View Full Version : LOL Carlton

21-08-2022, 07:10 PM
Losing by a point after hitting the front in the 3rd?

I cannot stop chuckling.

How's that "Tragic History" quote going now??

21-08-2022, 07:14 PM
Couldn't happen to a better club!!

21-08-2022, 07:16 PM
Couldn't happen to a better club!!

Well Essendon springs to mind.

Mutz
21-08-2022, 07:17 PM
How do we feel when we see Lewis taking so many intercept marks? 7 today.

21-08-2022, 07:17 PM
The greatest lolz ever. Tragic

The new dictionary definition of gaslighting has been written.

21-08-2022, 07:18 PM

Do we really want to go around the mulberry bush on this again?

21-08-2022, 07:19 PM

I know..and we kept Cordy and Gardner, but that’s not going to change.

21-08-2022, 07:20 PM
I wonder how many fights are breaking out right now at the G ?

21-08-2022, 07:22 PM
Well Essendon springs to mind.

You've got my vote.

21-08-2022, 07:23 PM
The more arrogant Carlton supporters will be blaming bad luck.

Mutz
Do we really want to go around the mulberry bush on this again?
No, but this is the Carlton thread :cool:

I said the same thing to my partner. It’s really is a cruel game. I know some blue’s supporters who are good folks.

21-08-2022, 07:26 PM
Well earned 'schadenfreude' for us Footscray mob.
Haha in the final round, a gift for our Fate from Menzies' club and his Rolls Royce view to the footy.

21-08-2022, 07:27 PM
I said the same thing to my partner. It’s really is a cruel game. I know some blue’s supporters who are good folks.

Surely that is a myth? Like a Loch Ness Monster sighting :)

21-08-2022, 07:28 PM
Does kinda feel like the end of a superhero movie doesn't it.

21-08-2022, 07:28 PM

Is he sitting in business class or economy on the way to the Gold Coast next week? His holidays start NOW!

We offered him a contract. He chose to leave...you reap what you sow!

Na-na-na-na, Na-na-na-na, Hey-Hey-Hey...Goooood Bye!

21-08-2022, 07:29 PM

Was thinking the same. There would be a few.

21-08-2022, 07:29 PM

Lipinski kicked it straight to Young haha.

21-08-2022, 07:30 PM
Lipinski kicked it straight to Young haha.

They are pretty quiet coming out of the G

21-08-2022, 07:31 PM
So carlton lose last week by 5 points and this week by a point to fall out of the 8. What a great two weeks of footy

21-08-2022, 07:32 PM
Is he sitting in business class or economy on the way to the Gold Coast next week? His holidays start NOW!

We offered him a contract. He chose to leave...you reap what you sow!

Na-na-na-na, Na-na-na-na, Hey-Hey-Hey...Goooood Bye!

Yep, he's missed out and I reckon he'd prefer to be playing as a ruck in the finals in two weeks rather than not.

If he'd have stayed he'd have probably gotten the chance to cement himself in our defence as well, given the issues Cordy and Keath have had.

21-08-2022, 07:32 PM
Surely that is a myth? Like a Loch Ness Monster sighting :)

Haha. We should change our name to Footscray Bunyips.

21-08-2022, 07:33 PM
So carlton lose last week by 5 points and this week by a point to fall out of the 8. What a great two weeks of footy

I think they lost 4 out of the last 5.

I really want to did up some "Carlton can win the flag" articles from earlier in the season.

21-08-2022, 07:36 PM
Does kinda feel like the end of a superhero movie doesn't it.
Just need Collingwood to win in the AFLW against Carlton on Thursday and you've even got the girlboss moment added in.

21-08-2022, 07:42 PM
I am deeply sympathetic to the club of Sir Robert Gordon Menzies, Richard Pratt, John Elliott and Bruce Matheson. That's just heart breaking. So so sorry.

21-08-2022, 07:44 PM
I think they lost 4 out of the last 5.

I really want to did up some "Carlton can win the flag" articles from earlier in the season.

twitter already did the job for you.

https://twitter.com/AFLmediaeye/status/1561262938270605312?s=20&t=WSrH-JP81u8LWe71gdej3w

21-08-2022, 07:46 PM

He gets to count his money, and in 5 weeks time we get to see Bont hold the premiership cup aloft.

Feels like 2016 / deja vu all over again.

21-08-2022, 07:47 PM
We are in!!!

21-08-2022, 07:50 PM

I feel happy for him, dont think he was given a fair go here but he isnt here anymore so I'm also pleased that his team lost today

21-08-2022, 08:05 PM
I’ll give Carlton two pieces of credit, then never say a nice word about them ever again.

1. They’re not Essendon
2. Their fans that I know have been rather staunch through their bumbling years, and were humbled by it too. They’d account for .05% of the fan base though.

21-08-2022, 08:09 PM
I know some blue’s supporters who are good folks.

Maggie Thatcher would have said to name three?

21-08-2022, 08:11 PM
Losing by a point after hitting the front in the 3rd?

I cannot stop chuckling.

How's that "Tragic History" quote going now??

That line is immediately what came to my mind. It can't be healthy for me to recall that first of all, rather than revel in my team making the 8!.

21-08-2022, 08:14 PM
Well earned 'schadenfreude' for us Footscray mob.
Haha in the final round, a gift for our Fate from Menzies' club and his Rolls Royce view to the footy.

My dear old grandfather who was an avowed socialist had a stroke and found himself in the same hospital as Pig Iron Bob. People sent Menzies flowers and chocolates to the hospital but due to his illness he wasn't allowed to have any so they were shared around the rest of the patients. My grandfather went to his grave as Menzies' newly installed #1 fan!

21-08-2022, 08:17 PM

I refuse to believe this. :)

21-08-2022, 08:20 PM
The first time a team has been in the 8 all season to miss in the last round, sorry the last two minutes. Those LOLs keep coming

21-08-2022, 08:21 PM
They’d account for .05% of the fan base though.
Amazing coincidence, almost the exact same % that they missed out on playing finals

21-08-2022, 08:23 PM
Cripps today probably played the best individual game of any player this year. He had 27 CP's and 12 clearances, but screw him - he should not have played the last 2 weeks and they would have been wiped both weeks without him.

21-08-2022, 08:26 PM
We stopped Carlton getting to the finals in 1944 by a point. I just thought I would share that. :)

21-08-2022, 08:27 PM
Also shout out to Walsh and Hewett for deciding they were too soft to play with the season on the line. They'd want to be really injured.

21-08-2022, 08:28 PM
Some quick and dirty math just subtracting from our total yearly score by a goal at a time :

1973 1812 = 108.88
1967 1812 = 108.55
1961 1812 = 108.22
1963 1812 = 108.33 ~ What Blues finished with.

Works out about 9-10-11 points got us through.

So today if we scored 76 instead of 87 we don't get there.

It was tight !

21-08-2022, 08:33 PM
I am deeply sympathetic to the club of Sir Robert Gordon Menzies, Richard Pratt, John Elliott and Bruce Matheson. That's just heart breaking. So so sorry.

And Josh Frydenberg, Malcolm Fraser, Bob Santamaria etc.

21-08-2022, 08:33 PM
We stopped Carlton getting to the finals in 1944 by a point. I just thought I would share that. :)

Pretty sure that was a head-to-head game and we kicked a point after the siren to win.

Folklore has it that the MARK was taken after the siren and the shot on goal should never have been allowed!

Anyway, it was Carlton so my care-factor about right and wrong is Z-E-R-O as long as they come out on the wrong end of it.

21-08-2022, 08:34 PM
Pretty sure that was a head-to-head game and we kicked a point after the siren to win.

Folklore has it that the MARK was taken after the siren and the shot on goal should never have been allowed!

Anyway, it was Carlton so my care-factor about right and wrong is Z-E-R-O as long as they come out on the wrong end of it.

They are such a hateable club, cheating their way to multiple premierships.

21-08-2022, 08:35 PM
Cripps today probably played the best individual game of any player this year. He had 27 CP's and 12 clearances, but screw him - he should not have played the last 2 weeks and they would have been wiped both weeks without him.

I like that he had the ball with it all to be win and tried to barge through the tackles and got pinged.

21-08-2022, 08:36 PM
Also shout out to Walsh and Hewett for deciding they were too soft to play with the season on the line. They'd want to be really injured.

Yeah, I'd at least want my leg to be amputated that day to not play. If it were the day before the prosthetic leg would be attached and I'd be good to go.

Sore back? Pffff!!

21-08-2022, 08:37 PM
They are such a hateable club, cheating their way to multiple premierships.

I cannot tell you how happy it makes me to hit the 'New Posts' button and have my name as the starter of the "LOL Carlton" thread. I didn't start it for a while after the game either as I was sure I would have missed the boat and there was something wrong with the refresh key.

I am SLIGHTLY more excited to have started the "How excited are YOU" thread about Jamarra but this one is a close 2nd.

21-08-2022, 08:38 PM
Yeah, I'd at least want my leg to be amputated that day to not play. If it were the day before the prosthetic leg would be attached and I'd be good to go.

Sore back? Pffff!!

Yeah same bro but I guess we're just built different.

21-08-2022, 08:42 PM
And Josh Frydenberg, Malcolm Fraser, Bob Santamaria etc.

Of course, how could I forget. But in later life, in my eyes, Fraser really redeemed himself and lived a very worthy life. He has earned my respect unlike many others.

21-08-2022, 08:47 PM

Actually...

From memory Harry Hickey (who my favourite uncle says was the second best Footscray player he saw after EJ and also played the best individual game he ever saw in driving rain at Punt Rd one day in the 1940s) took the mark in plenty of time. The controversy was that the Carlton captain Bob Chitty said that he punched the ball back into the field of play before it crossed the goal line.

21-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Of course, how could I forget. But in later life, in my eyes, Fraser really redeemed himself and lived a very worthy life. He has earned my respect unlike many others.

I met every Prime Minister from Whitlam to Keating but Fraser was different from the rest. He had an aura around him that was palpable. Of course Whitlam had charisma to burn and when he walked into the room everyone turned to look at him but Fraser had a glow. I can see why he became PM so young

21-08-2022, 08:56 PM
Actually...

From memory ...

From Memory?

I love your post mate (love it), but 'FROM MEMORY'? C'mon now!

21-08-2022, 08:59 PM
From Memory?

I love your post mate (love it), but 'FROM MEMORY'? C'mon now!

Yep from memory. C'mon mate, you know me and how I'm a savant about these things.

I can tell you who kicked the winning goal in the 1913 VFA grand final without looking it up

21-08-2022, 09:03 PM
Yep from memory. C'mon mate, you know me and how I'm a savant about these things.

I can tell you who kicked the winning goal in the 1913 VFA grand final without looking it up

I read "from memory" as you were recounting an event you had WITNESSED!

21-08-2022, 09:06 PM
I read "from memory" as you were recounting an event you had WITNESSED!

Ah right. Nope not quite that old.

The irony is that one of my best mates is Bob Chitty's nephew and I converted him from a reluctant Carlton supporter to a ferocious Bulldogs supporter. He just texted me thanking me for it

21-08-2022, 09:08 PM
Sir Robert Menzies with his specially built ramp so he could watch the Blues in his Bentley undisturbed by the great unwashed.

https://i.postimg.cc/0NkKBQsx/ACD00-C78-9-A56-42-C3-996-C-10-AB64325521.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

They were always the club of entitlement. Salary cap rorters and cheats. Yeah I’m loving the “tragic” plight of the Bourgeois Blues.

21-08-2022, 09:16 PM

Dale Morris has entered the chat.

21-08-2022, 09:24 PM
Actually...

From memory Harry Hickey (who my favourite uncle says was the second best Footscray player he saw after EJ and also played the best individual game he ever saw in driving rain at Punt Rd one day in the 1940s) took the mark in plenty of time. The controversy was that the Carlton captain Bob Chitty said that he punched the ball back into the field of play before it crossed the goal line.

I'm mates with his grandson, just shared that story with him - thanks for posting!

21-08-2022, 09:28 PM
I'm mates with his grandson, just shared that story with him - thanks for posting!

Harry Hickey's grandson?

21-08-2022, 09:49 PM
Harry Hickey's grandson?

Yep - he got me great tickets to a Hall of Fame dinner a few years back haha. Good fella - his side of the family aren't Dogs supporters though, sadly.

21-08-2022, 09:56 PM
There are a number of things about Carlton that I can never forgive. 1. The disrespect shown by John Elliott to Chris Grant on the Footy Show that night and 2. Ian Collins instituting a League investigation into an incident involving Chris Grant that cost him a Brownlow.

The only disappointment for me from this game was that Elliott's goal was not scored with just one second left on the clock.

History making night for Carlton. I love history.

21-08-2022, 09:57 PM

So you know the Moran family?

21-08-2022, 10:01 PM
Ah, I love the smell of (sporting) schadenfreude in the evening - one of life's true joys.

Imagine having to live with:

* Having your entitled men's team continually be shit because they struggle to make finals without cheating;

* Losing to Adelaide 4 weeks ago to suddenly become at risk of missing the finals;

* Bouncing back from a smashing against the Lions to have the Dees on toast, only to lose to a goal kicked in the last 11 seconds;

* Having the Pies on the rack, only to kick 6 behinds and no goals in the last term, with lots of other stuff ups, so that you get knocked out by a single point by your arch-rivals;

* Becoming the only team to be in the top-8 all season and miss the finals without being chucked out by the league (*thanks Essendon).

It's such a beautifully tragic tale, I don't think that I could've scripted it better in my dreams.

(And on the Lewy Young stuff - congrats to him on a pretty impressive season, but he had a vital mistake late last week, and provided a perfect seat for Billy Elliott to take a glorious screamer today, so as my partner said, it's all part of Bevo's longest view in the room strategy... ;))

21-08-2022, 10:20 PM
The only team in history to have two different Coleman medalists in successive years and not make the finals in either year

21-08-2022, 10:44 PM
Wonderful thread - captivating, riveting, educational and inspiring - thanks mjp

21-08-2022, 10:46 PM
So you know the Moran family?

Gatto’s.

21-08-2022, 11:03 PM
A whole team doing LOL CARLTON!

https://youtu.be/mM6DSciVj88

21-08-2022, 11:19 PM
Was it a big dose of karma that Cripps got off and the the Blues lose both games in tragic circumstances? He should never have got off. Justice has been served.

I think Carlton got hit by the karma bus.

21-08-2022, 11:33 PM
I will never forget the day a male Carlton fan in the seats near the fence in the Legends Stand walked across a few rows, down the steps and king hit a Footscray woman, breaking her jaw. I think there was some sort of altercation around kids being a PITA and it was just the most cowardly act I’d seen at the footy to that point in time. I was in my early-mid teens and tried to jump through the crowd to whack the bastard but was held back and told not to be stupid.

Point being, I hope that bloke had a really bad day today and continues to have soul crushing, awful moments like that all his days.

22-08-2022, 12:01 AM
I will never forget the day a male Carlton fan in the seats near the fence in the Legends Stand walked across a few rows, down the steps and king hit a Footscray woman, breaking her jaw. I think there was some sort of altercation around kids being a PITA and it was just the most cowardly act I’d seen at the footy to that point in time. I was in my early-mid teens and tried to jump through the crowd to whack the bastard but was held back and told not to be stupid.

Point being, I hope that bloke had a really bad day today and continues to have soul crushing, awful moments like that all his days.

Yeah I remember that

22-08-2022, 12:02 AM
I almost felt sorry for Elliot when the salary cap thing happened and the club took his name off the stand and he coped the wrath of the supporters. All these fans and everyone in the club knew they were cheating but they loved it with Williams and Co walking in the door and getting success and they re-elected him year after year.

The same club and supporters then elected that price fixing cheat who handed over one of his paper bags to get Judd. May their 21st century suffering continue indefinitely.

22-08-2022, 12:27 AM
LOL indeed. Bravo.

22-08-2022, 05:37 PM

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/carlton-and-collingwood-fans-erupt-in-brawl-after-match/news-story/1ad8a799a181f70dddd6b39746568559

Unfortunately this was the first thing I thought of.

Would hate to be there with my son, who i have just started taking to the footy.

As a kid, even at Western Oval, Dad would not let me wear the RWB when playing against one of the bigger clubs, given their supporter bases had a heap of nut-cases, drawn to them by success (given the lack of their success in their own personal lives).

22-08-2022, 05:44 PM
https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/carlton-and-collingwood-fans-erupt-in-brawl-after-match/news-story/1ad8a799a181f70dddd6b39746568559

Would hate to be there with my son, who i have just started taking to the footy.

As a kid, even at Western Oval, Dad would not let me wear the RWB when playing against one of the bigger clubs, given their supporter bases had a heap of nut-cases, drawn to them by success (given the lack of their success in their own personal lives).

What idiots

22-08-2022, 06:03 PM

Fake news. Crowd violence only happens at the sokkah

22-08-2022, 06:07 PM

Had to be Victory members dressed in Magpies clothes. Same thing happened with Antifa on January 6th.

22-08-2022, 06:18 PM

Is there any greater sign of fragility than getting in a punch on while watching a game of footy?

Walk away FFS, who cares?

22-08-2022, 06:45 PM
Had to be Victory members dressed in Magpies clothes. Same thing happened with Antifa on January 6th.

Never gravitated to the Victory, even when they were the only team in town. Fans and colours acted like Carlton Fans. Hence I wanted nothing to do with them!

22-08-2022, 07:01 PM
This is an oldie, but a goodie ... but under the heading of LOL Carlton

Why don't you let a Carlton supporter take your dog for a walk? Because they can't hold a lead :p

22-08-2022, 07:37 PM
I almost felt sorry for Elliot when the salary cap thing happened and the club took his name off the stand and he coped the wrath of the supporters. All these fans and everyone in the club knew they were cheating but they loved it with Williams and Co walking in the door and getting success and they re-elected him year after year.

The same club and supporters then elected that price fixing cheat who handed over one of his paper bags to get Judd. May their 21st century suffering continue indefinitely.

I'm glad you said "almost".

He dudded so many people and then filed for bankruptcy.

https://www.smh.com.au/business/water-wheel-directors-were-flying-blind-20020822-gdfkcc.html

22-08-2022, 08:18 PM
I'm glad you said "almost".

He dudded so many people and then filed for bankruptcy.

https://www.smh.com.au/business/water-wheel-directors-were-flying-blind-20020822-gdfkcc.html

An unmitigated, pile of trash, dumpster fire of a human.

I only regret he wasn't alive to see this last Blues game.

22-08-2022, 08:45 PM

You speak for me too.

22-08-2022, 08:46 PM

I saw the little shit in the Medallion Club walking by himself, looking disheveled and alone. It made me happy.

22-08-2022, 09:01 PM
I love that this thread is on its sixth page

22-08-2022, 09:27 PM
I saw the little shit in the Medallion Club walking by himself, looking disheveled and alone. It made me happy.

You probably should have double tapped then.

You are talking about John Elliott right?

22-08-2022, 09:42 PM

That's too quick. Kneecaps, work your way up.

22-08-2022, 09:51 PM

That's too quick. Kneecaps, work your way up.

He was literally too small and pathetic to even worry about.

22-08-2022, 09:56 PM
What Ian Collins did to get Chris Grant suspended astounds me to this day - malicious, vindictive, evil

22-08-2022, 10:01 PM
What Ian Collins did to get Chris Grant suspended astounds me to this day - malicious, vindictive, evil

You'd have to be a sadistic bastard to do that wouldn't you? Elitist trash, absolute scumbag.

22-08-2022, 10:12 PM
You'd have to be a sadistic bastard to do that wouldn't you? Elitist trash, absolute scumbag.

Gerard Healey has said for years Chris Grant will get a retrospective Brownlow. Thankfully Robert Harvey has a second one.

Anyway, enough of looking backwards at Carlton. (I'm as guilty as anyone). We have a Final to win!!!!

22-08-2022, 10:47 PM
Gerard Healey has said for years Chris Grant will get a retrospective Brownlow. Thankfully Robert Harvey has a second one.

Anyway, enough of looking backwards at Carlton. (I'm as guilty as anyone). We have a Final to win!!!!

Hey! We have two weeks before our next game, so we can spread out our schadenfreude and hatred for a few days yet!

22-08-2022, 10:58 PM
Hey! We have two weeks before our next game, so we can spread out our schadenfreude and hatred for a few days yet!

Shit yeah we do.

After all the poundings we copped from this arrogant mob when I was a kid, this was like a fairy tale.

A young Leon Cameron there in 18 for the Woofers who didn't see him play.
I love how annoyed Steve McPherson is when Arceri kicks the goal. He was a nutter.

https://youtu.be/DXow_agQDEM

22-08-2022, 11:39 PM
Shit yeah we do.

After all the poundings we copped from this arrogant mob when I was a kid, this was like a fairy tale.

I love how annoyed Steve McPherson is when Arceri kicks the goal. He was a nutter.

I was annoyed myself that day

23-08-2022, 12:55 AM
Shit yeah we do.

Off topic but Ioved the almost reverse-Arceri against Essendon a few years ago when they scored a goal in the first 30 seconds and then went goalless up until the last 4 minutes of the game while we kicked from memory 21 goals on the bounce - yes I was dirty that they got those cheap junktime goals.

There was a game against Carlton in R2 1998 when we played them on their own dunghill at Optus Oval - it was a perfect Autumn day, and the crowd was massive and almost 100% Baggers. We ended up wiping the floor with them by about 10 goals in a real statement performance.

23-08-2022, 12:57 AM
Shit yeah we do.

Fair game from Arceri with 20 and 8, plus a goal.

How was the left foot pass from Cameron to Krakouer?

23-08-2022, 10:26 AM
Fair game from Arceri with 20 and 8, plus a goal.

How was the left foot pass from Cameron to Krakouer?

Leon was amazing both sides, probably the best I've seen in Dogs colours and that's a big call considering Hawkins.

Was up there with D.Jarman.

Thinking back our fortunes turned around the day Grant and Cameron came in to the team in 89.

23-08-2022, 11:03 AM
This thread is spectacular. I support two teams each week.
The Bulldogs and the team playing Carlton.

23-08-2022, 11:12 AM
This thread is spectacular. I support two teams each week.
The Bulldogs and the team playing Carlton.

I am not that cut and dried.

i have barracked for Carlton a few times when a Blues win was best for us.
My tendency is to barrack against Essendon most.

It is an unsanitary feeling barracking for Carlton, but barracking for Essendon in any circumstance is life threatening.

Luckily Essendon (and Carlton) have provided many highlights in self destruction.

23-08-2022, 11:17 AM
There are a number of things about Carlton that I can never forgive. 1. The disrespect shown by John Elliott to Chris Grant on the Footy Show that night and 2. Ian Collins instituting a League investigation into an incident involving Chris Grant that cost him a Brownlow.

The only disappointment for me from this game was that Elliott's goal was not scored with just one second left on the clock.

History making night for Carlton. I love history.

Am I corret in remembering on the footy show Chris said to Elliot hello Jack and Elliot said something along the lines only my friends call me Jack.

23-08-2022, 11:28 AM
Am I corret in remembering on the footy show Chris said to Elliot hello Jack and Elliot said something along the lines only my friends call me Jack.

Amazing the guy displayed all the hackneyed cliches of the working class. Pigs Arse!
Self loathing projected onto others is so transparent.

He just needed a hug.

23-08-2022, 01:03 PM
Off topic but Ioved the almost reverse-Arceri against Essendon a few years ago when they scored a goal in the first 30 seconds and then went goalless up until the last 4 minutes of the game while we kicked from memory 21 goals on the bounce - yes I was dirty that they got those cheap junktime goals.

There was a game against Carlton in R2 1998 when we played them on their own dunghill at Optus Oval - it was a perfect Autumn day, and the crowd was massive and almost 100% Baggers. We ended up wiping the floor with them by about 10 goals in a real statement performance.

Was that the day Justin Maddern ran through the centre square at the opening bounce and elbowed Scott Wynd right on the Adam's apple and Barry Stanfield took over in the ruck for us and handed Maddern's arse to him on a plate?

After Maddern took him out, Wynd lay in the middle of the ground convulsing. It was an awful sight. I thought he was dead for sure.

23-08-2022, 01:04 PM
Was that the day Justin Maddern ran through the centre square at the opening bounce and elbowed Scott Wynd right on the Adam's apple but Barry Stanfield took over in the ruck for us and handed Maddern's arse to him on a plate?

After Maddern took him out, Wynd lay in the middle of the ground convulsing. It was an awful sight. I thought he was dead for sure.

That sounds like 1992

23-08-2022, 01:10 PM
That sounds like 1992

It feels later. Maybe not 1992 but maybe '93 or '94? I remember that dad and I parked behind the Sara Sands because I knew the owner pretty well and he said it would be OK. Dad was pretty impressed getting a parking spot so close to the ground.

23-08-2022, 01:11 PM
Was that the day Justin Maddern ran through the centre square at the opening bounce and elbowed Scott Wynd right on the Adam's apple and Barry Stanfield took over in the ruck for us and handed Maddern's arse to him on a plate?

Oh I remember that vividly. He was convulsing violently it was really distressing. *!*!*!*!ing Carlton!

23-08-2022, 01:17 PM
It feels later. Maybe not 1992 but maybe '93 or '94? I remember that dad and I parked behind the Sara Sands because I knew the owner pretty well and he said it would be OK. Dad was pretty impressed getting a parking spot so close to the ground.

I'm guessing it was round 8 1993 as Wynd's stats consisted of 1 mark only. Standfield had 21 disposals and 12 hitouts.

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/1993/030719930515.html

Found some highlights but it's all just Carlton goals, even though we won!

23-08-2022, 01:18 PM

1993 TD.

23-08-2022, 01:23 PM
I'm guessing it was round 8 1993 as Wynd's stats consisted of 1 mark only. Standfield had 21 disposals and 12 hitouts.

That'd be it, thanks. Yeah apart from the Neil Sasche injury (and that was really distressing. The crowd went so quiet you could hear some of the players crying out on the ground) it's the worst thing I have seen at the football

23-08-2022, 01:37 PM
That'd be it, thanks. Yeah apart from the Neil Sasche injury (and that was really distressing. The crowd went so quiet you could hear some of the players crying out on the ground) it's the worst thing I have seen at the football

Looking at AFL tables Wynd missed the next week, but Madden played. Was there any scrutiny of Madden following the game?

23-08-2022, 01:55 PM
Can’t believe I’m gonna have to be the one to bring up Jarrad Grant ending Josh Bootsma’s life yet again.

23-08-2022, 08:32 PM
Looking at AFL tables Wynd missed the next week, but Madden played. Was there any scrutiny of Madden following the game?

Not that I remember. It was just looked at as bad luck back then. That or Wynd's fault for not protecting himself properly.

I knew a kid who's dad was a mate of my dad called Gareth John. Gareth went to Sydney as a father son recruit and was showing great promise as a ruck/forward until Simon Maddern did something remarkably similar at the SCG one day. I'm pretty sure that even though it nearly killed Gareth and pretty much finished his career (he spent some time with North after playing a few games in two more years with Sydney) Simon was never sanctioned for it.He was 19 and had played 11 games when he was injured. His career was finished by 21. When people tell me what a great ruckman Simon Maddern was I roll my eyes like Fraser from Dad's Army.

*Edit* looking at afltables it seems Madden missed the next week. Gareth missed a year and a bit

24-08-2022, 08:50 AM
Not that I remember. It was just looked at as bad luck back then. That or Wynd's fault for not protecting himself properly.

I knew a kid who's dad was a mate of my dad called Gareth John. Gareth went to Sydney as a father son recruit and was showing great promise as a ruck/forward until Simon Maddern did something remarkably similar at the SCG one day. I'm pretty sure that even though it nearly killed Gareth and pretty much finished his career (he spent some time with North after playing a few games in two more years with Sydney) Simon was never sanctioned for it.He was 19 and had played 11 games when he was injured. His career was finished by 21. When people tell me what a great ruckman Simon Maddern was I roll my eyes like Fraser from Dad's Army.

*Edit* looking at afltables it seems Madden missed the next week. Gareth missed a year and a bit

Is it true Maddern never rang or inquired after Gareth John?

24-08-2022, 10:26 AM
This thread needs to get to 10 pages.

That is all I have to add.

24-08-2022, 10:26 AM

Madden :D

I know TD spelt it wrong

24-08-2022, 10:45 AM

I know TD spelt it wrong

Well BAD, maybe you should call out TD?

PS, doing my bit for getting to 10 pages for mjp.

24-08-2022, 11:12 AM
Well BAD, maybe you should call out TD?

PS, doing my bit for getting to 10 pages for mjp.

I did - I blamed him

PS: Simon Madden has just resigned from Essendon Board

24-08-2022, 11:27 AM
I did - I blamed him

PS: Simon Madden has just resigned from Essendon Board

That's a real quality person they've lost. What a rabble.

Oh and I hate Carlton.

24-08-2022, 12:51 PM
Yes.

24-08-2022, 12:51 PM

He did not

Are we at ten pages yet?

24-08-2022, 12:57 PM

I know TD spelt it wrong

So I noticed when I checked him on AFLtables

24-08-2022, 01:16 PM
He did not

Are we at ten pages yet?

Thanks. If this thread doesn't get to ten pages we are not trying hard enough.

24-08-2022, 01:17 PM
Thanks. If this thread doesn't get to ten pages we are not trying hard enough.

Thank you for asking

24-08-2022, 01:17 PM
I don’t think we need to force it. We’ve got a whole off season of list management with Crazy Vossy at the helm.

Gotta remember that it wasn’t necessarily his performance in the coaches’ box that cost him his job at Brisbane.

24-08-2022, 01:18 PM
We could go through each Carlton player from the 80s and why we hate them so much?

I'll start.

The dominator. Did 2 good things that smother goal and retiring.

Rest of the time poonced around and worried about his hair.

24-08-2022, 01:19 PM
After Carlton lost to Melbourne I was really conflicted as I cannot stand how arrogant Pickett is and how he prefers to get in his opponents face, rather than celebrate with his teammates.

At the time I was I'd prefer to miss finals; than watch Picket be an arrogant tool.

As BAD said at the time; am I sure?

Well I can confirm it isn't true, I'm super pumped we are playing finals and Carlton managed to find a way to lose... again....

24-08-2022, 01:20 PM
I use to see Alex Marcou at night clubs in the 70s, he was a friend of my mate and he was so up himself - felt like punching him in the face, but I am not a violent man.

PS: If only I knew about the Yarraville Nets:D

24-08-2022, 01:23 PM
I will confess that Greg Williams invited me to a President's lunch (Elliot) in the early 2000s. Greg was our Stationery supplier, and we were playing Carlton.

Great thing was, we won :D, even though Rhode was our coach

24-08-2022, 01:23 PM
I love the way this has turned into a 'Here are the reasons why I hate Carlton' thread.

I hated the whole Judd/Visy arrangement. Walks like a duck, talks like a duck? It's salary cap cheating.

24-08-2022, 01:25 PM
After Carlton lost to Melbourne I was really conflicted as I cannot stand how arrogant Pickett is and how he prefers to get in his opponents face, rather than celebrate with his teammates.

At the time I was I'd prefer to miss finals; than watch Picket be an arrogant tool.

As BAD said at the time; am I sure?

Well I can confirm it isn't true, I'm super pumped we are playing finals and Carlton managed to find a way to lose... again....

It's just like 1944 again! Apart from the fact there isn't a world war on (although I wouldn't be that surprised if one broke out in the next ten days) this must be how Footscray supporters felt when we knocked them out of the four with the last kick of the home and away season that year.

24-08-2022, 01:28 PM
I use to see Alex Marcou at night clubs in the 70s, he was a friend of my mate and he was so up himself - felt like punching him in the face, but I am not a violent man.

PS: If only I knew about the Yarraville Nets:D

Deep down BAD you are as you wanted to punch him in the face. A non violent person would never think of such a thing. You're BAD to the bone.

24-08-2022, 01:29 PM
I love the way this has turned into a 'Here are the reasons why I hate Carlton' thread.

I hated the whole Judd/Visy arrangement. Walks like a duck, talks like a duck? It's salary cap cheating.

Judd is also another one that loves himself.

My wife hates him. During Covid when masks were mandatory indoors, he got into a lift in her building with no mask. She challenged him and he pretended he didn't know but would get his mask from the car and wear it. At this stage, she didn't realise who it was, but worked it out later.

Next day the lift comes to her floor, door opens with several people in the lift, including Judd, and what do you know, everyone has a mask on except him. She didn't bother getting into the lift.

A few days later she is riding in the lift and several people are talking about her and how she had a go at Judd. They didn't know it was her. :D

What she hated was his attitude and thinking he was privileged and didn't have to follow rules.

24-08-2022, 01:29 PM
Deep down BAD you are as you wanted to punch him in the face. A non violent person would never think of such a thing. You're BAD to the bone.

haha, I would never carry it out.

24-08-2022, 01:31 PM
haha, I would never carry it out.

But you were thinking of it. There must be a scientific name for that.

24-08-2022, 01:32 PM
I will confess that Greg Williams invited me to a President's lunch (Elliot) in the early 2000s. Greg was our Stationery supplier, and we were playing Carlton.

My old man went to a Carlton President's lunch once (in the 90s I think). Went out and sat in some prime seats after lunch only to be tapped on the shoulder, "Excuse me sir but these are Mr Elliot's seats".

I can imagine old big nose wouldn't have been too impressed finding a supporter from such a tragic club in his seat.

24-08-2022, 01:44 PM
Remember round 19, 2000 V Carlton at their home ground? We won by 3 points.

* Bob Murphy's first game - kicked a vital goal.

* Simon Garlick kicked 6 goals.

Wallace tried the super flood in this game to great success and it really pissed off Carlton supporters. Media didn't really report it until we tried it again against Essendon to deny them a win which would have neant they were undefeated.

The place I worked then had 3 senior people all Carlton supporters. When I walked in on Monday morning, they were still steaming mad and called the club cheats (because of super flood ) :D

24-08-2022, 01:53 PM
Remember round 19, 2000 V Carlton at their home ground? We won by 3 points.

* Bob Murphy's first game - kicked a vital goal.

* Simon Garlick kicked 6 goals.

Wallace tried the super flood in this game to great success and it really pissed off Carlton supporters. Media didn't really report it until we tried it again against Essendon to deny them a win which would have neant they were undefeated.

The place I worked then had 3 senior people all Carlton supporters. When I walked in on Monday morning, they were still steaming mad and called the club cheats (because of super flood ) :D

*Trent Bartlett's free kick in the goal square in time on in the last quarter

24-08-2022, 01:57 PM

Tangent, Peter Daicos is involved in refrigerated transport these days for fresh produce and he was trying to get me to use their services.

I pretended I had no idea who he was; even when he tried to engage with me on AFL and dropped hints on what he did in another life.

24-08-2022, 02:12 PM
Tangent, Peter Daicos is involved in refrigerated transport these days for fresh produce and he was trying to get me to use their services.

I pretended I had no idea who he was; even when he tried to engage with me on AFL and dropped hints on what he did in another life.

Funny how footballers do that.

Once when I was working for a company, again in the early 2000, Platt (ex Hawks), came unannounced at reception and my PA was trying to get me to see him. He was also in the Print and Stationary game. I was really busy and said I couldn't meet him. He decided to leave me two tickets to a box at Marvel to watch the EJ Whitten match (for that night). Again I was busy, and couldn't go, so gave them to my assistant. 30 minutes later, he comes back and asks for the tickets back.

24-08-2022, 02:12 PM
*Trent Bartlett's free kick in the goal square in time on in the last quarter

Yes, how could I forget

24-08-2022, 02:16 PM
Funny how footballers do that.

Once when I was working for a company, again in the early 2000, Platt (ex Hawks), came unannounced at reception and my PA was trying to get me to see him. He was also in the Print and Stationary game. I was really busy and said I couldn't meet him. He decided to leave me two tickets to a box at Marvel to watch the EJ Whitten match (for that night). Again I was busy, and couldn't go, so gave them to my assistant. 30 minutes later, he comes back and asks for the tickets back.

What a tool.

I think Tony Liberatore also went into either the print or stationary game.

24-08-2022, 02:18 PM
What a tool.

I think Tony Liberatore also went into either the print or stationary game.

It was embarrassing to ask for them back. Lucky he was also a mate as we go to the footy together.

24-08-2022, 02:26 PM
Brian Lake attended my workplace checking gas bottles (science related).
We sent one of the younger guys out to talk to him as he didn't believe us it was him.

The conversation went :

Hey you look familiar.

Brian : Yeah people get me mixed up with Brad Pitt all the time.

That was it.

Classic.

24-08-2022, 02:37 PM
Speaking of lol Carlton and the printing industry..... This was back in May, not sure what ended up happening.

Kernahan, Bradley face huge debt including to premiership teammate Fraser Brown (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/news/carlton-greats-stephen-kernahan-craig-bradley-locked-in-bitter-stoush-over-multimillion-dollar-debt/news-story/cfe1ff6ea37fc77a4096f1802e1da4f0)

A massive debt has come between Carlton premiership teammates Stephen Kernahan, Craig Bradley and Fraser Brown. But debt wise, Kernahan and Bradley have even more pressing concerns.

The picture says it all.

It’s September 30, 1995, the Blue Baggers’ army rejoice in the MCG stands after their heroes have smashed Geelong by 61 points.

On the hallowed turf, Carlton’s favourite son and long-time skipper Stephen Kernahan, running machine Craig Bradley and tough nut Fraser Brown are arm in arm, euphoric.

For Kernahan and Bradley, who had landed at Princes Park from the SANFL in a massive recruiting coup a decade earlier, it is a second taste of flag success after the Blues’ grand final triumph over Hawthorn in 1987.

They are the wise old heads in a powerhouse team.

Brown, seven years younger but hard as nails, is another vital contributor to the Blues’ record-breaking 16th premiership, the Sweet Sixteen as it is dubbed.

Twenty-seven years on, the picture is far different.

After hanging up his boots in 1997, the statesmanlike Kernahan would go on to serve as Carlton president from 2008 to 2014.

Kernahan was also making big moves in the printing game, alongside close friend Bradley and others.

Big clients for their firm Waratah Group included Australia Post, Spotlight and World Vision.

Brown was forging another path, building an incredibly successful property development business.

Then for Kernahan, Bradley and their group, fortune took a sharp turn south.

In 2018, Kernahan and Bradley turned to Brown for help, borrowing $1.5m from his burgeoning company.

A year later, a group linked to their printing business which included Kernahan and Bradley took out more loans – totalling $4.12m.

This time the cash was coming from Oak Capital and First Mortgage Capital (FMC), with astronomical interest rates in the deal.

But the Waratah Group had overreached and fell into administration in late 2019.

Three years later, one of the partners had already been forced to hand over $1.5m to Oak and FMC after selling his family home.

And Kernahan and Bradley, now both 58, are facing possibly a bigger fight than the 1995 Grand Final.

Instead of the Cats, this time it is against Oak and FMC in the Supreme Court of Victoria.

At stake are their family homes.

Brown, 51, is not a player in this contest, but with $1.5m of his company’s cash also on the line, will be a very interested spectator.

Blues legends caught up in $6m bitter debt stoush

Carlton premiership greats Stephen Kernahan and Craig Bradley face losing their family homes in a bitter stoush over a $4.5m debt.

Former Blues hardman and close friend Fraser Brown is separately owed $1.5m by the pair.

Supreme Court documents reveal mortgage fund providers Oak Capital and its offshoot First Mortgage Capital are demanding Kernahan and Bradley surrender their homes in Essendon and Eaglemont for failing to repay $4.12m they borrowed in 2019.

With interest and legal costs, the total amount being pursued is more than $4.5m.

In a counterclaim, Oak Capital and FMC are being accused of having “conspired to cause financial harm” to the Blues legends and their business partners “by imposing a lending regime which was bound to cause the borrower to fail”.

The debt dispute centres on the collapse of the Waratah Group, a Port Melbourne printing business part-owned by Kernahan and Bradley.

Oak Capital and FMC agreed to lend $4.12m to MW Assets Pty Ltd – the Waratah Group’s corporate vehicle in March 2019 – just eight months before it fell into administration.

Court documents reveal the interest rate on FMC’s loan peaked at 60 per cent, with monthly repayments reaching $52,492, despite the company only having advanced about a third of the $2 million it was lending.

Oak Capital charged up to 18 per cent interest on its loan.

Kernahan and wife Jennifer and Bradley and wife Donna personally guaranteed the loans by providing their family homes as security.

Their business partners, who also put up their properties as security for the loans, were Brett Chalmers (not the former Port Adelaide and Adelaide player of the same name) and ex-wife Michelle, Moody Aboughattas, Abdel Aboughattas, Kathryn Aboughattas and Choppers Noona Pty Ltd.

The Chalmers have already surrendered $1.5m to Oak Capital from the proceeds of the sale of their former family home.

Court documents reveal Kernahan and Bradley also borrowed $1.5 million from Brown’s construction firm BPG in 2018 – prior to them taking on the Oak and FMC debts.

In 2021, the duo again agreed to hand over their homes as security to Brown’s company.

BPG is closely monitoring the Oak-FMC standoff.

In the court fight, FMC asserts in documents: “In breach of the terms of the Essendon mortgage … Mr Kernahan and Mrs Kernahan have failed, neglected and or refused to pay to FMC the secured money owing, namely the sum of $764,877.39.

“FMC is entitled to possession of the Essendon property pursuant to the terms of the Essendon mortgage.

The finance firm also demands that Donna Bradley (the sole proprietor of the Bradley family home) “immediately” pay $765,000, declaring it is “entitled to possession of the Eaglemont property”.

But lawyers for Kathryn Aboughattas, who is among those being pursued, allege Oak and FMC “acted unconscionably” in facilitating the loans and in their subsequent conduct.

They have lodged complaints to the Australian Securities and Investments Commission and the Australian Financial Complaints Authority, alleging they engaged in a system of conduct to avoid regulatory scrutiny.

John Sinisgalli, a commercial litigation specialist acting for the debt-ridden Blues, told the Herald Sun: “The Kernahans and the Bradleys are very disappointed by the lending practices and conduct of Oak Capital and FMC.

“They will be defending their position as alleged guarantors of these loans fully and without hesitation. A strong stand has to be taken against these lending practices.”

Michael Landy, director of Eagle Financial Solutions, which is advising the Aboughattas family, said Oak’s operation model was “a matter of public interest” and needed to be “investigated in order to protect borrowers and guarantors”.

“While Oak is an Australian Financial Services licence holder and thus bound by AFCA’s dispute resolution scheme, FMC, its related entity, is not – so, when there is a problem with a borrower, Oak assigns the debt to an unlicensed related entity, like FMC, which prevents ASIC and AFCA from investigating its conduct,” Landy said.

Solicitor Nicola Lally, acting for Choppers Noona, said: “My observation is that the lending practices of these two companies have been extremely oppressive and burdensome, and have caused considerable stress for the borrower and guarantors. These practices will rightly be exposed to the scrutiny of the court.”

Lawyers for Oak and FMC responded in a statement.

“In 2019 MW Assets Pty Ltd, Moody Aboughattas (including Kathryn Aboughattas), Stephen Kernahan, Craig Bradley and others (MW Assets Group) borrowed money from Oak Capital Mortgage Fund Ltd (Oak) and First Mortgage Capital Pty Ltd (FMC) to refinance their existing defaulting loans with Wentworth Capital Pty Ltd (Oak/FMC Loans).

“The MW Assets Group promised to repay the Oak/FMC Loans by selling and refinancing various assets. Unfortunately, the MW Assets Group did not repay the Oak/FMC Loans as it had promised to do resulting in the current recovery proceedings involving Oak, FMC and other lenders owed money by the MW Assets Group including the Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

“As this matter is still before the Court, Oak and FMC is unable to provide any further comment.”

A directions hearing in the Supreme Court is scheduled for May 13.

Kernahan, 58, Waratah’s long-time sales director, played 251 games for Carlton and was captain of the club’s 1987 and 1995 premiership teams. He served as the Blues’ president from 2008 until 2014.
Bradley, 58, is Carlton’s games-record holder, running out 375 times for the Blues between 1986 and 2002.
Brown, 51, played 177 games for Carlton, including the 1995 premiership alongside Kernahan and Bradley.

24-08-2022, 03:06 PM

One of his sons who now play for Collingwood grew up a mad Carlton supporter.

24-08-2022, 04:07 PM
One of his sons who now play for Collingwood grew up a mad Carlton supporter.

Bad parenting when Dad is a Pies legend

24-08-2022, 04:26 PM

I love the passive aggressiveness of this.

24-08-2022, 04:31 PM

This is classic.

I can see him returning time and time again with increasingly less subtle ways to let you know he was the Macedonian Marvel.

Until he just goes : "Here, take my card"

https://collection.australiansportsmuseum.org.au/records/images/medium/7561/a1d3817689b7dce8d084e329a1de5d40aaf94ec9.jpg

24-08-2022, 05:11 PM
Some Front Bar Carlton content from last week - should be fun to see what Mick comes up with this week to wind up Sam and Andy

https://twitter.com/thefrontbar7/status/1560218732819263488

https://twitter.com/thefrontbar7/status/1561611967588364288

https://twitter.com/thefrontbar7/status/1561291831425454080

24-08-2022, 07:31 PM

"Are you related to Nick or Josh?"

24-08-2022, 07:33 PM
Brian Lake attended my workplace checking gas bottles (science related).
We sent one of the younger guys out to talk to him as he didn't believe us it was him.

The conversation went :

Hey you look familiar.

Brian : Yeah people get me mixed up with Brad Pitt all the time.

That was it.

Classic.

Brilliant!

24-08-2022, 07:36 PM
Yes, how could I forget

I never will. It was right in front of me and I was surrounded by cantankerous Carlton supporters. Someone really seemed to upset them but I can't think who it might have been...

24-08-2022, 07:47 PM
Speaking of lol Carlton and the printing industry..... This was back in May, not sure what ended up happening.

Kernahan, Bradley face huge debt including to premiership teammate Fraser Brown (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/news/carlton-greats-stephen-kernahan-craig-bradley-locked-in-bitter-stoush-over-multimillion-dollar-debt/news-story/cfe1ff6ea37fc77a4096f1802e1da4f0)

A massive debt has come between Carlton premiership teammates Stephen Kernahan, Craig Bradley and Fraser Brown. But debt wise, Kernahan and Bradley have even more pressing concerns.

The picture says it all.

It’s September 30, 1995, the Blue Baggers’ army rejoice in the MCG stands after their heroes have smashed Geelong by 61 points.

On the hallowed turf, Carlton’s favourite son and long-time skipper Stephen Kernahan, running machine Craig Bradley and tough nut Fraser Brown are arm in arm, euphoric.

For Kernahan and Bradley, who had landed at Princes Park from the SANFL in a massive recruiting coup a decade earlier, it is a second taste of flag success after the Blues’ grand final triumph over Hawthorn in 1987.

They are the wise old heads in a powerhouse team.

Brown, seven years younger but hard as nails, is another vital contributor to the Blues’ record-breaking 16th premiership, the Sweet Sixteen as it is dubbed.

Twenty-seven years on, the picture is far different.

After hanging up his boots in 1997, the statesmanlike Kernahan would go on to serve as Carlton president from 2008 to 2014.

Kernahan was also making big moves in the printing game, alongside close friend Bradley and others.

Big clients for their firm Waratah Group included Australia Post, Spotlight and World Vision.

Brown was forging another path, building an incredibly successful property development business.

Then for Kernahan, Bradley and their group, fortune took a sharp turn south.

In 2018, Kernahan and Bradley turned to Brown for help, borrowing $1.5m from his burgeoning company.

A year later, a group linked to their printing business which included Kernahan and Bradley took out more loans – totalling $4.12m.

This time the cash was coming from Oak Capital and First Mortgage Capital (FMC), with astronomical interest rates in the deal.

But the Waratah Group had overreached and fell into administration in late 2019.

Three years later, one of the partners had already been forced to hand over $1.5m to Oak and FMC after selling his family home.

And Kernahan and Bradley, now both 58, are facing possibly a bigger fight than the 1995 Grand Final.

Instead of the Cats, this time it is against Oak and FMC in the Supreme Court of Victoria.

At stake are their family homes.

Brown, 51, is not a player in this contest, but with $1.5m of his company’s cash also on the line, will be a very interested spectator.

Blues legends caught up in $6m bitter debt stoush

Carlton premiership greats Stephen Kernahan and Craig Bradley face losing their family homes in a bitter stoush over a $4.5m debt.

Former Blues hardman and close friend Fraser Brown is separately owed $1.5m by the pair.

Supreme Court documents reveal mortgage fund providers Oak Capital and its offshoot First Mortgage Capital are demanding Kernahan and Bradley surrender their homes in Essendon and Eaglemont for failing to repay $4.12m they borrowed in 2019.

With interest and legal costs, the total amount being pursued is more than $4.5m.

In a counterclaim, Oak Capital and FMC are being accused of having “conspired to cause financial harm” to the Blues legends and their business partners “by imposing a lending regime which was bound to cause the borrower to fail”.

The debt dispute centres on the collapse of the Waratah Group, a Port Melbourne printing business part-owned by Kernahan and Bradley.

Oak Capital and FMC agreed to lend $4.12m to MW Assets Pty Ltd – the Waratah Group’s corporate vehicle in March 2019 – just eight months before it fell into administration.

Court documents reveal the interest rate on FMC’s loan peaked at 60 per cent, with monthly repayments reaching $52,492, despite the company only having advanced about a third of the $2 million it was lending.

Oak Capital charged up to 18 per cent interest on its loan.

Kernahan and wife Jennifer and Bradley and wife Donna personally guaranteed the loans by providing their family homes as security.

Their business partners, who also put up their properties as security for the loans, were Brett Chalmers (not the former Port Adelaide and Adelaide player of the same name) and ex-wife Michelle, Moody Aboughattas, Abdel Aboughattas, Kathryn Aboughattas and Choppers Noona Pty Ltd.

The Chalmers have already surrendered $1.5m to Oak Capital from the proceeds of the sale of their former family home.

Court documents reveal Kernahan and Bradley also borrowed $1.5 million from Brown’s construction firm BPG in 2018 – prior to them taking on the Oak and FMC debts.

In 2021, the duo again agreed to hand over their homes as security to Brown’s company.

BPG is closely monitoring the Oak-FMC standoff.

In the court fight, FMC asserts in documents: “In breach of the terms of the Essendon mortgage … Mr Kernahan and Mrs Kernahan have failed, neglected and or refused to pay to FMC the secured money owing, namely the sum of $764,877.39.

“FMC is entitled to possession of the Essendon property pursuant to the terms of the Essendon mortgage.

The finance firm also demands that Donna Bradley (the sole proprietor of the Bradley family home) “immediately” pay $765,000, declaring it is “entitled to possession of the Eaglemont property”.

But lawyers for Kathryn Aboughattas, who is among those being pursued, allege Oak and FMC “acted unconscionably” in facilitating the loans and in their subsequent conduct.

They have lodged complaints to the Australian Securities and Investments Commission and the Australian Financial Complaints Authority, alleging they engaged in a system of conduct to avoid regulatory scrutiny.

John Sinisgalli, a commercial litigation specialist acting for the debt-ridden Blues, told the Herald Sun: “The Kernahans and the Bradleys are very disappointed by the lending practices and conduct of Oak Capital and FMC.

“They will be defending their position as alleged guarantors of these loans fully and without hesitation. A strong stand has to be taken against these lending practices.”

Michael Landy, director of Eagle Financial Solutions, which is advising the Aboughattas family, said Oak’s operation model was “a matter of public interest” and needed to be “investigated in order to protect borrowers and guarantors”.

“While Oak is an Australian Financial Services licence holder and thus bound by AFCA’s dispute resolution scheme, FMC, its related entity, is not – so, when there is a problem with a borrower, Oak assigns the debt to an unlicensed related entity, like FMC, which prevents ASIC and AFCA from investigating its conduct,” Landy said.

Solicitor Nicola Lally, acting for Choppers Noona, said: “My observation is that the lending practices of these two companies have been extremely oppressive and burdensome, and have caused considerable stress for the borrower and guarantors. These practices will rightly be exposed to the scrutiny of the court.”

Lawyers for Oak and FMC responded in a statement.

“In 2019 MW Assets Pty Ltd, Moody Aboughattas (including Kathryn Aboughattas), Stephen Kernahan, Craig Bradley and others (MW Assets Group) borrowed money from Oak Capital Mortgage Fund Ltd (Oak) and First Mortgage Capital Pty Ltd (FMC) to refinance their existing defaulting loans with Wentworth Capital Pty Ltd (Oak/FMC Loans).

“The MW Assets Group promised to repay the Oak/FMC Loans by selling and refinancing various assets. Unfortunately, the MW Assets Group did not repay the Oak/FMC Loans as it had promised to do resulting in the current recovery proceedings involving Oak, FMC and other lenders owed money by the MW Assets Group including the Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

“As this matter is still before the Court, Oak and FMC is unable to provide any further comment.”

A directions hearing in the Supreme Court is scheduled for May 13.

Kernahan, 58, Waratah’s long-time sales director, played 251 games for Carlton and was captain of the club’s 1987 and 1995 premiership teams. He served as the Blues’ president from 2008 until 2014.
Bradley, 58, is Carlton’s games-record holder, running out 375 times for the Blues between 1986 and 2002.
Brown, 51, played 177 games for Carlton, including the 1995 premiership alongside Kernahan and Bradley.

TL;DR but is there any chance of a bit of action down at Yarraville nets between the 3 of them?

24-08-2022, 08:54 PM
This is classic.

I can see him returning time and time again with increasingly less subtle ways to let you know he was the Macedonian Marvel.

Until he just goes : "Here, take my card"

https://collection.australiansportsmuseum.org.au/records/images/medium/7561/a1d3817689b7dce8d084e329a1de5d40aaf94ec9.jpg
I won't hear a bad word about Daics. About 10 years ago we hosted a refugee family from Afghanistan. They lived with us for about five years. Dad lived with us first and when he'd picked enough apples he had the $$$ to pay for the visas to bring his wife and three kids to Australia.

Unfortunately, we left for a 3 month sojourn in Indonesia a couple of weeks before they arrived and while we were away our neighbour Hans, a Collingwood supporter, befriended the family and took the eldest, Reza, to see the Pies play at the "G". The Pies lost but Reza didn't care: he fell in love with Collingwood - with Hans' encouragement of course.

As a result Reza immersed himself in every Collingwood book in the school library essentially accelerating his knowledge of English AND football culture. His progress was facilitated by having a photographic memory for names faces and dates. He impressed his teachers so much that through contacts the bloke who produces the Pies media feed got to hear about "this kid , who's only been in the country for 8 months and has become a walking encyclopaedia on all things Collingwood"

So they sent a team up to Bendigo and made a 15 minute video about him for Collingwood TV. They also took him and Hans down to see the Pies v Carlton in front of 80K at the G on a Friday night. He got to meet all the players to run through the banner in a jumper with his name on the back - he got the full celeb treatment from Collingwood that night

The following year I took Reza to the G to see Dogs v Pies. I noticed Daics sitting a couple of rows behind us..He was with his wife and friends. I asked Reza if he"d like to meet him. Reza jumped at the op 'cos he'd seen all of the Marvel's great goals and knew his career from go to whoa.

So at half time we approached Peter and I said, "Excuse me Peter. This is Reza. He's only been in the country a short time but he's a Collingwood fanatic." Peter shook his hand and said, "Goodaye, mate" To which Reza replied " I'm so pleased to meet you. You played 250 games for Collingwood and kicked 549 goals ...
Daicos was gob smacked. "How long"s he been here?" He was really good to talk to.

Later that year Reza sent him a birthday card care of the Club. A few moths later he got a lovely letter from Peter thanking him for the card and explaining it had been lost in yhe system and had only just been forwarded to him. I thought that was very classy.

Btw, Reza is now doing the 5th and final year of a Law Arts degree

24-08-2022, 08:56 PM
That's an awesome story.
Go Reza!

24-08-2022, 09:41 PM
Stephen O’Reilly. That is all.

LOL Carlton

25-08-2022, 01:47 AM
I played at a club Daics was going to pull the boots on for in a comeback in the late nineties. It was a shocking wet evening one night and we ran the Tan instead of training.

After the run Daics was like, stuff this, let's get out on the ground and practice some skills. This skills practice involved doing trick kicks at exceedingly small targets in the puddles and mud, but it was heaps of fun even if it was a chance for Daics to show everyone who the master was.

He actually came across as a really good and approachable fella.

25-08-2022, 03:23 AM
I played at a club Daics was going to pull the boots on for in a comeback in the late nineties. It was a shocking wet evening one night and we ran the Tan instead of training.

After the run Daics was like, stuff this, let's get out on the ground and practice some skills. This skills practice involved doing trick kicks at exceedingly small targets in the puddles and mud, but it was heaps of fun even if it was a chance for Daics to show everyone who the master was.

He actually came across as a really good and approachable fella.

Did he play any games?

25-08-2022, 08:20 AM
Did he play any games?

Nope.

Was controversy with his employer around his return.

25-08-2022, 11:09 AM
Nope.

Was controversy with his employer around his return.

Bollocks. Playing with him would have been one to stick on the highlight reel

25-08-2022, 12:08 PM
https://twitter.com/thefrontbar7/status/1562601381579857920

03-09-2022, 05:27 PM
I had forgotten about this story the Bendigo Advertiser did at the time.

https://www.bendigoadvertiser.com.au/story/2255202/collingwood-football-club-forever-in-rezas-heart-video-pictures/

03-10-2022, 09:43 AM
Harry Mckay signed for 7 years after signing Curnow for 6. Are Carlton taking a huge risk to secure their big forwards?

03-10-2022, 09:45 AM
Harry Mckay signed for 7 years after signing Curnow for 6. Are Carlton taking a huge risk to secure their big forwards?

Hard to tell without knowing their cap. If they are moving Zac Williams on to free up cap space, then it’s a good move long term. They’re fine players.

03-10-2022, 09:50 AM

Any long term deal carries risk but we won't know for a while if this backfires on them.
Their supporters will be very happy.

03-10-2022, 09:55 AM
Hard to tell without knowing their cap. If they are moving Zac Williams on to free up cap space, then it’s a good move long term. They’re fine players.

They've got a lot of their better players signed to long deals.

03-10-2022, 09:55 AM
If anything deals are trending that way and we're bucking it somewhat. Time will tell how that reflects.

03-10-2022, 10:07 AM
They've got a lot of their better players signed to long deals.

Not a bad position to be in. I infer they have player ‘buy in’ about where they are going.

03-10-2022, 10:15 AM

Yes, I can't believe the deals clubs are doing.

03-10-2022, 01:29 PM
Yes, I can't believe the deals clubs are doing.

It's what the market is doing. If you want player X to stay he needs to be signed for 7 years or he walks. I think it's risky, very risky as so many things can go wrong and we'll start seeing mid tier players get deals around 4 - 5 years if this trend continues.

03-10-2022, 02:38 PM
I've mentioned following the NBA a bit, I find it hard in the AFL to judge contracts with no information of the financial outlay.

If it's 7 years X $650k-ish a year (adjusted as cap goes up and bonuses perhaps for outstanding performance et al), then I think it's a really good deal.

If it's 7 years with $900k or whatever as a base, adjusted for cap increases, then the length is an enormous risk and probably a bad deal.

16-11-2022, 08:32 AM
Why Carlton will “definitely” play finals in 2023 (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2022/11/15/why-carlton-will-definitely-play-finals-in-2023/)

Western Bulldogs great Brad Johnson believes Carlton will definitely play finals in 2023.

After an 8-2 start to 2022, the Blues capitulated in the second half of the year, missing out on the eight after losing their last four games of the season.

In what was the first year under new coach Michael Voss, Johnson expects the Blues to improve again and take their place in their first finals campaign since 2013.

“They were good this year the Blues, they were great to watch, they missed out on the finals finishing ninth, but I think Michael Voss changed the tone in terms of the way they want to play their footy,” Johnson told SEN’s Sportsday.

“Patrick Cripps and Sam Walsh finally got some help in the midfield with George Hewett, Adam Cerra, Matthew Kennedy and Lachie O’Brien were all ok.”

In what was a relatively quiet off-season for Carlton, they did acquire former Fremantle wingman Blake Acres, filling a much-needed void on the outside.

“Blake Acres is going to be great for them because what he does is he creates width, he is a width player, he plays the wings, and he plays them wide,” Johnson added.

“He’s the perfect player for when they are coming out of defence, that they will be able to have access to a player who will be able to continue that transition of the ball going forward.”

For the first time since 2000, Carlton had three players named in the All-Australian team, with captain Patrick Cripps, Coleman medallist Charlie Curnow and defender Adam Saad all making the side.

“They had three All-Australians this year - although not making the finals - in Cripps, Charlie Curnow and Adam Saad,” Johnson said.

“So all of a sudden you’ve got All-Australians, you’ve got (Jacob) Weitering, Curnow and (Harry) McKay as the three bigs that they have built the team around.

“I thought Sam Docherty was one of the stories of the year coming back from cancer and then playing the football that he did was just outstanding.

“Corey Durdin was excellent up forward, and Jesse Motlop provided a spark.

“Everything is in the right spot for Carlton to really grow and push themselves out.

“They will be a top eight side definitely next year and will sit in the top six.”

16-11-2022, 08:38 AM
Western Bulldogs great Brad Johnson believes trolling Carlton fans with false hopes of definitely playing finals in 2023 is one of life’s most enjoyable things.

I don’t see anything definite. Possible sure.

16-11-2022, 10:08 AM
Carlton should be playing finals in 2023 with that list.Their list building strategy has been a dropped lasagne over the last 5 years but you can't doubt the talent they have on it.

16-11-2022, 12:46 PM
Carlton should be playing finals in 2023 with that list.Their list building strategy has been a dropped lasagne over the last 5 years but you can't doubt the talent they have on it.

I think they have one of the best lists in the game now.

While I don't study them closely, they have everything you need to be great;

- Dominant key forwards
- Useful small forwards
- Premier mids
- An elite key defender
- An elite running back

I get it's not as simplistic as that, but they should be top 4 and pushing for a flag.

16-11-2022, 11:07 PM
I hope this thread doesn't come back and bite us in the a*se next year.

16-11-2022, 11:24 PM
ITs good to see Johnson spreading hope to Carlton.

But seriously, every team should expect to play finals.

17-11-2022, 09:04 AM
ITs good to see Johnson spreading hope to Carlton.

But seriously, every team should expect to play finals.

He and Healy are the best ones to listen to on SEN. Its a very good show.

17-11-2022, 10:07 AM
I think they have one of the best lists in the game now.

While I don't study them closely, they have everything you need to be great;

- Dominant key forwards
- Useful small forwards
- Premier mids
- An elite key defender
- An elite running back

I get it's not as simplistic as that, but they should be top 4 and pushing for a flag.

They should have never blown such a good start to the season. DeKoning is an exciting ruck forward prospect as well.

Stevo
19-11-2022, 12:33 AM
They should have never blown such a good start to the season. DeKoning is an exciting ruck forward prospect as well.

Shame we couldnt get one of the Terry De Koning boys to us.

21-11-2022, 09:02 PM
I'd be more surprised if Carlton make the finals next year than if they don't. I don't rate them at all.

Stevo
22-11-2022, 09:47 AM
I'd be more surprised if Carlton make the finals next year than if they don't. I don't rate them at all.

Why is that? On paper they are loaded with talent?

22-11-2022, 10:11 AM
Why is that? On paper they are loaded with talent?
They are - but will Curnow's knees stand up for a full season?
Cripps had a Brownlow year and they fell short - what if he's 2% off?
If de Koning doesn't take over as no 1 ruck, can they still win games?

On paper we rolled out a shocking defence in 2016 and won the flag with it.

22-11-2022, 02:31 PM
They are - but will Curnow's knees stand up for a full season?
Cripps had a Brownlow year and they fell short - what if he's 2% off?
If de Koning doesn't take over as no 1 ruck, can they still win games?

On paper we rolled out a shocking defence in 2016 and won the flag with it.

They would be hoping like hell they do given he just signed a long-term deal.

I'm expecting Carlton to finish in the top 8 next year... they have talent & depth across the ground and barring an injury crisis they will be one of the better teams.

22-11-2022, 05:25 PM

I'm expecting Carlton to finish in the top 8 next year... they have talent & depth across the ground and barring an injury crisis they will be one of the better teams.

Carlton are pretty good. They'll play finals.

22-11-2022, 05:26 PM

Yeah, I can't see them missing out. Maybe a little thin with tall defenders but pretty top notch everywhere else. I think I could talk myself into them being top 6 easier than I could not making the eight.

23-11-2022, 09:34 PM

On balance they should make the finals - but this is Carlton. They missed last year after a choke in the 38th minute of the 4th quarter in the second last round, then coughed up a 40+ point lead in the final round.

I don't think we should ever underestimate their capacity to screw up. Great on paper, but need a lot to go right to be competitive.

24-11-2022, 11:43 AM
Yeah, I can't see them missing out.

Me either...but there's a reason we play the games!

24-11-2022, 12:59 PM
Me either...but there's a reason we play the games!

Is the reason to make me sad?

24-11-2022, 01:18 PM
Those final two rounds of choking were not coincidental. They don’t have that dog in them.

25-11-2022, 01:41 PM
Is the reason to make me sad?

That's only ONE of the reasons.