based on the most popular. :)

Outsourcing dressed up as a competition, see and we think the MC have no idea. They're innovators!

01-09-2022, 06:27 PM
FREMANTLE

In: J.Amiss, R.Lobb, G.Logue
Out: L.Meek (omitted), B.Banfield (omitted), N.Fyfe (injured), D.Tucker (Medi-Sub)

Round 23 sub: D.Tucker (unused)

WESTERN BULLDOGS

In: A.Keath, J.Johannisen, T.McLean
Out: J.Bruce (omitted), T.Liberatore (injured), T.Duryea (personal reason), R.McComb (Medi-Sub)

Round 23 sub: R.McComb (replaced L.Vandermeer in the fourth quarter)

01-09-2022, 06:29 PM
Duyrea is a big loss.

So Doc is out for personal reasons but is named as an emergency?

Duryea out is a big blow, hold the backline together.

01-09-2022, 06:30 PM
ELIMINATION FINAL TEAM

Fremantle v Western Bulldogs
Saturday 3 September, 8.10pm AEST
Optus Stadium

B: Ed Richards, Ryan Gardner, Zaine Cordy
HB: Bailey Williams, Alex Keath, Bailey Dale
C: Lachie Hunter, Josh Dunkley, Jack Macrae
HF: Adam Treloar, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Jason Johannisen
F: Cody Weightman, Aaron Naughton, Sam Darcy
R: Tim English, Marcus Bontempelli, Bailey Smith
Int: Laith Vandermeer, Caleb Daniel, Toby McLean, Roarke Smith
Emer: Stef Martin, Josh Bruce, Robbie McComb, Taylor Duryea

In: Alex Keath, Jason Johannisen, Toby McLean
Out: Josh Bruce (omitted), Tom Liberatore (hamstring), Taylor Duryea (personal reasons), Robbie McComb (medi-sub)

01-09-2022, 06:30 PM
FREMANTLE

In: J.Amiss, R.Lobb, G.Logue
Out: L.Meek (omitted), B.Banfield (omitted), N.Fyfe (injured), D.Tucker (Medi-Sub)

Round 23 sub: D.Tucker (unused)

WESTERN BULLDOGS

In: A.Keath, J.Johannisen, T.McLean
Out: J.Bruce (omitted), T.Liberatore (injured), T.Duryea (personal reason), R.McComb (Medi-Sub)

Round 23 sub: R.McComb (replaced L.Vandermeer in the fourth quarter)

No Bruce, No McComb - I assume a few people here are taking a private moment.

Duryea out is bit of a shame. I'm unconvinced by the team, but I guess we'll find out.

01-09-2022, 06:31 PM
McComb to be the sub.

01-09-2022, 06:33 PM

Duryea out is bit of a shame. I'm unconvinced by the team, but I guess we'll find out.

McComb is a lock for the sub. Why on actual earth.

01-09-2022, 06:33 PM
Toby back about bloody time!

Darcy is staying forward no doubt.

Raels_d
01-09-2022, 06:34 PM
Thought Riley would play with Libba out. Very disappointed with this decision

01-09-2022, 06:37 PM

Garcia is a great young kid but McLean on paper should be an upgrade. As long as he's fit (which he seems to be) we know he can play and he has finals experience

01-09-2022, 06:39 PM
Whoa!!! No Riley West.

01-09-2022, 06:42 PM
ELIMINATION FINAL TEAM

Fremantle v Western Bulldogs
Saturday 3 September, 8.10pm AEST
Optus Stadium

B: Ed Richards, Ryan Gardner, Zaine Cordy
HB: Bailey Williams, Alex Keath, Bailey Dale
C: Lachie Hunter, Josh Dunkley, Jack Macrae
HF: Adam Treloar, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Jason Johannisen
F: Cody Weightman, Aaron Naughton, Sam Darcy
R: Tim English, Marcus Bontempelli, Bailey Smith
Int: Laith Vandermeer, Caleb Daniel, Toby McLean, Roarke Smith
Emer: Stef Martin, Josh Bruce, Robbie McComb, Taylor Duryea

In: Alex Keath, Jason Johannisen, Toby McLean
Out: Josh Bruce (omitted), Tom Liberatore (hamstring), Taylor Duryea (personal reasons), Robbie McComb (medi-sub)

I feel we let ourselves down here on WOOF not realising this was about to happen ….

https://i.postimg.cc/Mp5cYxDj/4477-B38-D-D215-45-E8-93-C6-E6-F0-CE0-D876-C.jpg (https://postimg.cc/CRZLF39F)

01-09-2022, 06:45 PM
So Doc is out for personal reasons but is named as an emergency?

I imagine its so that if the baby comes soon enough he can be a late in.

01-09-2022, 06:46 PM
Vandermeer in front of West with Libba out is a mistake imo. Vandermeer had better perform.

01-09-2022, 07:00 PM
Other than Doc and Libba out, I am pretty happy with the team

01-09-2022, 07:13 PM
Good luck Toby!

01-09-2022, 07:17 PM

Agreed. No West and Garcia = loss

01-09-2022, 07:22 PM

Nah......

01-09-2022, 07:32 PM

If we lose it won’t be due to not selecting West or Garcia. Losing Libba is huge but we have enough experience to cover his absence (obviously not to the same degree).

01-09-2022, 07:51 PM
Would have liked to have seen West and that backup ruck role looks to be Darcy/Cordy, McComb also in the squad makes me nervous but overall I'm as pleased as I can with Libba out and Doc staying close to home.

Very happy with McLean in, Bruce out is a surprise and not an unpleasant one.

01-09-2022, 07:51 PM
Duryea out hurts.

Other than that, about the best side we could pick. Prefer West or Garcia as a sub instead of the emergencies listed

01-09-2022, 08:02 PM

https://youtu.be/xSVqLHghLpw

01-09-2022, 08:39 PM
Wow, can’t believe they had the balls to drop Bruce. Never thought I’d see that.

McComb obvious sub. Nothing against him personally but how can he be selected ahead of Garcia and West. MC must see something 99% on here don’t.

Maybe West has his papers stamped.

01-09-2022, 08:57 PM
I'm glad that JJ is in, one of the few smalls forward of the ball that is a good decision maker and can kick to the advantage of the forwards.

How exciting is it too see Naughty, Darcy, Marra and Weightman play in the same forward line?! It might be too early but I love that Bevo is prepared to take the risk.

01-09-2022, 09:29 PM
Fair enough.

I actually picked the 3 ins perfectly, but had Vander out rather than Doc. Surprised I was so close.

01-09-2022, 09:35 PM
Wow, can’t believe they had the balls to drop Bruce. Never thought I’d see that.

McComb obvious sub. Nothing against him personally but how can he be selected ahead of Garcia and West. MC must see something 99% on here don’t.

I was confident West would sign but I'm leaning towards agreeing with you.

I'm not as anti McComb as some on here, but the reality is West is just a better player.

01-09-2022, 10:10 PM
Vandermeer in front of West with Libba out is a mistake imo. Vandermeer had better perform.

I can't see what VDM offers ahead of West ? Very perplexing .

01-09-2022, 10:18 PM

West has been out of form for weeks.

01-09-2022, 10:46 PM

I like West but his form had been bog ordinary for weeks.

I'd pick VDM over him too.

01-09-2022, 11:26 PM

I didn't think Bruce should play, but equally I did think that if you don't play Bruce then you have to play Schache so in my mind we have gone with a forward line that will mean Darcy has to play forward as other wise we face Naughts and Marra getting overwhelmed.

If anything Keath coming back in is the problem. We've replaced a key tall forward with a key tall back.

Think also that Liibba should have been replaced with either Westy or Garcia

01-09-2022, 11:30 PM

Would seem so though I can't work out for the life of me why. The kid is a natural footballer.

01-09-2022, 11:33 PM
I didn't think Bruce should play, but equally I did think that if you don't play Bruce then you have to play Schache so in my mind we have gone with a forward line that will mean Darcy has to play forward as other wise we face Naughts and Marra getting overwhelmed.

If anything Keath coming back in is the problem. We've replaced a key tall forward with a key tall back.

Theroetically Keath makes us stronger in the back half, and Darcy - whilst raw - arguably offers more than Schache in the air anyway.

We've had trouble fitting our mids in all year, as Bevo alluded to in his presser. The likes of Treloar at HB and Smith HF. I'm sure we'd rather Libba play, but it means it's easier and more conventional to share the load with one less mid. Bringing in Garcia/West for the mid role doesn't solve the problem and neither are anywhere near Libbas level to bother compensating.

These selections make perfect sense IMO.

01-09-2022, 11:34 PM

Nah Vandermeer was pretty good last week and West had been struggling to have an impact outside of the occasional moment for a few weeks. Don't see how you drop the former for the latter unless West really tore up the training track, and he doesn't strike me as a good trainer.

01-09-2022, 11:43 PM
My only question is if it rains are we one tall too many with Keath, Gardner, Cordy, English, Marra, Darcy and Naughton.

Not sure the wet would suit either Marra or Darcy, which would pose a problem in an ability to win contests but also lock the ball in

01-09-2022, 11:45 PM

Aside from pace, I agree. Pound for pound West is a better footballer. His in close distribution, physicality at the contest and his kicking skills are all top rate

01-09-2022, 11:51 PM

He had been down on form, not out. Was still contributing in the forward line up until he was dropped. This we have missed a beat here - hardness at he footy wins finals

01-09-2022, 11:51 PM
Pure pace.

and dodgy hamstrings

02-09-2022, 01:32 AM

Disagree. We've replaced Bruce with Darcy (F) and Darcy (B) with Keath.

We probably can't realistically play 4 talls down there 3 is pushing it already especially if it's wet at all.

02-09-2022, 02:53 AM

We probably can't realistically play 4 talls down there 3 is pushing it already especially if it's wet at all.

So net-net its Keath for Bruce!!

02-09-2022, 04:58 AM
Would seem so though I can't work out for the life of me why. The kid is a natural footballer.

It is pretty clear we don’t think West can cover the ground to apply enough pressure. If you listen carefully to the press conferences you can usually get an inkling whether subtle or blunt what the issue is.

Hopefully internally that message is shared and they are working on it together, you would say that it would be.

02-09-2022, 07:06 AM
My only question is if it rains are we one tall too many with Keath, Gardner, Cordy, English, Marra, Darcy and Naughton.

Not sure the wet would suit either Marra or Darcy, which would pose a problem in an ability to win contests but also lock the ball in

Clearly you have missed the BOM analysis being done either in this thread or the gameday thread.

02-09-2022, 07:51 AM

There is a reason we can play 3 tall without being top heavy. Both Astro and Marra have strong ground games.

02-09-2022, 08:47 AM
No 1 in the AFL for repeat sprints (average), and last game Freo walked it out of their backline under no pressure.
I can understand the decision.

02-09-2022, 09:08 AM
No 1 in the AFL for repeat sprints (average), and last game Freo walked it out of their backline under no pressure.
I can understand the decision.

Exactly, Bevo is huge on the turnover game which includes those type of efforts.

Watching players when they don't have the ball can be quite illuminating.

02-09-2022, 09:10 AM

Maybe Westy is being difficult to sign and wants out. Just maybe.

02-09-2022, 09:14 AM
Maybe Westy is being difficult to sign and wants out. Just maybe.

Clearly Bevo and the match committee hate West, that's why they played him for 13 games straight. :rolleyes:

02-09-2022, 10:18 AM
and dodgy hamstrings

Odds on to be subbed out a quarter time for McComb.

my plums
02-09-2022, 10:40 AM
If Doc's baby isn't born ASAP I'm guessing they'll remove him from the emergencies and bring in someone else? Then maybe that player can be the sub.

02-09-2022, 11:55 AM
So net-net its Keath for Bruce!!

Haha sure thing.

If you think playing 4 tall forwards and 1 tall defender+whatever Cordy is is a better balance than what we have then good for you I guess. I disagree.

02-09-2022, 11:57 AM
There is a reason we can play 3 tall without being top heavy. Both Astro and Marra have strong ground games.

That's a fair point. I have no issues with 3 tall forwards where Darce is the only 'weak link'.

Add in Shak with Darcy and I wonder if maybe the seams come a bit loose and Marra starts to tire and all of a sudden the front half starts leaking like a sieve.

02-09-2022, 12:04 PM
If Doc's baby isn't born ASAP I'm guessing they'll remove him from the emergencies and bring in someone else? Then maybe that player can be the sub.

Footballers know there are another 11 months of the year that would be slightly more preferable to have a baby in right?

Sounds like bubs is slightly outstaying it's welcome as apparently due "late August".

BTW I would say welcome my plums but that just sounds wrong. :D

02-09-2022, 01:04 PM
To say I’m less than enthused to have all of Keath, Gardner and Cordy in the same defence is a huge understatement.

None of these players intercept or kick it all that well so would’ve thought we could go with someone like Richards on the 2nd gamer and try to work that matchup to our advantage.

02-09-2022, 01:22 PM
To say I’m less than enthused to have all of Keath, Gardner and Cordy in the same defence is a huge understatement.

None of these players intercept or kick it all that well so would’ve thought we could go with someone like Richards on the 2nd gamer and try to work that matchup to our advantage.

I'd argue Keath is capable of these. In fact his attacking game is one thing that has probably improved this year. Maybe we plan to release Keath from the responsibility of being the main defender and will set up like we did last time we played them with Gardner and Cordy as the main stoppers and Keath released to his original role as an interceptor?

I don't HATE that option if so and it might breath a bit of life back into Keath's game.

02-09-2022, 01:31 PM
I'd argue Keath is capable of these. In fact his attacking game is one thing that has probably improved this year. Maybe we plan to release Keath from the responsibility of being the main defender and will set up like we did last time we played them with Gardner and Cordy as the main stoppers and Keath released to his original role as an interceptor?

I don't HATE that option if so and it might breath a bit of life back into Keath's game.

Gardner didn't play against Fremantle a few weeks back.. Our defenders were Keath, Cordy & Darcy.

02-09-2022, 02:05 PM
Gardner didn't play against Fremantle a few weeks back.. Our defenders were Keath, Cordy & Darcy.

Gardner must play on Lobb. I don't want Keath or Cordy anywhere near Lobb. Keath to Taberner and Cordy to Logue (if he plays fwd)

Edit Taberner not in :o

my plums
02-09-2022, 02:09 PM
It is very late August at this stage. Thank you for having my plums

02-09-2022, 02:15 PM

Would be great. Who comes out?

02-09-2022, 02:36 PM
Would be great. Who comes out? Hopefully the baby :p

02-09-2022, 02:42 PM

Plums flower late August we will not see your plumbs until next year.

02-09-2022, 03:25 PM
Gardner must play on Lobb. I don't want Keath or Cordy anywhere near Lobb. Keath to Taberner and Cordy to Logue (if he plays fwd)

Edit Taberner not in :o

Which leaves Keath for Amiss.

Be interesting how they use Logue… will they get spooked by Darcy’s height and play Logue in defence or back in Chapman? They may go with Pearce on Darcy and use Chapman on Marra.

02-09-2022, 03:51 PM

My mistake, Cordy and Gardner were our preferred defenders at the time though with Darcy the interceptor. Do you think there's any validity to the idea Keath could play the interceptor role well for us or do you think he's too far past it?

02-09-2022, 04:16 PM
My mistake, Cordy and Gardner were our preferred defenders at the time though with Darcy the interceptor. Do you think there's any validity to the idea Keath could play the interceptor role well for us or do you think he's too far past it?

There is no exposed form to show that he can switch up to doing that effectively... but we need him to.

02-09-2022, 04:57 PM

Felt weird clicking like my plums but I did it anyway

02-09-2022, 05:51 PM

Everyone knows he was an AA level inceptor at the Crows. He needs to play this role because he's not keeping up with forwards playing super defensively.

02-09-2022, 06:07 PM
Everyone knows...

Everybody knows that the dice are loaded
Everybody rolls with their fingers crossed
Everybody knows the war is over
Everybody knows the good guys lost

He was a good player. I think AA level interceptor is being generous.

02-09-2022, 06:23 PM
Everybody knows that the dice are loaded
Everybody rolls with their fingers crossed
Everybody knows the war is over
Everybody knows the good guys lost

He was a good player. I think AA level interceptor is being generous.

It probably is but I heard the two mentioned in the same sentence a few times before his leg injury at the Cows. Sometimes it's not hard to get into the AA team.

02-09-2022, 07:06 PM
Odds on to be subbed out a quarter time for McComb.

Looking at Sportsbet for the odds.......

02-09-2022, 08:28 PM

On his form this year Keath is very fortunate to be selected

02-09-2022, 09:55 PM
On his form this year Keath is very fortunate to be selected

Has been very disappointing to say the least

Pottz
03-09-2022, 08:50 AM
Has been very disappointing to say the least

Can anyone give insight into how/why a player like Keath can drop off so rapidly? He’s gone from an automatic selection and often best on ground last year to looking exhausted and miles off the pace this year. Is it age? Game style? Injury?

03-09-2022, 09:13 AM
Can anyone give insight into how/why a player like Keath can drop off so rapidly? He’s gone from an automatic selection and often best on ground last year to looking exhausted and miles off the pace this year. Is it age? Game style? Injury?

I suspect it's an injury niggle that has affected his mobility and it's just caught up with him.
Hard to say if he gets over it if he can get back to his 2021 form for us next season.

03-09-2022, 09:14 AM

For mine in comes down to injury.

It all started going down hill round 19 last year against Melbourne at the G when he injured his hamstring. From there has had injury after injury.

His body is failing him pure and simple.

He should seriously consider retiring at season end.

03-09-2022, 09:28 AM

For mine in comes down to injury.

It all started going down hill round 19 last year against Melbourne at the G when he injured his hamstring. From there has had injury after injury.

His body is failing him pure and simple.

He should seriously consider retiring at season end.

I believe his pre-season was also compromised and he struggled to get up for the start of the season.

He has just been behind all year.

If he can get in a full pre-season he may be good to go in 2023.

03-09-2022, 09:30 AM
So who takes on the inside mid role tonight? Dunks is the obvious but am thinking Toby to play that role. Big ask first game in the seniors back but reckon he will be primed. Dunks probably chops in and out of this role as required but will also spend time in the forward line.

03-09-2022, 09:41 AM
So who takes on the inside mid role tonight? Dunks is the obvious but am thinking Toby to play that role. Big ask first game in the seniors back but reckon he will be primed. Dunks probably chops in and out of this role as required but will also spend time in the forward line.

It's going to be a big night for McLean as as you say especially coming back into the side after a length absence. Lets hope he has plenty of run in the legs and can rack up some quality early possessions to help his confidence.

03-09-2022, 12:37 PM
It's going to be a big night for McLean as as you say especially coming back into the side after a length absence. Lets hope he has plenty of run in the legs and can rack up some quality early possessions to help his confidence.

I'm seeing a round the neck free kick for his first possession and then he'll be settled and will finish with 18 touches and a goal.

03-09-2022, 07:19 PM
No late changes for both teams

03-09-2022, 07:23 PM
No late changes for both teams

MEDICAL SUBS
Fremantle: Bailey Banfield
Western Bulldogs: Robbie McComb

03-09-2022, 07:25 PM
MEDICAL SUBS

What can I say? Better not say anything.

03-09-2022, 07:30 PM

Be kind Josie, be kind.

03-09-2022, 07:34 PM

Hopefully no injuries

03-09-2022, 07:39 PM
MEDICAL SUBS

Well he was the only option from the emergency list.

03-09-2022, 07:55 PM
Seriously... More than ever hope we don't get injuries.

03-09-2022, 08:00 PM
Seriously... More than ever hope we don't get injuries.

Vanders to ping a hammy ?

03-09-2022, 08:05 PM
Vanders to ping a hammy ?

Bro, positive thoughts!